Better Pakistan - 22 November 07

Dear Visitors,

We are presenting our first Episode of “Better Pakistan” show, which is solely PkPolitics Production. This idea was conceived and executed in an emergency, therefore please ignore any errors and quality of the program.

Today’s guests are Farid Piracha of MMA and Ahsan Iqbal of PMLN.

Please leave your feedback and ideas for improvements in the comments below.

Admin Pakistan Politics

Audio Player:
[audio:better-pakistan-22-nov-07.mp3]

Download MP3: Better Pakistan - 22 November 07

94 Comments »

1. Peace_Ful_Pakistan Says:
    November 23rd, 2007 at 3:47 am

I appreciate and admire all the efforts for making us (all Pakistani nation) conscious and knowledgeable by inviting people of different political parties.
    We all need to bring a little changes in ourselves which will have direct impact in our our society. If I am not good, how can I except others to be good. Allah, Give me power to follow the right track outlined in Quran and your Holy Prophet (P.B.U.H).

Lets make ourself good people instead of asking other questions or criticizing them.

Best Wishes

Peace_Ful_Pakistan

Good job!

As per there tone, they seemz to be more than willing to participate in elections
    No one is going for restoration of Judiciary.

Musharaf has brought pakistan so much in past that now we need audio shows… Musharaf’s time is up… We will miss you Musharaf for your “enlighten moderation” lessons you preached and implemented for 9years. Pakistan don’t need “enlighten moderation”… only moderation is sufficient for us.

great show.I hope this gradually turns into a video show on the internet of the same quality as the major tv channels.

Great job as usual Admin - I would suggest that for future programs the schedule should be posted as that would allow people to direct relevant questions at your guests. This is an important initiative in light of the media shutdown. Also I noticed that your program’s name is the same as PML-N’s email address, betterpakistan@gmail.com, and is an excellent choice in any case…

One issue I have raised with Ahsan Iqbal via email is the political alignment of the PML-N - I would love it if you could get a PML-N leader to address this issue. I cannot agree with or even rationalize the PML-N’s desire to bring the PPP or Fazl ur Rehman into the fold of its struggle for democracy. That these people are unlikely to be sincere is evident by their history of opportunism - Fazl ur Rehman is a puppet of the establishment and Benazir is desparate to make her corruption cases disappear. It in fact harms the PML-N, and the APDM for that matter, when they are betrayed by these guys at crucial junctures. And thus it hinders the struggle for democracy. Specific questions that you can raise are:

1) Why is the PML-N not speaking out more openly against the PPP when restoration of the judiciary is not even on the list of the PPP’s demands? A pertinent fact here is that Dogar is a an old PPP appointee.

2) Why did the rest of the APDM parties not revolt against Fazl ur Rehman’s cowardly decision on the NWFP assembly? Why is so much importance given to this liar by the PML-N? And (pre-empting a possible answer here) sketching out abstract idealogical alliances here is futile exercise when the country is on the brink of disaster because of the non-existence of democracy.

Good job admin keep up the good work. We need more channels like that.

a step towards something good!!

Imran Khan as always first one to say something on boycott…other parties are as always double minded.

If everybody else takes part in the election, I think Imran should also take part in these, he will be more effective by being in the assembly than outside it…”its impossible to clean the trash without getting into it”…

Welldone Admin.

Good effort by Admin,
    but the dream of Better Pakistan seems too far off coz of BB,FAZLU,QAZI ,MQM being part of mushy fishy agenda and NS also seems to have talking terms with Mush sooner or later.
    that left us in complete darkness…
    no light at the end of the tunnel!
    SORRY FOR BEING SOUND TOO PESSIMISTIC!
    CANT HELP IT !

@ Patroit

Its time to take bold decisions and stand on principles. These judges put their lives on stake….they could have chosen the same path. (taken oath under PCO and waited for politician to clean the trash). I believe its now or never for these politician. People, history and youth will not forgive Imran if he opted to go for election under these circumstances. How do you expect people to vote for movement for justice if Imran goes against the judiciary. That will be the end of chapter for IK.

First program was good and I liked it. In the absence of private TV channels, it is an excellent way to keep us informed about Pakistani news and developments. I don’t know how any reasonably intelligent Pakistani can feel any respect for Musharraf, after what he did on November 3rd. I do not believe he feels any shame for his reprehensible conduct. May Allah save Pakistan and Pakistani people from tyrants like him.

Just wanted to let the readers know that Daily Times is owned by Salman Taseer who is now Minister for Commerce in interim federal goverment and Najam Sethi is advocating the combination of so called moderate BB and Musharraf based on American Agenda. So please read with pinch of salt all teh editorials in The Daily Times. They are backed by Musharraf.

this is cool..; i know where pkpolitics is going… :) … CONGRATULATION!!!! in advance … keep up the good work….cheers

Good Job. Looks like PML(N) is willing to participate in elections. No one except Imran Khan has taken a firm stand. Everyone else is running around crazily to get power. Nobody care for country.

PML(N) should show some confidence at its own. They dont need Fazal Ur Rehman, PPP or other cheating figures.

With clear mind they should loudly speak for

i) Re-instatement of Judiciary & Iftikhar Chaudhary
    ii)People of Pakistan don’t accept puppet Judiciary and condemn these PCO judges.
    iii) May 12 Criminals should be hanged
    iv) Army and Dictors should leave the Rule and Govt
    v) PML(N) should announce that their Govt will end Establishment/Army Rule,puppet Judges and start restoration of Constitutional Rule, equivality & Justice in Pakistan.

Without their clear above 5 policy stance they will be ended in confusion as did on 12 Oct 1998.

They should ally PTI, Palejo, Ponam openly and force PTI to take part in Elections and catch the votes of their supporters, The War is not ended now.

Keep away Fazal ur Rehman, he will bite them

Speak about corruptions and violence in PML(Q) Govt loudly

Fight for better Pakistan

Great effort admin,
    A right move and i do wish that PKPOLITICS can come up with its own channel soon. If such is the case count me in for investment.

Nawaz Sharif to come back within few days.

reports Yahoo News

http://uk.news.yahoo.com/rtrs/20071123/tpl-uk-pakistan-43a8d4f_5.html

Do anyone know, which “talk show host” became minister in punjab govt. according to this column of Hamid Mir?

http://www.jang.com.pk/jang/nov2007-daily/23-11-2007/col2.htm

good effort, congratulation. keep it up

Pakistan has become a better place during the last 7 years, becasue NS & BB were out. Now if the corrupt NS is coming back, I fear the moment he will touch our homeland, Pak will no longer a better place.

Ya, Musharraf has done good for Pakistan. Actually it is too good to be true. You will be lucky if you see the same Pakistan after three years. He has done irreparable damage. This person is reckless. Putting in simple words, he has gone mad. Good luck again

nota:
    Pakistan has become a better place during the last 7 years, becasue NS & BB were out…
    _____

They ousted few from east Pakistan as well and Bangladesh is now far better than Pakistan in various attributes.

Its more surprising (u live in chicago ?) that people who breath in democratic world still exhale like you

Once again Imran Khan prooved he never compromise on his principles by saying that he is going to bycott these fake elections.
    I suggest all other opposition parties should follow Imran Khan ,if they participate in elections it means they accept the p.c.o ,they accept these new judges ,they accept all those steps which has been taken from 3rd of November.

Thank you very much admin ,i really appreciate your effort.You r doing enough for pakistani youth especially in these circumstances when people really need information.These r the defining moments for pakistan.Please keep it up.

26. Tanweer Amjad Says:
    November 23rd, 2007 at 9:42 am

I think people should support only that party which has clear stance for the reversal of judiciary before November 3. Otherwise they should stand on their own to produce a leader and get him elected, be it Imran Khan, Justice Wajeeh or any one else.

Pakistan Supreme Court 7 member bench has declared PCO and Emergency valid and has also said that thsoe judges who had not taken oath are no longer judges anymore.

Shame on them and shame on Iqbal Tikka and on Barristar Zafarullah who did Noora Kushti and deliberately went in front of Supreme Court and got this decision - it was all pre-planned. Iqbal Tikka is confidant of Former Defence Minister Iqbal Sikandar Rao and it was planned so as to get validation from the Supreme Court for emergency.

We condemn this Noora Kushti and drama in severest terms and do not accept LOTA SUPREME COURT AS A VALID SUPREME COURT.

Shame on Dogar -

Pakistan Supreme Court has declared PCO and emergency as valid and said that all judges who have not taken oath are no longer judges.

This was done deliberately as a noora Kushti as Iqbal Tikka is close confidante of Former Defence Minsiter Iqbal Sikander Rao and Barristar Zafarullah suffered the heaviest defeat in recent Supreme Court Bar Association Elections by Aitzaz Ahsan.

This was all set up

Shame on Dogar and lota judges

Admin you dont want to listen against lota judges of supreme court thats why you put my comments on moderation

Admin you dont want to listen against highly respected current Supreme Court bench which has the highest respect of the nation from an ordinary person like me daring to question their verdict. Shame on me for daring to question their verdict

Pakistan Supreme Court present one is a very honourable court thats why when i praise it my comments are censored

Awaiting moderation - new policy of this site

Like always, thanks again for the great contribution. Keep up the good work.

yeh awaiting moderation, i lost my long letter yesterday. i dont know why but it was purely on economic developments of pakistan in last 8 years or so, probably admin didnt like it.

well i tried to explain to those guys who think that we have such cell phone companies and channels due to Mush Govt. and i tried to explain to them that economic development in Pakistan due to evolution of world economy rather than Mush policies.

sorry admin if you didnt like that

@clhussain,

“Dogar” is a banned word since it contains “Dog” and I have to manually moderate it.

Thanks Admin - by the way well said for Dogar

Dog-ar reminds me Abdul Hameed Dogar :)

Great job admin, you are doing excellent job. God bless you.

This website is a slap on Musharraf’s face.

Keep it up

This website has become another news channel.
    No PEMRA ordinance can be imposed on this website.

LOL i like you and your software sense of humor….

@Atif,

Please post again now. There are multiple admins now working in different timezones so I am not sure what really happened.

WARNING: Just a heads up folks:
    Someone in using “nota” to post comments like the following.:
    –nota on November 23rd, 2007 8:13 am

–Pakistan has become a better place during
    –the last 7 years, becasue NS & BB were out.
    –Now if the corrupt NS is coming back, I
    –fear the moment he will touch our homeland,
    –Pak will no longer a better place.

AND

–nota on November 23rd, 2007 7:59 am:
    –Imran is now old buddy without enthusiasm,
    –without energy. All Pakistani know that he is
    –Jewish agent and regularly receives Jewish
    –aid. Hear another news, in the forthcoming
    –elections his all contesting expenditures
    –shall be borne by a Jewish Millionaire. I
    –think you may guess his name…?

Longlive IK

Keep on denting KGM (Kabza Group Mentality). KGM standing tall on its foundation, injustice, as well as its sole pillar.

That’s the reason the KGM from all walks of life got together to stop IK from voicing for Justice.

The Chore commanders are the KGM of Army, the executive commitees of almost all political parties are KGM of politics, Almost all patwaris & tehsildars are KGM of Land, All SHOs are KGM of peace & so on.

So whenever anyone voice for Justice they(KGMs) get together.

madcow is leading caretaker for the rights of all KGMs. Lets get rid of madcow.

Longlive IK

45. Usman Khalid Says:
    November 23rd, 2007 at 12:29 pm

Hello

Can anyone please provide with the video of Geo News programme that took place yesterday outside geo news office in Islamabad. Sir Imran Khan also showed up there to show his solidarity with Geo. Apart from him leading media personalities and thousands of people from the civil society had gathered there as well. I will be grateful if the admin or any user from Islamabad provides us with videos.

I was also surprised who was this because you had a different stance all along and now someone else was using this name.

a very good job,
    now in these conditions i believe only in one politician and i think other will also, he is Imran Khan,
    he is the only man who is supporting our judiciary
    As per others tone, they seem to be more than willing to participate in elections
    No one is going for restoration of Judiciary.
    long live pakistan
    sadat
    china

Pakistan economy at a glance

I don’t consider myself to be expert to comment on the economical and financial situation of big country of Pakistan size but I will try to explain those situations which led us to development we witnessed in past 8 years.

1. argument in favour of Govt policies for introducing new investment (major investment in form of Telecommunication)
    a. to all those people who follow the global changes would concur on the idea that post monopolistic and state owned corporations era, world has seen immense privatizations of almost each and everything and Pakistan was no exception, rather you cant barricade such changes happening as you don’t live in isolation. Privatization needs investment and foreign investment always look for opportunities. I don’t want to discredit Mush govt for helping privatization but at the same time I don’t want to live in day dream that it would have not been possible without him as I explained earlier, it was change in global economy rather than of Pakistan only.
    2. Tv channels
    a. From financial perspective it is totally driven by free market sources rather than ethical or political forces. Owners of TV channels see it as another product in shop or another service to earn money. This again happened due to change in global trend and was unstoppable, for Govt it is another source of earning money through license fee, so again purely a trade. But I can not comment on Mush claiming he GAVE freedom to media, with due respect launching of new channels were market forces demand rather than idea of a single person. Now how that commodity was used by owners, it is an ethical question to be answered by people who buy it.
    3. Privatization
    a. As explained in 1, Govts all around the world privatise previously state owned institutions but not the way they tried to privatise steel mil!!!!. Plus privatisation as done by other Govts also follow the policy of welfare, means betterment of education, health and justice. Now again while judging any Govt, please see the micro economics along with macro and the change in our daily lives.
    4. Jobs market
    a. With 160 million population Pakistan has immense opportunity for foreign investors to outsource their jobs but we are still lagging behind in getting that, look at India, their outsourcing industry is much bigger than ours. We could have more jobs than what we have right now had we built out global image more democratic.

Please also see policies in long run rather than jumming for short term glories

main akaila hi ghaamzan tha jaanib-e-manzil
    main chalta gya kaarwaan banta gya

@clhussain
    Makes me think I must be saying something right for someone to fall to such level :)

Great show, some one have to explain, what will all the MAJOR parties get if they stay away from election.

Parties have so far failed to mobilize people, and its a scary thing for them is that nobody will come out for them. Thats the only reason all parties including IK will go for election.

You bring out people on the street today and parties will boycott election.

BB changes her rhetoric every day, tones up or down as a true politician.

I would suggest that parties should go in for election with following agenda

1) Judiciary will be restored to Nov 3rd position, if they win.
    2) President will be impeached in first session
    3) New election for president will held
    4) No body will ever take in politics, if army ever moves in again
    2) PCO and emergency are unconstitutional

good job !!!!!! keep it up

53. comment-top comment-bottom
  54. comment-top

Admin, Good Idea, Good Show….and your good performance….

Good name “Better Pakistan”

Keep going…

55. comment-top

good 1…whats ur name tho?

56. comment-top

Business Plus owner Salman Taseer is Federal minister and that cheapster Mubashar Luqman has become punjab minister for IT.
    Lo karlo gal

57. comment-top

guys check this out
    Dog er
    Kho kar ( apni izzat khokar)
    Quyyum (hitler’s twin brother produced by cloning)
    Peerzada (you r most welcome to put anyp prefix in front of zada)
    These are national villiams they are providing legal covers to mush

Dil kay phapholay jal uthay seenay kay dagh say
    is ghar ko aag lag gai is ghar kay charagh say

58. comment-top

BusinessPlus and Daily Times newspaper owner…
    Have any journalists’ organization issued a statement on it?

59. comment-top

bay sharam lota quyyum aitazaz kay saa ee say darta hain
    he is kept under lock and chain and these bastards are passing amendments left right and center
    one judgement will be passed on you.
    lets do social byecott of these illegal mush kids

60. comment-top

well done admin, great listening, thnx.

keep it up.

i am a bit worried at moment no one is talking about the judges anymore and are moving they debate on to elections. surely the first point should be restoration of judiciary.

61. comment-top

NAJAM SETHI STANDS EXPOSED

Najam Sethi is the american agent and he has been consistently writing that there is threat of extremism in Pakistan and that there should be combination of BB and Musharraf to face this threat. He is number one yellow journalist

62. comment-top

“When the generals are in-charge and the constitution of Pakistan has been temporarily suspended, the press is freer than under democracy.” — Najam Sethi, 1999

63. comment-top

Same old Fazlu…

http://www.dailytimes.com.pk/default.asp?page=2007\11\23\story_23-11-2007_pg7_9

64. comment-top

WE ALL SHOULD BOYCOTT ELECTION UNLESS PCO IS REMOVED OR I WOULD PREFER TO VOTE FOR MUSHRAF

65. comment-top

@AD
    Apologies but I will not read anything on Daily Times or watch Business Plus for reasons posted above …

66. comment-top

@ Nota

Najam Sethi is a lota. He has to speak in favour of Mush now because owner of his newspaper (Daily Times) Salman Taseer has joined Mush’s Cabinet.

Salman Taseer is also behind MEGA projects inluding Pakistan’s only 7 star hotel and he has been given $300 million as a loan on no interest.

67. comment-top

@Hina
    Musharraf is not up for a vote, in case you haven’t noticed…

68. comment-top

Q LEAQUE = MUSHRAF

69. comment-top

@Hilal
    Najam Sethi has always been a sc*m as can be seen from the 1999 quote posted above so it is not a recent phenomenon. You already know about Salman Taseer.

70. comment-top

Very nice! Can you bring Dr. Shahid Masood, Talat, Hamid Mir etc on this show? I know it is difficult!

71. comment-top

Dr. Shahid Masood is possible because he is in UAE now but Hamid Mir and Talat are difficult as they seem very busy in current situation because they must have been facing real real pressure from ISI now after holding the shows on the streets.

72. comment-top

Just when we thought BB had a clear stance against military dictatorship, just as we had a glimmer of hope that the opposition would unite on a one-point agenda of Judiciary restoration, it had to be ruined. Just when BB gave her critics the opportunity to praise her on instance, she had to take it back. What we thought to be the light at the end of the tunnel was actually the headlight of a train going to run us over.

BB is very shifty: just days earlier she said that CJ Iftikhar Chaudhary was “her Chief Justice” and now post-Negroponte she has completely forgotten about Judiciary and now wishes to contest the elections, thereby legitimizing them. It is ironic that she claims to be pro-democracy and yet is more than willing to participate in the forthcoming elections under Emergency Raj. Seems like her stance only becomes clear when her own personal assets are at stake: i.e. swiss bank accounts, diamond necklaces, etc.

The main problem is that Pakistan’s general population lacks the knowhow, which is why they keep electing these foolish leaders again and again. And the truth is that leaders themselves want to keep education out of the reach of the common man so they can keep exploiting them.

I hate to sound so pessimistic, but the majority of traffic on this website comes from overseas, educated Pakistanis. And this is the reason why unorthodox leaders (read: Imran Khan) always shine in the polls conducted by this website. Truth is that even though IK’s party is growing at a rapid pace, it still doesn’t enjoy the support of the nation’s majority.

My proposed solution: educated people in Pakistan must support pro-democracy parties like IK’s and other independent parties. Parties whose track-record suggests that they are not likely to form any deal with military dictators. Politically educated people in Pakistan should consider it their duty to educate others. Educate the servants of your house, or other less-privileged souls.

On a side note, I think admin shouldn’t have revealed his name and other personal information. I think soon the ISI hounds will start knocking on your door, and on the doors of your relatives in Pakistan.

73. comment-top

Emergency valid. PCO valid. Dictator can be president.

This is why the SC was changed, Just to get this order.

I am ashamed today.

But Mr. Musharraf, Firoun aslo thought that he was GOD.

Very soon We will see your fate which will be worse than Firoun and Namroud. INSHALLAH.

74. comment-top

@ Hina

Come on! How can you go that low, voting for Q-League?

75. comment-top

@ All

Most of us support IK, and if we count all these votes, even these are very good number of votes. But I am sorry for IK that most of us are overseas, and might not be able to vote for him.

76. comment-top

nice job,, keep it up.. may b sound quality needs some improvements,, but overal nice effort.

77. comment-top

Longlive IK.

Keep on denting KGM (Kabza Group Mentality). KGM standing tall on its foundation, injustice, as well as its sole pillar.

That’s the reason the KGM from all walks of life got together to stop IK from voicing for Justice.

The Chore commanders are the KGM of Army, the executive commitees of almost all political parties are KGM of politics, Almost all patwaris & tehsildars are KGM of Land, All SHOs are KGM of peace & so on.

So whenever anyone voice for Justice they(KGMs) get together.

madcow is leading caretaker for the rights of all KGMs. Lets get rid of madcow.

Longlive IK

78. comment-top

aa254
    I agree with you, and I know that Imran Khan will not get high mandate because we still have feudal system in Pakistan where Nawaz and Chauhdires get their votes from Punjab and BB get her votes from Sindh. Imran Khan is not a feudal landlord so he can’t get all those votes from the villages because their votes will go to their Chauhdries, Wadairahs and Jagirdars by default.

79. comment-top

Javed you are right in the current situation when there are no talk shows but if these talk shows are allowed this wadairaism & chauderism will also be at stake.I am damn sure.

80. comment-top

I have said in my previous comments that there is noway that BB and Nawaz will allow any freedom to media. I hope you guys know what BB and Nawaz did with Hamid Mir in their tenures.

81. comment-top

Javed this time its quite diff coz the audience of electronic media is much much more than the print media.
    So it would be not easy for anyone of them to sabotage it.

82. comment-top

Guess what country?

“The rebellion that burns today will, I forecast, sooner or later turn into some sort of popular velvet revolution. I can predict that with certainty because, as with all revolutions, it is the growing dissatisfaction and unrest provoked by the oppressive and disastrous follies of the State itself that is bringing this about. ”
    http://www.icssa.org/article_detail_parse.php?a_id=1221&rel=1219,992,972,962

83. comment-top

Ansar Abbasi said in Dr. Shahid Masood’s show that Musharraf has better temperament to bear media as compare to BB and Nawaz. So if Musharraf couldn’t take it anymore how will BB and Nawaz. AS far as people are concerned, all they can do is to carry placard and thats it. If Pakistani tv channels will get blocked (like now) every now and than, they will lose money in market and soon disappear.

84. comment-top

I don’t agree, why?
    Just see that IKs actions had made the anchors so bold that they are having their shows on streets.
    If its not a change that IK inspired the jouralist both in electronic & print media & made them more vocal even against the MQM&IJT/JI. Its not a joke if you were ever in lahore & karachi.

85. comment-top

Asif
    Agree with what you are saying. but take a look, aren’t GEO losing money right now? Street shows doesn’t bring any profit to the channel owners and to be very clear the channel owners are not here fro freedom of speech, they are here for their interest and profit. The reason I am saying that media will not be free because the democratic dictators with 2/3 mandate act more ruthless than military dictators. With military dictators you can show them the mirror that hey you are not our representative but what about democratic dictators like Nawaz and BB.

86. comment-top

We would have to accept 1st that theres a change & for that we would have to get rid of our pessimistic thinking which we inherited, not our fault But it would be our fault not to accept the change.
    Thats how I think.

87. comment-top

I am not pessimistic. things are changed even now but isn’t GEO losing money now. If we support our channels than we have to think about them financially. I say media will not be free because neither BB nor Nawaz will want the media to be free as it will expose them. At least they both will agree on one point :)

88. Naeem Muhammad Says:
    November 23rd, 2007 at 5:34 pm

WELL DONE.
    Who can stop ongoing movement. It is like a leaked balloon which has thousands of thousands holes. Who can stop air going out of it.

89. comment-top

THe thing thats disturbs me the most is when we stop thinking beyond BB & NS, but as I said it will take time to get rid of the statusquo thinking.
    We have to look forward an all the way…..

90. comment-top

Great presentation!

91. Haroon ur Rashid Says:
    November 24th, 2007 at 12:46 am
    comment-top comment-bottom
  92. comment-top

Dear Haroon Assalam O Alekum

Are you the same Haroon Ur Rashid who is absent from Nawai Waqt Columns for some time without any trace?

Please reply if you are the same, I want to contact you from Canada

93. comment-top

Imran Khan need to do what Bhutto did in 1968. He needs to start with dynamic membership form all walks of life. so far it seems that his party members lack charisma to mobilise people.
    He should get major media members, lawyers cicl society members and judges on board with him.
    Guys in 1988 I ahd given up that this country will ever rid of Amirul munafqin zia
    but look how he went. Mush ka to jabra bi nahin milay ga (sorry for sounding so violent, I know my comments will also await moderation)

94. comment-top

Another wonderful example of courage and persistence in fighting for democracy in Pakistan. I have missed Capital Talk a great deal in these dark times and I wish that there was something I can do to show my support for GEO. AT this point all I can do is to keep subscription to GEO. I do worry about the financial loss for the owners and I hope that they can outlast this Damn emergency.

RSS feed for comments on this post.