Chaudhry Shujaat says that National Conciliation Ordinance was a political trick to trap PPP. He said that both parties played their games and Government won, and government also successfully broke alliances of political parties.
Prime Minister Shaukar Aziz has said that NRO can be challenged in the courts.
Source: Daily Jang
Please share your views below …
October 7th, 2007 at 2:23 pm
Very Good, Buhat Achaa howaa. Cheaters cheated the cheaters.
All priase to APDM, Imran khan, Justice Wajihuddin.
They are our future.
October 7th, 2007 at 2:24 pm
As I said earlier, even if there is still a backdoor game going on, this statememt by Shujaat is a slap on face of PPP political workers.
BB should have listened to Aitzaz Ahsan who said in Capital Talk 2 days ago that this discriminatory oridinance will be challanged immediately in the courts.
Khalid
October 7th, 2007 at 2:33 pm
Superb - I am delighted about this stuff - though I do not like Musharraf - but happy for what happened with PPP!!
October 7th, 2007 at 2:34 pm
It doesn’t matter what shujaat hussain.says Everybody knew from day one that he didn’t want to give any concessions to PPP bcz if PPP had level playing field, his authority would end & he would be secluded to gujrat again. Musharraf has already signed it . What shujaat says doesn’t matter bcz he is upset that mush did not consult him. Nobody ever takes a slave’s comments seriously when his master has already signed a document.
October 7th, 2007 at 2:35 pm
Kudos to the ruling party and shame to the opposition for not being able to unite and provide leadership when it mattered. Clear failure/loss for opposition in political battle. Unfortunately, it seems SC will stamp this election again. Why should they take the wrath of the army chief. Honestly, we deserve this punishment (ruled by a dictator).
October 7th, 2007 at 2:39 pm
@Yasar,
What about Aitzaz’s statement against this ordinance? Do you still consider him in PPP?
Khalid
October 7th, 2007 at 2:50 pm
I am somewhat releived after hearing this statement but..again look who is saying that.
October 7th, 2007 at 2:51 pm
In the rest of the world elections are a means for people to vent their anger and express themselves. It is an opportunity for a peaceful transition of power.
In the land of the pure it will lead to more unrest, since the masses have been gagged. An outgoing parliament has elected a president for 5 years. The turmoil and the turbulence will continue.
Musharraf’s victory is like the 1953 coup against a democratic regime in Iran that brought Shah back to power. This set the stage for a bloody revolution 26 years later. Pakistan is headed for French revolution now, I hope it does not take 26 years though.
BB is solely responsible for Musharraf’s reelection and destroying her party’s image.
October 7th, 2007 at 3:27 pm
What you can except from PML wherther NS or Shujjat whole party belongs to thugs.
PPP alway come to power through deal even ZAB had to sign on doted line before taking over in 1971.
This is first time that establishment had to be on its knees publicly to secure a deal with PPP. This is indeed a great victory for PPP even ZAB was not able to corner establishment in such a way. I hope next five year would be great test for PPP and BB.
October 7th, 2007 at 3:32 pm
TrickyPPP has been tricked–thank god-ALLAHS justice comes late but its sure to prevail–but please dont forget–there wont be any fair elections. ,and again govt n authorities will use enormous funds at their disposal to manipulate n ‘WIN’–elections–awaam will continue to suffer n opposition has gone with wind [due to corrupt Benazir and FazaluRahman---ALAS Imran khan CANT GET VOTES WITH NO MONEY AVAILABLE 2 BUY VOTES] due to their own follies And no more real democracy is in the fate of this unlucky nation–kudoz–to usa–their think tanks–for suucceding in their plansto continue keeping pak army engaged against their own pple n not realizing that there has never been a win win situation in waziristan–in known history for invading armies —
October 7th, 2007 at 3:35 pm
Seriously, i don’t trust any politician, neither do I trust judicial system. justice chadhry took oath under LFO. How come he is speaking of justice now. nawaz, benazir and musharraf they all are corrupt. But I guess Musharraf is lesser of the evil. he increased spending on eductaion, science and tech, scholarships. he regualted telecom and iT. he allowed more freedom to media and above all he doesn;t have suurey palace or ittefaq foundary. He wanted to build kalabagh but politicians wouldn;t let him.
surely he had done lot of mistakes and misued his power on many times. but if you comapre his era with nawaz and benazir. he is far better then those. we all know what happened during nawaz and benazir. don’t we ??
October 7th, 2007 at 3:40 pm
nawaz freezes foreign cur a/c and before that he transferred his dollars.
when musharraf came to power, one of the big challenge was hubco, he settled that with in few months.
the main problem with musharraf is that many people around him are corrupt. but he had a very good team in the first 3 years. All clean technocrats. remember even ex-naval chief had to face accountability.
i am not advocating for musharraf. people are free to chose. But the main problem with us is that we are very simple and all these politcians had made us fool
October 7th, 2007 at 3:47 pm
@sucha Pakistani
So innocence of yours. I think Musharraf will top the list of the most corrupt people. Because he had the longest of duration of power. Whereas the other two had not more than 5 years of total in two episodes. And everybody knows that corruption tricks improve and becomes more efficient with time, so Musharraf in this IT regime would have made a thousand times more. One will know when Allah decides an end to his doctrine. I wish all Musharraf supporters to be with him on the day of judgement if they trust him that much.
October 7th, 2007 at 4:09 pm
“PPP alway come to power through deal even ZAB had to sign on doted line before taking over in 1971.”
I agree with Shahid. PPP won all fair and free elections since 1970. Paki upper class can never forget and forgive PPP for giving voice to poor. This is apparent here on internet. Upper middle class of Pakistan is the most hypocrite and corrupt but still consider them very religious. Mush, Shujat, Qazi Sharifs are all the same.
I still think, Shujat or Aziz are not players in this game. They will do what their master Mush will say. Mush will do what his master USA will say. Mush BB agreement is brokered and gaurateed by US. BB knows that this ordinance will be challenged. Its life is only 60 days before it expires. Till then all cases will be finished. NAB is going to withdraw from international cases.
BB is a clear winner as ever before. 1)Zia made cases against PPP and later his PM Junejo greeted BB in PM house door.
2) GI Khan made cases ad 2 years later madee Zardari his minister.
3) Nawaz made cases then openly begged forgiveness and became her Bhai.
4) Two judges (including current AG Malik Qayum) gave decision aginst her. They proved to be getting dictation from Sharif and lost job after BB and Zardari got acquitted from SC.
5) Mush called her corrupt and on an occasion rudely said that he will kick her with his boot. Now Mush ran to see her and begged her support.
6) Imran and Qazi called her corrupt but later begged her to become part of APDM.
Bhai, Game is over. For next 5 years, Pak will be ruled by Mush, PPP, JUI-F, MQM alliance. Some nationalists including ANP may also join. Another IJI will be formed by ISI to keep BB under pressure by Mush. New IJI will include Sharif, part of anti-BB PML-Q (Shujat, Ijazul Haq etc), Qazi, Imran etc. Next year you will see Sharif, Qazi, Imran urging Mush to fire BB. I bet.
October 7th, 2007 at 4:09 pm
Pakistani people and especially the Youth should recognize that our future is Imran Khan, Jumaat Islami and Justice Wajeehuddin… Benazir is insulted.. ad alo Beware of Maulana Fazal who tried to do the similar thing but was insulted as well.
October 7th, 2007 at 4:13 pm
PPP has been boasting that how PPP workers know how to break “Nakas” and they were quite right; they helped Mush break the “Naka” to get himself out from a dark alley and impose himself on this country for another five years. Well done PPP!!! You deserve all the kudos, just like MMA. Now you will be spanked around by Mush and his allies. Your leader, BB, seriously lacks political wisdom. In fact she was mainly focusing on acquit herself from cases.
October 7th, 2007 at 4:15 pm
@Khalid,
Kindly take out Jammat-e-Islaami from that list. It doesnt even deserve to stand next to Imaran Khan, let alone Justice Wajihuddin.
October 7th, 2007 at 4:56 pm
Stop being naive.
Shujaat Hussain passed this statement, Durrani denied it. The one thing the government has managed to do successfully is to create confusion. This is more of the same. They want to keep the ‘deal’ with the PPP while also showing to people that they are opposed to it. By buying into it you guys are allowing them to have their cake and eat it too.
October 7th, 2007 at 5:00 pm
The best news so far: “choran noo pai gaye mor”!. BB deserves this.
October 7th, 2007 at 5:07 pm
It is amazing to read Anti ppp comments as most of them sound like they got a big success. All that on the basis of one statement of a person who i believe is one of the main culprit amongst the politicians. This is a statement from a man who has been supporting Mush throughout. That shows we don’t have much political sense though we have all the access to media and so on, even less then a villager Hari or poor Mazdoor who knows BB is better then most of politician. All of us who are against military intervention should realize the fact BB can certainly pull us back to road of civilian power, also should not be jumping in joy on statements passed by people like Shoujat Hussain.It is time to support BB so she could snatch maximum for this poor civil society rather then to pull her legs so Mush and mile try Junta along with lotters like Q league gets whole of the cake.
October 7th, 2007 at 5:12 pm
there are lots of thick heads out there. most of people putting comments here are ppp haters and they always have been ppp haters but trust me you guys wont be happy for a long time coz bb is coming in power soon for a long time and this time she will have more power. she is not a thick and stupid lady. for some who are saying that aitzaz said this and that dont they remember saying bb is very zeerak politision. i really laugh at you people when you guys think that she is so stupid that she simply gets in trap. do you guys really think you are more claver then bb. if you think then no one is more stupid then you.
October 7th, 2007 at 5:13 pm
Here’s Aitzaz Ahsan for you.
http://www.thenews.com.pk/top_story_detail.asp?Id=10528
ISLAMABAD: “I am part of the party and will contest the upcoming general elections on the PPP ticket,� Aitzaz Ahsan, senior PPP leader said, while talking to The News from Lahore on telephone on Sunday. His statement shocked many lawyers and the civil society members fighting for the restoration of democracy and Constitution. Aitzaz, main leader of the lawyers’ movement and counsel of the Chief Justice Iftikhar Muhammad Chaudhry earlier had serious reservations on the PPP’s dialogue with Musharraf. He declined to comment on the National Reconciliation Ordinance (NRO). When asked about his principled stand on not dealing with a military dictator, he replied like other PPP leaders saying, “Whatever reservations I had, I had discussed in party meetings and would also raise again and again at party platforms, but I don’t want to discuss these issues in public.� Aitzaz is a strong candidate for the post of the president of the Supreme Court Bar Association (SCBA).
October 7th, 2007 at 5:16 pm
for all ppp haters get ready for another shock. durani said that is not what shujaat said.
mohtrma is coming 18 oct so get ready for biggest welcome ever in pakistan history.
October 7th, 2007 at 5:16 pm
There are no honest people in Pakistani politics today.
We can sit here supporting our respective party positions, or we can sit here and support ideals. If you want to be honest, PPP, PML(N), PML(Q), MQM, MMA; they are all equally bad. It is unfortunate that we spend all our time wrangling about equally flawed politicians. We have been divided, and these divisions are taking up all of our time.
What we need, is change. Not all our energy to support failed parties and politicians.
October 7th, 2007 at 5:20 pm
imran khan is hero,he is my leader
October 7th, 2007 at 5:21 pm
All the political scholars here !
I remember that there used to be “Bandar Tamsha” in Pakistan. The moment trainer started playing his “Dugdugi”, the monkey will start dancing. All the moves of the monkey will be followed by the sound of dugdugi, trainers command, and stick. Do you see any analogy between Monkey Tamsaha and Comments Tamasha. My take on reaction to Shujaat’s statement.
Here’s factual analysis:
1- Ordinance is reality and law of the land as we speak. It can only be over turned by courts. Other than that people like Shujaat can not do anything unless Mush signs another ordinance to nullify the earlier version.
2- There are about 30-40 of PML(Q) legislators requesting PPP to award them ticket for the next election. I can confirm 28 of them have formally made that request. Shujaat very rightly is trying to appease his party and minimize his losses.
3- NS will be back prior to next general election (again by “deal”) which has additional potential to lure some more PML(Q) MPs. Shujaat will make many interesting statements in coming days.
4- Mush and PPP have made mutual concessions. He has accepted their nomination for the army chief post. In addition next chief election commissioner will be nominated through consensues among atleast Govt., PPP, PMLN, JUI, MQM, ANP, & some other regional parties. JI will be part of this consensus only if it is part of MMA. PMLN could be dragged out by JI but people like Ch. Nisar will prevail in the end.
5- If there is a break up in MMA then Qazi will use all means to discredit next general elections. He will stoop to any level to convince NS to not to participate in next general elections. However if PMLN does so, it’s key members will either join other parties or contest elections independent.
Have Fun Guys !
October 7th, 2007 at 5:23 pm
A.Ahsan, Justic F.Ibrahim Justice Wahajiuddin. Munir Malik. they are all PPP people.Laweyer movememt was run by NS money but with PPP brain. And Yes Kurd is PPP candidate for Quetta 1.
October 7th, 2007 at 5:25 pm
One more thing:
6- IK’s future will look like present of Ahmed Raza Qasoori.
October 7th, 2007 at 5:28 pm
totally agree with siyasti keera. as i said there are tons of thick heads. i can put my hand on my heart and say these people are ppp haters from day one and they will never miss a single chance to go againest the biggest and most populer party in pakistan. but they will be very much disoppointed again and again.
October 7th, 2007 at 5:33 pm
Everyone,
I suggest to please use these comments to comment on the above topic only. Don’t start a war of “my leader vs your leader”.
This site is used by some senior News and TV anchors and I don’t want it to look like crap with same hate comments over and over.
I reserve the right to delete or ban anyone violating this policy.
October 7th, 2007 at 5:45 pm
If you can, please convey to these senior TV people to understand the difference between wish, opinion, fact, and analysis. Should they desire, I can arrange their training in US. Also, please do convey them to understand how to conduct and interpret scientific opinion polls. I have credentials to train them in this regard. Should they desire, I can arrange other professionals as well.
October 7th, 2007 at 6:01 pm
Ch Shujaat normally spreads rumors and confusions but I wish this time he is right. PPP deserve this as they have betrayed people of Pakistan. My family voted for PPP in 88 against Zia’s legacy but now they are puppets of army themselves. Imran is the only honest politician and we should support only those parties who are against army raj.
October 7th, 2007 at 6:23 pm
@Siasti Keera
You have also deviated from above topic and have started ’sarcastic & insulting’ campaign against senior anchors etc.
You support Musharraf and his allies and we respect your opinion. You should also respect others’ opinions. And if you have any doubt about the ability of people conducting poll results etc, check results on this site to see how popular your favourite leaders are.
October 7th, 2007 at 6:24 pm
Black Faces without Black Oil Paint Spray!!
Hamid Mir on President’s election and some interesting (or sad) stories:
‘Sab Ka Moon Kaala’ by Hamid Mir (daily Jang)
http://jang.com.pk/jang/oct2007-daily/08-10-2007/col3.htm
October 7th, 2007 at 6:25 pm
It has only been two days since NRO’s promulgation and there are already statements coming out from senior PML-Q leaders that how they were able to discredit PPP. Take a look at this link:
http://thenews.jang.com.pk/top_story_detail.asp?Id=10521
Following is an excerpt from this link:
“We will have no problem if the court strikes down the National Reconciliation Ordinance as our only concern was that Pakistan People’s Party (PPP) lawmakers should not resign to discredit the presidential election,â€? a senior federal minister told The News on Saturday.”
October 7th, 2007 at 6:33 pm
Pinky Bhutto is destined to be laid to rest in her pink villa with the horse-lover Asif!
October 7th, 2007 at 6:33 pm
The current political situation has shown that no political figure in Pakistan is aware of any conscience. We are perhapes the 20 % of the people to comprehend this fact. Rest of 80% Pakistanis belonging to villages are still going to vote to the same corrupt politicians. All of this hanky panky and backdoor politics has been in its place right from the beginning. Its only the media has become powerful enough to exhibit it like this. All I want to know is if someone could suggest a non-democratic idealogy that suits Pakistan. Personally I dont believe we, Pakistanis deserve and rather should have a Electoral Government systems. Not alteast everyone has a an equal mature mind to vote.
October 7th, 2007 at 6:34 pm
Hi Kami
You are spot on!! I thought I was the only one who is ashmaed of having Siasati Keera on this website.
October 7th, 2007 at 6:35 pm
According to Swiss financial institutions: BB’s net assets are US dollar 1.5 billion. There is nothing left in Pakistan to steal!
October 7th, 2007 at 6:40 pm
@ Kami:
Keera is he parasite let loose by Musharraf and Shaikh Rasheed. He sold his soul for two dozens gulab jamans. Admin: kick it out!
October 7th, 2007 at 6:50 pm
Reply to Keera Bhai’s comments:
“you failed to mention activities of MQM. Your language seemed of a typical MQM’s lover.”
MQM is not mentioned by me because they were not relavent to comments I replied. There is no dispute that MQM is violant and involved in terrorist activities. This organization deserve to be banned. I hope inquiy by SHC will result in such decision.
October 7th, 2007 at 7:00 pm
@ saqibtahir
Your hate and lies will not be able to deny the facts of History.
Jamaat fought in Bangladesh fro Unity of Pakistan.
Jamaat united Ulema and Right Wing in each era of History.
Jamaat has the most educated cadres in Pakistan.
Jamaat fought Russian pigs and Socialist bigots during 70’s 80’s.
Jamaat has the highest number of scientists working in Pakista’s nuclear and missile establishment.
Jamaat is represented all over Pakistan.
Jamaat is the only democratic party which elects its leadership each year through a constitutional secret ballet.
No body but Jammatis would remove Musharaf.
Jamaat will not perish with your lies and spin.
Allah Hafiz
To all Jamaat and Mullah Haters
October 7th, 2007 at 7:13 pm
@ Not Siasati Keera
@ Once a Patriot
@ Kami
Hello Day dreamers pretending to be political intellectuals!
I do not consider Mush as legitimate president of Pakistan. However the reality is that he’s the president. If supreme court gives verdict to allow him win this election then I will consider him legitimate president. But still he will not be president of my choice.
I respect Irshad Haqqaani, Hussain Haqqani, Nusrat Javed, Nazir Naji, Abdul-Qadir Hassan, Haroon Rashid, Nusrat Javed, Javed Ch., Abbas Athar, and many other journalists. One may disagree with them but their professional integrity can not be questioned. However there are very strong indications that Hamid Mir & Dr. Shahid Masood have been on the payroll of ISI. They have planted stories and written articles to promote ISI agenda. I respect the integrity of Javed Malik, Kashif Abbasi, Talat Hussain, Mushtaq Minhas, & PJ Mir. Although some of them should hire Talat as tutor. Faiza has nothing to her credit as anchor person except for sweet voice and nice looks. Asma Sheerazi again good by voice and looks standard only. Both have no clue what’s the difference between politics and administration.
On a different note, ask Hamid Mir why he has been hiding the facts who sent money to whom for launching agitation in Pakistan.
October 7th, 2007 at 7:14 pm
May I remind all 5 fingers in a hand are not equal. All Mulvis are not bad. However, I agree Mulvis have switched sides with the turning tides. Try to understand Saqib, the irony in our country consisting of pathetic people like you is the fact we dont have ability to hear an argument. I quoted 20% as very high optamistic figure. I myself completely understand, the real figure would be around 2-3 % who would even understand what we’re talking about. What am saying is to lets all stop yapping around and suggest the, if possible way, that EXCLUDES the 95% uneducated people and leaves the decision making to the 5% learned people, perheaps like yourself…..
October 7th, 2007 at 7:15 pm
I feel so bad when I see the PPP leaders on TV and their supporters on different forums now. They used to talk about principles and high moral grounds but today all of them are talking about ground realities and Grand National interest. The same language which every military dictator and people like Sheikh Rasheed were using so far, now they have to use that too. Even on this forum, her supporters are defending the deal by abusing the other politicians. Where are the principles and morality?
I also used to be a supporter of PPP and have campaigned for the party in two elections but today I agree with the statement given by a PPP leader that Bhutto did not die in 1979, he dies on 5th October 2007.
After talking so big for months about the deal, all they have done is released the 1.5 billion dollars of Benazir Zardari. What else can we expect when people like Rahman Malik were negotiating the deal?
Benazir Zaradari has not just betrayed her party but she has betrayed the whole country.
October 7th, 2007 at 7:37 pm
Taimur Khan, you say BB agreed. Now can you prove it in the court of law because Govt of Pakistan has not been able to prove it even after 11 years. I will spend the money as much as you want to prove your point. Would you or any one you believe that BB is corrupt take up my challenge.
October 7th, 2007 at 7:49 pm
To all
No one has touched the real topic,I mean,the core issue,the feudal lords.Democracy cannot flourish in pakistan,I repeat,democracy cannot flourish in pakistan,so long we have the feudal system.So far,we have seen mockeracy not democracy.
About 80 % of the population lives in the rural areas,who are under the clutches of the feudal lords,these poor unfortuante people have no say at all.
We need educated people from the middle class to come forward and break the schackles of the feudal lords.
Musharraf was very powerful,he could have done it at the very begining,but unfortunately,he worked along with the same old people.
We need new breed of politicians,all the old junk,should be thorwn away.
We need to have a real land reform to get rid of the feudal lords,electoral reforms and so many other reforms are needed to get ourselves on the right track.
October 7th, 2007 at 7:59 pm
Ps.
I am soory,I forgot to mention about the maulvis,they always have double standard of doing things.We can easiy judge that with the present state of affairs in NWFP.
October 7th, 2007 at 8:05 pm
shahid kinnare, I never said she agreed or she disagreed. It does not matter. What I said was the whole deal was about personal benefits of Benazir Zradari and Rehman Malik and a few other law makers of PPP. What about the people? What’s there is the deal for you and me? She is accepting a uniformed president who will be ruling us, 160 million people, not just her and Rahman Malik. I have never voted for Rahman Malik nor have any other Pakistani then why was he deciding our fate?
She should have asked for abolition of National Security Council where four generals will be ruling us now for the rest of our live but no she asked for her personal cases to be abolished. She should have removed the 58 (2B) but no she removed the cases against Rahman Malik. Can you please tell how Rahman Malik Cases were affecting me or any other person from Pakistan?
In my village there is a guy who has served people’s party more than Rahman Malik at the village level in every election. He is in Jail these days because of a small land dispute, now can you explain to me rationally why should he not benefit from any such law? Why should any other person who is in jail for stealing 50 or 100 Rupees not benefit from any such law when people like Farooq Sattar who has 50 cases of attempted murders, kidnapping and bank robberies against him will get amnesty now.
October 7th, 2007 at 8:06 pm
I wish PPP get rid of supporters like Siasati Keera and saqibtahir, deflate the air pumped through jiyalas like these, remove the dark glasses, to have the true picture of Pakistan…
but sorry to much ask from ‘ta-hayat chairperson’
Can anybody tell me how many educational institutions were made by BB in her city and specifically in her to increase awareness in her people. she would prefer them to be as ignorant as a slate.
October 7th, 2007 at 8:09 pm
@ syaaseti keera and saqib tahir..
You can’t creat ambiguity about the current situation by venturing into so called intellectual reasoning….the truth is vvv clear by now that all politicans take politcs to fulfill there own selfish needs and malicious desires… to fulfill there own malicious desires….if somebody still support pmlq pmln pppp or army dictator then he or she suffers from pesonality worship syndrome……..
instead of talking personalities we need to talk about the system…..we need to elaborate the over used and over hyped term democracy and see its feasibility in our current scenerio…and talk about what steps need to be taken to empower a strong systemmmm..rather then personalities….
October 7th, 2007 at 8:11 pm
I would quote Talat Hussain here that If NRO was not PPP specific then how come no other party got the draft ?
October 7th, 2007 at 8:12 pm
Pakistan is facing the worst nightmare. The challenges are,
Petty Ethnocentric politics (MQM=ANP=Musharaf)
The liberal Terror which want to plunge Pakistan into a Civil War (Unaccountable Military= Westernized Minority)
and
Power Hungry goondas (BB+Shujahat)
We need Nawaz+MMA+Imran+Lawyers Movement to join hands for democracy and freedom.
October 7th, 2007 at 8:19 pm
@Imran Malik:
“…if somebody still support pmlq pmln pppp or army dictator then he or she suffers from pesonality worship syndrome……..
”
Well said Imran and that is exactly what the problem is with us. None of these so- called politicians have given anything to the masses.
October 7th, 2007 at 8:21 pm
PPP-lovers: grow up.
PPP-haters: grow up.
This is precisely the problem with Pakistan. How politics is all about putting parties on trial, each side armed with rumours and hearsay, willing to point out that the other is worse. All that politics has achieved is to divide us further, each armchair critic so consumed by personalities, that important issues have gone abegging. In essence, our politics is about people, not issues, and as long as that remains the case, we will never succeed.
Let me ask people on both side of the divide a few questions.
1) Do we want democracy in Pakistan?
Do we? Or do we simply want our own respective political parties in power? Democracy might mean that PPP gets elected, or PML(N), or even PML(Q). Do we care about the process, or just our own respective groups.
2) Is the current system acceptable?
If it is wrong, then it is wrong, irrespective of how many times leaders flip-flop on it. And if it is right, then no matter how vocally you oppose it, it is right. It is important to isolate personalities from what is being said. Learn to think for yourself and decide what is right or wrong, rather than toeing party lines blindly.
3) Is politics about securing power, or doing the right thing?
This is important, because a decision needs to be reached. Do we expect our politicians to be wily old foxes able to survive, or people who subscribe to a philosophy and are unwilling to waver from it. Do we want them to cut deals, or enter into dialogues, and seek compromises, and if so, how far are we willing to go?
4) Are we anything more than silent spectators?
If we do not feel strongly enough to vote and participate in the electoral process, do we really have the right to sit here and comment till we’re blue in the face?
There is much that needs to be answered at our end.
October 7th, 2007 at 8:24 pm
My Prediction
PPP will get less than 10 seats in Punjab+Pakhtoon Khaw+Baluchistan
IF GENERAL IS NOT THERE
so
Right Wing should boycott any election until Musharaf is packed away.
Meanwhile burden judiciary more so that every judge is exposed.
LET US NOT RUSH TO AN ELECTION LIKE 2002
BLOCK ELECTION and force military to choose between
Marshal Law OR Democracy
APPEASEMENT OF MUSHARAF HAS FAILED
and
Finally I am happy that PPP has declared that it has lost its virginity
October 7th, 2007 at 8:27 pm
THank you shaukat and Tanveer for reinstating my point. I couldnt agree with you lads more on this. WE NEED TO TALK ON REFORMS NOT ON POLITICS ON EVERY FRONT AND PLOW THE SEED OF EDUCATION ON EVERY STREET AND ALLY IN PAKISTAN. ALL POLITICIANS, DEMOCRACIES AND DICTATORS HAVE FAILED.
we need to learn from India and China. Looking at the modern frame of industrialization, we need small scale business like IT development centres, Call centres etc in Pakistan. These can only sprout once we have foreign investment coming in which is possible only with foreign trust. Musharaf has got us this trust. I believe we need to be allies with the US at this stage. PAKISTAN IS NOT CAPABLE OF MAKING ITS OWN POLITICAL DECISIONS. THATS WHY WE’RE BEING THRASHED WITH FOREIGN DECISIONS UPTILL NOW. AND THIS WILL CONTINUE WHOSOEVER COMES INTO POWER. PPP AND MUSHARAF DEAL IS AN OBVIOUS PROOF OF THAT.
Things are never going to change untill everyone in Pakistan knows who they’re really selecting. This cannot be achieved without grass root education.
October 7th, 2007 at 8:56 pm
The sad part is
OUR Military is killing
Our People
in FATA
It can only happen if we have a
Pro-MQM Army Cheif
The story behind the curtain is
kill
Pashtoons
in KARACHI, LAL MASJID and FATA
to prove that Urban Muhajirs are civilized and Tribal Pashtoons are un-civilized
THIS IS THE WORST PART OF 1999 COUP
and also
the top leadership of military and political leadership is based on an abstract distribution of power between ETHNIC REPRESENTATIVES
JATS in Punjab
FEUDALS in Sindh
Potaharis in Military
Muhajirs in Karachi
MUSHARAF HAS DIVIDED US INTO PEACES
IT IS SHAMEFUL ETHNIC POLITICS
October 7th, 2007 at 10:06 pm
The ordinance is meaningless to the people….it is just meant to apease usa and bb and the “naraz” politicians.
Even if the ordinance wasnt made what difference could have been made? These corrupt politicians would still be there….what could supreme court or justice chaudhary ifitikhar have done about them? Right now, you have this judge hanging around, and right now u have many corrupt people in pakistan sans benazir….u have corrupt people even in the government like faisal saleh hayat…what has the supreme court done about them….nothing so this NRO hasnt made any diff…even when it wasnt there these people have done corruption like there was no law for them….all what matters is what people think!
October 7th, 2007 at 11:00 pm
Declare Musharraf King, Sehba as Queen, Shaukat as Man Singh, Wasi Zafar Pimp, Shujaat Hijra, and Shaikh Rasheed as Tansen. Long live eperimental kingdom of Pakistan!
October 7th, 2007 at 11:02 pm
yyyyeee
it has to happen…
i wonder it happened more earlier then expected….
October 7th, 2007 at 11:11 pm
Taimur Khan, So you do agree that she is not corrupt. The problem with Pakistan is that brucarcy never allowed to develop insititution.We had golden chance to devope this institution in 1977. but PNA with the help Jung Group murder ZAB.
Than come chance after dead of Zia. Gen Aslam beg form IJI. We lost the chance their when establishment did not allowed politician to work.
The reality is that establishment in Pakistan is against Pakistan and when ever pro people group win they over throw them blame that politician are corrupt.
Take the case of CJ was he not send home telling the nation that he was corrupt. If ppp lawyer A.Ahsan, Munir Malik, Kurd, F.Ibrahim had not started the campaign he would have gone home. Plus every one knows that CJ has soft corner for PPP.
What we should be talking about is how to build institutions in Pakistan. Once we build this institutions corrupt politician would be automatically thrown out of the system.
Their many politician in Pakistan who are honest but because institutions are not build they cannot play their due role.
And trust me pakistan is very good coutry and one day thing will happen in Pakistan for which we would proud.
One last though we should respect our minority that including Hindu, Christain, Ahmaidyas, Brohis, Ismailies, they should be allowed to enter public domain.
October 7th, 2007 at 11:48 pm
Yes cheater have cheat the biggest cheater.
Loyality of BB has always been questionable. she is not loyal to his brother how she can be loyal to country.
biggest shame of this drama whose last three months have started is shame ful people of pakistan who will again vote for cheater and biggest cheater.
people should be shame ful of them selves as when ball is in thier court they give rubbish and below average decsion.
they should realize if they love pakistan they should vote and vote correctly and in the end do not blame others.
voting not is not an option plus how much unfair election one can conduct when people stop the cheaters.
it is the time for people to deliver other wise shut thier mouth for 5 years.
God bles democracy.
October 7th, 2007 at 11:50 pm
I guess in our life time, we will see the bloodiest revolution of all times. People will forgot what happened in iran, france etc. and this one will be the topic of political science courses for centuries to come (if there are any remaining)
October 7th, 2007 at 11:53 pm
@shahid kinnare
for second time you have claimed about some famous people being corrupt but having soft corner for ppp. what are you trying to prove here?
October 7th, 2007 at 11:54 pm
Sahi Bhai, I read your long list of JI contributions to take the country backward. But you have not refuted any of my claims of JI’s alliance with dictators, CIA and Congress. You were Anti-Pakistan before 1947 and you are anti-Pakistan now. Unity of Mullas means nothing. Ata Ullah Shah Bukhari once said ‘People of Pakistan can listen Mulla speeches for whole night but will never give vote and their deaughter’s hand to Mulla’. Your party cannot win a single seat on its own. This time again you will try to take shelter under some ISI sponsored alliance. If elections are fair5 PPP will be no 1 as before, Mush Party will be second. I bet.
Your dream of Inqlab will never fulfil Inshaallh. Down with stinking thinking of Moudoodi.
October 8th, 2007 at 12:16 am
Sahi, I feel shame for reading these comments:
“The sad part is
OUR Military is killing
Our People
in FATA”.
Killing insurgents is right thing no matter who is ruling the country. Fitna and violance against state is unacceptable. Suiside bombings of innocent Pakistanies is a shameful act. We must support it. The question is why your party enjoyed government in NWFP and Baluchistan bordering FATA? Your NWFP CM used to sit in ational Security Council where all such decisions were taken? What your governments didn’t do any thing? What stoped you from leaving the MUSh alliance?
Bhai your party is always part of criminal acts of ‘OUR Military’.
Unfortunately you take pride in your Moudoodi party’s collaboration with “OUR Military” to kill and rape million bengali Muslims in 1971.
Unfortunately your party Jamaat Islami was part of Zia dictor’s cabanit when “OUR Military’ murdererd the most populat leader of our country Shaheed Bhutto, killed thousands of political workers in 1984 MRD movement, Lashed hundreds journalist students and workers . I saw Jamaati Goondas killing innocent PPP protesters in Lahore with my own eyes. Your leaders are murderers like Liaqat Balouch and Hafiz Salman Butt.
Unfortunately your party was and is part of Mush establishment while ‘OUR Military’ killed Balochi people and esteemed leaders like Bugti.
Let me repeat Jamaat
Sorry I am getting emotional. JI is not democratic party as it does not believe in democracy else it would have respected peoples mandate to elected governments. Why you were part of Bhutto, BB, Junejo and Sharif’s fall? Whyy you supported Mush in 17th. amendment? Why JI voted to indemify Zia in 1985 and Mush in 2002? Why MMA and JI shared power with Mush from 2002-5?
Don’t underestimate Pakistani public’s intelligence. They defeated JI in all elections even those rigged by ISI. Same will happen again Inshaalla. I bet.
October 8th, 2007 at 12:21 am
Please Correct following part of my last comments :”Suiside bombings of innocent Pakistanies is a shameful act. We must support it.”
I wanted to say “Suiside bombings of innocent Pakistanies is a shameful act. We must not support it by condemning law enforcement.”
October 8th, 2007 at 1:09 am
much as i would hate to admit, statements made by shujaat are just political punnery, the fact is bezamir did not need to meet General kiani and arrange a meeting with Musharraf in Abu Dhabi just to play marbles.
There has been a “DEAL” reached and she will become PM through under the table dealings with the army against the wishes of many in her party. When i say “many”, i mean outside the PPP’s CENTRAL ExECUTIVE COMMITEE, becuse the CEC is like the security council that can VETO whatever the leaders on the lower echelons decide.
Statements made my shujaat are just that=Statements.
Its a mistake to give it any credibility since it has no blessings of the establishment. PPP took the charge early when they broke off from the ARD to sabotage the alliance and broker a deal with Musharraf by forcing the Americans to give her thier support.
That is exactly why the NWFP assemblies did not dissolve as was predicted by many analysts citing the two-faced conduct of maulana fazl.
There are rumors already that people are trying to invite General Kiyani to dinners around the political circles of Islamabad. God knows to discuss what?
PPP has always had a problem when it came to providing deliverables. Rant,Chant,March they can, but effective governance has always eluded them. Historically can be evidenced through the turmoil the country went through in the 90’s.
As for the lawyers movement, it completely hinges on the supreme court verdict, which indeed will deal a severe blow once the supremce court officially declares the election legal. It will fizzle out, despite the massive support they have in the populace.
We will see an evolutionary pattern emerge in the PPP since it will for the first time agree to power-sharing which ZAB never did.
Bezamir will be the puppet of all puppets.
October 8th, 2007 at 1:54 am
Govt. has won!!
1. They spoiled the image of PPP with so called NRO.
2. Now They are starting propaganda against PML(n) and in this circumstances if Sharif will arrive in pakistan, it will be considered that he is also beneficiary of NRO,
Media will play a great roll to spoil further public image of PPP and PML(n) and to spin the public favour toward PML(q).
October 8th, 2007 at 1:56 am
BB has repeated history
she has repeated the same act which her father has done. she is true representative of her father. Bhutto will be proud of her. long live Bhutto.
standing by the military in important part of history
if she or her father was pro democracy they should stand by political forces.
both only have lust of power and nothing else
and now next generation of MR 10 percent will be introduced in coming years and well aware people of pakistan with all their wisdom and vision will vote them
Shame on people who vote for declared corrupt people.
October 8th, 2007 at 4:01 am
The Shujaat rant looks like the swansong of Chaudaries. I believe that the likes of Shujaat and Shaukat are now about to be cut to their proper sizes. They probably will be back in Gujraat or USA (in case of Shaukat) in few months. Good riddance.
But unfortunately, the replacement i.e.: BB cannot be termed as an improvement by any stretch of imagination.
October 8th, 2007 at 8:42 am
@saqibtahir
you say “Suiside bombings of innocent Pakistanies is a shameful act. We must not support it by condemning law enforcement.�
u r right, but think of those whose brothers, fathers and other family member are killed by the Pak army, wiht out any justification and evidence, they have no option but to blown up them selvels and at leat some body of the Govt,
Allah na kary ke thmry gar kay loogoo ko bilkul janwaroo ke thara mara jayee, consider emotions when one family ends in front of his eyes, can you cosider any life for that person any more. i think sucide attack is the last option one have.
no one can support this but this is not the way in which our army is going to handel it.its rule of nature dont kill some body they will not kill peace give peace. all these are due to our Munafiq army people they say one thing and do the other
October 8th, 2007 at 8:49 am
I guess the refference against the Chief Justice Chaudry was also a ‘SIASI CHAAL’.
The LAL BHUJJAKARS, holding Talk Shows, could not understand.
I hope someone will come up declaring that The Government of India Act 1947, was also a ‘SIASI CHAAL’, AND CHALAAKI, to trap the Indian Muslim.
Long Live Pakistan.
Javed I. Sheikh
Washington D.C.
October 8th, 2007 at 8:51 am
Dear all,
i read all the comments but i hve a different idea about,
i think this statment of Loota(Sujat) is also a part of the deal they hve with people party. both of them Q leaque and people party consider the people as animal and they give confused statement on each issue to withdraw the attention from the main issue. and now they did the same.
actually they finalized the deal and all the things are final but in this deal bb is a little bit demoralized and she know that as well, so no she want her party worker support and this is the easy way to get it. now as part of the deal q people will go for some time against the bb. and she will do the same to be against q league. and then she will prove her self innocent to her party supporters and as it happens they will forgave her.
this how the things go on in pakistan.
October 8th, 2007 at 8:58 am
ya thats ture this is part of the game and the people will be traped once again. and benazir will be selected once again.
there is no place for any honest person in pakistan, so i request all the honest and people of principles they should try to leave as soon as possible. other wise they and they incoming generation will hve confused personalities, and will be in continous pain, the world out side pakistan is much more honest, or if not it is at least developed.
October 8th, 2007 at 10:46 am
Few basic questions to ask all Mush supporters. Which respected and developed country in the world is currently ruled by a man in uniform?
Mush himself admitted that it was because of NS that he took over. Are the individuals allowed to bulldoze the constitution on the basis of personal rivalries?
If NS indeed was the reason for his take over, why is he so desperate to get elected for 5 more years?
And last but not least by any means who gave him the authority to run the country in 1999? Were that the people of Pakistan or our ‘Guardians’ in uniform?
October 8th, 2007 at 11:03 am
relax, I agree that many innocent people are killed by army. I agree many people were abducted and illegaly confined by army. No civilized person can condon such acts. The truth is that army is doing such crimes since 50’s. Ayub, Yahya and Zia did similar crimes against leftist people and Sindhi-Baluch-Pakhtoon nationalists. At that time religious people were supporting these crimes. But those political activists never picked guns and bomb streets and restaurants. Do you think Al-Zulfiqar was right to avenge Zia’s crimes through terrorism?
I don’t support Army at all. The mess of religious extrimism and sectarianism was sowed by army and ISI in Pakistan’s social fabric during Zia regime. CIA and ISI establised and trained these religious terrorists. Most of these terrorists were recruited from same sects that Osama nd Ghazi brothers belonged. These people killed 1000s of Shias, Ahmedies and others sects through terrorist acts. What option we have now? If we let these people continue their business the result will be anarchy and civil on the pattern of Labnon and Iraq.
October 8th, 2007 at 5:13 pm
both shujjat and B.B are idots and mushraff as like his predessors auyb, zia and yahya
is performing his duty as general of american army, B.B was cashing her Great father name till yet but shouldnt be now
if ppl of pakistan act sensiably . Aitzaz Ahsan should leave ppp as like naseer ullah baber and mustaffa khar and join hand with imran khan and justice wajjiah
there is one more factor which play its role in election anf that is agencies they are capable enough to change the result in the dark of night
October 8th, 2007 at 7:31 pm
I think all mufad parast try to rob the Pakistan.There is a race that who can loot the pakistan and Pakistani Awam,PPP,PML,JUI, and from the last eight years Musharaf wining all the stages.
Today 27 Ramadan in Qatar,I will heartly pary for my beloved Pakistan.Allah bless our country.
Allah Give them Hidayat if there is no Hidayat for these people,Destroy them and save Pakistan which you blessed in the Same 27 Ramadan Night.Ameen
October 8th, 2007 at 8:41 pm
As someone has already said, that we can take the word of slave, when his master has already signed a document.
what ever will be the fait of NRO, but I think this is now very much clear that in Pakistan not single political party i sincere with the country, not a single general officer is sincere with the country.
Pakistan new vice chief of Army staff & offcours would be the future chief of army staff is also one of the person who is on the payro;e of CIA.
Only God can save our country.
October 8th, 2007 at 8:43 pm
Sorry just clearify the mistake in my comment,It appears as “we can take the word of the salve”, where as the correct sentence is “we cannot take the word of the slave”.
Soory about that
October 8th, 2007 at 9:51 pm
BB interview with ARY was interesting. I will not trust her. She has been in power for 2 terms and no good to the people had come, unemployment, inflation, the value of the rupee has been going down. Then her talented husband made tons on nmoney from Pakistan. One crore rupees per day from Stell Mill is well known plus other sources of income.
With past 8 years without power was troubling. Now she has made a deal with Western Powers and she can sell out every Pakistani nto grab power at any cost. She is a corrupt person with a character not suited for a leader. Many riyasats in the Indo-pak subcontinent were destroyed due to treachery frm inside like Mir Jaffer. I am afraid of this Mir Jaffer in Female form. She is the Devils deciple in Pakistan.
We need leaders from the grass roots not Vaderas
shaheen
October 9th, 2007 at 3:35 am
I am happy to listen shujat remarks. she had done corruption in past and her policy is always to please some western powers and to get their sympathies. she wants western influence in our country trying to become PM with the help of west. she on other side don’t want to talk with religious parties although i m not the supporters of MMA but they are the elected people of pakistan and is reality in pakistan politics. in number of occasions she didn’t like to go with MMA for united oppositions just because to show west she is very libral.
my sweat wishes is with IMRAN KHAN who believe in pakistan soverinty and is well educated person. He is a true politician and i think good for pakistan. i will vote for him.
October 9th, 2007 at 8:02 am
correct that ppp was used as toilet paper musharaf washed his ass and threwed them to dust bin..not shujat..he should wait for his fate which is soon to come when he will be in the dust bin..
October 9th, 2007 at 8:06 am
some one should paint the face of aitaizaz as black..coz he is putting lawers in front who r suffering from govt wrath and he himself is a member of party who to forgo there corruption cases has joined hand with dictator.
October 9th, 2007 at 8:12 am
i agree with you khalid that aitazaz has no moral courage to vote for justice wajih who was a nomine from lawyers and was a real opposition to pervaiz mushraf.instead he stood with ppp who r now trying to find a place in musharaf lap even that is denied to them.
October 9th, 2007 at 8:42 am
aitizaz in bb lap,bb in mush lap mush in bush lap