Massive Crackdown against PMLN in Progress

Nawaz Musharraf

Daily Express reports that massive crackdown against PMLN workers is under progress and hundreds have been arrested from Lahore, Rawalpindi and Gujranwala. The highways between Rawalpindi and Lahore are being sealed.

Various news sources are reporting that a fleet of bullet proof vehicles have been gifted by Saudi Royals and has arrived at Lahore. Saudi Royals Guards and a member of Saudi Royal family will accompany Sharif family from Lahore airport to their residence at Raiwind.

119 Comments »

so its clear now that there was no mush-NS deal. I dont understand how or why saudia has suddenly decided to pressuirze mush into sending NS back.maybe US doesn’t want to rely on BB and mush anymore

Hi,

I think Musharraf wants to use Nawaz Sharif to keep a balance of seats amongst different parties, especially PPPP. This would allow him to have a hung parliment and thus everything would remain well under his control.

At the same time he does not want some massive welcome rally on Nawaz’s return, because this might become counter productive. He does not want to allow the internation/national media and masses, to have a feel that Nawaz is perhaps the change they were looking for.

So again, typical army person’s thought - controlled democracy, controlled parliment, controlled politicians, controlled media, controlled rallies and above all controled public.

But as you know, the point where a human’s thinking stops, there comes the role of luck and almighty.

Muck Farmy
    Miss Pusharraf

Dhakka kay Baghoray Haay Haay
    Kargil the khoti, Sadar Aan Khloti

the return of nawaz will make the difficulties for the mush goverment. the saudis has played an important role for his return however if nawaz factor came into pakistani politics the Q-league will be distroyed in no time so they are using force and capture the activists of N-league.

An emotional column by Irfan Siddiqui on Nawaz Sharif’s arrival:

http://nawaiwaqt.com.pk/urdu/daily/nov-2007/25/columns1.php

According to press reports, Saudi Arabia was getting worried about getting bad publicity in Pakistan. There were many protests including ours at Saudi Embassy in London.

I think Saudi should not have any interference in our politics apart from pressing for democracy (which is very unlikely because of International dictators trade union.)

Though I am only a NS sympathiser (not voter), I think we should stop blaming politicians till we get corrupt generals out of politics. They are very good at conquering their own people.

Dhake Diyan Khotian,
    PM house Aan Khalotian

Kargil Diyan Khotian
    Supreme Court aan Klotian

We should email Saudi Arabian missions/government to thank them for accepting our Supreme Court verdict.

NS is US’s backup in case mush and bb both screw up! why else would saudis make this 360 U-turn?

this is so ironic..when the supreme court wanted NS back, he couldn’t get back coz no one cared what supreme court said. NOW when the US and Saudis want him back, there is NOTHING mush can do!

@kaka, using religious card for political reasons is the cheapest thing one can do. Zia Ki Baaqiat and their hypocritc mantality has still some life left and they want to use Sharif’s political clout for their own survival.

I hope Sharif will stay on the path of moderation and accept the fact that his po9litical opponents are equal Muslims if not better.

Thanks! Keep us updated with the latest. I’d also encourage bloggers to post who is giving the best coverage, ARY, Aaj, Dawn or Geo. I don’t have ARY but if the coverage is good I’ll subscribe.

We’ll all be flipping channels:)

@Hilal,

Quote:
    I think we should email Saudies to backoff from internal matters of Pakistan and instead restore human rights in their own suffocated kingdom. Saudies have done enough damage to Pakistan by financing extremism in the country.

We must work to end Saudi factor in our politics.

Hilal
    “We should email Saudi Arabian missions/government to thank them for accepting our Supreme Court verdict.”
    We should email Saudi Arabian missions/government to CONDEMN them for accepting AGAINST our Supreme Court verdict. Remember they “kidnapped” NS AFTER the verdict. That was disgusting and I will not forgive them for it. THEY HAVE NO RIGHT to kidnap ANY CITIZEN of Pakistan and what they did was criminal.

And they are not doing this now on “moral” grounds but on someones orders AND maybe to save face.

please read “accepting AGAINST” as “acting AGAINST”

Kudos to the Saudis.

They realized their mistake and now they are doing the right thing.

I don’t think they want an anti-muslim PM (Bezamir) in Pakistan.

@Khokar
    @uote:
    ________
    ________

What a shameless statement. Maloon Zia is not dead but his soul is alive like ‘Nazria e Zaroorat’. Neither Saudes nor NS are custodians of Islam. Using religion for political purposes is the cheapest tactic. I don’t think NS will use Zia card again, he is a much mature politician now.

DTAIL OF THE DEAL

http://dailytimes.com.pk/default.asp?page=2007\11\25\story_25-11-2007_pg1_3

BTW I have checked all international and national media and found no news about any ‘MASSIVE CRACKDOWN’.

My real sympathies are with IK and Choudharie because the real casuality of Sharif’s return will be these two groups.

@ khokar :

———————————–

saudis dont care about islam or muslims.they just want big boeing planes , piles of $ and harems full of women

18. shahid kinnare Says:
    November 25th, 2007 at 4:06 am

It is no more about Mush in Pakistan. Now it is about Pro-people against Bureacracy. NS is canditate for bureacracy which includes JUI, JI, APDM, PNA, Pakistan Muslim League Conventional and on the other side its PPP. Let see who wins this time my bet is on NS. NS is next PM Oath would be administered by MUSH.

The army has truly destroyed thsi country. What a wonderful country woudl it eb without any army. They our enemies, not India. We have taken 60 years to recognize who the real enemy of Pakistan civilians is and who had the intentions of invading Pakistan.

20. imran malik Says:
    November 25th, 2007 at 4:59 am

@saqib tahir

do me a favour and read all your posts in pk politics…..just go thru em honestly….and you will notice the extreme biasness towards pppp…..i plead you that the times of 1988 are over…people dont debate over the piousness of bb or ns any more…they have both been exposed ….educated people dont get indulge into it any more….talk about the philosophy and idelogies….dont side with any party plz..that era of bb is better than NS or vise versa is over atleast for the educated junta…dont waste ur time on defending pppp …instead talk about issues….and the most imp issue right now is restoration of judiciary..whoever politician is honestly emphasising on it and showing it by his actions (not mere words)shld be appreciated….i think what javed hashmi said in hamid mir’s latest show was correct…

p.s by not obeying the reational orthodox relegious life…one doesnt become the champion of so called secularism(left wing or pppp) in same way pretending to be a pious muslim and selling islam in politics doesnt make one a representive of islam (right wing)

and last but not the least..it has become very easy to menouver the conspiracy thories to suit your ideologies like establishment is against pppp or they are favouring right wing or this and that…….the same stragedy was adaoted by mqm and they still do it …although they are enjoying the govt with the establishment….so plz dont resort into the theories (like formation of iji etc)over and over to deffend a party…
    the argument of bb or NS can’t be won ,,since prejudice will prevail and blind folded lovers of bb or NS will find it hard to accept the facts….

urs sincerely
    imran malik

@ imran malik

second you bro. its senseless to defend BB and NS. both have their share of corruptions and deals and are still doing that. no one can deny BB’s free roaming around, so called house arrests and now participation in elections as scripted. same goes for NS now making a return as the savior.

22. imran malik Says:
    November 25th, 2007 at 5:39 am

@farhan

i hope the jyaalaas also realize it

@ imran malik

they do realize it. i dont know why they dont call spade a spade. any normal person can see what BB has done in last 2-3 months and can realize she is sitting in Mush’s lap with the blessings of US. look at her latest excuse for participating in elections: ‘we will participate in elections as a protest’ :).

LET BYEGONES BE BYGONES

LETS FORGIVE NAWAZ AND BENAZIR AND EVERYONE ELSE WHO HAS TRIED TO STAND AGAINST ISI AND ARMY

LET US GET THE ARMY BACK TO BARRACKS AND LET US TRY AND HANG ALL THE GENERALS SUPPORTING MUSHARAF

LET US HAVE PAKISTAN FIRST ATLEAST THESE POLITICIANS CAN BE CHECKED AND ARE NOT ABOVE THE LAW EXAMPLES ARE ZA BHUTTO’S HANGING, NAWAZ’S EXILE AND ZARDARI’S 8 YEAR IMPRISIONMENT.

WAS THERE EVER A GENERAL TRIED, IMPRISONED OR HANGED, NO BECAUSE THESE BASTARDS ARE ABOVE THE LAW.

@ Imran malik and Farhan

you are both under the influence of negative propaganda which agencies propagate to demonize the political leaders…so that innocent and naive people don’t see any alternatives and go back to Military for help.

I think that’s the biggest achievement my pakistan military…to make democracy irrelevant for people.

@ Friend indeed

and you need to go through every single comment i have made on this site before you pass a comment on my stance on military rule, democracy and our politics :).

27. imran malik Says:
    November 25th, 2007 at 5:54 am

@saqib tahir,all jyaalaas

do me a favour and read all your posts in pk politics…..just go thru em honestly….and you will notice the extreme biasness towards pppp…..i plead you that the times of 1988 are over…people dont debate over the piousness of bb or ns any more…they have both been exposed ….educated people dont get indulge into it any more….talk about the philosophy and idelogies….dont side with any party plz..that era of bb is better than NS or vise versa is over atleast for the educated junta…dont waste ur time on defending pppp …instead talk about issues….and the most imp issue right now is restoration of judiciary..whoever politician is honestly emphasising on it and showing it by his actions (not mere words)shld be appreciated….i think what javed hashmi said in hamid mir’s latest show was correct…

p.s by not obeying the reational orthodox relegious life…one doesnt become the champion of so called secularism(left wing or pppp) in same way pretending to be a pious muslim and selling islam in politics doesnt make one a representive of islam (right wing)

and last but not the least..it has become very easy to menouver the conspiracy thories to suit your ideologies like establishment is against pppp or they are favouring right wing or this and that…….the same stragedy was adaoted by mqm and they still do it …although they are enjoying the govt with the establishment….so plz dont resort into the theories (like formation of iji etc)over and over to deffend a party…
    the argument of bb or NS can’t be won ,,since prejudice will prevail and blind folded lovers of bb or NS will find it hard to accept the facts….

down with busharraf

urs sincerely
    imran malik

We should all admit that Dictator Musharraf and his party is going. For this he has to go to King Abdullah to request to send NS back. Even now his key member of the govt Shoukat Aziz is not willing to take a risk to loose in the (s)election.

NS should realize one thing NOW people of Pakistan are more aware and do not like DEALERS in Pakistan. No applogies from the politicians who joined for whatever reason to PML(Q) Lotas. For this if he has to join hands with IK and ANP do it insteatd of giving chance to LOTAS. This is now time for NS to prove if he has learnt form his mistakes or not. Let’s see.

First of all NS should take a stand to restore the Judiciary and Media due to whom he is able to come back (not because of our corrupt politicians excluding IK). Otherwise he will be like BB with a bad image of Deal in his pocket.

NO COMPROMISE on JUDICIARY and MEDIA…..

29. imran malik Says:
    November 25th, 2007 at 5:59 am

@insider
    exactly….but regarding shaukat aziz ,he didnt opt to stay away from elections ,he was shown the gate by chaudhries….

farhan on November 25th, 2007 5:44 am

They do realize it. i dont know why they dont call spade a spade.
    —————————————–
    It is a very difficult thing to do, really. Say I’ve spent all my life worshiping an idol believing it to be god. That is the basis of my whole belief system. No matter how much someone points out the facts, it takes a lot of strength to accept it as admitting it makes your whole previous existence meaningless as will as well as leaving you with hard to fill great void thus created…

@ nota

good analysis bro. for BB, its all her father’s legacy. Whenever you question her actions, along comes a scream ‘bhutto tang gaya’ :).

32. imran malik Says:
    November 25th, 2007 at 6:03 am

vgood analysis of a biased psychee.

33. comment-top comment-bottom

@insider

I agree with…however I just heard on the news that govt is denying any deal with NS…That confirms that there is actually a deal…which govt is trying to hide too.

Like I said some days ago: Believe in “principles” and not “Principals.” Principles will never fail you.

@ Friend indeed

its quite clear there is a deal between NS and Mush. a member of saudi royal family is accompanying them. i believe thats sharif’s guarantor just as US is BBs guarantor.

besides, NS wont dare to come under emergency without a deal.

There is not difference between US being guarantors or saudies being guarantors…saudi arab has be en more then strong ally of US and usually implements US policies in the region.

Having said that…on a different note…one very important factor has been over seen…and that’s MQM…MQM has 20 to 21 national assembly seats…and there is no way establishment can keep MQM out of power…If APDM makes the govt under a deal…how would APDM work with MQM (Since Imran khan doesn’t go along with MQM)…or APDM will get more then expected majority so that they wouldn’t even need those 20 seats from MQM to form a govt. in any case it will be interesting situation to watch.

@saqibtahir….

maybe you need to refine your search skills…

http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/Hundreds_of_Sharif_supporters_detained/articleshow/2568910.cms

@saqib tahir - Please note that Daily Times is goverment paper because its owner is Federal Minister for Commerce - Salman Taseer and ofcourse it would publish news in favour of goverment and those news which are against goverment would be published in sugar coated way so as to lose its impact.

I give u an example.

All major newspapers are running headlines about Munir Malik serious condition of renal failure and dialysis but Daily Times has blunted that news and said he was treated and is well and havent mentioned renal failure at all.

Najam Sethi is no doubt on goverment payroll.

@saqib tahir - about the massive crackdown go on http://www.bbc.co.uk/urdu and you would read the news yourself.

I hope that satisfied your searching skills.

This crackdown could very well be the part of the deal..This will give NS a reason to not go full throttle against Musharraf & he would then say that the only way to oppose him is to go for elections..He must immediately endorse APDm decison if he is sincere.. Does anyone know if PTI also taking the nomination forms as other APDM parties are doing or they will be the only one betrayed again on moral principles..

@ ucilite @ imran malik and @ zuhaib

These actions of the Governments are just to neutralize the fact that they are not giving FREEHAND to anyone. As groud under his feet is slipping and clear indication is his close ally Shukat Aziz on which no one is ready to gamble (after his so called economic reforms in country). He is the first one and many more will come who now will know the GROUND REALLITY.

About news links. Just after two and a half months Musharraf did not have to go and request King Abdullah to send NS back. It was the same person who deported him against Supreme Courts decision (who cares). He made a new supreme court.

Musharraf does not want big rally because this might become counter productive and show on internationl media NS popularity. As he claims he is the most popular leader on grass root level. He can say he just captured few hundreds people does NS has that much support??

Again if NS decides to go for election there should not be NO COMPROMISE ON JUDICIARY AND MEDIA. As he is back due to their struggle on streets and decicion in courts.

See how much government lost since Nov 3 and they are going to lose more

1. They have lost Supreme Court which could validate his election - the current one is a lota SC and would not have any validity in public eyes

2. PML Q goverment is gone for good and more so since NS is back now and BB is in Pakistan so there is no chance PML Q can ever come back

3. Shaukat Aziz has gone too for good

4. Musharraf as general would be gone by next week and even his presidency is controversial

5. Kiyania would be new General

I want to ask all my colleagues honestly taht did you all thought on Nov 2 that this would happen in a space of 21 days.

My advice is that TRUST IN ALLAH - we make all sorts of schemes but the BEST SCHEMER IS ALLAH AND WHATEVER HAPPENS IS WITH HIS WILL.

We should not judge quickly if NS or BB has made any deai - things have moved a lot from that stage - Now in Pakisatn making a deal is like giving an abuse - so its very very difficult for anyone to make a deal with Musharraf. He is nearly finished.

The biggest set back for him is that he is losing power rapidly and a stage has come where events over taken his decision making and manipulation.

NS and BB would be out of politics for ever if they at this stage make a deal with Musharraf. He ship is sinking in anyway and no one would like to ride on that ship.

In hindsight if Musharraf had been a little intelligement he should have taken off his uniform in 2004. He would have been easily elected as next president. He didnt trust people of Pakistan but his advisors.

Just see now - there would be another shock for the goverment when District Nazims would start flocking PML-N

I believe Aitzaz Ahsan has been release any news? I could not see complete new on geo web tv , but I saw a picture in which he was talking to some journalists.

We are very impatient - we want instant results. This is a long struggle on teh contrary and Musharraf would do his best not to concede but he is losing rapidly on this front.

PPP has decided to side with opposition

http://www.dawn.com/2007/11/25/top2.htm

Dawn has reported today

@ clhussain

Agreed but my question is our leaders when they are in power never believe iin that when they are in power, they think they are the most superhuman being in the world. They forget the history. Charcters are changed and same old story. If politicians are for sale military is always there (after every ten years) to buy them.

Allah (SWT) shows us generations before have also seen this. If our leaders are not sincere our next generations can see this as well (I hope and pray not).

Alas my country will again be in the hands of the army and politicians like NS, BB and in MMA and MQM. Now i would prefer to favor the militants in swat rather than NS and BB. atleast they have a clear stand. Shame on saudis for playing with us like this, well what can we expext from them, they are too monarchs.

Read my lips……..There is a deal
    BB deal….by George Bush
    NS deal….by king abdulla
    What a country of Pakistan ? and Pakistan ? , its great leaders BB and NS
    God save us and save our country of Pakistan from these BB and NS , the two great enemy of Pakistan.

50. comment-top comment-bottom
  51. imran malik Says:
    November 25th, 2007 at 7:59 am

Mush went to ksa to stop NS from coming back ,but ksa was adamant to send him back….us also wants NS back since They dont trust Mush anymore…

now Govt in effort to malign NS and to save there embarassment is trying to spread the rumour that there is a deal…..i ask them if there is a deal now then what happened on sep 10th….why they didnt have deal then…

Everyone wants power. What will become of pakistan. look at baluchistan, nwfp. two of our most important provinces are under fire and these clowns want to have power. People like javaid iqbal son of iqbal and qadir khan, and perhaps IK as well, deserve to be at the top, but Oh GOD when will this drama end?

53. comment-top

@ imran malik
    your argument is baseless. Accept it NS BIK gaya hai. He said he will never compromise with mush , but change his tone in less than a day. Then he said till the judiciary is restored, hw will not contest the elections. Mian sahab aakhir deal ker hee lee na. Ager yeh deal hai to Lakh Lanat hai.

54. comment-top

Ah - BB, BB, BB!!!
    We are submitting election papers as a protest: Benazir
    http://www.dictatorshipwatch.com/modules.php?op=modload&name=News&file=article&sid=2765&mode=thread&order=0&thold=0

55. comment-top

I READ THAT ABOUT BB. NEXT SHE WILL SAY SHE IS ASSUMING THE PRIME MINISTERSHIP AS A PROTEST.

56. imran malik Says:
    November 25th, 2007 at 8:09 am

@zenith and all who are with/against politicians
    @saqib tahir

.i plead you guies that the times of 1988 are over…people dont debate over the piousness of bb or ns any more…they have both been exposed ….educated people dont get indulge into it any more….talk about the philosophy and idelogies….dont side with any party plz..that era of bb is better than NS or vise versa is over atleast for the educated junta…dont waste ur time on defending pppp …instead talk about issues….and the most imp issue right now is restoration of judiciary..whoever politician is honestly emphasising on it and showing it by his actions (not mere words)shld be appreciated….i think what javed hashmi said in hamid mir’s latest show was correct…

urs sincerely
    imran malik

57. comment-top

Sorry folks for osting something off-topic but I despise what Mush and his ISI have done. Nothing could be more vile. I don’t want us to forget Hayatullah Khan’s and lately his wife’s murder…

Who is behind murder of widow of Hayat ullah Khan?
    http://tinyurl.com/2y8njg

58. comment-top

MUNIR MALIK HAS BEEN FREED. DAILY TIMES.

I THINK THEY FREED HIM CUZ IF SOMETHING HAPPENS TO HIM IN POLICE CUSTODY, THE BLAME WILL ALL BE ON MUSH. SOB’s.

59. comment-top

@ imran malik
    what made u think that iam defending BB. She is a …… who would do anything to get in power. Sir, U are the one justifying NS’s return. Get rid of this mentality. We all should. As far as a new man is concerned, in the current situation, even though i donot like to admit it but reality is no one is better than IK. So I will opt for him.

60. comment-top

Reading that article regarding the killing of hayat khan, i guess the army deserves whatever it is getting. i am sure a time will come when everyone with any sort of association with the army would find pakistan worse than hell for them to live in.

61. comment-top

Remember Hayatullh Khan’s ONLY “crime” was taking a pictures of US missle parts used in the strike in Waziristan proving Mush’s army was lying claiming it was an accidental explosion…

62. comment-top

Actually munir Malik was freed out of panic because the torture in Attock Jail caused him kidney failure and now he is in very serious condition in ICU at PIMS Islamabad and is having dialysis because both his kidnesy failed.

He is in acute renal failure.

In fact Daily Times has reported in a very sugar coated manner. If you want detailed news read Dawn or News.

Daily Times is a goverment paper as its owner Salman Taseer is goverment minister for commerce and Najm Sethi is pro Musharraf because he is on side of US

63. comment-top

PTV Global has reported that Aitizaz Ahsan has filed his nomination papers for national and provincical assembllies in Lahore today.

Asfandyar Wali has also file nomination papers for NA 7

64. comment-top

How come I didn’t see it mentioned any where else? Who else visited Mush quietly? He who said:

“The real choice we face is not between Musharraf and a return to an effective democratic system, but between Musharraf and the possible collapse of Pakistan.”

Is this where Mush’s belief that Pakitan cannot survive without him comes from?

An Unlikely Visitor Gives Musharraf Support
    http://www.forward.com/articles/12080/

For those interested can also read
    “Zionist Mercenaries in Pakistan’s Secular Press” at http://icssa.org/article_detail_parse.php?a_id=1181&rel=

65. comment-top

(A note of caution for the above “Forward” link. Forward is the most right-wing rag published in US and it is a big promoter of Islamophobia and all-out war with Islam)

66. comment-top

Shame on Musharraf - he is a Zionist agent - We have to get this man out of Pakistan goverment at any cost. Pakistan Army should now open its eyes - now Jews are on your side because their agent Musharraf is Zionist leader and he has said Musharraf should stay because he secures Jews interests. Najam Sethi is on also on their payroll

67. missing_pakistan Says:
    November 25th, 2007 at 9:35 am

Suddenly bb bay zameer and baba nawa shareef realized that they both r deeply deeply in love with their country.

Why before elections she came and he is coming???

bus naam rahay gaa Allah ka..

68. missing_pakistan Says:
    November 25th, 2007 at 9:39 am
    comment-top comment-bottom
  69. comment-top

Nawaz Sharif if the future of Pakistan.

MAY ALLAH GIVE HIM SUCCESS and May he rid us of anti-Musalman forces Mushy, Na-Jaiz Ulaad Altaf Hussain, and BB Bhutto.

70. comment-top

Arrival of NS , is the end of mad general’s era. So now we are all set to start the democratic period in Pakistan. We got Benazir Bhutto, Nawaz Sharif and Imran Khan all the political field.
    The powers that be have decided to done away with the mad general, if he gets a chance to leave the country and go and live in Turkey that will be good for him, otherwise I foresee another C-130 in the next couple of months.
    BUT wait .. there is one question left open, can we as a nation swallow dimissal of Supreme Court.

71. comment-top

@pejamistri
    No!

72. comment-top

I second clhussain. Initially, I was quite impressed by Daily Times vocal editorials and news reporting. However, it soon started occuring that Daily Times is far from indpendent when the news of Benazir, Mush deal started making headlines. This was clearly evident from the sympathetic editorials. Daily Times is owned by Salmaan Taseer who has been associated with PPP in the past. He has set up many business projects in Pakistan (World Call, Business Plus TV channel, Pace stores, Hyatt hotel)Inspite of this, what gave credibility to the newspaper was Najam Sethi being its editor. However, he has disappointed big time. The last nail in the coffin of Daily Times’ credibility and integrity was opening up of Business Plus TV channel after 1st week of emergency and Salmaan Taseer joining the govt.
    Another ‘first’ the newspaper has done is to openly criticise the ‘deobandi’ school of thought every now and to present the ‘barelvi’ and ’sufi’ sects as the ‘peaceful’ alternative. Not a memebr of either of the two, this trend is dangerous and especially from a liberal, secular newspaper which abhors anything to do with relgion, far from being even a religious authority on deciding on sects. I was also quite enraged by what I will call a blasphemous editorial by the newspaper on the cricket teams indulgence into religion. Read for yourself here: http://www.dailytimes.com.pk/default.asp?page=2006%5C10%5C23%5Cstory_23-10-2006_pg3_1

73. comment-top

Missing pakistan -

NS and BB came when Musharraf let them come - it was not in their power to come back - cant you get it so simple

Dont try to paranoid about everything

74. comment-top

AOA
    Pakistan is going through a political learning prcess. I hope all contributors will respect each other’s opinion and show some tolerance.

BUT THERE CAN NOT BE ANY COMPROMISE ON

1. RESTORATION OF THE CONSTITUTION
    2. RESTORATION OF THE JUDICIARY
    3. FREEDOM OF EXPRESSION
    4. FREE AND FAIR ELECTIONS.

I am sure this is te minimum agenda that we Pakistanis can agree on. Pls dont continue to curse all the poor politicias. They have just been the fall guys while others have ruled and enjoyed the rices of Pakistan.

Poor politicias are destitute compared to Crore Commanders.

Ws

75. comment-top

Missing in Pakistan
    http://video.google.com/videoplay?docid=-854791386997728455&hl=en

A very touching documentary. Must watch.

76. comment-top

is there a deal?

http://www.thenews.com.pk/daily_detail.asp?id=82651

interesting article

77. comment-top

pejamistri:

extend this question to politicians and army as well since nation is now separated between three.

it is interesting to see how nation reunites

78. comment-top

PJ Mir is now being seen on PTV - he was the most vocal critic of Pakistan Cricket team being a bit religious - I am surprised by these guys - if they go out in clubs and enjoy girls its liberal and modernism but if they pray - it is embarrasment - shame on them

When Shoab Akhtar was seen with girls in night club in India there was no protest or any inquiry

What people like Najam Sethi and PJ Mir who are pseudoliberals want is that we can only be called modern if our women take off their clothes and become like Westerners. They vocally support joint marathons but they are quiet on the people of conscience being imprisoned and shame on Salman Taseer for joining caretaker goverment; you have also committed offence under Article 6 by joining an illegal goverment

Shame on them

79. comment-top

Although I feel ashamed having any smile during this documentary

But Wasi Zafar (the Clown) aka Big arm of the law , performance is also must watch.

80. comment-top

@admin,
    Please do put this documentary on the site. We need to have a discussion about, one of the major casualty of dismissal of CJ and brother judges is missing person case. They probably won’t have anybody now to help them in Pakistan.

81. comment-top

Atezaz Ahsan submits nomination papers in lahore- Geo

82. comment-top

An interesting, tough worrying analysis on Shareef’s return. http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/world/south_asia/7111584.stm

83. Mohsan Saeed(Japan) Says:
    November 25th, 2007 at 11:10 am

I have tied lot of hopes with NS with respect to the restoration of Judiciary and of course democracy. I will be the most disappointed person, if NS will behave just like Fazlur rehman. I am unable to believe,that a person who turned down the offer of the govt of Pakistan to come to Pakistan for the burial of his father ( a person who was most beloved to NS), how can he hit a deal now. but God knows better. At least there should be someone, whom pakistani nation can trust in this hour of crisis. If not, then we are not going to get rid of this standoff.

84. comment-top

Musharraf doffs uniform on 29 nov and takes oath as civilian president- Att. Gen. Quyyum-AJJ

85. comment-top

Peja - you have done a very good job of brining up this video - all those who support Musharraf should be ashmed now - even those who have accepted 2 month caretaker posts - shame on you - laanat ho un judges per who accepted PCO

86. comment-top

Irfan siddiqi is but a speech writer of NS.
    Nawai Waqt group propogates the Nazira e Pakistan invented by Gen Sher Ali during Yahya rule. They are the bastion of conservatsim in Pakistan and the intellectual backbone to Mulla Miltary Alliance. They view Pakistan from only Panjabi/Lahori glasses.

87. comment-top

Teh most shocking in teh video was how the two police walas were dragging those two innoncent girls by hair - shame on them - where are those so called defenders of western liberalism - why donest Najam Sethi put that picture in his Daily Times - he wont

88. comment-top

I don’t know if mad general deserves living a retd. life in turkey. I hope he does not make that choice.

89. comment-top

Lahore - i read that article - these are so called APOLOGISTS who suffer from WESTERN SUPERIORITY COMPLEX
    - esp this Najam Sethi an company

By teh way Najam Sethi was the one who accepted post of Advisor when BB goverment was thrown out by Leghari and he was writing afterwards against Leghari

He is nothing less than a blackmailer

90. comment-top

While we are condemning Musharraf we should not forget those who sided with him with lawyers like Pirzada and AG - they should also be tried under Article 6 - esp one man should be tried under this article - and that is Sharif pirzada because i think until he dies he would come back again and again siding with teh dictator and helping him to screw people of Pakistan

91. comment-top

The people of Pakistan should go for social boycott of all those people invloved in this crime of depriving us of a judiciary who could give us our rights - and they should totally shun them and their famalies and friends - i am sure at least we can do that.

92. comment-top

The military will persecute anyone whom it would deem as a threat to its dominance, the bigger the threat severer the respone. PPP and Bhuttos have been the prime target rather the exclusive recepient of Army’s wrath since its creation. Until the late 1990s Mian sahab was their kid who was repriamanded when he started to try to act independently .Imran’s three days in prison commensurates with his perceived ability to hurt military’s interests.
    Time is ripe for all pro-people, anti establishment forces to join hands ,either in boycotting or participiating in the upcoming elections.

93. comment-top

Please read about Munir A Malik (end of page)

http://www.jang.com.pk/jang/nov2007-daily/25-11-2007/main.htm

It is very sad that Munir A Malik has reached to such situation only due to army. They have zero tolarence for any body in pakistan.

remember in case of normal person if Kidneys failed suddenly then it is quite sure that he has been given some thing poision. What a horrible thing that this army has reached to such extent that they start giving poison to the persons under their custody.

94. comment-top

i am going pak soon and my advice don’t speak to army people, i have family friends in army but i do not want any interaction with them.

this army makes me sick trying to conquer they own people.

the reasons we have strong army -

kill your own people

torture your own people

treat women inappropriately

kidnap people without any evidence of wrong doing.

keep political opponents in dungeons without due process.

95. comment-top

Nawaz Sharif is welcome back just as BB was, as long as he is also not under the false illusion to become the 3rd time PM of Pakistan. This so called opposition is already in tatters and incapable of denting the plans of who is going to be in next government.

96. comment-top

Any news about Sharifs - he should have landed there by now

97. comment-top

T Babu:
    yar hum pakistani qom hain. if Quaid can die waiting for ambulance for hours then anything can happen

is shehar kharabi mai ghamme ishq key marey
    zinda hain yehi baat badi baat hey piyary

98. comment-top

@ peja,

excellent find mate. i am amazed at the harrowing tale of innocent pakistanis. Inshallah, it will all be accounted for one day.

who’ is the owner of the doc? i’ll screen it at the uni of houston, but do i need permission from someone?

99. comment-top

Geo live update:

NS plane enters pakistan airspace

100. comment-top

Butt da Kharaak:
    http://dailytimes.com.pk/default.asp?page=2007\11\25\story_25-11-2007_pg3_8

101. comment-top

If it is a deal between Mush and NS…..
    What Mush will get out of it???
    Doesn’t he know he will be taken to gallows if NS comes back to power by any chance.

102. AttentionSeekingCommoner Says:
    November 25th, 2007 at 12:38 pm

To Everyone

Thanks for ignoring shameless commoner who is MQM ka chamcha and cannot sleep because NS is coming back.

thanks everyone for ignoring his ‘Bakwaas’. he is brother of Wasi Zafar.

103. comment-top

@TexasBoy,
    The maker of this documentary are still unspecified for obvious reasons, however there is a blog here about this documentary
    http://missinginpakistan.wordpress.com/

FAST-NU, National univeristy was supposed to arrange viewing of this documentary in their auditorium but were stopped by government. However I am sure you should be able to screen this in your university.

104. comment-top

MUSHARRAF HAS NO RIGHT TO RULE PAKISTAN…

Those who got missing. contains scenes of police dragging women by their heir. These pictures are widely published but ‘patriot’ Mush put Pakistan first and closed his eyes!! A kid without Shalwar and dragged (son of a missing person). The video and pictures were broadcast worldwide and Musharraf says that these people are wrong.

‘Wazeer -e- Qanoon’ Wasi Zafar’s performance is impressive. He is a family friend of Musharraf (his brother is in Army with Mush).

105. comment-top

@ commoner,

You are entitled to your views but stop quoting Daily Times which has lately comprised its integrity and credibility. See my earlier post for ref.

106. comment-top

@ Pejamistry

We can take a first step by sending the links to almost anyone we know, regardless of their nationality.

This is the only way that we can step up pressure. US is Mush’s god so especially send them to the US citizens. Mush only listens to them.

107. AttentionSeekingCommone