Better Pakistan - 10 December 07

Latest edition of Better Pakistan discussing current crisis and situations in Pakistan.

[audio:better-pakistan-10-dec-07.mp3]

abdm.jpg

This program can be download in MP3 format here

47 Comments »

Sorry GM,
    you fail to convince me. I found this talk was more out of bias then logic.
    To all those who think NS participation in election is going to do any good, plz read the following article:
    http://www.thenews.com.pk/top_story_detail.asp?Id=11649

I second khanzadgai

And also watch Mairey Mutaabik hwich made clear to you who is with civil society & who is not.

GM ur too immature to analyse, you realy need to understand what a civil society is & what is its role. So do listen todays Mairey Mutaabik.

I sometimes wish that Mush stay in power for another 5 years. It will be a good lesson for BB & NS.

Then I think of the country and pray for a miracle to happen so that our Fauj leaves us alone!!!

5. Khan BANGASH Says:
    December 11th, 2007 at 3:30 am

who the heck is this GM?
    Is it General Musharaf GM?

Please I cant even listen to GM. He was just trying to justify NS moves. To me there is no difference between PPP and NS and I strongly believe that the deals with NS was that his party has to take part in election without him and than it will be assured that who ever will win Mush can manipulate them according to his needs. What surpised me is Javed Hashmi how he can face public now.

@Kami

Miracles do happen, & the civil societys awakening after March9 is commendable. And its still going on with the same pace in spite of media black out.

These people are mixing the civil society with the masses, they need to watch Mairey Mutaabik to understand it.

A very good episode in order to understan civil society

Admn please upload Mondays Mairey Mutaabik with Talat Masood & others. This will help the people here to understand the difference between Civil Society & Masses.

I am still positive. Less than 4 weeks are left in SHAM elections. Musharraf can’t help but to rig them. In case BB & NS win the elections, Mush will still suffer because no one can trust TRADITIONAL politicians. They are very good at playing games. Also, they disappear with time and democratic process.

If they lose, they will re-join opposition alliances with apologies and on much weaker terms.

IK is a long term winner. He is not after few seats. He has his eyes on full power so that he could implement his vision without compromises.

I can’t say anything , plz read urself,
    http://www.reuters.com/article/gc04/idUSSP30041220071210

@Kami

Have you watched todays Mairey Mutaabik?

If not do watch it, its very very informative. And ask admn to upload it.

@ Asif

I think this programme is Meray Mutabiq, LOL

Do you mean Meray Mutabiq by Dr. Shahid Masood?

I will try to find that programme.

13. comment-top comment-bottom

GM’s point of 2/3 makes some sense.

@Kami

Thanks for ur understanding, roman urdu is also immature right not.

@ Asif

I didn’t mean spelling mistakes. I mean this programme (better Pakistan) which is meray mutabiq by Ghulam Mustafa (it was meant to be a joke!)

Read my comment again.

@Kami

got it bro, :roll:

18. imran malik Says:
    December 11th, 2007 at 4:33 am

we have every right to disagree with gm’s opinion but we shldnt forget to thank him for wonderful services he is providing us…

thank you mr GM…..

Everyone,

I don’t know why you are blasting GM without any valid argument. I believe he did make solid points. I don’t think anyone understand how elections work in Pakistan.

When Mush was in FULL POWER in 2002 elections, his own created party PML-Q lost the elections and PPP won the most seats despite 1000% percent efforts by agencies and Musharraf. After elections, Mush had to suspend article 14 of constitution to move PPP-NAB group into his side.

I believe PMLN is in the politically strongest position in Punjab and their workers have been getting beaten by police from 8 years. If you guys believe in democracy, then it would be unfair for Nawaz Sharif to tell thousands of his workers not to participate when all their local rivals from PPP and Q will be contesting elections and making fun of PMLN workers in every constituency.

Keep it up GM!

Babar

Good analysis

@ Imran Malik

@dmin said that GM doesn’t run this website.

Anyways, it is an analysis and it doesn’t have to be accurate. It is based on personal observation and opinions.

22. comment-top comment-bottom

@Kami

If GM is not running this site then why my comments against his analysis are getting deleted?

More pics of your beloved prez with his 3-grand children. Only posting these images because there is so much demand for such pics:
    http://archive.salon.com/news/feature/2001/11/10/musharraf/story.jpg

Musharraf auditioning for his new job as a butler in Turkey.

http://pervez.musharraf.net/Pervez_Musharraf_files/200px-Pervez_Musharraf_in_White.jpg

NS has tried his best to convince BB in favour of bycott, but he failed miserably. BB is playing double agent, favourably for Mush. Under the current scenario, PML-N has no option but to contest.
    In my opinion it is a right decision. Hopefully NS will be able to mobilize the masses and possibly garnish large number of seats. He then will be able to
    . Deny indemnity to Mush
    . Reinstate the sacked judges and restore independent judiciary.

Another fraud of Musharraf – caught red handed
    A few weeks back a survey conducted by the US-based International Public Opinion Polls (IPOP) was published in some Pakistani papers, it was stated that 74% of those surveyed approved that Adolf Mush would get boost in popularity after removing his skin. Now it is proved that all above survey was a fraud and there is no existence of International Public Opinion Polls (IPOP) or that survey.

28. lonelybird from canada Says:
    December 11th, 2007 at 5:56 am

@ ADMIN

amigo , where is latest mery mutabiq ? i dont see any latest on website .
    bye

29. lonelybird from canada Says:
    December 11th, 2007 at 6:05 am

why u moderate always my message :(

Sorry GM. you didn’t convince me at all, you seems very biased and your opinions most likely favoring a particular party and talking about agenda of a party.

As Pkpolitics got 1 million user and people spending too much time on this site, I have doubts that if inclination of admin of this site for a particular party then pkpolitics may not give us the right picture of what is going on, they will publish the news, events and views which will favor or suited for their party.

NS and BB hijacked the lawyers movement and now going for elections so they can do more corruption again.

Basic principle is Independent judiciary, this should be the first and only step which is needed, Alhamdulilah nation is aware now and they welcome any movement for this cause.

but Alas we have political parties like PMLN, JUI, PPP, PMLQ, MQM and other LOTAS.

?? ????? ??????? ????? ?????? ?? ??? ??? ??? ?? ??? ??? ???? ?? ???? ?? ?? ??? ?? ??? ?? ?? ??? ?? ???? ????? ?????? ???? ?

“WOH SIASEE JAMATAIN JINHAIN IQTIDAR KAI CAKE MAIN ZERA SA BHEE MILNAI KEE UMEED HAI, UN MAIN SAI KAUN HAI JO EK BAILAGAAM ADALIA BARDAASHT KARAI GA “.

31. TheRealFolk Says:
    December 11th, 2007 at 7:11 am

GM…. Please stick to your “pagal kutta” skit… thats a bit more funny…..

http://www.express.com.pk/epaper/Article.aspx?newsID=1100314511&Date=20071211&Issue=NP_LHE

I always wonder why Mussharaf allowed NS to come to Pakistan, and now i get the answer.

1- To hijack lawyers movement.
    2- Try his best to keep away political parties to support restoration of judges and lawyers movement.
    3- Support Mussharaf agenda, in a different way not like PML Q and MQM and PPP.

a quote from BBC Urdu

“WOH SIASEE JAMATAIN JINHAIN IQTIDAR KAI CAKE MAIN ZERA SA HISSA BHEE MILNAI KEE UMEED HAI.
    UN MAIN SAI KAUN HOGA JO EK BAI LAGAM ADALIA BARDASHT KAR LAI GA.”

33. Tanweer Amjad Says:
    December 11th, 2007 at 8:02 am

I wonder people criticising Ansar Abbasi are now referring to his articles. I think he is a good analyst, true Pakistani, and doesn’t support or criticise any leader blindly.

34. Wajid Malik Says:
    December 11th, 2007 at 9:43 am

Please keep an eye on Jamat-i-Islami role in boycott.

It looks JI, which has a history of working for ISI and Army, is again working on some specific agenda here.

Please note that Qazi sb. never said any thing openly to part ways from Fazl Ur Rehman even after he announced to go in elections without other MMA parties even before PPP and ANP.

Qazi sb. remained united with Fazl Ur Rehman in 17th amendment. Qazi sb. remained committed to Fazl Ur Rehman when they together back tracked from their promise of resignation on hudood ordinace. Qazi sb. even remained united with Fazl Ur Rehman when NWFP assembly was NOT dissolved to help Musharraf in his President elections.

But the day Nawaz Sharif suggested to participate in elections as ANP, Fazl Ur Rehman and PPP are contesting and now boycott had become meaningless, Qazi sb. has announced that PML N is kicked out of APDM. Why didn’t Qazi sb. kicked Fazl Ur Rehman when he announced participation stabbing the movement at first place.

Qazi sb. for God sake stop working for ISI. Don’t divide the true opposition more and more and help Mush.

People know who was the real opposition in last 8 years and who played the role of friendly opposition for Mush.

Please Imran Khan and Mahmood Achekzai recognize these faces who are dividing you and helping Mush ultimately. Ask Qazi sb why is he in such a hurry to kick PML N who who remained committed for 8 years and never compromised with Mush. Why doesn’t Qazi sb. kick himself and Fazl Ur Rehman for helping Mush when ever Mush needed them in last 5 years.

People, who stood by NS in difficult time, had principle stand and they remained firm against Mush. Even today they are the real opposition against Mush. If some one thinks that Javed Hashmi, who remained in jail for long, will help Mush MUST think again. If at all they wanted some thing they could get in last 5 years as well like MMA (Munafiqeens)

Going in elections, when PPP, Fazl Ur Rehman and ANP are in already, is NOT an easy decision but that is the only choice left. Boycott now has become meaningless and it will not mount any pressure on Mush.

The election for NS will NOT result in his Govt. at all and every one knows that. He is not allowed to contest even. But this will give him a chnace to play the role of real opposition and give momentum to the movement against Mush. Look he has been able to mibilize people. See his ‘jalsa’ in Gujranwala, Mureeke and Faisalabad.

Please IK and Achekzai work to weaken Mush not to weaken your ownself and NS. You are great guys. May Allah give you more strenght. JI has its own agenda like always.

35. Wajid Malik Says:
    December 11th, 2007 at 9:58 am
    comment-top comment-bottom
  36. Tanweer Amjad Says:
    December 11th, 2007 at 10:00 am

Actual people are coming now into streets. And you can see the difference of gatherings before and after Nov 3. You can not make a valid protest without involving the political parties however worse they are. Simple lawyers, journalists and students can not make an effective protest. It is the bad politician who is capable of doing that. So if you think civil society without politicians could be enough to launch a successful campaign against this Martial Law, I think they should grow up. The lawyers movement before November 3 was backed by all political parties in opposition… including PPP, PML(N), JI, PTI and others as well. All the lawyers you were seeing as leaders have a political affiliation or inclination towards any one of the opposition parties.

37. Tanweer Amjad Says:
    December 11th, 2007 at 10:26 am

@Wajid Malik
    PML(Q) is also using the same slogan as a first point on their manifesto. If they are not able to show anything in this regard, would you regard them as bigger munafiq OR you think since the religious parties have religious names and they appear like religious people so they are still bigger munafiqs.
    I think after reading the first kalima, all muslims are equally bound to follow morals. And if any one deviates he is equally condemnable.
    I wonder why people are ignoring and not condemning the people who have been in power for full 5 years in national Assembly. Were they very pious saints.
    Do you see any room for a religious party or a party with a religious slogan in the Pakistan Politics. I guess ‘No’.
    Mush has been trying to make it Turkey. Turkey was made a secular state by Kamal Ataturk. Since then, every effort has been made to westernise it (including ban on veil for women… see geomentry on Turkey) all is meant to make it acceptable for european union. But remember Turkey has developed reactions against it. If you implement something by force, whether or anti-religious, it will bounce back. emergence of religious party is a sign of this reaction in Turkey.
    Mush tried to do the same but he wanted the shortest cut and that resulted in tremendous reaction from religious and pro-religious people.

38. Tanweer Amjad Says:
    December 11th, 2007 at 10:33 am

By the way NS has been saying the same throughout his political career, in the interviews, that we will have an islamic system. And yes I remember, Mush also says this in every official religious gathering like seerat conference. Who do you think they are making fool.
    for me all political parties, religious, pro-religious, secular can be good. But anti-religious parties would prove the worst of all.

The Plan To Topple Pakistan Military

http://www.ahmedquraishi.com/latest_col.php?id=6

I don’t really know what slogan Qanchi League is using. Secondly Q League is party of Musharraf. No body in the world is talking about them as they are NOT worth it. They have been with dictator throughout those 5 years openly.

Explicitly I condemn Q League role just to make you believe that I will be the last person on earth to ever side with those forces who are helping the dictator.

Here we are just discussing the role of opposition parties.

People of Pakistan really are Islam lovers and no so-called “enlightened moderation” is acceptable here.

That is only why 5 years back people voted for MMA as it showed that it was Anti Musharraf and Anti US but in real they always came up to help Musharraf in all difficult times and in that help whether it was Fazl Ur Rehman or Qazi Hussain Ahmad, they remained united.

In real they played the role of ‘Friednly Opposition’ for Mush and hence they lost their credibility.

Had they stood firm and played real opposition role like Imran Khan and Nawaz Sharif and nationalists, people of Pakistan would have been with them and they would have been in a position to win a land slide victory in these eelctions but Alas! this didn’t happen. They proved themselves as hypocrites and they legitimize Mush action of 1999 through 17th amendment and they also helped him in Presidential elections by NOT dissolving the NWFP assembly. (They also enjoyed Govt. with Q League in baluchistan)

Now JI should stop playing the role of ISI. We need united when they have failed to stop fazl Ur Rehman from contesting elections. PPP is also in elections. The boycott option has become meaningless in my opinion because of them.

We need united real opposition of Musharraf and that real opposition is Nawaz Sharif, Imran Khan, Mahmood Achekzai and all nationalist parties. JI can also be there if they get rid of Fazl Ur Rehman and stops working for ISI.

Finally no Mush ever can make Pakistan a so-called ‘ROSHAN KHIYAL’ state.

We have our identity as Islamic State and we feel pride in that identity.

Yes Wajid,

IK and Achakzai should support NS and keep away from Qazi, because he is still demanding restoration of judges and NS didn’t.

And a big threat if these judges restore, NS and other corrupted leader may accountable, which they do not like at all.

GO Qazi,
    GO Judges,
    GO IK
    GO Achakzai.

Welcome: NS, PMLQ, PPP, FAZLU, MQM.

@Wajid

.How participation in election can bring the brave judges back on the job

.Do you or the leaders of participating parties are more wise and sincere to the restoration of November 03 Judiciary than Lawers leader ship and Brave Judges Them selves ,all are calling for boycott of fraudlent election

43. Wajid Malik Says:
    December 11th, 2007 at 3:16 pm

@FM

I respect your opinion. I am sure you are sincere in your comments.

I believe Qazi Hussain Ahmad is the same person who voted for 17th amendment and from the same MMA who played tricks not to disolve NWFP assembly till Mush presidential election was over. They are still the same who always helped Mush in last 5 years and played the role of friendly opposition.

They are the same who gave DHARNAs against Nawaz Sharif Govt when Vajpai came to Minar-i-Pakistan rather gave bath to Minar-i-Pakistan. They are the same who started protests against NS on one point agenda of Nawaz Sharif Hatao but during Mush time they forgot all those DHUNAs and one point agendas as they did not receive instructions from ISI I guess and from back doors they always helped Mush.

This boycott thing has emerged from no where and they are now just trying to make sure that some how Mush party gets 2/3rd majority to legitimize Mush actions of Nov. 3 from the next assembly.

I know Imran Khan and Mahmood Achekzai are sincere people but about Qazi sb I have doubts.

44. Wajid Malik Says:
    December 11th, 2007 at 3:48 pm

@Ahson,

No body is wise and courageous like those honorable judges and the lawyers community. They all have done us proud.

I am sure the boycott from the nation has been the best option to put real pressure on Mush to restore the judges. As from the assembly they is very little hope. The election results will be definitely engineered as Mush doesn’t afford a fair election.

But the objective of boycott can only be achieved if it is done by all opposition parties. Even if fazl Ur Rehman goes in election that doesn’t make much difference but when PPP, which is a major party, decided to contest elections after all efforts to convince them for boycott, the option of boycott has lost its significance and now when Q League, PPP, MQM, Fazl Ur Rehman and ANP are going in elections, the world would also accept these fraudulent elections. Under these circumstances the best option is to not divide along ourselves but to unite our forces and go in elections and make sure that Mush parties do not get 2/3rd majority to legitimize his unconstitutional acts of Nov. 03.
    All Mush parties including PPP are not talking about restoration of judges but using the word of free judiciary as mere lip service. NS is very firmly demanding the restoration of judges even when his party is in elections (He and SS are not in elections as their papers were rejected and they didn’t appeal to PCO judges).

Please do not forget the struggle of last 8 years by NS and his party. They proved as the real opposition along with IK and Achekzai where as MMA always played the role of friendly opposition.

These years have been very difficult for PML N and they stood firm. The leaders remained in jails and wer put in exile. NS remained in jail for 22 months where he was given some real tough time. Now you can understand how difficult the dictators jail can be as you know some lawyer leaders like great Munir Malik, Justice Tariq have also been through. Javed Hashmi remained in jail for long but he was denied the justice for years.

Though I hate giving personal example, I tell you I saw my own 70 years old father in jail where I could see him in the presence of an IB person. If my father had bowed to Mush and Q League, we could get a lot.

Those sacrifices and the real opposition of Mush was NOT to shake hands with Mush. Had that been the case, PML N would have also been a FRIENDLY OPPOSITION like MMA and Qazi sb.

The stand for the restoration of judges, restoration of constitution and a democractic Pakistan free from dictatorship is a dream and InshaAllah will come true.

@ Maan
    Ahmad Qureshi’s biggest tribute is to PTV world. He has insulted Pakistani media like hell (read his articles).

As for this article, it is load of bull****, but I pray that this is true because Pakistan will be stronger without R0gue army.

Politicians and lawyers made Pakistan and only a democracy can keep it safe. It was not made for the Army.

47. Nadeem Khan Says:
    December 12th, 2007 at 9:04 pm

I dont know what media and what GM is saying. What heppens:
    1. When NS was sennt back to SA.
    2. When CJ and other judges thrown out.
    3. What so many people were taken into jail.
    4. etc.
    Nothing is going to happen in PAK. Because every one is hungry for power.
    According to GM even if APDM (includiing every one) wins 91 seats out of 272, what is the guarantee that those 91 will oppose Musharad after wining the seats.
    In 2002 there was PPPP (Patriots), you can easuly get votes from those at that time. Specially Maulana FR is ready and many others.
    So all these talks are bull shit. I still lile this site but belive me nothing is happening in PAK, it will remain like this.

RSS feed for comments on this post.