Geo and AAJ are reporting that PPP has decided to join polls on 8th January 2007. Chaudhry Prevez Elahi has ordered his party to resume election campaign from tomorrow.
The formal decision is expected to be announced at Press Conference at 6:00PM PST.
There are also reports that Elections might be postponed by EC until March 2008 due to law and order situation.
213 Responses to “PPP to Join Elections on 8 January”

No I am 100% sure that Govt. will delay the elections.
“If you plan to win as I do, the game never ends.â€?
I thougt that a punjabi COAS will make Muhajir general escapegoat, and sindh and balouch will be happy but it seems….
if this is true and PPP goes to elections than LOL for Nawas Sharif and PMLN.
NS did a childish thing when he said that “I will continue BB’s mission and will bring BB’s killer to justice”
i can just guess the mental mess the PMLN workers are in.
NS tried to play politics on BB’s murder and the gamble didnt work out.
I see Musharaf for atleast 5 years cz America does not have plan “C”.
Now Nawaz Sharif will take another U-turn bcuz he announced boycott on 27th of this month.
@Riddie
I am sure this decision was done by involving NS and his party and now both PML N and PPP will participate in elections. No doubt it was a wonderful decision by NS to call for a boycott.
Now Altaf Hussain will cry like his mother died on channels and his supporters will show malice as usual. what a double faced hypocrites
@impulsive
I stand for the bycott of elections. But insiders say that NS did this in a hurry right after the murder of BB. Also we all know that the complete politics of PMLN have always been on Anit PPP agenda.
http://www.jang.com.pk/jang/dec2007-daily/30-12-2007/col4.htm
@Riddie
That decision earned him a lot of respect and political credibility. We don’t have a PPP candidate in our area and now every single PPP voter will be voting for PML N just becuase NS showed a great gesture when PPP needed it the most.
AH will always have his fixed seats. ideally this should be the time to fully boycott and level score with all rouge regimes. look how govt. has claimed for BB;s death - sunroof lever? what they will do in elections? no different than this
@impulsive
Yes the decision earned him a respect and I am sure that public liked it too. But now if he takes a Uturn and goes to elections than aside from your area (halka) the general public of Pakistan and PMLN worker is bound to think that there leader is gambling because he knows that he himself is not in elections.
If he would stood on his stand for bycott then yes but this is the second time that he has said that he will bycott and if he changes than this is not mature politics. He should have waited for PPP’s decision.
AGAR BAKI GHARRAY MAY CHALANG LAGA RAHAY HAIN TO MAY BHI LAGAOONGA.
I think the public has learned a lot about these political thugs in the last several months.
If you watch closely to the US think tanks, you will realize that they are now talking about supporting Musharaff for another 5 years as they have no alternative. Or if NS cuts a deal with US again and goes the extra mile than BB which I dont see happening cz of the upcoming US elections.
Just as I thought. And I was afraid Nawaz will be making a u-turn again. But seems PPP is helping him out this time saying the will also request Nawaz to support their decision and to take part in the elections along with them…
I am shocked from this decision of PPP.
This means that PPP has agreed to accept the elections under supervision of Musharraf whom they accuse of killing their party leader.
I am sure PPP wants to cash the sympathy votes that are surely gonna go in their favor.
PPP was in excellent position to get rid of Musharraf at this time by demanding resignation of Musharraf as all international media was hinting.
Rasheed
I am not a PPP fan but I think the decision to take part in the elections is best for PPP. Jan. 08th is ideal. A lot of “sympathy votes” would come PPP way. Its time to cash in on BB’s death. For PPP the delay of elections might not be fruitful. In all honesty, I dread the day Zardari becomes the prime minister. That day Pakistan would be open for a garage sale. He would be Mr. Cent percent. They want people to go to polls NOW while the assasination is still fresh. NS is turning into a poltical idiot by the day. He cannot make up his mind. He speaks first and thinks later. PML-Q is the biggest loser in all this episode.
We Pakistanis are big believers of conspiracy theories but why not this time with NS:
Q. Which Political Party/Leader gains most after BB’s state murder?
A. Nawaz Sharif being second biggest pakistani party.
Q. Which political Party gains most after NS announced boycott?
A. PML(Q) and Chaudary’s because PML(Q) had only one rival in real terms. Q-league candidates faced only competition from N-participants.
If NS didn’t wanted to take part in elections because of BB’s death, he would have said:
- we will not take part in elections but support PPP in election campaign
-OR we will atke part in elections to crush PML-Q in Punjab and support PPP in parliment.
Any wise man would have thought of these points.
Is NS not wise or he is in same team???
NS like before had made the boycott of elections conditional on PPP’s decision. He offered it at that time so that people of Sindh dont take this that punjabis are callous and dont care for them.
I believe NS decision was absolutely right at that time and now if PPP still wants to participate in the elections then tomorrow they cannot blame NS for not siding with them.
I think NS has raised his stature by siding with PPP.
The biggest loss was that for PML Q and now they would be really wanting that elections should be postponed because in current atmosphere there is no chance they can win these elections. Now it wont be a hung parliament - PPP is bound to get majority followed by PML N
NS hasnt made a U turn - he sided with PPP in difficult times and now that they feel its ok for them to participate in the elections then there shouldnt be any problem for him because he supporting the wishes of PPP and Benazir.
He has made an excellent move.
Conspiracy Theory # 101 — This assasination was the work of the Chaudhries. To the Chaudhries Musharraf appeared to be tilting towards BB to please the West. There already was a behind the door agreement between Musharraf and BB. And further, can anyone tell why Karzai only met BB on the morning of her assasination and not any other political opponent? The answer is that he knew that he was meeting the future PM.
So the Chaudhries along with some elements of religious extremism decided to eliminate BB for their own political benefit.
I agree that she also issued statements that did not please the North Western belt and Baitullah Mashud BUT even before that she was a threat to Pervaiz Elahi and Shujaat. And it was them who had carried out the initial blast at Karachi.
Musharraf could not have done this because this does not help him in any way. Rather this has created anti-govt sentiments and outright hatred againt him.
But at the same time, Musharraf had tirned a blind eye towards whatever PML-Q was doing. This was his way of paying them back for their support all the past years.
@ c Hussain
Sorry by not taking part in elections he is actually not siding with PPP.
BB wanted him to take part in elections to crush Q-league … and by boycotting he has made Chaudarys smile.
Is he a wise man???
@fantagirl
NS could not have said, that Greta BB is dead, lets go for elections. He as a politician stood by PPP because there was a chance that elections might be delayed. Now PPP knows they will win almost all the seats in Sindh. PPP now stands a better chance in Baluchistan. The argument again is if PPP itself decides for election, why should NS stick to boycott.
NS is a politician, he knows that if both PPP and PMLQ are in, then there is no way his party should stayout.
Live Press conference on Aaj by Zardaris.
PPP is going for election. Press conference by Asif Ali Zardari. Asif asked NS to join in election
Bilawal Bhutto Zardari
New name for BB kids
NS decided to reconsider his previous decision.
http://jang.com.pk/jang/dec2007-daily/30-12-2007/update.htm#24
In my opinion bycott is much better option in long ron, I never supported BB or NS stand to participate in these election, a decision which as most probably based on a deal which allowed them to come back to Pakistan.
On other hand PPP is doing same politics since 1980s “Lashoon ki Sayaasat”, Mr. 10% decided to keep the fortune of PPP in the family and encashed fully on death of his wife, leader of Pakistan’s leading party. May be this time he reach new highs by becoming Mr. 15% or more
And making Blawal CP of PPP is a joke, it is a joke with the whole nation not only with PPP. How come a kid of 19yrs become the chairperson of a party representing millions of Pakistanies, only because his mother said it in her will ? Which came from no where but from Mr. 10% pocket ! It looks like Mr. 10% was fully prepared to deal with the situation.
In long run, I see nothing but a divided PPP, from Govt agencies point of view, mission accomplised.
Bilawal Bhutto Zardari is the new name. Smiling Asif Zardari will be his couch. I have no doubt Asif will be the next PM.
What kind of politics do we have? Why couldn’t the personalities like Makhdoom Amin Faheem, Aitezaz Ahsan, Raza Rabani come forward. I feel sorry about our political parties, which don’t have any organizational structure and work according to wishes of a particular personal.
I just saw the press conference headed by bilawal and Zaedari.
And my sympathies already started reverting. He is the one man whose face i wouldn’t want you see.
I thought her blood would bring some change. Zardari made that hope vanished in his single press conference.
No divisions in PPP will appear before election. They already know, to win the election they have to stick together. She was a shrewd politician, and she made sure in her will. I doubt killers were that shrewd.
@Basit, same thing was said when Bhutto was hanged, that PPP is now over, and same thing was said when BB started to lead the party. TIme and again PPP has proved it wrong. Its a Bhutto legacy, and BB knew you cannot take away the cult from it.
@Azlone: so who do you think has the final say in such matters? How much did the fawj/agencies, the USA/UK , were involved in this murderous act? Was this a Chaudries-only act or were others also involved? In other words, who else wanted BB killed and in doing so co-operated/used the Chaudhries? You say Musharraf kept silent because he wanted to payback the two illiterate goons of Gujrat and that he remained silent even with the knowledge that it was not going to help him in anyway. That sounds rather strange and it even implies that the Chaudhry brothers have the power to operate on their own, even bypass/ blackmail Musharraf and the fawj. How much power do these Gujrati pigs actually have and if they do have it, what is the source of this power? I don’t think anybody can claim such power in Pakistan without the army and the agencies.
Instead of changing own names, Zardari should have changed the Party’s name.
Its not a Pakistan Peoples Party but a bhutto family party.
Zardari could be the least suitable person to lead the party. It is so disappointing that another defining moment is being used for personal benefit.
I am sure anti-ppp people are really mad at the moment
, while PPP knows this is the only way to sweep the election. Anybody saying Asif wil be PM are wrong. He wil be the king maker. Now all I have to say to Anti-PPP people to wait for sometime before passing judgement.
i think this was pretty much obvious who is going to succed BB. the decision to go for election is good one as zardari requested NS to participate. and as far as Bilawal is concerned he will be playing as a symbol till he finishes his studies. and politics is in his blood he will be a good leader one day. those who are saying AA or AF were the best option so don,t forget it,s the BHUTTO name whom people love these guys will play a key role back scene.
PML-N accepts the request of PPP to go for election. Now NS bashers will see it as U-turn.
PML-Q is in deep $hit as usual.
Yes, i am really really mad at this moment, not that i am anti or pro any party but because i really really care for my country.
Zardari was not PM when he was famous as Mr.10%
He was 10% when he played a second fiddle in BB’s government. This time it seems like Zardari is going to unleash himself.
BB death is a national tragedy no doubt, I myself am totally devastated by the news. But at the same time I was seeing that as an opportunity to move towards democracy and better Pakistan. And to stand firmly against Musharaf and his Q league.
This is absolute Shambles!!! What a shameful party is this PPP.
I always suspected knowing Zardari’s character that he would like to walk into PM’s house on the corpse of his wife. Zardari has pushed all limits of opportunism and meanness. All of sudden he has produced a will appointing him as a chairman with a nominal chairmanship to young Bilawal who cant even speak Urdu and hence will be a puppet in Zardari’s hand. Now he is aspiring to become ‘100 percent’ rather then a meager ‘10%’.
This represents a dilemna in Pakistan politics. The people who does not deserve a single vote or anything at all are made chairpersons, presidents and cheif executives etc. While the capable leaders who have the support of masses i.e. Aitzaz Ahsan etc. do not get considered in the big picture at all. Aitzaz Ahsan right now is arguably the only person who has the support in all provinces and true symbol of Federation.
But Alas, this country has yet to see more upheavels, more deprivation of one’s rights and more destruction.
Nice gesture shown by Nawaz Sharif by boycotting the Elections,as he did not want to go for Elections at the cost of killing of BB.However on request of PPP,now PMLN is also participating in Elections.PMLN’s actions must not be taken as U-turn because more than the actions ,the ideas are important.And NS’s actions were only based on ideological basis.
PML (Q->Qatil, not Quaid e Azam) and Musharraf is in deepest trouble .
Mushi can fall to any deepest level possible to save him.
Khuda rehm karay..
bilawal bhutto=bb
another bb
good
@ashahid
Well since killers are not politicians, and then cannot foreseethe long term consequences. Why PPP should not cash in their murder? Don’t you see Chaudhry’s using theirs father till today?
As for Aitezaz is concerned, he is a great leader, but he is not a political legacy, and no he does not have cult like following. If you think Aitezaz is at such a level, why he was with BB till last moment? I think he understands that masses are still with PPP
it can be a stalemate as rouge army will never allow PPP to win with majority. and situation will become worse than ever. So there will be another martial law and great public anger and movement against army. probably army will be defeated this time but lot depends on how further politicians act! theoretically they can achieve that future chaotic situation today even by boycotting.
So the US has replied and lets see what rouge army has in return
PPP’s plan is to cash on sympathy votes and that’s why they (yet again) have chosen a short sighted “solution” and decided to participate in the elections. The sitting junta will be forced to do less rigging and under such circumstances PPP will have the advantage, but not PAK, because PPP will not be willing to reinstate independant judiciary. In other words PPP is not willing to make real changes but just grab power.
On one side Zardari says we are a symbol of federation & on the other side he calls Gora saab for justice.
Noon league ko har crisis sey pehley aur baad main apna stance badlana para. what a bunch of big political parties we have.
If a party cannot survive without the legacy of a family then how come Pakistan.
The ownership rights Pakistan must be distributed equaly between Iqbals & Jinnahs Families.
@econfused
Well, nobody knows the name of Chaudry’s father and using an unkown is irrational. Everyone knows that Chaudry’s are in the run only due to illegal president Musharraf and I dont think anyone has any sympathy for them or their father.
As far legacy and cult is concerned about Aitzaz Ahsan, such characterstics are also missing in Zardari. Therefore, he becoming a chairperson while the son is off to Oxford to complete education is beyond me and other rational people apart from seeing a clear intent to seize the opportunity by Zardari. Why didnt they democratically elect their co-chairperson and president to aid Bilawal, if somoneone from Bhutto family needed to be there??
I think the only time when a muslim political organisation elected someone based on integrity, principles and qualities were the election of Mohammad Ali Jinnah in 1913 as president. But then again, no one at that time expected Muslim League to have any authority or position in the subcontinent politics otherwise mean and opportunistic people would have prevented that as well.
Delimna of Pakistan and its people.
the show of solidarity between PPP and PMLN is the real national reconciliation.
asif there is nothing wrong about asking for UN investigation team. If the family of BB considers the govt. responsible for the murder it makes perfect sense to get an unbiased investigation team. If the govt. wasn’t involved they should support this decision to clear their name of the blame.
@Siqibt,
Can’t agree more!
Decision made is aimed to get into power and came from one who took 1.5b $ of Pakistan’s tax payers money and famously known as Mr. 10% internationally. In last three days newspapers here in UK he was mentioned in different columns as Mr. 10%, they still remember him for his deeds.
What a decision, Son & Father will be chairperson of a party represent millions and claimed to be face of federation. They are encashing on people’s anger and frustration majority of those may not even belongs to PPP but protested and came out because they just had enough.
One simple question is what qualification, credibility and ability Bilawal Zardari now Bilawal Bhutto Zardari have to be chairperson of “People Party” which is more a legacy of Bhutto and Bhutto Party instead of “People Party”.
I was so angry and had so much sympathy with PPP and family of BB, but after this press conference I just realised how silly I was, they are all the same. Nothing will change.
“Keh Aab Mojzaay Nahi Hootay”, we all Pakistani should leave the hope and accept curruption of these parties PPP, PML Q, or PML N or JUI, or JI all are alike, few did in far past, few did in recent past. Few we still remember few we are forgetting.
Bhutto’s son to lead her party http://www.cnn.com/2007/WORLD/asiapcf/12/30/pakistan.politics/index.html#cnnSTCText
good deceision by ppp to join elections
now the days of choudhri brothers are over
Bad decision. It was time to declare war on Muhsarraf.
Zardari should’ve said, “Musharraf should resign within 24 hours or else we’ll hang him from the lamp post outside president house.”
Alas, Zardari is not a man. PPP leaders are salivating now with power in sight.
@basit and others:
If this is the general consensus and people don’t like Asif and Bilawal, then in a free and fair electipn people can vote against them. Even the Jiyalas. Now my question to all of you, what if PPP wins the election based on vote.
I personally see a problem, when we want democracy, but we want it only it is as per our opinion. Personally I would have liked a stance of NS boycotting election cuz of Judiciary, but since he he is going for election, I will vote for NS.
So I have sympathies for PPP, but my vote for a voice who talks about judiciary. Now you you scream in these forums, but if PPP wins, then we have to accept as that is what a true democracy demands. “Will of People” not yours or mine.
Majority of Pakistan allready knows the PPP stand on judiciary, and if Majority want judiciary, they can vote against PPP.
So don’t just start cursing PPP, and work for democracy, as in the longer run it will give you a free society - given chance.
Instead of asking for a UN team, Zardari should’ve asked for reinstatement of CJP Iftikhar Chaudhry. UN will never go against Bush’s pet blood hound Pervez Musharraf.
@ kruman
that would have just caused a lot of blood shed and most probably hurled the country into a civil war as a result of an already enraged population picking up arms. I am glad they did not embark on any such adventure considering that musharraf is already a psycho who would have hit back with full force. the win of PPP in elections is inevitable and musharraf will be taken out through democracy. Its a good decision to cool down the anti punjab sentiment and participate in elections.
Those cirticising Zidari should also know that he may be 10 percent or whatever but he has gone through imprisonment which is even more than for a person who is convicted for life imprisonment.
At this stage if he had boycotted which actually Q league had wanted he would have given teh opportunity to postpone it and then delay it indefinitely so that in mean time they could find other ways to handle it.
PMLN has also decided to join the elections.
I wish IK had also filed his nomation papers. IK should realise that politics is an art where things changes very quickly and one should not show their cards quickly.
I am sure the goverment would never want to go in elections becuase its a doomsday scenario for them and rigging now is impossible for them - hardly a week is 10 days are left in the elections.
Q league now cannot even do damage control and certainly Kiyani would not like to go out of the way to support them and their return.
I am sure soon Q league would be begging for some reason of postponement.
@ashahid
You are expecting rationality from a cult? that does not seem rational to me. Chaudhrys father is know, if it is not know to you, then may be you are too young to know.
I see it as a rational decision for PPP which will guarantee a sweep to power. It would have been irrational it after the soyam three different parties came out from Bhutto house.
Don’t go with emotions, and think how PPP came to this decision. Bhutto is a cult, and it just reached to a higher level.
@c hussain
Yours is the only sane voice left in the forum I guess
and I have a feeling that you are not even a ppp voter.
One thing about Zirdari surprises me
He said he has not allowed for postmortem. First of all legally he cannot refuse postmortem as BB was a murder victim. Secondly now how can UN can come and investigate because the first thing they would come and ask would be
MEDICO LEGAL CERTIFICATE - MLC which cannot be issued until there is postportem report.
If this case is lost it would be because of Zirdari and he cannot now blame the govemrent for coming up with other explnations because he has obstructed the course of justice himself. He had no right to refuse teh postmortem and in this way he has behaved just like a Sindhi vadera.
I am very disappointed by this statement because he has made himself open to criticims and also legal action because he has obstructed the legal course of action.
He is trying to cash on and I dont forsee this Party going on for long time if this is the way he has started to behave now.
Participating in elections under the current circumstances will just give Musharraf an opportunity to eliminate yet more leaders under the guise of terrorism.
If we don’t have a single person in Pakistan on which we can trust, Then why these traditional politicians(dictator in itself) wanna rule us? You can’t trust us but need our vote our endorsement for ruling us.
Please stop this nonsnse dramey baazi.
@c hussain
I agreed autopsy should have been carried out. But his concern is also valid, if govt can change their stance, as well as Mr. Mussadiq, then may he saw what government will do the report. I am sure it would have some thing on the lines of “Self inflicted wound by the lever” in great details
Now all video footage points to a bullet. So the question is how to get a credible autopsy?
BTW investigation can bring out the true picture. You start seeing the footage and talk to witnesses and truth can come out.
But we also know facts can always be negotiated, and only time wil tell how true PPP is in their demand for investigation. As I recall nothing came out of Murtaza Bhuttos murder, even though commission had Nasir Aslam Zahid in it.
I may piss off a lot of people with this but let mesay the truth. BB is getting poetic justice. She opposed a free and independeant judiciary in Pakistan. Her children will now never get the closure on her murder that they want.
Anyone who thinks UN will investigate her death freely is having a pipe dream UN will never indict Bush’s darling Musharraf. MUsh may bot be responsible at all, however if he is, expecting a free investigation against Bush’ buddy is a pipe dream.
BB was an opportunist as a politician, you’ll see her party salivating at power and disintegrating. Remember the story about 3 men who found gold and killed each other over it. I am terribly sorry to say that this is the fate awaiting PPP, this is the legacy of Benazir, unprincipled politics, opportunism and greed.
May God forgive Benazir though, she was atleast a brave soul and source of strenght for the federation.
I am disappointed in the decision of PPP leaders of participation
@kruman
Why do you think people want the truth. Did Ijaz ul Haq and Aktar Aburahman got the truth? May be you don’t know lust for power. Why do you think Mush is clinging, its the lust which keep these folks going.
People already know the truth, establishment cannot live with democracy and they will keep on killing popular leaders. I s salute to people who still try to lead the nation.
PPP has survived crises and seems like it will come out as a winner on this one too
econfused, c hussain,
I sense the presence of a lot of Aslam Beg’s in PPP. The top two being AMin Faheem and Zardari.
PPP has done what Mush wanted, read Ansar ABbasi’s article 2 days ago.
As for Amin Faheem, he is not even saying that bullets were fired, when we have all seen the videos. How can he not hear the gunshots with the sun roof open when they were fired from 6 feet away. All I hear Amin Faheem saying is that there was a bomb blast and BB fell.
Amin Faheem is an agencies’ man who has played a dirty role.
econfused,
PPP will be torn apart with infighting and lust for power. This is the legacy of Benazir Bhutto:
- She opposed free and independant judiciary for people. She will never get it after her death.
- She never stood on any principles
- Her sole principle was greed and opportunism
- She was atleast brave though and jiyalas have inherited that. The PPP leadership is nothing but a bunch of vultures and opportunists.
It is all sickening:
- using a 19 year old thumb-sucking kid just to cash in on Bhutto’s name. He even changes his name to Bilalwal Bhutto Zardari.
- Zardari is the joint chair-person, using his son as a puppet
- Amin Faheem gets rewarded for being an establishment guy, he becomes the next PM. Does even better than Aslam Beg who never got to become pres or PM.
I think after this decision Mush would have taken a sigh of reilef and the people who are crtcizing NS aren’t doing much good either. I have quite a few reservations about NS but he did stand by PPP. No other party did this. Take MQM for instance. This was a time for making sindhis realize that everyone is hurt but we all know sindhis will always blame punjab, even if this incident had taken place in sindh and with all due respect may i say that despite the fact that all major desicions are being made by people originally from sindh , punjab is still bearing the brunt.
The PPP talks about democracy, but lies through it’s teeth. By giving control to Benazir’s son and husband, they prove that they want feudal rulers committed to nepotism and their own pockets. The PPP rank and file are in full support of this, proving that the majority of Pakistanis are not ready for the responsibility of true democracy. The other parties are the same. Nawaz Sharif took two U Turns in two weeks. What a joke with the poor people of Pakistan? Pakistanis seek a firm hand and so prove that they deserve dictator-styled rulers, either military or hereditary- it’s the same.
@ zeealam
This is the very dilemma of pakistan. The children of these politicians get education abroad and come here to rule. I ask everyone is there any decent school in the entire interior sindh? Unless we get rid of feudalism , like india’s nehru did to a large extent, we will always be tottering like this.
econfused has good point regarding getting justice in Pakistan and lust of power. Look hamood rehman report never came out. what if local fair investigation points it to ISI? will it be published? So the demand to get UN investigation is just a pressure tactics.
I again say that more chaos is the future. no matter before or after elections.
pls i request all
hope the best
we should not critisize on any one
is se acha hai hum kuch der quran ki tilawat kar lain
i m not the supporter of ppp.but i know its wrong
Continuation:
I am disappointed in the decision of PPP to take part in the forthcoming election. In my opinion, PPP in alliance with PML-N should have by cotted the election untill Mush has resigned and an impartial care-taker government has been installed. NS sharif was right when he anounce to bycott. He is very honest and sincere, but PPP leaders??????? I realize the fact that PPP leaders want to cash in on the death of BB which is very sad and selfish. This tells you how much they care about her.
I am deeply disturbed they way she was allowed to expose her upper body through the sun roof of that illfated SUV. She was made the perfect target. Her security adviser and personal security guards failed miserably in their task.to protect her. She has put too much trust in those who were around her. They were reckless and irresponsible in allowing BB to be exposed through that ill designed sun roof. That was not a wise decision.That was a fatal mistake,knowing that she had recieved many death threats.
I take it positive and wise decision, as it will strengthen the federation. We need somebody who give strength to the federation. I am happy that PM ship is separated from the party ownership like congress in India.
PPP has made a right decision and good for FEDERATION OF PAKISTAN.
Although I did not like Zardari but today he has done great favour to Pakistan when he said that that WE NEED PAKISTAN and we will GO FOR ELECTIONS. We should realize that Sindhi people are under lot of tension due to this murder.
We should come out of this myth that Zaradri want to become PM, he is not even contesting from any seat.
Bilawal is a good choice for leadership and a time will come that he will raise to the occasion. He was right when he said that DEMOCRACY IS BIGGEST REVENGE.
Autopsy from dr. Mussaddiq (Rawalpindi General Hospital) is useless. That person chnaged his statement in one night. Anyway autopsy is done when cause of death is unknown and it is suspected that some poison was given or when no video or witness is present. Like autopsy was required in case of Boob Woolmer death. Sherri Rehman of PPP and Zardari have seen the wound and are very clear that it a gun shot.
Any ways when the pictures show clearly that BB was shot dead from close distance by a Black glasses young man then what is need of autopsy. It is crytal clear. But still if some one wants to give it a twist then that person should be seen having malfide intensions.
Today Cheema (govt spokesman) did not appear with bunch of lies as the recent pictures have surprised govt. You see how a mobile/digital video exposed the govt lies.
NS made a right decision when he annouced boycott as it showed solidarity with PPP and now again if he decides to go for election it will be a better decision as PPP has requested him to go for it.
He is doing national politics and not Gujrati politics.
It is quiet clear that Chaudhries want to postpone election as Q-league is in trouble. many candidates have retuned their tickets and people have no sympthy with them.
MUSH will also try to postpone the elections on fabricated grounds as he is in trouble.
However if elections are held them people of pakistan who care for their homeland should come out and vote for PML-N, PPP, ANP.
We can make a difference by voting for democracy.
People like Asif at this forum are knowingly or unknowingly damaging democracy and ultimately strenthening Dictatorship when they try to prove that every one is corrupt. Are the supporters of MUSH good for country? I dont think so.
yaqub2005
“Jaag punjabi Jaag teri pug noon lag gya daagh”
Would you throw light on this slogan that who used it to get the sympathies of Punjab against PPP in one of the elections when provincial elections held a couple of days after the national elections..
Before talking about the national politics take a look at your ethnic stance also.
States survive only on justice nothing else.
to all those who are trying to convince that NS made a good move by bycotting elections ….. to them i would just say LOL…!!
this is the second time NS has talked abt bycotting and is going for a UTurn. I am sure that the NS voters are thinking that why should we vote him. Because he makes fun of their mandate.
PPP has taken a real wise step, this is what is called politics…..
I think its hilarious how maulana munafiq now thinks that the situation in the country is not good for an election
BTW I loved the new name Zardari used for PML (Qatil) League. Mafia is already crying as their sister died, cuz Mafia know who will be running the show in Sindh.
PML(Q) = PML(Qatil)
Q stands for Qatil. Nice one!!. Asif zardari should have said it more often in the press conference to make it prominent.
Riddle 792
I am not an avid fan of NS but if he had not made this decision , sindhis would have been upset for not being condoled by punjab and why these children of the rich folks come here to rule, what have they given to sindh in general. Interior sindh doesnot even have a decent elementary school. They are always very eager to conduct revenge politics.
@econfused
Its not about general consensus, its about dirty politics played by Mr. 10% to encash death of BB, which is nothing more but “mufadaat ki sayaasat” or another famous name is “lashoon ki sayaasat”. he saw the oppertunity and fell for it. He did everything to cash all sympathy votes, made himself and his son chairman, change names. How can we expect democracy from Mr. 10% ? I party is known by it’s leader, and what a leader PPP got now. Impressed ?
Rest I do understand your point of view and appreciate it too.
Rgds,
@basit
I can see what Zardari is doing, but why only blame Zardari? why now Shah Mahoom Qraishi, Amin Fahim, Jahagir Badar, Babar Awan, Sherry Rahman, The list goe son and on. My point is party leadership agreed. We can go on and on about democracy, but I have yet to see any major political party which has organization and they have elections within party. It is always a bunch of mufaad prast tola.
You still have to remember, we still got a constitution by politician. Democracy brings change to the society, but it is not always visible in a day or two. Pakistan did not always have a one person one vote. It took some time til you got to this point.
Our experience tells us that army rule becomes a tyranny every single time. How many time we have to test and try dictatorship?
I think time has come that we give similar chance to politicians, better or worse.
going for election is a good step. However zardari running show through proxy is absurd. We all know what he is capable of.
I am more disappointed at the PPP brass. I can’t believe they don’t have the guts to raise the voice in the best interest of party. They are like the army of pakistan, no matter what just obey the order do not question the motives. Believe or not thats a starking similarity .. .I am sure there will quite few to contradic with old benagli story ..
I think AA should quit PPP and formally establish justice party with nexus of few other good leaders. A party based on democratic norm.
Other issues aside, just one point: Can we now say BB was not only Chairperson for life but bit beyond it? ‘Cause in the former case she ceased to be the chairperson the moment she expired. Tell me WHAT RIGHT did she have to will the chairmanship to ANY ONE>?
P.S. It is certainly questionable that there is a will of the nature described because if there was one why keep it physically hidden if the contents of it are being made public???
@shaan11235
“I am more disappointed at the PPP brass. I can’t believe they don’t have the guts to raise the voice in the best interest of party.”
I for one am not disappointed. These pygmies have never shown guts. Remember when BB was holding a top-level party meeting in London and in the middle of it left — without explanation — for Dubai to meet and finalize the deal with Mush? When she got back to London NOT A SINGLE PPP LEADER asked a single question about where she had been or what was she up to. The meeting continued as if nothing had happened in between…
everyone had a problem with benazir being chairperson for life of ppp. I also heard a lot that what is aitazaz ahsan doing in corrupt ppp he should leave or take over. Time has proved that what benazir did was right. She had more balls than any politican out there. The choices she made and she was making would have had far reaching impact had she gotten the time to accomplish them. I really salute her bravery. She knew the odds were against her. She had enough money and she could have chosen to fight another day but she died like a tigress. Now once again all thi bitching about naming zardari or bilal as chairperson. Well to keep party intact if she names zardari or bilal. The party leadership is ok with it. The ppp vother is ready to vote for it. Than what is the problem. Well keep in mind she was the only national leader who went to queetta for election campgain and went to a bazzar after a rally. She left her jeep walked on the street went to a fruit shop. She bought all the fruit in the fruit shop and distributed it to the people on the street and mingled with them for 15 minutes have no regard for her on security. All this after facing 2 bombs on her arrival. She was a mother also and she put the election campaign over everything else. She had a lot of money and what she was doing wasn’t for money. The day she died the scarf that she was wearing had the four qulls on it and she felt protected to open the sun roof beleving whatever happens god will it. She came ready for death and went like her father. I also have a lot of respect for zab for the way he didnt bow down to the army. Both of them could have taken the easy way out but didn’t and in this day and age that means something. If your looking for perfection well i got news for you there is no such thing. Everyone has the strong and weak points and its part of being human. I come from a family that is a life long muslim league voter and noone i know has ever voted for ppp but you gotta give this to benazir and her father. I have no doubt thatthey are brave and what they sell carries a lot of weight with the massess that vote for them. I will go 1 step further and say they have really earned there vote. I couldnt say the same thing for muslim league, tehrik insaf and let me not laugh (ji or mma). I have a lot of respect for nawaz sharif and i think he has learned a lot after 1999 thanks to mushi. When he says that he considers benazir as his sister and he is ready to fight her fight i dont doubt him for one minute. When he said he would fight for the cause of benazir and fight for ppp. I don’t think he was being political trying to fill a vacum or trying to steal votes. He is is gentleman and he actually meant what he said. Imran khan is on the right track but he has a lot more to do. He needs to come out of punjab and nwfp and go into sindh and baluchistan. PPP is a national party in the true sense. Zab was killed by the establishment and i can say the same thing about benazir. PPP is still being a national party and that should count for something. It would be a good idea if for the next 10 years our chief of the army staff, president, prime minser and chief justice comes from the other three proviences than punjab. Turning east pakistan into bengladesh was a mistake enough. We didnt learn a lesson and did miltary actions everywhere other than punjab. It is ironic the person who took a defeated nation and turned things in the next 5 years got hanged by the same army.
I agree somewhat with @nota and @shaan
Unless and until we do not learn to question the leadership as a nation, we will face such turmoils.
It’s not one party issue, the whole society fabric is such way. I remember the school days when many question just stay within ourself, somewhere a thin line between fear and obedience never let us question and explore the alternatives to what we were taught
You go to any office, be it a private or govt, there is a “yes sir” culture. Same goes in army, civil societies and other institutions
NS reminds me of john kerry .. flip flop ..
any agree’s with me? Even though democrats were in strong position but he lost the momentum and whole election just because of his flip flops
Guys cool down
This establishment consisting of generals, Q league and MQM would not so easily leave the power and they can go to any extent to stick to it.
The thing is that if PPP and PMLN boycott the election then obviously they would be postponed. Then what.
Do you think Musharraf would leave that easily - the problem is army is behind Musharraf and they would do their best to disintegrate PPP..
Now PPP and PMLN are in win win situation on Jan 8 - because if rigging is done the goverment is doomed anyway and if they dont do - then Q league is finished.
Zirdari has clearly said that BB letter to Mark Seigel is a dying declaration which means that he clearly holds Musharraf responsible for the attack so this issue is not going to go.
If he does not act responsibly then chances are that Sindh is going to end up like Bangladesh and already MQM ghundas have done their best to create law and order situation and I am sure in them are Indian RAW agents also.
Guys have you seen Star TV. That is repeatedly telecasting government version that Baitullah Mehsud has killed BB although it has been disputed by PPP and denied by Al Qaueda and Taliban.
If this unrest continues, Indian army is on high alert on borders and USA is already ready to pounce in from Afghanistan in the name of securing nuclear weapons - so in the moments its very important that we should first cool the things down and bring back law and order first.
Just dont jump to conclusions and dont take things in black and white.
we were all condeming, including me, BB for making a deal with Musharraf for coming back - but may I ask you that if that deal had not been done would she ever had been able to come to Pakistan. After all she had last her father, two brothers, her husband has been in jail for more than 13 years and she was in exile and jailed for more than 20 years if you count it from 1977. From 1977 to 2007 she had only four years in power - thats all. Come on guys give these people some break and down expect impossible from them. How many Bhuttos you want more to be killed?
Nota - that is none of your business if she has the right or not because you are not PPP member and if you dont agree with this then you have right to make your own party.
AA shoudl not quit party at all - he did the right thing that he did not quit at that time - otherwise at this point he would have been neither here nor there.
Imran Khan should also change a little bit if he has to do politics - as cricketer he has been playing under biased umpires, difficult wickets, unbalanced selection and politics so why he wants an ideal situation now.
So please cool down and let the things unfold themselves.
@chussain
if mush holds the elcetion then you will say he wants to rig it for Q. If he doesn’t hold the election you will say he never wanted to hold the election because he knew ppp will win. thats even a bigger flip flop then NS
if you do damned if you don’t do damned
@kruman
I partially agree with your comments about the “poetic justice” , But let me explain something which I understand. Let’s first agree on few things first.
1. BB was killed by the pakistan’s establishment (read army).
2. Army and religious extremist (read al-qaeda/taliban) have hidden evil nexus.
3. The objective of this nexus is to keep the grip on Pakistan as nuclear state and blackmail united states and west.
4. The army in Pakistan is not going to quit “WHATEVER” let me repeat “WHATEVER” happens, they are ready to do a nuclear blackmail if necessity arises.
So based on the above assumptions, let us look at the assissination of BB.
1. US and West had a visible trust deficit with Pakistan army. They were and are suspecious of Pakistan’s army double play in “War on terror”. They don’t have any trustworthy people in Pakistan army.
2. They do know that Pakistan army is helping them in certain ways but they know quite well that this help is just partial and basically a way to extort money.
3. US also understands that the lack of general public support against “War on terror” is actually helping Pakistan Army to play their double game and US has no alternative except keep supporting Pakistan army.
In this context US realized that in order to get out of this blackmail they need to finally support a popular party in Pakistan which can neautralize Pakistan’s army. It is evident that BB was the best choice for them/
Let’s look at the BB’s position when US contacted her.
1. For over 8 years BB was the target of Pakistan’s establishment.
2. we must not forget that BB was victimised during the Musharraf’s era much more than NS. Nawaz Sharif (NS) was sent to KSA within the first two years.
3, Most of his confidents had joined PML-Q and rest of them were given comparatively a better treatment then PPP’s stalwarts. Asif Zardari was given very harsh treatment in the first few years of Musharraf.
4. Moreover Musharraf kept pressurising BB with foriegn cases during the whole period.
5. With the past two stints in power, BB has learnt that in order to face the establishment , she need the unqualified support of US.
In this context when US contacted BB for the support against “War on Terror” , it was like a God gifted oppurtunity for her to settle her scores with establishment. I have been saying previously that BB was insisting on a 2/3rd majority in the coming elections. She was in no way going to settle on anything less than that. She had guarantees from United States that their will be free and impartial elections and she will win those elections.
Now comes the moment of truth. Remember BB’s rise to power with ultimate support from United States was end of Pakistan army’s double game. Because the money that US was going to give to Pakistan after BB as Prime Minister would have gone through the hands of BB not directly to the army. BB had also the courage to defy some of the top generals she would have go her confidiants in ISI and MI. Remember Nawaz Sharif was able to dent Pakistan Army in 1999 when he had got at least when serving general on his side against Pervez Musharraf. With BB in power , specially having the source of income in her hand she would have easily go few generals and that would have been the end of Army’s mafia once and forever.
This was unacceptable to the army mafia, it was again the question of one grave and two contenders. Either BB had to go in grave or the army mafia. There was no other option. I insist that army mafia had no other option but to kill BB. Rigging elections , imposing martial law or doing anything else was not enough to stop BB’s run towards the most powerful person in Pakistan.
I always give example of Nawaz Sharif to show that once a civilian leader gets the ultimate power his/her first act is to neutralize the power of army mafia. It is bound to happen , even a person like Junejo having a little power would try to neutralize the power of army mafia whenever there is a chance. This is how our politicians are, having deep sense of democratic norms and evils of army mafia. And this time it was BB, BB is not NS or Junejo, she have many other scores to settle with Army.
So they killed BB without anymore delay. Now the question of who can do the investigations of BB murder. Let me tell you it is impossible. This will only happen when US forces are in Pakistan and Pakistan becomes Iraq , that is the time when we shall have the investigations for Lal Masjid, BB’s murder, Akbar Bugti’s murder , killing of balochs and many more. And unfortunately that is not going to happen soon.
I had been illusioned by my wishful thinking of civil society’s relenteless efforts against the most tyrant dictatorship in 21st centurty. Our country is very strange it produces peoples like Zia and peoples like Faiz in the same century , in fact at the same time. We have thousands of “Mansoors” unlike one mansoor in a given century and country. People like Aitzaz Ahsan and Iftikhar Chaudary and thousand more are idealist. They don’t care against whom they are fighting against , they only see their ideal for which they are fighting. Remember Faiz
Jalwa Gaha-i-Wisal kee shamain woh bujha bhee chukay agar tu kia
Chand ko gul karain tu hum janain
So the battle will go on and on …. it has no end.
@c hussain
“Nota - that is none of your business if she has the right or not because you are not PPP member ”
Oh, so now I can only question if BB if I am a jiyala (who by their very defininition are not allowed to question)? Sorry, expected more from you c hussain! Nonetheless, you DID NOT ADDRESS the issue I raised so I must have said something right for you to go on the offensive
A strange decision by ppp to cash the situation even on this time of turmoil. Instead, they could have boycotted and asked musharaf and hawarees to step down. what are they really expecting i wonder, when establishment can remove their leader, they can also fulfill Q leagues lotta geeri by full time dhandli. what would ppp do then, lost the leader and embracing ( subh sai pehlay musharaf mafia ka pakistan) dhandli election. however, Ns should have boycotted rather than justifying lotta election for the sake of judiciary and his papers.
boycott fraud election
support for Apdm who are still standing for justice and freedom.
Please help your family friends get out of this country, because there is never going to be anything good for the people who are not (and can not become) part of the establishment. These politicians will keep on doing politics in the names of their fore fathers, and we wil never bring anything good out of them for us. This cat and mouse game will result in switching of power from one to another and then bak to the first.
The people in urban areas will hardly vote except for the mafia in karachi where they are forced to vote in spite of their education and talent. And the people in rural areas will always vote for their landlords… what other ption do they have. And these rural areas would never be educated since the party from Sind promising to be the party of whole Pakistan, could not develop a worth mentioning school in her principal constituency in about 6 years of fully authoritative government. The reason is not that she could not do that… The reason is that she never wanted to do that. Even for her kids there was not a single suitable school or college in Pakistan for studying elementary classes.
@shaan,siqbal
there is no big flip flop than Mush,chaudries and altaf. i can point out flip flops
from any politician including IK, religious leaders, nationalist parties much bigger
than NS. NS target is simple getting rid of Mush and lota group, strategy will
change from day to day but i can tell you watching him over past six months he is dead set on doing it . Just tell your lota group he is coming after them fast, some
lotas are going to run, others hide and chaudries evaporate.
Point is simple how many Jiyalas are going to follow anybody outside Bhutto
family. Bhutto family is doing politics longer than your age or grandfathers age,
they know how to do it in pakistan.
You followers of Generaals,Don Altaf, lotas always find deficiencies with
mainstream politicians but never go hard after the politics of Generaals, Mafia
Qaumi Movement, Lotacrasy.
Mature political parties come through maturity of voters not guns of Generals,
Don Altaf, Lota group of vulture chaudries.
How pity. Now PPP is creating artificial Bhuttos i.e., Balawal Bhutto Zardari. Who’s gonna be next artificial Bhutto? Sajawal Balawal Bhutto Zaradari.
@pejamistri
Here is another view:
“As a Pakistani it hurts to repeat the writing on the wall to the masses. But the writing so clearly stand out in our face to ignore. The message is: Pakistan is doomed. With Benazir out, the left over PPP and lame duck PML (Nawaz and his brother already disqualified) are there to lend legitimacy to the Musharraf’s tyrannical and sell-out regime.
Musharraf has already given a green light to the neocons that they can send in US forces to Pakistan in their phase one of the direct occupation of Pakistan. Although their primary target is Pakistan’s nuclear power, but in the process it will eliminate its conventional military power as well and the following chaos will dismember the country as we know it.
These realities might have sounded odd a few years ago, but with the way Musharraf surrendered almost anything related to Pakistan’s sovereignty and independence, it is just a matter of time for Pakistan to lose its physical existence. Ideological foundations had already crumbled.
That would be the end of the story for Pakistan but not the region and the world at large. The result will be the whole region’s turning upside down. Iraq might pale by comparison to what is coming to South Asia in the coming years.
From here..
Well now we can see the dividing like on this forum. Pejamistri right on target as usual. We can see idealist who are not members of PPP are giving suggestions how to run the party. We have lotas talking about NS flipflops. Now lotas cannot/will not see any trouble with establishment
My question for people who are saying PPP does “lashon ke syasat”, why establishment keep providing them with dead bodies. Not being a member of PPP, I have to ask question
“Kitnay Bhutto Maro gaiy”
She died and she has presented her son. You consider that as greed? she could have said, that if I am dead, make sure my family stays out in UAE.
She also made sure that her son comes into politics, she could have made her son a venture capitalist like Bilal Musharraf (Sub Say Pehlay Pakistan)
Also the guys who are saying Bilawal is young. Di you guys notice the age of guy who fired at BB? he also seems to be in teens.
@econfused
“She died and she has presented her son.”
That is not accurate…
“She died and allegedly she has presented her husband.”
@econfused
Your argument is weak that BB has presented her son to lead the party. It can also be argued that she presented her son so that the party chairmanship stays within the family or that she did not have faith that anyone else was capable enough to lead the party. This is a sensitive time for the party and I am sure that no one will object to the decision right but we may start hearing ruffles as the time passes. The fact is that BB had a strong personality and that is why people did not question her but that is not the case with either Bilawal or Zardari.
Alright let us say she presented her husband, but is still not running. What wrong in being a king maker. Fact is there only two major parties PPP and PML(N). Out of these two PPP is only one which has vote bank accross Pakistan.
No matter whatever anybody say, she was brave, and she has died for her cause. She believed in politics. Don’t tell me she needed money, its the power politicians are after. We vote for them and give them the power.
This time democracy will be different, because TV channels wil make it more interesting. It wil be interesting to become Mr. 10% or any percent in this time.
As her son said, “Democracy is the best revenge” and it sure suits Lota league.
@econfused
and the question is did she have a right to bequeth the party to her son or husband? party was not her property. In my opinion the very act of nominatring anyone as her successor was the manifestation of a feudal rather than a democratic mind.
And any idea, if the family will share the Will of BB with the nation; afterall BB was beti and sister of the nation?
Ibn batuta
I disagree with this view although I reach to same end result. In my view Musharraf and Pakistan Army will be on the opposite side as described in this analysis. i.e. Army will be most reluctant to allow NATO and US forces to enter Pakistan. Let me give you a detailed answer. Again I will make a couple of assumptions.
1. United States is serious in getting rid of Terrorism and Extermist in Pakistan and elsewhere.
2. After the end of Bush’s era in 2008 , with new establishment whether Democratic and Republican, US would be sincere in eliminating the terrorism as a threat to US as well as neutralizing the nuclear threat to the world.
United States dream solution for any muslim extremist country is a truly democratic nation with majority of its people moderate muslims. The solution could not happen in Afghanistan because Afghanistan is predominantely a highly conservative society with a vast geography (i.e. No big populace cities and urban area).
This solution also could not happen in Iraq as US was not at all sincere in implementing this solution in Iraq. Reason, even a moderate country in Middle east with democracy will have serious consequences for the Israel and Oil rich states in middle east.
But United States would definitely be sincere to impose this solution in Pakistan. Pakistan is best candidate for any such solution.
Pakistan army on the other hand is and will be most averse to this solution. Two things they (army) would like to always keep in their hand are :
1. A nuclear blackmail card in their hands. To keep the flow of external funds to them.
2. A strong army to keep threat on both india on the east border and Afghanistan on the west.
3. The army enterprise needs foriegn cash ($$$) in order to keep itself growing. Army is ready to do any service for that , but they would never like to commit suicide.
On this basis I believe that there is a great chance of US and NATO forces to enter Pakistan in order to achieve their objectives. However at that time Pakistan Army just like Saddam Hussein and his army would be the enemy of NATO/US forces not the extremist. It is an open question, if at that time majority of Pakistan public will stand at which side? However the question of disintegration of Pakistan will not arise , I don’t believe that disintegrated Pakistan will be a viable solution of United States or any other country specially india and Iran.
@Amir Hameed
In Pakistan only power leader can keep their parties together. As I keep saying, every party has members who come from strong families in their are be it chadhrys, sherpaos, khosas etc.
PPP is exception that it found such people in all area of Pakistan. Bhutto is a binding force. Asif cannot change his name to Bhutto, but nobody will complain about Bilawal. It looks weak to you, but if we are alive and this site is ere, we wil see where is PPP after 5 years.
I have strong belief that people like Amin Fahim, Aitezaz and Shah Mahmood wil stik together and keep the party alive. This is their powerbase, and Bhutto vote will be there fo rthese guys.
econfused
I completely agree with you. In past 30 years so many people left PPP for solo flight and all in the end did not make it - because what they did had was the Bhutto factor. And now its even more important because not one but four Bhuttos have given their life in this cause. I believe AA did a very wise decision and despite that he had differences with BB but he did not leave her. In a party you can have difference and still remain in the party.
Influential people can request Gora saab for justice but who will provide justice to the poor(the masses).
An unanswered question?
The only thing that one can provide to the masses free of cost.
@ibnbattuta
BB was a politician and knew that if she did not nominate anybody in the will, then there can be first fight during the first meeting without her. It also tells you that there is difference between a politician and an army general. I am 100 positive even if there was no will, Executive committee still would have picked a bhutto.
I don’t know where your political views are, but I change vote based on perception. This time my vote is for NS. Now Bhutto vote is still bhuttos vote. It was pretty consistent since the seventies. With death of BB, vote bank for PPP wil increase. If PPP plays it right.
New Footage Shows Benazir Struck by Bullets
http://tinyurl.com/2lemx2
I am greatly surprised that anti-PPP people are talking about democratics ideals here. Are ideals only aplicable to PPP? ZA Bhutto and Benazir enjoyed an overwhelming support from PPP leadership and workers and general voters. Same is true today in case Balawal. How can this be called undemocratic?
I salute PPP for standing for federation despite decades of persecution, unjust, murders of its leaders and workers.
Bhuttos proved again that they are the most sincere politicians in the country. No person with love for wordly pleasure risk his/her life for their cause.
BB I salute you. Hamalayas are crying for you. You were the hope - we cannot afford to lose you.
JISS DHAJJ SAY KOI MAQTALKO GAYA WOH SHAA SALAMAT REHTI HAY
YEH JAAN TOU AANI JAANI - ISS JAAN KI TOU KOI BAAT NAHEEN (Faiz)
@asif
Your thought processes are stopped along with IK. The last interview I read on chowk.com of IK, he said its really hard to find leadership in Pakistan. If he is unable to find 50-100 people who can run elections on PTI ticket. How is he going to change anything. Only talk and protest is not going to change things. He need multiprogn strategy. He has to build strong alliances. He has to stay away from JI. Anybody who standby JI, I have serious doubts against that person.
As justice is concerned, CJP has set soemthing motion, and that movement will continue. But BBs death will also set in motion democracy. You win some, you lose some. Did Imran ever leave the playing field in his career like Inzamam? He did not, so why he did it this time.
People who were in long lines trying to Get Atta, did not even know what happened to CJP. He has to hold rallie and start talking about ot.
@asif
you need to read econfused above suggestions with positive mind.
@econfused
Don’t get struck with IK, even when asked by Geo to NS about the investigation from UN, he indirectly opposed this idea which is a right way. Because for justice if we are looking to the world then integrity of Pakistan would be a Big question mark.
Pakistan is not Lebnon.
According to Geo headlines, while talking to British PM, Musharaf is considering to allow international investigation.
@ saqibtahir
There is no leadership in PPP. It had always been a one man show. Their so called central executive committee is filled with dwarf personalities, people who cannot hold their own in politics.
PPP’s two government under BB were the most corrupt in the history of Pakistan with Papa Zardari at the vanguard.
—–Bhuttos proved again that they are the most sincere politicians in the country. No person with love for wordly pleasure risk his/her life for their cause.———
Most dictators and power hungry people risk their lives to get what they want. They kill others and get killed in the process, only to get to power. Go back and read some history books. The desire for Power is the Greatest intoxicant in the world. People willingly kill their brothers, fathers, and their own sons for power. Your argument is the most fallacious I have ever seen.
“No person with love for wordly pleasure risk his/her life” —yeah right.
yaqub2005
You still need to answer my question, no offense please.
yaqub2005
Reiterating just for you.
“Jaag punjabi Jaag teri pug noon lag gya daagh�
Would you throw light on this slogan that who used it to get the sympathies of Punjab against PPP in one of the elections when provincial elections held a couple of days after the national elections..
Before talking about the national politics take a look at your ethnic stance also.
@zufi
“You followers of Generaals,Don Altaf, lotas always find deficiencies with
mainstream politicians but never go hard after the politics of Generaals, Mafia
Qaumi Movement, Lotacrasy.”
All you mentioned above are not my leaders, neither I have any hope from them. They are not even worth questioning their status.
Why do you guy’s get so offensive if I question the leader of main stream political party. My question indicates I still see a ray of hope. I have expectations from them. I have some belief in them. I have differed with BB’s politics lately because I wanted her to stand firm not come through the back doors of NRO’s. As far as Altaf and other like him concern, that will be my waste of energy. Now it does not mean I hate everyone in mqm. I strongly believe that they have bigger pool of talented people, if they rise above the ethnicity and provincialism , they can deliver good.
I have hopes from NS, only if he stands firm rather then looking for shoulder for his every decision, sometimes it’s judiciary and sometimes it’s ppp. The guy should have trust on it’s mandate.
IK has good stand but no politics. The politician needs to be dynamic and should have the capability to listen and assess the situation.
AA is good but with a political baggage. He is too scared to cross the bridge without the party banner. He can lead to something revolutionary along with lawyers but I am afraid he won’t so that
@Azeem
Very harsh, but very true. I agree 100% with you. Unfortunately, not too many will believe it. Few things in BB’s life will indicate towards such incidents.
Murtaza bhuttos murder while sis is PM. I wonder, why no one asked for UN, scotland yard or fbi to investigate his murder
Nusrat bhotto’s diasspearence from political scene when she tryied to favor his sun murtaza
The ppp co-charmain zardari langusihing in jail, while self exile in world power corridors. If you have to come back through NRO, then why not strike NRO 8 years ago
@asif
What I am trying to say, you are not the only person who want independent judiciary. We might not agree on the strategy, but that is what the wish of most people who are with NS. It is also what Aitezaz, who is still with PPP. Please do not take everything in black and white. Every thing is just a different shade of grey.
If you keep saying boycott, then nothing will change. So may IK has to spend some time and learn politics. Before you say anything, I would have voted for IK, if he is in election.
Complete video of Zardari PPP Press Conference added.
@siqbal00
“I strongly believe that they have bigger pool of talented people, if they rise above the ethnicity and provincialism , they can deliver good.”
I have only two words for you “YEAH RIGHT”
@asif
If some one learns from his past mistake (like NS), it is welcome.
But if some one makes a mistake and insists on repeating it, it will not be acceptable.
NS has grown up as national politician. Past in history. Many Muslim Leaguers were initially in Congress but after realizing the truth made a right choice to make PAKISTAN.
PML-N is a national level party now and has its presence in all four provinces. The aurrent policies will further strengthen it.
@asif
Where as I agree that we need a good judicial system for PAKISTAN and it can solve many problem but it cannot solve every problem.
@econfused
I am against the idea of UN intervention for justice. If we allow this its long term impact is very dangerous & eventually one day the world will question the integeraty of Pkaistan.
As PPP is saying they are going for polls & apparently they will sweep the polls so it would be better to have independent judges by then & start the investigation by them.
@asif
I have no opinion in either way. These inquiries are generally useless. BTW what makes you think that world is not questioning the integrity of Pakistan now?
Saudis tell us when to keep NS and and when to Kick out
US telling us BB is good for US
Lebanese guy showing up here as messenger.
Elections might give us some of it back. If PML-Q sweeps punjab through Nazims, then we have nothing left.
yaqub2005
NS still have to prove his integrity that whether he has learned from his mistakes or not, so my figers are crossed till then.
You can see that how PPP initialy started a reconciliation with the establishment & ended up the other way around.
econfused
If Q sweeps Punjab that may well can happen, then Jan9 would be a very dangerous day in our history.
May Allah save us from that happening.
asif
See now that was the point which NS is trying to make. He cannot leave it to Q. So I am hoping that urban areas will stay awake and give PML-N something to start.
Noting is set in stone in politics, but Zardari has called PMLQ a qatil league, so i seriously doubt they will form government or help q in making one.
See this turn of events will again give hope. BTW I seriously think that Election commission will now postpone elections to give some room to recover for Q-League and Maulvi Diesel
econfused
What i am seeing in coming days is heated exchange of arguments at the highest level. And in the presence of electronic media these heated exchange of arguments will feul the current tense situation even further. They are heading towards fire.
You people really need to listen to Shiekh Rasheed’s interview one more time even if it pains you. (As he said) it doesn’t matter if zaid forms the government or bakar forms it, the real thing is that Musharraf is still there. If you want the ecstacy of Chaudri’s defeat then you have my guarantee that you will have it. Chaudri’s are just trying to get as much as possible and the possibility is close to zilch. However to see Musharraf out of the scene you may have to wait for a while. It may be another five years unless he dies or NS is killed. If he can survive the assassination of Benazir then you can imagine how much support he commands (not of the people……but who cares about people).
As Sheikh Rasheed said that BB and NS are here to fight election and they will fight it no matter what. After the assassination of Benazir I was a little skeptical of his statement but I see now how right he was. It is an international script and nobody (who matters) is going to deviate from it. Judiciary was coming in the way and they had to throw it out (I am just glad that lunatic ch. is out).
I know most of you or may be all of you won’t be happy unless it turns out that Musharraf or someone from Q-league killed Benazir but I don’t think there is any possibility of this. Chaudris are no way near as powerful to do something like that and Musharraf is not stupid to do something like that which only brings trouble to him. As of now he had just survived the biggest crisis of his life. And this wasn’t possible without the aid of Zardari. Although it isn’t important but he readily took the blame for not allowing government to have a postmortem. I listened to him today when he asked illiterate party workers not to say anything against federation or army. I really respect him for that.
If some of you were planning a party for the impending defeat of Q-league then you can have it on new year or something because I guarantee you that this will happen. The real thing is that Musharraf will still be there after the dust has settled down. This will give you a chance to waste your time here typing your unfulfilled wishes.
@saima khan
Very good analysis, but I seriously doubt Musharraf will have five years. He is ued to Yes Sir, Yes Sir. He might have played his hands well, but now there is no chance in hell that lota league will be able to form govt. MQM has already seen it coming and Don is crying like his sister died.
Now Zardari also drew the battle lines, its PPP vx Qatil league. Now as you said Q-league is zilch, so who will form govt. If PML-N helps PPP to form the government, then Mush has to go.
I guess thats killers miss calculated, that PPP won’t delay election and sweep with sympathy vote. Now the only chance Mush has is to postpone elections so he can come up with new strategy.
@saimakhan
and you respect ppp for not blaming the murderers…
how do you know that your lotta typing will fulfill something.
Kher, apart from that by strong dhandli if lota league will sweep punjab, then ppp will have to suffer and will be drumming parliamentarian desks along with pml-n.
boycott fraud election
support for judiciary
*saimakhan
that sheeda talli has nothing to say except every one has had been wrong except him and just vote me. i was wondering if musharaf lotta league can offer jan fraud election.
Sheeda Talli is OFFICIAL BHOMPOO of MUSH.
He is in trouble in Rawalpindi to win even a single seat.
MUSH is also in trouble. Even if he survives for the time being then still he is on run. Actually he is on run since March 2007. Saima Khan can keep on supporting him on basis of few good things he did in long past. But now he has done a greater damage to Pakistan and its people than many others. He should feel some shame and also share it with his supporters like Talli, Pervaiz Elahi and Barrister Saif and Malik Qayyum etc. He must quit and that too immediately or the blood of so many inocent will be on his nech.
yeah mushi talli can only run if his intelligence relatives will stop supporting his one way decisions. damn…talli reminds me of shedas last meeting on dr. shahid;i am going to watch it right now.
Another general hands have blood of a great politician,Musharraf directly or indirectly resposible for BB’s death.Pakistan army involve in politics more than any other Political party of Pakistan.Asif zardari wasn’t corrupt politician all corruption cases were made by NS and ISI.No matter what all these politicians have done,they are still better than these corrupt Generals.
Asif Zardari’s press conference was disappointing in the sense tahtr he is again looking at the international community for investigation of his wife’s murder. The same way that his wife used to look at the international community for everything.
Her death indeed is very tragic, but had she supported judiciary and justice in Pakistan, she might have got the same for herself.
Why don’t they ask the govt. to set up a judicial inquiry headed by the non PCO judges.
I just wonder how much more stupid we have to be, to be a part of what is going on:
1. Nawaz Sharif spent last eight year IN A PALACE and when he comes back we are dying to make him PM.
2. BB lived in self-exile IN LONDON and DUBAI and look people were pouring over her laying their lives for her.
3. People are dying in streets, they can’t afford to buy bread and butter for their family and here we are supporting Musharraf (ok thats me!).
4. How we quickly forgot that both Benazir and Nawaz Sharif came back after they negotiated with the government.
5. BB and NS both were and are undoubtedly billionaires and they tell us they feel the pain of poor and the hungry. What a joke.
6. How we elevated lunatic ch. to the level of a saint when he was punishing officers for protocol lapses and when reference against him was full of corruption charges. Now many of you would argue that SC turned it down but that was on techincal grounds and to date no decision has been given on the reference charges itself. And SC was all well and good until the same people took oath under PCO. One SC judge is involved with a woman and another one’s daughter is involved with someone. Agencies have their tapes. How can such people stand against government when they can’t stand against their conscience?
7. Many people enjoyed 5 years with Q-league and they were bad but when they saw Q-league was a sinking ship and jumped to PML (N) or PPP suddenly they were beacon of hope and principle.
8. Altaf is sitting in london for last I don’t know how many years when he could have easily came back to country but why leave a life of luxury when you can remotely control people and keep hold of power.
Nobody at the top is sincere with the country. They just know how to make fools out of people and we are dumb enough to support them in their cause.
BB was for rule of law, Aitzaz ahsan, Ahsan Bhoon, Latif Khosa were all PPP lawyers that were beaten leading pro Judiciary rallies.
Zardari has to look towards UNO as not even Chief Justice can get justice in Pakistan and we all witnessed that.
I am proud as a Pakistani that Zardari was graceful and took Musharaf head-on like a man.
No soft blows, no jabs, direct knock out.
The army needs to realise that Pakistani people are humans and not animals that can be hoarded by force.
Nawaz and PPP can do the job and not even loss of Benazir waivered the aspirations of PPP and Nawaz.
The Qatil League, Military, Mullahs and MQM need to face reality and feel the heat.
@Saima Khan
So what are you saying? why don’t you say some thing in plain simple words. You have written long paragraphs, but I don’t see you are giving any solution. We all can list problems with politicians, But for got sake do not make Generals saints.
Whats wrong with NS being a billionaire. You are supporting Musharraf, whose son is Venture capitalist in USA and you are talking like a communist.
NS has took a stand, and his true party members stood with him. Look at Javed Hashmi, Khawaja Asif and Ch. Nisar to name the few.
Give solutions and recommendations, so we know whose side you are on. Don’t generate a long list of problems, which every tom, dick and harry seems to know (I mean Har Aira, Ghaira, Nathu Khair)
We desparately need an independent and strong judicial system because that will take care of most of the corruption issues at all levels. We also need to stop the penetration of the army-cancer into the civilian institutions. These army personals are made heads of civilian departments upon retirement when they not qualified and do not deserve those jobs. I have seen residences of major and colonel level army officers as well as those of UET (University of Engineering & Technology) Lahore professors and it is a shame that the army personals get much better residences than the professors. The army must be stopped from forcefully conquring its own country at all cost, otherwise, the future does not that bright. It will be an extremely difficult job, if not impossible but somehow it must be done.
Whats wrong with accepting that what Saima is right, however we hope and pray things should be different.
Tell me one line which she wrote is not based on fact. I agree with all. But at the same i wish if this all is not true.
Now a funny thing is even zardari is looking graceful to @khosa
How conveniently we forget the mr 10%. Please do not term is 8 years in jail as fight for democracy. He was jail for his corruption .. plain and simple
The new devloping story and may be a little food for thought. Zardar and Rehaman malik nexus has something to do with BB’s murder. it’s on the record that zardar was not getting along with BB, due to all the lime light taken away and him being pushed in the back ground. Zardari was not happy with all the dealing with army, as he was left in jail for 8 years and these negotiations could have been done then to save his life.
We all know rehman malik’s background. He is in ex-intelligencia and quite capable of such maneouvring. He is the person who came in BB’s SUV to the ground but left in other car before BB. His car was pulled far enough to be save from any impact.
Zardari knew he will proxy kings if BB is out of scene. I do foresee rehman malik getting even bigger share in the future govt. Do not forget rehman malik was absconder from law, but when he came back he got protocol of PM. He is the one who was meeting all the genrals and handling all the backdoor negotiations. Zardari’s posture in conference is quite evident of his role in this whole drama.
Do not forget, if zardari can play a role in eliminating murtaza bhutto , he can do anything for power and greed
thats new!!! …Interesting!!! I better get copy rights to publish this version. Just like JFK, actual story will never publish anyway
Hey .. in this world all is possible
Saima Khan
who is saying your forget BB and NS - dont forigve them - please embrace teh great my lord Pervez Musharraf and Pervez Elahi - these great leaders didnt leave Pakistan for the last eight years and have been living in huts with poor people of Pakistan and are not corrupt at all and are teh most honest people of Pakistan
So the elections are coming - who is stopping your for campaigning for Q (Qatil league) and Musharraf.
We all would cheer you - and fully agree with you - both BB and NS are dying to become PM - one has already died and other one is ready to die.
shaan kia shaaan hai aap ki.
What a great theory. If they really wanted to kill her - why would any person be willing to kill her knowing that he would be killed in teh process too and on top of that they would be willing to kill her. Not at all.
As for Rehman Malik from the start I didnt trust him - he is dubious guy and shoulnt have trusted him but obviously this was clearly a lapse on security and he had pointed in his letters and messages to govemrent that security was not enough.
So please shaan - when you have no evidence you should not say such things - becuase only Allah knows what is right and what is wrong.
As for Zardari he was already a kingmaker being a husband of BB - he didnt need all this.
Saima Khan
I am sure you are very poor - then for a change why dont you form a party and stand in elections and you can file in nomination papers for Larkana for Benazair seat - for a change we would like to dump these dishonest rich guys like NS and others and would love to elect you as leader of our poor nation. Come on go ahead you have teh opportunity and we would vote for you (oops I am sorry i am not registered in that constituency) but surely we can find at least one person in that constituency who can vote for you - even if its just you.
Saima Khan
I am sorry to you that Bush is going to out in Nov this year - 2008 and long before that his poodle Mush would also be out.
Zardari and NS took a very good decision in taking part in elections because now you would see that Mush and Chaudhries would be looking for excuses to run away. If they hold the elections they are doomed and if they run away they are doomed.
Akhar kar shaheed ka khoon rang to laye ga na.
shaan11235
Wow man, why did not you present this theory earlier to CHeema, when you