Four member bench headed by Chief Justice Iftikhar Chaudhry has ordered to stop the implementation of National Reconciliation Ordinance. The next hearing will be held after 3 weeks, until then the situation of cases of Benazir will in limbo, similar to the Musharraf’s Presidential election as Army Chief.
Sheikh Rasheed is saying that Benazir should wait until decision on NRO case is announced.
BBC Reports:
The court’s Chief Justice, Iftikhar Chaudhry, said he would hear five petitions against the amnesty, known as the National Reconciliation Ordinance.
He said the court would rule on whether the “ordinance and its provisions are beyond the constitution”.
Chief Justice Chaudhry said anyone granted an amnesty under the ordinance would “not be entitled to claim any protection if this court concludes that the ordinance and its provisions are beyond the constitution,” the AFP news agency reports.
It is not due to start detailed work on the case for another three weeks.
Read details here … BBC News | The News
Please share your views below …
October 12th, 2007 at 5:58 am
All I can say is that “May MAN CJP!” This is highly possible that this was all part of a calculated move from Mush as he knew that this law would be challanged in the court where it would mostly likely be struck down. Let’s see whether BB still decides to come back on the 18th or not.
October 12th, 2007 at 6:24 am
Charou ko per gaa Mour!I salute you Honorable Chief Justic Sahib!Long Live CJP!
October 12th, 2007 at 6:25 am
this “might” prove to be a test of nerves for benazir, although i think since she has already posted bail, she is likely to land in khi on OCT.18.
The 17th, is the date to watch Guys. That dayt we will need the SC and the CJ to hand down a landmark decision. and honestly i could’nt pray for a better birthday present than that.
October 12th, 2007 at 7:38 am
@Aveei
CJP is nothing but knight of ruling party
Can not you see SC action ??
1. Restoring CJ
2. Dismiss patetion Ag. Imran
3. releasing Javed Hashimi
then 4. Dismiss Patetion Ag. Mush
1. Self Notice for Voilance on Media
2. Excess Decision for Lal Masjid.
3. Dismiss NRO
and NOW in future 4. Accepting Mush as president.
Knight is not a word for CJ, he is not more than blading pawn.
October 12th, 2007 at 7:46 am
i kinda agree with amir i think bb got traped lol
October 12th, 2007 at 7:55 am
Pakistan
What about BB,zardari,rehman malik ,ahmed sadiq,and the rest of choor tola
October 12th, 2007 at 7:59 am
Who has given Musharaf the right to clear all corruption charges against BB and all criminal charges against Altaf gang ? I just cannot imagine one person can go beyond every limit to save his power.
October 12th, 2007 at 8:07 am
well in my opinion this NRO will be suspended by Supreme Court
BB will loose much seats in forthcoming election due to recent deal
BB will not come in pak.
Q league again will b the largest party in nationl and provincial assambly due to manipulations
i dont see change in recent politcal senario
in pakistan .it will b same in next 5 year
disoppiontment in next 5 year for every pakistani
hope mush will reform his policies…
October 12th, 2007 at 8:16 am
Best EID gift from SC. BB jee, ab aap ka kya hoga.
October 12th, 2007 at 8:30 am
Its amazing that the so called law experts of BB did not see this coming.
PPP was so desparate to withdraw cases that that signed this document not thinking that it is unconstitutional.
Now BB will rethink about her return.
October 12th, 2007 at 8:40 am
NRo was move or not but All i would say is People will not come out on street for democracy but they will surely come out for CJ. If Govt tries to stop CJ for any case, govt will face grater resistance than before.
from march Till now, alot has happened and its like a lava in mountain waiting to burst. And it will only happen if something is done to CJ.
October 12th, 2007 at 8:54 am
BB is even worse than Musharraf and if she comes to Pakistan she would sell everyone of us to the Americians. She is ready to handover Qadeer Khan and also ready to allow Americans to bombard our tribal areas and has been able to force the goverment to absolve not only herself of all teh financial wrong doings but also of her cohoots like Rehman Malik and Wajid ShamsulHassan.
I was reading an article by Hamid Mir in Jang yesterday. He wrote that even Sherpao and Liaqat Jatoi who had financial cases against them protested against this ordinance and said they have forced to stand in line with BB which is nothing but an insult to them. Musharraf was shocked to hear this.
BB is a very very selfish self centered woman and she is doing only to save her millions but also to have a security for her kids not only financially but also their role in Pakistan politics. She couldnt even tolerate when Zardari was becoming popular having served eight years in jail. She didnt like that and now it is being said that he is going to stay in Dubai and mind kids and BB is going to run the show.
I really feel sorry for PPP jialisas who wasted all their life in this party for this woman and look what has she done to PPP and to Pakistan. She can never be loyal to Pakistan. One of many reasons is that her mother was not Pakistani born
Pakistan above has said that CJ is knight of goverment - because he has taken action against BB by suspending the operation of this ordinance. Now because the decision has gone against the PPP jilais so they are casting doubt on CJ also. I think PPP jilias should ask BB that she should have picked a proper lawyer when they were framing this ordinance - all the more they could have asked Aitzaz Ahsan before - this is just like CHIRAGH TILAY ANDHERA or ghar ki murghi daal barabar
October 12th, 2007 at 9:00 am
Hi Admin
I have been regularly writing in the comments column and I have never used any bad language against anyone and yet my comment is awaiting for moderation. Surprising
October 12th, 2007 at 9:15 am
Farmhouse allotments, another big scandal, of this “ghareeb parvar” govt has been noticed by CJ and he has directed CDA to cancel all the allotments. Today I learned that PM & Musharraf are also among the “beneficiaries”.
Column by Rauf Klasra in “The News” (Thursday, October 11, 2007) is worth to read.
“The existing market price of the farmhouses spread over 2500 acres of land in the suburbs of Islamabad and owned by only 499 individuals is a staggering 75 billion, and each top gun, on average, owns a farmhouse worth Rs150 million…….”
“The CJ has already directed the CDA to conduct a survey of these farmhouses and cancel the allotment of those farms which were violating the terms and conditions of the allotment policy….”
October 12th, 2007 at 9:24 am
@Aveei
CJP is nothing but knight of ruling party
Can not you see SC action ??
1. Restoring CJ
2. Dismiss patetion Ag. Imran
3. releasing Javed Hashimi
then 4. Dismiss Patetion Ag. Mush
1. Self Notice for Voilance on Media
2. Excess Decision for Lal Masjid.
3. Dismiss NRO
and NOW in future 4. Accepting Mush as president.
Knight is not a word for CJ, he is not more than blading pawn.
October 12th, 2007 at 9:30 am
And see who are the some of the owners of those farm houses;
“The most prominent among these 499 owners are General Pervez Musharraf and Shaukat Aziz who bought these plots in 2003 from their original owners. Justice Javed Iqbal, Wasim Sajad, Saifur Rehman, Naheed Khan, former interior minister Wasim Shahzad, ISI, Hafeez Pirzada, top military and civilian officers are included in the list….”
(The News:
Thursday, October 11, 2007
By Rauf Klasra)
October 12th, 2007 at 9:30 am
@ahsan
I am not lawyer of them, i agreed with you for calling them chooron ka tola including NS
October 12th, 2007 at 9:34 am
@clhussain,
Most comments go into manual moderation due to any suspicious word inside the comments. I normally clear all of them 2-3 times daily.
Your comment had word “mother” that has been used too many times for abuse and therefore it was held for moderation.
Your comment is released now, let me know if you receive this too often and I will remove this banned word.
October 12th, 2007 at 9:37 am
This has totally exposed BB. She was taking the cover of an illegal law to come to power.
Now this piece of paper will not stand in courts. Her Jialas kept saying NRO is for the benefit of Pakistan.
BB and her Jialas thought that they could get away and fool the people of pakistan.
Now they will come on media and will try to make statments to save face.
NS will benefit from all this and so will APDM.
October 12th, 2007 at 9:55 am
Best 2007 Eid-ul-Fitr presents:
- having a great and conscientious admin of pk politics;
- Al Gore receiving the Nobel for Peace;
- CJP moving in the direction of Justice A.R Cornelius; and
- http://www.wichaar.com publishing the elite list of 499 farmland grabbers in Chak Shahzad (incidentally, the list contains names of every party affiliation and disposition).
October 12th, 2007 at 10:09 am
Really great….., I also salute you Honorable Chief Justic Sahib!Long Live CJP!
October 12th, 2007 at 10:43 am
eid mubarik to everyone, admin could you please upload yesterday’s off the record many thanks!
October 12th, 2007 at 1:19 pm
It seems like most of the people who come to this forum are quite educated and smart but I failed to understand one thing, why people have short term memory here?
Does people think this deal is between Musharaf and BB?, this is a deal between BB and US and why would US is going to lie to BB on this deal? For people who are thinking that Musharaf has played a game with BB, do they really think that BB is still drinking milk in baby bottle or use diapers?
My friend, she is more smarter than we all think about her, and what supreme court has done with Musharaf for his election?
If US can give $10 billion dollar in last 5 years to Musharaf, he can easily give $1.5 to BB for his own work.
This could be a very smart move by Musharaf to distract the people of Pakistan for celebration from Supereme court’s decision regarding NRO but so far he is playing all the right moves and at the end it will be his victory.
Lets enjoy our Eid days and let him play the game, we are not going to win in this dirty game.
Eid Mubarak to everyone.
October 12th, 2007 at 1:42 pm
@ sohail
vvvv well said….
i couldnt agree more…but remember one thing that american is not God ….america failed in iraq afghanishtan vetnam etc….so getting america’s backing is not going to save mush or bb for ever…they might or might not (time will tell) get some benefit momentarily but there end will be horrible inshallah ….
October 12th, 2007 at 2:07 pm
Hold on guys, don’t get too excited, I may be wrong but I believe I heard Farooq Naik (In one of the programs Capital Talk, Kamran Khan etc.) that even if the SC cancels this amendment, cases already retrieved on the basis of this amendment cannot be re-open and under the bla bla clause all actions taken in line with the Presidential Ordinance have a blanket protection if the actions are taken prior to the cancellation of the ordinance?
October 12th, 2007 at 2:45 pm
In the backdrop of this “loot maar ordinance” I challenge all the anchor persons of the entire electronic media if they have the guts to tell their PPP guests on their faces two things to set the record straight: 1) according to PPP’s hypothesis for 11 years benazir and zardari were witch hunted and their cases were in the courts and the government could not prove any corruption charges against them. YES, their cases were in the courts for 11 years BUT, in these 11 years 90% of the time their attorneys M/S Naeik and Khosa applied every negative tactic which human brain can think of to prolong these cases and buy time. They always cleverly manipulated and requested the courts to adjourn the hearings to next date on one pretext or the other. Most of the time the attorneys were never present in the courts, either they were busy handling some other cases, or busy with senate sessions or had gone abroad to see benazir or any other excuse under the sun. Not only this, then as prolonging tactics, each time they attended the court they used to pressure courts in the name of fair play, for 3/4 months long adjournments. Then they would not content with that, they used to challenge every aspect of the cases one by one, starting from the maintainability, authenticity of documents, challenging the names of the witnesses and then going into appeals and counter appeals and further appeals, and then off shoots of these points and then into their appeals and so on. That is how the cases were dragged on and on and on…. and hardly they reached the stage for any indictment. They are absolutely WRONG in painting that the govt. could not prove them or they were politically motivated. NO, they were NOT. IF they were so confident about 1st couple’s innocence and as they still keeps on parroting the theme of political victimization then they should have let the courts hear their cases SMOOTHLY on daily basis and had let the hon’able Judges decide in 2/3 weeks. WHY then they were dying for this amnesty? Then they say, this “loot maar ordinance” is to democratize Pakistan. In other words, what they are saying is, “if you want democracy in Pakistan then 1st couple IS above the law of the land and people MUST not question their corruption and loot maar.” It is exactly like Gen Zia’s referendum that, “If you want Islamic Pakistan then you say YES, and if you say yes then I am the President of Pakistan”. Allah kee shaan.
2) Secondly, PPP always say that asif zardari was behind the bars for 8 years.
YES, but no yes, out of these 8 years, for seven and a half years he was either in PIMS Islamabad’s air conditioned suite with all available amenities, or in his friend’s (dr asim) Ziauddin hospital in Karachi, again in a cozy, comfortable and an air conditioned suite with full amenities. AND for the rest six months, most of the time he was detained in the luxury of his own home, declared as a sub jail. My fellow Pakistani’s, look at these VVIP criminals jails. Then they talk of democracy and poor masses of Pakistan. Mayray bhaeeo aur behnou, their game is finished and the party is over. NOW, “Thallay einaa nou CJ puch-chay gaa tay uttay Allah.” LONG LIVE PAKISTAN and the patriotic people of Pakistan.
October 12th, 2007 at 2:58 pm
@ Nadeem
Under the Supreme Court’s stoppage of the implementation of the NRO, all hearings in the lower courts to withdraw cases against BB have been put on hold until later. So, even interim bail application is pending. Accordingly, she will be arrested if she arrives on the 18th of October. No wonder, the PML (Q) chamchas were asking her to wait.
As for the US involvement, the current administration is not stupid as to bypass the laws of any country. According to PPP conversations with Richard Boucher, it was categorically stated that BB should be allowed to fairly challenge her cases and granted a bail in doing so. No guarantees! Unfortunately, BB became an ugly Lewinsky.
October 12th, 2007 at 3:15 pm
For all bhutto haters there is a bad news. BB’s 3 sentence by NAB court has been declared unconstitutional by Lahore high court today. This is the real news that only BB reported.
BB is no more convicted and cannot be arrested on return. She is on bail in all other cases.
http://www.bbc.co.uk/urdu/pakistan/story/2007/10/071012_benazir_sentences.shtml
October 12th, 2007 at 3:17 pm
Congratulations to the CJP on the decision; and now the following requests:
- declare the recent presidential election null and void;
- order the arrest of PM and cronies on the contempt of court charges of deporting NS;
- cancel all illegal farmlands allotments; and
- take suo moto notice of the ongoing military action in Waziristan.
Then, you will be held by all in esteem higher than Justice Cornelius and even the founding father! Sorry, the TV channels will have to find more mundane topics; still, the rotten politicians, bureaucrats, and generals will be hiding their faces…
October 12th, 2007 at 3:20 pm
I agree with Mr. Sohail.
We should not draw conclusion so quickly. There are many slips between cup and Lips.
The real picture is going to emerge in the 2nd or 3rd week of January, 2008.
We can expect more interesting and alarming events, where Democrats gain Power in the American Elections in November 2008.
Right now the Supreme Court has to solve a very simple proposition:
” CAN A GOVERNMENT SERVANT PARTICIPATE IN POLITICS”?
If Yes, then there could be very interesting situation. A Deputy Comissioner will be from PPP, SSP from Muslim League, Session Judge from Jamaati Islami, Tehsildar from Tehrik-e-Insaf……….
How is that?
With best wishes,
Javed I. Sheikh
Washington D.C.
October 12th, 2007 at 3:27 pm
@saqibtahir
That’s “good” news. Now my hired gun who committed a triple murder in 1982 can return from Dubai and roam freely in he food market in Lahore. God bless him!
October 12th, 2007 at 3:34 pm
Honourable
Most honourable
Great dignitary
The person this nation needs to save itself from complete lawlessness, corruption and disaster…
Justice Retd Wajjiudin (Izzat Mahab)
Inshallah
Will be President of Pakistan in just over 5 weeks time.
Everyone please pray to god this happens.
October 12th, 2007 at 3:39 pm
Eid Mubarak to all. In case anyone wants to get away from politics, Saturday night @7:30 pm a really good Paki singer - Amanat Ali - will be competing in the ZEE TV Saregamapa competition. Its the finale of the show and he is in the top 3.
If you have time, you can vote for him at: http://saregamapa.rediff.com/poll/index.html
He is leading in international voting but he is coming in third due to Indian voting. Would help if everyone voted.
He is really a brilliant singer and makes us all very proud.
Thanks again.
October 12th, 2007 at 3:54 pm
Dear members of the Forum,
I requested one of my friends, from India, Mr. Surjit Singh to give his EXPERT OPINION on the existing political situation in Pakistan.
He advised me not to waist my energy and time.
Becaus,
GANDHA SINGH AND TARA SINGH
ONE AND THE SAME THING
ARE YOU LOOKING FOR PROGRESS?
THEY BOTH CANNOT BRING.
DING DONG DING, DING DONG DING
( Then my friend started danceing and shouting BALLAY BALLAY BALLAY, holding his glass.)
Getting disappointed, I left his basement as he was overdrunk.
Javed I. Sheikh
Wahington
D.C.
October 12th, 2007 at 3:56 pm
@ Javed I. Sheikh
You have presented an interesting situation–which probably already exists de facto! Another similar exciting proposition for all the American-interviewed GHQ commanders of Pakistan military:
- CJCS: Gender-neutral- COAS: Pentagon - VCOAS: PPP - Master of Ordinance: PML (N) - QMG: PTI - Adjutant General: JUI (F)- ISI: Jamaat-i-Islami Secret Beard- CGS: PML (Q)
October 12th, 2007 at 4:25 pm
Mr. Aamir,
Respecting your feelings, I have voted for Amaanat.
According to my judgment and little knowledge about Music, Mr. Aneek is also a very good singer. He is very clear on every Antara and Asthai. He has got a vocal throw suitable for a playback singer. He could be another Sonu Nigham.
Good Luck.
(Thanks for reminder. I got lost in SHAMSHEER-O-SANAN, and ignored, that TAOOS-O-RUBBAB is equally important).
Javed I. Sheikh
October 12th, 2007 at 4:40 pm
@Amir:
Per your post, I have also voted for Amanat.
October 12th, 2007 at 4:45 pm
No doubt BB suffered a lot due to this ordinance. She should have listened to the advice of raza Rabbani and Eitzaz Ahsan. Her vote bank is intact though she may suffer a little in urban areas.
Mr CJ is back in his position purely because of PPP. It was PPP that gave blood in Lahore, Islamabad, Karachi and Sahiwal. His latest order is not going to change anything on ground.
Though I am not a lawyer but I think BB have a good chance of getting justice. So far lower courts were acting against her by denying justice. Some of the lower court judges who tried Bhutto got promoted to High court and then SC in 11 years but the cases are still there. Jus. Nawaz Abbasi is one of such judges.
It will not be easy for SC to annul this ordinance. I have following arguments:
The main argument in petitions is that this law is discriminatory by indemnifying a certain class for a certain period. This argument will bring some interesting issues back in focus.
a) This is not first indemnity law in the country. Earlier indemnity has been granted to Mush, Zia and Ayub and all judges who broke their oath for violating the constitution. Ayub indemnified Agar Tala case on demand by united opposition by executive order . Zia indemnified Baluch insurgents and Wali Khan party after takeover. Mush indemnified Sharif family from pending corruption and criminal cases when they accepted exile. GI Khan annuled all cases against Bhutto and Zardari under his Ehtesab laws. There are many more examples in Pakistan’s history.
b) State already exercise discretion in filing and taking cases back from courts. Does our constitution prohibits prosecution from not pursuing cases or not producing evidence? If not then what is the issue?
c) Does our courts including SC on their discretion can keep cases pending indefinitely? Is this not discriminatory? Many example may include Asghar Khan’s famous ISI-Mehran Bank case that involves not only Faujies but also political parties and honest, pious and angel politicians like Sharif, Shujaat and Qazi.
d) Can prosecution and court keep cases pending for a decade and deny bail to the accused for political or other reasons. Is there any bar? What is the relief for the accused if he/she is acquitted after years of prosecution and jail custody?
e) Can NAB be selective in Ehtesab? Is Ehtesab is only for PPP? From Zia to Mush PPP has gone through Ehtesab four time with no case of corruption ever proved. Is this not rather persecution in the veil of prosecution?
f) What if it is proved that government buys the judges for political convictions as has been proved in ARY Gold cases in SC where SC declared two of its own judges as bought be government? What relief victims get for all the suffering?
g) If state cannot selectively indemnify people ‘under prosecution’ then how can it pardon criminals? Political examples may include Zia’s pardon in cases of convicted Haiderabad Saazish case or Mush’s pardoning convicted Nawaz Sharif.
h) If NRO cannot be selective then how come NAB laws are for selective people? Why Judges and Faujies are holy cows under this law? Why NAB has a power to nab selective politicians only?
There can be dozens other arguments that a common sense can sense. Legal minds are for sure more sharp.
October 12th, 2007 at 5:09 pm
Any thing is possible in this land of pure but I am sure SC will have to bite a lot of dust and suck a lot of its own vomits before annulling this law.
This ordinance has a life of only 60 days. SC will start proceedings in 3 weeks. Probably it will take many months afterwards. NS has been deported and SC did nothing and contempt case is pending and probably will stay pending. If it ever reach any conclusion Aziz Mian will become Qurbani Ka Bakra. Mush will not be touched.
The mother of all cases is Mush election case. If Mush wins then I don’t think this ordinance can be an issue. Condi will use her stick in right place and Faujies will sing her Tarana.
But I have high doubts that Mush and BB are sincere with each other. At least Mush is not. Mush party is openly saying ‘Raat Gayee Baat Gayee’ and Mush is asking BB to stay away indefinitely. My personal suspicion is that MUSH used his commando punch on BB in particular and whole opposition a general. I have a strong feeling that CJ and Mush have patched with each other. Since that patch up all cases are going in Mush favour. SC is going to declare him President. As before Qazi will again start bringing cases to SC that will benefit Mush. Military Mulla Aalliance will stay intact.
I bet if today Mush again sack CJ not a single soul will come out on streets. That will be next punch.
But if Mush is sincere with BB (highly unlikely) then he has many legal tricks in his sleeve.
1.Mush can take this ordinance back effectively killing SC case and NAB take all cases back for further investigation on the pretext of gathering new evidence or lack of evidence. SC cannot do nothing because there is no law in land that can force prosecution to pursue any case.
2.Parliament with 2/3 majority update the Mush indemnity clauses in constitution to include political cases made during NRO period. In this case PPP will join Faujies, judges, royal politicians and civil servants in indemnity.
October 12th, 2007 at 5:10 pm
A PROPOSAL TO DISBAND THE PAKISTAN ARMY…
According to General Kargil, the 250 plus soldiers were arrested in Waziristan because of their incompetence. The fact remains: (a) Pakistan is too weak for India (shove up the nukes in your shalwars); (b) is redundant in Afghanistan; and (c) totally ineffective in Waziristan). Solution: expited pensions, and no further recruitment.
October 12th, 2007 at 5:12 pm
Here is a Qata’a from Faiz that I want to offer to all Middle class hypocrites of this lan of pure:
MAY-KHANON KI ROUNAQ HAIN KABHI KHAN-KAHON KI
APP-NAA LEE HAWAS WALON NAY JO RASAM CHALI HAY
DILDAR-E-WAAIZ KO HAMMEN BAAQI HAIN WARNA
ISS SHEHR MAIN HER RIND-E-KHARABAT WALI HAY
October 12th, 2007 at 5:18 pm
I second the motion of economic development analyst.
DHAAKAY DIAN KHOTIAN
WAZIRASTAN AAN KHALOTIAN
I think Wazirastan is war between two evils. Military and Mullas are both CIA stooges and suckers of our economy. Whoever is finished is good for the nation.
October 12th, 2007 at 6:01 pm
First of all, NAB officials should be punished that they could not get a single decision with all their resources.
It took my father 23 years, yes twenty three years to prove that the person who is occupying his shop in Lahore is actually the tenant and not his brother. Our Speedy Gonzales judges and money minting court machines commonly known as Readers are quite capable to drag an ordinary case for half a century.
Another laughable thing is you run away from the country for 11 years and then claim that no conviction could be made as decisions made in absentcia does not hold in a higher court and can be set aside by a simple application.
Who are we kidding. People are not so ignorant as they were eleven years ago.
October 12th, 2007 at 6:25 pm
Why president had to issue ordinance when the cases could have been easly withdraw by public prosecutor? Why such a big drama when it could have been done queitly?
October 12th, 2007 at 7:04 pm
@ Javed Malik
I couldn’t agree more….. however! the problem is, despite knowing all these facts regarding PPP’s inherent corruption and loot maar, our people will still vote for these TORCH BEARERS of CORRUPTION in this one man one vote CIRCUS which they probably call democracy where ghoray gadhay sub braber. No respect for taqwah, no value of education, no manners, no loyalty to the state, YES Sir! please welcome me I am a democrat and I love this filthy system called democracy???
October 12th, 2007 at 7:26 pm
i wonder what BB got in all this??
Kukari Kheh Adai, Apne Sir witch pai (loosely translated as: Hen blew the soil with her feet and got it all on her head).
October 12th, 2007 at 8:28 pm
Quote:
NAB ordinance asks for speedy trial by special courts. If NAB could not get conviction it is not because of officials or slow judges. The judges and prosecutors were dedicated ‘only’ for BB and her mian. The problem was only one i.e. lack of credible evidence.
October 12th, 2007 at 9:04 pm
@ disgusted
you are not disgusted, you are disgusting. This forum is pakistan politics, if you don’t like Pakistan: don’t come here.
Jinnah was not in any ‘office’, he fought for the rights of ordinary Muslims even though he was sick and had enough assets to live compfortably. It’s not his fault that insincere people like you couldn’t develop that country after his death.
Pakistan is a wonderful mix of different cultures (look at different provinces) that are tied by widely spoken/understood Urdu language and 97% Muslim heritage.
I have not come across a single Pakistani who wants to reunite with India. You don’t sound Pakistani from your language and even if you were, you have lost the right after insulting our founders.
October 12th, 2007 at 10:07 pm
Quote:
our people will still vote for these TORCH BEARERS of CORRUPTION in this one man one vote CIRCUS which they probably call democracy where ghoray gadhay sub braber. No respect for taqwah, no value of education, no manners, no loyalty to the state,
Dr sahib, God created all men equal. The decision maker about Taqwa is Allah not Mulla. This the language that Moudoodi used about Muslims when Pakistan was created. I can say with gaurantee that majority of Pakistanies are GHORAY but a small newly-urbanized, mulla-gazeeda, corrupt-namazi, ritualist, BA pass type minority is real GHADAY. I don’t mind if they are denied voting rights.
October 12th, 2007 at 10:33 pm
Quote:
I think the whole drama was done to discredit PPP. BB was trapped. Imagine if murder cases against Ishrat AlAbad can be withdrawn and Hijacker Nawaz Sharif can be sent to Jeddah from his dungeon what can be issue in withdrawing cases against BB. Withdrawal of cases against BB was demand of all opposition parties including MMA. In London APC the passed a resolution on it.
I predicted much before this ordinance on this forum that a new IJI is being formed. All know that BB will sweep next elections. The situation is turning to 1988 position. I strongly believe ISI is again in action.
October 12th, 2007 at 11:26 pm
Mere Hamwatnon,
Don’t be frustrated.
No ISI, or any conspiracy against our Nation can be successful. The Internet, TV Channels, Indian and Hollywood Movies, Electronic Media has contributed a lot to provide political awareness to the people of Pakistan. They will not accept any Hanky Panky now. That is all.
Enough is Enough.
Please, be vigilant and keep on expressing your views, likings and disliking, ins and outs. The Corrupts, Criminals, Culprits, Cowards, Cultivators of corruption are at the Run.
Mere Hamwatnon,
Politicians, Journalists, Judges, Generals are scared of you now.
Stay United. You will loose nothing but Chamchas and Lotas.
Light at the end of the Tunnel is now visible.
With best wishes,
Javed I. Sheikh
Washington D.C.
October 12th, 2007 at 11:34 pm
It had to be challenged by the court, but the thing that exasperates most of the people, is the delay in deciding the legality of musharaf’s presendential elections. The court wasted almost two weeks and then anounced that petitions were not maintainable. the idea behind telling the story is that unless the court or should i say CJ sahab, addresses the root cause and confronts the generals head on, they will continue to hatch such schemes from their devilish minds. All the intelligence agencies use all resources available to them to save musharraf from legal muddles, had they used these resources in resolving the NWFP issue, things would have been different. The court should also pressurize musharraf to create national consensus, by law they can do it. This may be a nugatory victory for some, but a glimer of hope for others. Best of luck Chief Sahab.
October 13th, 2007 at 2:12 am
@ Saqib
By the way in which category do you think you fall?
No offence brother, this is just for the information of all the readers.
Any way, God bless you.
October 13th, 2007 at 5:02 am
hi and Eid Mubarik wherever you are.
can anyone upload Dawn TV programmes? For instance yesterday evening’s dialogue with Farhan Bokhari and Tanvir Ahmad Khan??
October 13th, 2007 at 9:40 am
- First things first: Eid Mubarrik to all: starting with the wonderful admin of pkpolitics and including the innocent people of Waziristan.
- Second: it is time to revolt against the status quo–including the creation and the existence of Pakistan. For a beginning: could anyone tell me that in the shining Pakistan Secretariat buildings in Islamabad, why are there separate toilets: one for “officers” and the other for “staff”. Aik hi suff mein kharay ho gaye Mahmud Ayaz! Subhanallah; as if officers eject ice cream..
October 13th, 2007 at 11:13 am
The admin should not allow any one to post his or her agenda items against pakistan or any of the institution as a whole .It is not only dishonest but also against the coomon intleect to blam the country or her foundations ie, institutions or people as a whole .There is no doubt Musharaf is one of ruler of pakistan who can do any thing for a reward for anyone .At the same time BB is no different Altaf hussain is also not different .Although Nawaz Sharif’s hand are not clean either but he seems to be a much different person than the abve bako mal .
Remeber nothing is perfect ,I would invite all of you to make an index of the qualties ,we would like to expect from a leader in general and from the leader of a muslim country in particular .Give some references from the western literatuer and also from quran ,hadith and Islamic history . Be critical is good but support your criticisim with rational and also tell every one ,how you think thing should be ,
October 13th, 2007 at 11:26 am
@Ahsan
You sound like a dictator–asking the admin to curb the freedom of speech. Also, inviting others to search for leaders is not a solution. Just CHANGE yourself for better!
October 13th, 2007 at 11:37 am
In response to: Ahsan’s request for index of qualities in a future leader for Pakistan. QUAID-e-BUM should fit the checklist!
October 13th, 2007 at 3:02 pm
Quote:
October 13th, 2007 at 3:32 pm
@ saqib
You mean YOU are more equal than others?
October 13th, 2007 at 3:38 pm
Both categories–gadhas and ghoras–are a million-times better than the hypocitical so-called elite. At least the animals (awam) are ignorant; while the “educated” elite loots, plunders, performs many pilgrimages, and then complains of ill-mannered subjects.
October 13th, 2007 at 4:35 pm
@ Salmi
————–
Quote: Both categories–gadhas and ghoras–are a million-times better than the hypocitical so-called elite.
————–
YOU mean “Khach-char/Tattoo”??
October 13th, 2007 at 4:51 pm
Now that the Supreme Court has put the “MONEY LAUNDERING DEAL” on hold, still however, if this arrogant “SACRED COW” manages to put her dirty feet on Pakistani soil on 18th to create more chaos and anarchy in the country, DO you think the government has the spine to ARREST her and send her to a place where she actually belongs i.e., behind bars in some notorious prison in Pakistan???
October 13th, 2007 at 8:04 pm
hello admin….
plzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz update off the record…..
ill be reallllllllllllllllllllyyyyyyyyyyyyy thankful………..
October 13th, 2007 at 8:38 pm
@Dr.Saeed
Re: “khach-har/Tatto0. Thankfully, those animals have sense not to add the title of a Dr to their names. Get a life and accord everyone same status!
October 13th, 2007 at 9:18 pm
A good article from Fatima Bhutto on NRO. She is the niece of BB and the daughter of Murtaza Bhutto:
http://thenews.jang.com.pk/daily_detail.asp?id=75861
October 13th, 2007 at 9:26 pm
Folks,
When I go to the website of “The News”, all I see messages like “Benazir fu%@#d by PML” all over the place. Is anyone also see the same messages? I did not see these messages when I visited the site to read Fatima Bhutto’s article.
October 13th, 2007 at 9:38 pm
Another good article from Cowasjee on the corruption of BB and Mr. 10%:
http://www.dawn.com/weekly/cowas/cowas.htm
October 13th, 2007 at 9:46 pm
@ salmi
Allah kee shaan washington say hindustan kay baywaqoof gudhay bhee hin-hinanay lagay.
salmi hazoor ya salmi hazoora by the way yeh tow batlaee-aye keh aap shemale haein ya hefemale?? Wow! Kal kay heejray aaj washington may jharoo phair ker hum Pakistaneow ko khutbay sunanay chalay. salmi mian ya salmi bibi behtar hai keh aap apni aukaat may hee rahein. Bus jharoo phairtay jaein aur zayadah motabir bunnay kee nakaam koshih naa hee karaein tow behter ho gaa aap kay lee-aye.
October 13th, 2007 at 10:09 pm
Amir: Yes I also see that. Its all over their web site.
Fatima started writing in “The News” in early 2006. Her 1st few articles were regarding her visit to Iran. Since then she has matured ito a very good writer.
Amongst Karachi journalists by and large Cowasjee is the best writer. Very incisive and always to the point. Irfan Husain is also good and so is Ayaz Amir. All from Dawn group.
Touch base with Humayoun Gauhar every saturday in the Nation and Capital Suggestion in The News every saturday. Sherien Mazari and Gen Aslam Beg also are a treat to read.
October 13th, 2007 at 10:21 pm
It looks as if someone hacked into the site.
October 13th, 2007 at 10:23 pm
@ So-called Dr. Saeed
You truly look like a Ghada/Ghora Doctor; and I have no interest in pounding Kargil!
October 13th, 2007 at 10:39 pm
@ Amir
In view of Cowasjee article, you know what is the best thing to do at this point in time? a detailed petition be drafted against this illegal “Amnesty, Money Laundering Deal cum Ordinance” giving reference of supreme court’s fresh orders. Then it should be signed by few hundered notables in various fields plus the people of Pakistan (all 4 provinces) and then be handed over to the Swiss embassy in Islamabad for onward transmission to the Swiss govt and the hon’able Swiss court. This will seal the fate of the erstwhile criminal 1st couple even if GOP tries to withdraw the petition. Float this idea every where and try to get in touch with Roedad Khan, Asma Jehangir, I. A. Rehman, Iqbal Haidere tc., in Islamabad/Lahore/Karachi to take the lead as the leaders of civil society in Pakistan.
October 13th, 2007 at 10:47 pm
@ Salmi
You initiated this sarcastic mud slinging and I have to pay you in the same coin. If you stop this non sense then I accept the truce, OK?
PEACE.
This is a good forum provided by good people for the good people to engage in some meaningful discussions no matter which side of the isle you stand. Let’s keep it that way. OK???
I have no problem with your ideas but getting personal won’t help you and is not acceptable at all.
Thanks.
October 13th, 2007 at 10:53 pm
@ Dr. Saeed
You started it by insulting SaqibTahir–which was unnecessary. If you still insist on being vulgar, let the games begin!
October 13th, 2007 at 11:06 pm
Dr. Saeed,
I guess the discussion is getting out of track.
Please have a glass of Rooh Afza and cool down.
Don’t ignore that Washington Men Jharroo Phairne Wala, Mr. Qureshi ruled over Pakistan as Prime Minister, and no one had courage to challenge his Constitutional Legitimacy.
Washington Men Jharro Phairne Waley, Pakistan Main Plots Lootney Walon Se Behtar Hain Jinhoon ne Pooray Pakistan per Jharoo Phair diya hai.
They earn Rizq-i-Halal. They are much better than those Corrupt Politicians and leaders, who have turned Pakistan into a total chaos.
With best wishes,
Javed I. Sheikh
Washington D.C.
October 13th, 2007 at 11:15 pm
@ salmi
At 1st place you have got nothing to do with Saqib.
Second, don’t dare threatn me.
Third, It was Saqib who became personal 1st. I have nothing to do with Maulana Maudoodi Sb, but I respect him as a great Muslim scholar of 20th century. Roll back and see Saqib’s mail how he started that and then my response to him. Where do you figure out in that?
What they say in punjabi:
“Aani naa laraee tay whichoun dee lung.”
I advise you, better you mind your own business. If you are capable enough to engage in a decent discussion, you are most welcome. If not, then stay away.
Thanks.
October 13th, 2007 at 11:41 pm
@Dr. Saeed
Let’s just stay away from each other before we start insulting further! As far as I am concerned, you’re not worth correspondence…
October 14th, 2007 at 12:00 am
@ salmi
Finally wisdom prevailed….
I never insult anybody, I always react.
But anyway I AGREE.
October 14th, 2007 at 6:21 am
Salmi,
It is not wise to argue where a ‘learned’ person is from Maulana Maudoodi’s School of Thought.
You cannot win a debate on Wisdom Vs Emotions.
I tried for 20 years to convince Sardar Tara Singh to change his turban, everyday he puts on the same turbans AND starts shouting, WAI GURU DA KHALSA, WAI GURU DI FATAH.
We cannot catch short-wave signal on a single band radio.
With best wishes,
Javed I. Sheikh
October 14th, 2007 at 5:59 pm
Here we go again….!
@ sheikh
Your joke was a good one, I enjoyed it…. :)))
I have a better one for you……! Enjoy.
Its about Robotic IQ…
A man who was very fond of talking for ‘20 years’ about ‘wisdom vs emotions’, ‘Sardar Tara Singh’ and ’short wave signal radios’ enters a bar and orders a drink. The bar has a robot bartender.
The robot serves him a perfectly prepared cocktail, and then asks him,
“What’s your IQ?”
The man pretended “150″ and the robot proceeds to make conversation about
global warming factors, quantum physics and spirituality, biomimicry,
environmental interconnectedness, string theory, nano-technology, and
sexual proclivities.
The customer is very impressed and thinks, “This is really cool.” He
decides to test the robot. He walks out of the bar, turns around, and comes back in for another drink.
Again, the robot serves him the perfectly prepared drink
and asks him, “What’s your IQ?”
The man responds, “about a 100.”
Immediately the robot starts talking, but this time, about football, NASCAR,
baseball, supermodels, favorite fast foods, guns, and women’s breasts.
Really impressed, the man leaves the bar and decides to give the robot
one more test. He heads out and returns, the robot serves him and asks, “What’s your IQ?”
The man replies, “Er, 50, I think.”
And the robot says… real slowly,
“So…………… ya gonna talk about Sardar Tara Singh again?”
Eid Mubarak.
October 14th, 2007 at 8:07 pm
Dr. Saeed,
Very Good. I am glad the message worked and Robot is in action one more time. Its battery has been rechaged.
I heard the same joke from Sardar Boota Singh 25 years ago. On his version the man entered Mansoora not a Bar.At the end, he was asked:
“So …..you gonna talk Zia-ul-Haq again?”
With best wishes,
Javed I. Sheikh
October 15th, 2007 at 10:26 am
Sheikh
“Khas-say-aani billi khamba nochay.”
October 15th, 2007 at 11:56 am
I agree with Javed I. Sheikh.
This mulla Saeed is a paidawar from Icchhra who needs to be buried under Lal Masjid.
October 15th, 2007 at 1:09 pm
Dear Mulla Dr. Saeed,
Thank you very much.
Mullah, Madrasa, Maulvi, Mansoora are my favorite topics. I have been playing with Jamaatis, Islami Shatir Washingoo, Danda Bardars and Choohas of Daulay Shah for the last 50 years.
I am very compassionate person and feel sorry for those innocents, who have been brainwashed and are still waiting for the revival of Khilafit-i-Rashida.
This allusion will bring nothing but frustration.
Good Luck.
Javed I. Sheikh
October 15th, 2007 at 3:05 pm
Brother in the past 50 years if you have engaged yourself in this type of filth then I feel pitty on you and sorry to say that, it is enough for us to imagine and deduce about ones background, his upbringing, his education and his intelligence IQ. My friend that is the basic problem with pseudos, deep inside their heart they are convinced about their shallowness, they know they are zero but they have to pose to get attention of others. Not your fault baby! this a global problem of all the pseudos.
About Jamatias? I have nothing to do with them. I couldn’t care about them? Talk about something else boyz, grow up now.
October 15th, 2007 at 4:09 pm
Dear Mullah Dr. Saeed,
I am glad you are not associated with the Jammat-i-Islami.
Some of the members of the forum were surprised, where you declared Maulan Maudoodi as a Great Scholar. That caused confusion. He could be a Scholar but a majority of the population believes that Maulana Maudoodi’s School of thought laid the foundations of Terrorism in Pakistan, starting from the Educational Institutions. He is considered as one of the pioneers of Taliban’s Way of Life.The reaction to such fanaticism, brought ‘ Scholars’ like Salman Rushdi in the field.
I found five ‘no-balls’ and one ‘wide ball’ in your over. You gave lot of score to the batsman.
What ever you guessed about me is not true. I never claimed for the ‘Titles’ you conferred upon me.
Being a teacher for 40 years I let the baby crawl so that the baby could walk and talk.
Good Luck.
Javed I. Sheikh
October 15th, 2007 at 4:13 pm
Good for Dr. Mulla; who being a “true” intellectual deserved a big-arm in the IQ.
October 15th, 2007 at 7:56 pm
Sheikh Sb:
1) I totally agree with you on this count. There can not be two opinions on this, though there are many more “parda nasheens” as well.
2) Your cricket terminolgy was terrific. I like that. :))) Reminded me of my good old cricket days at Oxford. But I was a batsman not a bowler. So, Sheikh Sb you are googled.
“Tuanoo gugly maar ditti” :)))
3) My regrets if you got hurt in the cross fire. Never meant that way.
4) I have tremendous respect for teachers, no matter they teach kindergarten or have a chair at the university. Wish, I had known this before that you belong to this sacred profession. Once again, my apologies and that is from my heart.
PEACE.
and once again, ‘maein jamatia nahein hooun!’
With warmest regards and
Good wishes, always.
P/S:
Now look at the posting of this accountability character. Isn’t he proving himself now that he is a filthy washing of Wasi Zafar’s private?