The comodity of Politics is people(voters). If you don’t know about the comodity how can you discuss about it with authority. Thats the reason that I say Media is biased because its promoting the power-hungry jokers rather than reaching out to the people & showing us their culture & thinking. The kind of life the people are living would reflect their thinking & this factor is missing. You would have to aise the voice & force the media to show us people from all areas of Pakistan.
Ahsan is right that Musharraf is afraid of real leaders. He thought BB would be another Shaukat Aziz but he hasn’t seen leaders. He thought his conspirators are enough to save him. I hope BB and Nawaz will throw these generals out soon.
And if BB and NS are bad, this is our decision. It is not for some power usurper and corrupt general to decide our fate. We might have thrown both out by now but thanks to Musharraf we now know that they are 100 times better than Mush & Co. Sadly, we would have to start from zero again and wait for progressive leaders to emerge from POLITICAL process, not military fascism.
PML(N) didn’t anticipate the extent the government will go to. I can advise PML N for next strategy:
‘Expect the meanest, cruellest, ruthless, shameless and law ridiculing response from this illegal government and decide your strategy. Present rogue government cannot be trusted. Remember: what Bugti got after talking to Shujaat and BB had a narrow escape after having talks with Mush’.
1. NS already knew that he wouldn’t be allowed to stay in Pakistan. This message was very clear by Saudi and Pakistani governments alike. But since he already announced that he would come so he had to otherwise that would have been a political suicide.
2. If the agreement was only for 5 years why didn’t he say a word for the next three years? I mean he was bound not to speak about the agreement till it is expired (and according to him it expired after 5 years) but after that he was free to speak about it but he chose not to. The only reason was he thought Musharraf is weak now and now is the chance to come back and grab some power.
3. Had NS chose to live in Pakistan he would have become a political hero. Musharraf would not have been able to hang him (it wasn’t 70s). Bhutto still lives because he didn’t run (although he wanted to). NS is living a life of luxury for the last years and some fools here still consider him a victim. When will we grow up? May be present government is no good but come on…. Nawaz Sharif…… tell me how is a leader? Have you seen any leadership quality in him? I consider his brother a much better leader.
4. He decided to land on Islamabad airport because in his wild imaginations he thought he had so much public support that he would overthrow Musharraf but it was so quiet that he himself was surprised.
We need honest and educated politicians like Ahsan. If you guys have noticed host had nothing to say against Ahsan’s personal role in politics. Normally this host finds a weak point in every politician but he was not able to do that with Ahsan.
NS has the right to come back and if Govt will allow his party to arrange a welcome than we will see a very Huge welcome for NS as he is still the most poppular leader.
If NS did something wrong, then Musharraf should allow all Prisoners, Murderers, Corrupts a choice to live in a Palace in Saudi Arabia.
And if he didn’t then, an agreement between a (political) prisoner holds no value. There is an element of DURESS, which makes such agreements null and void (invalid). NS is still in a prison (thought it is called a palace!!).
Send Nawaz Sharif to London and then sign an agreement with him and then I would accept that a proper agreement.
Present government has no credibility, be it legal or moral.
Nawaz Sharif is a leader in its own right. Even BB is relying on her father’s votes. NS has his own vote bank. well said Ahsan Iqbal.
@ Junaid
You are right that we need more leaders like Ahsan Iqbal. He was working on 2010 vision of Pakistan when Mush usurped power, so he has wonderful ideas for Pakistan.
PMLN has honest and capable perosns in their team like Ahsan Iqbal,Javed Hashmi, Khawja Asif, Ch Nisar, Ishaq Dar, sartaj Aziz and no other party s having this required strenth.
You can see PPP has rehman malik, nahid khan, shery rehman, wajid shamsulhassan etc as dominant team members and they have no comparison with PMLN team.
@Nawaz Sharif should be allowed to come back and lead his party in the general elections. He has a good chance to win from Lahore and mazafaat. It would be interesting to see the melt down of PMLQ and Musharraf’s reaction to it. It would be equally interesting to see where the PMLQ leadership will ends up, in the political wilderness or in PMLN.
great performance by ahsan iqbal and iftikhar ahmad. compare this interview to the travesty of journalism carried out by javed malik in his recent “interview” with the same ahsan iqbal.
iftikhar ahmad was thorough, probing and professional, whereas javed malik was the opposite.
I agree with you that PML-N has a very good, educated and capable (to deliver) team.
Ahsan Iqbal raise a very good point that PML-N has a very clear stretegy ‘NOT TO SUPPORT DICTATORSHIP’ and to chalk out every plan which is in favour of Pak. And also he said very well that PML-N is also against terrorism but the battle/war should be only for Pak not for the other’s interests.
Please please raise your fingers on generals and so called politicians to allow PML-N leadership to land in if they really want to save Pak from disasters….
Dr. Ahsan’s rhetoric was commendable. But rhetorical skills are all our politicians have as weapons.
In the dialogue Dr. Ahsan talks about merit and very much emphases it for promotions in army. It is worth asking (and again and again) from him that how PML-N recruits politicians into the party. I personally talked to him on this matter regarding my constituency, but 1) he is too sharp to argue in his own favor on this 2) I dont think he has much of an influence in the party decisions either.
PML-N is once again inducting the same kind of politicians in the party (or possibly worse) as has been the custom since the past. There is absolutely no concern for education, character and morals (of any kind), or political acumen either. Money remains the main inspiration. May they think that with a few people like Dr. Ahsan are all what they should have so that they keep defending the party’s image in front of the media endlessly. But then Armed forces already have a very rigorous selection criteria that starts from recruitment level and goes up through out the career hierarchy.
@ Rising sun
Yours seems to a case of volantary selective amnesia, how conveniently have you overlooked Makhdoom Amin Fahim, Jehangir Badar, Aitizaz Ahsan, Shah Mehood Qureshi, Yousaf Reza Gillani, Reza Rabbani, Babar Awan,Farhatullah Babar, Nisar Khorho, Kamal Azfar and many more.
Yes finally a PML ie PMLN has succeeded to retain a handful of loyal leaders(can I call them jiyalas)!!!. This is a welcome sign for pakistani politics that some punjabi muslim leaguer have resisted the temptations of establishment. Welcome to the politics of principles and politics for the people.
i think PPP and jieyals are never going to be politically mature as is obvious form ur comment where u from no where tried to express ur hatred for NS by syaing that he can only win from lahore.
despite PPP leaders support for dictator , PMLN still was showing maturity as NS called BB after the blasts and then javed Hashmi visited her in karachi but still most of PPP leaders n jieyals like u target NS so frequesntly. wats the reason for that?
Reason is that after shaking hands with dictatorship and in turn having amnesty for her cases, now they have withdrawn from GO musharraf Go and Mushi team (Q league MQM Fazlu and BB yes BB..) havve national reconciliation on one point agends that real enemy and threat to their dirty game under the patronage of their foreign masters is nawaz sahrif and so they want to keep him out.
@ commoner
now comming to our point abt elections if NS can win only in lahore…
PPP is out from not only lahore rather from all urban centres and cities where people r educated , are not Haris of fuedals and dont vote based on tribes, caste or on the orders of waderas.
Most of the rural areas has no specific political affiliations and unfortunately they will vote on anything but political ideology. This clearly shos the status of PPP in constitueencies of ideological politics.
By the way as a jieyahla would u like to introduces the core team of PPP so peole shud be able to compare it with other political parties. Thanks
Dr. Ahsan Iqbal made a very good point that there was no decline in support for Chief Justice when he went to Karachi but the curfew was imposed upon everyone except MQM. The same way curfew was imposed upon whole Pakistan when Nawaz Sharif landed in Islamabad alothough there was no decline in his support.
I saw ur comment regarding PPP leaders but people raise Qs that why these politcal leaders r not in BBs A team and r always ignorant abt her sceret deal meeetings and negotiations
r they hired jsut to be Yes men?
i remember babar awanon AAJ TV on the day when BB was in abudhabi for meeting with musharraf and he was saying he has no idea. at this nusrat javed said that u r an important office bearer and u have no idea, why not to ask rehman malik a nd bashir riaz as they r the ones who know wats going on inside.
Its rather shaemful for a politcal party to ignore the people who r in party for so long time and had been part of political struggle and rather to promote beuaucrates turned to financial tycoons ( i m assuming through the income of their salaries) .
wud u like to educate us on political contributions of rehman malik for PPP?
his obvious major contribution for PPP after his govt job ws to be partner of BB in Oil for Food programme corruption (partner in offshore companies and in acounts of spanish banks and thereafter he ran out of spain to london)
I personaly am more inclined towards PPP than a right wing party. But I should concede, that while watching PML(n) leaders like Ahsan Iqbal, KH:Asif, they present a moderate honest points of view. Even I found Nawaz sharif in his interviews rather committed to his ideology.
BB after arrival has an upper playing field. But She should prove that she is the leader of masses, and her politics in not about herself. I still wish that she was not as pragmatic, and stuck to original charter of democracy. This is what happens in our polity. Our leaders get pragmatic, rather than ideal, and they always end up giving safe passage to any dictator.
The language and polity that I hear from PML (N) leaders, and they keep it up, I am sure they will score good, and in future their voice will considered voice of decency and their character more becoming. Persons like me may think twice before supporting ones, who are less or not becoming and indecent. Or they are too pragmatic towards themselves.
did u froget Aetizaz;s comment of BBs negotiations ” mein in muzakraat ka ameen nahen hoon”
clearly stressing that he is not part of or aware of wat this all is abt and at the same time saying in a tone and way as if he wannna say”" keh mein is gunah mein shareek nahen hoon”"
G Mustafa G
Welcome back after a long absence, hope all was fine. Yasar badly missed you.
No successful negotiations were ever telecasted live, most “Bowl fish” diplomacies end up in failure. Nawaz Sharif’s great escape deal was also the result of behind the curtain negotiations. How many of the PMLN leaders were “Ameen” to that deal. It was solely Abaji’s brain storm which led to Mian sahib’s “hijarat”. So why blame PPP.
i think u cant compare Nawaz sahrif’s exile as a deal comapred to Bbs deal to SUPPORT dictairship.
Yes there r similar exampples…some successful and some unsuccessful
1- When Nusrat bhutto fiels mercy petition to Ziaul haq to be given pardon and allowed to go abroad…it ws unsuccessful….but i wud say unfortunately…we cant support a fascist dictator for his act aginast a politcal leader.
2- When BB went to exile in Ziaul haq regime for EAR TREATMENT….it was sucessful attempt and can be called more similar to NS exile in a way to get time and hoping to return when thngs r changed.
@ G Mustafa
As for PMLN’s election chance from Lahore and Muzafaat, well that is my assessment, but why worry,”hath kangan ko arsi kya” elections are only two months away we ll see the results.
As for the propoganda that PMLN has educated leadership from urban centres I dare ask where is Aitizaz Ahsan, Zamarad Khan, Shah Mehmood Qureshi and likes from.
Let me ask you why PMLN has all the corrupt retired judges in its fold and PPP all the able lawyers.
If I take over your home, put you in a dark room and then someone else is involved to get you out from that room and you sign something, only a mad person will call it an agreement or a deal.
If Nawaz Sharif was a criminal then what wrong have other criminals done? If not, then why was he sent back?
Put Nawaz Sharif in a free democratic country like England and then ask him to sign something, only then we will accept that as a deal.
Thanks for ur remarks and hope we can have constructive debate to conclude somehting positive.
I was not blaming PPP for anything. i beleive PPP is a politcal party and thats why they should stand with Pro people sentiments and with democratic forces.
whatever argument u can give, u cant justify support to a dictatorship.
and normally there r 2 major supporting arguments:
one and most favourite ( and easy to do)is to point out some one else mistake of past and then trying to justify urs and forgetting that 2 wrings are not going to make one right.
second argument is based on saying that we need to accept so called Ground Realities and that politics of idealism and principles is only for books ( i can remember shah mahmood qureshi using this argument in a recent debate show with shekih rasheed and imran khan and shahmahmood was trying to second shiekh rasheed comments of similar base)
i beleive as politcal worker u will agree that we should not giveup and shud not accept dictatorship under these excuses. We, as a peolpe of paksitan have to cointue our stuggle ( under any politcal or nonpolitical platform) without shaking hands with dictaotrship…..This dark night will end surely…inshaALLAH
@ commoner
shahmahmood qureshi is not form urban area. he had been minister in NS provincial govt and his father had been governer of punjab in Zia regime. So what u gues call such people??” Zia ki baaqieyaat” right??
Atizaz won last elections form lahore with the support of PMLN. his postes were presenting him as ” BB ka wakeel, NS ka wakeel”.
I agree that eletiosn can decide wat is actual position but FREE and FAIR elections..
not the elections that r only free for certian political aprties and in that case results will not be accepted.
@G Mustafa
Talking of PMLN and politics of ideology is laughable. The backbone of the relative success of PMLN in Lahore and other cities has been market committees- the bearded, tax evading, jihadi funding lot of “do” number hoarders, the aljaajs of anjuman e dukandaran, sloganing “Nawaz Sharif Raqam barhao hum tumharee sath hain”.
@G Mustafa
Shah Mehmood could easily have clung to his father’s legacy but he choose the difficult path. He is a repenter like the reborn Nawaz Sharif and Khawaja Asif.
first of all voters of urban areas r not being controlled like SINDHI HARRIs etc .
here poople r educated and can decide based on performance..
PMLN is clear in its stand and principle and can present sae to the people of paksitan and thats people are supporitng them.
On the contrary PPP has lost its ideological existence. do u think people of rural areas vote for PPP becso they like their Liberal agenda? not t all…….BB has 2 faces..to show foreign masters she is presenting herself as secular and offering servies fr handing over Dr Qadeer and on other issue……but to show people of rural areas she is having TASBBEH in her hand and IMAM ZAMIN on her arms…..
in urban areas she cant ffol people any more by presenitng herself as MAZLOOM daughter of bhutto.I live in Lahore in that constituency where Bhutto won electio. then 1988 and even in 1990 PPP won electiosn there. after that when nawaz sharif changed the myth and gave another direction to politics that was based on performance and NOT on slogans of Murda parasti , then poeple in that constituency aslo changed.
I have witnesssed this U Tuen myself after 1990. Today’s situation of that consituency is that PPP cud not find a local candidate for provincial assembly seat and they had to sell the ticket to a person who is unknown to all PPP workers there.
@Rising sun
BB is not supporting dictatorship infact she is supporting transition from uniformed presidency to an all civilian democracy.
Nawaz sharif and Musharraf have a mutual conflict of egos and in battle of egos there are no principles and no compromises.
u dont like NS for some other reasons ..thats understandable..BUT u cant deny the fact that HE is symbole of anti establisment and anti dictatorship movement in Pakistan now.
i think while justifying shahmahood;s politcal stand , u already admitted the psositve change.
As bhutto was a supporter of dictator Ayub ( and even calling him DADDY), in the same way, Nawaz sharif was a supporter of Zia ( although he always sticked to his own Abbaji)..
Bhutto became a prop people leader only when he challenged a dictator and same happend to nawaz sahif when he chaalenged establishment in 1990.
@G Mustafa
You share the dream to limit BB and PPP to Sind with Chaudhry Shujaat and Ijaz ul Haq, well you are free to day dream. But please wake up Pakistan is not only Lahore and urban central punjab, Pakistan is much more beyond.
@G Mustafa
You cannot compare apples and oranges. Bhutto use to call Ayub “daddy” as a jest as we say “baap” these days.
Bhutto after leaving Ayub created a new pro people anti establishment party the PPP and did not continued to work in a instrument of establishment the PML like Nawaz Sharif.
@G Mustafa
“u dont like NS for some other reasons ..thats understandable”
You are right I donot approve of Nawaz Sharif as a leader simply because he lacks leadership credential, strength of character and vision. I would rather prefer Imran Khan over NS.
Ahsan Iqbal sahab, know this guy personally, very tall guy and in views/honesty he is no less than a tower!
In the past few days there are some phrases that really struck me honestly….
A guy mentioned on bbc website which was quoted by a bbc article on BB’s return:
” She is a mediocre daughter of a great man”
And now when Ahsan Iqbal says,” Nawaz Sharif has his own votebank; he is a reality like ZA Bhutto.” Well Benazir defintely has no vote bank! she is living off the crumbs of her father….and fortunately for her these crumbs are like wholesome meal that have lasted enough for the bhutto clan for more than 2 decades….
Honestly NSharif is nothing like ZA Bhutto, but if I think of great leaders pakistan has witnessed over time…like Jinnah, LA Khan, ZA Bhutto, I would consider him too for a test drive…But still he has to pass a lot of hurdles…lets see…
i have nothing to do with statements of chaudris etc….those chaudreis and BB are in the smae boat under patronage of Musharaf..isnt it? do u think chaudirs etc r independent to makes decisions??
dont forget that number f seats count in elections and in Sindh there t total 61 seats, out of those 20 are in urban areas of hyderaabad and karachi where PPP is not in the picture ( i mnot inculding 3 seats of karachi).
out of remaning 41 seats…how many u expect PPP to win? certainly not all…..as even she might b having sting hold there ..still less efffective than 1988.
IN NWFP, after shrpao joining Q partnership and Naseerullah babar and Qazi anwar ( who were in PPP for around 35-40 years) left PPP, PPP is not in any position to win even a single seat there.
Infact people of NWFP and punjab seems to be ina mood to gofor negative voting..meanas..not voting to pro american agenda of Mushi Fazlu and BB.
So PPPs stength in sindh is nullified immediately in NWFP based on number of seats and final decicion is going to b in Punjab where there r 148 seats.
If Nawaz sahrif comes back, it is v obvious what will b the result in Punjab specially upper and central punjab…
I am not syaing that this is all pakistan BUT infact based on number of seats ..yes this is the are where decision will be made.
BB has failed to be a leader…she a is a polarising figure. I thought earlier that she would solve problem of NWFP but by giving statements for waziristan and swat military operations she is not winning popular support in nwfp…even a prominent ex leader from that province naseerullah babar has left ppp….
Right now for me the most fit leader would be who solves the problem of waziristan and swat and baluchistan(B.L.A.) in a peaceful and amicable manner be it qazi hussain, maulana sahab, shujjat, muhsharraf,nawaz sharif, benazir or imran khan….hmmmmm…this seems very difficult especially ebfore an election….which leader has the balls to do this…lets see…well then wht does a leader means….check wikipedia: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Leadership
@G Mustafa
Your despise for Chaudhrys is understandable because they remind you of your own(NS) past, they ditched you at a critical juncture of time just as Nawaz Sharif stabbed Junejo in the back when Zia dismissed his govt. But still PMLN has more bascic commonality with PMLQ and that is you two share the same voters, and that is the crux of your problem.
You have conveniently overlooked the southern punjab in your analysis, the forte of PPP. Just as PPP is not going to win all the seats in rural sind similarly it will be no walk over for PMLN in Lahore and Mazafaat.
Finally your big IF, all of your hopes and analysis are dependent upon Nawaz Sharif’s return before general elections.I hope this time you wont forget the dictum “hope for the best but prepare for the worst” and do have a plan B.
Sweet dreams!
for god sake do not do persitahe of the personalities .believe none of bb or baboo or imran or any of the big talked namee have the leadeship qualities of the following:
.Have a will to scrafice his interests or even the life for upholding the rights of the people
.have high level of honesty
.have high level of integrity
.Even could not think of corruption or the abuse of power
.ledership based on the personnel characteristics and not on inheritance
we can get the leader if we over come of our own self interst .please forget the dead people ,what ever they done is history .judge the leaders on thier charteritics not your own characteritics becaue leader is to lead and not make deals that is called manager ,we do not need good managers but we need good leaders who can never run from the country and leave the people suffer ,if we belive that people have suffered under mush then the people who did not live in the country to protect the rights of these people do not deserve even to paticipate in process ,they are cowards like gadars who lived outside the country with thier families issuing statements .they should have stayed in the country at whatever cost they have to pay ,if people can pay the price they deserve the leader who is willing to pay the price 100 times than people whom he or she want to lead .It is better to find anyone who stayed in the country scraficed his rights and priviliges not because of corruption charges but because fighting for the rights of people .mush is just robot and any one who provides imlicit or explicit support to mush is suuporting the cause of masters of the robot mushraf
regarding southern punjab…
well out of 148 seats of punjab southern punjab has 50 seats, so first of all that again gives better picture of real bate ground. now ets see the situation of these 50 seats..
at the moment most of the politicians had converted to Q league. this case is same for PMLN and also for PPP ( with v few exceptions). you cana see most of patriots were also form southern punjab, like from rahim yar khan all 3 MNAs of PP converted, same is for Vihari, Layyah, bahawalpur, bahawalnagar…
many Q leaguers though shown intent to go back to PPP and PMLN. So there might e mixed results expected there althouugh again….with return of Nawaz sharif situation will b changed totally.
dear jeiayal or hari of some sindhi feudal ( mentallty if not physically)
Nwaz sharif is leading the struggle against dictatorship and establishment and its ur Pinki who is sitting in lap of a dictator…so be honest in giving such baseless comments…
In order to succeed and be accepted as true leaders of Pakistan, the Sharif brothers need to bare their souls and admit,accept and acknowledge their mistakes and apologize to the nation. Next they need to put all their business interests in a blind trust so that there is not even a shadow of impropriety on their part.
These are tall requests but the Pakistani people are a forgiving lot and will accept and welcome them as their leaders.
THIS GUY THINKS HE LOOK KOOL BEING SO RUDE AND ILLMANNERED BUT HE DOESNT KNOW HE SUCKS.I THINKS ALL PAKISTANI TV PRESENTERS NEED SOME PROPER EDUCATION AND TRAINING CAUSE MOST OF THEM ARE FATCH EDIOTS LIKE DR SHAHID MASOOD WHO HAS A GROUP OF FOOLS LIKE GEN RET ASLAM BAIG AND DISCUSS THE WORLD POLITICS.. THEY ALL SUCKKKKKKKKKKK
Hypocracy of the so called Democratic parties of Pakistan
The political parties of Pakistan present themselves as democratic parties. But watch their actions.
They contest the Elections. The leader becomes the Prime Minister, a powerful arrogant man/woman working for his/her and his/her party’s health and wealth, not caring for the poor common man. Then he /she is elected to power the second time, he becomes PM again as there is no democracy in the party. Then he develops an image that he is a demi god and wants to keep returning as PM till he/she dies and if possible he would like to defeat death. There is no concept of betterment of the common mans lot who is struggling to stay alive. There are the problems of high cost of living, joblessness, lack of industries, lack of development, lack of infra structural facilities and communication at reasonable costs.
The salaries/remuneration of MNAs, MPAs is 100 times as against 10 times in western countries that of the minimum wages fixed by the Govt. How can these people feel the pinch and the difficultiies of the common man when they belong to a different economic slab/strata and do not work for the common man. They make money for themselves and then for the party, to return to power in the next election.
In the recent rally of PPP party, 150 common people were risked in a Rally to pay with their lives to project the Image of the Political leader inspite of being warned by the Govt. to avoid this. Not one leader was lost or injured. Then BB had a session of Crocodile tears.
Leave alone the country, the political parties are run by dynastys and no democracy exists in any of them.
THIS GAME HAS BEEN PLAYED IN PAKISTAN FOR 60 YEARS AND WHEN THE CIVILIAN SO CALLED DEMOCRATIC GOVT BECAME UNBEARABLE, THE MILITARY TOOK OVER AND WAS WELCOMED BY THE PEOPLE COF PAKISTAN. NOT A DROP OF BLOOD WAS SPILLED. NOW THE CIVILIAN PERMANANT PMS BB AND NS WANT ABSOLUTE POWER AQND DO NOT WANT TO BE ANSWERABLE TO ANYBODY.
I HAVE NO TEARS FOR THEM AND WOULD LIKE TO HAVE INSTITUTIONS WHO WILL HOLD THEM RESPONSIBLE FOR THEIR ACTIONS. THEW COUNTRY IS NOT THEIR JAGIR AND IT SHOULD BE POSSIBLE TO THROW THEM OUT IF THEY MISUSE THEIR POSITION AND MUST BE SEVERELY PUNISHED. THEY HAVE BEEN CORRUPT ANDC WANT TO BE CALLED MUHTARAM OR MUHTARMA. IN THE WORLD POLITICIANS ARE CALLED BY THEIR NAME WITHOUT AN ADJ OF MR. OR MS. WHY SHOULD PAKISTANS LEADERS/POLITICIANS BE MOHTARAMS. tHEIR CHARACTERS ARE NOT ABOVE BOARD.
Generals are very powerful in Pakistan and they do not let civilians rule.
They only allow politicians to do corruption so that they could blackmail them in future. If army can stop politicians from making any independent foreign policy, it should have stopped them from corruption.
We could have thrown out politicians with the passage of time but army never gave us chance. BB & NS could have been a history but Gen Mush’s intervention has brought us to point zero and looking at general’s crimes, these politicians are angels.
Generals have ruled pakistan more than any political party and they have given many presents to the country. They should get blame for the last 60 years mess too.
Politician Bhutto left a safe Pakistan, Gen Zia gave us Heroin and Klashinkovs.
Politician NS & BB left a relatively safer Pakistan where they used to ride on publics shoulders, Gen Mush has given us a dangerous Pakistan where suicide bombings have made public gathering impossible. His allies are heroes of May 12.
Politicians gave us Gawadar (bought from Oman), Nuclear Bomb, Ghouri missiles and so many other things. Army gave India Bangladesh, Kashmir and Siachin glaciers.
Generals future gifts (if not stopped) free Baluchistan, Jinnah pur (Karachi) and Sawat and much much more …
Mr. Iftikhar Ahmed is as always good. It’s very difficult to say where he belongs ideologically. He is ready to grill anybody with nasty questions-that’s great! Iqbal Ahsan did quite well too. He seems like a good politician, but is doomed to defend a corrupt politician (NS).
I will ask the Admin to upload the grilling of Pinky (BB) where she gets mad on Mr. Iftikhar Ahmed. Anybody else who knows where to find this video?
Asalam-o-alaikum: all pakis dis is good interview. I like this sensibele. the good thing in it is has given solutions. I like if some pakistani give solutions of the problem,
Like stuff
Ahsan is sayin right because most of PMLN leadership came from middle class, like Saad Rafeeq, Ahsan Iqbal himself, Khawaja Asif, Javaid Hashmi, Zulfiqar Khosa(i think he is Sardar in his area, i am doubltful about him) Zafar Iqbal Jaghra, Ishaq Dar, Sartaj Aziz etc.
and these guys are clean and have no coruption charges, and Ahsan Iqbal well said that Mush helped them in cleaning the bad guys from PMLN.
i can swear Shujat in Gujrat & Ameer Hussain (speaker NA) in Sialkot lost there seats in last election and Ahsan won his seat from Narowal but later on decleared he lost his seat and his case is still pending with election commission
3. One should learn lessons from the mistakes and go ahead with positive frame of mind while not compromising on the right path , is the key concept clarly delivered by Ahsan iqbal in this debate.
October 28th, 2007 at 4:16 pm
6 votes, average: 4 out of 5,
Video coming shortly.
How can you vote without seeing the video? What is your logic for that?
October 28th, 2007 at 4:25 pm
@ someone
Some of us have watched it on Geo already (though I haven’t yet!)
October 28th, 2007 at 4:26 pm
When will you be loading Jawab Deyh with Jehangir Badr of PPP ?
Keep up the good work !!
October 28th, 2007 at 5:06 pm
Why does this guy has to be so rude. cool vid though thanks for uploading
October 28th, 2007 at 5:23 pm
The comodity of Politics is people(voters). If you don’t know about the comodity how can you discuss about it with authority. Thats the reason that I say Media is biased because its promoting the power-hungry jokers rather than reaching out to the people & showing us their culture & thinking. The kind of life the people are living would reflect their thinking & this factor is missing. You would have to aise the voice & force the media to show us people from all areas of Pakistan.
October 28th, 2007 at 6:06 pm
Iqbal Ahsan is a honest and good politician Nawaz Sharif Zindabad.
October 28th, 2007 at 6:09 pm
Ahsan is right that Musharraf is afraid of real leaders. He thought BB would be another Shaukat Aziz but he hasn’t seen leaders. He thought his conspirators are enough to save him. I hope BB and Nawaz will throw these generals out soon.
And if BB and NS are bad, this is our decision. It is not for some power usurper and corrupt general to decide our fate. We might have thrown both out by now but thanks to Musharraf we now know that they are 100 times better than Mush & Co. Sadly, we would have to start from zero again and wait for progressive leaders to emerge from POLITICAL process, not military fascism.
October 28th, 2007 at 6:17 pm
PML(N) didn’t anticipate the extent the government will go to. I can advise PML N for next strategy:
‘Expect the meanest, cruellest, ruthless, shameless and law ridiculing response from this illegal government and decide your strategy. Present rogue government cannot be trusted. Remember: what Bugti got after talking to Shujaat and BB had a narrow escape after having talks with Mush’.
October 28th, 2007 at 6:31 pm
1. NS already knew that he wouldn’t be allowed to stay in Pakistan. This message was very clear by Saudi and Pakistani governments alike. But since he already announced that he would come so he had to otherwise that would have been a political suicide.
2. If the agreement was only for 5 years why didn’t he say a word for the next three years? I mean he was bound not to speak about the agreement till it is expired (and according to him it expired after 5 years) but after that he was free to speak about it but he chose not to. The only reason was he thought Musharraf is weak now and now is the chance to come back and grab some power.
3. Had NS chose to live in Pakistan he would have become a political hero. Musharraf would not have been able to hang him (it wasn’t 70s). Bhutto still lives because he didn’t run (although he wanted to). NS is living a life of luxury for the last years and some fools here still consider him a victim. When will we grow up? May be present government is no good but come on…. Nawaz Sharif…… tell me how is a leader? Have you seen any leadership quality in him? I consider his brother a much better leader.
4. He decided to land on Islamabad airport because in his wild imaginations he thought he had so much public support that he would overthrow Musharraf but it was so quiet that he himself was surprised.
October 28th, 2007 at 6:38 pm
What a prisoner (NS) did is completely irrelevant. Musharraf and rogue element insulted Supreme Court of Pakistan.
October 28th, 2007 at 6:40 pm
We need honest and educated politicians like Ahsan. If you guys have noticed host had nothing to say against Ahsan’s personal role in politics. Normally this host finds a weak point in every politician but he was not able to do that with Ahsan.
NS has the right to come back and if Govt will allow his party to arrange a welcome than we will see a very Huge welcome for NS as he is still the most poppular leader.
October 28th, 2007 at 6:47 pm
If NS did something wrong, then Musharraf should allow all Prisoners, Murderers, Corrupts a choice to live in a Palace in Saudi Arabia.
And if he didn’t then, an agreement between a (political) prisoner holds no value. There is an element of DURESS, which makes such agreements null and void (invalid). NS is still in a prison (thought it is called a palace!!).
Send Nawaz Sharif to London and then sign an agreement with him and then I would accept that a proper agreement.
Present government has no credibility, be it legal or moral.
October 28th, 2007 at 6:58 pm
Nawaz Sharif is a leader in its own right. Even BB is relying on her father’s votes. NS has his own vote bank. well said Ahsan Iqbal.
@ Junaid
You are right that we need more leaders like Ahsan Iqbal. He was working on 2010 vision of Pakistan when Mush usurped power, so he has wonderful ideas for Pakistan.
October 28th, 2007 at 7:12 pm
PMLN has honest and capable perosns in their team like Ahsan Iqbal,Javed Hashmi, Khawja Asif, Ch Nisar, Ishaq Dar, sartaj Aziz and no other party s having this required strenth.
You can see PPP has rehman malik, nahid khan, shery rehman, wajid shamsulhassan etc as dominant team members and they have no comparison with PMLN team.
October 28th, 2007 at 7:30 pm
@Nawaz Sharif should be allowed to come back and lead his party in the general elections. He has a good chance to win from Lahore and mazafaat. It would be interesting to see the melt down of PMLQ and Musharraf’s reaction to it. It would be equally interesting to see where the PMLQ leadership will ends up, in the political wilderness or in PMLN.
October 28th, 2007 at 7:30 pm
great performance by ahsan iqbal and iftikhar ahmad. compare this interview to the travesty of journalism carried out by javed malik in his recent “interview” with the same ahsan iqbal.
iftikhar ahmad was thorough, probing and professional, whereas javed malik was the opposite.
October 28th, 2007 at 7:36 pm
@Rising Sun
I agree with you that PML-N has a very good, educated and capable (to deliver) team.
Ahsan Iqbal raise a very good point that PML-N has a very clear stretegy ‘NOT TO SUPPORT DICTATORSHIP’ and to chalk out every plan which is in favour of Pak. And also he said very well that PML-N is also against terrorism but the battle/war should be only for Pak not for the other’s interests.
Please please raise your fingers on generals and so called politicians to allow PML-N leadership to land in if they really want to save Pak from disasters….
October 28th, 2007 at 7:39 pm
Dr. Ahsan’s rhetoric was commendable. But rhetorical skills are all our politicians have as weapons.
In the dialogue Dr. Ahsan talks about merit and very much emphases it for promotions in army. It is worth asking (and again and again) from him that how PML-N recruits politicians into the party. I personally talked to him on this matter regarding my constituency, but 1) he is too sharp to argue in his own favor on this 2) I dont think he has much of an influence in the party decisions either.
PML-N is once again inducting the same kind of politicians in the party (or possibly worse) as has been the custom since the past. There is absolutely no concern for education, character and morals (of any kind), or political acumen either. Money remains the main inspiration. May they think that with a few people like Dr. Ahsan are all what they should have so that they keep defending the party’s image in front of the media endlessly. But then Armed forces already have a very rigorous selection criteria that starts from recruitment level and goes up through out the career hierarchy.
October 28th, 2007 at 7:43 pm
@ Rising sun
Yours seems to a case of volantary selective amnesia, how conveniently have you overlooked Makhdoom Amin Fahim, Jehangir Badar, Aitizaz Ahsan, Shah Mehood Qureshi, Yousaf Reza Gillani, Reza Rabbani, Babar Awan,Farhatullah Babar, Nisar Khorho, Kamal Azfar and many more.
Yes finally a PML ie PMLN has succeeded to retain a handful of loyal leaders(can I call them jiyalas)!!!. This is a welcome sign for pakistani politics that some punjabi muslim leaguer have resisted the temptations of establishment. Welcome to the politics of principles and politics for the people.
October 28th, 2007 at 7:48 pm
@ commoner
i think PPP and jieyals are never going to be politically mature as is obvious form ur comment where u from no where tried to express ur hatred for NS by syaing that he can only win from lahore.
despite PPP leaders support for dictator , PMLN still was showing maturity as NS called BB after the blasts and then javed Hashmi visited her in karachi but still most of PPP leaders n jieyals like u target NS so frequesntly. wats the reason for that?
Reason is that after shaking hands with dictatorship and in turn having amnesty for her cases, now they have withdrawn from GO musharraf Go and Mushi team (Q league MQM Fazlu and BB yes BB..) havve national reconciliation on one point agends that real enemy and threat to their dirty game under the patronage of their foreign masters is nawaz sahrif and so they want to keep him out.
October 28th, 2007 at 7:55 pm
@ commoner
now comming to our point abt elections if NS can win only in lahore…
PPP is out from not only lahore rather from all urban centres and cities where people r educated , are not Haris of fuedals and dont vote based on tribes, caste or on the orders of waderas.
Most of the rural areas has no specific political affiliations and unfortunately they will vote on anything but political ideology. This clearly shos the status of PPP in constitueencies of ideological politics.
By the way as a jieyahla would u like to introduces the core team of PPP so peole shud be able to compare it with other political parties. Thanks
October 28th, 2007 at 7:56 pm
Dr. Ahsan Iqbal made a very good point that there was no decline in support for Chief Justice when he went to Karachi but the curfew was imposed upon everyone except MQM. The same way curfew was imposed upon whole Pakistan when Nawaz Sharif landed in Islamabad alothough there was no decline in his support.
October 28th, 2007 at 8:02 pm
Very good interview by Iftikhar Ahmad and no pointless interruption unlike the last interview carried out by Javed Malik which was fully biased.
October 28th, 2007 at 8:09 pm
@ commoner
I saw ur comment regarding PPP leaders but people raise Qs that why these politcal leaders r not in BBs A team and r always ignorant abt her sceret deal meeetings and negotiations
r they hired jsut to be Yes men?
i remember babar awanon AAJ TV on the day when BB was in abudhabi for meeting with musharraf and he was saying he has no idea. at this nusrat javed said that u r an important office bearer and u have no idea, why not to ask rehman malik a nd bashir riaz as they r the ones who know wats going on inside.
Its rather shaemful for a politcal party to ignore the people who r in party for so long time and had been part of political struggle and rather to promote beuaucrates turned to financial tycoons ( i m assuming through the income of their salaries) .
wud u like to educate us on political contributions of rehman malik for PPP?
his obvious major contribution for PPP after his govt job ws to be partner of BB in Oil for Food programme corruption (partner in offshore companies and in acounts of spanish banks and thereafter he ran out of spain to london)
October 28th, 2007 at 8:10 pm
I personaly am more inclined towards PPP than a right wing party. But I should concede, that while watching PML(n) leaders like Ahsan Iqbal, KH:Asif, they present a moderate honest points of view. Even I found Nawaz sharif in his interviews rather committed to his ideology.
BB after arrival has an upper playing field. But She should prove that she is the leader of masses, and her politics in not about herself. I still wish that she was not as pragmatic, and stuck to original charter of democracy. This is what happens in our polity. Our leaders get pragmatic, rather than ideal, and they always end up giving safe passage to any dictator.
The language and polity that I hear from PML (N) leaders, and they keep it up, I am sure they will score good, and in future their voice will considered voice of decency and their character more becoming. Persons like me may think twice before supporting ones, who are less or not becoming and indecent. Or they are too pragmatic towards themselves.
October 28th, 2007 at 8:12 pm
@ commoner
did u froget Aetizaz;s comment of BBs negotiations ” mein in muzakraat ka ameen nahen hoon”
clearly stressing that he is not part of or aware of wat this all is abt and at the same time saying in a tone and way as if he wannna say”" keh mein is gunah mein shareek nahen hoon”"
October 28th, 2007 at 8:31 pm
G Mustafa G
Welcome back after a long absence, hope all was fine. Yasar badly missed you.
No successful negotiations were ever telecasted live, most “Bowl fish” diplomacies end up in failure. Nawaz Sharif’s great escape deal was also the result of behind the curtain negotiations. How many of the PMLN leaders were “Ameen” to that deal. It was solely Abaji’s brain storm which led to Mian sahib’s “hijarat”. So why blame PPP.
October 28th, 2007 at 8:38 pm
@ commoner
i think u cant compare Nawaz sahrif’s exile as a deal comapred to Bbs deal to SUPPORT dictairship.
Yes there r similar exampples…some successful and some unsuccessful
1- When Nusrat bhutto fiels mercy petition to Ziaul haq to be given pardon and allowed to go abroad…it ws unsuccessful….but i wud say unfortunately…we cant support a fascist dictator for his act aginast a politcal leader.
2- When BB went to exile in Ziaul haq regime for EAR TREATMENT….it was sucessful attempt and can be called more similar to NS exile in a way to get time and hoping to return when thngs r changed.
October 28th, 2007 at 8:45 pm
@ G Mustafa
As for PMLN’s election chance from Lahore and Muzafaat, well that is my assessment, but why worry,”hath kangan ko arsi kya” elections are only two months away we ll see the results.
As for the propoganda that PMLN has educated leadership from urban centres I dare ask where is Aitizaz Ahsan, Zamarad Khan, Shah Mehmood Qureshi and likes from.
Let me ask you why PMLN has all the corrupt retired judges in its fold and PPP all the able lawyers.
October 28th, 2007 at 8:50 pm
If I take over your home, put you in a dark room and then someone else is involved to get you out from that room and you sign something, only a mad person will call it an agreement or a deal.
If Nawaz Sharif was a criminal then what wrong have other criminals done? If not, then why was he sent back?
Put Nawaz Sharif in a free democratic country like England and then ask him to sign something, only then we will accept that as a deal.
October 28th, 2007 at 8:52 pm
@ commoner
Thanks for ur remarks and hope we can have constructive debate to conclude somehting positive.
I was not blaming PPP for anything. i beleive PPP is a politcal party and thats why they should stand with Pro people sentiments and with democratic forces.
whatever argument u can give, u cant justify support to a dictatorship.
and normally there r 2 major supporting arguments:
one and most favourite ( and easy to do)is to point out some one else mistake of past and then trying to justify urs and forgetting that 2 wrings are not going to make one right.
second argument is based on saying that we need to accept so called Ground Realities and that politics of idealism and principles is only for books ( i can remember shah mahmood qureshi using this argument in a recent debate show with shekih rasheed and imran khan and shahmahmood was trying to second shiekh rasheed comments of similar base)
i beleive as politcal worker u will agree that we should not giveup and shud not accept dictatorship under these excuses. We, as a peolpe of paksitan have to cointue our stuggle ( under any politcal or nonpolitical platform) without shaking hands with dictaotrship…..This dark night will end surely…inshaALLAH
October 28th, 2007 at 9:05 pm
@ commoner
shahmahmood qureshi is not form urban area. he had been minister in NS provincial govt and his father had been governer of punjab in Zia regime. So what u gues call such people??” Zia ki baaqieyaat” right??
Atizaz won last elections form lahore with the support of PMLN. his postes were presenting him as ” BB ka wakeel, NS ka wakeel”.
I agree that eletiosn can decide wat is actual position but FREE and FAIR elections..
not the elections that r only free for certian political aprties and in that case results will not be accepted.
October 28th, 2007 at 9:05 pm
@G Mustafa
Talking of PMLN and politics of ideology is laughable. The backbone of the relative success of PMLN in Lahore and other cities has been market committees- the bearded, tax evading, jihadi funding lot of “do” number hoarders, the aljaajs of anjuman e dukandaran, sloganing “Nawaz Sharif Raqam barhao hum tumharee sath hain”.
October 28th, 2007 at 9:08 pm
Makhdoom Amin Fahim
October 28th, 2007 at 9:09 pm
@ commoner
Makhdoom Amin Fahim whose two sisters are married to the Quran?
Yes, PPP & MQM are indeed best examples of liberal, moderate & secular parties in Pakistan!!!
October 28th, 2007 at 9:10 pm
@G Mustafa
Now give me a break ,I am no political worker, for god sake, I am just a commoner, one of the awam.
October 28th, 2007 at 9:14 pm
@G Mustafa
Shah Mehmood could easily have clung to his father’s legacy but he choose the difficult path. He is a repenter like the reborn Nawaz Sharif and Khawaja Asif.
October 28th, 2007 at 9:20 pm
@ commoner
i beleive u r not awar of ground reality at all..
first of all voters of urban areas r not being controlled like SINDHI HARRIs etc .
here poople r educated and can decide based on performance..
PMLN is clear in its stand and principle and can present sae to the people of paksitan and thats people are supporitng them.
On the contrary PPP has lost its ideological existence. do u think people of rural areas vote for PPP becso they like their Liberal agenda? not t all…….BB has 2 faces..to show foreign masters she is presenting herself as secular and offering servies fr handing over Dr Qadeer and on other issue……but to show people of rural areas she is having TASBBEH in her hand and IMAM ZAMIN on her arms…..
in urban areas she cant ffol people any more by presenitng herself as MAZLOOM daughter of bhutto.I live in Lahore in that constituency where Bhutto won electio. then 1988 and even in 1990 PPP won electiosn there. after that when nawaz sharif changed the myth and gave another direction to politics that was based on performance and NOT on slogans of Murda parasti , then poeple in that constituency aslo changed.
I have witnesssed this U Tuen myself after 1990. Today’s situation of that consituency is that PPP cud not find a local candidate for provincial assembly seat and they had to sell the ticket to a person who is unknown to all PPP workers there.
October 28th, 2007 at 9:23 pm
@Rising sun
BB is not supporting dictatorship infact she is supporting transition from uniformed presidency to an all civilian democracy.
Nawaz sharif and Musharraf have a mutual conflict of egos and in battle of egos there are no principles and no compromises.
October 28th, 2007 at 9:27 pm
@ commoner
u dont like NS for some other reasons ..thats understandable..BUT u cant deny the fact that HE is symbole of anti establisment and anti dictatorship movement in Pakistan now.
i think while justifying shahmahood;s politcal stand , u already admitted the psositve change.
As bhutto was a supporter of dictator Ayub ( and even calling him DADDY), in the same way, Nawaz sharif was a supporter of Zia ( although he always sticked to his own Abbaji)..
Bhutto became a prop people leader only when he challenged a dictator and same happend to nawaz sahif when he chaalenged establishment in 1990.
October 28th, 2007 at 9:33 pm
@G Mustafa
You share the dream to limit BB and PPP to Sind with Chaudhry Shujaat and Ijaz ul Haq, well you are free to day dream. But please wake up Pakistan is not only Lahore and urban central punjab, Pakistan is much more beyond.
October 28th, 2007 at 9:40 pm
@G Mustafa
You cannot compare apples and oranges. Bhutto use to call Ayub “daddy” as a jest as we say “baap” these days.
Bhutto after leaving Ayub created a new pro people anti establishment party the PPP and did not continued to work in a instrument of establishment the PML like Nawaz Sharif.
October 28th, 2007 at 9:46 pm
@G Mustafa
“u dont like NS for some other reasons ..thats understandable”
You are right I donot approve of Nawaz Sharif as a leader simply because he lacks leadership credential, strength of character and vision. I would rather prefer Imran Khan over NS.
October 28th, 2007 at 10:00 pm
Ahsan Iqbal sahab, know this guy personally, very tall guy and in views/honesty he is no less than a tower!
In the past few days there are some phrases that really struck me honestly….
A guy mentioned on bbc website which was quoted by a bbc article on BB’s return:
” She is a mediocre daughter of a great man”
And now when Ahsan Iqbal says,” Nawaz Sharif has his own votebank; he is a reality like ZA Bhutto.” Well Benazir defintely has no vote bank! she is living off the crumbs of her father….and fortunately for her these crumbs are like wholesome meal that have lasted enough for the bhutto clan for more than 2 decades….
Honestly NSharif is nothing like ZA Bhutto, but if I think of great leaders pakistan has witnessed over time…like Jinnah, LA Khan, ZA Bhutto, I would consider him too for a test drive…But still he has to pass a lot of hurdles…lets see…
October 28th, 2007 at 10:05 pm
@ commoner
i have nothing to do with statements of chaudris etc….those chaudreis and BB are in the smae boat under patronage of Musharaf..isnt it? do u think chaudirs etc r independent to makes decisions??
dont forget that number f seats count in elections and in Sindh there t total 61 seats, out of those 20 are in urban areas of hyderaabad and karachi where PPP is not in the picture ( i mnot inculding 3 seats of karachi).
out of remaning 41 seats…how many u expect PPP to win? certainly not all…..as even she might b having sting hold there ..still less efffective than 1988.
IN NWFP, after shrpao joining Q partnership and Naseerullah babar and Qazi anwar ( who were in PPP for around 35-40 years) left PPP, PPP is not in any position to win even a single seat there.
Infact people of NWFP and punjab seems to be ina mood to gofor negative voting..meanas..not voting to pro american agenda of Mushi Fazlu and BB.
So PPPs stength in sindh is nullified immediately in NWFP based on number of seats and final decicion is going to b in Punjab where there r 148 seats.
If Nawaz sahrif comes back, it is v obvious what will b the result in Punjab specially upper and central punjab…
I am not syaing that this is all pakistan BUT infact based on number of seats ..yes this is the are where decision will be made.
October 28th, 2007 at 10:08 pm
@ all supporters of BB
BB has failed to be a leader…she a is a polarising figure. I thought earlier that she would solve problem of NWFP but by giving statements for waziristan and swat military operations she is not winning popular support in nwfp…even a prominent ex leader from that province naseerullah babar has left ppp….
Right now for me the most fit leader would be who solves the problem of waziristan and swat and baluchistan(B.L.A.) in a peaceful and amicable manner be it qazi hussain, maulana sahab, shujjat, muhsharraf,nawaz sharif, benazir or imran khan….hmmmmm…this seems very difficult especially ebfore an election….which leader has the balls to do this…lets see…well then wht does a leader means….check wikipedia: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Leadership
October 28th, 2007 at 10:47 pm
@G Mustafa
Your despise for Chaudhrys is understandable because they remind you of your own(NS) past, they ditched you at a critical juncture of time just as Nawaz Sharif stabbed Junejo in the back when Zia dismissed his govt. But still PMLN has more bascic commonality with PMLQ and that is you two share the same voters, and that is the crux of your problem.
You have conveniently overlooked the southern punjab in your analysis, the forte of PPP. Just as PPP is not going to win all the seats in rural sind similarly it will be no walk over for PMLN in Lahore and Mazafaat.
Finally your big IF, all of your hopes and analysis are dependent upon Nawaz Sharif’s return before general elections.I hope this time you wont forget the dictum “hope for the best but prepare for the worst” and do have a plan B.
Sweet dreams!
October 28th, 2007 at 10:47 pm
for god sake do not do persitahe of the personalities .believe none of bb or baboo or imran or any of the big talked namee have the leadeship qualities of the following:
.Have a will to scrafice his interests or even the life for upholding the rights of the people
.have high level of honesty
.have high level of integrity
.Even could not think of corruption or the abuse of power
.ledership based on the personnel characteristics and not on inheritance
we can get the leader if we over come of our own self interst .please forget the dead people ,what ever they done is history .judge the leaders on thier charteritics not your own characteritics becaue leader is to lead and not make deals that is called manager ,we do not need good managers but we need good leaders who can never run from the country and leave the people suffer ,if we belive that people have suffered under mush then the people who did not live in the country to protect the rights of these people do not deserve even to paticipate in process ,they are cowards like gadars who lived outside the country with thier families issuing statements .they should have stayed in the country at whatever cost they have to pay ,if people can pay the price they deserve the leader who is willing to pay the price 100 times than people whom he or she want to lead .It is better to find anyone who stayed in the country scraficed his rights and priviliges not because of corruption charges but because fighting for the rights of people .mush is just robot and any one who provides imlicit or explicit support to mush is suuporting the cause of masters of the robot mushraf
October 28th, 2007 at 11:03 pm
@ commoner
regarding southern punjab…
well out of 148 seats of punjab southern punjab has 50 seats, so first of all that again gives better picture of real bate ground. now ets see the situation of these 50 seats..
at the moment most of the politicians had converted to Q league. this case is same for PMLN and also for PPP ( with v few exceptions). you cana see most of patriots were also form southern punjab, like from rahim yar khan all 3 MNAs of PP converted, same is for Vihari, Layyah, bahawalpur, bahawalnagar…
many Q leaguers though shown intent to go back to PPP and PMLN. So there might e mixed results expected there althouugh again….with return of Nawaz sharif situation will b changed totally.
October 28th, 2007 at 11:21 pm
I still think NS is next PM as it is very hard for establishment in Paksitan to become pro-people.
October 28th, 2007 at 11:27 pm
@ kinnare
dear jeiayal or hari of some sindhi feudal ( mentallty if not physically)
Nwaz sharif is leading the struggle against dictatorship and establishment and its ur Pinki who is sitting in lap of a dictator…so be honest in giving such baseless comments…
October 28th, 2007 at 11:31 pm
In order to succeed and be accepted as true leaders of Pakistan, the Sharif brothers need to bare their souls and admit,accept and acknowledge their mistakes and apologize to the nation. Next they need to put all their business interests in a blind trust so that there is not even a shadow of impropriety on their part.
These are tall requests but the Pakistani people are a forgiving lot and will accept and welcome them as their leaders.
Otherwise there is no hope.
October 28th, 2007 at 11:52 pm
THIS GUY THINKS HE LOOK KOOL BEING SO RUDE AND ILLMANNERED BUT HE DOESNT KNOW HE SUCKS.I THINKS ALL PAKISTANI TV PRESENTERS NEED SOME PROPER EDUCATION AND TRAINING CAUSE MOST OF THEM ARE FATCH EDIOTS LIKE DR SHAHID MASOOD WHO HAS A GROUP OF FOOLS LIKE GEN RET ASLAM BAIG AND DISCUSS THE WORLD POLITICS.. THEY ALL SUCKKKKKKKKKKK
October 28th, 2007 at 11:56 pm
@ Asghar
u might b right in giving ur opinion but dont u think u also need education for positng comments here
u shud NOT use ALL CAPS . this itself is considered RUDE becos when u use all caps..it all SUCKS….
October 29th, 2007 at 1:48 am
Hypocracy of the so called Democratic parties of Pakistan
The political parties of Pakistan present themselves as democratic parties. But watch their actions.
They contest the Elections. The leader becomes the Prime Minister, a powerful arrogant man/woman working for his/her and his/her party’s health and wealth, not caring for the poor common man. Then he /she is elected to power the second time, he becomes PM again as there is no democracy in the party. Then he develops an image that he is a demi god and wants to keep returning as PM till he/she dies and if possible he would like to defeat death. There is no concept of betterment of the common mans lot who is struggling to stay alive. There are the problems of high cost of living, joblessness, lack of industries, lack of development, lack of infra structural facilities and communication at reasonable costs.
The salaries/remuneration of MNAs, MPAs is 100 times as against 10 times in western countries that of the minimum wages fixed by the Govt. How can these people feel the pinch and the difficultiies of the common man when they belong to a different economic slab/strata and do not work for the common man. They make money for themselves and then for the party, to return to power in the next election.
In the recent rally of PPP party, 150 common people were risked in a Rally to pay with their lives to project the Image of the Political leader inspite of being warned by the Govt. to avoid this. Not one leader was lost or injured. Then BB had a session of Crocodile tears.
Leave alone the country, the political parties are run by dynastys and no democracy exists in any of them.
THIS GAME HAS BEEN PLAYED IN PAKISTAN FOR 60 YEARS AND WHEN THE CIVILIAN SO CALLED DEMOCRATIC GOVT BECAME UNBEARABLE, THE MILITARY TOOK OVER AND WAS WELCOMED BY THE PEOPLE COF PAKISTAN. NOT A DROP OF BLOOD WAS SPILLED. NOW THE CIVILIAN PERMANANT PMS BB AND NS WANT ABSOLUTE POWER AQND DO NOT WANT TO BE ANSWERABLE TO ANYBODY.
I HAVE NO TEARS FOR THEM AND WOULD LIKE TO HAVE INSTITUTIONS WHO WILL HOLD THEM RESPONSIBLE FOR THEIR ACTIONS. THEW COUNTRY IS NOT THEIR JAGIR AND IT SHOULD BE POSSIBLE TO THROW THEM OUT IF THEY MISUSE THEIR POSITION AND MUST BE SEVERELY PUNISHED. THEY HAVE BEEN CORRUPT ANDC WANT TO BE CALLED MUHTARAM OR MUHTARMA. IN THE WORLD POLITICIANS ARE CALLED BY THEIR NAME WITHOUT AN ADJ OF MR. OR MS. WHY SHOULD PAKISTANS LEADERS/POLITICIANS BE MOHTARAMS. tHEIR CHARACTERS ARE NOT ABOVE BOARD.
October 29th, 2007 at 3:36 am
Generals and Democracy:
Generals are very powerful in Pakistan and they do not let civilians rule.
They only allow politicians to do corruption so that they could blackmail them in future. If army can stop politicians from making any independent foreign policy, it should have stopped them from corruption.
We could have thrown out politicians with the passage of time but army never gave us chance. BB & NS could have been a history but Gen Mush’s intervention has brought us to point zero and looking at general’s crimes, these politicians are angels.
Generals have ruled pakistan more than any political party and they have given many presents to the country. They should get blame for the last 60 years mess too.
Politician Bhutto left a safe Pakistan, Gen Zia gave us Heroin and Klashinkovs.
Politician NS & BB left a relatively safer Pakistan where they used to ride on publics shoulders, Gen Mush has given us a dangerous Pakistan where suicide bombings have made public gathering impossible. His allies are heroes of May 12.
Politicians gave us Gawadar (bought from Oman), Nuclear Bomb, Ghouri missiles and so many other things. Army gave India Bangladesh, Kashmir and Siachin glaciers.
Generals future gifts (if not stopped) free Baluchistan, Jinnah pur (Karachi) and Sawat and much much more …
October 29th, 2007 at 5:44 am
Cant see it, please fix it asap
October 29th, 2007 at 8:31 am
Mr. Iftikhar Ahmed is as always good. It’s very difficult to say where he belongs ideologically. He is ready to grill anybody with nasty questions-that’s great! Iqbal Ahsan did quite well too. He seems like a good politician, but is doomed to defend a corrupt politician (NS).
I will ask the Admin to upload the grilling of Pinky (BB) where she gets mad on Mr. Iftikhar Ahmed. Anybody else who knows where to find this video?
October 29th, 2007 at 11:29 am
Eather the dog or the cat has to go. but the problem is Neither PML Q Nor PPP is good for the country.
October 29th, 2007 at 4:02 pm
Asalam-o-alaikum: all pakis dis is good interview. I like this sensibele. the good thing in it is has given solutions. I like if some pakistani give solutions of the problem,
Like stuff
October 29th, 2007 at 4:26 pm
@Qasim
Mind your language. Don’t use condescending expression (Paki) about Pakistani’s.
October 29th, 2007 at 4:45 pm
Ahsan is sayin right because most of PMLN leadership came from middle class, like Saad Rafeeq, Ahsan Iqbal himself, Khawaja Asif, Javaid Hashmi, Zulfiqar Khosa(i think he is Sardar in his area, i am doubltful about him) Zafar Iqbal Jaghra, Ishaq Dar, Sartaj Aziz etc.
and these guys are clean and have no coruption charges, and Ahsan Iqbal well said that Mush helped them in cleaning the bad guys from PMLN.
i can swear Shujat in Gujrat & Ameer Hussain (speaker NA) in Sialkot lost there seats in last election and Ahsan won his seat from Narowal but later on decleared he lost his seat and his case is still pending with election commission
October 29th, 2007 at 4:49 pm
Great interview.
October 29th, 2007 at 6:30 pm
1. Very rightly said about Noble Prize.
2. Ahsan Iqbal answers exactly what is asked.
3. One should learn lessons from the mistakes and go ahead with positive frame of mind while not compromising on the right path , is the key concept clarly delivered by Ahsan iqbal in this debate.
4. A rare debate with some concluding outcomes.
October 30th, 2007 at 2:19 am
http://nation.com.pk/daily/oct-2007/30/index8.php
July 18th, 2008 at 1:05 am
Keep it up Iftikhar…… this is how these political people should be interrogated… … i liked the way you interviewed BB and she walked out….