Lets Give a Warm Reception to CodePINK Activists at JFK on Thursday 8AM

US Activists Arrested at Gunpoint by Pakistani Security Forces–Forced to Leave the Country

Pink1Pink2Pink3Pink4

U.S. human rights activists Medea Benjamin and Tighe Barry (of Los Angeles) were arrested in Lahore, Pakistan at 8:30pm on Wednesday, December 4 after attending a student rally at the Lahore Press Club. Upon leaving the Club in the company of several journalists, the car they were driving in was pulled off the road. Armed policemen jumped out of cars and motorcycles and surrounded their car, guns drawn. They forced the driver and journalists out, beat passers-by who were looking at the scene, and hijacked the car with Benjamin and Barry inside. They raced recklessly through the crowded streets of Lahore, endangering the lives of those in the car and outside. They took the two activists to the Race Course Police Station. Benjamin was roughed up by a woman police officer who was given orders to take away their cell phone.

Benjamin and Barry were never charged with anything and no reason was given for their brutal arrest. After four hours, a representative of the US Embassy appeared. The activists were allowed to leave in his custody, but are being forced to leave the country on Wednesday.

“It was a terrifying experience,” says Benjamin. “I had no idea if we would get out of it dead or alive. If they do this to us, who have the protection of being US citizens, imagine what they do to their own citizens.”

“It is so sad that peace activists would be treated like this,” says Barry. “We call on our government to condemn our abusive treatment and deportation. It is one more example of the dictatorial nature of Musharraf’s government and one more reason why the U.S. government should stop supporting him.”

Benjamin and Barry are members of the U.S. human rights group Global Exchange and the women’s peace group CODEPINK. They arrived in Pakistan on November 25 to learn about and support Pakistani civil society. They have been meeting with lawyers, students, judges, journalists and political leaders. They also conducted a 24-hour vigil outside the home of prominent lawyer Aitzaz Ahsan, who is under house arrest. Through these activities, they have received tremendous support and appreciation from the Pakistani people, including a Letter of Thanks from the Lahore High Court Bar Association extending “heartfelt gratitude for showing solidarity with the legal community of Pakistan.”

The activists leave Pakistan shaken by their treatment but inspired by the example of the Pakistani people struggling for democracy.

Benjamin and Barry will be arriving at New York’s JFK airport at 8am on Thursday and will be available for interviews.

http://www.codepink4peace.org/section.php?id=335

40 Comments »

I just want to say “Down With traitor Musharraf”
    Musharraf is A very shameless person. Thoo, Thoo, Thoo,

Is this not harming our image ? Musharaf government and pakistani establishment has history of double standards. If Musharaf gets Us support , he is an international leader , if Benazir or nawaz gets external support , they are security risk. IF they deport or handover some one its national interest , if a civilian government does this its un ethical. I thank these two civil rights activists for going to pakistan and making pakistanis friends rather than a dictator.

I will appeal to pakistanis at JFK if they can spare some time and go there and thank them.

Go musharaf go . Musahraf is almost dead in pakistan , his popular Q league has not done any jalsa after 15th November as They have less Patwari support. On the otherhand benazir and nawaz are showing what popular leadership means… Hun tai sharam kar lai musharaf but may be I am asking something which is non existant :p

3. Electronics Engineer Says:
    December 5th, 2007 at 3:28 pm

Jaan chor dhay yarra Musharaf, sachi ALLAH dhe qasmay, lakk tarut ghay nay. Barri mehrbani tairi.

ALLAH tainao khush rekhay, jaisay sadi jaan chad jawain tay.

:D

I would like to thank Mr. Musharraf for ensuring that the last dictator is remembered with nothing but contempt!!

Run for your life and no one will miss you Mush!

Well done Amricaaaaans.

@Electronics

good post, it is an entertaining request.

Shameless people.

Would Mushraf take the heat if all the Pakistanies abraod who are protesting will be deported to Pakistan??
    Shame on you Mushraf.

Dawn News has just reported on these two great Americans (at 16:35 UK time).

Dawn News says that they will bring more report on them soon. To watch Dawn news free online

http://live.pakfiles.net/dawnnews/

ge ney do musharaf

don’t worry guys, Mushy would be soon deported to Turkey. The arrival of Abdullah Gul is the harbinger of this good news.

11. Amir Hameed Says:
    December 5th, 2007 at 5:27 pm

What can you expect from a shameless government.

THE REAL STORY ABOUT AMERICANS

In another development, the police and unidentified security officials took two American activists into custody on Tuesday in the eastern city of Lahore, Khurram Latif Khosa, an opposition lawyer, said by telephone.

Medea Benjamin and Tighe Barry, two members of the human rights group Global Exchange and the peace group Codepink, were taken into custody in Lahore around 9 p.m. on Tuesday. They arrived in Pakistan last week to monitor the political situation after the imposition of emergency rule.

Arshad Qayum, a colleague of Khosa’s, said he was with the two Americans when they were intercepted at a traffic light near the Holiday Inn in Lahore. “A police vehicle, two private vehicles and six motorbikes surrounded us,” Qayum said. “They forced me out of the car and told me to leave. Then they quickly sped off with the Americans.”

The two activists were released by Pakistani intelligence officials, had their visas revoked and were being deported from the country, according to the Codepink Web site.

No immediate comment was available from the police in Lahore.

What amazes me is that you have Americans in pink shalwar kameezes holding vigils outside of Aitzaz Ahsan’s house but not a sign of BB of Pakistan Peoples Party supporters and jiyalas

Seems like they have abandoned him… Pathetic…Shows their true character

yar guys i am all in with lawyers movement but why do these ppl protest in foreign countries. It is like making fun of Pakistan all over the world. If you really want to do, do it in front of supreme court/high court

only two shareef in Pakistan all others are badmaash!

Nawaz Shareef & Shebaz Shareef!

@naveed aka Wasi Zafar almaroof lamay hath qnooon day

Your dictator only listens to the foreign powers. He does not care for the humans in Pakistan and we are trying to put pressure on his gods to stop his brutalities.
    But you won’t understand, in order to understand this one needs to be human.

Please excuse my anger which you deserve.

@pejamistri
    proves my point, all emotions no brains. please read my post again, I never supported mush.

@naveed
    You don’t have the courage to support the dictator , sorry I called you Wasi Zafar , you are in fact Malik Qayyum. He is also all for the lawyers movement :) .
    Be courageous enough to support the dictator don’t try to hide behind the hollow pharases “Making fun of Pakistan all over the world”. Your dictator has made a laughing stock of the whole nation by dismissing the whole superior judiciary. We people are restoring the honor of Pakistan by demonstrating in these countries to tell them that in Pakistan there are human being who understand the rule of law and who know how to fight for their rights.

@pejamistri
    simply ignorant

May Allah bless you with some wisdom to understand other person’s point of view

Naveed, Pejamistri is one hundred percent correct. Why hide behind the “image of Pakistan” excuse? If you are a supporter of the ISI/Shameless general staff, please say so. At least everyone will know who stands where. Lets get over this BS about “image of pakistan abroad”. What image of Pakistan is being projected by having honorable judges thrown our of their houses and dishonorable swine serving as CJ and AG? (And I shoudl add that to call Malik Qayyum and Hameed Dogar (spit!) “swine” is an insult to swine. My apologies to the pigs of the world.

21. Tanweer Amjad Says:
    December 5th, 2007 at 8:09 pm

@naveed
    You have to understand, that Musharraf exists because of Musharraf support. And in Pakistan, only agency and the persons being favoured by Musharraf (which don’t include common people). We have to tell America and all countries that we hate your man, your tout and your dog as figured in one of the cartoons in America… A real faithful one. So there is a need to protest in all countries to let them know we don’t support him at all, he is a dictator, exists because of his power thirst. And people actually hate him.

I read their statements after their arrest. They said that they have witnessed substantial involvement of the US in pakistan and they will protest at every forum back in US. Atleast they are better than BB and company.

23. Tanweer Amjad Says:
    December 5th, 2007 at 8:49 pm

mistyped…
    You have to understand, that Musharraf exists because of American support only and that is why those two american citizens were protesting agianst Bush and demanding to stop supposrting this dictator.

pk.politics is so repeatative,
    in my view is loosing cradibility..

my opinion is that fight for democracy of pakistan should be on streets on pakistan rather then places like berlin, holand etc.

@naveed
    why are you so image conscious? why not in West? these people themselves have laid so much blood to get democracy and they are proud of that

dont be ashamed of your views and what you stand for whether in berlin holand etc

It gives me great pleasure and unfathomable pride when I speak to my German, British colleagues in the office about the struggle of Pakistani people both in Pakistan and abroad against the dictator for their fundamental rights. And I must say they are extremely impressed by this struggle, they tell me that Pakistani people are fighting the same war which German faught against Hitler and British faught against monarchs.

Peja bro.
    You might be right but my experience is different. Here Americans think that Pakistani public is supporting extremists and the Musharraf is the only right man who has “Enlightened Moderation”. US media has also played a role in showing Pakistani public as a huge supporters of radical extremists. Here in American magazines, I have seen pictures of young pathan kids (10/12 years old) carrying guns and other weapons.
    As per Codepink is concerned. I really condemn their involvement. This is an effort to tie lawyers movement with foreign hands(As said by shameless Kasauri). I believe that Pakistan civil society can run their own movement without any guideline from outsiders.

@Javed
    I was in US on 9/11 and remained there till 2004 , and let me tell you despite all the propaganda from Musharraf and his cronies about Pakistan being an extremist society I believe that majority of American public and intellectual knew and understood the nature of Pakistani society. They knew that Pakistani people are moderate in nature. PBS, ABC , NPR used to have debates showing how Pakistan is different from Saudi Arabia , Saudan and even Iran.
    Even now I have watched documentaries of CNN reporters exposing Musharraf and his cronies. It is only the Bush administration who does want to paint image of Pakistan as exteremist society however I am sure they are not as successful as they wanted to be. Moreover I feel that it is the responsibility of American Human rights activists to support people in Pakistan as the mess we are in is because of their government and majority of US people do realize this that is why they are coming forward to support us in this struggle.

better call musharraf “Yazeed of 21st Century”

@rebellion
    Your comments shows your mentality and background.

at last years elections in UK i told a colleague at work that i cant be bothered going to vote…..he looked at me in utter disgrace!…. then mumbled before walking away from me saying ‘do you know much blood have our forefathers spilt to get democracy’

my point is we should be very proud of our fight for democracy (and which is not possible in our case without free judic*ary) in pakistan, US, Europe….its our right and we will get it….infact we will snatch it from the dictator

Today my special respect to the students struggle - link below, who are all so much younger to me (and lots of them are female) who are fighting the brutal police working as dictator’s personal servants.

http://www.thenews.com.pk/top_story_detail.asp?Id=11561

@ naveed

we have a thief/robber in our house. This is our right to shout so that people from outside hear us and help us.

you want to take away our right to ask for help whereas the robber has all the support from outside.

Naveed

I have never been able to understand the logic or motivation behind the “hide everything” approach. The only thing I do understand is that the motivation cannot be “patriotism”, as it’s often attempted to be disgused as.

Without being an open society, that can comfortably talk about the problems we face, with concern but not with shame, we will never be able to resolve any issues.

What is there to be ashamed of?
    You may have heard people say they are ashamed to call themselves Pakistani, in context to the recent brutalities and injustices in our country. Should we then attempt to hide all, deny all, to get rid of the shame?

So what is this ’shame’ that’s being talked about, that motivates you to urge others not to be open about the problems facing our country?

Is this the guilty shame of the perpetrator of a crime, a dirty deed, a sin that should lead to hiding of facts?

Or is this the shame borne of anger and outrage, one not dissimilar to that of the helpless victim of a crime?

What are we here? the victims or not? should we shout for justice or not?

When you say Pakistan is being made fun of, what exactly do you mean? Firstly, has there been anything remotely funny about what’s been going on? Who is laughing? And who is being laughed at? The discovery of truth is not laughter. Did the American media cause laughter in the world by uncovering the atrocities of abu ghraib? or has it brought world wide condemnation? did bob woodward bring mirth and happy smiles by disclosing watergate or was it contempt and outrage at nixon and his eventual ouster? did publicity of the missing persons in pakistan cause you to laugh in any way or cry? isn’t it the ugly truth and the tears that have brought positive change in soieties? Hide it, and you allow more of the same thing to happen.

How can the natural response to atrocities not be to draw as much attention to them as possible, for hope of gathering enough support support against them to stop them?

Please tell me if you still do not agree..

@all against mush.

i think all of you guys should give up anti musharraf propaganda. face it he is too smart compared to any of the other leaders. the way he has handled NS and BB and foreign leaders is pure genius.

just look at how he has played his cards9 and outsmarted all his hurdles..

-the Hero judge is fired and no chance of him coming back. new judiciary will function without confrontation with hi,. and the lawyers how long do u think they can live without jobs if they keep boycoting the courts.

-bb is also back after a deal, which she cant break due to foreign commitments(to USA etc..). i bet u she will never i repeat never boycot the elections

- the maulvi party is broken apart(Maul Fazlur rehman etc..

- NS is back on his terms from saudia, and now is being insulted every day by being rejected by election commision on basis of his elgibility to run for election.

-and the Chief of army staff is hand picked by Mush. any thing goes wrong Marshall Law..

- and the best of all he has the trump card. even if some party is able to de-throne Mush and take power, he/she will not have the international support of EU and US. that means no money will be funded to the govt. as a result who ever takes power with out foregin support will get very unpopular in pak due to bad economy and stock market and eventualy will be removed in a year or 2.

keeping all this in mind, a person who can play th game like this deserves to be the leader. i think with him as the leader pak will really be prosperous.

so I say GEO Musharraf u deserve to lead pak.

@sal pakistan was broken in 1971 by army generals who were very good in playing games. History repeats itself. Mush may be qualified to be your leader but not of pakistan. He had to break the supreme court because they were about to decide his game. If nawaz is being insulted every day by mushi howcome he is getting massive reception all over pakistan. Let aa, kurd, justice tariq and munir a malik come out and soon you will send mush a post card in turkey.

@lota6177

if myaccountant was NS i would be bankrupt in a day. that was a bad example….

ok lets try to be reasonable here and think impartialy. which politician woud u pick over mush. and y?

the histroy of these politicians is front of u. now pick one and tell me i will vote for this guy/girl becuase this is what he/she did in the past that was good for the country?

i bet u, u will have a hard time answering that one.

@Sal
    i think you have history of Mush in from of you as well, including the most recent one.

Can you pick one thing he did for the country. PS I mean for Pakistan not Musharrafistan

Why do civilian police support military dictator? Its because they are affraid and want to keep their jobs. If all the policer and offices who took part in enforcing emergency were fired or better yet imprissioned when a Civilain leader takes over then maybe in future the Civilian police will not be so willing to obey a military dictator. Mushraf has never had to use military to do his dirty work its always the nasty and corupt police. Its about time that the police were held accountable. They are not military the should never take orders from military.

40. Real name of parties Says:
    December 6th, 2007 at 1:20 pm

MMA = Mutahida Munafiqin Amal
    PML(n) = Pakistan Mujram league(Nakama group)
    PML(q) = Pakistan Mujram League (qanun apna hai group)
    MQM = Mutahida QAWAL movement
    PPP= pakistan pollution party

RSS feed for comments on this post.