l PkPolitics is Back with Fresh Looks! | Pakistan Politics
{ 55 comments... read them below or add one }

• downwithmush said:

yaar you scared the #@%@# out of all of us, come on, we can’t afford any more surprises like this. Madcow is enough for that, oh well again any action by him and Attorney General is not a surprise now.lol.

• bechaari_awam said:

bhai, don’t do this to us again. you should know how I spent last two hours since I first read about the shut down. The only person feeling happy was my wife :)
    also in case of financial burden, please make it a subscription based with a nominal fees. I guess we all will be quite happy to contribute to keep this site running.

• Faizan said:

Don’t you ever do this again, you scared the hell out of me

• farhn said:

man u realy scared me and i thought u’d been shut down like geo as well any ways nice to c its back with new look

we do need some new looks and new blood to fight against this corrupt regime

u know wt why dont you promote ur web site in pakistani politicians so they can share their ideas up here as well.

• SAL said:

Thanks for coming back. missed you guys.

as for the new site outlook i would say very nice, looks very professional now. but i am having a hell of a time trying to find out what are the latest videos added, may be i need to explore the site more… but here are few things i noticed.

1-if you could show a list of videos in chronological order added daily to the site it will be very helpful.

2-What happened to the older videos i cant find them.

3- the videos are playing back to back i dont know what the next video is that is kind of confusing.

4-the screen size of the videos has become smaller, i dont know if that is deliberate?

keep up the good work.

• Faizan said:

Why don’t you also make a databse of different newspaper articles by leading journalists and add another link in this website named “COLUMNS”. Please think seriosly about it.

• admin said:

A new ‘Browse’ button has been added on the top to find everything on single page. The screen size is fixed for new videos, it will take some time to fix for old videos.

More fixes coming shortly.

• Beena said:

thank God ..it has come back …
    but frankly speaking i just dont like the new lay out of the site ….
    no2. i find it a little too much at one page ……
    anyway ….
    as long ,it is there to inform and keep us update it is good.
    lay out doesnt matter much…..
    thanks a lot for providing us a platform…
    an opportunity to know,to think,to decide……

• downwithmush said:

good color scheme, but as some one mentioned i think it has too much info. on one page, lol i know you said previously ppl were complaining that too few topics but i think now it’s too much. Others can be the judge, still waiting for your email to pkelections @ gmail.com to sync up my efforts with yours

• ss said:

its awesome.

• TexasBoy said:

@admin,

gotta tell ya, the old website was more spacious, against a white background it seemed much more immaculate. i am already feeling nostalgic.

but all the best, its the content that matters, not the asthetics..

• smssr84 said:

oh God u scared me!! I even posted on facebook that the site is shutdown by govt!!!

uufffff!!!! dont do that ever again!!! use the right words and put RIGHT info!!!

• TexasBoy said:

@admin,

my comments have been put on more moderation since yesterday, i wasnt even able to congragulate you and the community on the millionth visitor… cmon yar, i’ve been a part of this website longer than many newbies…. cut me some slack….
    subhan

• beanwaca said:

Great new layout admin. and well done once again for serving the country throughout these testing times. God Bless.

• econfused said:

Man don’t you ever do that again. It will be a cry wolf. We might never believe you again. Oh what the heck, if we can trust BB and NS, we will trust you too. Hopes are keeping us alive

• baig said:

Thank God you are bacK!!! I thought Mush and company had decided to take you down.

Nice work on the site. Some suggestions though

1. It would be nice if you had a link on the main page from where we can access all the videos.

2. Also if you make the banner white and green instead of the current blue black it would be nicer.

And also please please please don’t put up too much information on the homepage. Otherwise it would be too cluttered

• Faisal said:

Assalaam o alaliekum

Thanks God!!!!!!!!!

yaar aap nay to dara hi diya thaa!!!!

Please don’t shut it down. This is the only platform I love to visit.

PK POLITICS is Great!!!!!!!

Keep it up!!!!!

I love this new website

Great!!!!
    Long Live Pakistan

• athar said:

good work, I was with you from the first days. You have done great job.Well done

• Asad said:

Well i wasnt scared because when i woke up this morning i found this!!! The new face of pkpolitics. i think its really great.

Faizan has a good point about the articles. If there can be database for that it will be a good idea. But not just from pakistani newspapers, it can also be from other sources where pakistan is being discussed. I think it will also be good idea to post videos from other news agencies and channels where pakistan is the hot issue. It is a bit difficult but we can all contribute.

• safshan said:

Thanks God pkpolitics is back again. My father-in-law called me and said the site is not working I checked it on my computer and was really really scared. This website is very popular in all my family and friends.

The new look is just great. Congratulations on the new facelook. God bless you all who are running this site.

• tipu said:

@admin,

good work…many good additions…
    it will take a day or two to adjust to the new format and some of us may even prefer the older look…but this will be more useful…

Tipu

• Aneeza said:

Surprise surprise!!
    Well frankly I liked the ld layout better. Maybe cauz I was so used to it and then it was easier to find everything. Anyway, its OK since content is the same :)

• Beena said:

i miss the pics …………………………..at the top band …..

• abrar said:

i suggest the subheading ‘live video’ should be a link that takes you to the old style page which is much easier to navigate to watch videos in chronological order of uploading. this new style makes navigating to find the videos cumbersome. please bear in mind that not all the people using this site are experience surfers or even english proficient. i have friends who can hardly read english but because of their interest in Pakistan and politics and the simple lay out that you had they found it quite easy to use this site.

• Atif Kamal said:

wish u luck Admin

(i hope comments awaiting moderation will improve)

• Ahmed said:

Great new look, keep up the fantastic work guys ! If its possble, can you look into a functionality that allows full screen for the video clips ?

• Omer said:

Poor design in usability, in the earlier website we can just play the video or view comments with one click. The layout was spacious and more web2.0 style.

White is the color for most news and information centric websites.
    http://www.guardian.co.uk/

• Tanweer Amjad said:

Excellent Page. Rather revolutionary page.

Very Easy to use. All recent videos can be seen on the front page. All Previous videos and previous news can be seen through the Browse Tab.

Video can be watched on the samll screen only, but still it is good enough with good resolution.

It would be nice to reduce the column 3. Reduce the latest updates links to 10.

Move the calendar and site stats to column 1.

Move the latest comments to column 2.

What is the purpose of ‘Search anything’? I think it is under construction. Place it somewhere on the top.

• Independent Thinker said:

I initially that Gen. (rtrd) Musharaf has bought the host of pkpolitics, and deleted pkpolitics from hosting accounts. lol.

Anyway, I just want to suggest that if you can expand the layout, instead of fixed width, it would the content on homepage to flow easily than now.

• hasheesh said:

I like the new look.will take some getting used to but its much better then the old one. your away warning could have been better though lol. try pkpolitics is under construction or down for maintenance the next time so we know ISI hasn’t abducted you yet :P

• Tanweer Amjad said:

Add a link for the News Views this week, so that we can add comments as well as any news we find through other sources.
    The hot news today is that changes made in the constitution by presidential ordinance which include change in 17th amendment. Third time premiership will be allowed. So BB would be pretty satisfied. Do you have any idea where should I place this comment :D .

• Tanweer Amjad said:

Remove the ‘Search Anything’ text above Recent Comments.

• DefaultUser said:

I love to visit this website everyday even when I’m at work. Still writing from there. I felt very sad that you are going to shut this and was thinking to offer you my services I don’t know you need them or not . I don’t know if I can contribute or help you out but I’m working in IT Field and not very far from you I believe.

• Aveei said:

New layout of Pkpolitics is very ugly
    i find it a little too much at one page
    Please change to old one

• Koala from Australia said:

Hi Admin,

I liked the layout of your previous website much more compared to this one. Can you not change it back to the original one? as it was better to look at and easier to use.

Thanks a lot if you can!

Koala.

• imran ghazali said:

Hi Admin….great work I like the new layout….I attended “Live with Talat” at Karachi Press Club and I have got the clips from that program…

http://video.google.com/videoplay?docid=-2178513150402280211

above is the link for the first part I am uploading the other ones!

• Kami said:

New Look is more professional. It will take some time before we familiarise with that.

I was worried that the website was closing and I was contacting my friends on how not to let this good work go to waste. Thank God the website is back and I won’t have to spend so much time like @dmin serving thankless people, lol

• Shaz said:

One suggestion

Plz dilute the Black color as it is too strong. Rest seems ok.

• hafeez said:

new look, nice look, congratulations!!

• Farooq Ahmed said:

The older site had more Paki look and feel.

• Atif said:

black is not apealing man,too strong make it light green or light blue

• Khizar Hayat said:

i think the readability of this new look is not good.

• Aamir said:

PLEASE CHANGE THE TOP BLACK BANNER.
    WE ALREADY SO FRUSTRATED BY OUR MUSH BB AND BHALO.
    CHOOSE SOME PROFESSIONAL COLORS- GREY BLUE ETC

• aadil mohammad said:

Aoa,
    its a horrible situation of Pakistan.i wish may Allah keep our country safe and sound

• Tanweer Amjad said:

Please include the latest 5 comments in the ‘Archives’ link. This way one can see where the discussion is taking place mostly and what is the hot issue.

You are not convinced to add the ‘Today’s Discussions’ or ‘Comments’ or ‘News Views Today’ Tab on the header :D .

• admin said:

@Tanweer,

The problem with many users on site is that they see the most active topic and start discussing irrelevant things or adding links.

I have intentionally made all the topics spread on the home page so that people select the topic which is more interesting to them and discuss their relevant views.

I have just added the number of comments to be also displayed on the home page with each topic so that the visitors can see which topics have more discussions.

I will keep it this way for a few days and see if this helps in controlling irrelevant comments or not.

• raj said:

Put banners on it and earn money. This should be the coolest site Pakistanis have ever had.

• admin said:

@Tanweer,

I overlooked your request initially and thought you wanted this on the main page.

The “Recent Comments” have been added to the Archives page.

• Gul said:

a good layout. one deficiency seems to be the ability to access the archives, for example looking up a Capital Talk show, or Better Pakistan for example of a certain date. That’s very important for site users especially for sending the link of an old video to a friend. If that can be catered to it would be perfect. You’re doing a great job though!

• Mohsan Saeed(Japan) said:

I liked the previous layout more than this one, coz i find it hard to search the latest updates.

• admin said:

Gul & Mohsin,

Did you look in Archives page? The latest updates are in the “by post” list.

• Dr.Masood Tariq said:

Problems and Political Parties of Pakistan

I have been watching very closely the political developments in the country with particular reference to the role of Political Parties of Pakistan. I have compiled my observations & purposeless in the larger interest of the country as well as promoter of liberal democratic process in the country through Political Parties of Pakistan. Those observations and purposeless are sent here with for your perusal.

Due to domination and control of opportunists, hypocrites, and power as well as money hunger persons in Pakistani politics, public are seriously hit by administrative victimization and judicial injustice along with economical disaster and social polarization.

The previous political parties’ governments could not solve the basic and genuine problems of the public by failing to prove stable socio-economical atmosphere along with administrative and judicial justice. The present government has also failed due to lack of politically energetic, intellectually effective and publicly well respected personalities, to meet the problems either at International and National level or even at Provincial and local level.

It is the need of time that the “Political Parties of Pakistanâ€? should be organized properly by considering the necessity of Cadres at Union Council, Taluka and District as well as Provincial and National level. These “cadres” should include persons:

(a) Those possess intellectual wisdom to prepare proper plans and programs.

(b) Those have organizational skill to organize and systematize the party.

(c) Those are socially well respected among the masses and capable to guide the public.

(d) Those can donate or manage economical resources for the need of party requirements.

At the same time, as pubic is too much disappointed, dissatisfied and disillusioned from politicians, because of that, it is in the best interest of Pakistan and Political Parties of Pakistan that the trust of public has regained by political aptitude, competency, ethics, principles and sincerity. Other wise there is no hope of change in prevailing political culture and none of the political government will be able to redress economical disaster, social polarization, administrative victimization and judicial injustice.

Let there arise out of you a band of people inviting to all that is good, enjoining what is right, and forbidding what is wrong: They are the ones to attain felicity. [3:104]

For each (such person) there are (angels) in succession, before and behind him: They guard him by command of God. Verily never will God change the condition of a people until they change it themselves But when (once) God willeth a people’s punishment, there can be no turning it back, nor will they find, besides Him, any to protect. [13:11]

The blame is only against those who oppress men and wrong-doing and insolently transgress beyond bounds through the land, defying right and justice: for such there will be a penalty grievous. [42:42]

It is He Who hath made you (His) agents, inheritors of the earth: He hath raised you in ranks, some above others: that He may try you in the gifts He hath given you: for thy Lord is quick in punishment: yet He is indeed Oft-forgiving, Most Merciful. [6:165]

To all are degrees (or ranks) according to their deeds: for thy Lord is not unmindful of anything that they do. [6:132]

Say: “O God! Lord of Power (And Rule), Thou givest power to whom Thou pleasest, and Thou strippest off power from whom Thou pleasest: Thou enduest with honour hom Thou pleasest, and Thou bringest low whom Thou pleasest: In Thy hand is all good. Verily, over all things Thou hast power.  [3:26]

Fulfil the Covenant of Allah when ye have entered into it, and break not your oaths after ye have confirmed them; indeed ye have made Allah your surety; for Allah knoweth all that ye do. [16:91]

These are the Signs of God: We rehearse them to thee in Truth: And God means no injustice to any of His creatures.[3:108]

• shahid said:

SALAM

Dear Admin

I think you are doing a great work and you are actually contributing a lot towards achieving the liberty of Pakistan. Keep it up buddy.

Actually I was thinking why don’t you add a chat link on the web page so that people could discuss their ideas? I think it would also provide the opportunity of letting the lava out of the hearts which is quite a necessary thing for people like Pakistanis.

Thanks a lot.

• Electronics_Engr said:

AssalamOAlaikauam Admin Bhai.

I would just love to pray for you Jazak ALLAH Khairan for your efforts JUST for the sake of ALLAH. May ALLAH accept these. Aameen

Urs Bro