l Visitors News Views on Emergency – 16 Nov | Pakistan Politics
{ 374 comments... read them below or add one }

• Zia Gondal (Korea) said:

PROTEST at SEOUL, KOREA
    ———————–
    (16th Nov, 2007 Friday 0200 M)
    Students from various universities of S.Korea gathered in seoul and demonstrated a protest infront of Pakistan Embassy.
    Slogans againts emergency and in favour or judiciary were raised while protesting in a silent way as allowed by the local police.
    * Pictures and Clips will be uploaded soon.

• ashamed said:

…and look what our univ students did to Imran Khan…disgusting!!! Down with Ja-me-att!

• zsarosh said:

some famous ex-jamtias now in govt…actually not as of today

muhammad ali Durrani (information minister)
    Shaikh Rasheed(railway minister)

no wonder jamiat supports the govt

• zufi said:

can anybody refer me to ant statment from
    PMLN on pu incident

• libertarian said:

http://www.dailytimes.com.pk/default.asp?page=2007\11\16\story_16-11-2007_pg1_11
    aaj tv back on, on condition that they dont air bolta pakistan and talat. Please if anyone could find and post the aaj tv mailing address.
    We should all mail them saying we shall boycott their channel until those two programs are reinstated. Also let them know that if not reinstated we shall write to their various sponsors to stop their advertising. Please this is the least we can do for them as it is a matter of their livelihood and our unadulterated news that we have enjoyed thru this website….
    admin please make the mailing address a sticky and make sure every one visiting this website mails he aaj people..

• Nighat said:

AAJ is pathetic without these 2 programs. Talat hussain is an intelligent anchor with relative objectivity. Alas the Aaj admn had its finances dearer than free press. sad sad

• Nighat said:

you want us to watch PJ Mir? or Peja TV oh sorry PTV

• G-FORCE said:

Soon GEO TV will be without… HAMID MIR alias phappay kutni!& IFTIKHAR alias munh phaat!

GEO is already bleeding financially and will soon fall in line to AAJ and DAWN.

When money talks, objectivity takes a hike. Media in Pakistan has learned a global lesson.

• G-FORCE said:

Sorry forgot to add……

Without Peja (PJ Mir) and Jaidi (Javed Malik) ARY will fizzle out! There is so much you can earn from selling jewelery and gold in Dubai and then invest in a media empire too!

• Aneeza said:

Nice article by Ayyaz Amir

http://www.dawn.com/weekly/ayaz/ayaz.htm

• mehmood said:

This country was came in being in the name of Islam and now in which direction we are going?

Iss daur main may aur hai, jaam aur hai, jum aur

Saaqi ne bina ki rawish-e-lutf-o-sitam aur

Muslim nai bhi ta’ameer kia, apna harum aur

Tahzeeb ke azar ne trishwai sanam aur

In taza khudaon main baRa sab se watan hai

Jo pairhan iss ka hai, woh mazhab ka kafan hai

Yeh but keh tarasheeda-e-tahzeeb-i-navi hai

Gharat gar-e-khashan-e-deen-i-nabawi hai

Baazu tira tawheed ki quwwat se qawi hai

Islam tira dais he, tu Mustafawi hai!

Nazzara-e-deerana zamanay ko dikha dai

Ai Mustafawi, khaak main iss but to mila dai

• nota said:

@Zufi
    They did have a statement yesterday in Dawn…see http://www.dawn.com/2007/11/15/nat12.htm

• Zulqadar khan said:

Long live Imran Khan.Shame on Gov .We are desperately waiting to see Shahid Masood,Hamid Mir,Kamran Khan,Talat Hussain,Kashif Abbasi on our television screens and please keep on going as u people did in the past plz dont lose your credibility.

• Fraz said:

Please watch tribute to students and lawyers

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sv7YdFVe2Is

and please sign protest at http://www.BoltaPakistan.com

• nota said:

I really don’t believe GEO is bleeding financially as they made tons of money running those “Parah Likha Punjab” and Mush ads non-stop for months. They can afford to hold out a while I am sure.

Personally I never watch ARY, I only watch Talat on Aaj (and sometimes that show with two journalists commenting on current events — sorry I forgot their names), and on Geo I only watch Dr. Shahid Masood’s and Hamid Mir’s shows. If none of these are there, then it really doesn’t matter if ARY, GEO, or AAJ are on air or not.

• sohail said:

dr shahid masood is also out. Mush threatened to lodge treason case against GEO if dr shahid appears again on screen.
    please contact GEO and dr shahid to give them full support.

• chussain said:

BB in her latest press conference going on at the moment has said that she does NOT ACCEPT THE NEW CARETAKER GOVERNMENT AS IT IS AN EXTENSION OF PML Q.

She says she is trying to build up a coalition that would agree on an interim goverment that would oversee free and fair elections.

• Aneeza said:

Another good article including mention of Imran incident.

http://www.thenews.com.pk/daily_detail.asp?id=80951

• Aneeza said:

An article from Guardian, harbinging good news of probable demise of Musharraf (ameen)

http://www.thenews.com.pk/daily_detail.asp?id=80952

• Saeedul Mukhtar said:

There are three issues:

Pakistan : Are we 53rd State of USA?
    It appears we are as Bush adminstration is directly issuing instructions to Pakistan Govt what to do and what not to do.

Musharraf : He is not only a dictator, but also is a man without moral who even to to the extent by getting women beat on the roads of Lahore. It is a shameful affair.

Benazeer : She and her people party are corrupt and want the ” Chair ” ( as her father described in 1977.

PPP is responsible for breaking up of Pakist an in 1972, BB was in power for 2 terms and during this period she stole US$1.2bn from Pakistan treasurt as quoted by musharrsf, has a deal with musharraf to play a major role in the drama being played by Musharraf.

• qisak said:

The worst of the worst in the political scene of this country are the so called religious parties. Certainly, they religiously follow the path of self-interest and amoral conduct, willing to make a u-turn at the drop of a hat. The worst hypocrites in this game are Qazi and Fazlu. No wonder Imran has been betrayed time and again by these bearded monsters. And look at the mess they created in the one part of the country they ruled. Down with the Mullahs! Once and for all.

• Ahmed Bhai said:

Unless BB takes a U-turn or settle for less, its clear that Mush must go now, well before end of Nov.

Interesting to see how VCOAS taking command and allowing Sc restoration as CJ hinted to call generals (from agencies) in “lapata loog” cases

Now I am feeling that everyone (political parties, media) will settle down for “less than best” and probably judges will become escape goat like AQ Khan

who cares about awam… May my fear prove wrong

• chotta said:

I just read on the Inasf website that Imran Khan’s three sisters were beaten and than arrested at Barket market Gulberg, Lahore.

They actually have an audio file uploaded where you can hear women screaming and police brutally beating them. I just dont understand, How can they do this to women doing a benign protest.

I wont be surprised if they even vacate Shukat Khanum and shut it down under Anti Terrorism act.

• chussain said:

The political parties would lose their crediblity if they settle for less – and allow the judiciary to be sacked – no one can afford that now.

Sometimes the events take over the situations and people lose control over them.

Just imagine how the Imran arrest backfired on Jammat and IJT – it caused them a devastating blow and for the first time in history of Punjab University more than 4000 students got together which included many members of IJT and raised slogans against IJT.

All the newspapers in Pakistan has condemned the way IJT played the role and in fact it benefited Imran immensely.

So it is now nearly impossible if anyone can afford to let the rehabilitation of judiciary go away like that

BREAKING NEWS

Justice Abassi, Justice Buttar and Justice khokhar – SC PCO judges – have refused on sit on the bench which is to decide on emergency petitions of Iqbal Tikka.

So even lota judges are saying enough is enough – maybe they are also smelling the change

• chussain said:

BB says that oath of caretaker goverment on PCO is nothing less than TREASON

http://www.bbc.co.uk/urdu/pakistan/story/2007/11/071116_bb_lahore.shtml

• farhan said:

@ chussain

good news. where was it? i am watching geo. nothing there

• chussain said:

Geo was showing in its newsreel.

• ALIVEPAKISTAN.COM said:

Maybe GEO will come On Air very soon after some conditions from government like they did with Aaj Tv and Dawn.

• AD said:

Indeed. AAJ owners have certainly given in.

“Live with Talat” and “Bolta Pakistan” not to be aired.

http://www.dailytimes.com.pk/default.asp?page=2007\11\16\story_16-11-2007_pg1_11

• chussain said:

SC three Judges refuse to hear petitions against emergency
    Updated at 1530 PST
    ISLAMABAD: Supreme Court (SC)’s three Judges have refused to hear the petitions filed against the imposition of emergency in the country and, thereafter, the hearing of the case was adjourned until next Monday.

SC ten-member full court headed by the PCO Chief Justice, Justice Abdul Hameed Dogar was hearing the petitions filed against the emergency, when Justice Faqir Muhammad Khokhar in his remarks said that he could not hear the petitions against emergency, as the decision against the Supreme Judicial Council Bench, in which, he was a member, has the reference in the enforcement of emergency, while Justice Nawaz Abbasi in his remarks said that the enforcement of emergency also referred to Lal Masjid and we were also included in the Bench making decision for the opening of Masjid, therefore, Justice Javed Buttar and he also should not sit in this Bench.

Attorney General, Malik Qayyum present on this occasion said that the emergency matter was sensitive, if you do not sit in the Bench, then other Judges could also do so.

Following the refusal of the Judges, SC CJ heading the Bench adjourned the hearing until next Monday.

http://www.thenews.com.pk/updates.asp?id=32343

• chussain said:

http://www.thenews.com.pk/updates.asp?id=32343

This is about the news of three judges saying they cannot hear petitions against emergency rule

• jojo said:

to which channel do you think Talat will be going?

• chussain said:

I am not worried about the conditions imposed by goverment on these channels because in any case Inshallah the goverment is going to fall down sooner than later – unless stabbed by MMA who are very very dubious –

FAzlu has said that he is ready to take part in elections under PCO – he wants to save nation.

MMA is loyal to Musharraf even more than PMLQ – they are wolf in sheep’s clothing

• chussain said:

AAJ is going to lose heavily because of this one decison – people watch these channles not to watch dramas – they want news and objective current affairs.

• Ahmed Bhai said:

there is a business model and its ok that current affair programs are popular yet all not all income generators. there is pie associated with other programs and corresponding advertisement revenue so i think the channels will overcome their financial problems

and hopefully soon Mush is over, all people will be back

• nota said:

Benazir has certainly left town as 10 minutes ago all police jumped with joy and hurriedly removed the barriers and left…

• Asim Kaleem said:

I have seen this ugly face of I.J.T during my collge days when I was in F.C. College, Lahore. It was in early 1996 when B.B was the prime minister and corruption was at its peak. Mr. 10% and B.B both were looting with both hands. Pakistan was declared as the seond most corrupt nation in the world. At that time, I.J.T was as popular in F.C. College as it was in Punjab Univeristy. They used to explode fire crackers, threaten the teachers to bycott classes and force the students to move with them to Mansoora to stage protest. Now when Imran Khan came who has the true support of students, this really disturb I.J.T whose are now left with some support only in Punjab University, so they have shown the reality of their party. I believe that either its Imran or else they should not involve students in these shit activities and let them studies as I remember that How much the students of our session has to bear the loss during the days of turmoil.

• Aveei said:

The government allowed Aaj TV and Dawn News to go on air on Thursday, with certain conditions. However, sources said Aaj TV was allowed back on the condition that two of its talk shows – “Live With Talatâ€? and “Bolta Pakistanâ€? – would not be run. Aaj TV Director News Talat Hussain confirmed that the channel was back on air. “Any understanding between the employer and the government that will infringe on our editorial independence is unacceptable,â€? he said. “We will either resist or resign from our jobs,â€? he said

• Zulqadar khan said:

Those who will participate in these elections will be the B team of Musharaf.Fazlu seems to the part of that B team but hopefully all the other oposition parties will unite on one agenda which is ‘go mush go’and they will bycote the so called elections.

• maan said:

All the MMA leaders (Qazi, Munawar Hassan etc) who were under house arrest have been set free.

• KS said:

AAJ is on air since yesterday .I was waiting for ‘Live with Talat’ but they run a slide that ‘Live with Talat’ and ‘Bolta Pakistan’ are temporary closed for short time. :(

• nota said:

Sorry, false alarm. ALMOST all of the barriers have been lifted. All the police are gathered around her house and was told by a policeman BB is having a press conference and they are waiting for it to end…

• nota said:

@chussain
    BB says that oath of caretaker goverment on PCO is nothing less than TREASON

Oh, for once BB and I agree :) By the same reasoning every public servant is a traitor but I would settle for Mush, NSC, his old and caretaker cabinet and PCO judges being CONVICTED of the offense…

• chussain said:

MMA are being released as a reward for handing over Imran Khan and to sabotage the movement against Musharraf

• nota said:

Is this why BB is screaming?

The general pulls a fast one
    By Syed Saleem Shahzad

KARACHI – A few days after President General Pervez Musharraf declared a state of emergency on November 10, Pakistan’s Inter-Services Intelligence (ISI), the secret service agency, met with leaders of the opposition parties to decide on a roadmap for a caretaker administration leading to general parliamentary elections in January and then to a post-election government.

The opposition parties, including the six-party religious alliance, the Muttahida Majlis-e-Amal, and the ruling Pakistan Muslim

League, finalized a seat adjustment mechanism through which these leading parties would receive significant representation in the next government.

At the same time, the ISI had a separate meeting with the Pakistan People’s Party and assured its leader, Benazir Bhutto, that she would head a caretaker administration as prime minister.

As a result of these meetings, the opposition response to the declaration of the state of emergency was relatively muted – most reaction came from the legal profession, outraged at the sacking of Supreme Court judges, as well as the chief justice, and the suspension of the constitution.

But this week, the day that Pakistan finalized the details of a visit by US Deputy Secretary of State John Negroponte, starting on Friday, it also announced an interim government – and without Bhutto. Mohammedmian Soomro, chairman of Pakistan’s Senate since 2003, was appointed interim prime minister to prepare for the parliamentary elections.

more at http://www.atimes.com/atimes/South_Asia/IK17Df04.html

• nota said:

Is this why BB is scr*aming?

The general pulls a fast one
    By Syed Saleem Shahzad
    more at http://www.atimes.com/atimes/South_Asia/IK17Df04.html

• nota said:

Last sentence of the above article:

“Either way, Negroponte knows that he will be dealing with Musharraf, who for now has effectively sidelined the opposition.”

Note: This guy (Shehzad) is believed by some to be the mouth piece for the CIA.

• farhan said:

@ nota

if this is true than BB has got a taste of her own medicine :) . she pulled a fast one with her party and opposition by getting into negotiations with the dictator.

• Mazhar Abbas said:

Please do send a protest email to
    aajcomments@aaj.tv
    against their signing of PEMRA Ordinance

• chussain said:

I dont agree with this – it looks like this article has been written by ISI. BB would have never ever liked to become caretaker Prime Minister – why would she be – she would like to fight general elections – this is nothing but a wishful thinking.

Yes its true that ISI would have managed MMA and PML Q for seat to seat adjustment – that can be 100 percent true but about BB it is just a figement of imagination and disinformation.

If she had accepted to be caretaker Prime Minister she would have put the last nail in teh coffin of her political career. She can never ever afford that. It is simply unbeleivable that she would be so stupid to agree to this arrangment.

• Malek said:

If you agree with my draft email below, please send to aajcomments@aaj.tv following agreement by Aaj to sign upto Pemra (Draconian) ordinance.

Dear editor

It was pleasant to note that Aaj TV was back on air. However i understand that this was only after signing the highly controversial Pemra ordinance. In addition i understand that you will not broadcast ‘live with talat’ and ‘bolta pakistan’.

It appears that you hace overlooked the interest of us, the viewers. Also, your actions will pave the way of killing the true journalism in Pakistan.

I have discontinued my Aaaj tv subscription from jumptv.com with immediate effect and will also not tune into your TV channel or even visit Aaj website until your actions are reversed.

Yours faithfully
    [Name]

• farhan said:

oh does it say BB being caretaker PM. i thought it says making caretaker govt. with PPPPs advice. Sorry, i think i misunderstood the premises

• Usman said:

Pakistani American from various walks of life will protest at the WHITE HOUSE in Washington DC.

Date: Saturday, November 17th
    Time: 2:00 PM

Please join to protest suspension of Constitution, Judiciary and Media in our beloved Pakistan.

• nota said:

@chussain

You are right. ISI/CIA – what’s the difference? That is why I put the “note” about Shahzad in the end. Even before this new setup BB was making very strong statements against Mush so the idea of BB as interim PM is preposterous. I think Shahzad really let it slip in the last sentence quoted above.

• Azfar said:

As an ex-member of IJT, I would like to say that I am ashamed of what Jamiat did to Imran at the PU. I feel that this is a black spot on IJT’s identity, which has always been in the forefront of struggles against all dictators.
    At the same time we must acknowledge that JI has come out very strongly to condemn IJT, there has been a suspension of 17 people already, and there is a spontaneous outpouring of support and concern for Imran from ex-IJT members, which is reflected in PTI website.

• tipu said:

are we seeing the gradual extinction of the ray of hope? :(

the lawyers and media are heroes but will they be like tragic heroes? :(

These heroes are greater than of those who sacrificed for democracy in Europe. why? Because in the 17th/ 18th/ 19th century Europe the State was not as powerful as it is today. There was no USA to secretly support the dictators. Our heroes have struggeled against far more powerful State.

Alas! the real force has not come out – public…people…

no, there cannot be democracy until people come on the streets – at least once…

if masses are to be the source of power, they need to first show that they have this power…

perhaps our people are still not suppressed enough, exploited enough, looted enough…

or is that beacuse they believe in an afterlife, they always tolerate the suffering in this world with a hope that there will be justice in the other world…?
    Is this the reason no Muslim country had a revolution for democracy?

But, perhaps we have, or are, only losing a battle not war….just like 1857 became a milestone…just like the struggle of Tipu Sultan became a milestone…but freedom came much later…

perhaps 2007 will also become a milestone and it will be remembered not as the year when hope was extinguished but when it was first created…

I hope…

Tipu

• nota said:

“Imran shifted to Dera Ghazi Khan jail”

Oh so now he is under the guard of Farooq Leghari or his cousin Distt Nazim Maqsood Leghari, brother of Mansoor Leghari(who just returned to the country, thanks to the NRO) who is probably with BB right now campaigning for a PPP MPA ticket…

• zsarosh said:

we in USA were able to see how imrans sisters were manhandled by male cops……
    male cops pushed , shoved , dragged them on the street, and finally lifted them and threw them in the police van…..
    shame on pakistan police…..
    they are not just imrans sisters they are our sisters…is anyone bay ghairat enough to take this sitting down………

in habib jalibs words:

dartay hain bandouqoun walay
    eik nehati larki say

would mushy like to see his sisters dragged on streets by cops? shame on mushy….

i failed to record it….if geo shows it again i will record it and post it….or if geo walas can post it themselves…..

according to harun rasheed (columnist) the women being arrested also included former ameer jamat e islami Mian Tufails daughters as well….another slap on jamiats face

• nota said:

Man, this is sad…Of all the people, at least don’t l*ck Durrani’s boot’s:

Chairman PCP Javed Iqbal calls on Minister Durrani
    http://www.app.com.pk/en/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=20987&Itemid=2

• Zahid Shafique said:

Please send your cooments to AJJ Tv for not showing Talat online, and bolta pakistan in result of the deal they had with mush.
    Shame on them
    Email: aajcomments@aaj.tv

• nota said:

Forgot to mention on fact about D G Khan Distt Nazim Maqsood Leghari – I don’t remember which party he belongs to right now (since they change so often) but he won the election with the support of PML-Q AND with a deal with PML-N Punjab President Zulfiqar Khosa, who, like Farooq Leghari, used to be PPP. Maqsood and Mansoor also were with PPP but joined PML-Nawaz the night before Mush’s first coup. Talk about lousy timing…

So this is a microcosm of Pakitani politics today…

• iShah said:

The email address:

aajcomments@aaj.tv

is not working!

Register your protest through the CONTACT US form:

http://www.aaj.tv/contactus.php

iShah

• Ismail said:

Imran Khan has been prisoned under anti terrorist act of PAKISTAN!!!!!
    - If Speaking and Supporting of Independent Judicial system is AOT (act of terrorism), then we all are terrorists.
    - If supporting the suppressed is AOT, then we all are terrorists.
    - If fighting for justice is AOT, then we all are terrorists.
    - If fighting against Dictatorship is AOT, then we all are terrorists.
    - If fighting for our Fundamental rights is AOT then we all are Terrorists.
    - If Freedom of Speech is AOT, then we all are terrorists.
    Imran is the only true representative of us, students, lawyers, rich, poor, women, children, and every true Pakistani. we will not stop supporting till we have last drop of blood in ourself, Insha Allah. May Allah (swt) give him strength and wisdom to lead us out of this turmoil. AAMIN

• nota said:

Winding Back Martial Law in Pakistan: ICG Report
    Download complete report in pdf from http://www.crisisgroup.org/library/documents/asia/south_asia/b70_winding_back_martial_law_in_pakistan.pdf

“General Pervez Musharraf imposed martial law in Pakistan on 3 November 2007. He suspended the constitution, sacked the chief justice of the Supreme Court and removed other judges of that court who declared his act illegal. Police immediately began arresting lawyers, politicians and human rights activists. Independent television channels were taken off the air and reporting restrictions imposed. Thousands have since been jailed, journalists threatened and protests by lawyers and others suppressed. Replacing dissenting judges with hand-picked appointees, and ruling by decree, Musharraf’s objective is to retain personal power by gaining judicial approval for martial law, followed by the creation of a democratic façade through rigged elections. The international community should demand the immediate restoration of constitutional order, the rule of law and the legitimate judiciary, the release of political prisoners and the appointment of an impartial caretaker government to oversee free and fair elections.”

• Malek said:

register your comments on Aaj website http://www.aaj.tv/contactus.php or by email marketing@aaj.tv

Dear editor

It was pleasant to note that Aaj TV was back on air. However i understand that this was only after signing the highly controversial Pemra ordinance. In addition i understand that you will not broadcast ‘live with talat’ and ‘bolta pakistan’.

It appears that you hace overlooked the interest of us, the viewers. Also, your actions will pave the way of killing the true journalism in Pakistan.

I have discontinued my Aaaj tv subscription from jumptv.com with immediate effect and will also not tune into your TV channel or even visit Aaj website until your actions are reversed.

• nota said:

Americans must be rolling over with laughter, especially since these words came not from one-call Mush but from the from the mouth of lady killer Shauki …

Pakistan warns US it won’t be bossed around
    http://news.aaj.tv/news.php?pg=0&show=detail&nid=3
    ISLAMABAD ( 2007-11-16 14:57:06 ) :
    Outgoing premier Shaukat Aziz warned on Friday that Islamabad would not be bossed around as top US diplomat John Negroponte headed to Pakistan to press for an end to emergency rule.

• pejamistri said:

This is exteremely disappointing. I saluted Javed Iqbal for his courage. But now I am feeling ashamed. This man has proved me twice wrong, first I kept writing about him that he is the pro-general judge and then when he did not took oath, I thought I was wrong about him and now when has accepted the job of PCP chairman I feel I was wrong again.
    Now this guy gave a judgment , which has his signature saying that the PCO was illegal , unconstitutional and anybody taking orders this PCO will be committing an illegal. I can not believe that a person who has given such judgment can accept the notification of the government who is running under the PCO. He has committed a graver sin then I thought. I would consider Hameed Dogar at least only a criminal , but he is both hypocrite and a criminal.

• nota said:

Correction:
    In the post “Imran shifted to Dera Ghazi Khan jail� above, read:
    campaigning for a PPP MPA ticket…
    as:
    campaigning for a PPP MNA ticket…

• pejamistri said:

Friends any new about His Master Negroponte ? Has he arrived in Pakistan? whom he is meeting ?

• nota said:

According to AP he has arrived but “his schedule is uncertain.”
    http://www.kold.com/Global/story.asp?S=7370178

• tipu said:

why are we discussing these topics still?
    Is writing not on the wall?
    Tell me where is the hope? The opposition? The army coup? The US/UK? BB?

If we want to do anything, lets discuss how to create political awareness among the masses. How to help them see that it does matter if there is dictatoship or democracy? Help them realise that there is something called their Rights. Help them see that the army which they see as solution is actually the problem.

A tiny portion of politically aware lawyers and media is not enough….they can be crushed…

take this as the begiining of a long struggle…but we must start to concentrate on political education among masses..

Tipu

• zsarosh said:

@tipu
    I agree with you….lets see the winter break starts soon…..can the students go out to the villages and spread political awareness in them… tell them not to vote for same old ppl…tell them to hold their reps accountable….. can you do that? if no then sit down with ur cup of tea….

• tipu said:

@zsaroah

dont know whether you wrote tounge in cheek…
    but yes, this is one of the ways….
    thsi is almost what had happened in Cuba,,,
    but forget villages…cities are as much in need of political education…
    look at Karachi…I noticed that on BBC and other places all almost all the Mush support comes from there…
    and even on this forum…

perhaps we can start with our friends and families…
    we talk about th situation…not just who is good and who is not…but talk about ideas..
    make people see th meaning of RIGHTS, of having a say in their governanace, meaning of rule of law…

Tipu

• Asif said:

http://express.com.pk/epaper/index.aspx?Issue=NP_LHE&Page=Editorial_PAGE&Date=20071116&Pageno=12&View=1%20id=

Thought provoking columns for people who believe in politics of power by Javed Chaudhry & Haroon Rasheed.
    Please read it some very good gournalists.

• Asif said:

Fazlu asks US for the restoration of of democracy.
    When somebody asked Fazlu, But what you are doing, he replied, “Halwey ka intizam”

• Aak Aam Pakistani said:

ajj tv ? from today its kaal tv and now you can watch the programs likes live with musharaf and bolta GHQ.and begam musharaf ali it would be fun thugh.

• zsarosh said:

@tipu

the minimum people can do is to strongly protest at the way imrans sisters were manhandled…

• Asif said:

3 Judges rfused the hearing.
    Yesterday ISI blacmailed the Judges.
    Today Judges are blackmaing ISI.
    six-nine at its best, aaj hi daikhiye SC Vs ISI.

• Soomro said:

What Jamiat has done to Imran khan was completely disgusting it shows that we are living in country full of thugs. Being Sindhi, I have no sympathy to Banzir or any politicians in Pakistan but I am a great admirer of Imran Khan. I hope he is in good condition

• iShah said:

@Tipu

I think this should be the next step to educate the common people.

Our first task should be to get rid of this martial law.

Surely we can blame political parties for keeping the common people ignorant of their rights etc. But in 60 years only one national assembly has completed its tenure (under the umbrella of army) and at the end they don’t wanna face common people. They need martial law once again.

This Gen P.M. has destroyed all the institutes. Judiciary was active for a couple of months in 60 years and it was unacceptable for all the mafias in Pakistan. We need at least twice free and fair elections and a peaceful transfer of power and it can make a difference.

iShah

• zsarosh said:

@ tipu
    when I said villages there are two reasons for that..
    1. mushy claims, probably rightly so, that he has big support in villages. Why ? because the village ppl dont care about law, constitution, human rights etc…for them it is obeying the chuadhry that is imp…

2.as for cities, karachi in my eyes is no longer a part of pakistan as far as national politics is concerned. MQM made sure do dis-associate karachiites from rest of pakistan….why they support mushy? because he is a mohajir…that is the only reason… being an urdu speaking i know how racist we can be when it comes to other people( i am not mohajir as i never migrated…i am a urdu speaking punjabi)….
    minus karachi if the rest of the cities can show their disgust at the events… bringing about a change atleast in the cities , then it may become a starting point….

• Asif said:

@Soomro

You are right, we are realy passing thru a transition(not Mush fame transition). And as we have seen a big anti-jaamiat protest in PU(where literaly without the permission of Jamiat Goons Chiriyya bhi per nahi maar sakti). So We too are praying for IK, May Allah bless him & protect him from MQM&JI Goons. Ameen

• tipu said:

I agree…
    with TV now down…
    perhaps Internet is the best way forward…
    This website has now become even more important…
    can we get more and more people involved in such e-communications?
    And perhaps more such discissio groups can be opened…
    especiall among the youth…INternet can be a great medium for political awareness…

I am a member of a yahoo group…and try to initiate political discussion there…Not very sucsessful…but th effort continues…

Tipu

• Asif said:

@iShah

Guys here we are mixing two things education & awareness.

And we should use the word awareness instead of education. Because even our educated class has no awareness.

And we need to create awareness both in cities as well as villages.

In cities most importantly Karachi & in villages most importantly southern pujab, Frontoier , Balochistan & Sind.

In krachi people are educated but without awareness.
    So insist on awareness instead of education…

• Atif said:

http://youtube.com/watch?v=kc_yrgaYTxU

Torture on IK family

Enough is enough

True, Pakistani nation can sell their mother for a small profit

We did so that yesterday, we let our police humiliate our nation’s great hero family and we were just watching TV

IK, please leave this bloody Pakistan, we can take it any more we don’t deserve you, why the hell you don’t understand. We are born to be ruled by tyrants.

• amm said:

Pakistan Tehree-e-Insaaf organized a black day today. For the consecutive second day, students at Punjab university in a big number protested in support of Imran Khan and against dictatorship of Musharraf and Jamait.

• iShah said:

@Asif

you’re right. May be my selection of words was not appropriate.

I think electronic media can play a vital role to create this awareness and exactly that’s the reason behind the blackout of media.

The electronic media of whole country if off air but the FM radio of Fazalullah is still working and Core Commander Pesahawar says that its technically difficult to block FM radion transmissions. On one side the import of dishes and receivers is banned but the army can’t block a FM radion because it suites them.

iShah

• Asif said:

@Atif

We understand the agony thru which you & me too are passing. I am proud on IK that hes initiated a new spirit in our youth, especially in our biggest & oldest Universuty, that was kidnapped by JI Goons. Don’t disheart man, its time to be persistant with what we can do in our capacities.
    Zulm phir zulm hai bharta hai to mit jata hai.

• jojo said:

@Asif
    mush is a son of …
    his family should also be dragged like this and thrown in the arabian sea.

• Asif said:

@iShah

Being an electric engineer I know its very simple to jam the FM transmission. The only thing one has to do is transmit noise on the same frequency with a higher power. FM reciever all the way accepts only the signals of higher rejecting the lower power.
    And our forces has very good engineers too. Its just propaganda to fool a common man. nothing else.

I agree with you on the role of electronic meida in creating awareness & making public opinion visible. Hope we would be back on track very soon. InshAllah.

• tipu said:

the Utube video is horrific….
    bu here is an opportunity…
    there are no bearded men of veiled women…
    these are clearly educated, modern men and, particularly women, who are being beaten….
    share this with our western frinds and, if possible, media….
    our regime needs to be discredited in he eyes o western public…

tipu

• farhan said:

Guys, don’t lose hope. I have just heard on Geo that PTI lahore president said that IK will return to PU to address the students once he is free. IK has said no matter what happens, he will not back down from mobilizing the youth and students.

As i always say, this is one Lion of Pakistan who doesnt know how to quite : ).

• Kami said:

Jamiat/JI and MQM are the same. I understood that after closely looking at the leadership of Jamiat. They target urdu speaking community and tell them that they will be treated better once their PHILOSOPHY is imposed on everyone.

JI used to win most seats of Karachi, now MQM does. When MQM boycotted elections last time, JI won in Karachi, Not PML or PPP.

Disillusioned young guys are told that they are not being treated fairly and they need to rise up against the system (it is a smart way to use violence against others and support agencies).

Jamiat and MQM both have ‘Bhai culture’. They target the people who are not happy with their lives and need some EXTRA IDENTITY.

Both parties often have to co-operate with agencies because they have too many criminals to protect.

This factor will always keep Jamiat and MQM a Goonda force and never a proper mainstream party.

• tipu said:

I fear for IK’s life…
    he is the only one who can be a real alternative to the ‘easy to buy’ politicians…
    and beacuse of this he must be the real future threat for the US’s interest in Pakistan…they might be thinking of him as the next Bhutto…

Tipu

• Malek said:

@Atif @Tipu

worst video footage i have ever seen. you are right educated normal women dragged and beaten by male police…. i literally have tears in my eyes hearing the screams of women….

I am so shameful of being a pakistani today and i dont have words to explain this. despite everything i have never uttered a bad word against army….and today after watching this i really dont have words to condemn them.

Mush and Cheap Minister of Punjab….. i wish there sisters and daughters are dragged like this?

• Morad said:

This is a disgrace for all Pakistanis,for the mistreatment of Imran Khan and his Sisters. Unless we stand up and protest, the same will happen to our sisters, daughters and mothers…

• farhan said:

@ tipu

US and others will definitely see IK as the most revolutionary leader after ZA Bhutto. But rest assured, they cannot take out IK as easily as they did with Bhutto. World Politics have changed a lot since then.

• Malek said:

i used to (and still) hate MQM for their facist activities.

but for once i feel happy with them when i think that…… some years ago in Karachi they gave IJT same treatment as IJT are known for and what we saw in PU yesterday.

Long live IK.

• Kami said:

@ Malek

MQM and IJT are the same. That is why they fear each other and hate each other. Read what i wrote about their similarities @ 3.49 pm

• tipu said:

@farhan..
    I can only hope that you are right…
    tipu

• Malek said:

@Kami
    i did read your coments. and i fully agree

in addition they have very limited following and a very closed internal group. they will therefore never become mainstream political parties but stay as facist organisations

• farhan said:

Everyone, I know most of you must have already heard Mush’s comments on Negroponte’s visit. But i would like to know your thoughts on it.

According to Geo, Mush has said that he will tell Negroponte that ‘sab se pehle pakistan’, in other words he will not list emergency and won’t listen to the US and his ‘good friend’ Bush.

So Mush is on a direct collision course with the US. US won’t like this. I like everyone else believe Mush’s days are numbered as he is already facing hostility inside Paksitan as well.

How do you all think this will end? Like Zia?

• Rauf Javaid said:

Welcome to Kingdom of Mushkistan!!!

• Asif said:

@farhan

I think we should not spent to much time on negative thinking which can harm even us. So I should not go for any speculation about the fall of Mush. Its enough for us that positive force have done all this & our concern should be that no one highjack the efforts of sincere people.

• Asif said:

Because MMA&MQM are very cunny organised set of Goons, they will do their best to highjack it, we should be aware of this.

• Asif said:

Do spare more time on spreading the message of positive forces means everyone whos involved in the restoration of Judiciary, we should discuss them as much as possible, discuss any fruitful suggestions…

• Asif said:

Now the people even the right wing journlists have disclosed the real face of MMA, And I would apperciate the efforts of IK for making an opinion, even MMA humiliated IK for his single seat at times at all platforms. But IK stuck to his principles & InshAllah his efforts will be fruitful. And we have a glimpse at PU rally in favor of IK on 2nd consecutive day. The ice has started melting…….

• farhan said:

@ Asif

Agree with you bro. Just wanted to get others point of view.

As for IK, if anyone has benifitted by IJTs behaviur, its IK. In addition to his 1 seat, he has also been questioned a lot of times about his political history, i.e., he never went to jail, was never arressted for his political struggle etc. This one episode has answered every question his critics had : ). And now IK will rise higher than ever before in his political career.

• Amir Hameed said:

Going to jail should not be considered as a standard for becoming a politician. Our MA Jinnah never went to Jail (at least I am not aware that he did) and he was one heck of a leader.

• Asif said:

@farhan

Agreed. And we should not forget to particpate in his election compaign atleast on Internet & we should ask our family & friends to vote for him.

• farhan said:

@ Amir Hameed

I agree. But i said that in the context of criticism that IK has recieved so far. I have heard many of his critics mentioning this point. So now they got their annwer. As for being a good leader, time and again IK has proven his leadership in sports, social and now in political sector.

• nota said:

“At least two thirds of our miseries spring from human stupidity, human malice and those great motivators and justifiers of malice and stupidity, idealism, dogmatism and proselytizing zeal on behalf of religious or political idols.” — Aldous Huxley

“Science may have found a cure for most evils; but it has found no remedy for the worst of them all — the apathy of human beings.” — Helen Keller

“There are a thousand hacking at the branches of evil to one who is striking at the root.” — Henry David Thoreau

“The belief in a supernatural source of evil is not necessary; men alone are quite capable of every wickedness.” — Joseph Conrad

“He who does not punish evil, commands it to be done.” — Leonardo da Vinci

“When good people in any country cease their vigilance and struggle, then evil men prevail.” — Pearl S. Buck

“No matter that patriotism is too often the refuge of scoundrels. Dissent, rebellion, and all-around hell-raising remain the true duty of patriots.” — Barbara Ehrenreich

“Yesterday I dared to struggle. Today I dare to win.” — Bernadette Devlin

“If a thousand men were not to pay their tax-bills this year, that would not be a violent and bloody measure, as it would be to pay them, and enable the State to commit violence and shed innocent blood. This is, in fact, the definition of a peaceable revolution, if any such is possible.” — Henry David Thoreau

“I have named the destroyers of nations: comfort, plenty, and security – out of which grow a bored and slothful cynicism, in which rebellion against the world as it is, and myself as I am, are submerged in listless self-satisfaction.” — John Steinbeck

“Disobedience, in the eyes of anyone who has read history, is man’s original virtue. It is through disobedience that progress has been made, through disobedience and through rebellion.” — Oscar Wilde

• farhan said:

Altaf a leader? Give me a break fellas. That joker is anything but a leader. People also consider Bush a leader and I can only laugh at that thought.

• Kami said:

Ayaz Amir on Musharraf’s loss of control of English (Mush claims he cannot read Urdu because English is like his first language. This only happens to second language when someone is upset. Another lie by Mush). Please Read:

“Have you thought of (resigning)?� asks Sky News. The answer: “But should it be given up now and we will have better Pakistan, a stabler Pakistan and we could have very good elections, without me? Very good, maybe I take that decision, OK?� (No kidding, the very words.)

As the BBC Urdu Service’s Mohammad Hanif observes (in his hilarious “The case of Musharraf and the drunk uncle�), “Musharraf deserves our sympathy. Not because he has been forced to carry out a coup against his own regime, not because his troops are being kidnapped en masse by Pakistani Taliban and then awarded Rs500 for good behaviour, not because he himself has become a prisoner in his Army House and can’t even nip out for coffee and paan as he used to, but because he has utterly lost his grip over grammar.�

• Asif said:

Leaders are the people who are respected in the masses, not by a particular group of people.

• Asif said:

Joke of the century:

Mush will ask his Master Ponte, Pakistan 1st.

Rolling with laughters……..

• J A malik said:

There is a simple solution on pakistan current situation, TO Kill Musharaf otherwise Pakistan will be killed.
    This mean person will go same as General Zia.

• Saeed said:

Which of the political party is clean and not corrupt. I mean paries including Q League but excluding Tahrek e Insaf.

All politicians play with the sentiments of general public.

Present situation is dangerous for Pakistan

• Amir Hameed said:

@Nabeel
    I am not sure how/where you got the idea that I am somehow a supporter of MQM. WTF cares about MQM. You are either new to these forums or do not pay attention to people’s responses carefully.
    Pay attention to what you write or do your research before you wite it.

• Asif said:

http://www.dawn.com/2007/11/16/ed.htm#3

Editorial in Dawn on Imran Khans arrest

• Amir Hameed said:

@farhan,
    I have never doubted IK’s leadership and I have always responded to those people who have criticised IK for not getting arrested or going to jail with the same argument that he does not have to go to jail to prove his leadership and this is where I was coming from.

• mana said:

It was disturbing for me to see person like Ansar Burni joining Musharraf’s caretaker govt. Everybody knows Mr Burni’s profile and his services for humanity. After watching what mush has done with this country (particularly abuse of human rights), i am surprised how could such a person endorse musharraf at this time when he is politicaly the weakest. Musharraf has deceived the entire pakistani nation for personal gains. Mush and his aids have always tried to blend truth with bluff to play with this nation. Cooperating with Mush at this time is criminal, I am gravely disappointed at Mr. Burni’s act.

• pejamistri said:

I just sent this message to Mr. Ansar Barni:

Dear Mr. Ansar Barni,
    This letter might have harsh words for which let me apologize in advance. You will have to understand your act has forced me to write this letter and I am entitled to vent my anger at you as over the years you kept yourself protraying as human rights champion. Let me tell you honestly that our country is at such depths not only because of the dictators ruling over it for the last 60 years but also because of people like yourself who carry two faces to fool innocent people of this land of pure.
    I am sure that you won’t vouchsafe to reply to this email, but let me tell you , your action of abetting the most ruthless dicatator of this country has brought you lower than the dictator himself in the eyes of people of Pakistan.
    Please also me tell you please don’t try to justify your despicable act to anybody, at least be bold enough to say what a lahore judge said. “Mein tu moon kala kara aya hoon” , I have blakened my face.

• IMRAN MALIK said:

@J A MALIK
    you are 100% right I think we shld end all the philosophical /political discussion here and pray for what you have said…

all these ifs and buts are not gonna lead us nowhere…..the first and foremost priority for pakistan at the moment is the torturous death of this UGLY BASTARD MONSTER GENERAL BUSSHARRRAF…
    suggetion: he shld be hanged till death..from his testicles…

• pejamistri said:

I heard Justice Khawaja Muhammad Sharif , saying that a judge who had first agreed not to take oath under PCO , after taking oath told Justice Sharif this:
    “Mein tay moon kala kara aya haan”
    He said this in punjabi. I am glad that even those who are scumming to pressure realize that they are not doing anything good.

• IMRAN MALIK said:

@J A MALIK
    you are 100% right I think we shld end all the philosophical /political discussion here and pray for what you have said…

all these ifs and buts are not gonna lead us nowhere…..the first and foremost priority for pakistan at the moment is the torturous death of this UGLY MONSTER GENERAL suggetion: he shld be hanged till his… ..from his testicles…

• Asif said:

@mana

I second you

• shaz said:

Unfortunately i can see the big disturbance in our beloved country because of rigidity of only one person.
    I pray i am wrong.

• shaz said:

Can anybody tell me how can i register on pkpolitics, because sometime my comments remain pending for moderation, is it happen to all.

• Kami said:

Article on End of Jamiat in PU. Very informative and with inside stories on Imran’s struggle (by Harron ur Rashid in dialy express)

http://www.express.com.pk/epaper/index.aspx?Issue=NP_LHE&Page=National_PAGE&Date=20071116&Pageno=3&View=1%20id=

• tipu said:

@peja…

good job…

I would like to sen similar letters to at-least those on the cabinet whose presence has surprised me…Burni is one example…

do yo have th emails addresses?

Tipu

• Zaheer said:

Punjab Police and Karachi police are slaves of Chauhdaries and MQM respectively.
    There are personal goons of both these parties inside police. In addition to that additional criminals can also come at special occasions to carry special tasks along police e.g. one done in video about Sisters of Imran Khan. They might come with police in two forms

1: They wear temporarily the uniforms of Police and carry their task. who cares? Our police so far is dead consciously.

2: they can complete tasks as plain clothed people along with police. who cares? Policemen just look here and there when these criminals torture people.

These goons are fed by Chauhdaries and MQM.
    They go home after mission is over.

Normal policemen even can’t stop them since they could be beaten up by the goons or even could lose their jobs!!! But days are coming INSHALLAH when those police men who have little conscience will react and they they will react against these goons and their lords!!!

However, let me share one thing: If house of neighbor is at fire and we don’t extinguish this fire and think that it is not our business then that fire could reach to our home too…!!! Then should our neighbor help us???

What happened to these females in that video can happen to anyone if we thought that it is not our business to stop. How could a criminal stop if he finds no resistance???

It is true that educated people don’t like violence and we should not have it, but we can at least at least at least protest!!! We must stop those hands raised at innocent people.

• pejamistri said:

I sent mail to the address from this page
    http://www.ansarburney.com/contact.html

• pejamistri said:

News is that His Master Negroponte has contacted BB on telephone, any activity of Negroponte is important at this time. As this will tell what is the fate of mad General. At the moment it seems that mad general is in hot waters. He is getting more and more furstrated and BB is getting more and more vocal against him.

• nota said:

@J A Malik
    —————————
    This mean person will go same as General Zia.
    —————————
    But WHEN????????

• Qutubb said:

the way IK was arrested shows how stupid he is without knowing the consequences without having a proper plan
    atleast he should consult with the leadership of IJI
    probably he wants to take all the credit himself
    fine fine fine he is a politician but still he can do better than that
    look at NS Qazi sahab and others why are they sitting quietly
    because they know the ground realities
    they know what are their resources how far they can stretch
    when to come out from their kameengahs
    IK showed he is a khan cant sit in a hidding for long
    like it or not but PPP will win the race
    i m sure US is supporting her financially
    she can spend lots of dollars in the villages for there support
    so on

• Azhar said:

just watch and enjoy for now…
    General Musharraf Parody

http://www.pakistannewsroom.com/

• sds said:

GEO shutting down today :(

• Aak Aam Pakistani said:

Geo is closed forever.

• Zaheer said:

@Qutubb
    Nice to hear you!
    BTW, success in your dictionary means to hide, to cheat or make corruption and get cleaned, if it is so then you are right!
    One must also come out for active role! If you think that if you go out you might get accident then sit at home for whole life!
    One can never judge what will exactly happen in future, only Allah knows what is going to happen in future! I think sooner or later it was going to happen with Imran khan since he was in the eyes of establishment! However his act has not tarnished his image rather you can see his support.
    At some point one has to stop thinking and act…so don’t try to discriminate one ethnicity like pathans.

• texasboy said:

GEO TV BEING SHUTDOWN GLOBALLY!!!!!

WAKE UP PAKISTAN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

COME OUT OF YOUR COMA!!!!!!!!!!

• pejamistri said:

I don’t understand how can government of Pakistan can legally force Geo network down in UAE. GEO must have been regisered as a legal company in UAE.

• shaz said:

Geo is being closed down in UAE

• nota said:

I really don’t know who Ansar Burney is but a couple of years ago I happened upon his website and my first reaction was what a self-serving/self-promoting a**hole (see his news section, for example). The whole site is all promoting HIM — it’s all “Ansar Burney”, “Ansar Burney”, “Ansar Burney.”

And I never trust a person who displays even a single photo of himself with someone he thinks important, which is always an attempt to make himself look important. But his site is full of them.

Speaking of his news section, go see it once again. Here are some examples:

“Condoleezza Rice congratulates Ansar Burney on his declaration as International HERO”

and as if that was not good enough, this is too hilarious:

“United States of America declared Ansar Burney as International ‘HERO’:
    The United States of America has declared the name of Mr Ansar Burney as International ‘HERO’ in the field of human rights. The United States of America has declared Mr Ansar Burney, Her Majesty Queen Silvia of Sweden, Pop Singer Ricky Martin and 8 others as ‘HEROES’ ”

The WHOLE of United States? Ricky Martin, too? Oh please. And those are not my capitalizations!

Please don’t fall for this kind of cr*p!

Or did “Ansar Burney met Ambassadors in Abu Dhabi” impress you too much?

A person who proudly displays the following was bound to be made a minister some day:
    http://www.ansarburney.com/images/chairman_pic8.jpg

• zed said:

Geo is going to be shut down.

• chussain said:

Tomorrow there is a protest at Pakistan Embassy in Dublin Ireland at 1 pm. I would request all to attend.

• malik said:

*****BREAKING NEWS ON GEO******

DR SHAHID MASOOD JUST ANNOUNCED THE BREAKING NEWS THAT GEO IS BANNED ‘WORLDWIDE’.

FROM TONIGHT GEO WILL BE TAKEN OFF AIR AND NO-ONE WILL BE ABLE TO SEE GEO IN EUROPE US ETC

• chussain said:

Geo is not closed because I just heard the news myself on Geo. Maybe it would move to UK. And then via satellite it would telecast in Pakistan

• jojo said:

Its realy unbeliveable that UAE govt. can be influenced by Mush. I think they might be shutting down due to financial reasons.

• chussain said:

Oh really that is shocking

• nota said:

So much for “Geo Musharaf, Genay Do Musharraf!”

Asif, still believe in what you said earlier?

Well, lets not be surprised if it is UAE government shutting it down for they are much bigger scum than our government and with increasing “economic interests” in Pakistan, they are bound to listen to Musharraf. Hasn’t he be giving them thousands of acres of prime property for free???

WAKE UP PEOPLE!!!

• Hataf-3 said:

Islami Jamiat e Talba is a mature organisation and is a voice of thousand of students..We should use bad words for it..Long Live Jamiat

• malik said:

DR SHAHID IS TAKING INTERVIEWS WITH HAMID MIR, KAMRAN KHAN ETC AS FAREWELL INTERVIEWS NOW…. TRYING TO ESTABLISH WHY AND HOW THIS DECISION WAS TAKEN

• nota said:

I am waiting for when they shut down the net …

• Asif said:

Geo to shut down………

Mush madness at its worst……..

• Rihat said:

Latest news:

Geo news totally shut down in Pakistan. UAE government ordered to close Geo head-office and its transmission office in Dubai……due to Pakistani government pressure.

• Kamran said:

Geo Geo Geo!!!!!Always Geo!!!!!I LOVE GEO!!!!

• nota said:

Hataf-3 said:
    “We should use bad words for it.”

OK, We will, and gladly :p

• Qutubb said:

hataf mature talba means same college for many years lots of guns gundagardi etc

• G-FORCE said:

Told Ya that Geo was bleeding financially!

now they have decided to shut down for good because the main reason is that they are unable to cover their day-to-day expenses without having the required sponsors to pay the bills. The government shut down on the viewer-ship of the India-Pakistan cricket series was the last nail. I doubt if Pakistan Government has anything to do with the shut-down of HQ GEO in UAE.

Allah Hafiz GEO!

• Adnan said:

Dear Friends,

I am sadly informing you that a Pakistani icon, GEO is shutting down for good. It is indeed a sad day.

• JTI Munafik said:

Love u 4 ever geo hazar sal Geo

• G-FORCE said:

Parting Lesson for GEO.

If the government can giveth media freedom, it can taketh it away too!

• Asif said:

Zulm phir zulm hai bharta hai to mit jata hai……….

• Kruman said:

Shahid Masood on Geo announcing that Geo News transmission from UAE will been closed indefinitely FROM today.

Hamid Mir is telling Shahid Masood that the government demanded:
    1) Shahid Masood’s program be shut
    2) Hamid Mir’s program be shut
    3) Ansar Abbassi be fired from The News
    4) Government to place new news anchors in Geo.
    5) Geo refused to become another PTV and had to shut down

Well done Musharraf. What’s next? Will the 3 judges who refused to hear emergency petition be placed under house arrest? Or is another martial law on the way to weed out these 3 judges.

• Asif said:

Mush is very near gonna see his own face 24/7, nothing else.

• sds said:

soon internet will be blocked or heavily censored.same thing with print media.people have been taken to stone age.news will be forecefed thru PTV.a dark dark time for pakistan

• malik said:

Geo TV being closed
    Updated at 2320 PST
    KARACHI: There are reports that the government of Pakistan is using its influence with a foreign country to get the Geo TV network closed down.

It should be noted that Geo news and its entire sister channels had been closed down across Pakistan after the imposition of emergency.

Earlier, the cable operators in Pakistan were forced to close all channels being operated by Geo Network and the Pakistani viewers were deprived of the great source of information. However, the Geo TV was on air from its Dubai office.

The latest developments are that the government of Pakistan has gone to the limit of seeking the closure of Geo News network across the globe through a country.

After this closure of Geo Network, the worldwide viewers would not be able to watch the great source of information worldwide.

• AJ said:

Hang the dictator!

• Kruman said:

Dr Aamir Liaquat on Shahid Masood, criticizing govt. He’ll be in trouble with Altaf bhai for criticizing the govt.

• AJ said:

He stopped talking suddenly, i think mqm got him :P

• nota said:

It’s at times like these that I become even more determined and stronger of purpose! :)
    F*ck y*u Mush. Geo will be back Inshallah and soon I will be p*ssing on your grave…

• Rihat said:

We salute the management and the entire team of GEO network. Insha-allah you will be back very soon.

• sagheer said:

no lesser punishment for busharraf ….than
    hang till death..
    and death shouldt come with in 24 hours…

and during these 24 hrs ,,,,, nangi peeth par chitter….

mun kala kar kay uss par thooka jayay

• T Babu said:

see the picture how secret agency (actual terrorists) man behaving with woman:

http://express.com.pk/epaper/Index.aspx?Issue=NP_LHE&Page=FRONT_PAGE&Date=20071116&Pageno=1

shamfull act, this army is totally destroying the respect of daughters and sisters of nation.

where are now these mullahs (agents of terrorists); if this thing happened in any democrative government, these mullahs shoot up to sky.

• sincere paki said:

inshalla
    We salute the management and the entire team of GEO network. Insha-allah you will be back very soon.

• Salman said:

To all my pakistan/forign concerned brothers/sisters,

It is been decided to shut Geo completely!!

This is just another desprate attempt by the so called liberal government to hide truth from the people of Pakistan. Can’t express my worry, sorrow and dissapointment towards this decision and i hope the day the come when Geo will start its news again with the first one to announce the fall of Mushraf!

Quran says in And say in Surah Al Asra – chap 17 verse 81:

“Truth has (now) arrived, and Falsehood perished: for Falsehood is (by its nature) bound to perish.”

• AJ said:

write to our honorable president to inform him of his ancestry:

http://www.presidentofpakistan.gov.pk

• tipu said:

the government of Pakistan itself should be declared an extremist group…

• Ahmed Bhai said:

Now there is no doubt the Mush is gone, matter of days. Geo management is also business man and their resistance indicates what is going to happen next.

sad to hear but geo with Geo..

• T Babu said:

The Jamaat remains wedded to an ideology suspiciously close to fascism, (which makes one wonder about the uses to which Islam has been put in this country). From Gen Yahya onwards it has worked as a handmaiden of our spook agencies, the dark forces who have always undermined democracy. As a matter of policy its student wing has practiced unabashed violence to promote its political ends. Indeed, when the definitive history of the collapse of Pakistani education is written, the Jamiat’s ‘danda-bardar’ (baton-wielding) tactics will figure prominently in it.

Therefore any chastising of the Jamaat and its works is welcome. No one has educated the Jamaat and Jamiat more than the MQM. Indeed, about the only good thing the MQM has ever done, since its baptism at Zia’s hands in the mid-1980s, is to give the Jamaat a taste of its own medicine in Karachi. For this one service, if no other, the MQM is to be applauded.

This incident underscores an important lesson: that the religious parties, at least the two biggest — Qazi Hussein’s Jamaat and Maulana Fazlur Rehman’s JUI — can never be reliable partners in the struggle for democracy. They will always have an angle of their own and they will always be wired to the establishment.

PPP, PML-N, ANP, Tehrik-i-Insaf and the Baloch nationalists constitute the core of the dream alliance–the other elements of it being lawyers and civil society– which can still take Pakistan’s ship, now tossed about on stormy seas, to safer shores. The holy fathers have proved themselves to be beyond the pale. Let them stew in their own juice.

• chussain said:

Why cannot they establish a network in UK because if Ahmediya or Qadianis are allowed to have their network in UK why not Geo. I am sure it would be very very popular in Uk and from here it can beam across and also on internet which Pakistan government cannot close.

• Sohail Agha said:

Watch the movie ”Lions for Lambs” by Robert Redford

http://www.lionsforlambsmovie.co.uk/

A very very relevant Movie from current Pakistani perspective

• chussain said:

I am surprised to hear Ansar Barni interview in which he said Pakistan comes first. He accepted the Ministership – how disgraceful is he.

• Traffic said:

this is such a joke. i cant believe the pakistani dictator is pressuring the UAE dictator to shut down an independant television channel and the UAE dictator complies. time to get rid of these puppets united under the orders of America. time for a revolution all over the Islamic world starting with Pakistan. the others will soon follow. victory to the mujahideen, victory for Islam

• chussain said:

There is only one way to deal with this situation – Get this Musharraf out once for all.

• Amir Hameed said:

So WTF happened to Geo’s appeal that was pending in the SC/HC? The entire media should have taken the stand against the imposition of restriction. True they were suffering from financial losses but in the long run it would have been far better than the compromise.

• Rihat said:

Jo nahi juka wohi hero hey

1- CJ Chaudary
    2- Aitazaz
    3- Imran
    and now
    4-Geo

• Ahmed Bhai said:

Its really amazing that UAE can do this. given the fact its becoming hub of many businesses/ industry and its liberal policies, this would impact its global business positioning…

I still can understand how ..

• jojo said:

@traffic
    UAE sheiks kidnapped our innocent kids for camel racings, they have almost finished the species eagles in our deserts. Women are summegled to them for their ayashee.

Who provide them these things? So one day the provider is pressurizing them for a favor.

• tipu said:

2007 will be 1857….

Qatl-e-Hussain asal mai marge-Yazid hai
    Islam zinda huta hai har karbala kay bad

• pejamistri said:

This seems to be last nail in the coffin of mad dictator, the arrival of Negroponte and then his talk with BB, and the closure of GEO seems to be happening in a certain sequence.

• Asif said:

@Ahmed Bhai

I agree with you they(dubai) won’t underestimate its global impact on the trade & business in Dubai.
    They are also shooting on their own foot.

• Ahmed Bhai said:

pejamistri:

you are right. I earlier said same and all it make sense.

But Geo is saying that UAE govt. order them..

I doubt if Mush can only have this much influence. It seems a much wider game in global politics

Mush – time to packup

• nota said:

@chussain
    To ansar barney, ansar barney comes first. please see my post above about ansar barney…

• Rihat said:

Last 9 min on air

• Ahmed Bhai said:

so its Geo news only… hummmm

• zenith said:

lab pe aati hey is being played on geo. probably the last dua on GEO. salutations to geo. this network was not like other shameless networks. once again GEO.

• AJ said:

All leaders of the muslim world, with the exception of iran, act as whores for the west.

• Kruman said:

ARY One World appears to be shutting down too.

• Asif said:

March,09,2007 will be remembered as a turning point in the history of Pkistan.

But on that very day no one was aware of this relity.
    Thanks to the wisdom of Naeem Bukhari….

• Rihat said:

Gone.

We salute Geo management and the entire team of Geo news.

• pejamistri said:

@Kruman,
    Are you watching ARY ONE? BTW are they showing Kashif Abbasi program these days.

• nota said:

Kadam Kadam Pay Andhayron Ka Samna Ho Ga
    Jo Dhondhtay Hain Ujalay Unhain Khabar Ker Do

Geo aur Is Kutay Kay Bachay Ko Marro

• Rihat said:

ARY One World is probably next in line….

• Asif said:

Mush’s Master are with us as usual in sad moments.

• nota said:

I wish Geo would use these last few minutes in some better way…

• Rihat said:

ARY One World is suddenly off the air.

• chussain said:

Blunders of Musharraf

1. Dismissal of CJ
    2. Dismissal of Supreme Court
    3. PCO
    4. Ban on media
    5. Closure of Geo
    6. DOUBLE CROSSING THE AMERICANS

• sincere paki said:

minimum punishment for busharraf

hang till death..
    and death shouldt come with in 24 hours…

and during these 24 hrs ,,,,, nangi peeth par chitterol….

kaala mun kia jayay aur uss kay mun par thooka jayay ….
    aur thooknain walon main sab say aagay main hoon gaaa

• zenith said:

GEO SHUT DOWN. ARY SHUT DOWN. ONLY AAJ TV OPERABLE.

• nota said:

If only …
    All other channels would shut themselves down in protest.

• chussain said:

WHEN WILL PKPOLITICS.COM be banned – just wondering lol

• pejamistri said:

CNN reporting right now that Dubai government has ordered two pakistani networks to shutdown. I believe second is ARY.

• chussain said:

Maybe Mush would have to lick Queen’s ______
    to get PKPOLITICS.COM BE BANNED

• Jafri Bhai said:

I am ashmad to be a Pakistani.
    I died once more.
    I am sorry of myself.

• chussain said:

I BELIEVE THAT TO CIRCUMVENT TEH BAN ON GEO AND OTHER NETWORKS WHAT THEY SHOULD DO IS TO PUT THE VIDOES ON PKPOLITICS.COM AND ON YOUTUBE. THIS IS TEH BEST WAY TO COUNTER TEH PROBLEM

• pejamistri said:

Where I live I could only watch GEO news , ARY ONE was close and merged with ARY digital channel few months back. Now GEO has gone too, therefore I just pressed 501 on my tv to see SKY news :(

• IMRAN MALIK said:

I think KAMRAN KHAN will go to PTV …he was a misfit in geo tv ….he suits PTV more…
    he is pro establishment…

• Asif said:

@Jafri Bhai

Hazrat Ali (KW) ka kaul hai.” Main ney apney hauslon k tootney sey RUB ko pehchana”

• pejamistri said:

BTW GEO looks so different without the news ticker at the bottom, picture is looking so big.

• IMRAN MALIK said:

its difficult to rig elections when media is free…thats another reason to ban channels …to RIG elections without any interference….

• Kami said:

Does anyone have GHQ and other military emails?

I think we need to tell military people that hatred against our armed forces will go up unless they depose Mush Harami !!!

I think we need to appeal to the good side of Army guys (not big generals) so that we could have our country back on democracy track.

• ManDark said:

Aaj is miserable without Bolta Pakistan and Live with Talat. Useless channel.

All my respects to GEO.

• ManDark said:

Can someone please kill the swine Musharraf and his dogs?

Thanks.

• Asif said:

Protests visibility did the final nailing of media.
    So its very important for the guys who protest make vedios & upload on Youtube to send their messege……

• IMRAN MALIK said:

guies which channels shld i watch now ….plz tell me if there is any good indian channel i can add through dish network in US…

or any good american channels…
    any suggetions..

• Traffic said:

this dictator has crossed all limits of beghairati. i pray that musharraf and sehba along with their children are dragged in the streets of islamabad, stripped naked and stoned to death by the public. people should realise that until they take up arms against this army and police, they will stay under occupation of these hijras. they suck our blood and money and then use it to oppress and kill us.

i pray that people all over pakistan take up arms against this army and police, just like our brave brothers have done in waziristan and swat. we should demand an end to this tyranny which has been going on for 60 years now. Islam is the only solution for us, i hope the mujahideen reach Islamabad soon and end this bullsh*t once and for all. that way we just might get the chance to hang musharraf publicly in the streets of islamabad. all politicians r two-faced b*stards, all power-hungry corrupt sell-outs. we should be looking towards the mujahideen now, not the politicians. this regime only understands the language of force, look how this p*ssy army is surrendering by the hundreds in waziristan. may Allah help the mujahideen in bringing these criminals to justice for all that they have done in the last 8 years, which has reached its limit now. ameen

• Amir Hameed said:

My SALUTE to Geo and ARY for taking the stand and not compromising on their principles. This fascist government is going to go down soon and no one can stop it from falling.

• Asif said:

@Traffic
    By voilation we would spoil the efforts made by Judges lawyers students IK…….
    This is the time we would not loose our temprament we should follow the peaceful protests as all the above did.
    They did it peacefuly………..

• chussain said:

Make vidoes of the protest and make CDs and distribute them. Musharraf has challenged the nation as a whole and we have to tell him that we would not be cowed down at all.

• Qutubb said:

FM 100 % agreee Traffic
    we are nearly there

• rauf said:

Jamaat Islami is intellucally and “spritually� descended from Muslim Brotherhood (Ikhwan)

Ever wondered why they always choose the wrong way….from opposing Pakistan to Kidnapping Imran Khan………?

Perhaps the problem is more fundamental…..see the following link

http://www.terrorism-illuminati.com/book/muslim_brotherhood.html

• Amir Hameed said:

These Arab biddus are f*****g b*s***d*. They always show loyalties to individuals but not to the individuals. They came to save NS back in 2000; the government of Saudi Arabia had recently asked the current Pakistani government to release general Hamid Gul because they had personal relationship with them and now this. What about standing up for the masses of Pakistan. Once this turmoil is over and inshallah the civil society will emerge victorious, the behavior of these countries should be dealt with appropriately.

• Kami said:

It proves only one thing

That Mush and his cronies’ Kameenigee has no boundaries.

Kargil and Dhaka ke Bagore, Ab Channels Fateh Kar Rahe hain

• Amir Hameed said:

A recent article in NY Times
    http://www.nytimes.com/aponline/world/AP-Pakistan.html?_r=1&oref=slogin

• Shah Saud Sahibzada said:

I am at a loss. I don’t know what to do with the searing pain and rage inside me. This regime can not go any lower than this. Dear fellows, lets just vow our eternal allegiance to the people of Pakistan. Let us vow to bring this regime to its knees.

1. Social boycott of police and more importantly Army members among our friends and family.

2. Spread the message to our circles and convince them to do the same.

3. Boycot of all the products produced by Fauji Foundation and its subsidiaries, including among others the ASKARI brand.

4. Commit ourselves to cut this army to size by campaigning against it’s non-military activities at every forum.

5. Demand of the Western countries to stop AID to military. Trust me, no one is going to attack us and get entangled in the mess that we are in. The AID is only filling the accounts of the generals.

6. Develop networks among your colleagues and friends on a single point agenda of cutting this military to its size. Everything follows thereafter.

Let’s nip the evil in the bud before its too late. Let’s do something more meaningful with all our limitations. Let’s stop these hands before they reach our homes.

i remember one of the pieces i read some time back about Nazis. I don’t remember exactly but it goes like this.
    First they came for the communists. I was not a communist. Then they came for the Jews. I was not a Jew. Then they came for me and there was no one to stand for me.

• sds said:

admin this is a request to start a round 2 of protests through pkunited.this time bigger and louder.all pakistanis should come out of their houses now no matter where you live

• T Babu said:

Pakistan Army No. 2 Will Play Key Role

http://ap.google.com/article/ALeqM5gk57LBPSBKhhuw1DRe8xFdU6ZdJgD8SUTJ285

U.S. envoy arrives to pressure Pakistani president

http://edition.cnn.com/2007/WORLD/asiapcf/11/16/pakistan.negroponte/?iref=mpstoryview

US Envoy Carries Warning to Pakistan

http://ap.google.com/article/ALeqM5jIE0IUn4WIiaMBpjG8SI_6H5RXzgD8SUTQD80

Get a grip or go, Pervez Musharraf told

http://www.news.com.au/story/0,23599,22773470-401,00.html

UN says rights envoy Jahangir released in Pakistan

http://www.reuters.com/article/asiaCrisis/idUSL16400879

Benazir Bhutto: “New Pakistan Government Has Committed Treason�

http://themoderatevoice.com/places/asia/pakistan/16127/benazir-bhutto-new-pakistan-government-has-committed-treason/

Dabbling with Democracy: The Musharraf Mess

http://nebuchadnezzarwoollyd.blogspot.com/2007/11/dabbling-with-democracy-musharraf-mess.html

People-Politics in Pakistan: Who is Protesting and Who Is Not

http://pakistaniat.com/2007/11/16/paistan-protest-pictures-emergency/

US signals Musharraf’s days may be numbered

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/main.jhtml?xml=/news/2007/11/15/wpak315.xml

Pakistan vs. Punditry

http://news.yahoo.com/s/thenation/20071116/cm_thenation/15252147

US cagey on Musharraf

http://www.thetimes.co.za/News/Article.aspx?id=614476

Question mark over Musharraf’s future

http://www.dailytimes.com.pk/default.asp?page=2007%5C11%5C16%5Cstory_16-11-2007_pg7_54

Crisis grows in Pakistan

http://www.workers.org/2007/world/pakistan-1122/#Scene_1

• Dynx said:

Shahid Masood arrested!

• Amir Hameed said:

It is very important that we have an independent judiciary. If we had one then if a channel had misbehaved or was involved in so-called defamation activities, the government could have taken it/them to the court on liable cases.
    Government has shot itself on both of its feet by sacking the judiciary which was on its way to become completely indepenedent.

• Bilal said:

Just wanted to know…doesn’t GEO have a London office to broadcast from?

• gomushgo said:

@Dynix Shahid MAsood is in Dubai, did he get arrested there?

• fastn4urious said:

When the Nazis came for the communists,
    I remained silent;
    I was not a communist.

When they locked up the social democrats,
    I remained silent;
    I was not a social democrat.

When they came for the trade unionists,
    I did not speak out;
    I was not a trade unionist.

When they came for the Jews,
    I remained silent;
    I wasn’t a Jew.

When they came for me,
    there was no one left to speak out.

• Amir Hameed said:

They (Geo, ARY) will find a way to air its shows, be it from London or some other free country.

• T Babu said:

@Shah Saud Sahibzada

in your list please add one more thing, request the overseas pakistani that if they stop sending there foriegn currency to pakistan as long as this government is in power, you will see the impact in two months.

I strongly agree with you of boycotting all the products produced by the army subsideries.

• Ahmed Bhai said:

An idea that requires some work:

Collect emails of Musharraf family members and keep posting them descent emails telling that Mush must go now and Mush & family is the source of all evil

His son Bilal
    http://www.eplanetventures.com/en/team/team_ic_na_musharraf.html

But venture capital cos dont give their email …

Guys try, find and post

• Dynx said:

No idea, just heard from some internet broadcast, must be some rumor, will get back if it is authentic. let me check. if anyone knows then tell please

• Nouman said:

I wonder why we Pakistani only cry and complain ……why don’t we take any practical step if we are really fed up from these people…why don’t we do our best to stop this brutality by our best possible means….. why don’t we step up and come on streets to eradicate this evil?

• Lighthouse7635 said:

hey I can still see GEO. what are you guys talking about?

• pejamistri said:

It seems that mad general has finally reached to his ultimate end. Let’s see where he stands now:
    1. He has put major lawyers in jail. These include Aitzaz Ahsan, Ali Ahmed Kurd, Munir Malik, Ahsan Bhoon and thousands more.
    2. He has put Iftikhar Chaudary , Bhagwan Das and several other judges under house arrest.
    3. He has put Imran Khan in jail.
    4. He has got rid of both ARY and GEO
    5. Several human right activist are in jail too.

Now the common thing in all of above steps is that they are temporary in nature. It will be very difficult for him to keep all of these things under control till 9th of January. The pressure will keep mounting. You can not keep Lawyers, Judges for such a long time under arrest. Similarly it will be very hard for him to keep the GEO and ARY closed for very long.
    The pressure will keep mounting in the coming weeks, it will be very hard for him to sustain this pressure.
    So what is going to happen. All depends upon two things
    1. the situation in Swat and Malakand
    2. Any new bomb blast in major city

• Dynx said:

only GEO news is closed , entertainment is on as usual

• pejamistri said:

@Lighthouse7635
    You and your mad general can see everything. Don’t worry about what we are talking about.

• Fraz said:

Tribute to students, lawyers and civil society of Pakistan

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sv7YdFVe2Is

http://www.BoltaPakistan.com

• Traffic said:

@ Asif
    protests will get u nowhere. this tyrant has even banned channels now, so u can protest all u want, its not gonna make any difference. unless we quit this attitude of being scared and doing nothing to change the situation except peaceful protesting, we are always going to be oppressed. now is the time to stand up and fight for our rights. the mujahideen have taken the first step, now its our duty to follow in their example all over pakistan. enough of army hijacking our country every few years. we need a revolution and disband this filthy army which has been sucking our blood for the last 60 years. unless we return to Islam, Allah will always keep us in this position. may Allah give victory to Islam and the mujahideen. we ought to learn a lesson from our pashtun brothers. if we dont rise up, they will gain their freedom anyway from this filthy army, and we will remain stuck in the same situation. the choice is ours, do we join our pashtun brothers in the fight for freedom, or remain enslaved and humiliated forever? may Allah guide us all

• Lighthouse7635 said:

@pejamistri:Listen freak I just used the link on thenews.com.pk to go to geo tv live and I watched Hamid Mirs show. So what r u talking about.Let me check again!

• rflahore said:

worth reading article “bahdur hameesha ghoray ki pheet per swar hotay hain.at http://www.rubinafaisal.com

• T Babu said:

@Nouman
    please see Shah Saud Sahibzada suggestion specially boycot the army subsideries products, this a thing which each pakistani can do very easily……very practical and easy to implement. this money hungry army can learn lesson from this action.

second suggestion for overseas pakistani that to stop sending money to pakistan as long as this army rule is there….second very practical and easy action but its impact can been seen within two months.

• Asif said:

@Traffic

I respect your opinion. We are being tortured by power abuse & if we would do the same to overcome those forces, we would again be ruled by people who believe in the use of pwer to reslove issues. Its endless loop & we would have to stop it once for all.

Power is not the tool to slove our internal issues.

• Jina said:

I wonder if the people of Pakistan know that we pay our army to protect us from all or any harm or danger that confronts us or threatens us. Our army is there to keep us safe and sound. This is a strict training that every soldier and every officer receives.
    When the democracy exercises here throw up people like Benazirs and Nawaz Sharifs, who come, have feasts and rob us of all our wealth, then our army personnel feel duty-bound to move in and protect us, having taken an oath for it. Then why are we suddenly cribbing after 8 years?
    Is it because we being in the opposition can’t think of staying out for another five years?

• Javed said:

Very very sad and emotional moment. I use to come from work and watch GEO everyday.What am I going to do now? There are hundreds and thousands of news channels but how could I forget Hamid Mir, Kamran Khan and Dr. Shahid Masood.
    I pray to Allah that they come back soon with the same pride and honor.
    Jeo “GEO” Jenay do Musharraf

• Traffic said:

@ Asif

what is wrong with you? is that what your religion taught you? we are not christian monks who are taught to turn the other cheek. we are the nation of Muhammad (saw), Allah tells us to fight the oppressors, until there is no more oppression. your defeatist attitude is a bit disgusting to be honest, and its the main reason for our condition today. stand up to tyranny today and we will have a better tomorrow, Allah will be our Helper inshallah. otherwise just sit and whine for another 60 years and keep going round in circles.

• T Babu said:

@jina

very wonderfull this army is protecting pakistan what about juna ghar, east pakistan, sia chin, kargil & dars.

this army doing the job of selling people of pakistan (showing each pakistani as terrorist) just to fill their pockets with money.why didnot they have not handed over the army officers who had the link with all terriorist organisation.

they sell nuke to other countries and put in front DR.A.Q khan

• Jina said:

I don’t know why people keep saying it is an army rule? It is no army rule. Does one man make such a big difference to them?
    The elections were held. The elected lower house and upper house- both had their sessions. There is even grassroot democracy working here. Perhaps people here do not know what democracy is?

• Asif said:

@Traffic

Then why u people are against JI today. They have arms & doing the things in the name of Islam, so better go their & ask them to help you out.

• IMRAN MALIK said:

@jina
    ever heard the term sham democracy.
    did shaukat aziz had any power?
    wasnt refrendum and 2002 elections rigged
    wasnt pmlq lota party of criminals trying to evade from NAB
    isnt it one man rule in our country for last 8 years …and that man is ruling bc of power and support of army..

is it that hard to understand.?

• Jina said:

@javed
    should not despair. I have a brilliant idea. Geo’s Hamid Mir, Shahid Masood and Kamran can still have their programs on the internet TV.

• Amir Hameed said:

@Jina,
    “..is even grassroot democracy working here..”
    Where do you see democracy at works here? The civil society is bing subjected to extreme torture, media is being shutdown. Where in democracy do you these things happened? May be in your dictionary it is called democracy but not in the real one. Are you by chance related to army somehow?

• chussain said:

Sheikh Naseer – mind your own business – this is our Pakistan. We know what we are doing – all we want is rule of law and thats all. Just on this pretext what Bhutto is going to do is a lame excuse and this has been going on for long. Army has made billions and they dont have guts to fight thats why they are laying arms in Swat. So please leave Pakistan alone and let us decide what we have to do. We have been fighting other peoples wars for long and we are sick and tired of that.

We want our constitution to be fully restored, free and fair elections and thats all. If you have a problem you can go to hell.

• zenith said:

Is it not shameful that all indian channels are being aired. only pakistani channels have been shut down. Any one who supports the army even now, he/she comes from an army family. The army useless and dibilitated. it doesnot have support from the people of pakistan; this is the reason why they can’t even conduct ground operations in places like swat. I have talked to many people back home. The harted against the army has gone to unprecedented levels, but people can’t do anything. Suppose if India launches an attack, i dont think the people will favour the pak army.

• Traffic said:

@ Asif

not everyone who uses the name of Islam is sincere. we have seen the true face of MMA, i never trusted them anyway. our only hope is the mujahideen, who are sincere and who have the support of their people and who are fighting for their rights. they are popular and people support them because they are sincere and they bring justice. justice is what we need in our society today, there has been too much injustice. only Islam can provide us justice, havent we had enough of “enlightened moderation” already?

• Jina said:

@T Babu & Imran Malik
    I cannot understand you people. T Babu is talking like he wants just an elected government but absolutely no army of any kind will be tolerated because there are issues like Kargil, Junagarh…etc.

And I. Malik thinks that some angels will get elected….that the Prime Minister elect is not a one-man show. Have you forgotten that time when Nawaz Sharif became a one man show, and worse than a dictator?

• Dee said:

Never have the Napak army conqured a square inch of indian land.

In 65 Indian army came inside heart of lahore. And these bastards were busy buying politicians against Fatima Jinnah.

Then they butchered men of Bangal and raped their daughters. And surrenders to indian general.

Bhutto Got these dickheads back to the land. And as a thank you present, they hanged him.

As Zia was busy tring to make sure his victary in Referendum. Indian army took over Siachen. And then the general said that even grass does not goes there.

They got their ass stuck in Kargil. NS got them out. He narrowly escaped death.

They defamed AQKhan, the real hero of pak. Forcing him to accept the crimes that these money hungry generals have committed.

These general buy tanks that cannot run on the surface of indo-pak, just to fill their pockets.

They fire the weapons of Ojary Camp on their own people.

And these are only the things that I know. These …. Must be put in arabians Sea for good.

• Javed said:

Some article against GEO TV:
    http://www.chowk.com/ilogs/64207/47408

Please give comments and let them know tat they are wrong.

• Jina said:

@Sheikh-al-naser
    You are right. We are making sure that she doesn’t come. Even she has realized that she has very little support, and as a result she is now planning to work together with the other political parties. Before she was too big in the head but now after a week has passed, she thinks a joint venture may work.
    However we will not let it work.

• zenith said:

PLZ READ THE ARTICLE ABOUT IMRAN KHAN,

http://news.independent.co.uk/world/asia/article3160649.ece

• Jina said:

@Amir Hameed
    Where is your I.Q. Look, don’t talk about the last few months. Democracy was working. It worked for 8 years, thank God.
    Look who is talking? Who is creating trouble? It is some lunatics who have strongly come up, disturbing the peace of the cities. These lunatics have to be sorted out. You can’t talk of this time. Now the caretakers have taken over.

• BeautifulMind said:

@ADMIN & others

I am an experienced commercial development professional and have an idea for everybody to discuss here:

If enough people on this forum agree im wiling to offer myself to start an initiative to establish a truly independent Pakistani global TV channel based in the UK and try and provide the courageous heroes of pakistan (Dr shahid & other journalists lawyers etal)an opportunity to continue serving our nation…..

We shouldnt allow voice of sincere pakistanis to be silenced…we shouldnt give up…..

This is very much possible and i know that we can setup a satellite channel in the UK with a shoe string budget (literally around 250k pounds)……
    This is certainly viable commercially as finance can be raised through shares as well as bank funding….and marketing / call revenues will make it financially stable and allow it to be economically independent….

(Recently an internet forum purchased an english football club through each member contributing less than 100 pounds to buy shares in the holding company…its possible guys)

Let me give you an example:
    Typical voters in pkpolitics surveys:2000
    estimated ppl who dont vote (say): 2000
    say
    each share is :100
    average shares bought: 2
    Therefore itll take 1000 visitors to combine to raise 200,000 pounds. Banks will fund to the tune of another 200k pounds. This will be enough to start and fund the channel. I can provide details if people think its a good idea?

We can setup a UK limited company (and also a US company for visitors from their)This will allow a truly independent control of the business to its shareholders who can vote on policy rather than allowing govts to pressurise any individual owner.

@ADMIN
    Im happy to discuss this in detail. I think we can even integrate this website & others with the channel. Also significant programming can be user generated content?

Im serious about this … what do u guys thnk?

• Asif said:

@Traffic

Do you know what happened with Kashmir? Do you know who is supplying arms to the so-called mujahadeen & their purpose?
    Don’t be a naive.

• BeautifulMind said:

@Jina

Which planet do you live on?

• BeautifulMind said:

@DEE

Endorse your views

• BeautifulMind said:

@ADMIN

On my tv channel idea…drop me an email if you are interested in a chat.

TC

• REQUEST TO ADMIN said:

DEAR ADMIN ..

WOULD IT BE POSSIBLE FOR YOU TO GIVE DUE CREDIT TO GEO BY PUTTING THEIR FAMOUS “JEENAY DO” ANIMATED VIDEO ON THE TOP OF MAIN PAGE, ATLEAST FOR TODAY AND PUT SOME BLACK COLOR TO SHOW SUPPORT TO GEO NEWS…..MAY BE BLACK BACKGROUND OR BLACK STRIPES ….

THANKS IS ADVANCE..

For those who support this idea, plz.. request the ADMIN SB.

apology in advance as i will be posting this message in many threads so to get ADMIN’s attention…

• faisal said:

MMA is Musharaf Maulvi alliance. These bastards screwed Imran Khan and the country

• Amir Hameed said:

@Jina,
    These people that you were referring to as “lunatics” are called members of civil society; the lawyers, the judges, the media persons, the students, etc. If raising your voice for your rights that are granted by the constitution is called “creating trouble” then I would strongly question your IQ. My IQ is reasonable enough to have earned me a post-graduate degree in engineering from a US school.

• BeautifulMind said:

@JINA
    Just things look very rosy over there…can i emigrate?

• chussain said:

DM Digital in UK has offered Geo that they can use their one channel in UK – if they want to. Geo should explore that option also as in UK it would be very difficult for Pakistani goverment to impose its will.

• Amir Hameed said:

Do the laws in UAE allow these types of government decisions to be challanged in courts?

• Amir Hameed said:

@chussain
    This is encouraging news. I am very positive that Geo administration will be able to find a way to come back on air very soon.

• gayan said:

we are staging a protest outside pakistan high commssion london at around 11:00 on sunday.

“FREE our Chancellor�

Great Imran khan is chnacellor of our university “University of Bradford�. A bus will leave from bradford 6:00 am in the morning and will bring everybody back to bradford.Please come and support.
    for more information go to
    http://www.bradford.ac.uk

• BeautifulMind said:

@Amir Hameed

Bro UAE is worse than Pak…No Chance

• T Babu said:

its a lesson for investers specially from muslims that donot invest your money in UAE; instead go to china,malaysia, europe for investment. the country which can has his credability

• Amir Hameed said:

http://www.dailytimes.com.pk/default.asp?page=2007\11\17\story_17-11-2007_pg1_9

Interesting.

• MYA said:

Hats off to GEO.

Support GEO

http://66.241.198.16/important_events/freemedia/

• Amir Hameed said:

“How and who bowled Imran Khan out”. Both JI and IJT were accomplices in this shamefull event:
    http://www.nation.com.pk/daily/nov-2007/17/index8.php

• Kami said:

If you live in the UK(Student/visitor/british). Please sign this petittion and ask your friends to sign this:

http://petitions.pm.gov.uk/PakEmergencyRule/

From all over the world, sign this petition (80,000 already signed)

http://www.avaaz.org/en/emergency_pakistan/

• Shah Saud Sahibzada said:

@T Babu
    These were preliminary suggestions. i got some more from some other friends. I have requested the Admin to start a new thread for simple harmless universally applicable measures against this regime. I hope the Admin grants us that otherwise the suggestions will be lost in the flood of messages coming in. It needs to be more focused.

• Amir Hameed said:

A pro JI and JIT view on IK’s manhandling, “Imran caught on the wrong foot”:
    http://www.dawn.com/2007/11/16/op.htm#2

• tipu said:

@Gayan,

just a thought…
    why are we protesting in front of the pakistan embassy?
    its is in a cornor and really what difference will it make to them. And on Sunday who will be there in the embassy.

Really, the protests should be to wake British public to the situation. So Hyde Park, for example, is a far better place.
    Also instead of just standing with banner and making speeches, we should play clippings of police and army brutality…

In short, I think, its a waste of time to try to influence Pak Embassy…and even if they are convinced, what will they be able to do…
    I think we should use our nergy to create awareness among British people..

Tipu

• farhan said:

@ beautifulmind

I am interested in discussing the TV channel, idea.

i can help from north america.

how can i contact you?

• faisal said:

AOA,

Geo and Ary blocked, i think we should organise a rallies in support of Media and against Media curbs in Pakistan.

I am willing to do this in Boston USA

• Kruman said:

Geo defies tyrant Musharraf. Catch live streaming audio here:

mms://stream.wmlivesvc.vitalstreamcdn.com/live_stream_geo_tv_GeoAud

please post this.

Thanks!

• saqibtahir said:

You better wonder why I did not address you as “Mr. President”. No offence but I’m sorry, I can’t. Civil society has ceased to exist in Pakistan by suspending the constitution at gun point. And, you loose the honor of being called The President, General!
    Your way to root out extremism is to lock up judges, detain human right leaders and tighten the military noose around institutions of justice. You do these things to build up democracy in the country. Interesting! You can not fool people. We all know that Pakistan was never a paradise. Its hellish under the barrel of guns now.
    Under your watch, military has erected a financial empire within the country. Heavy-handedness has become the logic for asserting rules. Your Gunships are indiscriminately showering bullets on villages and towns. Killing your own countrymen has become your civic value. Deceit has become the surrogate for moral courage and avarice for virtue. Now, guns to the temples of a nation are meant for advancing lessons on citizenship and law and order. It is interesting but unfortunate lesson!
    Citizenship in Pakistan is under siege every which way. Everybody is insecure. Criminals are running amok but emergency rule is incarcerating the innocent. Judges, lawyers and students have lost civil liberties by your ill-fated proclamation of black November. War on terror is being waged on the very countrymen who are the source of power while deals are being negotiated under the table with corrupt politicians and gluttonous corporations.
    Imperial agenda is your motto when poverty is rising in the country you avow to defend. Yes, you like to be called, the defender. Yes, you are defending but the interests of the most powerful in the world and sell the flesh of poor to bare bones. Tyranny always brings tragedy that pervades through the fabric of poor nations thank to grotesque arrogance of the powerful from the time immemorial.
    You have been at the helm for almost a decade navigating the country according the whims and wishes of the powerful to take the country to the midst of storm. Greasing brutal war machine is your ideal. Your ideologic kins run from top to bottom in Pakistan. They are likes of what somebody called, “A Bicycle Personality” – bowing at the top and kicking at the bottom. Soul of military generals is perhaps the real essence of that personality. Even brutality does not gloss over poverty of their moral courage.
    Please General listen! Common Joe on the street of Pakistan does not have too many demands. All that he wants is food to put out natural fire in the belly, a sense of security and freedom. These are basic rights that have turned into commodities. They have gone beyond the reach of virtually everyone. That’s why passion in Pakistani society moves to calls for violence, which is a perverse way feeling secure. That’s why establishment has the most to fear of judges who dispense justice to rich and poor and powerful and weak. The blind folded lady of justice does not discern who the power-elites are and who the martial law administrator is. Equal justice neither discriminates nor does it differentially treat the powerful.
    Dear General! The world will perhaps never be able to figure out what were your fears when you snatched freedoms of the whole nation, and when criminals were let loose. But, rest assured justice cannot be silenced and innocence cannot be convicted.
    Verdict of history is always against those who dance to the tunes of their masters and behave with expediency. It has never happened in Pakistan but lessons from history book are written on the wall.
    The nations that have self respect dig their General Cromwell out of grave and hang his corpse to render justice and avenge cowardice of others. They render justice even posthumously as British did to him in 1661 for crime of disrupting the system and institutions earlier. It is ironic and a strange paradox of history that the words of the very general, Oliver Cromwell are still alive and ring clearly in the ears of self respecting nations, “Cruel necessity” that he mutely uttered while watching over king’s execution in January 1649.
    Cruel realities of life are fate of the poor but destiny has it: “cruel necessity” for corrupt politicians and power hungry too.
    Dear General, with best of wishes; so long.

Dr. Tahir Qazi is a freelance writer of Pakistani origin. He lives in the US. Author’s e-mail for feedback, comments or critique: tahir.qazi@yahoo.com

• khawar awan said:

Beautiful mind come up with good idea.i m columnist in newspaper and did MSc in mass media from edinburgh uni uk.its time to Chanelised our efforts and skills.i m ready to do any thing, baty boht hogy abhi kuch action ka time hy.i know admin u can do this. Now v have to decide either v r with musharaf or against musharaf.at the moment v r just helping mushraf,in many ways.u know what i mean.

• naini said:

Message for all
    Free Pakistan Rally
    If you would be interested in attending the Free Pakistan Rally in London on
    Sunday 18th November, please see the following details:
    Sunday 18th November
    Time: 12 noon
    Location: Pakistan High Commission, 34-36 Lowndes Square, LONDON, SW1X 9JN
    Nearest Tube Station: Knightsbridge
    Departure planned by coach from Bradford: 6.00am, back in Bradford approx
    6.00pm.
    For further details:
    Email: pakistanprotest@hotmail.com
    Mobile: 07932960812 (Ahmad Raza)
    Mobile: 07828635541 (Hamid Raja)

• anon said:

Musharraf & Geo
    Geo hee mera yar hay aur yar rahay ga
    Musharraf tho Ghaddar hay ghaddar rahay ga
    Ab naza ka alam tharee hay
    par chahtha shahee sawaaree hay
    ye ghunda hay badmashon ka
    Ajeeb iskee beemaree hay
    Pagal badshah bas aysa hee beemar rahay ga
    Musharraf tho Ghaddar hay……………
    Zinda tho naheen martha bhee naheen
    Darpok bhee hay dartha bhee naheen
    Kuthon kee tharha dum tangon main
    Lekin peechay hattha bhee nahee
    Bay sharm ye aisa nanga sarey bazar rahay ga
    Musharraf tho Ghaddar hay…………….
    Aqaaon ko dum ye hilatha hay
    Apnay logon ko bhagatha hay
    Jo isko pasand ajaye usay
    Kursee kay khel sikhatha hay
    Ye machhar aisay hee mardam azar rahay ga
    Musharraf tho ghaddar hay…………….
    Chand ghunday iskay peechay hain
    Chand chamchay iskay peechay hain
    ghunday chamchay bhag jaingay
    Par dunya kiskay peechay hay
    Is sachsay qasir kabthak ye hoshyar rahay ga
    Musharraf tho ghaddar hay…………….

• nota said:

Interesting…
    Three SC judges want to quit bench: Petitions against emergency
    http://www.dawn.com/2007/11/17/top1.htm

ISLAMABAD, Nov 16: Three judges on a 10-member Supreme Court bench hearing petitions against the imposition of emergency on Friday said they wanted to opt out of the bench.

Justice Mohammad Nawaz Abbasi, Justice Faqir Mohammad Khokhar and Justice M. Javed Buttar said judicial propriety demanded that they detached themselves from the bench after President Gen Pervez Musharraf had cited their recent judgments to justify the imposition of emergency.

They said they would make their decision known at the next hearing on Monday.

Soon after the conclusion of Friday?s hearing, an informed source told Dawn that at a meeting held in the Supreme Court the three judges expressed their inability to sit on the bench when the case would be taken up next week.

“Judicial propriety demands that I should not sit on the bench because repeated references have been made that the Supreme Judicial Council had been made ineffective and militants had been released on the orders of the apex court,” Justice Khokhar observed at the fag end of the proceedings.

• Jamshid Khan said:

I have a friend in Swat and they are in hell right now. The Mush Army instead of going into the village and catching the Talibans, fires rockets on villages from far distance and killing innocent people.
    What kind of country is this Pakistan and what kind of ARMY is this.
    90000 surrendered in East Pakistan
    They failed in Kargil,
    They use Gunships against NWFP and Baluchistan
    Pak Army Murdabad, Begharrat, Buzdill
    Shame on Pakistan Army

• BABU from USA said:

@ LIGHTHOUSE

ARE YOU STILL CHECKING FOR GEO NEWS AND TALK SHOWS. OR STILL YOU CAN WATCH ALL THE GEO PROGRAMS LIVE. YOU ARE SAME LIKE MUSH AND COMPANY, ” EVERYTHING IS FINE AND GREAT IN PAKISTAN”.

I HOPED THAT YOU REALLY WORKED AS A LIGHTHOUSE FOR THE PEOPLE OF PAKISTAN DURING THIS STORM, BUT MY FRIEND IT LOOKS LIKE THAT YOUR OWN BATTERIES ARE FUSED ( CON-FUSED). TRY TO USE NEW BATTERIES ( SEE OTHER SIDE OF THE PICTURE) MY FRIEND.

• BABU from USA said:

@ JINA

DO YOU REALLY SUPPORT MUSH POLICIES AND HIS ACTIONS? IF YES, THEN WHY? PLZ PROVIDE SOME GOOD REASONS.

@ Zara
    100% Agreed to your point

• Pakistani said:

Latest update about Geo TV with insider report.

http://destogate.wordpress.com/2007/11/17/geo-tv-shutdown/

@ Man
    “Every student of Punjab university respect Jamiat ……”

– better if you have used respectED instead of respect. What about thousands of those students who agitated in PU first time against JTI.

– I know that many people respects Jamaat but most of them also respect Imran as well. Jamaat has already taken action against those who did ghunda gardi on their own. you might be one of those. To me (and I am sure to vast majority of JI supporters as well), Imran has great respect and there is no major clash in both school of thoughts.

– May be Jamaat is more tilted or focused on some issues like Dawat and Quran circles, whereas Imran Khan is a warrior against dictator and in favor of judiciary and so far has proved himself as the most visionary among whole lot of politicians.

– So I think JI and Imran are working for same cause in their own ways.

• Ahmed Bhai said:

Man, Zara: naive! isn’t it?

PU is not all Jamiat and invitation does not matter. so you want to say that its a no go area and Jamiat’s permission is required. still on papers IK seek permission from Qazi Hussain…

probably this was the attitude that APMSO (MQM) taught a good lesson to Jamiat in karachi

And if you still are so ignorant then do read columns by die hard jamatias and their opinions (haroon rasheed, irfan siddiqi, abdul qadir…)

• zsarosh said:

what amazes me is that the arabs took musharrafs pressure….man talk about reverse flows….. unless the pressure really came from USA…. i cant for a minute imagine shaikh of dubai bowing down to musharraf….may he was told that next time he wont be allowed to hunt endangered species in bahawalpure and baluchistan…its mind boggling….

how can we pressure the rulers of dubai to reverse this decision?

i think geo should move to London or some other “Kafir” country as no muslim country is really free….

• Pakistani said:

UPDATE AT BOTTOM, OFFICIAL SOURCE AS OF (1:50 PM).

• Ahmed Bhai said:

zsarosh:
    Yesterday I had same feeling and I said same but later while I was gathering info about Mush’s son – Bilal Musharraf, eplanet now, and IDC, his father in law, I can find good link b/w all :)

PTCL for example of good relationship.

• farhan said:

Everyone, Geo news is still on. Any updates on this?

• Anees said:

Every Sister and Brother’s
    Just want to ask one Q…..
    who love army and who don’t
    if you like then why and good comments please, I hate pak army and I have over 150 good resion’s why..

• Dee said:

@Anees
    Please donot call it Pak army. It is any thing but pak. It is Napak army. It is Pakistani Murdering Army.

• chussain said:

Musharraf is a very very dangerous person – he is nothing less than a psychopath and if time comes he would not hesitate in blackmailing the world with nuclear weapons. Americans have absolutely no idea with whom they are dealing with.

He should be eliminated as soon as possible

• pejamistri said:

We must understand US and West do not have complete control over every country , they don’t even have control over the countries like Afghanistan and Iraq , which are under their direct rule. A mad dictator with his associates of a nuclear state is bound to blackmail the whole world if he sees that he is going to loose the battle.
    This is clear and present danger, I hope that United States and other countries have contingency plan for this.

• chussain said:

@Man i had been in college years in Jamiat. I think it is a fascist organization which cannot TOLERATE DISSENT AND IT WANTS TO IMPOSE ITS IDEOLOGY ON OTHERS AND THATS WHY IT IS NOTHING LESS THAN AN EXTREMIST ORGANIZATION AND ALSO A TERRORIST ORGANIZATION – I think people in outside world should know that – how Jamiat kidnapp students who dare to dissent and torture them – in my days a student from King Edward Medical College was abducted and tortured by cigarrette bruns and then killed and his body was thrown on the streets – this is what jamiat can do.

And Jamiat has double standards. There were many guys in Jamiat and Jamamat who have their own relatives studying in colleges and universities of US and they use poor students from rural areas, brainwash them and destroy their careers.

Jamiat can be a democratic organisation. LIke MQM it is a fascist and a terrorist organization

• chussain said:

Please correct – Jamiat can never be a democratic organization.

• Pakistani said:

Sorry for this post, but there were two relatively minor updates that I had to add. Please take a look if you prefer.

• Ahmed Bhai said:

Long ago I read an analysis which seems so true now that Army is now in better position to rule and would not allow others since becoming nuclear. NUkes have in fact given them strength to rule over Pakistan as there will never be a war with India again.

To extend it as chussain and pejamistry said, its like an oil for them but whenever west decided to handle it, this will make Pakistan worst than Iraq

So, West is still trying to have political setup in Pakistan, probably lesson learned from Iraq and Afghanistan. they want to avoid it to the last step and Pak Army is full of generals who can show their slavery to Americans.

• Ahmed Bhai said:

yar Pakistani, is turha website credible bunti hey kia? grow up man

• Ahmed Bhai said:

so Negroponte maintained his tradition… oh sorry Army, on US high level visits

News: “Army says major anti-militant offensive any time now” – means more killings ?

But can US will be happy with killings this time when the main focus is on new setup?

• Ahmed Bhai said:

Humor break – sorry for the language

News:
    a close associate of Mush has told that Mush made clear to negroponte that he cant give any date to lift emergency.

and you know what Negroponte said: “teri ma ki…6564….. kaisey nai dainda…”

Next day Mush will say: Ma dictation nai laita. Ma nai faisla kia hey khe emergency utah loon…”

• gmm said:

Please, visit:

http://therealnews.com/web/index.php?thisdataswitch=0&thisid=615&thisview=item#

Seems like a fair assessment!

• chussain said:

@Junaid and Arif

Let me tell you – I used to be Nazim of Jamiat in AIMC during my college years. I personally know how one of my own colleague in King Edward Medical College was kidnapped, tortured by cigarrrette marks and then his neck was slashed and thrown outside KE Hostel. The reason was that some thought the was involved in beating up a student who probably was sympatheiszer of Jamiat.

The basic problem with Jamiat is that they NEVER TOLERATE DISSENT and have to impose their ideology on others.

• democracy said:

I completely agree with @chussein about his assessment of Jamiat. I have been in PU during the 90′s and know their modus operandi to terrorise students. So let us agree that all such organization who use means of voilence to impose their ideology on others are nothing but extermist. This is preposterous to apologize after committing a crime. I personally know Luqman Qazi and Siraj-ul-Haq and can tell you that you can not hope anything better from them.

• Zaheer said:

Jamiat and other student Organisations: My views

I came to a lot about Jamiat and other Organisatons in college and Uni life. I could note following things about them.

1: It is young blood and not very educated(from eduaction i mean sensible and appropriate thinking and behaviour and not BA,MA, PHD etc)

2: Their main aim is to bring more people(students to respective organisations) at any cost even by telling lies, using Islam as tool, cheating etc.

3: Externally they try to show themelves quite reasonable and well-behaved but many of their acts are totally opposite to their charters. They normally don’t stand against their own corruption. This shows that for them TRUTH is not the highest priority rather it is their personal interest which is highest.

4: They defend their respective ideologies at any cost using any thing like lies, cheating, violence, religion etc.

5: I never saw that they get proper ethical training to run their organisations. In addition to that there is not any strong body to monitor their doings, although they claim to have such bodies.

6: They keep their workers in special environment and give them continues training to stay there. A kind of brain wahsing.

My Conclusion: Current student organisations are just bunch of youth which acts on the basis its emotions and not much on TRUTH or reason.

my views.

• hacker said:

death to pak army
    they only knew to conquer their own people.
    death to pakistan generals.

• G-FORCE said:

@hacker

jay allah nay aqal tay shakal na diti hovay tay munh vichon koi changi hi gall kadni chaidi!

Pakistan Army is a strong and a professional organization who is time and time again involved into politics by the lame politicians. Pakistan’s equation is very simple. When its a DEMOCRATICALLY ELECTED government, the PM acts as dictators and the population calls for the Army to step in. When it is a COUP BASED GENERAL, he always tries to be a democrat and ends up with people calling for a DEMOCRATIC GOVERNMENT.

This is more like DAMNED IF YOU DO and DAMNED IF YOU DON’T. Do not blame any one organization in Pakistan, blame the entire population which lacks general tolerance required to be a democratic nation. Case and point is your post!

• pejamistri said:

@G-Force
    Watch this
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nt4_7eM49fY

and don’t ever put you picture anywhere we know how black it would be.

• hacker said:

@ G-Force
    these bloody fool general rule us coz of people like u.

• Gulshan said:

@Chussain
    You are right when you say
    “The basic problem with Jamiat is that they NEVER TOLERATE DISSENT and have to impose their ideology on others”.

Isn’t the same true about Islam ?

That is the reason that Democracy is not there in almost all Islamic Countries except those which have some cultural linkage with India.

Please take this comment as something to think about and for soul searching.

• J.A.G said:

Two of the most corrupt politicians in the history of Pakistan (Benazir, Nawaz), appeal to the people to rise up, and except a few of there party members, nobody cares. Imran Khan appeals to the students to rise against the Goverment, but is handed over to the Government by the students. The Lawyers which are responsible for the most corrupt and inefficent Judicial System in the world, appeal to the people to rise up, and nobody cares. Higly ‘Subjective’ Pakistani Media, which has erased the word ‘Objective’ from their dictionary, appeal to the people to rise up, and nobody cares. I salute the people of Pakistan who have totally rejected all these opportunists. I also thank Mr. Shaukat Aziz for helping Pakistan to attain a sustained GDP growth of above 7%, and stabilizing the economy. I think he was one of the most able and clean Prime Ministers in the history of Pakistan.
    Rapid, Stockholm, Sweden
    Supported by J.A.G Toronto

• J.A.G said:

Pakistan Politics , please have courrage to let all the comments stay on your web site.

FREEDOM OF PRESS, RIGHT ??
    J.A.G Toronto

• Dee said:

@J.A.G
    Never have this Hijra Fauj Conqured a square inch of indian territory. They have only conqured Presidency Parliments, SC and Media. That is their LEVEL.

• farhan said:

ministry of defense contacts

http://www.pakistan.gov.pk/ministries/ContentInfo.jsp?MinID=6&cPath=59_61&ContentID=95

many army personnel on this site. start contacting them everyone.

• T Babu said:

Dubai could allow Pakistan TV channels to resume broadcasts

http://abc.net.au/news/stories/2007/11/18/2093902.htm?section=world

A clever move by isi and army to divide peoples on sectarian basis:
    At least 30 killed in Pakistan violence

http://www.usatoday.com/news/world/2007-11-17-pakistan_N.htm

Fraud by IJT by kicking out 17 persons they think they can make fool to pakistan people. After achieving their ugly goals now they are trying to present them as innocents child…this is true for all mullahs.

IJT says it has kicked out 17 for beating Imran

http://www.dailytimes.com.pk/default.asp?page=2007%5C11%5C17%5Cstory_17-11-2007_pg13_2

MPs join in battle to free Imran Khan

http://www.thetelegraphandargus.co.uk/display.var.1840497.0.mps_join_in_battle_to_free_imran_khan.php

Human Rights Advocates Slam Pakistan’s Musharraf

http://www.voanews.com/english/2007-11-16-voa66.cfm

Pakistan Violence a Concern at Pentagon

http://ap.google.com/article/ALeqM5gJ8GnQJGCLyzTBwTuvkoQ3nWJSWgD8SVACPG0

U.S. Seen Trying to Revive Musharraf-Bhutto Deal

http://en.epochtimes.com/news/7-11-17/62048.html

Young ruffians —Salman Tarik Kureshi

http://www.dailytimes.com.pk/default.asp?page=2007%5C11%5C17%5Cstory_17-11-2007_pg3_6

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nt4_7eM49fY
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mYIB4wiI-Vw&feature=related
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RLcSG8pYruw&feature=related
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=h0L9MPFodUg&feature=related
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=related&v=O_7f4sGW2nY

• Yusuf Nasrullah said:

Today, when Musharraf’s illegal and barbaric rule in Pakland is threatening to stifle the voices of dissent, protests, democratic freedoms and basic human rights to perpetuate a tyrannical and unconstitutional regime – today, when popular leaders are under house arrest or barred from meeting sacked judges, behind bars or forbidden from entering Pakistan from forced exile abroad…I’m reminded of the efficacy of FAIZ AHMED FAIZ’s beautiful and spiritually invigorating Urdu nazm, and his vision in “Hum Dekhengay”…rendered by the inimitable Iqbal Bano Sahiba.

I reproduce it here with my own translation:

Hum dekhengay
    Laazim hai ke hum bhi dekhengay
    Woh din ke jis ka vaada hai
    Jo lauhh-e-Azal pe likha hai
    Hum dekhengay

We shall see that Day, we shall most certainly see that Day, that Day ordained by the Almighty, that Day of our Salvation!

Jab zulm-o-situm ke koh-e-garaan
    Ru-ee ki tarha udh jaayengay!
    Hum mehkoomon ke paaon talay
    Yeh dharti “dhad dhad” dhadke gi
    Aur Ehl-e-Hukum ke Sar Uper
    Jab bijli “kadh kadh” kadkegi!
    Hum dekhengay!

Jab taaj uchhaale jaayenge
    Jab takht giraaye jaayenge!

When mountains of cruelty and tyranny shall disintegrate into cotton-balls tossed in the wind! When we the oppressed will hear the heartpulse of our Land beneath our feet, whilst the Tyrant prepares for the rage of Lightning to strike his unholy head! We shall certainly see that Day! For it is imminent!!! Then the crowns of the unjust rulers shall be snatched from them and thrown to the winds…then, the thrones and sceptres shall tremble and crash to the ground! We shall see that Day! Most certainly we shall See, we shall See!!!

Wah, Faiz, wah!

• Kami said:

WE ARE PROTESTING AGAINST THIS IN LONDON IN FRONT OF FUAJISTAN HIGH COMMISSION

Join Us TO FREE PAKISTAN

Date: Sunday Nov 18th
    Time: 12 noon
    34-36 Lowndes Square,London, SW1X 9JN
    Tube: Knightsbridge

Email: pakistanprotest@hotmail.co.uk
    Mobile: 07825 433 263

GUEST SPEAKERS
    Shahbaz Sharif
    George Galloway
    Jemima Khan
    Tony Benn
    Hina Jilani
    Lord Nasir
    Mohammed Sarwar
    & MANY others..

• chussain said:

@Gulshan – no that is not true about Islam. Our Prophet peace be upon him and teh righteous caliphs were far more tolerant than any other religions – if you live in West you would know how tolerant they are – they are never tolerant – they appear to be tolerant.

But ofcourse people have used Islam for their own ends and own agenda

Look every religion has a code and way of life. If you dont like Islam then leave it but just to keep you happy one cannot change the principles of Islam. No one is stopping you from doing things differently but u cannot impose your will just because you disagree with it.

It is very strange that here in West if you cross a red signal at traffic lights you are booked and u are supposed to follow man made laws very strictly but what about laws which are defined by Allah and His Prophet.

You know in Indo subcontinent we at times make a very different interpretation of Islam because WE HAVE NOT CARED TO STUDY AND LEARN ARABIC. So long as we dont know that language our understanding about Islam would remain very very restricted.

• chussain said:

It is a clear fact that civilian goverments have always added territory to Pakistan

1. Jinnah created Pakisatn
    2. Gwader and Makran were added to Pakistan in civilain era
    3. Bhutto after 1971 got back territory
    4. During Jinnah era Azad Kashmir was liberated

MILITARY GOVERNMENTS HAVE ALWAYS LOST TERRITORY

1. Yayha lost EASt Pakistan
    2. Ayub lost large chunks of Azad Kashmir and failed to get any part of Indian Kashmir during 1965 war
    3. Zia lost Siachen
    4. Musharraf’s adventure during NS era – failure in Kargil
    5. Musharraf era as President – we have given up our right on Occupied Kashmir and we are looking for out of box settlement.
    6. During Musharraf era we have lost tribal areas for good and are also losing Swat – that is why now Suffi Muhammad has been transferred to Peshwar
    7. Worst corruption has been in military eras

• G-FORCE said:

@pejamistri, @hacker

Duhhhhhhhh…..I completely disagree with your flawed assessments about Pakistan and its armed forces. I think its fools like you who are more dependent on the singular track mentality which has been crafted in a large part by your parents who had left Pakistan for Lundun and Europe etc.

The good news is that YOU are absolutely khassi to make any real difference in how Pakistan works. Let me see you bring the MASS to your continuous propaganda/ BS on this website. You want to put your money where your bad mouth is, come to Pakistan and try to bring the masses out to support your flawed thinking! And please do not forget to CUSS THE ARMY LOUDLY during your processions in Pakistan, I would love to see the support you get from the common man.

Until that time, your vision and role on how Pakistan will work remains severely restricted to this blogsite.

• Asif said:

http://www.express.com.pk/epaper/index.aspx?Issue=NP_LHE&Page=National_PAGE&Date=20071117&Pageno=3&View=1%20id=

Haroon-uraseed a senior jouranlist & often you have listened him in Bolta Pakistan.
    See what he syas,,,,,,,,,

• Aleem said:

I Know its a dream but sumtimes dreams come true, i wish……….

*Atizaz as President of Pakistan.

*Sir Imran Khan as PM.

*CJ Iftkhar should be restore.

*Dr.A Q Khan comes again on TV & tell hows he save Pakistan & took everything on his ownself.

*Check the assets of Munfaqi-ur-Rehman & Jamte-i-Harmi & ban them.

*Ban MQM & Hang Altaf Hussain.

Just pray once this for Pakistan after ur prayer InshAllah Allah gave us a new Pakistan.

PS: If we can’t do anything against Mush & want to show support with Sir Imran Khan then we should donate sumthing to SKMT.

• Mujeeburehman said:

Protest in front of piccadilly circus tube station hoping to extradite illegitimate children of Imran Khan and his Gay movement from Pakistan…
    Speakers:
    Ion Botham
    Asif ALi Zardari
    Altaf Hussain
    Jamaima Goldsmith
    Elizebeth Hurley
    Allan Lamb’s wife
    women’s association Allama Iqbal medical group
    and many more…

• AJ said:

@G-Force

“Pakistan Army is a strong and a professional organization” who has consumed a majority of the Pakistani budget and lost us 3 wars.

Relinquished its claim to Kashmir. Given up its sovereignty to the US. Made Dr. Abdul Qadeer Khan the scapegoat for its own crimes,

Grabbed Pakistani land at Rs60/acre, and sold it has housing schemes at 30lakh/kanal.

Conqured and killed its own people.

And about all this “BS” on this forum, an an important Islamic principle is to stop evil; if you cannot stop it, expose it and talk against it; if you can not do even this much, believe that evil is evil and stay out of it.

• nonconformist said:

Jin pey takya thaa wuhee pattey havaa deney lagey:

Elements within PML (Q) have also decided to ditch Musharraf.Mushahid Hussain, secretary general of the Pakistan Muslim League-Q, told Dawn television it would be “appropriate and internationally welcomed” for the emergency to end before elections (Quoted in AFP Report dated Nov 17th).

• Friend said:

@ chussain

Completely agree with you…Military rulers have be most coward and corrupt…if you don’t believe me..look at PML-Q tell me one person who is not corrupt…

• Asif said:

@Mujeeburehman

Thanks for disclosing your paternity……..

• AJ said:

@Mujeeburehman

We will be there to welcome you at the airport when you get extradited :)

• Friend said:

@Aleem,

I respect your wish list…however, the right thing is to let the people choose their leaders…no matter if you choose wrong…let that govt complete its tenure…if they don’t perform well..then again let the people decided who they need next…our dilemma has been that we try to impose what we think is right. People may not choose correctly first few times…but if we let the cycle move on…they will eventually choose wisely.

• Hassan said:

For your information, You can still see GEO News on;

http://www.paktv.net

Go to free channels, see channel 7 and Update urself…………..

• farhan said:

Geo just reported that Ch. Shujaat appealed to mush to lead PML-Q : ). I cannot believe this joker got to become PM of Pakistan.

• G-FORCE said:

@AJ

your chatter about ‘evil’ vs ‘good’ reminds me more of a typical B type-Horror Movie!

this ain’t a movie pal! this is real life and in real life there are no absolute heroes or villains. By all means do talk and condemn what you believe is bad, but drop the holier-than-thou attitude which most of the die-hards anti-Pakistan posters here think that they are!

Having said that, I take personnel offense when you condemn my country’s Army. Since obviously your single digit IQ level is evident with the content of your post, the facts that you have stated to prove your point are quite universal and not only limited to one country. China, Thailand, Myanmar, Egypt etc etc are to name a few countries that have similar dynamics as our Army.

Again you are incapable of contributing towards the positive development of Pakistan and hence you choose the path of downgrading any or all to make your own weak case seemingly strong. Been there done that, your types aren’t fooling anyone in Pakistan anymore.

• Hassan said:

Geo reported,

Mush said that Pakistan has made substantial growth in industrialization, media development, telecommunication, GDP and incredibly in standard of living of common people during his Government…………………… His government is the most successful :)

• Aleem said:

@ Frinds
    I also do respect your comments but u know wishes cames from the heart not from the mind, hope u got me.

God bless Pakistan….

• AJ said:

@G-Force

Oh, I’m sorry. I didnt know that if the army in China, Thailand, Myanmar, Egypt do that, its justified. Whatever my level of IQ, Alhamdulillah I use it to condemn something thats wrong, not to blindly endorse it because “MY” country’s army is doing it. Shame on you.

And funny that the following Hadith reminds you of a typical B type-Horror Movie!

On the authority of Abu Saeed Al-Khurdari, who said: I heard the messenger of Allah say: “Whosoever of you sees an evil action, let him change it with his hand; and if he is not able to do so, then with his tongue; and if he is not able to do so, then with his heart; and that is the weakest of faith.” Related by Muslim.

• Bajwa said:

Can some one answer these question:

1. Who is controlling the nuclear assets in paksitan and how should the nation rest assured that all will not be compromosed. And the nation will learn about them 10 years after the US leaks information.
    2. Are we still doing something, dwelling, developing or researching on our the nuclear technology for futher (Militry or civil use)
    3. Is the nation so stupid not to be told anything about our national interests, what are they and who has devised them.
    4. Have we accepted the sacking of relatively cradible judges.
    5. What is the link/status of the US viz a viz our country, army and the political leadership. What all they decide and how. Is this nation very childish to know all this.
    6. Will the voters of all these political parties ever be told what their leaders talk behind the seens with the US or the Saudies. Do the voters have this right.
    7. Where are the so called champs of civil liberties and human rights, are they doing enough after the judges were sacked and media barred.
    8. Where are the laws of the land, or there is any law. What ever the AG thinks discusses with Sharif ud din Pirzada and gets it as part of the pco the next morning, is this what pakistan was made for.
    9. Insaf, will this nation have any of it. Through these judges ( stooges in the Supreme court and the High courts) under the pco.
    10. Is the fight against terror only understood to the militry and Mush. Dont we understand it better. Can we win a war whcih the British, the USSR and the US have alreay lost.
    11. Isn’t there another way to bring these relatively militant pakistanies, may it be Balooch nationalists or Wazeers of Waziristan. Or a left over of the Afghan jehad (forigeners). Can they also be brought into the folds and main stream politics.
    12. If the west is not supportive of our national objects can we stand up to it and if not would we survive in the present senario.
    13. Will the poor of this nation ever have enough food or this is not fart of their right (under the pco)

The ANSER is:-

We are not confused at all.

We will fight against the dictators through the net, through the art, through the poetry or pen, in the streets, of words, of hearts and minds, with or without political leaders, with or without the NGOs, with or without the relious scolars, with or without the media.

Yes we will fight on