Latest IRI Survey says that majority of Pakistanis want Musharraf out. Nawaz Shraif and Benazir Bhutto are equally tied at 38 percent in overall popularity in Pakistan. Nawaz Sharif leads in Punjab with 35 percent support and Benazir leads in Sindh with 51 support.

You can download the survey here or from the Documents page.
The International Republican Institute (IRI) today released its survey of Pakistan public opinion. The poll was conducted November 19-28, 2007.
The fieldwork for this poll was conducted in the two weeks leading-up to President Pervez Musharraf’s resigning as Army Chief of Staff, being sworn in as a civilian president and announcing a date that the state of emergency would be lifted. The effect of these events is therefore not reflected in this poll.
The randomly selected sample consists of 3,520 adult men and women from 223 rural and 127 urban locations in 51 districts in all four provinces of Pakistan. The margin of error for the national sample will not exceed +1.69 percent in 19 out of 20 cases.
RSS feed for comments on this post.
December 13th, 2007 at 7:49 pm
Inshallah’ one day he’ll running like a chicken
December 13th, 2007 at 8:01 pm
finally the deal is being heading towards completion…
mush is going to sign an ordinance that 3rd time pm restriction(imposed by himself ) is lifted……
i wonder some day it may occur to this insane person to sign an ordinance which makes him life time president…..
may allah help us in getting rid of mush and all his chor partners including bb. and lota league,altaf etc
December 13th, 2007 at 8:21 pm
Oh come on, he is the best president we have had. See you made him cry. All he is trying to save Pakistan from the most corrupt leader in history i.e. BB and from a hijacker NS. Now you would now want those. Mush is going to change ordinance and after removing limit on Prime Minister. he will make Pervaiz Ilahi prime minister for next three times. See if you have a president for life and Prime minister for 15 years, it will save country money spend on elections.
December 13th, 2007 at 8:24 pm
The poll points out to the kind of result we should have in the elections. Anything but this would point directly to rigging. Because if we only consider Q league to be his die hard supporter then they should not take more then this 25 - 33% seats.
But one things remains to seen, how much support BB and Fuzlu are going extend to him. I think internally BB is in complete agreement with “B”usharraf. Fuzlu might not be onboard now but he is a chameleon. The news that the restrictions for the 3rd term is also going to be lifted points out that the way for BB is being cleared. She is the only person I see in the PM’s seat after the elections. There would be no place for the chaudharies in the new setup simply because US wants it this way. They know their goals can only be achieved by BB and none else. Q league dont have the guts to go as far as BB can go.
December 13th, 2007 at 8:25 pm
ALL these surveys are just costrued to promote the ALLAMI GUNDA AGENDA
According to this agenda they are changing thier agents ,What was MUSH ,a just an obedient servant of the ALLAMI GUNDA MAFIA .In the western world the surveys have an excellent credibility because they are done in an honest way by using very scientific sampling ,techniques but any developing world ,whether done by a western world is never objective ,they are always a part of media spinns to promote thier agenda and safeguard thier interest .Just like thier businessmen try thier utmost to avoid giving bribes but it is thier common practice to give bribes when they are dealing with the foreign government clients from the developing world and for that they use the same argument as our MANIFIQ Politicians are using ,not leaving the space open for thier competitors ,meaning if they do not bribe these corrupt political ,miltary and civil servant elite ,they will never get the contracts ,their competitors from other western world would give bribe and will get the contracts.
So do not believe these surveys ,one thing is sure They do not need MUSH any more .They manage his removal at the most within a year
December 13th, 2007 at 8:26 pm
@econfused
not all the people here have good sense of humour so they might take ur comment negatively and you may face music from them…
anyways ch pervez elahi already said few months back that he wants mush to be president for life (10 times mean for ever) with wardi….bc he knew that mush’s wardi is pervez elahi’s aabroo….agar wardi urter gai to chohdaries ki izzer lut jaaeygi…
December 13th, 2007 at 8:27 pm
looking at the above picture i was just wondering what was that soldier leaning towards mush was saying to him…
may be something like “MERE SONEY KO RONEY AA REHAI HAIN”
December 13th, 2007 at 8:28 pm
Well BB is no doubt a very corrupt leader and Inshallah time would come would say that she is even worse than Chaudries of Gujrat - at least they are loyal to Pakistan but this woman is only loyal to enemies of both Islam and Pakistan. God please save us from this woman.
This woman has no morals. Her father broke the first Pakistan and now she is determined to break teh rest of it.
AA took the right decision of not participating in this election. He should also leave BB once for all. If he leaves PPP there is nothing left in PPP then. In Punjab only Yousaf Raza Gilani and Shah Mahmood Qureshi. Thats all.
December 13th, 2007 at 8:31 pm
Q league should say sorry to Nawaz Sharif and even now should realise that they are being used and manipulated by both Musharraf and US who only want BB in their place. People from Q league should strengthen hands of Nawaz Sharif no matter what. BB is not only going to destroy them but also Pakistan and Islam and there would be no nuclear programme.
Musharraf and BB would be a very deadly combination for Pakistan and Islam. Allah save us from these two evils
December 13th, 2007 at 8:38 pm
Musharraf will meet a fate like Ayub, Yahya and Zia. Either he will flee the country and die in Turkey or Jeddah, or will rote in a Pakistani prison for rest of his life. But this is not going to change anything. another general will take over and this time another group of politicians will support him.
The only way out of this situation is an army disobedience, in which a significant number of army officers and Jawans refuse to obey the illegal orders of these corrupt generals. That might change the direction army is going. The worst case scenerio will be a full fledge revolt. In order to avoid this, these army generals should come to their senses. Leave Pakistan alone and do the job they are getting paid to do.
If this happens, after 2-3 elections people will eliminate corrupt politicians and start choosing better leaders.
December 13th, 2007 at 8:41 pm
I don’t think these surveys could be given any weightage. Lots of surveys have been made to this date, but none of the person among my friends and family was ever accessed by any survey company. This survey was done over 3520 people… rubbish…. why this survey need to be given that much weightage. Although pkpolitics might not have access in the rural areas that much and most of the visitors are from UK and US, still they represnt better than the representation of the survey. On Average 2000 vote for each poll, of course the difference is that they represnt mostly educated people which are less than 50 percent.
The question is those people who are supporting the politicians, because they are quite in number:
1. Do PPP supporters think that independent judiciary would be the solution, since she no more thinks of reviving the judiciary.
2. Do PML(N) supporters believe that NS will work for the restoration of Nov 3 judiciary.
I wish to know as to why they are getting support from people. Why not an equally good rally can be seen for a party who has boycotted the elections for the revival of judiciary.
I think it is about time to make a call for Islamabad. People should be ready.
December 13th, 2007 at 8:43 pm
@C Hussain
Just for the record, I am not a PPP voter and neither have any hope from NS. But for the record, Bhutto is not solely responsible for Breakup. If you have any doubts, read the Hamood Ur Rehman Commission Report, right on this website. Army was and is responsible for that tragedy.
BB is corrupt or not, it does not matter, as PPP still has the vote bank. This is legacy of her father, she has lost but she still loved by millions. I can live with NS and BB being popular leaders, but would be seriously depressed if Q lotas pull in the votes.
December 13th, 2007 at 8:45 pm
The survey says Mush is weak, but here he is on Geo for the last 40 minutes surrounded by people who might join him in the next setup if he exists. The current majority around him wants him to stay there.
December 13th, 2007 at 8:45 pm
Emperor (Mad Gen) is naked now. Even his masters know how popular is he in Pakistan.
I thought few days ago, the cronies come up with two polls (PIP and AAJ TV that his approval rating is close to 70%.
December 13th, 2007 at 8:47 pm
I know many readers would not agree to my views but the ways the things are unfolding now I feel that CJ should not have gone against Musharraf for these minions like BB and NS and he should have let them rot outside Pakisatan because the way these guys have dumped him and the lawyers and people of pakistan - it is very very shameful. I can bet people would remember the Shaukat Aziz era when both courts and media was free because I can bet my life if BB comes to power she would never let these happen. In fact Emergency was the outcome of demands of BB on Musharraf because she never wants a free media under any circumstances.
It is good AA has opted out of these sham elections. Inshallah one day BB would be in front of these judges and they would never forgive her
BB is teh most shameless politician esp after today when she openly said that she did not favour restoration of these judges. Shame on her
December 13th, 2007 at 8:58 pm
i dot want to defend NS but he had no choice to leave field open for LAFAFA mouth Shuja and bb to have 2/3 mojorty to pass 18th amendment.
there will be no 2/3 mojorty and election will be again there in June 2008.
if bb had cooprated with NS and had not participated in elections Maolana F never had dare to contest the election and joint movment of NS and BB mad MUS gone very fast. but she has her commitments with US. on the other hand reconcilation ordinance is still not law and after election MUSH will black mail her when this sham ordinance will expire.
BB n maolana F are b team for MUSH along with LAFAFA MOUTH SHUJA OF GUJRAT.
December 13th, 2007 at 9:03 pm
Justice Bhagwandas says that all opposition should contest elections, else Musharraf will push Pakistan into a dark alley with 2/3rds majority.
http://daily.urdupoint.com/todayNewsLive.php?news_id=51701&featured=1&cat_id=2
December 13th, 2007 at 9:06 pm
Police campaigning for PML-Q!
http://tinyurl.com/36vgvm
December 13th, 2007 at 9:10 pm
Issues are getting so carried away that NS decision to take part in elections appear to be a good move.
Channels like Geo have to show a program of Mush for one hour with all his loyals around him ( the so-called 23%) I seriously doubt how could they be this much. Apart from Qaf league and MQM, who else is supporting him within Pakistan? well he still can find people who need be benefited by him.
People demanding an unbiased site would ask for that program to be placed on the site as well. Am I right fellows?
6 more judges took oath in PHC today. So you will keep on getting people from all over Pakistan.
December 13th, 2007 at 9:13 pm
I have great respect for bagwan das for taking bold stand Against the The PCO ,The Rule of Jungle .but I seriously doubt he have said the things ,the way the are taken ,out of context but if it is not the case ,I respecfully ,disagree with the view that Brave judges can be reinstated through the parliament .they will be reinstated throuh denying the LOTA judges to perform thier services and by socially isolating those who favour and support The MUSH illegimate regime ,these colloborators are in evey walk of life including the MANIFIQ Politicians ,Generals and Civil servants ,journalists etc
December 13th, 2007 at 9:28 pm
Lawyer of the year: Chief Justice Iftikhar Chaudhry
http://www.law.com/jsp/nlj/PubArticleNLJ.jsp?id=1197367478857
P!g of the year: Pervez Musharraf
December 13th, 2007 at 9:40 pm
A worth readig article that says that because of brave movement by the brave lawers and the people who are supporting the movement,the people of pakistan will finally be able to reconise the munifiqeen from the brave heores of the movement
http://nawaiwaqt.com.pk/urdu/daily/dec-2007/14/sarahe.php
December 13th, 2007 at 9:52 pm
@kurmani
No ,MUSH is best and most effective agent of the Almai gunda mafia in the world
December 13th, 2007 at 10:54 pm
I can already visualize the statement from the American and British ambassadors that will be issued after the polls:
“elections in Pakistani were substantially flawed, but the very fact that elections were held is a step in the right direction. We still feel General Musharraf’s govt is sincere in its commitment to eventual democracy and we hope that Pakistan will continue to move towards greater public participation yada yada yada. we hope the 22000 detained lawyers will be released soon and the 36 people allegedly beaten to death in yesterday’s unfortunate occurence in Lahore will be given a decent burial. We also hope that the banned TV networks will be restored and the journalists who were publicly undressed yesterday in Gujarat will get their clothes back very soon. Ambassador Patterson has offered to give one of her own skirts to the 3 PPP women workers who were stripped by the police in today’s unfortunate event in Larkana. We also hope the 53 people killed in Karachi in the regrettable events of day before yesterday will be identified soon. We realize that some lawyers are still agitating in favor of the judges detained in Attock, but we believe that everyone should look ahead instead of wallowing in the past. We hope that the 6th set of judges just appointed by supreme judge Malik Qayyum under the new revised amended PCO will strive for judicial independence and rule of law, principles upheld by the anglosphere since 1215 AD. We support the people of Pakistan, yada yada yada…
December 13th, 2007 at 11:45 pm
Musharraf amending charter to protect acts, before weekend end of emergency
ISLAMABAD, Pakistan: President Pervez Musharraf will end emergency rule on Saturday as promised, but first he will amend the constitution to protect his decisions from court review, Pakistan’s attorney general said Thursday.
Attorney General Malik Mohammed Qayyum told The Associated Press that government legal experts were finalizing the amendments and that the changes would be announced before the state of emergency is lifted.
http://www.iht.com/articles/ap/2007/12/13/news/Pakistan.php
December 14th, 2007 at 12:05 am
We must give credit to NS for his strong demand to restore the supreme court along with the sacked judges. On the contrary, BB is openly opposed to it. She is in complete agreement with Mush in every respct. Recently she has statred to distance herself from Aitizaz Ahsan. She is here in the country to fulfil the agenda of her foreign masters, exactly like what Mush has been doing for the past nine years.
Exactly for the reasons I have mentioned, It’s crucial that we the Pakistani Awam must extend our full support in favour of NS. I was also in fovour of bycott ing the election and wished that all opposition Parties would have bycotted, but that did not realize. Now all the bycotting parties, including Lawyers, members of trade union and the representative of all segments of the civil society must support and vote for PML-N. This is the last chance that we might be able to achieve our common objectives , that is,
. Full restoration of independent judiciary as of Nov. 2
. reistating the honorable judges.
December 14th, 2007 at 12:16 am
I dont want to blame MUSH for everything now. What can u expect from a treacherous guy like himself; the thing that annoys me is the silence of others who are working with and for him; have they gone completely shameless?
December 14th, 2007 at 12:46 am
he should remember ZIA ul HAQ
December 14th, 2007 at 12:56 am
Look this B****, what she is saying about Judges:
http://www.bbc.co.uk/urdu/pakistan/story/2007/12/071213_benazir_judges.shtml
December 14th, 2007 at 1:48 am
She knows that if those judges are reinstated, her days will be numbered.
December 14th, 2007 at 2:53 am
Pakistan: a land of donkeys ruled by donkeys for the donkeys party of America
December 14th, 2007 at 3:24 am
@mkhan
“Look this B****, what she is saying about Judges:”
Todays Dawn is also carrying the story on the back page…cannot post the link right now as it is not yet online. Title of the piece is:
Pre-Nov 3 judiciary was not independent, says Benazir
Karachi, Dec. 13. PPP chairperson BB said on Thursday that it was a wrong perception that the pre-Nov 3 judicairy was independent.
…
Ms Bhutto said that she strongly believed in the independence of the judiciary.
…
“Judges come and go lust like Justice Saeeduzzaman Siddiqui and Nasir Aslam Zahidwho refused to take the oath under PCO.”
If any judge wants to do politics he should set up a political party, she added.\
Ms. Bhutto said that PPP played the role of a frontline party during the recent lawyers’ movement.
…
She said Mr Ahsan had consulted and told the party that he was under immense pressure from the lawyers’ community not to contest the election, but he would remain part of the PPP….
WHAT A C*NT. If not before, AA, if he is what we want to believe he is, should certainly quit PPP or at least issue a statement about which boat he is in. Is he for “restoration” or “independence-a-la-BB” of the judiciary??????
December 14th, 2007 at 3:26 am
What happened to the “Recent Comments” feature? Need to have it back!!!
December 14th, 2007 at 3:36 am
The above story is finally online, Here’s the link:
Pre-Nov 3 judiciary was not independent, says Benazir
December 14th, 2007 at 3:41 am
Relevance of Bulleh Shah by Ayesha Siddiqa
“…However, what was equally interesting was the fact that the audience seemed to have missed the larger point of Bulleh Shah’s message and Sufism — his struggle was not just against orthodoxy or the mullahs and muftis of his time but also against the rulers and holders of state power. …”
December 14th, 2007 at 4:18 am
Criminal musharraf has destroyed every single institution and pillar of the state of Pakistan. And power hungry Benazir is showing her true colors by refusing to demand reinstatement of judiciary. What a pathetic despicable woman.
Roedad Khan spoke a night before emergency, ” yeh reckless aadmi hai gee. Yeh Pakistan ki int se int baja de ga. ” I could never forget these lines.
December 14th, 2007 at 4:36 am
see what CHORNI says, this should have been the top story on this website:
http://www.bbc.co.uk/urdu/pakistan/story/2007/12/071213_benazir_judges.shtml
December 14th, 2007 at 5:23 am
President Aitizaz Ahmed,
Mr Aitizaz– BB Is not giving you the respect that you deserve. It’s time for you to cut your ties with BB and join PML-N. Today , BB has announced that she is not in favour of restoration of the honorable judges who were sacked illegally by Mush under illegal PCO. During the past several weeks, She has been giving conflicting and some time msleading statements regarding this issu, untill today, when suddenly she revealed her tru intention. Interestingly this happened soon after her return from Dubai, where she might have met with AG Qayum and others from the west. She might have met with AG Qayum in Dubai during her recent visit where she might have been warned about the unfavourable opininion of the sacked judges against NRO. So after her return she has shown her true colors. It is very sad that she is betraying her own supporters by joinig hands with Mush.
You are very wise person and a great patriot. I thank you for your personal sacrifices for pakistan and Pakistan Awam. I pray for your well being and the well being of your family. I also pray to Allah for your good health. May Almighty Allah grant you the courage and the stength to lead the lawyers and the members of the civil society in their struggle to restore the independent judiciary and SC.
Respectfully,
concerned citizen
December 14th, 2007 at 8:08 am
Ek Sala General Sari Fauj Ko Hijra Bana Deta Hai
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9U2Z6zc0FRQ
http://xs221.xs.to/xs221/07456/mushexesign.jpg
December 14th, 2007 at 8:24 am
I am very much shocked to see BB saying about judiciary. To be homest mark my words if she comes in power she would ruin Pakistan - she would make it a bigger mess than even Musharraf - and Shaukat Aziza would appear as compared to her as golden era - ironically.
The agenda is simple - as soon as she assumes power with Musharraf they both would hand over Abdul Qadeer Khan and also would allow American army to come in tribal areas and fight against Pathans,
In the mean time she would collect all the money and then after taking Pakistan to near break up she would be off to London and Dubai where are children are settled and Musharraf would be to US#
They would have achieved their objective - of destroying Pakistan once for ever.
Where are you Mr Kiyani - cant u save Pakistan from these two enemies of Pakistan
December 14th, 2007 at 8:26 am
She used judges for own self. Shame on her . Go to hell this bi@t’ch
December 14th, 2007 at 8:50 am
@clhussain
Kiyani is busy with important stuff like declaring “Year of the Rat” as “Year of the Soldier”
December 14th, 2007 at 9:03 am
shame on bb for taking such stance against judges and than saying that she is the leader of people
December 14th, 2007 at 9:13 am
Musharraf is consolidating power in hand to ensure that the next PM remains his PA like Shortcut Aziz..
http://www.expressindia.com/latest-news/Musharraf-tightens-hold-over-Pak-takes-Ncharge/250284/
December 14th, 2007 at 9:14 am
While Mush is busy with false-flags, here’s some examples for us to follow:
Ex-Peru president jailed six years
Ecuador to Evict U.S., Offer Air Base to China
Vicenza, Italy Demands Action Against New U.S. Military Base
Why We Resist by Chris Hedges
December 14th, 2007 at 9:23 am
Guys I honestly say one thing that - there is no future in pakistan through elections - only a revolution can change it and we should work towards that. There is no other way because chors like BB and Chaudhries would come up again and again - Since 1988 its nearly twenty years and we are still stuck with this rotten material.
In Pakistan now there is no rule of law at all and BB had decided to be teh new wife of Musharraf - shame on Zirdari but what can that poor man do - or rather he would be more than willing for money to let Musharraf enjoy her for few years.
December 14th, 2007 at 9:25 am
Guys I honestly say one thing that - there is no fut@ure in pakistan through elections - only a rev@olution can change it and we should work towards that. There is no other way because ch@ors like BB and Chaudhries would come up again and again - Since 1988 its nearly twenty years and we are still stuck with this rot@ten material.
In Pakistan now there is no rule of law at all and BB had decided to be teh new w@ife of Musharraf - shame on Zirdari but what can that poor man do - or rather he would be more than willing for money to let Musharraf en@joy her for few years.
December 14th, 2007 at 9:32 am
A resolution in Congress has been moved asking for reinstatement of CJ and other judges
http://www.moveforjustice.org/News/tabid/60/articleType/ArticleView/articleId/669/Default.aspx
December 14th, 2007 at 10:26 am
@chussain
Kiyan better keep his nose outside of Pakistan politics. Kiyani must remain inside his bounds. Only Pakistani people can save Pakistan from the traitor musharraf.
I would ask people not to look at army for political solutions. It is extremely unhealthy. It is this mentality that had made these stupid generals think that they can manage affairs of the people. It is the interference of army that has destroyed all of Pakistan’s institutions. We don’t want ANY army general meddling with affairs of politics.
December 14th, 2007 at 10:43 am
A most touching irony of the turmoil in Pakistan is the emergence of former cricketer and Tehreek-e-Insaaf leader Imran Khan as the nation’s conscience-keeper. As Pakistani politics sputters at the crossroads, Imran, like a diligent traffic policeman, points to the direction the country’s seasoned politicians should take
http://www.outlookindia.com/full.asp?fodname=20071217&fname=Pakistan (F)&sid=1&pn=1
December 14th, 2007 at 12:03 pm
Internal sources says that recent visit of AG Qyaum to UAE was to finilize the recent appointments of Judges in Sind High Court and Punjab High court with Benazir. In deal she agreed to assist Mush out of this crisis by not supporting the deposed Judges. Everything is going according to plan. She is trying to get maximum out of this crises of deposed judges.
December 14th, 2007 at 12:58 pm
I wake up in the morning hoping for a good news. Go to Internet to find Mush is still alive.
May God give us good news very soon!
December 14th, 2007 at 1:07 pm
We are basically highly reactive nation. We make our heroes within a minute and throw them like a garbage withing a minute as well. In my humble opinion, musharaf had done great job for pakistan along with many wrong turns as well.
I am astonished to read firing comments about him. Dont people look at the marvolous progress in the field of education, economy, telecommunication etc in his time. The greatest work from him is that media and judiciary enjoyed great independance as long as every thing was ok. Any treatment, if made quick, can cause svere side effects and when it is matter of national interest, it may be even worse. In my humble opinion, judiciary and specially media really worked irresponsibilly. Musharraf did right things but in wrong way. This is the only fault of him.
If u really want to analyze his time of governance, listen to the anlysts. I was born in 1980. I have seen the damned time of Zia, dark eras of Benazir and slightly better time of Nawaz sharif. Since my birth, i am seeing the best governent ever.
So please take such polls seriously and say your opinion after good analysis.
Take care
December 14th, 2007 at 1:25 pm
@qabil
IF even voter in pakistan vote for NS ,the result would be in accordance with the already prepared lists dully approvved with illegmate MAFIA.
But the ground rality is even in the case of fairest elections ,which are not going to happen ,now ns can not get 2/3 majority .
Tell me what he will do ,will his members resign or keep on beating the desks
The other scenarion is that even he gets 2/3 majority and assemly will be dissolved if he does not accept the ammended constituion
The reasons will be same in the best interest of the nation .
As for west is concerned ,any one who beleieve that they will do any thing against the pre -planned results is just making him fool .If they can accept the dispoing the whole judiciary ,what can you expect from them ,
So what is he doing and how it will lead to the restoration of judiciary ,could someone including the ADMIN shed light on that
December 14th, 2007 at 1:39 pm
@M M Ahmad
People who criticise Musharraf are doing so preciously because of his assaualt on the whole judicial structure & his disregard for constitution in his persuit for self preservation..No civilized nation can survive without rule of law let alone prosper..All the progress that you are talking about is cosmetic & will crumble away if we do not have independent institutions..Thats what we have seen the world over.. If you are talking about irresponsibility of media & judiciary I would request you to poit this out.. As most of the readers here living in West will confirm,I can tell you the media is far more aggressive towards governments here.. If you think responsible judiciary means that one guy will be above the law & his words will be the law overriding evrything then you are sadly mistaken..
December 14th, 2007 at 1:59 pm
@ M M Ahmad
You remember why Russia disappeared? Remember how West Germany had to adopt East Germany? You remember how STRONG Saddam threw his country to utter destruction? Only difference in real development and artificial development is COMPLETE democracy. Strong leaders like Musharraf only lead countries to ‘Sub se Pehle Pakistan Aur Us se pehle Mein!’.
BB & NS were given less than three years each. If Mush was deposed after three years in 2001, even you would be condemning him.
Democracy is a sure and a lasting way of development. Mush’s actions against democracy are thousand times worse than his so called good deeds.
Army not only don’t stop politicians from corruption, they encourage so that they could be blackmailed later. On the other hand, they are not allowed independent policies. If they start friendship with a neighbour, Generals start Kargil to derail the process. Countries disappear in wars, whereas Generals thrive and become national heroes.
No point blaming politicians for corruption when Army and debt servicing takes away 75% of budget. Even the remaining 25% is there for Army foundations who are running every type of businesses. Army gave us East Pakistan, Kargil and Siachen!! Politicians gave us Gawadar, Motor way and nuclear bomb.
After 9/11 $65 billion dollars came to Pakistan through various sources. Our national debt rose from $33 billion to $39 billion during this time.
When BJP was saying Shining India, poor farmers were committing suicide. People rejected BJP. Now When Musharraf and his blind supporters are telling us of development, Atta is not available are people are queuing and cannot get it even for 20 rupees a kilo. It is surprising that we have eyes but we cannot see that!!
December 14th, 2007 at 2:14 pm
why do you refuse to post any of my comments? is the truth too harsh for you?
December 14th, 2007 at 2:57 pm
What a loser. He went on National TV and quopted some vogus polls in his favours.
http://daily.urdupoint.com/todayNewsLive.php?news_id=51837&featured=1&cat_id=2
December 14th, 2007 at 2:57 pm
* quoted
*Bogus
December 14th, 2007 at 2:59 pm
67% (against Musharraf) and 57% (against Emergency) is not a big majority. I think the main reason for this is because of propoganda done by the media against the current government.
Yesterday on Capital Talk I saw a social worker doing senseless and illogical bashing of Musharraf government.
My question to all of you. If not Musharraf, then who? Benazir (Corrupt to the core and whose own niece, Fatima Bhutto, calls her daughter of the west?), Nawaz Sharif (Corrupt and power hungry). Imran Khan is not running and has no political base, JI is out of elections as well. Then who my friends? I would say that if we have to chose lesser of the evils then it would be Musharraf, calling the shots because of a hung parliament.
December 14th, 2007 at 3:22 pm
Musharraf deserves his “bounty” for doing so much for the gangsters and Yankees….He should be hanged to death.
December 14th, 2007 at 3:29 pm
@Amad Uddin
That does not mean that just becuase BB and others are corrupt we should tolerate Musharraf. He is the source of all evils and last eight years he has given nothing to this country. There is no rule of law, poor people can not even afford basic food and roti is selling for 6 ruppees. There is civil war going on in Swat nd Tribal areas and army is fighting their own muslim bretheren. There is no judiciary where an ordinary poor man can turn too as teh lota judges are occupying those places and you say he is famous. Shame on you and people like you who want to force their morally corrupt views on us.
On yesterday in Islamabad two boys mercilessly thrashed three girls right in middle of Super Market in Islamabad and there was no one to come to their rescue - where would the girls go now for justice - would your dad be there to give them justice.
It is very easy to sit there and make comments on others. But go to people and see what they say. I think this 67 percent is less - 90 percent of people except of 10 percent top corrupt elite including army and corrupt politicians like BB and Chaudhries want Musharraf to remain.
December 14th, 2007 at 5:18 pm
@Shaz
“Internal sources says that recent visit of AG Qyaum to UAE was to finilize the recent appointments of Judges in Sind High Court and Punjab High court with Benazir. In deal she agreed to assist Mush out of this crisis by not supporting the deposed Judges. Everything is going according to plan. She is trying to get maximum out of this crises of deposed judges.”
You might be right. Another piece of the puzzle solved here: The pay-off…
Govt to lift ban on third-time premiership
Malik Qayyum says president to issue five ordinances on 15th
LAHORE: The government is preparing an ordinance to lift the ban on third-time premiership, Geo news reported on Thursday.
The channel quoted sources as saying that a constitutional package was being prepared and a presidential order removing the ban on becoming premier for the third time was also included in this package.
Five ordinances: Attorney General Malik Qayyum said that five presidential orders would be issued on December 15, the day emergency rule would be lifted, according to staff report.
The presidential orders to be issued are: The Revocation of Proclamation of Emergency Order, 2007, the Repeal of Provisional Constitution Order (PCO), 2007, the Revival of Constitution Order, 2007, the Establishment of Islamabad High Court Order, 2007, and the Grant of Pensionary Benefits to Judges Order, 2007….(cont.)
December 14th, 2007 at 5:19 pm
Mistyped name again. Above post by me !
December 14th, 2007 at 5:24 pm
@ Amad ud Din
you Mush lovers repeat same arguments about politicians. May I suggest you to read my post @ 1.59.
Please do remember Mush’s honest allies (Chaudharies, Kamil Ali Agha, Att Gen Quyom, Wasi Zafar etc)
As Dr Sher Afgan often says: ‘Aap meri baat Suno gei to aap ko Samajh Aa jai gi’. Lols
December 14th, 2007 at 6:22 pm
Can you see this army guy - who is looking at Musharraf - such a begharat guy
December 14th, 2007 at 10:03 pm
Problems and Political Parties of Pakistan
I have been watching very closely the political developments in the country with particular reference to the role of Political Parties of Pakistan. I have compiled my observations & purposeless in the larger interest of the country as well as promoter of liberal democratic process in the country through Political Parties of Pakistan. Those observations and purposeless are sent here with for your perusal.
Due to domination and control of opportunists, hypocrites, and power as well as money hunger persons in Pakistani politics, public are seriously hit by administrative victimization and judicial injustice along with economical disaster and social polarization.
The previous political parties’ governments could not solve the basic and genuine problems of the public by failing to prove stable socio-economical atmosphere along with administrative and judicial justice. The present government has also failed due to lack of politically energetic, intellectually effective and publicly well respected personalities, to meet the problems either at International and National level or even at Provincial and local level.
It is the need of time that the “Political Parties of Pakistanâ€? should be organized properly by considering the necessity of Cadres at Union Council, Taluka and District as well as Provincial and National level. These “cadres” should include persons:
(a) Those possess intellectual wisdom to prepare proper plans and programs.
(b) Those have organizational skill to organize and systematize the party.
(c) Those are socially well respected among the masses and capable to guide the public.
(d) Those can donate or manage economical resources for the need of party requirements.
At the same time, as pubic is too much disappointed, dissatisfied and disillusioned from politicians, because of that, it is in the best interest of Pakistan and Political Parties of Pakistan that the trust of public has regained by political aptitude, competency, ethics, principles and sincerity. Other wise there is no hope of change in prevailing political culture and none of the political government will be able to redress economical disaster, social polarization, administrative victimization and judicial injustice.
Let there arise out of you a band of people inviting to all that is good, enjoining what is right, and forbidding what is wrong: They are the ones to attain felicity. [3:104]
For each (such person) there are (angels) in succession, before and behind him: They guard him by command of God. Verily never will God change the condition of a people until they change it themselves But when (once) God willeth a people’s punishment, there can be no turning it back, nor will they find, besides Him, any to protect. [13:11]
The blame is only against those who oppress men and wrong-doing and insolently transgress beyond bounds through the land, defying right and justice: for such there will be a penalty grievous. [42:42]
It is He Who hath made you (His) agents, inheritors of the earth: He hath raised you in ranks, some above others: that He may try you in the gifts He hath given you: for thy Lord is quick in punishment: yet He is indeed Oft-forgiving, Most Merciful. [6:165]
To all are degrees (or ranks) according to their deeds: for thy Lord is not unmindful of anything that they do. [6:132]
Say: “O God! Lord of Power (And Rule), Thou givest power to whom Thou pleasest, and Thou strippest off power from whom Thou pleasest: Thou enduest with honour hom Thou pleasest, and Thou bringest low whom Thou pleasest: In Thy hand is all good. Verily, over all things Thou hast power. [3:26]
Fulfil the Covenant of Allah when ye have entered into it, and break not your oaths after ye have confirmed them; indeed ye have made Allah your surety; for Allah knoweth all that ye do. [16:91]
These are the Signs of God: We rehearse them to thee in Truth: And God means no injustice to any of His creatures.[3:108]
December 14th, 2007 at 11:26 pm
Mad Musharraf has a strange way of putting questions and answers. Because of his style alone, he is making funny headlines, Such as:
‘Am I a Madman?’
The answer, says Pakistan President Pervez Musharraf, is no — but he is angry. Lally Weymouth has the rest of the interview.
http://www.washingtonpost.com/?reload=true
December 15th, 2007 at 1:30 am
I am tired of hearing some folks uttering the same old crap about musharaf being the best option..look at this and look at that. (bb..ns etc).see how they raped that land etc etc…
this is so damn defeatist…. the army has totally wiped out the political landscape over the past many decades leaving no room for true leaders to rise….so just because bb and ns are rubbish do we never seek anything better??? ever???
we are so enslaved in the inane notion that we are not fit for democracy etc…the fact that the indians can make it work so well seems to never factor into any of the feeble minds of the pro-fauji lot….
the army has had an unhindered period of almost a decade in power and what has it produced? in teh past it has never protected the borders - it has been defeated time and again and produced disasters like Bangladesh and Kargil..it is busy makeing cornflakes, cement and handling real estate….
as to the faujis being cleaner than the politicians one should just visit some of the properties they own in the west…
grow up guys such as MM Ahmad above…. wake up and do a reality check before it’s too late for all of us….
mush and his disgusting lot are taking us down the path of total ruin…
GO MUSH GO — GIVE US A BREAK AND SCAM
December 15th, 2007 at 1:44 am
Kami - thanks for that link — the washingtonpost one…
what a psychopathic nutter he is…. lies and cheats all the time…note how he is cornered by her on the issue of “code of conduct”
go home musharaf — go away - leave us alone — stop cheating us, lying to us, take your chaudhries of gujrat and go away forever. stop destroying thsi country.
December 15th, 2007 at 4:32 pm
Can you tell me even a single government who respected law…dont we know about all our politicians. can a common man reach assemblies. its game of power. and power is gained by any mean. even a simple nazim makes such a display of power that we stand with fingers in teeth. cool down and just think…what law friedly government you have ever seen. can u tell me even a single one….(in pakistan)