In the General Interest

An article by Javed Malik about the media shutdown by Musharraf regime.

Javed Malik writes:

As General Musharraf ordered a total shut-down of the country’s leading news channels, ARY ONE World and GEO TV, I wondered if by doing this, he was, in fact, demolishing what he called the “first line of defence”? I asked myself, can he really build a strong Pakistan by unleashing a fresh assault on its “fourth pillar”? The relationship between governments and the media has always been tricky in all modern societies, but both have always found a way to work around their differences and resolve conflicts. However, the way the Press and particularly, the news channels have been attacked in Pakistan is certainly a step in the wrong direction. Such actions are contrary to his claims of enlightenment and moderation and reflect a typical dictatorial mindset which is dangerous for Pakistan.

Read the complete article here

87 Comments »

Free media is part of a democratic system. It cannot run in any other system. Musharraf thought that let all those institutes run freely which according to his own beliefs will not be a problem for his own rule. However free media exists in a context and not in a sphere. So as soon musharraf thought that his rule is getting destabilised he resorted to all those steps which dictators normally take in these circumstances and unfortunately all in the name of state security.Mr Malik has truly pointed out that our media was a source of pride for us. The level of our media was far superior to atleast indian media which are still hostage to their guilty concious on Kashmir and anti Pakistan sentiments. We can make a parallel between Indian media and US media and one between Pakistan media and the British media.Musharraf accuses media that they were biased against him. He must understand that they were not biased (if at all) against him but against a person who has declared himself President of Pakistan and yet wearing a uniform. This happens only in autocratic dictatorships and certainly never in democratic societies. So if he expected that the free media should call him unadulterated champion of democracy and all the elements opposed to him as enemy of the state was and never will be possible.

WE ALL KNOW MUSH IS DOING WRONG.

WHAT WE ALL SHOULD DO TO SOLVE THIS PROBLEM?
    WHAT WILL BE THE BEST SOLUTION? UNDER CURRENT CIRCUMSTANCES.

Musharraf and the media
    A carefully-created perception of free media inside Pakistan helped the military dictator to market himself

Guardian, 19 Nov, 2007

Moeed Pirzada

http://commentisfree.guardian.co.uk/moeed_pirzada/2007/11/musharraf_and_the_media.html

In a rather interesting extension to Pakistan’s ongoing political crisis, President Musharraf has persuaded the UAE media watchdog to shut down two satellite news channels of Pakistani origin: GEO and ARY. Both were broadcasting from Dubai’s much-celebrated Media City. One of them had moved to Dubai from London, to save costs.

Ironically, this exhibition of extra-territorial muscle was demonstrated by the Pakistani dictator right at the moment when John Negroponte, the US deputy secretary of state, was landing in Pakistan. Apparently Condoleezza Rice’s second-in-command was on a mission to chastise the “indispensable ally” and to persuade him to lift the emergency and relax restrictions on the media.

Before the latest crackdown, Musharraf had accumulated substantial political capital inside and outside his country by lecturing endlessly on media freedom. However the impact of two things were never understood by his admirers or his detractors: one, the earlier romance of freedom associated with the satellite revolution was effectively ended by dependence on cable networks; two, Musharraf created a media regulator staffed by acting police officers that could shut down the cable networks by verbal threats.

Musharraf also developed a penchant for issuing ever-new “codes of conduct” for the media, to be enforced through his regulator. Comfortably armed with these modern gadgets of control, he then offered Pakistanis a make-believe world of media freedom. Sensational chat shows where politicians, mullahs and feminists clashed like Mexican cock fights, became the Pakistani equivalent of Westminster democracy. From time to time. whenever a channel transgressed the military man’s limits of democracy, it suddenly disappeared from the TV screens - coming back only after elaborate apologies and fresh vows of good behaviour.

With the imposition of martial law, all TV channels suddenly disappeared. The BBC and CNN and Fox all were gone - with the exception of Sky News which, perhaps in an unintended affront to Murdoch, was treated as an entertainment channel by the Pakistani authorities. The media regulator clarified that the cable operators had switched them off in the national interest.

This was followed by a new 14-page “code of conduct”, demands to fire some of the leading anchors and an order to support the new interim government.
    GEO and ARY continued broadcasting via satellite from Dubai but remained unavailable on the cable network. Since almost 99% of their viewership is via cable, so for all practical purposes they were off-screen.

But why did Musharraf make his extra-territorial leap to shut off broadcasts from Dubai that were already unavailable in Pakistan? The answer lies in his peculiar mind set; these two channels have the largest viewerships, by demonstrating his reach and influence he is eager to force their managements to a compromise so that his system of sanitised free media can be on display once again - for Pakistanis and for his mentors in London and Washington.

Most people here have finally realised that “freedom of the media” was a meaningless buzzword in a country where constitution and courts can be set aside on personal whims. But it remains a fact that in the last few years this carefully created perception of free media helped a military dictator to market himself, among western mentors and even in the unsuspecting media, as a democrat in soul. It also helped to sustain his regime by providing a safety valve for public discontent inside the living rooms rather than the streets.

For all those who work on the nexus of media and democracy, it may be the right time to realise that free media without constitutional guarantees and independent courts is as meaningless as democracy without the freedom of expression. The Foreign Office, Dfid and Commonwealth Secretariat need to study these events in Pakistan carefully before all tin-pots across Africa and Central Asia emulate our good general’s sanitised model of free media to win western accolades - and some cash.

[Moeed Pirzada is a broadcaster and political analyst with GEO network's new English news channel about to be launched, across UK and North America. He was a Britannia Chevening Scholar at London School of Economics and is currently a columnist with Khaleej Times]

4. comment-top comment-bottom

@ Asif

As i always say, this is one Lion of Pakistan who doesn’t know how to quit : ).

Politicians should understand Its not easy to get rid of someone like Imran Khan. Allah has always helped him ’cause he has always been sincere in his mind about every goal he wanted to achieve. In cricket he wanted Pakistan to be the No.1 team. Pakistan has only been No.1 for a period of 4 months right after the world cup. For health it was his goal to treat poor cancer patients free of charge. The world said he has gone crazy but Allah helped him in his cause and the rest is history. Now he wants to change Pakistan for good. I am sure Allah will help him. I, for one is with him and I am sure I am not alone : ).

Long Live the Lion

The Army could not remain in power without the betrayal of other sections of soceity, the civil sevants, police, political parties,media.

All the existing major political parties have already beytrayed pakistan - PML(Q & N), PPP, MMA, MQM. I cannot understand why people want to support them, can someone explain please? I think we need a new party with MNAs/MPAs who are committed to Pakistan rather then using politics to further status /wealth of there own family.

7. Amir Hameed Says:
    November 20th, 2007 at 1:48 pm

@G-FORCE,
    ——
    If I start a PORNO CHANNEL and when its closed down for offensive material, is my right of free speech being gagged?
    ——
    Your comparison above is completely out of line and does not bear even a remote resemblence to issue at hand. If Geo and ARY were criticizing PPP then it was on latter’s NRO deal and rightly so. The general public had every right to know what kind of deal the top leadership of the largest party of this country was making with the sitting government. After all it, is the general public that (is supposed to - provided the elections are not rigged) put these leaders into the public offices through their votes and they need to know their real faces in order to pick the right people.
    It was due to channels like these and their coverage that the public became aware of a lot of issues and actually came to know about the ground realities which unfortunately PTV can not even fathom to relay.
    I was a staucnh supporter of Mush for years until I saw the massacre of May 12th, which was brought to us by the very same TV channels that have now been gagged. We witnessed how the goons of MQM, with the support of the government were killing people and firing at the ARYONE’s cnahhel station. Imagine, without that coverage, none of us would have known about what had transpired on that fatefull day as the entire matter would have been concealed, like many others that have never seen the light of the day.

It is a shame that after eight years of disaster where now Pakistan is on the edge of an abyss our president is still not taking responsibility for that. All the suicide attacks, the deaths of innocent people and the blood, all the lawlessness, all the hatred in the people of Pakistan for the army, all the compromises on national issues, all the heros of Pakistan thrown in jail and treated like terrorists, it all happened in his presidency and in his rule and still he is blaming others. It is time for our president to realise that he is a failure “a failed leader

My prayers are with Sir Imran Khan. Insha’Allah he will be stronger than ever.

Mush doesn’t know what a biggest mistake he has done by putting him in jail. The cunning Ch. brothers have done their job for a while, they knew that Imran with PML(N) can realy give them a tough time especially in Punjab but I am sure their plans will be short while.

@G-FORCE

If in ur point of view “neutral reporting” means not saying good as “good” and bad as “bad”,.. and keep ur self somewhere in the middle.. then obviously the media was biased… If u look at democracy and dictatorship both are antynoms of each other; one is right and the other is wrong… u tell me wat the media should do? shouldn’t it say wat is right and what is wrong? i guess that is called bringing out the truth and that is what the media should do… just like deploring ur porno channel, which is obviously wrong… and there is a huge difference between porno and politics so ur anology is totally wrong…

Independant news media is a way to control the corrupt practices of corrupt people.

Those who have tried their best to hinder in a way of our independant news channels are corrupt too.

Actually Musharraff didnt gag media because of people - more important was the armed forces. He didnt wanted his armed forces to see whats happening on media because it was affecting their morale and he was afraid it would make basis for a coup which was becomeing a very strong probability. By blanket cover over the media he has tried to use the ostrich solution to the problem by putting his head in the thinking the problem would go away.

Roedad Khan right said that he is a very very reckless guy and he has to go otherwise he can even go to the extent of starting nuclear war like he was going to do in Kargil.

Army should keep the nuclear weapons safe not from Taliban that much as from him.

Munafiq Altaf Begs Musharraf:

http://www.thenews.com.pk/top_story_detail.asp?Id=11261

AH the self proclaimed king of the oppressed is criminaly silent these days.

The reason for his party to be silent these days is because the dictator in power is not a Punjabi, sindhi or a Pathan. The dictator is himself a Mohajir.

This clearly shows the hypocrisy of MQM and their Munafiq-e-Azam leader.

I am a Mohajir too and I show solidarity with all my oppressed brothers and sisters.

Down with MQM, down with Dictators.

GO MQM GO. GO MUSHARRAF GO.

Shahbaz shareef’s interview ??????????????

Hi All,

I am really worried about Imran Khan. To me he is the real HOPE for Pakistan, and the way he is being treated is really shameful.

Look at all the MMA, PPPP, MQM, PMLQ, every body is roaming around freely and giving statements as well.

It’s only the real hero’s who are behind bars. People see and read between the lines, you will find why people like Imran Khan and Aitezaz Ahsan are behind bars. And the people like BIBI, FAZLU-R-REHMAN are free.

Understand this and fight for the real heros, before it gets too late !!!!

16. comment-top comment-bottom

Longlive IK. Keep on denting KGM (Kabza Group Mentality). KGM standing tall on its foundation, injustice, as well as its sole pillar.

Thats the reason the KGM from all walks of life got together to stop IK from voicing for Justice.

The Chore commanders are the KGM of Army, the executive commitees of almost all political parties are KGM of politics, Almost all patwaris & tehsildars are KGM of Land, All SHOs are KGM of peace & so on.

So whenever anyone voice for Justice they(KGMs) get together. Its only IK but AA too.

I salute to both these guys for denting hrad than ever to the KGMs & madcow is leading caretaker for the rights of all KGMs

Longlive IK

Actually, everything happening in Pakistan is in only the General’s Interest.

Distribution of jobs on political quota basis

CHIEF Secretary, Sindh, (CS) was removed…, as the Sindh government wanted to fill thousands of vacant posts before the end of its tenure. A number of appointment letters were issued without the fulfilment of legal requirements.

The Chief Secretary… issued a letter to all secretaries to follow the rules and fulfil all legal and procedural formalities before recruitment. He stated that jobs under the purview of Sindh Public Service Commission should be referred to the commission and no secretary should sign orders or bypass it. After this directive from the CS, unfair recruitments came to a halt but the Sindh governor and chief minister removed him.

Throughout its tenure, the incumbent Sindh government doled out false promises to unemployed youth. Countless applications were solicited by many departments and tests were conducted only to be cancelled by political expediency. This led to an alarming increase in unemployment…and now at the end of its term, the government wants to recruit on political basis again…

According to the proposed formula, 60 per cent of the jobs will go to the coalition partner from the urban areas, 30 per cent are reserved for the ruling PML-Q, and the remaining 10 per cent are for the bureaucracy and others. The constitution provides a separate quota for rural and urban areas, but not on a political basis… — (Nov 17)
    Kawish

@Amir Hameed & @Human

Dudes, the PORNO CHANNEL is just an analogy! The point is that who defines whats right and whats wrong? Where do you draw the line in so called Freedom of Media? What about the rights of those who like PORNO? What may be news for you may be offensive for others, including the government! We as Pakistanis still have to go a long way before we can really understand what democracy and tolerance is!

By the way PORNO is a lot like POLITICS the world over!

A Quote from the Chicago Tribune (part of the article on Gen Kiyani)

“But the top military brass will continue to obey Musharraf, unless the streets erupt in violence or Musharraf refuses to step down as army chief in the coming weeks, analysts and retired generals said. The Pakistani army is a disciplined force that would only act if conditions worsened, they said.”

When will we wake up get out on the streets?

@G-FORCE

We as Pakistanis still have to go a long way before we can really understand what democracy and tolerance is!
    ———————————————

You are offending the general public, is it what you call democracy?

You don’t even know how to convey your messege, sorry I can’t help you out.

You can’t even tolerate the critism, what you are preaching to us.

Chill bro, have fresh air & then come back.

@ Human

This is something the colorful shaikh rasheed has said in numerous interviews. He gives honest opinions on many issues and thats what i like about him. He specifically said that the day 1 million people come out on the streets of Pakistan against Musharraf, no army will be able to stand against them.

@Human

When will we wake up get out on the streets?

———————————————

I think yo forget what happened to IK & his sisters. Bro its not that eezzee to be on streets in the presence of KGMs(Kabza Group Mentality).

To fight against injustice is never an eezzee or a single day job. Its the continuous effort. So don’t expect any result within a couple of days.
    But keep on striking in our capacity is the only solution.

25. Amir Hameed Says:
    November 20th, 2007 at 3:56 pm

@G-FORCE,
    Once again, wrong analogy. Our religious and social values can not allow Porno, so, you need to come up with a better analogy.
    Now back to the subject. If this government had a problem with what media was showing then it should have approached the matter in a proper way by taking legal action; but wait, the government forcefully silenced the judiciary.
    I am not sure if you have ever watched FoxNews or listened to the likes of Rush Limbaugh, Michael Savage, etc., who are extreme conservatives and anti-democrats. Their shows are full of topics of how evil the Democrats are. Do you think that any government has tried to shutdown that channel?

@asif

why is the ‘general public’ offended? who asked for your help? what on the earth are you babbling about dude? try to first get your thoughts and words in order before you start typing here!

your post is proof enough that we pakistanis have a long way to go before we reach the right threshold for democracy and tolerance! all you can hear from my post is PORNO while you completely miss the point otherwise. But then again, you are a pakistani!

See this video… open attack on Talat Hussain by Mushy & Intelligence agencies …

http://youtube.com/watch?v=1InJxjCTfkQ

@G-FORCE

So you are not Pakistani ……..Good short but on your own toe…….

@Amir Hameed & @Asif

Gee Whiz…..such show of brilliance and calculated assessment! Both you you certainly know how to read but lack the ability to assimilate!

All this time all you two can hear is PORNO, PORNO, PORNO while missing the point completely! I am certainly getting to enjoy this now and the level of artificial intelligence on this blogsite!

Anybody knows if there is any upcoming protest in Pakistan to support Imran Khan, specially in reference to the hunger strike issue?

@G-FORCE

Oh yes you got it man, yes can enjoy alone only artificialy………….

@ASIF

dude, you are babbling again! try to relax and go to sleep now as you have school in the morning! its way past your bedtime!

@G-FORCE

A little while ago you were enjoying, what happened suddenly?

O all the various forums I have seen musharraf /antimusharraf split of 2:8 and maximally 3:7. so still 20% to 30% people toe the line of establishment. This is not bad since 1971 where because of gagged media 90% people will toe the line of establishment and kept on saying things against Bengalis and Mujib but not at all looking at realities neither looking at our own mistakes. So this is a great improvement.I think even most of these 20-30% people may be belonging to govt machinery as is happening in UK and overseas where this job has been given to Pakistan embassies and their relatives.

Please Vote and lets see where most of pakistani who use internet stands.
    http://www.topix.com/forum/world/pakistan/T6V4IJN78G5QBN0F6

Media Matter: my opinion

Everyone has to be responsible and appropriate, be it Media, Politicians, Judiciary or Army….

I feel that current sanctions on media are part of a bigger fight and it does not have much to do about irresponsibility of media in current situation. Almost everyone at some stage went beyond limits so we should not fight to prove anyone as angel. It was the same media which was left almost uncontrolled by the state in last few years but why right now such steps? was govt. sleeping before, if so then they are themselves guilty and incapable.

Actually, current situation is a fight between justice and injustice, between corruption and no corruption, between rule of law and no rule of law…

Our society has bore enough problems during last 60 years and now we want to have justice, fairness and equality: this is natural desire of majority of human beings. We are at a transition stage, we want to go from bad to good. This is a very very positive sign.

i feel due to current national and international happenings, we are getting better, brave, logical, positive and decisive. No one is born with complete intellect, we learn on the course of life…

At the end, these are people, who can bring and sustain a Just/fair system. If we are ourselves not ready or we compromise on our own corruption then how can a just system come and sustain???…

37. Amir Hameed Says:
    November 20th, 2007 at 4:23 pm

@G-FORCE,
    Actually, it is you who is missing the point and keep referring to porno. You did not answer my simple question that why the government did not take the media to the court, if the former was indeed defaming it?

I believe everyone knows what is right and what is wrong unless your mama,chaha,abba are army officer so don’t be bother with G-Force comments. I know these bloody Ediat General’s relatives there time is coming to an end soon

to whom it may concern:

….At length a lot of young Bengalis went underground and organised Mukti Bahini with the support of India. India encouraged them and armed them. Later the Indians took the matters in their own hands and invaded East Pakistan. The Pakistan armed forces could fight barely for two weeks and surrendered. The ignominy of this resistance was shown by the fact that while the garrison that surrendered in Dhaka comprised 25 thousand troops. The Indian column that occupied Dhaka had only 5 thousand troops on December 16…..

Men at their best ? Army

And now 1999: 4-5 Army personnel can topple two-third elected PM

2007: 2-3 Jawans remove CJ

Army getting better day by day

And India would now never like war with Pakistan to boost their economy

@amir hammed, @abid, @asif

comments of the likes of you are the reasons of my enjoyment here! shall I call you three stooges, AAA like the battery?

and by the way I do not have any mama, chacha, dada, dadi, nana, nani, phupi or taya etc etc in any army yet I am always amused by comments from low-IQ dudes like you on my country’s army. so far the comments made here by people such as yourselves have had ZERO affect on the reality of life in Pakistan.

@amir hameed, I am not the GoP, please ask your questions to someone in the government. why not write to your fav Qayyum, Wasi or Dr. Sher Afghan?

Musharraf is here to stay, media will fall in line very soon, IK will never be the PM, BB will run back to her million dollar home in Dubai, life will go on as usual in Pakistan. while you three will still be incoherently babbling on this blog and I will be enjoying as usual! live with it dudes, simply you are incapable of making a difference in pakistan

@G-FORCE

bari dair ki mehrbaan aatey aatey……

Yes madcow will stay here for your enjoyment, coz madcow can’t see you enjoying artificialy………

@asif

hain! fer tu apna munh baghair kisi vaja tau kholiya?

aap bhi lagay raho munna bhai! shayad aap ki mehnat ek din rung lay aai!

Mad General has reached Saudi Arabia, I found this from the TeethMastro site:

Yesterday there was speculation that the presidential palace was the scene of some ‘heavy packing’ and someone was in a rush to move out. I stress this information can not be fully verified and may remain as a rumor, as only time will tell if this brief trip might transform into an extended stay.

Let us pray that it is an extended stay :)

@G-FORCE

What you are doing here madcows a$$ partner…..

G-Force:
    Zia ul Haq used to say” mai janey wala nai” You might be lactating at that time so I tell you that he went.

the reality in Pakistan is that Army is ordered not to wear uniform and colonel level &+ move under security

Even you uncle Mush has to say Army is being demoralized

But you are right we dont make any difference but at least want some difference, can think differently and one will act differently, but how about you?

Democracy is the tool to legitimise the corrupt wrong decsions of the governments around world. in UK majiority is against Iraq war but blair followed bush in Iraq claiming that since he won election his every decison is justified..where were the checks and balances of democracy during that time…in early 90s homosexuality was considered vice but in 2007 majiority voted it lawful and is given legal rights….in 2005 bill in parliment of Islamic republic of Pakistan was floated for discussion to legitimise consumption of alcohol which many opposition leaders supported but was rejected later……..
    monarchy…dictatorship…etc are all the same….down with every man made system to govern himself and any modifications in God given system for governane.

pejamistri:

sara mulk to baij dala hey. has something left for heavy packing. or it might be sehba…
    pray ++

@asif

tuhaday jai paghlaan da koi ilaj nai! apay dewar day naal sarr marr marr k bowlay honday nay! mar jao tay bakki jao! sano koi fark nai painda!

@Ahmed Bhai

Thank you very much for a most knowledgeable lesson on the Pakistan in 80’s. I was 25 then and was actually lactating on your ******!

Having said that, whats your point old man? be a little more clear in your comments then to get stuck on Bangladesh, India and the Army!

@G-FORCE
    Refrain from using obscenity. You may have an elevated level of tolerance for such language. But such words are against the norms of public decency and certainly are against the policies of this site.
    Good day - Admin pkpolitics.com CADxBCEyDDzBAh

@G-FORCE

Buddah sathay gya………….

Please ban this guy G-Force , my young son also reads comments on this website. Please enforce strict moderation.

G-force:
    If you were 25 then, now you should develop more control on yourself. But just like your uncle Mush you are too aggressive.

My posts are always clear. comment with logic and argument if you have any.

53. comment-top

@G-FORCE
    ???
    Brother, i feel if one can answer in good way then its fine otherwise one should remain quiet!!! There is no limit of abusive language and it does not help anyone, it does not solve problems although some people might not react immediately.
    You are as much sincere and Pakistani as anyone else. It is challenging time, we just need to be more patient and tolerant.
    My opinion, you have all right to disagree.

54. comment-top

lets all pray mush’s plane goes BOOM like zias on the way back

55. comment-top

“Media ko yay azadi… Main ne de AYEEE” - Mush

http://www.jang.com.pk/jang/nov2007-daily/20-11-2007/picture.html

56. comment-top

@G-Force,

You are correct; certain aspects of politics are clothe- less. And so are your favorite generals.

Biggest consumers of alcoholic beverages in Pakistan - Officer messes of Pakistan Army

Highest number of womanizing incidences (your favorite) - Pak Fouj
    [According to Hamoodur Rahman report, a brigadier was busy in the same act while Indian forces were closing in.]

I am sure you are a part of the mafia, a video on this site points to.

As for as the media is concerned, it was doing an excellent job. Its job is to support the government when it is working toward national interests. I remember that same media supported General Musharraf when he made the most difficult decision to support the U.S. attack on Afghanistan.

Media’s more critical job is to inform the public of government’s wrong doing. This world has yet to produce a government which does not abuse its powers. Musharraf and its cronies went to such an extent that abuse of power may be mild words!

57. Amir Hameed Says:
    November 20th, 2007 at 6:21 pm

@G-FORCE,
    Why are you avoiding the question that I asked you earlier about Mush not going to the courts to take legal action against the media? because you have no answer. And by the way, people like Sher Afghan and Wasi Zafar are the advisors of Mush which tells me that you have no clue whatsoever about the current state of the affairs in Pakistan. You seems like one of those people who argue just for the sake of argument and have nothing to back it up.

58. comment-top

Army and Judiciary, Solution to the conflict. my opinion

Like other institutes of Pakistan, these two also have not been perfect in our history. In addition to that Religious and Political forces also could not give much positive to Pakistan and Pakistanis.

It is time that we learn from our past mistakes, past can never be changed!!! it could just be manipulated. So if we will remain in our past then we will fight indefinitely. I don’t say that we should forgive everything blindly but if we want to move forward then we have to be forgiving and tolerant. I don’t mean that corrupt people should be given more chances or left free.

Army being the strong institute in respect of resources, discipline(professional) and training is necessary against any external aggressions and internal physical threats. Judiciary on the other hand is necessary for normalizations and justice within boundaries of the country.

If army is weak then our defense is weak and borders are open and if Judiciary is weak then we would die with cancer of corruption and injustice.

Both are important for Pakistan although both made many mistakes in past. But if they today decide to work together for Pakistan and Pakistanis then it will bring a Pakistan which we dreamed for, INSHALLAH.

I feel both want to be sincere, corruption free and appropriate now, so if it happens then we should encourage it. Army should concentrate on its professional tasks and not politics and in addition to that it should support Judiciary(after reinstating old one) to act for the cause of rule of law and justice for all.

I am quite sure that this will be best solution and best step towards a peaceful and prosperous Pakistan, INSHALLAH.

I hope and wish that our Army and Judiciary understand the difficult situation of Pakistan and their responsibilities.

59. Amir Hameed Says:
    November 20th, 2007 at 6:37 pm

@Zaheer,
    This is exactly what everyone is saying today that let Judiciary do its job and army should do what it is supposed to. This whole mess has been created by one man, Mush, and his allies who know very well that if justice prevails then they have no place in this country and will most likely end up in Jail.

60. comment-top

If Pk Army does support the Judiciary(with CJ Iftikhar M. Ch), then nation will give them as much love, importance and respect as they gave them in the war of 1965!!!

61. Amir Hameed Says:
    November 20th, 2007 at 6:43 pm

Per Geo News, “US envoy meets Maulana Fazl: embassy “. Let’s see if she meets with other political parties or just the ones that can win more seats in the assembly.

62. comment-top

if mush and his cronies were honest and sincere they would not ban media instead they would come on these talk shows like capital talk and have a debate.

they very much know that they are in the wrong with they policies and when they come on these shows they are put to the test by intelligent anchors and made to look like fools.

63. Amir Hameed Says:
    November 20th, 2007 at 6:52 pm
    comment-top comment-bottom
  64. comment-top

One thing i can’t understand about our politicians!
    They all claim and show to be very intelligent but unfortunately most of them don’t understand that they are being divided and made to fight with each!!! what kind of politicians they are?

what is their goal? Pakistan or contacts with external powers? Pakistanis or foreign ambassadors? Money or respect and love of own people???…

65. comment-top

@Zaheer

This happens when you have dictatorship for so long.
    And the on the basis of this our dictators blackmail them & force martial on people.

66. Amir Hameed Says:
    November 20th, 2007 at 7:02 pm

@Zaheer,
    You are right, the politicians have failed miserably. But the reality is that they all have their covert or unterior motives for not starting a united struggle. MMA wants to stay in power by supporting the military and they have been able to do that successfully so far. BB wants to get as much personal benefits from the status quo as possible even though she has deviated from the core principles of PPP. NS wants to be the saviour without offering any personal sacrifices. This is our delima. This why IK is getting more popular because he has taken a principled stand and refuses to bow down to any pressure.

67. comment-top

@Asif

But now they will have to show courage and unity for Pakistan and Pakistanis otherwise they should leave their places.

No unnecessary diplomacy, they should show. There is very thin line between diplomacy and hypocrisy so our politicians must care for that thin line!

68. Amir Hameed Says:
    November 20th, 2007 at 7:09 pm

An article from Salman Ahmed (Junoon) in The Washington Post:
    http://www.washingtonpost.com/wp-dyn/content/article/2007/11/18/AR2007111800948.html

69. comment-top comment-bottom
  70. comment-top

Gen Musharraf has asked Saudi Arabia not to let NS make any speeches and not let him come to Pakistan and to prevent him from entering into a alliance with PPP in the interest of Pakistan stability.

I am surprised that this guy has the audicity to go around bullying the world leaders and goverments. And why do they listen to him by teh way.

71. comment-top

India did not invade Pakisatn on their own - that was also misinformation - in fact Indian forces entered East Pakistan when mad Yahya Khan opened front on West Pakistan FIRST. This can be verified from independent sources.

If India armed Bengalis then who were responsible for that - no one but Pakistan Army. My colleages from Bangladesh tell horrific stories of Paksitan Army and other miiltia who murdered Bengalis and raped their women. They were so brutally treated that to this day they recall that period with ABSOLUTE HATRED.

Gen Tikka Khan whom Bhutto made Chief of Army Staff was known as Butcher of Bengal.

our army had the audicity of not only burying Gen Yayha with full honours in Pakistani flag but also full honours were given to Gen Tikka also.

AS for Gen Ziaul Haq he was burried in Stars and Striples in USA and we burried Arnold Raphel near Fasial Masjid with full honours.

God bless Pakistan

72. Yusuf Nasrullah Says:
    November 20th, 2007 at 8:10 pm

Mushy is petrified of a PPP-PML(N) alliance as that would win thumpingly in Punjab and Sindh, leaving the King’s Party in tatters!

73. comment-top

it looks like geo 5 min news flash every hour has been blocked as well, as there were no news at 8pm tonight. also news ticker at the bottom has gone too.

Mush pressing further on KSA….to even stop NS talking as well

How far this traitor will push his luck? meking me more and more sick every day….

74. comment-top

More Breaking News!!!

Army wargames on near Pakistan border

NEW DELHI: Even as Pakistan gets further enmeshed in internal turmoil, the Indian Army has kicked off a massive combat and ‘operational alert’ exercise in the western sector to test its ‘pro-active’ conventional war strategy.

Click the following link for full story:
    http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/Army_wargames_on_near_Pakistan_border/articleshow/2557171.cms

75. comment-top

Here is everything in sequence. First the Pakistani Army moves their troops away from the Eastern border (7th November, links attached…)

‘Pakistan cuts troops on Indian border’
    By our correspondent

7 November 2007

NEW DELHI — For the first time in 60 years, Pakistan has considerably reduced the number of troops along the heavily guarded border with India.

The matter has come up in the Cabinet Committee on Security headed by the Prime Minister Dr Manmohan Singh.

Turmoil in Pakistan and unrest in its western areas, have resulted in Pakistani troops being pulled away in large numbers from the border areas adjoining Jammu and Kashmir, Punjab, Rajasthan and Gujarat.

Reports quoting intelligence agencies said here yesterday that the aggressively positioned eastern frontier areas adjoining India have become extremely thin. Pakistani troops that otherwise are positioned to counter Indian forces, have been moved out to Waziristan and the Federally Administered Tribal Areas on the western borders, reports said.

Intelligence officials have been quoted as saying that strain is starting to tell on the regular Pakistan army with tensions mounting in the north west frontier. “The very sign of pressure building up against Pakistan is that their forces which never compromised on its eastern border have been moved out leaving the border areas along India lean and lanky,

76. comment-top

Does that mean India wants to attack us? I have also read news about Pakistani Nukes from the same paper. First I do not trust this source. In the morning they put one side of the story and by the evening they post the other side (I mean contradictory).

Anyhow, if push comes to shove, that would be real good for the future of Pakistan. Some generals will flee. Other will be captured and killed by the attacking forces. Some brave officers and Jawan will perish but rest will join us. Now, a force without a mad dog & without looters will have a real destiny. If 16 million Iraqis can handle U.S., 160 million can definitely solve multiple problems.

Do not worry. This will be a real great Nation.

77. comment-top

It is sad that, on one hand some of my country men claim that they are in Pakistan, they know more about Pakistan and Pakistanis living in USA do not have any idea what are the ground realities here. while on the other hand their comments indicate total lack of understanding on what is good for Pakistan.

“Chiragh Talay Andhera” The Title.

The current Government of Pakistan that you are so much against, is the best thing that ever happened to this country. Otherwise it has been continuously plundered and looted by internationally known corrupt Chorni, her daku husband, notorious sharif brothers, their cronies, Psycho ex CJ and the likes.

Most agonizing part is that our naive nation is taking pride in becoming their door mats and inside locks to let the known thieves in our country’s sacred corridors, again.

I bet, that all who are not using their brains and are letting themselves be a part of the blind herd walking behind these known crooks, will realize their mistakes, one day. But by then damage, may have already been done. Yes, repentance at that time may bring relief to some or satisfy them, but it will be late for our beloved country. I surely, do not want that to happen, so I’ll request my fellow countrymen to open their eyes and mind and decide what is best for our Pakistan!

The country has come a long way now, from the depressed condition our country was, when Pervez Musharaf took over. My great country Pakistan received it’s long due and well deserved recognition under the current Government, not in 51 previous years through out which it was considered a country with Kashkol, deprived of it’s deserved status and mis appropriated by it’s own leaders.

Personal grudges and biases aside, the country is poised to take off to unprecedented heights under the incumbent policies. I would hate to see chaos in the country because of a certified chorni Benazir who is coning USA by projecting herself as popular leader of Pakistan. What she is doing is pure perjury, similar to what Chalabi did in Iraq. Chalabi convinced USA that he is capable of delivering the support in Iraq for USA’s illegal occupation. It was all lies, but USA ’s morons walked blind into his deceptive claims and are paying from their teeth, now. Benazir’s current campaign to come to power in Pakistan at the behest of USA is a similar attempt. It is also going to bring the same disgrace to USA that Chalabi’s Campaign brought them in Iraq. My concern is for my country because if she comes to power even by chance, it will take our beloved country Pakistan several years back.

If one really, wants to find out the support numbers for all these crooks (Benazir, az brothers and single seater Imran Khan party, it hardly reaches 22% and that is out of the people who vote. The average turnout for the elections in Pakistan is ~45%. So basically, together they only enjoy 9.9% support in the country. Yes, if all the supporters gather in one place, they may appear significant, but in the actual scheme of things their claims are misleading. After elections, even if they win, they will need to join with other winning parties to form coalition. So, all you supporters of these losers, HOLD YOUR HORSES, NOT THAT FAST, EIN!

Benazir is dreaming that this time USA is going to plant her as Prime Minister in Pakistan. Its not going to happen, and I am saying it based on ground realities. Constitutionally, she is not eligible to be the PM of our country 3rd time, she has already abused this position twice before and I don’t see any improvement in her. In fact this time she appears even more ruthless, arrogant and is more willing to surrender the whole country to the enemies of Islam and Muslims Ummah. She has to be kept away from Dr. Qadeer -our hero. She has to be contained, cause if she is left out in the open she is going to get more innocent people and children of Pakistan killed. While her own children are sitting in luxury and comfort, miles away from the peril she is creating for the country. What a selfish b…. she is no leader for Pakistan, she is only for herself! By the way, behind the scenes -she has almost dumped her worst half, Mr. 10%. They only appear together in public to fool simple people of Pakistan and brain washed workers of her party and be politically correct! Come on my countrymen, you can’t be that blind!

In regards to Democracy Both Navaz & Benazir never have elections or democracy with in their parties, but demand it from the government, what Hypocrites…. She is so undemocratic that even though the elections have not been conducted yet, she is proclaiming herself to be the Prime Minister of Pakistan.

About MQM, again no one is so hot about it’s leader, but we should not hold that thing against the party. MQM is the most democratic party in Pakistan. MQM is the only party that is comprised of middle class educated leaders. All these leaders are fully dedicated and disciplined, who are governed and follow the decisions of the MQM Executive Committee. The MQM leader, whatever other negative things he may have, in spite of having several opportunities never presented himself for any position in the government. Unlike Navaz or BB who are self imposed leader of their parties for life.

Only thing that the people of other provinces, specially the larger one, who think/hate fellow country men on ethnic basis have against MQM is that it is the political force to reckon with and it is from Karachi. When it comes to “PAKISTAN FIRST” MQM is solidly, for it. For their dedication and performance one just have to see the blessing of progress that came to Karachi during their tenure(last 5 years).

Irony of the matter is that Karachi the biggest city and the main economic artery of Pakistan was ignored and continuously deprived of its rightful resources and funds, since Ayub Khan’s times. Although, four governments that came to power during this period were from Sind (three ruled by Bhutto family and one Junenjo) but even them, treated the city in Step motherly manner. Its revenues sucked by center, its projects rejected or shelved, its infra structure compromised, its funds diverted, its youth ignored, its institutions politicized, its resources plundered. And on top of all this, every Joe and shmo Political entity targeted Karachi as a practice grounds to settle their scores. They made a huge mess in the city and created extra burden on it’s infra structure. These are the very reasons that gave rise to MQM. All of these fellas, have conspired and joined hands to project themselves as the group of people who are playing the advocates of justice, freedom of speech, democracy and all other garbage. Well Karachi has had enough, no more these so called well wishers of Karachiites and enemy with long hoods covering their faces. Believe me all these so called lovers of Justice, lovers of democracy, lovers of freedom of speech, lovers of their selfish motives are enemies of Karachi & Pakistan both.

One thing is guaranteed, the masses of the urban Sind are behind them, and every one knows that the Urban Karachi is the most elite and educated class of the nation, so no matter who tries to undermine this force is, going to fail. History is witness, the regionalists, several previous governments, establishment, agencies, feudal lords, Tribal lords, hate mongers, religious parties and the likes have all attempted, but failed miserably in shaking the vote base of MQM.

The most sad is when sensible people start behaving like cows in the herd and speaking the same language as other hate mongers. Please think & make a note, MQM is not Altaf Hussain, “IT IS A PHENOMENON” every Pakistani needs to get over their petty objections and look at them as blessing for Karachi and Pakistan. All the Chaudaries, Vaderas, Seths, War lords, Sardars, Mullahs, feudal lords and gangsters move over, the middle Class -well educated, moderate and the young from our new generation are here to fill in the ranks!

By: Mohammad Shakaib Siddiqui

78. comment-top

So what, We are living in a jail anyway. Down with Pakistan Army, this was what Bengalis said after they were sure that there is no way out, just like in the rumped Pakistan! But Bengalis were brave people, Punjabis, Pushtoons, Sindhis and Baluchis do not seem to be as samrt or brave.

79. comment-top

I think news about nu_ke and indian forces execises are just to divert the attention of people of pakistan from the ’struggle for democracy’( to create a soft corner for mush and army).

From last four years we are listening that an attack is immediate on Iran but nobody dared to attack iran.

80. comment-top

DG Khan jail may be far away from the epicenter of Pakistan’s political landscape. But the issue which Imran Khan has taken a stand on is the be-all at this juncture in Pakistan’s history. Imran Khan’s last stand may also be that of Pakistan.

http://nation.com.pk/daily/nov-2007/21/columns5.php

81. comment-top

Psycho ex CJ lol. well said zeeshan

82. Shah Saud Sahibzada Says:
    November 21st, 2007 at 1:49 am

I am happy to see the educated class coming together on forums like this. However, it is a bit depressing to note that not much is being said to provide a strategic direction to the genuine feelings.

1. THIS MOVEMENT NEEDS TO GET SOME SHAPE NOW.

2. DEVELOP A CLEAR STRATEGY TO REALIZE ITS GOALS

3. DEVISE WAYS TO BRING IN MORE PEOPLE, READ MASS SUPPORT, TO THE MOVEMENT

ARE WE READY FOR A TOUGH LONG BATTLE? ARE WE READY TO START A DEBATE ON THE WAY AHEAD? ARE WE READY TO THINK ABOUT THE TEEMING MILLIONS WHO WOULD WANT TO JOIN BUT CAN’T JOIN BECAUSE OF THE MISERIES IN THEIR LIVES?

83. comment-top

@ zeshan
    please spare us your very very very very very very long comments. give us link etc. if you are taking it from an article (i haven’t read so i don’t know) then copying it is against copyright. no one else has posted such a long comment. These are called comments, not all i know essays.

Please do something about his posts. They must be more than five thousand words.

84. Amir Hameed Says:
    November 21st, 2007 at 3:46 am

@Zeeshan,
    I hope you are not using this forum for your thesis :-) A few quick comments on your last post:
    - … Psycho ex CJ and the likes …
    You have all the reasons to call CJP Iftikhar a psycho because under him the judiciary was going to become completely independent. What it meant is that all the cases - including murder, arsen, and you name it -that were dropped against MQM’s top leadership would have been opened and justice would have been served. And please don’t say that those were false cases because then you would not be telling the truth.
    - MQM is the most democratic party in Pakistan: You must be out of your mind here. This is the party where you are not allowed to disagree with the London Pir, else, someone will discover your body in a dumster. Pay attention to the people who look like live corpses when they are listening to divine words the Pir of London. This is the same leader that your beloved Mushy called the biggest terrorist of Pakistan and please do not deny it because you also know it.
    - A lot of injustice was done to the people of Karachi in the name of quota, I agree with you here but that cause was hijacked by this terrorist party.
    - Do you know how I know this much about MQM, because I lived in Karachi for over 25 years. Our house was shortlisted by the MQM thugs because we were from Punjab. A lot of the people had stopped talking to us because we were Punjabi. Such was the level of hatred that MQM had created.
    I can go on and on but I do not have any thesis due.

85. comment-top

i think Javed Malik is right when he says its all in GENERAL INTEREST…
    General shud start thinking of some other interests ….
    that wud be better for the whole nation!
    only sick minded ppl like G Force r with Mush now…
    rest of pakistan waiting for an angle to come and shape things in order…

86. comment-top

About MQM a popular party with public support but because of their bankrupt ideology only will remain confined to Sindh urban areas. True they have middle class people in their rank but they have a hitler type leadership and their fascist mode of action assisted by the President of Pakistan was evident even to blinds on 12th of May.At one stage they appeared to be hope but now siding with this martial law because this has been imposed by urdu speaking general they have destroyed their nationwide credibility totally and they will remain as a regional parrty with capacity to blackmail nationally.

87. comment-top

Next, He is going to declare himself God. That si the only ordinance left.

RSS feed for comments on this post.