Capital Talk - 20 August 07

Special Episode with Former Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif, Ahsan Iqbal, Kamil Ali Agha and Raja Pervez Ashraf with Hamid Mir in Capital Talk.

Please share your views below …

54 Comments »

Hi Admin,
    How come this show is not playing? Neither here nor on bliptv site?

Try now.

Oh well it’s working now. Never mind.. :)

Actually I posted little early before Flash conversion was completed by Blip.

Where is the white part in this traitors flag?

what do u mean eddie?

nawaz sharifs flag. it doesnt have the white part

thats the PML flag

9. Diljeet Singh Says:
    August 21st, 2007 at 2:45 am

Sat Shri Akal Friends

As i told before i m political student in poland . i always keen eyes on all political affairs . what i guess is that PML Q is poor governered .total failure in all the ways .

Yea? In what ways? and How was the performance of previous govts. better?

nawaz is far far better than benazir; i live in switzerland anf work for a swiss bank; b.b. deserves only capital punishment for her crimes against pakistani civil society!

12. Aslam Khan Says:
    August 21st, 2007 at 8:23 am

Its because of NS firm stance that Musharraf flies to Dubai or plans to announce emergency. NS is far better than either BB or Musharraf. Atleast he took some smart decisions in Pakistan’s favor.

Assalam o allaikum,
    Thankyou admin for all your effort. I really appreciate your hard work to bring all these shows.

I wonder if it is possible to leave the comments in Urdu. I tried before but it didnt work.

14. Ahmed Bilal AWAN Says:
    August 21st, 2007 at 11:14 am

Nawaz Sharif took a smart dicission at years ago when he ran away from the country with his tail in his legs.

enjoy

oaay Ahmad Bilal Awan sahib–Bhutta here, whats up man? long time no hear no see.

Yes it was a very smart decision. I think if there was a minute chance he would get justice, he would never had run away.He did not want to meet the same fate like Z. Bhutto, as he knew he has a lot more to serve the nation.

Javed,

How did he serve the nation? He was a civilian dictator. He added two ammendmends to the constituition so that neither the president, nor the parliament can get rid of him

he did nothing. no govt. has embarked on such massive development programs, freed the media, encouraged media, arts, business, revitalised the economy, like the musharraf govt. has

by the time nawaz sharif was overthrown, pakistan was on the brink of being declared a failed state

Would it be possible for you to load the Aiwan-e-sadr speeches/press of conferences of Musharraf when they happen. Like you did previously?

That will make this website balanced, unlike GEO which is completely biased

@ Eddie
    I always thought that now pakistani nation is mature enough not to talk on “myths”. Ofcourse it is but with few exceptions. How come paksitan was on verge of being called failed state when NS was overthrown ?

We had already survived worst time year ago when in 98 NS despite 5 calls from Clinton decided for nuclear tests.

Infact its now that we in in the list of failed states in top 3.

NS was no saint but a bad PM is better than a good dictator.

As for the economy it is due to the money from Pakistanis abroad and aid from Uncle SAM. No miracle from Mushy and his cronies.

Pakistan is still in top 10 failed states.

They gave us grave security situation, double digit inflation, Land Mafia, Stock Mafia, Crisis at KESC, Steel mill sold at loss and many other crisis.

Now the times have changed. In the future no PM or General can mess with the constitution because the Judiciary is strong.

Plus NS is not sitting in Uncle SAM’s lap to get to power.

21. Akram Ullah Says:
    August 21st, 2007 at 12:33 pm

@Usman

Well said Usman. It was NS decision of nuclear tests that india or US or any other country would think more than once before any sort of action against our country.
    All credit goes to Bhutto, NS and Abdul Qadir.
    Gawadder project, telecommunication policies, motorways linking all cities of Pakistan to central asia were brain child of NS. I hope he comes back and kick ass of military dictatorship.

22. Naeem Abdullah Says:
    August 21st, 2007 at 12:36 pm

@Ahmad Bilal

Time will prove if NS was coward or not. Almost all his family including him spent more than 15 months in jail.

Let time come and we shall see how ur “momin” Musharraf will behave even if put in for a day.

Nawaz Sharif has been the only person in recent times who had atleast started mega development projects in Pakistan. Musharraf government has always been bragging on projects started by NS. I cant even think of 1 which has been the idea of Mushrraf or shaukat aziz.

By the way, Nawaz Sharif was never in jail nor sentenced by civilian court. He was all the time in Military Detention in Attock fort and he was also sentenced by anti-terrorism court that is run by military.

So, technically he was in illegal custody just like hundreds of other people that are kidnapped by military these days and Supreme Court is working actively to releasing them.

Banta

MUSHARRAF HAS DISGRACED HIMSELF FOR THIS NATION AND THE NATION HAS BEEN UNFAITHFUL TO HIM……LICKING BUSH’S BOOTS IS A DISGRACE, ISNT IT ?????

@@Eddie on August 21st, 2007 12:27 pm Admin,

“Would it be possible for you to load the Aiwan-e-sadr speeches/press of conferences of Musharraf when they happen. Like you did previously?
    That will make this website balanced, unlike GEO which is completely biased”"

@@ Eddie, that funny episode of Aiwan e sadar speech was previously loaded in response to GEO’s “Hum sab umeed say hein”,
    but u know , even then no one liked it. so i think there is no need to upload that bull shit again.
    If u just want to see ur Mush’s speeches, then why dont u just watch PTV. These independent media shows are not for u people. u cant take this bitter truth.

27. Zubair Tariq Says:
    August 21st, 2007 at 1:40 pm

@ banta … good point. Lets cross our finger and wait for thursday and see what does government come up with against NS. If they could bring fake documents against CJ, they can do it again … as this time the situation is more personal to Musharraf and his politics.

28. Shah Hussain Edmonton Canada Says:
    August 21st, 2007 at 2:06 pm

Excellent Hamid Mir, Nawaz Sharif is leader one of the nation, representing all four units. He should be provided opportunity to serve Pakistan. His presence in Pakistan will eliminate pmlq absolutely.He is true leader of 160million people of Pakistan. All real politician must not provide any opportunity to uniform to reelect again.
    We are ashamed of here abroad due to dirty role of our uniform in Pakistan politics.

Look at the Q League Bastard, he threatens 13 years of Marital law but when Nawaz Sharief came on and said that anyone imposing marital and those assisting in imposing marital law will be traitors under the constitution, he starts saying well we should be thankful to Musharraf for this as well because he has made impossible for such things to happen.

Hi admin. I am never able to watch the programs now. My is little low so it always says traferrring data from blip.tv but it never comes actually. Can u guide me

NS was given the opportunity and looted the country, twice!

He should not be given another chance.

Faisal,

You need Broadband through DSL or Cable to make it work properly.

What kind of internet connection do you have?

WRONG!

all nawaz sharif did was make plans no implementation. this govt. actually implemented them.

national trade corridor, gwadar, islamabad, lahore hydrabad airports, privatisation, freeing the media, IT, telecom, encouraging musicians and artists, infrastructure development, lahore underground subway, hudoor ordinance, womens protection bills
    nawaz group didnt even vote for the womens protection bill when pmlQ proposed it

ALL LIES, and we are a prospering nation now, not a failed state, go study some international reports and economics

and all this hpnd due to the govts. policies! not some aid from abroad, keep in mind, we also received aid before, and $30 billion dollar loans! the economic reforms changed things. if they didnt, then the money would come and go like was the case before

I know are being impartial and not taking side. So if you could please upload files that show both sides of the argument! The aiwan e sadr videos please :)
    Thanks!

Eddie .. can you show any reference to back your claim?

Check this:

Pakistan Failed state in 2006 .. worst than Afghanistan due to Military Interference in every state affair:

http://www.fundforpeace.org/programs/fsi/fsindex2006.php

Check Pakistan’s rank in Corruption now:

http://www.transparency.org/policy_research/surveys_indices/cpi/2006

Some Projects by NS:

- JF17 Thunder
    - Cruise Missile
    - Motorways
    - National Debt Relief
    - Gawadar Port
    - Yellow Cab
    - Telecom
    - Karachi Airport
    - Lahore Airport

All were started in NS time, and half were even completed in NS time.

Please do some homework.

Banta

@@Eddie on August 21st, 2007 3:56 pm WRONG!

“” encouraging musicians and artists,”"????

@@ Eddie, you have been consistently highlighting Mush’s encouragement to musicians and artisits…..as one of his MEGA Project…

i think……..it gives us some good idea abt ur CULTURALLy rich background….

All talk, Nawaz talked, and, what national debt relief? during his time the national debt was 100% of gdp. wat was completed in nawaz sharifs time? this govt. built more motorways, more everything. there was NO infrastructure in pakistan until musharraf came along. pakistan was like some poor torn african country

go look at the figures, the massive fiscal deficitsGDP growth, foreign investment, revenue collection, government spending, foreign reserves, let me give u some examples:

Remmittance:

1999 - $800 mn
    2007 - $5.5 bn

FDI:

1999 - $300 mn
    2007 - $7 bn

Revenue collection:

1999 – Rs. 300 bn
    2007 – Rs. 1 trillion

Government spending:

1999 – Rs. 80 bn
    2007 – Rs. 520 bn

GDP/capita:

1999 - $500
    2007 - $920

GDP:

1999 - $60 bn
    2007 - $140 bn

Higher education budget:

1999 – Rs. 600 mn
    2007 – Rs. 28 bn

and wat about the 13th and 14th ammendment during nawaz? and military courts? and storming the SC? and dismissing sindh government?

ALL TALK!

i cant beleive you want our country to go back to these fuedals

Couldn’t agree with u more Eddie …

Today these looters in exile want to return in power exploiting lawyers and CJ episode. I am surprised why anchors like H.Mir doesn’t ask NS what did he do when SC was stormed in NS tenure? Can’t it be a valid or deserved question?

When India was developing IT and education in 90’s Pakistan was made ping pong between NS & BB dodging simple masses. I ain’t saying Gen. has being an angle or something but he has faced the most difficult time in history of Pakistan only after 1971.

I hate when these moron try to emotional blackmail our masses saying Pakistan is breathing her last breath in hands of military … All bullcrap man!!

Today India has come to a point where Indo-US deal might get to stage that country might face another election before 5 yrs term but none of their cynical politician say that Oho India’s becoming failed state or provoking masses to get out on roads and take law & order in hands.

On the other hand, NS & BB would suggest our youth to come on roads and protest taking Govt down sitting in their mansions in UK & US. According to the greatest intellectual of our times, US today is a failed state where Govt strategies differ to public vote. Our media should question these moronic leaders on equality basis as they do to Govt spokespersons. Don’t treat them like messiahs because they are NOT! enough is enough …

Rasool(s.a.w) said momin doesn’t get stung twice from same source, NS & BB has it twice already man!!!

Oops! Forgot to mention that I want these exiled leaders to please come back to Pakistan so that our SC and CJ can postpartum their cases in cold storages and give looted money back to our poor 160 million hand-mouth.

NS, BB and Altaf bhai you’re all so much fucking welcome to Pakistan, Please come!!!

Eddie,

Thanks for your facts. Lets see the source of all this:

- Until September 2001, Pakistan was under “Presler Sanctions” for its continued work on Nuclear program and therefore no money was coming to Pakistan like billions coming now from US.

- After 911, Pakistanis started to feel unsafe in Western Countries and they moved their money to Pakistan.

- After 911, we rented our Army to America to get $1 billion a year.

- Most money that come to Pakistan from foreigners is because Pakistan sold its Profitable institutions like KSE, PTCL, Habib Bank and around 80 more through privatization and they were selling everyone for 10 times less price each thing until Supreme Court stopped it on Steel Mill case.

- If Nawaz Sharif wanted, he could have sold all this in his time to make money, but this is stupid way of bringing foreign investment. Real foreign investment is when these companies come and start new factories here, not buy ready made profitable businesses.

- The real parameter of economic growth is how affordable is everything for a common man. With prices of food rising 3 times, 90% of population is in mess and 10% is happy. No other country in the entire world has price growth of common things 300% in just 8 years.

- This growth has nothing to do with Musharraf but all due to post 911 scenario. The proof is India, where these figures have raised the same level. They had reserves of $15 billion in Nawaz Sharif time, they now have around $150 billion.

Can you tell which Musharraf did India have who rose that money 10 times more?

- And now if you say the all these problem was due to Nawaz Sharif government, then effectively 90% of NS team is working with Musharraf in PMLQ. How come they are not corrupt?

Banta

Eddie,

Please also check this column of how Musharraf has put this country in new massive debt:

http://nawaiwaqt.com.pk/urdu/daily/aug-2007/21/columns1.php

Banta

good show Eddie and Banta.

Can i add, the foreign debt was $32 billion earlier…which is $40 billion today.

Recent reports in the papers, more than Rs33 billion loans are written off by the present govt.

Welcome to dictator(’s)SHIP!!

cheers

Banta,

Have you ever studied any economics? Do you ever read anything but paindo urdu newspapers? The economist perhaps? World and ADB reports?

Do you know anything about privatisation and private enterprises? I suggest you study. We didnt just “sell profitable instituitions at a low price” privatisation needs to happen if the economy is to develop. anywhere! and steel mills was the only case! ok? infact, many were even sold greatly overpriced, eg habib bank. ask proper investors, not ahsan iqbal

Do you know anything about inflation? Why it happens? How much is reasonable? Have you ever compared Pakistan’s inflation with other countries? Most developing countries have inflation rates that are 3 times ours.

And India is marching forward, while you guys stifle growth over petty issues. They’re growth happened because of their policies. It will increase another 10 times in the next years. Are you telling me that Indians (most of whom are non-muslims) also left America and brought their money to India after 9/11??? No, it happened because of policies. India was rising before 9/11 as well. So was China, and 3 dozen other countries, because of policies, NOT 9/11. you think dubai is booming because of 9/11 as well?:P dont make radical claims if you dont have proper economic theories and sources to support it. and don’t quote nawai waqt. and the US aid, 90% of it has gone to military operations.

Our loans as a percentage of GDP have actually fallen! and those of you know anything about economics, know that it is debt as a percent of GDP, gearing, that counts. which has actually fallen. fiscal deficits have been reduced greatly. we were on the verge of financial bankruptcy in 99, go do some proper studying, and, learn a thin g or two about economics

and the muslim league people cant do too much wrong because musharraf is guiding the policies and actions of the govt.

nawaz coulda, woulda, shoulda, but he DIDNT
    musharraf did

and one more thing. there are many other sources of foreing invesstment. such as real estate schemes, al ghurair, emaar, nakheel, many more. which are close to $80 billion dollars right now in pakistan by foriegn companies. foreign banks setting up branches in pakistan. dubai islamic, hsbc, standard chartered. telecom set up telenor. IT companies. refineries built by arab, infrastructure built by the chinese, MANY MANY more sources than just privatisation. do some research, and i suggest you stop reading jahilana urdu papers lol

Hi admin.. I am using Broadband with 8 Mbps. AOL UK. But I can open all otehrs sites but can’t watch this site. I have to to college to watch these. website opens but no liks to videos ..webpage just says tranferring data form blip tv ..

Eddie,

If everything is so cool, then answer these plain questions:

- Why everything has turned so expensive while it did not in India or anywhere else in the world?

- Musharraf had 8 years, Nawaz had 2 and that was under full sanctions after Tests. Why Mush could not cut poverty and corruption and why he made it failed state?

- Asia Development bank is saying Pakistan is worst in Asia … http://tinyurl.com/23npmb

- I suggest you walk to any any any industry you want in Pakistan and you will find out that they are under big problem. They cannot compete any other country due to their production cost due to high electric prices.

- Most of textile industry is performing 50% less than in Pre-Mush time.

- All these foreign banks are indicators of economic growth? Do you think if they put their branch in Islamabad and Karachi, Pakistan is on good path?????? 90% of our population lives outside Karachi and Islamabad and HSBC does not have branch there.

Banta

Eddie,

Please also let me know why people hate Musharraf. All local and international polls are indicating that people hate Musharraf and love Nawaz Sharif.

Do you think majority of people are stupid and only some guys like you are intelligent?

Do you think Transparency International, Failed State analysts, and Asian Banks are all Paindoo organizations?

Banta

All NS and BB have done is robbed the country and given nothing back! They should never be allowed to enter Pakistani soil. Exile forever, for both these goons!

Dear All,

Too much emotions and no tangible solution. Let me make an attempt at clarifying things:

We ALL agree that NS and BB were looters (of whatever degree). Having said that, it does not make Mush a better choice. Just because A and B are bad, doesn’t make C good automatically. This is plain logic.

I agree that NS and BB were not good and I alos agree that there is “some” improvement shown in the jugglery of economy in Mush’s time but let us not disregard the following facts. Firstly, none of the NS or BB governments were ever allowed to serve their full term (whatever the reason, their own bickering, army incvolvement whatever!). But for any governement to indicate any progress, time is needed. Take a simple example of construction of a hydal power plant. Gesticulation time is 10 years at least. So many of the things NS or BB started to do someone bore the fruit of. Secondly, I do not agree with the reference indicators given by Musharraf’s allies to show the development. I have quoted it before but would quote it again a stement from someone I found very amusing: “Pakistan is the only state where foreign investment means the no. of food chains you have, techonology transfer means mobile companies selling you their phones (no actual technology coming in the country) and economic growth is indicated by no. of cars on the roads (courtsey the leasing from banks)”. Also, whatever “progress” you see in Musharraf’s time is not due to some good policies of his but due to the fact that this was the longest time in the history of Pakistan (8 years) when there was some consistency in the government’s policies (and I am not discussing the good or bad aspect of policies here) since it was one governement. Even then, with the “Islamophbia” and bomb-everyone strategies of Mush, I personally know many of the projects in the Oil and Gas sector, at least, involving foreign investment, which went in doldrums.

The basic flaw with the proposition that Musharraf is a good option is that no self appointed dictator, no usurper of law, no power hungry maniac can be a good leader and a good manager because he would always be insecure and would no know that once he goes he cannot be back. Although I would give anything to have some better politicians than BB and NS, the fact of the matter is that no matter how bad or currupt, they are still better than a dictator. If we don’t want them, let US (not United States of America but the people, I mean :)) throw them out. How has one person the right to decide the fate of many? I am no idealist believing in the purity of NS. I know that the only reason BB and not him is making deals with Mush is because for him the wound is raw but I again insist on following a system.

My final word: Please start believing in a system because that is the first step towards creating a system. Right now we have chaos. We need to start from scratch. So let the system run, at least, we can do the pruning and cleaning later inshallah.

I forgot to add that Hamid Mir has conducted the program admirably in a thorough professional manner. His arguments with Raja Ashraf were quite good. I recall I could not stand him as a compere when he started with this talk show but he has really improved himself over time.

Ahsan Iqbal was quite eloquent and mature in his aproach.

Rising prices, INFLATION, do you know anything about it? prices always rise, everywhere in the world. Do you know anything why, how, when?

Somewhere it’s really high, somewhere its low, somewhere its moderate. Pakistani inflation is MODERATE. inflation (rising prices) in india is a bit lower than inflation in pakistan. ill give you 4 other example, UAE and qatar, inflation is higher than pak. in Iran, it is 3 times higher than that of pak. in zimbabwe, it is ummm…a few thousand times more than pakistan. yes. prices rise a few thousand times faster than pak.

apart from that, prices rises (inflation) is higher in economies that are developing fast. like pakistan. mostly due to demand outstripping supply. demand pull inflation. and the govt. does so much to combat it. they subsidise goods and services. even though healthy economies SHOULDNT be subsidising goods. our interest rate is very high. which hurts growth rate, but lowers inflation. inflation also occurs due to the international market forces that always forces prices up. oil is another example, when nawaz left in 99, the price of a barrel of oil was less than $15. now, it is almost $80. that makes petrol in pakistan expensive. makes everything more expensive becaue the transportation costs of companies rise etc

now general prices levels. you know prices in pakistan are really low compared to international levels. compare anything. rents, property prices, petrol, food etc. its just because we’re poor it seems really bad. the only way out is long term economic development

and u said why is there poverty if the economic policies are good. ill give you another example, havent chinas economic policies been good for 30 years? havent indias been good for 15 years? why do they have so much poverty. poverty my friends, takes time. it’ll be another 20 years before pakistan seriously makes an assault on ending poverty once and for all. the solution is simple, economic development, but long term. 25-30 year economic development.

and electricity in pakistan is cheaper than the intl. markets. the pakistani industries are pathetic, they have no quality, no cost controls, they need kicks in the butt :P but its true, our products are SHIT. they cant compete in the intl. market. and the big problem is there is no infrastructure, no proper roads/railways/public transport

this govt. is tackling that. study the national trade corridor program started by this govt. and various other transport programs such as the lahore undeground subway . cant remember its proper name.

as for whether people are stupid or not. first of all, half our population is illiterate!!! need i say more?

and the bank in karachi and islamabad. hmmm you’re forgetting lahore. it shows that foreign multinations see a prospering market here so they’re coming here.

seems to me you dont understand any economics. thats the problem with oour country, too many lawyes, very few economists.

lastly, u still didnt tell me wat u think about the 13th an 14th ammendment by nawaz sharif to stop the president and the parliament from being able to dismiss him? isnt that dictatorship?

nawaz had two chances, and he didnt nothing. coulda woula shoulda, NOTHING!

ps. join the following website, they have a lot of interesting projects, news, developments etc in pak

http://www.urbanpk.com
    http://www.skyscrapercity.com

as for the link you posted. the article says that pakitan is a miserable state. it doesnt say it is a miserable state now under musharraf. it says we have been a miserable state for 60 years. and why dont you read some proper reports by the asian development bank and the world bank on pakistans economic progress and plans under the current regime. the article you posted has nothing to do with that.

all will agree that pakistan was financially edging towards failure in 99, and now it is quite sound, and will continue to grow, IF THE POLITICAL SITUATION IS stable. i have a degreee in economics, and you dont understand any economics.

as for corruption, yes its there, rooted in pakistani soceity for 60 years. im not saying everything is perfect. im saying under musharraf we made a lot of progress, anD OVERALL it was good. more good than bad. unlike nawaz and BB

give the man another 5 years and you will have true democracy. he will stabilise financial and econonomic institutions, and leave after 5 years. then do whatever you want. but dont abruptly disrupt the little political stability we had these past years. let the train run on its path. and after 5 years, musharraf will go for good

53. comment-top

Eddie,

What a silly comment, give 2 years to nawaz sharif and give 8 5 = 13 years to Musharraf to fix everything.

Am I the only one smelling bias here from Eddie?

Mush made 5 million pound personal wealth … how much does he want more on his 700 pound job per month?

Banta

54. comment-top comment-bottom