l International Coordinators Wanted! | Pakistan Politics
{ 164 comments... read them below or add one }

• Ashraf said:

Hi admn

Where did our comments go for “Protest Announced in London” about the coordination for protest. Can you put a link here.

Here is it:

http://pkpolitics.com/2007/11/03/emergency-protest-announced-in-london/#comment-15803

Admn

• Pakistani said:

I would recommend to everyone to just try to not think with your hearts, rather think with your minds and try to understand the sword is always two-edged.

• ManDark said:

“Aaj Television has been singled out and its transmission to the AsiaSat Satellite through which it broadcasts its programmes has been jammed. As a result its broadcast inside and outside Pakistan has been completely blacked out.”

Source: http://www.brecorder.com/index.php?id=647509&currPageNo=1&query=&search=&term=&supDate=

• Ilyas Sadiq said:

being a IT person specially Pakistani i would like to offer my services as International Coordinators for such a good cause.

I am here in Berlin, Germany.
    Let me know if i can do some positive work.
    Cell: 00491637971738
    Ilyas Sadiq

• syed said:

Lov you admin of this site and all the tv channels who are against this dictator.
    May Allah help us to restore our rights and rule of law and to fight against this millitary regime.

• rashid said:

Please check this new website. Click on BLUE color words/phrases:

http://www.bananaistan.com/

• Hassan said:

Admin and All,
    I really appreciate your efforts for coordinating and arranging protests against Musharraf regime. This is the most what we ordinary laymen can do for the restoration of true democracy.

Musharraf is the root problem. As long as Musharraf is here things will keep on getting worse and worse. Musharraf is a very desperate and reckless person. He will do ANYTHING to keep power in his own hands.

My friends, these demonstrations and protests will have no effect on that shameless animal. He believes in “Might is right”. He is a very stubborn and obstinate person. He will do whatever he wants to do. Nobody on this earth can stop him but Allah Almighty. We must pray to Allah for our beloved country Pakistan.

It is morally and ethically wrong to curse someone. But given the current circumstances of our country let us all pray for the death of bastard Musharraf. InshaAllah Musharraf will die a death of a dog like Zia-ul-Haq.

Allah! we pakistanis are helpless against this brutal, cruel, and corrupt dictator. Please Allah Help us in getting rid of this evil from our country (Amin).

Please forgive me if someone is offended by the language I have used. This is just the expression of my anger and hatred against that evil person (Musharraf).

Hassan

• shahid kinnare said:

aaj tv again off air

• Raja said:

In my opinion AAJ is perhaps most balanced & professional media outlet.

I consider Talat a as world class anchor. He meets or beats the international standard of balanced approach to interviewing. I believe that Pakistan is for all of us, right, left, and center. We all have to respect each others right to live as we would desire our right to live be respected. Again extremism is neither about religion or secularism, It is about a specific attitude.Liberals and Fanatics, both are extremist if they deny others the right to life, liberty, property, and pursuit of dreams. Diversity of opinion makes the fabric of country strong and pretty. Inflicting pain on others to punish them for their different view is extremism. Let’s decide in this hour of need that we all respect each other. We love each other as Pakistani despite our ideological differences. Neither Military or Talban occupation is in the interest of Pakistan. Political leadership irrespective of their differences can solve the issues of the country better than these two forces. We can differ with the views of BB, JI, IK, NS,MQM, ANP, or any other party but the politicians elected through fair and free election are the true representatives of this country. We have different view about the route but our ultimate goal is a prosperous, strong, and viable Pakistan. This can happen only if we work against Martial Law and promise ourselves that despite our differences in ideologies will never act in any manner which weavers the faith of the world in the wisdom of Pakistan. Pakistan is for each and every Pakistani irrespective of our ethnic, religious, and any other factor. No country of the world will be our foe if we accept to live together as a nation. Qazi, Altaf, Nawaz, and Benazir despite their imperfections are representatives of Pakistan. We need to accept and respect others.
    Final comment, the struggle against Martial Law will require politically astute leadership. I will urge all opposition parties to collaborate among themselves and give the leadership to the smart leaders so that we can have final battle against Martial Law.

• sheero said:

Lets follow the LAWYERS and the MEDIA FOLKS
    LETS DECLARE THEM OUR LEADERS

OUR POLITICAL PARTIES!!!! You have lost your credibilities already, you need a genuin Leadership too, but that will take time and efforts until something substential will evolve, but until then,
    Set Aside Your Party Flags and Slogans
    Make the Brave Judges your leader, Just follow them, dont speak anyother language, just be united under the Flag of Pakistan.
    Lets be emotionally intelligent and alive here.
    Admin, do you have any way to contatct the so called rtrd justices and the banned media heros and ask them the assume the leadership, and lets follow them then???

• Amir Hameed said:

I would like to say THANK YOU to you and to all those who have helped you in making this a very affective forum for people like us to exchange our views and ideas on Pakistani politics.
    I have no doubt in my mind that if you were maintaining this site from Pakistan, it would have been blocked immediately along with the TV channels.
    God bless you.

• Moeen said:

Wat is ur email address i want to be coordinator in Boston. Lets do it.

• shahid kinnare said:

Let make this struggle by the people of Pakistan who are not in Pakistan we can do it.

• shahid kinnare said:

watch aljazeera they are doing prog on Pakistan

• ManDark said:

Aaj TV is/was the most professional and intellectual TV channel of Pakistan.

All the pressure must be put to restore Aaj to be restored (with its independence) and then it should be protected.

I will miss Live with Talat and Bolta Pakistan badly till then. I hope the oweners of Aaj do not strike a deal with General Musharraf before being restored.

I don’t want to see honorable Talat, Nusrat and Mushtaq with shackles around them.

It would be extremely sad.

• ManDark said:

Aaj TV is/was the most professional and intellectual TV channel of Pakistan.

All the pressure must be put to restore Aaj to be restored (with its independence) and then it should be protected.

I will miss Live with Talat and Bolta Pakistan badly till then. I hope the owners of Aaj do not strike a deal with General Musharraf before being restored.

I don’t want to see honorable Talat, Nusrat and Mushtaq with shackles around them.

It would be extremely sad.

• shahid kinnare said:

Please email geo no people from GOV or PMLQ men

• Kruman said:

Aaj TV is back! Watch them at:
    http://www.jumptv.com/en/channel/aajtv/

• Pakistan said:

Indian army on RED alert, ready to take back Azad Kashmir.

• Azra Shahnaz said:

We are sad that emergency has been imposed and Constitution has been suspended. But the responsibility of all this lies on Former Chief Justice of Pakistan, Justice Iftikhar Muhammad Chaudhry, who had been giving undue and out of the way relief to the supporters of Al Qaeda and extremists by releasing the terrorists. He was tool in the hand of the pro-Jihadi faction of the army. Musharraf has saved Pakistan from terrorists and their agents.

• shahid kinnare said:

Azra, Pakistan has alway being saved by Pakistan Army’s General. They have killed more Pakistanis than India. Saving Pakistan started with Gen Isk Mirza.

• shahid kinnare said:

ManDark, this is planted news by Pakistan army.

• ManDark said:

For Ilyas Sadiq (5th comment from the beginning)

Ilyas, as an IT Pro. Here is where you can start.

# faraz on November 4th, 2007 4:57 am

Some One please HACK this stupid website of Supreme Court. It will be a big favour to this nation.
    here is the intro of the mir Jaafars and Mir Saadiqs

http://www.supremecourt.gov.pk//intro-judges.htm

Faraz, I hope you do not mind me conveying your request to Ilyas.

• sumair said:

I believe we neeed protests inside pakistan rather than outside. World should know we are not with this stubborn regime. People of pakistan a are with Justice, Lawyers and with the true spirits of pakistan.

I am ready to participate in protests against government on the streets of pakistan.

we must have to decide some organized way of doing all these things to mobilize the ppl of pakistan. We Should have to contact Justice Iftekhar ch. and other judges and laweyers for this struggle.

• shahid kinnare said:

I hope no one approach court to find remedial measure against Army Action today. As supreme court is only going to confirm and legalized it.

• Kruman said:

Imran Khan’s Life in Danger, likely kidnapped by agencies

(Message from Chief Political Secy PTI Saifullah Niazi)

The Chairman was told by the police last night that he is under house arrest. But around 3 am the police brought warrants to take him to prison and at that time it was discovered that he had mysteriously vanished while there were over two dozen policemen surrounding his house. We are not sure where they have taken him as there is no way he could have gone out without the knowledge of the police and he could be in a lot of danger.

Please put this issue on all types of blogs for discussion.

Please instruct all your International Chapters to protest in front of their respective Pakistani High Commissions as his life could be in danger.

In addition to this please start a million signature petition to free Imran Khan and send it to the UN, amnesty international and the human rights commission or whichever organization you can think of.

• shahid kinnare said:

where are other leader why no reaction by this leader only BB and Imran statment only come out.

• M.Minhas said:

Yes, please someone hack the SC website and smear the faces of the shameless wretches who took oath under the new PCO!
    Also, if anyone knows of protests being organised in Pakistan please post here so people can spread the word and join.
    Finally, is there a way to re-route Aaj TV international transmission to this website or any other? Jump Tv not loading here in pakistan!
    Keep up the good work here! Pakistan Zindabad!

“ham nai sadiyon se azadi ki naimat pai hai,
    khaak mein apni izzat ko milaa saktay nahin,
    apni azadi ko hum hargiz bhula saktay nahin!!!”

• shahid kinnare said:

why geo is allowed and not AAj?

• Raja said:

@ M.Minhas

Is Jehangir Minhas your brother?

If so, let me know.

• Raja said:

@ shahid kinnare

GEO with his anchors Hamid Mir & Dr. Shahid have been on good terms with military intelligence all their professional life. Talat, Nusarat, and Mushtaq have never been on the payroll of intelligence agencies. I hope this explains the reason.

• Siasati Keera said:

I am amazed that BB, NS, & IK are the only political leaders to oppose Martial Law aggressively. Where are rest of them? MMA leadership wake up and be aggressive.

• shahid kinnare said:

Please request Dr.shahid that we do not need to hear from GOV people on PMLQ.

• huma said:

I am proud of PPP & PTI for opposing Martial Law forcefully. NS had a relatively strong statement as well. I am surprised at the rest of the opposition leadership. I hope all political parties get together to oppose the suspension of constitution.

• Hina said:

Where are Qazi Saab & Maulana Saab? They should come up with staunch unequivocal opposition to Martial Law.
    I would like to see PPP & PMLN coordinate closely to allow us the basic rights.

• farhan said:

although everyone was expecting this emergency, imran made this prediction using exact words that musharraf used in todays address.

worth a watch

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3WZDfHGETGU

• lawyer07 said:

protest at 3pm in islamabad today, Sunday 4 Nov 2007. citizens and lawyers are requested to join in a march from marriott hotel to residence of CJ to show solidarity with those judges who refused to take oath under new pco and condemn imposition of emergency/martial law

• Balouch said:

The End of this ugly sitting dictator will be more worst then Ex one Inshallah ….

If here is any activity in france please inform me

• sysZone said:

very interesting video : on hacking IIS5.0 (enjoy the music)

Unfortunately SC have IIS6.0 (nevr been hacked)
    http://eks0.free.fr/whax-demos/?f=Whoppix-ssh-dcom_config.xml

• sysZone said:

any IT guys out there join hands with me… NO DOS attack…

• nosleep said:

can someone set up a website with pictures of our true supreme court judges and a petition for all pakistanis to sign who dont accept the traitors

• Tanweer Amjad said:

Just a phrase from the guardian

People are well aware that Pakistan, which is now the third highest recipient of US aid (after Iraq and Israel), could not get away with the emergency if the US truly did not wish to see it happen.

Complete article at
    http://commentisfree.guardian.co.uk/ali_eteraz/2007/11/musharrafs_mini_martial_law.html

• Alyzeh said:

Why aren’t new transmissions coming from GEO UK/US? Have they been blocked or are they repeating the same thing?

I cant find any source of information except the newspaper websites which are pretty much repeating the same thing.

Does anybody know anything about it?

• make_over said:

I know that it is off the topic, but can you upload the videos on youtube and mark them private, so that people would have to come to your website to see these videos and you wouldn’t have to worry about the bandwidth issue and we will have the luxury of fast forwarding. If this can be done, I hope it’ll help you as well other viewers on this website.

Thanks!

@make_over

Youtube allows upto ten minutes of video. It is time consuming to split long video into 10 minutes segment.s

• farhan said:

Way to go Imran. The lion of pakistan in action.

read this ppl.

http://www.ibnlive.com/news/imran-khan-slips-from-arrest-calls-for-protest/51722-2.html

we are with you imran.

• Faheem said:

Com’on everyone,this is moment of truth,lets make the difference and lets speak out loud and show that we are not ‘sheep’..Im in Melbourne,Australia and would love to do anything possible in critical and sad moment for pakistan.
    fahimshahid@yahoo.com

• Anjum said:

A must read:

http://www.dailytimes.com.pk/default.asp?page=2007\114\story_4-11-2007_pg1_5

• wiki said:

these all beaurocrats should show some courage and refuse to act on PCO orders as being directed by CJ and its bench. this is high time that they should not lick the shoes of government and come out strongly while refusing to act on un lawful ordinance. I havent seen single chief seceretaries, Sps, IGS, DCs , who have resigned.

• jojo said:

According to GEO, Gen Hameed Gul is arrested.

4 new judjes in lahore and 3 in Karachi have taken oath on PCO.

• Kami said:

I have written to my MP and MEPs in the UK and I already am getting positive replies.

HAVE YOU WRITTEN TO YOUR MPs (those who are in the UK). Please do that now. Write to Members of European Parliament (MEP) as well.

Make good one or two paragraphs, send the same thing to all of them, telling them that Mush is not a moderate and is spreading extremism and also that to exert pressure on Mush.

For details:

http://www.writetothem.com/

• jojo said:

@Kami
    People like you, Admin, Faheem, Ilyas, djAqib are doing a great job. I pray for all the scuccess, aameen.

The thing is that we will protest to EU and British Parliamentarians but will they stop giving aid to mush regieme? US pentagon says emergency will not hamper the military aid to mush regieme. That is a double standard of Western Govts. Mush did with their consent.

May Allah help us.

• farhan said:

Gen. Hameed Gul tried to meet the seven judges.

===================================

CNN reports:

General Hameed Gul, the former head of the ISI, the Pakistani intelligence service, was among those arrested Sunday, police officials told CNN. The TV station reported that Gull was apprehended as he attempted to meet some of the seven Supreme Court judges placed under house arrest Saturday after refusing to endorse the president’s decision to suspend the constitution.

http://edition.cnn.com/2007/WORLD/asiapcf/11/04/pakistan/?iref=mpstoryview

=================================

• farhan said:

Elections delayed indefinitely

Same link as above.

sorry folks. forgot to mention

• Kamran said:

Can some one please open a new thread for this post or post it in appropriate area .thanks

This is a message from the Chief Political Secretary of PTI Saifullah Khan Niazi. Imran Khan did not escape house arrest in Lahore as has been reported in electronic media, we are unsure of his whereabouts, and he has likely been kidnapped by the agencies:

“The Chairman Imran Khan was told by the police last night that he is under house arrest. But around 3 am the police brought warrants to take him to prison and at that time it was discovered that he had mysteriously vanished while there were over two dozen policemen surrounding his house. We are not sure where they have taken him as there is no way he could have gone out without the knowledge of the police and he could be in a lot of danger.

Please put this issue on all types of blogs for discussion.

Please instruct all your International Chapters to protest in front of their respective Pakistani High Commissions as his life could be in danger.

In addition to this please start a million signature petition to free Imran Khan and send it to the UN, amnesty international and the human rights commission or whichever organization you can think of.”

To further discuss this issue please visit our forum:

• sirfaikmusalman said:

please sign this online petition and forward this link to as much as ppl you know

http://www.PetitionOnline.com/3nov07/petition.html

jazakAllah

• Information said:

A plan of action beyond a usual statement of condemnation

Friends of South Asia (www.friendsofsouthasia.org) is meeting on Sunday, November 4, at 6 pm at Newark City library for its Eid-Diwali program and to brainstorm on devising a strategy to deal with the present political crisis in Pakistan. Here is the first draft of a plan of action FOSA is working on and would like to discuss in the meeting.

C.

With the imposition of Emergency on November 3 General Pervez Musharraf has plunged Pakistan into terrible uncertainty. Whereas General Pervez Musharraf says he took the precarious step to save Pakistan, no one doubts the only thing Musharraf is interested in saving is his own grip on power.

We condemn Pervez Musharraf’s latest authoritarian decree and want Pakistanis and well-wishers of Pakistan to build pressure on him to take back the emergency measures. But having witnessed Pervez Musharraf’s propensity to sacrifice anything for his own personal gain we doubt if Musharraf under any cogent force would backtrack.

Considering Pakistanis desire for democracy, the recent struggle for the restoration of a Chief Justice illegally removed by the dictator, the ongoing pro-civil society debates in the erstwhile independent Pakistani media, and the pro-democracy sentiments within the Pakistan Army we wish to humbly suggest a shorter path towards restoring order in Pakistan.

In order to facilitate removal of Pervez Musharraf and to avoid further chaos in the country by keeping its institutions intact we urge Pakistanis in general and Pakistan’s political parties in particular to quickly form an interim government. The interim government and events related to its enactment should have the following features:

1. The interim government should be headed by an interim president who would hold free and fair general elections in the shortest span of time.
    2. To ensure working of an independent judiciary all Supreme Court judges deposed on November 3 by Pervez Musharraf should be restored to their positions.
    3. Pakistan Army should stop taking orders from Pervez Musharraf and current Vice Chief of Army Staff, General Kayani should immediately take charge of the forces. General Kayani should work under the interim president.
    4. All political workers and members of legal fraternity arrested in the wake of emergency should be released.
    5. All bureaucratic institutions with their current officers should keep functioning under the interim president.

We urge Pakistani political parties to quickly consent to an interim president. One choice obvious to many would be Retired Chief Justice Wajihuddin Ahmed who as a public servant not only had a spotless career, but who gained considerable public support while recently running for President against Pervez Musharraf

Till an interim government through the wishes of Pakistanis and Pakistan’s political parties takes command we ask all citizens to commence an indefinite strike starting from Monday, November 5.

• jojo said:

According to PTI website, Imran is in Kot Lakhpat jail.

• Rashid said:

Hey guys, I have heard a rumour that there is rebellion in army against Mush, is it a rumour or has some truth?

• farhan said:

Lets pray this is true

===========================

Army may not fall in behind Musharraf

RUMBLINGS of discontent in the Pakistan army were reported last night after President Pervez Musharraf adopted emergency powers to forestall a Supreme Court judgment that would have declared his rule unlawful.

http://www.theaustralian.news.com.au/story/0,25197,22702940-2703,00.html

=============================

• farhan said:

@rashid

i have just included an article about that. it seems Gen. Kiyani is not in favor of musharraf.

• shahid kinnare said:

HRCP people attack in Lahore

• Amir Hameed said:

@Farhan,
    Thanks for the link to the article. This is encouraging, to say the least. I pray that the army realizes now that how its image is being tarnished by ONE man and his deeds and his collaboration with the corrupt politicians.

• Faisal wali said:

Dear all,

Needless to describe the dire state of affairs our dearly loved motherland has been put into for the last couple of days and I am sure that every Pakistanis’s heart is bleeding how guardians of our security are protecting us from our BASIC RIGHTS, so is mine. Most of us, beyond any doubt, are eager to do something against this relentless succession of seizing our rights. I really do not know what we can do being so far from our homeland but certainly we should at least record our protest against these primitive rituals of suppressing public freedom. To this end, we have decided to stage a protest in front of Pakistan Embassy in den Hag on Tuesday noon at 12:30. (address can be found at the end of the email) We have already gone through the legalities of such an act on Dutch soil and shall surely get permission from Dtuch Police (for my purely pakistani brothers we do not need to take permission from Dutch army for anything except invading Amsterdam).

I know this will probably change nothing but at least will provide us an opportunity for catharsis and a way to tell west that the educated youth of Pakistan thinks contrary to what Musharaf-West alliance wants of impose on us. So my friends please step up and join us because if we do not raise our voices against barbarism, the only difference between us and our inflicters is that of uniform and we have no rights to complain, not to mention that this would be the least form of kind of retaliation our natoin needs againts these Uniformed Monsters.

Looking forward for your “PRACTICAL” contribution!

With best wishes,

Faisal Wali
    Mobile No. 0031 633863560
    Nijmegen

P.S: The embassy is located at:
    Amaliastraat 8, 2514 JC The Hague and is accessible from central station via: tram 10 and bus 4 and 22
    Stop Name :Mauritskade

• khan said:

yahood o nasara dil dil main khosh hain pakistan aur muslmano kay zawal per khas ker amrica aur bertania.
    Yaa Allah hamarey gonah maef furma hum per raham kar. Amin.

• sysZone said:

@All
    If any one think that it is bad and think that as Muslim country we are in bad shape think again…we are in worst situation because we don’t have any Muslim land…

We lost rule according to islamic law more then 60 year earlier we have lost muslim land more then 60 years ago what ever we have or call a muslim country are just a pretext of deception from System of Dajal exactlly as peper money is a deception… when rule of law is not Allah’s rule, then how some one can call that a muslim country even majority living in those countries are Muslim but they adopted the SHIRK by accepting the sovereignty of state rather then accepting sovereignty of Allah and Allah only… wake up brothers… we are at war for more then 60 years to have our own mulsim land… These protest and shouting are not going to make difference… we have to adopt the way our beloved Prophet Mohammad (PBUH) have adopted …

• jhamid said:

Kindly invite everyone to sign this petition to save Pakistan.

• but no said:

WILL THERE BE A PROTEST IN NEW YORK?
    PLEASE LET US KNOW ASAP.

• Zarak Khan said:

The beginning of the end for Musharaf.

His reasons for declaring martial law are essentially his chargesheet and indictment against himself.

It is now a question of not when but how soon he will join Ayub, Yahya, and Zia as the quartet of former disgraced band of dictator generals in Pakistan’s short history.

• Arsalan said:

@ sysZone

Your point?

• SomeOne said:

http://www.supremecourt.gov.pk//intro-judges.htm

Now we have only 4 judges. -:). They should be hanged.

• Sheikh SAEED said:

ARE WE HAPPY NOW?

I do not think that Musharaf is responsible for the emmergency imposed. It is our currupt politician who are fighting our a dieng corpse for the peice of meat.

We Pakistani are very impetient even when we have to make our minds. We declared Musharaf a traitor and held him resposible for what ever happened. we should look back and see how much patient Musharaf is who not only faced the immense presuure from currupt politician but also from irresposible presenters on media. Lets ask few questions to our souls…

Have we had independent media just before emergency? Yes

Was media totally agaisnt Musharaf and government? Yes

Media’s job is to present a balance view point from all prospects, was it like this on many of channles? NO

Are most of the Juornalist are not trained to remain calm and unbaised during breaking news? Yes

Almost all Party leaders are just fighting for the chair? Yes

Are the current political leaders competant to run the country in this difficult time? NO

Our masses have no sense of what actually our politicians “want”?

Just before emergency, we enjoyed everything, discussion on tv, independent media, politics, prepration for election, developement in the country, and above all govenrments non involvement into judicial affairs.

But we lost it, just by being impatient, incompetant, intolerant and above all insatiable.

We should have thnked Mushraf for all what he given to us even his most difficult months.

…………Musharaf go Ahead………..

• shahid kinnare said:

Saeed, It is politician job to fight for chair that what they do all over the world.

And that is why we people decide who is going to seat on that chair.

Mush has broken the law of land. He may be an angle, but because he has broken the law of the land he is condemmed by the people of Pakistan.

Politician are not be blamed for the problem of Pakistan it the Pakistan Army and it generals who are to be blamed for Pakistan ordeal. Pakistan trained thousand of Jihadi to destroy Afganistan with the help of Israel and US. What do thing this Jihadi were going to after the war was over. Pakistan Army has produced Generals that were corrupt to its core. it General right from General Isk Mirza down to General Mush. who to follow the law of land.

• saqibtahir said:

Saeed Sheikh, No matter what you say people of Pakistan hate military dictatorship. This man has crossed all limits and Inshaallah he will be the last dictator of this country. His name will go in history along with Ayub, Yahya and Zia as hateful character.

A war between savage rouge army and civbil society has started. Paki army is no stronger that red army. just wait and see the fate of this animal.

• saqibtahir said:

My appoligies but these traitors deserve no better treatment.

• Kami said:

@ Sheikh Saeed

Did we have a real free media before emergency – NO.

Did Musharraf usurped power illegally? YES

Your arguments misses the main point. Musharraf gave us the option to keep him in any case. It was a one man show. If Musharraf remains in power and powerful ONLY then we had so called ‘freedoms’.

Yazeed also gave option of remaining in power and then he would have given so many freedoms to Imams. Only condition was to accept him as Khalifa.

That was the worst era. Now he is exposed. I think Musharraf under emergency is better than double faced Musharraf.

• Kruman said:

BREAKING NEWS:
    The inside story of the martial law.

Supreme Court judges had met and ruled against Musharraf on Wajihuddin’s petetition. They had ruled that the chief of army staff can’t run for preidency.

This was revealed by Justice (retd) Sajjad Ali Shah on ARY. This is in addition to their nullification of PCO/emergency/martial law.

• Khan said:

i think we need another jung-e-aazadi, this time against the pak army. I would call this campain ‘Reshmi e-mail’. Come guys lets fight for the bright future of our next genration.

• Candid camera said:

The real reason for the imposition of martial law in Pakistan on Nov 3, 2007.

Admin please post this video:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UUx2gGbNgcI

• Khan said:

I would suggest to all pakistanis who lives abroad to withdraw all their money from pakistani banks immediately.

• Sheikh SAEED said:

Democracy is not for every one. This tool is being used by the western powers to put engineered people incharge of the country to serve them, not the masses.

We do not neccessarily need a democracy, democracy means something only when it is backed by the people who know their rights, who are educated and and able to select a leader to serve them. we in pakistan have masses who are not only uneducated but also shackelled into the chains of ethnicity, tribalism, fuedalism, secterianism and so on. I am in firm beleive that majority of the people in paksitan vote under the infleunce of some sort such affiliation. If this was not the case than we would have never had such pathetic leadership, ready to do what ever they can to sit in parliament.

historically, most of the western nations, and china, russia, iran, turkey, japan and so on progressed not in democracy. Even UK controlled the whole world under Monarch, not democracy.

Democracy means to ask wise people to chose a leader. To install a real democracy we need to educate people first. for this we, the educated, overpreviliged class have resposibility.

Hating military is not solution, we need to put every thing in it right order. Yes we have problem in military, but we can not cut that organ, which is the only safegaurd for our soverienity.

Yes we enjoyed freedom of press.

Well before Musharaf we had one man show, if not than one family show at least.

My point is that we need a very strong leader at this time to lead us. If we let those currupt politician to come again they will trade our soverienity with US to remain in politics.

We should not forget the days when Nawaz allies used to be kept in Murre and PPP allies in skardu to keep them away from horse traders of rivals. What was it Democracy, no horse trading. Party leaders were not sure about the integrity of thier fellows.

• Sheikh SAEED said:

Dear Khan!
    Its easy to talk about Jung or war or civil unrest but difficult to bear it. What about the people who are living on the edge in paksitan. What when someone will lose a beloved and what when someone will left with no one to bring them living.
    WE DO NOT NEED A CIVIL WAR.

Will you like your families living in somalia or congo or iraq?
    No, i am sure.

Things gonna be alright, this time is to be patient and stop forces of distruction from destroying the peace of paksitani innocent people and derailing it.

• jojo said:

Saeed Saab!
    You have a valid point that we should be patient but please tell me about army’s indiscriminate boming on our innocent people in Waziristan?
    Do you think this was also done by corrupt politicians?

• Khan said:

Saeed,

My appologies if i have hurt any one.

By jung-e-aazadi I dont mean a gun fight. Obiously I dont want to fight my own countrymen. I mean the phylosophy. Try to stop daal roty of pak army. Try to impose as much pressure as you can. Try spread the message to as many as you can. Try to raise awareness.

• San Francisco 49er said:

PROTEST IN SAN FRANCISCO OUTSIDE CITY HALL AT 3PM (pacific time, Sunday)

Please show up with placards talking about:
    - democracy
    - human rights
    - supremacy of law
    - independence of judiciary

• Proud Pakiatani said:

I feel ashamed TODAY being called pakistani. by proud pakistani

• Amir Hameed said:

@Sheikh SAEED,
    This is true that most of our politicians have been corrupt and are corrupt. This is one of the reasons that majority of the folks in the pkpolitics forums do not and have not endorsed either BB, NS, Fazlu, Caoudharies, etc. Biut this also does not mean that someone from the military comes and seize the power for indefinite period of time, destroys all the institutions and makes mockery of the constitution.
    Look at what HE has done to the morale of the army Jawans. The way they have surrendered themselves to the so-called militants in Waziristan and Swat speaks for itself.
    Look at India; do you think that their politicians are not currupt? but they have a process and they follow it and that is why they have been able to carry on with their democratic process.

• Sheikh SAEED said:

Dear Khan
    My all prays are for the safety and well being of innocent people in Wazirastan.

But the problem is they are being used by the Mullas who are not at all serving the Islam. All they are doing is to use islam to organise people to fight agaisnt organised and legitimate army.
    If thast Mullah wants well being of the people, he should help them educate, provide them decent livelyhood by organising them in to small business activity. Train them to be kind, helping, and harmless muslim as an example for the whole world.

The most easy thing is to pick up a gun and train peoploe to kill each other.

Just one question to all mullas.

Who is most happy when swat, wazirastan, iraq, somalia, and afghanistan burn, people killed, livelyhood taken away?

Muslim? NO
    Allah? No
    Prophet Mohammad (PBUH)? No way
    Army? NO

USA? YES indead, most happy
    India? yes, what else she need
    Israel? No dougt about it

May Allah give us courage to differenciate amont good and bad muslims.

• saqibtahir said:

Quote:
    ________
    Democracy is not for every one. This tool is being used by the western powers to put engineered people incharge of the country to serve them, not the masses.
    ________
    Such statement can only be made by a person who is not aware of the history. democracy is never suited to Western powers in the arae of their strategic interest. Most of democracies in the world were eliminated by CIA sponsored Military coups. Dr. Mussadaq (Iran), Nikroma (Ghana), Soekarno (Indonesia), Adnan Mendris (Turkey), Alyande (Chile), Bhutto(Pakistan) were all popularly elected leaders of their country and their governments were overthrown by CIA sponsored dictators. Whom Ayub served in SETO and SENTO? Whom Yahya served when he openly abused Russia? Whom Zia served all 11 years in name of Jihad? Whom your beloved Mush the traitor is serving?

Dictators love Uncle Sam and Uncle love them. Tell me any democratic government in third world that served The Westren interests?

Inshallah Mush will become Pinochit of Pakistan. I bet. This is not a Pakistan of ^60′s and 70′s

• PK said:

What is the punishment for breaking the constitution? To hang till death.

Inshaullah, as Musharraf said in his speech his life would go for this country but he will not be a martyr. He don’t even deserve the death like General Zia, has done more harm to the country.

He will be hanged till death on the consitution avenue. Ameen.

• chussain said:

Actually Geo is operating from Dubai and Dr Shahid Masood is anchoring from Dubai. Thats why he is still free.

• Kruman said:

Please spread this video, it is a must watch:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UUx2gGbNgcI

• saqibtahir said:

Quote:
    I agree that religious extremism is evil and must be eliminated. But the question is who sowed the seed of millitant jihadies and who nourished and trained them? Unfortunately it was our own army that did this evil for the sake of their Masters in West.

Mush is still supporting them from behind the scene. ISI is directly involved in funding the fundos. I am 100% sure that recent bomb blasts were work of ISI and other agencies to prepare excuses for Mush. The militants in Swat were there for more than a decade how come suddenly Army statrted action two weeks ago? ISI has developed nurseries of suiside bombors and fanatic fundos that they used in Kashmir, India and Afghanistan before. They fund few mullas to recruit and train these people and use them when and where needed. Most of time the terrorists themselves don’t know what they are doing and who their target is. They are just brain washed little bigots who are promised to go to Junnat. ISI is a curse on this nation. Paki Army must comeunder civil rule and that will not happen without a revolution. I agree with Justice Fakharuddin Abrahim that Mush’s current action will unite civil society against military and military will be ultimately defeated. A last defeat in a series of humiliating defeats. This time by its own people.

• chussain said:

Musharraf and his intelligence agencies are supporting extremist elements in Swat and Tribal Areas and they deliberately did all this to create an atmosphere of uncertainity. This guy can do anything to keep him in power. He is a very very greedy person and all those judges who have taken oath would go down in history as black sheep and they would not be able to face lawyers at all in courts.

• chussain said:

Musharraf end is near and he should be kicked out by Pakistan Army otherwise Pakistan Army would lose everything in thsi process.

If Musharraf can bring in PCO which is totally unconstitutional then Vice Chief of Army Staff should also stand up and get this guy down. Come on Kiyani please get rid of this guy for god sake.

• ahsan said:

Unless we as a people do not relalise to give opionion about issues that by using stero types and our so called wish lists ,then we will get ,what we are getting

• Zarak Khan said:

“No army can stop the march of an idea the time for which has come�: Munir Malik SCBA addressing in Islamabad 2/2

“GO MUSHARAF GO”

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Xo4qEb93gfk

• FaisalMalik said:

Hi guys;
    I am a Chartered Accountant working in the field of corporate finance and living in west London, saddened by the imposition of martial law in Pakistan, and determined to act and support those who are standing up to the regime, and influence all stakeholders including the british government. I volunteer to be a member / co-ordinator for an organised action.
    I can be reached at 07912348322;
    Faisal Malik

• pejamistri said:

Hi All,
    We must support all the judges who refused to take oath under PCO. I am afraid these judges may be feeling lonely at this difficult hour in this time. They deserve our utmost support for giving the ultimate sacrifice of their job for giving us a better future.

• pejamistri said:

It will be great if we can find someway to send them our feelings.. One way may be to write blogs expressing our gratitude.

• Siraj Wahhaj said:

Please vote on cnn’s website;
    http://www.cnn.com/

“Is President Musharraf right to declare a state of emergency in Pakistan?”

• Siraj Wahhaj said:

Same poll is going on BBC’s website;

http://www.bbc.co.uk/urdu/

• Mujtaba Khan said:

Once again our sacred constitution has been abrogated by a tyrant in military uniform. this time stakes are even higher as the country is on the verge of a civil war.

I say this to all the young people amongst us to stand up and be counted. Vow never to be subdued by a dictator and to stand up for our rights. Our previous generations have failed us and still hold a sway over our future. Let us break from the incompetent predecessors and reshape our destiny with our own hands.

I suggest we setup a group called the NEW DEALERS. I think the person who setup this website has enough initiative in him to chair this group and I offer my absolute support towards the cause of establishing a stable democratic system in our country.

I am a student in cranfield university, bedford, UK and ask all of you to register with pkpolitics and make your details available to us.

Admin its upto you to use this resource and co-ordinate our efforts. I am a management student in one of the best institutes in UK and am eager to help you with this process.

• Saqib said:

Saathiyo, mujahido: Jag uthaa hei saraa watan….

Oh My Pakistan: Please wake up tomorrow, go and free your homeland of this hypocrate….Go n join judiciary in fight against dictator….Remember Quaid was lawyer n this time we are again going to be lead by his followers…….. All judges are going to the courts to fight against the implanted n fabricated judiciary…
    Lets join n sacrifice for Pakistan!!!!

• Saqib said:

We should convince police n law enforcement agencies to defy the orders given by dictator. We should tell them softly…I think they are our brothers and they are fed up of him too but since they are government servants …..so we need to deal with them politely and make them part of this agitation. They will support us I am sure of this…….They want to throw him out too who has led them to conforont with their own brothers…

• Ali said:

We should convince police n law enforcement agencies to defy the orders given by dictator. We should tell them softly…I think they are our brothers and they are fed up of him too but since they are government servants …..so we need to deal with them politely and make them part of this agitation. They will support us I am sure of this…….They want to throw him out too who has led them to conforont with their own brothers…

• Siraj Wahhaj said:

By sirfaikmusalman on November 4th, 2007 1:35 pm

please sign this online petition and forward this link to as much as ppl you know

• faisal said:

THE REAL IRONY IS THE ARMY. IT IS NOT AN ASSETT ITS A LIABILITY. IT HAS ALWAYS RETAINED THE POWER AND HAS ALWAYS BEEN THE LARGEST POLITICAL PARTY.
    I THINK THE ARMY NEEDS TO BE TAUGHT A LESSON AND THE GENERALS AND CORE COMMANDERS SHOULD BE HANGED SO THAT FUTURE GENERATIONS OF ARMY/FUTURE ASPIRANTS OF POWER HAVE AN EXAMPLE TO LIVE BY AND A CODE OF CONDUCT TO FOLLOW.

• GoMusharafGo said:

Can anyeone make a website
    http://www.gomusharafgo.com

• Kami said:

Those who live in the US are requested to write to the US Senators. Make one or two good paragraphs, tell them that Musharraf is playing double game and he supports extremists through secret channels to get US aid. You may copy and paste those paragraphs to as many senators as you like.

To reassure those who might be frightened to write (it is quite normal for Pakistanis), I have written to many world leaders and local and International bodies during last many years and no agency follows you. They are not after the people who express themselves through their writings. And your Visa/work Status is NOT relevant until and unless you threaten them with some illegal action!!

For their contact information and email addresses, please visit:

http://www.senate.gov/general/contact_information/senators_cfm.cfm

• sincere pakistani said:

wonderful work admn

please watch Geo tv bulletin at

and audio news at

http://65.36.215.69/

• Tanweer Amjad said:

I was shocked to still find people who have still got sympathies for the General. Even in the speech he could not convince even through the dumb media that all actions (which he did not like) were illegitimate. There was only one message from the speech, I need to be the president, and america does need me.
    It would be good to get the contacts of media persons in the western countries, or if any one know their contacts, please do float them here.
    I know there could be such people from Pakistan in UK Canada or America, but anyone knowing about the contacts in other countries.

• Kami said:

Write to the US Senators (From anywhere in the world):

Write to your British MP (those who live in the UK):

Write to Australian MPs (those who live in Australia)

http://www.aph.gov.au/house/members/mi-state.asp

• saeed said:

i would like to say just that still we as a nation still hostage

• nosleep said:

some people are naive and are easily persuaded we need to make them understand

• Muhammad Ilyas Khan said:

Mush has destroyed the image of the Pak Army and it is a golden chance for gen Kiyani to restore this image by arresting Mush, tied him in front of President house along with PMLQ leadership and invite all Pakis to come and spit at their faces. I think its worthwhile to take a flight from Australia, spit at their faces and come back. Act Gen Kiyani now otherwise people will not forget you either.

• Kruman said:

Wel said Ilyas!

• Kruman said:

BREAKING NEWS:
    ==============
    KARACHI:Lathi charge outside Sindh high court on laywers.
    LAHORE: Heavy police conteigent outside Lahore High Court.

Please start a new post for today’s news.

• Kami said:

Write to the US Senators (From anywhere in the world)

• Kami said:

Write to your British MP (those who live in the UK):

• Kami said:

Write to Australian MPs (those who live in Australia)

http://www.aph.gov.au/house/members/mi-state.asp

• Kami said:

Write to Canadian Members of Parliament (For those in Canada)

http://webinfo.parl.gc.ca/MembersOfParliament/MainMPsCompleteList.aspx?TimePeriod=Current&Language=E

• Kruman said:

For the latest news:
    http://free-pakistan.blogspot.com

I ‘ve been posting all the news updates here, but most of my comments are moderated.

• Kruman said:

LATEST
    # Lathi charge outside Sindh high court on laywers.
    # Heavy police contingent outside Lahore High Court.
    # Son of Justice Sabihuddin Ahmad, the real CJ Sindh High Court arrested
    # Protesters gathering in Islamabad to start marching towards supreme court
    # Hundred of lawyers have gathered in Lahore High Court
    # LAHORE: Musharraf after lawyers’ blood. Police warning journalists to back off saying, “We don’t want to inflict any harm on you.”

• Kruman said:

LATEST:
    =======
    CJ tells Ansar Abbasi he is under arrest.
    CJ’s sick son deprived of medcine.

Justice Javed Iqbal is a pateint and he is denied medical treatment

Justice Bhagwandas an heart patient, being denied access to medicines.

Ramday being barred from praying in a mosque.
    Video coming in 30-60 minutes.

• Kami said:

@ Kruman

I had the same problem. To avoid moderation, try to put one website link in one post. I could not put links to different Members of Parliament, they are still waiting for moderation after 24 hours. So i broke them in pieces and put more than one post.

Suggestion: keep your post brief, avoid controversial or sensitive words and one web link at a time. This moderation is good because it keeps our neighbours (see I avoided the country name!!) away.

• Ashraf said:

The nation salutes Justice Rana Bhagwan Das along with other judges for strongly upholding the Constitution. People like Justice Rana Bhagwan Das make me feel a proude Pakistani.

• TexasBoy said:

@ kami and Kruman,

great work guys,…… i feel proud to be among you as pakistanis.

PAKISTAN ZINDABAD

• Shah Saud Sahibzada said:

Dear Fellows,
    I would like to offer my services for Cincinnati, Ohio.

• Kruman said:

America is getting ready to fu&^% Musharraf.

Robert Gates has just called Musharraf ordering him to restore democracy asap; and this news has leaked out. John Howard, Bush’s best buddy in international arean has also called upon Musharraf to lift emergency.

Pentagon has snapped defence talks with Pakistan.

Musharraf is fu%%ed!

• Kruman said:

Musharraf went too far. He though Bush would even give up Laura Bush for him.

Americans are not indifferent to the street sentiment in Pakistan. They don’t want Musharraf to hound the real enlightened moderates like the lawyers, human right activists and judges.

This is just my inference.

• TexasBoy said:

Musharraf is making a place for him on the wrong side of history.

i know some of his family personally…. on his son’s in-laws side….. and i cant tell you with how much disdain they are completely apathetic on the situation..

Inquilab Zindabad!

• Kruman said:

British paper Guardian confirms it. Foreign diplomats tell Musharraf to hold elections and quit as army chief.

http://www.guardian.co.uk/frontpage/story/0,,2205389,00.html

• Kruman said:

TexasBoy,
    Same stories from Sehba Musharraf’s sister and her husband. They detest the b@$t@~d, are even embarrassed to acknowledge that they are related.

• Kruman said:

BREAKING NEWS:
    ==============
    Justice Javed Iqbal in critical condition. Pray for him.

• HayaH Haeenara said:

I am saddened by what is happening to the Pakistani people (and your beautiful country) in this rough time because I believe in all people having the right to freedom and happiness not only a few of them.

Because of my German heritage I know how quickly and dangerous dictators can become and how it is hard for the individuals in the country itself to completely speak out openly against such individuals. (Hitler and WWII anyone?) However, unlike the problems my people’s ancestors faced you can take heart in this situation. This dictorial action was rushed which means there will be mistakes made trying to hold on to it and to garner support for emergency rule. From what I can tell, many people all over the world are taking note and are not pleased at what is going on; not just those who are Pakistani.

So, I would suggest that this information get handed on to all types of people who have the ability to make a positive change in this not just those who are Pakistani. Yes, this means that for one time in our lives we put our differences aside and stand in solidarity with those who are affected by this both in action and/or in prayer as our situations allow.

The same advice is also what I can give to all who are within the country of Pakistan. Stand in unity. Do not let your difference pull you apart but rather focus on what needs to absolutely happen right now to make things right again. No violence. No hate. No pointing fingers. Just solutions and peace.

If this means siding with people or a political party with whom you normally would have nothing to do with or taking the help of a family who may be of a different religion than you then please do it. Afterwards you can all remember the common struggle during this time and remember the unity you have shown in this time and keep that close to your hearts. Do not let previous divisions to cause hate amongst your people again for hate is what caused this hate is what always causes these sort of things. As such hate has to be exchanged for peace, love, cooperation and unity in order to both overcome this now and to prevent things like this in the future.

I am not muslim but my prayers will be sent your way in these hard days as will my blessings and hopes for a peaceful and quick resolve to this issue because I know how hard these kinds of struggles can be and just how badly they can turn out to be if left unchecked. I know I am a woman, and an outsider to most of you no less, so it is up to you if wish to listen or to ignore what I am saying but my heart will still go out to all that are affected in this in unconditional love and with a great hope for peace.

HayaH Haeenara—

• SA said:

We should create a website(or a separate forum on pkpolitics) and expose corrupt judges who took oath under PCO.. like their details, family details, anything we someone can find on them – for example Dogar was referred to judicial inquiry by CJ for his corruption. We should make these judges regret their actions, make them socially inactive..

• Khan said:

Does anyone realise that the judges that who have saceficed their jobs for our future, have families and need finances to support them. We should set up a FUND for these judges so that then can have piece of mind and fight for the free judiciary.

• Khan said:

I have just heard that Musharraf has been arrested. Not confirmed yet.

• Kruman said:

Khan,
    ARY is running denial by Musharraf of his house arrest.

• Kruman said:

Strong protest by lawyers and activists in Hariputs.
    Silk route shut.

• Kruman said:

Hariputs == Haripur

• Ali Farid said:

Reminder: Protest in London today at 2pm, infront of Pakistan Embassy at Knightsbridge. Please sign this petition and also pass it on:

http://www.gopetition.com/online/15064.html

Students from universities all around the world are joining the protest against Martial Law and raising their voice for their basic rights.

• Kami said:

Musharraf is so weak that he is even scared of rumours of his house arrest.

• Irfan Nakish said:

The Situation in Pakistan is disgraceful for us . There is no rule of law. Members of Students and Pakistani community in The Netherlands decided to protest at Pakistan embassy The Hague and as the matter is related to the attack on judiciary, they will then gather at International court of justice (IJC) to hand over a memorandum.

• chussain said:

Yes a fund should be set up for these judges because what they are doing is for teh future of kids and for future of Pakistan. I think and believe a fund should be set up and even if these judges refuse we should give them without any advertisement. I am working as a consultant doctor in Ireland I would be more than willing to contribute to this fund.

• chussain said:

Dawn has reported that US Senator Biden has spoken to Musharraf to lift emergency immediately and has said that teh situation is alarming because like Iran they are fearing that liberals and extremists are giong to unite against Musharraf and in teh end extremists like in Iran would take over. They are scared of that and therefore they are urging Musharraf to lift emergency immediately and reinstate teh judges. They are alarmed because he has attacked teh liberal section and that is what teh Americans would push Pakistan further in turmoil.

• Aneeza said:

@ HayaH Haeenara

Thank you so much for your full of inspiration message. We need all the encouragement and prayers that we can get.

• Sohail Agha said:

http://tinyurl.com/2mrspy

This is what the ‘Full Human Being’s media’ Financial Times wrote today….(Our own being not yet Human Enough to have the Rights according to the in-effective subcontractor (thekedar)

�A desperate power grab in Pakistan

….That is wholly bogus. Gen Musharraf is not acting to protect his country – or even as an effective subcontractor in the US administration’s “war on terror�. This move is to protect his power from judicial and political challenge…..�

• Faisal said:

LETS START A WEBSITE HANG PAKISTANIGENERALS.COM
    THIS IS THE REAL SOLUTION AND A PERMANANT FIX.

• Junaid said:

Remember, Remember! The 5th of November!! same thing gonna happen soon in Pakistan now!

• Junaid said:

I guess its good if someone have contact in Geo or ARY. It can help to influence more on people.

Its good to organize protest other than Pakistan but it will influence more if someone can do in Pakistan.. There are Youngsters with a hell lot of passion to change the system..

• libertarian said:

remember remember the 5th of november….
    we are merely sheep and cattle in this ango-american new world order…yes they would want musharraf to go b/c his job is done and now can be continued by benazir…

They give money through world bank and IMF to show prosperity in the country and then hire guys like shaukat aziz as economic hitman…screw around with statistics claiminig prosperity….yes there is prosperity in Pakistan but among the upper echelon of society…ask the poor man about the 16 billion dollar reserves and he will just cry…ask the “moderate enlightened” if they can now freely get their booze and women and they will love musharraf…the oldest trick in the book is incite fear of extremism
    and terror of radicals and you will have sheep+people=sheeple following you…hitler did that and so did bush… I WANT MY CONSTITUTION BACK!!

how is this possible that all the lawyers, judges, human rights officials, other leaders be in jail or house arrest and benazir going around doing press conferences and airing her veiws acting like she will take all the parties together and be the “savior” of Pakistan….
    we have been duped and conned enough times…I grew up in the 90′s era and i have seen every vile political stunt there is in the pakistani political book ..but i am not going to tolerate this…I am a free man and not a slave…PEOPLE RISE UP!!!

REMEMBER REMEMBER THE 5TH OF NOVEMBER!!!
    RESTORE THE REPUBLIC!!!

• libertarian said:

@ kami…US senators are you for real…great ask them To do something…Look at what Joe Biden is doing and says in presidential debates and barack obama and hillary and god help the gulliani’s…There is only one guy with integrity and honesty who understands the foreign policy of America…That is congressman RON PAUL…
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AD7dnFDdwu0

I am going tho write to him because i have already joined his revolution to keep america from policing the world and supporting dictators like Musharraf…
    RON PAUL REVOULUTION!!
    REMEMBER REMEMBER THE 5TH OF NOVEMBER!!

If you like this guy donate to him as he is today making history with the single biggest donation in the history of the primaries…
    The disease can only be cured from the source…ie America and Britain are a life line to Musharraf, Zia and Ayub kHAN, Benazir and the rest and if we can elect some1 in the US who will get America off our backs in Pakistan then REAL democracy will flourish and not cronies….
    RESTORE THE REPUBLIC!!!
    BRING BACK THE CONSTITUTION!!!

• Nadia said:

Can anyone please tell me that why Benazir is moving freely while everyone else is arrested ? Do we still believe that she hasnt struck a deal with Busharaf.

• Zarak Khan said:

From the NY Times

November 5, 2007, 11:42 am
    In Pakistan, a Fight to Stay Connected on the Web
    By Mike Nizza

Tags: democracy, law, pakistan

Considering the signals and rumors that have swirled for months, including a particularly intense day in August, it would seem that both the Pakistani government and the political opposition have had time to anticipate and prepare for the emergency-rule decree issued on Saturday by Gen. Pervez Musharraf, the president of the country.

On the government’s side, that has meant tightening its grip over many aspects of Pakistani society, including one emerging tool for opposition groups the world over: the Internet.

In 2006, Pakistan did not have “a sophisticated blocking system, nor does the government have a coherent policy on what sites should be blacklisted,� according to a report by OpenNet Initiative, a group that monitors Internet censorship. But that began to change during the uproar last year over the publication in Denmark of a cartoon depicting Muhammad, which many Muslims found offensive. The Pakistani Supreme Court ordered a block on all Web sites displaying the cartoon.

The censorship campaign was messy — one blog hosted by Blogspot published the cartoon, but authorities were forced to block thousands of others as well — and formal efforts to manage Internet censorship were started in the aftermath. By March, a blacklist with dozens of sites was reported.
    This past weekend, Pakistanis found that they had been blocked from accessing many non-official news and opposition sites, but one major Pakistani news site has found a way around the ban, even after authorities reportedly ransacked its offices in Islamabad.

Geo TV, which broadcasts from Dubai, has created a live audio stream of their Urdu-language channel that many Pakistani blogs and Western news sources are using to keep track of the situation throughout Pakistan. It can be heard on satellite radio and through broadband Internet connections.

Another leading blogger in Pakistani had a backup plan as well. Awab Alvi of Teeth Maestro issued the following message shortly after Gen. Musharraf’s announcement. From the Society Against Internet Censorship in Pakistan:

I THINK ITS TIME THAT ALL PAKISTAN BASED BLOGGERS SHOULD STOP BLOGGING AND BE CAREFUL SINCE ITS BEING CONFIRMED THAT MARITAL LAW IS IN EFFECT WE ALL HAVE TO PLAY IT SAFE – HAND OVER REIGNS TO INTERNATIONAL REPORTERS AND BLOGGERS TO HELP REPORT – WE CANNOT RISK IT HERE

As an example I have handed over my blog posting rights to a free speech activist Ange Embuldeniya and will start live reporting

I know how much we want to report but please this is a MARTIAL LAW.

His blog offered updates from the protests, filed using a Blackberry, as well as practical advice about maintaining “passive resistance,� including one item on how to endure tear gas, which the police used today in Lahore:

4) Home-made Tear Gas Remedy (via a message posted on a facebook group):
    -Take a bottle of tap water
    -Take an onion
    -Take a thick towelette
    -When teargassed, wet towelette, bite down upon the onion and wrap towelet around face.
    It was not clear how many other Pakistani bloggers followed Mr. Alvi’s lead.

For extensive round-ups of blogs and other voices covering the developing situation in Pakistan, check out the site of The Guardian, the British newspaper, which has a running blog, and that of Global Voices, which compiled some interesting reactions to the news.

• libertarian said:

@nadia my question exactly if you read my post….i am bemused and NEED an answer NOW!

• Zarak Khan said:

NY EVENT: Demo in front of Pakistani consulate

Pakistani students at Columbia are organizing a demonstration in front of the Pakistani Consulate in New York, Mon Nov 5, 2pm.

http://www1.cs.columbia.edu/~salman/pakistanemergency/

• Zarak Khan said:

From the Daily Times:

Anti-Musharraf material: Government will monitor newspapers
    DCO can suspend declarations for a month in case of violation of ordinance
    * IOs expected to submit daily report to publicity director

ISLAMABAD: The government has decided to monitor 21 national Urdu and English language newspapers to ensure implementation of the newly promulgated Press, Newspapers, News Agencies, and Books Registration (Amendment) Ordinance, 2007. Special officers have been appointed for this purpose, it was learnt.

“Special officers have been asked to scan news, editorials, and readers’ letters containing material against President General Pervez Musharraf and the armed forces,� an Information Ministry official told Daily Times, asking not to be named.

He said provincial information departments were also directed to monitor the newspapers. Thirteen Urdu and eight English newspapers had been listed by the Press Information Department (PID) to monitor.

DCO: District coordination officers or deputy commissioner can suspend the declaration of newspapers for 30 days in case of violation of the ordinance.

English language newspapers to be watched include:
    • Daily Times
    • The News
    • The Nation
    • Dawn
    • Pakistan Observer
    • The Post
    • Patriot
    • ribune

Urdu language newspapers on the list include
    • Jang
    • Nawa-e-Waqt
    • Express
    • Ausaf
    • Pakistan
    • Jinnah
    • Khabrain
    • Al-Akhbar
    • Asas
    • Musalman
    • Azkar
    • Islam
    • Kainat

Information Officer (IO) Muhammad Irfan is to monitor Daily Times,
    IO Ali Umar – The News,
    IO Aamir Raza – Dawn,
    IO Inamullah – The Nation,
    IO Feroz Khan – Pakistan Observer,
    IO Fasihullah – The Post,
    IO Syed Zaki Haider Rizvi – Patriot
    IO Naveedur Rehman – Tribune.

PID deputy directors Saeed Javed, Muhammad Asim Khichi, Akhtar Munir, Qamar Abbass, Mobashar Hassan and Ali Nawaz will monitor Jang, Nawa-e-Waqt, Ausaf and Jinnah.

IOs Din Kalam, Amin Jan Marwat, Shagufta Ansari, Safadar Gondal, Shahab Hamid, Ehsanul Hassan and Muhammad Arshad will monitor Express, Al-Akhbar, Asas, Musalman, Azkar, Islam and Kainat.

Daily report: These officials are to submit a daily report to Home Publicity Director Raja Abdul Qayyum by 4pm. The official order says that the newspapers will be “monitored in accordance with relevant provisions of Ordinance No LXIV of 2007 on daily basis and till further orders�.

Full article can be read at http://www.dailytimes.com.pk/default.asp?page=2007\116\story_6-11-2007_pg7_23

So my dear friends I have 2 request from you:

1) Can someone get the contact information for these censorship a*#holes and publish it for all of us.
    2) Fill up their inboxes. Give them some real work to do

I will start with the following. Please add on.

Gen Musharaf while driving round Islamabad came across long queues of Pakistanis outside several embassies wanting visas and entry permits to go abroad. He got out of his car and joined a line to find out why so many people wanted to leave the country.

No sooner did people see the general with them they left the queue to return to their homes.Gen Musharaf asked them why they were doing so.

They replied: “If you are leaving Pakistan there is no need for us to go.”

• imran ghazali said:

Admin plz spread this vdo or ppl make it better and tell the news channels to use this song!
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_eXua_qlq_8