l Updates on pkpolitics.com | Pakistan Politics
{ 57 comments... read them below or add one }

• shahid said:

One word, you’ve done great!
    but can anyone upload “Jawabdeyh with Jahangir Badr”

• M.Yasir said:

nice move! if maintained with balance

• imran malik said:

jawab deyh with jahangir badar was awsome….iftikhar grilled clueless jahangir badar…..at times badar would just smile shamefully …BB has left all her jyaalaaas dumb founded…..they can’t defend the treacherous and cavatous self indulgence of bb….

• BitterTruth said:

to couple of hosts and producers from both channels
    strange..I think hosts and producers should have the courage to accept the positive criticisms…the moderation should be restricted to foul words.

• Munib said:

I completely agree with BitterTruth. Bad move Admin.

• admin said:

Talking about their wigs and their looks is not positive criticism.

Positive criticism is only effective when you debate about the actual political issue related to the above video.

• jawan said:

So they should improve looks (wigs) ;)

• commoner said:

BitterTruth has hit the nail on the head.

• Ashraf said:

Personal attacks on anyone including TV Hosts, Admin, Visitors and even politicians (in most cases) are against the spirit of freedom of expression. They should be banned. People with reasonable level of eloquence can express their anger with words of brutal political impact but gentle on someone’s feelings.

• Javed I. Sheikh said:

I appreciate your efforts for providing a Website to express our onion. I agree, there should be some rules of the game.
    Sarcastic remarks on a TV program or on Pkpolitics could not be appreciated.
    I am afraid too much restrictions and censorship might not damage the popularity and object of the site. One of the causes of Pakistan Film Industry’s failure ( as compared to Bollywood), was too much censorship under the cover of Morality and Ethics. Same way we didn’t give Democracy chance to dig its roots.
    Sometime we need to let the people learn through their own mistakes.
    It is not possible to please everyone.
    I wish this wonderful site stays in the business.
    Good Luck.
    Javed I. Sheikh
    Washington D.C.

• Ayaz said:

Well done admin

you really pick up the pulse of the (normal & educated) vistors and make every move that we like to see.
    We are with you to make this site ideal and unique.
    Best of luck

• Javed I. Sheikh said:

It is ‘OPINION’.

Javed I. Sheikh

good move admin, we don’t want this website turning into a youtube.

• Shahid said:

Democracy without ethics and morality is something that fits the west but not Pakistan. Yes we do need to have some set of rules and regulations within which freedom can be expressed. Freedom without morality is a Satanic behavior that can’t be tolerated. We don’t need Lollywood, who ever is interested in ‘Kunger Khana’ can get a visa to India and express themselves over there.

• ManDark said:

You and your team are doing excellent work and I can’t thank you enough. For some of us studying abroad, this site serves as the only portal to the developments in Pakistan (plus I love the once in a while political entertainment). I find 4 Man Show a lot better than Hum Sub Umeed Say Hein. I hope we can see more of it. Plus, if we could get Live with Talat and Bolta Pakistan regularly as we get Capital Talk and Meray Mutabiq, that would be great.

I think all users must act responsibly and engage in criticism and debate in a dignified and respectable manner.

Once again, thank you for this great service. Hats off to Pakistan’s media. [Ajj - Dawn - Geo - ARY and all others]

• sohail said:

It is not an easy thing to run a site and keep everybody happy. Majority of the people who come to the internet sites are mature but you still come across some silly and idiots that drain all of your energy.

Being an admin of one of the internet site, I know the pain of admin.

My full support and sympathy to the people who are running this site!!

• Javed I. Sheikh said:

Mr. Shahid seems annoyed. It might be wrong, but I believe in ‘to let the baby crawl so that he could learn to walk and talk’.

We need ‘restroom ‘, ‘bathroom’ and ‘washroom’ open, to keep the drawing room and living room clean.

Good Luck.
    Javed I. Sheikh

• texasboy said:

It is applausable that the admin is undertaking the effort to “clean” out the website. It does not serve anyone of us when the objectivity of the argument is jeoperdized by baseless allegations and personal attacks.
    many of the people visiting this website, i think are quite mature and able to express thier views in a respectful manner. However, what is lacking at times is the precious power of LISTENING. if only we could instill among ourselves this trait, further.
    I think we can use the opinions and views of the users to further our understanding of the politics of pakistan, and come to appreciate the opposing views presented by different people.
    Nonetheless, profanity is an inexcusable act, and people must be corrected when they abuse thier right to free speech.
    I appreciate the efforts to curtail bad behavior.

@admin,
    I would echo Javed Sheikh’s remarks, and request you to exercise vigilance and restraint when you delete or boot comments.
    As you do anyways, but since this privlege now will be shared with other admins, i sincerely hope you will communicate this other admins, to Please remember, although personal attacks are not warranted, free speech remains the essence of interaction on this website.
    Once again, all the best!

• Salmi said:

Shahid’s argument is totally patronizing, suggesting that as a nation Pakistanis cannot exercize self-restraint. This has been the argument all along of the hypocritical elite since the country’s inception that the “jahil awaam” are not ready for democracy. So each time, the elected government has been kicked out on one pretext or the other. Chairman Mao even said: Let a hundred flowers bloom!

• Shahid said:

@Salmi

Based on your theory, there should be no laws, rules and regulation. The focus should be on SELF RESTRAINT. If you could point out a single society in man kinds history that was successful and was based on SELF RESTRAINT. Even the largest democaries have law and regulation and restraints. Its decmocracy within certain limits (including US). Even Islam is based on laws, rules and regulations to govern a society. The reason being that each individual has his own defination and interpertaion of what is right and wrong and where to draw the line between good and evil.

I hope you get my point. Lets not live in a fairy land where everyone would make the right decision!!

• Salmi said:

@ Shahid:

Let the people make their laws, rules, and regulations; and let them decide on the society they wish to organize. These are the foundations of Magna Carta and the Social Contract Theory. Left to your top-down argument: there will be separate toilets for “officers” and “staff”–as these exist now in the Pakistan Secretariat.

• javed I. Sheikh said:

@ Shahid,
    Let me try to make the debate easier to resolve.
    Yes! There should be rules, regulations and Laws in a society.
    Who has the authority to establish such Rules and Laws?
    In every society there are three sections to express and form Public Opinion.
    1. Philosophers, Thinkers and Poets who initiate and propose a new concept and Idea pulling the society towards a positive direction.
    2. Educated class includes those who accept or reject those Ideas after discussion and debate.
    3. General public. This class, influenced by the abovementioned sections, is the back bone of a legal structure in Democracy, to create Real Will, once they get united.
    This has been acknowledged as the best available civilized method to exercise the Sovereignty of a State.
    To authorize Halaku Khan or Changez Khan or only one absolute Monarch to make Laws and Rules, may involve tyranny.
    With best wishes,
    Javed I. Sheikh

• Rashid said:

I appreciate the admin who has provided a valuable site to the people like me who don’t have access to Pakistani TV channels. I also agree with the admin that there should not be personal insults directed towards forum members or moderators of the show.

But I do not agree with the admin’s move to provide access to hosts and producers such that they are able to delete comments. I think every one should be open to criticism. Suppose I say that one particular host is biased and he is submissive while interviewing a particular politician. Whats wrong with it. I don’t think this kind of comments should be deleted.

After the comments are deleted by other persons, should you (the admin) be able to see what was the deleted comment?

• admin said:

@Rashid,

The basic purpose of criticism is to provide your difference of opinion on the topic or issue, not to dump your frustration on the host if you don’t have any valid argument on the issue.

Please also note that the same representatives of TV channels can legally tell me to remove all of their programs from this web site. What would everyone do then?

In regards to comments, there is no Recycle Bin. Any comment deleted by anyone is permanently gone and there is no trace left of it.

Even on YouTube, every video owner is entitled to remove any comments on his video without declaring any reason.

• Shahid said:

@Mr. Javed!!

You forgot about GOD. As muslims we have Law of God. Its unfortunate that we have taken up other laws that will always be inferior to God’s Law. Maybe thats the reason why Pakistan is in shambels. If not then we should not call ourself muslims and stop being hippocrates. Hippocracy is killing the fibers of our society. We call ourself muslims but worship others…..

We take few classes in Magna Carta and the Social Contract Theory and start woshiping it without knowing what we have is far better. Maybe its cause we don;t even know who we are !!

• javed I. Sheikh said:

Mr Shahid,
    I didn’t mention Law of God, intentially just to avoid an unending debate which has not been settled for the last 1400 years. I would request not to touch this issue. The History of Islam reflects such a debate as a dividing not a uniting factor.
    I asked the same question and one my learned tacher, asked me:
    1. ” Would you opt to live in the Shish Mahal of Lahore Fort, where once ‘Zille-Ilahi’ lived”?
    2.” Is it possible to paste a photocopy of 6th century over a map of 21st Century”?
    Once this proposition is solved, the Muslim Ummah will be united on the Law of God.
    With best wishes.
    Javed I. Sheikh

• Salmi said:

@Shahid:

Yes, there is a GOD and all religions. But, there is no concept of a maulvi anywhere!

In sum: I believe in the equality of Mahmud and Ayaz; and object (again) to the present separate toilets for “officers” and “staff” working in glorious Pakistan Secretariat. Subhanallah, as if these so-called superiors produce ice cream and may have the necessary morals to participate in a democratic system!

• imran malik said:

if you have access to kamra khan ask him that he better stop his programme since its becoming the most unpopular programme world wide because of his very obvious inclination towards the dictator….

and ask journalists like najam sethy to please dont disrespect your profession by siding with dictaror….thanks

• Shahid said:

@Salmi, Javed

The law of God is in Quran and Sunna. Its not in any castle or fort. If you wanna brand that law as “MOLVI LAW”, wish you good luck on the day we must all answer for our deeds !!

• imran malik said:

@shahid
    well said….the truth of matter is that all pppp jyalaas are dumb founded by bb’s recent activities so they are resorting in there typical anti maulvi conversation …pppp jyaalaas has history of evading the struggle in the path of God by naming it bunch of rituals or maulvism etc

• Syed Waqar said:

Admin, You should put your pic up there on the home page of the site:) Wanna see the guy who’s doing such a great job!

Cheers to all!

• MH said:

Admin:
    First of all, thanks for this amazing website – it contributes a lot to its visitors’ political awareness, especially that of overseas Pakistanis like myself. It is also heartening to see such talented and hard-hitting Pakistani journalists. E.g. guys like Talat and Kashif, who are both fair and logical.
    Second, I agree with your decision. I was at one point the moderator of a decent online politics discussion board and in retrospect, I should have worked with some of the regulars to audit the posts for some basic conditions (which I did not do to maintain freedom of expression, but I believe now that such posts disrupt meaningful discussions without adding any meaning and therefore reduce freedom of expression). Since people’s feedback is often instructive, actively auditing the posts for some basic, well-defined conditions is an excellent idea.

• Salmi said:

@ Shahid:

Until that day, just relax and tolerate those who assert their basic rights/freedoms that may not fit your definition of morality.

• waqas said:

i think tv personnel should have courage to face accountabilty as they desire for others. AND this site is kind of medium where they correct their shortcommings.
    i accept their should be some code of conduct but fair accountability is necessary for every stakeholder and media is not above it.

• Tanweer Amjad said:

Although all political programs have a different theme, and everybody doesn’t like all the programs, still I feel by making all the programs available the visitor has the choice to see his favourite program.

You should stop presuming :) that Aaj TV is available in europe :( .

I wish you could ban all the comments involving the program anchors, the visitors (targeting their educational level, society class, their morality, or their being too religious or secular) because that doesn’t add anything but loss of direction of debates.

Comments not related to the current video should also need be banned.

I know visitors keep asking what would be coming up on the site. In stead of adding these comments and updates in the video, it would be rather good to add a tab ‘upcoming events’ in which you could mention certain videos being added up in an hour or so, otherwise it could be blank.

I hope my comments are not too irrelevant to the above topic to be deleted. :)

Best of luck… Great job done.

• Tanweer Amjad said:

These are the consequences of the misuse of the site by a minority of visitors, although they had been awarded fair amount of freedom. And I think this is the best way to educate the people.

• Javed I. Sheikh said:

@ Mr. Shahid, & Mr. Imran Malik,
    Please don’t force the members of this Forum to take a wrong Exit.
    Law of God is not an issue. Right now Pakistan and most of the Muslim Ummah is facing the crises of entity and existence.
    We need to bring the price of Roti back to Rs. 1.00 in Pakistan.
    I failed to understand how PPPP, BB and JYYalas of PPPP are blended, with the topic of debate about the Rules of Freedom of Expression.
    There will be no winner and looser, when we start discussing the Law of God.
    During the invasion of Halaku Khan, the Maulvis and MullahS of Baghdad were discussing,

“ISLAM MEN KAWWA HALAL HAI YA HARAM”?
    Lets try to stay at the track.
    With best wishes,
    Javed I. Sheikh

• Shahid said:

@ Salmi,

Not my set of rules and regulations. Those are set by Islam. Accept them or deny them. Thats the choice you have. My point is, either accept Islam in its complete form of just quit it for a better one. We as muslims need to stop being the biggest hippocrates on planet. We should take it off from our constitution and declair is a secular state. Then we can import more freedom and liberalism. Then our next generation would see more clarity rather than hippocractic parents and society who say something and do exactly the opposite. Our double standards are the cause of decline in my view.

• Shahid said:

@Salmi,

You could always migrate to Netherland to exercise you freedom and right of expression.

• Democrat said:

@ Shahid Maulvi Sahib:

You are either: (a)refugee from Lal Masjid; and/or:(b) freshly-recruited/abducted by the Taliban. Don’t worry, you bearded ones: Mukti Bahini is coming to liberate us all!

• Javed I. Sheikh said:

@ Mr. Shahid,
    You mean in an ‘Islamic’ State, one cannot exercise the freedom and right of expression. For that one will have to migrate to Netherlands.
    What Logic?
    You are creating a very horrible picture of Islamic Law. It does not commensurate with the requirements of present way of life.
    Such an interpretation of Islam and Quraan could damage the attraction of Religion.
    With best wishes,
    Javed I. Sheikh

• SomeOne said:

Why cannot they accept criticisms. One who like Musharraf, BB etc or dislike some T.V. compares cannot post here.
    If that how admin & co wishes to run the site then please ban me from posting. In fact this is my last post here anyway.

• admin said:

Thanks to most of you for understanding.

Those who are not happy about this should consider this web site as just another media channel. No TV channel or Newspaper forces you to watch or read it. You are free to accept what is being offered or switch to your favorite channel, but no Media Channel would invite you to come there and say things against themselves.

You will find most of the videos here are also available on YouTube. Those who want to released their frustrations on the hosts are free to do that on YouTube.

• Anees said:

Is great and hope in future are more better and usefull.

• Shahid said:

@ Democrat

I don’t have a beard yet. But I hope some day I do. I would consider that a blessing. Prophet Mohammed also had a beard and so many other prophets as well. I hope on the day of Judgment, you show the same level of enthusiasm. For people like you Quran clearly states, “Allah hath set a seal on their hearts and on their hearing, and on their eyes is a veil”.

As far as LAL MASJID is concerned, innocent people were murdered and now you can see its remification through out the country. Killing your own fellow muslim in cold blood is not something i am going to defend. I am proud of Pashtoon brothers who have some Gareet left and are standing up for their right, and so are Balochi’s. Even though i am Punjabi, but i think Punjabi have damaged the country more than anyone else. They have always backed military dictators and lotted the resources from other provinces. Injustice and repression are the reason why we have chaos in our country. BUT SOME WILL NEVER GET IT. They are still into Molvi and NOn-molvi phobia. LUNITICS.

@javed,

You sound like a 10 year old kid, so i am not gonna respond to your childish comments !! I guess some people never get it. I think this is end of discussion from my side.

• Atif said:

great work admin, you are doing great job. your contribution will never go in vain. ppl like us living in west has only source of pk politics to remain connected.

• Democrat said:

@ Shahid:

You proved me right; and I feel sorry that you were abducted into these madrassahs. But that now you have access to both the computer and the internet, you can work on improving your English language and learn some skills to become a productive member of the society in what remains of Pakistan.

As far as the Lal Masjid is concerned, it was constructed on illegally-confiscated land (I also condemn the fraudulent Chak Shahzad allotments). Thus, the old/new edifices of this masjid needed demolishing.

Good wishes to you; and my prayers for a long life. By the way, no virgin is waiting for you in the heavens!

• Javced I. Sheikh said:

Dear Democrat,
    I am glad you talk sense.
    “Let the baby crawl, very soon baby will be able to walk and talk.”
    Ask your ‘friend’ who authorized the Lal Masjidis to assault and burn the Video Cassette Shop, run by a poor shopkeeper in Islamabad? He was not doing anything Illegal by earning Rizq-i-Halal.
    What was the legitimacy to establish a State within a State?
    Once a person killed his wife, just because her Shalwar, hanging on the wall, was visible to other people in the village.
    He translated her act as Un-Islamic and fulfilled ‘a sacred mission’ out of Ghairat.
    Long Live Pakistan.
    Javed I. Sheikh

• Shahid said:

@ DEMOCRAT,

From Al-Quran

Go ye, then, for four months, backwards and forwards, (as ye will), throughout the land, but know ye that ye cannot frustrate Allah (by your falsehood) but that Allah will cover with shame those who reject Him.

They swear by Allah that they are indeed of you; but they are not of you: yet they are afraid (to appear in their true colours).

Those who believe, and suffer exile and strive with might and main, in Allah’s cause, with their goods and their persons, have the highest rank in the sight of Allah: they are the people who will achieve (salvation).

• waheed said:

AOA

1st of all many thnx 4 running such a successful show.
    re: discriminatory views on d site, i reckon its a bit of a overdoing on d part of d admin to stop ppl sharing their views & shredding their catharsis. this d only way u can pave ppl to b having different views bt not becoming violent (a phenomenon lacking in our society). i wld suggest, let ppl provide a medium where they can express themselves without any hesitation nd preventing them becoming violent.

re: anger of d anchors of d tv programms, they shld also b welcming any criticism as they do on their guest in front of 160 million ppl. i reckon sum of them r a bit reckless nd a few run their prog. like an eveninig newspaper. dont let media also becum a “sacred cow”.

regards

Allah Hafiz

• For Accountability and Responsibility said:

@admn:

Perhaps you would agree that public sites are often vulnerable to infiltration by “unwanted visitors”. Examples abound of child predators and public offenders on forums such as “My Space” and “Face Book”. My concern is a conscious effort by the emerging extremist elements in Pakistan society which have been assigned the task of vigorously promoting fanatic ideas through the electronic media. I am by no means expounding a “conspiracy theory”; just alerting your moderators to this danger.

• BoneDaddy said:

Shahid:

Stay away from these 2 raunchy satans… salmi and javaid sheikh. Whenever they open their mouths its just like you have taken away the lid from a gutter. There thoughts are so stincky that it becomes unbearable to stand them. I dont know how admin tolerates them?

Take care and keep up your good work.

• Democrat said:

@ BoneDaddy:

Nice and appropriate name as a mulla patron of junior maulvi Shahid!

• javed I. Sheikh said:

Dear Administarator,
    I feel your job includes to educated and direct the members of the forum not to use indecent remarks and abusive language.
    I guess you have overlooked some of the enteries on the site.
    PLEASE INFORM ALL THE PARTICIPANTS,
    THAT,
    TO HARRASS, DEFAME, THREAT ANYONE THROUGH INTERNET OR ELECTRONIC MEDIA, IS AN OFFENCE.
    THE ‘SCHOLARS’ SHOULD STAY CAREFUL BEFORE ISSUING A ‘FATWA’.
    THEY COULD BE LOCATED AND DETECTED VERY EASILY TO SERVE WITH A LEGAL NOTICE.
    Javed I. Sheikh

• For Accountability and Responsibility said:

@ admin:

Javed Sheikh makes a very valid point.

See my earlier posting (of October 16th) of this lurking danger. There is a great deal of trash propogated by self-styled scholars with an explicit fundamentalist agenda!

• khan said:

watch da protest in london 10th nov http://youtube.com/watch?v=3qalNtdITNI wardi wale ……

• zarak said:

london faiz ahmad faiz poem sab taaj uchaale jaayein geey http://youtube.com/watch?v=dFzyYNDZ_hk