Radio can deliver these contents better, what a waste of bandwidth
Many programs on Paki TVs are just still pictures of correspondents or the guests along with remote telephone connections. Quite often, the quality of phone audio is terrible. Major part of the news, “Insight with Javed Malik� and “Meray Mutabiq� to name a few can actually be adequately delivered on the radio. Most of the time audio does not sync up with the video of the host on these satellite channels. These channels are competing with international news channels. Often the monthly fee of these channels is very steep. (I pay 25USD+tax per month for two channels).
Pakistani media channels should realize that they are grown up youth now. It is a part of journalistic ethics to provide high quality contents to your customers. As a minimum, do not invite your guests over the mobile phones.
You do have a point but give these channels 2 - 3 more years. If we start listening to these programmes on radio means that they will never improve. At least now we have a chance.
Could we imagine open debate and dozens of channels a few years before? In the same way we will have them better with time. As far international, these channels are banned in India for some strange reason and rest of the world is not interested in our programmes anyway.
Imran, you are at wrong time at wrong place (rather in wrong country). our hearts cry for your success, we dont have power to give you power. Keep the faith and we believe in you.
Seems like opposition is also planning for election. But do we know what anyone is doing in order to ensure that the elections are held free and fair. Please let me know.
These elections will have a deep impact on our future and its important that they are unbiased and fair. Thanks.
Government is gonna get tough time because one real leader is back (BB) and she is not a puppet like Chaudharies or liar Shaukat Aziz.
Second leader NS is haunting them. If he gets back, Lota Chaudharies will be no where to be seen. They will be orphans and for Mush it will be like death of one’s ….
Third leader is getting more and more popular and hopefully will be the main leader with next 5 years. All his enemies are getting so jealous but thank God, his supporters are much more in number, mature and educated.
Imran Khan should start an education charity because he will benefit most from an educated society (with few exceptions where ‘educated’ people do not let education do any ‘harm’ to them eg Malik Quyum, Kasuri & Wasi Zafar).
My personal opinion: I don’t think SC is going to decide against President. Thats why Iftikhar ch. and Bhagwan Das abstained from sitting in the bench. Iftikhar because he didn’t want to taint his newfound fame and glory and Bhagwan Das because he is an honest man and he thinks siding with the President is illegal or wrong. Most of the rest are already on President’s side. Besides, check the confident level of President. Does it look like he is worried? If he knew anything could go wrong he would have been much more worried (and these people know about such decisions beforehand). Anyway it doesn’t seem like he is going anywhere for quite sometime. On the issue of Nawaz Sharif I am inclined to think that court will order the government to bring him back. Government is mostly ok with this idea too. They just didn’t want him in the country during the Presidential election and they did get that. Lastly Imran needs another 10 to 15 years to learn about Pakistani politics. He is an idealist and these people don’t succeed so soon.
It is SC’s responsibility to intrepret the constitution regardless of the consequences. SC should not decide this case on the basis of whether it will bring marshal law or not. I am cautiously optimistic about the outcome. Let’s hope for the best.
Whatever Supreme Court decides can never change the fact that Musharraf has lost crdibility and is clinging to power by begging and having 40 thieves around him.
When Mush came, he had some, i repeat some, credibility. Now his only success is that he is still president in the hope of last Mukka (punch). He is portraying his survival tactics as a great success.
Musharraf is waiting for judgment to be in his favour and if it is not, you will see Dr Sher Afgan to be back and start barking on TV channels. This attack by medical Dr Afgan will be used for Emergency etc.. Musharraf in any case is lame duck. Any respectable person would have left and retired when he could, not when he was thrown out.
Musharraf’s friend Gen Niazi surrendered to Gen Arora in 1971 and a Bengali hit his head with shoe. Mush surrendered in Kargil and is heading to another defeat in northern areas.
Had Imran Khan been an Indian. He would have become India’s youngest President or PM. In england he would have earned the title of SIR. We are a Qalaaash qaum (As Dr.Masood said in his video Mafeename) we never ever give respect to our heros……….once he isn’t here he would be remembered. Guys Imran is the man. Choose him.
Imran Khan is first Asian Honorary Vice Chancellor of a UK university (Bradford University). His enemies are not capable of even addressing workers of McDonald’s in the UK whereas Imran is chief guest in educational institutions and he addresses Professors and professionals.
@shiraz zafar and nabeel
totally agree with ya guys!!!imran deserves a lot of respect.
OMG, pervez elahi the next pm…this is like a nightmare or horror flick!!! that day would be the sadest day , well I would say second to the day when chaudary shujaat was appointed pm for a month!this country will never learn.
Why Imran khan has been going to our enemy india ?? time to time specially this year. What he was doing last week in delhi ?? and why he meet George bush brother jeff bush in India ???? and what was outcome of that meeting??. Is any reader of this site knows about this ???
Musharraf’s companions are Chaudharies, MQM and some mad ministers. This is enough to prove what kind of person Musharraf is. Specially when Mush and his wife gave ’standing ovation’ to Sher Afgan. That says a lot about Mush.
what a shame that we have true honest and loyal leader like IK and he is not geing to get the power very soon. instead leaders who are crook, dishonest to the country, change their wafadaris to come to power and speak sufaid jhoot every days will succeed and come to the power. it shows the morality of our entire nation as a whole… we will get what we deserve…
God Bless Pakistan and May Allah give our nation hadiat to distinguish what is evil and what is not
He went to India to a seminar that was on world leadership. He made an anti US speech. Bush’s brother came to him and asked him why Imran thinks that Bush will lose in Afghanistan and Iraq. Imran told him tribal traditions and told him that tribal people never like foreigners so US should talk to them. Imran’s recent article is on that as well. He also told him that the US aliening muslims.
On the other hand, Altaf Hussain could not handle an invitation and said that Pakistan was a greatest blunder.
Altaf also begged Indian government/ opposition and unions to forgive his people and accept them back. He insulted patriotic people of Karachi. There is a video proof and I think people of Karachi should stand up against him for insulting their fore fathers.
Imran will free people of Karachi from Bhatta Mafia. Inshallah.
first of all dont try to provoke something that has no meaning!
Second, he is Jeb Bush not jeff, get your facts right!
read what Kami posted above this post.
@Nationalist
Yes Imran go to India and he makes sure that he makes us all Pakistanis proud by his witty speeches and patriotism for his country.
You should ask why Altaf bhai goes to India??
Answer is to tell all indians that creation of Pakistan was a blunder and to beg indians to support him against Pakistan.
In last five years how many time the following greatleader of ours visited India.
Shaukat Aziz
Altaf Hussain
Imran Khan
Qazi Hussain
Banazir Bhutto
Sharif or Shabaz Nawaz
Pervez Musharraf
Fazalur Rahman
When they were in India do they meet any non Indian leader or not ???????? and if yes who and why????????
Imran is a great man, but
Broad general criticisms,(Musharraf is doing America’s bidding) is empty rhetoric.
Should Musharraf allow taliban supporters to go fight in Afghanistan and take refuge in Pakistan?
Should he allow well meaning but brain dead religious factions to impose their understanding or interpretation of Islam on a people not ready to accept that stern discipline?
Should he allow tribal leaders to challenge the writ of the govt.
Every American pressure need not be in conflict with Pakistan’s national interest.
Does Imran want Musharraf to follow Mulla Omar’s foreign policy?
No body has lost faith in Musharrf and army for sure. yes! (politicians) we have lost faith in since they are politicians not soldiers. politicians talk and soldiers act, politicans sit in their cosy sitting rooms and comment and soldiers lay their lifes for people and the country. we are proud of them and rest our trust in their hands rather then resting it in the politicians hands since we have always been letdown by these politicans and soldiers never have done this. Fact are there compare if you dare. Wakeup call for everybody every pakistani.
It is not about a poll or percentage. it is about pakistan and pakistani people. how many turned up at Butto procession for so called by the people for the people democracy empowerment and how many not. question is not this question is does pakistan need democracy, was ever democracy right for pakistan. We follow blindly our former colonial masters political ideolgy (democracy)merely because they say it. it never worked for pakistan and perhaps never will since in essence democracy is for those who atleast know themselves, i mean, it is for those people who can agree, have consensus on something, those who can listen and determine. question is do we have consensue on anything answer comes as (no) atleast to me. In the name of God Plz Look aroud you in the cities, villages we saw change, (hope) in the shape of infrustuctre, economic, and political development under Musharrf government. yes there are bad eggs, but Quaid-ay-Azam had them too. Goal should be our destiny for this one must aim as Quid-ay-Azam did and so does Musharrf.
Guys do’t be dejected and worried. Inshallah PTI will perform well in the upcoming elections. There might be shortcuts in traditional politics but no shortcut in real deomocracy. Do’t just wait and watch but contribute to IK’s efforts for establishment of a truely demorcratic state in Pakistan. If you are outside the country you can pursuade your relatives in Pakistan to work for the cause.
All of Imran Khan’s supporters, please take a wider, deeper view. He comes accross as honest - but he has a very shallow understanding of most things other than cricket still. For Pakistan, he will be the ‘Nadaan Dost’, always inferior to the ‘Daana Dushman’. His lack of understanding amazes me:
1) He said on ‘Capital Talk’ about the 17th amendment that it was illegal! Undoubtedly, it was repugnant, immoral, self propagating/perpetuating and many things besides. But for a parliamentarian to call it illegal, is illuminating, to say the least, about Imran’s ignorance.
2) When Imran contested elections for the first time, he had not bothered, or even given thought to registering himself to vote. He was an elitist and had never voted in his life before, and therefore it never occurred to him that anyone besides that poor/ ignorant masses should also vote.
The most frightening thing about him, though is something else: He is either a hypocrite of the highest order, or has schezophrenia of some kind. He has ALWAYS led a double life, with double standards.
When he was entering politics, he figured that one of the most important issues of the time was Islam - and so he started harping on about it. To the day he entered politics, one had never ever seem him as anyone but a modern fun loving, westernised, sportsman and playboy. Now to wear the Islamic garb, just for political gains, is worse than actually believing in subjecting all and sundry to one’s particular interpretation of Islam perhaps. This act of his insults the intelligence of the citizenry.
He is so hollow, that in the early days when he was sermonising against the VIP culture, he was actually adressing journalists in the VIP lounge of a Pakistani airport. When one journalist asked him as to why then he uses the VIP lounge, he paused and out of embarransment at his stupidity, and lack of any justification he could come up with on his feet, he replied, ‘I won’t do it in the future’.
And Qalandar, who commented just before me, is dead right: this anti american rhetoric is nonsense. Do we not, for ourselves and our future generations, not want the end of extremists in Pakistan?
I agree with Qalandar, that we cannot just go along with giving extremism and the Taliban’s of this world a free hand in our country, just because America is against them.
Imran is either politically naive and ignorant, or hypocritical or both. He is not the answer.
Many people naively think that Musharraf is doing America’s bidding. That is not true and that’s what troubles United States and the whole world. Musharraf and his army is just playing a double game. In this game they don’t have any ethics, morality or humanity. One group of army supports the Taliban and Alqaeda, and let them flourish in different parts of the country , then another group in the army kill other extremists. The dangerous game has gone so bad that now within the army the groups are killing each other in the incident of Terbela they say one commando killed the other 30 commandos.
That’s why Newsweek and whole world media declares Pakistan as the most dangerous place on the earth.
In Iraq and Afghanistan there is a clear line between the people who are fighting against and for United States. However in Pakistan, United States does not know who is in against her and who supports her.
In Iraq and Afghanistan both sides know who caused the collateral damage and they actually try to avoid this as much as possible.
In Pakistan collateral damage (killing of innocent people) is not caused by accident , but by design.
Recently United Nations asked for the details in Lal Masjid massacre. We must remember that when Saddam and his army (including Chemical Ali) committed Shia’s massacre, U.S. in fact kept quiet as at that time Saddam’s actions were favoring US policies. And then he was executed in the same crime by U.S. army.
With the growing extremism in Pakistan future is obvious that US will have to take care of Pakistan army, sooner rather than later. May be earlier than Iran.
You sounds Imran Khan? The poor GamuSachhar-one who speaks truth. As a common man I can ask the Present CMs’, PM and the President and Ofcourse the Army if they are not able to maintain law and Order, then they are morally bound to quit. Through manouvoring they have denied the people of pakistan their fundamental right to elect their representatives. Yet Supreme Court is saying that there is no violation of fundamental rights.May sanity prevail, dialogue and discourse lead the way and not chamchageery either sanctioned through courts or present engineered assemblies
@ Mr. Gul,
Engineered Assemblies and Courts under Army and PCO are shadowy and cannot function independently and judiciously. What you can say about the amendments or judgments rendered by them. A truly elected parliament representing masses not masters and truly independent judges can have authority and sanction to make historic decisions. History is strange, somtimes, these stooges make counter moves. Hope for the best…
Vote for Imran Khan and make him or his members to elect so his party can make a difference and sitting as a good opposition in favor of Pakistan.
Credit goes to Dr. Shahid sahib, for all the questions that he asked with Ch. Pervez with best examples… like “do bachchay aik cheez par larr rahay hain aur baap aik hai”.
My praises to Dr Shahid. I think this is the best program by him. He has improved his previous style (that I disliked) at the start, he was extremely focused in his questions (even witty at times) and he was not putting words in the guests’ mouths. Thoroughly enjoyed the program.
Salam to all brothers and sisters.
There is no doubt our contry is going through hard times. Being pessimist i would say that hard times create the best leaders. In my humble opinion Imran Khan has shown some traits of a future leader. Contrarory to others Imran has shown integrity, passion , vision, and sincerity. He is a critical thinker with the common touch.i dont belong to any party but if i have to choose i will go with Tehreek e Insaf or Jamaat e islami.
What a great talk! One thing to be noted by Dr. Sahib….The educated people who have seen many hot and cold waters, who know the art of reading between the lines….including big majority of users of this site, can understand and appreciates you way to approach politician (makhan lagana) and when you get them excited , you make them say the voice of their heart (which they otherwise keep concealed from the common people) e,g….you PICKED Pervaiz Elahi by saying ” aap nain jou itnay kaam kiay hain developement k etc” then we witness he just been ZAPPED and could not keep what was in heart….(as he is one of the most immature politician…) BUT my point is that many people in Pakistan may be misinterpreting and seeing you inclined to somebody……
I support Imran Khan but I appreciate that you did not leave any stone unturned even in his case while putting “makhan” ( aap ki baat nahi baqi APDM ki baat kar raha hoon), But i think in this case you were even not needing it……as IK is some one who is basically always hungry to speak the truth (that’s why he is misfit so far, though unfortunately).
what i could not understand in this episode is why you were reiterating on Justice Sahib over and over again that whether or not N. Shareef will be brought back.
Over all, a very precious segments from all of your work.
May Allah keep you among us to cross look into these people.
NP. We Imran Khan supporters should never be worried about some anchors who clearly seem to be…again him. As always came out successfully (even in JAWAB DEYH) and he will.
And Imran should equally be treated with the eyes of suspicion and so should be dealt every one else. Oil will come one the surface and water will stay underneath when as soon as you stop swirling.
With Many wishes and prayers for all those who are good for Pakistan..
Ayaz.
@ Gul
@ Nationalist
@ Qalander
and @ All others who support Mush’s foreign policy
I thank you all esp. Gul for opening my eyes to the hypocritical/ simpleton nature of IK.
Perhaps you would also like to educate me about that other dashing Saville suit wearing, pork eating, whisky drinking, non-muslim marrying - whose present children are also non-muslim Great leader who
Then went on to carve a non-exitent nation on the basis of religion - Islam!!!
You see the problem is whether one likes or dislikes it, majority of Pakistanis are conservative Muslims. Any political leader whether Nawaz Sharif of Tahira Syed fame, Be-zameer of her countless sweet-hearts, remember the 69 episode and Imran Khan, the most exclusive playboy from the sub-continent, partying with the God of Rock & Roll Mick Jagger… have to involve religion in their politics. You can’t do politics in Pakistan without making references to religion.
So Be-zameer has her Tasbeeh & Grave-worshipping (which is the version of Islam amongst her constituents - Sind), Nawaz Sharif has Raiwand (version of Islam amongst his constituents - Punjab) and Imran Khan has Iqbal’s mard-e-momin (version of Islam amonst his constituents - the online Pakistanis…
At the end of the day, how Muslim anyone of these three leaders or for that matter Maulana Diesel of JUI/ Qazi Hussain JI of CIA commissions are, is for Allah to decide & not for us mortals. That is the way how I see it.
Coming down to the hard geo-politics, it is becoming increasingly clear to me that this war against our own people, the Pashtoons is something that we can never win for the simple reason that
Musharraf has lost all legitimacy. Because rightly or wrongly Musharraf is seen as America’s poodle who is conducting a war on Islam, the straw that broke the camel’s back being the Lal Masjid - what a fiasco that was, there will be no dearth of people coming to blow themselves up.
And quite frankly, he deserves it. For too long he has played both sides of the field & his cleverness got the better of him. While thinking that depicting a show of force at Lal masjid to please his American Masters, something that could have easily been solved by cutting off electricity, water & food, he forgot that this show of force will also be seen by the rest of the Pakistan, and that very delicate balance of not killing your fellow Muslims/citizens that had so far prevented the Tribals/ Swatis/ Taliban/ Al-Qaeda from unleashing their total fury at Mush & his Pervezi lashkar broke because he did something that made him in their & many other Pakistani’s eyes an infidel.
What will happen in the future? Too difficult to say, but if Pakistan has to move forward, there must be free & fair elections with Nawaz Sharif & his supporters on the one side & Be-zameer & her supporters on the other side.
If Mush & Be-zameer continue to sleep together while keeping out Nawaz Sharif, I see things are only getting much worse indeed…
October 29th, 2007 at 11:42 pm
Radio can deliver these contents better, what a waste of bandwidth
Many programs on Paki TVs are just still pictures of correspondents or the guests along with remote telephone connections. Quite often, the quality of phone audio is terrible. Major part of the news, “Insight with Javed Malik� and “Meray Mutabiq� to name a few can actually be adequately delivered on the radio. Most of the time audio does not sync up with the video of the host on these satellite channels. These channels are competing with international news channels. Often the monthly fee of these channels is very steep. (I pay 25USD+tax per month for two channels).
Pakistani media channels should realize that they are grown up youth now. It is a part of journalistic ethics to provide high quality contents to your customers. As a minimum, do not invite your guests over the mobile phones.
October 29th, 2007 at 11:48 pm
@ Smundarpar Khan
You do have a point but give these channels 2 - 3 more years. If we start listening to these programmes on radio means that they will never improve. At least now we have a chance.
Could we imagine open debate and dozens of channels a few years before? In the same way we will have them better with time. As far international, these channels are banned in India for some strange reason and rest of the world is not interested in our programmes anyway.
October 30th, 2007 at 12:03 am
Imran, you are at wrong time at wrong place (rather in wrong country). our hearts cry for your success, we dont have power to give you power. Keep the faith and we believe in you.
October 30th, 2007 at 12:04 am
Seems like opposition is also planning for election. But do we know what anyone is doing in order to ensure that the elections are held free and fair. Please let me know.
These elections will have a deep impact on our future and its important that they are unbiased and fair. Thanks.
October 30th, 2007 at 12:08 am
Imran Khan is impressive as usual. I hope that his message reaches more and more people.
October 30th, 2007 at 12:10 am
excellent analysis by DR Shahid. one of the best episodes to date
October 30th, 2007 at 12:19 am
It does not matter whether IK wins or loose; he will have the respect of the nation if he sticks with the truth and principles.
October 30th, 2007 at 12:21 am
@Atif and Nabil
i totally agree wid both of u ..how long we will wait that i mran khan will c
October 30th, 2007 at 12:22 am
Government is gonna get tough time because one real leader is back (BB) and she is not a puppet like Chaudharies or liar Shaukat Aziz.
Second leader NS is haunting them. If he gets back, Lota Chaudharies will be no where to be seen. They will be orphans and for Mush it will be like death of one’s ….
Third leader is getting more and more popular and hopefully will be the main leader with next 5 years. All his enemies are getting so jealous but thank God, his supporters are much more in number, mature and educated.
Imran Khan should start an education charity because he will benefit most from an educated society (with few exceptions where ‘educated’ people do not let education do any ‘harm’ to them eg Malik Quyum, Kasuri & Wasi Zafar).
October 30th, 2007 at 12:23 am
@Atif and Nabil
i totally agree wid both of u ..how long we will wait that i mran khan will come in power….
he z one of great leader in pak history
October 30th, 2007 at 12:26 am
My personal opinion: I don’t think SC is going to decide against President. Thats why Iftikhar ch. and Bhagwan Das abstained from sitting in the bench. Iftikhar because he didn’t want to taint his newfound fame and glory and Bhagwan Das because he is an honest man and he thinks siding with the President is illegal or wrong. Most of the rest are already on President’s side. Besides, check the confident level of President. Does it look like he is worried? If he knew anything could go wrong he would have been much more worried (and these people know about such decisions beforehand). Anyway it doesn’t seem like he is going anywhere for quite sometime. On the issue of Nawaz Sharif I am inclined to think that court will order the government to bring him back. Government is mostly ok with this idea too. They just didn’t want him in the country during the Presidential election and they did get that. Lastly Imran needs another 10 to 15 years to learn about Pakistani politics. He is an idealist and these people don’t succeed so soon.
October 30th, 2007 at 12:39 am
It is SC’s responsibility to intrepret the constitution regardless of the consequences. SC should not decide this case on the basis of whether it will bring marshal law or not. I am cautiously optimistic about the outcome. Let’s hope for the best.
October 30th, 2007 at 12:39 am
Whatever Supreme Court decides can never change the fact that Musharraf has lost crdibility and is clinging to power by begging and having 40 thieves around him.
When Mush came, he had some, i repeat some, credibility. Now his only success is that he is still president in the hope of last Mukka (punch). He is portraying his survival tactics as a great success.
Musharraf is waiting for judgment to be in his favour and if it is not, you will see Dr Sher Afgan to be back and start barking on TV channels. This attack by medical Dr Afgan will be used for Emergency etc.. Musharraf in any case is lame duck. Any respectable person would have left and retired when he could, not when he was thrown out.
Musharraf’s friend Gen Niazi surrendered to Gen Arora in 1971 and a Bengali hit his head with shoe. Mush surrendered in Kargil and is heading to another defeat in northern areas.
October 30th, 2007 at 12:45 am
Had Imran Khan been an Indian. He would have become India’s youngest President or PM. In england he would have earned the title of SIR. We are a Qalaaash qaum (As Dr.Masood said in his video Mafeename) we never ever give respect to our heros……….once he isn’t here he would be remembered. Guys Imran is the man. Choose him.
October 30th, 2007 at 12:52 am
Imran Khan is first Asian Honorary Vice Chancellor of a UK university (Bradford University). His enemies are not capable of even addressing workers of McDonald’s in the UK whereas Imran is chief guest in educational institutions and he addresses Professors and professionals.
October 30th, 2007 at 1:12 am
@shiraz zafar and nabeel
totally agree with ya guys!!!imran deserves a lot of respect.
OMG, pervez elahi the next pm…this is like a nightmare or horror flick!!! that day would be the sadest day , well I would say second to the day when chaudary shujaat was appointed pm for a month!this country will never learn.
October 30th, 2007 at 1:14 am
Why Imran khan has been going to our enemy india ?? time to time specially this year. What he was doing last week in delhi ?? and why he meet George bush brother jeff bush in India ???? and what was outcome of that meeting??. Is any reader of this site knows about this ???
October 30th, 2007 at 1:15 am
They say a man is known by the company he keeps.
Musharraf’s companions are Chaudharies, MQM and some mad ministers. This is enough to prove what kind of person Musharraf is. Specially when Mush and his wife gave ’standing ovation’ to Sher Afgan. That says a lot about Mush.
October 30th, 2007 at 1:22 am
what a shame that we have true honest and loyal leader like IK and he is not geing to get the power very soon. instead leaders who are crook, dishonest to the country, change their wafadaris to come to power and speak sufaid jhoot every days will succeed and come to the power. it shows the morality of our entire nation as a whole… we will get what we deserve…
God Bless Pakistan and May Allah give our nation hadiat to distinguish what is evil and what is not
waslaam
October 30th, 2007 at 1:23 am
@ nationalist
He went to India to a seminar that was on world leadership. He made an anti US speech. Bush’s brother came to him and asked him why Imran thinks that Bush will lose in Afghanistan and Iraq. Imran told him tribal traditions and told him that tribal people never like foreigners so US should talk to them. Imran’s recent article is on that as well. He also told him that the US aliening muslims.
On the other hand, Altaf Hussain could not handle an invitation and said that Pakistan was a greatest blunder.
Altaf also begged Indian government/ opposition and unions to forgive his people and accept them back. He insulted patriotic people of Karachi. There is a video proof and I think people of Karachi should stand up against him for insulting their fore fathers.
Imran will free people of Karachi from Bhatta Mafia. Inshallah.
October 30th, 2007 at 1:38 am
@nationalist
first of all dont try to provoke something that has no meaning!
Second, he is Jeb Bush not jeff, get your facts right!
read what Kami posted above this post.
October 30th, 2007 at 2:19 am
http://nation.com.pk/daily/oct-2007/30/index8.php
October 30th, 2007 at 3:09 am
If pervez alahi become PM it will be most bad & black day of the pakistan……… he dont deserve it.Ch Brothers are the black mark on the face of pakistan
October 30th, 2007 at 3:11 am
@thanks Kami and Taimur
for your wounderful comments
October 30th, 2007 at 3:40 am
@Nationalist
Yes Imran go to India and he makes sure that he makes us all Pakistanis proud by his witty speeches and patriotism for his country.
You should ask why Altaf bhai goes to India??
Answer is to tell all indians that creation of Pakistan was a blunder and to beg indians to support him against Pakistan.
I hope you will see the difference.
October 30th, 2007 at 4:04 am
What is wrong with Ch.Pervez Elahi if he become prime minister……by the way, it his tern to become the prime minister next time.
October 30th, 2007 at 4:10 am
In last five years how many time the following greatleader of ours visited India.
Shaukat Aziz
Altaf Hussain
Imran Khan
Qazi Hussain
Banazir Bhutto
Sharif or Shabaz Nawaz
Pervez Musharraf
Fazalur Rahman
When they were in India do they meet any non Indian leader or not ???????? and if yes who and why????????
October 30th, 2007 at 4:28 am
Imran is a great man, but
Broad general criticisms,(Musharraf is doing America’s bidding) is empty rhetoric.
Should Musharraf allow taliban supporters to go fight in Afghanistan and take refuge in Pakistan?
Should he allow well meaning but brain dead religious factions to impose their understanding or interpretation of Islam on a people not ready to accept that stern discipline?
Should he allow tribal leaders to challenge the writ of the govt.
Every American pressure need not be in conflict with Pakistan’s national interest.
Does Imran want Musharraf to follow Mulla Omar’s foreign policy?
October 30th, 2007 at 7:13 am
No body has lost faith in Musharrf and army for sure. yes! (politicians) we have lost faith in since they are politicians not soldiers. politicians talk and soldiers act, politicans sit in their cosy sitting rooms and comment and soldiers lay their lifes for people and the country. we are proud of them and rest our trust in their hands rather then resting it in the politicians hands since we have always been letdown by these politicans and soldiers never have done this. Fact are there compare if you dare. Wakeup call for everybody every pakistani.
It is not about a poll or percentage. it is about pakistan and pakistani people. how many turned up at Butto procession for so called by the people for the people democracy empowerment and how many not. question is not this question is does pakistan need democracy, was ever democracy right for pakistan. We follow blindly our former colonial masters political ideolgy (democracy)merely because they say it. it never worked for pakistan and perhaps never will since in essence democracy is for those who atleast know themselves, i mean, it is for those people who can agree, have consensus on something, those who can listen and determine. question is do we have consensue on anything answer comes as (no) atleast to me. In the name of God Plz Look aroud you in the cities, villages we saw change, (hope) in the shape of infrustuctre, economic, and political development under Musharrf government. yes there are bad eggs, but Quaid-ay-Azam had them too. Goal should be our destiny for this one must aim as Quid-ay-Azam did and so does Musharrf.
October 30th, 2007 at 8:06 am
Guys do’t be dejected and worried. Inshallah PTI will perform well in the upcoming elections. There might be shortcuts in traditional politics but no shortcut in real deomocracy. Do’t just wait and watch but contribute to IK’s efforts for establishment of a truely demorcratic state in Pakistan. If you are outside the country you can pursuade your relatives in Pakistan to work for the cause.
October 30th, 2007 at 8:28 am
pervaiz ellahi appeared stupid in front of dr shahid.
October 30th, 2007 at 8:48 am
All of Imran Khan’s supporters, please take a wider, deeper view. He comes accross as honest - but he has a very shallow understanding of most things other than cricket still. For Pakistan, he will be the ‘Nadaan Dost’, always inferior to the ‘Daana Dushman’. His lack of understanding amazes me:
1) He said on ‘Capital Talk’ about the 17th amendment that it was illegal! Undoubtedly, it was repugnant, immoral, self propagating/perpetuating and many things besides. But for a parliamentarian to call it illegal, is illuminating, to say the least, about Imran’s ignorance.
2) When Imran contested elections for the first time, he had not bothered, or even given thought to registering himself to vote. He was an elitist and had never voted in his life before, and therefore it never occurred to him that anyone besides that poor/ ignorant masses should also vote.
The most frightening thing about him, though is something else: He is either a hypocrite of the highest order, or has schezophrenia of some kind. He has ALWAYS led a double life, with double standards.
When he was entering politics, he figured that one of the most important issues of the time was Islam - and so he started harping on about it. To the day he entered politics, one had never ever seem him as anyone but a modern fun loving, westernised, sportsman and playboy. Now to wear the Islamic garb, just for political gains, is worse than actually believing in subjecting all and sundry to one’s particular interpretation of Islam perhaps. This act of his insults the intelligence of the citizenry.
He is so hollow, that in the early days when he was sermonising against the VIP culture, he was actually adressing journalists in the VIP lounge of a Pakistani airport. When one journalist asked him as to why then he uses the VIP lounge, he paused and out of embarransment at his stupidity, and lack of any justification he could come up with on his feet, he replied, ‘I won’t do it in the future’.
And Qalandar, who commented just before me, is dead right: this anti american rhetoric is nonsense. Do we not, for ourselves and our future generations, not want the end of extremists in Pakistan?
I agree with Qalandar, that we cannot just go along with giving extremism and the Taliban’s of this world a free hand in our country, just because America is against them.
Imran is either politically naive and ignorant, or hypocritical or both. He is not the answer.
October 30th, 2007 at 11:07 am
I really want to vote this new opposition. However, I am in Germany away from Pakistan. That is bad that they will lose my vote…
Great show Dr. Sahab btw… five stars.
October 30th, 2007 at 11:27 am
Will the courts challenge the whole new game plan? as dr shahid mentioned
October 30th, 2007 at 12:25 pm
@gul
well said about Immo Khan
October 30th, 2007 at 12:51 pm
Many people naively think that Musharraf is doing America’s bidding. That is not true and that’s what troubles United States and the whole world. Musharraf and his army is just playing a double game. In this game they don’t have any ethics, morality or humanity. One group of army supports the Taliban and Alqaeda, and let them flourish in different parts of the country , then another group in the army kill other extremists. The dangerous game has gone so bad that now within the army the groups are killing each other in the incident of Terbela they say one commando killed the other 30 commandos.
That’s why Newsweek and whole world media declares Pakistan as the most dangerous place on the earth.
In Iraq and Afghanistan there is a clear line between the people who are fighting against and for United States. However in Pakistan, United States does not know who is in against her and who supports her.
In Iraq and Afghanistan both sides know who caused the collateral damage and they actually try to avoid this as much as possible.
In Pakistan collateral damage (killing of innocent people) is not caused by accident , but by design.
Recently United Nations asked for the details in Lal Masjid massacre. We must remember that when Saddam and his army (including Chemical Ali) committed Shia’s massacre, U.S. in fact kept quiet as at that time Saddam’s actions were favoring US policies. And then he was executed in the same crime by U.S. army.
With the growing extremism in Pakistan future is obvious that US will have to take care of Pakistan army, sooner rather than later. May be earlier than Iran.
October 30th, 2007 at 1:23 pm
You sounds Imran Khan? The poor GamuSachhar-one who speaks truth. As a common man I can ask the Present CMs’, PM and the President and Ofcourse the Army if they are not able to maintain law and Order, then they are morally bound to quit. Through manouvoring they have denied the people of pakistan their fundamental right to elect their representatives. Yet Supreme Court is saying that there is no violation of fundamental rights.May sanity prevail, dialogue and discourse lead the way and not chamchageery either sanctioned through courts or present engineered assemblies
October 30th, 2007 at 1:29 pm
@ Mr. Gul,
Engineered Assemblies and Courts under Army and PCO are shadowy and cannot function independently and judiciously. What you can say about the amendments or judgments rendered by them. A truly elected parliament representing masses not masters and truly independent judges can have authority and sanction to make historic decisions. History is strange, somtimes, these stooges make counter moves. Hope for the best…
October 30th, 2007 at 4:15 pm
Imran Khan Allah bless you.
October 30th, 2007 at 6:25 pm
Vote for Imran Khan and make him or his members to elect so his party can make a difference and sitting as a good opposition in favor of Pakistan.
Credit goes to Dr. Shahid sahib, for all the questions that he asked with Ch. Pervez with best examples… like “do bachchay aik cheez par larr rahay hain aur baap aik hai”.
October 30th, 2007 at 7:29 pm
My praises to Dr Shahid. I think this is the best program by him. He has improved his previous style (that I disliked) at the start, he was extremely focused in his questions (even witty at times) and he was not putting words in the guests’ mouths. Thoroughly enjoyed the program.
October 30th, 2007 at 8:23 pm
bravo dr shahid
you and imran khan must join hands for a common cause.
October 31st, 2007 at 12:00 am
Salam to all brothers and sisters.
There is no doubt our contry is going through hard times. Being pessimist i would say that hard times create the best leaders. In my humble opinion Imran Khan has shown some traits of a future leader. Contrarory to others Imran has shown integrity, passion , vision, and sincerity. He is a critical thinker with the common touch.i dont belong to any party but if i have to choose i will go with Tehreek e Insaf or Jamaat e islami.
October 31st, 2007 at 12:10 am
What a great talk! One thing to be noted by Dr. Sahib….The educated people who have seen many hot and cold waters, who know the art of reading between the lines….including big majority of users of this site, can understand and appreciates you way to approach politician (makhan lagana) and when you get them excited , you make them say the voice of their heart (which they otherwise keep concealed from the common people) e,g….you PICKED Pervaiz Elahi by saying ” aap nain jou itnay kaam kiay hain developement k etc” then we witness he just been ZAPPED and could not keep what was in heart….(as he is one of the most immature politician…) BUT my point is that many people in Pakistan may be misinterpreting and seeing you inclined to somebody……
I support Imran Khan but I appreciate that you did not leave any stone unturned even in his case while putting “makhan” ( aap ki baat nahi baqi APDM ki baat kar raha hoon), But i think in this case you were even not needing it……as IK is some one who is basically always hungry to speak the truth (that’s why he is misfit so far, though unfortunately).
what i could not understand in this episode is why you were reiterating on Justice Sahib over and over again that whether or not N. Shareef will be brought back.
Over all, a very precious segments from all of your work.
May Allah keep you among us to cross look into these people.
NP. We Imran Khan supporters should never be worried about some anchors who clearly seem to be…again him. As always came out successfully (even in JAWAB DEYH) and he will.
And Imran should equally be treated with the eyes of suspicion and so should be dealt every one else. Oil will come one the surface and water will stay underneath when as soon as you stop swirling.
With Many wishes and prayers for all those who are good for Pakistan..
Ayaz.
October 31st, 2007 at 2:27 am
Khan’s of the whole world on one side and OUR Imran Khan on the other.
October 31st, 2007 at 3:29 pm
good dr shahid
October 31st, 2007 at 6:39 pm
@ Gul
@ Nationalist
@ Qalander
and @ All others who support Mush’s foreign policy
I thank you all esp. Gul for opening my eyes to the hypocritical/ simpleton nature of IK.
Perhaps you would also like to educate me about that other dashing Saville suit wearing, pork eating, whisky drinking, non-muslim marrying - whose present children are also non-muslim Great leader who
Then went on to carve a non-exitent nation on the basis of religion - Islam!!!
Any comments???
October 31st, 2007 at 6:47 pm
You see the problem is whether one likes or dislikes it, majority of Pakistanis are conservative Muslims. Any political leader whether Nawaz Sharif of Tahira Syed fame, Be-zameer of her countless sweet-hearts, remember the 69 episode
and Imran Khan, the most exclusive playboy from the sub-continent, partying with the God of Rock & Roll Mick Jagger… have to involve religion in their politics. You can’t do politics in Pakistan without making references to religion.
So Be-zameer has her Tasbeeh & Grave-worshipping (which is the version of Islam amongst her constituents - Sind), Nawaz Sharif has Raiwand (version of Islam amongst his constituents - Punjab) and Imran Khan has Iqbal’s mard-e-momin (version of Islam amonst his constituents - the online Pakistanis…
October 31st, 2007 at 7:03 pm
At the end of the day, how Muslim anyone of these three leaders or for that matter Maulana Diesel of JUI/ Qazi Hussain JI of CIA commissions are, is for Allah to decide & not for us mortals. That is the way how I see it.
Coming down to the hard geo-politics, it is becoming increasingly clear to me that this war against our own people, the Pashtoons is something that we can never win for the simple reason that
Musharraf has lost all legitimacy. Because rightly or wrongly Musharraf is seen as America’s poodle who is conducting a war on Islam, the straw that broke the camel’s back being the Lal Masjid - what a fiasco that was, there will be no dearth of people coming to blow themselves up.
And quite frankly, he deserves it. For too long he has played both sides of the field & his cleverness got the better of him. While thinking that depicting a show of force at Lal masjid to please his American Masters, something that could have easily been solved by cutting off electricity, water & food, he forgot that this show of force will also be seen by the rest of the Pakistan, and that very delicate balance of not killing your fellow Muslims/citizens that had so far prevented the Tribals/ Swatis/ Taliban/ Al-Qaeda from unleashing their total fury at Mush & his Pervezi lashkar broke because he did something that made him in their & many other Pakistani’s eyes an infidel.
What will happen in the future? Too difficult to say, but if Pakistan has to move forward, there must be free & fair elections with Nawaz Sharif & his supporters on the one side & Be-zameer & her supporters on the other side.
If Mush & Be-zameer continue to sleep together while keeping out Nawaz Sharif, I see things are only getting much worse indeed…