APDM fails to decide on boycott. PML (N) to contest polls.

20071209150028imran_qazi_nawaz_203.jpgAPDM fails to reach a consensus on election’s bycott. BBC reporting PML(N) has decided to contest polls . Earlier The News reported.

The APDM meeting held at the residence of former prime minister Nawaz Sharif concluded without reaching any conclusion regarding their participation in the upcoming elections.

Nawaz Sharif was chairing the meeting of an alliance of 33 opposition parties and political groups in the Lahore Sunday evening to decide whether to boycott Pakistan’s Jan 8 parliamentary polls.

However, they were unable to agree on whether to demand that around 60 Supreme Court and high court judges that Musharraf sacked last month be immediately reinstated.

Qazi Hussain Ahmed and Imran Khan maintained their stance to boycott the forthcoming elections and stressed that there would be no use of participating in the elections without restoration of judiciary and lifting of emergency in the country.

However, PML (N) leader Raja Zafarul Haq said after the meeting that the APDM would continue to remain in the country.

Earlier in the meeting, most of the participating political parties gave arguments in favour of taking part in the elections.

386 Comments »

Imran Khan Zinda baad !!!!
    Others are stupid enough. They should bycoot. In case PPP win the election then still they will work for independent judiciry as well. For that APDM doesnt need to be in parliment. APDM should have bycoot,No matter what result comes

Is it true that Musharraf asked Abdullah Gul to give him a house on a nude beach in Istanbul. Can Bilal Musharraf confirm this?

Altaf Hussain wants to join Musharraf too if that is true. Infact we’ll move the MQM headquarter from nine-zero to the the nude beach.

Aamir Altaf

Jeevay jeevay Altaf jeevay
    Geo Musharraf Geo

I think it is not unprecedented. Imran should also go in to elections if these guys go.

I think Imran Khan, Lawyers, students and other political parties who are boycotting the elections should immediately start their countrywide campaign to spread their message to masses that those who are participating are petraying the people of Pakistan and its judiciary.

And all those who are in favor of boycott must go to polling station on 8th January but put stamp on the back of the ballot paper.

@raj

Tiger doesn’t eat grass.

I beleive elections should be contested as a party of national reconciliation which would include APDM plus PPP. They would then contest polls against PML Q and MQM at both levels of legislators. MNAs and MPAs.

it is a sad news, that once again the political parties are going into fradulant elections. the best option was to boycott elections and launch a movement to restore judges. It means that all the western countries have put the pressure and again our leaders are ready to betray their nation. if the judges are not restored the nation will destroy. now its time for the nation to unite it self by not casting any vote in the elections and boycot personally. Imran bhai pls start the movement and ask the people if you are with the judges come out and save them and boycot elections, take this slogan and give politics of pakistan a new turn, if you lead today pakistan will be able to win another political world cup under your leader ship. all other politician are munafiq and we are with you and we are ready for a long war.

@maan.
    If what you have suggested above could happen (i.e. boycotts) that would be ideal. If it doesnt, then I am afraid tigers should eat grass.

Sometimes tigers do eat grass, to get their digestive system right for eating bigger prey.

@raj

Tiger never eats grass. Those who claim to be tigers but eat grass the time of need are actually not tigers but GOATS.

“TIGER NEVER EATS GRASS”

**EXAMPLES:
    Those who didn’t take oath under PCO i.e. Iftikhar Ch. and co.

Tigers prefer to die but never eat grass.

10. Syed Mansoor Shah Says:
    December 9th, 2007 at 6:59 pm

The ideal sitiuation is if the bycott is from all opposition parties including PPPP, PML (N), PTI, JI etc.
    Now, its only one month and the politicians should take in elections with IK, N Brothers as well as other reigonal parties. For these parties it is best chance to win as pple dont like Mush, PMLQ.
    With vote people can bring change and if APDM wins, they can restore the judeciary (I can hope although I am not 100% sure).

Elections on illegal basis could never bring a change. A day will come when the PPP, PML N and others would have to regret their decision.

Only those decisions of politicians are beneficial and fruitful for them which they take after feeling the pulse of their people not that of international pressure and other leaders.

12. Pakaviation Says:
    December 9th, 2007 at 7:04 pm

Well guys we all knew that there is no way that PPP, PMLN, JI, JIF, would have bycott the elections…

Imran should also participate in elections if he wants to continue to fight for the people as a solid voice insied and outside Pakistan or he will be left in isolation….

Or may be he is concerned about his One Seat Party….

mian nawaz shirf must have to take part in election, forget about this stupid imran khan and taga parties.

APMD is nothing but a cheal Drama. I don’t understand what makes then to not stand for truth. The truth is simple ” The Judiciary has been Slaughtered “, so just fight for the judiciary. Election and other thing are based on illeagle ACT and all ordinance after 3rd November are also illeage.
    Fuc**rs politicians looking for their interest not the interest of Pakistan.

shame on nawaz sharif. he has proven that he doesnt trust the people of pakistan, and that his own and his party interests are above the interests of the people. i salute imran khan and qazi sahab. i hope they maintain their stance throughout. they will always be remembered in golden words along with the honest judges who didnt take oath under PCO. musharraf altaf bb nawaz fazlu etc. they will soon be discarded into the dustbin of history, while only those who dont compromise on principles will be remembered as heroes. time will tell who was smart and who was stupid. bye bye nawaz, i supported him till now, but not anymore. he had the chance to become a national leader and he lost his chance.

ye politicians,general aur in ‘jiyalay’ aur ‘niwalay’ kuttay ki dum ki tarah kabhi seeday nahin hongay.

If NS had any shame he would atleast reflect on the statements he has been making over the past month, besharam kis moo say vote maangay ga. NS has backstabbed the lawyers movement, media, imran khan and the rest of the opposition (I wouldn’t be surprised if he shakes hands with Q League, this man has no principles), he might be suffering from amnesia but people will not forget.

As far as this ‘maidan khaali nahin chorain gay’ theory goes bhai phichlay election main to maidaan khaali nahin chora tha, konsa teer maar liya.

I am wondering how Javed Hashmi, Chaudhry Nisar Ali, Jhaghar and Raja Zafara Ullahq are going to defend their earlier statement that if Nawaz Sharif goes for election they would not be standing with him.

I am waiting for them particularly Javed Hashim to appear in some talk show and answer this question.

18. Iqbal Hussain Says:
    December 9th, 2007 at 7:16 pm

MUBARAK MUBARAK

MUSHRAF DID THE RIGHT WITH PAKISTANIS.

BECAUSE IF AT THIS STAGE POLITICAL PARTIES ARE NOT GET TOGETHER THEN MUSHRAF HAS THE RIGHT TO DO SUCH THINGS.

YESTERDAY I TOLD YOU PEOPLE THAT NAWAZ WILL TAKE PART AND NEXT I AM GOING TO BREAK THE NEWS THAT ATIZAZ IS GOING TO TAKE PART IN THE ELECTION.
    LONG LIVE MUSHRAF
    LONG LIVE EMERGENCY
    MURDABAD PAKISTANI POLITICIANS

today i have lost the tiny little hope i had in our political parties, they are all the same, democracy is only a game of interests and power, none of these bast*ards have any principles. nawaz gave us some hope that maybe he has changed, but all these people care about is coming into power. God help Pakistan

I am very much disappointed by NS decision and I think and believe in the long run Imran Khan would prove to be right. It is just a matter of time - thats all.

@ Traffic

We are going to have new leadership. Old leadership is putting last nails in their coffins by their mistakes.

People of Pakistan are making their minds for new leaders like Imran Khan and lawyers leadership.

This whole political phenomenon will take certain time to get finished.

I am waiting to listen two old politician to get clear
    1. Aitzaz Ahsan
    2. Javed Hashmi

They have been speaking a lot. Now it s time for them to show which side they are going to align.

In politics,Polititions do not close the doors or take extreme actions what Mr. Imran Khan has done.I do like Imran and always prefer to others But asdly he has to learn a lot and he will be a good politition Inshallah.Please do remember when PPP boycot the election during 1985 and the result was non-political forces became dominent in the parliament.Therefore never leave a space for these forces to occupy this vaccum created by immeture decition of boycot.Politics is not something idealism.I never consider NS as a national level politition rather I consider him either proncial Or district level.Imran has the capacity to lead this nation But he has to go till NS and BB make more mistakes.Also Imran should learn that the politics of conforntation does not work as this lesson can be taken from JI.JI was never able to get more than 2% votes.The reason is simple that the public do like confrontation for the time beig.
    MH

23. Wajid Malik Says:
    December 9th, 2007 at 7:26 pm

May Allah give us wisdom and we get the courage to stand for our principles.

When leadership is confused what you can expect from the rest? By the way I am not sure if they are confused. I believe BB has under hand deals with Mush that is why she is clearly NOT demanding the restoration of judges. In charter of demands, when it came to restoration of judges, she left for Dubai.

Opposition remained divided throughout 5 years. At some times, MMA stabbed and at other times PPP stabbed. Can you talk of a single incident when PML N sided with Govt. or compromised on any point whether it was 17th amendment or charter of democracy.

What did PML N get from the principle stand? The opposition never even demanded for end of NS exile. No body gave any weightage to the sacrifice of Saeed uz Zaman Siddiqui and other 5 SC judges who refused to take oath under PCO in 1999.

Today again if NS boycotted, he will be made history and he will be stabbed again. He has to face difficult situation and from the election he will not get the Govt. but what ever resources, he will have, he will continue his opposition and will stand against Mush and fellow generals. He will keep the struggle alive for the restoration of judges. I am sure even after going in assemblies, BB will never demand the restoration of judges. BB and Q League together will legalize the Nov. 3 action of Mush with 2/3rd majority in case PML N boycotts. As in case of boycott, no one will stop them from getting the 2/3rd majority in assembly.

I am in favor of boycott only if PPP boycotts because otherwise the boycott will NOT be meaningful and will definitely go against PML N. There is no other party boycotting which has that big following in masses.

It is good to know that Jamat Islami and Imran Khan are doing good.

This sentence “Maidan Khulla chorna” is exactly the same meanings which Musharaf use all the times to cheat Pakistan “Sab Sai Pehlai Pakistan”.

Agar judges chahtai tu woh bhee PCO kai tehat half utha kar medan khulla na chortai in corrupt judges kai liay

but they didn’t and now every one can see how much respect they are getting from TRUE PAKISTANIS.

If these politician are sincere to the nation they must leave this musical chair game, and not compromise on basic principal.

[Only solution for this nation is we all should do TOBA (Isthigfar) on our wrong doings and try our best to keep away from wrong doings. i.e. we should do MUHASABA ourselves first.]

this is all part of the “brotherly advice” that king abdullah of saudi arabia gave to nawaz, all bold statements and everything else was a drama. these politicians and generals only care about themselves, and keep making fools of the people, and our so-called “friends” in the international community are equally to blame for our miseries. i hope the lawyers, journalists, students and civil society keeps up the struggle against these generals and politicians, the people fully support them. inshallah we will see revolution in pakistan. we cant get rid of these bast*rds otherwise. if we dont stand up now then its another roller-coster ride of alternations between army and “democracy” for the next 60 years as well. same wine new bottle.

I still remember and now understand Justice Wajih Statement that there will be another election within next 6 months.
    I am sure Jan 8 election will happen and resultant partliment will not get along with
    Musharuf because it will have Musharaaf Foes and also riging allegations.
    Secondly, Any american govt (Musharaf & team) cannot handle law and order like attack on on PAF base in Peshawar yesterdays. This team will have more foes in general public rather than freinds.
    Any genuine anti american party (like PTI) will have good chance in that case.
    Imran is playing for long term gains rather than short term gains. Goow Work PTI.

@MH

There is a hell of difference between the circumstances of 1985 and those of current political era.

At that time 60% real judges where on not under house arrest. At that time the people of Pakistan where not conscious about their judiciary. At that time BB and NZ had not been exposed because of their corruption, deals and double standards.

At that time PPP came in power with force in succeeding election and now PPP is going to out forever due to it participation in elections to rescue at bloody martial dictator.

Believe me, this is political death of those who are going to participate in election not those who are boycotting.

People of Pakistan are quite sharp and wise and honor only those who deserve.

Who knows Iftikhar Ch. before 9th March but when stood for right this nation ’s support for him surprised the whole world.

Who knows Mr. Jinnah. He lived most of his life in G. Britain. He wasn’t able to even speak clear Urdu but when this nation knew he is sincere they supported and stood with him unprecedentedly.

This is the election which is going to held with a murder of judiciary, and parties which will participate in this election will also be the murderer like Musharraf and pro Mushrraf parties.

Now the best thing to do by the popular democratic forces is to form a loose alliance or do seat adjustments against the PMLQ to effectively isolate Musharraf and try to get as many seats as possible in the future parliment. This would be tantamount to pushing back the frontiers of establishment in the corridors of power.

“Brutus, you too”.

The only legal way - and I repeat legal way of removing Musharraf is coup by Gen Kiyani - because SC has already sanctioned that - these political parties dont have guts to stand up to Musharraf and they are following dictates of the foreign governments.

maan i agree with you hundred percent. I take my words back about supporting NS for participating in the elections. This is very different from 1985 and plus in that within three years BB was in power in 1988.

But remember one thing - 1985 gave us a very good Prime Minister - Junejo - may Allah bless him - who single handedly did for Pakistan then BB could do.

BB is power hungry politician - no doubt about that.

@ maan

i have to disagree with your claim that people of pakistan always honour their heroes. jinnah died while waiting hours for an ambulance. liaqat ali khan was killed. bhutto was hanged(if u can call him a hero for starting our nuclear program). AQ Khan was humiliated in front of the nation on TV and then put under house arrest for the rest of his life. nawaz sharif(only considering him for detonating nuclear bombs) was sentenced and sent into exile. our tribal people who liberated azad kashmir for us, they are being killed ercilessly today. bengalis who took important part in the pakistan movement were killed in millions and discriminated against before they seperated. our national hero chief justice chaudhry was humiliated and twice shown the door for speaking the truth and providing justice. our lawyers and journalists are beaten brutally whenever they protest. i can go on and on. we have never EVER given due respect and honour to our heroes. if the people cared and honoured our heroes, they would have done something for them. soon chief justice will also be forgotten after elections. we have to change ourselves as a nation, i can see that change coming. for the first time we are standing up for our rights and are aware of them. these politicains havent realized that this is a changed pakistan, that is why they are continuing with their old tactics. soon inshallah we will bring an end to all of this crap. Allah doesnt change the condition of a people until they change themselves, inshallah i can see the change coming. lets pray that the struggle continues until we reach our goal.

I just spoke to a journalist friend of mine in Pakistan. He had some valid points.

He said:

1. Imran Khan is not after a few seats. Even if he contests these elections, he will win a few (maybe 6/7) seats and he will be as powerless as he was after 2002 elections.

2. Imran has some principles. He is paving his way for a considerable vote bank. He can get more VOTES than MQM even now (a few thousand in 70%) of constituencies but that will not translate into many seats in the Parliament.

3. NS has his own problems. If he leaves everything open for Chaudhries without BB’s boycott, he runs the risk of losing many more people to Qenchi (Q) league.

4. BB has some promises from some quarters that she will retain most of her traditional seats. That is why she has to fight too.

5. Imran Khan is after a big scale victory/power that could make him in charge. He will not compromise because then he cannot deliver the promises he has made.

My friend thinks (and I agree) that biggest long term winner is Imran Khan who is not only building a long term credibility but he doesn’t seem to care what other parties are doing. Biggest losers are Chaudhries who find it very difficult to win without state assistance and no party is willing to accept them.

In the world of globalization how come our leaders have their own say. Our history is not as strong as Irans’. We have still not figure out where our history starts from - Bin Qasim or thousands years before? who is son of soil?

Clhussian: as an alternative to your suggestion, I would suggest you to read todays’ column of Javed Ch. in express.com.pk

Instead, we have to stand up ourselves.

So after the question of polls is settled , I would like to put few questions:
    1. Would Mad dictator allow PPP+PML(N) allow 40%-50% seats in National Assembly (i.e. 108-136 seats)?
    2. Would PPP settle for less than 125 seats (PPP took 59 seats in 2002) in National Assembly.
    3. What will be the PML(N) factor in Punjab. In election 2002 took 16 seats in National Assembly majority of them from Punjab, it took 28 provincial seats in Punjab.
    4. What will be the impact of election’s fever on movement for restoration of Judges.
    5. How much furious will be the outcry of rigging after the election.
    6. Is the mad dictator (read army) in complete control of the situation now.

I will try to answer these questions later on and may ask the admin to put these questions as separate discussion threads.

@ clhussain

sorry bro, but you are still looking towards kayani for a change. we have to change our mindset, the army should have no role in our politics. kayani musharraf etc. they are all the same, all power-hungry and money-hungry generals. the army’s job is to defend our borders, not to interfere in our politics or to kill our own people. please do not put any hopes on kayani, he has his loyalties to america foremost, just like musharraf.

Tehrik -e- Insaaf is doing right by not taking part. There is no point winning a few seats.

Imran should go all the way and mobilise more and more people. He should start an education charity. He will benefit the most from education masses.

I think not taking part in these sham elections is a right decision.

I understand that PML N was forced to take that decision for survival reason.

But it is a right time to join Imran khan’s party because it is the party of future.

40. peterpan773 Says:
    December 9th, 2007 at 8:06 pm

@clhussain
    First of all we have to understand Musharraf being President is supreme commander of armed forces.Kiyani sits in GHQ and traditionaly COAS orders Corps commander Rawalpindi which is 10th Corps to send troops to take control of PTV,Prime minister house,Presindent house etc etc.For which 111 brigade has become famous.Right now Musharraf can dismiss Kiyani any time he feels threatened.AS long he has his loyalist controling two key positions besides COAS which are Head of ISI and 10th corps commander he feel safe.
    Its always a combination of COAS, corps commmander 10th corps, and few other senior corps commanders who can take any action.
    In my opinion Kiyani is in no position to implement supreme court order against PCO.

Imran Khan is STUPID.

He SHOULD fight the elections otherwise it is the end of political career.

*his political career

@ Feroz

Imran Khan knows what he is doing. He says that winning a few seats is not gonna make much difference and this will destroy his traditional principles approach.

Since you are intelligent, why don’t you go and take part in elections. Calling others stup*d proves that YOU ARE MAD.

44. Wajid Malik Says:
    December 9th, 2007 at 8:14 pm

I wish Imran Khan and Nawaz Sharif had gone in lections together.

@ Feroz

He thinks big.

Where you stop thinking he starts much beyond that point.

@ Ahmed Bhai

“e tu brutus”

Wajid Malik on December 9th, 2007 7:26 pm
    has done some good and very sensible analysis above. I urge people to read these comments

48. Wajid Malik Says:
    December 9th, 2007 at 8:20 pm

Boycott is the best option as far as Imran Khan is concerned.

Contesting elections is best option for Nawaz Sharif as he has to strengthen his party for future by using his vote bank.

Q1. Would Mad dictator allow PPP+PML(N) allow 40%-50% seats in National Assembly (i.e. 108-136 seats)?

Ans: In the last election (2002) , PPP won 59 seats and PML(N) won 18 , so the total was 77 seats, this time the equation is very different , PPP believes that they are very popular and in 2002 there was heavy rigging , so if the elections are supposedly “free and fair” it deserves more than 100 seats , since Nawaz Sharif is now in Pakistan and will be leading the campaign, and the western opinion polls suggest that Nawaz Sharif is very popular in Punjab hence PML(N) thinks that they will have significantly more seats in this election.
    But the question is can the mad dictator afford to give that many seats to PPP+PML(N) , the answer is “NO” , mad dictator has committed many mistakes and he has not yet committed the ultimate mistake yet. So I believe PPP is going to get 80-90 seats in the coming election with PML(N) staying the same , PML(Q) will get arround 130 seats.

Real politics should reflect the aspirations of the people not the politicians own lust for power. the proponents of this ‘khula maidaan’ theory have only one objective in their mind and that is to seize power at the earliest (isay kehtay hain aankh main soor ka baal ana).

we are proud of everyone of these judges, lawyers, media persons, rights activist, member of the civil society and politicians who are standing firm for civil rights,justice, and true democracy that protects the peoples intrests (not their own). they have acheived far more in these 9 months than those lotas ever did. these politicians may fool themselves but it was the lawyers movement that forced musharraf on his knees, were it not for these great judges and lawyers ye lotay politicians aaj pakistan main wapas tak nahin a saktay thay. the lawyers and medias movement for freedom exists independant of these lotas and they would do well by not forgetting that musharrafs downfall began when he tried to mess with the judiciary and media (seems every premier make this mistake before their political demise ).

Now it depends on the real mood of the people, how they would go for protests with IK or go for elections.

This is in itslef very good food for thought to the people(would enhance their political awareness)

And its always good to make people politically aware so that they can decide better next time.

@peterpan

Try to understand - Musharraf is an illegal president as he has no basis for his election - so if Kiyani orders removal of Musharraf then army would follow Kiyani and not Musharraf. Musharraf has no right to dismiss Kiyani because he is an illegal President himself.

True it would depend on teh conditions in teh country - if they go from bad to worse - it can happen and army can decide as an institution to act together and act fast.

If Musharraf was so powerful he would have never removed his uniform. Inwardly he is very very weak but it is an outside facade which makes him act.

53. comment-top

Politics is not about careers, it’s about service and commitments to the people.

Many of you may disagree, but i stand by both Imran Khan and Nawaz Sharif. Imran Khan would carry on a movement outside parliment against Musharraf, where as Nawaz Sharif can stop a 2/3rd majority of PML Q and thus stop them legalizing the stupid PCO.

I think under the current circumstances, that’s the best package. Remember this country is still largely driven by Army. We can not afford by any means to give a FREE hand to the hand-picked political people of Army.

So pressure from outside parliment by Imran Khan + Qazi + Lawyers, and then from with in parliment by PML(N) would be good.

54. comment-top

@Malek

No doubt, NS took a right decision to protect his own interests, his family ’s politics and that of his party but where do Pakistan and its people stand?

And what about the statements and loud claims he made during his visit to Ramday and Khawaja Sharif?

Real leaders never behave like that but they stand and honor their words.

55. comment-top

It’s disappointing that all the opposition parties failed to unite together to bycott the polls unless the restoration of judiciary, but not this is not the end of the game. There is a second option available which can be exercised to achieve the above mentioned goals. That is; All the opposition parties should join their hands and contest the polls with one common goals to defeat MQM and PML-Q group. After gaininig two third majority in the parliament, two fundamental objectives can be fulfilled as follows.
    . elect new president
    . restore independent judiciary
    . Reinstate all the judges.

In my opinion, Mush will leave if MQM and PML-Q are defeated. He has expressed his views clearly and has indicated his intention to leave if the parliament was not of his choice. This was during his recent interview with foreign media.

So I feel that contesting polls is the second best choice and we must proceed with full force and in complete harmony and unity. This is not the time to be passimistic, but rather optimistic and we must continue to explore all the options in favour of victory. Too much is at stake now. Our Pakistan is in deep trouble and we have to come to his rescue. So cheer up guys and continue your good work.

56. comment-top

PTI did gave a add in newspapers for candidates but then decided to boycott may be due to unavailability of good candidates. JI has again asked for a combined election symbol with JUI(F) which indicates that they may contest polls. If JI can not leave Fazlu who want to contest and APDM can not can not convince PPP and ANP then why should every body boycott? The election is important for future course of action. Q0league should not get 2/3rd majority or they will ruin every thing.

57. comment-top

We should all be proud of IK becuase their is one Pakistani who is not willing to compromise on principles. Winning and losing is from Allah our job is to stand up for justice which Imran rightly did. May Allah be merciful to our nation.
    Imran did what Tipu Sultan said.
    “It is far better to live like a Tiger for a day than to live like a jackal for a hundred years”.

58. peterpan773 Says:
    December 9th, 2007 at 8:35 pm

@pega
    If Musharraf had become president legally (perhaps by ammending constitution by making deal with BB)He would have had no interest in the coming election as long BB doesnt come with a majority.
    Now he has no choice but to have Q league and allies in the assembly.His Biggest problem is to get indemnity for his illegal acts.
    Unfirtunately we are in same situation when Zia had to get indmnity after election by passing 8th ammendment.And Musharraf had to pass 17th.
    After taking illegal acts now He is desperate and does not feel safe.He needs a parliment to validate all his actions.
    There is one important thing to mention.This was not an american plan.They wanted liberals read BB come in the parliment to give Musharraf credibilty by giving
    grass root support to fight terrorism.
    NOw Musharraf took this action to save his presidency.And every thing changed.
    This is not what USA wanted. USA does not want Musharraf to run the country with the help of Q league since they have no grass root support hence not fit to carry on the fight against terrorism.
    Therefore I see a conflict of interest here.
    USA wants BB and other liberal to come in the power.But Musharraf priority is to have a parliment who can cover up his illegal acts.

59. Tanweer Amjad Says:
    December 9th, 2007 at 8:39 pm

The environment is being settled in favour of elections which were considered very illegitimate a couple of weeks back. I think people should stay awake as to what is going on around.
    Thousands attended NS rallies in abbottabad Gujranwala and other cities, but very few while visiting Chief Justice of Pakistan Iftikhar Chaudhry.
    All NS supporters should come behind Imran Khan or any other leader whatever party who could work solely for restoration of judiciary.
    They should collaborate with universities all over Pakistan, excluding Karachi… we don’t want to repeat May 12.
    Can any PPP supporter show the list of the party martyrs on its site or any forum, because they have been mentioning a lot in public. i want to know how really were they important for them.

60. comment-top

Let see the battle between the protestants bank & vote banks.

That will decide our future path…..So we will have to wait a bit to see the difference.

By coming into lime-light & keeping himself commited to his words, IK may or may not secure more support, time will decide.

But atleast he is successful in creating political awareness among people in general & students in particular.

61. comment-top

@Arshad

That ’s the spirit. Every Pakistani should think like that.

Keep your morale high as Qauid said:

“Musalmaan Musibat main ghabraya nahi kerta”

62. comment-top

URGENT and Very Very Important:

Dear Friends,

Lawyers have been in the centre of the present constitutional and judicial crisis. For standing up for the rule of law and for raising their voice many lawyers were detained and hundreds imprisoned. Lawyers as a community have also boycotted the PCO judges, this being their most commendable sacrifice as it directly affects their livelihood.

Lawyers’ movement rests on the fight for the rule of the law and restoration of judges. This entails imprisonment, detention and non- appearance before the PCO judges which has a sizable economic cost.

Keeping this urgent need in view, CITIZENS FUND FOR LAWYERS IN DISTRESS (FUND) has been formed with the objective to help and provide a sustenance fund for the need based lawyers and their families. This support also ensures that the Movement continues through thick and thin.

The Fund is supervised by three most credible names in the legal profession namely: Mr. ABID H MINTO, DR. PARVEZ HASSAN AND Mr. ANWAR KAMAL. The Disbursement Committee is headed by MR. ANWAR KAMAL and to date Rs 1.2 million has been disbursed to the deserving lawyers and their families.

We need more funds to keep the movement alive and in this movement lies the future of Pakistan and the future of our children.

Please come forward and donate generously !!!!

Kindly contact SAIMA KHAWAJA, Advocate High Court - cell 0300-8414843 off: 5870300-3 or the undersigned for your donations.

With personal warm regards,

Syed Mansoor Ali Shah
    Advocate Supreme Court of Pakistan
    0300-8459240
    Off: 5870300-3

Source : Emergency Times
    http://pakistanmartiallaw.blogspot.com/
    =====================

I urge all me fellow readers on this blog to contact the above numbers and possibly make as much donations as possible. I have not yet contacted these numbers as it will be late night now in Pakistan , but plan to do so as soon as possible.

63. Wajid Malik Says:
    December 9th, 2007 at 8:42 pm

@Maan

NS did every thing to convince PPP to boycott but he failed as BB is NOT agreed on restoration of judges.

Charter of demand failed just because of this main point by NS.

Still NS is very clear on this point. He stands for the restoration of judges.

You have talked about people of Pakistan. Can you tell me in how many protests have you joined in?

I have NOT seen more than a few hundred people in protests for the restoration of judges. People wnat every thing done without any effort and they are sleeping at home.

Had people been on roads, definitely politicians would have got strength from them and had gone for boycott?

Still its NOT late. People should come out. The day 2 lac people joined a protest in Islamabad, Mush will have no option but to go home and judges will be on their seats.

64. comment-top

Though I am with everyone who is against present regime, my sympathies are with Imran Khan. He is a man of his words. Having said that I would also not criticize PML-N for going into elections. I know in an ideal world everybody should have boycotted the elections, but unfortunately nothing is ideal in our country. Mrs. Zardari,Molana Diesel, and Lotas of Q-league would surely side with Musharraf in the next assemblies and would provide cover for whatever this mad dictator did on 3rd November. Let’s wait and see how do the elections go, if they are remotely free and fair then all Lotas will be found in Lorry-adda toilets and not in assemblies and Mrs. Zardari will get a one way ticket to Dubai or to Washington.

65. comment-top

Great!

This should have been done much earlier.

I must suggest they should set up a system to make donations online. It will be convenient for those living abroad.

66. comment-top

Nawaz Sharif LOTA.

67. comment-top

Long Live the Tiger, The Future of Pakistan.

One by one all the dark horses have been exposed.

The future belongs to the tiger.

Nawaz calls himself a leader??? He doesn’t have any vision. He’s the incompetent guy who promoted Musharraf to Army Chief. What a big blunder it was! Never again should he be in power again.

Everyone knows the elections are going to 80% rigged. These PML idiots will ” Jutay bhi Kha layenghay aur hath mein mein kuch nahin bachay ga”.

With what face will PML go the public after being humililated in the elections? Their answer is going to be ” we told you so, even the idiots knew no one should have taken part in illegal and farce elections.

I think this is a massive blunder and suicide on their part. Saudi Arabnia, UK or USA is not going to cast them the votes when they will have to face the music from the public.

How was Nawaz asking the crowd at Anarkali whether they wanted a boyocott and what he will tell them now.

Only a complete idiot would made such a blunder.

Write off PML as well now.

68. comment-top

@maan
    I shall be contacting them first thing in the morning and will find out the ways to make the donation. However everybody is welcome to contact them directly as mentioned in the message.

69. comment-top

I hope Javed Hashmi is invited to all talk shows and shown the clip from Capital Talk on footpath where he made all the tall claims.

70. comment-top

as I have said before, there is no way PML and PPP boycott election this is the deal they have done with MUSH.
    Qazi and Imaran will be nobody if they boycott after the elections.
    There is ot good option but boycott the elections is the worst thing any politition can do to its carrier right now.

71. comment-top

@Athar

Time has changed many things in Pakistan in for the past one year, so who knows whose move is good or bad before Jan8th night.

72. comment-top

Imran Khan’s decision is 100% right. He is the voice of principles and integrity.

NS does get a little credit for trying very hard to convince BB and Fazlu. He shoud have boycotted any way.

Imran Khan didn’t tarnish his image for a few seats.

TO ALL:

Please support that Lawyers Fund above. Put your money to the cause you have been supporting.

Remember you are securing the future of your children and their children. It is a price worth paying for!

73. comment-top

There were no elections in the history of Pakistan which were fair.Every single one was riged one way or another.
    But if you can see from history any boycott from any party does not effect anything. No one count how many people sitting at home.
    One way in recent history any opposition manage to bring change is gathering million people on the streets.
    orange, Yellow, or green revoloutions all of them are done by people in the street and lets just face it restoration of Judiciary is not something which bring people out of there homes.

74. comment-top

Ordeal of Munir A Malek at Attock Jail.

“It was psychological torture to the worst degree,” says Munir A Malik, former President Supreme Court Bar Association (SCBA), talking about his three-week ordeal in prison before he was belatedly taken to hospital with renal failure. “It can drive a person insane to be lying on a bed staring at the ceiling for 16 hours.”
    Malik was arrested on Nov 3 from his hotel room in Islamabad. His colleague Justice (retired) Tariq Mahmood (who also got ill in prison) was with him earlier. Both had just reached Islamabad when they heard about the emergency. Expecting the arrest, Malik waited in his hotel room with the door open. The police arrived at about 10.30pm and took him to Kohsar police station where he deposited his cell phone. He arrived at Adiala Jail at 3am, half an hour after Aitzaz Ahsan.
    The following day the superintendent said Malik was being transferred “to a ‘better class’, by which he meant B Class. Aitzaz threatened to bang his head against the wall until it bled if they removed me. They left.”
    The superintendent was transferred, having apparently lost the trust of the agencies running the show. “The new Superintendent had a Taliban-style beard and no moustache,” says Malik. “He is the man who was Yusuf Raza Gillani’s, [PPP Leader] nemesis when he was in Jail. I was woken up at 2am and told he wanted to see me. We woke up Aitzaz. Hameed Gul (who was brought in with his son that day) offered to go with me, but I said no, Aitzaz is my leader. The superintendent said I was being transferred to Attock. Aitzaz again wanted to resist, but I refused. They would have taken me by force.”
    At around 3am, Malik was put in a police mobile along with Siddique-ul-Farooque, [PML Leader], who was being sent to Bahawalpur Jail — via Attock! Farooq had to endure the bumpy four-hour long ride to Attock, plus many more hours to Bahawalpur in the south. It was bitterly cold. The prisoners did not have adequate clothing. They arrived at Attock at 6.30 am, where plainclothesmen took Malik through a side gate, and into a room.
    “Inside was a mean-looking fellow, weighing about 200 pounds, with a shawl over his shoulders. He thumped his chest and said, ‘You know who I am? I am the person against whom the first suo moto action was taken’ [i.e. by Chief Justice of Pakistan]. He wanted to know where Hamid Khan (another former SCBA President) was — he had said that if Musharraf’s uniform would have to be peeled off if it was a ’second skin’.”
    Uniformed policemen searched Malik so thoroughly “that if they had been looking for a needle in a haystack they would have found it.” He was glad he had removed his money from his socks and handed it in (it was deposited into his account). He was finger printed and photographed like a criminal. Plainclothesmen then took him to the old part of the jail to an area marked ‘Maut-yafta qaidiyon ke liye’ - for prisoners condemned to death. “There was no one else there. They opened a cell and pushed me in.” The cell was bare, with a high ceiling and a concrete slab for a bed. Malik was provided a rough blanket, a rug and a pillow.
    “At 8.30am, someone brought a bucket of tea and raw ‘nan’ (bread) which they offered through the bars. I refused it, saying I was on hunger strike — that is something I learnt from Aitzaz, as a very effective means of protest in jail. I told them I was not a criminal; I was brought there under preventive detention, not charged with any offence.”

Source: Emergency Times

75. comment-top

@Athar

Just look at the slogan of PLMN, it contains three words & one of them is Insaaf, to whom hes gonna make fool.

76. comment-top

Well
    http://www.bbc.co.uk/urdu/pakistan/story/2007/12/071209_floor_crisis_fz.shtml

Flour issue now in Sindh after Sarhad.
    This is something which people can relate to.

77. comment-top

@Athar

This “Aata” buhran is again created to divert the peoples focus from Insaaf to roti.
    Again things are changed & keep on changing.
    So no more food & sheltre slogans will work. come out from 88-99 era, its 2007.

78. comment-top

We were told and we thought that NS is a different man altogether…… Ahhhh it was wrong. Who is better Fazlu or NS? One was straightforward from the first day (if all opposition boycott we will also boycott) or the other ( even if they make Shabaz PM, we will boycott…..only and only till the judiciary is at Nov 2nd position.

79. Tanweer Amjad Says:
    December 9th, 2007 at 9:19 pm

I think this flour issue has been created to make PPP slogan more pronounce in Sind, after all Sind is the province where PPP will like to have her maximum number of seats in national assembly. the deal is working in a continuous way.
    I have the feeling NS will the biggest loser in this game, no support after the blunder of taking part in elections. Remember his supporters would never react, they would prefer staying at home, or might divert to some other independent effort afterall they are not blind.

80. comment-top

Support lawyers movement. We might change the dynamics of our political system through lawyers.

81. comment-top comment-bottom
  82. comment-top

The lawyers should set up a fund in which we can pay from abroad and Inshallah millions would go in - we would not let lawyers go without any job inshallah.

83. comment-top

IK is holding a meeting with all the parties(boycotted ones) to decide how they will move forward for the restoration of judiciary.

NS tried to hack the movement of justice by having photo shoots with the deposed judges & showing his solidarity with them, but when it came to actions, the same old lame excuses (won’t leave the field open)

Lets see the reaction of the people, as everything is crystal clear now.

84. comment-top

I believe today is very bright day for pakistan. As it has cleared to whole nation that who are the one who only talk and misguid people and who are the one who simply ACT.

I had a hope that Nawaz sharif would learn lessons from his PAST and will not contest in elections. I had a hope that he will lead masses in the right direction by defying the WRONG thing. But He showed that he is also one of those politicians who only talk and do actions for their own benefits.

This day is very bright day, this day inshallah will bring new leaders in our country. As Every one knows that leaders are not born in days it takes years and i believe imran khan is going through that process. He has faced hardships and in those tough times he knew where his future lies so he remained firm on stance. May be his is not well known in villages and remote areas but with expanding influences of Media we will see that in next 5 to 6 six years all thse SHIT politicians like NAWAZ and SHAHBAZ will be vanished and only those leaders who stood firm on their stance will be in peoples hearts and mind.

We all should be ready for tough 3 to 4 years head. This period will be very low in our history but as we all know every nations rise from the deep low points in their history. May be these coming years are very low periods of Pakistan and from that point onward may be we see light of hope.

85. comment-top

Musharraf zindabaad. He should throw these fake politicians out. Death to Nawaz Sharif

86. comment-top

Be prepared for Javed Hashmi to join IK in the next 48 hours. I have heard from reliable sources, this is being ironed out right at this point.

The stumbling point at this moment is the fact that Hashmi do not want to let go of eliminating g a y Sheikh Rashid from Rawalpindi. But his friends are telling him that Mush has planned a victory at any cost for the g a y ba stard.

Be prepared for the news.

BYe BYE NS abd SS.

87. comment-top

WOW…look at these clowns (mullahs, sharifs and Mrs. Zardari) they cannot agree on any one thing, they are afraid of each others shadows.

Oh, what is Imran Khan going to do now ? wait another five years ? by that time no body is going to know who he is. He had all this momentum going for him but as usual his JAZBAT took over.

Believe it or not Musharraf knows what he is doing. All these clown are going commit suicide (politically) pretty soon.

GEO MUSH

88. ZUBAIR ALAM Says:
    December 9th, 2007 at 10:02 pm

People of Pakistan should open their eyes to the foolishness of all the so called politicians in this meeting. The only credible person in the room is Imran Khan who is loosing his credibility day by day by sitting in the laps of Mullahs and illiterate industrialists. I think he would serve Pakistan better by being the head of BCCP. All those who think about him as the future Prime Minister need to have their head examined. In the dirty political field of Pakistan, hypocrisy and back stabbing is name of the game. He will totally get ruined by all these enemies of Pakistan who can’t even decide whether they want to contest the upcoming elections or not. Pakistan is totally set to doom if any of these politicians ever get elected for office. Wake up Pakistani people and save Imran from these blood thirsty lizards.

89. comment-top

Mark my words PML-N will suffer the heaviest defeat ever, how can mush allow them to get a majority; the combinations in parliament will be PPP with JUI and other small paties of sindh Vs PML-Q with MQM, parliament will be a hung one and these Ganja brothers will be left gaping after seeing BB as the prime minister. I saw that many lawyers have joined PTI so IK hasn’t really lost.

90. imran malik Says:
    December 9th, 2007 at 10:04 pm

put yourself on NS and BB and Fazlu shoes and think for a moment…..

they all have dubious pasts….if they choose the right path now then they would have to suffer for what they did before….they have murder charges,corruption charges against them….they all have been the part of establishment and now its too late for them to go against establishement…..

if they some how decide to go by the principles then they will face the trials and will go to behind the bars….

its too late for them to take a stand on principles…

imran can take stand on principles bc he doesnt have many skeletons up in his closets except sex scandals…….

91. comment-top

Well I was not very much optimistic but I had to give a chance to NS but he proved to be corrupt politician agian. I still have the hopes with IK and lawyers and civil society. Lets see how IK can mobalise the masses. I am sure NS and BB will try to obstract them. IK can work with JI and they can lead the nation and can protest and can stop these illegal election by helping deposed justices.

92. comment-top

@ Tareq Khan

It is understandable if you don’t like NS, but by saying Mus Zindabad you have proven that you are agent of the same people Mush represent.

Proof of Pervaiz Musharraf’s JEWISH CONNECTION

http://jang.com.pk/jang/dec2007-daily/09-12-2007/america.htm

This is very influential Worldwide organisation that gave Mush Award and other receivers of award include SALMAN RUSHDIE.

93. imran malik Says: