Geo TV to Shut Down - 6

November 16, 2007 . 84 Comments   
in News

Email This Post Email This Post
{ 84 comments... read them below or add one }

• Asdar said:

Geo sada geo ….Amir is at his last stage

• nonconformist said:

I have visited Geo TV website but it does not have any ‘contact us’ email address.Where can we send email to let Geo TV management know that we salute their courageous and principled stand on freedom of expression?

• Shiekh Abbas said:

GEO TV looked like Assembly House only with Opposition members and they both criticized Govt. together, I dont know why but every step of Govt. was criticized by some journalists not all. A journalist must be neutral and having no friends and enemies. They shoud speak only truth. This is the only reason the people especially youngsters of PAK did not come out to support Anti Govt. policy. We should all always speak the truth and the truth is GEO is going to Shut down…

• MAlik said:

JEEENNNNNNYYYYYY DOO MUSHRAF!!!!

• BeautifulMind said:

@ ADMIN & Other visitors

Itll be a good idea to have a vote of endorsement for GEO & Other courageous journalists

2nd

Itll be good to collate and put lists of influential people in europe, uk & states to be contacted / emailed/letters etc to put across the strength of the opinion

3rd
    a list of all active human rights & independent agencies to be contacted and mass emailed

4th
    a link of various epetitions e.g. in UK primeministers petitioning site

Lets all do our bit

what do you guys think?

• MAlik said:

Dr Shahid,KAmRan Khan,HAMir Mir,Amir Liaquat etc

We will w8 4 yew all……hOpe we will see yew soooN
    Dn worrrry we r always wid yew

lUb yew all

• Usman said:

I would reply shaikh Abbas.Boss, govt representatives were given equal opportunities to defend themselves but they failed to do so.reason is that they were all in govt for their benefits, some were to be in power and some were there to save themselves from NAB etc.Govt ministers even started to avoid GEO calls to take part in shows.example is people like sher afgan, who has no manners to talk to anybody.
    Anyway, what I want to say is, ministers just failed to defend their govt on talk shows.

• MIQ RANJHA said:

Shiekh Abbas U R M*****F***I WISH U GET THE WORST AND U WEEP AND NO ONE IS THERE TO AIR THAT NEWS THAT U R …..

LANAT ON MUSH AND HIS ALLIES AND HIS WISHERS …MAY ALLAH WE GET RID OF YOU

• nonconformist said:

Those of us in the US can ring up their respective representatives in Congress.Please call your Congressman/woman and Senator. For their number, go to http://www.visi.com/juan/congress/

Ask to be connected to the staffer who deals with foreign relations in Washington Office.

Once you get connected to that person introduce yourself and show your concern for the restoration of judiciary in Pakistan.

Once judiciary is restored, everything else will fall in place inshallah.

• BeautifulMind said:

@ADMIN & others

I am an experienced commercial development professional and have an idea for everybody to discuss here:

If enough people on this forum agree im wiling to offer myself to start an initiative to establish a truly independent Pakistani global TV channel based in the UK and try and provide the courageous heroes of pakistan (Dr shahid & other journalists lawyers etal)an opportunity to continue serving our nation…..

We shouldnt allow voice of sincere pakistanis to be silenced…we shouldnt give up…..

This is very much possible and i know that we can setup a satellite channel in the UK with a shoe string budget (literally around 250k pounds)……
    This is certainly viable commercially as finance can be raised through shares as well as bank funding….and marketing / call revenues will make it financially stable and allow it to be economically independent….

(Recently an internet forum purchased an english football club through each member contributing less than 100 pounds to buy shares in the holding company…its possible guys)

Let me give you an example:
    Typical voters in pkpolitics surveys:2000
    estimated ppl who dont vote (say): 2000
    say
    each share is :100
    average shares bought: 2
    Therefore itll take 1000 visitors to combine to raise 200,000 pounds. Banks will fund to the tune of another 200k pounds. This will be enough to start and fund the channel. I can provide details if people think its a good idea?

We can setup a UK limited company (and also a US company for visitors from their)This will allow a truly independent control of the business to its shareholders who can vote on policy rather than allowing govts to pressurise any individual owner.

@ADMIN
    Im happy to discuss this in detail. I think we can even integrate this website & others with the channel. Also significant programming can be user generated content?

Im serious about this … what do u guys thnk?

• Khan said:

“It’s ironic that dictator is in charge and media is relieved”
    Exactly these were the comments of prominent new paper editor during a BBC interview when Musharaf took over few years ago after a military take over.
    Then Musharaf created the fourth pillar of democracy that is “Media” by issuing over one hundrad licenses to open private TV stations. He gave journalist a powerful weapon and what did he get back?
    All I heard on Geo is corrupt opposition leaders criticizing the General. No one has mentioned about ruling corrupt PML-Q leadership. PML-N atrocities towards Jang new paper and other journalists during Nawaz Sharif rule.
    Media did not give credit to General for what General did for media freedom before the current emergency. Media shares the responsibility of what is going on today.

• qabil said:

It is ver diturbing that freedom of expression, which is the right of each individual. is being is chocked by a few power hungry sick minded individuals. These cowards have achieve this by using police and army powers. It is dispicable and shameful. Pakistani people must not give up and rise up to claim their god given rights. First of all they have to unite together to free the judiciary. I admire Geo for not caving into the illegitimate demands made by the dictator and his cronies. One more thing I would like to say is the dictator’s ship is sinking and it is just a matter of time before Pakistan and media will be free.

• REQUEST TO ADMIN said:

DEAR ADMIN ..

WOULD IT BE POSSIBLE FOR YOU TO GIVE DUE CREDIT TO GEO BY PUTTING THEIR FAMOUS “JEENAY DO” ANIMATED VIDEO ON THE TOP OF MAIN PAGE, ATLEAST FOR TODAY AND PUT SOME BLACK COLOR TO SHOW SUPPORT TO GEO NEWS…..MAY BE BLACK BACKGROUND OR BLACK STRIPES ….

THANKS IS ADVANCE..

For those who support this idea, plz.. request the ADMIN SB.

apology in advance as i will be posting this message in many threads so to get ADMIN’s attention…

• zubair ahmad said:

AOA,
    Sada geo ,geo tv,and all private channels e.g ary, ajj etc.We salute to those who does somthing to reform the society and our private channel performed the same duty.We salut to those who were engaged in constructive talk shows which showed us the faces of the political leaders.

• iD said:

@BeautifulMind

count me in

• Rehman Zafar said:

Regarding the channel : Count me in I’m an IT professional working for ITV in London. I think we can sit together and discuss options.

My contact number is

• shawn said:

Dont worry Geo. These are the last minute efforts from a dictator. He knows he is going home very soon. I am not worried since I know Geo will be back in no time.
    Hatts off to GEO!!!!!!

• Usman - said:

Regarding the channel; i am in from US.

• Sabeen Khan said:

I guess the closure of Geo TV is good for people of pakistan, Geo news was just showing what the Nawaz Sharif wanted…like ANsar Abbasi he is the highest money taker from Nazwaz Sahrif.

Thanks Musharraf. GEO MUSHARRAH!!

• BeautifulMind said:

@Rehman Zafar
    I’ll get in touch…thanks

• BeautifulMind said:

Guys..

encouraging to see a positive response. In terms of programming, we can be quite innovative & allow volunteer journalists (may be even blogger types to contribute content and views) + recruit volunteers from across globe to cover & report their own areas e.g.all we need is around 5-6 volunteers in states to cover all pakistan related stories & news which they can upload into the website & hence the broadcasting.

Im sure we can gather enough volunteer reporters to cover pakistani stories.

Beauty of setting out a truly digital channel is that we dont need to spend much money on production & facilities etc at all & even automate many of the business processes.

I work with top brands like Marks and Spencers, Autotrader, HSBC, Ford etc in new concept & business development so i can use my experience here in a volunteer capacity

Like your private mailing list idea…who are you going to add to that…think you should start a separate news thread & invite peoples comments & suggestions
    may be followed by some cleverly designed market research form / questionnaire to get everybodys opinion & views on this

What do you reckon

• Waseem said:

truth is always bitter!
    Geo will come back InshaAllah
    Now its time for Pakistani nation to decide!
    Reject Musharraf’s regime bring CHANGE!

• naini said:

regarding the channel, plz count me in as well. my number is 07984623135.
    thnx
    Husnain

• observer said:

the way they are warming the blood of their viewers,, they are thinking themselves as soldiers,, I agreed,, but have they ever tried to think atleast for once,, about those soldiers who were victim of the suicidal attacks and who lost their lives,, and whose relatives are now deprived… Dont we think that those soldiers are also in need to project in front of media as the people who sacrificed their lives while performing their duties… I guess we all think that those were not pakistanis… ?? Because we think Pakistanis are only those who either on MEDIA or POLITICIANs,, right,..? Even I was not completely standby with the GEO policies but still I dont like the way the GOVT did against GEO. We all believe the GOVT is wrong.. But it doesnt mean we should forget about those security people who killed just because they were the part of GOVT… Atleast media could project them and could discuss their killings as well but we all think the freedom of media is to CURSE politicians as much possible… I am not the big fan of pakistani politicians and nor the Musharraf… but apart of wrong doing we atleast try to see the ground realities and to make everybody to keep hopes on…

• Omair Farooq said:

Since its launch in 2002 i havent seen the anchors at GEO or ARYONEWORLD biased even once.I have seen criticism of Benazirs policies, Nawaz Sharifs weaknesses have been mentioned in their shows, Government ministers have been questioned. GEO wasnt exactly against Musharraf or the government. What they tried to do was to show the very true picture and truth my friends isnt sweet. So just like Cheif Justice Iftikhar Mohammad Chaudhry, the dictator running our country just took good care of them once and for all. This is no civilized way to deal with criticism and what is wrong if some channel or some judge keeps an eye on the affairs of the government. The exact problem that Musharraf was facing was that in the presence of this strong media and courts, he wasnt able to fully follow American interests in Pakistan and to fully ensure his next 5 years in office and to escape the bad end what is in store for him, he is trying hard to stop all voices that speak the truth. May Allah give Musharraf guidance and relieve us of him and all my sympathies with our Media. Best wishes for them in future and inshallah will see them back on air as soon as this dictator goes from our heads Amin.In the end a message for Musharraf”Geo aur geenay do. “

• MYA said:

Hats off to GEO.

Support GEO

http://66.241.198.16/important_events/freemedia/

• JeevayPak said:

Through PKPolitics forum, I would like to request…
    Talat Hussain, Hamis Mir, Kashif, Dr. Shahid and some others …
    to use internet as a media for time being. Keep enlightening ppl towards democracy and freedom from dictators and naPak army. We are so close but still far…

Thanks for what you guys have done in all this awareness I see around!

• baig said:

I am trying to hold back my tears right now.

Inshallah GEO will come back because they are on the right path. Our commando didctator will have mud on his face because he is wrong!

Good luck GEO!!!!

• Real Pakistanis said:

Musharaf you are mad and bad person we have ever seen in the history of Paksitan and history of world.You should be ashemed on your all actions.We hate you………..All Pakistanis

• Real Patriot said:

Im sorry to say You Mr.Musharraf End of the day we have no respect for you caz the things u did.thank you very much and there’s no history for you in history of pakistan .

• SJ said:

Invictus

(William Ernest Henley. 1849–1903)

OUT of the night that covers me,
    Black as the Pit from pole to pole,
    I thank whatever gods may be
    For my unconquerable soul.

In the fell clutch of circumstance
    I have not winced nor cried aloud.
    Under the bludgeonings of chance
    My head is bloody, but unbowed.

Beyond this place of wrath and tears
    Looms but the Horror of the shade,
    And yet the menace of the years
    Finds, and shall find, me unafraid.

It matters not how strait the gate,
    How charged with punishments the scroll,
    I am the master of my fate:
    I am the captain of my soul.

• akhlaq ahmed said:

This is not problem. This is good what happened. you should follow the law of the land, dont disturb the nation, try to make reconciliation between factions. YOu are educated, servive under given circumstances, dont try to destroy. you cant get 100% result so try yourself and ask others to live with others.

• tipu said:

@sheikh Abbas
    @khan

Lets assume that your charges that Geo was biased…and not reporting the truth..and was only giving anti-Mush news are correct…
    and that you take these to be your justification for closing down GEO…
    then, my friends, be fair enough to say taht by the same tokem, PTV must also be closed down…
    for as long as one can remember PTV has been an organ o the government, telling lies and propagating anti-opposition..

so please at-least be consiste and have the courage to say that PTV should be banned…

Tipu

• TCool said:

To me, the purpose of closing the Geo is not to stop the entertainment nor does it to unemployed the thousands of people associated with it but it is to stop portraying what the army is going to do in Swat, Waziristan, and related Northern areas in the coming days. Once the job is done the Geo will reopen.

• farhan said:

@usman

i totaly agree with you and thats the case,they wana put up a message that we are living in a stone age and who ever say no to dictotarial rules will be either shut down or will be send behind the bars.

but they dont look at the history,when ayub khan was toppled there was no geo there and the movement which had toppled him had build up was set on course for a year so its just the begining

ray of light is just there its all the case of gettin there so be patient and keep raising the voice

ur voice will count when the history will be written.

hence proved:

every country has an army but pakistan army has got a country.

farhan

• Geene DO said:

Wow … are we living in stone age ?

I believe the media should be responsible in their reporting and in this case GEO and ARY did nothing wrong. This is a last show of power by a dictator and the more you suppress the voice of truth, more stronger it bounce back. Patience is the key.

Geo aur Geene do. Hats off to ARY and GEO for being steadfast

I strongly recommend looking at online media solutions like JOOST and MIRO. This will build the Pakistani presence on these channels and send the message across to a wider audience.

• farhan said:

they kan do that but a new law had been passed which is breakin the law and held in jail for three years but i m sure ansar abbasi and others that they r not givin up.

this man musharaf is gettin hysteric now,i dont see him carryin on for a month

and news from the army is that an inside coup is building up

this news is stragiht from GHQ

catch me in a month if thats not true even b4 month.

• saqibtahir said:

Very shameful act by Mush the dictator.
    His days are numbered.

What a shamefule coward.

• Sinner said:

Come on yaar, these journalists are not going to give up. They even got beaten with whips (koray) on streets in the time of Zia but they didn’t budge. Truth prevails, no matter what dictators do. No dictator’s name is written in history with golden letters, only those who stood up to him are remembered as heroes. So if Musharraf thinks that he has achieved something even remotely significant, he is a fool. If anything, Geo’s stock among the public has gone even higher.. Geo and its anchors have people’s respect now, something Musharraf can only dream of.

• Rehman said:

salam it is really sad new for whole nation as soon as i heard this news
    I hear I literally cried n my feeling was like some very close die. I trust on Allah GEO will be back and what GEO did will never forget neither gone for ever . GEO showed the sign of victory and the the new way to live .
    My all prays for GEO

• khushbakht said:

is ghatia or neech harkat se is mush ki freedom of press ka andaza ho gya. hum sab geo k sath hain or INSHAALLAH aap dobara hamain geo per nazar aaeinge. INSHAALLAH

• faisal said:

AOA,

Geo and Ary blocked, i think we should organise a rallies in support of Media and against Media curbs in Pakistan.

I am willing to do this in Boston USA

• Kashif Hussain said:

Nahee Wuqqat Kissi Ahl-E-Nazar Kee
    Ibbadet Hoi Rahee hai Sam-O-zar Kee

Khooshammad Ka Sila Tamgh-e-Hidmut
    Khooshammad saye millay Siflon Ko Izzat

Khooshammad Jo Kurray Funkaar Hai Woh
    Jo Such Bollay Yaha GUDDAR Hai Woh

I’m PROUD of You GEO
    Inshallah You will be back soon

• Kruman said:

Geo defies tyrant Musharraf. Catch live streaming audio here:

mms://stream.wmlivesvc.vitalstreamcdn.com/live_stream_geo_tv_GeoAud

• Tari said:

I am sorry for the media ban but if look honestely GEO has not done anything postively towards our country. Always drum beat GEO first newsbraker crap stuff. GEO always projecing negative immage of Pakistan on the name of so called free media. Thease so called generalest are black sheeps and more dangerous than our country’s enemy. What a stupidity of “Punjabi Totay” every other hour running. This media has not done anything postive for the country and faild to empower the youth and up-bringing the new leadertship. always grab money from curopt politician and presening their propogandas all the time… shame

We will be much better off not having this type of so called free media and so called news anchors, analyst and self declared intelectuals…..

• Afaq said:

Musharaf son of B. Has hijacked the whole nation. I pray for his death in C130 like the previous Dictator.

• Amir Hameed said:

@Kruman,
    Thank you for the link!
    It seems that a lot of people are suggesting that Geo should continue either from Hong Kong or Singapore.
    It will be back in no time, I know it. These are smart people who were running this channel and they will find a way.

• Ali said:

@ Tari
    You do understand that you are using a similar “free” media to give your opinion where you can find anything you want.
    If you never liked Geo then it is easy to flip the channel. That is what is done in “democratic” country but guess what Pakistan is not one so …..

• laeeq ahmed said:

Dear Admin
    Could you please remove Musharaf photo from your banner. If he does not want TV channels and fair analysis then I think we should stop promoting him anyhow

• Ghazi Geo said:

DEAR GEO TEAM

SALAM

“QATAL-E-HUSSAIN ASL MAIN MARG-E-YAZEED HAY”

MILTAY HAIN AIK CHHOTEE SEE BREAK KAY BAAD

GEO, ITMANAAN-E-QALB KAY SAATH

• Bolta Pakistan said:

Bolo Kuch to Bolo

• Bolta Pakistan said:

Register you anger at

http://www.boltapakistan.com

• waheed said:

jo dya jal chuka hai bhugaia nan jai ga.

• Ron Jeromy said:

seems like some has died. Its just a TV show guys.Log on to Ron Jeremy show.It will replenish your thirst. Cheers!

• Abdul Rahim said:

AOA>
    Pakistan per yeah saal kuch ziyadha hi afsoos nak raha Pakistan ko her jagha mar pari herjagha Pakistaniyoon ko Ruswaiyan mili.. Her Taraf Tarikiyan hi thin jin mey sirf door sey ik hi Roshini nazer arahi thi wohi this GEO ki.Jahan sey lagraha tha key yeah diya purey Pakistan ko roshan kerey ga.BUt dushmanoo ney ossey bhu bhoja diya…

GEO SACH HAI >> GEO IK SACHI HAKIKAT HAI JO KABHI CHUP NAHI SAKTI>…

WE ALL SALUTE GEO>>>>>

PAKISTANI JINDABAD
    GEO AND GINEY DO>
    ABDUL RAHIM

• Ali Shahid said:

write geousa@geo.tv or in UK geouk@geo.tv to thank & not worry BACK With a vengence InshAllah!!
    FRIENDS:
    I am surprised that the main reason given to NOT kick out this rascal is that the Pols are corrupt!! Well who in their right mind will participate in politics in Pak when it means not only going to jail but your FAMILY as well being humiliated Remind you of Saddam?
    Don’t sit back Write to ANY one Participate in demonstrations We need a CHANGE TODAY NOT tomorrow
    Ayub Khan left as he did NOT want to kill 5000 Pakistanis as the price to stay in power Do you think Musharraf CARES how many are arrested, killed, maimed. He wont let Pak children watch cartoons or even cricket against India!!
    Lord HELP US get rid of this regime!!
    Ekbal http://www.geo.tv live 4 how long??

http://pkpolitics.com/2007/11/16/imran-khans-sisters-manhandled-by-policemen/

Imran Khan’s Sisters Manhandled by Policemen
    Filed Under Emergency, News, PTI - Imran Khan

• BABU from USA said:

@ TIPU

VERY WELL SAID AND THE GREAT ARGUMENT. MY FRIEND MUSH LOVERS WILL NOT BE ABLE TO ANSWER ANY QUESTIONS, AND LATER THEY WILL EVEN SAY THAT THIS WEBSITE IS BAISED. SO PK POLITICS SHOULD BE BANNED.

ALL MUSH LOVERS MAKE COMMENTS WITHOUT ANY REASON. THEY JUST DO FREE LIP AND HAND SERVICE WITH NO SENSE.

MUSH LOVERS GIVE ME AN EXAMPLE OR ANY TALK SHOW WITH NAME AND DATE THAT WAS NOT TELLING THE TRUTH.

IT WAS NOT THE GEO OR ANY OTHER TRUE INDEPENDENT CHANNEL THAT WAS BAISED, BUT MUSH POLICIES ARE SO WRONG THAT HIS OWN MINISTERS AND MNA’S COULD NOT DEFEND HIM.

NO WONDER MUSH RATING IS LESS THAN 3 % NOW.

• observer said:

IF musharraf’s policies are all wrong then it doesnt mean that the other side is all perfect… If GEO had been unbiased then it also should’ve been shown on TV that how PAK army is facing problems by the militants in tribal areas.. BUT I am sorry to say that GEO was failure in this. I’d say the people used the GEO platform to become so called HERO in front of that nation who never tested the FREEDOM of media before.. we are still IMMATURE to use the real FREEDOM of MEDIA for the betterment of society not to destroy it…

• khubaib said:

@observer
    U are right to say that GEO must have told People of Pakistan the difficulties faced by this ‘B****** ARMY’ in bombing people of Pakistan by F-16 and other gunship helicopters. Geo must have shown how difficult it is to tear apart the constitution of Pakistan, which these B******* do so esily. GEO must have shown how difficult it is to conquer their own contry. GEO must have shown the new generation how difficult it is to surrender with a force of 90,000. It is only Our F***** Army , which have done all these shamfull adventures so easily.

I am so ashamed that we have such Rulers and Army.

• Rehman Zafar said:

For ppl who understand urdu

GEO kay naam
    —————

Geo Khul kay Geo, Bay-dhadak Bey-khauf Geo
    Jab tak hay awaaz , Jab tak hay saanse, Geo

Sachaai Kaa lahu Peenay walo
    Zulmat kay ghar mein jeenay walo

Nahi door azaadi ki subh, kay jab
    Awaaz khamoshi ki Soor ban jayay gi
    Jab koh-e-Jabar Rui ban jaayain gay
    Aur Ahle-karam kay haaton par
    Phool pehnaay jaayain gay

Ban gayee Unal-haq , Awaaz-e-Khalaq
    Geo Khul kay Geo, Bay-dhadak Bey-khauf Geo
    Jab tak hay awaaz , Jab tak hay saanse, Geo

Rehman Zafar
    17 Nov

• s naqvi said:

Jab say Geo band hooa hay mehsoos hota hay jaysay zindagi may kuch kam hi ho gaya hay even mayri 7 yrs old bayti nay aaj kaha mama aap aaj geo news nhi daikh rahi hain…apni bachi ki yai baat sun ker may roti hi rahi or yai soch rahi hoon kay khuda hamain kab inn aamiron or siasat kay bhookon say nijaat dy ga??????????????
    GEO ky tamaaam khuddar workers ko hamara salam.
    SADA GEO!

• zahid mahmood qureshi said:

Well done Geo and Band reh kar bi Geo.

Islaam Zinda Hota Hai Har Karbla ke baad.

Since I have known that Geo has been baned and now we wouldn’t be able to watch it anymore, I’m really shocked and sad. I can’t express my feeling and I don’t have the suitable words to say.

“Geo was the best and will remain in our hearts all the time. We never tuned in puppet chennel like ptv and prime but it’s pray to Allah please give some kind of sense to out blind rulers that they can face the truth and see their real faces in the mirror.”

Plz don’t loose your heart and keep it up. Insha Allah soon Geo will appear on the air.

Zahid Mahmood Quresh
    Uk - prsenter Radio dawn 107.6fm uk nottingham
    http://www.radiodawn.com

• N Ahmed said:

@Observer
    A hired army, may be from India or some other country would have served the country better than these f…king haram khoors…
    at least the hired army would have understanding of what their job is….
    trust your self Observer, treat yourself with respect, if you dont do that..they will call you “bloody civilians” and rule you. for how long you are going to think that pakistan is not ready for democracy, pakistan is not ready for media development?? do you want to stay like a 2 year old kid who is not ready to go to toilet???
    shamed to be associated with na pak army…

• kamran siddique said:

its not shutdown, its actually a booting of new thought for the nation. its direct consequences will definitly b against the Govt. and i cant believe on taking such a rediculus step by Govt. bcz if someone (individual or media) critisises Musharraf in the past days, he always replied with the sentense that “I have given freedom to anyone to speak which he wants” and no doubt he replied intelligently. But now he cant say this sentence about freedom. The other on-air channels should also ask him abt this burning issue. This step shows that GEO was pinching the Govt and if it is not true then Govt should justify their step. And if Musharraf is unable to do that then the slogan of GEO should b changed from ‘GEO Musharraf Jeenay Do’ TO ‘Maro Musharraf Jeenay Do’

• Maab said:

About Geo ban I will paste one poem of Ghani khan for the young soldier of Go Tv:

??????????????

???? ?? ?????? ?? ?? ????? ! ? ????? ? ???
    ??? ? ???? ??? ?? ?? ?? ???? ? ????? ? ???

???? ?? ??? ??? ?? ?? ???? ?? ????? ??
    ??? ?? ?? ???? ?????? ?? ????? ?? ?????? ??

??? ??? ?? ???? ?? ?? ????? ???? ?? ?? ????? ??
    ??? ? ????? ???? ???? ???? ?? ??? ? ????? ??

???? ?? ????? ! ???? ???? ?? ????? ?????
    ??? ??? ??? ??? ???? ?? ?? ?? ?? ??? ????? ?????

???? ?? ??????? ??? ???? ?? ????? ????? ???
    ?? ???? ???? ????? ?? ???? ? ???? ????? ???

???? ???????? ! ?? ???? ?? ????? ????
    ??? ? ????? ???? ????? ? ????? ????

??? ???? ????? ??? ? ??? ??? ?? ?????
    ?? ? ???? ???? ?? ???? ? ?????!

• N Ahmed said:

I don’t agree with the concept that musharaf gave freedom to media. First of all, its a basic human right of freedom of expression and speech. secondly, the journalists and media personnel have worked hard, they have gone to jails, beaten up on street, burnt houses and offices and GOD knows how many other tortures they have gone through, so they have been struggling for it for decades. Thirdly, its 21st century, not 1970 when you could beat people on the road (although this is exactly what is happening in Pakistan now) for speaking truth. Number 4 and most important reason is that people have invested their money into these channels, created thousands of jobs and are doing a great job of creating awareness in public. People are paying license fee for PTV and watching governments songs…that is..everything is fine. People pay to cable operators to watch these channels. So there is not logical reason for saying that musharaf gave freedom to media..although at the moment there is no logic, sense, truth prevailing in pakistan….but hey…thats what we are fighting for…GEO oor Geenay do…

• Maab said:

Long Live Pakistan & Long Live Geo & ARY

• Dheet said:

Sheikh Abbas, Pervaiz Musharaf and Q League, not its time you guys place your thumbs on chair in upright position, take off your cloths and sit on that thumb, make sure you lube your thumb first, now rotate slowly slowly on chair, i hope this way you will enjoy more.
    Well Musharaf is a hectorsexual, instead of taking off his uniform, he took off his all cloths, and challenging everyone, meray pass tau kuch nahi, kiya ukharoo gay, kur loo jo karna hay.

• Saima Khan said:

I have just one thing to say. Everyone says that Musharraf is a puppet of the west and he is letting west interfere in the internal affairs of Pakistan. May be true but I ask you people, who are living in foreign countries and who go to their MPs and congressmen and senators and other people like that and ask them to put pressure on Pakistani government, that aren’t you doing the same thing. What business do those people have in the internal affairs of our country. If people of Pakistan don’t like Musharraf they will get rid of him themselves. You people are humiliating Pakistan, not Musharraf alone. How are you any better than Musharraf if you are doing the same thing?

• Syed Ali Shah said:

To stop Geo from giving latest news and to discuss the issues related to national concern is completely against human rights and this step of government of Pakistan keeps the pople of Pakistan away from the awareness of their own self which is their birth right.
    Solute to Geo and thier commitment to bring truth to the poeple. I pray for soon reinstantiation of Geo.
    Geo our gene do.

• observer said:

I want to say,, who the people are working in ARMY they are doing their duties as same as GEO people are doing in their CHANNELS… IF MUSHARRAF is wrong then you dont have the right to say wrong those individuals who are just performing their jobs according to their LOYALTY,,,because they are supposed to do so,, they dont have any other choice… We are all having our sympathies for GEO as if the GEO is only the PAKISTANI and rest of all pakistanis are foreigners ,, LEt me tell you,, we are so COWARD in our consciousness that we dont want to see the facts,,, We are having our all sympathies to GEO just because we all are having TVs and GEO is broadcasting its point of view.. BUT could u guys think atleast for once for those,, who are not having any source to display their point of view… Did GEO do something for them? instead of just projecting only political craps.. If you guys think that collecting some politicians in a TV program and asking them hard questions is what we call it SERVICE of the nation,,, then I dont agree…If we want to get benefit of real freedom of media then we need to cover whole aspects of life,, I mean we need to come out of ISLAMABAD and need to project those deprived people who are helpless,,,, if you think the security people are wrong then atleast those who are victim of the suicidal attacks… like citizen., BUT may be I am wrong,, because it seems the BAN on GEO is most DANGEROUS for the whole PAKIATYANI NATION than the DEATH of a common citizen…right….

• khubaib. said:

@observer
    U have not told the group which cant give their point of view. I really dont feel sad for soliders who are killed in sucide bombings, but i do wish that instead of soliders F****** officers are killed coz they are the real culprits. it is not because that i am a savage soul but coz they are harvestind what they have sowed. When these b****** bomb innocnet people with F-16 should they be greeted with flowers. Just take a moment and think if ur family is bomb ed to death and u r the only surviver what will u do to the bombers(this can happen to any one of us). U might have very strong ties with army but now it is time to be realistic and call a spade a spade.

• zaid said:

Salaam

have some adab for one another some of u are acting like small teenagers with ur nasty comments
    act civilized!
    inshallah

• Asif said:

The Punjab University’s 13 senior teachers have been booked on charges of treason by the police for staging a rally against PCO and in support of restoration of democracy in the country. The cops were reportedly searching for them late Saturday night

The situation in PU remains tense as IJT and other groups of students plan to stage huge rallies within the campus on Monday (tomorrow).

http://nation.com.pk/daily/nov-2007/18/localnews1.php

• jawwad ahmed khan said:

Till 10 yrs ago i think that india is the biggest enemy of pakistan.but as my intellect grows i found that the biggest enemy of pakistan is nothing but pakistan army and it,s generals.and pakistan is their investment.only the army has a right to rule,decide and enjoy the freedom.

• Aslam Jani said:

DOWN WITH MUSHARAF

GET OUT OF PAKISTAN, YOU POWER HUNGRY RASCAL

• Asif said:

Negroponte says the reconciliation talks between BB & Mush should continue. The role of BB is still dubious………..

• Ali Khan said:

It’s really strange that Mushraff and his government had nothing against media before March 2007. Government showed its true colors and intentions after March and media was only showing what Mr. Mushraff was doing. Closing these channels confirms what government did was completely wrong, that’s what even Mushraff didn’t want to hear the truth. If channels were irresponsible then why he didn’t close them in the past 6 years? Closing independent news channels proves that Mushraff doesn’t want face himself in the mirror, what Mushraff did after March 2007 was senseless, wrong, and shameful, and it was based on his greed and madness.

• Ali Khan said:

It’s really strange that Mushraff and his government had nothing against media before March 2007. Government showed its true colors and intentions after March while media was only showing what Mr. Mushraff was doing. Closing these channels confirms what government did was completely wrong, that’s why even Mushraff didn’t want to hear the truth. If channels were irresponsible then why he didn’t close them in the past 6 years? Closing independent news channels proves that Mushraff couldn’t even face himself in the mirror. It also proves that what Mushraff did after March 2007 was senseless, wrong, and shameful, and was based on his greed and real madness

• Yusuf said:

GEO…..TUM SADA GEO!!!

• ALIVEPAKISTAN.COM said:

Its really bad :(

• nadeem said:

GEO was shut down and all private channels are down, there is a saying that you cannot clap with one hand, what i heard about GEO and private channels(apart they are doing great in news and discussions) that they take bribe to show programs which potriate anti-goverment propaganda. Please dont take as an offence but you can check this on couple of websites.
    like this
    http://destogate.wordpress.com/2007/11/17/geo-tv-shutdown/

“Inside sources of Design, Photograph, Communicate have said that the Dubai government shutdown Geo TV because they were broadcasting unauthorized transmissions which were categorized as a risk to national stability of Pakistan. The order had therefore been passed where both Geo and ARY (which were shutdown on Friday, November 17th) will have to accept and adhere to the strict Code of Conduct set by the government of Pakistan. The source said that doing so, the channels were allowed to come online at anytime they want. However, both ARY and Geo face heavy fines from the Dubai and Pakistani governments.”

• Abbas Mirza said:

“I Support President Musharraf” group started on Facebook. The group is also hosting a Rally in Support of President Musharaf on Saturday, November 24th, 2007 at 3:30PM in QUEENS PARK TORONTO.
    More info available on the groups page.
    http://www.facebook.com/group.php?gid=13655060499

• waqar sheikh said:

app ka program kab chaly ga app ki news ak bar sunna cahta hoon app ka style sab cheienl sa acah ha