Visitors News Views on Emergency - 5 Dec">Visitors News Views on Emergency - 5 Dec

Latest Updates:

- Letter from Aitzaz Ahsan to Lawyers Community

Protest in Islamabad - 4 December 07:

257 Comments »

1. comment-top comment-bottom

Dor Giya Dor Giya
    Musharraf Pakistan chor kay Dor Giya

Pics and videos of protests have made me fresh again. These protests have proved that our spirit is alive.

People who are clearly ‘moderate’ and ‘enlightened’ are struggling for the end of Mush’s regime.

If Bilal Musharraf’s son or Ayla Musharraf’s son were in Pakistan, today when they had returned from their school you know what they would have been saying ?

Musharraf Ku$$a haye haye

admn, when r u going to post geo programs like shahid masood and capital talk etc …

6. comment-top comment-bottom

http://www.jang.com.pk/jang/dec2007-daily/05-12-2007/col3.htm

Whairey Aaie junj
    tey wino kuri dey kun

Musharraf Ku$$a haye haye

Looking again the heat felt by Bilal musharaf and Salman ahmed email exchange, it is best not to leave Mush and his family alone. his brother, son, daughter have some social status in west and so we must send emails in their circles to force them to face social pressure.

His brother is a senior doctor so doctors association can use their influence to pressurize his brother and so on.

@ Ahmad Bhai

After 9 march, Ayaz Amir wrote about cousins of Musharraf in Lahore and informed us how they were getting protocol just because they were relatives as opposed to Chief Justice of Pakistan.

Search for his article in Dawn archives. That article contains their postal addresses. Maybe we could write a letter to Mush’s cousins too.

@Kami
    If they had any sense of shame they would not be using the protocol provided to them now would they? I am sure they feel pride instead.

Here is the link to the Ayaz Amir column you are talking about.

“Tailpiece: At a time when in the reference filed against him Chief Justice Chaudhry is accused of demanding favours for his son and excessive “protocol” for himself, it may be of interest to note that two close relatives of the top guardian living in Lahore — Shehzad Alam, nephew, 12-E Model Town and Dr Nigar, cousin (khala ki beti), 130 M Extension — move around with police escorts and have a permanent police guard outside their residences. No fear of any reference against them.”

@ nota

thanks. maybe we should start writing these people. Some locals NGOs should arrange a peaceful protest in front of those residences!!

NO DECENT person/lawyer can support Musharraf and that is why PCO judges are of such a low quality. Malik Quyyom is a prime example.

Today I called a Sindh High Court Bar Member in Karachi. He was doing Bar at Lincolns Inn a couple of years ago. He was very sad. He said that he doesn’t know whether he should laugh or cry. Just a few examples of the CALIBRE of those incompetent people who have been made PCO judges:

1. Sindh Hight Court PCO CJ probably has fake degree. He is so incompetent that he doesn’t even know how to handle case files.

2. Another High Court PCO Justice Khawaja Naveed is so non serious that people memorise jokes instead of preparing cases for his court. A few examples of his attitude in cases:

i. In a rape case, in front of rape victim, Khawaja Naveed said: ‘Rape Ho Gaya? Meray Baghair?’

ii. In one case he said: ‘maximum punishment in this case is 5 years’ and since he is gonna be released after 5 years why not release him now. And he released the accused (probably money was involved).

iii. He is the only judge who calls lawyer: Me Lord & Sir (probably old habit of saying this to the rulers).

3. Another PCO high court judge is very restless (sorry forgot his name). He often shouts ‘Samajh Gaya’ And ‘Jaldi Karo’ and decides the case without hearing both parties. He assumes that he knows the facts and ignores protests of aggrieved parties.

Sooner Mush leaves us alone, better it is for the country and judiciary.

14. Amir Hameed Says:
    December 5th, 2007 at 3:44 am

I think that the reason that BB is not pressing for the restoration of Judiciary is because Mush has convinced or conveyed to the US that he would be gone if CJP and all the other SC judges are reinstated and this is what the US does not want.

15. Jeera Pistol Says:
    December 5th, 2007 at 4:07 am

Forcible eviction of Justice Shahid Siddiqui expected at 2pm:

From Teeth maestro blog:
    strong reports that J Shahid maybe evicted at 2 am by heavy force. Vigil ON. Call Law Minister - Afzal Haider 03008490999

http://www.teeth.com.pk/blog/2007/12/05/j-shahid-is-feared-to-be-evicted/

16. Karachi King Says:
    December 5th, 2007 at 4:09 am

Fill plastic bags with urine and hurl them on Musharraf’s gestapo when they arrive to evict Justice Shahid.

17. bechaari_awam Says:
    December 5th, 2007 at 4:10 am

@ahmed bhai
    you are absolutely right and do any body knows who that grandson was!! He is the same guy who is now licking feet of mushi on daily basis Umar ayub khan. he mentioned that in one of the talk show some months ago.

@Kami
    “iii. He is the only judge who calls lawyer: Me Lord & Sir (probably old habit of saying this to the rulers).”

Maybe he is trying to imitate Mushy who addresses all western reporters as “Sir”

Oh and you can add Sindh CJ Afzal Soomro to that list:

“The PCO CJ of Sindh High Court, Afzal Soomro, has serious health problems. He had suffered a nervous breakdown two years ago and since then has been seriously handicapped. It is quite well known fact that he just sits on the bench with another judge as a silent spectator. Matter of judicial incapacity was pending before the Supreme Judicial council. He was issued notice by the Council and CJP advised him to seek resignation and get pension, but before it could materialize the PCO debacle took place. It seems the Government has found an ideal candidate for the post of a rubber stamp CJ..” (link)

I think Imran is good man leading a mob. I dont support him.
    I dont trust Atzaz Ahsin because he has not left PPP, even after BB’s courtship with Musharaf. I think he is not better than Pervaiz Elahi.
    I dont trust Musharaf, of course, because he is symbol of Slavish Dehlvi culture of Hindustani Muhajirs.
    I trust Kiani for the reason that he is Professional Cheif of my Armed Forces whom I love dearly ( I always support my troops).
    I trust Nawaz Sharif.
    I trust some Lawyers and some Judges, not all. (They are the most corrupt section of our society in my eyes, more than military.)
    I wish that military stops following Musharaf/Bush/Iranian agenda in Pashtoon lands.
    I want MMA to context elections.
    I will always vote Right Wing.
    I will vote MMA.

20. Punjabi Conservative Says:
    December 5th, 2007 at 4:32 am

Nawaz Sharif is Center-Right.
    Imran is Up-Right.
    MMA is Deep-Right.
    For now I will support MMA.

Speaking of slave mentality, I am going to post a letter to the editor and an article I had come across back in 1997 when the queen visited Pakistan. The contents were such a shock to me that I had saved them in my “My Documents” folder and read them from time to time.

I hope they don’t get stuck in “awaiting moderation” or you’ll have to come back later and read them.

(On second thought I am going to past the article on my blog as it is a bit long to go here)

Sacrifice is essential for democracy - Benazir
    Wait for a few seconds for the real part to start.

Slave Mentality
    Naveed Khan, San Jose, CA

I was totally appalled at the behavior of Pakistan’s intellectuals and leaders during the British queen’s visit to Pakistan. I find it personally demeaning and derogatory to read the speech delivered by the speaker of National assembly and the Senate Chairman at the joint parliamentary session to honor the queen.

“I had been Her Majesty’s loyal subject since I was quite old at the time of partition. I am still your royal subject.” — Engineer Illahi Bukhsh Soomro, Speaker of the National Assembly, Islamabad, October 8, 1997

“Your Majesty, you are very precious to us as you are our Queen and we will not have another one.” — Barrister Wasim Sajjad, Chairman, Senate.

With this slave mentality ingrained in the leadership, no wonder they are abandoning the cause of Kashmir. It is no surprise that they have little regard for the sovereignty of the nation since they handed over Mir Aimal Kansi to the USA authorities without the legal due process.

My question: Was it BB or NS ruling at the time?

Link to the article I talked about above:
    Our Colonial Heritage

@ nota

good article. thanks for sharing it. However, I must say that it seems to me that the writer suffers from as much dislke of the British as those he criticises for suffering from its admiration. I think a more naunced attitude is required.

Just to note one point. If Ibn Khuldun was also talking about slave mentality, it seems to me that one cannot blame the British for our slave mentality. Of course, the British exploited and reinforced it but was there no slave mentality before that? Ibn Khuldun’s remark would suggest that even when Muslims were in power, they suffered from it. ANd i suggest, not just Muslims but all human societies suffer from it.
    It would have been better if the writer had taken the response to the queen’s visit as an occassion to ask a deeper question as to why human beings have such mindset, what is wrong with it and how it can be changed.
    From my readings of history it seems to me that slave mentality is a general human issue and not just a Pakistani or South Asian issue. In 1974, Milgram carried out a fascinating experiment - in the West - which showed how much people bow to authority: http://www.age-of-the-sage.org/psychology/milgram_obedience_experiment.html

It seems to me taht slave mentality is part of the evolutionary mechanism whereby in the animal kingdom there is only a relation of dominant and dominated. And for most of the history most humans continued with the same attitude. The fact that it pays - after all people became Speakers and what not - reinforces it. At any given time, only a few are able to break free from such an attitude. How? something to discuss. answers can be very useful for us in pkaistan today.

Tipu

@Tipu
    Thanks for the input. Much appreciated! :)

Unrelated but worth following. This proves EACH AND EVERY NEWS STORY in EVERY NEWSPAPER, EVERY MAGAZINE and EVERY SINGLE INTEL REPORT about Iran and nukes OVER THE LAST FOUR YEARS has been a LIE:
    A Miracle: Honest Intel on Iran Nukes

The Life of Iranian President Ahmedinejad & Monthly Expenses

The Fox News TV (USA) asked the Iranian President Ahmedinejad;

“When you look into the mirror in the morning what do you say to yourself”?

He answered: I see the person in the mirror and tell him “Remember” you are no more than a small servant, ahead of you today is the heavy responsibility, and that is to serve the Iranian nation”.

Ahmedinejad, the Iranian President who astonished many when he first reached to the office of the Presidency by donating all the high valued Iranian carpets to one of the mosques in Tehran by replacing them with the low cost ordinary carpets. He observed that there was a huge extravagant lounge for receiving and welcoming the VIPs and he ordered it to be closed and asked the protocol office to arrange for an ordinary room only with the wooden chairs.

On many instances he joins the cleaning staff of the municipality for cleaning the streets in the area where his home and the Presidency are located.

Under his authority whenever he appoints any minister to his post he gets a signed document from him with many points, particularly highlighting that he shall remain poor and that his personal and his relatives accounts will be watched and the day he leaves the ministry shall be with dignity, and therefore it is not lawful for him or his relatives to take any advantage of his office. First of all he declared himself for all the “Big” wealth and the property he owned was a Peugeot 504 car, model 1977, an old small house inherited from his father 40-years ago in one of the poorest zones in Tehran. His accounts with a zero balance and the only money comes in to his a/c was from his salary from the university as a lecturer with an amount of US$ 250 only.

For your information the President still lives in that same house. This is all what he owns; the president of one of the world’s important countries; strategically, economically, politically and with regard to its oil and defense. He even doesn’t take his personal salary with the argument that all the wealth belongs to the nation and he is the safeguard over it.
    One of the things that impressed the staff at the presidency is the bag the President brings with him every day, which contains his breakfast; some sandwiches or bread with olive oil and cheese prepared by his wife and eats and enjoys it with all happiness.

One of the other things he changed was his personal carrier “the President’s Aircraft” to a cargo aircraft in order to save the spending from the public treasury and he ordered that he will be flying with the ordinary airline in the economy class. He organizes meetings every now and then with all the ministers to know their activities and efficiency and he closed down the office of the Manager of the president and any minister can enter to his office without any permission. He also stopped the welcome ceremonies like the red carpet, the photo session or any personal advertisement or respect of any kind while visiting any place in the country.

Whenever he has to stay in any of the hotels he asks them to make sure not to give him a room with any big bed because he doesn’t like to sleep on beds but rather likes to sleep on the floor on a simple mattress with a blanket.

Refer to some of the photographs which also confirm the above. The Iranian president is sleeping in the guest room of his house after getting away from his special guards who follow him wherever he goes and photo is taken by his small brother according to the Wifaq Newspaper which published this photo and the next day the photo was published in most of the world’s newspapers and magazines and particularly the Americans. During the prayer you can see that he is not sitting in the first row. And the final photo is of his dining room where the president is busy eating his simple meal.

Salary & Govt. concessions for a Member of NATIONAL ASSEMBLY (MNA):
    Monthly Salary: Rs.120,000 to 200,000
    Expense for Constitution per month: Rs.100,000
    Office expenditure per month: Rs.140,000
    Traveling concession (Rs.8 per km): Rs.48,000 (For a visit to Islamabad & return: 6000 km)
    Daily BETA during Assembly meets: Rs.500
    Charges for 1 class (A/C) in train: Free (For any number of times & All Over PAKISTAN )
    Charges for Business Class in flights: Free for 40 trips / year (With wife or P.A.)
    Rent for Govt. hostel any where: Free Electricity costs at home:
    Free up to 50,000 units
    Local phone call charges: Free up to 170,000 calls.
    TOTAL expense for a MNA per year: Rs. 32,000,000 (approx.)
    TOTAL expense for 5 years: Rs.160,000,000

As such for 534 MNAs, the expense for 5 years comes to Rs.85,440,000,000 (about 9000 crores).

Think of the Great Democracy we have & Great Politicians we are……….

PLEASE FORWARD THIS MESSAGE TO ALL CITIZENS OF PAKISTAN……Before Elections 2008 so that everybody can act or react.

On the topic of PCO judges , a lawyer in a talk show mentioned that most of these PCO judges even does not know how to write a verdict. They need two people to write a verdict , there calibre and standing in profession of law is abysmally low.
    Since no person with even a little personal integrity was available to the mad dictator for becoming a superior judge , the people like Khawaja Naveed and others were appointed in a hurry. In legal circles it is being considered as a very very grave situation in pakistan’s legal history as these newly appointed PCO judges might keep working for decade to come (some of them are very junior and their retirement age it too far).
    Apart from the principled stand by lawyers of not appearing before the PCO judges there is another big problem as most of the senior lawyer do feel insulted appearing before these clowns.
    That is why I believe that only solution for the current impasse will be restoration of original judges and firing of these new PCO judges since they have not taken oath under the constitution therefore as soon as PCO is gone they will be no more PCO judges.

Breaking News:
    State trying to evict Justice Shahid Siddiqui’s from his house.
    Please note that Honorable Justice Shahid Siddiqui is seriously ill and he is perhaps still in hospital.

Shame on you Musharraf. Shame on the state machinery.

If any of the readers would like to show them support by either sending flowers, letters or financial support to the Sindh High Court Honourable Judges then their contact details can be obtained from the PakVoices website

http://pakvoices.net/hall-of-fame/

Courtesy: TeethMaestro

what a shame
    http://thenews.jang.com.pk/daily_detail.asp?id=84360

…Now we have US human rights activists holding vigils outside Aitzaz Ahsan’s home — as if Pakistani protestors vigils were not as effective. What an insult to our civil society. Do we really need US crutches? Given that the US has its own human rights abuses’ issue, would it not be more suitable for the Code Pink reps to be outside Guantanamo Bay right now since we can look after our own — and we should…

33. FAISAL Khan Says:
    December 5th, 2007 at 10:04 am

~~~~~~~~~~~BREAKING NEWS~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

AITZAZ AHSAN HAS SAID THAT BY THE END OF MONTH HE WILLSTART COUNTRY WIDE MOVEMENT FOR THE FREEDOM O JUDICIARY.

SOURCE
    JANG NEWS

I dont agree with shireen mizari on above and would consider this as source of media publicity which is badly needed for creating awareness especially when local media is ban. So it does not matter who comes to help us albeit within limits

a good analysis by Ansar Abbassi on position of PPP and NS on restoration of judges and the impact of election boycott on restoration issue…. particularly the last para….

http://thenews.jang.com.pk/top_story_detail.asp?Id=11544

per my earlier email the last para of AA’s article

‘Those supporting the boycott option are considered “hawksâ€? in both the parties. The PPP leaders agree that the APDM’s boycott would benefit the PML-Q and hurt the PPP whereas the pro-polls elements in the PML-N argue that in case of APDM’s boycott, the PML-Q and the PPP would easily get 2/3rd majority required to indemnify the November 3 unconstitutional actions of Musharraf and would thus block the return of the deposed judges forever. PML-N doves argue that going into the elections by the APDM would mean a hung parliament, which would not be in a position to validate Musharraf’s amendments’

@ahmed bhai
    At first I thought these are your comments “Now we have US human rights activists …” and I was little bit surprised.

Please note Shereen Mazari is one of those so-called intellectuals whose only job is to create confusion in the country and behind the mask if intellectualism they support the agressive regimes in Pakistan.

After raeding Ansar Abbasi’s article, I am not sure that NS should boycott elections if PPP is not going to do so. Any thoughts?
    Tipu

@Tipu
    that would mean 2/3rd majority between PPP and Q League…what that means

1- Mush will stay
    2- Judges will not be restored

certainly no one wants this?

Aietzaz anounced his planning ti run the lawyers movement. He has written a letter in which he recommended the lawyers to run the movement according to 3 points.
    1. If all political parties boycott elections 2008 than lawyers will also not support elections.
    2. If political parties decide to participate in elections than lawyers will support only those politicians who will take oath in bar councils that they will play their part in restoration of Judiciary.
    3. If political parties participate and nobody take oath for Judiciary restoration than by the end of January, he will launch a Judiciary bus which will travel all across Pakistan, with all those judges who refused to take oath under PCO.
    Source:GEO News

Infact NS is now again in better position if keep standing wtih judiciary restoration demand. If BB does not agree to judiciary restoration, He would be able to say that its BB and not him and so he (NS) is boycotting.

This will make BBs position further weak and in light of rig elections, blame can be easily put on her defeat (or low seats) that it was due to her non judiciary support.

Why she will loose further because civil society which normally supports liberalism and to the extend BB, are really fed up with BB’s hypocritical politics and BB is feeling heat now.

So again good game by NS and he needs to stick with his demands.

All NS needs is one big rally which is announced to support judiciary - and thats it. civil society is just waiting for one such call

yes pejamistri I agree. these so called intellectuals also need to be exposed side by side.

43. Faisal Khan Says:
    December 5th, 2007 at 10:41 am

I think both PPP and PML(n) will not boycott the elections.Because as far as BB is concerned she will never boycott the elections.Because what she demanded from mush has already been accepted i.e removing uniform and lifting of emergency which will be lifted on 16th.So I think she will definitely go for the elections.Bcoz restoration of judges is not her priority.
    And NS will definitely follow her bcoz she will convince him to participate so that the votes in punjab should be divided b/w pml N and pml Q and ppp will get advantage from that.
    But I hope NS not to compromise on his demand of restoration of judges bcoz the survival of country depends all on the restoration of judiciary.

so we come back to street power…
    perhaps NS can combine force with Aitzaz’s drive. They can join on this one point - restoration of judiciary.
    The choice does seem to be very very difficult.

I also wonder about another point.
    How come there were hundreds of thousands who came on the streets to support the CJ in March but no one came out this time when he was sacked again and he openly made calls for street protests? What motivated people then and why was taht not the case now?

Tipu

My understanding is that free riders will not come under martial law and unless there is clear call and leadership involved, street protest is not going to work. scores of people can gather, may be peacefully, but thats it. voice is raised and heard but ignored.

I am sure even if AH was out and had made call, we would have seen another episode of March.

dont you notice any considerable name making call out? this is the irony and thats why civil society is bursting on political leaders.

URGENT: Get well soon for Honourable Justice Shahid Siddiqui:

Please send notes, flowers to show your continued support for him in this ordeal. For those outside the city or country, you can e-mail your letter of support to concernedpakistan@gmail.com - we will make sure the letter reaches him.

——————–
    Please do send him message of gratitude.

I sent following note to Honourable Justice Shahid Siddiqui. I am not good in English writing everybody is welcome to improve it :)
    ——————————
    Dear Honorable Sir,
    First of all I and my family (my three little sons and my wife) are praying to Allah for your well being and early recovery. May Allah give you health and give you long life to provide us justice.

Dear Sir,
    I am short of words to express my heart felt gratitude for giving us and our coming generations a ray of hope for a better future. I salute your courage and determination to provide justice to people of Pakistan.

My six years old son used to ask me how come the heros are only in tv programs and I had to tell him the stories of Quaid-e-Azam and other great personalities. But he always asked me why he can not meet those heros. Now every night I tell him stories of real life heros who live in Pakistan. I tell him how these heros sacrificed their career , their future for the future of Pakistan. Incidently my son was born in U.S. now he asks me to go to Pakistan as he wants to meet you.
    Sir, let me salute you and tell you that you are held in highest esteem not only myself and my family but you will always be held in highest esteem in my generations to come. I am sure my son and then his son/daughter will always remember you as their hero. You are pride of this nation.
    I am sure that you will be back in “My Lord’s” chair and will be dispensing justice to the common people of Pakistan who adore you from the bottom of their heart.

Please forgive me for my poor writing , I don’t have words that can truly express my feelings.

Sincerely Yours

@Kami there was news about PCO CJ Sindh High Court that he had mental health problem and had been advised by Supreme Court to take voluntary retirement otherwise there was going to be an inquiry against him and he might have to be dismissed.

Such is the calibre of these PCO judges.

Well let me just say both these leaders, NS and BB, really have no faith in their own leadership or party. They don’t believe they can bring out their followers to the street in numbers. 20, 30 thousand would be plenty. Just do it in any one city. Do that for a week and I bet you not only would the numbers increase, their effect will multiply. All that is needed is a clear call by either of them.

Can they do it? Without a doubt. Will they do it? No a chance! What a shame.

i have sent my message to concernedpakistan@gmail.com as per peja’s note above in support of Justice Shahid Siddiqui.

Can everyone do this and post here that they have done so?…..this will build the momentum?…… we should aim for at least 1000 messages today?

Peja can you please clarify how you will get these to Justice Sahib so people are re-assured that their message will get there?

Its a time do do something practical….living overseas that’s the least we can do…. posting our grieveances and opinions on this site is not adequate!

nota:

can it happen other way around? I mean when there is political/ pre-election rally by either BB/NS, it turns into judiciary restoration demand by public/ supporters/ people and force leadership to say unambiguously

@Chussain @nota
    i believe all judges who took oath under PCO are mentally retarded, clinically and spiritually…. not just the one you mentioned

53. comment-top

Apologies for not quoting the reference. Here is the update about Honourable Justice Shahid Siddiqui
    http://www.teeth.com.pk/blog/2007/12/05/update-1511-justice-siddiqui-suffers-an-episode-of-angina-has-been-hospitalized/

Late last night/early this morning, the police did, in fact come to Justice Siddiqui’s house in Lahore and removed the barricades (i.e. chairs, bedding etc. placed by the protesters) in preparation of the eviction. Justice Siddiqui suffered an angina episode and was admitted at the Punjab Institute of Cardiology.

Please send notes, flowers to show your continued support for him in this ordeal. For those outside the city or country, you can e-mail your letter of support to concernedpakistan@gmail.com - we will make sure the letter reaches him.

———-
    I trust these people to send our notes to Honourable Justice.

54. comment-top

I called Honourable Justice Sabihuddin on his number +92215847582 , I am so much excited I talke to him directly. He was so kind to speak to me. He told me we can send flowers to him on his address
    Bungalow No. 44/II, 13th Street
    Off Khayaban-e-Mujahid
    Behind Khadda Market (Deltons)
    Phase V
    DHA
    Karachi
    Phone: 5847582

Please note flowers can be sent via following
    http://www.sentimentsexpress.com/
    http://www.emarkaz.com/shop/store/gifts_to_pakistan.php

55. comment-top

@Ahmed Bhai
    “can it happen other way around? I mean when there is political/ pre-election rally by either BB/NS, it turns into judiciary restoration demand by public/ supporters/ people and force leadership to say unambiguously”

I wish but I doubt it…Certainly if the rally was at a particular place like a university or bar association. But at a purely political one? I don’t think so. What upsets me is the fact that even NS is not being “unambiguous.” He can make a big difference — and gain a lot of support — if he just takes a firm stand on it. But all people are getting are mixed messages like todys’s front page story “PML-N Finalizes Candidates”

56. Well wisher Says:
    December 5th, 2007 at 12:24 pm

AN OPEN LETTER TO BENAZIR BHUTTO FROM GHAZALA MINALLAH

==========================================

Ms BHUTTO, A FREE JUDICIARY BUT DETAINED JUDGES???

Dear Mohtarma Benazir Bhutto,

I was absolutely shocked and amazed at your latest statement regarding the judiciary. How could you, of all people, say that you believed in an independent judiciary BUT that personalities did not matter? If personalities did not matter then why was Justice Iftikhar Chaudhry removed? Why were some judges locked up whereas others were not? If personalities did not matter then why is Musharraf waging a personal war against the CJ? You do not have to be a genius to figure out the reason. How can you separate the personalities from the institution? What you have on Constitution Avenue right now is a besieged and helpless building. The unfortunate but harsh truth is that right now we are a besieged nation as well.

Ms. Bhutto, I am writing to you because your statement has shocked and disturbed me to the extent that I feel I have no option but to reach out to you in this manner. I would like to remind you, since you seem to have forgotten, that you too were the victim of a corrupt judiciary. If Justice Iftikhar had been the CJ of the Supreme Court at that time then perhaps your father would never have been hanged. Had the entire bench been like the present one then there would have been a unanimous judgment. But the judgment was not unanimous - it was a 4 to 3 split – just one judge too many on the wrong side. One more upright personality on the right side and our history would have been different. So yes, personalities certainly do matter.

Ms. Bhutto, I am writing to you in desperation because I am the daughter of Late Justice Safdar Shah, who was one of the three dissenting judges. When Mr., Bhutto was the Prime Minister my father was CJ of the Peshawar High Court. Both these headstrong personalities did not get on with each other, and because of Safdar Shah’s constant criticism and disagreement regarding the reforms and policies being introduced by the PM, the latter had him prematurely retired by introducing the 5th Amendment. After the coup, when Gen. Zia took over, and Mr. Bhutto was charged and convicted of Conspiracy to murder by the Lahore High Court, he appealed to the Supreme Court. Gen. Zia wanted Mr. Bhutto dead and he did his best to manipulate the bench. It soon became obvious as to WHY Safdar Shah had recently been appointed as judge of the Supreme Court . Having the typical mind-set of a dictator, Zia was sure that he would be vindictive and take revenge. But, he was wrong and the rest is history. WHY? Because three of the judges had the courage to say NO, and did not give in to the threats and pressure exerted on them. So yes Ms Bhutto, personalities do matter. Had Justice (retd) Wajiuddin’s father , the late Hon. Waheeduddin not been prematurely retired on extremely dubious medical grounds , history could have been different, No one can dispute the fact that the judgment was wrong since Justice (retd) Nasim Hassan Shah confessed on a talk show on TV a few years ago that the judges were threatened and pressurized into giving that judgment. Yes Ms. Bhutto, they were, and I am a witness to that fact. Ms. Bhutto, our paths crossed briefly and both of us were victims of a corrupt judiciary which colluded with a Military Dictator. But I am not writing this letter to lament about our plight, since nothing we went through can possibly compare to the torture and torment you and your family went through .Have you forgotten the times when you visited your father in prison? Have you forgotten the humiliating tactics those heartless tyrants subjected you and your family to? Have you forgotten the last time you went to visit him in prison and were not able to hug him? Whenever I think about that grave injustice, which was nothing but a judicial murder, my heart goes out to you and what you suffered then and have suffered since. That is precisely why I am at my wits end and cannot understand WHY you cannot value the importance of independent judges.

Ms. Bhutto, do you think you are invincible? Are you so blinded that you cannot or will not acknowledge the truth? Does it never occur to you that some day you might have to face those judges in the present Supreme Court.? Well let me please spell it out. With independent judges you get a verdict you deserve, whereas with the present kind of farce you get a judgment dictated by the intelligence agencies or the dictator himself. Do you honestly not know or are you honestly not aware of the grave injustice going on? Does it not send a chill up your spine that if the Chief Justice of the Supreme Court can be tossed around by Musharraf it could very well be you as well ?For God’s sake Ms. Bhutto , WAKE UP .You owe it to your father as well as to the nation to defend the judiciary and fight for its independence.

My father continued to be persecuted even after the judgment and we were forced to leave the country. But I will never forgive or forget those responsible for the torment my father went through during his last years. He died an unhappy man and was never able to get over the fact that he was not able to prevent the cold-blooded murder of an innocent man. And that innocent person was your father for God’s sake! I have vowed that I will continue to fight for the independence of the judiciary come what may! I was confident and certain that once you were back you would definitely take up this battle and lead the nation towards sanity.

Ms. Bhutto, is it not obvious to you WHY Musharraf wants Justice Iftikhar out of the way? Ask the families of the ‘missing persons’, who for the first time were being heard and for the first time they could see a light at the end of the tunnel. Everyone knows who is responsible but no one before this CJ had the courage to take up the matter. Ask the countless downtrodden people who had discovered that they could have direct access to the CJ through Suo Moto notices. Ask 2 and 3 yr old Aneela and Tasleem from

Naudero Feroze in Sindh , ask 4 yr old Shaneela or 6yr old Munni or 8 yr old Marina from Mardan what this Chief Justice has done for them. These innocent little girls were the victims of jirga decisions according to which they were to be handed over to the enemy as a symbol of truce .

It was Justice Iftikhar who took serious notice of this barbaric custom and passed strict orders to the local authorities to prevent this atrocity from carrying on. It was during the tenure of this CJ that serious environmental disasters were averted. Who took notice of the New Muree Project? Who took action in the Dungi ground case? Who prevented Shah Sharabeel from converting a public park in sector F-7 Islamabad into a multi-million commercial project? Ask the poor people living in the adjacent Christian colony what that decision meant to them. Sharabeel has taken up arms against the CJ since this decision because for that class of people the slum dwellers are a low life who do not deserve any special attention. I can go on and on about the cases in which the SILENT CRIES OF THE DOWNTRODDEN of our society were being heard by a sympathetic judge for the first time.

Ms. Bhutto, these are the Suo Moto notices which Musharraf said were a waste of time in his speech justifying the emergency. If personalities did not matter then why is Musharraf so
    threatened by this man? On any and every occasion he gets he attacks and tries to malign the CJ with a vengeance. His abnormal hatred for the man has exposed the truth. He knows very well that this man was the biggest hurdle in his plans to destroy what is left of our country. The coup was against the judiciary, the ‘emergency’ was created to sack the CJ and the other conscientious judges. Musharraf needs to be told that we are not a nation of imbeciles and that everyone is aware of the truth and the depth of the situation. We all know that the ‘crisis’ in Swat or the
    threat of terrorism had NOTHING WHATSOEVER to do with the sacking of the CJ and the locking up of him and the other judges.

Once again Ms Bhutto, I beg you to think very carefully about where you are heading. I beg you not to betray your father or the nation. I beg you not to fall into Musharraf’s trap and to boycott the elections. The rigging has already taken place, so why are you allowing yourself to become a party to this farce? I beg you to realize that you are the one holding the trump card right now. If you boycott the election, THEY lose face. But if YOU participate, you not only lose face, you lose the confidence and the faith the people of Pakistan have in you. Last but not least, you owe it to Bilawal, Bakhtawar, Aseefa and all future generations of our beloved country.

Yours sincerely,

Ghazala Minallah
    D/O Late Justice Safdar Shah

57. comment-top

We should have no doubt, if the elections are held & all parties participate except IK, the first thing the new parliamentarians will do is 18th amendment. One should have no doubt about that. period.

58. comment-top

@Asif

I fully agree with you. But what would 18th amendment have - no one can say?

Just wait and see - if you look back had you ever imagined on 8 March what was in store for all of us. We couldnt have imagined it in our wildest imaginations.

So leave it to Allah and He is going to change things for good. I am hundred percent sure.

59. comment-top

BREAKING NEWS

AH,Kurd, Justice Tariq to be released in 72 hours

Yesterday I said from my optimism and reading news of US human rights activists.. that this will now happen very soon.

at least hope now?

60. comment-top

I speak to Syed Afzal Haider on 03008490999 regarding vacation of Judges from their Houses. He says, he has oath according to the constitution not PCO, then I put the question then why you follow the orders of judges who taken oath according to PCO? He did not commented on it.

Another thing I highlighted was support of activities by Syed Afzal Haider and Syed Sharifuddin Pirzada. I told him Hazrat Ali
    was a judge and u pple at least remeber that your blood is from some one who was judge.

Your activities has bring bad names to the family of Syeds.

61. comment-top

@Asif
    Sadly, I agree :( Great crimes have been committed and the slaughter of Judiciary is but one of the many. Funny thing is no one is even aware of them. People don’t realize is most of your national assets have been “sold” at penny to the dollar. “Foreign investment” is a scam — no money is coming in. Your land is being “leased” out to corporations. Your banks are not yours any more. Even your roads are pledged to thieves.

Should I go on?

62. comment-top

@Syed Mansoor Shah
    Syeds? Pirzada and Haider? What a disgr*ce!!!

63. comment-top

What is going on in Pakistan at the moment is not going to affect the current election, but the most worrisome thing for the US think tank is to stop this movement of freedom a among the lawyers and civil society, because this could create lot more problems for the US strategy in future. They dont want to see Pakistan as a free society just like India or other nations. They knows the potential of Pakistani people at individual level. For the last 60 years, they are successful in keeping us divid in the form of corrupt Nawaz Sharif or BB. This can hurt the army as well.

For them they will do anything to stop this freedom movement even if they have to take out Musharaf ( if they see this is going to become a dangrous for future!!)

My 2 cents!!

64. comment-top

How reporting tilts the balance in one way or other? But the things become irritating when the video & commentry mismatch.Heres an example from yesterdays protest.

Video footage: students, civil society & Tehreek-i-Insaaf people with posters & flags & shouting slogans were clearly visible.

AAJ TV News: students, civil society & Tehreek-i-Insaaf people protested.

Geo News: students, civil society protested.

This s!te: Lawyers, NGOs, Human Rights workers, journalists and members of civil society also joined in to show their support to the students. With one Pic showing police lathi charge with one angle.

So AAJ TV no mistmatch between the footage & report. Geo TV a mismatch between the footage & report ignoring Tehreek-i-Insaaf from the commentry. This s!te, no mismatch between the pic & comments, but entirely ignored Thereek-i-Insaaf people in both pic & comments.

Its just how it goes. Any comments would be more than apperciative.

65. comment-top

@chussain

I hope you would be right.

66. comment-top

@sohail

you are right. No one can control an independent civil society. So to control one would have resist every move towards this independence.

67. comment-top comment-bottom
  68. comment-top

@Pejamistri. If we join hands we can do something for Justice Siddiqui!
    Following is the message that I have sent for Hon Justice Shahid Siddiqui
    ———————————————
    My Lord Honourable Justice Mr. Justice Shahid Siddiqui, As Salam O Aleukum,

My Lord I along with scores of concerned Pakistanis abroad want to extend our deep gratitude for what you have gone through for us. I also send my warm wishes and pray to Allah you get well soon. You, My Lord with your brother judges have shown that Pakistan will still exist as a country. Your courage, determination and struggle has now become part of history and whenever a rightful government is restored our children and generations to come will see you as beacons of light. Yazid after killing Imam Hussain and bringing the grand daughters of the Prophet (SAW) into the bazars was happy that he has completed the task of his forefathers i.e. degradation of Islam and the Prophet. Today Yazid has been annihilated and Hussain is alive. A principled stand My Lord has placed you on the side of Imam Hussain and against Yazid-e Asr. Not a bad place to be!

Needless to say My Lord, your wish is my command. Please do command me to do something for you or your family at this time whilst you have a long struggle ahead of you.

Yours Sincerely

Sibte

69. comment-top

Muahrraf Kutt@

70. comment-top

I have just talked to Afzal Haider on his mobile. He was travelling to Lahore. He has assured that he will talk to the CM Punjab and the CJ Lahore High Court,. He was of the view that the orders of vacation of houses have been passed by the CJ lahore High Court. Rememebr the CJ Lahore is vehemently gaianst the CJ Iftikahr Ch. It is him behind it. Afzal Haider promised to help!

71. comment-top

@Shaz

72. comment-top

@Nota

Syed Sharifuddin Pirzada
    Syed Pervez Musharraf
    Syed Afzal Haider
    Syed Abdur Hafeez Pirzada

- do i want me to go and on

73. comment-top

sorry read as - do you want me to go on and on

74. comment-top

Breaking News:
    Nawaz Sharif announces visit to Honourable Chief Justice tomorrow.

75. comment-top

Another news

Pervez Musharraf through his office has advised teh Cabinet division to advise all teh office and also the media that his name should be written as President Pervez Musharraf and it should NOT INCLUDE General (Retd) with his name.

Looks like he now hates his former skin very much.

I am amazed because I know that in my village even if one was Havaldar in Army he would proudly write Havaldar with his name even after retirement.

This is perhaps the first retired general who does not want retired with his name.

Yar ye waqt bhi ana tha - Allah ki kia kudrat hai.

76. comment-top

Musharraf would have been better advised if he had got the following addition to his anme

President (illegal) Pervez Musharraf

77. comment-top

test -getting moderated

78. comment-top

Peja,
    Police have already started raiding lawyers’ homes and offices. (source Aaj)

They are scared as a large crowd is expected at Marriot at 1pm to march towards judges colony with NS.

79. comment-top

@Peja

You know what - when yesterday police tried to come to evict Justice Siddiqui - three great ladies - Asma Jehagir, Bushra Aitzaz and wife of Justice Iqbal (son of Allama Iqbal) came there and the police had to withdraw - such are our brave women -

Shame on those men - who are sitting at home and not moving out and saying what is right is right and are afraid of Musharraf and police

They should wear bangles and sit at home.

80. comment-top

@Shaz

Our leaders should be sent to Iran to spent some time with Great President AhmadNijad to learn as to how to be the humbel servant of their contituencies in Pakistan. We sure need leadrs like him in Pakistan.
    On the Contrary; Mush is going to buy a very expencive Plane for his personal use from the tax payers money.

81. comment-top

@chussain
    I agree with you. Women are taking the lead.
    Unless we show courage the struggle will be longer. I feel myself sorry to be out of Pakistan, but sometimes I think what if I were there and had not come out I would have felt so ashamed of myself.
    I spoke to Honorable Justice Sabihuddin and am feeling so proud today to speak to a real life hero.
    My Allah bless him.

82. comment-top

@Kruman
    Justice Rana Bhagwan Das said on BBC that once the leaders of lawyers are released or a new leadership emerges from the available lawyers movement will gain momentum and will be successful.

83. comment-top

I was watching a report on Dawn news about demolition of Kachi Abadis in Karachi. There are 6 million people who are being displaced WITHOUT ANY COMPENSATION.

Some have been there for more than 15 years and there are laws that protect them but City Nazim Mustafa Kamal government only gives them 2 HOURS NOTICE.

Only reason I could think is that they are not Mohajirs and not MQM voters. Even City Nazim refused to comment on Dawn News report. Obviously he cannot defend such inhuman and illegal acts.

http://live.pakfiles.net/dawnnews/

84. comment-top

Ramday’s wish to come true

During CJP’s case Justice Ramday had asked Aitzaz to get a bus driving permit. His wish is about to come true. AItzaz has announced a country-wide tour on a bus for all non-PCO judges if the judges are not restored by end of January.

85. comment-top

That is good news Peja.

Mush is not that powerful now. He can’t even get a judge’s house evicted. Soon Musharraf will be evicted from Pakistan.

Muk gaya tera show
    Go Musharraf Go

Musharraf Kut$a

86. comment-top

25 leading lawyers detained before NS’s march towards judges colony. (aaj TV)

87. comment-top

IK on Dawn TV right now.

88. comment-top

The guy interviewing IK is an a**h*le…

89. comment-top

To be practical, I think he is doing his job.

90. comment-top

According to the above mentioned A@@H@LE we should be glad we don’t have dictatorship any more. What a d*ckhead!

(Pardon my French but I can’t help it at times like these)

91. comment-top

@jojo
    Give me a break. He is spewing sh*t and I don’t think he’s a janit*r.

92. comment-top

@jojo
    Last statement by that HUMONGOUS A**SHOLE was “Spoken like a true politician - no definite answer!” which was totally not true and handled nicely by IK. Was that doing his job as well?

And did you not notice on previous such statements he went to commercial immediately?

93. imran malik Says:
    December 5th, 2007 at 6:03 pm

there r blakc sheeps in journalists also…

and one of the very old one is NAZIR NAJI…

SHAME ON HIM FOR INDIRECTLY SUPPORTING MUSH KUTT@ AND HIS BELOVED PERVEZ ELAHI …..

He is certainly on payroll of mush and punjab ex cm….he is an agent…i really hate him….