{ 312 comments... read them below or add one }

• Arsalan said:

It’s a sad day, another one in the long interminable seemingly endless supply of sad days this s.o.b. keeps piling on us Pakistanis. I wish him a speedy journey to damnation with all his cronies, lackies and cohoots.

God Bless Pakistan

• Naeem Muhammad said:

If some has contact with Dr. Shahid, Talat Hussain, Hamdi Meer and Kashif Abassi, please ask them to take part in forums here at PKPOLITICS.
    We should motivate them to utilize digital media to continue their work for a revolution in
    Pakistan.

• naveed said:

admin, we totally understand,
    thanks for uploading all these programs and i hope all these channels will be back very soon

• Nouman said:

I wonder why we Pakistani only cry and complain ……why don’t we take any practical step if we are really fed up from these people…why don’t we do our best to stop this brutality by our best possible means….. why don’t we step up and come on streets to eradicate this evil?

• Saeed ur Rashid said:

Maybe you can upload Ishrat Fatima and Taskeen Zafar’s Khabarnama from PTV.

• AD said:

Hello admin,

First of all, many thanks for all your efforts from the very start of this period. It has been a wonderful initiative.

Secondly, don’t be too sad. I am sure that in the near future these channels will restart. All oppression and injustice has to end one day and these measures might seem powerful but they are the actions of a desperate man and a desperate government. These are the actions of a man hanging to power by a thread and victory will be ours.

In the meantime, for a few days, weeks or maybe a few months, we can still continue to make PK Politics worthwhile to all the visitors. Discussion of news, articles from some Pakistani media and other international ones would be good. Whatever material is out there, it could lead to good discussion.

The above could be discuss with the visitors and the exact details sketched but there will still be material which only a few of our visitors access – those hidden articles in the Guardian which are highly investigative, that little piece by Ayaz Amir or somebody in the News which could have been missed by others…essentially, we could share information. And share it more regularly, more efficiently and share better information.

We must also make this a platform to fight for the media and contact the owners of GEO and all brave journalists and anchors to show our solidarity.

So all in all, well done. Be proud of yourself. And our journalists should be proud of themselves. They’ve been told by our leaders that they don’t look after our national interest. They’ve been told to copy their American counterparts. But let me tell them that I think they are better, more competent and much braver than the others.

God bless Pakistan.

AD
    dumbledore.albus at gmail dot com

• Rihat said:

Thanks Admin for the good work. If you can ask these tv hosts (our heroes) to post their views on youtube. Also if needed we can collect funds for them.

• Saeed ur Rashid said:

Dil khoon ke ansoo kioon na roye? kya ham nay apna he ghar barbaad nahen ker dia?

http://www.express.com.pk/images/NP_LHE/20071116/Sub_Images/1100300012-2.gif

• Well done Pakistanis said:

I appreciate your efforts in putting up this site.

I think admin we can give up so easily. If you close this site, Musharaf will win. I think this site has brought pakistanis together. It is a wonderful debating forum and secondly we have historical archieve of our great Tv shows.

I am proud of the fact that when Indians have sies of song programms and dancing programs , we pakisanis are interested in programms which are related to issues of our country. If possible donot close this site.

• Omer said:

Hello Admim,

It would be a wonderful initiative if you could request Dr.Shahid Masood, Talat and Hamid Mir to blog on pkpolitics. In todays world, no dictator can stop free flow of information.

Omer

• Xalman said:

Ya Allah. Ye Kaisa Zulm hai!

• Iqbal Hussain said:

GEO HAR HALAT MAIN, AND I AGREE PLEASE CONTACT THE BRAVE ANCHORS ( REAL HEROS OF OUR NATION) TO JION THIS GROUP AND FEED US THIER TRUTHFULL VIEWS.

• Javed said:

Very very sad and emotional moment. I use to come from work and watch GEO everyday.What am I going to do know? There are hundreds and thousands of news channels but how could I forget Hamid Mir, Kamran Khan and Dr. Shahid Masood.
    I pray to Allah that they come back soon with the same pride and honor.
    GEO aur jenay do (Musharraf)

• Well done Pakistanis said:

I think you can intiate debate on news stories. I am proud of Geo and Ary. Down with Ajj and Dawn news. I will never watch them. Donot close this site plz otherwise Musahraf will win. This site was banned in Pakistan , I donot know recent status. Do keeep it up plz…Go musharf Go

• missing_pakistan said:

Main kis kay haath pay apna lahoo talaash karoon…

I am living in peace in US, I have a wonderful home, a perfect family…but, I can not live happily.

I am surrounded by constant pain and sadness.

My soul is living in my country.

Why I feel so helpless?

We should do something about the situation.

Enough is enough!

thnx for your great efforts very much appreciated.

• Ali said:

Great Job Admin. Hamaray Hauslay Boland hai.

ALLAH ki zaat say mayoos nahi hona chahiyay.

Inshallah all the hard work and the people of Pakistan will bear fruit.

Pakistan will be liberated from all the Mafias including the biggest MUSHARRAF MAFIA.

MUSHARRAF KA ANJAAM AIK PAGAL KUTTAY SAY BHI BURA HOGA, INSHALLAH.

• IMRAN MALIK said:

@missing_pakistan

i live in va..
    where do you live.

• missing_pakistan said:

@IMRAN MALIK
    IL

• BeautifulMind said:

@ ADMIN & Other visitors

Itll be a good idea to have a vote of endorsement for GEO & Other courageous journalists

2nd

Itll be good to collate and put lists of influential people in europe, uk & states to be contacted / emailed/letters etc to put across the strength of the opinion

3rd
    a list of all active human rights & independent agencies to be contacted and mass emailed

4th
    a link of various epetitions e.g. in UK primeministers petitioning site

Lets all do our bit

what do you guys think?

• asfandyaar khan. said:

hy guys i m from swat(matah),
    i want to tell u very funy thing mulana fazal ulah’s FM radio is still working but GEO is off air.

• Zulqadar khan said:

Inshallah we will get rid of this dictator soon hopefully very soon.The sooner he will go the sooner we will recover.
    I solute Dr.Shahid Masood,Kamran Khan,Hamid Mir,Talat hussain for their sincere work,They did’nt compromise on principles just like our judges.

• Aak Aam Pakistani said:

mery azaez humwatanion dil chota na karo.
    geo nahi tu kia howa PTV is not that bad there r so many nice and informative programs which v can c like trakter ki dekh bhat ka tarika and barki aalat ki muramat ka tareeka.

• Ali said:

so this mean now that Geo and ARY are off-air there would be no news coming out form Pakistan. Newspapers cannot update that quickly and since these channels have been forced off-air therefore the arm twisting of the newspapers would be even severe.

• *Nj* MAlik said:

agar “AAj” n “DON NEWS” ko ijazat mIl sakti hai
    den Geo k saath kia problem hai Govt ko?
    mUshraf purany badlay le raha hai

• Javed said:

Some article against GEO TV:
    http://www.chowk.com/ilogs/64207/47408

Please give comments and let them know tat they are wrong.

• Amir Hameed said:

Well done. Please leave this site open for discussion and exchange of views.
    God bless Pakistan!

• *Nj* MAlik said:

Ab yahan Again PTV hai na….jO k saaab Acha hai ki gardaaan karta hai
    n wahan Mushraf chachu k apny chamchy aa k tareefien karien gay
    Sahi kehty hain Sheetan jaldi nahi marta
    n mushraf us ki saaab se badi example hai

• BeautifulMind said:

@ADMIN & others

I am an experienced commercial development professional and have an idea for everybody to discuss here:

If enough people on this forum agree im wiling to offer myself to start an initiative to establish a truly independent Pakistani global TV channel based in the UK and try and provide the courageous heroes of pakistan (Dr shahid & other journalists lawyers etal)an opportunity to continue serving our nation…..

We shouldnt allow voice of sincere pakistanis to be silenced…we shouldnt give up…..

This is very much possible and i know that we can setup a satellite channel in the UK with a shoe string budget (literally around 250k pounds)……
    This is certainly viable commercially as finance can be raised through shares as well as bank funding….and marketing / call revenues will make it financially stable and allow it to be economically independent….

(Recently an internet forum purchased an english football club through each member contributing less than 100 pounds to buy shares in the holding company…its possible guys)

Let me give you an example:
    Typical voters in pkpolitics surveys:2000
    estimated ppl who dont vote (say): 2000
    say
    each share is :100
    average shares bought: 2
    Therefore itll take 1000 visitors to combine to raise 200,000 pounds. Banks will fund to the tune of another 200k pounds. This will be enough to start and fund the channel. I can provide details if people think its a good idea?

We can setup a UK limited company (and also a US company for visitors from their)This will allow a truly independent control of the business to its shareholders who can vote on policy rather than allowing govts to pressurise any individual owner.

@ADMIN
    Im happy to discuss this in detail. I think we can even integrate this website & others with the channel. Also significant programming can be user generated content?

Im serious about this … what do u guys thnk?

• Kami said:

@ Beautiful Mind

There was a report in Business Week about this website and at height its hits reach up to half million. Your 4,000 users is a serious under estimation.

Anyways COUNT ME IN. I WILL BUY 10 SHARES AND WILL BRING my friends to buy some as well.

• gomushgo said:

@beautifulmind hope your mind as as beautiful as it sounds, count me in! I am can get you a few dozen share holders for this great cause just based on pure patriotic reasons and not business interests. Hope you are a British Citizen so your rights are protected, no idea of your experience level for such a mega project but go for it, Float the propsal, keep it transparent and Pakistanis all around will step forward. Admin create a seprate section of it later on but leave it open in the main discussion area for now as most people view this only

• *Nj* MAlik said:

@ beutifulmind

man gr8 idea bt i think it seems difficult n almost impossible
    kion k news channel akele aap ko handle nahi karna yaaar

admin said:

Excellent Idea. Let me create a private mailing list and lets discuss this idea.

• gomushgo said:

once the # of share holders reach 1000 or maybe 2000 you can shut off the share buying until the channel goes online, keep in mind you probably have to do it in a few months time or it will be too late. I have even done some research on this and there are digital companies who provide a turn-key solution to this. About 6 years back if you searched for the name GEO TV a site used to pop-up who claimed they provided a turn-key out of the box solution to multiple tv stations, all digital channels. I have no clue what they were called as it was 6-7 years ago.

• *Nj* MAlik said:

n agar ye baaaat hai tu man 20 shares mere b pakkay hain insalllah

n is k sath sath koi b kaaam karna paray xaroor karien gay

• gomushgo said:

Here is one turn-key solution http://www.bcs.tv/store/model_detail.cfm?id=804658
    but it is around $1.5million! so we need to go some cheaper route, i am sure university TV stations across the U.S have much much start-up and operating cost.

• *Nj* MAlik said:

hmmmmmmmmm Guys God bLess us All
    If we will done it
    i think its a gr8 achievement for pakistan n for us also
    PAkistan Zindabad

• Kami said:

@ goMushgo

i don’t think its that expensive. There are many asian channels on Sky (Britain) and to me it looks like that it is very easy. And they seem to have everything apart from proper Hosts (Vectone and other channels). We will have that plus point if we could get even two of popular Pakistan Host.

@ Beautiful Mind

I don’t want to claim big but I will do my best to get as many share buyers as possible.

• Sad Pakistani said:

Dearest fellows of this forum, my brothers and sisters, is there any one who has email other contact info for Dr. Shahid, Talat Hussain, Hamdi Meer and Kashif Abassi?

I have some practical suggestions for them.

Mian

• Abu Bakr Bhatti from USA said:

Asslamoalikum all,

First of all, today is another sad day for pakistan. But the good news is that the numbers of good, true, sincere people are increasing every day. Admin, it will be even worst if we close a forum like PKPOLITICS. this has brought so many people closer. The other thing i want to ask is if someone could get contact to our heroes (Dr. Shahid Masood, Talat Hussain, Hamid Mir, Kamran Khan, Kashif Abbasi, PJ , Javed Malik)please let everyone know. Last, idea of TV channel is not bad. we can talk and proceed it seriously.

• *Nj* MAlik said:

@gomushgo

Wow nICE Work man
    i think agar ye jazba aise hi raha
    den one day de dream come true!!!

btw i js wanna tell one thing to all of yew
    Dr Shahid MAsood belongs ma family
    i mean her mother was ma mom`s aunty….bt not sure i think mere mamooon ka contact hai in k saath

• gomushgo said:

one more idea, start it as a one studio station only, just one big green room with all the heros who just lost their jobs and god bless the voip, use it for interviews or skype. For the actual field reports from across Pakistan, open it up to Univ. of Punjab and media students or avg. man on the street with a digital camera, get their feeds in via internet, the editor/producer selects the clips, super impose graphics and read the news. The shortage after GEO and ARY will be not only the analysis but also live news. Don’t forget the Chief Justice was only restored and people only came out once they saw the procession live outside their homes and joined in. These are my few suggetions, Admin please bring me on board for more ideas if you are moving it to a private area. Just post the link here or i can post my real email address if you want

• *Nj* MAlik said:

@ mIan sahab
    man really i m not sure but he is a part of ma family n mein in se 3/4 baaar mil chuka hoon on functions

• Kafiz said:

Salam Admin,

I hope that every thing returns to normal. All this time you have been the center of every issue keeping us up to date. These words are nothing when compared with what you deserve man.

May Allah bless you. I hope to see an update from you soon :) .

Pakistan Zindabad, as Allah is the Boss.

• BeautifulMind said:

Guys..

encouraging to see a positive response. In terms of programming, we can be quite innovative & allow volunteer journalists (may be even blogger types to contribute content and views) + recruit volunteers from across globe to cover & report their own areas e.g.all we need is around 5-6 volunteers in states to cover all pakistan related stories & news which they can upload into the website & hence the broadcasting.

Im sure we can gather enough volunteer reporters to cover pakistani stories.

Beauty of setting out a truly digital channel is that we dont need to spend much money on production & facilities etc at all & even automate many of the business processes.

I work with top brands like Marks and Spencers, Autotrader, HSBC, Ford etc in new concept & business development so i can use my experience here in a volunteer capacity

Like your private mailing list idea…who are you going to add to that…think you should start a separate news thread & invite peoples comments & suggestions
    may be followed by some cleverly designed market research form / questionnaire to get everybodys opinion & views on this

What do you reckon?

• *Nj* MAlik said:

temmme one thing plz…is dat really possible?:$

• REQUEST TO ADMIN said:

DEAR ADMIN ..

WOULD IT BE POSSIBLE FOR YOU TO GIVE DUE CREDIT TO GEO BY PUTTING THEIR FAMOUS “JEENAY DO” ANIMATED VIDEO ON THE TOP OF MAIN PAGE, ATLEAST FOR TODAY AND PUT SOME BLACK COLOR TO SHOW SUPPORT TO GEO NEWS…..MAY BE BLACK BACKGROUND OR BLACK STRIPES ….

THANKS IS ADVANCE..

For those who support this idea, plz.. request the ADMIN SB.

apology in advance as i will be posting this message in many threads so to get ADMIN’s attention…

• Jaffar said:

Dr. Shahid, Talat Hussain, Hamdi Meer and Kashif Abassi, i think you guys are doing a great job for the nation which is in turmoil and i hope that people will stand up against the evil which we have been witnessing from past few years. I dont know how to express my feeling. May Allah destroy this regime which is killing us and murdering the Conscience of our nation. Today we are so helpless… Oh Allah give us the wisdom and the courage to demolish the cruelty of this regime.

• missing_pakistan said:

Hmmm
    Good idea! i am in :)
    BUT, we have to start something RIGHT NOW too.
    Some very basic and simple solution like youtube!!
    If anyone can contact all these anchor personals, they can still deliver the message.
    We need to keep this movement in tempo.

• gomushgo said:

maybe i am dreaming too fast, if we can get atleast a basic plan ready and produce a 10 min intro, i can bet that the local desi businesses in UK and US will support it with ads. Keep it non-profit (just cover the operating cost and pay the folks involved, it will be a full time job for most of the people).

• Abu Bakr Bhatti from USA said:

Please put this idea in writing with all the details

• *Nj* MAlik said:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=063aGrXI6Zc

Mere Mutabik ko Issue bana k Geo ko band karny ka koi jawaz nahi
    ye prgm dekh k saaaf pata chalta hai
    mushraf ne kion is ki mukhalfat ki

• paklawyer said:

does anyone have contact details for geo. pls email them to me.

• Ahmed Hasan said:

Geo bhee nazarband, nazarbandee mey bhee Geo

• reason said:

Is Geo news website going to stay up or no ?

• Syed said:

The idea of Mush (Poodle of Bush)is not to let the word out to the people of Pakistan. A very good suggestion is for setting up a TV channel but you have to ask the anchors if they are interested. Geo might find another way of setting up transmission. Here in the UK a private channel has already offered its services to them. The youtube idea is clever so the anchors should keep braodcasting through it and this website. If some one is setting up a plan to help them financially pl let me know as well. We should all contribute. Admin pl count me in!
    No to Army rule, Go Mush Go!

• pakistani said:

In my view owners of Geo made big mistake to, setup their channel in a Arab country.
    Arab states are never free, they have oppressive regimes. DUBAI is big fake bubble; there is no freedom in there. GEO should have set-up their channel in a proper free country like UK. In free countries like UK one can got courts to get justice.

Please set-up transmissions from UK, and Musharaf will never be able to get to you because if he will ever try, he cannot.

• zenith said:

Atleast remove Mush’s picture from this site.
    thanks.

• Arsalan said:

Guys

Starting a channel is a good idea, but how re you going to keep running it? I mean, it has to have some viewers, some ads, some money for salaries? Or is it included in your idea?

• BeautifulMind said:

@NJ Malik
    Yes its possible but nevertheless a PROJECT
    but hey it depends upon how innovative one can be….

@Kami
    I agree ..think if theres a credible business model think enough shareholders can be mustered

@gomushgo
    like your energy and support. I agree theres a lot of potential in terms of marketing etc.

I have asked admin to have a separate debate & comments on the website to gauge opinions and we can take it from there.

• Asif said:

@pakistani

I think due to lower operational costs ,staff availability, nearest free(so-called) port. Totaly due to financial reasons.

• mirza said:

Geo Tv made honest efforts to change the face of journalism by providing updated news with out any bias to the audience… I would simply say” i love geo Tv”. My day starts with geo and ends with it. My prayers are with anchors and management of geo tv. They have set unique corporate values. May GOD bestow them strength to face these hardships in the days to come… and i hope, we all will tune to it soon….

And for PkPolitics i salute the intiative and sincere efforts of admin to inform the youth and bringing them to a platform…

May ALLAH distroy the evil kingdom of musharaf and his pompous buddies… And i ask all of you to curse mush…

• BeautifulMind said:

Dont like this moderation malarchy every time i post a comment….cant keep waiting & dont feel like part of conversation.

Have i said or done something inappropriate to be blacklisted?

• Tahir Riaz said:

My message goes out to admin of this site. First of all thank you for providing us these videos and this site. I hope that you can also communicate my gratitude to the brave Pakistanis who didn’t bend in front of this yazeed-ul-waaqt.

If the means to continue a TV-channel is not feasible then I believe the efforts should be continue on the internet. In reality most of the news is fetched from the Internet but they are off course confirmed and reparsed in a digestible manner.

The fact of the matter is that our journalists already have what is required to host a professional webcast. I run an IT-company in Scandinavia would we would gladly offer our service and expertise to setup a live Web-TV free of charge.
    I also think that site such as these and other bloggers should combine their efforts in order to fill the information gap. Let’s not act as the Pakistani politicizations. Lets join hands prove that Information cannot be owned or censored.
    Get back to me at: mail@yanabi.com

Tahir

• Tahir said:

My message goes out to admin of this site. First of all thank you for providing us these videos and this site. I hope that you can also communicate my gratitude to the brave Pakistanis who didn’t bend in front of this yazeed-ul-waaqt.

If the means to continue a TV-channel is not feasible then I believe the efforts should be continue on the internet. In reality most of the news is fetched from the Internet but they are off course confirmed and reparsed in a digestible manner.

The fact of the matter is that our journalists already have what is required to host a professional webcast. I run an IT-company in Scandinavia would we would gladly offer our service and expertise to setup a live Web-TV free of charge.

I also think that site such as these and other bloggers should combine their efforts in order to fill the information gap. Let’s not act as the Pakistani politicizations. Lets join hands prove that Information cannot be owned or censored.
    Get back to me at: mail@yanabi.com

Tahir

• BeautifulMind said:

All

Ive asked our friendadmin to setup a debate on this so that we can gauge everyones opinion and take it from there

• Syed Khan said:

@BeautifulMind

I am in. I live in Dallas-USA. I am in IT field so anything related to IT I ‘ll love to help.

GoMushGo!!

• Rihat said:

We should start with some sort of network like (The real news network) on youtube and then take it from there…… initially a very low cost/investment.

• Rihat said:

We should start with some sort of network like (The real news network) on youtube and then take it from there…… initially a very low cost/investment.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nUdaivbetcc

• gayan said:

we are staging a protest outside pakistan high commssion london at around 11:00 on sunday.

“FREE our Chancellor”

Great Imran khan is chnacellor of our university “University of Bradford”. A bus will leave from bradford 6:00 am in the morning and will bring everybody back to bradford.Please come and support.
    for more information go to
    http://www.bradford.ac.uk

• missing_pakistan said:

@Rihat,
    yup yup,
    I want to see admin moderating discussions on youtube :) :) :)

Really it will be really cooool, and even pakistani students could see it too.

Girti hoi deewar ko…aik dhakka chaheay

• Sohail Agha said:

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/world/south_asia/7099122.stm

The latest interview/confession on BBC

http://tinyurl.com/2vctgv

• MYA said:

Hats off to GEO.

Support GEO

http://66.241.198.16/important_events/freemedia/

• Zarak Khan said:

It is a terrific idea to start an independent media outlet/channel.

However, I believe that in order to be successful one must first “metaphorically speaking” crawl before you walk and run.

Therefore, to start in my opinion the internet is the best option with the least expense. This can then morph into something bigger.

I work for a Fortune 20 company, have a business background and am heavily involved in the internet. Let me know if someone wants to discuss this further.

• Shah Saud Sahibzada said:

With alllllllllll my heart and mind @beautiful mind.

• Asif said:

This is a post which I have found at moveforjustice.org

Similar ideas as above illustrating that many people are thinking in the similar lines.

————————————-

There are two things which can be done:

(1) Move Geo channel to some other country like Qatar. If possible to Britain, or sweden for the time being.

(2) The should continue to conduct talk shows, and news and upload on the internet. For instance, on the website pkpolitics.com; and also on youtube. There is a famous channal in the US, “Democracy Now” which upload its recording on the web. Not only to watch but also to dowload both edited and unedited version. But there is one difference Democracy Now is a non-profit channel.

If govt. block the wesite like pkpolitics or youtube, there are other website too which function like youtube.

This will though bring direct confrontation with the Jang group, but it will end on the victory over the government. The government only want that people would not have access to the information. Both Jang, and Ary can join their hands.

As as illuration, consider Imran’s arrest.Despite all their efforts, the news of Imran’s arrest spread like a fire in the forest. To whomever I told this news in Pakistan was shocked by the role played by IJT, and that person also become a source. The government want to stop this process. The geo small clip in which Imran spoke with ultimate passion and sincerity is devastating for the Government.

They may include ads in those uploaded videos but nevertheless it is a deficit financing. If Geo/ARY can do that, it will be the greatest service to the Pakistan.

• RC said:

Send your sentiments to Mr Musharraf:

http://www.presidentofpakistan.gov.pk/WTPresidentMessage.aspx

Let him know how you feel.

• Usman Aziz said:

HI Admin,

You really have done a commendable effort of running this website. May Almighty bless you for such a noble deed.

I have a humble request: Can you please remove the picture of “BUSHARRAF” from your website?
    I am sure NO Pakistani like to see his face other than his goons-

Thanks!

• Lighthouse7635 said:

Go this page and click on Geo Live TV and watch the news. http://thenews.com.pk/

• Asad said:

I think the idea of internet broadcast is brilliant. I have seen the real news network website and they doing a great job.Independent media is catching up in the US websites like the real news network, democracy now and moveon.org are giving people an alternative source of info. Dr Shahid Masood, Hamir Mir and Talat Husain should take up this idea.

• Kami said:

If you live in the UK(Student/visitor/british). Please sign this petittion and ask your friends to sign this:

http://petitions.pm.gov.uk/PakEmergencyRule/

From all over the world, sign this petition (80,000 already signed)

http://www.avaaz.org/en/emergency_pakistan/

• Kamran said:

@ Beautiful mind

I live in Geneva and if you come up with all Business plan!!!!I can get you enoug money to run a news channel.
    This guy will provide us money as a businessman not for the freedom of media. I mean his main concern is business but rest is all up to us to speak tuth for pakistan.
    contact me at mkd911@gmail.com

God Bless Pakistan!!!

• pejamistri said:

For the first time news reporters are now directly attacking the mad general.
    http://www.thenews.com.pk/updates.asp?id=32385

Friends .. expect the BIG NEWS tomorrow.

• Zaid said:

I am afraid what if Busharraf banned PkPolitics.com in Pakistan.

• Asif said:

In his madness hes attacking the influential business community, Hes being cornering himself, what a Power hungry joker.

Dear All,
    We all want a lot of things to start and be done. Where there are several suggestions, I would like to ask the Admin to start a new thread on discussing a comprehensive strategy in cognizance with the prospects of a long drawn battle. I have already floated some ideas that we can start doing without much ado with effective results. If not a new thread, then we can start here. Some actions on ground needs to get started right now. What do you guys say?

Dear Admin
    may i ask y my posts are being suddenly put under moderation before posting?

• baig said:

If God forbid our commando stays in power for a longer period of time, maybe GEO could start transmission from London. The advantage is that the British have to follow rules and must allow freedom of press. I remember that is how ARY started out.

Also the idea of theses guys writing blogs is an excellent one.

Also admin I request you to please continue with this site. Inshallah all channels will come back on pretty soon…never give up!

• Faraz said:

Please admin, create a separate topic for discussing the idea of a new channel/internet broadcasting.

I would love to participate!

• Awais Noori said:

Dear Geo fellows, you are the voice of truth and truth can’t be stopped. All of you from owners to watchkeepers,every perosn ,i salute you , you are the heroes and heroes never dies.

• tipu said:

@beuatiful mind…
    good idea…
    please count me in…i am willin to help a little in admin as well, in addition o buying a few shares…

• tipu said:

@gayan and massive protest

just a thought…
    why are we protesting in front of the pakistan embassy?
    its in a cornor and really what difference will it make to them. And on Sunday who will be there in the embassy.

Really, the protests should be to wake British public to the situation. So Hyde Park, for example, is a far better place.
    Also instead of just standing with banner and making speeches, we should play clippings of police and army brutality…

In short, I think, its a waste of time to try to influence Pak Embassy…and even if they are convinced, what will they be able to do…
    I think we should use our nergy to create awareness among British people..

Tipu

• GG said:

Invictus

(William Ernest Henley. 1849–1903)

OUT of the night that covers me,
    Black as the Pit from pole to pole,
    I thank whatever gods may be
    For my unconquerable soul.

In the fell clutch of circumstance
    I have not winced nor cried aloud.
    Under the bludgeonings of chance
    My head is bloody, but unbowed.

Beyond this place of wrath and tears
    Looms but the Horror of the shade,
    And yet the menace of the years
    Finds, and shall find, me unafraid.

It matters not how strait the gate,
    How charged with punishments the scroll,
    I am the master of my fate:
    I am the captain of my soul.

• shaique said:

As I have no Cable service, I used to watch all debates over this web site. I would suggest geo shuold continue all debate programs on ithernet.

Shaique Ali

• Danish Lakhani said:

I think we should collect a fund for all the media persons…cause some of top anchors would be able to survive for few months (hopefully Musharraf goes by that time)….but what about poor people like camera man and support staff…it would impossible for them to survive with out monthly paychecks…

I would like to pay tribute to every one at GEO and ARY from CEO to the supporting for keeping to the highest standards of integrity and not selling there souls!!!!

• Faisal said:

Curiously while negroponte is herethe image being played on CNN is Fazlu & his gang protesting & sprouting rehearsed anti american lines & the message being given that mullahs are coming in a free & fair election.. Wonder why they can’t see that the battle being faught by civil society & the fact that these mullahs are the hidden allies of Mushi..

• shahid kinnare said:

I think reason for block out of TV in Pakistan is that US or Isreal may be preparing for attack Iran.

• Adnan said:

Thank you GEO news and its staff members for bringing us the news from back home, putting themselves in the line of fire and in harms way. Please if someone has some other source of whats going in pakistan please share with us since it effects all of us here and back home. Actions speak louder than words and we have to make this clear if we want change in our country.

• Asif said:

There are no teacher in my School

Please give lot of teacher in my school–Govt. High School, Shepanko Bazar Pasni, Balochistan.

Charagh Baloch
    Pasni Balochistan

http://www.jang.net/vf/letters.asp?PageNo=3

• KS said:

Meray karawan main shamil koi kam nazar nahee hay
    Jo na mit sakay watan par, mera ham safar nahee hay
    Dar-e-ghair par hamesha, thumhain sajda raiz dekha
    Aisa koi dagh-e-sajda meray naam par nahee hay

Meray haath main qalam hay, meray zehan main ujala
    Mujhay kya daba sakay ga, koi zulmaton ka pala
    Mujhay fikre amn-e-aalam, tujhay apnee zaat ka gham
    Main tulu horaha hoon, too ghuroob honay wala

• Asif said:

Students fury over IJT high-handedness

http://nation.com.pk/daily/nov-2007/17/localnews1.php

• Kruman said:

Geo lives,
    hear the audio here, an tell me if it is live:
    mms://stream.wmlivesvc.vitalstreamcdn.com/live_stream_geo_tv_GeoAud

• Kruman said:

Guys, it is live. Geo lives despite the tyranny of Pervez Musharraf.

Strong chance they’ll get something going from UK/Hong Kong or Singapore.

Shame on the Pakistani and Arab dictators!

• Ali said:

wow
    this is really nice that they are still on air although we can’t see them but still hear them so atleast truth is still out there to find :)

• gomushgo said:

no it is yesterday morning transmission and news :(

• Ali said:

oooh
    i thought maybe this is live
    anyways i am sure inshallah they will be back soon

• Raja said:

Dear All……….

I hated Zia’s interpretation of Islam………

I hate Mush’s interpretation of Pakistan………

Hopelessness……….. we’re nation of emotionally, psychologically, and intellectually dead………

Mush………. does not want to confront reality…… so does IJT……….so does so called shariah fighters…….

Where do we seek refuge from all intolerant……… liberal……..or religious……….

Love humans irrespective of religion, creed, caste, or economic status………..

But we do not have people like that anymore in our society….

Goodbye Pakistan………. Being Pakistani or being a person of Pakistani origin is a four letter word now…….

• Aveei said:

Na Tera Pakistan hai,Na Mera Pakistan hai,
    Yeh uss ka Pakistan hai jo sader-e-Pakistan hai.
    I hate musharraf,Just like muslim’s hate from PIG.Musharraf is worse than Pig.Down with musharraf
    Long Live Pakistan.

• zufi said:

i am watching geo on web tv, i think it is live. i dont how they are doing it.if anybody wants to try it at geo.tv and click web tv

• A Friend said:

with all the mess going on…this keeps me calm

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0Wv3Ya9nskA&feature=related

• Kruman said:

I am listening to live audio, I think it is live too. It can’t be yesterday’s as gomushgo said. They are talking about reaction in US to Geo shut down.

• BABU from USA said:

THANX ADMIN FOR YOUR EFFORTS.

GEO SHOULD CHOOSE MALAYSIA FOR ITS MAIN BASE.

DIL TU KARTA HA ISS MUSH KA BACHAY KO DOO KAN KAY OOPER UR DOO KAN KA NICHA GARAM GARAM TAMACHEY RASEED KAROON.

HAD HO GAI HA.

I GUESS HE DID ALL THIS AFTER MEETING HIS BASTARD FRIEND MR. NIGGER- PONTE WHO BROUGHT MUSH HIS ROHANI BAAP BUSH MESSAGE. I THINK THEY ALL ARE INVOLVED IN STOPPING GEO FROM DUBAI. EVERY BASTARD IS HELPING MUSH TO COMMIT ALL KINDS OF CORRUPTIONS.

• nota said:

@Saeed ur Rashid said:
    “Maybe you can upload Ishrat Fatima and Taskeen Zafar’s Khabarnama from PTV.”

Well that will be easy. You have to record it only ONCE and just keep changing the dates daily. PTV is the perfect example of “Same sh*t, different day”

• em said:

Salaam Geo.
    You went down fighting and thats more than we can say for our soldiers who are trained to die for the country. Yet they surrender arms whereas civilians choose to battle till the end. Bravo! You are our real heroes!

I think there should be a civilan’s award for these brave people, an award from the people of pakistan without the sanction or approval of the traitors and liars in government. These courageous anchorpersons and news teams led the way, why shouldn’t we honor them?
    Let us set up a monument to them and to all journalists who have suffered in this fight.

I love the idea of setting up a new independant tv channel from where these heroes can continue their struggle.
    However, for the time being can we not keep their programmes alive by just broadcasting them on the internet? Even if these programmes aren’t live, all it takes is a videocam and an internet connection right?

So lets tell them that all they have to do is what they’ve done so brilliantly thus far. Load the video on the internet and lets see these scumbag generals try and shutdown the internet!!!

Finally, sincere gratitude to the Admin for everything they have done.
    Pakistan is indebted to you.

To all Pakistanis: don’t give up!

Pakistan Zindabad! Azadi Zindabad!

• huma said:

Musharraf’s Relative Lands Another Super Duper Project of the Future
    by M.A.Siddiqi – The South Asia Tribune – http://www.satribune.com/archives/200505/P1_mas.htm

KARACHI, May 12: Pakistan has taken a gigantic leap into the 22nd Century, (yes the 22nd Century), and Karachi has moved overnight from a town which shut down even its archaic Circular Railway to a Metropolis which will soon boast of the World’s first Magnetic Levitation (Maglev) Commercial train. All this thanks to a close relative of General Pervez Musharraf

This miracle has been possible not because General Musharraf wants Karachi to become modern or overcome its public transport problems but because Brig (Retd) Aftab Siddiqi, the father-in-law of First Son Bilal Musharraf, wanted the US$298 million Maglev contract and got it.

The beauty of the deal is that by building the golden three miles of super fast Maglev Track, Musharraf’s relative would not just have pocketed almost 300 million dollars, he would have pushed Pakistan into the Guinness Book of Records for launching a project which even the pioneering countries France and Japan are reluctant to launch on a commercial basis. In Virginia US it is being run on an experimental basis in a University in Old Dominion (Pix Left).

Three days ago, on May 9, 2005 South Korea held a trial run for reporters. The train was an improved version used by 120,000 people at the 1993 Daejeon Expo. It has a peak speed of 110 kilometers per hour and can carry 135 people per compartment. Korea is planning to start Maglev trains for people In spring 2007 and will become the third nation to run train, after Germany and Japan.

German company Siemens is operating a high-speed Maglev train on a 32 kilometer track from downtown Shanghai, China to the Airport, and Japan is running an urban-style Maglev train on a 9-kilometer track within the Nagoya Aichi Expo site, similar to Korea. Both are experimental runs.

Korea’s top company Rotem, which has been developing Maglev trains for 17 years from the days of its antecedent, Hyundai Motor Service, is deeply troubled. This is because as local governments pursue LRT subways, they are reluctant to select domestic Maglevs because it has never been operated before.

But for doing Karachi and Pakistan this huge favor, a series of rewards have been offered to this retired lucky Brigadier related to General Musharraf.

He will also get as part of the overall package colossal benefits. The Maglev Project given to him is not on Build-Operate-Transfer (BOT) basis but on Ownership basis. He has been sanctioned one 450 MW [gas]-fired Power Plant. A Real Estate Development Commercial Loan of $100 million to his company will be guaranteed by Pakistan Government. A Non-Refundable Bank Guarantee of $60 million will be paid to his company to compensate for losses in the first 6 years of Maglev Project at $10 million per annum.

Above all, whatever he imports will be exempted from Customs or other duties and taxes. Whatever money he makes will be free of Income Tax.

It is another matter that even after such a platinum package, 99 per cent of Karachiites would still be hanging dangerously to diesel-emitting over-packed buses or waiting endlessly in traffic jams in the world’s most polluted environment.

The story of how Brig Siddiqi has landed another multi-billion contract, this time beating the friendly Chinese out of the race, is not just intriguing but fascinating and reminds analysts of the historic statement of Sheikh Yousuf, Chairman of Husnain Construction, the company which first hired Brig Siddiqi who used the Musharraf connection and turned his construction business into a gold minting machine. Yousuf achieved this just by paying a two per cent commission to this talented father-in-law of General Musharraf’s son.

On September 25, 2002, Yousuf talked to reporters at the site office of M-3 at Ghartal, Faisalabad According to a report in Daily Dawn, he was asked as to how much his company had been helped by Brig Aftab Siddiqi the useful father-in-law of Bilal Musharraf. Yousuf admitted that the gentleman had worked with his company as a consultant. Click to Read Full Dawn Report

Then he said: “It was originally agreed that he would get two per cent of the profit from the project for 25 years, but since the project had been converted to a government funded plan, Aftab Siddiqi was no longer with his company. The cost of M-3 is Rs7 billion.�

Yousuf also revealed that Mr Siddiqi “had been paid for the ’services’ which he rendered,â€? but refused to give more details. “Everything was documented, and the payments to Mr Siddiqi had been made through checks, the copies of which had been provided to a number of government departments,” he said.

Exactly at that moment his smart son rushed to the stage and asked Yousuf not to answer more queries on the subject, according to the Dawn report. He was obviously revealing State secrets and could get into serious trouble and the son realized that more than the father.

That was 2002 but Brig Siddiqi and Husnain Construction have never looked back. Already in the first years of General Musharraf’s rule, this construction company, according to its Chairman, had acquired at least 12 sick mills from the Government.

But Siddiqi’s biggest catch has been in Karachi. The story of Maglev started with the City District Government of Karachi inviting Tenders on BOT Basis in October 2003 from the private sector to undertake the Karachi Mass Transit, Priority One Corridor.

Two tenders were received in November 2003, one from M/s American Maglev Technologies and other from a Chinese Company. The Chinese Company Tender was on finance cum construct basis for US $570 million, with long term credit on easy term made available by the Government of China.

But M/s American Maglev Technologies which did not submit even the required Bid Bond of US $1 million was awarded the Contract in December 2004. This was done by a Special Committee headed by a retired bureaucrat, Dr Akram Sheikh, the man planted for the job by the master-mind behind this manipulation, the father-in-law of the son of the President of Pakistan.

Siddiqi had contacted Dr Akram Sheikh who had retired as Federal Secretary. Sheikh is well known for his dubious past as he was suspended from service three times but was always able to work, or pay, his way out of the black hole.

Among the many examples of his reputation as a “Chaloo� officer (shrewd person) was the case of obtaining a 1000 square yards residential plot at half a million rupees from Karachi Port Trust in 1999. when the market price of this piece of land was Rs30 million.

Siddiqi reached a deal with Sheikh that he will be made Deputy Chairman of the Planning Commission if he promised to award the contract of the Maglev Train to M/s American Maglev Technologies. The deal was done and Siddiqi got the orders of his appointment from General Musharraf.

But before the contract could be awarded, Siddiqi moved in as a partner of M/s American Maglev Technologies. All other partners were replaced with Siddiqi’s company M/s Infrastructure Development.

The contract winners had turned into the sons-in-law of the State of Pakistan by virtue of Siddiqi’s relationship with Musharraf. So much so that the $1 million Bid Bond which was to be submitted with the tender, was submitted 13 months late and that too neither by M/s American Maglev Technologies nor by M/s Infrastructure Development Company but by two Pakistani Contractors, M/s Techno Engineering Services (Pvt.) Limited and M/s Saadullah Khan & Brothers.

Siddiqi was promised and given concessions which experts quantified in dollar terms as horrendous. Adding all exemptions and $160 million Government and bank guarantees, this project will cost Pakistan over $900 million. In short, thanks to Siddiqi, poor Karachiites and the State of Pakistan will end by getting 3 miles of Maglev Train for $900 million.

On the face of it, the Maglev contract to Siddiqi would be of $300 million but these hidden costs would push the price to $900 million. As against this huge cost, China would have done the same job for around $500 million and that too on easy loans. But then how would Mr Siddiqi earn his millions.

According to the latest information, Siddiqi has again defaulted to sign the Contract Agreement within the time limit, which expired in March 2005, but thanks to you-know-who, he has managed to get another indefinite extension.

Not knowing how the wheels in Islamabad work and who was doing what behind the wheels, the innocent Mayor of Karachi Naimatullah Khan announced that the first phase of Corridor I Karachi Mass Transit Program (KMTP) would start by December 31, 2006 with a Magnetic Levitation Train.

Experts were aghast at the announcement as suddenly instead of improving the smoke detectors of Karachi buses, the Nazim had thrown Pakistan into the unknown future, while he himself is unable to determine whether he belongs to the past, present or the future.

The total length of the Maglev Train track is said to be 17 kilometers, from Sohrab Goth to Mereweather Tower. But is such a short stretch of rail worth deploying a super-technological invention which was still in its embryonic stages of development in the countries where it was invented.

There are no answers and no details available to the media or the Parliament but what is clear is that a contract of $300 million has been awarded to a Musharraf’s relative and he has been showered with a lot more concessions. Why all this generosity is yet to be determined.

• BABU from USA said:

ALSO PPP FILED PETITION AGAINST MR. MUSH IN SC THAT HE DID NOT DECLARE HIS ASSESTS IN AN APPLICATION AS A PRESIDENTIAL CANDIDATE.

MUSH KA MOOH KO HARAM LAG GAI HA.

HIS GREED FOR POWER AND MONEY IS GROWING AND GROWING, ONLY A GRAVE CAN FULLFILL HIS APPETITE NOW.

• A Friend said:

@ huma

Cann’t agree with you more…you are absolutely right…pakistan army has been treated like untouchables. no one ask why do we even need 1 million troops. no wonder army has to stay in power to keep feeding those soldiers. any democratic govt will cut down on this big army, thats why they hate democracy

• salman said:

salam,u can watch live geo tv at
    http://www.geo.tv/

Geo aur jenay do

• nota said:

Now that Geo is off-air, spend some of that extra time you have to watch the movie “V for Vendetta” (reviewed at http://theimmoralminority.blogspot.com/2006/03/v-for-vendetta-is-bush-administrations.html).

• A Friend said:

Kiyani…Do something

• BABU from USA said:

I GET THIS NEWS FROM NEW YORK BUT COULD NOT VERIFY IT INDEPENDENTLY.

ANYWAY, THE NEW IS THAT THERE ARE 9 GENERALS IN USA WHO ARE BILLIONAIRES. OUT OF 9… 5 ARE FROM PAKISTAN.

• huma said:

Pakistan first as far as it pays for family & friends:

http://www.dailytimes.com.pk/default.asp?page=story_9-10-2002_pg7_23

• huma said:

http://www.moveforjustice.org/Forum/tabid/53/forumid/1/tpage/1/view/topic/postid/1315/Default.aspx#1315

22/03/2007 4:56 AM
    Evidence of Musharraf’s Family Corruption
    From Ehtesab

http://www.ehtesab.org

Musharraf’s Close Relative Paid in Rs 7bn Motorway project

ISLAMABAD: The first solid proof of involvement of General Pervez Musharraf’s close relative, his son Bilal’s father in law, in a multi-billion rupee road construction contract, has come to light.

The proof was provided by the owner of the construction company, Husnain Construction, at a news conference at the M-3 Motorway site near Islamabad last week. Surprisingly it has remained buried without any discussion in the mainstream Pakistani media, although leading newspaper Dawn published portions of the incriminating statement on Sept 26 in a very subdued manner, hiding the disclosures under a positive statement by the National Highway Authority Chairman, Major General Farrukh Javed.

In just under 5 weeks after SA Tribune broke the scandal of General Musharraf’s “Golfway� Project, a mix of the Rs 25 billion Golf Course in Lahore and the Rs 7 billion Pindi-Peshawar Motorway, Brig (Retd) Aftab Siddiqui’s was confirmed to be the big beneficiary. The proof came from the Horse Owner’s mouth, if not the Horse himself.

The SA Tribune first reported in our Aug 26 issue that Musharraf’s “Golfway” project, conceived and launched by an ex-ISI chief, held secret from the public for ‘national security reasons’ had a real connection with his close relatives. http://www.satribune.com/archives/aug26_sep1_02/P1_Grapevinecomm.htm

On Sept 9, it was reported that the in-laws of Musharraf’s son were reportedly flying out of Pakistan “lock, stock and barrel� after their names were revealed in the Motorway project. http://www.satribune.com/archives/sep09_15_02/P1_Grapewinecomm.htm

These were Sa Tribune reports. Now comes the surprising statement by Sheikh Yousaf, owner of Husnain Construction, which is the contractor for the Pindi-Peshawar Motorway project, also known as M-3. He spoke to journalists at a Press conference and admitted everything, as reported in Pakistan’s leading Daily ‘Dawn’ on Sept 25, 2002.

Dawn’s Islamabad Staff reporter said: “Sheikh Yousaf explained the phases for which his company passed for converting the M-3 project from the Built, Operate and Transfer (BOT) plan to the government funded project.�

“When asked as to how much his company had been helped by Brig (Retd) Aftab Siddiqui father-in-law (of General Musharraf’s son), Bilal Musharraf, he said the gentleman had worked with his company as a consultant.�

“Mr Yousaf said it was originally agreed that he would get two per cent of the profit from the project for 25 years, but since the project had been converted to a government funded plan, Aftab Siddiqui was no longer with his company. The cost of M-3 is Rs7 billion.�

“He, however, said Mr Siddiqui had been paid for the ’services’ which he rendered, but refused to give more details… Everything was documented, and the payments to Mr Siddiqui had been made through cheques the copies of which had been provided to “a number of government departments,” he said.â€?

The Dawn report then added a dramatic twist: “Then his son (Sheikh Yousaf’s son) rushed to the stage and asked Mr Yousaf not to answer more queries on the subject.�

Still, “Mr Yousaf said the company was heading the consortium of the Pakistani construction companies called PAMIC, and added that they were completing the project to show that the country had the expertise to construct the motorway. He said it was the first contract of its kind which had no escalation clause.�

“When asked as to how many projects his company had fetched in the period of military government, he avoided giving straight answer, and said that whatever his company had got was on merit. He admitted that he had purchased about a dozen sick industrial units.�

The dramatic Press conference raised a plethora of questions which are begging for answers. The Chairman of the company confirmed that Bilal’s father in law “had been paid for his services�, which in other words means he had delivered his part of the contract. And since he is no longer with the Company, it can be safely guessed that he is enjoying the two per cent somewhere, may be in US.

Sheikh Yousaf, revealed that Bilal’s Father-in-Law had been paid through cheques and copies had been given to various departments of the Government. That would make the job of future Accountability Bureaus much easier, it seems.

Then he was asked a very pertinent question. How many contracts his company had fetched during the Musharraf Regime? This apparently puzzled him and he could not give a straight answer. He still did not realize that some smart reporter was trying to trap him. But his son rushed to the stage and stopped him from making more disclosures.

But his answer, reported in Dawn, at least gave an insight of how much they had already made. “He admitted that he had purchased about a dozen sick industrial units,� was his reply to one question. This seems to be an impressive record which would beat any Sharif or Zardari hands down.

However many questions are now being raised. What are the rates at which he has purchased these units? Who else bid for them? What were the terms of purchase? Was there any competitive bidding? Was any undue government influence used for these purchases? What was the role of Bilal Musharraf’s father-in-law in these purchases? Is this not corruption? Is this what General Musharraf means by good governance?

• nota said:

@Huma
    That has been my problem with the press as this corruption has always been going on but hardly reported on. So see glimpses of it but only in generalized pieces and not full-fledged exposes. Thanks to Ayesha Siddiqa’s Military Inc that has brought only SOME of it to light. I saw the names at the end of the piece linked below and know it is anything but complete.
    http://www.dictatorshipwatch.com/modules.php?op=modload&name=News&file=article&sid=2572

• A Friend said:

I don’t think its all the money…dictators who take shortcuts to get power…actually enjoy being in power…money doesn’t matter at that point, they like to live like kings with people saluting them. (nothing against middle class) people from poor background or middle class tend to do that more, since they already have inferiority complex. Musharaf is nothing without power, he is not a scholar or a politician, so he will keep starching his tenure…on the other hand politicians be corrupt in the beginning but when they see how people love them…that makes them humble…even a person like nawaz sharif starts talking about democracy and know the importance of it….politician like to leave their legacy, they have a thirst of people remembering them after they are gone.

Problem with our army is that they are very short sighted…that’s because they are not politicians.

• Bilal said:

Guys,
    I think this GEO broadcast is old because they are showing the same news over and over again. Has anyone else felt the same?

• athar said:

only media we have now is
    Pervez TV (PTV). So everyone please go online and write them some nice comments because they deserve it. This is wrong that they are doing there jobs. They should be standing with Geo and Ary people. They are same guilty as mussharaf and his govt.

http://ptv.com.pk/guest/z/

athar

• Raja said:

Why cry………… If Brig. Aftab became millionaire

Gen. Zia’s son is enjoying comfortable life style thanks to sponsors in military.

Gen. Akhter Abdul Rehman’s sons are leading businesspeople just the bounty of military on him.

Gen. Hamid Gul is living above the mens of any retired general. Thanks to the military support.

Gen. Aslam Beg is enjoying multi0millionaire life style, again thanks to army.

NA TERA PAKISTAN HAY NA MERA PAKISTAN HAY…….IS US KA PAKISTAN HAY JO GENERAL-E-FAUJ-E-PAKISTAN HAY !

List goes on and on

• true-believer said:

Three judges step down from PCO case:
    “Justice Mohammad Nawaz Abbasi, Justice Faqir Mohammad Khokhar and Justice M. Javed Buttar said judicial propriety demanded that they detached themselves from the bench after President Gen Pervez Musharraf had cited their recent judgments to justify the imposition of emergency.”

I ask:
    Where was the judicial propriety when they took the unconstitutional oath?
    And what did they think they will be asked to hear after taking that oath? A debate whether peanuts are better than walnuts?
    I suspect they are changing their mind just like Benazir did after discovering Musharraf is a lost cause.

• Pakistani said:

Latest update about Geo TV with insider report.

http://destogate.wordpress.com/2007/11/17/geo-tv-shutdown/

• nota said:

@huma
    The list of corruption is definitely endless and most of the credit certainly goes to the army. Remember most of our budget sucked up by it. Also keep in mind not a SINGLE arms deal is done on merit but on amount of kickbacks. It is also a disgusting fact (recently admitted by all sides without shame) that of the $10 billion since 911 $9.1 billion was for the army. They are also paying Mush $200 million yearly in untraceable cash payments as western press recently reported and $100 million a month just for hiring our mercenary troops for the FATA op. Of course this “aid” is in form of loans that the civilians will forced to pay back.

And what good has it done? Lost East Pakistan, lost every bloody conflict they have been a part of. They walk so proudly because they are good at killing their unarmed civilian brothers and sisters and from a distance,. F*cking C*wards, just like their chief. At least the IDF doesn’t kill it’s own…

• nota said:

@huma
    The list of corruption is definitely endless and most of the credit certainly goes to the army. Remember most of our budget sucked up by it. Also keep in mind not a SINGLE arms deal is done on merit but on amount of kickbacks. It is also a disgusting fact (recently admitted by all sides without shame) that of the $10 billion since 911 $9.1 billion was for the army. They are also paying Mush $200 million yearly in untraceable cash payments as western press recently reported and $100 million a month just for hiring our mercenary troops for the FATA op. Of course this “aid� is in form of loans that the civilians will forced to pay back.

And what good has it done? Lost East Pakistan, lost every bloody conflict they have been a part of. They walk so proudly because they are good at killing their unarmed civilian brothers and sisters and from a distance. At least the IDF doesn’t kill it’s own…

• zufi said:

geo is live!
    long live geo!you going to outlive these
    fascist generals and their buddy corrupt
    arab thugs

• nota said:

@huma
    The list of corruption is definitely endless and most of the credit certainly goes to the army. Remember most of our budget sucked up by it. Also keep in mind not a SINGLE arms deal is done on merit but on amount of kickbacks. It is also a disgusting fact (recently admitted by all sides without shame) that of the $10 billion since 911 $9.1 billion was for the army. They are also paying Mush $200 million yearly in untraceable cash payments as western press recently reported and $100 million a month just for hiring our mercenary troops for the FATA op. Of course this “aid� is in form of loans that the civilians will forced to pay back.

And what good has it done? Lost East Pakistan, lost every bl**dy conflict they have been a part of. They walk so proudly because they are good at killing their unarmed civilian brothers and sisters and from a distance,. F*cking C*wards, just like their chief. At least the IDF doesn’t kill it’s own…

• Asif said:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=G8MeU3Vnwz4

An awami response. I am not sure whether PTI really made this video or not. I think, it is just some supporter of PTI. Anyway, I enjoyed the poetry.

• ManDark said:

Is there anyway to push UAE or protest there the closure of GEO and ARY?

• nota said:

@huma
    was trying of post a message here but despite my best efforts at editing, it keeps ending up “awaiting moderating”, so it will never see the light of day. Despite my best efforts I cannot be that PC. So posting it at the link below…
    https://www.blogger.com/comment.g?blogID=3198567406006104825&postID=6837518879065735006

• nota said:

No need to go to the link I just posted — it just made it through moderation. Thanks Admin!
    (Apologies! Seems like I did not have to wait that long. Apologies for multiple posts as I was trying to edit and get it posted…)

• nota said:

U.S. seen trying to revive Musharraf-Bhutto deal
    http://ca.today.reuters.com/news/newsArticle.aspx?type=topNews&storyID=2007-11-17T072739Z_01_L06301411_RTRIDST_0_NEWS-PAKISTAN-COL.XML

“Did I go mad? Or suddenly, my personality changed? Am I Dr Jekyll and Mr. Hyde?” Musharraf asked the British Broadcasting Service in an interview.

We report, YOU decide! :)

• nota said:

Chicago Tribune Editorial (featured in Houston Chronicle as well):
    Musharraf fooling no one
    http://www.chron.com/disp/story.mpl/editorial/5309145.html

It’s encouraging to see him drawing lessons from American history. But if the general is familiar with the Great Emancipator, he may remember the question Lincoln would sometimes ask: “How many legs does a dog have, if you call the tail a leg?”

When the answer would come back “five,” Lincoln would reply, “Four. Calling a tail a leg doesn’t make it a leg.”

• nota said:

Chicago Tribune Editorial (featured in Houston Chronicle as well):
    Musharraf fooling no one
    http://www.chron.com/disp/story.mpl/editorial/5309145.html
    …
    It’s encouraging to see him drawing lessons from American history. But if the general is familiar with the Great Emancipator, he may remember the question Lincoln would sometimes ask: “How many legs does a d*g have, if you call the tail a leg?�

When the answer would come back “five,� Lincoln would reply, “Four. Calling a tail a leg doesn’t make it a leg.�

• pejamistri said:

Mad general is now blackmailing openly US and West , he is saying that if he is not in power then nuclear weapons will go in unsafe hands. This is actually a veiled threat to west that if I leave , I will use the nuclear weapons as my last weapon.
    This threat has come just before he is going to meet Negroponte. In 1998 when Pakistan demonstrated nuclear power , my first reaction was that world is going to have a bad time.
    Friends this mad general is going put the whole world at risk, he is many steps ahead of Hitler.
    Let’s pray for the peace of world and Pakistan.

• nota said:

“The government of the United Arab Emirates had promised that it would not shut any stations broadcasting from Dubai Media City, a special zone for hundreds of foreign broadcasters.”
    from http://www.nytimes.com/2007/11/17/world/asia/17pakistan.html?ref=asia

• Z said:

Hi there,

I have got contacts with some top anchors. Admin of this site please contact me to discuss ideas.

Z

• Rubeena said:

Well today for the first time after March 9 we have a pin drop silence in the house…. I realized that there are no news…sound of breaking news… We have not switched on the TV. I realize that how much awareness these channels has brought. With the absence of these talk shows it seems that the atmosphere is suffocating. Media was an outlet for us and it is my wish, desire and prayer that we,the people of Pakistan pass this crucial test with flying colors. Amen

• Rubeena said:

May this testing time be over soon

• nota said:

Just sent an inquiry to Dubai Media City:

According to New York Times (http://www.nytimes.com/2007/11/17/world/asia/17pakistan.html?ref=asia), “The government of the United Arab Emirates had promised that it would not shut any stations broadcasting from Dubai Media City, a special zone for hundreds of foreign broadcasters.”

1. Did your government make that promise?
    2. If so, please explain why ARY and GEO operating from Dubai Media City were ordered to stop broadcasting

• Pakistani said:

UPDATE AT BOTTOM, OFFICIAL SOURCE AS OF (1:50 PM).

• farhan said:

Everyone, Geo news is still on. Any updates on this?

• Saeed said:

Please tell me that how to get GEO NEWS online

• iShah said:

@pejamistri

my question is:

are his US/UK-Masters dumb enough that they are going to believe this?

Geo is blocked in the name of NATIONAL INTEREST. Is this dirty blackmailing through nuclear weapons fulfilling NATIONAL INTEREST? Mush is proving that we don’t deserve nuclear weapons. So the ads about ROGUE ARMY were correct! Is the country ruled by a mafia and the world Dons are supporing him?
    This mad general is far far dangeours than even our imaginations.

What is the duty of the top brass of army now? Are they personal servants of Mush?

I just can’t understand what’s going on in Pakistan. A single man has taken the wohle country in hostage.

iShah

• pejamistri said:

We must understand US and West do not have complete control over every country , they don’t even have control over the countries like Afghanistan and Iraq , which are under their direct rule. A mad dictator with his associates of a nuclear state is bound to blackmail the whole world if he sees that he is going to loose the battle.
    This is clear and present danger, I hope that United States and other countries have contingency plan for this.

• sasas said:

Dear administrator,

May you please upload video of the popular talk show “Capital Talk” aired on the night between November 16 and 17, (just hours before Geo TV was officially shut down). I read in the news that the program’s host Hamid Mir discussed the maltreatment meted on to PTI workers and his sisters; as officials in Islamabad and Dubai were planning to close down the television station.

• iD said:

The University of Bradford has launched a campaign to free its Chancellor, Imran Khan, from imprisonment in his home nation of Pakistan

http://www.brad.ac.uk/chancellor/freeimran/

• nota said:

@pejamistri
    “We must understand US and West do not have complete control over every country”

But they CAN control this mouse with a simple phone call if they were still not trying to revive the Mush-BB deal as is being reported…

Rice’s deputy in Pakistan makes effort to revive Bhutto-Musharraf pact
    http://news.google.com.pk/news/url?sa=t&ct=us/2-0&fp=473e092114e8b3ef&ei=xrs-R_u3GZmkoAOiksT3Dg&url=http%3A//www.theglobeandmail.com/servlet/story/LAC.20071117.PAKISTAN17/TPStory/TPInternational/America/&cid=1123345619

• Pakistani said:

Sorry for this post, but there were two relatively minor updates that I had to add. Please take a look if you prefer.

• pejamistri said:

I agree this mouse gets his pants wet when he receives a call from US, but like Saddam Hussein he will only be bowing to US pressure until they allow him licking their feet, once they tell him to go , he is bound to blackmail them.

• pejamistri said:

Negroponte has met the mad dictator and news is that he ensured the presence of Ashfaq Kiyani in this meeting.
    http://www.bbc.co.uk/urdu/pakistan/story/2007/11/071117_negroponte_meetings_si.shtml

• Syed said:

This is the message thaI sent to Mush through his website that was kindly posted here:
    “You are another fauji dictator who is acting in his own interest and will lead to complete destruction of Pakistan if allowed to conitue. The nation hates you, I am sure that the young officers are not supporting their top brass in their unconstitutional actions and soon your time will be over. I pray that you do not get time run away like the shah of Iran did and be brought to justice for your criminal acts. May you be destroyed soon.”
    Please everyone send a message to him,let him know how we feel.
    Kali raat may Geo! Har halat may Geo!

• Zulfiqar Quarishi said:

A comment from Atime asia today
    “Significantly, a caretaker government has already been sworn in on the eve of Negroponte’s arrival, headed by Mohammad Mian Soomro, the chairman of the Pakistan Senate and a dependable hand. It is just as well that Negroponte is due to call on Punjab Chief Minister Chaudhry Pervez Elahi, cousin of the powerful leader of the present ruling alliance, Chaudhry Shujaat Hussain. Elahi is widely tipped as the next prime minister of Pakistan.

Finally, Negroponte will know that after all, Washington has ways to influence Musharraf, and there is no need to insult the general and unintentionally unleash the anger of the Pakistani military. Musharraf has already offered that the choice is entirely Bhutto’s to be conciliatory or confrontational. Negroponte and Musharraf could find common ground in lifting the emergency as soon as possible – they could even agree on a date – or removing restrictions on the media and civil society, or, better still, releasing political leaders and activists from detention.

One thing is clear. The military is not with Bhutto, and the country doesn’t seem to trust her. Musharraf happens to be the only acceptable game in Islamabad.”

• farhan said:

@ syed

just sent 15 copies back to back.

is geo workin online

• Syed said:

Today Mush (poodle of Bush) has taken a very strange and dangerous stand. He has reportedly said to UK media that “if there is anarchy in Pakistan the atomic weapons might land into unresponsible hands”. This man wants to hang to power at all costs. If he is not allowed to do so he might even go to the extant of annihilating the vital assets of Pakistan including the nuclear capability. Track development on this please.

• Syed said:

Thanks Farhan. Mr. Qureshi Asia Times is not gauging the nation’s sentiment. Are you suggesting that we should allow Mush (the poodle of Bush) to continue. What they are suggesting is perpetuating military’s rule and we are all against it. Ofcourse Bush wants it but we don’t. Go Mush(Poodle of Bush) Go!

• pejamistri said:

@Syed,
    I am extermely concerned by this development, it is absolutely clear that mad general is now hell bent to use any option to keep himself in power. General is blackmailing US now by threatening them to use nuclear weapons and most horrible thing is that apparently the use of nuclear weapons can only be in the area of afghanistan-pakistan border. His veiled threat is amazingly clear , “nuclear weapons may go in unsafe hands”, his aim is to terrify US/European army in Afghanistan.
    These are testing times we are living in, we must remember that if Hitler had nuclear weapons he would have used them , and our mad General is many steps ahead of Hitler in brutality.

FROM ATIMES
    “Playing South Asia’s World War III game
    By Chan Akya

Nash in Pakistan
    As I wrote in a previous article [1], Pakistan’s existence as an artificial construct imposed by the British on the people of South Asia was laid bare by the events that led to Bangladesh’s independence in 1971. Since then, the confusion about the country’s raison d’ etre has only intensified.

No longer serving its intended mission as a homeland for the region’s Muslim population, Pakistan has instead evolved into a perennially unstable country that lurches from one crisis to the next. In practice, Pakistan exists because it is unthinkable for anyone in Western capitals to have the country break down further.

It has certainly rejected democracy, but has much cause to be upset with Western allies such as the United States who have proved fair-weather friends more than once. Pakistan hasn’t done itself too many favors in the past few years by lurching between support for the US and the “traditional” antagonism demanded by its population to the bete noire of the Arab Street, the US.

I have made no secret of the regard in which Prime Minister Shaukat Aziz deserves to be held by both developmental economists and the world’s geopolitically-sensitive population, for the honest and capable attempt made at turning around the economy [2]. Increasingly though, with his mentor sinking into an ever-greater hole, the prime minister’s position appears tenuous. His importance though is only likely to increase because of these events.

This is the person, not President General Pervez Musharraf, who can move Pakistan from its fractious past to a better future. By focusing on industrial development, infrastructure growth and freeing up the wheels of finance, Aziz has helped to spark the first real phase of sustained economic growth in the country for the past few decades. To be sure, the external environment of strong growth in various parts of Asia has also helped, but the fact that Pakistan isn’t lagging behind is certainly good news.

The biggest threat to his work comes not so much from Islamic fundamentalists, but rather the “democratic” alternative, namely former premiers Benazir Bhutto, or indeed Nawaz Sharif. The former is now re-enacting the events of the late 1980s when the US swept General Zia ul-Haq under the carpet and ushered in a new era for democracy in Pakistan, albeit quite short-lived.

Even as many media outlets portray these two leaders as beacons of democracy, their record while in power proved dismal, with economic growth sliding to a standstill even as inflation increased. It was their record of corruption while in power and frequent squabbling that led the Pakistani people to distrust democracy, and it is quite ironic to see events coming full circle.

Employing game theory to understand Pakistan proves productive. The country is the sovereign equivalent of the Nash Equilibrium – a dilemma in which all the players accept sub-optimal outcomes because they simply cannot trust each other. Thus, while the US accepts cohabitation with a ruthless dictator because it distrusts the alternatives, the Pakistani people accept the lack of democracy because the record of economic growth under the military was better. This equilibrium prevailed from September 11, 2001, to its sixth anniversary, roughly.

For some reason, folks in Washington seem to have decided to throw out the rulebook and try to create a new game, in which they may have assumed that the wily general would accept a reduced role. The “savior” would be Bhutto again, this time to provide popular legitimacy to America’s biggest friend in the region.

The idea was probably to blunt the increasing popularity of Islamic fundamentalists among the Pakistani public by bringing in a leader with her own fanatical fan following. Thus it was almost guaranteed that the former would try to get rid of the latter – as seen in the suicide bomb blasts that greeted Bhutto’s welcome parade when returning to the country after years of exile.

Separately, the general had his own game, which demanded clinging at all times to the buttons that launch Pakistan’s nuclear weapons, to ensure his survival. Handing over those controls to a civilian prime minister was likely to make the general a toothless president, a ceremonial role that he was clearly going to be unhappy with. “

A comment from Atime asia today

“Musharraf remains the US’s best option
    The Pakistani regime doesn’t like being treated as an occasional fling when Washington is in heat. Bearing this in mind, visiting US Deputy Secretary of State John Negroponte needs to tread lightly when he meets with President General Pervez Musharraf this weekend. Given the political gridlock ensuing from the breakdown of the Musharraf-Benazir Bhutto deal, a continuation of the present ruling alliance – with adjustments – is the only viable option. The all-powerful military, after all, remains staunchly behind the general”

• nota said:

“Did I do the right thing? Yes. If I was charming and a good leader in the past, what went wrong? It wasn’t that I changed. People say I am a dictator. If I am a dictator, I don’t know what kind of dictator I am. I am the strongest believer in democracy. I brought democracy to Pakistan and I still believe in it. Why is the media on the side of the terrorists?”

What is he smoking?

• farhan said:

@ nota

I believe its President Musharraf discussing current affairs situation with General Musharraf:).

• nota said:

Political Analysts Believe One of Them Can Survive – Musharraf or Bhutto
    http://www.turkishweekly.net/news.php?id=50389

• amir said:

I would like to share that even my 2 year old son has recognised GEO, GEO DUA, GEO BOT, GEO CARTOON ETC. and he is also missing GEO since morning so what MR PAKISTAN POWER is giving to our new generation ………… i think this is an hour sorrow and when pakistan and pakistani people will get up get their rights from looters and pluderers

• pejamistri said:

Greate work. Ek General……….
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nt4_7eM49fY

• chussain said:

General Musharraf blackmails West with fear of nuclear weapons falling in hands of extremists if he is forced to allow free and fair elections

http://uk.news.yahoo.com/rtrs/20071117/tpl-uk-pakistan-musharraf-nuclear-43a8d4f_1.html

• Tos said:

Admin, Assalamoalikum.

I watched quite a few of your uploaded videos, and sulked at the standard of discussions and journalism in Pakistan.

Very briefly I participated in discussions with others on this forum, sulked just as much, and abandoned.

However, I must thank you for your time and effort, your good intentions, and your brotherly conduct.

Before I leave, I’d encourage you to retain this website and modify its primary objective..from pkpolitics to something like “Truth Seeking and Intellectual growth — a Pakistani initiative”. Such will have the potential to cover all topics that address our problems including politics, generate discussions based on well established principles of reasoning (which many here will have to go back and refresh — perhaps including myself too), and add to creativity, ingenuity and genuine problem solving.

Admin we need to raise our own standards of thinking and analysing — this is more important, because if the binoculars are unfit to start with….. vision will be twisted and blurred.

A few websites that might help in this regard:

http://www.Ted.com
    http://www.austhink.org/critical/

• commoner said:

@chussain
    This shows General’s desperation as this is perhaps one of the last cards in his hands. His exit appears imminent.

• commoner said:

an other good analysis:

http://www.jang.com.pk/jang/nov2007-daily/17-11-2007/col3.htm

• Sohail Agha said:

The complete interview…A must watch…

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/world/south_asia/7099567.stm

Click on to….

”Did I go mad? Or suddenly, my personality changed? Am I Dr Jekyll and Mr Hyde?

President Musharraf

Musharraf interview ”

• Ahmed Bhai said:

The problem is Army as an institute as many of Mush’s interest happen to be Army’s as well. So even the dictator is out how can we hope that the next general is not pro US? indeed any change will be cosmetic and only hope comes from independent judiciary otherwise kon bika huwa nai hey?

does anyone believe that new awami government will takeover $10 billion + empire of Army and Army will be restricted to only focus on their basic role of war protection?

• Ayaz said:

beautiful mind
    please go ahead and find at least me at your back all the way.

• nota said:

@chussain
    It’s not just Mush, it’s very much the scenario Neocon have been pushing. Even the weirdos at Asia Times are toeing that line with cr*p like:

Slide to anarchy
    All this leaves us to conclude that the biggest players in the new game in Pakistan will be the Islamic fundamentalists who appear set against both Musharraf and Bhutto, and the neo-conservatives in Washington who would like any alternative to the Islamists to emerge.

There is no easy way to solve the sub-optimal results, and with the middle classes apparently uniting under the banner of Pakistan’s lawyers, it becomes more likely that a violent change of government occurs at some point. In turn, this unfolds a key scenario in the slide to World War III that I discussed in an article [4] last summer, namely the acquisition of Pakistan’s nuclear weapons by Islamic fundamentalists. The rest, as they say, will be history.

http://www.atimes.com/atimes/South_Asia/IK17Df02.html

• Atif said:

Admin Many thanks for keeping us informed through your wonderful website. I hope this is not an end but a new beginning. This is the time either we give in and start cursing ourselves or we stand up and fight for our true freedom. Solutes to Dr.Shahid, Kashif Abbasi, Talit Hussain, Hamind Mir and many more. Inshallah we will see you soon. May Allah bless you.

• Ahmed Bhai said:

Well my observation is that US believe that Nukes are Army’s responsibility and so safe unless there is divide in Army and Islamist in Army takes control. US still believe that generals are US pro (indeed true) and so if Mush dont understand then talk to Kiyani or someone else

So how easy is that Army divides?

No change in system in near future at least.

• Asif said:

Anyone who talks about anarchy, is infact heading for old Nazriyya-e-Zaroorat as a solution.
    The only solution is the restoration of Judiciary.
    Don’t divert your focus.

• nota said:

@pejamistri
    —————————
    Greate work. Ek General……….
    —————————
    Thanks! Loved it!!

• chussain said:

Musharraf is in blind alley. The only way out is his exile – which is if he makes it. So based on this premise he is going to cling to power as long as he can he leasts care about Pakistan.

He only cares about himself. He says that if he is gone there would be choas. I think he is insulting only Pakistani civilians but Pakistan Army also by saying that there would be no one in the Pakistan Army who can lead this country after him out of this mess.

What does Musharraf think – that out of 160 million people there is not a single person in Pakistan apart from him capable of leading Pakistan to its real destiny. He is so much grandiosic and is clearly deluded.

The Army has to take him out because for Pakistan – Pakistan Army comes first before Musharraf.

Kiyani can be a hero of Pakistan if he removes Musharraf and then conducts elections under neutral interim setup and takes Army to barracks.

• chussain said:

One thing more – If Kiyani conducts a coup against Musharraf he wont be tried under Article 6 because he is conducting coup against PCO and so he would be considered the real savouir of Pakistan provided he restored the Consitution as of 1999.

• pejamistri said:

@ahmed bhai
    that’s what mad general is selling to united states. What he is telling them is that there is a division in army, there are even generals who can be anti US. He is saying them if I leave the nukes can fall into unsafe hands, so who are these unsafe hands. They are the generals/officers who he is portraying as anti US. Let me give you few examples.
    1. The growing incidence of colonal level officers openly laying arms without fighting in Swat and Waziristan.
    2. Recently retired army generals getting vocal against General and United Stated, look at Abdul Qadir Balooch.
    3. Several retired army generals Hameed Gul, Talat Masood, Aslam Baig getting extremely vocal against the mad general.
    Mad general is using all this incidents to prove to US that there may be a large number of anti US army officers, and it is he who is keeping them under control.
    At the moment mad general is not mincing his words , he is clearly threatening US with option of nuclear weapons.

• chussain said:

It is not Hameed Gul, Aslam Beg and others who are real threat to US but the real threat to US is Musharraf because he is extremely unpopular and so long as US supports him they would get more unpopular also. They are not fighting war on terror but actually feuling the war of terror by siding with Musharraf who is now openly blackmailing US.

• pejamistri said:

@chussein
    Excellent point. Yes for the first time if an army general overthrows this mad general it will not be unconstitutional. As a matter of fact if he (Kiyani) does that and overthrows the mad General, restores the constitution. He will actually be following his oath for the first time in history.
    Would that Kiyani reads it understands it , if he overthrows this mad general , what he would be doing is :
    “, ____________, do solemnly swear that I will bear true faith and allegiance to Pakistan and uphold the Constitution of the Islamic Republic of Pakistan “

• Asif said:

The worst enemy of this mad cow is the visibility of public opinion. And we have to make sure the visibility at the levels which are in our capacity.
    Don’t look for a solution to Army lower ranks, then you are going to have another dictator. So our only solution is the visibility of public opinion.

• Kami said:

@ pejamistry
    @ Chusseing

Excellent idea for Kiyani. He should restore constitution.

Could you spread this idea to as many friends, columnst (email address on their columns), political parties (email address on their websites) and even GHQ (if there is any email). Also email this to Human rights commission.

I will start doing my part!!

I am surprised I never thought that!!!

• Asif said:

Voice only for restoration of Judiciary.

• nota said:

This is sad, folks. Remember ? He was the journalist whose only crime was reporting the truth about a US airstrike (and not a blast as Pak Army claimed) for which he was kidnapped and buttechered by ISI….

Now they have killed his widow. Luckily(?) his children survived the blast outside his home.
    http://www.dictatorshipwatch.com/modules.php?op=modload&name=News&file=article&sid=2602&mode=thread&order=0&thold=0

• Asif said:

You are gonna make the same mistake that our traditional politicians did in past by inviting the Army for a solution.
    To email them for a coup against their senior & then making another dictator. Makes no sense.

• nota said:

Sorry forgot to add his name above.
    Hayatullah Khan.

• Asif said:

It takes time & continuous struggle for something very precious.
    Don’t make the same mistake, don’t look to Army for a solution to oust this madcow.

• Asif said:

Trust in yourself. Your voice at any level won’t go waste. Believe in yourself. Be persistant. Continous pouring of single drop of water make a hole in stone.
    Voice only for the restoration of Judiciary.
    Public opinions visibility is the worst enemy of this madcow.

• Kami said:

@ Asif

It is not an invitation to take over government. It is an invitation to depose General Mush and RESTORE constitution & civilian rule. Constitution doesn’t allow Kiyani to be head of Government.

He should put some judge in charge of Care Taker Government.

Kiyani should himself remain Army Chief only

• Asif said:

Keep it visible

• Asif said:

@Kami

Don’t forget the opening speeches made by all previous madcows to restore Democracy within 90 days.

• pejamistri said:

@asif
    I agree with you, but let me explain what we are saying here.
    Ashfaq Kiyani and other Generals took oath under the constitution to uphold constitution of Pakistan, on 3rd of November mad general abrogated the constitution of Pakistan. Now this is a very unique situation in Pakistan , it is not similar to the situation where politician asks the COAS to overthrow a constitutional government.
    What we are asking Ashfaq Kiyani is not to come and overthrow an elected prime minister and abrogate the constitution of Pakistan. On the contrary we are asking him to follow his oath and overthrow this mad general. He can just arrest the mad general announce that constitution is now restored , which means SC is restored immediately and then everything runs according to the constitution.

I know I am little wishful , but who knows we might not be so unlucky.

• pejamistri said:

We know that our judiciary was corrupt, for over 59 years our judges licked the feet of Army generals. They never gave verdicts according to the constitution. They always legetimized the rule of dictators. And then one fine morning , we found a person whom we never thought in our dreams to take up the cause of people. He went in front of the mad dictator , told him:
    Alright from now onwards, all the decisions will be according to the constitution of Pakistan.
    And now we find that there are 50 of his brother judges following him.

Why can I not dream that :
    One fine morning one of our generals overthrows his boss, issues a one line statement :
    “I Vice Chief of Army Staff of Pakistan Army hereby declare that from now onwards Pakistan will be ruled by the constitution of Pakistan, hence 1973 constitution have been restored”

And that is it. Nothing unconstitutional , no guarantees of hold elections in 90 days. No appearance on television.
    CJ Iftikhar Chaudary will take care of the implementation of constitution in letter and spirit.

• Kruman said:

Good point guys. Does anyone have Kiyani’s home/cell phone number.

Someone needs to tell him this besides telling him that he is big boy now, he can do it.

• pejamistri said:

………. ah am I too wishful.

• Kruman said:

Peja, please put up a article to post on blogs.
    I’ll post it as a guest post from you on mine.

It is great idea that needs to be propagated.

• Asif said:

@pejamistri

I know I am little wishful , but who knows we might not be so unlucky.
    ——————————————-

On one side its shortcut solution but with doubts, on other side its time-consuming but a certain solution.

very unlikely kiyani will overthrow mush as handpicked by him, only possible if masses come out.

• nota said:

Folks, might want to sign the “Free Imran” petition on PTI site. There are only 214 people who have signed it so far…
    Direct link:
    http://www.thepetitionsite.com/takeaction/101507855

• nota said:

@kruman
    Found this at your site:
    Ali Noor said…

Here is Cell no. of the top man of IJT at PU. Please call to record your protest or send SMS. Let us send thousands of sms and calls so that he may know the whole world hates the organization he leads.

Name: Nasrullah Gauraya
    Education: MA (Education)
    Institute: Punjab University (Lahore)
    Cell-1: 0300-9467244
    Cell-2: 0333-4411280
    Email: nazimeaala@jamiat.org.pk

Contact Details of other office bearers are at:
    http://www.jamiat.org.pk/jamiat_org_structure_csec_president

• chussain said:

There is a famous chinese proverb

Thousand miles journey begins with the first step.

If you read what 8 member bench of SC in their short order setting aside the PCO it clearly asked all the Commanders and Principal Officers not to abide by it – so Sir the SC has already given the verdict – hence if Musharraf is overthrown they would be carrying our Supreme Court order which is entirely consititutional.

Why does Musharraf doesnt want judiciary to come back – simple – because he knows that if that judiciary is restored the first thing they would do is to implement the last order they gave when they were thrown out.

So Gen Kiayni would be entirely within consitution and SC order if he conducts that coup. There is no doubt about the legality of the coup. He wouldnt even have to get it certified by the National Assembly.

And National Assembly cannot pass a resolution against the coup because they are already dissolved.

• nota said:

@kruman
    Found this at your site:
    Ali Noor said…

Here is Cell no. of the top man of IJT at PU. …
    Name: Nasrullah Gauraya
    Education: MA (Education)
    Institute: Punjab University (Lahore)
    Cell-1: 0300-9467244
    Cell-2: 0333-4411280
    Email: nazimeaala@jamiat.org.pk

Contact Details of other office bearers are at:
    http://www.jamiat.org.pk/jamiat_org_structure_csec_president

• Kami said:

Exposing Generals. This site has some interest articles by prominent Pakistani intellectuals

http://www.fascistarmy.org/

• nota said:

AP story on the shutting down of Geo …
    http://www.iht.com/bin/printfriendly.php?id=8371857

Personally I just don’t buy the line Mush could “put tremendous pressure” on UAE. I also dont buy a guy who sweats profusely in front of western media can talk tough to Negroponte…
    http://www.dictatorshipwatch.com/upload/rte/r.jpg

• chussain said:

One thing more.

Musharraf is so stupid that in one of the interviews with BBC yesterday he said that the step he took regarding was unconstitutional. This was a very very big mistake he made because tomorrow this very interview would be used as evidence against him if he is brought to trial at some stage. So this man is digging a deeper hole for himself day by day.

Kiyanai is entirely justified ethically and legally to carry out coup and dump this general. Moreover after 15 Nov he is legally not president or chief of army staff anymore.

So he is a lame duck now and army can easily move against him and get him out.

• Ahmed Bhai said:

But the point is that take Army as an institute. Remember Mush first coup, A col. level and major who initiated..

Why cant this happen now ? because as an institute Army believes in their supremacy and Mush exactly doing this.

take one factor out i.e. waziristan and swat where we think Army has different opinion and then see where Army stands

This army is pro US and even Jawans and under cap.rank like to earn $$ of sent on special assignments abroad as peace maker. it is difficult to go against where one gets bread and butter.

• nota said:

@kami
    Try http://www.dictatorshipwatch.com/ for news and http://www.icssa.org for some excellent articles. I think they are by the same people as fascistarmy site.

• Sincere said:

A ray of hope in these dark times….

“Media authorities in Dubai said Saturday they were considering whether to allow two leading private Pakistani news channels to resume broadcasting after shutting them down the day before.” (AAJ TV)

• Ahmed Bhai said:

Army has always saved their wardi peers, see ayube khan, yayha and even mansoor haq. Mush made AQ Khan escape goat and all generals like aslma beg, hamid gul kept on saying that Mush has done good for pakistan in this respect and never made a categorical statement to support AQ Khan.

why on earth Kiyani will do this Chussain when he himself is pro US?

Army makes and breaks laws and all belong to them.

• nota said:

Princess Ferragamo at the Barricades: It’s all about “regime change�
    http://www.informationclearinghouse.info/article18730.htm

It doesn’t take a genius to figure out why the crooked Princess Ferragamo–Benazir Bhutto—has returned to Pakistan. Bhutto’s been traipsing all over Washington trying to garner support from think-tank heavies and establishment powerbrokers to help her stage a political come-back in Islamabad.

So there it is—Bhutto’s Faustian bargain in black and white—‘Get rid of Musharraf and I’ll fight your bloody war.’ What could be clearer?

Bhutto also promised her audience that she would promote democracy, but not democracy that creates a “Hamas-type solution.â€? Oh no; that would be carrying democracy too far. Besides, it is so upsetting to go through all the trouble of conducting “free electionsâ€? when, right after, the errant voters have to be starved and randomly bombarded for choosing the wrong party. What Bhutto wants—and what the membership of the CFR wants—is managed elections that produce “real democracyâ€?, the type that increases Washington’s power over its subjects.

• farhan said:

ministry of defense contacts

http://www.pakistan.gov.pk/ministries/ContentInfo.jsp?MinID=6&cPath=59_61&ContentID=95

many army personnel on this site. start contacting them everyone.

• pejamistri said:

@ahmed bhai
    Let me be devil’s advocate. The question of Pro-US or Anti-US is not important, as a matter of fact US must realize that mad general is not the only one in Pakistan who is against terrorism and supports “war on terror” , in fact that is what mad general is trying to sell US.
    Why should Ashfaq Kiyani not do this. Great chances are that he will not be COAS until mad general dies, army is getting more and more demoralized in the presence of mad general. He must be taking away a greater chunk of booty from american aid. So if Ashfaq Kiyani get’s rid of the mad general , he is going to kill many birds in one stone.

• nota said:

Bhutto: the new Chalabi
    http://www.uruknet.info/?p=38232

• J.A.G said:

Two of the most corrupt politicians in the history of Pakistan (Benazir, Nawaz), appeal to the people to rise up, and except a few of there party members, nobody cares. Imran Khan appeals to the students to rise against the Goverment, but is handed over to the Government by the students. The Lawyers which are responsible for the most corrupt and inefficent Judicial System in the world, appeal to the people to rise up, and nobody cares. Higly ‘Subjective’ Pakistani Media, which has erased the word ‘Objective’ from their dictionary, appeal to the people to rise up, and nobody cares. I salute the people of Pakistan who have totally rejected all these opportunists. I also thank Mr. Shaukat Aziz for helping Pakistan to attain a sustained GDP growth of above 7%, and stabilizing the economy. I think he was one of the most able and clean Prime Ministers in the history of Pakistan.
    Rapid, Stockholm, Sweden
    Backed by J.A.G Toronto

• pejamistri said:

So his master Negroponte actually met Ashfaq Kiyani separately , and he has extended his stay in Pakistan.. again may be we wait for the BIG news tomorrow..

• Ahmed Bhai said:

pejamistri:

I don’t disagree that Mush should go now (I honestly cry on current situation) rather my posts were little off-topic as I also see Army as an institute a continuous problem to people of pakistan unless some restructuring and bindings are made upon it.

How would Army see SC restoration as an institute for example? the prereq to all solutions.

what I stressed that Why and why not Kiyani as when Army has to takeover, Mush was in air and colonel level people initiated coup.

why cant this happen again as SC is taken off and Army is demoralized per se, and rest of your comments.

• Ahmed Bhai said:

pejamistri: tumharey moo mai ghee shukur :)

• fam said:

Admin…

I remember few months ago when you initiated this excellent idea, there were 10, 15, or 20 comments on different topics/programs, now I see hundreds of people leaving their comments, emotions, feelings, thoughts etc etc. You know WHY?? just because of your dedication.

SALUTE to you and your efforts.

• pejamistri said:

@ahmed bhai,
    To tell you the truth I am in complete agreement with you. I am just wishful and trying to indulge in false dreams. :)

• Ahmed Bhai said:

brother JAG:
    listen to the music Ek sla general puri qom ko higeda bana dala http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nt4_7eM49fY

In fact living under rule of corrupt, criminal, egoist generals, Pakistani awam will take time to wakeup and time has come, so you keep listening to link I gave you

• T Babu said:

Dubai could allow Pakistan TV channels to resume broadcasts

http://abc.net.au/news/stories/2007/11/18/2093902.htm?section=world

A clever move by isi and army to divide peoples on sectarian basis:
    At least 30 killed in Pakistan violence

http://www.usatoday.com/news/world/2007-11-17-pakistan_N.htm

Fraud by IJT by kicking out 17 persons they think they can make fool to pakistan people. After achieving their ugly goals now they are trying to present them as innocents child…this is true for all mullahs.

IJT says it has kicked out 17 for beating Imran

http://www.dailytimes.com.pk/default.asp?page=2007%5C11%5C17%5Cstory_17-11-2007_pg13_2

MPs join in battle to free Imran Khan

http://www.thetelegraphandargus.co.uk/display.var.1840497.0.mps_join_in_battle_to_free_imran_khan.php

Human Rights Advocates Slam Pakistan’s Musharraf

http://www.voanews.com/english/2007-11-16-voa66.cfm

Pakistan Violence a Concern at Pentagon

http://ap.google.com/article/ALeqM5gJ8GnQJGCLyzTBwTuvkoQ3nWJSWgD8SVACPG0

U.S. Seen Trying to Revive Musharraf-Bhutto Deal

http://en.epochtimes.com/news/7-11-17/62048.html

Young ruffians —Salman Tarik Kureshi

http://www.dailytimes.com.pk/default.asp?page=2007%5C11%5C17%5Cstory_17-11-2007_pg3_6

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mYIB4wiI-Vw&feature=related
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RLcSG8pYruw&feature=related
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=h0L9MPFodUg&feature=related
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=related&v=O_7f4sGW2nY

• Balouch said:

I think geo is working ???

• Gul said:

Today, finally I cried – with tears. GEO was the last man standing, and went down fighting. Inshallah, it will rise again. If there is anything at all that makes me proud of Pakistan today, it is GEO, it’s owners, presenters, indeed all of those who did not bow down.

I would like to convey my unconditional support to GEO network through the pkpolitics forum.

Admin, you yourself have been a tremendous service to Pakistanis. PLEASE CONTINUE PK POLITICS.

• shahid kinnare said:

This should be our agenda for futur as Pakistani.

1. No Army in Pakistan we should take guarantee from UN that India would not harm us.

2. Northen Area should be made Province of Pakistan.
    3. Kashmir should be made province of Pakistan.
    4.Punjab should broken and made two province.
    5. Wazirstan should be made into province also.
    6.Democracy should be on model of Switezerland and not on US or UK model.

I think this would almost solve of problem.

• sds said:

http://www.dubaimediacity.com/

sales@dubaimediacity.ae
    info@dubaimediacity.ae

everyone please send an email to dubai media city and tell them you are angry at their hypocrisy they have shown over GEO.they are considering reopening ary and geo let them know how u feel.

if u can then call or fax them

call or fax them
    Tel: +971 4391 4555
    Fax: +971 4391 4616

• Yusuf Nasrullah said:

Today, when Musharraf’s illegal and barbaric rule in Pakland is threatening to stifle the voices of dissent, protests, democratic freedoms and basic human rights to perpetuate a tyrannical and unconstitutional regime – today, when popular leaders are under house arrest or barred from meeting sacked judges, behind bars or forbidden from entering Pakistan from forced exile abroad…I’m reminded of the efficacy of FAIZ AHMED FAIZ’s beautiful and spiritually invigorating Urdu nazm, and his vision in “Hum Dekhengay”…rendered by the inimitable Iqbal Bano Sahiba.

I reproduce it here with my own translation:

Hum dekhengay
    Laazim hai ke hum bhi dekhengay
    Woh din ke jis ka vaada hai
    Jo lauhh-e-Azal pe likha hai
    Hum dekhengay

We shall see that Day, we shall most certainly see that Day, that Day ordained by the Almighty, that Day of our Salvation!

Jab zulm-o-situm ke koh-e-garaan
    Ru-ee ki tarha udh jaayengay!
    Hum mehkoomon ke paaon talay
    Yeh dharti “dhad dhad” dhadke gi
    Aur Ehl-e-Hukum ke Sar Uper
    Jab bijli “kadh kadh” kadkegi!
    Hum dekhengay!

Jab taaj uchhaale jaayenge
    Jab takht giraaye jaayenge!

When mountains of cruelty and tyranny shall disintegrate into cotton-balls tossed in the wind! When we the oppressed will hear the heartpulse of our Land beneath our feet, whilst the Tyrant prepares for the rage of Lightning to strike his unholy head! We shall certainly see that Day! For it is imminent!!! Then the crowns of the unjust rulers shall be snatched from them and thrown to the winds…then, the thrones and sceptres shall tremble and crash to the ground! We shall see that Day! Most certainly we shall See, we shall See!!!

Wah, Faiz, wah!

• chussain said:

I agree that Northern AReas and Tribal Areas should be made two provinces and Tribal areas should be given a provincial assembly so that they can sort out their own problems at that level.

As for Kashmir the problem is different. If we make it part of Pakistan and give it a status of province we would be going against UN resolution and then India would be able to say – you keep your part and we keep ours. So that may not be possible at this stage.

Punjab should be divided in three provinces – Punjab and Seraiki Province.

That way in national assembly their seats would be reduced.

I still maintain that General Kiyani has perfect consitutional right to remove Musharraf – not only Constitution does not recognise PCO but also Supreme Court Full Bench has declared PCO to be illegal. Plus Musharraf himself in BBC interview has said that his step was unconstitutional. So everything is ready for him to be tried under Article 6. We just have to wait for right time and not let him run away from Pakistan.

• commoner said:

@peja mistri
    Why can I not dream that :
    One fine morning one of our generals overthrows his boss, issues a one line statement :
    “I Vice Chief of Army Staff of Pakistan Army hereby declare that from now onwards Pakistan will be ruled by the constitution of Pakistan, hence 1973 constitution have been restored�

And that is it. Nothing unconstitutional , no guarantees of hold elections in 90 days. No appearance on television.
    CJ Iftikhar Chaudary will take care of the implementation of constitution in letter and spirit.

Pakistan Army Inc. is a business empire worth 250 billion, if not more. And every
    General has a share and a stake there. It is not a question of patriotism, constitutionalism, national interest, or morality it is a matter of naked self interest and bloody institutional interest. So anokha ladla khelan ko mangee chand wali baat hey.
    Mir bhi kya saada hain bemaar hoee jis key sabab
    usi uttaar key londay de dawa mangte hain

• Asif said:

http://www.express.com.pk/epaper/index.aspx?Issue=NP_LHE&Page=National_PAGE&Date=20071117&Pageno=3&View=1%20id=

Haroon-uraseed a senior jouranlist & often you have listened him in Bolta Pakistan.
    See what he syas,,,,,,,,,

• Khokar said:

Good Bye Pkpolitics.

Good Bye Pakistan.

This is the end.

We give up.

• commoner said:

@Shahid Kinnare
    @chussain
    This is time to focus on demands for removal of Musharraf, restoration of the constitution(including restoration of CJ and other judges) and reverting back to the democratic rule and this requires unity and concentration. Asking for creation of new provinces at this time would be tantamont to opening of pandora’s box and would deflect from the issues at hand. Lets demand for divisionary issues like making of new provinces after achieving the above stated core issues.

• Kami said:

We have not given up. We never will. Its only 3% mush & mqm supporters who spread disappointments.

Pakistan has never seen such unprecedented resolve of moderate civil society.

Run Mush Run
    Before it is too late for you.

• Amir Hameed said:

@commoner,
    You are right that the need of the hour is to have the constitution and judiciary restored. A democratic government will be far better qualified to look into the provinces issue.

• Aleem said:

I Know its a dream but sumtimes dreams come true, i wish……….

*Atizaz as President of Pakistan.

*Sir Imran Khan as PM.

*CJ Iftkhar should be restore.

*Dr.A Q Khan comes again on TV & tell hows he save Pakistan & took everything on his ownself.

*Check the assets of Munfaqi-ur-Rehman & Jamte-i-Harmi & ban them.

*Ban MQM & Hang Altaf Hussain.

Just pray once this for Pakistan after ur prayer InshAllah Allah gave us a new Pakistan.

PS: If we can’t do anything against Mush & want to show support with Sir Imran Khan then we should donate sumthing to SKMT.

• saleem rabbani said:

Dear brothers and sisters
    I have not written comments very often but i have read it all.Mostly it was encouraging and usefull.
    MANY THANKS TO OUR ADMIN BROTHER WHO GAVE HIS 110% TO KEEP US ALL UPDATE, YOU HAVE TO BELIEVE THAT IF YOU STAND UP WE ARE WITH YOU.THAT WAS QUEITE AN EXPERIENCE FOR THE LAST FEW MONTHS YOU HAVE ALL THE QUALITIES TO MAKE A PLATFORM WHERE INFORMATION CAN BE GATHERED AND DELIVER.YOUR IDEAS WERE MOSTLY INNOVATIVE AND REAL.INSHALLAH YOU WILL GET YOUR CHANNELS BACK EVEN MORE POWERFULL AND RESPECTED AND YOU SITE WILL BE AMONG SOME OF THE BIGGEST SOURE OF INFORMATION FOR US PAKISTANIS.WE SAY SALAAM TO YOU AND ALL THE OWNERS OF THE TV CHANNELS AND HOSTS.AND AS FOR AS MUSHARRAF DAKO IS CONCERNED he is just like murghi(chicken/hen)if you try to catch it for a long time she will run and try to fly and then she will sit down to be catched.He will destroy SWAT and Waziristan but this chicken cannot leave the room or darba(chicken home)now we have to catch it.
    I WOULD SUGGEST TO ADMIN OR OTHER RESPONSIBLE SITE PEOPLE TO POST THE ARTICLES OF SOME VERY BIG NAMES FROM PAKISTAN’S PRINT MEDIA WHICH ALSO INVOVLES OUR HERO HOSTS AND SOME OTHERS LIKE DR AJMAL NIAZI ,IRFAN SIDDIQUI .THEY ARE ALL IN DIFFERENT NEWS PAPERS WE WILL STILL BE INFORMED LITTLE BETTER THAN PTV. I HOPE SOMEBODY WILL TAKE THIS RESPONSIBILITY.WE SHOULD GIVE ADMIN A BRAKE AND OTHER BROTHER SHOULD MAKE 3 OR 4 GROUPS AND TRY TO CUT AND PASTE THE ARTICLES AND NEWS FROM THE NEWSPAPERS WE HAVE SUPPORT THEM ALSO NOW NEWS PAPERS ARE IMPORTANT THAN EVER .
    JAZAKALLAH AND INSHALLAH WE WILL TALK WITH EACH OTHER IN BETTER TIMES. BUT BAD TIMES BRING PEOPLE CLOSER THAN THE GOOD TIMES.

• Rihat said:

Geo news is working @

http://www.voiceoftoronto.com/en/

• Amir Hameed said:

An excerpt from the statement of the Dubai Media City:
    ———-
    It said, “As an entity within the UAE, Dubai Media City would also observe the broad principles of the country’s foreign policy and prevent the broadcast of news and material that would undermine those principles.â€?
    ———-
    What a load of crap. These channels had been boradcatsing their news for years and all the sudden they were tagged as policy-breaker? What about Al-Jazeera, doesn’t it fall under the same category? These double-standard b*st*rds.

• saleem rabbani said:

@ Aleem sahib

inshallah this can happen ALLAH can do anything

• commoner said:

Are not you playing on the “agencies’” pitch by continuosly targetting BB and trying to paint her as the devil incarnate.Who else can you serve by trying to malign a popular politician.
    I am amused to see some people hate BB/PPP more than hating Bush/Mush/Vajpaee put together.

• Syed said:

I wonder if the young officers of Pak Army are thinking like us or like Musharraff? Are they as concerned, how do they communicate it to their superiors. Only once as far as I have read was in 1971 when officers of 6th Armoured Dvision in Kharian had clearly told GHQ that they will not fight under the Army command. Army officers are ours, they have been trained using our money, they are paid by us: the tax payers. They should alos do something! They must know that the Army high command has gone beserk, as far as they are threatening using nukes!! they should leave now or else they will go in a bad way: not good for them not good for the country.

• Rihat said:

I am confuse……Geo website says Geo news has been shut down. But I can watch it live at

http://www.voiceoftoronto.com/en/

• Syed said:

Geo news is not working but you can watch it on the net! Toronto News is incorrect!

• nota said:

@commoner
    Yes I am ISI on loan to CIA. I post ‘em as I come across ‘em. So you can k*ss my b*hind. Is it really that odd that so many people are writing about her these days? And I really don’t have to try to paint her as the devil incarnate. She does not need my help in that. By the way, I had come to post an article about Mush. Yes, I do want to paint him as the devil incarnate!

• Aleem said:

@ Saleem Rabbani,

Khuda app ke zuban mubarik karay….

• farhan said:

Geo just reported that Ch. Shujaat appealed to mush to lead PML-Q : ). I cannot believe this joker got to become PM of Pakistan.

• nota said:

Hillary’s Musharraf
    by Greg Palast
    http://www.informationclearinghouse.info/article18720.htm

Excerpts:
    ” But, unlike Saddam and Osama, creations of Ronald Reagan’s and George Bush Sr.’s Frankenstein factories, Musharraf was a Clinton special.

And it all began with an unpaid electricity bill. In 1998, Pakistan wouldn’t pay up millions, and they owed billions, to British and American electricity companies. And for good reason: the contracts called for paying insanely high prices. It smelled of payola – and ultimately, the government of Pakistan filed charges against power combine executives and canceled the contracts. That’s the rule under international law: companies can’t collect on contracts they obtained by pay-offs.

But these weren’t just any companies. One was a Tony Blair favorite, Britain’s National Power. The other was Entergy International, a sudden big-time player in the international power market based out of, oddly, Little Rock, Arkansas. Despite the Clinton Administration’s claim to fight foreign corruption, this was an exception. Clinton and Blair voted to cut off Pakistan’s funding from the IMF. Pay-up the power pirates, they told Pakistan, or starve. ”

Was there a connection between Entergy’s kindness to Hillary and her law partner and the power company’s extraordinary sway with the Administration? From inside information on energy policies to favor requested of Tony Blair’s office by Hillary’s office, Entergy could do no wrong. Certainly, their consortium’s executives wouldn’t have to stand trial in Pakistan.

And Entergy got its money. On December 22, 1998, Pakistan’s military, at the direction of General Pervez Musharraf, sent thirty thousand troops into the nation’s power stations. At the time, Entergy’s partners told me, “A lot changed since the army moved in. Now we have a situation where we can be paid. They’ve found a way to collect from the man in the street.” Yes: at gunpoint, according to Abdul Latif Nizamani, a labor union leader who spoke with me after Musharraf’s gang had arrested him.

With Pakistan’s army in control of thenation’s infrastructure, and acting as guarantor of payment to the US and UK power giants, General Musharraf’s final takeover of the entire government nine months later – a “surprise” coup to the Western press – was, a forgone conclusion. And the Clintons, complicit, like Bush today, could say little.

• Syed said:

@peja and etc

The idea and wish that Kiyani would do this is great but again what are you syaing to the Army. They are most powerful and can do anything. Not this time. they should simply pack their bags and go. Yes Kiyani can help in getting the new President in place, and I do not mind if it is the Senate President Mr. Soomro as that is what the consitution says. An interim govt can then be formed and judiciary restored which can conduct free andf fair elections uder the honorable CJ Mr. Ch. No to Army! Geo Fauj kay Baghair! Geo Geo!

• Saima Khan said:

I have just one thing to say. Everyone says that Musharraf is a puppet of the west and he is letting west interfere in the internal affairs of Pakistan. May be true but I ask you people, who are living in foreign countries and who go to their MPs and congressmen and senators and other people like that and ask them to put pressure on Pakistani government, that aren’t you doing the same thing. What business do those people have in the internal affairs of our country. If people of Pakistan don’t like Musharraf they will get rid of him themselves. You people are humiliating Pakistan, not Musharraf alone. How are you any better than Musharraf if you are doing the same thing?

• Jamshid Khan said:

Gen Musharraf is behaving like Saddam Hussain, the difference is Saddam had Oil at his disposal and Musfarraf use Nuclear Bomb as a shield.

• nota said:

How things really work. Was Mush really a bill collector for Blair and Clintons before the 1999 coup? Can anyone corroborate this “30,000 troops in power stations” bit?

Hillary’s Musharraf
    by Greg Palast
    http://www.informationclearinghouse.info/article18720.htm

• nota said:

@Saima Khan
    Last I remember I threw out an MPA from my house even though he was my first cousin. But I agree. What we should be ‘demanding’ is for them not to support the person but the country…

• chussain said:

Good article – still a suggestion to Americans and West – get him out because 2013 would be very late especially teh danger of him having access to nuclear weapons he is very very dangerous. He is impulsive and ruthless. So Musharraf should be removed and removed quickly.

• Atiq niazi said:

Dear admin: thank you very much for the efforts you have done. but still we will not give up. we will keep discussing here. we are in the battle field. will not give up at any cost. One day all the channels will be restored insha Allah. salam to all patriots.

• Zaheer said:

Pakistan Army: My opinion and few requests.

I feel that Pk Army has been quite nice in their professional area. I can’t say that how much were they forced to intervene into politics of Pk! Personally, i feel that they intervened into politics sometimes more than they were required.
    It is true that Pk Army is the only well established, disciplined and strong institution. Pakistan do need Army and the strong one but it is requested to Army that they must take people of Pakistan along. I know that they are having a tough time right now since USA is sitting on our neck in Afghanistan and is looking for excuses to intervene into Pakistan, India also not fully cooperative. On the other hand internal situation of Pakistan is also quite disturbed so they have to work on many fronts.
    I have a humble request to PK Army that they must get bold, brave, true, sincere and straightforward. Look all the fronts opened by Army to run country like Taliban, Mujihideen, MQM, Jamaat-e-Islami, Pakistan Muslim league Q etc have become grave problems for us today. Please don’t establish such short planned organizations anymore, i don’t doubt your sincerity but unfortunately you people alone can’t control all. We need to be internally strong and must not look all the time towards USA. If we are internally strong then everything will fine INSHALLAH otherwise things will remain complicated.
    I feel Army has been into politics and it was perhaps need of time but now it needs to be stopped with specific steps. i think you people have learned from your past experiences. If Army think that only it can help Pakistan so it needs to stay in power e.g. in the form of Army President then it will make almost impossible the growth of a sensible and confident society.
    Our Army need to take some brave steps at this moment. Foremost thing is that kindly restore Judiciary because justice brings peace and vice versa. Not only restore them rather sit with them, understand ground realities of Pakistan together, invite sincere intellectuals from civil society and politicians also, plan a line of action without unnecessary diplomacy and then stay strongly along with them in implementation of rule of law.
    Let me assure you that this step of yours will be best step towards a peaceful and prosperous country otherwise if country sinks(Allah naan karay) due to cancer of corruption then all of us will sink.
    What do you want? Pakistan dying with cancer of corruption or the one where all of us live happily, peacefully and as thankful to Allah almighty!!! Please think…How long can you fight with disturbed and uncooperative society with short term plans!

• chussain said:

You can watch geo on teh following site

http://www.geo.tv

There is web TV and if you click that you can actually watch teh news on internet.

• Saima Khan said:

What we should be demanding from them is not to butt in our affairs at all. We are quite capable of solving our own problems. I am also living in a foreign country and whenever anybody try to discuss situation in Pakistan with me whether in the form of ridicule or in the form of pity over Pakistani people, I plainly tell him/her that we are capable of solving our problems and we don’t need anybody’s support to bring democracy in Pakistan.
    Others should show some self-respect and shouldn’t invite others to interfere with our internal politics. There are things happening in india and china but their politicians and expatriates don’t ask western countries to come and topple their governments.

• nota said:

@chussain
    But is the info in the article correct? Is the rise of Mush because of success at bill-collecting? Is the fall of Nawaz because he tried to stop the theft of Blair and Co? Pardon me “commoner” but weren’t these contracts paying “insanely high prices” signed under BB?

• nota said:

@Saima Khan
    I agree with you 100%…

• Anonymous said:

Pakistan army will use
    biological and chemical weapons in swat.

• Zaheer said:

@Anonymous
    “Pakistan army will use
    biological and chemical weapons in swat”

If it is true then it is one most dangerous things. Force can’t bring peace, if we want peace then we need to win hearts and minds of people. PK Army must not do it, it is suicide. Every enemy of us wants that our Army gets into troubles since this is one of the biggest resistance to them. I hope, i wish and i pray that our Army understands plans of enemies.

Don’t be proud of your weapons, they can’t win war of minds and hearts. Come on…

• commoner said:

“For developing countries no energy is as expensive as no energy” said Homi Bhabha, former head of India’s nuclear energy project. This statement becomes more relevant when we find out that practically ZERO KW of energy has been added in the post BB ten years in Pakistan? . And the increase in demand can be gauged by the fact that every two year there is an approximate addition of one crore people to the population of Pakistan. So what we have is omnipresent load shedding euphemistcally called load sharing peaking every year in summers. And remember there has been no graet industrialization in the same period(only the number of ACs has increased). Just imagine the state of affairs in Pakistan if there were no IPPs today.

• Ahmed Bhai said:

Anonymous:
    the only reason to believe this is by looking at their skills and weapon used in Lal Masjid. Swat is much bigger territory and both sides will have good supply line..

Zaheer:
    Wining heart of people is never aim of any Army in recent history. 71 would not had happened, waziristant has not suffered, and of all look whats happening in Lahore, Karachi, Islamabad…

• nonconformist said:

A breaking news on NYT: US has secretly been aiding Pakistan
    to “secure” its nuclear assets.Pl visit:

http://www.nytimes.com/2007/11/18/washington/18nuke.html?
    _r=1&hp&oref=slogin

• Ahmed Bhai said:

commoner:
    you point is valid that even if it was high priced energy, following governments should have done for alternatives and price would have been automatically adjusted.

nota:
    the story is not merely a story as taliban case is also attributed to Unocal enerygy pipeline dispute.

Indeed now most global politics can be traced back to global business issues – Globalization..

• Hameed Chaudhry said:

Pakistani government servants, either working in civilian departments or working in arm forces get paid monthly from 1947 when Pakistan was emerge as a nation after getting indipence from Britidh Rule.

After 60 years of independence as a NATION, we still feel as a prisioners of Pakistani Army (Few Generals) who inforsed Martial Laws and taken the 35 years out of 60 years of democratic life. Shame to the Generals who suspended the constitution in Pakistan.

We have to take strict actions against those who go against the constitution while serving and getting paid by tax payers of Pakistan and …… Martial Law.

Allah Hafiz and Pakistan Zindabad

• Ali said:

something of a good news

http://afp.google.com/article/ALeqM5h1yD7B2A_wMZ3xqgyl19om_KBYag

hopefully this will happen sooner rather than later

• chussain said:

Based on teh assessments and reading the news which are coming out of Pakistan to be honest i dont think that Americans want Musharraf to go away.

The plan is very simple.

In days to come teh Supreme Court is firstly going to indemify emergerncy and secondly would validate teh election of President after which he is going to take oath as civilian president and then hold elections. The emergency would be lifted after this – maybe sometime before elections so that he can justify that elections are held without emergency.

The only compulsion at the moment is his getting validated emergency from SC and validation of his election as President.

Even if political parties bycott it which I doubt they would esp MMA PMLQ and even maybe PPP may participate and validations are done – then everything would be forgotten.

I understand that it wont bring stabiilty but I am just commenting on teh strategy of Musharraf and his team.

The only way he can be stopped if everyone has only one point agenda – that is to – restore the judicary. If there is compromise on this then nothing else is going to matter.

Try to understand Musharraf is fighting a war for his survival and he knows he cannot cling to uniform and he wants that before there is clear signal from army to give up uniform he wants these things to be settled.

Ban on Geo and ARy would be taken away once teh SC validates both teh actions. He is least bothered with credibility of all these actions as he does not simply care what others say. He knows that if he persists eventually everyone would accept it.

The thing which can stop him from doing this is if the political parties unanimously boycott elections and people come on streets. If they do not then I am afraid he is going to stay here for long time to come unless Allah has some other plans.

• chussain said:

If Musharraf gets away with all this – then he is leaving people to only thing – revolution – people would have to invite Taliban to help them get rid of him. So it would be bloody revolution. So Pak Army has to decide what they want. Musharraf or Taliban

• chussain said:

If Army uses chemical and biological weapons in Swat then they would have to use these weapons all over teh country at some stage.

Pakistan future is very very dark unless this mad general is removed

• Syed said:

@sds wrote earlier that we should all write to dubaimediacity on the following emails
    sales@dubaimediacity.ae
    info@dubaimediacity.ae
    Theitr website is: http://www.dubaimediacity.com/

I feel this is important. Please write to them. Can I request admin to start organising such things. You can have a corner on the page to say today’s task and ask everyone to do it. Like writing an email or a letter etc. So that everyday there is something everyone does. This can give due weight to our opinions.

• pejamistri said:

@chussein,
    Agree with you. But let me recap the plan and then identify one biggest loophole in that plan.
    1. So SC declares election of president constitutional.
    2. General doffs his uniform , takes oath as president.
    3. SC validates Marshall Law and indemnifies General.
    4. General holds election before 9th of January.
    5. PLM(Q) and PPP win elections and General manages to get himself accepted as the president
    6. Everybody lives happily thereafter :)

Now look at the point #2 , and that is virtually death of General. Let me tell you it would have been a matter of single day for the SC to sit and declare that the election of president is valid. That would have happened today, yesterday or even two days back if General wanted this.
    General is trying to buy as much time as he can. He is not allowing SC to hear the dual office case. As a matter of fact PCO CJ Dogar would have easily declared petition of Justice (Retd.) Wajih-ud-din as withdrawn on the basis of his(Wajih-ud-din) application for not hearing the case. If the petitionar shows no trust in the bench then the petition stands withdrawn and that can be declared even by the registrar.
    But General wants to keep this open in order to buy as much time as he can.
    Million dollar question is that when this can happen?

• Ahmed Bhai said:

Chussain:
    this is the down side of reading more and more analysis. Polarity b/w ground reality and wish list /dreams..

And I am afraid that your doubts become true: see what jamiat will get in return for arresting IK? very small pie, may be more control in PU and thats it. but they sold themselves. carry this logic to MPAs, MNAs, political parties – all will be sold for their pie. Army sold to US for their pie

escape goats: CJ and other justice, AQ Khan, and finally awam segregated as extremist and moderate- some will be killed in name of moderation and others as extremist.

Divide-Kill-Rule policy

however, as you said unless Allah have some other plans…

• Syed said:

@ChHuassain you are right the political parties can get together on two point agenda: Mush and his cronies to leave immediately AND Restoration of judiciary. Elections can be held under an independent judiciary. But will commando go like that? I doubt it. He will only go if the people come out in large numbers which they are not doing at the moment.

• Asif said:

http://www.moveforjustice.org/
    is not working????????

• Anonymous said:

To Admin,

Shouldn’t we also write against those media people who belong to Dawn and Aajtv????

Please conduct a poll about Aaaj tv and Dawn news? Ask the people whether their actions to compromise with the government are correct?

FYI: Aaj tv and Dawn news are on in Pakistan!

This poll is very valid, because I see no criticism against them. I and people from Geo and Ary want to know whether actions were unpopular or incorrect as seen by the public?

• Asif said:

Imran Khan’s arrest on terrorism charges reminds me of the arrest of the late great Punjabi poet Ustad Daman by Zulfikar Ali Bhutto on terrorism charges. One of his poems had offended the late prime minister. Ustad Daman was charged with keeping grenades in his house. He lived in a small room in the old city of Lahore that has seen more history than any other and more than an American can comprehend…….

http://nation.com.pk/daily/nov-2007/18/columns1.php

• Asif said:

The Punjab University’s 13 senior teachers have been booked on charges of treason by the police for staging a rally against PCO and in support of restoration of democracy in the country. The cops were reportedly searching for them late Saturday night

The situation in PU remains tense as IJT and other groups of students plan to stage huge rallies within the campus on Monday (tomorrow).

http://nation.com.pk/daily/nov-2007/18/localnews1.php

• junaid said:

you can still watch geo on internet

• Amir Hameed said:

Based on the folowing news, it seems that Talat Hussain has resigned from AajTV:
    ————
    “The news coverage that we’re doing is evoking a really harsh reaction from the government,” said Talat Hussain, an anchor with Aaj television who resigned Saturday after management canceled his talk show. “And the owners are not really standing up to government pressure.”

————
    http://www.iht.com/articles/2007/11/17/asia/pakistan.1.php?page=1

• Faisal said:

In orkut community of PU some jamaiat goons are opnely threatning ordinary male & female students of violence in mon rally & claiming that VC & teachers are with them.. Also some of them are trying to give sectarian color to this nascent movement by saying that if this succeeeds then shias will come on the campus.. They sure have filthy minds wonder why we call them muslims..

• Khurram Abbasi said:

i have one important question if you got a chance to be back as ruling party in pakistan what will you do to for the freedom on press specially the electronic media??

There is not much left to convince ourselves that this regime is letting go of its power, even if it cost us our homeland. All that is happening is good.

We now need a strategy to bring in the real stakeholders, i.e. PEOPLE OF PAKISTAN.

Share your opinions on how to do that.

May I ask the ADMIN to preferebly open a new thread on making the movement for democracy more inclusive.

It’s important to stay focused and come up with a strategy before loosing anymore time.

• Asif said:

http://www.jang.com.pk/jang/nov2007-daily/18-11-2007/col3.htm

Still the respectable writers are passing thru the Shock & Awe of IJT Goons…….

• Asif said:

IK you have ignited a new spirit in the youth & it won’t be get wasted.
    Longlive IK

• Awam said:

Pakistan’s One-Man Calamity by Nawaz Sharif

http://www.washingtonpost.com/wp-dyn/content/article/2007/11/16/AR2007111601462.html

• KS said:

GEO is baaaaaaaaaaaaack !!!

• KS said:

I just watched a report on Negroponte’s press conference!

• Zia Gondal (Korea) said:

Qazi Hussain visits Imran’s family
    ———————————-

Jamaat-e-Islami Amir Qazi Hussain Ahmed on Saturday visited the residence of Pakistan Tehrik-e-Insaf Chairman Imran Khan in Lahore and expressed complete solidarity with members of his family.

PTI sources told The News here that the JI chief told the three sisters of Imran Khan that he was in a shock after hearing the Punjab University incident and had taken a strong exception to it.

Complete Article:
    http://thenews.com.pk/daily_detail.asp?id=81449

• chussain said:

@Uunaid – one thing i tell you – Jamiat has lost the game of winning over hearts and minds of students of Pakisatn – the only way it can come is by ghunda gardi and terrrorist. Jamiat is no doubt a terrorist organization based on fascist agenda. It just CANNOT TOLERATE DISSENT. They believe they are thekaydars of Islam and want to impose their ideology on others.

They exploit the sentiments of students from poor homes and use them as fodder to further their aims.

Shame on Jamiat

• chussain said:

Shiekh Rashind and Durrani are products of Jamiat.

The whole nation is with Imran Khan and whatever jamiat says it cannot eliminate vidoe evidence.

• chussain said:

juanid like this military junta you have no power except the power of fear and that is how you guys have been ruling PU for so long – but enough is enough – your threats are empty threats. Your Qazi had been giving calls for million march – he is a lame duck Qazi like Fazlu – teh worst hypocrite organization in Pakistan is Jamiat, Jamaat Islami and Fazlu and company in garb of MMA

MMA did nothing for common man in NWFP for last five years and in fact lost Swat also

Your God father Bush is also on his way out next year and so would be your another God father Mush.

So time to pack up.

• Umar Dar said:

Dear Admin
    Can you ask the anchor persons like Mr Hamid Mir and Dr shahid and Talat Masood to start writing or giving there views on MP3 and then those can be uploaded on internt for our consumption , as we miss there views.
    Dont know how practical is this but something of the sort has to be done to keep us inormed about the true picture of Pakistan

• huda said:

all students from universities of islamabad are invited to protest…….its a call to save pakistan….its time to do something…if u have courage…if ur soul is free…if u love ur country…if u dare to come then join us in islamabad ….abpara…3pm..wednesday