PRESS RELEASE:
December 12, 2007.
President Supreme Court Bar Association and Senior Advocate Supreme Court of Pakistan Mr. Aitzaz Ahsan today instructed his advocates to appear before the Returning Officer withdraw his nomination papers filed by him to contest the forthcoming elections to the National Assembly. Mr. Aitzaz Ahsan had filed his nomination papers in constituency No. NA 124, Lahore as a candidate of the Pakistan Peoples’ Party.
The PPP leadership has been informed of the decision.
Since he is under detention it is not possible for Mr. Aitzaz Ahsan to personally appear before the Returning Officer to withdraw his papers. Advocates Shaukat Ali Javed and Mian Tariq Hassan have therefore been authorized in writing by Mr. Aitzaz Ahsan to take the nomination papers back.
While instructing the withdrawal of the nomination papers Mr.Aitzaz Ahsan said that although he believed victory in his elections was quite certain he was exercising the option to stand with the community of lawyers that had carried on a heroic struggle for the restoration of the judiciary and the supremacy of the Constitution. The cause of the lawyers was a higher objective than his own personal interest.
He said that the lawyers’ struggle was for a tolerant, liberal, democratic and plural Pakistan in which the laws, and not men, are supreme. They wanted a vibrant and progressive modern Pakistan in which the citizen has rights and can enjoy the due process of law under an independent judiciary and a truly sovereign parliament.
Mr. Aitzaz Ahsan also said that even the parties that had decided to contest the elections were already calling them sham and rigged. Even the patrons of the regime had pronounced that these were not going to be perfect, which means that it is recognised, in advance, that these will be rigged. What can thus be achieved from such elections? he asked. Rigged elections cannot solve the many and diverse problems faced by the people.
Mr. Aitzaz Ahsan thanked the voters of his constituency who had shown such overwhelming enthusiasm for his candidature. He thanked the Pakistan Peoples’ Party for placing its trust in him. He also thanked the leadership of all other Opposition parties, and particularly Mian Nawaz Sharif, who had unanimously reposed confidence in him as a joint candidate of all the opposition parties.
Aitzaz Ahsan’s papers will be withdrawn after his signatures have been formally verified by the Superintendent Camp Jail, Lahore. That is a necessary formality as Mr. Ahsan is in a sub-jail.
For
Aitzaz Ahsan & Associates
RSS feed for comments on this post.
December 12th, 2007 at 4:03 pm
What a great and brave man he is- I salute him. I just wonder why he is in PPP. He is made for PTI. Aitzaz and IK could become a very powerfull team.
December 12th, 2007 at 4:07 pm
Now the fight will GO ON.
December 12th, 2007 at 4:08 pm
Yeh baat hui!! He is what I call a man of principles. Hats off to him and prayers for his and the civil society’s success in the struggle against oppression.
December 12th, 2007 at 4:08 pm
Great news, I will hope and pray that Aitazaz Ahsen will become Achilles’ heel for Benazir(not PPP).
December 12th, 2007 at 4:09 pm
We salute ur decision, although it was not very simple & straight forward, the sacrifices that you people are offering for us, these would be apperciative even the coming generations.
Long live AA
December 12th, 2007 at 4:09 pm
He is always Super.He does always great work.
He does not need ppp,ns,ik for his papolarety-
He is one other can not be compared..
Long lives Atizaz Ahmad
December 12th, 2007 at 4:10 pm
been saying since the very beginning, AA does not belong in PPP. he should join PTI
December 12th, 2007 at 4:10 pm
@M Khan
Inshallah….The fight will go on until justice has been done and the army goes back to the barracks and promise not to interferre in Politics in the future. We don’t need the GHQ to solve political problems.
The rest about bad politicians the people of Pakistan will take care of, if we are allowed to hold free and fair elections.
December 12th, 2007 at 4:12 pm
Your decisi0on would prove to be the final nail in the hed of sham electi0ns.
Long Live AA
December 12th, 2007 at 4:14 pm
Please bring this news on top as the PRIME NEWS on this site.
December 12th, 2007 at 4:14 pm
Well done Aitzaz. He is doing this while he is imprisoned.
Shame on those secret Mush lovers who kept demanding more from him. Now they will come and demand say that he should call BB a pr0s!! These people who love Mush have no shame.
Aitzaz! the whole nation (apart from few Munafiqs) is with you.
December 12th, 2007 at 4:16 pm
NS learn to say NO from AA
December 12th, 2007 at 4:18 pm
Its a great move by AA to spearhead a compaign outside of parliament. he is a perfect fit for that. we definitely needed someone who will not allow religuous extremists to hijack the lawyers movement. inside the parliament, it will be PMLN.
@PTI members
do I hear people shouting “wazir-e-azam aitezaz”
December 12th, 2007 at 4:20 pm
Good Evening, Mr President.
This is the status you deserve now.
Wish you were a PTI leader but two strong personalities can not run one relatively young party.
Javed Malik
eurodieselpk@hotmail.com
December 12th, 2007 at 4:20 pm
At least IK will be very happy about this news, I see IK as a future PM of Pakistan and Aitzaz Ahsan as his right hand, inshallah!
December 12th, 2007 at 4:21 pm
Yeh Cheez! Imran Khan and Aitzaz Ahsan are our true heroes! Long Live Aitzaz!
December 12th, 2007 at 4:23 pm
@Javed Malik
You are wrong….Off course it can be done when these personalities rely on principles and that is the case for these two great men, IK and AA.
December 12th, 2007 at 4:26 pm
@bechari-awaam
Teri subha keh rahi hai raat ka afsaana.
As per you don’t post elections on the boycott wicket
December 12th, 2007 at 4:28 pm
@Javed Malik
Its boycott page.
December 12th, 2007 at 4:39 pm
I would just say one thing to the electioners, allow our leaders(lawyers&civil society) to move freely like the BB&Bhaalu and then see where the masses go.
one way road & saying that theres no traffic from the opposite direction. What can I say………
December 12th, 2007 at 4:41 pm
Salaam to all genuine judges, all genuine lawyers and all genuine politician.
AA zindabad !!!
December 12th, 2007 at 4:51 pm
well done aitzaz ahsan.now i think aitzaz ahsan should join pti.
well done aitzaz
well done imran khan
well done cjp iftikhar choudhary
may the pray of mr saqib cames true
amin
December 12th, 2007 at 5:07 pm
Long Live AA
December 12th, 2007 at 5:13 pm
Looking at people like Atizaz, Cj, Munir Malik, Imran, I am not loosing hope for Pakistan.
December 12th, 2007 at 5:14 pm
American lawyers inspired by Pakistani lawyers have started a campaign against the criminal activities of the Bush administration. They explicitly state at the beginning of their statement:
“We, the undersigned lawyers in the United States, have been inspired by the many lawyers in Pakistan who have risked their own liberty and careers in an effort to preserve their nation’s freedoms.”
The website is:
http://salsa.democracyinaction.org/o/2165/t/2629/signUp.jsp?key=2843
December 12th, 2007 at 5:14 pm
AA decision has given a new strength to all supremacy of justice people. We are now charged and gear up for the restoration of judiciary movement.
AA zindabad ….we are proud of you!!!
December 12th, 2007 at 5:18 pm
THIS IS THE TRUE LEADER, LEADERS ARE NOT FOLLOWERS AS IT PROVED BY MR AITAZAZ. I PRAY FOR MR AITZAZ AND HIS TEAM. I APPEAL TO ALL POLITICAL PARTIES AND THEIR WORKERS TO FOLLOW THE LEADERS LIKE AITZAZ AND IMRAN KHAN. DON’T FOLLOW THE PEOPLE WHO MISGUIDED THE COUNTRY AND ASK THE POLITICAL PARTIES HEAD TO BOYCOTT ELECTIONS. IF OUR POLITICAL PARTIES HEADS STAND FIRM THAN PAKISTAN WILL PROGRESS OTHER WISE THE SCENE WOULD BE DIFFERENT.
TAKE CARE OF YOUR SELF AITZAZ MAY ALLAH GIVE YOU MORE WISENESS.
December 12th, 2007 at 5:19 pm
I would definetly tribute to Atizaz Ahsan since he proved himself as candle of light on the otherside of tunnel. It fortunate for us that current lawyers movement produced some icons like Itzaz, Imran Khan and more importantly Chief justice. I, hope, we should not be disappointed from temporarily appreant failure, these great celebraties will be successful in the end.
With best regards,
Irfan
December 12th, 2007 at 5:25 pm
AA IK CJs Lawyer Guarantees bright future for Pakistan
December 12th, 2007 at 5:28 pm
We should keep this momentum going with the help of a few but very dedicated people like IK, AA, Munir A. malik, Chief Justice of Pakistan Iftikhar etc.
Our just will be victorious, inshallah!
Slowly most people will realise that we are on the right path and deserve to put our agenda for justice on top. A society without justice is doomed to fail, and we will not let that happen, Inshallah!
I urge all the Muslims of Pakistan and well wishers of Pakistan to keep on fighting for the betterment of Pakistan both Muslims and non-Muslims.
Don’t forget Islam learns us to treat every human with respect and that can only be achieved if topple the establishment to implement the RULE OG LAW!
December 12th, 2007 at 5:34 pm
well done,
JAT DA KHARAK KUR DATA NA
December 12th, 2007 at 5:47 pm
Well done AITZAZ AHSAN.
You made us proud
December 12th, 2007 at 5:55 pm
another great man in the history of pakistan
December 12th, 2007 at 6:17 pm
WOW
Now tow parties left,
1.Participating in elections (all lotas) bb,NS,mqm,fazlu and etc
2.Not participating (All genuine leaders) Qazi, Imran Khan and Aitizaz Ahsan.
I am with the second group.
Go Musharaff and lotas Go
December 12th, 2007 at 6:18 pm
*two
December 12th, 2007 at 6:30 pm
Mr. Ahsan’s announcement has been like a fresh pint of blood for a dying down movement. Admiration, respect, integrity, character, and sense of true leadership, these are few of the many ways I would like to attribute to Mr. Ahsan. Yes, the fight and struggle will continue and the nation will witness who is truly sincere to its people, not by empty rhetorics, and shallow slogans, but by their relentless pursuit of justice. A new force of leadership has emerged and we support our true leaders i.e. Imran Khan, Ch. Aitazaz Ahsan, Justice Iftikhar Chauhdary, Justice Tariq Mahmood, Munir Malik, Ali Ahmed Kurd, Justice Hamid Khan, and others.
It is NOW or NEVER!!!!
December 12th, 2007 at 6:31 pm
Kamran Khan discussing with Bushra Aitzaz on Geo
December 12th, 2007 at 6:32 pm
well done ITZAZ
i have no words to admire u but i personaly believe that u r made for pakistan tehreke insaaf ik will b more powerful if u join pti
December 12th, 2007 at 6:34 pm
Listen to the great lady, shes saying that what kinna elections are all about.
December 12th, 2007 at 6:35 pm
Without independent judiciary, there can’t be democracy.
Long Live AA
December 12th, 2007 at 7:17 pm
AITZAZ AHSON “THE LOIN” WHO HAS POWER TO SAY THE TRUHT.NOW I WANT JAVED HASHMI TO DO THE SAME.BECAUSE HE SEMMS TO BE SINCERE LEADER.
December 12th, 2007 at 7:24 pm
@electioners
Let free our heroes & then see to whom the masses will follow.
By locking up the top leadership, you are claiming theres no movement in masses for boycott(aka restoration of judiciary).
Give us level playing field & then we would be more than happy to discuss with you.
December 12th, 2007 at 8:34 pm
Aitzaz Ahsan you are pure, as a politician. You deserve something of your stature, PURE, like Pakistan Tehrik-e- Insaf. We need people like you and Imran Khan to change the currupt course of Pakistani Politics.
December 12th, 2007 at 8:40 pm
It is always better to live according to ones believes,principles and convictions. Atezaz had the choice of either to spear head the struggle of the lawyer community while remaining out side the system or to play the role of ace parlimentarian by joining the system. Being the head of the movement which included lawyers from all political parties he rightfully chose the former and preferred pride over party. Politician Atezaz may well be replaced in the course of time but Barrister Atezaz would have mortally hurt the initiatives and the accomplishments of the lawyer community had he chosen to participate in the elections. He rose to the occassion and grabbed the honour. In the heart of his heart he may not be sure that he would succeed but he did what he had to do. I salute you Atezaz Ahsan.
December 12th, 2007 at 10:07 pm
I salute Aitzaz Ahsan and I wish him all the best.
December 12th, 2007 at 10:50 pm
People like Aitzaz are hope for many Pakistanis including me. Aitzaz showed that he can go to any extent for supporting the right. No lame excuses like NS and BB.
I wish he along with other lawyer leader join with Imran khan at some platform(my be justice party) and give this nation a new awakening.
Saltue to Mr. Aitzaz.
December 12th, 2007 at 11:02 pm
I wonder how the moraless BB will see this move!
Long live Lawyer movment! Salute to the quaid of lawyer movement AA.
December 12th, 2007 at 11:04 pm
Really nice article.
http://www.nation.com.pk/daily/dec-2007/13/columns1.php
December 13th, 2007 at 4:57 am
Asif Mahmood on December 12th, 2007 4:09 pm He is always Super.He does always great work.
He does not need ppp,ns,ik for his papolarety-
He is one other can not be compared..
Long lives Atizaz Ahmad
…………………………………. Its Aitzaz Ahsan you moron!!!! arrrggghhhh and its *popularity* not popalarety …!
December 13th, 2007 at 5:30 am
Brave Decision, Hope he join IK in his struggle.
December 13th, 2007 at 6:01 am
Good decision, we should also encourage Qazi at least, they made a good decision as well, even all their alliances leave them alone.
I know they were responsible of 17th amendment but it is now obvious which party in MMA forced them to accept 17th amendment.
Qazi also asked pardon about his support in 17th amendment, and believe me, I trust him he did that in major interest of nation and democracy (but in fact he was trapped).
IK after released from jail didn’t blame Qazi, even he said some very good words about him.
http://www.bbc.co.uk/urdu/pakistan/story/2007/11/071121_imran_released_rza.shtml
May be some of you not agree with me, but as far as I am noticing political situation now a days in Pakistan, I see only 2 main political leaders which do not deviate from their statements and stances, which are IK and Qazi.
December 13th, 2007 at 6:16 am
@FM. I agree with you, it seems those who are running into elections are in a way or other supporting MUSH. Shame on all those parties who are participatig, Aitzaz has every chance to win but he refused. We are proud of you MR. AA…
IK and Qazi seems to be the only choice left, but aarrrggghhhhh they can never win, coz we dont select persons on prinicples
December 13th, 2007 at 6:21 am
Well i really do appreciate AA stand on this. He has proven himself to be man of principle. But the fight is not over yet. Its just the beginning. Because now is the time to mobilize the people and let them know that there is an alternative to elections as well. Its time to realize that thing can change without elections also. The lawyers movements has given us a great chance that mass protest and rallies are a useful tool to create pressure.
I think Imran Khan Aitzaz Ahsan Qazi Husain Ahmed and others who are for the boycott should join hands and devise an action plan for how to move forward because the momentum is there and it should not break. until now we have seen lawyers and journalist on the streets. But Imran Qazi are the ones who have political ground and can mobilize the public. While Aitzaz has already proven that he along with the lawyer community can bring masses on the streets. We need to see that enthusiasm that was witnessed after 9 March. Otherwise a great chance can slip from our hands.
December 13th, 2007 at 6:34 am
this man is really brave. i like him.
December 13th, 2007 at 10:53 am
ch aitazaz ahsan has become the symbol of unshakeable resistance against the military dictatorship.he is the hero of pakistan.
pakistan was created by a lawyer (not by a general)and it would b saved and strenghtened by a lawyer (not by a power hungry,general)
December 13th, 2007 at 11:26 am
Zafar Ali Shah of PLMN has also withdrwn his nomination papers & have opted to boycott. Momentum is getting faster & heavier. Backup civil society…….
December 13th, 2007 at 1:01 pm
He is a man of hounor. I have respect for his work he have done for his country. He is a really brave person.
December 13th, 2007 at 1:03 pm
He is a brave person. God bless him.
December 13th, 2007 at 4:37 pm
i am not surprised by his decision. He is a very talented and a man with extra ordinary understanding. Above all , he is very sincere to his colleagues struggle for freedom. i have no doubt in seeing him the truly elected President of Pakistan in no time. He has super seated BB, NS, Maulvis etc and is an independant leader. They should seriously consider constitution of “Justice party” including lawyers and journalists, students and social workers and educated youth. Together we can do anything. We can even form groups and visit our villages/towns and educate our people about our struggle.
December 13th, 2007 at 6:27 pm
Awaiting moderation… this is my fifth post. with the fresh face and all still this moderation things is baffling me. Plz do something about this first.
Well i really do appreciate AA stand on this. He has proven himself to be man of principle. But the fight is not over yet. Its just the beginning. Because now is the time to mobilize the people and let them know that there is an alternative to elections as well. Its time to realize that thing can change without elections also. The lawyers movements has given us a great chance that mass protest and rallies are a useful tool to create pressure.
I think Imran Khan Aitzaz Ahsan Qazi Husain Ahmed and others who are for the boycott should join hands and devise an action plan for how to move forward because the momentum is there and it should not break. until now we have seen lawyers and journalist on the streets. Imran and Qazi are the ones who have political ground and can mobilize the public. While Aitzaz has already proven that he along with the lawyer community can bring masses on the streets. We need to see that enthusiasm that was witnessed after 9 March. Otherwise a great chance can slip from our hands.
December 13th, 2007 at 6:50 pm
http://www.bbc.co.uk/urdu/pakistan/story/2007/12/071213_benazir_judges.shtml
i really dont know how to express my feelings. She has absolutely no regard to the feelings and sentiments of the people of pakistan. Shame on her
December 14th, 2007 at 3:46 am
I dont trust the bearded bozos which includes qazi and his jamiat which has a blood bathed history and history might pin the blame on this very jamiat for te downfall of oue educational institutions …… Imran on the other hand is a lone shepherd without much flock and incapable of attracting the masses …… perhaps practical politics is a bit different …….. but these men of principle are to be applauded and appreciated which includes Aitzaz and Imran!!!! Respek!
December 14th, 2007 at 6:34 am
@Me
Trust is your only option!!! Imran khan realizes that even after the PU incident. He is realizing that the agencies tried to make a rift b/w him and Qazi but they did not succeed. He himself has said this. I am not completely exonerating jamiat. They were wrong on their part as well but when it is known that agencies have penetrated organization and act in such manner to undermine their credibility then we have to keep an open mind. Like IK has done. He still believes that Qazi is the most straight forward person in pakistan politics.
History is now behind us. everybody learns from their mistakes. if those acts are repeated again then of course JI or jamiat will lose credibility. I for one is not supportive of jamiat being involved in politics. that is the realm of JI and it should be left to them. They are a student organization and they should let it be like that. But things are not as simple as i put it. if Ji comes to a realization that they have to rein in jamiat then all is well. Otherwise a repeat of PU can still occur.