l Visitors News Views on Emergency – 27 & 28 Nov | Pakistan Politics
{ 480 comments... read them below or add one }

• amm said:

Invitation to participate in the peaceful demonstration against the grave violations of Human Rights in Pakistan.

3rd Nov 2007 has been written a black day in the history of Pakistan. On this day a military dictator in Pakistan suspended the constitution, suspended citizen’s basic human rights, arrested the judges of higher courts and blocked all TV private news channels.

Thousands of lawyers, students, political and human rights activists have been badly beaten up by the police and locked up because they raised their voice against this dictatorial act. This crackdown is still going on unabated.

To protest against this the Pakistani community in Germany is organizing a protest in Berlin. Details are below.

People from all across Germany are attending this protest. Representatives of various local and foreign media organizations will be present as well.

We would request you to join hands with us in raising voice against these violations.
    • We are eager to have some of your members join us in the protest.
    • Please post a protest message on your website against this draconian act.

We feel that it is the responsibility of all law-abiding men and women, regardless of nationality, to join hands against such draconian steps. We must join hands together to tell the dictator that we cannot sit back and see him deprive 160 million people of their basic human rights.

Berlin, Germany
    Demonstration Schedule:
    Date: 1st December 2007
    Time: 13:45
    Meeting Place: Bebelplatz 10117 Berlin (Unter den Linden 6, 10117)

Bus 100, (Haltestelle Staatsoper)

Route: Bebelplatz, Unter den Linden, Brandenburger Tor
    Reichstag (German Parliament) Platz der Republik.
    Your participation will give sufficient strength to our voice against the grave violations of Human Rights.

Please confirm it, if you would come.

Ilyas Sadiq
    (Coordinator)
    Berlin, Germany
    Phone: +491637971738, Fax: +49 30 36744302, Email: sadiq191@yahoo.de

• Tanweer Amjad said:

It would be nice to add the tag for the next day when you call it a day. The comments appear better in the right place. Just an opinion :) .

• Khan of pro Pakistan said:

President of Pakistan Pervez Musharraf Zindabad

• Sincere said:

Munir A Malik has been through two dialysis geo News), He said while talking to Geo News that he is feeling better then before and is recovering.

Please pray that may God give him a healthy and long life.

• Mazhar Abbas said:

perhaps he has allowed this email

• imran malik said:

@MAZHAR ABBAS

WHICH EMAIL …WHAT R U TALKING ABOUT

• Rihat said:

Pride of Pakistan Imran Khan zindabad.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_YG1_VeCyWI

• Mazhar Abbas said:

Dear All!
    I request you to post the ceremony of mush retiring as army cheaf. I have read that it will be shown live on PTV. It would be interesting to see mush’s body language when he does so.
    I just can’t sleep. I just can’t believe this. I hope things will start to better after tomorrow and Gen. Kiy
    ani does exactly what mush did with NS.

• Malik said:

“saqibtahir

good link….. the gu at the end summed it up

‘Pakistan ka matlab kia….Gen Mush to kaho Pakistan to chor ke ja’

• Mazhar Abbas said:

@imran
    it was just a test. I was trying since months to comment here but always my comments waited like hours before they were appeared here. today i wrote to admin and he said it should work properly now. so i just sent this comment to test.

ik you make proud to be pakistani as for the rest of them read article below about shabaz sharif, to say i am disappointed with his statement is an understatement.

http://www.aaj.tv/news/news.php?pg=3&show=detail&nid=86866

• Rihat said:

Aaj is sold to Mush.
    Showing Shabaz shareef picture but statement is from Former Federal Minister , Chaudhary Shahbaz PMLQ.

same old problems, mush will be gone but the army will still be there meddling in politics,
    so i for one am not optimistic, but if we get the judges back and media is free that for me is bigger step towards democracy then mush getting rid of his uniform.

• Mazhar Abbas said:

completely agree with aftab.
    what an U-turn. no difference between BB and sharifs.
    i remember the capital talk on foothpath where javed hashmi said that taking part in these election means you are accepting the PCO otherwise you are not member of parliament.
    shame on Mians. This shows that this is another deal. Guys this mush is Putin. I am afraid no matter if he leaves the uniform, he will still be dominating the power ministries.

• imran malik said:

@MAZHAR
    I HOPE SO TOO

• pejamistri said:

@Mazhar Abbas
    Is it confirmed PTV will show live the ceremony. I can not sleep tonight either. This is the single greatest achievment of pakistani people. I just want to guess from his body language if he is going to Turkey or not. This morning they were showing him taking guard of honor and once I felt he is very depressed. Well he should not be smiling in any case. Should he?

• Mazhar Abbas said:

Guys I was also mistaken by the picture on aftab’s link.
    but I still feel sharif brothers are not 100% anti-mush. but they had no other choice. I hope they need some time before they can really go hard on mush.
    on shahbaz@pmlq’s statement about imran khan.
    imran khan is a man of principles and no matter what pmlq says, public are no more fool. an example is:
    everyone knows that Talat Hussain and Kamran Khan both critised the Govt. but every knows the difference between the two. Kamran Khan is No. 2
    Exactly thats thats the difference between other politicians and IK.

• GM said:

@ Aftab and Mazhar Abbas

Before just chanting slogans, do try to read the news, try to find the facts and then comment.Cant we expect even this from educated people?

This statement is by Shahbaz Hussain (one of the bastards of Q league) who is brother of another bastard judge, ch iftikhar hussain chief justice of Laohre high court.
    What else you need to belive NS after his statements, his seechs, his press conferences and his actions (by going to judges, laweyrs and meida persons) that he is standing fir, rather leading the nation as per their desire and will. He did ot for asingle time said that he is there to ebcome PM (although he is sitll the most popular leader).

Lets be rational, base our comments on FACTS and also lets be optimistic and jon hands to get the dictator and his direct and indirect ( Fazlu n BB etc) supporters out of the game.

brothers my apology, you are right.

cont

i did not read properly

• ParliamentSqProtest said:

(on Police advice the venue has been changed from Downing street to Parliament Square)

DEMONSTRATION Against the Breaches of Human Rights in Pakistan

Restore the Judiciary!
    Free the Media!
    Release all political prisoners!

Time & Date: Saturday, 1st December at 1pm
    Venue: Parliament Square (East footpath)

Organised by: Doctors Against Breaches of Human Rights in Pakistan (supported by Campaign Against Martial Law & Free Pakistan movements)

Tel. 07786394216 & 07817773438
    All welcome

• Rihat said:

Pakistan ks mutlab kiya?
    Musharraf ko bool chor key ja.

• Mazhar Abbas said:

Dear GM!
    I partly agree with you and I did mention that I was mistaken.
    But as you said lets be rational and base our comments on facts.
    Didn’t you see that sharif brothers have already submitted their applications for these elections. Does it not mean they are accepting that these elections are legal? Does this not mean that they are practically accepting PCO?
    Thats where the difference comes. IK does what he says and sharif brothers actions contradiict their sayings.
    I can tell you they are going to take part in elections no matter under which constitution.
    Mush has firmly said that justices before 3 Nov are history, then whats the point to take part in elections?

brothers i do apologise for link before it was an honest mistake, i urge all of us to support ns at the moment as gm said they have taken stance at moment lets see how it plays out, my apologies again for confusion.

• pejamistri said:

@mazhar abbas
    This will be at 5:00 AM my time … :) hope to be awake till that time.

• Rihat said:

@ Mazhar Abbas

Sir, I request you to wait for just another 40 hours…..we will come to know who is pro mush and who is not….. then we all will bash these two faces politicians.

• Mazhar Abbas said:

@Rihat and other!
    I wait. We have no other option.

• pejamistri said:

GHQ still deciding how to dismiss the mad general.
    http://www.thenews.com.pk/top_story_detail.asp?Id=11421

• Asif said:
  • Kami said:

My instinct says that the politicians will give Mush a big surprise. BB is pushing him to remove uniform by saying that she won’t boycott. Imran is playing a very positive role: he is not a big threat for Mush but he is a popular and moral pressure on politicians.

I think Major parties will not fight elections if judiciary is not restored. BB will also support this decision unless there is a severe pressure from the US. Even US knows that Pak civil society is not the same as it used to be!

We must remain hopeful. Only devil is pessimist (Iblees means permanently disappointed).

• Amir Hameed said:

Kami,
    I am not very positive that PPP will boycott elections. In fact, I am not too sure about PML-N either. The leadership of these parties do not want judiciary to be restored because it may create hurdles for them in the future.

• Amir Hameed said:

I also believe that the leadership of these parties also do not want the media to be free as it was pre Nov 3rd because media has been asking tough questions and bringing facts to common masses that were not known before.

• jojo said:

well judged by Amir Hameed

• Fraz said:

Please visit http://www.BoltaPakistan.com to sign the protest and watch tribute to lawyers, students, judges and civil society.

Help us spread the word.

• Asif said:

@Amir Hameed

Another “Nazriyya-e-Zaroorat” is a few inches away.
    And this time it would be politicians decisions whether they revive “Nazriyya-e-Zaroorat” or say it goodbye once for all.

• bing said:

with the lifting of emergency will the restriction on media also get lifted automatically?

• Kami said:

Guys, don’t feel sad. I think we are over looking the pressure from civil society, lawyers, journalists, politicians like Imran Khan, human rights activists, NGOs and intellectuals.

If political parties decide to go ahead without independent judiciary (even if they would like to have Dogar style judges), they will be as condemned as the present government. Democratic governments cannot face that much pressure. Even Mush would have collapsed long time ago if he didn’t have ‘Wardi’ on.

• Asif said:

@Kami

I wish the same. but its not that far away, only couple of days, Everything would be crystal clear.

• Kruman said:

17 Senior Retired Servicemen Draft a Charge-Sheet for Musharraf’s Court Martial
    ========================================================

On the eve of his retirement, Musharraf has received a parting gift from 17 senior retired servicemen that includes admirals, air chief and generals including General Ali Kulli Khan. Ali Kulli Khan was the one in line to be the next chief when NS promoted Mush over him and others.

Coming back to the “parting gift”, it is really a letter that forms the basis for a court-martial of Musharraf. Amongst other statements the former servicemen have stated that Musharraf’s acts have brought the army into “disrepute”.

Read the details of the letter here:
    http://dailytimes.com.pk/default.asp?page=2007\11\28\story_28-11-2007_pg7_48

• Kruman said:

Peja,
    I am sure Mush is having last minute jitters. Tell me if I am reading too much into the letter above. The letter from the 17 senior reputed and respected servicemen is nothing but a charge-sheet for Musharraf’s court martial.
    http://dailytimes.com.pk/default.asp?page=2007\11\28\story_28-11-2007_pg7_48

• saqibtahir said:

In my humble opinion ‘Boycott or no-Boycott’ decision must be taken by all parties unanimously. There are pros and cons of both cases. In 1985 in a similar but worst siuation MRD decided to boycott and in the end it helped Zia and jamaat Islami politically.

Idealy I agree that Boycott of election in PCO+ Puppet Judiciary & EC is not good.

In politics and war time we need to trick our enemy or enemy will kill you. Mush is dealing with politicians like a war game. He can only be defeated by similar tricks. BB so far is playing great and her tactics made Mush retreat several steps including Sharif’s return. I hope in the end there will a united stand by BB+NS+ Regional paries. MMA parties will always help Army. They are Fauji Jasoos who damage democratic movement in disguise.

The good sign is that BB & NS are discussing their plans on daily basis. Situation is very fluid. If Mush shed his skin tomorrow it will be a great victory and credit goes to BB.

Please read following news item from The News. It raised my hopes of joint strategy.

Opposition moves closer to joint meeting with Benazir:

http://www.thenews.com.pk/top_story_detail.asp?Id=11427

• saqibtahir said:

I would like to add few points in my preious humble analysis.

1. The role of lawyers, Human Rights activists, educated class, and journalists is great and unprecedented. All credit of resistence to Mush goes to them. The role of smaller parties and leaders like IK deserve our two thumbs up. They must keep pressure on Army and natioanl parties.

2. The role of Mullas and their dirty alliance is exposed more than ever before. There is a need to be carefuil from these hypocrites (Qazi and Fazloo).

3. In 1985 some smaller parties in MRD pushed for election boycott. Later it was exposed that these parties were working for Zia and ISI to herd larger parties towards boycott. There is a need to be careful this time.

• imran malik said:

@saqibtahir
    i have a question ,if you r saying that taking part in the election under pco,with no supremecourt ,with all the judges under arrest is wise ,if accepting busharraf as president is wise…when every body can see that bycott by both NS AND BB will be curtains for mush …then im sorry my friend …you are truly truly blindfolded in PPPP’s love and i feel pity on you…is it your ego problem or some thing else but its stuborn fans like you who let there leaders go free without any accountablity

tell me one thing what will make you to talk against bb…is there any thing that wil make you talk against her …plz let me know…bc i think even if she committs mass murder you will find lame excuses to defend it …

\u dissappionted me bro… you suffer from anti mullah and pro bb syndrome…this acute prejudice has ruined ur judgment skill

seriously …take a chill pill and go to sleep

• KN said:

I think at this time as Supporting Benazir is not wise same thing supporting NS too. As he ruled Pakistan twice and due to his not that wise decisions Pakistan never able to achieve any thing significant. No one worked on human development no one had any interest in promoting basic education actual I will give more credit to Dictator for that. NS was tried he has no agenda he is always interested in promoting his own business instead on PAakistan development and of course BB is Proven Corrupt.

• Zia Gondal (Korea) said:

@imran malik
    your comment about ::
    \u dissappionted me bro… you suffer from anti mullah and pro bb syndrome

(WELL SAID) I ALSO FEEL ALIKE AFTER READING HIS COMMENTS TIME TO TIME :)

(A MUST READ)
    * ARTICLE OF QAZI HUSSAIN ABOUT PU INCIDENT:
    ——————————————-
    http://www.express.com.pk/epaper/index.aspx?Issue=NP_LHE&Page=Editorial_PAGE&Date=20071127&Pageno=12&View=1%20id=
    ——————————————-

@ *** for those who has started blind (more than justified) criticism on JI, Mullas etc inspite of the fact that IMRAN Khan himself responded to the incident very correctly (as I was expecting out of his wisdom) —

• Kami said:

One person that has benefited a lot from this crisis is Imran Khan. If opposition boycotts elections, Imran can rightly claim that he led all the opposition parties. If opposition somehow decides to go ahead under present circumstances, IK will emerge as ONLY credible politician. He has International stature so he can collect a lot of money for the honest judges.

In any case, this guy is a winner especially in the longer run.

• zsarosh said:

I think BB & NS will take part in elections. But PML-Q will sweep the polls (the results have already been drafted probably). Mush needs 2/3 majority to legitimize his unconstiutional steps (in his own words) and only PML-Q can give him that. The judges will NOT be restored, obviously. The media will have luke warm freedoms, nothing like pre- nov 3rd….

Now IMHO there is a silver lining to this black cloud. I think , and hope, that the once freed from the judcial duties for good, the judges along with lawyers and other members of the civil society will form a new political force. The political parties would already have been trashed by the public due to participation in the farce elections. The new political movement will unite the civil society and the bad eggs of politics will be thrown in trash can for good. In Iqbals words:
    utha kay phaenk do bahar gali mein
    nai tehzeeb kay anday hain ganday

call this a fools dream….but I hope it comes true…ameen

what we the people can do is to boycott the elections on our own….what a farce these elections would seem if there are 10% or less votes cast….and more so if the govt claims 40% or more and everyone in the world sees that the real turnout is below 10%….this will make these elections sham…and no one will accept the results …. BB , NS , MMA, etc will fall flat on their faces…..

we can do it people…..say NO to elections…all you have to do is to do nothing …..is that asking too much…get the message out….

• Asif said:

@Kami

IKs clarity on main issues & his persistance to his words will pay in the long run & hes winning the publics hearts because of his decisions are quite close their opinion.
    NS asked the people about their opinion & they very clearly replied “Boycott” so NS should be vey careful this time to take any decision, because its 2007(private electronic media) not 1999(PTV fame age)

• Kami said:

@ Zia Gondal

In the same paper, read Abbas Athar and he will tell you the real reason behind Qazi’s article.

Sadly, I have witnessed IJT’s activities in FC college and PU. Their activities are definitely against Islam. I was quite religious and read most of the books on Islam including most of Maudoodi’s. Jamiat’s activities had nothing to do with Moudoodi or had any philosophy. Its only purpose was to suppress anything that had a different view point or leadership. My friend who was Tahir ul Qadri’s follower had a very tough time during his stay in university.

Jamiat was too dominant and dictatorial in nature. IJT used to regularly boycott classes (on Kashmir issue!!!)and threaten teachers. The whole atmosphere seemed anti education. Even the book festival meant selling books of supporters’ of JI. I had to make a lot of efforts to unlearn all that strange ‘knowledge’ which clips your wings rather than making you Shaheen of Iqbal.

• Asif said:

Love u IK for denting quite hard on MQM&MMA/IJT Kabza Groups.

• Kami said:

@ Asif

It is true what you said about new media. Even though Mush has WRONGLY tried to take credit for that, he could’ve succeeded if he hadn’t done blunders. He will be remembered as the most oppressive dictator.

I remember PTV having many debates with opposition parties leaders after ’88 elections. A new station named STN emerged. STN was showing CNN till 7pm. It was a great start for free media in pre-satellite era. It was not ideal but it was a start. Al Jazeera started and then during last 6 to 9 years, the whole world saw a great number of private channels emerging.

Even Kabul has 9 free news channels. Bangldesh has many channels and so does Iraq. Musharraf is wrong to take credit for free media. He only hindered the process through his dictatorship.

Most of the countries, including Bangladesh and Afghanistan, have many free channels.Even oppressive Arab regimes have been putting up with channels like Al Jazeera. Only Mush is worse than even Qatari Sheikhs.

• saqibtahir said:

@Imran & Zia:

Quote:

At this point I am pro-democracy and pro-freedoms. If BB compromise on these two ideals then I will be the first to criticize her.

I used to hate NS that was Pucha Jamoora of dictator Zia. Now I like NS because he talk about democracy and freedoms and I have no reason not to believe him.

Read my comments carefully. I am all for an anti-Mush alliance of democratic forces.

• Asif said:

@Kami
    what do you think about the tolerence level of NS & BB as compared to the madcows aadvisors, while facing private electronic media?

• saqibtahir said:

We must not forget Munir Malik. I love this person and his struggle. We must pray for him.

http://www.express.com.pk/epaper/PoPupwindow.aspx?newsID=1100306444&Issue=NP_LHE&Date=20071127

• STUDENT PROTEST IN LAHORE AT LIBERTY CHOWK said:

ON COMING FRIDAY AT LIBERTY CHOWK AFTER JUMMA PRAYERS!

PROTEST AGAINST MARTIAL LAW/EMERGENCY BY ALL UNIVERSITIES, COLLEGES, SCHOOLS OF LAHORE SUCH AS LUMS, PU, ALLAMA IQBAL OPEN UNI, KEC, ILM, FAST, ETC.

SPREAD THE MESSAGE TO YOUNG AND OLD TO BE THERE!

Some slogans heard from previous student protests to let you know how the youth feel. These were heard at some student protests:

“yeh sab ka naara hay, pakistan hamara hay”….”girty hui dewar ko aik dhakka aur do”…”musharraf ko jo yaar hay, ghaddar hay”…”we want democracy”…we see a change…pakistan is undergoing a metamorphosis…join this change and be part of a new era of pakistan – This is the age of black and white revolution led by students and lawyers!

• Bahawalpuri said:

Matter of the fact is that in Pakistan history literally repeating itself and now I think people are looking for the Fatima Jinah.
    Remember
    1969 2007
    Ayub Khan == Mush
    Iskander Mirza declared martial law on October 7, 1958,
    Ayub deposed Mirza on October 27 in a bloodless coup

Yahya Khan == New Chief of staff
    Chief General Yahya Khan on 25 March 1969,

Opposition === Opposition
    Bhutto === Bhutto
    Media = Media
    Courts Dismised courts ( Difference)
    His action was condoned by the federal judiciary in particular by Justice Munir.

There was movement in There is movement in North West now
    East Pakistan

Now at that time Ayuoob had PCO and emergency and now Mush have the same thing. Bhutto was free and had backing of other powers (not so friend to PK)

Islamic orgs and other honest people are either enemy of the state or in jails.

So now I think all the opposition is looking for is Fatima Jinah!!

And by the steps we took then we can see what is going to happen next in Pakistan if nothing will be changed soon.

@Kami
    – Dear I always respect your comments and can feel the underlying sincerity.
    – I didnt mean to back the role of IJT eventhough as per my experience of UETs, I feel that IJT was much much better than some other parties in those days when I was studying there. Background of IJT and their positive + negative roles are very openly (and i think righty) pointed out by Qazi in the article.
    – What I wanted to say that we should not started blaming JI after the incident (as many started abusing them). Eventhough I couldnt sleep that night due to that insulting behavior with Imran (the only hope being a courageous and laudable leader) but I waited to express aggressively till the picture was clear to some extent. After whatever actions taken by JI and response of IK himself, we should again focus on their struggle for more important issues.
    – As far as JI role is concerned, I personally feel that its leaders are much more dignified, decent, social and sincere unlike many drinkers, corrupt and indecent people you can find in any other party especially PPP and MQM. Anybody who have ever met leaders from various political parties can feel this obvious difference only by meeting for a while.
    – Anyways wish all of us will see our beloved country under sincere leadership — (let see when)

• Kami said:

@ Zia Gondal

Thanks for the appreciation. I don’t mean to say that other parties were better than IJT. They were all Qabza groups whereas IJT was a different type of group with a label of Islam. That is why it attracts more criticism. If you claim to follow Bush, we don’t expect you to behave nicely but following Jinnah means you need to act in a civilized manner.

I think there should be a non political elected Student Union in every university (like in the UK). Baccha parties of political organisations can only make things worse.

@saqibtahir
    Dear you have your right to express yourself and either to back BB,NS,IK,MQM or JI. I think I should not blame you like i did. Its good that one should not be rigid (like Jialaz) and should have strength to accept the truth and to back the truth rather than any specific party or personality. Thanks for mentioning your criteria for judgement (democracy and anti-mush alliance)

• DrNasirIkramKhan said:

It is a defining moment for the people of Pakistan to decide about the Politician of Pakistan.I am saying this because people like Benazir bhutto are consistently changing their statements on daily basis about Elections, Judges restoration, Judiciary, emergency, Having Musharraf as future president and other matters.Now it looks as if she is only interested in POWER either way and that is her priority.Politicians like Molana Fazal ur Rehman have been already exposed at the time of Presidential elections.
    Now its time for Nawaz Sharif and Company to make a clear stand which he is clearly stating for the last few years and stand with the Judges, Lawyers, Civil society, Media and Politicians like Imran Khan once and for all otherwise Nation would never forgive his betrayal to the cause of Democracy and rule of Law in the country.Now its up to him whether he wants to be remembered as opportunist or the real Statesman.

• Adnan said:

@aftab
    It also got me first time I read it. Please either remove it or put actual facts on a prominent place.
    This can hurt feeling of many ppl counting on NS.

• Kami said:

@ Asif

Behaviour of NS and BB in the face of independent electronic media will be very interesting. Let me explain.

My friend from Pakistan called me. He was laughing when he told me that Bush had said that Musharraf had done the most for democracy. I told him Bush was serious and he believed in what he said. I think Musharraf could be ideal of Bush and he can only wish to control press and opposition like Musharraf did. Bush must be saying ‘O Lord! why didn’t you make me as powerful as Musharraf, why do I have to answer everyone’.

All rulers would prefer a mute press. It doesn’t matter what their behaviour would be. Only thing that matters is how strong the civil society is. Civil society in the US produced films like ‘Foreignheit 9/11′ and they were shown in cinemas all over the world. We are on the path of becoming a stronger civil society and we don’t give a monkey what BB & NS would think about OUR free press.

• Asif said:

All the Kabza Groups must be humiliated at all levels irrespective of the lable they carry with them.

IJT is a well known Kabza Group in PU, aprticularly & in Lahore in general.

I completely agree with Kami, there should be a neutral Students Union.

• Asif said:

@Kami

You are right no leader wants to be grilled by the free electronic media espacially our old class of politicians.
    But I would love to see BB NS madcow to be grilled in the same way as pre-nov3.

@Asif
    If you have been through the article by Qazi Hussain (link given above), after giving a historical orientation, he has clearly mentioned that best solution is to allow student unions.

• nota said:

@Asif
    http://www.jang.com.pk/jang/nov2007-daily/28-11-2007/cartoon.htm
    very funny & irony cartoon

Would have been nice if the table representing election was full of bottles of wine or maybe a roasted pig …

• Asif said:

I don’t consider Qazi as an authority for for recommending anything, because his column shows his how weak he is within JI & IJT circles.
    In PU literllay chiriya bhi apr nahi maar sakti baghair IJT ki permission k. To blame intelegence is no more than a lame excuse. I don’t buy it.

• nota said:

@Asif
    http://www.jang.com.pk/jang/nov2007-daily/28-11-2007/cartoon.htm
    very funny & irony cartoon

Would have been nice if the table representing election was full of bottles of wine or maybe a roasted p*g …

• khan of pro Pakistan said:

Both BB & NS have ruled Pakistan twice and in their time Pakistan never able to achieve in any way significant.Every time they failed. NS had no agenda he is always interested in promoting his own business instead in PAakistan and of course BB is Proven Corrupt leader of the world.
    Only Musharraf or you may call him Busharraf the dictator…. has done so many things for betterment for Pakistan then any ruler of Pakistan has ever done in the history

• downmsuhdown said:

@Asif you don’t buy it even if Imran Khan is saying it is true???. We should look beyond our personal hatred and concentrate on facts. Why are you so adamant in saying that Intelligence is not involved in these activities when every other mess in the country is due to them

• Asif said:

@downmsuhdown

I think you don’t kmow PU, have you ever visisted PU?

• farhan said:

Mush ‘skin doff’ ceremony live on Geo news.

• nota said:

SOME BOLD-FACED LIES

Govt claims “No ban on Geo”
    http://www.thenews.com.pk/top_story_detail.asp?Id=11422
    “Deputy Attorney General Rizwan Siddiqui vehemently stated that there is no written order issued for suspension and the respondents have not imposed any ban or suspension on Geo TV Network.”

Govt Claims “No restrictions on Deposed SC Judges”
    http://www.dawn.com/2007/11/27/top7.htm
    “Caretaker Interior Minister Lt-Gen (retd) Hamid Nawaz said on Monday that the deposed judges, including Justice Iftikhar Mohammad Chaudhry, were not under detention and they were free to go anywhere in the country.”

• nota said:

Betraying justice for what?
    Clearly none of bigger political parties cares a hoot for the deposed and purged judges of superior courts, still under detention, except Nawaz Sharif and Imran Khan. PPP and even PML-N leaders have joined the US project to strengthen the hitherto Pakistan army chief’s cause. One directly and other through the Saudi king. The two buddies, Gen. Musharraf and US President George Bush, have shown they prefer the sword to be mightier than law, reason and pen. Most of the others have been overwhelmed or bought.

Yet most Pakistanis acknowledge the PCOed judges and the legal fraternity led by the shining galaxy of Justice Wajihuddin, Munir Malik, Aitzaz Ahsan, Ali Ahmed Kurd and so many famous or work-a-day lawyers as their heroes. These continue blazing a trail for the people to follow. They want respect for all human beings as equal and valuable for whom rule of law is a must. That requires judges and lawyers who value human freedom and who refuse to bow before autocratic rulers unendingly uttering deceptive falsehoods. The Judges led by Justice Iftikhar Mohammad Chaudhry and all 60 or more judges (who resigned in protest) constitute the true Supreme and High Courts in which legitimacy of law resides. They need to be saluted every day — and their lead followed.

This great betrayal of rule of law and human freedom — the heart of democracy – was spearheaded by the JUI chief and PPP chief, each wired to General Musharraf and the US administration respectively. They will legitimise the Army Chief’s actions of imposing the state of emergency (martial law really). Everyone knows that all the shots will continue to be called by the hitherto COAS behind the make-belief screen of caretakers and elections will be ‘managed’ through the agencies. Aware citizens expect these polls to produce Musharraf-desired results. Hitherto, the PML-N chief had refused any kind of deal with Musharraf and supported the old judiciary’s restoration. One fears that the US may have forced him to climb Musharraf’s bandwagon. He had been firm in demanding the withdrawal of emergency, the PCO and the restoration of the pre-Nov. 3 judiciary. One will wait for a few days before tarring him with the same brush as Benazir to know what exactly transpired at a putative meeting where the American ambassador was also present.

It is too late to remonstrate either with major parties about why they want to participate in an election held under emergency restrictions and in which agencies will do their mischief or to make futile appeals to Gen. Musharraf’s conscience. The former, in fact, had only minor differences with Musharraf and have composed them. The latter is likely to think his grand strategy has succeeded and he is home and dry for the next five years.

And yet Nov. 3′s emergency, PCO and media curbs will deepen all the fault-lines, indeed fissures, in the polity. All those who are participating in such an election are obliging the US and strengthening Musharraf so they can supposedly fight the Taliban and Al Qaeda better. But they should still think about what another five years of an unreformed Musharraf’s rule will do to Pakistan’s body politic.
    (cont…)

• nota said:

Betr*ying justice for what?
    Clearly none of bigger political parties cares a hoot for the deposed and purged judges of superior courts, still under detention, except Nawaz Sharif and Imran Khan. PPP and even PML-N leaders have joined the US project to strengthen the hitherto Pakistan army chief’s cause. One directly and other through the Saudi king. The two buddies, Gen. Musharraf and US President George Bush, have shown they prefer the sword to be mightier than law, reason and pen. Most of the others have been overwhelmed or bought….(cont.)

• Asif said:

Asif on November 28th, 2007 5:16 am

someone using my ID for his own interests, please ban him & delete these comments. Thanks

• Asif said:

Asif on November 28th, 2007 5:16 am

someone using my ID for his own interest.
    beware of this one

• nota said:

Asif(Real one):
    Your ID’s been stolen…Why are do all these Mush supporters such bl**dy cowards? Sometimes they use my ID to support Mush or speak against IK, sometimes they are from Glasgow/UK/etc. Now it’s Asif’s turn…Proves you guys have nothing to stand on you p&thetic sw*nes…

• observer said:

MUSHARRAF is making his last speech…. you can watch this live @
    geo.tv

• Asif said:

its not there fault they are without skin. sharm k maarey saamney nahin aatey.

• nota said:

@observer:
    No, Thanks!
    (Doubt it is his last speech, anyways, as our so called leaders seem bent upon accepting him as their prez for another five years.)

• Kruman said:

What the heck is he talking about. He broke his oath, turned the khaki color into sh!t color and now he is talking about honor.

• Asif said:

Time for real drama begins now!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• nota said:

@Asif
    Time to separate truth from lies!!!!!

• Afaq said:

Dear nota,

Please have courage to listen Mush supporter as others are istening/reading your comments. My views are that there are certain Indian & Isrealeis agents sitting behind this web site and churning useless comments against Musharaf. These agents are enemy of our beloved Pakistan. They are creating bad image of our country in the eyes of other countries. These type of people should be ashamed & immediately stop their Jewish lobby agenda.

• bing said:

LOL @ AFAQ

i think the multiple ID spammer is back

• nota said:

@Afaq
    “Please have courage to listen Mush supporter as others are istening/reading your comments.”

Afaq, or what ever you are. I will listen to them as soon as they have the courage to at least use their own identity … doing otherwise proves you are p&theric c*nts

• Jina said:

HELLO LOST PEOPLE,

DID YOU HEAR WHAT OUR PRESIDENT SAY?

HE SAID THAT ELEMENTS LIKE SOME OF YOU HERE ARE LOST SOULS, BACKWARD SOULS, SUPERFICIAL SOULS, SOULS WITH VERY LITTLE KNOWLEDGE, SOULS WHO ARE ZEALOTS, SOULS WHO DO NOT KNOW THE REAL STORY, SOULS WHO DO NOT HAVE THE KNOWLEDGE OF HOW THINGS WORK- YET YOU PEOPLE TALK AND EXPRESS YOUR TRAITOR-LIKE VIEWS.

YOU TALK ABOUT YOUR OWN COUNTRY’S ARMY. YOU TALK LIKE UNDER SOME ENEMY AGENDA, OR YOU DO JUST THIRD-CLASS POLITICS; CHEAP POLITICS.

YOU PEOPLE WANT YOUR ARMY TO COME AND HELP YOU OUT FROM ALL BAD THINGS THAT HAVE STRUCK YOU. YOU WANT YOUR ARMY JAWANS TO COME AND BAIL YOU OUT FROM ALL ACCIDENTS THAT HAVE STRUCK YOU. YOU WANT YOUR ARMY SOLDIERS TO TURN UP WITH THEIR CRANES AND CARS, AND TANKS AND TRAILORS, RIFLES AND REVOLVERS, WITH THEIR TALENT AND EXPERTISE.
    IT IS YOUR ARMY THAT COMES AND DOES THE HARD WORK, WHETHER IT IS AN EARTHQUAKE OR IT IS FLOODS, WHETHER IT IS AN ATTACK FROM THE ENEMY OR IT IS THE ATTACK FROM REBELS OR TERRORISTS FROM YOUR COUNTRY.

YOU CRIB, YOU SHOUT, YOU SCREAM, YOU DEMAND- YOU ARE SCARED AND CRYING. AT ALL MOMENTS LIKE THIS, IT IS YOUR ARMY THAT BAILS YOU OUT OF THIS STATE. THE ARMY PLACES YOU BACK ON A PEDESTAL, WHERE YOU AGAIN START LAUGHING.
    BUT LIKE TYPICAL UNGRATEFUL HUMAN BEINGS, YOU FORGET THE TIMES WHEN YOU WERE CRYING AND COWERING, TREMBLING AND QUIVERING, SHAKING WITH FEAR. TRUE TO NATURE OF THE SHALLOW-BEINGS, YOU BECOME UNGRATEFUL, AND
    FORGET AND START TALKING NONSENSE.

HOW COME YOU UTTER WORDS AGAINST YOUR ARMY, WHICH YOU WANT FOR YOUR HELP?

THERE WILL BE A LOT OF YOU, WHO WILL GIVE YOUR EXPLANATIONS, NOT HERE, BUT WILL THINK IT OUT IN YOUR HEADS, BUT NO EXPLANATION OR DEFENCE TO WHAT I HAVE SAID, WILL SUFFICE. IT WILL NOT MAKE ANY SENSE.
    IT WILL BE JUST AS BAD AS IMRAN KHAN’S VERBAL DIARRHEA.
    IMRAN KHAN NEEDS ANTI-ANXIETY DRUGS; BESIDES, A LOT OF PEOPLE INCLUDING HIM NEED TO ATTEND SOME CLASSES IN NATIONAL DEFENCE COLLEGE.
    PAKISTAN SHOULD START CLASSES TO EDUCATE THOSE WHO ARE INTERESTED IN THE NATIONAL AFFAIRS, BUT BECAUSE OF THEIR HALF-BAKED KNOWLEDGE ARE HURTING THE NATIONAL INTERESTS.

WHAT’S THE DIFFERENCE?
    THE DIFFERENCE IS THAT, TO MUSHARRAF COMES, ‘PAKISTAN FIRST’. TO MANY WITH VERBAL DIARRHEAS, ‘PAKISTAN COMES WAY DOWN THE LIST’.

• pejamistri said:

I missed the last speech of mad general , but seems he was of rhetoric.
    I WANT TO CONGRATULATE WHOLE NATION FOR THEIR SUCCESSFUL STRUGGLE TO THROW A MAD GENERAL OUT OF ARMY.
    This is the biggest achievment, but our struggle is going on and our next milestone will be restoration of judiciary and constitution.

Kat tay bhee chaloo , barhtay bhee chaloo
    bazoo bhee buhat hain, sar bhee buhat
    chal tay bhee chaloo kay ab deray
    manzil hee per dalay jain gay

• Musharaf Is Poodle said:

I am happy to see a new General in command.
    I wish he will reverse military’s policy of “Musharaf’s ethnic war” against its own ppl.
    Pakistan has to respect Pashtoon culture, their desire for Shariah and their anti-west sentiments.

• LionHeart said:

tut! tut! such filthy language!

I think that it is Mush-bashers on this website who are strongly concealing their ID then pro-Mush commentators. And yes, you have to develop your level of tolerance to a higher degree to listen to alternative opinions as this remains the basic building block of any democracy whether in a country or on a website.

Otherwise there is absolutely no difference between the likes of you and worst dictators the world over!

May Allah Bring Misery and Curse to Musharaf and his Family.

Never trust a Tiny Liberal Minority in a Muslim Country. Musharaf is Mir Jaffar and Mir Qasim of our Age.

• nota said:

@Afaq:
    Don’t know about” certain Indian & Isrealeis agents sitting behind this web site churning useless comments against Musharaf” but I do know this:

An Unlkely Visitor Gives Support to Musharraf
    With the blessing of Washington, Jack Rosen, chairman of the American Jewish Congress’s Council for World Jewry, traveled halfway across the globe for a face-to-face meeting with Musharraf, who he had hailed two years ago as a courageous leader and driving force in Jewish-Muslim dialogue.

Pakistan’s President To Meet With American Jewish Leaders
    In 2003, just before traveling to the United States to meet with President Bush, Musharraf broke new ground when he suggested that Pakistan might need to rethink its refusal to establish diplomatic relations with Israel.

The Pak-Israel Scene – A critical view by Pakistan’s ex-Ambassador
    The rapid moves that Islamabad has been making indicate that Pakistan would soon become the 5th Muslim country to recognize Israel, the other four being Turkey, Egypt, Jordan and Mauritania while Morocco and Qatar only have limited trade ties. And the credit for it would not go to any elected civilian leader but to an absolute military dictator.

Jack Rosen Introducing President Pervez Musharraf of Pakistan
    President Musharraf recently praised Prime Minister Sharon as “courageous� for unilaterally disengaging from Gaza. For its part, Israel has agreed to loosen trade restrictions for imports of Pakistani products. On Wednesday, President Musharraf shook hands with Israeli Prime Minister Ariel Sharon – something that would have been impossible even a year ago.

A diplomatic surprise
    Voices of disapproval emanate from the Muslim world as Pakistan makes high-level contact with Israel

Should I go on?

What a wounderful speech of Pervez Musharraf

• Umar said:

Emergency to lift TOMORROW. GEO

Musharaf Is Poodle
    “I am happy to see a Punjabi General in command.
    I wish he will reverse military’s policy of “Musharaf’s ethnic war� against Pashtoons.
    Pakistan has to respect Pashtoon culture, their desire for Shariah and their anti-west sentiments.
    From now on
    No war between Pashtoons and Punjabis, which was definitely started by a Muhajir liberal terrorist”

——————————————
    YOU SHOULD CALL YOUSELF “ETHNIC TERRORIST OF PAKISTAN instead of”Musharaf Is Poodle”
    ——————————————

Afaq

I agree with you that there are certain Indian,Isrealeis and CIA agents sitting behind this website and writting useless comments against President Musharaf. These agents are enemy of our beloved Pakistan.
    They talk about Pakistan and war between Pashtoons ,Punjabis, Muhajir, sindhi and Blochi and Kashmeri etc.
    These are the real terrorist and enemy of Pakistan…..careful of them.

Musharaf Is Poodle

Be honest tell us from which agency you belong to ie. indian, Israeli, US, Russia or which

We are all
    Pro Pakistan Military and Patriot ISI
    and
    Anti-Musharaf and his beloved Terrorist Kins in MQM

Musharaf Is Poodle
    You are not Pakistani…that is for sure …tell the truth mate.
    you must be HINDU mate….Am I right????

I see no difference in MQM and BJP
    both are based in Utter Pradesh
    Both are afraid of Islamisation of Pakistan Military.

• Tanweer Amjad said:

What is the status of Musharraf today?
    Is he the Preseident as per 17th amendment or the last ruling of the supreme court that he would remain president until he takes oath for the next regime?

Musharaf is Symbol of Hatred

Now Musharaf is Slave of Fuedals, Chaudaries and Libral.
    He is Nothing

Musharaf Is Poodle

Nothing wrong being a Muhajir,punjabi, sindhi and Blochi and Kashmeri.
    I wish I could have born in a Mohajir family. But it seem to me that… for sure you must have born in a HUNDU family.

• Tanweer Amjad said:

I think from here starts the big exam for NS. Whether he entangles himself into the trap of removal of emergency or is still interested in the pre November 3 judiciary and other things. The more time he takes to decide, the more credibility he loses.

• Javed said:

Guys watch your mouths!
    Don’t defame this website with your useless comments and abusive language.

• Javed said:

I think Nawaz will participate in elections as this was the deal with Saudis that he will be allowed to come back if he participate in elections.

perhaps sikh family

• Javed said:

Khan sahab, let it go! Calm down

• Javed said:

Nawaz’s return is the part of the game planed by US to make BB the next PM. Now it will divide the anti-PPP vote bank and BB could have a better chance to win. AS per Nawaz he is not that innocent to just sit back and let all this happen, he must have some reassurance that BB will kick out Musharraf and Nawaz will be PM after BB’s tenure. They had decided this back at when Charter of Democracy was signed that BB will get the first turn than Nawaz. I guess we are back in the 90s with same old black sheeps.

• Javed said:

I don’t think Musharraf really cares about any punjabi or pushtoon. He is forced out by US.

Imran was in hurry
    He did not trust Nawaz and Qazi
    I think APDM should take part in elections in changed political environment, as it has become clear that emergency would be lifted soon, by an ever weakening Musharaf.
    Imran has done damage to the real opposition by his hasty remarks, uninvited arrivals as student leader and his rigid understanding of Anti-Musharaf agenda of Right Wing.
    Imran can easily become a liability, instead becoming an asset in up-coming elections, which is unfortunate.
    BUT STILL WE LOVE IMRAN

• LionHeart said:

some upcoming facts of life in Pakistan whether to the liking of anti-Mush commentators here.

1. Mush is going to be the President of Pakistan for the next 5 years.

2. He will have full support of the Army, USA and the west.

3. In next elections a coalition government will be formed with PML (Q) in lead followed by PPP and JI.

4. BB, NS or IK will never be the PM of Pakistan

5. The next PM of Pakistan is most likely Humayun Akhtar of PML (Q)

6. The OBL and Taliban phenomena will be visibly reduced in Pakistan.

7. This website will continue to churn out hate-filled comments by singular group of repetitive anti-everything, bad-mouth commentators with very low tolerance levels for others opinions.

Any Questions? ; )

Thanks Javed,

I would like to ask the admin to check the identity of my friend” Musharaf Is Poodle ”

GOD SAVE PAKISTAN, SAVE MUSLIM and DESTROY HINDU(not Pakistani hindu) and SIKH

@ LionHeart

Refrain from visible,
    Ugly Spin
    or
    “TAQYA”

• Tanweer Amjad said:

Musharraf would have started thinking about his end now. It’s never safe to be president without uniform. He would have to prove like GIK, the one I remember and who remained for quite sometime. Others had been too much in the past before Zia.
    People of Pakistan should continue their struggle for free pakistan… free of all the vices.
    Politicians, if allwoed, will learn a lot during their government in the presence of media. Media is not going to go away with the liberty it has gained and lost. They will get it one way or the other. Politicians have to be more sensible. Otherwise they should have people like Sher Afgan, Wasi Zafar, and AG so that people don’t take their comments serious enough to criticize the government. Just sit back and laugh at them.

• Javed said:

Musharaf Is Poodle,
    You seems to be an MQM bhai. You did exactly what they do. It has been pointed out many times by Kami that MQM munafiqs are the one who says that Oh I like Imran but Blah Blah Blah..
    Buddy you are one of those.

LionHeart

I agree with you 110%

Please tell me more about…who is this Humayun Akhtar

• pejamistri said:

Congratulations. But war is not over yet. Please read here:
    http://pklatest.com/

Javed Dear
    I have serious reservations about your
    Hasty Judgment
    Just like Imran.

• Javed said:

Khan & LionHeart
    You guys support Musharraf. I would like to know your comments on the video posted on this website about the missing people. That video is cited by Amnesty International.

• Javed said:

Peja Bro. Nice advertisement of your blog.

• Fahad said:

But i have heard that Ch Pervaiz Elahi is also in the short-list for PM.

In Parachanar
    The War is between
    Sunnis and Shias
    Just like Baghdad.

• Tanweer Amjad said:

@LionHeart
    I wonder what attraction does this site has for the critics of this site that they can’t refrain themselves from coming over here. Well Done @dmin. You are keeping this site good to attract people from all parties, all thoughts, and all sectors.
    For me, PMl(Q) has no future. It could be any party who could form the government but not PML(Q). They will find two candidates for each seat. One who was nominated last time and could not be awarded because of lost reputation, and the other new nomination. Both will try to convince that they are more loyal to army (not to people), so agencies should try for their success. and this is very dangerous. this can divide the agencies :) .

• Javed said:

Its not about hasty judgments. Its about principles. In the comment above, you have trashed Imran Khan and put at the end “WE STILL LOVE IMRAN” what is this?

Javed
    Honestly when I saw the missing people video…it make me cry not one time but many many times…..I considered missing people cases is one of the biggest crime done by Musharraf government and they should be held responsable for it.

Yes
    But
    Comment on Comments not on Commentator
    And
    By the way why do you think that Imran is your Private Property.
    Yes I Believe That
    IMRAN IS SOME TIMES WRONG

• LionHeart said:

@khan of pro pakistan

Humayun Akhtar is the son of the ex-ISI general Akhtar Abdul Rehman who in Zia’s time was the chief architect of the Afghan War against Russians. He was the Commerce Minister in the last Government. Last time, Shaukat Aziz & Humayun Akhtar were in competition for PM post. This time Humayun will be be the PM.

@Javed

the posed video is no doubt produced very well. Emotionally heavy with police heavy handedness very well projected. But then again if a person goes missing in the USA by virtue of his involvement in any terrorist activity, similar scene are witnessed on media and on the street! So even the greatest democracy in the world is also involved in the same act! lest we forget Guantanamo and other CIA dungeons have been created by the democratic US Government whose agents can now pick even you up at a moments notice and not a single western enlightened governments will complaint! Even the western judiciary has its hands-off on Guantanamo! So if I am living on Pluto, maybe this video will be effective, but living on earth, its unfortunately a fact of life.

• pejamistri said:

@javed
    This is not my blog , it is pklatest.com which is part of pkpolitics.com and pkunited.com , an initiative of concerned pakistanis who wants rule of law , liberty , and freedom in our beloved country Pakistan.

• Fahad said:

I think we should not spread ethenic talk in Pak. We all are Pakistani, not sunni, baloch, punjabi, muhajir etc. This is not good for Pak. If we started to think like this then our enemy take quite good benefits out of it easily, becasue in this way we’ll not be able to recognize our true friend or enemy. Please. thanks.

• Tanweer Amjad said:

@LionHeart
    It is so disgusting to learn that it was just a fact of life for you. And you don’t have emotions. I wish we could feel them especially happening in our country and somehow could condemn them. This is just a phrase from a person who lives in a kachi abaadi and discusses with his yaar’s that police did that. Not from a learned person who is able to express himself in the form of comments. Oh that is what is meant by LionHeart.

• Javed said:

Peja Bro. Accept my humble apology

• Tanweer Amjad said:

@Fahad
    Our true enemies are across the border, for whom we have an army getting all the budgets each year to spend. Do you think for suppressing just a part of the province, which has no air force, just some infantry sort of force, we need to spend this much of budget. Whatever is happening in the frontiers is just because of lack of seriousness or intelligence on the part of the army? I can really sense something fishy. Have you ever known they could seal the afghan border? From where they suspect arms are being imported. What other way they could do that? This is just lack of professional skill or I would say Lack of Integrity.

• pejamistri said:

@javed
    No problem. Thanks for comments anyways.

• Javed said:

Agree with Tanweer Amjad.
    This is all because Musharraf was busy in his politics along with ISI and Gen. Kiyani.
    I have been reading comments that Gen. Kiyani will kick Musharraf and what not. It doesn’t seem to be happening as Gen. Kiyani is known for his loyalty to Musharraf. Gen Kiyani was present in the early meetings of Musharraf/BB deal and was present in the meeting in which Musharraf decided to impose emergency. I don’t have a lot of expectations from Gen. Kiyani.

• Raza said:

I am very upset with the editorials of daily Jang (Urdu). They shamelessly toe the government line. How to write/call them and ask them to show some impartiality?
    Also, I had great respect for columnist Irshad Ahmed Haqqani due to his support for democratic institutions. But during this whole crisis his role was dubious. He had tough time keeping his writings inline with the ever-changing BB’s stand. I really really want to talk to him and tell him that how much I am disappointed with him today. Does any one has his contact?

How about few thousands of us (especially those who are not in Pakistan and thus cannot vote) start influencing through our emails and telephone calls?
    For example, how about we get the telephone numbers for the following and tell them (in positive or negative tones) what we want from them or how we are feeling about them.

Admin can we compile these numbers and post these on this website?

Politicians:
    - Benazir
    - Nawaz Sharif
    - Imran Khan
    - Qazi Hussain Ahmed
    - Fazlur Rehman
    - Shujaat
    - Etizaz Ihsan
    - Javed Hashmi
    - Wali Khan

Judges, Media persons:
    - CJ Iftikhar
    - Wajihuddin
    - Hamid Mir
    - Talat Hussain
    - Shahid Masoud
    - Kashif Abbasi

Religious/spiritual figures:
    - Mufti Taqi Usmani
    - Dr. Israr Ahmed
    - Tahir ul Qadri
    - Javed Ahmed Ghamdi
    - Sajid Naqvi
    - Professor Sajid Mir
    … any other personality of your choice

(Any telephone numbers for Wafaqul Madarass, and major madarassaas and ask them why they are out for cartoon issue, disrespect of Quran, ‘women right bill’, ‘shariat bill’, but not out now for missing people, suspension of human rights, suspension of constitution, sacking of supreme court judges etc).

Columnist:
    - Irshad Ahmed Haqqani
    - Javed Choudhary
    - Ayaz Mir
    - Nazeer Naji
    - Irfan Siddique
    - Mahmoud Shaam
    - Khurshid Nadeem
    - Atta ul Haq Qasmi
    - Masoud Ashr

Editors of newspapers:
    - Jang
    - Nawai-e-waqt
    - Khabrain
    - The News
    - Dawn
    - Daily Times
    - Express

Please let’s complie the numbers.

Raza

• LionHeart said:

@Tanweer Amjad

You have the right to base your decisions on emotions.

I have the right to base my decisions without emotions.

You may not like Musharraf for your reasons.

I like Musharraf for my reasons.

does that make your type angles and my type devils or vice versa? I have the right to disagree with you completely and I will fight to protect that right!

maybe I do live in a kaachi abadi somewhere in Pakistan? so what?

whose right and whose wrong depends on who you talk to in or outside Pakistan. your disgust comes form your own personal insecurity and shortfalls and not for any other rhyme or reason.

• Tanweer Amjad said:

@Javed
    Just a question. Why neither of the chaudhris have not filed their nominations papers for Gujrat?

• Tanweer Amjad said:

Musharraf regime has been imposing his authority on the people feeling all of them as ignorant kachi abadi people. Whereas the literate people lost interest to discuss anything with him. Musharraf thinks these kachi abadi people don’t know what they actually should have. they don’t need to improve their lives. He will ust improve the economy and doesn’t care whether they reach the kachi abadi people or not.
    I didn’t t

• Tanweer Amjad said:

Musharraf regime has been imposing his authority on the people feeling all of them as ignorant kachi abadi people. Whereas the literate people lost interest to discuss anything with him. Musharraf thinks these kachi abadi people don’t know what they actually should have. They don’t need to improve their lives. He will just improve the economy and doesn’t care whether they reach the kachi abadi people or not.
    I didn’t have the intention of taunting the kachi abadi people. But I feel they are deprived of basic human rights and this is how they say about pakistani police and establishment. As a literate and learned person, one shouldn’t just say that this happens in the world. One should categorically condemn whatever wrong happens.

• Javed said:

Tanweer Amjad, I want to make it clear that I am not Chauhdry’s spokesman. If you asked me as a Gujrat native than I will say that Chuhdries know that their party will win in Gujrat no matter what so they might have decided to go for other constituent and put some weak candidate in Gujrat and get him to Parliament. Usually Chauhdries use violence to shut down the polling booths where the opponent gets the more vote then them. This time I was told by mu friends that they have done a lot in Gujrat but I am not sure as I haven’t visit Gujrat from last 4 years.

• Raza said:

I am very upset with the editorials of daily Jang (Urdu). They shamelessly toe the government line. How to write/call them and ask them to show some impartiality?
    Also, I had great respect for columnist Irshad Ahmed Haqqani due to his support for democratic institutions. But during this whole crisis his role was dubious. He had tough time keeping his writings inline with the ever-changing BB’s stand. I really really want to talk to him and tell him that how much I am disappointed with him today. Does any one has his contact?

How about few thousands of us (especially those who are not in Pakistan and thus cannot vote) start influencing through our emails and telephone calls?
    For example, how about we get the telephone numbers for the following and tell them (in positive or negative tones) what we want from them or how we are feeling about them.

Admin can we compile these numbers and post these on this website?

(I will post the list in next comments, it is not letting me go in one shot)
    Raza

• Tanweer Amjad said:

@Javed
    Thanks because it was somewhat surprising for me. i suppose his relative nominated from Gujrat would also be some nazim as well, how could leave that post for someone else, just as Sheikh Rashid gave it to his nephew. He has also done a lot in Rawalpindi I suppose, but he would still not leave this seat. would be finding Kurd against him this time. Hello pindites, don’t legitimize these elections.

• Javed said:

One thing bothers me!
    Lawyers said that Musharraf’s presidential election from expired assemblies are unconstitutional but they also nominated Justice Wajih-u-Din. Now they say that elections under PCO are illegal and Kurd has filed nomination papers. Its either they are playing double game or I am not smart enough to understand it!!!!!

• Tanweer Amjad said:

Justice Wajih was nominated due to his juristic skills to challenge Musharraf’s nomination in uniform as a candidate which he did and was following the case until November 3. He had no intentions to win, since he was urging opposition for resigns and dissolution of the assembly.
    We all know kurd, he will just give a teaser to Sheikh Rasheed, and in any case he would boycot the elections, I suppose, since his supporters already want a boycot.

• pejamistri said:

@javed
    So for the presidential election it was very clear. In order to file a petition under article 184(3) of the constitution , you must be an aggreived party to request relief from Supreme Court. So if Justice Wajih had not filed the nomination papers to contest against the president , lawyer could not have gone to supreme court for any relief. By filing the nomination papers , Justice Wajih became aggreived party and filed the petition in Supreme court saying that his opponent ex-General(now) Prevez Musharraf can not legally/constituionally a candidate for president.
    For the current nominations in election, I am really not aware of the actual stance of lawyers, however it is quite possible that ex-General may leave before the elections and constitution restored , so then they might be contesting the election constitutionally.

• pejamistri said:

I would agree with Tanveer Amjad , Kurd’s paper might just be a teaser to sheeda tilli… Also please note that GHQ is in this constituency and Kurd as a valid candidate he would be delivering his fire-brand speeches in the heart of army.

• Javed said:

Peja and Tanweer.
    I want to know your opinion that if Nawaz knows that his return will help BB to win, what is his benefit in all this situation. How does helping BB will restore democracy as she said herself that she is here for power sharing with Musharraf.

• pejamistri said:

@Javed
    I spent 10 years in Islamabad, and visited the galleries in parliament, supreme court and islamabad club. My experience tells me that arrival of Nawaz Sharif is not good for Musharraf. I am sure some “BIG CHANGE” is going to happen in the next 4-6 weeks. So NS is here to become part of that big change.
    So honestly I am not taking these election seriously.
    But I may be wrong in my assessment.

• pejamistri said:

Breaking News..
    Turkish president Gul’s visit has been delayed by two days. He will now arrive on Monday.

Please note this visit is very important in the conext of future of ex-General.

• Tanweer Amjad said:

NS would be dangerous for Musharraf if and only if he decides boycot of elections. People are of the opinion that Q-league would be destroyed to its actual form before 2002 elections. the division of PML helped PPP get the seats in most constituencies in elections 2002 as well. PML(Q) will be dependent on PPP to form government in Punjab and also major part in NA. PPP has never formed government in punjab. 5-years of loyality of PML(Q) and pro-Musharraf attitude of BB will move the agencies strong enough in their favour. In any case NS has to boycot elections for his good if he wants to show his sincerity to his workers and people.

• Javed said:

Peja
    How would you define BIG CHANGE. Is this throwing Musharraf out? If yes, than where we will go from there? Move forward WITH Nawaz and BB or go back to 11 October 1999?

• Aneeza said:

This woman Benazir is going to spoil everything. I wonder why is she so mad to not see that she will get nothing in this. She would be the opposition at the most and Pervez Ilahi the PM (imagine…..). So forgetting principles and rules, even in her own interest contesting elections is stupid. And once PPP decides to contest, PML-N will be pressed hard to join in too. And there goes the efforts of all the people down the drain. I hate her for being a show spoiler. Literally the civil society prepared a revolution and put in in the laps of these politicians and still they cannot carry it forward but are wasting everyone’s sacrifices. Don’t they even think about people like Munir Malik and Justice Tariq, the lawyers whose careers are suffering, the human rights activits. Its all futile!

http://www.thenews.com.pk/top_story_detail.asp?Id=11432

• Tanweer Amjad said:

@Aneeza
    This is all what is expected from BB for ‘retoration of democracy’. I don’t think she ever consulted her party for that. But they all might have the same say, since it has been pretty long for her leaders out of government. the fight would be great between the two, remember the words of Pervez Elahi in the recent speeches against Benazir. And anybody could imagine BB accepting Pervez elahi as President and forming the government with him. she has to be in the opposition. And if she is in opposition, her workers won’t be happy at all, adn there starts the Long March.

• Tanweer Amjad said:

Read ‘… accepting Pervez Elahi as Prime Minister’ instead of President.

• pejamistri said:

Well “BIG CHANGE” in context of Pakistan usually means a total u-turn of the situation. These changes have occured in 1988 (After Gen Zia , BB became Prime Minister), and in 1999 (Army takes the full control back from politicians).
    So a “big change” is in the offing. It may take 4-6 weeks, there are certain chapters still open , the biggest one is SWAT and the other one is Balochistan. They will be closed pretty soon and then the change will be there.
    Of course I can not say what the real change would be in it details, but in its essence this will be a complete u-turn.
    Again I may be wrong.

• Mazhar said:

@LionHeart
    you can never compare USA with Pakistan. Although I am against all their policies but one thing I like about USA is that no matter who is in Govt. they protect their citizens. If you mean same kind of scenes could be seen in USA, the goal behind is totally different than those in Pakistan.
    USA does for their nation’s interests and Pakistani Regime does this in their personal interests and for the interests of USA.
    Please don’t forget the privileges one enjoys when he is a US citizen. One US citizen’s life is more important than 1 million Pakistanis.
    But I do respect your opinion and you can think what you like, you may have different feelings if some near one of you gets this kind of treatment.

• jojo said:

Very well said Mazhar

• Ahmed Bhai said:

Post Musharraf Scenario:

1- Army has decided not to play on front foot. But certainly they will not stop playing.

2- With certain mutual understanding of all stakeholders, judiciary will be resolved/restored as current judicial system can not run for long time.

3- Elections will be contested and new political structure will be in shape.

4- Globalization is one word that will force new political set up to continue with certain old policies. However, transparency might provide legitimation this time.

5- US-Army relationship will continue and instead of war driven policy, we will see peace negotiation in Afghanistan related issues bringing ‘calmness’ in disputed areas.

6- Middle east peace and oil business play an important role and the global players are dominant and behind all this new set up.

7- Musharraf will quit as president and disappear from scene swiftly to avoid another battle between institutions.

• Tanweer Amjad said:

@Aneeza
    thanks for forwarding the article link.

• GHAZI said:

Yaqeen nahin aata that wardi utar gaye hai i still cant believe it that the sick general has removed his uniform……. but the story continues one b**tard goes another comes….

• pejamistri said:

@ahmed bhai
    I agree with your analysis.

• Ahmed Bhai said:

I just saw Mush on geo his farewell speech clip. he seems very disappointed and no enthusiasm in his voice (khokhakly). today he really seems 60+ man :)

• make_over said:

What do you think guys? Aren’t we going in U-turns?

• Ahmed Bhai said:

So now we have a general who has never fought a real war! this is blessing because such a general will never attempt to fight even with their own people. thanks god we are nuclear power – the real deterant. Peace and economical development and educated Pakistan ahead

• Mazhar said:

What do you mean make_over , which U-turn ?

• Ahmed Bhai said:

make_over:

you must know in high traffic turns, u-turn is not allowed unless you travel too far to a place where u-turn is allowed. I think in last 8 years we have traveled too far and reached to that place where its allowed to take u-turn. traffic laws applied :)

• Aneeza said:

Background of General Kiyani

http://www.thenews.com.pk/top_story_detail.asp?Id=11425

• pejamistri said:

I read this in one of the comment on pkpolitics. I liked it

kar lay jitni hakoomat karni hai
    kab tak karay ga
    63 saal ka hogaya hai
    kabhi tu maray ga

• Ahmed Bhai said:

civilian pervez musharraf:

kon kahtah hey kah mot ai gee to mur jaun ga
    mai altaf bhai ka supporter hoon darakh per chud ja unga

• Syed said:

For all those who think that change is in the offering:
    Thiose who think that a change is imminent from military to civil rule are mistaken and are also underestimating the power and influence that the Army has over the politicians, judiciary, professors, lawyers etc. It is true that the movement by the lawyers is still going on but underhand this is being slowly eroded. Judges will not be re-instated, common man will never get the rights till a civil war erupts and some leader emerges. this is an unlikely phenomenon. I do not think the change is in the offering or will ever be in Pakistan. It is unfortunate but it is true.

• Aneeza said:

A nice article by Kamran Shafi

http://www.dawn.com/weekly/kamran/kamran.htm

• Amir Hameed said:

@Aneeza,
    In response to one of your previous postings:
    —–
    This woman Benazir is going to spoil everything….
    —–
    I was never under the illusion that she was going to do something for the masses or even had the capability for doing that. She was, is and will always be an opportunist because that is what she believes in and it is very difficult, if not impossible, to change someones nature. It is kinda like asking of Fazlu not to lick army’s boots or a snake not to bite or a chameleon not to change colors because it ain’t going to happen.
    And what is NS doing? I am sure that he was told by the King that he would not initiate any mass protests and that is exactly what he is doing today. I am not very optimistic about the outcome unless a miracle happens and they have happened in the past, like Zia’s demise.

• Amir Hameed said:

PML-N’s excuse has so far been that it has not able to bring in people on the streets because its leadership had been kept outside of the country. Now the leadership is there, so what has changed? nothing?

• Mazhar said:

@Syed & Amir Hameed

I do agree with both of you. I have a feeling that all the efforts by lawyers,media and judges will go in vain. Only the characters are going to be changed. The writer is the same, USA. USA saw that there is violation against mush, so she is replacing mush. All our so-called learders are selfish. What do you expect from Sharif brothers and BB? they have been out of business (politics is a business for them) for over 7 years. A lot of loss of revnue. So if anyone of these two BB or NS comes in to power again they will try to make up for the loss in last 7 or 8 years.

There really has to be some miracle of revolution if we want change.

• bala_Gujar said:

Has anyone seen the general (just to increase your patience level) handing over the stick. He wasn’t even sober from hangover.

• Asif said:

Any good news from our political pundits or they will revive the “Nazriyya-e-Zaroorat” by themselves even the madcow is without skin!!!!!!!!!!!!

• pejamistri said:

My friend just saw a man in his underwear running frantically from the army house towards the Presidency followed by a brigade of SSG Commandos

• pejamistri said:

found this on teethmetro:
    My friend just saw a man in his underwear running frantically from the army house towards the Presidency followed by a brigade of SSG Commandos

• bala_Gujar said:

@pejamistri
    lols

• Syed said:

@pejay

Do not get excited! GIK had no uniform still fixed the politicians well and proper with Generals at his back. Busharraf has all the might of Army at his back. He will continue his unconstitutional rule unhindered with the help of Chaudarys, Khasi (almaroof Wasi Zafar), Sheikhs etc.

• Asif said:

Silence shows that our political pundits except IK are smelling $$$$$$$.
    Their decision making is very very poor, But no problem the current crisis has clearly gave us as an option 2nd line of leadership within big-parties, Aitzaz Ahsan & Javed Hashmi.
    NS is doing family politics, as I have heard him on few channels saying, He won’t have any problem if SS would become PM, promoting his brother instead of asking his party for the alteranative. BB by herself is inssiting for 3rd term.
    So not for people but hungry for flagged cars.
    But no-problem we have now alteranatives for our representation.

• Rihat said:

What a shame this skinless general is ….. advising army to coup again in future. He was so nervous the was trying to open the stick before passing it to Kiyani. What a jerk. At the end of the clip he was saluting at people but nobody was looking at him.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WzpQ7sf5nBY

• Asif said:

Due to personal grudges at highest level Pakistan suffered a lot. So there would be Max duration of holding an office, political or institutional.
    Only in this way we can have new leadership on continuous basis.

• Syed said:

@Rihat

Everyone to see the Youtube posted by her. It simply proves that we are a coloney of the Pak Army. They are allowed to treat us as they please, when they please and how they usually (that is with the toe of their boots up our….)

• Hina said:

As per my prediction, all the corrupt pilitical pundit will take oth under PCO and unconstitutional president. I pray for PK Army not to let anymore corrupt political leader to loot this country and I pray for Ashfaq Kayani that Allah keep him at the borders.

guys a video by imran khan link below

http://www.pakistannewsroom.com/

• Asif said:

@Hina

Its upto the people, if leaders are corrupt it just shows our reflection, so I dont worry now because we have now free media(check) that was not there in thier previous tenures

• Asif said:

The real democracy will prevail in Pakistan when PPP would have non-bhutto party leader & PMLN would have non-mian party leader. That would be the begining of a new era.

• Hina said:

@Asif
    NS and BB will cut the last supply of blood flowing in the veins of media if they come into power. The time is not far.

• Asif said:

@Hina

This time its 2000plus not their honey old days 1900. Its one thing that no one can stop now(free media), why?
    Because now we cannot accept anything less than that, as we have already tasted it for quite some time.
    Its new Pakistan where they have landed not their previous Jagheer.
    I am seeing good days ahead only nothing else.

• Hina said:

@Asif
    You just saw he glimps of good days when they through old people from Model Town house belong to NS and they (to my knowledge) did not give them proper shelter or protection. We are bloody civilains in front of Army eyes and little insects in the eyes of Jageerdar, feudals etc. You want to see how NS and BB etc will treat us then just wait for few months. Its the time for the people outside the parliment has to loot this country and Army will take a break.
    Dekh da janda reh Jumaray Dekh da jana reh

• Asif said:

@Hina
    You want to see how NS and BB etc will treat us then just wait for few months
    —————————————————–

This time its the other way round, civil society(with a new spirit just because of lawyers & IKs bold steps), lawyers & media will give some kina treatment to these guys.
    Thatswhat is something new(check).
    BB & NS are still dreaming & living in old days, they would collapse if they don’t changed their policies.

• nota said:

Guardian: Musharraf bows out to the strains of Auld Lang Syne
    …”Musharraf hasn’t taken off his uniform under his own will, rather under pressure from the powers who installed him and kept him in power eight long years,” Sharif’s spokesman Pervez Rasheed said in an apparent reference to the United States.

“Now the era of his unconstitutional and illegitimate acts will come to an end as the forces (who backed him) apparently withdrew their support.”

But Sharif has softened his threat to boycott crucial elections, saying Musharraf’s conversion to a civilian president will make “a lot of difference” and that he would only boycott the vote if all opposition parties agreed….

• Amir Hameed said:

We can see good days only if sacrifices are offered from all the stakeholders. So far, only the civil society has been at the forefront of this struggle. The politicians are missing from this exercise and even though those who have admitted openly, Javed Hashmi et al, have not taken any practical steps to show that they actually mean what they believe in.

• Hina said:

@Asif
    If NS and BB had to go along with media and civil society from the bottom of their heart then they would have done it so far and would have boycott the election but they knew that they will get their share in the Govt with the help of west or by hook or crrok so they dont want to give THAT free hand to media and civil society to avoid future clash with them. We know how these power hungry people work in our country. They would have done like IK. Did they? They did not just because they knew that they will contest under PCO etc.

• Asif said:

If BB&NS participate in election, rigging would bring MMA+PMLQ in a position to grab PMs slot, an un-educated guess.
    And the it will be to late for BB&NS to say that elections are rigged.

• pejamistri said:

@asif
    In complete agreement with you. We have taken giant steps in last 9 months. That is how history is made and written. When historian will write the period of March 2007 and onward , one thing that will be highlighted is civil society awakening. It will not be Ashfaq Kiyani taking over from Mad ex-General , but civil society making a sitting general and his corps commanders to bow before their wishes.

• Asif said:

@Hina

If the people of this country want to be ruled by corrupt then let them do, let them dig their own grave.

• Hina said:

@Asif
    That is what I am saying. If NS and BB come to your door and ask for vote the reject them and reject all those who already have been tested unless there are new faces.
    Can we do that? NO we wont and we will again elect these bad guys.

• Asif said:

@pejamistri

I am an optimistic person, always looks positive aspects of an event. And personaly I feel everyone wanna live a peaceful life if hes offered the good environment. So eventually we have started our journey & thats the important thing that we achieved.
    We will have to give confidence to voter that its upto them, everything would be as per their wishes not what Traika thinks.

• pejamistri said:

@asif,
    Only way a nation digs grave is by being ruled by a military dictator, a dictator is epitome of corruption. A political leader in any type of democracy can never harm any nation. In fact democracy is the only filter which filter the corrupt leader to less corrupt and then no corrupt.
    A military dictator is inherently corrupt and will allways increase his corruption with the pessage of time.
    But unfortunately you won’t understand that. It needs to be a human and political animal to understand the benifits of democracy , liberty and freedom. It is hard for animals in jungle to understand why a dove or a pegion should rule the jungle when a lion is there. (No pun intended).

• pejamistri said:

@asif
    my mistake above message was addressed to hina :) .. sorry..

• Asif said:

@pejamistri
    But unfortunately you won’t understand that. It needs to be a human and political animal to understand the benifits of democracy , liberty and freedom. It is hard for animals in jungle to understand why a dove or a pegion should rule the jungle when a lion is there. (No pun intended).

—————————————————————-

Its how you discuss the things & persuade the people, seemz to be brown-saab, if I am not wrong.

• KN said:

I dont know how many members Pk politics are have lets make a deal from now on
    1:All efforts to progress Pakistan
    2: we dont belong to any party we only belong to Pakistan
    3: We want complete restoration of Judiciary.
    4: We will be against all those who are corrupt and who looted Pakistan in the past. there is no second chance and those should not be forgiven.
    5: If BB or Ns come clean thats great but they have to prove their innocence.
    6: IK or Aitzaz or Javed anyone who ever prove that he is loyal to Pakistan and has intellect to serve as a leader we will support him.
    7: Musharaf need to go.
    8: Media need to be totally independent.
    Admin can make us a force that can make some impact in the future.

• Asif said:

@pejamistri

sorry from me too

• pejamistri said:

@asif
    There is no pun in this. Human beings have been living in jungle for a long time. Humans did not cover the distance from humans to political animal by birth. It took centuries to become a political animal. And if you understand there are human who would still think how is it possible that the corrupt leader can be choosen by the people when a person with might is already there.
    I hope I clarified it.

• Tanweer Amjad said:

Just wanted to say that normally we had been adding news of one day under link of the previous day, since the link could not have been added to that, so it is always good to add the link of the news for the next day before you end your day :) . For instance we had been commenting yesterday (Nov 27) under link of News on Nov 26, since the there was no link of Nov 26. but last night I found the link for the two days (Nov 27 and Nov 28). Most of the comments of Nov 27 have been made under News on 26. Sorry for being too unclear.

• khan said:

no news about Musharraf giving up the army post.. videos etc. come onnnn!!! i thought this place was a little bipartisan.. :) ..

not quite there!

• Amir Hameed said:

It will take some time (decades) for the corrupts to be eliminated provided that the military does not intrude, the media is free and the judiciary is free. Otherwise, the only light that that I see at the end of the tunnel is from an incoming train.

• Tanweer Amjad said:

Finally we found something missing on the site for pro-Musharraf people otherwise there hasn’t been anything in Pakistan for them. Now they have got something, they need it to be exhibited.
    So what do they expect… vidoes like those of arrivals of BB and NS, some interviews with the PML(Q) politicians and reaction of the public.
    @dmin
    give the devil the due.

• pejamistri said:

@amir hameed,
    My thinking on corruption is that , a human being with power will always to tend to be corrupt (i.e. power corrupts and absolute power corrupts absolutely) . Even in mature democracies you will find that leaders are usually corrupt that is why we here about the financial scams. However in a democracy , it is the rule of law and independent judiciary that stops the corruption of the leaders. So a leader can not just dismiss the whole supreme court just because it was looking into his corruption (both financial & ethical).

• pejamistri said:

@dmin
    I agree with Tanveer , in fact I wanted to hear his last speech as well , and analyse his body language and tone, it should be worth watching. I heard he was almost at verge of crying. And as usual he spoke several meaningless sentences.

• Amir Hameed said:

Pejamistri,
    I agree with you but if you look around then you will see that almost all politicians and government officials are corrupt. Who will allow the free judiciary to return? This is the biggest blow that Mush has done to this nation, that is, the dismissal of the judiciary and he should be hanged for this act.

• pejamistri said:

@amir,
    Yes this is ex-General’s biggest crime against people of Pakistan.
    But I am optimistic that the judges will be back. We can not afford such a great loss. I will be extermely disappointed if that does not happen.

• Guest said:

LionHeart == Shehzad AHmad Mir

Get the heck out of here before I expose you again. Shehzad Ahmad Mir is an arms dealer in Islamabad.

• pejamistri said:

And frankly I don’t care what BB , NS or Fazlu say about the return of judiciary, I am more concerned about the general public/civil society. Will they accept this below?

• Chussain said:

Musharraf looked very depressed when he was giving farewell speech – he was rambling and I am sure he would realise that he has also lost in this game – in fact every one in his goverment has lost except Gen Kiyani who got COAS job.

1. Musharraf lost his army job plus his presidentship is controversial and is now based only on threats but has no legal or moral standing

2. Judges lost their job – and I dont think that would be restored at least in immediate future unless something happens to Musharraf

3. Shaukat Aziz lost his job forever and would never become PM again

4. Shujaat and Pervez Elahi also lost their jobs and inshallah would never return to power again now that NS is back

6. MMA lost because they have been fully exposed – FAzlu through is dubious dealings and Qazi through how they dealt with Imran Khan

7. Imran Khan has gained tremendously and took a very very wise decision of not participating in teh polls because they are going to be rigged in anway

9. People of Pakistan lost becuase they have lost an independent judiciary and free media of which we got so much used to – but Inshallah we would get back one day

10 What we gained – we saw true colours of Musharraf, BB, Falzu, Qazi and PML Q

11 Sharifuddin Pirzada finally got someone to step in his shoes in form of AG Qayyum

• Amir Hameed said:

pejamistri,
    The thing with civil society’s struggle is that it will only succeed if the level of intensity (of their struggle) increases otherwise it will slowly go away. We all need to make sure that the struggle goes on long enough to finally bring about the change. People should stop looking at the politicians to act as catalysts and look at the leadership from the civil society. If the CJP is freed then he will start leading the struggle but I am not sure if the SOB Mush will allow that for the same reason.

• Tanweer Amjad said:

@Chussain
    I don’t see any difference between AG Qayyum and Sharifuddin Pirzada, except the latter has a far far greater shameful experience. But both will keep on playing their roles in parallel along with Ahmad Raza Kasuri and Abdul Hafeez Pirzada.

• pejamistri said:

@amir hameed
    That is what I am banking my hope on. I am praying CJ and some other judges are freed , along with Ali Ahmed Kurd, Aitzaz Ahsan and Justice Tariq Mahmood, and then hopefully media is back. The movement will pick up then.
    I am optimistic that:
    1. mad ex-General can not keep CJ and judges under house arrest for long.
    2. He will have to release the lawyers.
    3. He can not keep the media gagged for long.

And this long will not be more than a month i.e. by mid of december. I can not believe he can keep the current status quo till January 8 specially after he has uniform.

• Tanweer Amjad said:

@pejamistri
    No one should support BB, NS or any politician. People should stand by someone whom they can trust to enpower the constitution in the country (rule of law), would put serious effort to restore judiciary, and make all politicians think whether they truly deserve to be in government or not. Do you think simply workers can make their leader win the elections. It’s the people who participate actively in all rallies.

• Tanweer Amjad said:

I think tomorrow, NS, MMA and other parties will give their verdict for participating in elections or otherwise. If people agree with their verdict, they should support them, otherwise they should continue their struggle in an independent manner.

• pejamistri said:

Question.
    Does anybody from Pakistan tell which channels are now available in Pakistan? and what they are showing. Are they showing the programs like bolta pakistan, live with talat, kashif abbasi, ayaz amir etc..
    thanks in advance.

• nota said:

Only GEO’s are not on. I don’t know which shows AryOne is showing as I don’t watch it since they fired Dr. Shahid Masood some time back. Aaj is of course not showing Talat and Bolta Pakistan. Not sure about Ayaz Amir’s show.

can one someone please throw some light on situation of our hero justice (r) tariq mehmood
    because i have not heard anything about this noble person in media. thnx

• nota said:

Oh – and I haven’t come across Al-Jazeera either…

• nota said:

@aftab:
    “can one someone please throw some light on situation of our hero justice (r) tariq mehmood”

There was a story in yesterday’s Dawn:
    Justice Tariq Mehmood complains of maltreatment
    ISLAMABAD, Nov 26: With former Supreme Court Bar Association president Munir A. Malik already seriously ill, another former SCBA president Justice (retd) Tariq Mehmood has complained of kidney infection….

• K. M. A .J said:

Well what i think that Nawaz sharif had played well uptill now, and submission of his papers is a good decision, but about Imran khan, I think he’s still politically immature, if he submitted his papers atleast PTI would secure good score, because common man trusts him, but if after these elections, Nawaz get better position and after getting power he’d release the Judiciary and media, Imran had to suffer alot, because nations memory is short and thse two things are biggest needs of people,

• imran malik said:

BB says she is in no hurry to accept mush as civilian presidents…..her mind games is giving MUSH jitters every day…

I HATE her but its true that she has all the aces at her hands and has kept every body involved guessing….mush is at her disposal and BB has certainly made him a permanent dirreah patient by now….

• Nayyar Sohail said:

There is deadlock situation in Pakistan. I have an Idea to present to avoid head off confrontation.

1. President Musharraf has retired from his army position. So we should accept him as a president.
    2. President Musharraf should end the emergency.
    3. President should roll back PCO
    4. Activate the 73 – Constitution.
    5. President bring back all the judges back in supreme court. And Accept Chief Justice Iftikhar Ch. as Chief justice of Pakistan.
    6. This new Supreme court provide protection to president.
    7. Now president should call a meeting off all parties.
    8. Supreme Court should suggest a care taker government.
    9. Election commission should hold election under the direct supervision of supreme court .
    10. Full bench of supreme court must sit in the election commission while all the results are being received and announced.
    11. Chief election commission present this result to Supreme court. Who endorse it and announce it.
    12. New parliament elect their prime minister.
    13. This parliament ensure that president Musharraf will be in office for the remaining period of his term.

nayyar sohail

• pejamistri said:

@aftab
    Yesterday BBC reporter went to see him in the services hospital. But the doctors did not allow him to meet Justice Tariq Mahmood. It was told that they are planning to do an MRI scan for him. Also on one of the channel they showed a doctor saying he will be alright.
    But all of these news are of yesterday. I did not find or here any news today.

• pejamistri said:

BBC reporter actually met him but they did not allow him to record it. Here is the url.
    http://www.bbc.co.uk/urdu/pakistan/story/2007/11/071127_justice_baloch_rza.shtml

• pejamistri said:

@nayyar sohail,
    So for one person to remain as president we go through your 13 points. If you put one point more that will make Quaid-e-Azam 14 points :) to save Pakistan.
    A person who has committed high treason remain president. My foot. Hedeserves a public hanging.

• nota said:

K. M. A .J
    “Imran khan, I think he’s still politically immature”

So should he be like Fazlu and BB? They are as politically as mature as they come…

@nota & pejamistri thnx for info

i am so angry with the our rulers that they treat our heroes like this. about year ago i was so pro army but since then they have lost they credibility with they deeds.

• Rihat said:

@ nayyar sohail

Your point # 1 is illegitimate and unacceptable . How can we talk about the rest.

• Ek pakistani said:

On one hand we have corrupt politicians on the other we have Army (People who lay down their lives for us)

All Pakistani leaders are fit for only corruption.

BB killed her own brother.

Nawaz was created by Zia (another fauji).

Fazlu is the biggest lota in the world.

Only Imran Khan is left. But he does not have party with him. Moreover he is alone.

So we are left with only army. Now these are the people that work selflessly and remain on borders to die.

These are the men who have promised to capture Delhi (Red fort).

If we want to capture India then we should support our Army.

Nawaz Sharif wanted to do friendship with a Kaffir (Indian PM). It was great kick that Musharraf kicked India in Kargil.

Musharraf maintained his word by discarding his uniform even when he knew that political parties are bent upon to seize power.

The only option we have is to support our brave warrior.

• imran malik said:

@nayyar sohail

y you r insisting of mush to stay as president…if all of ur proposed demands are accepted then the 73 constitution gives him the death penalty…

how will he be saved then….and y u want to save him at 1st place…for me the first and foremost problem is mush himself…once he is hanged every thing else will fall in place…

a criminal (mush) and independent SC can’t survive together…one has to go ..and its time for criminal to go…

• Rihat said:

My point # 1 is the ex-general should be prosecuted for high treason under article 6 of the constitution of Pakistan.(period).

• imran malik said:

@ ek pakistani

shame on you ….i dont have time to waste to argue with you…u certainly ar an agent of the “brave” army who are brave to conquer there own awaam and country….

• pejamistri said:

I like comments like this:

lol …. a 14 old year kid perhaps son/daughter of army captain :)

• Ek pakistani said:

Can any one answer me?

On one hand we have corrupt politicians on the other we have Army (People who lay down their lives for us)

All Pakistani leaders are fit for only corruption.

BB killed her own brother.

Nawaz was created by Zia (another fauji).

Fazlu is the biggest lota in the world.

Only Imran Khan is left. But he does not have party with him. Moreover he is alone.

So we are left with only army. Now these are the people that work selflessly and remain on borders to die.

Nawaz Sharif wanted to do friendship with a Kaffir (Indian PM). It was great kick that Musharraf kicked India in Kargil.

Musharraf maintained his word by discarding his uniform even when he knew that political parties are bent upon to seize power.

The only option we have is to support our brave warrior.

• Rihat said:

@dmin please keep an eye on duel identity comments here. thanks

• Farooq Ahmed said:

Well, I think that media itself is responsible for this shutdown. The government showed lot of tolerance before this decision of shutting down all the channel was taken. Now, I heard that government is planning to open all the channel except one, and I think it would be Geo. In my humble opinion some of the media was not showing the responsibility and was not following the code of ethics correctly and was just critisizing the government and trying to make things more and more difficult for government and Pakistan.
    I live in USA and I can certainly say this, and I wont be exaggeratting when I say that, before Nov 3rd, Pakistani media was more freer than the media in America. There was not even a concept of censor ship on Pakistani Media at all, Media was showing the dead bodies of people and suicide bombers without even first giving the warnings. The Hosts of the news programs were taking sides against the government , whereas, tv channels should be unbiased about giving any opinions, only the guests in the program from the government and oppositions can show their view, but unfortunately, the hosts of these news programs started to give their own verdicts, which should be taken as the opinion of that news channel. I think that some of the Pakistani media abuses the freedom that was given to it and didnot fullfill responsilbility in a right fashion.
    Lets take an example of USA, the biggest free enterprise in the world. The US government told the media not to show the body bags of dead american soldiers, that are being killed in Iraq and Afghanistan, so that the people of america wont get too offended and start demanding the return of the soldiers. The american media complied and didnot show any thing like that on tv media as well as press media.
    Unfortunately, in Pakistan, some of the channels were just bashing the government and they were trying to make things more difficult for the government to handle. So, I think that this SHUTDOWN was rightly imposed by the government, and now government needs to give all tv channels a Code of Ethics, to keep them under control.

• Rihat said:

We love our army (except few greedy generals)….by the way mush is gone from the army and he is not a warrior.

• Amir Hameed said:

The following news itmes on geo.tv tells a lot:
    - Brown hails Musharraf quitting as army chief
    - US lauds Musharraf for quitting army, urges end to emergency
    - Benazir welcomes Musharraf’s army resignation

Nothing about the judiciary.

• Kruman said:

WE DON’T ACCEPT UPCOMING ELECTIONS – NAWAZ SHARIF

Also says we are taking a stand on principles. Until Mush restores Nov 3rd judiciary, ther ecan be no compromise with Musharraf.

LONG LIVE NAWAZ SHARIF!

• imran malik said:

@farooq ahmed

200+ journalists have been killed in mush’s govt….does this happen in usa…..

i live in usa too….

dont lie just to support the monster ugly MUSH….HE IS A CRIMINAL WHO NEED TO BE HANGED…GET THE HELL OUT OF HERE ..YOU LOTAAA…

• Amir Baig said:

Nayyar:

Excellenct sequence of events :) But for some reason I am not very optimistic.

The key issue in all this mess is that whether we can stand behind people who are suffering from taking a stand based on “Truth”. I mean judiciary, Lawyers, Journalists, Media etc.

If we ditch them, we deserve what we are getting.

• jojo said:

NS has announced PML(N) is not gonna contest. Geo TV

• Kruman said:

“Qadam barhao Nawaz Sharif hum tumharay saath hain”

NS should give a call for long march on Islamabad to free the judges.

• Rihat said:

@ jojo

If this is true…..GEO NS.

• jojo said:

He is on press conference on Geo. His stance shows that …

• Amir Hameed said:

@Farooq Ahmed,
    I also live in the US and I have seen images of Sudan with streets littered with bodies. If you watch FoxNews or listen to some of the extreme rightests, like the Rush Limbaugh, Michael Savage, you will know the kind of hatred these talk show hosts spread in the name of conservativism. According to Rush Limbaugh, Clinton was once so annoyed with his biased comments towards him that he called him from AirForce One to show his resentment. But did he ever dared to shutdown his show; No, because it was protected under the free speech right of the constitution.
    If the government had a problem with the media was portraying it then instead of forcefully shutting it down, why it did not take it to the courts? This showed the military mentality of this sham democratic government. Mind you that this was all done on the calls of one person only and that was Mush.

• Rihat said:

NS join our hero.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_YG1_VeCyWI

• pejamistri said:

I am getting concerned why IK and now NS are not supporting lawyers and are not holding demonstrations. Bar Council has announced a “Ihtejaj” tomorrow at the eve of mad ex-General oath taking ceremony.
    Politician should arrange big demos tomorrow. The need to get in headlines of world media.

• imran malik said:

NOW ALL JYAAALAAAAS OF BB WILL HIDE …AND PLAN THERE NEXT FAKE ARGUEMENT…AND THAT WILL BE ….NS DID BYCOTT AS PER DEAL…HHAHAHAA…FOR HOW LONG THEY WILL REMAIN IN ILLUSION OF THERE CORRUPT BB BAJI…

I WANT TO TELL ALL JYAALAAS TO SWICH THERE SYMPATHIES IF THEY THINK THEY ARE PATRIOTS…

• Kami said:

To All

‘Mush is poodle’ is a new name of ‘Mob is Loud’. He is trying to say that we don’t like Mush because of his ethnicity. He is in fact a Mush/MQM lover.

Don’t waste time on arguing. I have exposed him in the past because he used different IDs and he has come with a new but has failed to change his logic. Even name has three characters, comments time also refers to same time zone, and even link to the ‘not well known’ videos is the same.

You have been warned!!!

• Nayyar Sohail said:

I am not pro Musharraf My leader is only and only Imran Khan. I am all out for him with all my heart. I did up-load this petition, which reflect my true feeling:

http://www.petitiononline.com/jhangvee/petition.html

Every passing day our country goes back into uncivilized times with all the riots, kidnapping bombing etc. USA, Canada, Australia and UK have advised their citizens not to travel Pakistan. I am in Canada and daily many Canadian ask me that’s what Pakistan is. So I want to end this stale mate situation so was thinking about some way in between.
    We will get following objectives if President Mush is there as a President.
    1. We will still be acceptable in western world.
    2. Strong parliament will decide the course of our action in country.
    3. All parties will accept the election results if announced by Supreme Court of Ch. Iftikhar
    4. And I think If parliament with 2/3 majority can get rid of President. (not sure)

• imran malik said:

@nayyar sohail

mush is a desease…getting rid of him is priority #1…and thats what your leader ik belives too….

• Ek pakistani said:

“This army is an integrating force, the saviour of Pakistan,” he said. “Without it, the entity of Pakistan cannot exist.”

The statement was followed by criticism of those who “raise fingers at this army”.

“They are lost people,” he said. “They don’t know that the army has played an important role in the integration and development of Pakistan.”

=================

Great Commando was our leader. It is sad that he has left the generalship.

I wish his successor is principled like him and will fight with our enemy India to win it.

anybody who thinks that news channels were shut down because they were showing dead bodies are either living in cloud cuckoo land or are being very naive.

the only reason they shut down these channels was because of they own shortfalls being exposed.

the journalist are on record through mazar abbass as saying if this illegal government does not want to show dead bodies we don’t have an issue with this, but no what the government wanted was no criticism of they failed policies.

• Kruman said:

IK, NS and lawyers should give a call for a long march on Islamabad to:
    1) free the judges
    2) arrest Musharraf

• Rihat said:

@nayyar sohail

Our leader Imran doesn’t need supporter like you.

Aaj musharraf ka band baj giya.

• Rihat said:

Per BBC urdu news… Kiyani is a chain smoker and golf lover. He was adviser in BB’s last government and a key player in Mush BB deal. He also got support from washington. He is also ex-ISI chief.

• imran malik said:

@RIHAT

we dont care if kyani smokes weed or whatever….all we want from him now is to force mush to resign from presidency…

• farhan said:

@ imran malik

Kiyani wont force Mush for anything. He is a Mush loyal.

• Rihat said:

Mush and BB loyal……we just want Kiyani to deal with army and stay away from politics and government.

• madiyaan said:

So, finally the uniform gets doffed.

He still has a strong grip over the army, since Kayani is his yes-man I think (I might be proven wrong, though).

I must admit, even though most people call the ex-general mad, he has proven himself to be pretty smart. Now the general public is distracted by the polls and he has placated them for the time being by doffing the uniform (but still maintaining a bit of control over the army). People are not worried about the Judiciary anymore, unfortunately because of these distractions.

By showing them a piece of the pie each, he has led the politicians astray also. BB, who once called Iftikhar Chaudhary “her Chief Justice” is now willing to forget all about an independent judiciary for the sake of elections. NS will steal some of the right-wing’s votes and there will be a hung parliament, which means Mr. Musharraf will still have most of the power. Moreover, he can give threat of dissolving the parliment, or asking General Kayani to stage a coup again to control the Prime Minister.

• Asif said:

@imran malik

Now once for all we should looking to Army for any political solution, its time that civil society has to decide & madcow out of presidency too.
    Army has done its part by throwing him out of Army.
    Now its our responsibilty to throw him out of presidency.

• Asif said:

should looking read as should stop looking

• Rihat said:

Latest.

Fazlu will not attend tomorrow’s APDM meeting.

• imran malik said:

@RIHAT

ZIA was also bhutto loyal and mush was ns loyal once…but our history tells us that whoever is most loyal person will back stab you in the critical times…so i hope kyani does the needful

@asif
    i agree bro ..but we need to get mush out of the scene by hook or crook…at the moment the politiciasn are too week and manipulative to fulfill there own agenda..

• imran malik said:

@madyaan

look at the events from 9th march and decide if mush is dumb or not…

he had power and that is gone also…

his days are numbered..

btw..NS IS NOT CONTESTING ELECTIONS…

• Amir Hameed said:

@Imran Malik,
    Is this official that NS is not contesting elections? I am assumning that NS, you meant PML-N?

• Rihat said:

@ imran malik

Ghee shaker in your mouth.
    I will be your servant.

• imran malik said:

yes PML-N IS NOT CONTESTING ELECTIONS …

AND THE REASON IS THAT

NS is not as beghairet shameless as BB…

• Asif said:

The ball is in political parties courts except IK, everybody else has done his part.
    And its upto political pudits now to go with Nazriyya-e-Zaroorat or to go with rest of the society.

• Ek Pakistani said:

We need leaders who can defeat India and capture Kashmir.

Politicians donot have that courage.

Only Military leaders can achieve that so we NEED MUSHARRAF.

• Rihat said:

yes mush captured kashmir 8 times in the last 8 years.

• Ek Pakistani said:

@rihat

Atleast he tried to capture Kargil.

It was Nawaz eho ordered army to come back.

Only faujis have guts to capture Kashmir

• downwithmush said:

pkelections.com is predicting that PPPP will be the biggest party after 2008 elections. I think PML-Q will disintegrate in the next few days if PML-N launches full fledge campaign for elections.

• gayan said:

Read about one of the main members of last government.read her political careers.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kashmala_Tariq

• imran malik said:

@ek pakistani

here is the list of what musharraf tried to conquer in his 8 years

1-laal mosque
    2-waziristan
    3-bajorh
    4-quetta
    5-sawaat
    6-supreme court
    7-pppp,pmlq,fazlu

• Amir Hameed said:

@Ek Pakistani,
    Why do you want to defeat India if it does not attack you? Also, you can not capture Kashmir by force. The solution is in negotiations.

• Ek Pakistani said:

@Amir Hameed

India is our only enemy, We should capture Delhi so that Islam can regain past glory.

We should raise our flag on all major cities of India.

We should also save the poor hindus from satan by converting them to Islam (It is our duty)

Presence of a Kaffir nation as a neighabour is insult to Islam and Pakistan.

• Tipu said:

@ Eik Pakistani

bhai tum apnay mulk kay logoo ko tu pehalay Muslman bana lo phir India ki fikr karna…:)

Tipu

• imran malik said:

@ek pakistani
    our president is sharaabi you know that…

get ur facts right before talking about the relegion…you can’t support islam and mush at the same time

• Ek Pakistani said:

@imran

As someone said: A muslim man who is corupt and criminal is still better than kaffir.

So even if our President Musharraf drinks a little alcohol, he is still better all Indians.

• farhan said:

@ Everyone

Why are you all wasting time arguing with Ek Pakistani?

Its quite clear this kid is here for fun. The comments he is making cannot come from anyone over 14-15 year age bracket : ).

• Rihat said:

I agree with farhan.

• Ek Pakistani said:

@farhan

You are insulting Islam by not being serious for your duty.

Pakistan should attack India to librate the muslims there.

• Rihat said:

Justice Khalil-ur-Rehman Ramday on youtube.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wrt-GuLau0k

we don’t need to get attack any country all we should be worried about is how to make institutes stronger ie judiciary, media, civil society and the army out of politics permanently.

• BABU from USA said:

@ EK PAKISTANI
    I AM NOT SURE YOU WANT TO CONQUER INDIA OR YOU WANT TO SPREAD ISLAM.

TO SPREAD ISLAM WE DO NOT NEED TO CONQUER INDIA. WE AS MUSLIM SHOULD START PRACTICING ISLAM AND IT WILL ATTRACT NON- MUSLIMS. EVERYONE SHOULD PRACTICE AND GIVE DAWWA.

NONE OF THE ISLAMIC ARMY WENT TO INDONESIA AND OTHER NEIGHBOURING COUNTRIES. THOUGH INDONESIA IS THE LARGEST MUSLIM COUNTRY BY POPULATION.

THERE ARE MORE MUSLIMS IN INDIA THAN IN PAKISTAN. IF MUSLIMS OF INDIA AND OTHER MUSLIMS START PRACTICING ISLAM AND GIVE DAWWA IT WILL ATTRACT NOT ONLY LOWER CLASS HINDU BUT ALSO ANY NON-MUSLIM.

NOW, THE QUESTION IS WHEN WE ALL TAKE THE RESPONSIBILITY.

• farhan said:

@ Ek Pakistani

Get a life kid. Go have some cookies and play a video game or something on your computer. This forum is for political debates.

• Rihat said:

Haroon ends hunger strike on Geo insistence Updated at Wednesday, November 28, 2007 1920 PST KARACHI:

Geo TV management made Wednesday its worker Haroon Leghari to end the token hunger strike after great insistence on him, as he resolved to continue with the move until death.

Geo worker Haroon Leghari was on till-death hunger strike for nine days against the suspension of Geo TV broadcast; however, Geo TV management forced him to end his strike.

On this occasion, Geo TV Network President Imran Aslam garlanded Leghari and served him with yogurt.

On this occasion, other Geo TV workers were also present to encourage him.

Haroon Leghari said, ‘the struggle is not over yet and the protest is still continues,’ adding Geo is an impartial channel and the government should stand by its promise of freedom of press by restoring it.

• Ek Pakistani said:

Well I believe democracy is bad for pakistan as Indian culture like bollywood can degrade Islamic practice.

So we should stay with Military rule.

• Asif said:

Have anybody good news about media?

• farhan said:

@ Asif

Were we expecting something?

• Asif said:

Just my wishful/fishful thinking……..

• Kruman said:

Ek pakistani is an Indian posing to be a Pakistani. Just ignore this guy.

• shawn said:

So finally, NS also decided to take part in fake elections. good going NS. You all are same BB, NS, Fazlu etc. Only faces are changed. Finally the biggest parties accepted mush as president, his PCO as legitimate, PCO judges as real and showed that the basic power does not rest with people, it rests with DICTATORS> Good job!!!! Congrats!!!
    BUT PLEASE LISTEN
    This movement of lawyers and media will not go wasted..some chaudhris, waderas and criminals and drug ped may vote for you for personal gains but common man will not vote at all. This mass struggle will continue even if you become musharraf’s associates.

• Syed said:

@Ek Generalistani

zara gunggunao to sahi yeh naghma! I do it everyday good for health. Also ask your mum to take you to a psychiatrist

Aye Watan Kay Nasheelay jawano
    Saray Raqbay Tumharay Liya Hain

Tum ko Tamgha Dain Beghairati Ka
    Sari Jungayan Jo Haray Huway Hain

• imran malik said:

since MUSHAHID HUSSAIN is idle these days and he is prone to book reading and surfing ,im sure he must be visiting this site quite often these days..we shld all let him know that how he let the country down by following the LOTA party and supporting dictator’s every crazy step…

he is a qualified individual with a lot of insight and political wisdom..

atleast an educated and scholarly person like him could have done better than that….

shame on you mr mushahid hussain..

• Asif said:

@farhan

As far now it seemz that everyone would be ready to participate in election except IK, why?

1)BB has already made it clear that they are participating as a protest
    2)Fazlu has made it clear that he will not leave the field open, unless everybody boycotts(impossible, see1)
    3)Qazi forcing Fazlu for boycott but Fazlu won’t(see2), so Qazi will also jump in.
    4)NS isgiving mixed signals, on one side hes saying to ask BB for boycott but she won’t(see1) & on the other hand hes promoting SS for PM. His mixed signals would end up in contesting the elections.

• SA said:

@ Ek pakistani
    what the hell is this.. capturing india and kafir..
    we cant fix our own problems and provide justice to our own people!!!
    this is a typical approach from our army to justify their hefty paychecks!!

• farhan said:

Geo just reported there was another blast in Rawalpindi a while ago. In Civil Lines area.

• imran malik said:

@shawn

NS is not contesting the elections…

• bala_Gujar said:

@imran malik
    agree with you malik
    shame on Mushahid
    he is so called syed
    i want to ask him
    ‘Aal Nabi, Aulaad Nabi noo tu kiyon likaaN layaaN’

• Mushahid Hussain said:

Imran Malik and rest of my brothers,

I am indeed surfing the net and I respect your opinion. However I have always said “Pakistan First” and whatever I did was for the betterment of Pakistan (as per my judgement).

I cannot say every thing here but out of 3 options: PPP, Nawaz and former General Musharraf I found the last to be best for Pakistan

• Mushaid Hussain said:

Imran Malik and rest of my brothers,

I am indeed surfing the net and I respect your opinion. However I have always said -Y´Pakistan First¡ and whatever I did was for the betterment of Pakistan (as per my judgement).

I cannot say every thing here but out of 3 options: PPP, Nawaz and former General Musharraf I found the last to be best for Pakistan

• Syed said:

@bala_Gujar

Even the son of Nuh Nabi was declared a layeen. It is the act not the rishta that determines the stature of a person. Ofcourse Syeds are very much regarded but they should behave as well.

• pejamistri said:

another great review of mad ex-general’s speech
    http://www.bbc.co.uk/urdu/interactivity/quotes/story/2007/11/071128_mushspeech_qoutes_ms.shtml

I liked
    “Dera Bugi mein jahan kohlo hai”

he has lost his geographical sense also. Or may be he actually does not know where Kohlo is.
    BTW: I come from near Kohlo so I know where it is :)

• P Busharraf said:

Mein darta warta kisi se nahi

Yes Pakistan mein “I am the best”

Mein sab jaanta hoon. Sabon ko mujh se salah leni chaiye.

Mera motto: “Pakistan first”

• bala_Gujar said:

@Mushahid hussain
    if it is really you…
    i had a lot respect for you however what ever you say you have digusted me. shame on you. actions speek louder than words.

• P Busharraf said:

Mere ko pata hai ki Dera bugi kahan pe hai.

To donot try to be smart.

Are Giddar afgan kahan ho bhai. Batao in sabon ko – who is the best Pakistani?

• pejamistri said:

@mushahid hussein
    I can guess if you are real or fake. Tell me who first called you “Nelson Mendela” of Pakistan?

• farhan said:

@ Mushaid Hussain

Mr. Hussain, Good to have you here. Although you have experienced politics in Pakistan, I disagree that Musharraf has been best for Pakistan. We never experienced suicide bombers in Pakistan. Look where he has brought the Armed forces. I can go on and on and I know you mentioned you cannot say much over here. But still, I believe democracy is the only soltuion for Pakistan.

• bala_Gujar said:

@ Mushahid Hussain
    who is dad now…i think you will wait for next dictator (God forbid) and then answer this question.

• Syed said:

@ Mushahid

You did not repsect the nation, the country. You respected and acted for your own good and to implement your own agenda. You wanted to enjoy the perks of being a minister. Remember there were ministers of Yazid, do you hear their names now. You on this junsture of our history sided with the Generals and the Army. In front of your eyes, with your full consent the Superior judiciary was relegated to the status of less than a peon, with your sonsent emergency was imposed and constitution was abrogated. History will judge you as the one who sided with the wrong side. Fortunately now you cannot do anything. You and your leaders are marked as such: Traitors!

• Ahmed Bhai said:

EK Pakistani:

I wonder why Mush and other generals send their children to US to study business rather they should serve army and conquer kashmir.

Mushaid Hussain:
    You may be right but explain How?

madiyaan:
    You know what retired means? see what happened to gen. Hamid Gul.

• imran malik said:

@Mushahid hussain

isnt it about insitutions ,personalities will come and go ,but our struggle shld be for instituitions…and in order to establihs the instituitions we have to give the reins of the govt to whoever the people decide to vote…and give them time…change wouldnt happen overnight..look at india..they have more corrupt leaders than us…but its not about personalities…if you let the system run it will take care of its discrepencies with the passage of time…

im sure you know it better than any of us ,if its really you (mushahid hussain)

• Friend indeed said:

@imran malik

First thing first…Nawaz is not boycotting the election. establishment backed nawaz has a history of lieing through his teeth…he left the country through a deal…came back through a deal and will run the election as part of a deal. He is still the favorite of pakistan’s rightwing establishment. Military knows that PML-Q cann’t stand against PP so they brought Nawaz…

I think all the Nawaz supporters who are so intelligent to go after the slogan of “Jaag Panjabi Jaag” shouldn’t teach the real democratic forces…what to say or do.

• bala_Gujar said:

you must be joking peja
    him and Nelson Mendela.
    if some one has really said that it could be some one like Wasi Zafar who said “Chaudri Shujahat is only leader Pakistan has been blessed with after Quaid e Azam”

• pejamistri said:

I am sorry but I have to say this so that if he is real mushahid hussain he can hear some truth about himslef.
    For less than 2 years of imprisonment , he asked (read paid) the writers to call him Nelson Mandela , and then as soon as he came out of the house arrest he jumped into dictator’s lap and became his poodle.
    My problem is that he associated his name with such a hreo of humanity. It was disgusting.

can someone please clarify if ns is taking part in elections or not.thnx

• Rihat said:

NS will decide tomorrow.

• imran malik said:

@friend indeed

ok lets say that NS bycotts the elections and call for restoration of judiciary and uplifting of emergency….and lets say that bb keep on playing his dirty power politics and accept mush as president and give a damn to cj and media…

then my friend …will you change you tone…

i bet not…you will still sing praise of your beloved BB BAJI…..and hide your insult in the slogans like establishment..punjabi burocracy (like mqm did all thsee years and now look at them)….

i bet you jyaalaaas will never change…

@rihat

thnx for clarifying

• Friend indeed said:

What kind of party is Pakistan Muslim league…? is that the only Muslim party in pakistan? Or are they fooling people with the Qaid e Azam’s muslim league? Qauid e azam is probably crying and laughing at the same time in his grave…watching Military remains (ch & NS & peer pagara) are calling themselves Muslim leagues..

The fact is there is no such thing as Muslim league anymore…it’s for people who have no political or democratic ideology looking for some shelter…

• bala_Gujar said:

@peja
    even if it was him he has leged it.
    well done Mushahid.. go jump off the highest cliff you could find and never come back.

• imran malik said:

@friend indeed
    and what about people’s party..

is it really pakistan people party ///
    sorry my friend pakistan people cannot afford surrey palace,neither can they afford imported food for there horses…and lavish life style in foreign countries…pakistani avg person dont have trillions of accounts sealed…is it really PAKISTAN PEOPLE PARTY..

SHAME ON YOU JYAALAAAS.

• Mushahid Hussain said:

Dear brothers,

As I said earlier there are things that cannot be said here. All I will say that try to remember the ground realities. I didnot change when I was put in prison.

There were no option but to bring stability in Pakistan when the condition was critical.

International scene had changed after 9/11. Pakistan was facing grim choices. There was no room for destabilising Pakistani establishment.

Moreover I have always favoured civilian President which we have got now. During these elections the people will chose their representative and next government will be completely democratic.

So we have been able to save Pakistan from very dangerous phase after 9/11 and move it through different phases of transition and soon we will have complete democratic rule.

What could have been dangerous is the abrupt transition and we were able to prevent that.

Every govt commits mistake and our govt also did things that were not well recieved by public. But we always respected public opinion.

PS: Nelson Mandela is a legend and I am too humble to even contemplate equality with him.

• Ahmed Bhai said:

imran malik:
    SHAME ON YOU JYAALAAAS

pin point your criticisms to specific people/leader and dont generalize it unless you can prove it statistically significant :) avoid areas of common nakedness.

• Friend indeed said:

@ Malik saab

lets face the fact…they only reason that you like Nawaz is because he is panjabi…or with religious parties…you have no interest in democracy. (ask your self deep inside…you will find me right)

Moving on to boycotting the election…the real democratic forces always try to avoid boycotting the election…even if the odds are against them….(how would any muslim league know…they are just recently talking about democracy). back to my point…the reason why real democratic forces avoid boycotting is thats the only way to some day come in power and make a difference…or at least have their voices heard through opposition in the parliament. Real democratic forces want to keep reminding people to vote…(that keeps the workers blood warm)this is all democracy is about…where people go and vote.(even if they know that the odds are against them.

Now military backed Muslim league systematically want to eliminate the concept of democracy…so people don’t vote and Chuhadaries come in power again for 5 years…and people gradually don’t even go out to vote anymore…then what’s left? no interest in politics, bad mouthing about politicians…leads to the only option…Military govt.

• imran malik said:

@mushahdi hussain

you said that we will have complete democratic rule ..but as long as musharraf is the president it can’t be called democratic rule..since he got elected undere pco and he was elected by the assembly which no longer exists,he was in uniform when he contested presedential elections,so he is still an illegetemate ruler ….so how can you call the set up democratic..

• bala_Gujar said:

@Mushahid
    this is not PTV. what you have just said is repeated on PTV every day and it is not convincing at all. if you had a little bit of self respect (never mind care for Pakistan) you could have gone out of political scene rather than supporting a dictator.

• Rihat said:

So now you call him a civilian president. Can you tell me why CJ is still in confinement?

i cant let this go neither can most of the people on this website we want independent judiciary and free media as it was on 02-11-07.

the elections are just a farce and if they are not free and fair whats the point.

we have got to a stage where they cannot be any
    compromise on these issues.

as for mush he is a war criminal.

• Khalid said:

@dmin
    Please check IDs from same IPs. I can sense a few.

• Syed said:

@Mushahid

people do not beleive you, they stopped beleiving in the systema dn in Pakistan itself due to you and your group whose leader is Musharraf. How do you think people can beleive in just and fair elections when the EC itself is siding with your party and the superior judiciary is under arrest. If you are the real Mushahid then you must have read this quote of Hazrat Ali “A government of Kufur can remain, a government without justice cannot”. How can you even contemplate about coming to a forum trying ot defend your jet black kartoot!
    @Admin tell us if this guy is real then we can really take him to task.

• Asif said:

“ground realities” is the other nmae for “Nazriyya-e-Zaroorat.
    So I stopped by “ground realities” & then stopped reading further…

• imran malik said:

@friend indeed

i dont like NS…

im against the blind following of jyaalaas for there bb baji….even after witnessing her naked mean politics time an again..

p.s first you said that NS will not bycott as per deal …and now after i challenged you that he would ..you are saying that democratic forces dont bycott..

go take a chill pill..your bb is the most corrupt woman in the face of the earth ..and NS is not far behind…..

at this time whoever take a stand against the MUSH adversereies…shld be backed .

• Ahmed Bhai said:

Mushaid Hussain:

You are a learned person tell me what stability means? strong nation or strong dictatorship. 9/11 excuse can not run till Mush death. for the sake of argument even if he did right at that time, time after time what he did?

CJ is the last nail in the coffin in the name of ‘democracy’ not to empower people of pakistan – the very ARMY agenda.

Please tell what public opinion you respect?

• pejamistri said:

@mushahid hussain (assume to be real)
    Unfortunately your execuses are very lame. And moreover personally I believe that Wasi Zafars and Sher Afgans of this Pakistans are morally at a very high padestal then Mushahid Hussain’s of Pakistan. At least they do not try to fool the people of Pakistan and have the moral courage to come and defend the military dictator without ifs and buts. There intellect may be low and they may be buffoons but they are simple minded souls. We can sympathise with them.
    But for people like yourself I don’t see any reason to have any sympathy.
    You did not decide the side with Dictator because Pakistan was in trouble after 9/11 , Pakistan actually started getting money after 9/11 and got much stabler than 1999-2000. And if at that time people like yourself had ensured a real democratic system in Pakistan we would not be in this mess which are now. There was no chance that even people like Qazi Hussain Ahmed had said no to US let alone any democratic party like PML-N or PPP.
    You and your dictator used the money given by US to their personal gains and played double game with US by not controlling the exteremism in Pakistan in order to extend your ruthless rule.
    It is a matter of shame Mr. Mushahid Hussain. Don’t try to justify yourself. Although I don’t have any hope but if you consider yourself an honorable person you must tender unconditional apology to this nation.

• maan said:

@Mushahid

You and your friends didn’t save it but ruined it. Every institution from judiciary to army have been badly destroyed.

Again we are standing at zero point.

The responsibility goes to our brave army and poor politicians.

at this moment of time i think we have some very good people in pakistan. people like chief justice Iftikhar Muhammad Chaudhry and elections in my opinion should be held under his leadership.

• imran malik said:

@pejamistri

very well said…

• bala_Gujar said:

@mushahid
    Chaudri Shujahat, wasi zafar, sherpao, durani, sheeda tali and you all did it for sake of Pakistan. well done…

• maan said:

We all Pakistanis are looking at Imran, Aitzaz, Javed Hashmi and Wajihuddin etc to join their hands as new brave leadership to take this country back from corrupt, non-qualified and coward politicians.

If such a leadership emerges I have no doubt in my mind that this nation will excel.

• imran malik said:

@mushahid hussain

Person like you is a misfit in a lota party which is a NAB ZEDA party with no ideology at all…

you can still make amends to your atrocities by tendering your resignation to chauharies and supporting cj ..

and last but not the least by raising your voice for mush to resign…

• pejamistri said:

Contacts for PML(N) .. Insist your leaders to stay firm on their stand.
    http://akeelrehman.blogspot.com/2007/11/boycott-elections-campaign-pmln.html

@mushahid
    May be you can call them to tender an apology :)

• Rihat said:

Boycott Elections Campaign – PMLN leadership contacts

It is critical for PML-N to opt for boycotting the sham elections that Musharraf is about to conduct without reinstating our judges. Please contact the PML-N leaders below and request them to boycott the elections and side with the judges, lawyers, students and civil soceity of Pakistan. Forward this message urgently to as many Pakistanis as you can:

Raja Muhammad Zafar-ul-Haq
    051-2823475

Makhdoom Javed Hashmi
    0300-9630740
    92-61511553

Muhammad Ali Khan Hoti
    0937-862049 (off)
    0937-863159 (R)

Mr. Saranjam Zamindar
    0300-9591094
    091-824444-824222
    051-2280033
    0303-6902811
    0931-66666-63333
    0931-64444

Begum Tehmina
    042-5725894-5721780
    0693-648000

Syed Zafar Ali Shah
    0333-5202949
    051-2872299
    0320-4502949

Ahsan Iqbal
    051-2213017
    0300-5012345
    051-4860059
    051-4860058 (fax)

Muhammad Pervez Malik
    0300-8440280
    9221577 (lodges)
    9207477 (279)
    042-5878201
    042-5878202
    042-5710332 (o)
    042-5710333 (o)

Iqbal Zafar Jhagra
    091-262675-263336
    0300-9590653
    0300-8595225
    091-2651234

Ch. Mohammad Jafar Iqbal
    051-2856501 ®
    051-2651000 (O)
    0300-8678844

Khawaja Muhammad Asif
    051-2262478
    042-5720478
    0432-261478-262478
    0300-8440640

Sardar Rahim
    0333-2200696
    021-5896589
    021-5380212

Shahid Khaqan Abbasi
    051-2823035
    0300-9501569

Raja Ashfaq Sarwar
    051-2296982
    0300-8501313

Khurram Dastgir Khan
    055-257935
    055-3845465
    0300-8643864
    0300-6402926

Sardar Mehtab Ahmed Khan
    051-2872046
    0992-382323
    0300-8505510
    0300-5006061
    0593-558222

Ch. Nisar Ali Khan
    051-4413535
    051-5794229

Ghulam Dastgir Khan
    051-2250020-1
    0300/8641479
    0431-710721

Ch. Abdul Ghafoor
    042-5883179-5855740
    051-111888333

Begum Najma Hameed
    051-4411995
    0300-5117531

Safdar Rehman
    051-9208555
    041-545888

Sartaj Aziz
    051-2281593

Sardar Zulfiqar Ali Khan Khosa
    042-5730988
    0641-462000-465000
    0300-8451217

Khawaja Saad Rafique
    042-6653286-6653386
    0300/9455669

Syed Ghous Ali Shah
    021-5841606-5855591

Pir Sabir Shah
    091-814446
    0995-661250
    0300-8594557

Iqbal Zafar Jhagra
    091-262675-263336
    0300-9590653
    0300-8595225

Sardar Yaqoob Khan Nasir
    051-2275891
    081-834118
    0300-2122300

Syed Zafar Ali Shah
    051-2872299

Begum Ishrat Ashraf
    051-2279944

Raja Nadir Pervez Khan
    051-5571484-5
    0300-6608644

Khawaja Saad Rafique
    042-5894666
    042-7658457

• Friend indeed said:

@imran Malik…

My world is not revolving around NS…so if he runs or boycotts makes no difference…

Moreover, PP’s political agenda is not based on hate…PP doesn’t go out and ask for votes against Mush or NS and do their character assassination.

Its those fake people like NS and Chuhadaries who only look for anti PP votes or anti Mush votes…because they don’t have any manifesto of their own.

there is no comparison between bb and NS…NS only hates musharaf for obvious reasons…however PP has a manifesto…that the power belongs to people…now if its musharaf or any other dictator pp will fight against it.

In your case…if tomorrow another religious dictator takes over and start acting like Zia and all religious…you and all of your Jamat e Islami friends will start following him blindly.

• zenith said:

One thing I didn’t understand that earlier everyone was asking IK to boycott the elections, now when has completely boycotted them, we see aitaz ahsan sahab, and ali ahmed kurd sahab contesting the elections under the same man for whom they had no soft corner. What is this?

• chussain said:

@Mushahid Hussain

Why is Pervez Musharraf indispensable after all – was there not a single army general who could take care of Musharraf if he wasnt there. Your premise is absolutely rubbish. If we had a strong parliament at the time of 9/11 we would not have been bullied around by Americans. Pervez Musharraf has destroyed everything – Pakistan army morale is very very low, Judiciary is destoryed, Media is in tatters, parliament was rubber stamp with grave scandels coming out regarding former PM Shaukat Aziz. – Do you thing selling conscience is saying saving Pakistan

No – we do not accept your premise. We can look after Pakistan well even without Army ruling us – after all who saved Lebenon – Hezbullah or Lebenese army – Saddam had such a large army – was it able to save Iraq – they could not even fight for few weeks

So give this goli to someone else – we dont just accept your ridicul@ous arguments.

• imran malik said:

@Friend indeed

y are u assuming things…first you said im NS follower ,now you r making me jamiati..i dont like mma politics…

PPPP politics doesnt propogates from hate then what was FSF for..im sure you know what im talking about…why was aj raheem tortured by bhutto…why leghari was black mailed…y sadiq qureshi was cornered by bhutto…y bb’s 90% of colleges in 88 elections have left her…what about murtaza bhutto..murder and his family hating bb….
    what about the rift bw nusrat bhutto and bb over chairman ship of pppp..

you can’t get away …bro …if you support bb then you can’t be a sane person..

p.s im not jamati ..im not NS follower..

IF SC HAS BEEN DISSSOLVED …THE ELECTIONS ARE FARCE..AND ONE NEED TO REINSTATE CJ….IS THAT TOO HARD FOR POWER HUNGRY BB BAJI.TO UNDERRSTAND…..

• chussain said:

Pervez Malik is real brother of AG Qayum – ask him to do something about his brother – how can he be in PML N while his brother is playing havoc with the consititution, law and judiciary – AG Qayuum took 2 crores to appear for Musharraf – it is time we stop these lotas who sell their conscience for anything

• Rihat said:

Even Mushahid Hussain could not defend this (so called) civilian president.

• maan said:

@Friend

Of course, there is no comparison of BB with NS. She should be compared to her brother Fazlu. Both of them are toeing the same line.

By the way, neither i m leaguee nor jiala.

• imran malik said:

Guies this bb is as evil as an army general..she is civilian with the brain of army dictator…have you watched her attitude to jawab dehy host…no body showed such disgust to iftikhar but bb was terrible with him

bb never freed the media…she passed a legislation in her last govt that even 15 members of assembly can sack a SC judge ..she was always at logger heads with SC…SHE was only interested in strengthening her power and looting millions..she is the most corrupt and evil politician…folks we need to dump mush and in the same time bb as well….

SO CAMPAINGN SHLD BE TO SHOW THE DOOR TO BOTH MUSH AND BIBI…..GO MUSH GO …GO BIBI GO…..lawyers zinda bad…cj zindabad…media zidabad…

• zenith said:

Article and vids regarding mush’s retirement.

http://news.yahoo.com/s/ap/20071128/ap_on_re_as/pakistan

• Ahmed Bhai said:

Question: Is Musharraf now a Bl@@dy Civilian?

2 1/2 ft lumbi baans ki chaddi – I reached to same conclusion with the single clip I saw on Geo :)

• sohail said:

I am sure Mr. Mushahid Hussain is thinking that he is talking to PTV audience, because he has never talk to intellectual Pakistanis on any forum.

I have got a chance to listen to Mushahid Hussain couple of times on Geo, he comes across as plain idiot and chamcha of Musharaf.

• pejamistri said:

@zenith
    Thanks for the link.

Tearful Musharraf retires as army chief
    “From tomorrow, that relationship will always remain, but I will not be in uniform,” Musharraf added, sniffing and blinking back tears before taking his place alongside the taller, more relaxed Kayani.

—–
    Mad ex-General seems to know his future.

• pejamistri said:

In an emotional ceremony at military headquarters in Rawalpindi, a tearful Musharraf handed the baton to a loyalist, General Ashfaq Kyani, saying, “I have loved this army.”

——-
    read here
    http://news.yahoo.com/s/time/musharrafsstrategicretreat;_ylt=ArwpiOTfhLlKeokRDAne2TP9xg8F

• pejamistri said:

Honesty of a thief:
    But praising Musharraf for stepping down as army chief is akin to praising the honesty of a thief, who, having stolen and broken a priceless vase, returns it in pieces, with apologies.

• Friend indeed said:

@Imran Malik,

you say you are not with NS or a jamati…then you probably have some anti pp or anti democracy decease. seems like you have a symptom of looking at everything that she does in a negative way…go get some help before you hurt your self with anger.

(by the way you are using all the negative campaign very similar to Jamati group and NS + Chuhadaries)

Try to have some substance in your comments except the anti pp propagenda.

(personally I think that you are either Ejaz ul Haq or perviz elahi…in a disguise ;o))

That concludes my comments for today.

• imran malik said:

@FRIEND INDEED
    U DIDNT ANSWER ANY OF MY ACCUSATIONS…

1-AJ RAHIM TORTURE
    2-LEGHARI BLACK MAIL
    3-MURDER OF MM BHUTTO
    4-NUSRAT BB FEUD
    5-LEGISLATION PASSED BY BB AGAINST JUDGES
    6-MEDIA RESTRICTIONS IN HER TENURE
    7-CORRUPTION
    8-HER MEAN STAND AT PRESENT SCENERIO
    9-Z A BHUTTO’S FSF
    LIST GOES ON AND ON …BUT YOU ARE AFTER ALL THE JYAAALAA OF BBB BAJI…SO GO TO SLEEP AND SING IN PRAISE OF THE SO CALLED DEMOCRATIC LEADER…

• imran malik said:

@friend indeed
    if BB is democratic then FAZLU IS the bearded version of quaid-e-azam…..

talk sense atleast and learn to call spade a spade

• zenith said:

@ pejamistri, thanks for the link.

I think,departure of mush doesnot mean that the army will leave, this gen kiyani may well be mush junior. Perhaps our dream of seeing pakistan as a pure democratic progressive islamic state will never come true.

• imran malik said:

@ZENITH
    dont be pasimistic..hope for the best..

• zenith said:

@ imran malik
    thanx .
    but we cannot turn away from the realities on the ground.

• downwithmush said:

If PML-N does participate then http://www.pkelections.com is predicting that PML-N will grab both NA seats from Hafizabad from PML-Q this time around.

• Rihat said:

Interesting analysis on an independent media.

http://ca.youtube.com/watch?v=3M33kfqy4RQ

• imran malik said:

WHO WANTS MUSH TO CONTINUE AS A PRESIDENT

1-Mush himself…offcourse he wants himself to be the ruler
    2-pml-q ..they want him bc they dont even exist w/o him
    3-BB YES BB ,because she knows that as long as mush is there ,NS cant get to the power ,so presence of mush guarantees her that her biggest political rival is gotten offset…..
    so BB’s best bet to the PM ship is by having mush as a president..

• Rihat said:

Well said imran malik.

• Ahmed Bhai said:

I guess the best bet for BB is to have their own president, or political mutually agreed president rather than Mush. I am sure that when she meets NS in few days both will have collection stand which will let Mush leaving his presidency. end of the day she is politician and plays accordingly.

• imran malik said:

@ahmed bhai

if politics means lust for power and nothing else,no moral and ethical value…then yes bb is a politician…

• downwithmush said:

Nation reporting that emergency might be lifted in the next 48 hours, also NS in today’s press conference was even stronger in demanding restoration of judges, freeing of illegal/un-accounted for people and release of Dr. AQ Khan. If only free media is around to report this as he is speaking to the heart of average Pakistanis what they want to say

• Rihat said:

Ahmed Bhai please don’t defame politics…..she is not a politician she is an opportunist. She didn’t issue a single statement to praise Aitazaz for his efforts. She will see if tomorrow NS plus others boycott and public supports them…..her first demand will be restoration of judiciary.

• Asif said:

As far the analysis is concerned PMLN should boycott, because otherwise he won’t get so many seats to be in a bargaining position.
    So the best bet would be to go for a boycott & prepare for the future polls, & one of the benefits would be that IK won’t be the sole flyer to get the popular support of public.

• imran malik said:

@downwithmush

can you paste link of that nation news here…

• Ahmed Bhai said:

imran malik:

besides another dimension of politician is to take advantage of opponents’ mistakes and twist circumstances in his/her own favour. This is really an interesting aspect and much needed in global politics.

the reason we all feed so depressed when this happens is that at the same time we are deprived of any national institutions and basic human rights and so combine the two.

I am hopeful to see separation of two.

if for one moment we feel there is people say, independent judiciary etc. then probably we will not criticize politics so much.

• imran malik said:

@ahmed bhai

taking adv of oppositions’s mistake is fine but that adv shldnt be confined to the personal intrests…she needs to see beyond her swiss accounts and PM house

• Ahmed Bhai said:

Rihat: I dont know much of game theory but the little I know I can understand the BB and NS different stand. both have different payoffs.
    this is the world of opportunist!

so that I feel that once they meet, they will force Mush to leave. wait and see

• Rihat said:

She is a disgrace to our nation. Ahmed Bhai you did not reply to me comment. Why didn’t she say a word about Aitazaz?

• zenith said:

Mush said this at the ceremony. I am quoting some of it from http://www.geo.tv . Mush said

� I’m proud of this army and I was lucky to have commanded the world’s best army,� Musharraf said. “I will no longer command …but my heart and my mind will always be with you.� He said “I am leaving the Army in a best shape.� He said he knows Gen. Ashfaq Pervez Kayani for last 20 years who is an excellent soldier and Army officer.

“After passing 46 years in the Army I am saying farewell to the institution,� President Musharraf said. “I am sad to leave the Army, which is like a family to me,� he further said.

He thanked Gen. Ashfaq Kayani and other officers and jawans of the armed forces for their assistance and cooperation.

He said the Army is the force to protect and unite the country. He said it is the military, which comes forward to face any internal or external threat. It is the military that always remains prepared to offer sacrifices in natural calamities, he further said.

He said Pakistan could not survive without the Army. He said some unscrupulous elements raise fingers at the army but they do not understand the role of military in development and solidarity of Pakistan.�

Unquote. such is the mentality of the army that they think they are the best and rest of us are not capable to run the country.

• jojo said:

I have already lost interest in Election 2008 and seems to be boring.

IK won’t be there and hypocrates will finaly be beating their desks with the copies of 1973, while shouting “Go mush go”. I am quite sure none of them, right now, wants mush to go away and reinstate the pre Nov 3 scinorio, otherwise what will be their business in parliament house.

Anyhow, any formula 1 fan here?

• imran malik said:

@rihat
    BB is afraid of AA’S growing popularity..

she is scared of him

instead she feels comfortable with the paaaltooos like rehman malik and sherren rehman ….

• Ahmed Bhai said:

Well I can understand BB as trying to offset what defame her and wants contribution to every success (as per rihat: opportunist). NS has also taken the same stand which does not let people remember that saudi intelligence showed a paper saying 10 years….

the point is as AWAM our interest lies in their combine struggle, We win if we get independent judiciary and people say, they win for what they are here and let the system run which will make system more strong and filters short-termist politicians.

• Asif said:

@Rihat

Family politics is still in the blood of our main parties.
    BB is not promoting AA, because hes the threat to her leadership.
    NS is promoting SS instead of JH as future PM incase hes denied.
    The spirit of democracy is still a bit away from public. But lets hope for something good.

• Rihat said:

Its not about promoting AA. It is not to displease Mush.

• downwithmush said:

@jojo it is no different than 2002, even one was there including IK shouting GO mush GO with 1973 constitution in hands, the battle goes on and staying out when every one else is in there might be a moral high ground for a few weeks of TV coverage but i am afraid might not be a wise political decision.

• Tanweer Amjad said:

This is the mentality of Pakistan Army and is normally developed so that they feel superior to all humans; Initially it was meant for developing confidence in them to go for truth and defend national interests, little could one expect that the national interests could change in the eyes of a person who is supposed to lead them in battles at all levels especially defence of the frontiers. Any big achievement of Pakistan Army one could quote, I am not talking of the role of Research Labs, because those are mainly served by Civilians. Since they have been involved so they are good in politics only.

• Asif said:

whatever………

• Ahmed Bhai said:

Rihat: I am sad if she hasn’t said any word for AA. As a politician she should. I don’t know about this but trust your information.

Asif point is valid. But two fair successive elections will create new leadership – I am sure.

• chussain said:

EMERGENCY WOULD BE MOST LIKELY LIFTED TOMORROW AND JUDICIARY MAY BE RESTORED IN SOME FORM – we dont know how but this is the latest news.

NS bigggest mistake was to appoint Pervez Musharraf as Chief of Army Staff – he should have got lesson now that appointent of Chief Justice, Chief of ARmy Staff and Chief Election Comissioner should be on basis of merit and not on perceive loyalty. Had he appointment Ali Kuli Khan as Chief of Army Staff instead of Pervez Musharraf – he would spared not only himself but the whole Pakistan from this torture of nine years.

• imran malik said:

mush is like a sooer with or without a wardi…doesnt make a diff…sooer is still a sooer….we need to get rid of this sooer…asap….

• Tanweer Amjad said:

Javed Hashmi can still find some chance of becoming even more popular among the people. In case Ns refuses to boycot elections, as per his claim, he should leave NS and join hands with Imran Khan, journalists and lawyers, and mobilise people for the restoration of judiciary. this would prove blessing in disguise for him. NS would lose enough credibility and JH will gain all of that.

• chussain said:

News of lifting of emergency as below

http://nawaiwaqt.com.pk/urdu/daily/nov-2007/29/columns3.php

• Tanweer Amjad said:

Well we all know BB, she will keep on doing the same things. She always has to follow the statements of US and Britain. I wish she could look into the eyes of her blind supporters, why they can’t see at all. May be PPP itself knows that without the name of bhutto they are nothing. Whereas PML(Q) proved that using the name of Quaid-e-Azam didn’t reduce the disgrace on their part.

• zenith said:

@ Tanveer Amjad
    javed hashmi has himself filed nomination papers. He is contesting elections from
    Rawalpindi.

• Asif said:

madcow will address tomorrow at 2000 PST without skin 1st time.

• zenith said:

One thing I didn’t understand that earlier everyone was asking IK to boycott the elections, now when he has completely boycotted them, we see aitazaz ahsan sahab, and ali ahmed kurd sahab contesting the elections under the same man for whom they had no soft corner. What is this?

• Rihat said:

So guys any predictions on tomorrows APDM meeting before I call it a day?

@rihat

they will say wait another week blah blah blah and let me all so say from the bottom of my heart that i wish i am proven wrong for pakistan and pakistanis sake because this opportunity that we have been given by judges,lawyers, media people and civil society may not come around for another 20/30 years.

• chussain said:

@Rihat read teh above column – things are going to change dramatically tomorrow inshallah but yes APDM would boycott if there is no way – NS has hundred and one reasons to boycott the elections

By the way another big news

Chaudhry Pervez Elahi and Chaudhry Shujaat have congratulated Gen Kiyani on become COAS. This is same Pervez Elahi who had said that he would make sure that Musharraf gets elected in uniform ten times.

It is being noted that Pervez Elahi has also sent feelers to NS for merger.

Abhi aur dekhiye ga kia kia hota hai

• Tanweer Amjad said:

@chussain
    I wonder how can you tolerate the article from Aftab Iqbal.
    Yes we discussed this news in the morning regarding the lifting of emergency. But would it bring any change to the people already suffering from that. any news of Justice Tariq. Would Kurd be released? Would Aitezaz be allowed to come in Public?
    does Musharraf have the guts to hear Kurd again? I don’t think so. so lifting of emergency is not a news for any one. Yes for US, britain and Israel it would be a great news, although actually they give it a d@mn.

• Tanweer Amjad said:

APDM would be broken, in fact the black mailing JUI(F) would detach from it. Rest of the parties might not have any problem with the boycot. NS has got the full reason for boycot, it depends on him, whether he identifies it or not… apparently … NO.

• Rihat said:

MMA will be history tomorrow unless NS gets in between and put water on fire…… if they again delay the decision tomorrow PTI will quit APDM.

• imran malik said:

@chussain

lifting of emergency is not a good news..its a drama to make elections legetemate in front of west ..and give an impression that who ever bycotts election now is not doing doesnt have any credibilty for bycottt…

sooer mush will keep every thing else the same…media wouldnt be free…SC wouldnt be reinstated to pre 3rd nov…so whats the purpose of this drama….the lifting of emergency is another drama by sooer mush…

its not good…it made me sad to here that he is going to play this drama tomorrow…

• downwithmush said:

i have yet to see any news/rumor about PML merger or any “feeler” by Pervaiz Ilahi towards NS. What is the source?

• jojo said:

APDM will not get to conclusion and meanwhile 15 dec. will reach when they will not be allowed to cancel their nominations.

Consequently IK will depart from APDM.

Anyhow, this is my gut feeling, it can be wrong.

lifting of emergency wont make any difference to you and me because we want freedom of the judges and that unfortunately that wont happen

• Asif said:

Incase PLMN participates in election, willingly or unwillingly PLMN have to make seat adjustment with PMLQ to restrict PPP.

• Ahmed Bhai said:

I think the more Mush do even as a drama he will become more weaker. So hope good for emergency lifting as then any strong demand of judiciary restoration will not be resisted.

• downwithmush said:

@Tanweer your advice to Javed Hashmi is good but here is the problem, where are the people to mobilize?, no one from general public came to the street or even strike when APDM + all parties asked folks to step out. So unless people are willing to come out and take the road to Islamabad the only other way is to participate in the elections and raise hue and cry in the Assembly. If IK misses the bus the bus will leave without him. Seems like he has already missed it but let’s see if NS and Qazi can really make a decision to go without the rest of APDM including ANP. Keep in mind it would be of no use if NS, Qazi and Imran boycott while PML-Q, PPP, ANP, MQM and JUI-F take parts. Mush will say to the west see how liberals, moderates and fundamentalists all took part. Keep in mind the boycott message is only for west as people in Pakistan already know the elections will be rigged but strength of 20 MNA’s in NA is better than 0. Even if media is restored then no one invites leaders who don’t have any representation in the parliament no matter how nice they are. I hate to say that but Asghar Khan was a good example of this not that Imran is like him. I wish there is a better way out

• jojo said:

@Asif
    There are just 15 days left, do you think they can negotiate and forget about the past in such a short time.

15 Dec. is last date to cancel the nominations.
    http://www.ecp.gov.pk/content/notification/nov2007/20.htm

• imran malik said:

it might sound odd to most of you ,but the real solution doesnt lie with the politicians any more…we need to pick the sooers and do the ketel…..khooni inqlaab is needed..and following shld be keteled…

1-sooer mush
    2-kuttti bb
    3-kemeena sheeda tully and all the main kettty of lota party
    4-altaf h…and all his dehshet gerds…
    5-few generrals including tariq aziz..etc
    6-few top shots of agencies

• imran malik said:

sorry i missed the name of another kutta diesel…fazlu..

• jojo said:

@Imran
    You missed Sharif ud Din Pirzada.

• Asif said:

@jojo

what do you think, PMLN would leave an open field for PPP by gong thru 3-way fight. Because PMLQ has power candidates & PMLN has party vote bank, so solo flights will directly benefit BB. In Pakistan these politicians had made very very big U-turns in very very short time.
    Expect the unexpected

• zenith said:

I think NS should boycott, but iam not sure about this. He did meet with all judges and said that everything will be done in accordance with the wishes of the people. Lets hope that atleast APDM boycotts the elections, but one thing is for certain that BB will not boycott the elections as she is the only one contesting elections as a protest. people like BB are caught in there own trap.

• imran malik said:

@jojo
    he is 83 already…//
    and yes add naeem bukhari,kasoori and qayyum malik to the list

whatever happens the real opposition must not participate in elections because this is the lifeline the dictator is now looking for.

it does not matter in my opinion if someone like ik does not get into this rubber stamped parliament because he can still do his social work in pakistan.

• Tanweer Amjad said:

@imran malik
    You need a break. Don’t pronounce that loud. this is real odd. Killing mush and bb will make them a hero just as bhutto was made a hero by PPP. And PPP will move to some one from bhutto’s family to lead them. already they are doing politics on the bodies of common people in the bomb explosion in Karachi. Do you notice none of the so called suicide bombing targetted any major personality. whereas I think they have been done every intelligently. So this is an unacceptable solution.

• imran malik said:

@aftab
    i second you …..

there shld be only one agenda…go mush go…

every thing else will fall into place afterwards

• imran malik said:

@tanweer amjad

u r right…i was expressing my emotions and depicting my dream…but yes u r right..

• chussain said:

@Tanweer

I hate Aftab and I dont like him but he sometimes gives news which are from his sources and tend to be correct – but the manner of his writing and teh way he humiliates everyone in his columns I hate it and despise it

• Tanweer Amjad said:

My dream is a judiciary who could bring into court people like AG Qayum to Sharif ud Din Pirzada. And they should be subjected to full trial for doing these jokes over the past dictatorships. Without their effort, no dictator could celverly legitimize their act of treason blackmailing the elected parliamentarians of their election under PCO/LFO, questioning their legitimacy in case they don’t legitimize the acts of general or president.
    Do you think a general could be intelligent enough at his own? Munir Malik once told in a program with Dr shahid Masood, Sharifuddin Pirzada is paid Rs 2 Million for every such case whether he wins or loses. And similarly are paid the other lawyers of government.

• imran malik said:

@TAMWEER

U R RIGHT BRO..

shareefuddins ,qayyums,jsutice munir (tameezuddin case fame) all are equally responsible for this mess….

• Tanweer Amjad said:

And do you think that Rs 2 Million was paid from their pocket, it was from the taxes paid by the people with relatively medium or low level of income. The highly paid or greater earning people are normally Tax chor.

• farhan said:

Attention All Jiyalas

Please download the following report and go through it.

http://www.iic-offp.org/documents/InterimReportMar2005.pdf

Please note that this is only one of the many reports. This inquiry was conducted by an independent commission who was not under any influence of Nawaz Sharif, Imran Khan, Pervaiz Musharraf or any other person against Bhuttos.

Also note that Oil-for-Food scandal is only one of the many scams BB and Mr. 10% pulled off.

I would love to see the jiyalas and supporters of BB come back and defend her corruption yet again :) .

• jojo said:

with 2 million they could make atleast two good schools

• farhan said:

@ Tanweer Amjad

I think its 20 million per case bro, not 2 million. 2 million is only 20 lakh. They are paid 2 crores. And that is both, Pirzada and AG Qayyum.

• imran malik said:

@farhan
    in order to read this report one need to be sane person…jayaalaas are insane specie…remember that

• chussain said:

Until and unless you bring down chamchas like Sharifuddin Pirzada and AG Qayyum and they are not exposed to complete social boycott – things are not going to change.

We have to make for guys like them feel that they have a very high price to pay if they go against Pakistan

• imran malik said:

qayum malik ajudicated a case against pakistan cricketers…for match fixing …and he gave the decision in favour of folks like wasim and the rest…made malik scape goat..he just reprimanded wasim with a little fine (250000 rs)

later he professed that he gave decision in favour of wasim only bc he is a big fan of him…

u can see what kind of judge he was ….

• chussain said:

Gen Aslam Beg says that after Musharraf takes off his uniform – now he is Retd Gen Musharraf – he would find that there is not a single Pakistani who would support him except some psychiatric patients who would also revolt once they start treatment and they begin to show improvement.

The news is that the PML Q people have started to remove the name of Gen Musharraf from their banners for elections because they consider him as a liability.

Dont worry more to come inshallah

• chussain said:

very interestng article to read – guys you would really enjoy it

http://www.bbc.co.uk/urdu/pakistan/story/2007/11/071128_mush_finalanalysis_rza.shtml

• farhan said:

@ imran malik

they all make fuss over NS accepting his 10 year contract etc. what about Zardari accepting ownership of surrey palace because the British govt. decided to auction it since no owner was coming forward to claim it :) . the list is endless. BB owns properties all over the world. thats no secret. and by properties i mean villas that only multi-millionaires can afford. they dont need a certificate for this information on BB and mr. 10%’s corruption. its one of world’s worst kept secrets. ZA Bhuto only had so much money. he wasnt a billionaire for gods sakes :) . and as far as my knowledge is concerned, you cannot become a billionaire in US dollars on Pakistani Prime Minister’s salary.

• Idealist said:

Really disappointed the IK is not contesting polls, nobody else is gonna boycott anything and he would be forgotten in 5 years bad decision!!!

• Khan of pro Pakistan said:

End of January 2008 Pakistan look like this

President……….Pervez Musharraf
    Prime Minister…..Banazir Bhutto
    Opposition Leader..Nawaz Sharrif

Panjab Govt… PML (Q)
    Sind Govt. …. MQM+ PPP
    NWFP Govt… Fazul ur Rahman +
    Baluchistan… Mixed

Imran Khan…always giving interview at TVs
    Altaf Hussain Still in London & more Fater

Awaam…….Still very poor

Middle class (Mostly living overseas like us)
    .still talking about Pakistan and world politics

• farhan said:

@ Idealist

Dont lose hope bro. This is Imran Khan we are talking about. Everything he has ventured out into was a distant dream at start, be it cricket, the hospital or politics. He acheieved success in the first 2 with Allah’s help and his dedication breaking all norms. He will do it again in politics too.

• zenith said:

@ Khan of Pro

absolutely agree with u. The stage for BB is set. Kiyani a confidant of BB has been made VCA beacause US realizez he will be loyal to her. Alas pakistan in wrong hands in again.

• jojo said:

@Zenith
    Do you have any other name else Kiyani?

• zenith said:

@jojo
    I know you are sympathetic towards him and u would never like me or others to show his true face, so u are trying to divert our attention to something else.The fact is he will be loyal to a pro-western primeminster most likely to be benazir, and than its curtains for pakistan.

• jojo said:

I am sympathetic to who? Kiyani? Why should I?
    You said Pakisan is again in wrong hands, I asked do you have any other name in place of Kiyani?

• admin said:

@Kami

I cleaned up some hate inciting posts which were the IDs you recommended. Your ID match is correct.

• zenith said:

Do you have any other name other than Kiyani?
    What does this mean? For many like me it would have meant that u are satisfied with the present mush-junior(kiyani). U asked that question to poke fun at me, as I dont see anyone in the army worthy of being the head of the army.

• Yousuf said:

It seems that most ppl here think NS is the masiah of all cures of pak.

Just wondering .. was his earlier governments never involved in mega corruption ?

He is a changed man so we should forget and forgive all his earlier ‘mistakes’ .. i am willing to forget and forgive as long as he returns all the money , his family and friends made during govt.

Is he going to ditch anyone who has been involved in corruption or is he willing to forget the past and give party tickets to anyone ? i guess same ppl will crop up again.

I dont think he would like the ‘free judiciary’ calling his ministers, MNAs or even himself to courts for being part of atta, cement, plot, corruption cases.

Lastly, what his agenda ? All I heard ‘restoration of democracy’. can a country be run with this agenda. does he have any energy policy, education policy, health policy…anything ?

Note: Please dont reply with Mush is dicator and corrupt and BB is even more corrupt. Lets focus on one candidate at a time..I dont support mush or bb either..

I remember seeing a documentary abt Iraq..in which an Iraqi man with tears in his eyes was asking the reporter..” Why do we get a choice between Saddam and American Occupancy…we are also humans why can’t we have a better alternative? ”

i guess we pakistanis are in the same boat.

• zenith said:

@ yousaf
    what made u think that we people are with NS? people like NS and BB win because of Zaat baradari and the poor, down trodden people have no choice but to vote for them. Particularly in Sindh and southern punjab this trend is still as it was.

• zenith said:

@jojo

Do you have any other name other than Kiyani?
    What does this mean? For many like me it would have meant that u are satisfied with the present mush-junior(kiyani). U asked that question to poke fun at me, as I dont see anyone in the army worthy of being the head of the army.

• Amir Hameed said:

Read this one, “Judges issue main roadblock to joint polls boycott”:
    http://thenews.jang.com.pk/top_story_detail.asp?Id=11440

• Amir Hameed said:

News:
    “Troops seize Fazlullah’s base”
    My question is what took the army this long to seize his base? It seems that there were not much opposition/resistance offered. It was all part of the SOB Mush’s plan to portray to the world that Pakistan will be taken over by the militants if he is overthrown.

• Asif said:

NS says if madcow restores pre-nov3 judiciary, madcow should expect a positve response from him!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Asif said:

Its still cloudy that in which direction APDM is heading to.

• zenith said:

bush’s comments about nawaz sharif

http://www.dailytimes.com.pk/default.asp?page=2007\11\29\story_29-11-2007_pg1_4

• zenith said:

sorry the link is
    http://www.dailytimes.com.pk/default.asp?page=2007\11\29\story_29-11-2007_pg1_4

• zenith said:

something seems to be wrong with this link.
    anyways the link will get u to the dailytimes home page and u can read about Bush’s commenst about Nawaz sharif under.

I dont know Nawaz well enough.

• Asif said:

I don’t know Nawaz well enough: Bush

WASHINGTON: US President George Bush has spoken cautiously about former premier Nawaz Sharif, saying, “I don’t know him well enough.� Talking to reporters from The Associated Press in an Oval Office interview, he said, “I would be very concerned if there was any leader in Pakistan that didn’t understand the nature of the world in which we live today.� The US president was referring to Nawaz’s good relations with Pakistan’s religious parties, which have raised doubts about the latter’s commitment to battling the Taliban and Al Qaeda. ap

• Kruman said:

Nawaz Sharif is saying the right things. If Musharraf restore the judiciary he puts a rope around his neck.

Nawaz Sharif would be happy to stand on the sidelines.

• Kruman said:

Why Kiyani Will Dump Musharraf and Restore the Judiciary
    ====================================
    The judiciary will be restored. The civil society movement will not subside till the restoration of pre Nov 3 judiciary.

Everyone but Mush, BB and Army have restored their image. Saudis sent back NS with full support and made amends for Sept 10th. NS has held a principled stand since the last 8 years. Now the army has a very simple recipe to restore its image:
    1) Free the judges
    2) Restore pre Nov 3rd judiciary
    3) Restore the constitution

Kiyani is a smart man, he is not a commando.