CNP hosts Teresita Schaffer, director of center for stragegic studies and Pakistani Scholar Hussain Haqaani (former adviser to Benazir) Click here to watch the video. Requires Real Player. May not work behind certain corporate firewalls. rtsp://video.c-span.org/project/ter/ter112707_pakistan.rm
If the above link does not work, open Real Player, pull file and open menu and paste the link above:
December 2nd, 2007 at 10:43 am
ADMIN.
you may be well aware how hassan haqani is
.He was in islami jamiat talba during his students years at karachi university
. Key advisor to Nawaz sharif for master minding his campaign including distributin photos of benazir in bad clothes and declaring her threat to KOHOTA ,the DR AQ KHAN LAB Place
.Then she benazir a good leader and became her advisor
. ppp has awarded tickets to his wife on special seats
.You could not find a more BEZAMIR person than him .please do not post any thing said by him or the program he paticipate
In fact one of the reason the pakistan’s current challenges is treating such people as DANISHWERE
December 2nd, 2007 at 10:51 am
It was an interesting discussion about the crisis in pakistan at the moment. I have come to a conclusion by seeing this program. We don’t lack people with talent to do good for the country but we actually lack people who are loyal to the country.
December 2nd, 2007 at 11:00 am
As posted before elsewhere, it is well documented that he is also involved in the Zionist project to recreate Islam in a form more palatable to them and that offers no resistance to their designs…
December 2nd, 2007 at 1:04 pm
Hussain Haqqani is the biggest Zionist agent thats why he is sitting there in Boston and is a professor. I mean what are his credentials. He was first advisors to NS and was involved in mudslunging against BB and then went over to BB. Now he has got PPP ticket for his wife and daughter. He is the biggest lota with no crediblity at all.
December 2nd, 2007 at 1:12 pm
Agar Hussain Haqqani scholar hai to pakistan kay parhay likhoon ka Allah hi hafiz
December 2nd, 2007 at 1:21 pm
i agree with Ahson comments above and do not even consider its worth commenting under this heading if low lifes like HH Bezamir is under discussion
December 2nd, 2007 at 1:49 pm
I have been watching this person on CSPAN USA since 9/11. His talk seems to be reasonable. I do not know this person’s integrity, as I did not follow Paki politics before 9/11
Unfortunately, no one commented about the contents of HH’s analysis or how and what the U.S. intelligentsia thinks and is fed about Pakistan. Comparing the enlightenments of all you above about HH, I can easily put most mullahs in Pakistan in the same category but we still go and listen to their sermons in Juma’a prayers.
If I look at comments on this site about the army, politicians and rest of the Pakistani civil society and I do not think “its worth commenting under this heading of low lives” of all these personalities?
I would like someone to comment that whatever Teresita and Hussain said in this meeting, is correct or most of it was grossly wrong.
December 2nd, 2007 at 2:39 pm
here is the link to Haqaani profile at boston university…
http://www.bu.edu/ir/faculty/haqqani.html
College teachers in pakistan has better credentials than him these days….what was in the mind of BOSTON to make him professor….
December 2nd, 2007 at 3:03 pm
@S Khan
Sorry but I don’t have to read every piece written by a wh*re to see if he has anything useful. I have read enough of his crap to know whatever he is saying is saying in his own self-interest or the interest of his masters. I also know what a sl**ze-b*ll he is to not give a sh*t about what he has to say. You want to waste your time go ahead — read the cr*p and br*ng us out of d*rkness…
December 2nd, 2007 at 3:07 pm
oh pleeeease, don’t tarnish the image of your site by posting views of this so called analyst haqqani.
December 2nd, 2007 at 5:36 pm
Hussain Haqqani,take full control in this session with strong command of knowledge to explain the political and military role in Pakistan from 1947 till 2007 (60 years ).
He done his best to convince the participents to make the conclusion what kind of changes is taking place in Pakistan.
He is right,we as a nation need the political change …. its people of Pakistan who should choose the best leadership to form coming political government with out any interference of military and civilian intelligence agencies working in Pakistan.
First of all, Musharraf is not even accepted a civilian President of Pakistan to majority of Pakistanis. Supreme Court of Pakistan and Honourable Judges should be restore back to the day first they were suspented and later on sacked. Constitution of 1973 should take place and Emergency Plus (Semi Martial Law) should be lifted immediatly.Media should be free like before to cover each and every thing happening in Pakistani politics and other part of life. All political and human right activists should be released at once. Political leaders should be allowed to run election compaign in the free manner.
If these things were not taken place in coming 4-5 days then general election is useless for Pakistani politics.
Mr. Hussain Haqqani, is an intelligent spokeperson know very well to handle this kind of situation dealing with political and international observers.
In my opinion, till December 15,2007 most of the leading political leaders will ultimate join the effort started by Imran Khan from the day first and announcing to not contesting the general elections. Which is the only solution for sick minded Pervez Musharraf.
Allah Hafiz aur Pakistan Zindabad.
December 2nd, 2007 at 8:51 pm
I am not too sure why Hussain Haqqani is being given such a harsh treatment by so many of you. I am not sure that people are fully aware of the battle lines that have been drawn in Pakistan between pro-democracy and anti-democracy elements. Haqqani is strongly in the pro-democracy camp, and needs to be lauded for his efforts. We, as a nation, have taken too many chances on repenting politicians and saviour army officers. Did they ever deliver to us? We need to take more chances on members of the civil society, of the media, of the judicary. It is their struggle that we must rally around, because it is the one struggle that talks to our desire of truth, honesy and liberation. We might have different political allegiances, but what brings us together and unites us as patriotic Pakistanis is the desire to see a free and democratic Pakistan. Forgive Haqqani for whatever percieved ills he had, and respect him for arguing the case of democracy in the United States.
December 3rd, 2007 at 2:56 am
I didnt like him in the beginning. But he was good in the second half of the talk
December 3rd, 2007 at 3:28 am
It is my observation that we as a nation try to categorize people as good or bad based on their previous affilations. It can be true at times but more important is to judge a person based on his/her political veiws on a particural stance. For example, we sometimes say Imran Khan once sided with Mushrraf, or Shahid Masood was one part of that organization, and Hussain Haqani over here and so on. If we recall, Quaid-Jinnah himself was part of Congress once.
By collectively doing so we can move from the “politics based on personalities” to the “policatics of core issues”.
December 3rd, 2007 at 3:46 am
@Ahmedhat on December 2nd, 2007 8:51 pm
“I am not too sure why Hussain Haqqani is being given such a harsh treatment by so many of you.”
If you have to ask “why” then you need to find out don’t you? At least put the effort of going through last few days of posts and you will find your answer. To see the light, first thing one needs to do is get their heads out of their a** (ars* if you are British :))
December 3rd, 2007 at 4:03 am
@Omer
“It can be true at times but more important is to judge a person based on his/her political veiws on a particural stance…If we recall, Quaid-Jinnah himself was part of Congress once.”
But one must also judge if the stance is an honest one or just a self-serving one. You can say “La ilaha…” and Fazlu can say “La ilaha…” Now both of you are taking the same but say you are saying it cause you really believe in it and Fazlu is saying it cause it gets him more votes. Now if I tell Fazlu to go take it somewhere else, am I disagreeing with his stance? Does that mean I am rejecting “La ilaha…”?
Yes Quaid was in Congress as that was the major party of the time. Muslim League was only formed in 1906 and Quaid joined it in 1913 when it changed its platform to one of Indian independence which it was against earlier. Did Quaid do it for personal gain or for principle? Did he ever switch back to Congress???
December 3rd, 2007 at 4:15 am
@Ahmedhat
The following are certainly nice words and seem worth consideration. But knowing they are coming from the mouth of “The Butcher” it would be stupid for anyone to believe it and history has shown that to be true.
“And my last call, now to our hosts, and the leaders of the Arab countries of this area: Let us hold hands, let us get together and bring about a new atmosphere of openness and tolerance. Today, we can stem the flood of radicals who could otherwise allow us all to be swept away in a whirlpool of bloodletting and violence. I do hope that we are able to say to the peoples of the Middle East there are the initial, the first glows of light of hope here. I hope for all of us that we will be able to live in liberty, in hope, prosperity and peace.” — Ariel Sharon
December 3rd, 2007 at 12:56 pm
HH is smart,opportunist & excellent speaker.
He is a kind of speaker when they talk it looks like this is the only truth–They smartly craft the subject to their likings & shrewdly disregards the different angel of truth which does not suit their agenda.
Almost everything he said was truth but with his angel–Theres nothing wrong with his 7 paradox but the point is are they the only paradox of our nation.
He is wrong to say terrorism is Pakistani problem–Yes it was Pakistani problem when its main course was sectarianism–When he was adviser of BB he did not think that terrorism is a major Pakistani problem–As long as shia are killing sunni & sunni are killing shia–no big deal because Pakistanis are killing Pakistanis but when terrorism changed its course towards US invaders in Afghanistan & pakistan, He thinks & BB thinks this is biggest pakistani problem thats hight of hypocrisy.
December 3rd, 2007 at 11:41 pm
I understand each and everyone’s opinion but one thing I don’t understand is that why we don’t realize that Pakistan is a Soverign country and any thing that need to be discussed about Pakistan situation should be done in Pakistan by Pakistani and not by a foreign country or foreigners who are only minapulating our people like HH and the crisis of our country.
December 4th, 2007 at 2:26 am
The major problem with Husain Haqqani is that he is as intelligent as he is evil.
I am convinced he has no soul. He is a deft political operator, capable of outsmarting even Benazir Bhutto. Yet, he has never used his skills for the good of the country.
As you see, he’s sitting safely in the U.S., away from his tons of enemies in Pakistan.
The unfortunate thing about Pakistan is that we have too many Husain Haqqanis. He speaks of democracy, but when Musharraf came to power, he went to him begging for a position. When Musharraf told him he had enough lotay, Haqqani went to the U.S. and kissed up to the yahud.
He joined the South Asia program of the anti-Pakistan Carnegie Endowment for International Peace. One of their fellows, Ashley Tellis, helped create the U.S.-India nuclear partnership. Another of their fellows, Frederic Grare, is resoundingly anti-Pakistan. He’s a Frenchman who worked at an Indian research institute.
Haqqani has since joined the Hudson Institite, one of the most right-wing think tanks in America. After 9/11, one of its scholars wrote an op-ed proposing that the U.S. nuke Mecca. Haqqani’s boss, Hillel Fradkin, frequently writes of the need to “reform” Islam. They’ve invited individuals over who seek to eliminate the Hadith from the Islamic corpus. Hudson is a heavily pro-Zionist organization.
It should also be noted that Benazir Bhutto’s public relations firm, Burson-Marsteller, has had clients such as Ahmad Chalabi (of Iraq) and many anti-Iran, Zionist organizations.
Musharraf has done the same with his courting of the head of the American Jewish Congress.
This is not to say these people are Zionists. It’s all ugly politics. No loyalties.
Haqqani was a Jamaati. Kissed up to Zia. Worked for Nawaz against BB. Worked for BB against Nawaz. Then he kissed up to Musharraf. Now he’s anti-Islamist and pro-democracy.
He is a creep. He is behind all of Benazir’s statements on AQ Khan, the IAEA, etc. Watch out for him. He is trying to control Pakistan’s politics from Boston.
December 4th, 2007 at 5:52 am
@Hozein Haqqini
Thank you for putting it all together so nicely. Just one thing I have a minor isssue with:
“It’s all ugly politics. No loyalties.”
Pure politics is ugly. No loyalties, no morals, no qualms. It is a sibling of Capitalism which is just as ugly.
December 4th, 2007 at 6:45 pm
hello commemtators and fellow reader:
the biggest issue that we face as a pakistani at all levels is lack of listening to others and already made up personel or collective perceptions abt people,, things and issues.
as we noticed above in few of the comments that commentators have their minds already made up abt MR HAQQANI regardless of what he was saying in that press conference was productive,, true or not.
i personally dont know MR HAQQANI and his achievments in pakistani politics but what i know is that if he have served boht NAWAZ SHARIF AND BENAZIR BHUTTO then he is not the one to blaim,, y either of these prime minister of pakistan acquired his services when he already served the opposing political leader, it surely does put his reputation as a loyal party worker online but what abt our prime ministers ? y did they couldnt find anyone else to serve them.
i personally believe that he pointed out the problems that pakistan is facing today very correctly and to the point although this press confernce was suppose to be acknowledging problems that USA is facing because of the current political turmoil in pakistan.
may ALLAH bless pakitan with strength success and progress,,,, ALLAH HAFIZ O NASIR ho aap sab ka,, pakistan zindabad
December 4th, 2007 at 8:00 pm
I agree with Aqil Khan’s opinion. HH is no doubt an opportunist. But he is not only an intelligent person but a well read man.
What we have to see is, what this person is talking about. If his talks make sense. I have to admit it does.
I believe he is right in pointing out the problems Pakistan is facing today.
April 17th, 2008 at 11:05 am
Whoever has to know what Haqqani is,should visit this website.
http://pkdemocrat.wordpress.com/