Aaj News 8am PST - 24 November 07

Explosion in “agencies� bus in Hamza Camp near Faizabad and near a check post at GHQ, Rawalpindi. Suspicion of suicide car bombers - ISPR. Media restricted from the scene. Cameras snatched/ confiscated from journalists.

No election ticket to Shaukat Aziz from PMLQ. JUI releases election candidates list. Protests against emergency throughout Pakistan. Quetta railway line damaged after an explosion. Swat crisis continues.

188 Comments »

I love Pakistan. I m pakistani

http://khabrain.com/htmls/edit004.htm

Bole

espacialy the last sentence.

AP is reporting that at least 35 death. http://news.yahoo.com/s/ap/20071124/ap_on_re_as/pakistan_explosion

May Allah forgive all those who have passed!

4. comment-top comment-bottom
  5. comment-top comment-bottom
  6. Lighthouse7635 Says:
    November 24th, 2007 at 5:14 am

how can I watch aaj live news . geo is not working online anymore!

7. comment-top comment-bottom

To all,

I was just wondering? Anybody can answer my question. Can anyone tell what is the political agenda of this website. I mean the admins would have some political leanings. Which party do they support? And most importantly what is the political leaning of the owner of pkpolitics.com?

Are you guys moderates, liberal or conservatives? Do you support PPP, PML-N, PML-Q, or MMA? Are you going to form your own party?

What is the agenda of the administration of this website? What is your political ideology?

I mean have more questions regarding many other things. Right now and first of all I will question your political ideology??? Then we shall question other things too…

NEWS
    MIAN NAWAZ SHARIF WILL CONTEST THE ELECTIONS. AAJ TV
    THE TRAITOR HAS BETRAYED APDM.

These blasts including the blasts in india , are going to serve the purpose of mad general to keep his uniform. So now we know how these blasts happen.

11. Mob Is Loud Says:
    November 24th, 2007 at 7:54 am

Musharaf = Deal (Almighty America)
    MQM = Deal (With all Feudal Lords)
    PML N = Deal (Departure & Arrival)
    MMA = Deal (17 th Amendment)
    PML Q = Deal (Nothing but Deal)
    PPP = Deal (Millions of $$$$$$$$$$$)
    Imran = Deal (Referendum)
    General Kiani= Deal (Uniform)
    Iftakhar Chaudary = Deal (First PCO)

Those who could not get the deal

Shuhada-i-Lal Masjid
    Shuhada-i-FATA
    Shuhada-i-12 May
    Shuhada-i-Kargil
    Shuhad-i-Pakistan Armed forces

Bloody Chess Board of Power

Civil War??????????????????

An interesting article in http://www.express.com.pk - The Express newspaper of today regarding the great deeds of IJT which has been exposed

http://www.express.com.pk/epaper/PoPupwindow.aspx?newsID=1100304446&Issue=NP_LHE&Date=20071124

Isnt it amazing that just yesterday Sharifudding Pirzada and A Qayum were arguing in Supreme Court that since Emergency there had been no suicidal attacks in order to justify emergency and today there have been two attacks right in heart of Rawalpindi.

Milistary if it has to survive as an institution has to get support of people and for that they have to dump Musharraf otherwise so long they are seen connected to Musharraf they would be targets and would also not get support from people. I am sorry to say that Intelligence of Pakistan Army is very very lousy.

They may be able to investigate retrospectively but they cannot pre-empt

Mob - I disagree with you - Lal Masjid mullahs were playing games and were in support of Musharraf and they rasised the issues only when the movement of restoration of Chief Justice was at its peak and all people were able to get out except Rashid Ghazi who was just sacrificed along with innoncent boys and girls - The administration was working for ISI as ISI has its headquarter right across Lal Masjid.

Have you realised that since PCO has been imposed there is not a single demonstration by these madrassah students or maulvis - because heart in heart they are in league with Musharraf and Musharraf is double crossing the West

And by teh way making that big list - do u expect ANGELS TO COME FROM HEAVENS to run this goverment

you havent put up my comments

@clhussain
    Look at the timings of blasts in year 2007, you will know why “Intelligence of Pakistan Army is very very lousy” , So why each and every bomb blast in Pakistan serves the purpose of establishment in Pakistan. Why these blasts don’t happen when establishment does not need them. Why Malik Qyum yesterday said that there are no blasts since the emergency is imposed. and Why when sham court declared the emergency legal next day we have bomb blasts in the heart of pindi. Why sometime they target common public and sometime they target pakistan army men and why is that target is always carefully choosen according to the need.
    Mad general is not going to shed his uniform, I am praying may Allah keep our country safe till 1st December (the date sham court has allowed general again to keep his uniform).

17. Sabeen Khan Says:
    November 24th, 2007 at 8:45 am

Beti shareef na baap shareef
    nawaz shareef, nawaz shareef
    only one shareef
    umer shareef.

Mob is Loud - I completely agree with you. Thats why MQM is so quiet - where have the principles of Altaf Hussain gone

It is about time that the army should revolt against the generals, otherwise they will continue to be killed in even greater numbers in every street and corner of Pakistan. this is not our war, this is america’s war, we should not be losing our own people and fighting each other for American and few generals’ interests. if the army continues following this path, they will become a catalyst for complete civil war, ala Iraq.

on another note, all those Muslims who support and defend democracy should know that it is haram in Islam, because it replaces the supremacy of Allah with the supremacy of the people. please watch this link.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=J8kBSPdCtQc

Either everything is very well planned or completely out of control.

God Help Pakistan.

Kayaani wake up

22. Tanweer Amjad Says:
    November 24th, 2007 at 9:22 am

I don’t have much doubt, agencies are using their powers according to the president’s requirement. This manipulation is very evident. The attcks on BB’s rally in Karachi served dual purpose… suppression of NRO reaction against BB and imposition of emergency. And now again after the decision from the Supreme Court, you were supposed to be in a similar security conditions so you are in an environment more demanding for emergency.

!!!!!Breaking news!!!!!

Nawaz sharif is coming back to lahore tomorrow at 2 pm pst

NS is coming to Lahore

Ab Janat mein baharain ayain gee
    aor dor badi kay betay ga
    Nawaz Sharif jeeta ga

@ Malik

I wouldn’t go that far

26. Tanweer Amjad Says:
    November 24th, 2007 at 9:29 am

And the pity is that it is always the common man who suffered. PPP could not name some prominent worker in the Karachi blasts. It is always some person whom party doesn’t count much on. It is about time people should ignite their conscience and come forward. Especially all the party workers… stop following your party blindly… you have to work for a cause eliminating yourselves from the scenario… let us think about Pakistan only… Stop thinking about ususal leaders if they still can not perceive the change in situation. I think most Pakistanis want restoration of judiciary and removal of all the establishment involved in the current Martial Law (not to forget the kasuris, pirzadas and AG). We should make strong our media, journalists, lawayers and all politicians who could support these two issues.

To Mush

mere des no loot key kha gai ho
    ais kaum tha bhatta bha gai ho
    tusi bangla desh bana gai ho

hun te khara jaan dao
    Mush ji tusi we apne mulk (US) chalai jao

28. Tanweer Amjad Says:
    November 24th, 2007 at 9:33 am

I think AG will find the place whatever party wins due to his family ties in all parties.

@Friend indeed
    the thing is NS along with IK are the onl parties who had clear stance on the current situation

1. restoration of judges
    2. free and fair elections - not under martial law

considering we cannot produce new leaders overnight NS/IK are the best choice realistically available

Admin please correct the news. The explosion has happened in the bus at ‘Faizabad’ not ‘Faisalabad’. This is such a sorry state of affairs. Go Army Go, Go do yuor job!

@ Malik,

I will bet you money that nawaz with IK will contest the election under same conditions…why you think NS is coming back? why musharaf went to jaddah 1 day ago?

this is clear that the establishment has chosen Nawaz over BB.

Here is an interesting article in The News on current court situation and its legality.

http://www.thenews.com.pk/daily_detail.asp?id=82571

An interesting article on legality of courts and its decisions and the legality of Musharraf’s actions

34. mudassar hassan Says:
    November 24th, 2007 at 10:03 am

Every pakistani loves pakistan,this is easy thing to say in sentences !but do any practical work for your country to show your love .Only communicating on internet and seeing by standing aside your nation burning this is not a love for your country.

@Friend indeed

i believe Mush went to Saudi to stop NS from coming to Pak as Mush knows that NS will not compromise on core issues.

there is no doubt that IK will stand by NS. if BB joins them that will be end of Mush (and Army) in politics for a long time

AG real brother Pervez Malik was seen protesting in Lahore for PML N and his sister in PPP. I think Nawaz Sharif shuold throw out Pervez Malik - he was the managing director of PTV when Nawaz was in power in 1999. AG Qayyum lost NS case in SC and now we see why he had lost it. He was in cohoot with the Musharraf at that time like now. Nawaz Sharif wake up now

you dont like anything against AG

this site should be called AWAITING MODERATION SITE

I will implore on all contributors to please keep te bigger picture in view.

Mush and Bush designs are to divide and create diversions such as the IJT fiasco. I hope and pray that IJT has learnt a painful but useful lession.

Secondly I hope that Nawaz Sahrif, Imran Khan and Kazi sahib will be able to find enough space in their hearts to tolerate each other for the sake of PAkistan. They have all made mistakes because they are human beings but let us pray that Allah will guide them and let us hope and pray that Allah protects Pakistan from te evil designs of Mush and Bush

@ taukeer!

IJT is group of shameless thugs who use religion as a cover for their criminal activities. They have not learned the lesson so far and will never learn the lesson as fear-mongering, torture, and Qabza is to protect their illegal commercial interest.
    They are brutal criminals who justify all means which lead to their commercial interests.

IJT has not learnt painful lesson - it was all done because there was a secret arrangement between Liaqat Baloch and pervaiz Elahi for Lahore seat from which pervez Elahi son is running for provincial assembly seat and Liaqat Baloch wants to run on national assembly seat. IJT is another name for ISI and vice versa

good link chussain:

NS should read and understand as it seems he might have been given another chance by ?

better put in original words

“…Without an independent judiciary and a free media the political process will not be subjected to the legal and public scrutiny and accountability that will make it self-corrective. If we sacrifice the non-PCO judges and our independent media at this juncture, we might return to the general’s ‘third stage’ of civilian rule. But that will be no less autocratic, arbitrary and compromised than the one we are struggling to rid ourselves of.”

43. Gulzar saeed Says:
    November 24th, 2007 at 10:32 am

This site is sponsored by Nawaz Sharif and Imran Khan so its better to open a site that will support Musharraf views…why you ppl did not took any action when Nawaz Sharif and BB looted this country’s money.
    Tell me pls why??? thats why everyone talk abt in favour if NS and IK gives me the impression that this site is sponsored by NS who has been taken all Pakistan’s money to London.
    Please tell me the reason…anyone pls??

I have no doubt that Qazi Sahib is an honest person but people like Liaqat Baloch, Fareed piracha, Salman Butt are product of IJT of PU. Does anyone know that Liaqat Baloch brother was hanged in Zia regime for molesting and killing a 14 year old boy. People dont have short memory - He was the famous Saadat Baloch

Gulzar is you are so worried that thsi site is sponsored by NS and IK then why dont make a site for Musharraf - and believe me what you can do is that you can write on that site by changing your ids all the time. It would keep you busy all day and all night. But you would be all alone there - but hold on - you may ask MQM chamchas and PML Q guys to give you company.

@ Gulzar Saeed

lol every now and then we have some idiots claiming some conspiracy against the “dear leader” musharraf. accept the fact that musharraf is the most hated man in pakistan’s history, he will always be remembered with the worst traitors in the history of Muslims. if u cant handle that and think that this site is funded by NS or IK, then simply goto a pro-musharraf site, if u can find one. why do you bother coming here and complaining then?

47. Gulzar saeed Says:
    November 24th, 2007 at 10:44 am

why not, this means u r the one who is writing here using diffent Ids..hahahahha
    man you are getting good money..hmmm…

I guess PML Q govt is the only gobt that spent thier 5 yrs witout any corruption what do u say??? and do u know NS who is the only sharif in this country had the worst and corrupted govt in the history of pakistan.
    he is coming again just to make pakistan economy worst.
    any idea?? why he is coming?? just to kick Mush A** off?? or what?

BBC is reporting that election commission has issued the notification of general’s election. However jang is reporting that election comission has sent the results to cabinet division who will then issue the notification.
    Behind the scenes many things are happening in Pakistan at the moment, apart from oppostion in the open opposing the mad general, there are division in the general’s own constituency (establishment).

Dichotomy analysis - Mush in uniform and army support, BB and NS

1- If Mush wants to stay in uniform and wants to use these blasts in his favour then he needs some faction in army to support him, probably intelligent services. But then what other faction in army will see this as they will also quietly investigate all options. this means one group has to overcome the other. so the question is who is strong and who is on which side. probably this wi ll make clear if Kiyani is on Mush side or not..

2- For BB and NS, best payoff comes with awmi promises including judicial restoration, constitution so both will either participate election or not. Now for fair and free elections the best deal is that both actually contest against each other. for professional army this does not matter who wins but if army becomes stakeholder then it simply means no fair and free elections and their best deal will be no fair game between BB and NS.
    so for BB and NS, best deal is boycott elections unless independent judiciary and constitution is restored which also means Army going back to where they belong.
    Q. why NS and BB lack understanding or rather playing in these terms? anecdotally BB and NS also lack confidence in full awami support so there confidence also needs to be restored

50. Tanweer Amjad Says:
    November 24th, 2007 at 11:03 am

@Gulzar
    Let Musharraf get out of sight, then all will see who was corrupt. even in NS regime, Chaudhris were the biggest corrupt people. i remember the potato and sugar export scandal. they exported them to India (200 trucks every night), then there was a shortage, they re imported them getting high prices yet again, a similar exercise they did in the current Musharraf regime for cotton, sugar, and God knows who else. The corruption scandals will open as soon as they start trying to escape from here. NAB filter has finally cleaned PML(N) of most of the corruption, although there still exists in them.

@clhussain
    People supporting Musharraf PML(Q) or MQM do practice what you indicated but they also know the efficacy of their stance, so they do know keeping themselves on those sites is a sheer waste of their precious time. Here they can easily distract people from the true discussion.
    And above all, they have the most popular and most prevailing Television channel in Pakistan PTV.

@ahmed bhai,
    So at the moment general is heading army, following this army over the years, what I understand is the factions in the army are never clear , they are in fact very fluid. People (generals and officer) will be changing sides every night. And it will never be clear who is on whose sides. There are very few incidents , most recent against Jahangir Karamat, when he offered to resign as COAS, generals kept quiet as if they don’t support him. However usually most of the generals will always openly stand behind the army chief. So in a nutshell as long as general is heading the army , it will seem that his faction is strongest.
    contd..

52. Tanweer Amjad Says:
    November 24th, 2007 at 11:08 am

BREAKING NEWS

A P D M A N N O U N C E D B O Y C O T T

53. comment-top

Suicide bombers kill 35 in two blasts in Pakistan
    http://www.thestar.com/News/article/279443
    Army checkpoint, bus targeted in attacks
    Nov 24, 2007 04:30 AM

ISLAMABAD–Suicide bombers hit a bus carrying intelligence agency employees and a checkpoint near the headquarters of the Pakistan army this morning, killing at least 35 people.

The two attackers struck in Rawalpindi, a garrison city south of the capital, Islamabad. A senior intelligence official said at least 35 people were killed.

In the first attack, an explosives-laden car rammed a bus carrying employees from the Inter-Services Intelligence agency, while the other bomber hit the checkpoint, said Mohammed Afzal, a local police official.

54. comment-top

@Tanweer Amjad

I hope you are right and I hope it is not a “may”/”might” — Have learnt to hate those words :(

55. comment-top

Continued from above…
    At times, Army will always use the situations happening in the country and around the world to exploit it for its benefits. There are times when army will create the situation for its benefits. So for example:
    1. Mad general has extreme pressure from the world and internally to remove his uniform. He has several times committed to remove his uniform. So one faction of the army (read Ashfaq Kiyani) will use this situation to achieve his objective. He or anybody is not going to influence the situation (e.g. make it happen earlier). But he would definitely like to keep this pressure up. Let me give you an example just yesterday/today when Sham Court (SC) announced that general’s election as president is legal , they put “unnecessarily” the condition of removing uniform before taking the oath. This is kind of manipulation that Kiyani or his faction can do to influence the situation.
    2. On the other hand , as army chief general can influence the situation in more balatant way. So he can ensure certain situation to be created in order achieve his goals. One of the situation is for example bomb blasts.

56. comment-top

–It says APDM has agreed “in principle” to boycott the elections (there is the wiggle room :()
    –Will demand PCO be lifted in 4 days).
    –JUI-F will not participate in APDM until it’s “reservations” are satisfied.
    –Nawaz arriving on a special Saudia flight at 4PM

57. comment-top

But why Kiyani will wait further?

1-probably its norm of Army to break constitution so he cant say Mush is liable for this and justify his action. this will break army as an institute?

2-”Traditionally” Army cant use weapons on general awam so this line has yet not crossed

3- all other Mushs’ tactics will be offset with same contra strategy by other factions in Army. Tom & Gerry show ?

4 -Does this means Army as an institute wants to remain integrated and their interest exceed nations’ interest?

5 -Now since Army has to support US in Afghanistan for all of US supply chain and is in almost same strong position as in soviet unions’ era, this means if Army as an institute decide to continue their support against all of Army aids and other benefits,
    the institutional decision should be to have another COAS. simple? isn’t it? WHY

58. comment-top

Is APDM pulling a “Fazlu” a-la-resignations?
    I mean they say they will boycott elections “in principle” and give Mush 4 days to lift Emergency/PCO.

Let’s see if they announce it tomorrow (25th) this will take them to (29th). Mush is going to probably give up uniform 29th anyway as he has to take oath before December 1 i.e. 30th and I am sure since he wants to be a “legit” “President”, he won’t take the oath under emergency meaning emergency will be lifted 29th anyways :)

And there you have it.
    –APDM can claim victory.
    –Mush is legitimized, at least by APDM –Elections take place as scheduled and –everyone participates
    –People are told they are the real victors.
    –People are happy

How come I feel sick? :(

59. comment-top

But you forgot to add that along with lifting PCO, they are asking for restoration of pre Nov 3 judicial status too for taking part in election..

60. comment-top

So let us first assume the following:
    1. Institutional interest of army is actually the national interest of Pakistan. It is common belief of every army jawan that Pakistan is there as long as army is their. This is what a section of common public in Pakistan also believe.
    2. Based on this , as Pakistan have not disintegrated in last 36 years (since 1971), it is assumed that Pakistan army is successful to keep the country intact. Hence army intellect is above everybody in Pakistan. Whatever they decide is in the best interest of their institution hence it is in the best interest of Pakistan.

Now what is the line that once crossed will cause army to be weakened. That line is support of US. So if for the sake of argument let us say General Musharraf becomes Saddam Hussein, then that line will be crossed and army will have to take the extreme measure of overthrowing its chief.
    However overthrowing a chief also weakens the institution as well. So this extreme measure can only be taken in extreme situations.
    At present Kiyani would be right in thinking that general should leave, however the general may still want to remain the army chief and there can not be an open opposition to the sitting army chief. Kiyani can only use the current situation for his advantage however he can not openly influence the happenings. Whereas sitting chief can and will influence the situation. He (Musharraf) has again borrowed time till 1st december, in the meanwhile he would like to have some more incidents thay may help him extend his tenure.

61. comment-top

@Faisal
    I did not see that but I hope you are right and I hope they stick with it…

62. comment-top

The real and final battle will start once General has removed his uniform. There will be altogether different politics after that. After he sheds his uniform, the chances of restoration of constitution, restoration of judiciary become very very high. That is what general is fighting for at the moment, he is so insecure that he had to amend the PCO to transfer the power to lift emergency to president as he can never trust the COAS once he is no more COAS himself.

63. comment-top

ok assume that Mush does not leave after dec 1 as COAS. Now if Kiyani and other generals ask him quietly to leave why cant they do it before and if they don’t then …

What will be the legitimacy of kiyani if he overthrows Mush only if US line is crossed? probably the illusion will be created as if national interest line is also crossed but later requires some script. So who will be party on this script?
    COAS
    Corp cmds.
    MI
    ISI
    who else?

64. comment-top

Two point agenda of opposition parties - REMOVE MUSHARRAF AND RETURN OF PRE 3 NOV JUDICIARY

65. comment-top

Musharraf would not dare to keep army post after Dec 1 because he has given commitment to army also that he would hand over to Kiyani once Supreme Court validates his election. Its another matter that this election is very controversial and decision of SC is very controversial because SC itself is very controversial.

66. comment-top

Would NS give ticket to Qayum brother - this remains to be seen

67. comment-top

@Pejamistri
    I guess I just don’t want it to be “much ado about nothing”! I want the b*stards head!

68. comment-top

APDM has taken a very wise decision - it has kept all options open and also do not want to give Musharraf a chance to scrap elections by boycotting it now. They dont want to fall in his trap - the first step of plan is to get him out of his uniform because that would help military keep its insitution from breakup.

Once he removes his uniform then its free for all.

69. comment-top

Now that APDM has taken a stand, BB should also come out & announce the same.. I guess that will bring this whole drama crumbling down..

70. comment-top

@ The Bomb explosions in Rwp were the main incentive for these Asha’ar today morning

Soch pay Pehra, Pabandi Hai
    Aisa Hoa Hai Pakistan
    Qaid Aa Kay Dekh Zara too
    Kaisa Huwa Hai Pakistan

Munsif Band, Iblagh Pay Qadghan
    Band Zuban, Izhar Pay Qadghan
    Hairani Say Log Yeh Poochain
    Kaisa Huwa Hai Pakistan

Mulk Kay Hain Qanoon Mua;atal
    Haq saray Kay Saray Mua;atal
    Suprim Court Main Bandar nachain
    Aisa Huwa Hai Pakistan

Saray Ahad-o-Paiman Bhoolay
    Waday Bhoolay, Hulf Bhi Bhoolay
    Apni Fauj Hai Apni Qatil
    Kaisa Huwa Hai Pakistan

Har Janib Hain Bum Dhammakay
    Zahan Pay, Dil Pay Hoon Dhammakay
    Aman Ki Khwahish Khwab Lagay Hai
    Aisa Huwa Hai Pakistan

Roh-e- Qiad Sharminda Hain
    Aisa Huwa Hay Paksitan

71. comment-top

@clhussain
    Two point agenda of opposition parties - REMOVE MUSHARRAF AND RETURN OF PRE 3 NOV JUDICIARY

72. comment-top

@ Faisal

BB doesnt give a damn about Pakistan. She cannot go against her sponsor’s (US) wishes. She is hand in glove with Mush. She will never boycott elections. She has to help him to come into power somehow and rob whatever reserves Pakistan has. Her u-turns are proof of this.

73. comment-top

@Syed
    Encore! Encore!!

74. comment-top

BB has been awfully quiet. Is she even in the country??

75. comment-top

So in the last corps commander conference , the generals decalared that they fully stand behind their chief however one important thing reported from that conference was that general told them that he would be leaving the office of COAS upon taking oath as president, and the commanders kept quiet, that is the same thing happened when Jahangir Karamat said that he wants to resign and commanders kept quiet. So this is equivalent to saying yes please do leave.
    Now the issue is General wants to remain in uniform despite his assurances that he is going to leave. This is a difficult situation. I can not predict any outcome if does not doff his uninform on December 1st. But that can only happen when something really big happens. Similar to what happened on november 3rd. But since he has already used his november 3rd card therefore there is nothing else he can play.
    There is other “BIG” option , I don’t want to say it but I am praying that december 1st comes and passes without “BIG” incident. Your guess about the “BIG” incident will be as good as mine.

76. comment-top

@ nota

I am not surprised Bro. I am not sure why her supporters can’t see all this. She has been constantly supporting Mush. Someone nicely compared her to a female version of Fazlu Diesel here :).

77. comment-top

@ Thanks Nota I will continue

We must write ltrs/emails to BB to boycott, she has the key now to bring this farce government and the madcow crashing down.

78. comment-top

In times like this you are forced to wish that Karachi bombers were little more accurate

79. comment-top

@Faisal
    If only… :)

80. comment-top

A comment from Dictatorshipwatch.com:
    “By letting Nawaz in, Mush is trying to give as much legitimacy to the elections as possible. But the point is that even if the elections are one hundred thousand per cent fair and free, his rule is illegitimate. He has to go. When a subservient newspapeer like Dawn can question his legitimacy in its editorial(Is legitimacy there?), it means his rule is illegitimate. Anything erected on that illegitimate foundation will remain illegitimate.”

81. Tanweer Amjad Says:
    November 24th, 2007 at 1:00 pm

@faisal
    I think those were pretty accurate, since they created doubts of a suicide attack in the minds of common people. But they served equally good for either parties. Remeber dubai, NRO, niaz, mush, etc.
    Remember if BB felt that people just want judiciary and rule of law, she might pack up sensing no scope for her. Her quietness says it all.. have you heard her in the last few days apart from visit to Geo office.

82. comment-top

APDM has made a historical decision and have robbed BB of a moral higher pedestal which she could acheive if she did so before APDM. The premise of APDM is that the present incumbents in the so called supreme court are not independent so fair and free elections cannotbe held. Pl read a legal article and decide. Madcow supporters are also welcome to read if they can!

http://www.thenews.com.pk/daily_detail.asp?id=82571

83. comment-top

@ syed

He declared himself a certified idi@t when he mentioned Dr. Jakyll and Mr. Hyde :).

84. comment-top

No Prime Minister in future would ever make a mojahir general again - we had to examples - Zia and Musharraf and now we have enough of them - sorry I am not being racisct but that is true - the other two generals were Pathans. Although everyone condemns Punjabis but there hasnt been a single Punjabi general who has ever tried to subvert the consitution. Isnt it interesting to note?

85. missing_pakistan Says:
    November 24th, 2007 at 1:52 pm
    comment-top comment-bottom
  86. comment-top

@ clhussain

Your argument will open up a can of worms bro. Punjabis are not saint either. We don’t have to go back much in history. Does PML Q rings a bell? Although they are not Generals, but they have played their part quite honestly in massacaring the constitution.

Its not about races, its about individuals destrying our country. We have a mafia in the name of MQM and then we have a mafia in the name of Choudharies as well :).

87. comment-top

@Farhan
    That is so right
    @clhussain
    Though ti is interesting to note however at the that position(COAS) one is just the COAS a demigod who does not belong to any caste, creed, religion or ethnicity. Imganie no one. no one can point out your mistake, 100% of your needs, orders and even unsaid orders are obeyed in totality. You are pampeerd in every way that you can imagine, you can hire and fire anyone. Do you think one can remember if one was a Punjabi, Pathan or Mohajir? I do not think so and that is why madcow is behaving in this manner.

88. comment-top

@ clhussain and Farhan

I had wrote earlier that only one officer after 1971 declared that he will not fight under the then military leadership that was Brig. F. B. Ali of 6 Armd Div in Kharian (ref: Brig Siddiqii’s book. No other officer did that. Punjabis through out history have not put up significant resistance to any conqueror. They only submitted. They are martial race as they can obey orders, they are loyal. They do not want to cause a stir. So yes to an extent it is quite amusing to see the behaviour of Punjabi generals, they follow wrong orders and they want to hide as Hamid hid behind Yahya!

89. comment-top

@ Syed, @ clhussain

I guess we have made our points. Lets just not argue over racial issues. I am a mohajir myself but i don’t take sides based on race. So lets end it here and focus on the core issue.

90. missing_pakistan Says:
    November 24th, 2007 at 2:18 pm
    comment-top comment-bottom
  91. Yusuf Nasrullah Says:
    November 24th, 2007 at 2:18 pm

To Faisal and nota…wishing the bombers in Karachi had been accurate…I pray to Allah that you lose your parents and family tonight!

92. comment-top

@farhan I am also a mohajir and to be honest by making MQM we have condemned all teh Urdu speaking muslims as mohajirs for all times to come.

93. comment-top

guys
    just let to get the record straight Zia ul Haq, the ultimate villain, was a punjabi, an Arian , from jullander, indian punjab, though after the migation his family settled in peshawar and hence he held a domicile of NWFP(if i am not forgetting anything).So please dont take this honour away from the punjabis.

94. comment-top

@ clhussain

second you on MQM bro. Its a disgrace to Mohajirs.

95. comment-top

it does not matter what you are in terms of punjabi,sindi, etc .

we are all pakistani full stop.

96. comment-top

Sorry I missed the discussion.
    I am still stucked at
    Boycott election
    Bring masses on the street and through army for good from the politics.
    Or tell me why I should not support for ARMY when my leaders do not have the guts to motivate the masses?

97. comment-top

is that we are fighting for punjabi sindhi muhajir ?
    We are still on the same boat of FASSAD based on ethincity?

98. comment-top

we want independent judiaciary

when do we want it

we want it now

sorry guys i know thats really cheesy

99. comment-top

@ Hina

No we are not fighting over ethnicity. Please read my comments above. You’ll get an idea of how it started and how we ended it in just 4-5 posts.

100. Tanweer Amjad Says:
    November 24th, 2007 at 2:45 pm

@commoner
    According to you, only people residing in Karachi are Mohajirs, rest are all punjabis, kashmiris, and pathans but not mohajir. Another question… how much time has passed since then… i think most of the mohajirs currently contesting in MQM and all of its supporters were born in Pakistan. I think the issue is we have to forget from where we have arrived in Pakistan… We arrived in Pakistan because it was facilitating Muslims and non-muslims better than the Indian parts. I think all of us have a valid Pakistani National Identity Card… And no one is marked as Mohajir or Non-Mohajir on his NIC.

101. Tanweer Amjad Says:
    November 24th, 2007 at 2:47 pm

So would JI be able to convince Fazlu for boycotting elections… I don’t think so… they will have to choose their own path.

102. comment-top

103. Tanweer Amjad Says:
    November 24th, 2007 at 2:49 pm

@PPP supporters
    Is BB still in Pakistan?

104. comment-top

the beginnings of MQM can be traced back to the Zia era to break the PPP vote bank. MQM is nothing more than an establishment party just like PML-Q. Our military has successfully played politics on sect, ethinicity, race, creed… you name it.

we all should be above racial or ethnic differences, even though there is plenty of blame throughout history that can be placed to certain ethnicities, punajbis and mohajirs most deservedly. But again, fingerpointing and a tit for tat blame game will just divide us further and keep us in neverending loop. and REMEMBER: the ISI bank’s on that. They will never let progressives or moderates unite.

105. comment-top

test

106. comment-top

To all

Please don’t forget the 55- 60 people who sacrificed their careers to uphold supremacy of judiciary. Future can not be prosperous if foundation we lay today is based on lies and deceit.

I welcome nawaz sharief but wont be excited to forget judges of Pakistan, I request you people to keep alive their issue.

In the name of those who favored to be axed but kneel down in front of a tyrant

107. comment-top

@ Tanweer Amjad

ARY said BB will be contesting elections from Larkana. Not sure about her whereabouts. I guess Negroponte told her to shut the heck up and follow the script :).

108. comment-top

some comments i got from aaj tv

jago aur jagao
    to remain silent over a crime is like to be criminal. so are we going to be criminals as a nation? answer is big no but we have to look that it is not the lone legal fraternity or media who are supposed to fight for our rights but it is for every individual to come and stand with the forces of right today and no one else but the former supreme court judges can provide relief . come to the call of the day other wise all we will be suffocating in this enviornment along with our next generations to come. Lets unite for the liberty to day as the entire country from swat to sibi is under tremendous pressures due to the one executive. Pakistan was not born for executive .

109. comment-top comment-bottom
  110. comment-top

justice is the only solutions to get rid of the evil forces. These are known as Kabza Group Mafia, present in all walks of life, just take a look around you, you will find dozens of them at a glance.
    So hail all those who are voicing for justice.

111. comment-top

@ Tanweer Amjad

So would JI be able to convince Fazlu for boycotting elections
    ====================================

Lets be realistic bro. Fazlu Diesel’s own mother wouldn’t be able to trust him. He won’t boycott elections. He will support Mush.