Aitzaz Confirms to be on Lawyers Side

Aitzaz

Aitzaz Ahsan, the President of Supreme Bar Council as well as prominent member of Pakistan People Party, says that he will abide by the decision of Lawyers Community.

AAJ News Reports:

President Supreme Court Bar Association Ch. Aitzaz Ahsan has said that he is bind to follow the decision of lawyers community not any political party.

In his message to the Pakistan Lawyers Convention, organized by Punjab Bar Council on Saturday, he said he will prefer the lawyers decision instead of any political party.

Lawyers movement will continue till the restoration of judiciary and supremacy of law and constitution for which we are ready to offer our lives?, he said.

Aitzaz said the entire world has appreciated the movement started by the lawyers for restoration of judiciary, democracy and supremacy of law. He said the truth will be victorious.

He warned the rulers that despite their cruel tactics they could not be successful in suppressing the lawyers movement.

Iftikhar Muhammad Chaudhry and the other judges who did not take oath under PCO are the genuine judges, he said.

220 Comments »

benazir will feel bad after that news. right move from the right person.

Well Done ,if it is true

I welcome this move by AA.

4. Wajid Malik Says:
    December 8th, 2007 at 10:38 pm

Well Done Aitzaz.

If he boycotts he will rise as a leader and will get a lot more respect in civil society along with lawyers.

It’s indeed great news.
    I think he must dissociate himself from BB officially as well.

Finally… I was beginning to have doubts about AA

Inshallah justice will prevail

finally a good news we all have been waiting for but this should be backed up with actions and not just glittery hope…

Most will depend on if he will participate in elections on PPP’s ticket or not….

Very disturbing news coming from Islamabad. The Saudi ambassador to Islamabad made a trip to the Chief Justice residence and tried to convince him into going to exile in Saudi Arabia.

Shameless interference by the Saudi’s.

Proof of Pervaiz Musharraf’s JEWISH CONNECTION

http://jang.com.pk/jang/dec2007-daily/09-12-2007/america.htm

This is very influential Worldwide organisation that gave Mush Award and other receivers of award include SALMAN RUSHDIE.

Chaa gaya hai Cheetah!

Was just browsing thru pkpolitics, and realized that I distinctly remember reading 5-10 posts on Dec 3 episode of Insight that are now missing….probably deleted by Javed Malik.

In any case, Javed Malik is the best anchor on television…Carries the flag for freedom of expression… nobody even comes close (wink,wink)

Today is Sat Dec 7. Let us see how long this post lasts before Javed deletes it….

I wonder why he is still with PPP. He may be thinking that eventually he can sideline BB and become the leader of the party. Though this looks quite unlikely but if it does happen, that would be the best for PPP’s future.

Well done. AA has to call a spade a spade now.
    He is a man of great integrity. I think he should make it clear in unequivocal terms that he is ready to to give a political sacrifice in terms of BB party but would stand by the lawyers community. He is the future leader of Pakistan. ZAB became a leader too after taking a bold stand against Ayub Khan. I am impressed by the conviction his wife and his son is showing. I still will monitor him more closely before I pass my final judgment. I am sick of all the intriguing and selfish nature of Pakistani politicians. At this point he is getting A+ from me. Well done

First Nawaz Sharif and now the Honorbale CJ. Hands off shameless Saudis! Hands off our CJ. Shameless Saudis are acting as usual as US touts and are trying to harrass anyone who is not towing US line. How this barbaric regime is becoming bare in front of common people is Allah’s will. It had to happen though it is through the regime’s total dependance on US which is a shame for all Muslims. Well done AA and well done CJ!

I must say Aitzaz Ahsan is one of the few people to survive the current situation with his reputation untarnished.

http://www.jang.com.pk/jang/dec2007-daily/09-12-2007/col6.htm

BB Vs Ghazala Minhala
    One is the daughter of a well-known politician while the other one is the daughter an honorable Judge

The Saudi’s are underestimating the Lawyers resolve- they better not make any forced attempt to exile the CJ.

There will be riots in the street- and this time it wont only be the lawyers but all honest Pakistan’s will be with them!

3rd option is on its way…….IK, AA, Hamid, Kurd, Muneer, ….

@Hafiz
    Correction: BB will feel mad not bad, when she learns about Aa’s stance. Although she must have known it earlier. Good job AA. Keep it up . We are all looking up to you and waiting for you to be out of your house arrest to get this idiot into the awami katahra .

What is the difference between Indians and Pakistanis - only one - Indians elect their leaders and see where are they now

http://www.thenews.com.pk/daily_detail.asp?id=85171

A thought provoking article.

AA did a very good job today - he has taken a very honest stand and Inshallah things would get better now. No doubt about that. Allah would Inshallah once again give Pakistanis a chance to put the course of country on true democracy - not the sham democracy of Retarded General Pervez Musharraf.

finally something a bit decisive

I don’t personally think Saudi’s will do all that just to please Mush, there has to be backdoor American intervention to help retain their loved ones in power…..

I fully agree with Salman - the americans are pressurizing Saudis and they would never want a true democracy in Pakistan - because they would have then to deal with a democractically elected goverment, a soveriegn parliament, a strong and vibrant judiciary and a strong military - all having their say - and they are not used to such dealings.

We should say NO TO BRITISH HIGH COMMISSIONER - who said that judiciary would never be reinstated - who the f he is to say and tell us and how dare he tells us.

American goverment is no doubt worst enemy of Pakistani nation - thats why they have always supported a dictator and now they dont want him to go

We as a nation should stand up and learn to SAY NO TO AMERICA ALSO.

Thank you Mr Aitizaz Ahsan for your wise and bold decision to join the strugling Lawyers and the other members of the civil society. You have made the right decision, because there is no other option left. I also congratulate you for severing your affiliation Witth BB. You and I have known it,for a while, that She is on a wrong path and I sincerely believe that she is in cahoot with Mush, for her right or wrong reasons. They both are working in the interest of foreign powers and not in Pakistan’s interest and that’s not acceptable to Pakistani people.

You, justices Wajihuddin and Ch. Iftikhar should organize a new political party called, consitution Party. Time is ripe for this action, and I assure you my support and the support of 16 million Pakistanis. It’s time to restore the judiciary and supramacy of the constitution and the law. We must remove all the dishonest judges who have been repeatedly sold to the dictators. I can smell the victory for the independent judiciary of honest judges. You are the man of the hour and I want you to lead the pakistani people through these very difficult moments in the history of Pakistan.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6PozZJRmn6k

Ek General Sa!a - Tribute to Musharraf - MADY TV

Well done loin

I am glade to hear this news and hope that all the lawyers will give Atizaz there hands.
    If it goes like this then soon Mushraf will be a absconder with his close friends chudries.

“We have to achieve the independence of judiciary to its grassroots” — Justice Bhagwandas

The formation of political party by the lawyers is not a good option.They should remain committed to the restoration of the brave judges and after that should work as a Guardian for the integrity and the independence of the judiciary.In this way thier struggle will by shared by common people irrespective of thier political affliation and the hate for the mistakes of one political party ,because when political parties come in to power in a country like ours they make many blunders and mistakes just to remain in power and keep others parties out of the power and this huger of power makes them corrupt and the rest of the life they are blackmailed by the INTENAL AND EXTERNAL GUNDA MAFIA TO advance thier agenda .In any political system there must be checks to keep it free from corruption and an Indepedent judiciary and media are the two biggest checks that can keep it on track ,so let the lawyer movement be committed to this noble cause and in this way thier participation in the well being of the country will be much appreciated and recognised by the people.

LUMS students say they can go to any extreme for release of their fellows

http://www.moveforjustice.org/News/tabid/60/articleType/ArticleView/articleId/650/Default.aspx

31. imran malik Says:
    December 9th, 2007 at 1:29 am

javed malik is a lota …..
    nazir naji,pj mir,kamran khan,javed malik,shahryar khan (the forum ) and hassan nisar (to some extent) are LIFAFA JOURNALISTS.///nazir naji is founder of lifafa journalists….people like jave malik and pj mir are followers…

shame on them they are reallly black sheeps…

I hope Aitazaz Ahsan will leave disgraced PPP. I am disappointed that he has not done so uptill now. I would like to hear a categorical statement about boycott of elections from him. I hope some of the sentiments expressed in this blog dont turn out to be wishful thinking

@ IMRAN MALIK

You are right about the Lafafa Journalists

@Kami
    I think you missed my point and got miscued.

35. Chaudhry Hameed Says:
    December 9th, 2007 at 2:27 am

Chaudhry Aitzaz Ahsan is going to change the whole political setup in coming 30 days. I hope he made the positive decision which should be followed by other political leaders. The first step is always very difficult for a leader to show the intension for the general public.

After Imran Khan’s announcement,people were waiting for streight forward statement from Chaudhry Aitzaz Ahsan SHER-E-QANOON.

Today Pakistani public feel releived and satisfied after getting this excelent news, which is the first step towards the restoration of judiciary and free media.

We as a nation expecting the same courage from Mohtarma Benazir Bhutto, Mian Muhammad Nawaz Sharif, Qazi Hussain Ahmed, Maulana Fazal-Ur-Rehman and other leaders.

Allah Hafiz aur Pakistan Zindabad.

36. comment-top comment-bottom
  37. Shahid Kinnare Says:
    December 9th, 2007 at 2:49 am

AA is going to fight to election and win. He is not another Mr. Sherpo.

I feel very strongly that it’s the need of the day to have a new political party of people from all segment of the society, more so from the young generation. Current political parties have done nothing but destruction of Pakistan. These political parties are in bed with the army

We are missing one thing at the moment, not good & honest people but CONNECTION among these so many good people.
    If you realy wanna do something good & wanna move on, Do something for this “CONNECTION”
    “CONNECTION” & only “CONNECTION”

Please no more “Dayed eent ki masjid”

http://thepost.com.pk/CityNews.aspx?dtlid=133118&catid=3

LUMS students stand fast amidst cold, cops

http://jang.com.pk/jang/dec2007-daily/09-12-2007/col2.htm
    How Naji lives with his life, is bay haya ko sharam aa sakti hai kay naheen.

Does he atleast know what moral values are?. He thinks it is a movement by few lawyers. Is this guy been this idiot all his life? if so why Jang has him just for freedom of speech? or for balanced view?

Does anybody know Nazir Najis, hoem address, phone number and email address. I think we should start a campaign of sending him letters, emails and phones with only one sentence.

Ba Haya, Sharam kur, Chulloo bhar pani main doob mur

New Political party- continuation

Some of the Politicians of the prevailing political parties are in bed with army. We must not blame the genrals alone. These genrals are looking for an opportuity to highjack the government and some corrupt politicians provide them the chance to intervene. During the past 60 years of Pakistan’s sad history, there have been 5 marshall-laws imposed by 4 generals, of course with the help of currupted and selfish politicians. I fully agree that honest judges and lawyers must be the gardian of indepedent judiciary and yet they can be a strong force to help bring true democracy in the country.Therefore in my opinion, It is imparitive that we must discard all the corrupted politicians and replace them with new generation who are honest and selfless. To acomplish this goal, we need a new political party, with new leaders that will put the country on the rifht path.

44. comment-top comment-bottom
  45. Iqbal Hussain Says:
    December 9th, 2007 at 3:34 am

AA IS LOTA AND FINANCE BY NAWAZ SHARIF LIKE THE PKPOLITICS WEBSITE.I ASSURE U ALL PPL THAT THIS LOTA WILL TAKE PART IN ELECTION AND WILL ALWAYS BE WITH BB.I THINK IT IS HARD TO HEAR BUT IT IS FACT.IF NO ONE BELEIVE THEN EMAIL ME AFTER 8TH JANUARY AND NAWAZ SHARIF IS GOING TO CONTEST ELECTION AND ANNONCEMENT IS EXPECTED IN TWO OR THREE DAYS.

@Iqbal Hussain:

AA’s political preferences aside, I have never seen him as Lota. Its like if I say, Iqbal is this or that without giving a reference.

What AA has shown that he believe in rule of law and try to achieve his objective without rhetoric or violence.

I personally believe, if you cannot respect a man for what he stands, then just keep your mouth shut.

47. imran malik Says:
    December 9th, 2007 at 3:47 am

@BILAL MUSHARRAF

u knwo that u r from a kuttti family …you kknow that ur a khenzeer blodd. you know ur dad killed 10000 muslims .u know he is agent of india and us ..u know ur dad is ugly kutta…u know he will be hanged soon..u know you blood is genda….

shame on you for still not disowning ur ugly monster (soon to be hanged by awaam ) kutta father

I agree with the previous write ” confused”.
    We need to send emails to Nazir Naaji. He is disgrace. He is a piece of garbage. We need to send an email or SMS

49. Iqbal Hussain Says:
    December 9th, 2007 at 3:54 am

@enfocused

If he is so sincer then why did’t resist the BB Mushraf Deal.
    Why he accept the ticket of PPPP.
    and Why he is not taking back his namination papers.
    Why he is not annoncing the boycott of election.
    If you have dear then answer these questions or shut ur mouth.

50. comment-top comment-bottom
  51. imran malik Says:
    December 9th, 2007 at 4:06 am

@iqbal hussain

AA holds the world record (only one to deny )of toping the civil service exams but then after the impositon of martial law by ayub denying any lucrative offer for civil service…bc he didnt want to serve an illegetemate govt…..

it says a lot bro…….think before making any comment based on conspiracy therories

@imran Malik: I strongly condemn the language you use, your choice of words and the kind of attack you make at Bilal Musharraf. Not that I support his father or anyone else for that matter. However, dear Mr Malik you are abusive and have to manners. I am ashamed as a Pakistani at the kind of behaviour you exhibit by using such strong words. You have used such words in the past for other politicians and although I was disturbed, I choose to ignore them since I do believe that people who are in public positions are fair game! But to use this language for someone’s family members is atrocious. Tut Tut!!! Shame on you! Assuming you have the capacity to go online and to type you have to be older than 8yrs and hence using such language does not become an adult who is supposedly fighting for “democracy” of which one fundamental is respect for all other fellow human beings.

53. comment-top

@imran malik: Also my dear man the man you are championing AA should also be your role model. I know him and his family and he is a thorough gentleman. He would never condone the language you have used and neither would he ever encourage personal attacks against relatives of govt/political/media or anyone for that matter. Learn from his example and live up to the excellance of the person you are championing.

54. imran malik Says:
    December 9th, 2007 at 4:50 am

@SURA
    U r right but for mush im willing to cross any limits …any boundaries…he killed 10000 muslims for his seat…..i dont care about any ethics when it comes to mush….telll me if some body misbehave with ur family how would you react…would you be calm…….

mush killed 10000 muslims….remmeber he and his family will have to pay the way mujeeb’s and bhutto’s family and a lot of criminals in history paid

55. comment-top

i believe AA should not be waiting any more and should take the first step and take back his nominations so he could lead the example

if he would do it in 2-3 days BB will be in immense pressure to go into the elections

56. comment-top comment-bottom
  57. comment-top

I have noticed some people have literally

gone blind in their hatred for Pervaiz

Musharraf and Pakistan Army generals. Think

objectively with a cool mind, if it was wise

to cross that red line? Tell me if a war is

imposed on our motherland by any adversary

who’s gona fight the war and lay down their

lives to defend this country and the

Pakistani people? Do you think benazir,

zardari, nawaz, shahbaz, qazi, fazal, altaf,

shujaat, pervez, achakzai, sherpao,

asfandyar, their children or any other self

styled politician you name it would go to

the battlefield and fight with the enemy for

you? Who is going to fight the war? I think

jawans and officers of Pak army under the

guidance of these very generals against whom

some people have so much contempt? Let’s be

honest and start thinking and behaving like

a responsible nation and we must not try to

go that far even in the event our judgements

might differ.

(P/S: I do not have any political affiliation or any relationship whatsoever, with Pakistan Army. As a simple, patriotic Pakistani I just want people enjoying the privilege of discussion in this forum should discuss issues objectively and must not get carried away with emotions and abuse the privilege.)

58. comment-top

Having failed m*serably to sell Mush’s Martial Law in western capitals, the press officers are being recalled to form a new strategy (which of course will fail too :))
    Great to see a Judge calling out the Saudi and other foreign envoys for their interference.
    While the lawyers issue a call for
    trying Mush for treason, Police seal of GOR-I where some of the deposed judges are residing in Lahore.
    Asma Jehangir says Munir Malik wants to go overseas for treatment as he believes he was poisoned.

With all this talk of manifestos, remember history tells us it is all but rhetoric

59. comment-top

@ Asif,

good point about connection among good people…
    this is surely one of our challenges…
    the corrupts know that they need each other so be they in army, mullah, feudals, industry or political parties they get connected…
    in fact, I think, this is globally as well..so, for instance, in the US neo-conservative and neo-liberals have got togather on several points and are able to shape the US establishment policy…
    It seems as if that the Marx’s slogan ‘Workers of the World unite’ has been taken to heart by the exploiters rather than the exploited…

the question, Asif, is how do we move forward to create connections among the like minded good people?

Tipu

60. comment-top

read this article in dawn about economic conditions of Pakistan - undermining the claims of the governement…
    http://www.dawn.com/2007/12/09/top10.htm

The worrisome thing is that the so called civilian governement will face these and will not be able to overcome them simply beacuse they are not resolavable in the short run. Hence, soon the government will become discredited and people would be made to feel taht when Mush was powerful things were better.
    Sad, so sad.
    tipu

61. comment-top

@Tipu
    This is not the half of it. Things are so bad nothing can save it. I know I will be called a pessimist but I don’t give Pakistan more than 5 years before you will see wide-spread bloodshed. All the dominoes are in place. Just need a tipping over…

62. comment-top

Unrelated but worth a read:
    Bill of Rights Under Attack: A Timeline
    See how America’s done it.

The UN: Global government, Gun Control and Genocide

63. comment-top

NS is seemingly going to announce the participation in election.

64. comment-top

i was expecting a lot more than this from AA….

If AA has to be a leader of national level then simply standing by the lawyers is not enough. Considering he is a very senior PPP leader he should convince BB along with other senior leaders of PPP to understand the importance of boycott and its significance in the current scenario…

i am not sure what AA has done so far to convince his fellow party members and leaders but nothing has been reported in media….

65. comment-top

Aietzaz should convince BB and PPP to boycott elections if they don’t show flexibility, than its time for him to quit PPP and separate himself from BB.

66. comment-top

well done aa/ LIVE LONG JUSTICE I CH

67. comment-top comment-bottom
  68. comment-top

Breaking News:
    Reuters is reporting that Nawaz Sharif has opted for polls instead of bycott.
    http://www.reuters.com/article/worldNews/idUSCOL16762720071209

69. comment-top

@peja

I think Imran made another mistake by following JI in boycotting the elction- he had once been bitten by JI and he again trusted Qazi and you know what - MMA is going to take part in election as MMA because they have asked for that a combined symbol.

I personally believe that Imran should have united with PMLN in fighting this election and trying to stop Musharraf from getting the majoirty.

You know what is going to happen now

PPP, Fazlu and Q would go in elections - get two third majority and would validate teh actions - what is Imran going to do about it - nothing.

WHY DOENST IMRAN UNDERSTAND THIS SIMPLE THING - WHY IS HE TRUSTING THESE MAULVIS INCLUDING JI. Doesnt he has any common sense.

70. comment-top

Does any one have an idea if NS does not get 2/3 majority ,and by reaching in assembly what would he do in case idmenity of ammended constitution is given by other parties BB,fazal Q league or as in 2002 scenarion the mushraf says the constitution is ammended as per Lota Supreme Court so no ideminity is requried

.Scenario Even if BB,NS agree to reinstate the judges and THE ALAMI GUNDA MAFIA still does not that to happen ,what they will do

71. comment-top

@javed et-al

All those people looking for Aitezaz to create a part of convince BB lives right there, where Mush wants them to e i.e. Fool’s Paradise.

You keep forgetting that bunch of idiots posting in forums is not going to keep the ground reality.

1) BB has a vote bank and she has her own agenda. Nobody has been to able to change that vote bank (in Rural sindh)

2) PMLQ has control in Punjab through Nazims, Naib Naziz, and SHOs, for forget that will change

The only serious threat is in Urban Punjab, were NS can make a difference.

You guys have to remember that PMLQ is nothing, but a kings party, as you can even hardly list a leader with popular support.

If NS boycotts election, then it will be PPP, PMLQ and MQM Ghunda Mafia will be in parliament. You all very well know where they stand on Judiciary and constitution.

In the end, I can only hope, that lawyers and student movement stay afloat and along with some decent seats of NS in parliament, as that will give us hope. By us means we (bunch of idealists - read idiots) who want the rule of law in Pakistan and sincere leadership.

Now I know every political leader has skeleton in their closets, but we do know where NS has bunch of decent people in his circle. People like “Hashmi, Khawaja Asif, Nisar Ali Khan, Jhagra”, atleast they stand up and talk about issues. Once AA breaks with BB, I hardly see any decent person standing with BB.

Last I still am waiting for address of Nazir Naji, as I think he needs a letter campaign to change his basharram thinking. I want to start a campaign to send him a million letters in coming days. We can start a page to count that.

72. comment-top

AA Pride of Pakistan,Ali Ahmad Kurd Lion of Pakistan

73. comment-top

Blasphemy!!! Wasi Zafar calls Musharraf Allah Mian…lissen carefully

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JAobWibYSRo&feature=related

74. comment-top

I am not seeing imran khan making any news lately. What is he upto? Sometimes it feels that BB and NS just eclipse the rest of the political spectrum that nobody pays any attention to what the rest are doing or saying.
    Imran khan has been able to mobilize the students to some extent but its a long way to go before we can see any meaning full resistance on the streets. The only thing that can mobilize the whole community is united opposition. but the stances of BB and NS are so vague that there is a danger of disenchantment on the part of the people who are struggling and resisting. If this opportunity for change is lost the blame will solely on the opposition.

75. comment-top

The decision of boycott is a very good decision by IK, as its clear that it will be a hung parliament & both BB & NS can’t become PM for 3rd time unless they get 2/3 majority & revert 17th amendment.

And both PPP & PMLN will start agitation because their centre of politics revolves around BB & NS only. It should be very clear to all of you that both BB & NS can’t sit in NA without being PM.

76. comment-top

I hope Asif you are right. But that is not an issue - The issue is that if the two third majority validates Musharraf’s amendment then the game is over and with PPP, Q and Falzu and company that is entirely possible.

I think NS and other parties wasted a lot of time with MMA and Benazir - who were negogiating with goverment and are even doing now.

If you read today’s Nazir Naji article - he is clearly sold out to MQM and he is supporting Altaf Hussain assertion about the judiciary.

History would record that if Pakistanis were deprived of their rights it was teh following parties who made this possible

PPP
    MQM
    FALZU
    Q LEAGUE

These four parties sold the rights of people of Pakistan for their own self.

There is only one way - Kiyani has to come - whatever happens.

77. comment-top

from Ayaz Amir’s colum in DAWN

“Musharraf has announced that ‘emergency’ (actually martial law) would be lifted on Dec 16. In the besieged walls of the Presidency was there no one to tell him that Dec 16, the day our troops in East Pakistan under the command of that famous soldier, Lt Gen ‘Tiger’ Niazi, laid down their arms is the darkest day in our national calendar?”

Perhaps someone did eventually thought of it; hence the change of date to 15th…?

78. comment-top

And IK is doing a very smart move by visiting the various bars & addressing them & showing his solidarity with them. Hes preparing for the elctions after Jan8, He has the support from of people & he is working on appropriate candidates & lawyers is a very good platform.

So far hes doing good by taking students & lawyers into confidence & both of these groups are more interested with prenov3 state rather than elections.

79. comment-top

Every Pakistani growing up was made sure to remember “Fall of Dhaka date i.e. 16th”. Mush was just being stupid and tried to make it “Decemebr 16th, the Rise of MUSH”. Lota Qayyum told him that it might not be a real rise, so lets make it 15.

80. comment-top

Try to by pass moderation

@javed et-al

All those people looking for Aitezaz to create a part of convince BB lives right there, where Mush wants them to e i.e. F0ol’s Paradise.

You keep forgetting that bunch of idi0t$ posting in forums is not going to keep the ground reality.

1) BB has a vote bank and she has her own agenda. Nobody has been to able to change that vote bank (at least Rural sindh)

2) PMLQ has control in Punjab through Nazims, Naib Naziz, and SHOs, for forget that will change

The only serious thr3at is in Urban Punjab, were NS can make a difference.

You guys have to remember that PMLQ is nothing, but a kings party, as you can even hardly list a leader with popular support.

If NS boycotts election, then it will be PPP, PMLQ and MQM Ghund@ Mafia will be in parliament. You all very well know where they stand on Judiciary and constitution.

In the end, I can only hope, that lawyers and student movement stay afloat and along with some decent seats of NS in parliament, as that will give us hope. By us means we (bunch of idealists - read idiot4) who want the rule of law in Pakistan and sincere leadership.

Now I know every political leader has skeleton in their closets, but we do know NS has some decent people in his circle. People like “Hashmi, Khawaja Asif, Nisar Ali Khan, Jhagra�, atleast they stand up and talk about issues. Once AA breaks with BB, I hardly see any decent person standing with BB.

Last I still am waiting for address of Nazir Naji, as I think he needs a letter campaign to change his ba$harram thinking. I want to start a campaign to send him a million letters in coming days. We can start a page to count that.

81. comment-top

His son Aneeq Naji does Saveree Savree program from Geo in morning.

82. comment-top

@Tipu

Lets first made this word popular by using it more & more on different forums & sites, & bring this into the knowledge of those politicians, lawyers & students to work on “CONNECTION” among them.
    Thats what we can do on our part in moving in right direction.

83. comment-top

If Aitzaz breaks away from BB - that would be end of BB then at least from moral point of view. He should give ultimatum to BB about that.

84. comment-top

Assets of Shujaat Hussain which he submitted with his nomination papers in Sialkot

http://www.khabrain.com/htmls/pg10.htm

Shame on him for lying

85. comment-top

@clhussain

I am very optimistic this time, whatever would happen elections or boycott, indemnity to Mush or not, we have first time in history have very good people from all walks of life voicing for justice, this pressure won’t lost in a couple of days, Why?

Because its been there for almost an year on the hearts & minds of people with a constant struggle. Hope is life & no one wants to lose life.

86. comment-top

Level of corruption in Election Commission - even Acting Chairman of Senate accepts that

http://www.khabrain.com/htmls/pg8.htm

What a pity for this nation

87. comment-top

You know why BB signed Charter of Democracy - becuase after deal with Musharraf and when she and Musharraf would come in power - under that Charter no one can ask army to get rid of her or Musharraf. What a clever trick she did and also she can now say - she was dealing with Musharraf who is no longer in army any more.

She believes people of Pakistan are all suffering from severe learning disability with IQ less than 25. Shame on her

88. comment-top

We have as a society travelled a very long journey from the traditional “roti kapra makan” slogan to “Insaaf” slogan.

See an ad in one of the newspaper from PMLN “ammun insaaf rozegaar”

This is in itself a great achievement, getting rid of false slogans of food & shelter.

89. comment-top

@clhussain

BB cannot become PM, it will be a dream atleast for a while.
    Unless PPP & PMLN get2/3 majority which is impossibe in the cureent scenario. None of the other parties would help PPP & PMLN to revert 17th amendment.

90. comment-top

@Tipu
    Regarding the Dawn article, Painful economic decisions await new govt, I fully agree with the statement thatPakistan economy, the growth of which was based on consumption led by a credit-card mindset rather than the fundamental economic principles of growth through saving, expansion and production. Have been preaching it for a while giving the analogy that all this “economic development” you see is like someone buying a house, car, 60″ LCD TV, new furniture, etc. and saying “Look at me — I’ve done so well.” Not only that, remember this person has no way of paying off the balance. In fact, to make the minimum payments on his credit card he has to sell of the items he really owned. Now that guy has already sold most of what he owned and soon (at most a year) he will have nothing left to sell to even make those minimum payments, let alone pay off any of the principal amount.
    That is where Pakistan stands today economically…

That’s where we are economically. What will be the fallout, we’ll all find out soon enough. What I can predict for the near future is expect cost-of-living to go up at least 50% by atart of 2009 and expect that percentage to double if the rupee is devalued — and it will be devalued drastically. What will be the fall out? you can all imagine. We are looking at a rough ride ahead…

91. comment-top

There is only one way - Kiyani has to come - whatever happens.

Now this is blasphemous!

92. comment-top

http://www.thenews.com.pk/daily_detail.asp?id=85172

Article by Zia’s grand sun. He works in a bank in London. He can talk about political situation. He also thinks that he come from a political family. List of idiots goes on and on in Pakistan.

93. comment-top

@commoner

Abrupt changes are always very dangerous whether its been for human beings or for digital world, the sideeffects of abrupt are so severe that we should never choose this path for aany solution to the nation as a whole.

Graduall changes have less number of side effects & more lasting as compared to the abrupt one.

So from me atleast at all costs I won’t support Kiyanis takeover, hes not representing the civil society, hes representing an institution & at the end institution will suffer.

So a big No from me.

94. comment-top

Arenot you guys reading too much into Atezaz’s statement. He has categorically stated else where that he is going to start the “Bus march” after the elections. Now this surely isnot something against the party line.
    For those who think AA is going to leave PPP I can only say that they are day dreaming. Atezaz can leave politics but not PPP. Ne is a jiyala.

95. comment-top

@Asif
    I can only say that expecting good from establishment means asking mercy from a serial killer.
    Mir kya sada hain bemar huee jis key sabab
    Usee utaar key loondey sey dawa mangtee hain

96. comment-top

@commoner

AA is a part of this struggle, Struggle is not centered aroung AA but civil society. So if a couple of people backout from their objective it won’t stop this struggle.
    So don’t centre around personalities whether they do right or wrong.

97. comment-top

@Asif and Commoner

So you think that Musharraf is going to give you everything on silver plate - a man who could play with all teh institutions of Pakistan whatever they are for his self - is never going to go - he came through violence and he has to go through violence like Zia did.

98. comment-top

@clhussain

If civil society wants to be a part of rule of law & justice, then the should be thru civil society otherwise whoever will bring the change it will be for his interests not for civil societys intersts.
    And I am very much clear abt it.

99. comment-top

@Asif
    Can we centre struggle in favour of the independence of the institution of Judiciary and just not be CJ centered?, meaning focussing on the institutions and not the personalities.

100. comment-top

NO to Kiani or any other COAS

MUSH has alredy done enough damage to the vital institution of Army by using against own people and hence has given enough ammunition to enemies of pakistan to defame this much needed institution .

If the people need decent Islamic republic of pakistan ,they should keep on struggling to get it .they should take just stand and should not follow any one blindly .we are all human beings including the political leaders ,do not give the political leaders the status of all mighty and never obey them blindly .

.The lawers movement and the refusal of brave judges has shown once again there is no shortage of good people who can stand for the right cause .

NO to ground realities and yes to the Just cause and stand

NO to short cuts and Yes to long and sustained struggle for the just cause

101. comment-top

Geo Ticker:

Most of the APDM leaders support the idea of participation in elections.

102. comment-top

@commoner

You may be right, but these are the individuals who made a point that Supreme court is an institution. If there are no individuals like Ramday, CJ, and Khawaja Sharif, then you get D0g@rs.

How will you build the institution?

103. comment-top

civil society is with Iftikhar Chaudhry, Why?

Because he stood for their rights & I am saying let the changes thru civil society not thru the danda, Danda will bring change not to favor civil society but for his own vested intersts.

104. comment-top

@clhussain
    The road to supremacy of civilian rule and judicial independence is long and hazardous and require sacrifices. The wish for a ready made solution or a short cut is misplaced and self-deceptive.

105. comment-top

@commoner

You are saying what Fazlu Diesal and Altaf Hussain says - this is just an excuse. CJ is the symbol of that judicairy - otherwise you can go for Do-gar also.

Independence of judiciary = what is its definition - can you tell me that.

to achieve indpendence teh first step should be to restore teh judiciary on Pre Nov 3 status. And then other steps would follow.

CJ is the hero of this nation and he is symbol of truth and rule of law. Dont try to undermine him.

It was his NO which brought all this and today we are conscious of our rights - otherwise he could have done a deal like Bennazir and Bezamir long ago and would have stayed in job until 2013.

So dont undermine his sacrifice OK. You are toeing the goverment line who is now saying to all judges - just dump Iftikhar Ch and we would reinstate you all.

106. comment-top

@econfused
    That is pecisely my point. Personalities are the brick and mortar of an institution. The strength of an institution can only be guaged by the strength of the people who are part of it.

107. comment-top

@ahson u are saying what Musharraf and BB are also saying - they also dont want that Kiyani should come and send them to gallows - thats why BB first signed Charter of Democracy to bind NS and then started negogiating with Musharraf and blackmailed him and tried to get benefit from him.

There is no doubt that army is still a major power player and whatever you do - they would still be there - so the best thing is to bring them on your side and make them realise that Musharraf is not their strength but a liability.

If you see the text of order passed by SC - last order by CJ Iftikhar - it asks army not to follow Musharraf and if Kiyani throws Musharraf out then he is following SC orders. He has absolutely valid reasons for that.

108. comment-top

commoner on December 9th, 2007 2:25 pm @clhussain
    The road to supremacy of civilian rule and judicial independence is long and hazardous and require sacrifices. The wish for a ready made solution or a short cut is misplaced and self-deceptive

This is in contradiction to your prevoius comments where you were proposing Kiyani for a change.

But thank you changed your mind. Thats it.