Sharifs Barred from Contesting Elections

Nawaz SharifShahbaz

Sharif Brothers have been barred from contesting elections by the the Election Commission of Pakistan. It is not known if they are planning to appeal, which should be done before Friday.

Nawaz Sharif has been barred due to his conviction in the hijacking case by the special anti-terrorism court. Shahbaz Sharif has been labeled as fugitive in case where government does not want to arrest him.

New York Times Reports:

Former Pakistani Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif has been barred from running in January’s parliamentary elections because of a prior conviction, Pakistan’s election commission announced today.

A spokesman for Mr. Sharif, Ahsan Iqbal, said the barring of Mr. Sharif was part of a plan by President Pervez Musharraf and his supporters to rig the elections, and that Mr. Sharif’s lawyers would contest the decision.

Mr. Sharif, a leading opposition figure who was overthrown in a military coup in 1999, was allowed to return from exile last week, and filed nomination papers to represent a district of his home city of Lahore in the parliamentary elections scheduled for Jan. 8. But other candidates in the district challenged his nomination on the grounds that he was convicted in 2000 of hijacking a plane carrying Mr. Musharraf, who was then head of the army, an act that precipitated the bloodless coup.

122 Comments »

It is written clear on the wall - these polls are being rigged. Our political parties for their own survival should boycott the polls without any doubt. They should not go for short term gains. Now that Sharifs are banned then tomorrow BB is not going to get majority in Parliament and she would also lose everything but then NS nor the civil society would come to her rescue because she would have lost the trust of all the people of Pakistan. She is making the biggest mistake of going in elections which is based on immediate short term goals.

Thats great! now next one should be BB (I know it will not happen!)

3. Ammar Sheikh Says:
    December 3rd, 2007 at 3:42 pm

I think this is just a pressure tactics on Sharif brothers to take part in elections.
    According to sources Sahbaz Sharif has been offered CM of Punjab only if Sharif brothers support Pervaiz Elahi for PMship. It is all dirty politics.

Sadly, Sharif bros will back off from judges restoration too so the issue will rest back on lawyers!!!

Read what The Nation has to write!!! REMEMBER: The Nation has always a close association with Sharif brothers. http://www.nation.com.pk/daily/dec-2007/3/index3.php

It is a good news. Musharraf is very good at digging his own grave.

NS can also tell the world that it was not him who wanted to start confrontation, it was government that pushed him to a wall.

Imran is already out, NS will boycott and the more the better. Only if BB joins, the whole game would be against Mush.

NS was facing opposition from his workers/supporters/candidates. Now there will be a consensus at least in his party for a boycott. PML N is a mojor player and even if one major player is out, elections will be even more worthless!!

For me, it is the best news!! End of Mush is very near.

I think Sharif brothers have taken a very solid stance.

It’s the turn of people to come out and kick out Musharraf.

Sitting in homes and expecting a miracle to happen by watch only GEO and ARY is not going to help. Come on wake up people, are you waiting for some blood to spread in streets before you realize what is the actual situation ?

It’s high time to stand by our Judiciary and the politicains who are on principle.

God help all of us.

Kami
    I don’t think Nawaz really cares for his party workers or candidates.If he does than he would had never left the party and run away with family. He want to contest elections because their is pressure from party that if they boycott the elections than the lota party will swallow all their party in Punjab.
    At this moment, only Imran Khan has taken a firm stand. Besides him everybody is playing hide and seek.

@imran sheikh
    lol , Pervez Elahi PM :) and SS CM :) haha.. that is the best political joke I heard since long.

PLMNs state is the most volatile in current scenario, its the time for their leadership to act swiftly & with a very clear mind. They don’t have the time to hold gatherings to find out the peoples mood in general, so any decision by them can fireback.
    So they are scared of this “fireback”.

9. downwithmush Says:
    December 3rd, 2007 at 4:09 pm

nothing more than pressure tactics, now in order to appeal they have to go to Lahore high-court where all judges are under PCO and once they do appeal to those judges it means they have accepted teh PCO. So a catch-22. Boycotting will never be a good option now since PPP/JUI-F/MQM/PML-Q/ANP are all there to participate. IK and NS alone boycotting won’t make a difference as there is no people’s movement to lead any way as people are at home enjoying the cable movies and songs, so taking part in elections is the only way to challange Mush. in the next battle

10. Ammar Sheikh Says:
    December 3rd, 2007 at 4:11 pm

I think Judiciary reinstation ‘narra’ will die off soon!! Today, Govt has ordered to increase the detention of leading lawyers for another month clearly tells Mush doesn’t fear politicians - it is the lawyers who he fears!!!

Inshallah’ lawyer movement will start soon to bring back judiciary which at this point doesn’t looks like to happen.

My goodness, what is going on behind the closed doors.

http://www.dailyjinnah.com.pk/admin/anmviewer.asp?a=56840&z=13

what a joke that twice elected PM of Pakistan has his papers for contesting elections rejected because he was involved in a ‘hijacking case’

and we term these as free & fair elections?

i suppose per Mush those involved in ‘hijacking’ include

1- CJP Iftikhar Chaudry
    2- Other 59 judges of SC and High Courts who did not take oath under ‘Mush Constitution’
    3- SS and NS
    4- AA, Kurd and all other lawyers held behind bars
    5- Civil society of Pakistan
    6- Any one else who does not agree with him or does not make a ‘DEAL’ with him
    7- is there any one left really!

Banning NS/SS is just a scare tactic by Mush and his d@gs, the Chaudrys of Gujrat so he does not boycott.

They still believe in the ‘mean old style jagidary type politics’ and are using the tactic so if NS boycotts then they will claim that NS was banned (personally) and therefore boycotted the elections. NS has already made it clear that his main objective is not to become PM but to save Paksitan from scavangers.

NS has a strong power base amongst masses based on his stance (on judiciary) and his past performance.

Making both NS and SS ineleigible to participate in elections has no value whatsoever and is evidence of pre-poll rigging.

Banning him will only make him more popular….thanks to Mush and his d@gs this time

I don’t read too much in this. It’s only blackmailing from Musharraf and the kings party PML-Q. It is clear that NS & SS are being forced to leave the idea about boycotting the “elections”. I think PML-N is going to participate in the “elections”.

There is only one trustworthy party which takes some very good and bold stands based on principles. I hope PTI will be rewarded for that in the future, inshallah!

15. Nayyar Sohail Says:
    December 3rd, 2007 at 5:09 pm

am thank full to the election commission to ban Sharief’s for contesting this election. Now I am sure Pakistan Muslim League Nawaz will boycott the elections and will be stand united with Imran Khan and Chief Justice Iftikhar Chowhdry.

If the political parties can not stand with the rule of law then it is irrelevant whether they win some seats or not ,if they do not care for the hero judges means they do not care for any code of civility and hence there presence is a burdon on society

No society can function with out the justice and the rule of law and if any one on earth thinks that we can get the rule of law or justice in pakistan with out the resotoration of the hero judges ,he is mistaken ,if the scraficies are lost then who will dare to stand to the dictation of the establishment and if we can not make efforts for thier restoration then we do not deserve to be called as civilized citizens of the Pakistan

17. Tanweer Amjad Says:
    December 3rd, 2007 at 5:24 pm

If NS goes to challenge his papers rejection, that would be adding insult to his injuries. His stance would worsen in two ways. Firstly, he would be again trying to go for rigged engineered elections in which most of the people are no more interested. Secondly, he would be legitimizing the PCOzada high Courts which people hate to talk about even. He would be adulating the efforts of lawyers and the civil society for whom judiciary matters the most.

18. Amir Hameed Says:
    December 3rd, 2007 at 5:29 pm

With the Sarif’s banned from elections, PPP is again in a good bargaining position with PML-N. As much as I dislike BB (not PPP), I would prefer her over Mush provided that she stands united with the call to restore judiciary.

This is called Tehka politics. Tehka is another name for use of power without any rule or law. Most likely, the word started in Lahore. Both, Sharif and Mush grew up in Lahore.

This nation will stay like this. That is why I left Pakistan forever. So far, never regretted for a single day.

Now start showing your patriotism ….1 ….2 ….3

20. downwithmush Says:
    December 3rd, 2007 at 5:53 pm

@Tariq a very sad statement indeed. You left your self and now expect ordinary people like you and me to come to the streets and get baton charged, if they don’t then they are loosers in your dictionary but i guess then what it would make you and me?. I too am outside the country, too am depressed that people are not coming out but being depressed does not make me better than them. All i did here was go out on a few protests and shouted my lungs off, felt good but did it achieve any thing?. People in Pakistan have already tried it and that is the reason no one besides lawyers is coming out. In this situation calling for street protests to NS is not really reasonable as he knows people won’t come out. So what other options are left to challange Mush then?. I would say go for the engineered/fake elections any way, see how many seats PML-N and PPP get and then try to make another stand for the judiciary and the rule of law.

@Tariq

A very sad statement. It seems like that you enjoying the ver sorry state of affairs in PAK.

I also live outside Pakistan, but my heart belongs to Pakistan. I always dream of returning one day, inshallah!

@tariq,

I do not know where you reside but I am assuming that most likely you are in North America or Western Europe. Even if you are not, you probably have these regions in mind in comparision to Pakistan.
    There is no harm in leaving Pakistan but showing the contempt you are showing is problematic. You want a nescafe/quick solution to Paksitan’s problem while you have choosen to move to a country that itself became good enough for you after centuries of struggle and sacrifices of its people. You did not contribute to the making of the country you have choosen to live but are only enjoying its freedom and resources. If the country you have chosen to live also had produced run-aways like you, it too would not have progressed.

It is ok to move to any part of the world; it is ok not to participate in the struggle of a country; it is ok to express sadness ove the events; but it is not ok to criticise the country, its people and theitr struggle.

Tipu

23. raja mukhtar Says:
    December 3rd, 2007 at 6:13 pm

although taking part in such a ellections is not correct at all but staying away would als help to complete remaing part of the deal. Soon power sharing process will be completed.
    The best thing is to prticipate ellections and reject entire Mush team by voting against and be ready to stop any kind of rigging on every polling station by all means.

Tariq
    Left the country forever but still interested in its politics????

the problem with participating in elections is that they will not be free and fair so for me whats the point.

@TIPU

very well said .I fully agree with you

There is no way PPP will boycott. She has deal with USA and MUSH. She is looking at the PM chair right now. Mush will make sure that PML(N) leader will not participate, so MPL(Q) will have Punjab. MQM and PPP will be given Sindh. And National. Blochistan and NWFP are up in the air. May be JUI very very may be.
    So anyone who will Boycott will loose everything. No one care about people anyway. Even if no one go for vote you will get 125% participation as was in Referendum.
    As long as army is behind it with all the guns no Mullah can dare get in to assembly. No more embarrassing Islam in mod scod Pakistan.
    Next first change in the Constitution will be changing the name from Islamic republic to USA colony of Pakistan. Long live Mush. And hail Banazeer.

http://www.guardian.co.uk/worldlatest/story/0,,-7123251,00.html
    She will never boycott, she has a deal.

this is according to the rol they have right of appel.and they already announce bic’t no chang for them

Nawaz Sharif Zindabad
    Sheer sada Zindabaad
    Mian daay naray wajayin gaay
    lotay saray nasain gaay

God Bless Nawaz Sharif

@Tariq

“This nation will stay like this. That is why I left Pakistan forever. So far, never regretted for a single day.”

You will regrette leaving Pakistan when some day (Allah forbids, Khuda na khawasata) you will go to kaberistan to burry your loved ones with local non muslims frinds who can not even say KALMA and you will be looking for someone for Namaz-e-Janaza.
    You will regrett Pakistan when you will lose youe kids in western society and when you son-in-law or doughter-in-law will be non muslim and you will be looking for some one to teach them Kalama so that your grandson/dougter will be muslim and may be Pakistani.

I am sure there will be so many events where you will regrett leaving Pakistan. You wont even be able to count then on fingers.

Again leaving country is not bad but leaving our Identity is not accepted. It will be like
    Ghar ka na Ghat ka

There is no way PPP will boycott. She has a deal with USA and MUSH. She is looking at the PM chair right now. Mush will make sure that PML(N) leader will not participate, so MPL(Q) will have Punjab. MQM and PPP will be given Sindh. And National. Blochistan and NWFP are up in the air. May be JUI very very may be.
    So anyone who will Boycott will loose everything. No one care about people anyway. Even if no one go for vote you will get 125% participation as was in Referendum.
    If it is a rigged election tell me in the history of Pakistan which elections were not rigged.

musharf zindaaaaaaaaaaaaaaabad.musharf zindaaaaaaaaaaaaaaabad.musharf zindaaaaaaaaaaaaaaabad.musharf zindaaaaaaaaaaaaaaabad

NS BB boycotts if there demands are not fullfille Press conference

NS and BB will boycott the election if there demands are not accepted by Musraf. Joint Press Conference

It is part of the script. Upon appeal and revoke of boycott, Shehbaz will be allowed as his son and Kalsoom Nawaz have been allowed. This is absolutely true unless some new development happens in next 24-48 hours.

37. Amir Hameed Says:
    December 3rd, 2007 at 7:09 pm

@Tipu,
    Very well put.

it appears reading the guardian article that there are 2 reasons for disqualification

1- empower BB before meeting NS today so she plays hard ball and does not agree to boycott, arguing NS cannot contest anyway

2- ensure/or delay Q Lota party’s members defection to NS, which is expected in large numbers

39. Farooq Ahmed Says:
    December 3rd, 2007 at 7:13 pm

test

40. Farooq Ahmed Says:
    December 3rd, 2007 at 7:15 pm

NS, Altaf, BB are dictators within their parties. BB is the chairperson for life. NS is president of PML(n)for life, and so as Altaf. These parties should hold elections within their parties to show that these parties are democratic themselves before pointing fingers. I feel that even, if one of these parties would win the election, the life of common person would stay the same or may get worse, as we will still have the dictatorship of that particular leader in the country.

we all remember that in 1999 NS became the worst dictator himself after winning the 2/3 majority in the parlianment. He launched attacks on SC, he looted the country on the name of “Kashkol Tour dou�, he made cases against BB and other leaders, and to seal his dictatorship, he tried to overthrow Musharraf and apppoint his favourite general.

Briefly, we can not trust any of these leaders which we have tried 2 times and they failed miserably to make Pakistan a better place. We need fresh faces and new blood and people from middle class to come in the parlianment.

Just Public Relations Exercise by using the Spin Doctrine.

NS and BB are a part of the deal that is suited to the Foreign Masters.The Purpose is to diffuse the issue of the restoration of judiciary .No doubt in my mind both will participate in the election.

***joint press conferernec of NS and BB***

well done NS, your patience and reconciliatory efforts paid off….it could be boycott

NEXT
    Judiciary will be restored inshallah
    Mush back in hiding
    PML (Q) Lotas running towards NS
    Chaudrys - say bye bye to politics

Isthis site really operated by sharif brothers? just curious:)

@shawn

A person should be curious about mystery, if its not like this? no offense ;)

45. comment-top comment-bottom
  46. comment-top comment-bottom

For many the news that parliament of Pakistan’s North West Frontier Province passed a bill to implement Shari’ah is far more painful than Mr. Bush’s declaration of war on Afghanistan and Iraq, which eventually took the lives of thousands of people, and continues to occupy and subjugate millions of people against their will. The anticipated fear of Shari’ah is so overwhelming that it blinds us to the injustices, discrimination and exploitation underway all over the world. Compared to the big bangs in Baghdad, it’s not even a blip in NWFP
    For detail article you can check
    http://www.ilaam.net/Intl/BlipNWFP.html

really getting tired of this ‘deadline’ after ‘deadline’ . This seems to be very scripted topi drama. at the last moment BB/NS will give some twisted logic and participate leaving IK and the Judges alone.

remember NS and BB were not fans of judiciary during their tenure..they will definitely oppose a CJ who gives trouble to PM.

@Farooq,

NS, BB, Altaf are not dictators. Their parties are effectively dead without them and it is their party who need them. Even if entire leadership of PPP and PMLN perform a jalsa somewhere, they cannot pull a crowd of more than few hundred and we have seen this for last 8 years.

BB and NS are not stars, but lets accept the fact that they are crowd pullers and Pakistani awaam love them more than any other politician and dictator.

The other propaganda you are putting are same that have been nicely replied one hundred time before so please keep that to yourself.

D

Breaking NEWS:
    In Lahore , heavy police contigents have arrived to get the honourable judges house vacated.
    http://daily.urdupoint.com/todayNewsLive.php?news_id=50927&page=1&page1=2&date1=2007-12-03&cat_id=2

51. Farooq Ahmed Says:
    December 3rd, 2007 at 9:02 pm

@Democracy,

I feel very sad to hear that you believe more in personalities rather then on believing the strengthening the Pakistani institutions.

Your nick is “Democracy”, but you dont even know the very essence of democracy, but instead you are propogating the dictatorship.

I dont care, if NS or BB are crowd pullers or not, still they need to hold elections within their parties to get elected as the chairperson of the party. How can you declare yourself as the president of the political party for life. Whats gonna happen, if BB or NS dies?

Take an example of any good democracy, this doesnot happen in USA or India. They always have different ppl running for the office from their parties and their political system doesnot depend on any one or two individuals, because individuals come and go, but the institution stays.

Secondly, if you gladly answer the so called propoganda I posted against NS. As far as I know, what I said is true and it has not been answeered on this forum yet.

Anybody who is thinking that there will be a quick solution to this mess must only lives in Fool’s paradise.

Most of the people thing that one protest and one strike is going to get rid of Mush. Get over this idea, as it is not going to happen.

In any case Iftikhar Chaudhry’s no to Mr. Danda Peer has set in motion a movement which will bring this country to real democracy. All of us has to do is stay consistent and keep sites like these up.

Election might still happen on January with PPP, PMLQ, Fazlu and MQM Mafia in it. Why you think people will forget this.

Govt has to free up CJ and Lawyers, if govt think that lawyers will forget along with journalists, in that Govt is also in fool’s paradise.
    Lawyers will consider it a DEVAANI case, and they will pursue this till they get their goal.

What I am trying to say is don’t give up you hopes, and things will change it might take little longer, but judiciary has proven that it can be done.

53. comment-top

@Farooq Ahmed

I am not a PPP voter, but BB tried to resign. BB is Chairperson because people still feel sorry for her Father. You think PPP will be same without BB, then I have no idea where you been getting your facts from.

Same as NS won’t be PMLN president, if people are not with him.

54. Farooq Ahmed Says:
    December 3rd, 2007 at 9:15 pm

@econfused,

Believe me, BB would never resign, the only thing she wants is to become the PM, and she would do anything to get it. Ghanwa Bhutto says that BB was involved in the assasination of Murtaza Bhutto, BB would do anything to come in power and she would never boycott the elections.

On the other hand NS, left the country after making the deal when his party needed him.

I dont want to see people like these to become the PM of Pakistam.

55. comment-top

@Farooq Ahmed
    It is the biggest myth which every dictator loves to spread that political parties in Pakistan do not have democracy in themselves. And most of the people who wants to support the dictator thinks that this is the killing argument. So this goes like this if BB can be chairman of PPP for life , if NS can be chairman for PML for life than why General XYZ can not be president of Pakistan for life :)
    My dear friend , democracy is about people , democratic leadership is about the holding the trust of people. A democratic leader is one whom people trust and this trust does not come by sword, fear or blackmail , this comes from the heart of people. In one of the oldest and most mature democracy in the world , United Kingdom, leaders have ruled the country and their party as long as they were trusted by their people. Margret Thather was leader of conservative party from 1975 to 1990 , then even Tony Blair ruled for 10 years. And rest assured if it were not people who stopped trusting them they would ruled for life.

56. comment-top

Well done. This is what he deserves. BB should be the next.

57. comment-top

Only Musharraf can rid this country from lifetime chairmanships of political parties.

58. comment-top

Mr Farooq is absolutely right, i really appreciate you and these people really hav’nt any answer of these question, they are only here for one point agenda “go musharaf go”.
    we have never democracy in our country, and all these politicians which is right now crying for judiciary and democracy have did same in their time.
    sorry if someone hurt , but truth us truth

59. comment-top

@Farooq Ahmed

NS made the deal and left the country as he did not want be Shaheed. Because people like you and me are intellectuals and will not come out to speak for him. Second Mush did not have the guts to hang him at that time. As Zia time was over and they army noticed that killing a popular leader does not really help. It comes back to haunt for life.

You would now say, he could have just stayed in Attock Jail. Right, for that matter you can see where Munir A malik is now.

You have to see NS is not in power, if he is allowed to move freely, people will to his rallies, because they want to see him as their leader.

For the record, I am neither a PPP voter nor a PMLN voter. I only like the NS stand which he has taken for judiciary. if he changes his stance today, I will change my opinion for him, but it won’t change the people who still want him as their leader. But they are as entitled to their as opinions as you are to yours.

Question is where do you see Pakistan in 15 years with current hand picked judiciary?

60. Farooq Ahmed Says:
    December 3rd, 2007 at 9:45 pm

@pejamistri,

When I say that these leaders have declared themselves as the president of their party, I am not justifying the take over of Army Generals.

You gave the example of Tony Blair, he was only elected twice and you would rememeber that in which scenario, he had to leave the office. That’s why I say that everybody should get the chance and this is the reason that even in US, once an individual is elected twice, he is not eligible to run for the third time.

I am just saying that these political parties should hold elections within their parties, and if BB or NS win those elections, they can stay as leaders. The only political party that hold elections within their parties is Jamat-e-Islami. Rest of the political parties doesnot even have the political structures within themselves, these parties need to fix this first.

61. Farooq Ahmed Says:
    December 3rd, 2007 at 9:54 pm

@econfused,

NS has taken this stance as he is not in power right now. NS, himself launched attacks on Supreme court and now he is talking about the freedom of judiciary.

I am sure, if NS would become the PM again, “Yeh Judiciary ka is sey bhi Bura HASHAR karega”.

These politicians have a different stance when they are in opposition and then they totally have different views when they come in power.

As Pakistanis, we all are very sentimental and we all have very short term memory.

It is like ” Jo jitna Na-Umeed hota hai, usko samney wala banda, itna he bara MASEEHA nazar aata hai”.

62. comment-top

pkiastani politics is always been personalities centric rather than parties everyone wants to b a leader on his own evryone has his own fraction of party like PML N PML Q PML F in muslim league PPPP PPP sb PPP sherpao in peoples party JUI F JUI S an MQM haqeqi an mutihida of altaf its the nature of pak politics v cant call this dictatorship its the way v have our political system ppl doesnt look at the ideology or manifesto of the political parties rather they look at the personalities

63. comment-top

Right,
    @Truth, Faizan et all:

Really nice, so you think issue at hand is democracy in PPP, PMLN and MQM. You forgetting that this country had no hope. You are complaining why BB made a deal with Mush, or why NS made a deal years ago.

This one time somebody is stood up to general and you are missing the point. CJ and lawyers has given this hope. For God sake, realize the moment. People will disappear, but this one NO from CJ has given birth to an idea. Its never going to die.

If independent judiciary is there, they might very well disallow BB, NS and Bhai. If we don’t get judiciary back, we would never know.

WAKE UP

64. comment-top

@Faizan

Food for thought

Musharraf - dictator of Pakistan
    BB - dictator of PPPP
    NS - dictator of PMLN
    Shujjat - dictator of PMLQ
    Altaf - dictator of MQM
    Falzu - dictator of JUI F
    Sami - dictator ofJUI S

Now who is the biggest dictator - it is MUSHARRAF.

the reason is simple - if you dont like BB you can leave PPP, if you dont like NS you can leave PMLN ,

BUT YOU CANNOT LEAVE PAKISTAN if you dont like Musharraf

Thats why then Musharraf has to go because Pakistan is not his personal jagir.

Is kay baap nay Pakistan nahi lay kar dia tha - Bili ko doodh ki hifazat kay liye rakha aur wohi doodh pi gayee

65. comment-top

IS THERE STILL ROOM FOR HESITATION??

3rd November 2007 – Martial Law was imposed on Pakistan

Independent-minded judges have been sacked & the Sovereign judiciary has been turned into a sham Institution

The Last Check on the Absolute Power of the Executive is Gone! The Last Voice of Justice has been Muffled

The Judges or anyone who argued for the cause of Justice face arrest. Who is helping the terrorists? Are they? Are we? No! It is the state of injustice that is helping the Terrorists!

No matter what is done, how many of our fellow citizens are Disappeared without explanation, how many civilians are killed in military operations, how many families are torn apart, how much the interests of the Pakistani people are harmed by following foreign directives, how many laws of state & humanity are broken

There is no one to question those in power anymore, no one to hold them accountable!

Welcome to the future: No Justice, No Accountability, Restricted Access to Information

Are we going to give up our fundamental rights without a fight?

We, the people of Pakistan, especially the students, have to prove that we are not so uncaring, self-absorbed & cowardly as to not speak up today!

There are conscientious people expressing dissent: common citizens, journalists, doctors, retired army officers & yes, even school children!

We have to ask ourselves - what is the protestors’ crime that the police attacks them with such extreme brutality, with tear gas & batons?

PROTESTING is not the real crime, the real crime is

the ATTACK ON THE JUDICIARY, the ABUSE OF OUR CIVIL RIGHTS & the ASSAULT ON THE MEDIA.

The uniform may be gone. The dates of lifting the emergency & holding elections may have been announced.

But unless the pre-Nov 3rd JUDICIARY & CONSTITUTION are restored, PEMRA’s curbs on the MEDIA are removed, all POLITICAL PRISONERS are released with the charges against them dropped,

WE WILL BOYCOTT THE ELECTIONS

The youth of the nation (students as well as people in the labour force) must work towards a Pakistan governed by humane values, where there is no discrimination on the basis of race and class. With numerous lawyers & activists behind bars & extreme limits on the media, it is our job to create awareness & raise a moral cry in defense of justice, accountability & human rights. We call upon youth to take a stand & we call for the lifting of the ban on student unions, so that campuses can become a constructive arena, not for fighting the battles of political factions & leaders, but for peaceful, non-partisan, intellectual debate on methods to improve the lot of people in educational institutions & the country in general. This is a moment when our choices could make or break our nation. At this crossroads in Pakistan’s history, the nature of governance in the next few years will be determined.

MAKE A CHOICE. IF NOT NOW, WHEN? IF NOT US, WHO? Opt for Action, not Silence.

Only if we UNITE, have FAITH in our own power to change things for the better & move forward with DISCIPLINE, can we change our destiny.

WE INVITE STUDENTS & PEOPLE FROM ALL WALKS OF LIFE, TO JOIN OUR

PROTEST RALLY ON 4TH DECEMBER 2007, AT 3:00 PM OUTSIDE THE PRESS CLUB, LAHORE.

66. Farooq Ahmed Says:
    December 3rd, 2007 at 10:08 pm

Ann peterson said, America wants all poltical parties should participate in the elections, and I think all the parties would take part in elections as, BB, NS, Fazl, Qazi, etc.. they all are American “Phitoo” and they would do whatever is ordered from US.

67. comment-top

dictatorship in political parties r phenomena in sub continental politics indian congress is still run by ghandhi family

68. downwithmush Says:
    December 3rd, 2007 at 10:29 pm

admin why are you removing my posts when i post them with a http link

69. Mustafa Marwat Says:
    December 3rd, 2007 at 10:59 pm

Those who support Sharif’s brothers should not forget that basically they are businessman (Hindoo Bhanya). They belive in eating, not in establishment of our Pakistan. Nawaz is the production of Zia Ul Haq and Musharaf is the production of Nawaz. (2+2)/2=2

70. comment-top

Me thinks Maulana Fazlur Rahman should be the next PM of our nation. He is the centrist leader our nation needs. He will bring together everyone. He is our best choice at the moment.

What do you think?

71. Mustafa Marwat Says:
    December 3rd, 2007 at 11:02 pm

No Boycott, join them and see the next episode.

72. comment-top

@Farooq Ahmed

Man, you would not stop. You are keep on discussing the personalities. NS this, BB that and now US Ambassador.

The issue at hands are

“Independent Judiciary”

Please enlighten your views on Judiciary, so pkpolitics fan can understand where do you stand. If you are saying that CJ was not fair then
    Hasba bill, Steel Mill case, and Missing person case wil tell you where the court was heading.

73. Mustafa Marwat Says:
    December 3rd, 2007 at 11:07 pm

Fazal Rehman is the main cause of all these uncertainities.He does not know that where is he going? He does not understand his own wordings. Stay away from this thingiiiii.

74. comment-top

Mustafa Marwat
    dont forget ‘business’ was the chosen profession of Prophet Muhammad SAW.

it is also the profession which has made West much economically stronger. and it is also this profession that brings politeness and coutesy in the west (which we normall notice) amongst many other qualities……

yes business is the chosen profession of sharif’s brother as well…..and by virtue of this they have brought difference to politics in pakistan i.e patience, tolerance, rebuilding, reconciliation…..amongst many others

75. comment-top

The issue at hand is not who is good or who is bad.The issue is the restoration of the Pre-03 november judiciary .Those who would scrafice thier time and other resorces for the restoration of the brave judges ,would be contributing for well being of thier future generations .One thing must be very clear social freedoms are always taken by paying a heavy price .Never in history these freedoms are given but always are taken .We will take the restoration of of brave judges by the efforts of young lawers ,journalists ,labours ,common people.Do not expect any effort by the priviliged class whether they are politicians ,Zamindars ,WADARS or other elite groups .The first Step would be to request the political parties and the common people for boycooting the election .Participating in the election would be acknowgements of the brutal treatments of MUSH to the BRAVE judges .

76. comment-top

@farooq ahmed
    So let us suppose PPP holds election in their Party this year, let us also suppose elections are held free and fair , let us also suppose that people cast their vote in party elections through ballot paper (i.e. nobody knows who voted for whom), and last but not the least the contestants in the election are Benazir Bhutto and yes Mr. Aitzaz Ahsan (the hero in current struggle, a very knowledgable person, perhaps the best lawyer in Pakistan, excellent orator, writer , poet and what not).
    And the winner is ………… hold your breath …. Benazir Bhutto :)
    My dear please understand what I am trying to say political evolution takes time , the parties takes decades to become mature .. again this is no excuse for any dictator to overturn democracy.
    As far as elections in JI are concerned , I respect their norm for holding election, but let me add that JI has never become a populist party. And I believe the reason is they lack popular leader.

77. Mustafa Marwat Says:
    December 4th, 2007 at 12:17 am

Yes Malik, I know better that our Prophet PBUH was a businessman but please don’t compare this personality with our Prophet PBUH. It will take whole night to write the activities of nawaz. Kindly keep him away from comparisum.

78. comment-top

@Farooq Ahmed
    I would like to answer the statements you made against NS.
    First of all What he did was not attack on SC. You can argue that it was foolish act. but he didnot dragged the judges out of supreme court or harmed them in any way.
    Dont compare elected PM with dictators. Elected PM have to by come back to public for votes in normal democracy.

79. comment-top

I have wondered about the question of boycotting the election and to be honest I have not sure as to what is the right action. Boycotting the election might make it easier for Mush and his d***/ b**** to rule pakistan. If NS and IK participate in elections at least they will be able to organise their parties.

I am so disappointed with the general public. They want every thing done for them they dont want to come to the streets to demand their rights.

I think under these cicumstances they should participate in elections if not for anything then to increase public exposure and use the opportunity to create their party organisation so that they will be able to mobilise the masses should the need arise which I am sure will arise,

80. comment-top

@taukeer

I am so disappointed with the general public. They want every thing done for them they dont want to come to the streets to demand their rights.

—————————————————————-

On oct18 these people said welcome to democracy champions then what happened to the sacrifices of these hundreds of injured/died people, they were paid a very precious amount 5000 to put salt on the wounds.

Now its the turn of these politicians to sacrfice for atleast justice for the people & it will cost nothing to politicians.

81. comment-top

I have only seen IK delivering speeches to the students both by phone and by physically being there. The guy can sure convince others, but iam really dismayed by the fact that benazir has not come out even though she could have made good use of the current situation in pakistan.

82. Haroon ur Rashid Says:
    December 4th, 2007 at 2:12 am

aik sawal?!?
    bhai BB Aitzaz kaay baray main kion kuch naye boal rahee???
    mujhay iss kaa jawab chahyee?!?
    main pareshan hoon :(

83. comment-top

@ Haroon Rashid
    I guess BB is still trying to prove Mush that she is on his side by not favouring Aitazaz. I guess Aitazaz will either go to NS or he will form a new party. thats what i think.

84. comment-top

I keep on reminding others that we need to be patient. Musharraf is a ruthless person and that is the reason BB & NS are playing it very safe. I think they are practical even though i would prefer them to be idealist.

Imran Khan is an idealist. We need that too. He is a good pressure on other politicians if they want to have credibility.

Musharraf’s mistakes will cost him a lot. He has removed his uniform. It is only a matter of weeks when army will distance itself from him. Power is not friend of anyone and only people who are close to you are in a best position to harm you.

Don’t lose hope. Only good things have happened lately. Generals have been exposed to the extent that they will never be able to come back to ’save us’. 3 provinces were already awake. Credit goes to Gen (RETARD) Mush for turning Punjab against military rule.

‘Thank you Pagal Kutte (Mush)’

85. comment-top

@ Harron ur Rashid

Both BB & Aitzaz need each other. Politics is a game and if they put all their cards out then Mush will win that game.

Wait and see. BB might not be great fan of Aitzaz but she wants him in the party. She must be in touch through one way or the other. Only time will tell.

86. comment-top

Imran is boycotting the election because he knows that he and his party is not capable to win a single seat. As for NS, he has little chance to win few seats. PPP may win 40 to 45 seats in 342 NA seats, so it is in their interest to contest. Both BB and NS had pathetic reception in Punjab and have realized that it would be very difficult for them to win more than handful of seats. Fazlu is adjusting seats with PML(Q) and thus may succeed in winning 20 to 25 seats. Anyhow, boycott would be good for government as that would give them surety that they would sweep the poll. Actually, it seems that they are quite confidence even if no party boycott, and that is why they are calling all parties to contest. One should remember that when MQM boycotted local body election in Karachi, JI won and got their mayor for 5 years, while MQM had to wait for next election.

Nevertheless, the only result of boycott would be lesser problems for government next five years in office, where they can enact laws and change constitution at will. As for starting mass movement against the government, that is almost an impossible option, as it was during last 8 years. Even lawyer movements was more illusive then real, and it lasted because government did not suppressed that, that can be seen from what happened when government really decided to suppress lawyer movements after 3 Nov, such that not suspending but even sacking CJ plus many judges made no difference.

None of the parties in opposition has mass public support behind them and government is cashing in on all works for poor and for the country they did during last 8 years. Only fools living in illusive paradise could believe that little or no work is done in the country during last 8 years, as most people in Pakistan see it and feel it, and that works has changed the political scene in the country. Works for poor as well as for the country during last 8 years is so obvious that lies and even media propaganda paid by past corrupt politicians did not manage to change that reality what people are seeing and feeling, and thus many have changed their loyalty.

For those that still want to live in fool’s paradise, and believe that no extra ordinary work is done during last 8 years, news from Karachi shows how people acknowledgement works done by political parties, as recently Jamia Binoria Karachi, one of the leading madrassa with influence all over Pakistan, decided to support MQM in coming election, and the reason they gave would be shock for many, that is acknowledgment of the work done by the party for common man. In Presidential election, one of JI parliamentary member went against his party directive to boycott and voted for ‘Musharraf for President’.

Here is the news how even unlikely opponents once see that a party works for poor, give their support to the party.

http://www.dawn.com/2007/12/02/local6.htm

[KARACHI: Jamia Binoria to support Muttahida in elections
    By Our Staff Reporter

KARACHI, Dec 1: Religious scholar and Jamia Binoria administrator Mufti Mohammad Naeem has announced support for the Muttahida Qaumi Movement in the general elections, scheduled for Jan 8, 2008.

He was talking to newsmen accompanied by City Nazim Mustafa Kamal who paid a visit to Jamia Binoria in Site Town on Saturday.

Mufti Naeem said the decision to support MQM candidates in the elections was taken keeping in view the fact that this party was working for the welfare of the common man.]

87. Amir Hameed Says:
    December 4th, 2007 at 3:09 am

Folks,
    Mush has written a column in the Washington Post. Comments are allowed on his column/opinion. I urge you to add your comments:
    http://www.secure-x-001.net/SecureGeo/Issue/SecureObservationComments.asp?IssueFunction=103&Site=109&Portal=1

88. comment-top

NS is showing his skills. First he convinces BB. Now Maulana Munafiq is also showing Flexibility.

Well done NS. Get the opposition united and get rid of Illegal president Musharraf.

http://thenews.jang.com.pk/top_story_detail.asp?Id=11527

And People were doubting NS.

89. comment-top

@kami
    Could BB have something to do with extending Aitzaz’s house arrest for another 30 days? By that time things will be settled/elections over and neither has to face/make decision of AA leaving the party…Just a thought…

90. comment-top

@Ali
    It ain’t over till the fat lady sings. For NS, a definite “Will Boycott” has become “Will boycott IF…” and for others “Will not boycott” has become “Will CONSIDER boycott” which I believe means the former. And do you forget that 4 day deadline of old? We will find out on the 16th for certain but I am pretty sure — ONCE AGAIN — there will be no boycott by NS :)

91. comment-top

@ nota

Politics is a game of impossibilities. You have to wait for the game to finish to find out what tactics were used.

Wait till the beginning of next month and then look back. Do that for a few months. Keep track of events in a diary (or archives of papers) and then keep referring to them every month. This will help you throughout your life when you are analyzing something. Human behaviour can be very predictable if you have observed in the past.

92. comment-top

students were not allowed to see BB, they were there to stress BB for boycott. AAJ News.

93. comment-top

@Kami
    “Human behaviour can be very predictable if you have observed in the past.”

I have and therefore my current prediction :)

94. comment-top

What … ?

Nobody want my leader, my ideal Maulana Fazlur Rahman to be the next PM.

He is the right & best man for the JOB.

LONG LIVE JUI.

95. comment-top

People write this stuff as if their nuclear arms were god gifted and they had nothing to do with black markets and all.

Until these stooges sitting in our seats of power are there, the smear campaign against Dr. Qadeer will go on.

http://www.latimes.com/news/opinion/commentary/la-op-frantz2dec02,0,2808104.story?coll=la-news-comment-opinions

96. comment-top

@Asad

I agree with you - I just want to ask how did Russia, China and France develop weapons. Did America donated them the technology - and even how did America developed it - teh scientists from Germany ran to America in WWII and was a jew and he made it and then later on instituted Nobel Prize to clear his guilt for having made the bomb and responsible for thousands and Thousands of people killed in Nagasaki and Hiroshima? No body asks that.

97. comment-top

@Anda

I fully respect your feelings. You are only true person in this forum - at least you had the guts

By the way why are you called anda