President Pervez Musharraf took oath as civilian president of Pakistan for five years on Thursday. Chief Justice of Pakistan Mr. Justice Abdul Hameed Doggar administered the oath to the president under the 1973 constitution.
The president’s oath taking ceremony was held at at Aiwan-e-Sadar, Islamabad.
Caretaker Prime Minister Muhammadmian Soomro, caretaker cabinet members, former prime minister Shaukat Aziz, President Muslim League (Q) Chaudhry Shujaat, Speaker National Assembly Chaudhry Amir Hussain, former federal ministers, foreign diplomats and top civil and military officials attended the ceremony.
RSS feed for comments on this post.
November 29th, 2007 at 12:12 pm
Let me show what oath he took:
He said :
I, Pervaz Musharraf, do solemnly swear
1. that I am a Muslim and believe in the Unity and Oneness of Almighty Allah, the Books of Allah, the Holy Quran being the last of them, the Prophethood of Muhammad (peace be upon him) as the last of the Prophets and that there can be no Prophet after him, the Day of Judgment, and all the requirements and teachings of the Holy Quran and Sunnah.
2. that That I will preserve, protect and defend the Constitution of the Islamic Republic of Pakistan
So we know that he is telling a lie on point 2. As he abrogated the same constitution which he is now swearing by Allah to protect and defend. So if he is telling a lie on point how can anybody leave that he is telling the truth on point 1 which says:
I am a Muslim and believe in the Unity and Oneness of Almighty Allah.
Friends unless we understand the true meaning of OATH and ask the person who is taking the oath to prove that he is telling the truth we are doomed as a nation. It is disgusting to see that so-called Chief Justice of Pakistan was administrating this oath know well that it is a pack of lies. Everyday the people come in his court and take oath to tell the truth how would I believe that he will judge the people justly.
November 29th, 2007 at 12:23 pm
a thief took oath from another dacoit. lolzzzzzzzzzzzz. i didnt see the fall of dhaka, ppl narrate stories of army’s highhandedness but i never believed. now it seems very very true to me, army can do anything. this man’s departure will be the most humiliating and insulting in pakistan’s political history. inshAallah.
November 29th, 2007 at 12:28 pm
Anyone thinking these forthcoming polls will not be rigged then think again! Shaukat Aziz, Chaudhary Shujaat and ex-federal ministers were all present at the oath taking ceremony of the so-called civilian president.
What does a care-taker set up mean? It means that no ex-ministers (even ex-prime ministers should be seen to have any sort of exposure whatsoever. Here no such thing is happening nor will the naive public ever see it happening; so wake up folks and get ready to endure the same or similar sort of set up for another 5 years!
The moronic & mumbling Chaudary gave a statement yesterday that the emergency will be lifted before the elections; this he said while allocating plots to some lota (I imagine) journalists yesterday. I ask in which capacity is he undertaking these social responsibilities - certaily not philantrophy!
The lawyers and the journalists know all this too well and hence are continuing their sustained opposition to the emergency (martial law) and extreme oppression.
My question is why can’t the politicians? Is Imran the only one who has a conscience. Please stop arguing for or against NS/BB et all. There is a colossal fraud about to be pertuated upon a people and we should stand united for a common cause - rule of law, restore the judiciary, support the boycott of the political parties and boycott these sham elections…no two opinions about it!
We must do what is necessary to marginalise this regime and its nefarious designs by getting rid of it somehow. I don’t see the country sustaining another 5-year term when its confronted with such major issues both on the inside and the outside.
Only a sense of purpose and utter sincerity by completely new leadership can pull us out of this national abyss or else engage your seat belts on and get ready for the roughest ride of your lives.
The regime may be complacent that it is a self-created abyss and when the power eturns with them they will remove the planted threats. Karachiites would remember the extreme fear eminating out of the “Hattoura (Hammer) group” in the Zia days, where an insane and still unidentified group used to break into people’s homes at night and hack & crush its victims in their sleep for no reason at all! There were no valuables taken and no apparent motive. Wa-Allah-ho-alam without much proof I can say who could be other than an inside intelligence job..their sole aim was to spread fear, which they did quite comfortably. I still remember people were just possessed with that fear. Where did the group disappear, no one ever got caught (please correct me if I’m wrong).
My point is that one must ask the question “who is to gain from any event?”. The regime at that time was able to crush any sort of public resentment. Expect the worst from insiders the likes of the Mir Sadiqs & Mir Jaffers.
We want some loyal dedicated new faces to come up if not now then soon in the future and they should undertake a massive clean up drive both inside and outside the govt. machinery including the IB, ISI and the general military.
This can only happen with a srong and independant judiciary which will empower an honest government for the entire Pakistani poulace not just a certain section/group/province/elite/feudals.
This is the water shed and we shouldn’t be occupied in taking sides and arguing amongst ourselves…we ought to serve Pakistan’s immediate interests first. The federation is at stake and we are rapidly moving towards total anarchy, chaos and even a bloody civil war.
May Allah (swt) bless us with wisdom and guide us to take righteous steps for the sake of Pakistanis - One & All. May He (swt) be pleased with our actions and and may He (swt) in His Devine kindness and generosity keep us away from All hidden & unhidden evil. Ya Allah please expose All evil faces with hidden agendas, so we can take them down for ever and thus liberate our innocent people from all oppression.
Usher us into a new era of brightness, of brotherly love, faith, truth, tolerance, kindness, empathy, unity, discipline, health & prosperity. So we can leave behind a legacy for our kids and future generations! *Ameen sum Ameen*
November 29th, 2007 at 12:31 pm
Sad news,now i hope these politicians will take your khaal off.He is worst dictator we have in our 60 years history.Pakistan in choas and majority of people dislike napak army of pakistan.I hope BB,NZ and IK will be able to push army back on borders and get rid of this ununiformed dictators.People like Khan are pro pakistan they are anti-pakistan.long live pakistan.
November 29th, 2007 at 12:36 pm
Read poulace = populace
Sorry for the typos my keyboard is dying on me and eats some alphabets, maybe new batteries are needed.
Just like we need new leadership in our country and old real independant judiciary. Real Chief Justice aiye gaa 6 number lagaye ga! *smile*
Poor Imran was right, he said any politician who doesn’t talk about reinstatement of judiciary and wants to take part in these sham elections is merely after power & will not bring about any change in the status quo.
November 29th, 2007 at 1:10 pm
HAHAHAHA Mr Musharaf Now you will be like a duck :p and BB will enjoy hunting you. Now you will pay for your non sense against bhutto in your damm book.
Long live Pakistan
Long live PPP.
November 29th, 2007 at 1:21 pm
The nation neither accpted BUSHARRAF in uniform not it will accept him without uniform.
Dictator has started his journey to a very HUMILIATING END.
November 29th, 2007 at 1:59 pm
I think President Musharraf should honour the judiciary. People might remember him as good leader if he did honor the Pakistan Supreem court and if he obeys the honorable judges decissions. The army image was damage badly due to his presence in politics.
Shame on all the political parties except Imran khan that don’t have clear agenda for the pre 3rd of november judiciary. Imran khan is indeed a true leader. He is along with the judges who sacrifice their jobs and get prison for the sake of rule of law in the country. The politicians did blame them on judges regarding “doctrain of necessity” but this time a clear hypocracy of big political parties expose out. but i have great respect for politician like imran khan, Mahmood khan achakzai judges who refuse to take oath under provisional consituation order (PCO). and all those who talk about Principles and rule of Law.
Personalities never survive forever and they doesn’t matter but its the constitution of the country that give the right path to run country institutes in disciplan and according to the Law of land. Only independent and strong judiciary can bring justice and harmony in the country. Strong Judiciary is the hope for poor and deprive people but little influencial eleat class could not tolearate such strong judiciary.
I wish my country produce politicians like imran khan judges like iftikhar chaudhry and leaders like Mohammad Ali jinnah who talk about justice and equality without any discrimination,which is the basic principle of our religion Islam. and i wish our leaders should learn the sacrifice of their personal intrest for their country.
There are number of Lawyers like Munair A malik, Rtd justice Tariq Mahmood and Aitazaz ahsan who are in jail or prison suffring illness and sacrificing because of their solidarity with strong and independent Judiciary.
November 29th, 2007 at 2:14 pm
Ex president Rafiq Tarrar said ‘Khas Kum, Jehan Paak’. That’s the best commentary on Army not having Mush.
Mush has always been very weak. One call from his Masters and foreign policy is changed. One call from Saudis and NS is back. One call from Washington and BB is back.
Sala Aik Phone, Hamare General Ko Heejra Bana Deeta Hai.
November 29th, 2007 at 2:16 pm
Message to Mush:
Guloon Mein Rang Bare, Baad-e-No Bahar Chale
Chale Bi JAO ke Gulshan Ka Karobar Chale
November 29th, 2007 at 2:47 pm
pata nahin kab is mardood se jaan chhotey gi.
November 29th, 2007 at 2:50 pm
is he trying to fool us or himself? enough is enough, kick him out please! i’m sick and tired of this shi*.
November 29th, 2007 at 2:55 pm
My only question to Musharraf is if he thinks people are behind him, why would he need his uniform until the last day he took oath of president ?
This clearly suggests he is just an other dictator, and nothing else. No matter what good things he did, his status has always been illegal.
Put it this way, if a non-muslim does wuzoo, says prayers five times a day, he fasts whole 30 days in ramazan. Yet are his prayers worth being accepted or carry any weight ?. The swift answer is NO. You first need to be correct on principle and then in practical. If we don’t follow that, then this can become a norm. Everyone else can think it to be legitimate and that produces a negative effect.
We guys living in western societies are aware of this very fact, no matter what great intent you had while commiting some crime, yet it’s a crime and some body has to be punished.
November 29th, 2007 at 3:09 pm
Times up ex-Dictator. You have to go now.
We need our independent Judges. Free Media.
GO MUSHARRAF GO.
November 29th, 2007 at 3:16 pm
ADMN ought to speak the truth when it comes to giving news. For example- instead of saying Justice Doggar administered oath to President Musharraf - the TRUTH and accurate news would be ”
Musharraf’s hand picked puppet chief Justice Doggar administers oath to make belive self appointed illegal president. “
November 29th, 2007 at 3:30 pm
Inshalla in far future this moron will be forced to vacate presidency. This evil man aka Mush has destroyed Pak Army’s image & has destroyed indpendent judiciary! He is a civil criminal who should be punished. If Pak Army needs to restore its image then they need to get rid of this man in a year or so…
Well written by Haroon Rashid… pleae read:
http://www.express.com.pk/epaper/PoPupwindow.aspx?newsID=1100307394&Issue=NP_LHE&Date=20071129
November 29th, 2007 at 5:09 pm
Well, I think Musharraf took the right decision of taking an oath as a civilian president.
As a nation we all are very sentimental and we all have very short term memory.
This is the same NS, some of us are supporting who launched attacks on Supreme Court and when NS gov. was thrown away, we all distributed sweets.
Benazir gov. till now was the most corrupted gov. in the history of Pakistan as per Times Magazine.
We should not forget that we live in post 9/11 world and in my humble opinion Musharraf did a satisfactory job. If it was NS or BB gov. during these time, things would have been worst than now for Pakistan. I have the right to give my opinion and I have my full support for Musharraf.
November 29th, 2007 at 6:10 pm
Musharraf has been demoted.
I wonder how Musharraf will be feel after his demotion.
November 29th, 2007 at 6:26 pm
@MYA
Yeh Mardoodon ki nasal ki ek kari hain. In k baad doosara mardood tayar ho ga waisay bhi mardoodon k haan family planning haram hoti hai is liay inki nasal na sirf vertical balkay horizontal side par bhi barhti rehti hi
Mardood Murdabad
November 29th, 2007 at 7:38 pm
@ well-siher
Great write. However, what are your practical suggestions. We need to do something practical.
How about few thousands of us (especially those who are not in Pakistan and thus cannot vote) start influencing through our emails and telephone calls? For example, how about we get the telephone numbers for the following and tell them (in positive or negative tones) what we want from them or how we are feeling about them.
Admin can we compile these numbers and post these on this website? Please reply.
Politicians
Benazir, Nawaz Sharif, Imran Khan, Qazi Hussain Ahmed, Fazlur Rehman, Shujaat, Etizaz Ihsan, Javed Hashmi, Wali Khan etc.
Judges, Media persons
CJ Iftikhar, Wajihuddin, Hamid Mir, Talat Hussain, Shahid Masoud, Kashif Abbasi
Religious/spiritual figures:
Mufti Taqi Usmani, Dr. Israr Ahmed, Tahir ul Qadri, Javed Ahmed Ghamdi, Sajid Naqvi, Professor Sajid Mir, … any other personality of your choice
Columnist
Irshad Ahmed Haqqani, Javed Choudhary, Ayaz Mir, Nazeer Naji, Irfan Siddique, Mahmoud Shaam, Khurshid Nadeem, Atta ul Haq Qasmi, Masoud Ashr etc
Editors of newspapers
Jang, Nawai-e-waqt, Khabrain, The News, Dawn, Daily Times, Express,
Please let’s complie the numbers and act NOW.
Raza
November 29th, 2007 at 8:05 pm
Dear ALL,
Those who are chanting against President Musharraf need to remember that had it been the era of former President Zia, former PM Nawaz Sharif or Former PM Benazir Bhutto, you guys won’t even dare to utter a single word against them or otherwise found yourself somewhere on this beautiful GOD’s earth. At least be courteous enough to recognise the freedom of speech he has given to many people like you in Pakistan who speak against him and still welcomes your ‘destructive’ criticism including media. Now don’t remind me your lame reason that you were born with such attribute because clearly you were NOT. Also, don’t refresh me with the concept that its the right of every person to have this freedom because only civilized society can excercize their right, not un-civilized. It was him who taught majority of you the pillars of democracy which you never heard from last 3 head of states during their tenure. Therefore, my suggestion to you all is to keep quiet, think twice or thrice before you speak and make sure to have some good evidence in your judgement. Otherwise it will be a waste of time and will serve nothing that to expose your personality type which I’m pretty sure many of us don’t want to. Let us pray that Pakistan of today and tomorrow should be better from its yesteryears(Ameen)
Cheers,
November 29th, 2007 at 10:32 pm
Thank 4 e-mail,its true and he is right Man For Country.
Well, I think Musharraf took the right decision of taking an oath as a civilian president.
As a nation we all are very sentimental and we all have very short term memory.
This is the same NS, some of us are supporting who launched attacks on Supreme Court and when NS gov. was thrown away, we all distributed sweets.
Benazir gov. till now was the most corrupted gov. in the history of Pakistan as per Times Magazine.
We should not forget that we live in post 9/11 world and in my humble opinion Musharraf did a satisfactory job. If it was NS or BB gov. during these time, things would have been worst than now for Pakistan. I have the right to give my opinion and I have my full support for Musharraf.
November 29th, 2007 at 11:16 pm
@sameer
Admire your noble, patriotic albeit naive thoughts.
Why do you need to compare BB, NS & Musharraf & Zia. Times have changed. Even Afghanistan has 7 free private channels and the Sudi badoos have to deal with Al-Jazeera. 2 decades is a long time. Don’t think it is Musharraf who has given this so-called freedom of speech.
When he has silenced his critics ala media, destroyed institutions supreme court & the army abrogated the constitution, why couldn’t he take the oath under his own PCO? Why did he feel the need to take his oath under the constitution??
Two wrongs don’t make a right…please wake up & smell the coffee! Do you guys seriously think there is no one else in this magnificent country other than BB, NS & Musharraf? Let justice and truth prevail and you will see future stalwarts coming out of the woodwork.
Let this great nation breathe the air of freedom, free from oppression & bigotry!
May Allah (swt) guide us all and may He (swt) gives us the wisdom to differentiate between right & wrong! *Ameen*
November 29th, 2007 at 11:41 pm
Those who said before that musharraf is hungry for power, You have no idea what you are talking about. The ground realities in pakistan were so bad that he had to take those previous steps such emergency rule etc. God help pakistan if either sharif and benazir get elected as prime minister, pakistan will go backwards instead of progressing. What good has democracy done for pakistan in the past? Benazir and sharif both had two terms and they did nothing significant to help the country. Does money laundring and non payment of huge loans ring any bell? To all those who want to sing the tune of democracy, my advise is to go back to school and learn politics 101.Furthermore anybody who slanders their own army can not be a patriot period!! This is the first sentence of Politics 101.
November 29th, 2007 at 11:56 pm
@pijamistri
You can call him a liar, a dictator and tin-pot leader who has conducted himself unconstitutional BUT please don’t pass judgments on his faith. These comments and suggestions are ignorant and show an unawareness to the country, to put it very very mildly.
The movement is about free judiciary and the right to criticize the government and not to judge people’s faith.
Amenah
November 30th, 2007 at 12:13 am
His speech made me feel sick.Wish he woudl go into an awam ka katehra, and people could throw stones on him.
Bush dekh, tera poodle bigra jaae
November 30th, 2007 at 12:14 am
Its about Time General, i am surprised it took you so long to stay in power (UNCONSTITUTIONALLY) around what?? 4 years
November 30th, 2007 at 2:48 am
If chief of Army staff Gen.Kiani is sincere with pakistan and with the Army(as Ex Chief ‘Thief’ of Army staff was not sincere) should arrest musharaf, start a marshal court on (now Civilian)Musharaf, and reinstate the Supreme Court of Pakistan. And conduct the fair Elections. Release the missings. If Kiani is unable to do this then he should now army’s reputation not good than the Pakistan Chillar Police, and now we have Chillar Army.
November 30th, 2007 at 4:42 am
@aumar
“His speech made me feel sick.”
He’s always made me sick, even when not making a speech…
November 30th, 2007 at 6:15 am
@sameer
in zia era came the ak-47 and heroine.
in benazir era came VCR.
in nawaz era gang rapes became a new phenomenon.
in musharaff era came channels and internet male the world a global village.
its the global village theory that forced musharaff to quit uniform and even my spanish family doctor today said to me that i will not advise you to go pakistan because situation is not good there.
few things are inevitable and time brings changes with itself. freedom of speech is not a blessing of musharaff, nation has realised that its there right.
November 30th, 2007 at 6:17 am
agreed @ ameenah
pijamistri, hoosh ker yaar
November 30th, 2007 at 6:29 am
@ ALL
OH!!! I FEEL I AM LUCKY COZ I DID NOT LISTEN TO HIS SPEECH. JUST THE HEADING AND HIS PICTURE WAS ENOUGH. I JUST READ THE COMMENTS.
SO IT IS OBVIOUS NOW THAT AN ILLEGAL PRESIDENT MUSH HAS TAKEN OATH FROM ILLEGAL JUDGE UNDER CONSTITUITION THAT WAS BROKEN BY GENERAL MUSH.
CAN SOMEONE PLZ LET ME KNOW THAT IF HE WAS SWEATING?
HE LIES AND SWEATS AT THE SAME TIME.
I AM STILL DEBATING THAT SHOULD I LISTEN TO HIS LIES.
November 30th, 2007 at 9:14 am
@lonelybird
your family doctor advised you not to go to pakistan because situation is not good ?…you have a politician as your family doctor get rid of him before something realy bad happens to you or your family, he could start chemotherapy for mere cold. or just a pat at yr back when u really need medical attention.
November 30th, 2007 at 11:27 am
@not needed

i hav been consulting different dictionaries and grammars , i will reply you when i will understand your message.
itnee hi fi english apnee samajhh say bahir hay .
December 4th, 2007 at 5:58 am
@Lonelybird
try one word at a time then try a line then go through the whole paragraph,it should help or you can also copy paste the part that you could not understand.