News in Brief - 19 October 07

Headline News compiled from various sources:

- Agencies behind explosions - Zardari

- Zia-ul-Haq remains behind explosions - Benazir

- Crowd in Benazir Rally was 2 Lakh - BBC, 20 Lakh - BB, 40 Lakh - Rahman Malik

- Aitzaz Ahsan fighting case for Justice Wajihuddin against General Musharraf

- Petition against Army Chief’s elections will be sorted out in 10-12 days - Justice Javed Iqbal

- Opposition furious over discriminated treatment of 2 Ex-Prime Ministers

- Investigation in BBs Swiss case complete, report next week

- Establishment willing to facilitate Nawaz Sharif if he takes flexible stance - Ansar Abbasi - Jang

- General Musharraf desires to shake hand with Nawaz Sharif, has reservations about BB - Jang

- Government ordered to compensate Lal Masjid students and victims by Supreme Court

- Nawaz Sharif expected to announce his return date on 20th October 07

Please share any significant news below …

29 Comments »

Mush ordered for investigation in 48 hours…humm…no investigation for May 12th incident yet.

http://www.geo.tv/geonews/details.asp?id=12810&param=1

something new.
    “Don’t blame me, says militant who threatened Bhutto”
    source:
    http://www.reuters.com/article/topNews/idUSISL1701920071019

thats nice and innocent. isuue all the threats you can and then say don’t blame me.

Ohhh chaloo ji .. Mitti Paaow …
    Raat gai Baat gai ..
    Lets move forward for general elections

Nisar@
    shame for u r comments.if u can not condole please keep u r mouth shut.140 people were killed and more then 500 wonded .

you are not looking a normal man.
    keep u r word back .

Mitti pana asan nahi hota jab koi tumra mare ga phir tum matti dal lena.

“Nisar on October 19th, 2007 11:37 am

Ohhh chaloo ji .. Mitti Paaow …
    Raat gai Baat gai ..
    Lets move forward for general elections”

And what will change in election? It is people like you, who have sick mentality, causing all the damages in Pakistan.

hi admin any videos coming soon. thnx for your efforts.

@ Asif
    @ Sohail

Nisar’s posting was making a mocking of Chaudhry Shujaat and the chamchas(who are the real culprits behind this tragedy)!

My apology to Nisar!!

It appears the Media is sold out to the PPP. After 8 years BB wants to come in the limelight. Let PPP work on it. Media seems to be working for PPP. They should be balanced between all political parties of by distributing equal time for every political party’s coverage. BB is trying her best to make the people forget the Plunder by her and her party. Let the Media not be used by her. Media should have non comital balanced view of the political activity. Give equal time to all parties. They could sell commercial to political parties who will manage their own shows and the Media should make it clear before and after the program that it is a paid commercial program by the party who has bought the time. This done by USA.

Hasnat

@ Asif
    @ Sohail
    If all the politicians can be forgiven with NRO for there 10 years of brutalities I wonder what do BB and Musharruf say now? Should the culprits be forgiven?

ohh hoo Come on guys …
    I dont mean to hurt anybody’s feeling .. I feel sorry for the peoples who died … but Be honest I am surprised that these peoples have nothing else to do but waste time for that corrupt leader who talks about the poverty from the palaces .. she complaint that she spend 8 years abroad (like she is working in walmart as Cashier) .. what about common person or a common family .. she F**ing living like as Queens life and Our Moron peoples want to give her receptions .. either they are stupids or they have their own interest .. None of them went to receive this Ass wipe for Pakistan Interest …

Apologise in advance if it hurt’s you

NISAR@
    we all knew that all politican are Croppt.
    they all wants kursi.
    they have so much money that we can not even imagen.
    Benazir have Necles purcheased ist cost was 1 lakh 50 thousand dollar .
    poor pakistani dont have even food,job,haus.
    poor people have only have problems.
    we all knew how talk wasi zafar.
    we know about AHMAD RAZA QUSARI.
    we know about durrani.
    Shiek rashid says Mushraf is an angel.He did well .May Be

AOA,
    I have no sympathy for any body who were supporting Benazir, but I do feel sorry for the police and the security people.I think pakistani awam deserve to be treated like this,wtf they are wellcoming benazir that she is bringing some kind of package that ease their lives.She was the prime minister twice not just once and she didnt do shit.what can you expect from her now.Just someon please tell me what will she do to make life easier for the pakistanis,all she will do is rob the country and built another surrey mahal some where else.She is a disgrace to pakistan and she should go in jail for all the attrocities she have commited in Karachi and the looting of the precious nationl wealth.I saw illetrate people from all over pakistan coming to karachi to support her because those bastards have nothing better to do and they have no freakin concept of working and taking care of their families. I saw an old man telling that he havent eat right from last eight years..haha..wtf man..can someone shed some light on the people who are supporting Benazir..i’ve been to so many countries and I’ve never seen that the schools are off and airports are closed and business are shut because of a political rally.Is this kind of democracy we want in our country.I can gurantee you this kind of democracy will not take us forward but backward for sure.God help us but God will not help unless we help ourselves. I dont condone killing of innocent people in any means but the poor people of pakistan deserve that at the end because they dont learn from their mistakes and keep repeating the same old mistakes..Badsha Benazir.

I totally agree with Nisar.I wish we can educate people of pakistan..i was looking at capital talk with hamid Mir and the stupid Pathan doesnt even know why army is bombing them.what a mess..how the fxxx he doesnt know..does he live in a fxxx cave..or may be he does..its time to get out of the cave..

This was all pre-planned to win the hearts of other people who are not even supporters of ppp, and now she has got a lame reason to fight the so called terrorism in pakistan, and when she gets in power she will most likely give green light to american troops…
    what a sad script this is!

@Taimur
    Bro i am agree with ur comments but remember now ppls know things they are not stupid any more… and for those who was in her reception they have been paid for there presence… i have just read the following story you will get the rift :
    http://www.ummat.com.pk/Report.ummat.com.pk/19102007-Misc_Reports/UmmatReport-19102007.html

@ Pakistan

Yes, you alongwith criminals like A.Q. Khan are forgiven!

Pakistan has not signed NPT, so Technically & Legally Pakistan is allowed to openly sell and share this technology, just like other western countries sell their weapons and make big profits.

Pakistan and all its foreign affairs are run by military only and AQ Khan is just too tiny in the whole business to do anything on his own.

Kaka

@Democrat,

BTW, if AQ Khan is forgiven, why is he under house arrest for so many years?

Kaka

After being disappointed by BB for over 2 weeks, I am again optimistic. I was amazed to listen to her press conference and how eloquently she described the conspiracy. Here is what she said.
    “It was an attack not just against one political leader, it was an attack on all the political leaders of Pakistan. It was a message to all the political parties, on all those who believe in democracy that you can not go out and compaign because if you do a public meeting and go on compaign we will kill you , we will bomb you , we will kill your supporters so don’t go out, don’t exercise your fundamental human rights, don’t exercise your right of freedom of political expression.� It was an attack by a militant minority (read army) that does not enjoy the support of the people of Pakistan……….in a military dictatorship whether it is the dictatorship of 70’s , whether AlBadar and ALShamas gangs…or whether it is the militants (read agencies) of this era�

She summed up the whole conspiracy in this.

Pakistan needs democracy, we need “Corrupt� political leaders behind whom people come out in millions to show their support, these people, as Lal Salaam put it correctly, are not rent-a-crowd, they come on streets because they believe in their right to rule. Let Nawaz Sharif come and you will see similar people coming on the streets as well. Even the illeterates understand what it means by “Raj Karay Gee Khalq-i-Khuda� or “Right to rule by the people�. They come on streets when they have no fear, military dictator and his cronies for eight years kept saying that people don’t come on street they are not with the opposition in every talk show their only argument was that people don’t come on street. People don’t come on street when they have fear of their life, that’s why they will not come to get NS on the airport, they will not come in Karachi when CJ visited their. BB ensured with the help of US that the General and his cronies can not terrorise people by tear gas and bullets. And that made General and his cronies sleepless , recall his last message to BB almost like “please don’t come�. And unfortunately heartless agencies had to kill 138 people to ensure they never come out on streets again.

@ Kaka:

Point taken; nobody should call A.Q. Khan as “Quaid-e-Bum”!

@ Pejamistri:

Right on! Down with Military-Mullah-Chaudhry-alliance, and with the GANGTERISM of the Chamchas/Lotas and their dosheezas!

24. Javed I. Sheikh Says:
    October 19th, 2007 at 4:41 pm

@ Kaka,
    Mr A.Q. Khan is under house arrest, to stop from disclosing the names of 26 Generals, who shared the cash, he got from Korea, Iran and other countries for selling the Nuclear technology.

Agreed with Taimur

This was all pre-planned to win the hearts of other people who are not even supporters of ppp, and now she has got a lame reason to fight the so called terrorism in pakistan, and when she gets in power she will most likely give green light to american troops…
    what a sad script this is!”

With these bomb blasts ,who got the maximum benefits ?

Musharraf ?
    BB ?
    MQM ?
    PMLN ?
    PMLQ ?
    Militants/Taliban ?
    America ?
    India ?
    Pak Army ?

In my opinion …
    there is no benefit of this to all of the above except BB,America , and may be a very very little to Musharraf(If he plans Martial Law) and MQM (If they felt,Karachi is being lost by MQM, very rare chances).Talibans may benefit as well,but how ?? Just to show power? what real benefit they might have gained ? rather they may lose the support of even those who considered Talibans or tribals as being oppressed.

BB might enjoy the maximum benefits of this tragic incident in terms of emotions of public,pressurizing govt,persuading americans
    as statements of Zardari point out…

So much cruel script ?

I totally agree with Nisar and wonder why so large number of people gather for the reception of such a corrupted leader. There can be only two reasons, either they are totally stupid or they have self interests. If they are stupid, we need to educate them not to risk their lives for the reception of such persons which actually have no value other than the support of foriegn forces. In the case of self-interests, they deserved all this.

27. pakiamerican Says:
    October 19th, 2007 at 6:55 pm

who ever organise this rally/reception for Benazir should be shot to death. The people are soo poor that they will go arms length to get a buck or two. I feel sorry for those who died in this blast, all they were hoping to get ends meat and a hope for a prosperous pakistan. I read the aritice someone post and I totally agree exactly that would have happen and most of these people were lied and bribed to gather in this valley of death.

I can just help smiling when people talk about “alternate leadership�, “corrupt leadership “, “genuine leadership�. All these words are favorite terms of dictators.
    Leadership by definition means leading the people and it comes when people start trusting a person or group of persons. A leader is the one whom people trust and will follow him or her. I might be the most honest person in the world, may possess the best qualities but if people don’t trust me then I am not a leader.
    Dictators know that people don’t trust them, by coining the terms like corrupt leadership, they actually try to erode the trust of people from their actual leaders. Their logic is “if you don’t trust me , don’t trust anyone else too�.
    A dictator is always afraid of leader, his first and foremost effort is to keep the leaders away from people. He wants to malign the leadership by mud sliging , he tries to terrorise people to stop them to follow their leaders.
    And last but not the least , voters are not “innocent�, they are rational human beings they know where their interst lies , they choose thier leadership with full conciusness , that’s why Jinnah once said “The people’s opinion can never be wrong�.
    Jinnah, Gandhi, Bhutto, Benazir, Nawaz Sharif have only one thing in common i.e. people’s trust. As a human being they may be honest, intelligent, corrupt, dumb and anything a human being could be. But leadership has no adjectives.

admin,

your latest poll actually shows what are the things like:

also if you read all the top columnists and hosts’s views,most of them are agreed that its very old fashioned term now that put every thing on suicide bombing and its been obvious that most of the party leaders from ppp are openly blaming agencies.

our current regime wants the same like no body should come out and be part of the processions and rallies so they wouldn’t fear for any mass movement against them so indirectly that could only help them not jihadis or talibans.

hope something will come up like investigative reporting from some one soon and the dark clouds and conspiracy theories will be laid off of this incident.