same thing he said when he didnt take off his uniform the first time he promised. “I have never vroken any promise but this one time I have to” lol what a joke.he will not brake law or promises but every 5 years when its time for him to go.very reasonable lol
I had written yesterday in this forum that by admitting that he had acted unconsitutionally on Nov 3 he has written an epitaph for himself because he has admitted on television which is a an offical record that he acted unconsitutionally. He would no doubt be tried under Article 6 the day he leaves the office. So from now on he should not concentrate on negogiating how to prolong his rule but how to exit without being charged under Article 6.
Please read NS article which was published in The News courtesy Washington post
It’s not just Musharraf admitting to going against the constitution (by the way isn’t that treason?). Now his AG is saying the NRO is illegal (“legally invalid” as he puts it)…
In teh article above its very clear that Justice Dogar and Abassi had given information about the verdict of Supreme Court to Gen Musharraf and the decision of Emergency was taken in a meeting in which Gen Kiyani was also present. There is no doubt that army at least the top generals are involved in backing, implementing and executing PCO and therefore he would never back down and dump Musharraf UNLESS PEOPLE COME ON STREETS IN MILLIONS.
Thats why BB has gone back to Karachi as a first step to diffuse the situation and Emergency would also be lifted but with one condition that judiciary would not be restored.
The goverment wants to scrap NRO but the problem is that MQM which benefited most from it would go behind PPP and against goverment. So at present the goverment cannot dare to do so.
Its a shame on the muslim kingdoms like UAE and KSA to support a international terrorist president by 1st ciricising our honourable Supreme Court in Pakistani Soil by Saudi Royal family member and then took back Nawaz Sharif illegally.
Again another Kingdom of UAE off Air pakistani channels Geo & ARY which is high handedness by authorities which is clear indication that either a dictator or King can do whatever they want without any ethical norms of the world which is now a global village.
i think that Musharraf can do onething to kill 160 million PAKIS so he will have no future problem from the nation which is continously suffering from last 60 years
I don’t think it is correct that BB ever tried to remove 42 or any judges. She appoint judges which were removed by the Supreme Court during NS’s time in the infamous “Judges Case” (infamous because the Supreme Court having removed the Judges BB appointed and then its own Chief Justice never followed the principles again and never even took up Petitions filed by a number of people asking for the Judgement to be enforced in cases thereafter).
Very Very bad and sad news for me and for my others Pakistani ‘JEO LOVWERS’,Those live in ITALIA.In the country of outside,only we listen to ‘JEO NEWS’ and look the ours favourit programmes, ‘MERY MUTABIQ’ ,CAPITAL TALK SHOW’ HUM SUB UMID SE HAIN AND KAMRAN KHAN KE SAATH.These programmes are most favourite in Euorpe countries.Dr.Shahid Masood,Hamid mir,Kamran Khan and Mushtaq Ahmad very very excalent person in GEO and in Pakistan.In which country, Dr.Abdul Qadeer Khan has gone arrested,where these personality has been also dis-honourable announced,Because Mr,GOURBA CHOUF WANTED TO ALL PAKISTAN DISHONOURED.
JEO and JEENE DO!
BB will be silence in favour of Mush again , so called emergency will be remove before election , ISI made parties party PPP and PML(Q) will make Govt.
“BB will be silence in favour of Mush again , so called emergency will be remove before election , ISI made parties party PPP and PML(Q) will make Govt.”
If true then question is who ISI is to decide who comes in Govt???? Are they god of Pakistan?
This country is of all Pakistanis and ISI is not Lord in any case!! why? Do they have any certificate for being controller of people of Pakistan! All people are given intellect by Allah almighty and not only ISI, Mr. Musharaf or Army!!!!!!!!!!
We respect Army, ISI and others since they are our brothers and sisters but we will not allow them hijacking whole nation, not at all.
If Army, ISI and others are sincere to Pakistan and Pakistanis then come to people, listen to them, stand along with them and stop coward, nonsense and short lived politics in the name of protection of Pakistan.
Let me assure you that after Allah, these are people of Pakistan who can safeguard Pakistan and stand firm behind Pk Army. Neither your hidden plans, neither your divide and conquer policy, nor USA/UK, nor weapons of Army, nor your puppet politicians, nor your diplomacy(rather hypocrisy most of the time) can do it….
Look my dear ISI and PAk Army, if you think that you fight against wishes of own people then you have lost that war even if you win it somehow! And when you will come back after winning or losing then you will find not anyone to cheer you!
If you lose, which most probably you will do, then neither USA will help nor your own people. That you can better imagine.
The dictator has admitted his mistake on tv breaking the law and constitution,- his predecessor ( TALWAR UL HAQ ) had said that constiution is a piece of paper ( ya koi asmani seheifa nahi hay)but mind u the man is with a gun, the day he drops it, people should cry out to try him with high treason.
And by the way did any body watched Mushaid Hussain Syed ( SPIN DOC. of QA ta league) said… he wants tv channels to be restored and thinks that elections under emergency will not be credible.. he forgot that his Qa ta league had advocated in favour of emergency..so who is fooling !!!
Where is long march…………….gone with the wind…………….
It is often said that nations have no permanent friends or enemies; they only have permanent interests. Their friends and enemies are as variable as global warming, but Musharraf and Benazir do have one trait in common: permanent individual self-interest.
Like I have maintained bro, you can never ever trust BB and fazlu diesel. Whenever BB starts to criticise Mush, her supporters waste no time in declating her a crusader for democracy. And then everything comes to a stop. Like it has again followed by Negroponte’s visit. I say it again, BB will once again take a u-turn that will leave her party and supporters baffled . And then we’ll hear its all in the ‘name of smooth transition to democracy’.
IK InshAllah with your efforts Pakistan ill move forward.
Longlive IK
@farhan
I agree with you bro. BB opposing Mush to protect her vote bank, but I salute to IK whose persistance is denting not softly but very hard on their votebanks. Thats the only reason no one is talking abt IK……….
Longlive IK
IK is the biggest genuine threat to politicians since ZA Bhutto. They will never want IK to gain momentum. But everyone is making one mistake after the other. Be it Mush or BB or the MMA. All this is helping IK’s support in getting stronger.
I attended a rally against Musharraf infront of the White House yesterday. I have taken some pictures and wuld like to contribute to this site. Can you give me admin’s email address please?
@ammer
Please email the picture to admin@pkpolitics.com with a subject: Protest Pictures
US has given Musharraf only that much time in which he can get his Presidential Election validated from Supreme Court. Once that is done then other things would be taken care of.
Also SC is going to validate emergency and then it would be lifted but it would lifted only half way between elections so that opposition has no time to prepare.
So if political parties take part in elections then they would lose because they would be considered as being toeing the line of goverment.
There is only one way to deal with this – BOYCOTT ELECTIONS UNLESS
1. EMERGENGY IS LIFTED
2. JUDICIARY IS REINSTATED
3. CARETAKER GOVERMNET IS DISBANDED
4. ELECTION COMMISSION IS RESTRUCTURED AND ALL PRESENT PEOPLE ARE THRWON OUT
5. DISTRICT GOVERMENTS ARE EITHER SUSPENDED TO DISBANDED AND THEIR ELECTIONS SHOULD BE AFTER GENERAL ELECTIONS
6. ALL CURBS FROM MEDIA IS LIBERATED
7. LAST BUT NOT THE LEAST – MUSHARRAF STEPS DOWN
Gen Sahab said in his press conference that there was also an issue of vulgarity in our channels like geo and others. Now what has happened all indian channels, movies with semi-nude dances are on air in pakistan except geo, ary and others. Surely geo and ary were better than these indian channels.
ISLAMABAD: Fierce battles between Sunni and Shiite Muslims in Pakistan’s volatile northwest have left 91 people dead, officials said Sunday, despite the imposition of a state of emergency justified in part by the need to quell sectarian unrest.
Combatants used mortars and other heavy weapons in the Shiite-majority town of Parachinar late Saturday and early Sunday, an intelligence official told The Associated Press, speaking on condition of anonymity because he was not authorized to speak to the media.
I met Amir Ghuri (Geo’s europe representative) at London protest. He claimed that Geo has been allowed to show 5 minutes every hour and just general reports. No commentary, talk show etc is allowed.
He said talks are going on with UAE authorities and if they don’t allow, GEO will move to the UK. He said it would be difficult (visa and expensive) to frequently invite people to London but at least they would be able to do many things.
I think that Geo can still record things in Dubai and even Pakistan and they can go on air from London. Nobody can do anything if you are interviewing someone in a house or hotel.
You are right, madcow is taking the advantage of no media & diverting the attention to sectarian clashes. I think theres no such kind of clashes in Pak for quite sometime.
Hes killing the ppl by himself & portraying it as a civil war.
Power-Hungry-Dracola………..
Looking Beyond Bhutto
The New Republic: Former Pakistani Prime Minister Better Than Musharraf, But Not Permanently http://www.cbsnews.com/stories/2007/11/16/opinion/main3514805.shtml
….
But because she’s a creature of the past, she also embodies Pakistan’s worst, most embedded vices.
….
As a result, if Bhutto were to assume power again, it should only be seen as a short-term solution — for her country and for the United States.
….
Yes that is true – they can still record in Pakistan and Dubai and they can air it from London – so simple – the only thing would be delay in that but other than that there would be no problem at all.
Yes visa and travel would be a question but I think Geo can make the channel subscription and that can take care of funds.
Plus if pakistanis know that Geo is giving then all they need – I am sure everyone would like it to subscribe.
Whenever any american visits Pakistan there are killings – as if Musharraf sets up blood for Durga Mai or Kali Devi who can only quench its thirst by blood and nothing else
American is now so used to shedding blood after war in Iraq and before that in Vietnam and Central America that for it its nothing but just clones being terminated like in Terminator Movie – thats probably why that guy eventually became Governer of California
My source is one of Anty Mush , buddy you may say one pearl in MUD. Today King of Politician joker Shujat told I will tell to Dictator mush that remove emergency before Election .
Dear CHUSSAIN im not informer, employ or supporter of any ISI wing
Zaheer i agree with your cooments But sorry to say you sound like a ….. Ofcourse Allha subantala is great but he has given us sence , power and all, we can sturggle , we can protest and make grounds for downing a dictator and ISI , but what we doing you did not see hyporeats jamiat peoples they help govt to arrest a honest person IMRAN KHAN and honestly tell me what we doing in Pakistan , how many people on street for protest against so called emergency and dictatorship…. from 17 crore peple not more then 30000 is protesting ???
we shuold pray and do whatever we can do to motivate all peoples to come and stand against so called emergency and like others says we have to send emails to concerned for Geo, and all .
in last i must say I am supporter of Real democracy and Pakistan not Faujistan
@Balouch
30000 peoples protest almost represent 30000 families protest that is not a small protest my friend; keep in mind that all this is happening in martial law i.e. a rule worst than a jungle.
Shes blackmailing madcow by giving statements against him to get a better share. Because she didn’t even act on her moves agianst madcow & its been going on for quite some time.
Bloodshed is at worst in North & shes busy in press-conferences, nothingelse. Being the leader of one of the major parties shes unable to take a firm decision & be persistant with it.
Except IK everyone is busy in making some kind of hidden-talks for power share.
Has the Journalist’s movement got its Naeem Bokhari? While on one side we have people like Dr. Shahid Masood, Talat Hussain, Ansar Abbasi, Hamid Mir, on the other we have Mubasher Lucman of Business Plus. I guess his *ss kissing finally paid off and has landed him a ministerial position in interim Punjab cabinet. He has always been pro-Mush but for 4 days in a row in early October he did his talk show with 4 pro-Mush guests and a pro-Mush audience hailing the great work done by Mush. Not a single critical thought was expressed.
@Balouch
Well, i have been part of the protest(on the street) and will be INSHALLAH in future too.
Yes, its true that Allah almighty has asked us to make struggle against injustice, cheating and liars and not to sit at home and pray only.
Response of the people against emergency has not been very bad either. However, it is not as intense as it should be. I feel that people of Pakistan are somehow a bit tired, they are sick of emotional slogans and also cheating of political parties has made them uncertain and suspicious.
I am quite optimistic that things are going to change and get clear very soon, INSHALLAH. People are thinking bravely and positive thinking is first step towards positive actions. Actually, people are just looking and analyzing everyone and events.
Keep your spirits high, momentum comes and TRUTH wins, it is born to win ultimately!
Qazi Hussain Ahmed visits Imran’s family and says he is shocked at what happened in Punjab University.
Also Pakistan Foreign Office has rejected apprehensions of USA regarding teh emergency and say these objections are nothing new.
BB has said she is not going to comment on the meeting of Musharraf and Negraponte and would see what steps Musharraf takes in this regards. She had decided to adopt wait and see policy for the time being.
I know its a long struggle because the people who are at helm of affairs would not let it go that easily – because it severely hurt their interests – teh army is enjoying financially a lot under Musharraf and they would not like to rock the boat – the present policy is to prolong all this as much as possible in a view that this movement would fizzle out due to movement fatigue.
But we have to keep up the pressure and not them live in peace for even a single day and this pressure should increase day by day.
Inshallah Allah would award the victory of right path.
I feel sorry for IK… everybody will end up making compromises and getting their share out of the govt… he will be the only one standing alone… unless the people of Pakistan decide to stand with him and get rid of this whole mess… the army, establishment, corrupt politicians, landlords…
IK is not about power but a symbol of struggle & hope. Its a long struggle & IK knows it well. Because it needs time & patience to get rid of chronic disease.
Longlive IK
BB will scre*w up again for sure. Mark my words. This is again the same ‘wait and see’ policy that she adopted when there were rumors of The Deal.
I wonder where all BB supporters are. Earlier when we used to comment against her, there was always a response within minutes.
I am not mocking anyone. Everyone has a right to express themselves. but its a fact that NRO was impossible to defend, and now BB’s ‘careful approach’ once again will be difficult to defend.
I don’t blame them. 2-3 days ago I said in discussions that BB will make a u-turn that will leave her supporters and party confused.
Its to early to say anything about her actions at the moment, but its a fact that her return was US sponsored and she cannot go against them : ). She’ll have to abide by whatever Negroponte’s instructions are for her. Just look at the facts, until 2 days ago she was screaming her head off againdt Mush. Now theres complete silence.
That PPP people was actually a one person with multiple IDs. Sometime even exchanging comment among his own IDs. Admn caught him. I would not doubt if he has been blocked from this forum. Anyway I suggest you not to invite such obnoxious people. There is no need to indulge into useless debate. Most people here are intelligent enough to make their own mind. This is not a village of big Chaudhry or a goth of a landlord Vdhayra.
But Bhutto is not the person to create the kind of democracy that would make Pakistan a more reliable ally in the long-term. Her traditional political style hasn’t ingratiated her to many educated Pakistani students, a vital group in an unusually young population — in a 2005 survey, 71 million of the country’s roughly 160 million people were under 18. Many of these students, the people who might break the country out of its feudal landlock, have turned instead to new political forces like Imran Khan, a magnetic former cricketer turned politician.
The former prime minister also does not seem to have learned much from her past travails. All the way through Musharraf’s term, she has continued to run her party, the Pakistan People’s Party, like a landlord or a queen, refusing to allow new blood and ideas to flourish. As the New York Times noted in a recent profile of Bhutto, she has appointed herself head of the party for life and has “frozen out” Aitzaz Ahsan, another leading member of her party who has led the lawyers’ protests against General Musharraf.
With so few Pakistan experts left in the administration, the United States might choose to rely solely on Bhutto, just as it did with Musharraf. That would be a mistake. Washington needs to build a relationship with a broader cross-sector of Pakistanis, like the students and lawyers who led protests while Bhutto was still in exile. Without that, America, just like average Pakistanis, will remain locked into a Sophie’s choice between generals and feudocrats.
Getting rid of Mush harami is not enough. We must also ensure that our political system remains stable and independent after this. For this
We must condemn and resist the construction of new GHQ in Islamabad. Military leadership should be at least 100 KM away from Islamabad. Also the GHQ should be in centre of Pakistan Like DG Khan, Multan or Bahawalpur.
The role of spy agencies is deplorable in Pakistan. Their involvement in politics and efforts to destabilize democratic system is known to every one. These are also involved in terrorist activities like bomb blast in public places, suicide attacks, abduction, torture and killing of innocent people. ISI has offices in every tehsil and sub-tehsil of Pakistan. (whereas IB has offices in districts only). The funds of these agencies must be audited. Their offices especially ISI should be only in provincial capitals. The laws must be amended and involvement of any employee of these agencies in politics should be considered equal to treason and same punishment should be awarded as that of traitor.
For me terrorist is military and these agencies not Al-qaida as I am terrified by these not by Al-Qaida. This does not mean that I support Al-Qaida which actually is a terrorist organization “for Americans�.
I am afraid that Mush is going to cause a civil war in my country. If God-forbid this happens, the involvement of foreign powers is inevitable due to the presence of nuclear arsenal. I dont see any future for my children if Mush continues
JI is not more than a pressure group, They cannot win more than a couple of seats solely. Thatswhy they do a politics of Alliance to get into power. They never fought an election under JI symbol.
A big question mark????????????
I second Imran Qureshi about the role of ISI but how can we control most of our incumbant politicians.
I remember in one of the episodes of Bolta Pakistan on Aaj TV, Nusrat Javed told that the day when Gen Kiyani was nominated as a next COAS, there were a few politicians went to congratulate him. We all know it would be more than the congratulations, I mean TC thing.
Things look difficult as of now.. After Negroponte visit it seems US will continue backing Musharraf..They are just trying to get some parties to take part in elections.. MMA & PPP are there to oblige them.. Most of opposition to Mushi including lawyers are behind bars with no hope in foreseeable future of their release & clock is ticking for election.. Just pray for some divine intervention in next few days..
I think to bring our country on democracy is tough struggle but if all of us remained determined than one day (i think very soon) we can achieve this goal.
As we know that that the official idea of Pakistan was put forward in 1940 (off course the struggle for it is started long before it), it took 7 seven years to put in actual dream. During these seven years there always remained some rallys or gathering for the struggle of Pakistan. During that it never happened that all the people of india came on roads (as it is wished by us today in pakistan against the martial law).I think its a constant struggle we have not to give up even after election untill we achive the following goals.
1. Free and fair justice for each pakistani.
2. Free and fair media.
3. Good health and education for each Pakistani.
4. Get rid of Pak army ugly tricks to remain in power.
5. Get rid of secret agencies.
Its long-term struggle & PPP, which took a big U-turn to side with establisment to have a piece of cake.
Currently only PTI has a clear stance, while rest of all are non-political forces lawyers, students, civil society. Thatswhy we have to support IK whose the only politician whose there for the restoration of Judiciary & supermacy of law.
Musharaf is ill and Dying
I read it on a blog and at first it seems as one of those propaganda against him but once i concentrate on what it said i was amazed. It said that Mush is not only dying politically but also physically. If you saw his latest video interviews or even his speech on 9 Nov you can easily see his “shivering hands, grinding teeth, loss of words. He doesn’t blink his eyes has lost control while speaking and his shoulders have drooped. his tolerance level has become short and the decision he is making show him crumbling from inside. such pathetic decision can only be made by an ill man.
May be the blood he has spill is taking its revenge
Atleast we should be thankful to BB for trying to bring back democracy….all you peaople have tried in last 8 years and didnt get anywhere….PPP is a peaceful party and will bring democracy with peacful means…..AND If you have the guts to through the Generals out then please try……….Guns,killing , blood means nothing to these army peoples ….they are trained for all these things……
she didnt come to APC London bcz she blieved that Mullahs are B Team of Mush…..it proved ….these Mullahs advised NS to comeback to pakistan and when he came they disappeared……one thing i have seen in pakistan that peaople will always say bad things abput PPP and BB …but ppp workers will always talk about goods of their party and dont care what others do…..so you guys should always try to be better than PPP and dont try to bring PPP to your low level……..PPP is goos and bad none of your business….its a political party……its noty in government….we are out pf power since 1996 so dont balme us for all the bad things….you guys had enough time over 10 years to bring change…..but sorry you guys were busy buying mobile phones, opening branded shops in pakisatn and watching indian channells on cable…… Really Sad…..and remember by talking bad about BB and PPP you will never get any support and will never be able to change the mind of even a single PPP worker…..
we are out pf power since 1996 so dont balme us for all the bad things
———————————————
You forgot one thing, you were not just out power but out of Pakistan too.
Being a political party which constructive role you performed during these so many years?
n a nutshell, military presence is everywhere in public life except the army discipline to defend the national sovereignty and integrity. General Musharaf poses as a savior, but his actions make people believe, he is a habitual liar and an egoistic person imposing individual interest and greed over national preferences. Out of nowhere, just to prolong his military dictatorship, he introduced emergency rule while threatened by the Supreme Court of Pakistan that his longing for Presidential re-election will not come true.There is credible evidence that the SWAT issue of Talibans is created by ISI.Army is shelling innocent civilians and claiming that Talibans are killed. I don’t know how come PAKISTAN ARMY is a disciplined institution?. Can come one comment Please
well……and you saw how we greeted our leader when she came back…..all these emergency and x y z things are absolutely nothing…..you call now in pakistan and ask a normal person….he/she is living a perfectly normal life…….let the electin come….our leader was not here in last election but still we got the maximum vote…..
one thing about Chief Justice…….was he stupid….he was interfering in every business of government…….he was tryingto fix 60 years old problem by sitting in his chamber…….I for one do not agree with his interfernce…….These judges were so naive that after defeating MUSH in the 1st decsion they thought they will carry on…..the day judges restore CJ i knew their days are numbered…..the man who can throug a sitting PM who had a two third majority and put him in prison……….fo him these LLB/LLM paper holders are not even a problem…….when CJ was restore , he had the chance to act quickly …he had the chance to stop presidential election….he had the chance to act on Aitzaz petition stop emergency on firday …..but they said we will discuss this on monday……you cant wait for chances all the time…..you have to take them as they come……….now you all can sit and scream….but nothing is gonna happen to MUSH……………
‘let the electin come….our leader was not here in last election but still we got the maximum vote’
Here we are people. They will participate in the elections and will legitimize everything Mush has done so far. BB’s mission will be fulfilled. $1.5 billion + PM house + $16 billion reserves for her and mr 10% : ).
You are quite nave abt your BB, shes saying that Iftikhar is the Chief Justice. have a fresh air, you are here just to distract us, nothing else. I can’t help you out.
@Farhan
Very typical of a anti PPP person…..you had ten years to prove cases…what did you do….are you people so incompitent……
many like you are living in the dreams that you will destroy the ppp one day….yo have been trying this since 1977……well…..keep trying……our defence is as good as our attack……
you have failed in last 30 years and we will fail you in next 30 years as well……
P.S you mean not you …..it refers to all anti PPP people
The chief Justice just did his job. He can’t change the course of 60 years, but he performed his duty honestly. Pakistan is a place for dishonests like Mush, Ijazulhaq , Sh Rashid, Ch Wajahat etc
Nobody is talking about destroying a political party. Come out of your jageer-darana attitude. Disagreeing with a party does not entail its destruction.
she has already been convicted in swiss courts my friend. its not about being anti PPP. its all about facts. and and all your rants and raves cannot change facts. like our friend Asif said..have some fresh air and a glass of water…just chill bro.
I think it’s time to change the status quo of Pak Army. It suited the British very well and it suits people like Gen Mush and 16 choor commanders. WE need a change.
If you take BB out of picture, then is there anyone to who can take the lead. Qazi and Fazal Ur Rehman are brain childrn of ISI togather with MQM and tops the fortune 100 list in dishonest people. Nawaz is out which leaves the field to Gujrati choudries.
Guys just read your comments about my post……
you are attacking me personally
@Asif
You are quite nave abt your BB.
Have a fresh air
@op
Come out of your jageer-darana attitude
That shows the difference….everyone hates the loyality of ppp worker with its party…..if you cant be loyal to your parties then i feel sorry for you guys….
Its really sad. this is what irks me. these innocent ppl die for nothing. their lives have no meaning to their leadership. what the hell happened to the long march? nothing. their great leader is now acting on negroponte’s instructions.
I am not against the existance of institution. They do what they are asked to, but for somehow most of our gora-sahab civilians got hold of the office & started using them for their personal interests. So it will take time to get rid of these people & we can achieve our objective only by persistant democratic process.
And we always welcome the guys like IK who is constantly denting the statu quo.
@farhan
Why are you relying on our long march….y dont you go out with your own party……whther we are taking Negro’s advise or not…its none of any other party’s problem…..remember we are not in goverment and entitled to take our decisions……
good luck with your struggle to through MUSH out of power……..but trust me it wont happen with PPP help…..
Thanks, I take mine back, but the fact remains, BB, the chairperson-for-life, is right now, one of the most selfish political leader around (and thats saying a lot since all politicians are scu.m of earth anyway)
what a democratic party having life time chairperson.
No democracy within party & how you can bring democracy in the country?
Your comments would be apperciated
DEDICATED TO ALL Peeplies:::::::
Princess Ferragamo at the Barricades
It’s all about “regime change�
By Mike Whitney
11/15/07 “ICH” — – -It doesn’t take a genius to figure out why the crooked Princess Ferragamo–Benazir Bhutto—has returned to Pakistan. Bhutto’s been traipsing all over Washington trying to garner support from think-tank heavies and establishment powerbrokers to help her stage a political come-back in Islamabad. She even hired a high-powered public relations firm to polish her image so the media wouldn’t focus too much attention on her past transgressions. Allegations of money laundering and corruption have haunted Bhutto ever since she was driven from office in 1996. Last month, General Musharraf cut a deal with Bhutto which freed her from the prospect of criminal prosecution and allowed her to return home. The arrangement ignored the judicial system entirely. The $1.5 billion that she and her husband allegedly “received in a variety of criminal enterprisesâ€? has simply disappeared down the memory hole
no one relied on your long march my friend. we all know that your leader’s return is US spornsored. so no hopes from her anyway. she will do what her masters will tell her to do
: ).
i mentioned long march ’cause i just read that news about one of your innocent worker died from oct 18 blasts. its a shame so many ppl died there. your top leadership doesn’t give a damn about those ppl.
Just a piece of information….it was a decision of the party in 1994 to make BB the lifetime chaiorperson….a resolution was passed in a workers meeting at lahore….resolution was presented by Jhangir Badir………..again y you are bothered about our party…its our decision who we make the chairperson………..
BREAKING NEWS AND VIEWS FROM NWFP PAKISTAN SENT BY A VERY RELIABLE SOURCE IN THE AREA
The situation in NWFP is different than the rest of pakistan. Here it is the issue of rising & fastly spreading Talibanization while in rest of Pakistan the issue is political.Though both are linked but here the risks are high.In swat,after capturing kabal,khwazakhel & Mata Tehsils,taliban have moved to district Shangla & took control of the whole distric.Now they are heading toward BATAGRAM on one side & BUNAIR on the other side.The seriousness of the situation is that the security forces are not willing to fight them.Now Darra-Adamkhel(on the way to Kohat city),Bara Tehsil(Suberbs of Peshawar) & some areas in Mohmand Agency are also in the hands of millitants & IT LOOKS LIKE PESHAWAR IS BEING ENCIRCLED. Few days ago three messiles were fired in Cantonment area of Peshawar,one fell in the backyard of Basheer Bilor’s House(ANP leader & former minister).In the rest of pakistan there is anti Musharraf & pro democracy movement which is gaining mometum day by day.IT LOOKS MORE LIKELY NOW THAT MUSHARRAF WILL HAVE TO GO OTHERWISE PAKISTAN WILL BREAK INTO PIECES(God forbid). THE SOONER HE GOES THE BETTER IT WILL BE FOR PAKISTAN.
what is the problem if bb is life time chairperson. she is most telented political leader in pakistan she is the only one know through out the world as a politision. she lost her father brothers and lots more she fight againest the dectatorship since she lost her father, she have every reason to be a life time chairperson. ppp workers and members didnt have problem with this then what is a problem with all you guys.
you guys are ppp haters and you will find excuses to blame ppp but trust me that will not harm our party and we will remain loyal to our party.
dont not mean to heart anyone. we all have right to choose so please no hard feelings. give respect and take respect.
‘Compare to these two crooks President Musharaaf looks a saint’
dont count your chickens so soon bro. once Mush’s stint is over we’ll know how much he grabbed from national treasure : ). not to mention he leadership. the man has brought the country on brink of civil war. he is not a saint.
Whatever is happening in frontier is very very sad & MMA was the sole power over their for last 5 years, its all due to them.
What my perception is that they are also fighting for justice. And madcow is the worst enemy of justice.
sorry bro. cannot respect someone who robbed the nation’s $1.5 billion and still want more. i personally know mr 10%’s adventures so can’t agree with you.
Bro my question is still their being the biggest(as per your claims) political force, what your party have done after 1996 for the development of Pakistan?
Brothers & sisters
Please think beyond party politics and have a positive & mature discussion about the future of Pakistan. We need to try to take our country out of this chaotic situation.
IF ALL THIS IS HAPPENING TO PROLONG THE RULE OF ONE PERSON THEN IT IS VERY SAD. SIMILAR SITUATION HAS BROKEN PAKISTAN IN THE PAST AND WE NEED TO STOP IT HAPPENING AGAIN.
PAKISTAN ZINDABAD
Trail of corruption and kickback charges still in wings for opposition leader
By David Pallister
Guardian UK
Hoping for a third term, Benazir Bhutto, twice kicked out of government for corruption and incompetence, have been thrown into turmoil by the emergency rule. But her ambitions ultimately still depend on whether the amnesty on her corruption charges, granted to her last month by the national reconciliation ordinance, will be upheld in the new supreme court.
Bhutto and her husband, Asif Ali Zardari – nicknamed Mr 10% over alleged extortion – faced eight counts of taking tens of millions of dollars in illegal kickbacks. But whatever decision the court arrives at, the couple also have to contend with money laundering proceedings in Switzerland and Spain, and a civil case in London involving an expensive Surrey mansion.
As the president’s ordinance only deals with offences up to 1999, investigations in Pakistan could continue into allegations that the pair paid about $2m in illegal kickbacks to Saddam Hussein under the oil-for-food programme.The controversy surrounding Bhutto’s financial affairs has been compounded by reports showing she and her family have worldwide assets worth about 90bn Pakistan rupees ($1.5bn). Despite voluminous evidence, some from the British government, the Bhuttos deny all the charges.
The charges
Among the charges in Pakistan are allegations that the Bhuttos skimmed $2m in commissions from a 1990s deal to buy thousands of duty-free Ursus tractors from Poland. The money went into a Swiss bank account. Christine Junod, a Geneva magistrate, says documentary evidence “establishes beyond doubt that these commissions, under the cover of alleged consultancy fees, were meant to remunerate the illicit advantages obtained by Ursus from the Pakistani administration, thanks to the interventions of Asif Zardari�.
A second case involves a Dubai-based Pakistani gold bullion dealer who allegedly paid $10m to a Bhutto company in the British Virgin Islands for the exclusive right to import gold, again losing the country millions of dollar in duties. Zardari, who has served six years on corruption charges, is also accused of evading duties on the import of a £55,000 armoured BMW.
A fourth case, involving Swiss banks, is moving towards a trial in Geneva. In this the couple are accused of taking kickbacks for the award of contracts to two Swiss firms employed to stop customs fraud. In 2003 a Swiss magistrate found the couple guilty, sentenced them to six months in prison and ordered them to pay $12m back to the Pakistan government.
The paper trail connecting Benazir Bhutto to the case started with a moment of extravagance. Five years before, she had bought a £117,000 diamond necklace in London; part of that was paid for by one of the Swiss firms identified in the investigation. Lawyers for the Bhuttos challenged the judgment, a move that required the case be reopened. Last month the Swiss authorities said they would go ahead.
Oil-for-food scandal
The authoritative Volker report into the oil-for-food scandal identified the company Petroline FZC as having received oil contracts worth £145m in return for paying illicit surcharges to Iraq of $2m. Pakistan’s national accountability bureau has produced documents which show that Bhutto was the company chairwoman. Some of the profits went to firms in Spain, where another criminal investigation into money laundering is still active.
Rockwood House
The Surrey mansion, Rockwood House, was bought in 1995, apparently owned through a chain of firms and trusts, involving addresses in the Isle of Man, Jersey and Liechtenstein. Zardari denied, for eight years, that he was the owner despite instructing a builder with plans for a helipad, nine-hole golf course and polo pony paddock. Crates of valuable artefacts were shipped from Karachi. In 2004, when creditors forced the property into a liquidation sale, the Pakistani government claimed the proceeds. Lawyers for Zardari then appeared, claiming he was the beneficial owner.
The money from the sale is still in the liquidators’ bank account, though a high court judge said the Pakistani government had a reasonable case, stating the money came via corruption. The case continues through the courts with Zardari repeatedly claiming to be too ill to mount a rebuttal.
The UAE is Pakistan’s second largest global trading partner and it is also second largest source of home remittances from Pakistan expatriates.
Pakistan’s trade with UAE has doubled during the last five years. Bilateral trade between the UAE and Pakistan reached US$2.5 billion (Dh9.1 billion) last year, which includes US$1.5 billion (Dh5.5 billion) worth of exports from the UAE to Pakistan.
Pakistan attracted US$1 billion (Dh3.67 billion) in foreign direct investment (FDI) last year. “This include US$130 million FDI [Dh477 million] from the UAE.
UAE has very significant investment in Pakistan both at the governmental and private sector levels. Dubai Emmar Properties has invested in Pakistan. Warid telecom has invested in the Telecom sector and Abu Dhabi Group has bought banks in Pakistan such as Al Falah and united Bank Limited. The more investor of UAE also going to avail the invest opportunities in Pakistan sectors such as mineral development, oil and gas, information technology, agro-based industry, housing and tourism.
A prolonged ban on student unions put the students into deep slumber. The flow of ideas, which was once common in the large public sector universities, was stopped. In 1980s charters of new universities were given in the private sector. They were dubbed as elite universities where students would get education in ivory towers. These ivory towers remained isolated from and unconcerned with realities of life at societal level. But this passive image of the elite universities was to change after the recent announcement of emergency in Pakistan. http://thenews.jang.com.pk/daily_detail.asp?id=81486
The writer is a professor and director of Centre for Humanities & Social Sciences at Lahore School of Economics.
Our new care taker prime minister has a history of being a competitor,U must be wondering what does he compete for,No he doesnt compete to end poverty,he compete wid other politician on whos got the best Car.please give more taxes cause he might ask again.
* ‘We Oppose Emergency in Pakistan’ biggest Facebook protest group from Pakistan
ISLAMABAD: Defying a growing crackdown on dissent by President Pervez Musharraf, young Pakistanis are using blogs and social networking sites such as Facebook to hit back at a state of emergency.
Plans for “flash” protests in Islamabad, Karachi, Lahore and other cities are being posted at the last minute to skirt a ban on all political rallies under repressive emergency laws.
If we are denied basic rights in Pakistan, If we are to be ruled by NaPak Army aginst our free will, then what was the fun of making an independent state Pakistan. What do you think. Are’nt there muslims living in India. They may have some socio economical problems but dont we have?
@gayan khan
“one thing about Chief Justice…….was he stupid….he was interfering in every business of government�
So why did BB make “restoration of judges” a part of her demands?
@Shahzad Gohar
“Can some one comment on the Pak Army as an institution. How come we claim that it’s a disciplined institution???????????????”
It’s disciplined in being corrupt to the core; it’s disciplined in its involvement in politics and efforts to destabilize democratic system as pointed out by Imran Malik above; it’s disciplined in conquering as much local territory as possible; its disciplined in constantly meddling in elections, torturing people, serving their foreign masters, failing every military campaign, etc.
As an istitution I am not against Army. Its about the mentality that took over after the creation of Pakistan.
We have to get rid of that mentality(its present in our elite class in general), they started abusing all the institutions for their personal interests, resulting in corruption in these institutions at the top level.
And IK is denting at the metality of this elite class with or without uniform.
@Imran Malik
“The role of spy agencies is deplorable in Pakistan.”
Speaking of deplorable role of ISI: Did you folks come across the news yesterday of Journalist Hyayullah Khan’s wife being killed by a bomb blast? The report said her five kids “miraculously” survived the blast. This should give you an idea of how deplorable these guys are.
For those who don’t remember Hayatullah Khan let me just say his crime was reporting that in fact it was a missile strike from a US drone in Waziristan and not a random bomb blast that had killed Hamza Rabia as Pak Army claimed. And he took pictures at the scene to prove his story. For this he was abducted and six months later, on Friday, June 16, 2006, his body was found. He had been handcuffed and appeared to have been shot from behind.
Please keep eye on our Indian friends who keep providing us ‘food for thought’ about creation of Pakistan and ‘soul searching’ on Islam. They use different IDs but often ask ‘please comment’ (it shows that they are dumb as well). Their ‘please comment’ wants us to divert our attention.
India was lucky not to inherit ‘army making devisions’ from partition and this kept them a democracy. India was also lucky that their founder Nehru survived and rules for decades. Otherwise the calibre of their comments seems very strange to me. Not one of their columnists I have seen who is as good as our top columnists (from Dawn and other quality papers/magazines).
i miss u dr shahid masood ,hamid mir and most important geo news media is being always neutral but i want to say to ansar abbasi to be neutral most of times he is not neutral but as pk govt says wefree the media and is our acheivement so any body can express his views so abasi is also right bec 1973 act of pk says everyone is free to express his views as far as the govt says geo is against pk this is rediculous geo and ary are always doing programes for the interest of pk so pl baba musharaf free the media and face the reality and especialy free imran khan aitzaz ehsan and
@farhan
-@ tuffy
-sorry bro. cannot respect someone who robbed -the nation’s $1.5 billion and still want more. -i personally know mr 10%’s adventures so can’t -agree with you.
Let’s remember she did not rob the nation of $1.5 billion. This is the money she POCKETED.
It is an important distinction because what she robbed the nation of was A LOT MORE. Even if we assume the figure of 10%, she robbed the nation of $15 billion.
As an analogy, say a thief breaks by car window (cost $200) and my dashboard (say cost $900) to steal my stereo ($500) and sells it on the street for $100.
So, sure, the thief made a $100. But what did it cost the victim? At least $1600.
Another example: Let’s say an unnecessary $2 billion plane deal was made. Not only did the country did not need it, the actual cost of planes was $500 million. Commision on these deals is never more than 3% so about $6,000,000. So to pocket $6,000,000, $2 Billion of nations wealth is squandered. But wait — Let’s not forget about the interest. Since the terms are “favorable” you will only end up paying $3 billion in interest over 10 years. So total cost of that $6,000,000 pocketed in this case would be $5 Billion…
And I am not even looking at the “maintenance and spares” part of the contract…
I also liked the GEO News Channel. I liked it while it was there but for the good of this country if there were conflicts of interests between the Government and the Geo News Channel, I am happily foregoing my wish to see Geo.
I am getting even now very good news and all kinds of views from various other television channels of Pakistan.
I am not from the government and neither do I speak on behalf of the government. As an independent observer I noticed that this government tried to do only what is good for Pakistan. The Ministers of this govt behaved as humble servants of the people of Pakistan.
Despite all this an arrogant opposition of the past days again emerged on the scene and tried to derail the government, and with it the whole system of governance. That in my view is a jealous opposition, an opportunistic opposition and an unpatriotic opposition.
Any pillar of the state that helps such an opposition immediately becomes a party to those elements that are working against the welfare of this country. Any small body that belongs to any of the three pillars, if found participating in activities detrimental to the independence of the State then has to be dealt with severely. However this government has never been severe but has always dealt in a very lucid, rational and friendly manner.
This government never in five or 8 years harassed or persecuted any one, unless there were good reasons and the person was really asking for it by indulging in anti-state activities.
I feel that Geo should give up its aggressive and confrontational path- its hostile and haughty lord-of-the-media approach.
It is our duty to get behind the government and give it a helping hand. Those of us who understand what can bring progress to this country actually will do exactly that.
They are there in the government because it is there time, which they have earned with difficulty and hard work. They will not allow others to impede and threaten them. Naturally they will act to stop those who will try to destabilize them.
Therefore, it is in the common interest that Geo stops acting up and starts a better approach, which can lead to peace for all.
Please tell the source of GEO news, I mean from where are they telecasting and ask the GEO people or any anchor person that you know, what infact has happen.
Geo Channel’s programs were not as vindictive as BOLTA PAKISTAN of AAJ NEWS Channel was, or Kashif Abbasi and Ayaz Amir’s programs on ARY ONE WORLD.
Kamran Khan is brilliant. JAWABDEH was okay and so was Hamid Mir’s CAPITAL TALK. But Dr Shahid Masood in his “MERAY MUTABIQ” was very insinuating. That was certainly not on, to have outrightly indulged in such a blame-game.
Bolta Pakistan tried to get selected speakers alone, and invited the worst of the abusers, who would swear the best, like Roedad or Aitzaz. I HATE THESE 2 CHAPS. I HATE THEM. I HATE Roedad and Aitzaz. They are two senile man. One more is Wajihuddin.
They are the ones who are old and haggard, and frustrated. Then they have the cheek to say that Musharraf is old. How dare the haggard speak? Is it about themselves?
All this was nothing but sensationalism, and for the cheap thrills.
NO MORE RESPECTABLE MEDIA.
“All this was nothing but sensationalism, and for the cheap thrills.”
I guess you did not notice that the only person using sensationalism and cheap thrills on Geo was Kamran Khan. But I guess brilliant minds think like that.
“NO MORE RESPECTABLE MEDIA.”
Agreed. Now why would ANYONE want respectable media???
P.S. Do you really comprehend what you are saying?
plz stop it already.u r not convincing anyone here with your 100 ft long messages.we all know what it was about, mush’s dictatorship has an ugly face and he didn’t like the mirror so he broke it
I also liked the Geo News. I got the cheap thrills too seeing some programs on Geo and ARY ONE WORLD while they were there. But I am not missing them at all, because deep down I did not like it one bit, when they purposely invited the worst of the abusers from the opposition parties to say the worst of the things about the President of Pakistan. This President is the most genuine man Pakistan has had. He works very hard for this country.
It is unfortunate that this is a backward country where there are people who have absolutely no depth to understand the truth- to understand what is good for them and what is harmful for them. They are the people who are run by their empty emotions, which are of no significance. They just do cheap politics at the expense of this country.
These are the people responsible in keeping this country as bad as in the stone ages. They are empty scatterbrains, but by design to harm this nation, they get behind some political leader, and come in the forefront politicising the whole thing.
They do not cooperate with the government. Instead they portray they are just as important. They first finger, next oppose, then rebel, finally hurt.
Every now and then some heroes- sometime in the judiciary and sometime in the media emerge, who try to assert their importance, forgetting their limitations, and want to become the government themselves. They want to push the govt aside and rule themselves.
In my view they are disgraceful, appalling, dishonorable and detestable people. They are sleazy, vile, base and low. They are miscreants who try to disrupt the peace of the whole society. They are directly responsible in taking this country down the drain.
They are the people who go and beg from the countries, who are in reality our enemies. They place the enemies on a pedestal, to feel free to decide the fate of Pakistan and the downtrodden who are seeking their help. And when they do decide on their fate, is actually when comes bigger miseries and the actual misfortunes, the wretched suffering, the gloom and the depression.
This depression gets firmly entrenched in a muslim land never to go. The enemy succeeds.
All because of the stupidities of this land’s own people.
@Jina,
“…I am not from the government and neither do I speak on behalf of the government…”
Well, you tried your best to lie about your impartiality but if one looks at the way you have described things, taken side of the government, it is easy to tell that you are representative of this government which is run by a scumbag, named Mush or alias Bush’s poodle or his lap-dog.
You are simply brilliant. I see everything now, the whole “army shouldnt rule, and army gets too much of the budget with no info on where it goes” and the whole “innocents that die up north no questions asked” and the whole “arrest anyone” and the whole “president and army chief are the same person” counts to nothing because of your brilliant arguments. Especially your attack on Aitezaz and Wajihuddin. Ive finally seen the light, in that there is none.
@Jina,
“…I am not from the government and neither do I speak on behalf of the government…�
Well, you tried your best to lie about your impartiality but if one looks at the way you have described things, taken side of the government, it is easy to tell that you are representative of this government.
How come the ‘pillars of free speech’ who were all yakety-yak, 24/7 in channels like GEO and ARY ONE are almost invisible in street protests against media gagging in Pakistan? Where is Hamid Mir, Iftikhar, Kamran Khan, Talat, Javed Malik, and PJ Mir? Sorry if I may have inadvertently missed their regular attendance in these ‘country-wide” protests, but if someone can kindly direct me to a pic or website showing the participation of these great freedom of media leaders, I will be grateful!
@G-FORCE,
If you have looked closely at some of the videos of protesting journalists , you whould have spotted Hamid Mir. Also, when police came to confiscate the outdoor van of Aaaj, Talat and Minhas were seen arguing with them. So, they are there and just because you could not see them does not mean that they disappeared.
@Jamiat Media Front,
Whatever happened with IK was pre-planned and both JIT and JI were in cahoots in it. So, both the parties are now trying to run a face-saving campaign but masks have now come off and people can see their chronic and ugly faces.
Dear Brother Amir
It was a mistake by some of our affiliated students whose memberships are already been canceled. We are the front line warriors in the war against this corrupt system. We condemn any effort to divide the students
May Allah swt accept the repentance of Islami Jamiat talba.
I know people will not accept it though! because they don’t have the ability of being Ghaffar uzunoob and Qabilutob.
But, I like the way Imran Khan is dealing this situation!! He and Qazi sahib is proving that they both have human characteristics and basic leadership qualities.
I have witnessed on this forum, that how our brothers react and respond to any news. There are emotions filled with hate and extremism…they will not move on!!! They will live in the painful moment, and they keep remind every one about the mistakes of Jamat and Jamiat. They will not let go!!
What Jamiat has done with Imran khan was very painful, but, thank God , they accept the mistake, and that is what we need!! We don’t see this attitude of Hazrat Aadam AS in our nation. Our president, a common man, politician or very smart intellectuals on this forum… no one accept the mistake.
It takes a lot of courage to say “my mistake” and “I am sorry”
I am really sorry if I hurt anyone’s feelings, but it is my humble opinion, and I hope that all of us should behave more maturely and decently. Instead of pointing fingers towards each other, please think of our country.
Thanks for sharing the news. Its encouraging that Jamiat is showing regret on this heinous and disgraceful act by some of its members but as shaer says;
kee mairay qatl kay ba’ad us nay jafa say toba
Haye us zood e pashemaan ka pashemaan hona
I think Nazim e Ala mohtaram brother Nasrullah should personally apologize from Imran Khan, his family, members of Tehreek e Insaaf and students community. Indeed it was a great loss. However its always better to learn from mistakes and accept responsibility & repent.
May Allah show all of us the right path. Ameen.
@Jamiat Media Front,
I wish I could believe you but I am not going to and one of the reasons is that I have seen JIT very closely when I was a student of a professional institute in Lahore.
@Pakistani
Please stop these attempts to promote your blog. Agreed it look pretty but wheres the content? If you have one of your “updates” please post it HERE instead of begging people to come to your blog. They really get upset when after the effort they find the update or observation being completely useless or old news…
Perhaps you are right nota. I apologize. But I do not really have a need to promote my blog as it is afterall a personal sphere. I do however have important updates which Pakistanis want to know. Unforunately, I read this post too late so this will be the last direct link to my blog from then on, updates will be posted here.
This again is a minor update. I apologize for having continously posting the URL but I believe you will appreciate, nota, that the information is valid and important.
Oh and Nota, I did not know Geo is part of Jang. Thank you very very much for the information, I honestly really appreciate it Is The News part of the Jang Group as well?
KARACHI, Nov 18: The presence of President Gen Pervez Musharraf and the PPP Chairperson Benazir Bhutto in the city has given rise to strong rumours of a secret meeting between the two. However, neither PPP circles nor government officials were available to confirm any such story.
….
The officials said that the president had some other engagements which were not official and pointed out that President Musharraf invariably met old friends and colleagues whenever he was in the city.
I think this meeting is just khanapuri to show negroponte that his orders are being carried out.BB wont do any deal.If she does this will be the end of her politically.
You say now you would welcome him. Its no use now because you gave this dictator what he wanted at that particular time. You sabotaged his stroggle and helped the dictator to take the steam out of the agitation and now that you have got such a severe backlash you are afraid that your days are over as an organization.
You guys behaved just like Fazlu and company who did dissolve teh assembly but just at that time when it could vote for President Musharraf. There was no use of dissolving the assembly after that.
So it is not the act which is more important but the timing also. After giving such a severe blow to the movement now you say you would welcome him. I think it would be biggest mistake on part of Imran or anyone to trust you guys.
As for dividing students you have hold only in PU and thats all. No other college or university accepts you and that would be the fact.
You know what is the punishment of stabbing your own people in middle of war or struggle – Read Surah Anfal – the punishment is not removal the punishement is death.
Jamiat stabbed Imran and not only that it stabbed its own Jamat and caused irreperalbe damage. In a way by doing that you furthered the agenda of those forces who are fighting against Muslims all over the world. How can you guys be trusted?
@missing_pakistan
It takes real courage to say sorry, but that sorry should be meaningful and should lead to some change in the attitude. Would if Musharraf say sorry of his past deeds, be accepted… I don’t think so, a president has to be a mature and a responsible person. Even if he says sorry on his past deeds, he has made 130 million people to suffer, rest of the 30 million don’t bother to know.
I think there is a great responsibility on IJT if they really feel sorry of what they have actually done to Imran Khan. Just because of them, a score of people were disappointed to not find their leader among them. And later his family was treated in a manner not worth mentioning at any forum. I know IJT is not responsible for any misconduct in the whole world, but this bad treatment was just because of their act, and I think simply saying sorry does not show enough. They have to unite with the suffering party to break the locks of the jail… I know IJT is strong enough after all they have a state within state.
Heard the comments on the arrest of the Imran Khan, the IJT spokesman said ‘He should have asked permission from the union (IJT). No one invited him. He 5imran Khan tried to distract our crowd’. This is shear non-sense. A non-political party does not need crackers to attract people to their ideology. IJT should change its mode of action to impose Islam only on others…. while they don’t want themselves to be a follower of it.
Head of Punjab University is an equal disappointment. I wonder when all unions got banned under military vice chancellor in almsot all universites, how IJT still exist. Doesn’t it mean they represent somehow administration.
A special US mission to the embattled Pakistan president Pervez Musharraf ended in failure yesterday, and the Bush administration is inceasingly alarmed about the possible collapse of the government. There are also fears that its nuclear weapons could end up in the hands of Islamist extremists.
IF JAMIAT IS SINCERE THEN THEY SHOULD TAKE FOLLOWING STEPS, SO PEOPLE CAN TRUST THEM:
1. PUBLICALLY,PUNISH THOSE WHO HAVE DONE THE CRIME.
2.THEY SHOULD ALL APOLOGISE TO IK IN PUBLIC AND INVITE HIM AGAIN WITH HONOR TO PU.
3. IT IS THEIR RESPONSIBILITY TO BRING OUT IK FROM JAIL IMMEDIATELY AT ANY COST.
4. THEY SHOULD PUBLICALLY ANNOUNCE THAT THEY WILL NEVER REPEAT THE SAME OFFENSE.
5. THEY WILL COVER ALL THE FINANCIAL LOSSES THAT MIGHT HAPPEN TO IK DUE TO THEIR SHAMEFUL ACT.
@Jamiat Media Group:
If you admit what you did was WRONG, then why not let the PU students take out a rally against IJT at PU? Why look for a confrontation??
Police on guard to avert PU clash
By Mansoor Malik http://www.dawn.com/2007/11/19/nat4.htm
LAHORE, Nov 18: The Punjab government has prepared a security plan with an understanding to send police to the Punjab University new and old campuses on the call of its administration to avert any collision among students representing the Jamiat and anti-Jamiat groups on Monday (today).
The PU students are all set to hold a mass protest rally against the Islami Jamiat Tulaba on the third consecutive day as they are highly charged against it for its widely-condemned action of manhandling and handing over of PTI chief Imran Khan to police on Wednesday last.
The IJT activists, who remained conspicuously absent from the university campus the very next day, had shown up with a 150-student rally against President Gen Pervez Musharraf for imposing emergency and promulgation of Provisional Constitution Order in the country on Friday.
Fearing a clash between the two groups during protest for having intelligence reports that both groups will be equipped with arms, the governor/chancellor had asked the PU administration to close the university on Monday.
We respect your feelings. We have taken immediate actions and we will take more as well.
LAHORE: Newly-appointed Islami Jamiat Talaba (IJT) Nazim Atiqur Rehman Sunday said that manhandling of Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf Chief Imran Khan on the Punjab University premises was a government-hatched conspiracy aimed at disrupting the unity of students.
He said that the report of an IJT enquiry committee had proved that it was a government’s conspiracy. The enquiry committee also sought apology for the national leader.
Earlier, IJT PU Nazim Muhammad Ayub submitted his resignation in a meeting of the executive body. After this, Atiqur Rehman was appointed new IJT PU nazim while Haris was named secretary general.
The IJT had also cancelled the membership of about five members due to the incident.
After his nomination, Atiqur Rehman said the Jamiat would correct the mistake at every cost and would accord a warm welcome to Imran on his release to undo the wrong. “IJT seeks a pardon from the PTI chief, journalists, the masses and the nation for a mistake that was did by it,” he said.
Nota, if the news and geo are part of jang group, don’t you think that the concentration of Jang’s opinion across the media are a sign of media propaganda?
wo ji.nhe.n tabe garaa.Nbaarii-e-ayyaam nahii.n
unakii palako.n pe shab-o-roz ko halkaa kar de
What a great nation
I salute IJT for taking reasonable actions for their misconduct.
aaiiye haath uThaaye.n ham bhii
ham jinhe.n rasm-e-dua yaad nahii.n
ham ji.nhe.n soz-e-mohabbat ke siwaa
koii but, koii Khudaa yaad nahii.n
aaiiye arz guzare.n ki nigaar-e-hastii
zahar-e-imaroz me.n shiiriinii-e-fardaa.N bhar de
jinakii aa.Nkho.n ko ruKh-e-subh kaa yaaraa bhii nahii.n
unakii raato.n me.n koii shamaa munawwar kar de
jinake qadamo.n ko kisii rah kaa sahaaraa bhii nahii.n
unakii nazaro.n pe koii raah ujaagar kar de
jinakaa dii.n pairavii-e-kazbo-riyaa hai unako
himmat-e-kufr mile, jurat-e-tahaqiiq mile
jinake sar mu.ntazir-e-teG-e-jafaa hai.n unako
dast-e-qatil ko jhaTak dene kii taufiiq mile
ishq kaa sarr-e-nihaa.N jaan-tapaa.N hai jis se
aaj iqaraar kare.n aur tapish miT jaaye
harf-e-haq dil me.n KhaTakataa hai jo ka.NTe kii tarah
aaj izahaar kare.n or Khalish miT jaaye
I think Qazi hussain ahmed is a reasonable person but i dont think all of his jamiat is under his control.he needs to organise his party and take out the black sheep which bring a bad name to everyone.
but i dont like maulana fazl one bit.he is a chameleon and just looking for kursi.
@Pakistani
Yes. But keep in mind there were laws on book against for the very same reason. But laws were changed at the behest of groups like Dawn and Jung, etc. Is cross ownership good? Certainly not in the public interest so I do accuse their owners of putting private interest before that of public — something Mush is guilty of as well. Let me also mention scum like Najam Sethi and his Daily Times/BusinessPlus venture. He has always kissed every dictator’s *ss and now become part of Mush government through his protege Mubashar Lucman — so called “journalist” — accepting a ministerial position in the Punbaj interim cabinet.
But this is happening all over the world. Even in US where there are hundreds of channels, thousands of magazines and newspapers, there are only about six media owners left giving birth to the term “mainstream media (MSM)” which no one trusts any more. It has given rise to people like Rupert Murdoch whose media empire stretches all across the globe, filling it with filth like FoxNews and Sky…
1. MY FRIEND: WHOLE JAMIAT WAS SLEEPING WHEN FIVE OF ITS MEMBERS WERE COMMITING CRIMES IN FRONT OF EVERY ONE. WHY OTHERS DID NOT STOP THEM.
2. MY FRIEND: WHEN YOU INVITE SOMEONE THEN IT IS YOUR RESPONSIBILITY TO PROTECT THAT SOMEONE AT ANY COST.
3. EVERYONE KNEW THAT GOV. AND AGENCIES ARE AFTER HIS ARREST, WHAT STEPS HAD BEEN TAKEN BY JAMIAT IN ANTICIPATION TO ENSURE HIS SAFETY?
4. MY FRIEND: THE GREAT DAMAGE HAS BEEN DONE.
IT WILL NOT UNDO EVERYTHING BACK TO NORMAL BY JUST A RESIGNATION.
5. WHAT WILL BE THE PUNISHMENT OF THOSE FIVE MEMBERS WHOM JAMIAT HAS CANCELLED THE MEMBERSHIP? SO NEXT TIME NO OTHER MEMBER DOES SUCH A GREAT CRIME.
6. WHAT JAMIAT IS DOING RIGHT NOW TO FREE IK IMMEDIATELY AT ANY COST?
7. MY FRIEND: IF YOU BRING BACK IK TO PU WITHIN 3 DAYS AS IT WAS BEFORE HIS HUMILIATION AND ARREST,THEN WE WILL ALL BELIEVE YOU. I KNOW IT IS VERY HARD JOB TO DO BUT I THINK THIS IS THE ONLY WAY TO SOLVE THIS PROBLEM. AS THE BURDEN OF SHAMEFUL CRIME IS ON JAMIAT’S SHOULDERS.
FIRST OF ALL THEY WERE NOT ORDERS AND SECOND THOSE SUGGESTIONS WERE NOT FOR YOU.
HOW YOU KNOW I HATE IJT? BY TELLING SOMEONE THE RIGHT THING DOES NOT MEAN YOU HATE SOMEONE.
I WONDER HOW YOU KNOW ABOUT MY PERCEPTION?
GET SOME KNOWLEDGE ON REPENTANCE FROM SOME REAL AALIM AND ASK HIM IF SOMETIMES THERE ARE CONDITIONS RELATED TO CERTAIN REPENTANCES.
WE ALL SHOULD REPENT TO ALLAH FOR HIS MERCY.
ALLAH’S MERCY COMES IN ABUNDANCE IT IS THE PEOPLE WHO PERCIEVE IT DIFFERENTLY LIKE WHEN IT RAINS SOME PARTS OF THE EARTH BRING OUT FRUITS AND FLOWERS, SOME PARTS BRING OUT BUSHES AND ON SOME PARTS THERE IS NO EFFECT LIKE CEMENTED EARTH.
jamiat media group
How about you also divide the money you took from the govt to get ik arrested. Split it 50 50% and there would no hard feelings. It is an old jamati trick first send in the goons to terrorize and than comes the so called moderates screaming its all a misunderstanding thousand aapoligizes. Auntie Shamim in pindi conducts herself more respectfully than you clowns in IJT. Ghar ja kar abu ko bewakouf banao. He might buy what your selling.
Admin and other fellows,
i want to express my full support with u all in the efforts of making excess to independent media and information….
we ve been addicted to GEO and ARY ONE WORLD talk shows and live coverages …we ve been addicted to the reality and truth ..we ve been addicted to be informed …
we all need GEO and ARY ONE WORLD back …they are not accepting the Govt dictation to ban talk shows and live coverages…..
hats off to GEO and ARY ONE WORLD.
Down with MUSH ,BB,MULLAH AND GHUNDA parties.
@Petition Against Musharraf’ election
I think there remains one petition to be heard on Thrusday although 5 important ones have been dismissed.
A friend of mine told me, he heard a journalist saying at a protest by journalists and media persons…
‘Musharraf woh kar raha hai jo film kay ikhtitam per villain karta hai’.
@friend
The civil society of Pakistan has awaken after a long time. This is the first time we have seen judiciary standing up against a dictator. The wheel has turned. Musharraf cannot stay for long.
Don’t be dishearten my friend. The country is not under a curse. We are witnessing beginnings of a revolution in Pakistan.
I still hundred percent believe you guys are with ISI and goverment. MMA has clearly said that it would take part in elections under emergency at any cost – esp FAzlu and if Qazi is serious in his assertion that he would not take part in elections then why doenst he just say so.
FAzlu stabbed the lawyers movement and now IJT stabbed political movement by getting Imran arrested. If you guys are so Islmaic minded why dont you get that Police official who is seen in photograph picking up Imran’s sisters and throwing them in Police Truck. That guy works in New Garden Town Police Station. Agar tum logon mein itni gharat hai to pakro ja na jakay usay.
Even now I have talked to so many people who have written against Jammiat and you guys have threatened them on phone – do you think these tactics would work anymore.
The problem with you is that MUSHARRAF IS LIBERAL FASCIST AND YOU GUYS ARE ISLAMIC FASICT AND GOD SAVE PAKISTAN FROM FACISTS LIKE YOU.
Situation analysis is really important at this time. Suppose at this time we announce to stop working in Pakistan, who do you think will replace us? Who will stop the hands of liberal forces? Who will raise his voice against secularization of education? Jamiat is a blessing for this nation.
@Jamiat Media Front
Jamiat has dug its own grave. Jamiat has strengthen the hands of criminal musharraf by kidnapping and handing Imran Khan to musharraf.
Jamiat purports to be one of the most organized in the country. So I ask where are Jamiat workers? why aren’t they marching side by side with lawyers?
“Yes I did break the law on November 3rd [2007] but not before that.”

“Yes I did break the law on November 3rd [2007] but not before that”…yea right you did it once you’ll do that again
Mush…………is a shameless………..ba—-rd
same thing he said when he didnt take off his uniform the first time he promised. “I have never vroken any promise but this one time I have to” lol what a joke.he will not brake law or promises but every 5 years when its time for him to go.very reasonable lol
There is a nice interview (video) on http://www.bbc.co.uk. Can comeone please embed that?
Raja
http://www.bbc.co.uk/mediaselector/check/player/nol/newsid_7100000/newsid_7100400?redirect=7100410.stm&news=1&nbwm=1&nbram=1&bbram=1&bbwm=1&asb=1
Musharraf’s Interview
http://www.bbc.co.uk/mediaselector/check/player/nol/newsid_7090000/newsid_7099600?redirect=7099600.stm&news=1&bbram=1&nbram=1&bbwm=1&nbwm=1&asb=1
I had written yesterday in this forum that by admitting that he had acted unconsitutionally on Nov 3 he has written an epitaph for himself because he has admitted on television which is a an offical record that he acted unconsitutionally. He would no doubt be tried under Article 6 the day he leaves the office. So from now on he should not concentrate on negogiating how to prolong his rule but how to exit without being charged under Article 6.
Please read NS article which was published in The News courtesy Washington post
http://www.thenews.com.pk/top_story_detail.asp?Id=11216
Musharaf ‘s brutality:
http://observer.guardian.co.uk/world/story/0,,2212873,00.html
Tribute video to Lawyers, students and civil society
http://www.BoltaPakistan.com
if you want to watch Geo go to http://www.geo.tv and click web tv. I think it is free for Pakistan…
http://www.latimes.com/news/opinion/la-oe-brooks15nov15,0,7992029.column?coll=la-opinion-center
It’s not just Musharraf admitting to going against the constitution (by the way isn’t that treason?). Now his AG is saying the NRO is illegal (“legally invalid” as he puts it)…
http://www.timesonline.co.uk/tol/news/world/asia/article2891041.ece
In teh article above its very clear that Justice Dogar and Abassi had given information about the verdict of Supreme Court to Gen Musharraf and the decision of Emergency was taken in a meeting in which Gen Kiyani was also present. There is no doubt that army at least the top generals are involved in backing, implementing and executing PCO and therefore he would never back down and dump Musharraf UNLESS PEOPLE COME ON STREETS IN MILLIONS.
Thats why BB has gone back to Karachi as a first step to diffuse the situation and Emergency would also be lifted but with one condition that judiciary would not be restored.
The goverment wants to scrap NRO but the problem is that MQM which benefited most from it would go behind PPP and against goverment. So at present the goverment cannot dare to do so.
There is no doubt METHOD IN THIS MADNESS
However history has shown that whoever has gone against judiciary has to leave the office
1. BB tried to suspend 42 judges and appointed justice Sajaad Ali shah – all had to go
2. NS tried to cow down judiciary and engineered a judical coup by other members of judiciary – and he was out
3. Now Pervaiz Musharraf – his time is also over
same analogy can be used for media. but the difference is that this time the govt. is Army
and history tells us that anti army movement was indeed supported by US at that time
So what is the role of US now, can be an answer
and further history tells that US pittos are taken off by awami revolution and this requires people coming in street, civil disobedience…
Its a shame on the muslim kingdoms like UAE and KSA to support a international terrorist president by 1st ciricising our honourable Supreme Court in Pakistani Soil by Saudi Royal family member and then took back Nawaz Sharif illegally.
Again another Kingdom of UAE off Air pakistani channels Geo & ARY which is high handedness by authorities which is clear indication that either a dictator or King can do whatever they want without any ethical norms of the world which is now a global village.
i think that Musharraf can do onething to kill 160 million PAKIS so he will have no future problem from the nation which is continously suffering from last 60 years
there is still hope fo Geo…
http://www.dawn.com/2007/11/18/top8.htm
take the pics of general off …..plz
indians know much better how to treta national hero..goof post written by fellow indian
http://churumuri.wordpress.com/2007/11/17/what-if-imran-khan-were-prime-minister-of-india/
I don’t think it is correct that BB ever tried to remove 42 or any judges. She appoint judges which were removed by the Supreme Court during NS’s time in the infamous “Judges Case” (infamous because the Supreme Court having removed the Judges BB appointed and then its own Chief Justice never followed the principles again and never even took up Petitions filed by a number of people asking for the Judgement to be enforced in cases thereafter).
Is geo news back? just watched geo news on tv
Very Very bad and sad news for me and for my others Pakistani ‘JEO LOVWERS’,Those live in ITALIA.In the country of outside,only we listen to ‘JEO NEWS’ and look the ours favourit programmes, ‘MERY MUTABIQ’ ,CAPITAL TALK SHOW’ HUM SUB UMID SE HAIN AND KAMRAN KHAN KE SAATH.These programmes are most favourite in Euorpe countries.Dr.Shahid Masood,Hamid mir,Kamran Khan and Mushtaq Ahmad very very excalent person in GEO and in Pakistan.In which country, Dr.Abdul Qadeer Khan has gone arrested,where these personality has been also dis-honourable announced,Because Mr,GOURBA CHOUF WANTED TO ALL PAKISTAN DISHONOURED.
JEO and JEENE DO!
SYED MUNIR AHMAD
PRATO,ITALIA.
Freedom doesn’t come easy
By Ayaz Amir
http://dawn.com/weekly/ayaz/ayaz.htm
Conformed intellegence Reports that:-
———————————–
BB will be silence in favour of Mush again , so called emergency will be remove before election , ISI made parties party PPP and PML(Q) will make Govt.
Long March……………………………………………………..topi drama?????????????????????????????
Haroon Rashid’s article on IJT’s role in IK – “Hmaaqat”
http://www.express.com.pk/epaper/index.aspx?Issue=NP_LHE&Page=National_PAGE&Date=20071118&Pageno=3&View=1%20id=
Hey Asif,
Can you explain the origin of these words “Topi Drama” and “Noora Kushti”. I mean the etymology of these words?
“BB will be silence in favour of Mush again , so called emergency will be remove before election , ISI made parties party PPP and PML(Q) will make Govt.”
If true then question is who ISI is to decide who comes in Govt???? Are they god of Pakistan?
This country is of all Pakistanis and ISI is not Lord in any case!! why? Do they have any certificate for being controller of people of Pakistan! All people are given intellect by Allah almighty and not only ISI, Mr. Musharaf or Army!!!!!!!!!!
We respect Army, ISI and others since they are our brothers and sisters but we will not allow them hijacking whole nation, not at all.
If Army, ISI and others are sincere to Pakistan and Pakistanis then come to people, listen to them, stand along with them and stop coward, nonsense and short lived politics in the name of protection of Pakistan.
Let me assure you that after Allah, these are people of Pakistan who can safeguard Pakistan and stand firm behind Pk Army. Neither your hidden plans, neither your divide and conquer policy, nor USA/UK, nor weapons of Army, nor your puppet politicians, nor your diplomacy(rather hypocrisy most of the time) can do it….
Look my dear ISI and PAk Army, if you think that you fight against wishes of own people then you have lost that war even if you win it somehow! And when you will come back after winning or losing then you will find not anyone to cheer you!
If you lose, which most probably you will do, then neither USA will help nor your own people. That you can better imagine.
May Allah guide and help us. Aamin.
Everyone please help Geo News and ARY ONE WORLD by writing to Dubai Media City authorities their E-mail address are:
info@dubaimediacity.ae, sales@dubaimediacity.ae
Here is the original post (there is a sample e-mail, you can model yours on it if you want).
http://free-pakistan.blogspot.com/2007/11/write-to-media-authorities-in-dubai.html
Balouch where did you get the news from?
The dictator has admitted his mistake on tv breaking the law and constitution,- his predecessor ( TALWAR UL HAQ ) had said that constiution is a piece of paper ( ya koi asmani seheifa nahi hay)but mind u the man is with a gun, the day he drops it, people should cry out to try him with high treason.
And by the way did any body watched Mushaid Hussain Syed ( SPIN DOC. of QA ta league) said… he wants tv channels to be restored and thinks that elections under emergency will not be credible.. he forgot that his Qa ta league had advocated in favour of emergency..so who is fooling !!!
Khaleej Times
http://www.khaleejtimes.com/DisplayArticleNew.asp?xfile=data/opinion/2007/November/opinion_November61.xml§ion=opinion&col=
Baluch didnt get news from anywhere. He himself has connections with ISI I think that is expert in spreading disinformation
Musharraf is sending two delegations – one to US and one to UK – he thinks he can fool them – he is living in his own delusionary world
Khaleej Times Editorial
http://www.khaleejtimes.com/DisplayArticleNew.asp?xfile=data/editorial/2007/November/editorial_November39.xml§ion=editorial&col=
END OF ROAD FOR GENERAL
http://www.khaleejtimes.com/DisplayArticleNew.asp?xfile=data/editorial/2007/November/editorial_November31.xml§ion=editorial&col=
Imran Khan
A hero welcome?
Khaleej Times
http://www.khaleejtimes.com/DisplayArticleNew.asp?col=§ion=editorial&xfile=data/editorial/2007/November/editorial_November36.xml
A Band Aid from America – can it treat Cancer in Pakistan
http://www.khaleejtimes.com/ColumnistHomeNew.asp?section=mjakbar&col=yes
Read in Khaleej Times
Where is long march…………….gone with the wind…………….
It is often said that nations have no permanent friends or enemies; they only have permanent interests. Their friends and enemies are as variable as global warming, but Musharraf and Benazir do have one trait in common: permanent individual self-interest.
@ Asif
Like I have maintained bro, you can never ever trust BB and fazlu diesel. Whenever BB starts to criticise Mush, her supporters waste no time in declating her a crusader for democracy. And then everything comes to a stop. Like it has again followed by Negroponte’s visit. I say it again, BB will once again take a u-turn that will leave her party and supporters baffled
. And then we’ll hear its all in the ‘name of smooth transition to democracy’.
IK InshAllah with your efforts Pakistan ill move forward.
Longlive IK
@farhan
I agree with you bro. BB opposing Mush to protect her vote bank, but I salute to IK whose persistance is denting not softly but very hard on their votebanks. Thats the only reason no one is talking abt IK……….
Longlive IK
@ Asif
IK is the biggest genuine threat to politicians since ZA Bhutto. They will never want IK to gain momentum. But everyone is making one mistake after the other. Be it Mush or BB or the MMA. All this is helping IK’s support in getting stronger.
The Path of a Patriot
http://pakspectator.blogspot.com/2007/11/path-of-patriot.html
http://www.baltimoresun.com/news/local/bal-md.pakistanis18nov18,0,2492884.story
U.S. aims to reshape Pakistan aid
http://www.latimes.com/news/nationworld/world/la-fg-pakaid18nov18,1,5811140.story?coll=la-headlines-world
Pakistan’s problems start at the top
http://www.latimes.com/news/printedition/opinion/la-op-hoodbhoy18nov18,1,2586197.story?coll=la-news-comment
Dubai bows to Pakistan TV censorship
http://blogs.guardian.co.uk/greenslade/2007/11/dubai_bows_to_pakistan_tv_cens.html
‘Time for Musharraf to resign’
http://news.independent.co.uk/uk/this_britain/article3172146.ece
The Path of a Patriot By Hassan Baig
http://micropakistan.org/blog/2007/11/18/the-path-of-a-patriot-by-hassan-baig/
Caretaking triggers another crisis
http://www.dailytimes.com.pk/default.asp?page=2007%5C11%5C18%5Cstory_18-11-2007_pg3_1
Dancing the Dance: US Diplomacy and Pakistan
http://hir.harvard.edu/blog/?p=246
The spirit of 2007
http://www.thenews.com.pk/print1.asp?id=81309
Martial law in Pakistan:
a side of ‘antiterror’ war
http://www.themilitant.com/2007/7144/714420.html
Imran Khan is one of 25,000 jailed innocents
http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/main.jhtml?
xml=/news/2007/11/18/wpak318.xml
Always more to Khan than playboy image revealed
http://www.smh.com.au/news/world/always-more-to-khan-than-playboy-image-revealed/2007/11/15/1194766868466.html
Hi,
I attended a rally against Musharraf infront of the White House yesterday. I have taken some pictures and wuld like to contribute to this site. Can you give me admin’s email address please?
US has given Musharraf only that much time in which he can get his Presidential Election validated from Supreme Court. Once that is done then other things would be taken care of.
Also SC is going to validate emergency and then it would be lifted but it would lifted only half way between elections so that opposition has no time to prepare.
So if political parties take part in elections then they would lose because they would be considered as being toeing the line of goverment.
There is only one way to deal with this – BOYCOTT ELECTIONS UNLESS
1. EMERGENGY IS LIFTED
2. JUDICIARY IS REINSTATED
3. CARETAKER GOVERMNET IS DISBANDED
4. ELECTION COMMISSION IS RESTRUCTURED AND ALL PRESENT PEOPLE ARE THRWON OUT
5. DISTRICT GOVERMENTS ARE EITHER SUSPENDED TO DISBANDED AND THEIR ELECTIONS SHOULD BE AFTER GENERAL ELECTIONS
6. ALL CURBS FROM MEDIA IS LIBERATED
7. LAST BUT NOT THE LEAST – MUSHARRAF STEPS DOWN
Videos of Protest against Martial Law in Toronto Saturday Nov 17, 2007.
Part 1:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mjhuOQhc1is
Part 2:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XT1H4Y_dgqo
Part 3: People came for Geo too
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Vv9Piz8rpyo
Part 4: Adil Rashidi of Geo News Addressing the protest
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=00VmchhQVh8
Part 5: Mir Ibrahim’s Message was read
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MaVmGiXsNLA
Part 6: Media Representative telling his experience while in Pakistan
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SAP5Yf_c304
Gen Sahab said in his press conference that there was also an issue of vulgarity in our channels like geo and others. Now what has happened all indian channels, movies with semi-nude dances are on air in pakistan except geo, ary and others. Surely geo and ary were better than these indian channels.
Wolf eats the lamd inspite of all the logical arguments by the lamb.
You government servants at work:
http://www.dictatorshipwatch.com/upload/rte/Army%20firing%20in%20white%20clothes%2017-11-2007.gif
Note the plain clothes and the “nakab”.
Trying to post the pick linked above
GEO NEWS is back???? We can see GEO NEWS on GEO UK ? they are showing GEO news on it !
Is this how the general diverts our attention?
Scores killed in sectarian violence in Pakistan
http://www.iht.com/articles/2007/11/18/asia/pakistan.php
ISLAMABAD: Fierce battles between Sunni and Shiite Muslims in Pakistan’s volatile northwest have left 91 people dead, officials said Sunday, despite the imposition of a state of emergency justified in part by the need to quell sectarian unrest.
Combatants used mortars and other heavy weapons in the Shiite-majority town of Parachinar late Saturday and early Sunday, an intelligence official told The Associated Press, speaking on condition of anonymity because he was not authorized to speak to the media.
I met Amir Ghuri (Geo’s europe representative) at London protest. He claimed that Geo has been allowed to show 5 minutes every hour and just general reports. No commentary, talk show etc is allowed.
He said talks are going on with UAE authorities and if they don’t allow, GEO will move to the UK. He said it would be difficult (visa and expensive) to frequently invite people to London but at least they would be able to do many things.
I think that Geo can still record things in Dubai and even Pakistan and they can go on air from London. Nobody can do anything if you are interviewing someone in a house or hotel.
You are right, madcow is taking the advantage of no media & diverting the attention to sectarian clashes. I think theres no such kind of clashes in Pak for quite sometime.
Hes killing the ppl by himself & portraying it as a civil war.
Power-Hungry-Dracola………..
May Allah bless us from the crimes of this madcow
US already looking past Mush past BB???
Looking Beyond Bhutto
The New Republic: Former Pakistani Prime Minister Better Than Musharraf, But Not Permanently
http://www.cbsnews.com/stories/2007/11/16/opinion/main3514805.shtml
….
But because she’s a creature of the past, she also embodies Pakistan’s worst, most embedded vices.
….
As a result, if Bhutto were to assume power again, it should only be seen as a short-term solution — for her country and for the United States.
….
Yes that is true – they can still record in Pakistan and Dubai and they can air it from London – so simple – the only thing would be delay in that but other than that there would be no problem at all.
Yes visa and travel would be a question but I think Geo can make the channel subscription and that can take care of funds.
Plus if pakistanis know that Geo is giving then all they need – I am sure everyone would like it to subscribe.
Just a note about my last post:
Although featured on CBS News site, the article is from “The New Republic” which is a right-wing conservative mag…
Whenever any american visits Pakistan there are killings – as if Musharraf sets up blood for Durga Mai or Kali Devi who can only quench its thirst by blood and nothing else
American is now so used to shedding blood after war in Iraq and before that in Vietnam and Central America that for it its nothing but just clones being terminated like in Terminator Movie – thats probably why that guy eventually became Governer of California
Videos of Protest against Martial Law in Toronto Saturday Nov 17, 2007.
Part 1:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mjhuOQhc1is
Part 2:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XT1H4Y_dgqo
Part 3: People came for Geo too
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Vv9Piz8rpyo
Part 4: Adil Rashidi of Geo News Addressing the protest
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=00VmchhQVh8
Part 5:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MaVmGiXsNLA
Part 6: Media Representative telling his experience while in Pakistan
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SAP5Yf_c304
@Chussain
@Dynx
@Zaheer
My source is one of Anty Mush , buddy you may say one pearl in MUD. Today King of Politician joker Shujat told I will tell to Dictator mush that remove emergency before Election .
Dear CHUSSAIN im not informer, employ or supporter of any ISI wing
Zaheer i agree with your cooments But sorry to say you sound like a ….. Ofcourse Allha subantala is great but he has given us sence , power and all, we can sturggle , we can protest and make grounds for downing a dictator and ISI , but what we doing you did not see hyporeats jamiat peoples they help govt to arrest a honest person IMRAN KHAN and honestly tell me what we doing in Pakistan , how many people on street for protest against so called emergency and dictatorship…. from 17 crore peple not more then 30000 is protesting ???
we shuold pray and do whatever we can do to motivate all peoples to come and stand against so called emergency and like others says we have to send emails to concerned for Geo, and all .
in last i must say I am supporter of Real democracy and Pakistan not Faujistan
i understand BB has gone to Karachi. there are also rumours that she is now ‘travelling’ to Dubai?
what does this mean immediately after US visitor. it seems she has maintained her status of being a ‘dealer’
@Balouch
30000 peoples protest almost represent 30000 families protest that is not a small protest my friend; keep in mind that all this is happening in martial law i.e. a rule worst than a jungle.
Shes blackmailing madcow by giving statements against him to get a better share. Because she didn’t even act on her moves agianst madcow & its been going on for quite some time.
Bloodshed is at worst in North & shes busy in press-conferences, nothingelse. Being the leader of one of the major parties shes unable to take a firm decision & be persistant with it.
Except IK everyone is busy in making some kind of hidden-talks for power share.
@zenith
advocate of modernisation talk about vulgarity very sham on him, look at his character and how he is changing his faces to oppose vulgarity.
@zenith @T Babu
What we can expect from a madcow…..
definitely worth watching and pondering…
http://youtube.com/watch?v=gjDqXBV0NZE
MAY ALLAH GUIDE US BACK TO THE RIGHT PATH – AMEEN.
Has the Journalist’s movement got its Naeem Bokhari? While on one side we have people like Dr. Shahid Masood, Talat Hussain, Ansar Abbasi, Hamid Mir, on the other we have Mubasher Lucman of Business Plus. I guess his *ss kissing finally paid off and has landed him a ministerial position in interim Punjab cabinet. He has always been pro-Mush but for 4 days in a row in early October he did his talk show with 4 pro-Mush guests and a pro-Mush audience hailing the great work done by Mush. Not a single critical thought was expressed.
@Balouch
Well, i have been part of the protest(on the street) and will be INSHALLAH in future too.
Yes, its true that Allah almighty has asked us to make struggle against injustice, cheating and liars and not to sit at home and pray only.
Response of the people against emergency has not been very bad either. However, it is not as intense as it should be. I feel that people of Pakistan are somehow a bit tired, they are sick of emotional slogans and also cheating of political parties has made them uncertain and suspicious.
I am quite optimistic that things are going to change and get clear very soon, INSHALLAH. People are thinking bravely and positive thinking is first step towards positive actions. Actually, people are just looking and analyzing everyone and events.
Keep your spirits high, momentum comes and TRUTH wins, it is born to win ultimately!
Is there any one now in the world who DOESN’T believe that the Bombing in Karachi on 18th October were not done by Mush& Co?
@M Tariq
it was done by Mush& Co. I am 1000% sure.
Qazi Hussain Ahmed visits Imran’s family and says he is shocked at what happened in Punjab University.
Also Pakistan Foreign Office has rejected apprehensions of USA regarding teh emergency and say these objections are nothing new.
BB has said she is not going to comment on the meeting of Musharraf and Negraponte and would see what steps Musharraf takes in this regards. She had decided to adopt wait and see policy for the time being.
Bombing in Karachi was done by MQM, agencies and Mush and company – no doubt about that =- thats why dont want Scotland Yard and FBI to investigate.
I know its a long struggle because the people who are at helm of affairs would not let it go that easily – because it severely hurt their interests – teh army is enjoying financially a lot under Musharraf and they would not like to rock the boat – the present policy is to prolong all this as much as possible in a view that this movement would fizzle out due to movement fatigue.
But we have to keep up the pressure and not them live in peace for even a single day and this pressure should increase day by day.
Inshallah Allah would award the victory of right path.
I feel sorry for IK… everybody will end up making compromises and getting their share out of the govt… he will be the only one standing alone… unless the people of Pakistan decide to stand with him and get rid of this whole mess… the army, establishment, corrupt politicians, landlords…
——————————————–
No two opinion about the munafqat.
@chussain
these mullahs are great munafics.
@KS
IK is not about power but a symbol of struggle & hope. Its a long struggle & IK knows it well. Because it needs time & patience to get rid of chronic disease.
Longlive IK
BB will scre*w up again for sure. Mark my words. This is again the same ‘wait and see’ policy that she adopted when there were rumors of The Deal.
I wonder where all BB supporters are. Earlier when we used to comment against her, there was always a response within minutes.
I am not mocking anyone. Everyone has a right to express themselves. but its a fact that NRO was impossible to defend, and now BB’s ‘careful approach’ once again will be difficult to defend.
@farhan
They are also acting on wait n see policy
PPP = Wait n See Party
a new addition in dictionery.
@ Asif
I don’t blame them. 2-3 days ago I said in discussions that BB will make a u-turn that will leave her supporters and party confused.
Its to early to say anything about her actions at the moment, but its a fact that her return was US sponsored and she cannot go against them : ). She’ll have to abide by whatever Negroponte’s instructions are for her. Just look at the facts, until 2 days ago she was screaming her head off againdt Mush. Now theres complete silence.
And Mind you, it’ll all be ‘in the name of smooth transition towards democracy’.
@Farhan
That PPP people was actually a one person with multiple IDs. Sometime even exchanging comment among his own IDs. Admn caught him. I would not doubt if he has been blocked from this forum. Anyway I suggest you not to invite such obnoxious people. There is no need to indulge into useless debate. Most people here are intelligent enough to make their own mind. This is not a village of big Chaudhry or a goth of a landlord Vdhayra.
Long March against emergency will continue until its ending.(BB)
With emergency BB meant the house arrest
Jiyalas have to learn her new dictionary.
@ Asif
I feel sorry for these Jiyalas. They blindly follow her and look at her political agenda
BB is just behaving as a leader of a virtual party.
Being a leader of larger party her moves should be swift & clear & not confused.
@ Asif
Yeah any swift action and Mush will cancel amnesty : ). He has already threatened her once in last 2 days.
US turns to army elite as Pakistan remains unstable
http://www.taipeitimes.com/News/front/archives/2007/11/19/2003388489
Benazir Bhutto Slams Musharraf In New CNN Interview
http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2007/11/18/benazir-bhutto-slams-mush_n_73166.html
Looking Beyond Bhutto
http://www.cbsnews.com/stories/2007/11/16/opinion/main3514805.shtml
Facebookers, bloggers fight Pakistan emergency
http://afp.google.com/article/ALeqM5i64vTXHkRTFOIpXrpl843N6QpPtw
@T Babu
But Bhutto is not the person to create the kind of democracy that would make Pakistan a more reliable ally in the long-term. Her traditional political style hasn’t ingratiated her to many educated Pakistani students, a vital group in an unusually young population — in a 2005 survey, 71 million of the country’s roughly 160 million people were under 18. Many of these students, the people who might break the country out of its feudal landlock, have turned instead to new political forces like Imran Khan, a magnetic former cricketer turned politician.
The former prime minister also does not seem to have learned much from her past travails. All the way through Musharraf’s term, she has continued to run her party, the Pakistan People’s Party, like a landlord or a queen, refusing to allow new blood and ideas to flourish. As the New York Times noted in a recent profile of Bhutto, she has appointed herself head of the party for life and has “frozen out” Aitzaz Ahsan, another leading member of her party who has led the lawyers’ protests against General Musharraf.
With so few Pakistan experts left in the administration, the United States might choose to rely solely on Bhutto, just as it did with Musharraf. That would be a mistake. Washington needs to build a relationship with a broader cross-sector of Pakistanis, like the students and lawyers who led protests while Bhutto was still in exile. Without that, America, just like average Pakistanis, will remain locked into a Sophie’s choice between generals and feudocrats.
@T Babu
Thanks for nice links
my prayers are with IK. He will be stronger than ever before, insha’Allah.
Getting rid of Mush harami is not enough. We must also ensure that our political system remains stable and independent after this. For this
We must condemn and resist the construction of new GHQ in Islamabad. Military leadership should be at least 100 KM away from Islamabad. Also the GHQ should be in centre of Pakistan Like DG Khan, Multan or Bahawalpur.
The role of spy agencies is deplorable in Pakistan. Their involvement in politics and efforts to destabilize democratic system is known to every one. These are also involved in terrorist activities like bomb blast in public places, suicide attacks, abduction, torture and killing of innocent people. ISI has offices in every tehsil and sub-tehsil of Pakistan. (whereas IB has offices in districts only). The funds of these agencies must be audited. Their offices especially ISI should be only in provincial capitals. The laws must be amended and involvement of any employee of these agencies in politics should be considered equal to treason and same punishment should be awarded as that of traitor.
For me terrorist is military and these agencies not Al-qaida as I am terrified by these not by Al-Qaida. This does not mean that I support Al-Qaida which actually is a terrorist organization “for Americans�.
I am afraid that Mush is going to cause a civil war in my country. If God-forbid this happens, the involvement of foreign powers is inevitable due to the presence of nuclear arsenal. I dont see any future for my children if Mush continues
http://nawaiwaqt.com.pk/urdu/daily/nov-2007/19/columns5.php
JI is not more than a pressure group, They cannot win more than a couple of seats solely. Thatswhy they do a politics of Alliance to get into power. They never fought an election under JI symbol.
A big question mark????????????
I second Imran Qureshi about the role of ISI but how can we control most of our incumbant politicians.
I remember in one of the episodes of Bolta Pakistan on Aaj TV, Nusrat Javed told that the day when Gen Kiyani was nominated as a next COAS, there were a few politicians went to congratulate him. We all know it would be more than the congratulations, I mean TC thing.
Is JI the name of change or statusco?
Longlive IK for denting the giant Goons.
Longlive IK
@gomushgo
your radio is not working. Iam using 512K connection and IE 7
Is your radio online?
Things look difficult as of now.. After Negroponte visit it seems US will continue backing Musharraf..They are just trying to get some parties to take part in elections.. MMA & PPP are there to oblige them.. Most of opposition to Mushi including lawyers are behind bars with no hope in foreseeable future of their release & clock is ticking for election.. Just pray for some divine intervention in next few days..
@Asif
I agree with you.
I think to bring our country on democracy is tough struggle but if all of us remained determined than one day (i think very soon) we can achieve this goal.
As we know that that the official idea of Pakistan was put forward in 1940 (off course the struggle for it is started long before it), it took 7 seven years to put in actual dream. During these seven years there always remained some rallys or gathering for the struggle of Pakistan. During that it never happened that all the people of india came on roads (as it is wished by us today in pakistan against the martial law).I think its a constant struggle we have not to give up even after election untill we achive the following goals.
1. Free and fair justice for each pakistani.
2. Free and fair media.
3. Good health and education for each Pakistani.
4. Get rid of Pak army ugly tricks to remain in power.
5. Get rid of secret agencies.
@Faisal
Its long-term struggle & PPP, which took a big U-turn to side with establisment to have a piece of cake.
Currently only PTI has a clear stance, while rest of all are non-political forces lawyers, students, civil society. Thatswhy we have to support IK whose the only politician whose there for the restoration of Judiciary & supermacy of law.
This was posted by someone at orkut..
Musharaf is ill and Dying
I read it on a blog and at first it seems as one of those propaganda against him but once i concentrate on what it said i was amazed. It said that Mush is not only dying politically but also physically. If you saw his latest video interviews or even his speech on 9 Nov you can easily see his “shivering hands, grinding teeth, loss of words. He doesn’t blink his eyes has lost control while speaking and his shoulders have drooped. his tolerance level has become short and the decision he is making show him crumbling from inside. such pathetic decision can only be made by an ill man.
May be the blood he has spill is taking its revenge
Atleast we should be thankful to BB for trying to bring back democracy….all you peaople have tried in last 8 years and didnt get anywhere….PPP is a peaceful party and will bring democracy with peacful means…..AND If you have the guts to through the Generals out then please try……….Guns,killing , blood means nothing to these army peoples ….they are trained for all these things……
Interesting comparison about the Shah of Iran and Mush.
Musharraf and the shah
http://www.iht.com/articles/2007/11/15/opinion/edsick.php
@ gayan khan
‘Atleast we should be thankful to BB for trying to bring back democracy’
Can you please tell us all exactly when BB tried to bring back democracy : ).
she didnt come to APC London bcz she blieved that Mullahs are B Team of Mush…..it proved ….these Mullahs advised NS to comeback to pakistan and when he came they disappeared……one thing i have seen in pakistan that peaople will always say bad things abput PPP and BB …but ppp workers will always talk about goods of their party and dont care what others do…..so you guys should always try to be better than PPP and dont try to bring PPP to your low level……..PPP is goos and bad none of your business….its a political party……its noty in government….we are out pf power since 1996 so dont balme us for all the bad things….you guys had enough time over 10 years to bring change…..but sorry you guys were busy buying mobile phones, opening branded shops in pakisatn and watching indian channells on cable…… Really Sad…..and remember by talking bad about BB and PPP you will never get any support and will never be able to change the mind of even a single PPP worker…..
ASA
All plz watch this:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MH1CeEC-Ok8&feature=related
we are out pf power since 1996 so dont balme us for all the bad things
———————————————
You forgot one thing, you were not just out power but out of Pakistan too.
Being a political party which constructive role you performed during these so many years?
@ gayan khan
‘and remember by talking bad about BB and PPP you will never get any support and will never be able to change the mind of even a single PPP worker’
We dont have to try anything my friend. Your leader and her agendas are enough to fo that
And don’t even get us to start on post 1996 activities of BB. Does SGS/Cotecna ring a bell?
n a nutshell, military presence is everywhere in public life except the army discipline to defend the national sovereignty and integrity. General Musharaf poses as a savior, but his actions make people believe, he is a habitual liar and an egoistic person imposing individual interest and greed over national preferences. Out of nowhere, just to prolong his military dictatorship, he introduced emergency rule while threatened by the Supreme Court of Pakistan that his longing for Presidential re-election will not come true.There is credible evidence that the SWAT issue of Talibans is created by ISI.Army is shelling innocent civilians and claiming that Talibans are killed. I don’t know how come PAKISTAN ARMY is a disciplined institution?. Can come one comment Please
well……and you saw how we greeted our leader when she came back…..all these emergency and x y z things are absolutely nothing…..you call now in pakistan and ask a normal person….he/she is living a perfectly normal life…….let the electin come….our leader was not here in last election but still we got the maximum vote…..
one thing about Chief Justice…….was he stupid….he was interfering in every business of government…….he was tryingto fix 60 years old problem by sitting in his chamber…….I for one do not agree with his interfernce…….These judges were so naive that after defeating MUSH in the 1st decsion they thought they will carry on…..the day judges restore CJ i knew their days are numbered…..the man who can throug a sitting PM who had a two third majority and put him in prison……….fo him these LLB/LLM paper holders are not even a problem…….when CJ was restore , he had the chance to act quickly …he had the chance to stop presidential election….he had the chance to act on Aitzaz petition stop emergency on firday …..but they said we will discuss this on monday……you cant wait for chances all the time…..you have to take them as they come……….now you all can sit and scream….but nothing is gonna happen to MUSH……………
Let us see if NS doesn’t comproimise;
http://www.thenews.com.pk/top_story_detail.asp?Id=11224
@gayan khan
“one thing about Chief Justice…….was he stupid….he was interfering in every business of government”
Nothing he did was extra-constitutional. Period.
@ gayan khan
‘let the electin come….our leader was not here in last election but still we got the maximum vote’
Here we are people. They will participate in the elections and will legitimize everything Mush has done so far. BB’s mission will be fulfilled. $1.5 billion + PM house + $16 billion reserves for her and mr 10% : ).
@gayan khan
You are quite nave abt your BB, shes saying that Iftikhar is the Chief Justice. have a fresh air, you are here just to distract us, nothing else. I can’t help you out.
@Farhan
Very typical of a anti PPP person…..you had ten years to prove cases…what did you do….are you people so incompitent……
many like you are living in the dreams that you will destroy the ppp one day….yo have been trying this since 1977……well…..keep trying……our defence is as good as our attack……
you have failed in last 30 years and we will fail you in next 30 years as well……
P.S you mean not you …..it refers to all anti PPP people
The chief Justice just did his job. He can’t change the course of 60 years, but he performed his duty honestly. Pakistan is a place for dishonests like Mush, Ijazulhaq , Sh Rashid, Ch Wajahat etc
@gayan khan
Nobody is talking about destroying a political party. Come out of your jageer-darana attitude. Disagreeing with a party does not entail its destruction.
disciplined means to see with your seniors eyes not with yours own. And thats what they are doing for 60 years……..
Right now PPP is the only Plitical party that can take Pakistan out of crisis, give ISI give up.
@ gayan khan
she has already been convicted in swiss courts my friend. its not about being anti PPP. its all about facts. and and all your rants and raves cannot change facts. like our friend Asif said..have some fresh air and a glass of water…just chill bro.
I think it’s time to change the status quo of Pak Army. It suited the British very well and it suits people like Gen Mush and 16 choor commanders. WE need a change.
Inahlillah… a poor person dies but rich and beautifuls keep on enjoying the comforts of life.
http://www.thenews.com.pk/daily_detail.asp?id=81548
If you take BB out of picture, then is there anyone to who can take the lead. Qazi and Fazal Ur Rehman are brain childrn of ISI togather with MQM and tops the fortune 100 list in dishonest people. Nawaz is out which leaves the field to Gujrati choudries.
Guys just read your comments about my post……
you are attacking me personally
@Asif
You are quite nave abt your BB.
Have a fresh air
@op
Come out of your jageer-darana attitude
That shows the difference….everyone hates the loyality of ppp worker with its party…..if you cant be loyal to your parties then i feel sorry for you guys….
@jamshed
you are talking facts bro……..hey guys did you like these facts…….appreciated
@ jojo
Its really sad. this is what irks me. these innocent ppl die for nothing. their lives have no meaning to their leadership. what the hell happened to the long march? nothing. their great leader is now acting on negroponte’s instructions.
@Jamshid Khan
I am not against the existance of institution. They do what they are asked to, but for somehow most of our gora-sahab civilians got hold of the office & started using them for their personal interests. So it will take time to get rid of these people & we can achieve our objective only by persistant democratic process.
And we always welcome the guys like IK who is constantly denting the statu quo.
@gayan khan
take a look at your own post first:
“…dont try to bring PPP to your low level…”
@farhan
Why are you relying on our long march….y dont you go out with your own party……whther we are taking Negro’s advise or not…its none of any other party’s problem…..remember we are not in goverment and entitled to take our decisions……
good luck with your struggle to through MUSH out of power……..but trust me it wont happen with PPP help…..
@op
take those words back…….
Thanks, I take mine back, but the fact remains, BB, the chairperson-for-life, is right now, one of the most selfish political leader around (and thats saying a lot since all politicians are scu.m of earth anyway)
@gayan khan
what a democratic party having life time chairperson.
No democracy within party & how you can bring democracy in the country?
Your comments would be apperciated
without PPP help…..
DEDICATED TO ALL Peeplies:::::::
Princess Ferragamo at the Barricades
It’s all about “regime change�
By Mike Whitney
11/15/07 “ICH” — – -It doesn’t take a genius to figure out why the crooked Princess Ferragamo–Benazir Bhutto—has returned to Pakistan. Bhutto’s been traipsing all over Washington trying to garner support from think-tank heavies and establishment powerbrokers to help her stage a political come-back in Islamabad. She even hired a high-powered public relations firm to polish her image so the media wouldn’t focus too much attention on her past transgressions. Allegations of money laundering and corruption have haunted Bhutto ever since she was driven from office in 1996. Last month, General Musharraf cut a deal with Bhutto which freed her from the prospect of criminal prosecution and allowed her to return home. The arrangement ignored the judicial system entirely. The $1.5 billion that she and her husband allegedly “received in a variety of criminal enterprisesâ€? has simply disappeared down the memory hole
@ gayan khan
no one relied on your long march my friend. we all know that your leader’s return is US spornsored. so no hopes from her anyway. she will do what her masters will tell her to do
i mentioned long march ’cause i just read that news about one of your innocent worker died from oct 18 blasts. its a shame so many ppl died there. your top leadership doesn’t give a damn about those ppl.
@asif
Just a piece of information….it was a decision of the party in 1994 to make BB the lifetime chaiorperson….a resolution was passed in a workers meeting at lahore….resolution was presented by Jhangir Badir………..again y you are bothered about our party…its our decision who we make the chairperson………..
@gayan khan
Then why are interested in elections in Pakistan.
Madcow is lifetime president
@ Asif
the only interest in getting back to power is $16 billion reserves. mr 10% can’t even sleep these days.
@farhan
You are on target.
Hes here just to have fun, no correlation in his thoughts.
BREAKING NEWS AND VIEWS FROM NWFP PAKISTAN SENT BY A VERY RELIABLE SOURCE IN THE AREA
The situation in NWFP is different than the rest of pakistan. Here it is the issue of rising & fastly spreading Talibanization while in rest of Pakistan the issue is political.Though both are linked but here the risks are high.In swat,after capturing kabal,khwazakhel & Mata Tehsils,taliban have moved to district Shangla & took control of the whole distric.Now they are heading toward BATAGRAM on one side & BUNAIR on the other side.The seriousness of the situation is that the security forces are not willing to fight them.Now Darra-Adamkhel(on the way to Kohat city),Bara Tehsil(Suberbs of Peshawar) & some areas in Mohmand Agency are also in the hands of millitants & IT LOOKS LIKE PESHAWAR IS BEING ENCIRCLED. Few days ago three messiles were fired in Cantonment area of Peshawar,one fell in the backyard of Basheer Bilor’s House(ANP leader & former minister).In the rest of pakistan there is anti Musharraf & pro democracy movement which is gaining mometum day by day.IT LOOKS MORE LIKELY NOW THAT MUSHARRAF WILL HAVE TO GO OTHERWISE PAKISTAN WILL BREAK INTO PIECES(God forbid). THE SOONER HE GOES THE BETTER IT WILL BE FOR PAKISTAN.
please read imran khan’s sister’s statment.
http://www.khabrain.com/htmls/pg13.htm
@Mr. Eye Opener
ope your eyes 1st.
what is the problem if bb is life time chairperson. she is most telented political leader in pakistan she is the only one know through out the world as a politision. she lost her father brothers and lots more she fight againest the dectatorship since she lost her father, she have every reason to be a life time chairperson. ppp workers and members didnt have problem with this then what is a problem with all you guys.
you guys are ppp haters and you will find excuses to blame ppp but trust me that will not harm our party and we will remain loyal to our party.
dont not mean to heart anyone. we all have right to choose so please no hard feelings. give respect and take respect.
@ Mr. Eye Opener.
‘Compare to these two crooks President Musharaaf looks a saint’
dont count your chickens so soon bro. once Mush’s stint is over we’ll know how much he grabbed from national treasure : ). not to mention he leadership. the man has brought the country on brink of civil war. he is not a saint.
Whatever is happening in frontier is very very sad & MMA was the sole power over their for last 5 years, its all due to them.
What my perception is that they are also fighting for justice. And madcow is the worst enemy of justice.
@ tuffy
sorry bro. cannot respect someone who robbed the nation’s $1.5 billion and still want more. i personally know mr 10%’s adventures so can’t agree with you.
@ Toheed
JazakaAllah b khair brother. There can be nothing beautiful and profound than reading, listening and watching about Propher peace be upon him.
@tuffy
Bro my question is still their being the biggest(as per your claims) political force, what your party have done after 1996 for the development of Pakistan?
@ Asif
dont blame them bro. after 1996, the leadership was too busy buying properties, jewellery, hiding money all over the world.
Brothers & sisters
Please think beyond party politics and have a positive & mature discussion about the future of Pakistan. We need to try to take our country out of this chaotic situation.
IF ALL THIS IS HAPPENING TO PROLONG THE RULE OF ONE PERSON THEN IT IS VERY SAD. SIMILAR SITUATION HAS BROKEN PAKISTAN IN THE PAST AND WE NEED TO STOP IT HAPPENING AGAIN.
PAKISTAN ZINDABAD
By David Pallister
Guardian UK
Hoping for a third term, Benazir Bhutto, twice kicked out of government for corruption and incompetence, have been thrown into turmoil by the emergency rule. But her ambitions ultimately still depend on whether the amnesty on her corruption charges, granted to her last month by the national reconciliation ordinance, will be upheld in the new supreme court.
Bhutto and her husband, Asif Ali Zardari – nicknamed Mr 10% over alleged extortion – faced eight counts of taking tens of millions of dollars in illegal kickbacks. But whatever decision the court arrives at, the couple also have to contend with money laundering proceedings in Switzerland and Spain, and a civil case in London involving an expensive Surrey mansion.
As the president’s ordinance only deals with offences up to 1999, investigations in Pakistan could continue into allegations that the pair paid about $2m in illegal kickbacks to Saddam Hussein under the oil-for-food programme.The controversy surrounding Bhutto’s financial affairs has been compounded by reports showing she and her family have worldwide assets worth about 90bn Pakistan rupees ($1.5bn). Despite voluminous evidence, some from the British government, the Bhuttos deny all the charges.
The charges
Among the charges in Pakistan are allegations that the Bhuttos skimmed $2m in commissions from a 1990s deal to buy thousands of duty-free Ursus tractors from Poland. The money went into a Swiss bank account. Christine Junod, a Geneva magistrate, says documentary evidence “establishes beyond doubt that these commissions, under the cover of alleged consultancy fees, were meant to remunerate the illicit advantages obtained by Ursus from the Pakistani administration, thanks to the interventions of Asif Zardari�.
A second case involves a Dubai-based Pakistani gold bullion dealer who allegedly paid $10m to a Bhutto company in the British Virgin Islands for the exclusive right to import gold, again losing the country millions of dollar in duties. Zardari, who has served six years on corruption charges, is also accused of evading duties on the import of a £55,000 armoured BMW.
A fourth case, involving Swiss banks, is moving towards a trial in Geneva. In this the couple are accused of taking kickbacks for the award of contracts to two Swiss firms employed to stop customs fraud. In 2003 a Swiss magistrate found the couple guilty, sentenced them to six months in prison and ordered them to pay $12m back to the Pakistan government.
The paper trail connecting Benazir Bhutto to the case started with a moment of extravagance. Five years before, she had bought a £117,000 diamond necklace in London; part of that was paid for by one of the Swiss firms identified in the investigation. Lawyers for the Bhuttos challenged the judgment, a move that required the case be reopened. Last month the Swiss authorities said they would go ahead.
Oil-for-food scandal
The authoritative Volker report into the oil-for-food scandal identified the company Petroline FZC as having received oil contracts worth £145m in return for paying illicit surcharges to Iraq of $2m. Pakistan’s national accountability bureau has produced documents which show that Bhutto was the company chairwoman. Some of the profits went to firms in Spain, where another criminal investigation into money laundering is still active.
Rockwood House
The Surrey mansion, Rockwood House, was bought in 1995, apparently owned through a chain of firms and trusts, involving addresses in the Isle of Man, Jersey and Liechtenstein. Zardari denied, for eight years, that he was the owner despite instructing a builder with plans for a helipad, nine-hole golf course and polo pony paddock. Crates of valuable artefacts were shipped from Karachi. In 2004, when creditors forced the property into a liquidation sale, the Pakistani government claimed the proceeds. Lawyers for Zardari then appeared, claiming he was the beneficial owner.
The money from the sale is still in the liquidators’ bank account, though a high court judge said the Pakistani government had a reasonable case, stating the money came via corruption. The case continues through the courts with Zardari repeatedly claiming to be too ill to mount a rebuttal.
David Pallister
http://www.guardian.co.uk/pakistan/Story/0,,2209505,00.html
BB and Zardari’s corruption stories are beaten to death. but her follower close their eyes even after she is convicted by a swiss court : ).
@R.Chand
Take care of golden temple………that shows how bold you are…….
http://jang.com.pk/jang/nov2007-daily/19-11-2007/col3.htm
Respectable writers are still passing thru the shock&awe of IJT&JI………
Seems that IJT and JI had miscalculated IK’s poluparity:
http://thepost.com.pk/CityNewsT.aspx?dtlid=129505&catid=3
IK should distance himself from these rouge parties.
please read this statment by imran khan’s sister,
http://www.moveforjustice.org/News/tabid/60/articleType/ArticleView/articleId/569/Govt-cant-stop-Imrans-movement-Aleema.aspx
@Amir Hameed
the abuse of power makes mad & thatswat happened to IJT&JI.
Why UAE had to surrender under pressure of Mush,The answer is simple,it does not want to loose its investment in pakistan that is in billions.
Read this article:
http://news.monstersandcritics.com/southasia/news/article_1374431.php/Global_media_watch_urges_Dubai_to_lift_ban_on_Pakistan_channels
then read this one:
The UAE is Pakistan’s second largest global trading partner and it is also second largest source of home remittances from Pakistan expatriates.
Pakistan’s trade with UAE has doubled during the last five years. Bilateral trade between the UAE and Pakistan reached US$2.5 billion (Dh9.1 billion) last year, which includes US$1.5 billion (Dh5.5 billion) worth of exports from the UAE to Pakistan.
Pakistan attracted US$1 billion (Dh3.67 billion) in foreign direct investment (FDI) last year. “This include US$130 million FDI [Dh477 million] from the UAE.
UAE has very significant investment in Pakistan both at the governmental and private sector levels. Dubai Emmar Properties has invested in Pakistan. Warid telecom has invested in the Telecom sector and Abu Dhabi Group has bought banks in Pakistan such as Al Falah and united Bank Limited. The more investor of UAE also going to avail the invest opportunities in Pakistan sectors such as mineral development, oil and gas, information technology, agro-based industry, housing and tourism.
A prolonged ban on student unions put the students into deep slumber. The flow of ideas, which was once common in the large public sector universities, was stopped. In 1980s charters of new universities were given in the private sector. They were dubbed as elite universities where students would get education in ivory towers. These ivory towers remained isolated from and unconcerned with realities of life at societal level. But this passive image of the elite universities was to change after the recent announcement of emergency in Pakistan.
http://thenews.jang.com.pk/daily_detail.asp?id=81486
The writer is a professor and director of Centre for Humanities & Social Sciences at Lahore School of Economics.
“As stubborn as a mule” rite!!! aaaaannnn wrong!!! “As stubborn as Mush”
http://www.nytimes.com/2007/11/18/world/asia/18pakistan.html?ref=world
musharraf must be hang till death with other generals napak army murdabad,pakistan zindabad
Our new care taker prime minister has a history of being a competitor,U must be wondering what does he compete for,No he doesnt compete to end poverty,he compete wid other politician on whos got the best Car.please give more taxes cause he might ask again.
http://www.dailytimes.com.pk/default.asp?page=2006%5C04%5C05%5Cstory_5-4-2006_pg1_7
Facebookers and bloggers fight Pakistan emergency
* ‘We Oppose Emergency in Pakistan’ biggest Facebook protest group from Pakistan
ISLAMABAD: Defying a growing crackdown on dissent by President Pervez Musharraf, young Pakistanis are using blogs and social networking sites such as Facebook to hit back at a state of emergency.
Plans for “flash” protests in Islamabad, Karachi, Lahore and other cities are being posted at the last minute to skirt a ban on all political rallies under repressive emergency laws.
Full article http://afp.google.com/article/ALeqM5i64vTXHkRTFOIpXrpl843N6QpPtw
Salute to a great hero CJP Mr.Iftikhar Muhammad Chaudhry
http://www.thenews.com.pk/top_story_detail.asp?Id=10566
Just for a food of thought
If we are denied basic rights in Pakistan, If we are to be ruled by NaPak Army aginst our free will, then what was the fun of making an independent state Pakistan. What do you think. Are’nt there muslims living in India. They may have some socio economical problems but dont we have?
Please leave your comments.
@gayan khan
“one thing about Chief Justice…….was he stupid….he was interfering in every business of government�
So why did BB make “restoration of judges” a part of her demands?
@Shahzad Gohar
“Can some one comment on the Pak Army as an institution. How come we claim that it’s a disciplined institution???????????????”
It’s disciplined in being corrupt to the core; it’s disciplined in its involvement in politics and efforts to destabilize democratic system as pointed out by Imran Malik above; it’s disciplined in conquering as much local territory as possible; its disciplined in constantly meddling in elections, torturing people, serving their foreign masters, failing every military campaign, etc.
@ (fake)Imran Qureshi
please don’t test our patience.
We love Pakistan. Creation of Pakistan was 100% right.
This is OUR struggle. If there is something wrong, we need to make it right so that the dream of our founders come true.
If a theif is occupying our house that doesn’t mean we shouldn’t have made that house.
@Imran Qureshi
As an istitution I am not against Army. Its about the mentality that took over after the creation of Pakistan.
We have to get rid of that mentality(its present in our elite class in general), they started abusing all the institutions for their personal interests, resulting in corruption in these institutions at the top level.
And IK is denting at the metality of this elite class with or without uniform.
@Imran Malik
“The role of spy agencies is deplorable in Pakistan.”
Speaking of deplorable role of ISI: Did you folks come across the news yesterday of Journalist Hyayullah Khan’s wife being killed by a bomb blast? The report said her five kids “miraculously” survived the blast. This should give you an idea of how deplorable these guys are.
For those who don’t remember Hayatullah Khan let me just say his crime was reporting that in fact it was a missile strike from a US drone in Waziristan and not a random bomb blast that had killed Hamza Rabia as Pak Army claimed. And he took pictures at the scene to prove his story. For this he was abducted and six months later, on Friday, June 16, 2006, his body was found. He had been handcuffed and appeared to have been shot from behind.
Please do read “Lesson from ISI’s killing of a Journalist in Pakistan” at
http://www.icssa.org/article_detail_parse.php?a_id=835&pg=1&rel=873,871,863,738,887,886,877,876,870
To All
Please keep eye on our Indian friends who keep providing us ‘food for thought’ about creation of Pakistan and ‘soul searching’ on Islam. They use different IDs but often ask ‘please comment’ (it shows that they are dumb as well). Their ‘please comment’ wants us to divert our attention.
India was lucky not to inherit ‘army making devisions’ from partition and this kept them a democracy. India was also lucky that their founder Nehru survived and rules for decades. Otherwise the calibre of their comments seems very strange to me. Not one of their columnists I have seen who is as good as our top columnists (from Dawn and other quality papers/magazines).
i miss u dr shahid masood ,hamid mir and most important geo news media is being always neutral but i want to say to ansar abbasi to be neutral most of times he is not neutral but as pk govt says wefree the media and is our acheivement so any body can express his views so abasi is also right bec 1973 act of pk says everyone is free to express his views as far as the govt says geo is against pk this is rediculous geo and ary are always doing programes for the interest of pk so pl baba musharaf free the media and face the reality and especialy free imran khan aitzaz ehsan and
The dictator must GO. The Americans are just putting a show but in secret they are helping Mushrarraf who is killing his own people.
The people of Pakistan must unite and get rid of this Foreign agent.
GO MUSHARRAF GO.
@farhan
-@ tuffy
-sorry bro. cannot respect someone who robbed -the nation’s $1.5 billion and still want more. -i personally know mr 10%’s adventures so can’t -agree with you.
Let’s remember she did not rob the nation of $1.5 billion. This is the money she POCKETED.
It is an important distinction because what she robbed the nation of was A LOT MORE. Even if we assume the figure of 10%, she robbed the nation of $15 billion.
As an analogy, say a thief breaks by car window (cost $200) and my dashboard (say cost $900) to steal my stereo ($500) and sells it on the street for $100.
So, sure, the thief made a $100. But what did it cost the victim? At least $1600.
Another example: Let’s say an unnecessary $2 billion plane deal was made. Not only did the country did not need it, the actual cost of planes was $500 million. Commision on these deals is never more than 3% so about $6,000,000. So to pocket $6,000,000, $2 Billion of nations wealth is squandered. But wait — Let’s not forget about the interest. Since the terms are “favorable” you will only end up paying $3 billion in interest over 10 years. So total cost of that $6,000,000 pocketed in this case would be $5 Billion…
And I am not even looking at the “maintenance and spares” part of the contract…
thanks throwing the light on the hidden cost in detail
I also liked the GEO News Channel. I liked it while it was there but for the good of this country if there were conflicts of interests between the Government and the Geo News Channel, I am happily foregoing my wish to see Geo.
I am getting even now very good news and all kinds of views from various other television channels of Pakistan.
I am not from the government and neither do I speak on behalf of the government. As an independent observer I noticed that this government tried to do only what is good for Pakistan. The Ministers of this govt behaved as humble servants of the people of Pakistan.
Despite all this an arrogant opposition of the past days again emerged on the scene and tried to derail the government, and with it the whole system of governance. That in my view is a jealous opposition, an opportunistic opposition and an unpatriotic opposition.
Any pillar of the state that helps such an opposition immediately becomes a party to those elements that are working against the welfare of this country. Any small body that belongs to any of the three pillars, if found participating in activities detrimental to the independence of the State then has to be dealt with severely. However this government has never been severe but has always dealt in a very lucid, rational and friendly manner.
This government never in five or 8 years harassed or persecuted any one, unless there were good reasons and the person was really asking for it by indulging in anti-state activities.
I feel that Geo should give up its aggressive and confrontational path- its hostile and haughty lord-of-the-media approach.
It is our duty to get behind the government and give it a helping hand. Those of us who understand what can bring progress to this country actually will do exactly that.
They are there in the government because it is there time, which they have earned with difficulty and hard work. They will not allow others to impede and threaten them. Naturally they will act to stop those who will try to destabilize them.
Therefore, it is in the common interest that Geo stops acting up and starts a better approach, which can lead to peace for all.
Please tell the source of GEO news, I mean from where are they telecasting and ask the GEO people or any anchor person that you know, what infact has happen.
Geo Channel’s programs were not as vindictive as BOLTA PAKISTAN of AAJ NEWS Channel was, or Kashif Abbasi and Ayaz Amir’s programs on ARY ONE WORLD.
Kamran Khan is brilliant. JAWABDEH was okay and so was Hamid Mir’s CAPITAL TALK. But Dr Shahid Masood in his “MERAY MUTABIQ” was very insinuating. That was certainly not on, to have outrightly indulged in such a blame-game.
Bolta Pakistan tried to get selected speakers alone, and invited the worst of the abusers, who would swear the best, like Roedad or Aitzaz. I HATE THESE 2 CHAPS. I HATE THEM. I HATE Roedad and Aitzaz. They are two senile man. One more is Wajihuddin.
They are the ones who are old and haggard, and frustrated. Then they have the cheek to say that Musharraf is old. How dare the haggard speak? Is it about themselves?
All this was nothing but sensationalism, and for the cheap thrills.
NO MORE RESPECTABLE MEDIA.
@Jena
“Kamran Khan is brilliant.”
Thanks for the insight into your brilliant mind.
“All this was nothing but sensationalism, and for the cheap thrills.”
I guess you did not notice that the only person using sensationalism and cheap thrills on Geo was Kamran Khan. But I guess brilliant minds think like that.
“NO MORE RESPECTABLE MEDIA.”
Agreed. Now why would ANYONE want respectable media???
P.S. Do you really comprehend what you are saying?
@ jina
plz stop it already.u r not convincing anyone here with your 100 ft long messages.we all know what it was about, mush’s dictatorship has an ugly face and he didn’t like the mirror so he broke it
I also liked the Geo News. I got the cheap thrills too seeing some programs on Geo and ARY ONE WORLD while they were there. But I am not missing them at all, because deep down I did not like it one bit, when they purposely invited the worst of the abusers from the opposition parties to say the worst of the things about the President of Pakistan. This President is the most genuine man Pakistan has had. He works very hard for this country.
It is unfortunate that this is a backward country where there are people who have absolutely no depth to understand the truth- to understand what is good for them and what is harmful for them. They are the people who are run by their empty emotions, which are of no significance. They just do cheap politics at the expense of this country.
These are the people responsible in keeping this country as bad as in the stone ages. They are empty scatterbrains, but by design to harm this nation, they get behind some political leader, and come in the forefront politicising the whole thing.
They do not cooperate with the government. Instead they portray they are just as important. They first finger, next oppose, then rebel, finally hurt.
Every now and then some heroes- sometime in the judiciary and sometime in the media emerge, who try to assert their importance, forgetting their limitations, and want to become the government themselves. They want to push the govt aside and rule themselves.
In my view they are disgraceful, appalling, dishonorable and detestable people. They are sleazy, vile, base and low. They are miscreants who try to disrupt the peace of the whole society. They are directly responsible in taking this country down the drain.
They are the people who go and beg from the countries, who are in reality our enemies. They place the enemies on a pedestal, to feel free to decide the fate of Pakistan and the downtrodden who are seeking their help. And when they do decide on their fate, is actually when comes bigger miseries and the actual misfortunes, the wretched suffering, the gloom and the depression.
This depression gets firmly entrenched in a muslim land never to go. The enemy succeeds.
All because of the stupidities of this land’s own people.
@jina
Thank you. We’re all refreshed and challenged by your unique point of view.
I’m not being rude but it takes a special talent to humiliate yourself in public.
You sound reasonable but please understand you’re just insignificant.
Time to up the medication.
@Jina,
“…I am not from the government and neither do I speak on behalf of the government…”
Well, you tried your best to lie about your impartiality but if one looks at the way you have described things, taken side of the government, it is easy to tell that you are representative of this government which is run by a scumbag, named Mush or alias Bush’s poodle or his lap-dog.
@ Jina
You are simply brilliant. I see everything now, the whole “army shouldnt rule, and army gets too much of the budget with no info on where it goes” and the whole “innocents that die up north no questions asked” and the whole “arrest anyone” and the whole “president and army chief are the same person” counts to nothing because of your brilliant arguments. Especially your attack on Aitezaz and Wajihuddin. Ive finally seen the light, in that there is none.
@Jina,
“…I am not from the government and neither do I speak on behalf of the government…�
Well, you tried your best to lie about your impartiality but if one looks at the way you have described things, taken side of the government, it is easy to tell that you are representative of this government.
How come the ‘pillars of free speech’ who were all yakety-yak, 24/7 in channels like GEO and ARY ONE are almost invisible in street protests against media gagging in Pakistan? Where is Hamid Mir, Iftikhar, Kamran Khan, Talat, Javed Malik, and PJ Mir? Sorry if I may have inadvertently missed their regular attendance in these ‘country-wide” protests, but if someone can kindly direct me to a pic or website showing the participation of these great freedom of media leaders, I will be grateful!
@G-FORCE,
If you have looked closely at some of the videos of protesting journalists , you whould have spotted Hamid Mir. Also, when police came to confiscate the outdoor van of Aaaj, Talat and Minhas were seen arguing with them. So, they are there and just because you could not see them does not mean that they disappeared.
@Jamiat Media Front,
Whatever happened with IK was pre-planned and both JIT and JI were in cahoots in it. So, both the parties are now trying to run a face-saving campaign but masks have now come off and people can see their chronic and ugly faces.
Dear Brother Amir
It was a mistake by some of our affiliated students whose memberships are already been canceled. We are the front line warriors in the war against this corrupt system. We condemn any effort to divide the students
May Allah swt accept the repentance of Islami Jamiat talba.
I know people will not accept it though! because they don’t have the ability of being Ghaffar uzunoob and Qabilutob.
But, I like the way Imran Khan is dealing this situation!! He and Qazi sahib is proving that they both have human characteristics and basic leadership qualities.
I have witnessed on this forum, that how our brothers react and respond to any news. There are emotions filled with hate and extremism…they will not move on!!! They will live in the painful moment, and they keep remind every one about the mistakes of Jamat and Jamiat. They will not let go!!
What Jamiat has done with Imran khan was very painful, but, thank God , they accept the mistake, and that is what we need!! We don’t see this attitude of Hazrat Aadam AS in our nation. Our president, a common man, politician or very smart intellectuals on this forum… no one accept the mistake.
It takes a lot of courage to say “my mistake” and “I am sorry”
I am really sorry if I hurt anyone’s feelings, but it is my humble opinion, and I hope that all of us should behave more maturely and decently. Instead of pointing fingers towards each other, please think of our country.
Wassalam,
Missing Pakistan
@ Jamiat Media Front
Thanks for sharing the news. Its encouraging that Jamiat is showing regret on this heinous and disgraceful act by some of its members but as shaer says;
kee mairay qatl kay ba’ad us nay jafa say toba
Haye us zood e pashemaan ka pashemaan hona
I think Nazim e Ala mohtaram brother Nasrullah should personally apologize from Imran Khan, his family, members of Tehreek e Insaaf and students community. Indeed it was a great loss. However its always better to learn from mistakes and accept responsibility & repent.
May Allah show all of us the right path. Ameen.
@Jamiat Media Front,
I wish I could believe you but I am not going to and one of the reasons is that I have seen JIT very closely when I was a student of a professional institute in Lahore.
Dear Jamiat Media Front:
It is good to see that you acccept the betrayal and recognize the shameful behaviour with one of Pakistan’s heroes of some of your fellow goons.
Now show some class and humility and publicly invite and welcome Imran Khan to Punjab Univ once he is released from jail.
Hello,
This is an interesting observation I made. Please take a look and comment if you will.
http://destogate.wordpress.com/2007/11/19/media-in-pakistan-an-interesting-observation/
Thanks.
Pakistani:
Geo is part of Jung Group… So as not to confuse, that means Geo News and Geo Super too.
Hello,
I just have received some updates and they are on the blog once again:
http://destogate.wordpress.com/2007/11/19/media-in-pakistan-an-interesting-observation/
@Jamiat Media Front
Why are IJT guys STILL threatening and trying to intimidate PU students? Hasn’t this always been your way? For example:
IJT has threatened to kill me, alleges PU professor
http://www.interface.edu.pk/students/Oct-07/IJT-PU-professor.asp
Activests of IJT dispersed: PU book fair
http://www.dawn.com/2006/05/20/nat29.htm
Pakistani minister defies fatwa over hug
http://in.news.yahoo.com/070411/43/6eed6.html
“Various Deans presented the resume of the situation regarding the humiliation and insult of teachers by Islami Jamait Talba activists.”
http://www.pu.edu.pk/press/press_release-19-may-06.asp
There are hundreds such examples…
@Pakistani
Please stop these attempts to promote your blog. Agreed it look pretty but wheres the content? If you have one of your “updates” please post it HERE instead of begging people to come to your blog. They really get upset when after the effort they find the update or observation being completely useless or old news…
Perhaps you are right nota. I apologize. But I do not really have a need to promote my blog as it is afterall a personal sphere. I do however have important updates which Pakistanis want to know. Unforunately, I read this post too late so this will be the last direct link to my blog from then on, updates will be posted here.
There are more updates, http://destogate.wordpress.com/2007/11/19/media-in-pakistan-an-interesting-observation/
This again is a minor update. I apologize for having continously posting the URL but I believe you will appreciate, nota, that the information is valid and important.
Oh and Nota, I did not know Geo is part of Jang. Thank you very very much for the information, I honestly really appreciate it
Is The News part of the Jang Group as well?
BB at it again? See
Did Benazir meet Musharraf?
http://thepakistaninewspaper.com/news_detail.php?id=10243
KARACHI, Nov 18: The presence of President Gen Pervez Musharraf and the PPP Chairperson Benazir Bhutto in the city has given rise to strong rumours of a secret meeting between the two. However, neither PPP circles nor government officials were available to confirm any such story.
….
The officials said that the president had some other engagements which were not official and pointed out that President Musharraf invariably met old friends and colleagues whenever he was in the city.
@pakistani
Yes. The News also is part of Jung Group. sigh!
I think wsws.org put it correctly:
US envoy lauds Pakistani dictator’s “democratic vision�
http://www.wsws.org/articles/2007/nov2007/pak-n19.shtml
I think this meeting is just khanapuri to show negroponte that his orders are being carried out.BB wont do any deal.If she does this will be the end of her politically.
Dear Jamiat Media Group
You say now you would welcome him. Its no use now because you gave this dictator what he wanted at that particular time. You sabotaged his stroggle and helped the dictator to take the steam out of the agitation and now that you have got such a severe backlash you are afraid that your days are over as an organization.
You guys behaved just like Fazlu and company who did dissolve teh assembly but just at that time when it could vote for President Musharraf. There was no use of dissolving the assembly after that.
So it is not the act which is more important but the timing also. After giving such a severe blow to the movement now you say you would welcome him. I think it would be biggest mistake on part of Imran or anyone to trust you guys.
As for dividing students you have hold only in PU and thats all. No other college or university accepts you and that would be the fact.
1. BB meets Musharraf in Karachi on Saturday night ?
2. Musharraf going to SA to meet Nawaz Sharif?
3. Goveremnt softens regarding judges – AG Qayuum says that the judges who did not take oath can claim retirement benefits
4. Mushaaraf says he is happy with Negorpoten visit and US is 200 percent behind him
5. Fazlu ready to take part in elections under PCO
SO GUYS WHAT IS GOING ON ?
To Jamiat Media Group
You know what is the punishment of stabbing your own people in middle of war or struggle – Read Surah Anfal – the punishment is not removal the punishement is death.
Jamiat stabbed Imran and not only that it stabbed its own Jamat and caused irreperalbe damage. In a way by doing that you furthered the agenda of those forces who are fighting against Muslims all over the world. How can you guys be trusted?
@missing_pakistan
It takes real courage to say sorry, but that sorry should be meaningful and should lead to some change in the attitude. Would if Musharraf say sorry of his past deeds, be accepted… I don’t think so, a president has to be a mature and a responsible person. Even if he says sorry on his past deeds, he has made 130 million people to suffer, rest of the 30 million don’t bother to know.
I think there is a great responsibility on IJT if they really feel sorry of what they have actually done to Imran Khan. Just because of them, a score of people were disappointed to not find their leader among them. And later his family was treated in a manner not worth mentioning at any forum. I know IJT is not responsible for any misconduct in the whole world, but this bad treatment was just because of their act, and I think simply saying sorry does not show enough. They have to unite with the suffering party to break the locks of the jail… I know IJT is strong enough after all they have a state within state.
Heard the comments on the arrest of the Imran Khan, the IJT spokesman said ‘He should have asked permission from the union (IJT). No one invited him. He 5imran Khan tried to distract our crowd’. This is shear non-sense. A non-political party does not need crackers to attract people to their ideology. IJT should change its mode of action to impose Islam only on others…. while they don’t want themselves to be a follower of it.
Head of Punjab University is an equal disappointment. I wonder when all unions got banned under military vice chancellor in almsot all universites, how IJT still exist. Doesn’t it mean they represent somehow administration.
This is how Guardian is alling it:
US envoy to Musharraf returns home with nothing
http://www.guardian.co.uk/international/story/0,,2213108,00.html
Monday November 19, 2007
The Guardian
A special US mission to the embattled Pakistan president Pervez Musharraf ended in failure yesterday, and the Bush administration is inceasingly alarmed about the possible collapse of the government. There are also fears that its nuclear weapons could end up in the hands of Islamist extremists.
I DONOT BELIEVE IN JAMIAT’S EXPLANATION.
IF JAMIAT IS SINCERE THEN THEY SHOULD TAKE FOLLOWING STEPS, SO PEOPLE CAN TRUST THEM:
1. PUBLICALLY,PUNISH THOSE WHO HAVE DONE THE CRIME.
2.THEY SHOULD ALL APOLOGISE TO IK IN PUBLIC AND INVITE HIM AGAIN WITH HONOR TO PU.
3. IT IS THEIR RESPONSIBILITY TO BRING OUT IK FROM JAIL IMMEDIATELY AT ANY COST.
4. THEY SHOULD PUBLICALLY ANNOUNCE THAT THEY WILL NEVER REPEAT THE SAME OFFENSE.
5. THEY WILL COVER ALL THE FINANCIAL LOSSES THAT MIGHT HAPPEN TO IK DUE TO THEIR SHAMEFUL ACT.
MIGHT SOMEONE WANNA ADD ANY OTHER POINT TO MY PRVIOUS 5 POINTS.
@Jamiat Media Group:
If you admit what you did was WRONG, then why not let the PU students take out a rally against IJT at PU? Why look for a confrontation??
Police on guard to avert PU clash
By Mansoor Malik
http://www.dawn.com/2007/11/19/nat4.htm
LAHORE, Nov 18: The Punjab government has prepared a security plan with an understanding to send police to the Punjab University new and old campuses on the call of its administration to avert any collision among students representing the Jamiat and anti-Jamiat groups on Monday (today).
The PU students are all set to hold a mass protest rally against the Islami Jamiat Tulaba on the third consecutive day as they are highly charged against it for its widely-condemned action of manhandling and handing over of PTI chief Imran Khan to police on Wednesday last.
The IJT activists, who remained conspicuously absent from the university campus the very next day, had shown up with a 150-student rally against President Gen Pervez Musharraf for imposing emergency and promulgation of Provisional Constitution Order in the country on Friday.
Fearing a clash between the two groups during protest for having intelligence reports that both groups will be equipped with arms, the governor/chancellor had asked the PU administration to close the university on Monday.
6. THEY SHOULD BRING OUT IK FROM JAIL WITHIN 3 DAYS FROM TODAY, OTHERWISE JAMIAT SHOULD SIT WITH FAZLU AND EAT SWEATS FROM THE GOV.
JAMIAT + FAZLU = HACKLE AND JACKLE ( HAJOOJ MAJOOJ)
Newsflash:
Amin Fahim takes back his application in the SC against Mush’s candidacy
Source: Aaj and GEO
Dear Chussain/Babu
We respect your feelings. We have taken immediate actions and we will take more as well.
LAHORE: Newly-appointed Islami Jamiat Talaba (IJT) Nazim Atiqur Rehman Sunday said that manhandling of Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf Chief Imran Khan on the Punjab University premises was a government-hatched conspiracy aimed at disrupting the unity of students.
He said that the report of an IJT enquiry committee had proved that it was a government’s conspiracy. The enquiry committee also sought apology for the national leader.
Earlier, IJT PU Nazim Muhammad Ayub submitted his resignation in a meeting of the executive body. After this, Atiqur Rehman was appointed new IJT PU nazim while Haris was named secretary general.
The IJT had also cancelled the membership of about five members due to the incident.
After his nomination, Atiqur Rehman said the Jamiat would correct the mistake at every cost and would accord a warm welcome to Imran on his release to undo the wrong. “IJT seeks a pardon from the PTI chief, journalists, the masses and the nation for a mistake that was did by it,” he said.
Nota, if the news and geo are part of jang group, don’t you think that the concentration of Jang’s opinion across the media are a sign of media propaganda?
JAMIAT IS STILL A PART OF MMA.
MMA= MIXED MIRACH ACHAR
MMA= MUFTA MIXED ACHAR
MMA= MUNAFIQ MOLVIS ALLIANCE
MMA= MOTTAY MOLVIS ALLIANCE
MMA= MORE MORE ANDDA-HALWA
MMA= MUKK MUKKAO AARAM-SA
MMA= MIL-KAR MARRAY AAWAM
MMA= METHA MUSTE AARAM
MMA= (NA-MUTAHIDDA) (NA-MAJLIS) (NA-AAMAL)
Wow
What a great nation
I salute IJT for taking reasonable actions for their misconduct.
aaiiye haath uThaaye.n ham bhii
ham jinhe.n rasm-e-dua yaad nahii.n
ham ji.nhe.n soz-e-mohabbat ke siwaa
koii but, koii Khudaa yaad nahii.n
aaiiye arz guzare.n ki nigaar-e-hastii
zahar-e-imaroz me.n shiiriinii-e-fardaa.N bhar de
jinakii aa.Nkho.n ko ruKh-e-subh kaa yaaraa bhii nahii.n
unakii raato.n me.n koii shamaa munawwar kar de
jinake qadamo.n ko kisii rah kaa sahaaraa bhii nahii.n
unakii nazaro.n pe koii raah ujaagar kar de
jinakaa dii.n pairavii-e-kazbo-riyaa hai unako
himmat-e-kufr mile, jurat-e-tahaqiiq mile
jinake sar mu.ntazir-e-teG-e-jafaa hai.n unako
dast-e-qatil ko jhaTak dene kii taufiiq mile
ishq kaa sarr-e-nihaa.N jaan-tapaa.N hai jis se
aaj iqaraar kare.n aur tapish miT jaaye
harf-e-haq dil me.n KhaTakataa hai jo ka.NTe kii tarah
aaj izahaar kare.n or Khalish miT jaaye
I think Qazi hussain ahmed is a reasonable person but i dont think all of his jamiat is under his control.he needs to organise his party and take out the black sheep which bring a bad name to everyone.
but i dont like maulana fazl one bit.he is a chameleon and just looking for kursi.
- Wajihuddin’s petition dimissed by the new SC.
- BB meeting Negroponte
@kruman
didnt negroponte already leave
@Pakistani
Yes. But keep in mind there were laws on book against for the very same reason. But laws were changed at the behest of groups like Dawn and Jung, etc. Is cross ownership good? Certainly not in the public interest so I do accuse their owners of putting private interest before that of public — something Mush is guilty of as well. Let me also mention scum like Najam Sethi and his Daily Times/BusinessPlus venture. He has always kissed every dictator’s *ss and now become part of Mush government through his protege Mubashar Lucman — so called “journalist” — accepting a ministerial position in the Punbaj interim cabinet.
But this is happening all over the world. Even in US where there are hundreds of channels, thousands of magazines and newspapers, there are only about six media owners left giving birth to the term “mainstream media (MSM)” which no one trusts any more. It has given rise to people like Rupert Murdoch whose media empire stretches all across the globe, filling it with filth like FoxNews and Sky…
@ JAMIAT MEDIA FRONT
1. MY FRIEND: WHOLE JAMIAT WAS SLEEPING WHEN FIVE OF ITS MEMBERS WERE COMMITING CRIMES IN FRONT OF EVERY ONE. WHY OTHERS DID NOT STOP THEM.
2. MY FRIEND: WHEN YOU INVITE SOMEONE THEN IT IS YOUR RESPONSIBILITY TO PROTECT THAT SOMEONE AT ANY COST.
3. EVERYONE KNEW THAT GOV. AND AGENCIES ARE AFTER HIS ARREST, WHAT STEPS HAD BEEN TAKEN BY JAMIAT IN ANTICIPATION TO ENSURE HIS SAFETY?
4. MY FRIEND: THE GREAT DAMAGE HAS BEEN DONE.
IT WILL NOT UNDO EVERYTHING BACK TO NORMAL BY JUST A RESIGNATION.
5. WHAT WILL BE THE PUNISHMENT OF THOSE FIVE MEMBERS WHOM JAMIAT HAS CANCELLED THE MEMBERSHIP? SO NEXT TIME NO OTHER MEMBER DOES SUCH A GREAT CRIME.
6. WHAT JAMIAT IS DOING RIGHT NOW TO FREE IK IMMEDIATELY AT ANY COST?
7. MY FRIEND: IF YOU BRING BACK IK TO PU WITHIN 3 DAYS AS IT WAS BEFORE HIS HUMILIATION AND ARREST,THEN WE WILL ALL BELIEVE YOU. I KNOW IT IS VERY HARD JOB TO DO BUT I THINK THIS IS THE ONLY WAY TO SOLVE THIS PROBLEM. AS THE BURDEN OF SHAMEFUL CRIME IS ON JAMIAT’S SHOULDERS.
(Dont you dare think that I am crazy, but after kruman’s post..)
I have to post this nazam too!!
bahot hain zulm ke dast-e-bahaanaa-juu ke liye
jo chand ahl-e-junuu tere naam levaa hain
bane hain ahl-e-hawas muddaii bhii, munsif bhii
kise wakiil karen, kis se munsifii chaahen
magar guzaranewaalon ke din guzarate hain
tere firaaq men yuun subh-o-shaam karate hain
bujhaa jo rauzan-e-zindaan to dil ye samajhaa hai
ki terii maang sitaaron se bhar gaii hogii
chamak uthe hain salaasil to hamane jaanaa hai
ki ab sahar tere rukh par bikhar gaii hogii
Garaz tasavvur-e-shaam-o-sahar men jiite hain
giraft-e-saayaa-e-diwaar-o-dar men jiite hain
yuun hii hameshaa ulajhatii rahii hai zulm se Khalq
na unakii rasm naii hai, na apanii riit naii
yuun hii hameshaa khilaaye hain hamane aag men phuul
na unakii haar naii hai na apanii jiit naii
isii sabab se falak kaa gilaa nahiin karate
tere firaaq men ham dil buraa nahiin karate
Missing my Pakistan!
@ Dear Babu from united states of america,
Stop bullying around by giving orders.
Now whatever ijt will do, it will not change your perception of them. So please continue to hate IJT and Jamat.
I am still smiling on the fact that some one in my country knows to repent. And repentance draws Allahs mercy.
May Allah shower my country with His mercy!
TATA,
going to sleep.
@KRUMAN AND EVERYONE.
PLZ DONOT SAY NEW SC.
PLZ CALL IT ILLEGAL SC WITH ILLEGAL JUDGES.
DOES NOT SURPRISE ME AT ALL BY REJECTING MR. WAJIHUDDIN’S PETITION.
ILLEGAL PRESIDENT + ILLEGAL SC + ILLEGAL JUDGES + NO CONSTITUTION = ILLEGAL DECISIONS.
Court rules Musharraf’s Nov. 3 suspension of the constitution was legal even though Mush himself admitted it was not.
Court also rules Musharraf’s October election in parliament to a third, five-year presidential term was constitutional.
I know, I know — they haven’t done so yet but knowing how independent this court is, how can they rule any other way?
@ MISSING_ PAKISTAN
FIRST OF ALL THEY WERE NOT ORDERS AND SECOND THOSE SUGGESTIONS WERE NOT FOR YOU.
HOW YOU KNOW I HATE IJT? BY TELLING SOMEONE THE RIGHT THING DOES NOT MEAN YOU HATE SOMEONE.
I WONDER HOW YOU KNOW ABOUT MY PERCEPTION?
GET SOME KNOWLEDGE ON REPENTANCE FROM SOME REAL AALIM AND ASK HIM IF SOMETIMES THERE ARE CONDITIONS RELATED TO CERTAIN REPENTANCES.
WE ALL SHOULD REPENT TO ALLAH FOR HIS MERCY.
ALLAH’S MERCY COMES IN ABUNDANCE IT IS THE PEOPLE WHO PERCIEVE IT DIFFERENTLY LIKE WHEN IT RAINS SOME PARTS OF THE EARTH BRING OUT FRUITS AND FLOWERS, SOME PARTS BRING OUT BUSHES AND ON SOME PARTS THERE IS NO EFFECT LIKE CEMENTED EARTH.
ALLAH HAFIZ ( NO TATA)
HAVE NICE DREAMS.
Musy becomes president for next 5 years.
Breaking news:
http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/south_asia/7101302.stm
jamiat media group
How about you also divide the money you took from the govt to get ik arrested. Split it 50 50% and there would no hard feelings. It is an old jamati trick first send in the goons to terrorize and than comes the so called moderates screaming its all a misunderstanding thousand aapoligizes. Auntie Shamim in pindi conducts herself more respectfully than you clowns in IJT. Ghar ja kar abu ko bewakouf banao. He might buy what your selling.
@maan
thats not breaking news.we knew that ever since he sacked the real SC
@ NOTA
MY FRIEND NOTHING HAS SURPRISED ME.
WELCOME TO JUNGLE OR SHOULD I SAY WORST THAN JUNGLE.
ANIMALS DONOT HAVE SENSE BUT HUMANS DO, THEREFORE STILL HUMANS TRY TO ACT LIKE ANIMALS THEN THEY ARE WORST THAN ANIMALS.
I GUESS MR. MUSH FORGOT THAT HE HAS TO FACE A REAL SUPER SUPREME COURT IN HEREAFTER.
Admin and other fellows,
i want to express my full support with u all in the efforts of making excess to independent media and information….
we ve been addicted to GEO and ARY ONE WORLD talk shows and live coverages …we ve been addicted to the reality and truth ..we ve been addicted to be informed …
we all need GEO and ARY ONE WORLD back …they are not accepting the Govt dictation to ban talk shows and live coverages…..
hats off to GEO and ARY ONE WORLD.
Down with MUSH ,BB,MULLAH AND GHUNDA parties.
!!!! Breaking news!!!!
Musharaf is publishing another book.
called “JANGLE BOOK”
@ AT ALL
PLZ CALL HIM ILLEGAL PRESIDENT. IN FACT THAT WHAT HE IS?
TODAYS BREAKING NEWS:
ILLEGAL PRESIDENT MUSHARRAF BECOMES ILLEGAL PRESIDENT FOR THE NEXT FIVE YEARS.
I seriously think that the country is under a curse…
well…here is a bright side to this…now after the SC judgment…he will at least take off his uniform…that’s when people will get him…
I WONDER HOW DOES ILLEGAL PRESIDENT MUSHARRAF FEELS IN HIS HEART? WHAT DOES HIS FAMILY AND FRIENDS THINK ABOUT HIM?
MIGHT THATS THE REASON HE SWEATS A LOT.
We should accept IJT’s sincere apology.
@Petition Against Musharraf’ election
I think there remains one petition to be heard on Thrusday although 5 important ones have been dismissed.
A friend of mine told me, he heard a journalist saying at a protest by journalists and media persons…
‘Musharraf woh kar raha hai jo film kay ikhtitam per villain karta hai’.
@BABU FROM USA
I WONDER HOW DOES ILLEGAL PRESIDENT MUSHARRAF FEELS IN HIS HEART? WHAT DOES HIS FAMILY AND FRIENDS THINK ABOUT HIM?
MIGHT THATS THE REASON HE SWEATS A LOT.
No… His friends and family are the main beneficieries… I don’t think anybody has any doubt.
@friend
The civil society of Pakistan has awaken after a long time. This is the first time we have seen judiciary standing up against a dictator. The wheel has turned. Musharraf cannot stay for long.
Don’t be dishearten my friend. The country is not under a curse. We are witnessing beginnings of a revolution in Pakistan.
To Jaamat Media Group
I still hundred percent believe you guys are with ISI and goverment. MMA has clearly said that it would take part in elections under emergency at any cost – esp FAzlu and if Qazi is serious in his assertion that he would not take part in elections then why doenst he just say so.
FAzlu stabbed the lawyers movement and now IJT stabbed political movement by getting Imran arrested. If you guys are so Islmaic minded why dont you get that Police official who is seen in photograph picking up Imran’s sisters and throwing them in Police Truck. That guy works in New Garden Town Police Station. Agar tum logon mein itni gharat hai to pakro ja na jakay usay.
Even now I have talked to so many people who have written against Jammiat and you guys have threatened them on phone – do you think these tactics would work anymore.
The problem with you is that MUSHARRAF IS LIBERAL FASCIST AND YOU GUYS ARE ISLAMIC FASICT AND GOD SAVE PAKISTAN FROM FACISTS LIKE YOU.
@Jamiat
NO body is spreading hate against but you yourself by your actions.
Jamiat Media Front:
You think you are on kids forum? many of us have seen Jamiat very closely. Kid I might remain raifique for more than your age. OK
An do read what old Jamatias are telling like haroon rashid, Abdul Qadir (express) Attaul Haq Qasmi (Jang) and various other writers.
How can all be so stupid at the same time.
Now stop nonsense and get away with your munafaqat.
Situation analysis is really important at this time. Suppose at this time we announce to stop working in Pakistan, who do you think will replace us? Who will stop the hands of liberal forces? Who will raise his voice against secularization of education? Jamiat is a blessing for this nation.
If you and your allies stop working right now that would the most fortune thing ever happened to this nation since 14 August 1947.
@Jamiat Media Front
Jamiat has dug its own grave. Jamiat has strengthen the hands of criminal musharraf by kidnapping and handing Imran Khan to musharraf.
Jamiat purports to be one of the most organized in the country. So I ask where are Jamiat workers? why aren’t they marching side by side with lawyers?