Jokes apart, the host resembles Gulshan Grover, doesn’t he. Secondly, I have not seen Nawaz Sharif in red tie. Seems like the man is following the UK fashion trends.
Mr Sharif ,You had your chance not once but twice as Prime Minster but what you or even Baynazir have given back to Pakistan, Nuclear ballast were your obligation as representer of Pakistan due to Indian threat, there is nothing you have done extra ordinary, and by the way who is “Ammar�, you! You started this by massing with Musharif’s plan lending massing with army
and Mr. Sharif who is Musharif? Army chief of Pakistan. Neither, he is industrialist nor he really like to be in power just like you hypocrite politicians. He is just in power for the sake of Pakistan, look at Afghanistan after 9/11 (American and European army ready to takeover), look at India, look at world, even London where you live, how educated they are, learn things from them!!!!
You think you can come back again with your materic failed politicians to make the destiny of Pakistani people??? Forget it, you have your chances
I want to ask a question to you people as well, it is true that army should go back to on barracks, after Musharif but do you want to elect these materic failed hypocrites and cowards politicians again…….
Nawaz Sharif did not have even ONE chance to complete his term as Prime Minister, both terms were around 2 years each.
What did Nawaz Sharif did in these tiny 2 years each? He planned and started these projects:
- Motor Way project that will connect China with Gawadar and other countries.
- Karachi and Lahore airports
- Gawadar port and Coastal highway
- Cruise Missile
- JF-17 Thunder Fighter Jets
- Yellow Cab scheme giving employment to thousands of people
- Telecom infrastructure upgrade
- National Debt Reduction
- Made industry friendly policies
… and many more!
And all of these were done when Pakistan was under sanctions, not like Musharraf when he is getting billions in aids.
How do we say that NS had his chance twice ????????? he didnt have his chance even once. From day one army and establishment didnt let him work in his either term and then in 2 years you cannot even complete a college degree.
If someone had a chance in this country, it was army thrice and Bhutto himself once.
To me its a myth that Nawaz Sharif was himself involved in corruption. True that people around him were not angels but thats also a fact that all those are with Musharraf.
If NS was corrupt why couldnt Musharraf or Benazir open one corruption (money laudring, kickbacks, comissions) case against him just like against Benazir. Only charges against him are income tax which can be made even against someone who earn 100 rps a day.
@ Mr Patriot …. one a lighter note … if you dont want “materic” pass politicians .. you first have to pass “materic” urself.
Secondly …. Nawaz Sharif era is undoubtly better than any other considering the conditions in which he became PM. In 96 half of the pakistan was in a queue to buy “atta”. Later within just 1 year it was because of his agricultural policies (subsidary on water, electricity, tractors, wheat) that Pakistan was able to export it.
True that economic conditions were not good but dont forget that not even a single dollar came in form of american “aid” and we had sanctions from everywhere.
@Patriot on August 15th, 2007 4:24 pm
“You think you can come back again with your materic failed politicians to make the destiny of Pakistani people??? Forget it, you have your chances ”
@@
Mr Patriot alias LOTA ( which Patriot r u ? ur comments reflect ur level is same as Sher Afgan..)
matric failed politicians of Nawaz shairf? r u trying to compare these FA Pass generals with Economic experts like Ahsan IQbal , Ishaq dar and Sartaj Aziz ??
They are consultants at international levels and General Musharraf himself is not even a graduate…….
your Du-Rani Mukarji style basless propaganda is dead now…..
Name a single project that was a brain child of Musharraf or Benazir. Whereas Nawaz Sharif introduced countless policies.
Motorway (not 1 but 14 all over pakistan)
Gawader (it was in papers for decades but he is the one who started and had he been in power it would have completed in 2001)
Green Tractor Scheme
Green Channels
Teclecommunication sector
Privitisation
Agricultural Policies (highly successful Apna Ugao Apna Khao, we were able to export wheat for the first time in decades)
Last but not least … the way he saved army face on Kargil is part of history and everyone would know one day.
If you ask this time from any punjabi who created pakistan….he will reply..”Nawaz Sharif”!
Suddenly people like NS become our heroes…and therefore rightly we deserve the mess in which we are…
A person who and his brother has so many corruption cases like
1- Hudabia Paper Mills case,
2- the Raiwind Estate case
3- the Ittefaq Foundry case,
4- yellow cab blunder,
5- qarz lutao, mulk bachao scheme of public looting etc!
Who has been living in some palace with his family in KSA after cutting the SECRET DEAL with musharaf is the savior of this country.
Just he is speaking against musharaf this time (when infact everybody is)…when he has nothing to loose with a dispersed party, gains attention of his kins. He and his accomplices are the biggest looter of this country which are still in the government continuously looting!
His own career is full of pro-establishment policies, he was CM and cabinet minister of the worst dictator of Pakistan. He was the president of Intelligence made party called IJI! But for the sake of argument, I presume the wide hearted pakistanis has white washed his SINS just in reward to speak against musharaf right away even then he is currently allying with MMA who after cutting another deal signed on 17th amendment and is in sitting governemt in NWFP and Baluchistan and has the history of supporting establishment. Which clearly states they are allying with power hungry forces of this country but no one can see it.
Kargil was briefed to Zia-ul-haq also…whom I consider the dumbest person…even he was wise enough to halt that operation!…NS was briefed twice about kargil…but he due to his lack of decision making power could not envisaged the outcome of this operation…He was the PM of pakistan…so it directly makes him responsible for Kargil disaster.
@ Fahim ….. You seem so authentic in telling jokes ….. You still belief that those generals which cannot even salute a PM and bug PM houses seeked permission for Kargil ……. brother read General Zenni book or even Clinton book …..
I wont mind if you disagree with NS or consider him dumb but you should be thankful for what he did for this country by saving our army’s face from embarassment on Kargil issue.
Just research ur self …. there is not even one house more than 2 canals in covered area. And about Hudaibia mill …. you cant even tell what the charges are …. lol
@Fahim … Please correct your record. ….. and be more authentic in ur messages otherwise they only serve as a joke …. thats fine of u disagree with NS politics but even Musharraf never ever said that NS was corrupt. Read his book …. you are 2 steps ahead.
@Fahim …. we are impressed that u know so many things like Ittefaq foundary …. Raiwind … now can u please increase our knowledge and tell us what charges does nawaz sharif face ?
It is easy to say that someone is corrupt but look at the cases against him. “Scholars” like u are the reason that we are still under dictatorship.
Fahim and Patriot => What the hell you are talking about? You want Musharaf as Pakistani presdident? Give me the answers if you can.
1) When Nawaz Sharif used his legal power as elected prime minister of Pakistan to fire Musharaf. NS had the right to do it constitutionaly by the people of Pakistan. So, Musharaf was already fired. Do you think if a person is already fired can hold the same seat for next 8 years? (inspite of the fact that he increased his tenure for 2 times)
2) Let us assume Musharaf is not fired, he himself increased his tenure for 2 times. Has he got any right to do it?
3) Why Army thinks that they are superior than People of pakistan? I think because of the people like you who does not have any idea what they talk what they believe what the constitution is.
4) I know Fahim and Patriot are from Musharaf and Altaf’s group. By the way Altaf already declared pakistan’s creation as century’s greates blunder. Do you support those guys.
Fahim sb,
What Ittefaq Foundry Case ?
As far as I know that foundry was established by Nawaz Sharif’s father Mian Sharif a long time ago when Nawaz Sharif’s family has not even entered politics. His father was a most respected and hardworking person and every one knows that he established Ittefaq group with his hard work.
AoA…
==> Good to read diverse sort of opinions. Now I dont feel strange to hear people like Patriot/Faheem. Such people will remain part of the process. Good thing is that majority has started realising and analysing positively.
==> The only practical solution that seem appropriate in the prevailing situation is the need of synergistic efforts from PML(N),PTI & JI. Thanks for the media that atleast most of educated people has access to ongoing activities and to analyse them.
==> Personally I cannot understand the democray system from the point of view that vote of 10 evil people of society weigh more than the votes of 9 scholars and patriots. But anyways it atleast depicts the true face of the society whatever it is.
==> Anyways although vast majority of uneducated people (especially those ignorant people who will still caste their vote under the baradri or wadaira system) I hope the coalation I mentioned above can get 80% seats .
==> I am optimistic and hope a bright future for Pakistan (Inshallah).
(We should be united to fight and struggle under the guidance of the Quran to set up a just social order - Amin)
hi all,
i am too happy to know about the BBC polls..
it indicates we have enough of mush,cant stand with cheater BB,cant tolerate MULLAH or ghaunda …CAN only over look and give some margins to whom who is the lesser evil…
when it come to choice
choose the lesser evil!!!!
It was a great show, and its a pitty you resort to calling someone as handsome, and impecably dressed like Javed Malik with some bollywood has been. Comparing with the other hosts, - he is probably one of the best looking men, and morever he has the
brains to match it. ;)(
Great Progamme… Wonderfully piercing questions, and equally relevant answers. Its wonderful to see Pakistani Media taking strides like this, and doing this sort of ‘grown up’ programming.
Definitely, essentially sincere, true, and big political & industrial mind is required.. which is obviously NS right now. but credit must goes to Imran Khan who started and opened ppl’s mind by his bold steps and speeches and may ALLAH give him long life and make him our country’s democracy captain… NS should be PM and Imran Khan should be president. then I beleive, Pak will be on top in the whole world pretty soon INSHALLAH, like he made happiest nation in 1992,… I don’t compare sport with politics but I compares his sincerity and great intentions of making Pakistan heaven and successful.
I would request you guys to go for FACTS n FIGS, and not be carried away with baseless propaganda.
‘Qarz Utaro Mulk Sanwaro’ Scheme (National Debt Retirement Program or NDRP) was launched in February 1997 and had the following three components:
a) An outright donation with no payback.
b) Qarz-e-Hasna deposits for a minimum period of two years; no interest payments but principal repayments could be taken in Rupees or foreign currency.
c) Profit bearing deposits for a minimum period of two years.
All funds in the aforesaid NDRP were directly received in the Federal Government’s account with State Bank of Pakistan as per laws of the land. The largest receipt of funds was in profit bearing deposits. Inflow of funds under this Scheme virtually stopped in June 1998. The foreign exchange component generated through this NDRP scheme formed part of State Bank of Pakistan’s foreign exchange reserves in lieu of which Mian Nawaz Sharif’s Government arranged the retirement of most expensive domestic national debt amounting to Rs.1.7 billion which carried interest at 17.3% per annum and resulted into perpetual savings of Rs.294 million per annum to the nation through reduction in national debt service amount. All depositors, including deposits in foreign currency in this scheme, whose deposits matured for repayment before the black day of 12th October, 1999 were duly repaid on due dates through State Bank of Pakistan. All these facts relating to NDRP Scheme can be verified from State Bank of Pakistan’s Annual Report for year 2000-2001(Chapter 8, Page 127 and 128).
Sharif family did not enter the buiness circles after getting in to govt. their business started before 1939. Thy were on of suppliers in world war II in 1939. They were a major supplier for paksitan army equipment etc in 1965.
there factories were nationalised in bhutto era in 1970s but within Bhutto govt. they again raised 6 business units (factories).
Nawaz sharif’s first entry in to power circles was in 1982 as finance minister punjab.
After that time they NEVER had any loans from GOVT. BANKS (its hard to beleiv in this propaganda world but its true). after that all their loans are from private banking sectors.
Another unbelievable fact is that ITTEFAQ FOUNDRY, one of theri major buiness units was shut down in 1990 following some acts of Benazir govt to cut their raw materials supply and this foundry cud never be un again……Yes its a truth.
In 1990, Ittefaq group cnsisting of 7 fmailies) was split and same was true for buiness units.
In first tenure as prime minister NO business unit was raised by shariF family.
When they were in opposition in BBs 2nd term , some new industrial units ( Hudaibiya engineeirng, hudaibiya paper mills, 2 sugar mills) were raised. All loans were from private banks an ddont froget they wer not in power that time.
becos of govt pressure, they were not able to run all unit successfully except the sugar mills.
when nawaz sharif came in to power 2 nd time, in his first speech, he by himself imposed a ‘conflict of interests law� and committd not to have any new buiness set up untill he is in power and he fulfilled his committment. also becos of shut down of Iteaq foundry in 1990, interest for the loans for this unit had been piling and nawaz sharif by himslef at the time of his first speech pledged all such untis plus to have the remaing amount of laons paid.
Nawaz sharif is not an angel, we r all humans but please , as educated people, we should try to find facts before assessing our leaders.
Please dont use abusive language and post a baseless propaganda here. If u can come up with FACTS and FIGURES, do so with reference.
FACT is that mushrraf cud not find a single case of corruption against Nawaz Sharif.
the �famous� helicopter case is nothing more than a joke.As already explained by a brother that case hearing was inside Attack fort by a special court and not in Supreme court.
allegation was that this helicopter was not shown in assets of nawaz sharif when filing tax returns of 1996 (last tax returns before 1997 elections).
The helicopter, was first chartered for three months from the Javaid Aviations by PML for the election campaign of 1993(the time when BB used Edhi ambulance helicopter for election campaign).It was purchased by Shaikh Abdur Rehman of Qatar in October 1993, and was grounded soon after the PPP came to power.
It remained grounded for two-and-a-half years on different pretexts until the Supreme Court ordered in 1996 that it should be registered and allowed to fly.
Customs authorities kept issuing notices to
the Javaid Aviations after the helicopter was grounded. Customs duty for the helicopter was paid by Nawaz Sharif, and PML spent Rs615,000 as operational costs.
The helicopter was registered in the name of Nawaz Sharif in November 1996 after the SC order. It could not have been shown
in the tax returns of 1996 as it was not registered in the name of Nawaz Sharif by June 30.Before June 1997,the helicopter crashed.
For so called �raiwind palce�, have you seen it youself ?
For your information and of all others please, it is just a farm house near raiwind consisting of 4 houses plus some agri land. One mosque and sharif medical city is also near by.
In Lahore you can find thousands of houses better than those socalled palaces and mind it that it is not inside lahore city.
Guys when you are talking about Nawaz Sharifs accomplishments, you can never forget the Yellow Cab scheme, even after 10 years thousand of families are fed from them. In the very small 2 periods of just 20 and 24 months which NS got he has done immense work for Pak, keeping in mind Pak was under sanctions because of the missile Test. And speaking of missile test it takes great courage to reject the order of USA as he did. Even Tony Blair called him from the G8 summit,and G8 compromises of 8 most powerful countries of the world but he did not pay heed for the pride of Pak, whereas recently Kasuri said Musharaf who had initially not gone to Afgan Jirga went after 2 days after the call from Condaliza Rise. BB is a hopeless case nowadays- Pro west more than Mush, as she wants to finish her NAB cases.
You people are the best judges but please discuss on facts and not mere assumptions.
NS is the only former Pm who has started and fulfilled so many development projects. If there is any other Pm who has done more than him please increase my GK. NS is the best option available to withstand unjust western pressures and take Pakistan nation to prosperity
I was quite expecting the overwhelming accusations and ridicule in response to my comment!
We cannot tolerate at all if anything opposite is said to our personal and mostly weakly founded perception.
The first tenure of the NS govt was over thrown by the GIK on the basis of CORRUPTION. Here not some bur many (though unfortunately) will argue “Ohh it was false propaganda,,,but BBs govt was overthrown too on the corruption charges,,,that is fine!”
[http://www.alertnet.org/thenews/newsdesk/L14250335.htm]
Same pakistani courts declares him a Traitor, gives him life sentence and ban him to hold any public office for 22 years…those courts are corrupt but if courts relinquish his debts and corruption charges those courts are just!
The physical attack on Supreme court and Kargil disaster takes place….but “mian nawaz sharif” is innocent…wo bechara to sirf PM hay us ka thoree masla hay k mulk main kia ho raha hay!
- NS was thrown by GIK. He challenged his corruption in Supreme Court and got his Government back. Why didn’t BB challenge it?
- Not same Pakistani Courts, his trial was kept hidden from public and it was done in special anti-terrorism courts that are run under Military loyal to their chief.
- There was a commission setup by Mush who investigated SC attack and they found Sharif not guilty. There is interview of CJ Sajjad Ali Shah on this pkpolitics site in Meray Mutabiq. Even he is not blaming Sharif.
- We all want Kargil investigation, why Mush is refusing it?
Sajjad ali shah said I dunt know NS was personally on the SC assault ot nor. He clearly said NS was pressurizing him to give the verdicts as He (NS) desired. Why do you attribute the credits of his good things when you are not ready to blame him for the greatest blunders that took place in his government???
Just honestly look at his current statements and see his own actions of the past….Do you find any one thing tht does not contradict??
1- Deal: Hasnt he cut the deal and left his own party workers in the same jail with all his family and about eight expert cooks of niharee??? Some lunatic was defending this act by arguing it was his father’s order to leave this country. Well his father will is superior for thm thn the commitment with his workers! His brother shahbaz shareef rightly pointed out their mentality when he said …for me “my father and elder brother is superior thn politics or anything else”. In other words..pakistan or pakistanis go to hell we have to save our own —.
2- Dialogues with military: Hasnt he been the PART of the worst military dictator we ever had, hasnt he the Cabinet member and CHEIF MINISTER in Zia’s regime. Hasnt he been the President of ISI made IJI!
3- Independant judiciary: The rift between CJ sajjad ali shah and PM NS lead to the shameful disasterous act of assault on the supreme court of Pakistan. Didnt it took place under his nose, and wasnt that of HIS PARTY! If he is taking the credits of all good things why is he not accepting the responsiblity of this act being the PM and Chariamn of PML(N)???
Right now he is just WORDING for the democracy and anti-establishment govt? His ACTIONS are totally contradictory…still you are ready to support and believe this guy???
What a hypocrite will he be…when some one after doing all this suddenly becomes the champion of the democracy.
Mush is not wanting investigation bcoz it was his pathetic mad idea!
When I speak against NS people immediately accuse me of being in Mush;s camp. That only confirms my impression that…we are pathetically ignorant, short minded, short sighted and narrow minded people.
- PML house was taken over by Q league much before he let to Saudi.
- He clean swiped the elections in Pakistan from all provinces and he was what he was by choice of people. Yet, no one came out to protest his illegal detention. If he is at fault for leaving, then 2/3rd nation is also at fault for not raising their voice for illegal act by force of gun.
- If somehow your leader runs away, does this make a valid justification for you to join illegitimate military dictator who previously fired your government?
- Although he was not involved in assault on SC, he personally went to Supreme Court while he was PM and requested apologized on behalf of his entire party.
- Can you tell me any recent leader who was not with military dictator?
– ZAB was minister with General Ayub
– MMA empowered Mush by 17th amendment
– Imran supported Mush in Referendum
– BB is arranging power sharing deal with Mush
Shall we use an imported leader from New York like Shaukat Aziz who was never in politics?
I LOVE JAVED MALIK - HE IS SO KOOL - I just watch the programme for him. As goes Nawaz Sharif, well i will say one thing he is much better than all the lot that we see around Mushy baby.
Nawaz Sharif is probaby the most popular leader in pakistan right now. He always was. Nothing was ever proven against him.
Why does everyone forget that you cannot even compare Musharraf with Nawaz. Its like comapring oranges with bananas.
One is a political leader who ruled with the mandate ofthe people - and the other is a military despot dictator who is ruling with the might of the gun.
Its pathetic that we in pakistan are entering the 61st yaer of independence under the KHAKI SHADOWS
PML(Q) was formed before he lift to SA…Does this give him a reason to leave Mushahid hussain, Makhdoom javed hashmi, Ch, nisar and other his own political workers?
Did I say that those who are in PML(Q) are justified in anyway?
Do you honestly believe he land slided the 97 election…just google “most rigged election of Pakistan” you will find the answer! [http://www.i-p-o.org/PAKELECT.HTM]
Oh yea, your govt disrespect the pakistan, threaten the Supreme court and just say “sorry” thats all. Yous govt invade kargil, bring the nation at risk of nuclear war and just say “sorry”! Don’t you think the people he choose for his
party like choudhry brothers, tariq aziz etc who were his closest allies reflect his own personality and character?
Just accept that we as a nation deserve hypocrites like NS, our heroes are those dumb haram khor industrialists. But please at least do not disrespect the real Greats and Heroes by calling him “Great” or “Hero!”
I keep on giving reply to your allegations and you keep on generating news ones since you can’t reply to old ones.
- You are saying that 1997 elections were rigged, I think you forgot to check the 2002 elections under Musharraf and EU reports.
- Lets assume both elections were rigged, you think the current polls on bbc, dawn, and pkpolitics are also rigged? Does President (actually DG) of ISI is rigging these polls too?
- What did Bhutto get by not dealing with Zia? Sharif is smarter that he temporarily made deal and will be back now challenge Musharraf.
- Are you advocate of Nisar and Javed Hashmi? If they themselves okay with Nawaz leaving Pakistan, then what is your problem?
- If Nawaz government was involved in Kargil, then Mush had done first thing to investigate the issue, but instead Mush refuses any investigation.
- The world was definitely worried that a rogue Army within a democratic country with nuclear were doing their own stunts without approval of PM.
- Musharraf backstabbed Sharif when Sharif was sighing peace agreement with Vajpayee at Lahore and Mush was busy in Kargil attack.
If you don’t like democracy, you can relocate to Burma.
Dear Fellows,
Nice discussion!
This is a fact that NS was kept in dark about the whole Kargil misadventure by Pakistan Army. I read somewhere that Clinton showed a video to NS during his trip to USA immediately after Kargil Issue taken by satellite , that Pakistan Army actually mobilized the Nuclear Arsenals without any permission from PM. That time, i reallized that it is correct, `war is not such a non-serious issue that it can be left to generals only`.
Unfortunately, Army has always launched a massive propaganda to demonize the politicians and we , due to our illiteracy, usually trust the uniform. Just think about the reason of military coup , if NS was not having right to remove the chief of army staff, which was his constitutional right, how the unconstitutional removals of NS, Rafiq Tarar, Justice Saeed-uz-zaman siddiqui, (Dr. Abdul Qadir Khan also) and recently Justice Iftikhar be justified.
However, long and complicated story. Irony is that, we have not let democracy take roots in our society. at the start, we can wish for perfect democracy, it will get strong and mature with the passage of time.
However, I am really happy that pakistani society in general has started understanding the real stories, credit goes to Media.
i am so happy that our youth has reached the stage where we can actually have civilized debates and discussion. Keep up the great work. InshaAllah, all of us can make this country proud.
Nawaz Sharif said “his family has a long history in Pakistan industrialization and has donated a lot to Pakistan rather taken� and did nothing wrong. Why Javed Malik didn’t ask him how much Tax he has paid till now? I am really frustrated which such media’s hosts who just bow their heads in front of our corrupt leaders who has destroyed Pakistan (obviously including Musharaf and BB) and avoid asking tough questions.
August 15th, 2007 at 3:25 pm
Jokes apart, the host resembles Gulshan Grover, doesn’t he. Secondly, I have not seen Nawaz Sharif in red tie. Seems like the man is following the UK fashion trends.
August 15th, 2007 at 3:51 pm
mian nawaz sharif ,vivtory, for you ,victory
for pakistan.
August 15th, 2007 at 4:15 pm
Have you seen the program ‘Meray Mutabiq’ 14th August, there is an Israeli star in the background, see the screenshots here,
http://www.pakistanuncut.com/2007/08/15/star-of-david-on-pakistani-flag/
August 15th, 2007 at 4:18 pm
May Allah make the time easier for Nawaz Sharif and Benazir should be ashamed of herself. She is a boot licker of army who killed her father.
August 15th, 2007 at 4:24 pm
Mr Sharif ,You had your chance not once but twice as Prime Minster but what you or even Baynazir have given back to Pakistan, Nuclear ballast were your obligation as representer of Pakistan due to Indian threat, there is nothing you have done extra ordinary, and by the way who is “Ammar�, you! You started this by massing with Musharif’s plan lending massing with army
and Mr. Sharif who is Musharif? Army chief of Pakistan. Neither, he is industrialist nor he really like to be in power just like you hypocrite politicians. He is just in power for the sake of Pakistan, look at Afghanistan after 9/11 (American and European army ready to takeover), look at India, look at world, even London where you live, how educated they are, learn things from them!!!!
You think you can come back again with your materic failed politicians to make the destiny of Pakistani people??? Forget it, you have your chances
I want to ask a question to you people as well, it is true that army should go back to on barracks, after Musharif but do you want to elect these materic failed hypocrites and cowards politicians again…….
August 15th, 2007 at 4:36 pm
Mr.Patriot,
Some corrections …
Nawaz Sharif did not have even ONE chance to complete his term as Prime Minister, both terms were around 2 years each.
What did Nawaz Sharif did in these tiny 2 years each? He planned and started these projects:
- Motor Way project that will connect China with Gawadar and other countries.
- Karachi and Lahore airports
- Gawadar port and Coastal highway
- Cruise Missile
- JF-17 Thunder Fighter Jets
- Yellow Cab scheme giving employment to thousands of people
- Telecom infrastructure upgrade
- National Debt Reduction
- Made industry friendly policies
… and many more!
And all of these were done when Pakistan was under sanctions, not like Musharraf when he is getting billions in aids.
Rasheed
August 15th, 2007 at 4:40 pm
and Mr. Patriot,
What do you mean my “Industrialist” and why are you using that as abuse?
All nations are proud of their industries, why shouldn’t we?
Rasheed
August 15th, 2007 at 4:49 pm
How do we say that NS had his chance twice ????????? he didnt have his chance even once. From day one army and establishment didnt let him work in his either term and then in 2 years you cannot even complete a college degree.
If someone had a chance in this country, it was army thrice and Bhutto himself once.
August 15th, 2007 at 4:52 pm
To me its a myth that Nawaz Sharif was himself involved in corruption. True that people around him were not angels but thats also a fact that all those are with Musharraf.
If NS was corrupt why couldnt Musharraf or Benazir open one corruption (money laudring, kickbacks, comissions) case against him just like against Benazir. Only charges against him are income tax which can be made even against someone who earn 100 rps a day.
August 15th, 2007 at 4:52 pm
as expected, NS is also winning the opinon poll at http://www.bbc.co.uk/urdu, even beating Zulfi Bhutto and Zia ul Haq!
????? ?? ???? ????? ??? ?? ?? ???? ??? ??????? ?? ??? ???? ??? ??? ??:
???? ???? ??? (1903 votes)
9.4%
???????? ??? ???? (6058 votes)
29.9%
???? ???????? (1548 votes)
7.6%
?? ???? ???? (2686 votes)
13.3%
???? ???? (6601 votes)
32.6%
???? ????? ???? (1462 votes)
7.2%
????? ????? ???? ?? ?? ???? ???????? ???? ????
August 15th, 2007 at 5:00 pm
@ Mr Patriot …. one a lighter note … if you dont want “materic” pass politicians .. you first have to pass “materic” urself.
Secondly …. Nawaz Sharif era is undoubtly better than any other considering the conditions in which he became PM. In 96 half of the pakistan was in a queue to buy “atta”. Later within just 1 year it was because of his agricultural policies (subsidary on water, electricity, tractors, wheat) that Pakistan was able to export it.
True that economic conditions were not good but dont forget that not even a single dollar came in form of american “aid” and we had sanctions from everywhere.
August 15th, 2007 at 5:01 pm
@Patriot on August 15th, 2007 4:24 pm
“You think you can come back again with your materic failed politicians to make the destiny of Pakistani people??? Forget it, you have your chances ”
@@
Mr Patriot alias LOTA ( which Patriot r u ? ur comments reflect ur level is same as Sher Afgan..)
matric failed politicians of Nawaz shairf? r u trying to compare these FA Pass generals with Economic experts like Ahsan IQbal , Ishaq dar and Sartaj Aziz ??
They are consultants at international levels and General Musharraf himself is not even a graduate…….
your Du-Rani Mukarji style basless propaganda is dead now…..
August 15th, 2007 at 5:05 pm
Name a single project that was a brain child of Musharraf or Benazir. Whereas Nawaz Sharif introduced countless policies.
Motorway (not 1 but 14 all over pakistan)
Gawader (it was in papers for decades but he is the one who started and had he been in power it would have completed in 2001)
Green Tractor Scheme
Green Channels
Teclecommunication sector
Privitisation
Agricultural Policies (highly successful Apna Ugao Apna Khao, we were able to export wheat for the first time in decades)
Last but not least … the way he saved army face on Kargil is part of history and everyone would know one day.
August 15th, 2007 at 5:13 pm
indeed the Kargil curtain would be lifted one day and how Nawaz Sharif took the blame to save the army generals who later stabbed him the back.
August 15th, 2007 at 9:08 pm
If you ask this time from any punjabi who created pakistan….he will reply..”Nawaz Sharif”!
Suddenly people like NS become our heroes…and therefore rightly we deserve the mess in which we are…
A person who and his brother has so many corruption cases like
1- Hudabia Paper Mills case,
2- the Raiwind Estate case
3- the Ittefaq Foundry case,
4- yellow cab blunder,
5- qarz lutao, mulk bachao scheme of public looting etc!
Who has been living in some palace with his family in KSA after cutting the SECRET DEAL with musharaf is the savior of this country.
Just he is speaking against musharaf this time (when infact everybody is)…when he has nothing to loose with a dispersed party, gains attention of his kins. He and his accomplices are the biggest looter of this country which are still in the government continuously looting!
His own career is full of pro-establishment policies, he was CM and cabinet minister of the worst dictator of Pakistan. He was the president of Intelligence made party called IJI! But for the sake of argument, I presume the wide hearted pakistanis has white washed his SINS just in reward to speak against musharaf right away even then he is currently allying with MMA who after cutting another deal signed on 17th amendment and is in sitting governemt in NWFP and Baluchistan and has the history of supporting establishment. Which clearly states they are allying with power hungry forces of this country but no one can see it.
August 15th, 2007 at 9:14 pm
Kargil was briefed to Zia-ul-haq also…whom I consider the dumbest person…even he was wise enough to halt that operation!…NS was briefed twice about kargil…but he due to his lack of decision making power could not envisaged the outcome of this operation…He was the PM of pakistan…so it directly makes him responsible for Kargil disaster.
August 15th, 2007 at 9:40 pm
@ Fahim ….. You seem so authentic in telling jokes ….. You still belief that those generals which cannot even salute a PM and bug PM houses seeked permission for Kargil ……. brother read General Zenni book or even Clinton book …..
I wont mind if you disagree with NS or consider him dumb but you should be thankful for what he did for this country by saving our army’s face from embarassment on Kargil issue.
August 15th, 2007 at 9:42 pm
@@@Fahim …. “Raiwind estate” another joke.
Just research ur self …. there is not even one house more than 2 canals in covered area. And about Hudaibia mill …. you cant even tell what the charges are …. lol
August 15th, 2007 at 9:44 pm
@Fahim … Please correct your record. ….. and be more authentic in ur messages otherwise they only serve as a joke …. thats fine of u disagree with NS politics but even Musharraf never ever said that NS was corrupt. Read his book …. you are 2 steps ahead.
August 15th, 2007 at 9:49 pm
@Fahim …. we are impressed that u know so many things like Ittefaq foundary …. Raiwind … now can u please increase our knowledge and tell us what charges does nawaz sharif face ?
It is easy to say that someone is corrupt but look at the cases against him. “Scholars” like u are the reason that we are still under dictatorship.
August 15th, 2007 at 11:22 pm
Fahim and Patriot => What the hell you are talking about? You want Musharaf as Pakistani presdident? Give me the answers if you can.
1) When Nawaz Sharif used his legal power as elected prime minister of Pakistan to fire Musharaf. NS had the right to do it constitutionaly by the people of Pakistan. So, Musharaf was already fired. Do you think if a person is already fired can hold the same seat for next 8 years? (inspite of the fact that he increased his tenure for 2 times)
2) Let us assume Musharaf is not fired, he himself increased his tenure for 2 times. Has he got any right to do it?
3) Why Army thinks that they are superior than People of pakistan? I think because of the people like you who does not have any idea what they talk what they believe what the constitution is.
4) I know Fahim and Patriot are from Musharaf and Altaf’s group. By the way Altaf already declared pakistan’s creation as century’s greates blunder. Do you support those guys.
Shame on Musharaf, Altaf and you.
August 15th, 2007 at 11:44 pm
Fahim sb,
What Ittefaq Foundry Case ?
As far as I know that foundry was established by Nawaz Sharif’s father Mian Sharif a long time ago when Nawaz Sharif’s family has not even entered politics. His father was a most respected and hardworking person and every one knows that he established Ittefaq group with his hard work.
August 16th, 2007 at 1:13 am
AoA…
==> Good to read diverse sort of opinions. Now I dont feel strange to hear people like Patriot/Faheem. Such people will remain part of the process. Good thing is that majority has started realising and analysing positively.
==> The only practical solution that seem appropriate in the prevailing situation is the need of synergistic efforts from PML(N),PTI & JI. Thanks for the media that atleast most of educated people has access to ongoing activities and to analyse them.
==> Personally I cannot understand the democray system from the point of view that vote of 10 evil people of society weigh more than the votes of 9 scholars and patriots. But anyways it atleast depicts the true face of the society whatever it is.
==> Anyways although vast majority of uneducated people (especially those ignorant people who will still caste their vote under the baradri or wadaira system) I hope the coalation I mentioned above can get 80% seats .
==> I am optimistic and hope a bright future for Pakistan (Inshallah).
(We should be united to fight and struggle under the guidance of the Quran to set up a just social order - Amin)
August 16th, 2007 at 1:34 am
hi all,
i am too happy to know about the BBC polls..
it indicates we have enough of mush,cant stand with cheater BB,cant tolerate MULLAH or ghaunda …CAN only over look and give some margins to whom who is the lesser evil…
when it come to choice
choose the lesser evil!!!!
August 16th, 2007 at 2:06 am
@ Naveed
It was a great show, and its a pitty you resort to calling someone as handsome, and impecably dressed like Javed Malik with some bollywood has been. Comparing with the other hosts, - he is probably one of the best looking men, and morever he has the
brains to match it. ;)(
Nazreen
Birmingham. UK
August 16th, 2007 at 2:15 am
Great Progamme… Wonderfully piercing questions, and equally relevant answers. Its wonderful to see Pakistani Media taking strides like this, and doing this sort of ‘grown up’ programming.
August 16th, 2007 at 3:23 am
Definitely, essentially sincere, true, and big political & industrial mind is required.. which is obviously NS right now. but credit must goes to Imran Khan who started and opened ppl’s mind by his bold steps and speeches and may ALLAH give him long life and make him our country’s democracy captain… NS should be PM and Imran Khan should be president. then I beleive, Pak will be on top in the whole world pretty soon INSHALLAH, like he made happiest nation in 1992,… I don’t compare sport with politics but I compares his sincerity and great intentions of making Pakistan heaven and successful.
August 16th, 2007 at 4:33 am
I would request you guys to go for FACTS n FIGS, and not be carried away with baseless propaganda.
‘Qarz Utaro Mulk Sanwaro’ Scheme (National Debt Retirement Program or NDRP) was launched in February 1997 and had the following three components:
a) An outright donation with no payback.
b) Qarz-e-Hasna deposits for a minimum period of two years; no interest payments but principal repayments could be taken in Rupees or foreign currency.
c) Profit bearing deposits for a minimum period of two years.
All funds in the aforesaid NDRP were directly received in the Federal Government’s account with State Bank of Pakistan as per laws of the land. The largest receipt of funds was in profit bearing deposits. Inflow of funds under this Scheme virtually stopped in June 1998. The foreign exchange component generated through this NDRP scheme formed part of State Bank of Pakistan’s foreign exchange reserves in lieu of which Mian Nawaz Sharif’s Government arranged the retirement of most expensive domestic national debt amounting to Rs.1.7 billion which carried interest at 17.3% per annum and resulted into perpetual savings of Rs.294 million per annum to the nation through reduction in national debt service amount. All depositors, including deposits in foreign currency in this scheme, whose deposits matured for repayment before the black day of 12th October, 1999 were duly repaid on due dates through State Bank of Pakistan. All these facts relating to NDRP Scheme can be verified from State Bank of Pakistan’s Annual Report for year 2000-2001(Chapter 8, Page 127 and 128).
http://www.sbp.org.pk/reports/annual/arFY01/chap8.pdf
August 16th, 2007 at 4:34 am
Sharif family did not enter the buiness circles after getting in to govt. their business started before 1939. Thy were on of suppliers in world war II in 1939. They were a major supplier for paksitan army equipment etc in 1965.
there factories were nationalised in bhutto era in 1970s but within Bhutto govt. they again raised 6 business units (factories).
Nawaz sharif’s first entry in to power circles was in 1982 as finance minister punjab.
After that time they NEVER had any loans from GOVT. BANKS (its hard to beleiv in this propaganda world but its true). after that all their loans are from private banking sectors.
Another unbelievable fact is that ITTEFAQ FOUNDRY, one of theri major buiness units was shut down in 1990 following some acts of Benazir govt to cut their raw materials supply and this foundry cud never be un again……Yes its a truth.
In 1990, Ittefaq group cnsisting of 7 fmailies) was split and same was true for buiness units.
In first tenure as prime minister NO business unit was raised by shariF family.
When they were in opposition in BBs 2nd term , some new industrial units ( Hudaibiya engineeirng, hudaibiya paper mills, 2 sugar mills) were raised. All loans were from private banks an ddont froget they wer not in power that time.
becos of govt pressure, they were not able to run all unit successfully except the sugar mills.
when nawaz sharif came in to power 2 nd time, in his first speech, he by himself imposed a ‘conflict of interests law� and committd not to have any new buiness set up untill he is in power and he fulfilled his committment. also becos of shut down of Iteaq foundry in 1990, interest for the loans for this unit had been piling and nawaz sharif by himslef at the time of his first speech pledged all such untis plus to have the remaing amount of laons paid.
Nawaz sharif is not an angel, we r all humans but please , as educated people, we should try to find facts before assessing our leaders.
August 16th, 2007 at 4:39 am
Please dont use abusive language and post a baseless propaganda here. If u can come up with FACTS and FIGURES, do so with reference.
FACT is that mushrraf cud not find a single case of corruption against Nawaz Sharif.
the �famous� helicopter case is nothing more than a joke.As already explained by a brother that case hearing was inside Attack fort by a special court and not in Supreme court.
allegation was that this helicopter was not shown in assets of nawaz sharif when filing tax returns of 1996 (last tax returns before 1997 elections).
The helicopter, was first chartered for three months from the Javaid Aviations by PML for the election campaign of 1993(the time when BB used Edhi ambulance helicopter for election campaign).It was purchased by Shaikh Abdur Rehman of Qatar in October 1993, and was grounded soon after the PPP came to power.
It remained grounded for two-and-a-half years on different pretexts until the Supreme Court ordered in 1996 that it should be registered and allowed to fly.
Customs authorities kept issuing notices to
the Javaid Aviations after the helicopter was grounded. Customs duty for the helicopter was paid by Nawaz Sharif, and PML spent Rs615,000 as operational costs.
The helicopter was registered in the name of Nawaz Sharif in November 1996 after the SC order. It could not have been shown
in the tax returns of 1996 as it was not registered in the name of Nawaz Sharif by June 30.Before June 1997,the helicopter crashed.
August 16th, 2007 at 4:41 am
For so called �raiwind palce�, have you seen it youself ?
For your information and of all others please, it is just a farm house near raiwind consisting of 4 houses plus some agri land. One mosque and sharif medical city is also near by.
In Lahore you can find thousands of houses better than those socalled palaces and mind it that it is not inside lahore city.
August 16th, 2007 at 5:58 am
Guys when you are talking about Nawaz Sharifs accomplishments, you can never forget the Yellow Cab scheme, even after 10 years thousand of families are fed from them. In the very small 2 periods of just 20 and 24 months which NS got he has done immense work for Pak, keeping in mind Pak was under sanctions because of the missile Test. And speaking of missile test it takes great courage to reject the order of USA as he did. Even Tony Blair called him from the G8 summit,and G8 compromises of 8 most powerful countries of the world but he did not pay heed for the pride of Pak, whereas recently Kasuri said Musharaf who had initially not gone to Afgan Jirga went after 2 days after the call from Condaliza Rise. BB is a hopeless case nowadays- Pro west more than Mush, as she wants to finish her NAB cases.
You people are the best judges but please discuss on facts and not mere assumptions.
NS is the only former Pm who has started and fulfilled so many development projects. If there is any other Pm who has done more than him please increase my GK. NS is the best option available to withstand unjust western pressures and take Pakistan nation to prosperity
August 16th, 2007 at 6:25 am
i like the way javed malik did the interview….
nawaz also has learned how to face media …
good luck nawaz
August 16th, 2007 at 3:36 pm
AOA
I was quite expecting the overwhelming accusations and ridicule in response to my comment!
We cannot tolerate at all if anything opposite is said to our personal and mostly weakly founded perception.
The first tenure of the NS govt was over thrown by the GIK on the basis of CORRUPTION. Here not some bur many (though unfortunately) will argue “Ohh it was false propaganda,,,but BBs govt was overthrown too on the corruption charges,,,that is fine!”
[http://www.alertnet.org/thenews/newsdesk/L14250335.htm]
Same pakistani courts declares him a Traitor, gives him life sentence and ban him to hold any public office for 22 years…those courts are corrupt but if courts relinquish his debts and corruption charges those courts are just!
The physical attack on Supreme court and Kargil disaster takes place….but “mian nawaz sharif” is innocent…wo bechara to sirf PM hay us ka thoree masla hay k mulk main kia ho raha hay!
What a pathetic loosers we are!!!
August 16th, 2007 at 3:49 pm
Fahim,
- NS was thrown by GIK. He challenged his corruption in Supreme Court and got his Government back. Why didn’t BB challenge it?
- Not same Pakistani Courts, his trial was kept hidden from public and it was done in special anti-terrorism courts that are run under Military loyal to their chief.
- There was a commission setup by Mush who investigated SC attack and they found Sharif not guilty. There is interview of CJ Sajjad Ali Shah on this pkpolitics site in Meray Mutabiq. Even he is not blaming Sharif.
- We all want Kargil investigation, why Mush is refusing it?
Banta
August 16th, 2007 at 5:01 pm
AOA Banta
Sajjad ali shah said I dunt know NS was personally on the SC assault ot nor. He clearly said NS was pressurizing him to give the verdicts as He (NS) desired. Why do you attribute the credits of his good things when you are not ready to blame him for the greatest blunders that took place in his government???
Just honestly look at his current statements and see his own actions of the past….Do you find any one thing tht does not contradict??
1- Deal: Hasnt he cut the deal and left his own party workers in the same jail with all his family and about eight expert cooks of niharee??? Some lunatic was defending this act by arguing it was his father’s order to leave this country. Well his father will is superior for thm thn the commitment with his workers! His brother shahbaz shareef rightly pointed out their mentality when he said …for me “my father and elder brother is superior thn politics or anything else”. In other words..pakistan or pakistanis go to hell we have to save our own —.
2- Dialogues with military: Hasnt he been the PART of the worst military dictator we ever had, hasnt he the Cabinet member and CHEIF MINISTER in Zia’s regime. Hasnt he been the President of ISI made IJI!
3- Independant judiciary: The rift between CJ sajjad ali shah and PM NS lead to the shameful disasterous act of assault on the supreme court of Pakistan. Didnt it took place under his nose, and wasnt that of HIS PARTY! If he is taking the credits of all good things why is he not accepting the responsiblity of this act being the PM and Chariamn of PML(N)???
Right now he is just WORDING for the democracy and anti-establishment govt? His ACTIONS are totally contradictory…still you are ready to support and believe this guy???
What a hypocrite will he be…when some one after doing all this suddenly becomes the champion of the democracy.
Mush is not wanting investigation bcoz it was his pathetic mad idea!
When I speak against NS people immediately accuse me of being in Mush;s camp. That only confirms my impression that…we are pathetically ignorant, short minded, short sighted and narrow minded people.
August 16th, 2007 at 5:19 pm
Fahim,
- PML house was taken over by Q league much before he let to Saudi.
- He clean swiped the elections in Pakistan from all provinces and he was what he was by choice of people. Yet, no one came out to protest his illegal detention. If he is at fault for leaving, then 2/3rd nation is also at fault for not raising their voice for illegal act by force of gun.
- If somehow your leader runs away, does this make a valid justification for you to join illegitimate military dictator who previously fired your government?
- Although he was not involved in assault on SC, he personally went to Supreme Court while he was PM and requested apologized on behalf of his entire party.
- Can you tell me any recent leader who was not with military dictator?
– ZAB was minister with General Ayub
– MMA empowered Mush by 17th amendment
– Imran supported Mush in Referendum
– BB is arranging power sharing deal with Mush
Shall we use an imported leader from New York like Shaukat Aziz who was never in politics?
Banta
August 16th, 2007 at 5:21 pm
Hey..
I LOVE JAVED MALIK - HE IS SO KOOL - I just watch the programme for him. As goes Nawaz Sharif, well i will say one thing he is much better than all the lot that we see around Mushy baby.
ps. Does anyone have Javed Malik’s e mail?
Shazia Quddos
August 16th, 2007 at 5:25 pm
AOA.
Nawaz Sharif is probaby the most popular leader in pakistan right now. He always was. Nothing was ever proven against him.
Why does everyone forget that you cannot even compare Musharraf with Nawaz. Its like comapring oranges with bananas.
One is a political leader who ruled with the mandate ofthe people - and the other is a military despot dictator who is ruling with the might of the gun.
Its pathetic that we in pakistan are entering the 61st yaer of independence under the KHAKI SHADOWS
Shabir.
August 16th, 2007 at 5:44 pm
AOA Banta
PML(Q) was formed before he lift to SA…Does this give him a reason to leave Mushahid hussain, Makhdoom javed hashmi, Ch, nisar and other his own political workers?
Did I say that those who are in PML(Q) are justified in anyway?
Do you honestly believe he land slided the 97 election…just google “most rigged election of Pakistan” you will find the answer! [http://www.i-p-o.org/PAKELECT.HTM]
Oh yea, your govt disrespect the pakistan, threaten the Supreme court and just say “sorry” thats all. Yous govt invade kargil, bring the nation at risk of nuclear war and just say “sorry”! Don’t you think the people he choose for his
party like choudhry brothers, tariq aziz etc who were his closest allies reflect his own personality and character?
Just accept that we as a nation deserve hypocrites like NS, our heroes are those dumb haram khor industrialists. But please at least do not disrespect the real Greats and Heroes by calling him “Great” or “Hero!”
August 16th, 2007 at 7:46 pm
AoA Fahim,
I keep on giving reply to your allegations and you keep on generating news ones since you can’t reply to old ones.
- You are saying that 1997 elections were rigged, I think you forgot to check the 2002 elections under Musharraf and EU reports.
- Lets assume both elections were rigged, you think the current polls on bbc, dawn, and pkpolitics are also rigged? Does President (actually DG) of ISI is rigging these polls too?
- What did Bhutto get by not dealing with Zia? Sharif is smarter that he temporarily made deal and will be back now challenge Musharraf.
- Are you advocate of Nisar and Javed Hashmi? If they themselves okay with Nawaz leaving Pakistan, then what is your problem?
- If Nawaz government was involved in Kargil, then Mush had done first thing to investigate the issue, but instead Mush refuses any investigation.
- The world was definitely worried that a rogue Army within a democratic country with nuclear were doing their own stunts without approval of PM.
- Musharraf backstabbed Sharif when Sharif was sighing peace agreement with Vajpayee at Lahore and Mush was busy in Kargil attack.
If you don’t like democracy, you can relocate to Burma.
Banta
August 17th, 2007 at 7:31 am
Dear Fellows,
Nice discussion!
This is a fact that NS was kept in dark about the whole Kargil misadventure by Pakistan Army. I read somewhere that Clinton showed a video to NS during his trip to USA immediately after Kargil Issue taken by satellite , that Pakistan Army actually mobilized the Nuclear Arsenals without any permission from PM. That time, i reallized that it is correct, `war is not such a non-serious issue that it can be left to generals only`.
Unfortunately, Army has always launched a massive propaganda to demonize the politicians and we , due to our illiteracy, usually trust the uniform. Just think about the reason of military coup , if NS was not having right to remove the chief of army staff, which was his constitutional right, how the unconstitutional removals of NS, Rafiq Tarar, Justice Saeed-uz-zaman siddiqui, (Dr. Abdul Qadir Khan also) and recently Justice Iftikhar be justified.
However, long and complicated story. Irony is that, we have not let democracy take roots in our society. at the start, we can wish for perfect democracy, it will get strong and mature with the passage of time.
However, I am really happy that pakistani society in general has started understanding the real stories, credit goes to Media.
August 17th, 2007 at 3:45 pm
i am so happy that our youth has reached the stage where we can actually have civilized debates and discussion. Keep up the great work. InshaAllah, all of us can make this country proud.
August 18th, 2007 at 2:36 am
Nawaz Sharif said “his family has a long history in Pakistan industrialization and has donated a lot to Pakistan rather taken� and did nothing wrong. Why Javed Malik didn’t ask him how much Tax he has paid till now? I am really frustrated which such media’s hosts who just bow their heads in front of our corrupt leaders who has destroyed Pakistan (obviously including Musharaf and BB) and avoid asking tough questions.