CALL FOR ACTIONS

Post only coordination of Petitions, Meetings, Protests, and Ideas here. No political advertisements or debate please.
Latest Videos of Protests can be found at pkunited.com/category/videos/
Please upload protest videos at YouTube and email to admin@pkunited.com for uploads.

103 Comments »

Assalamualaikum,

A protest has been arranged in front of Pakistani Consulate in Toronto.

Day: Friday, Nov 9.
    Time: 4 P.M
    Venue: Pakistani Consulate in Toronto

Please let your friends and relatives in Toronto know about the event & request to participate.

I got this email from someone today:
    Are you afraid to Speak AGAINST the Ruling Dictatorship?
    DON’T BE!!!
    EXPRESS YOURSELF!

Are you concerned about the Emergency Situation Imposed by Musharraf?
    Do you want to see a Better, Peaceful, Progressive and Stable Pakistan?

IF YES - THEN DON’T HESITATE TO EXPRESS YOURSELF!

As an Individual You can:
    1. Tie Black Arm Bands/ Wrist Bands/ Head Bands

As a family you can:
    2. Hoist a Blag Flag on your Home/ Car

As a responsible citizen of Pakistan you can :
    3. Encourage this Peaceful Protest and spread the word on Black Bands.

REMEMBER: Silence is a form of Admission!
    NEVER AGAIN TO ANOTHER DICTATOR
    Never Underestimate the Power of Expression!

I think we need coordinators from different cities to arrange and plan protest at several cities of Pakistan at this weekend, regardless of how many people can join. Please volunteer and mention the city,name.

@Admin plz set a column with coordinator name,place, Handpone number etc.

Plz give further suggestions on this idea.

it is very simple idea and the ppl from IT field can even do it very easily.

Make email bomb(like hundreds of email) with text about martial law or whatever they think its appropriate and start sending those to govt email addresses. Like email addresse of PMLQ MNA, govt offices or even to the military officer.

there is a protest arranged in toronto at queens park on 10th november saturday from 2-4 pm..from there we will march to the foreign office…everybody is invited

I like shazs idea of coordinating protests in pakistan just like pkunited is doing overseas.just a suggestion dont give telephone numbers of pakistani coordinators out openly,rather use email for communication

7. Jamil Chaudhry Says:
    November 8th, 2007 at 8:12 am

I HAVE TWO SUGGESTIONS TO MARK PROTEST BY THE GENERAL PUBLIC IN PAKISTAN.
    1. THE PEOPLE SHOULD PUT A BLACK FLAG ON THEIR HOUSES.
    .THE PEOPLE SHOULD MARK A PROTEST BY JUST TAKING ALL THE FAMILY OUT OF THEIR HOUSES AND SIT IN FRONT OF THEIR HOUSE FOR HALF AN HOUR THROUGH OUT THE COUNTRY. THIS IS EASY AND SAFE FOR EVERYONE AND THEN THE GOVT SHALL KNOW THAT HOW MUCH THE PEOPLE HATE THEM.

8. Jamil Chaudhry Says:
    November 8th, 2007 at 8:15 am

ANY PROTEST IN VANCOUVER? THEN LET ME KNOW
    THANKS

1. Approach to the volunteers in colleges and universities of all the major cities.

2. Awareness/Activation campaign led a team of students consisting 2-3 students in each Muhla and colony where they will go door to door at night to convince people by informing them the gravity of the problem. Particularly they should target young people and educated elders.

3. Awareness team should prepare comprehensive agitation strategies along with the convinced persons of each Muhla and colony that how to confront police by avoiding arrests.

4. Awareness teams of a city or sub-part of a city should set together at secret place to discuss progress and future strategies.

5. Person directing awareness compaign of a city should report their progress back in capital city of each province.

Details can be polished further with input from other people on the forum

I have send admin a pdf document. That tells what we should do and what has been done. It provide a good outline and still under development.
    Please admin post it somewhere on the website.

Wassalam

Sign the Petition against emergency rule in pakistan

http://www.avaaz.org/en/emergency_pakistan/

12. Sohail Agha Says:
    November 8th, 2007 at 11:03 am

Got this from moveforjustice.org

PROTEST IN LONDON OPPOSITE DOWNING STREET THIS SAT 10TH NOVEMBER

Campaign Against Martial Law in Pakistan protest will be lead by Jemima Khan and Ms. Hina Jillani, Human Rights Commission of Pakistan (HRCP) (Contact no: 07939782872)

Time & Date: 2pm, Saturday 10th November
    Venue: LONDON, Opposite Downing Street

Also, Mr. Khawaja Imtiaz, head of PTI London, has informed that they will be demonstrating this Sat 10th November opposite 10 Downing Street at 1 PM.

CONTACT FOR MORE DEATILS 24 HRS

UMARAN 6AM- 6PM 07897 35 99 99
    ZAHID 6PM-6AM 0773 754 6436
    PTI MEMBERS

Mr. KHAWAJA IMTIAZ: 07883063599

EVERY BODY PLEASE MAKE AN EFFORT TO COME.

THANK YOU

Hi All,
    Below is one petition which you can sign if you are against emergency.
    http://www.gopetition.com/petitions/we-oppose-emergency-in-pakistan.html

There are two protest scheduled in Dublin.
    On Saturday at 3:00PM in Castleknock Hotel Dublin 15.
    On Friday (Time to be confirmed) in city center.

Protests in Stockholm
    A peaceful protest will be staged:
    Date : 9th of November 2007 (Friday)
    Time : 13:45
    Place :Karlavägen Stockholm ( outside Pakistani Embassy)

for
    -Immediate restoration of the constitution of Pakistan
    -Reinstating the victimized judges of the Supreme Court without any delay
    -Immediate release of all political and human right activists from the jails and house arrests
    -Unconditional restoration of media and press freedom

Protest in Linkoping, Sweden
    Theme: Independent Judicial System.
    Start Time: 12 O’Clock Saturday, 10 November 2007
    Duration : 1 Hrs Approximately.
    Venue: Store Torget (The City Center), Close to Horse Statute, In front of Burger King.
    Note: Please be there 10 minutes before time. Its very very Important.
    Participants: Families are also welcome to join.
    Weather: It may rain, so bring Umbrella or appropriate rain gear
    What to Bring: Your own poster or post cards, your printed slogans or cartoon, or any thing you like to express your mind and heart.

Protest in Lund, Sweden
    Against the Martial Law
    Where: Stortorget (near Botulfsplatsen)
    When: 12:00 — 13:00 hrs on Saturday
    Expected number of participants: 30–40

16. Ilyas Sadiq Says:
    November 8th, 2007 at 4:44 pm

Protest in Berlin, Germany

10. November 2007, (Saturday), @ 12.30 Uhr
    Meeting Place: Berlin, U-Bahnhof Uhlandstr ( Near Zoo)
    Route: U-Bahnhof Uhlandstr - Breitscheidtplatz (Europa-Center)

Infos : +49(0)163 7971738

I would suggest the following structure in the EMERGENCY tab:

Link: Protests around the world – Link: Country Names – Link: Dates: –> Pictures or Link of pictures and Video-Links (YouTube etc)

Along with the Dates link the list of coordinators in that country can also be added. As well as the list of cities can also be added as in case of USA protests are going on in many cities.

In this way everybody can look directly what’s going on in every country.

It will also be encouraging for others too.

Wassalam
    Abou Bakar (Germany)

Several individuals stand out in the struggle for rule of law in Pakistan over the last few months. Most important are the honorable judges of the superior courts who have refused to take oath under this illegal PCO. These honorable judges are now under house arrest. Their refusal to bow to illegality and the state’s oppressive response are the clearest and most unambiguous expression of the nature of the forces arrayed on each side in this confrontation. Thousands of overseas Pakistanis are eager to show their support for these judges and to contribute in some form to the ongoing struggle. We propose the following non-violent, but potent, symbolic action:

SEND FLOWERS FOR JUSTICE.

Individuals as well as organizations should arrange to have flowers delivered as soon as possible to the houses of individual heroes in this struggle. This proposal was initially sparked by the sight of anonymous well wishers trying to deliver flowers to Justice Khwaja Sharif in Lahore. One proposal was to set a date (Friday after juma prayers was suggested) at which time these deliveries would be scheduled, but I think we should leave it up to everyone to pick the time of their choosing. The intention is to flood the streets on which these people live with thousands of flowers. IF the police intercept the flowers, every effort should be made to publicly display their resistance and to leave flowers at the nearest convenient symbolic point.

Dr .Zafar at ANAA has committed one thousand dollars to this project and suggested to pick one person in each provincial capital and Islamabad and send 200 dollars worth of flowers to each recipient. One list of proposed candidates consists of:

1. Justice Rana Bhagwandas in Islamabad. (Justice Iftikhar Choudhry is the obvious choice and other organizations may wish to pick him, but we felt his stature is absolutely unassailable now and we wanted to highlight the important role played by Justice Bhagwandas. But all the other “rebel” judges are deserving of this too and it would be great if other organizations could pick people like Justice Javed Iqbal, Justice Sardar Raza, etc.)
    2. Justice Khwaja Shareef in Lahore. Justice Ramday is also in Lahore these days and is most deserving of support.
    3. Justice Sabeehuddin in Karachi
    4. Justice Tariq Pervaiz in Peshawar
    5. Unfortunately, all the judges of the BHC have become lotas. We are thinking that the most appropriate person in Quetta may be the president of the BHC bar association, who is under arrest.

Every person or organization should pick their own names and go ahead with their own timetable.

1. Take this in the spirit of a WIKI. This is not some kind of centralized top down campaign. Let each individual and organization take it in any direction and in any manner they wish. Spread the word. The most effective strategies will be the ones that evolve locally in Pakistan. I hope Sabahat Ashraf and others like him will help to spread the word.
    2. Online ordering of flowers is easy, but those companies may not cooperate to the end. Most flowers should ideally be delivered by volunteers in those cities. Student organizations are the best place to target for volunteers. publicity in the press, over the internet and by word of mouth will be the most important factor in the success or failure of this campaign. Please contact whoever you can and carry this forward. ANAA will use its own resources to arrange or attempt deliveries.
    3. Overseas Pakistanis can send cash to whatever person or entity they trust in order to financially support this effort.
    5. Media coverage is key.

I am spreading the word. I hope others will come forward to take this much further. It sounded like a good idea to several of us, but if it sparks some other, better idea in anyone’s mind, please go ahead and act on that. Send us your proposals and we will try to spread the word.

Act locally, think globally…

@Abou Bakar
    i second this structure. it will be easy to follow and may be later used as evidence/record of protests held through thi site

20. abdulmajidmalik Says:
    November 8th, 2007 at 5:42 pm

Demonstrations in Germany(Berlin and Frankfurt)

Pakistan Welfare society Stuttgart (President Mr. Munir Sheikh) has organized two protest demonstrations against the imposition of Emergency(read Martial law) and attack on judiciary in Pakistan.Following are the details about the protests:

Venue: In front of Pakistan Embassy in Berlin:
    Date: 10-11-2007 (Coming Saturday)
    Time: 13:00 (01:00 p.m)

Venue: In front of Consulate in Frankfurt
    Date: 14-11-2007(coming Wednesday)
    Time: 11:00 a.m

Message from Mr. Munir Sheikh,President Pakistan welfare society Frankfurt:

All concerned Pakistanis are encouraged to join the protest. We will arrange play cards with different slogans but it would be nice if you also bring something with you. Protest is not arranged by any political party but by the Pakistanis who are concerned about the imposition of Marital law in their homeland.

Any protest planned for Los Angeles area?

Any protest planned at Pakistan Consulate in NYC?

The Pakistani Student Association of Manchester University is calling a protest against the ‘Unlawful Imposition of Martial Law in Pakistan’ on

9th November 2007 @ 2:30pm outside the:
    Consulate General of Pakistan
    Pakistan House, 137 Dickenson Road,
    Rusholme,Manchester M14 5JB

Be there and show your solidarity
    Long Live the Lawyers Movement!!!
    Long Live Democracy!!!
    Down with Military Dictatorships!!!
    Power to the People!!!

Pejamistri

Can you please tell me who is organizing this in Dublin becuase Inshallah on Saturday I would be there - I cannot come on Friday as I have already give appointments to patients on Friday and cannot cancel at this late stage but yes on Saturday I would come. If you can give me more details about it I would let all my colleagues know about it and we would come to Dublin on Saturday Inshallah.

25. Haider Raza Says:
    November 8th, 2007 at 9:38 pm

Hi, I was wondering if you can have a peaceful protest in Chicago. It is big on the ‘desi’ scene and I wanted to have something going on here.

Peaceful Protest outside the
    PAKISTAN EMBASSY Dublin Ireland
    Ailesbury Villa,1-B,
    Ailesbury Road,
    Ballsbridge,
    Dublin - 4

@ 2:30pm
    Orginazed by (API) Association of Pakistanis in Ireland

Just to clarify that the protest in Berlin on Saturday is supposed to start from U-Bahnhof Uhlandstr (U1) and will then march to Breitscheidtplatz (Europa-Center) via kurfuerstendamm. So instead of gathering in front of embassy, everyone should be present at 12:30 at the starting point U-Bahnhof Uhlandstr. In case anyone might be confused, there is one, not two protests planned in Berlin this Saturday against emergency.

Dear All,

While the media is banned and public gatherings are not allowed in Pakistan, we are planning a massive global ‘e-Protest’ to raise our voice.

We are targeting at least 1,000,000 signatures across the globe. We will send this petition with compiled list of signatures to anyone who want to send it to Embassies, United Nations, Human Rights Organizations, Politicians, Governments, Press and Media. Our voice will be heard globally.

http://www.gopetition.com/online/15064.html

Sign this petition and send this link to every Pakistani you know through Facebook, Emails, Orkut, Friendster, Bebo and every social networking platform available.

@chussain
    I will get the full information tomorrow morning. However as far as I know it is being organized by Dr. Fazal, and it is going to be in or near Castleknock hotel in Dublin 15 at 3:00/3:30 PM.
    Other protest is in front of Pakistani embassy in Dublin on Friday.
    I promise to get the full information before 12:00 noon tomorrow for both events.

@Mustafa
    Is it the one on Friday tomorrow?

Yes, demostration will be on Friday Nov 9th 2007

IF you like, please sign the following petition and share with family and like minded people as it is also a worthy cause.

http://www.gopetition.com/petitions/we-oppose-the-national-reconciliation-ordinance-enacted-in-pakistan.html

33. bechaari_awam Says:
    November 9th, 2007 at 1:45 am

I completely support sending flowers on regular basis let say on each Friday to all those judges who refused to accept pco. Likewise I will fully support throwing lotas, rotten eggs and tomattoes (only rotten I know the good ones are more than Rs100/kg) to all lota judges. Also we should all call pco judges as LOTA judges and defame them the same way we do to lota politician.

Lota justice dogar and company beware you guys and your next generations will forever be remembered as lotas and mir jaffer’s and mir qasim’s of 21st century.

PROTEST in DC!

For those of you in or around the Washington DC metro area, there is going to be a protest outside the Pakistani embassy this Sunday. Here are the details:

Date:
    Sunday, November 11, 2007

Time:
    1:00pm - 3:30pm

Street:
    3517 International Court N.W.

City/Town:
    Washington, DC

Please people, try to make it to this protest if you can! Remember, this is your opportunity to stand up for those back home who have to bear the brunt of this injustice.

PPL please try to coordinate protests in pakistan…I agree with one of the comments that the military should be targeted…I would suggest like protesting in front of the corp commander offices and houses…so that they are rattled and shift their loyalties…as personal interest is supreme to these ppl and what better to threat than insecurity…When this starts then military incorporated will collapse as right now only plots and vested interests are holding it and Musharaf gurantees that to them…Pakistan Zindabad!!!

I am willing to participate in an organized dissemination campaign using the net to encourage ppl to come out…i would like someone with IT experience to guide us and organize this…i would suggest using orkut and facebook to post unified and agreed on material to this reference on university and college groups of pakistan….Pakistan Zindabad!!!

37. proudpakistani Says:
    November 9th, 2007 at 5:03 am

is there any protest in New York?

38. imran malik Says:
    November 9th, 2007 at 7:53 am

@OKHAN
    THANKS bro for the info of protest in DC…i will make it a piont to be there ….at sunday 100pm infront of pak embassy…..plz folks all of you who live in va /MD/DC area …plz be there……

39. imran malik Says:
    November 9th, 2007 at 7:56 am

jang news is reporting that pppp has called for protest in front of white house in DC ON SATURDAY…AND THERE WILL BE PROTEST ON SUNDAY IN NY….

@OKHAN….
    ARE YOU SURE THAT THERE IS GOING TO BE A PROTEST IN DC ON SUNDAY AS WELL…

40. Javed Iqbal Says:
    November 9th, 2007 at 8:17 am

A group of Fulbright students from Brandeis, Northeastern, MIT and Harvard Universities are arranging a peaceful demo in Boston.

what: a peaceful demonstration
    where: starting Central sq ending Harvard sq
    when: Sunday the 11th of Nov, 2 Pm
    How: some bold writings on Bigger sheets of paper, pictures, and placards (suggestions welcome)
    Who: all concerned Pakistanis and friends of democracy
    PS: Some media coverage has been arranged.

Plz try to make the videos are pictures of these protest where u particpates and u can send to GEO, ARY, Ajj tv along with some newspaper, try to give formal invition to the Pakistani media there.

I suggest one protest against the opposition of Pakistan or atleast try to manage some display cards against them in the protests as they are doing nothing

I think we need to more than just putting on the black bands. We need to go for some solid and harsh actions that realy put pressure on the Govt of Pak. The first step that I think should be to block its financial means. This could be done at individual levels. Everyone should withdraw their money from Pakistani Banks. The secondly stop paying utility bills. All this will put Musharraf to kneis in days. I don’t think we can restore our freedum/democracy without feeling any pain. All this

A lot of us are demonstarting tommorow at 1 clock in front of Pakistani Embassy Berlin.

Pakistani Judges
    Brave Judges.

easy, harmless and practical way to protest

Message from a student in Karachi:

after being let down by many ppl to come out and protest against emergency rule n musharraf in Karachi (although they wanted to contribute but they were hell frightened by the MQM ppl).

I adopted a new way to mobilize people in Karachi against dictator n it did well.. yesterday I printed out 100 pages having slogans against Dictator n dropped them at various places n streets near my house at night.. it did cost me an ink cartridge but its totally worth it..

I found many elders holding my pages n cursing emergency n crackdown against media n judiciary in the morning.. but a huge morale booster came in the evening when i found some fresh pages with different slogans near my house, someone else adapted the idea n did the same, i was holding a paper when my neighbor came to me n said you should protest too against evil in one way or the other, don’t let these fools think that we are with them if we are not coming out in protest..

Im planning to do the same tonight.. I have uploaded some ink friendly version of the slogans in my album if anyone of u wanna do the same..

You can also start a mass sms campaign to excite the people for protest and also organize it by giving a place.

46. Bilal Kidwai Says:
    November 9th, 2007 at 11:30 am

Protest in Chicago
    When: Sunday 11/11/2007 at 1.30pm
    Where Pakistan Consulate (333 N Michigan Ave)

Contact # (616) 617-1613

47. Paki Revolution Says:
    November 9th, 2007 at 11:36 am

CORRECTION (Date is 10 November, 2007):

Dear all,

Assalamu alaikum!

The Pakistani community in Paris and France is being mobilised against the brutality of the Musharraf regime. The imposition of martial law which has led to illegal detentions and torture of the Pakistani civil society including the lawyers, judges and students must be brought to an end. The Constitution must be restored, the judges reinstated, the innocents in jails released and democracy and human rights restored in our nation.

It is to this end that we must all strive to end his brutality. Hence, a protest has been planned. Details are as follows:

Day and date: Saturday, 10/11/2007
    Place: Place de Trocadero
    Time: 1300 hours
    Metro: Trocadero (Line 6 & 9)

Our aim is to stand together with our people, to send a message to the Pakistani authoritarian regime that their days are numbered and that we detest their actions.

For justice, equality and freedom!

Paris Coordinator
    paki.revolution at gmail dot com

Imran Khan’s exclusive message for students:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OE5VdUJF5oQ

Is the protest going ahead in Castleknock in Dublin Ireland tomorrow. Please do tell me - I am anxiously waiting for the reply

Dr Hussain
    IRELAND

Protest - Islamabad, Pakistan, Nov 15
    Date: Thursday, November 15, 2007
    Time: 2:00pm - 10:00pm
    Location: Blue Area…starting from Subway upto the president house
    Street: Quaid-e -azam Avenue
    City/Town: Islamabad, Pakistan

Peacefel protest against the declaration of Emergency, prohibition on free media, and the gross violation of human rights by Gen.Pervez Musharraf.

END TYRANNY!! END OPPRESSION!!!

STAND UP FOR UR RIGHTS!!

Please spread the word and invite as many of ur friends as u can

Thursday, Nov 15th 2007 2 p.m onwards

Protest - London Doctors, UK - Nov 13
    Dear all AOA!

We are holding a peaceful demonstration in front of Pakistan High Commission in London ”For Restoration of True Democracy and Judiciary ”.We also want to show solidarity with the Judiciary of Pakistan.We will greatly appreciate if you come and stand with us for this protest(You don’t have to be a Pakistani to come and show solidarity with people of Pakistan and to stabilise Pakistan in order to control terrorism in a positive and more effective way)

Date :13th November,2007 Tuesday (we know it is a week day but you must have taken leave for other purposes and spent money on holidays, this is the time to do it for some thing good/our beloved country, this is the least we can do for Pakistan)

Time : 2 pm
    Place: Pakistan High Commission ,London.

Arranged by : UK Doctors forum for Restoration of Democracy & Judiciary. (permission granted and facilitated by London Metropolitan Police)

Important note : We do not have a political background, this demonstration is to show concerns of the “civil society”.

Aysha and Humayun

Rally - New York - Nov 13
    As an expression of solidarity with our beleaguered colleagues at the
    Pakistani bar, the New York City Bar Association, the New York State
    Bar Association, and the New York County Lawyers’ Association, in
    conjunction with other organizations, invite you to attend a public
    rally in front of the New York County Courthouse, 60 Centre Street on
    Tuesday, November 13, from 1:00-1:30 p.m.

The crude and brutal suspension of law and the legal system in
    Pakistan , and the repression of judges and lawyers there, require
    that we take a moment from our own busy schedules and demonstrate our
    concern.

Because the images from Pakistan show the violent repression of
    Pakistani lawyers wearing their customary dark suit and white shirt,
    we request that you appear on Tuesday in similar attire, though this
    is not required. What is important is a strong show of support. We
    hope to see you there and encourage you to distribute this as widely
    as you can. Thank you.

T HE ASSOCIATION OF THE BAR OF THE CITY OF NEW YORK
    42 West 44th Street, New York, NY 10036-6689

BARRY M. KAMINS
    PRESIDENT
    Phone: (212) 382-6700
    Fax: (212) 768-8116
    bkamins@nycbar.org

53. comment-top

Panel Discussion @ Stanford, Nov 13
    Date: Tuesday, November 13, 2007
    Time: 7:00pm - 9:00pm
    Street: 485 LASUEN MAL
    City/Town: Stanford, CA

On Nov. 3, Pakistani President and Chief of Army Staff Pervez Musharraf declared emergency in Pakistan and suspended the Constitution.

The Muslim Student Awareness Network along with Pakistanis at Stanford, Sanskriti, and the Stanford History Department will host a panel discussion on the emergency state in Pakistan on Tuesday, Nov. 13.

The panel will include:

Larry Diamond - Senior Fellow at the Hoover Institution and expert on democracy in developing countries.

Aishwari Kumar - Assistant Professor of Modern South Asian History

Erik Jensen - Lecturer at Stanford Law School and CDDRL Faculty Member

Paul Kapur - Visiting professor at Center for International Security and Cooperation and expert on security in South Asia

Moderated by:

Hicham ben Abdallah - Visiting Scholar at the Freeman Spogli Institute for International Studies

The panel will offer different perspectives on the current situation and discuss the regional and international implications of the emergency state in Pakistan.

54. comment-top

Protest Rally in Chicago - Nov 11
    PROTEST RALLY IN CHICAGO: WE STAND AGAINST EMERGENCY RULE IN PAKISTAN

We, the citizens of Pakistan, denounce in the strongest terms General Pervez Musharraf’s recent assault on the rule of law in Pakistan. By suspending the Constitution; dissolving the Supreme Court and the provincial High Courts and replacing them with judges of his own choosing; engaging in arbitrary and unprovoked arrests of thousands of opposition leaders, journalists, and other law-abiding citizens; and violently suppressing protests by hundreds of lawyers, students, journalists, political activists and civil society members. General Musharraf is trampling upon the very system of law that alone can justify a ruler’s power over his people. We stand in solidarity with our constitutional, human and the democratic rights of the Pakistani nation, and we urge an early restoration of legality and legitimate authority in Pakistan.

In order to stage our protest against the Martial Law and suspension of the constitution and civil rights in Pakistan, we are holding a protest rally in front of the Pakistani Consulate in Chicago.

Date: 11th November 2007, Sunday
    Time: 1:30 PM
    Venue: CONSULATE OF PAKISTAN - Chancery address: 333 North Michigan Avenue, # 728, Chicago, IL 60601,U.S.A.

This date has been chosen to coincide with the second round of protests that will be held in Washington DC. Protests have already taken or are taking place at London, New York, San Francisco, Washington DC, Boston, Toronto, Houston, Glasgow, Manchester, Canberra, Melbourne, Harvard, Yale, and Amherst Universities.

55. comment-top

Amherst, MA Protest - 11 Nov
    Sunday November 11th.
    Amherst, Massachusett U.S.A

There is a 5 College Protest (Amherst, Mount Holyoke, Smith, UMass and Hampshire) in Amherst Center, Amherst, MA from 3:00-6:00 p.m.

56. comment-top

Protest - London Professionals, UK - Nov 11
    Please join to register condemnation on unconstitutional steps in Pakistan

Protest demonstration by Pakistani doctors, professionals & intelligentsia

On Sunday 11th November 2007
    In front of Pakistani High Commission
    35-36 Lowndes Square, London SW1X 9JN
    At 12.00 Noon to 3.00 PM

Darkest day in Pakistan’s history – 3rd Nov 2007

Pakistani police officers hit lawyers with batons during a rally to protest the sacking of the country’s top judge. Constitution once again mutilated. Top judges of Judiciary detained, held incommunicado. Lawyers & civil society incarcerated, tortured & protests brutally suppressed, brutal smothering of media & freedom of expression. Plea to all Pakistani professionals to respond to their conscience & raise their voice

Please bring your placards, banners & Pakistani Flags (identifying yourself as British Pakistani Doctors)

For further details, contact:

Dr Safiullah Afghan, Email: safiafghan@aol.com, Mob: 07855451935
    Dr. Sohail Qureshi, Email : medirose@yahoo.com, Mob: 07904588134

57. comment-top

Washington, D.C Protest - Nov 11
    Date: Sunday, November 11, 2007
    Time: 1:00pm - 3:30pm
    City/Town: Washington, DC

On November 3, Gen. Musharraf suspended the constitution of Pakistan, illegally deposed the
    Chief Justice of the Supreme Court, clamped down on the judiciary, used excessively violent
    measures to supress dissident lawyers and human rights activists and blocked the nongovernment
    media. These acts, potrayed as necessary against the War on Terror, have been
    used almost singularly to attack the civil society.
    These are not mundane political acts, but gross violations of civil liberty: we are not political
    activists, we are protesting to protect institutions that protect our rights.

Location: Pakistani Embassy: 3517 International Court N.W. Washington D.C. 20008

58. comment-top

Protest - Boston, MA - Nov 10
    Date: Saturday, November 10, 2007
    Time: 10:00am - 1:00pm
    City/Town: Boston, MA

BOSTON PROTESTS THE EMERGENCY RULE/MARTIAL LAW IMPOSED ON PAKISTAN

THE ARREST OF HUMAN RIGHTS ACTIVISTS AND LEADERS

THE ARREST OF LAWYERS AND JUDGES

THE BAN ON ELECTRONIC AND PRINT MEDIA

THE RANDOM ARREST OF STUDENTS, TEACHERS, PEERS AND ANYONE TRYING TO EXERCISE FREE SPEECH.

On November 3, Gen. Musharraf suspended the constitution of Pakistan, illegally deposed the Chief Justice of the Supreme Court, clamped down on the judiciary, used excessively violent measures to supress dissident lawyers and human rights activists and blocked all non-government media. These acts potrayed as necessary against War on Terror, have been used almost singularly to attack the civil society of Pakistan and prolong Musharrafs rule in Pakistan.

These are not mundane political acts, but gross violations of civil liberty. We are protesting to protect institutions that protect our rights.

(A group of Harvard students will leave from the Harvard T Station
    for the Commons at 10:45 if people would like to go together.)

59. comment-top

Downing Street London Protest - Sat, 10th Nov 2p.m.
    Dear All,

Most of you already know that the Campaign Against Martial Law has organised a mass protest demonstration outside 10 Downing Street this Saturday, 10th November at 2p.m. You are all invited to join us there to express your solidarity with the thousands of lawyers and rights activists illegally detained in Pakistan over the past 5 days. Please spread the word around. This is time for collective action - we have to show our strength.

Please come with banners and posters with slogans. Be as creative as possible. All protestors are encouraged to tie a simple black band around their arms or neck or forehead as a visible symbol.

Some of us will be raising Pakistani flags on the occasion to visibly reclaim the legitimacy of who can speak on behalf of Pakistan: each one of us has equal right to determine the future of our country. Musharraf cannot decide Pakistan’s fate!

Please ensure that most of your banners are in English because in order to capture the British media’s attention, we need to do it in a language they understand.

So see you at number 10 Downing Street on Saturday!

60. comment-top

SAN FRANCISCO Protest on Nov 10th
    Time: 1:00pm - 4:00pm
    City/Town: San Francisco, CA

Pakistanis from all walks of life are taking part in this protest rally in front of the City Hall building in San Francisco.

All political parties of Pakistan are taking part in this rally. Their supporters, organizers and leaders are leading this joint effort.

Please do come join us to protest against Martial Law in Pakistan

61. comment-top

Toronto Protest, Nov 10

Time: 2:00pm - 4:00pm
    City/Town: Toronto, ON

Contact Info Email: democracy4pakistan@gmail.com

Pakistan has suffered enough already and now even our basic freedoms are being taken away. Media freedoms have been taken away, Judges have been sacked and Lawyers and opposition leaders are being arrested. All this under the banner of an emergency, to ensure one man’s rule over Pakistan.
    We need to protest against these travesties and raise our voices to take back our freedom.
    So we gather one and all at Queen’s Park in downtown Toronto on Saturday Nov’ 10th, 2007. We will walk from Queens Park to the Ministry of Foreign Affairs Canada - from 2-4pm. People are requested to gather at 1:00pm.

Likely speakers at the event:-

Khalid Usman
    Raheel Raza
    Hamid Khan (SAPF)
    Wajid Khan
    Representatives from PPP, PML(N), PTI
    Tariq Fateh
    Somia Sadiq
    Hassan Ahmed
    Saim Sohaib Siddiqui

The event will be covered by the media and our voices will be heard.

Be there to make a difference!

62. comment-top

Protest - Karachi, Pakistan, Nov 10
    Time: 2:00pm - 10:00pm
    City/Town: Karachi, Pakistan

Give us our country, constitution and judges back!!

For all those who object to the imposition of the emergency and the martial law,

For all those who object to the PCO on grounds of unconstitutionality,

For all those who decry the sacking of the Chief Justice and other judges who upheld the values of the constitution and the sanctity of the Supreme Court,

For all those who want the media channels to be restored,

For all those who want Musharraf to just bloody leave now,

Come and make yourselves heard. It’s about all you can do right now.

This is short notice, so spread the word to whoever you can.

63. comment-top

AOA all,
    We have a protest in context of
    Restoration of constitution and judges.

12:00 pm on 10 november by the pakistani community
    at city center Linkoping , Sweden.

64. comment-top

Protest - London, UK - Nov 10
    Time: 2:00pm - 5:00pm
    City/Town: London, United Kingdom

It’s time we took responsibility for our country. Bring as many people as you can. Wear something black and come with catchy posters

65. comment-top

One Slogan can be

“WE WANT JUSTICE BACK”

66. comment-top

Fatima,
    There is another rally in San Francisco today from noon - 1pm by:
    THE CRIMINAL TRIAL LAWYERS ASSOCIATION OF NORTHERN CALIFORNIA,

THE BAR ASSOCIATION OF SAN FRANCISCO, AND

THE OFFICE OF THE SAN FRANCISCO PUBLIC DEFENDER
    Details:
    http://free-pakistan.blogspot.com/2007/11/lawyers-rally-in-san-franciso-on-nov.html

67. comment-top

@Fatima
    you’ve posted the details of lot of protests around the world.
    Still people have questions regarding these protest.
    That’s why I would suggest again to have a link in the EMERGENCY page “Protests around the world”: This page has all the countries as Links. “” link can offer two options:
    1- protest by date
    2- protest by city
    and then the city/date page shows all the details about the protests.
    In the beginning it may take some time but afterwards it will be quite easy to add new entries. Just a suggestion.

Abou Bakar

68. comment-top

Fatima,
    Thanks for the great work.

God bless you, and our homeland!

69. comment-top

Dear All,

The protest in Berlin is planned.

Date: Sat. 10th Nov
    Time: 12:30.

The procession will start from U-Bahnhof Uhlandstr (U1) and then march on to Breitscheidtplatz (Europa-Center) via kurfuerstendamm.

Please note the error in the message above by abdulmajidmalik has a mistake. This is not in front of the emabassy. Embassy in closed on Sat.

70. comment-top

From Abou Bakar on behalf of Mr. Ilyas Sadiq (Coordinator-Germany)

Some disinformation about protest in Berlin is being spread by pakistani embassy as well as some individuals. Here are the CORRECT details about the protest in Berlin:

Protest - Berlin, Germany - Nov 10
    Time: 12:30pm - 16:00pm
    Meeting Point: U-Bahnhof Uhlandstr (Near Zoo)

Protest Route: From U-Bahnhof Uhlandstr to Breitscheidtplatz (Europa-Center)

If someone is late then he/she can directly go to Europa Centre.

I repeat again ther is NO protest on November 10, 2007 in front of Pakistan Embassy BUT from U-Bahnhof Uhlandstr to Breitscheidtplatz (Europa-Center).
    The embassy is obviously closed on Saturdays.

Abou Bakar

71. comment-top

@Pejamistri

Can you please tell me a bit earlier about tomorrow protest in Dublin in Castleknock area of 3.30 pm because i have to travel from LImerick and it might take some time to reach there. If i have confirmed information beforehand I can make arrangmeent to come earlier.

72. abdulmajidmalik Says:
    November 9th, 2007 at 3:01 pm

ABOUT PROTEST IN BERLIN

Brother Abu Bakr and Ali,

I got the details directly from Mr.Munir Sheikh(President Pakistan welfare society stuttgar) during my call to him yesterday. I don’t know him personally but his calling number was given to me by mr.muzaffar sheikh(representative of Daily Jang in Frankfurt). May be Pakistan welfare society stuttgart has a seperate program. Any how I think that your plan is better and everyone should join you.

One of your friend has already informed about your details on Pakistanischegemeinde yahoo group(800 Pakistani members from Germany) after my email containing the same information.
    http://groups.yahoo.com/group/pakistanischegemeinde

73. comment-top

@ abdulmajidmalik

Our fellow pakistanis in the Pakistani Embassy say that the protest in on Tuesday 13. November.
    How disgusting these people are.

It was just an info message to avoid any confusion or misunderstanding.

Abou Bakar

74. comment-top

Hamid mir, Talat Hussain and other anchors have decided to resign in case the channel owners decide to deal with the dictatorship. I suggest we setup a channel or atleats a webtv for these people and overseas pakistanis donate to keep it running. If these people are willing to give up their jobs and put eveything on line to get the right news to us it is our resposibility to help them as well.

any suggestions would be welcome.

discuss this issure here http://pkpolitics.com/forums/topic/if-tv-channel-owners-bow-to-the-govt?replies=1

75. Mohammad Assad Arshad Says:
    November 9th, 2007 at 4:30 pm

Is there anyone here from Malaysia? If ure interested in lending support for picketing and/or submitting a petition then contact me at assad62@hotmail.com

76. comment-top

@imran malik

Yes, the protest in DC is good to go. It is being supported by a bunch of local Pakistani-American student groups. Here is the link about the protest:

http://www.protest.net/event.cgi?ID=828242&state_values=SITE!.1

77. comment-top

I am trying to arrange protest infront of Saudi, UAE, UK and USA Embassies to let them know that as Pakistani we stands with our arm forces. Mushraf made the correct decision to protect pakistan. These countries should stop messing with our politics and mind there own business.

Pakistan is been long time neutral and helped Arabs in there universal jihad. Now its time for them to leave us alone and stop pushing “Managed Democracy” and corrupt leaders on us. Saudis want to see Nawaz sharif and Emiratie and West want Bhutto. If they are so good then bring democracy in Saudi Arabia, UAE, Qatar, Egypt, Kuwait end the kings and pricess bring democracy and may be elect nawaz sharif and bhutto as there leaders.

Please arrange a mass protest infront of there embassies and consulates to let other nations know that they should mind there own business. Help us or leave us alone not put there own agenda in name of democracy.

78. comment-top

los angles, California
    In front of consulate general of Pakistan
    Wilshire Boulevard
    @ 2:30 PM to 4:30 PM

There will be a demonstration in los angles California in support for all the Supreme Court Judges who stand on principle, risking there lives and jobs to save our country‘s constitution and also for free media today.

On Wilshire Boulevard in front of consulate general of Pakistan. @ 2:30 PM to 4:30 PM

79. comment-top

Pakistani people should withdraw money from banks - all of them and stop paying taxes and hit the goverment hard economically and it should be brought on its knees

80. comment-top

the protest is on saturday or sunday??

I am asking about the protest in Los Angeles. and the question was to Bokhari?

81. Faisal Daud Says:
    November 10th, 2007 at 2:57 am

Protest in Toronto took place today, Friday Nov 9, in front of Pakistani consulate at 4 P.M. The important thing in this protest was that father of Imran Munir who was kidnapped by intelligence agencies addressed the gathering.

I have uploaded two clips.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5EObYPfWCbI

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HZhmuDBUJeU

82. comment-top

Is there any plan to porotest here in BC Canada?

83. raja mukhtar Says:
    November 10th, 2007 at 3:50 am

The effective action to get rid off from present regime lead by Musharif, is to follow the steps of Mush. Just as he did with consitution, should public do with his P.C.O.
    Refusal of orders in all departments and work strik of few days (like in PIA of past days) would compell them to run away even from the country with out any human losses.

84. comment-top

please sign this petition

http://www.ipetitions.com/petition/legalcourts

I am also planning to arrange a place here in USA where all the well wishers of the judiciary can display flowers for them, if interested in joining signthe petition and I will contact you,if some one in a major city is willing to arrange and supervise a site, we have truck load of flowers for the heroes of Pkaistna, if some one wants to donate a truck load of Lotas we will entertain that too.

85. Faisal Daud Says:
    November 10th, 2007 at 4:19 am

@ Imran

Please contact local contacts of PTI, PPP, PML(N) etc to find if they are arranging one.
    I could find following contact of PTI from their website at http://www.moveforjustice.org/ContactUs/Leadership/tabid/143/Default.aspx

Coordinator, PTI Vancouver
    Naveed Bin Anwar
    (604) 836-7979
    contact_nba at yahoo.com

86. comment-top

Please watch video of Protest in Dublin in front of Pakistan embassy on Friday I took this from my mobile , so sorry for the small clip and quality.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z_ZrYrfw17A

87. comment-top

@chussain,
    I could not re-confirm the protest on saturday, but I plan to go to castleknock hotel at 3:00 PM just to make sure I don’t miss it. My last confirmed information was that it is being organized in castleknock hotel in dublin 15.
    Please mail me at pejamistri at gmail dot com

88. comment-top

@AMM.

These MQM ppl in Karachi harrassing ppl.

I second your suggestions of printing and dropping anti Musharraf/Martial Law papers in the houses.

Mind it these disgusting ppl (Musharaf and its supporters) don’t understand the language of peaceful demonstations.

1. ppl in Pakistan should demonstrate agitation in Highways where they are in strength and intrupt Trafic.

2. In cities Civil Societies/Lawyers should arrange their demonstrations on 3,4 different locations same day, so that Police and Law Agencies may not concentrate and their force may be divided.

3. Demonstrators donot tolerate brutel use of force by police and confront/run away as much as they can.

4. Someone should contact Political Workers in pakistan and organize them for distributed agitation all over the country by blocking highways.

89. comment-top

REMINDER:
    SAN FRANCISCO RALLY today Nov 10
    2-4pm

OUTSIDE CITY HALL

Several speakers and a personal friend of Munir Malik who’ll read the speech Munir read in the supreme court auditorium on May 26, 2007.

90. comment-top

Looking for Chacha Wardi Lahnda kiyon naee, audio.

We want to play it during our rally and do dhamal on it.

91. comment-top

Kruman - go on YouTube.com
    I am sure you can find it there.

92. comment-top

Ignore those who spread pessimism.

Generals days are numbered. He will go one step behind tomorrow, MARK MY WORDS. Whenever Bush says something, Musharraf takes one step back.

Today Bush demanded, within 24 hours, you will see Mush taking some ’soft’ approach.

Our civil society has never been so steadfast. Its the first time that a great number of judges refused. It is the first time that almost all parties have refused to accept new dummy judges.

Yazeed’s of any time are losers in any case!

Ab Raaj kare gi Khalq -e-Khuda, Inshallah

93. comment-top

Anyone with a UK address, Please sign this petition

http://petitions.pm.gov.uk/PakEmergencyRule/

94. sohaib hassan Says:
    November 11th, 2007 at 12:10 am

well i m totally against this emergancy all this is to save musharraf own seat and he is big kunt…country wont progress until this fuking musharaf leave his seat….

95. comment-top

We have launched a new website asking you guyz to register your protest.

The website link is http://www.boltapakistan.com

96. comment-top

http://www.boltapakistan.com

Please pledge for Pakistan and show support to those fighting for our rights.

97. true-believer Says:
    November 11th, 2007 at 3:36 am

WHEN YOU ASK GOD FOR COURAGE HE DOESNT GIVE YOU COURAGE BUT HE PROVIDES OPPORTUNITIES TO BE COURAGEOUS.
    THIS IS IT. THIS IS OUR OPPORTUNITY. THE ONE OPPORTUNITY AFTER 60 YEARS.
    GRAB IT.

98. comment-top

SAN FRANCISCO RALLY REPORT & PICS
    ————————–
    http://free-pakistan.blogspot.com/2007/11/san-francisco-rally-in-support-of.html

99. comment-top

[URL=http://good-times.webshots.com/photo/2365890650090686434cGOSVV][IMG]http://thumb14.webshots.net/t/24/565/8/90/65/2365890650090686434cGOSVV_th.jpg[/IMG][/URL]

100. trubeliever Says:
    November 15th, 2007 at 1:53 pm

IMRAN KHAN
    YOUR EFFORTS WILL NOT GO WASTED.
    YOU ARE BUT THE ONLY TRUSTWORTHY AND SELFLESS POLITICIAN WE HAVE.
    WE BELIVE FIRMLY THAT TRUTH WINS IN THE END.
    THE COMMANDO, HIS COMPANIONS AND ALL THOSE WHO ARE DEALING WITH HIM ARE GOING DOWN. ITS ONLY A MATTER OF TIME NOW.

101. comment-top

need link to any sites with anti-Mush anti-emergency banners, we are having a protest today here in Champaign-Urbana,IL at Univ. of Illinois campus (home school of Mush’s son!) and i need some good slogans, the site i had is not working any more http://www.cspfp.search.org.pk/. urgent please

102. comment-top

I don’t know whether this would make any difference but I see it a smart move by Lums students to make our politicians feel our presence. Bombardment of Boycott favored views may do the impossible and PPP leadership get convince to set away for this fraud which we all know would be ‘selection’, contacts of PPP leaders can be found at http://pakistanmartiallaw.blogspot.com

In a similar effort, I find some of the PML N contacts and have verified them personally by talking to these people, it’s worth dropping them a text or a call.

Makhdoom Javed Hashmi - 0300-9630407

Khawaja Muhammad Asif - 0300–8440640

Could anyone in PK please start a sms thread of forward these numbers

103. comment-top

LUMS beseiged by Police

LUMS is curr