Honorable Justice Wajihuddin Ahmad talks with GM regarding the movement for Rule of Law.

[audio:better-pakistan-12-jan-08.mp3]

January 12th, 2008 at 11:58 pm
@admin,
It would be nice of you if you inform us in advance about the guest in Better Pakistan, so we can pose our question to him.
We all will be standing shoulder to shoulder with lawyers and APDM the day JWD will announce to come out, Inshallah. He is true leader with out any personal agenda but to serve natin and pakistan.
May Allah Bless Pakistan
January 13th, 2008 at 12:32 am
i feel proud to hear that hero… he is a true patriotic Pakistani. May God Bless You Justice Wajih!
January 13th, 2008 at 12:41 am
My salam to this great man.
Justice sahib, you are a hero to millions of Pakistanis. Please continue fighting the good fight - we are fully behind you.
January 13th, 2008 at 1:22 am
Listening to Justice Wajih gave me goose bumps.
When we have people like him and CJ Iftikhar and Aitazaz- we can do anything .
Pakistan might be a 3rd world country but in BRAINS it is TOPS and that is why we need and deserve to be rid of the Liliputians like Musharraf
January 13th, 2008 at 1:51 am
Thanks for the effort in posting this, very nice indeed!
Justice Wajihuddin’s remark re: overseas Pakistani’s and the pilfering and squandering of their remittances got me thinking about an idea I’ve been mulling over for some time now:
I wonder if it would be possible to get a significant majority of overseas Pakistani’s to coordinate the sending of the money and perhaps “turn off the tap” as it were to put pressure on our so called masters?
Maybe a campaign to not send money for a month or two coordinated across the globe if/when the civil-disobedience call goes through?
I wonder what the logistics of such a campaign would be?
January 13th, 2008 at 2:26 am
Dear Mr Justice Wajihuddin Ahmad
As an overseas Pakistani I am very worried about the current situation of Pakistan. Mushaaf and his allies do not understand that the problems of common Pakistani is much beyond `war against terror`.
The lawyer’s moment, which started in 2007 will be written in the history of Pakistan in golden words. People like you and Chief Justice Ifthakhar chudhary are the heroes of our time. After 60 years of independence finally we found real revolution and real heroes. Please do not step back.
I pledge the civil society and the youth of Pakistan to fight for independence of Pakistan. Just like our elders did 60 years ago. We need the same sprit and the same passion.
We are with you and
We will stand by you and
If needed we will even fall with you.
May Allah Help you
January 13th, 2008 at 2:47 am
Well done admin.
I am feeling more optimist about the future of Pakistan. Please interview Rana Bhagwan Das and other heroes as well.
January 13th, 2008 at 3:00 am
Excellent program.
Hounorable Judge is the real hero of judiciary. He never hmself took oath under any PCO. What a gentlema, thorouhl cultured man he is.
He is the deserving president of PAKISTAN.
I salute him
January 13th, 2008 at 3:08 am
many salutations to justice wajeh and the lawyers movement. govt has done so many oochay hadkanday to stop the rule of law but still i hope the movement will survive and the judiciary will be restored. even though justice rana bhagwan has retired but still the tyrants has house arrested him; don’t worry justice rana we are with you.
January 13th, 2008 at 3:12 am
I THINK SINCE MUSHARAF IS NOT CONSTITUTIONAL ELECTED, JSTICE SAHIB IS SECOND , HE ( JUSTICE SAHAB IS THE PRESIDENT OF PAKISTAN).
WE NEED TO HONOUR HIM WITH PRESDENT OF PAKISTAN
January 13th, 2008 at 3:18 am
PCO cheif justice high court seems to be a joker. He has asked people to promise to themselves not to give any bribery and corruption will finish itself.
I remember a widow who wanted her husband’s plot to be transferred to her. She was poor and she spent 12 years from one office to another just to get her own plot in her own name. She had no money to give to officials and she only succeeded in 1990 when my father gave her 10 thousand rupees to give as ‘bribery’.
How can you get justice in Pakistan without giving money to these PCO judges?
January 13th, 2008 at 3:26 am
Thank you for posting this interview admin. People like Justice Wajihuddin Ahmad are the true heroes of Pakistan.
January 13th, 2008 at 3:38 am
Nisaar main teri galyon peh aye watan, keh jahan
Chali hai rasm keh koyee na sar utha kay chale
Jo koyee chahaney wala tawaaf ko niklay
Nazar chura kay chale, Jismo-jan bacha kay chale
Baney hain ahl-e-hawas muddayee bhi, munsif bhi
Kise wakil karen, kis-se munsifi chahen
Magar Guzaarane walon kay din guzarate hain
Teray firaq mein yun subah-o-shaam katay hain
Yuhin hamesha ulajhti rahi hai zulm se khalq
Na unki rasm nayee hai, na apni reet nayee
Yuhin hamesha khilaye hain humne aag mein phool
Na unki haar nayee hai na apni jeet nayee
Jo tujhse ahad-o-wafa ustuvaar rakhtay hain
Ilaaj-e-gardishe lail-o-nihaar rakhtay hain
January 13th, 2008 at 5:33 am
There is a lingering question that will have to be answered. When Musharraf announced the Martial Law first time what was the reaction of all these judges?
This is not meant as a taunt but as an opportunity to go judge by judge and find out. All journalists are bound to bring the list out. It should be answered before any movement of restoration of judiciary can proceed. If Musharraf can be penalized for violating the constitution, any and every judge should also be who participated in the first or 2nd or 3rd martial law.
“A judge should have no family and if possible no friend”.
January 13th, 2008 at 5:57 am
More people who should be interviewed in future programs:
1) Justice Bhagwandas
2) Muneer Malik
3) Justice Fakhruddin
January 13th, 2008 at 7:42 am
It is always an honor and great privilege to watch and listen to Justice Wajihuddin. What a great person he is. He is honest, humble, kind and selfless. He indeed is a great leader and patriotic Pakistani. Hid deep concerns and love for Pakistan is appreciated. The entire nation is proud of Justice Wajihuddin. He is visionary and a man of integrity. Pakistani Awam are fortunate to have person like him. I sincerely believe that he will be able to steer our country successfully out of the current quagmire. I fully agree with his stepwise approach to free the judiciary. The reason being is that the Current regime is brutal and ruthless and people are very scared. Hundreds of thousands of innocent citizens have been victimized at the hand of current illegitimate mafia govt. and wants to avoid further violence. We the people must give him our full support and walk shoulder to shoulder with him to liberate our country.
I thank Justice Wajihuddin, for his services.
January 13th, 2008 at 8:07 am
It was a great talk and I really proud of this person, Justice Wajihuddin Ahmad. We need such person who can lead us towards better Pakistan. Thanks for this special episode. Please keep it up.
January 13th, 2008 at 11:05 am
Salute to Justice Wajih ud Din and thank you admin for conveying our message that we, the overseas Pakistani would not let the movement fall down due to financial problems. I know a considerable number of people who are waiting for an official announcement and an account number where we can donate for the lawyer’s movement.
I have zero percent doubt that sooner or later but the judiciary has to become independent…everything on right track and Musharraf and his opportunist fellows are going to become history.
Justice Sahib is right to give short breaks, as we need a slower, steady but sure success.
And I am extremely happy to see this site booming up… An ideal forum where you speak of your heart, listen to the great peoples read intellectual and heart felt comments and analyses and feel proud to be a Pakistani.
May Allah help our nation!
January 13th, 2008 at 11:49 am
I salute to honourable Justic (r) Wajihuddin. He truly deserves to be the President of Pakistan. How sensible and patriotic he is. I salute him and as an oversease Pakistani determined to stand with him.
one more comment - just some food for thought
66 judges refused to take oath under PCO, but not a single Army Officer resigned that the constitution is being abrogated, alas, Pakistan Army is such a baren land, so shameful, not a single Army Officer is ready to give the constitution its due respect.
So we must not look at Kiani to help us, but he should be trialed with Musharraf as well. The root cause of the problem is not Musharraf as a person, but the mentality of Pakistan Army as an institute that they are here to rule the country.
May Allah help us to fight against this mentality of Army. Aamin
Manoor
January 13th, 2008 at 1:38 pm
Good work GM (a.k.a admin). Very good question and good replies from justice.
January 13th, 2008 at 1:47 pm
@ smnasirhussain
You should know that justice sahib with 5 other judjes refused PCC oath in 1999 . They have never taken any oath under PCO.
IT WILL BE SHAMEFUL TO QUESTION THEIR INTEGRETY
January 13th, 2008 at 1:59 pm
@hallajmansoor,
You make an excellent yet exceedingly disturbing point? Where are the officers who would not let the constitution be trampled under the feet of their illegitimate usurpers? Why shall we not re-constitute this so called institution with those who actually do respect the constitution, and throw these rotten eggs out on the street?
January 13th, 2008 at 2:30 pm
@hallajmansoor,
Please don’t be hopeless, these guys [army officers] will be soon writing books and giving interviews AFTER THEIR RETIREMENT. Every person will be an angel and the only blame will be on Mush. They wouldn’t resign, because it is against DISCIPLINE
January 13th, 2008 at 3:48 pm
@econfused,
and abrogation of constituion is then part of their so called DISCIPLINE.
@taban.khamosh:
IMHO exactly this point, the restructuring (RIGHT-sizing) of the army should be on the agenda of the political parties like PML-N and PPP. Till today only bloody civilians have experienced the restructuring of corporations/departments. And now it should be the army’ turn.
It is so painful and humiliating when I read about the meeting of Gen Wahid Kakar as COAS with some journalists. In this meeting Kakar showed his small finger (cheechi ungli) and said he can move the country either this way or that - with his cheechi ungli. Is this a country of 160 million sheep?
In the eyes of Army - yes, and that’s the problem.
If today was a civilian government and the situation was just 10% as bad as today, army must have thrown the government in the name of national interest.
And now they are mere spectators.
Our motto should be:
- zero tolerance for constitution
- NO safe passage
The coward retired General does not want to face impeachment motion. In that case he wants to resign, the same army mentality - they are not accountable for their deeds - at least on the earth. I’ve no idea about the skies. And we want accountability on the earth and not in hereafter. So nomore phrases like:
Allah hi Musharraf se puchey ga!
Surely Allah has some questions for Musharraf, but that’s none of our business. Allah janey aur Musharraf, lekin Allah ki Zameen per bhi Insaaf hona chahieye. This time I don’t wish AASMANI INSAAF for Musharraf.
Mansoor
January 13th, 2008 at 4:55 pm
Justice Sahib made a very good comment that they don’t want to make another Yahya Khan out of this and let the political parties show their strength.
January 13th, 2008 at 5:47 pm
JOJO, I agree with you but I do not think the Pakistan Army is going to give up so easily. They will break but not give up and that was what BB was afraid and that is the reason she was ready to cut the deal even when it cut short her life.
January 13th, 2008 at 6:39 pm
1) As U may be knowing many defense personal from very close distance, whether they are from amongst Ur friends or relations; & so do I, also know them, or have known them, in the past, as any other Pakistani does; whether these personal are generals,colonels or soldiers.
2) So, having known them, the employers of these soldiers, have made their lives very comfortable, due to plots, ( 2 for each officer, ) market value being, around worth of Rs. Crore-plus, for each plot ; detached & semi-detached,houses, (market-value,15-40 Crores,for each;) & palatial bungalows, 09Crores-plus,each.
3)Then, they have presently cushioned jobs, whether as serving or as retired, in govt, semi-govt, or autonomous bodies, or in national or international agencies, like NGOs or UN.
4) Since all of this lot, whether our friends, relations, sons & daughters; feel so comfortable, & look forward to such rewards & ‘crumbs’/ doll-outs in the future; as such in this period of time, they are clever & not unwise, to resign & leave their posts, while on retirement, they get heavy pensions.
5) That is the reason, these guys are also called ‘chocolate ‘ soldiers;being’ soft’ on the inside & out.. So only, the civil society, the labor & worker-classes, as well the peasants & down-trodden can be looked upon, i.e; the have-nots against the haves,to rise against them.
6) I am not advocating any ‘rise ‘ by these classes, against the landed classes;
(God-forbid, I myself may become one of their targets, if any such thing happens.) But any student oy history, will tell you, thats what happend in Cuba in early 60s & then in Iran in the 70s. In Farsi, they say, ” Tang Amad, Ba Jang Amad.’ Thus a time arises, when people snatch their rights, on their own.
7) It is also said, that when there is an excessive fire, then along with the DRY wood, burns the WET wood also. In other words, along-with the ” bad ‘ people,
Lastly, God has ORDAINED, that when HE brings about the DESTRUCTION of a NATION, then HE brings into PLAY, 3 X CIRCUMSTANCES ; & which are : -
the ‘ good ‘ people also perish, due to excessive turmoil.
1. National catastrophes . 2) Civil War. 3) Lastly, Bad Leaders. Which of these circumstances, have not visited us, so far? You, KNOW the ANSWER?
January 13th, 2008 at 7:02 pm
Sorry, for error, (reference my comments, as per serial 2 above, ) the market value of each palatial bungalow, constructed in ‘Gernail-Pura’, jokingly so called; & which is made for a military officer of a General rank or equivalent, is around minimum of Pak Rs 110 crores to Pak Rs 170 crores, according to a property dealer friend.
January 13th, 2008 at 7:23 pm
@ Snr Ctz
I AM IN AGREEMENT WITH YOU.
But i think the price of gernaail house could be upto 2- 3 core not 110 or 170 crore.
11o core means over billion rupees.
I THINL OVERALL WORTH OF GENERAL MIGHT BE THIS
just a possible figure from me.
January 13th, 2008 at 8:29 pm
Good work Admin
keep it up
January 13th, 2008 at 8:30 pm
I think these lawers should also ask people to vote and vote for those who are supporting their cause.
January 14th, 2008 at 2:36 am
To Democat Pakistani,
Very good to know. My salute to Judge Sahib. I would like to know about every judge to be restored.
Questioning should never be shameful. It brings him out doesn’t it?
January 14th, 2008 at 12:42 pm
Recently I saw Justice sb. on Q&A with PJ Mir.
With his evident bias, PJ Mir was trying to defame him by posing ‘rubbish’ questions and concluding the answers himself.
I didn’t feel good seeing Justice sb. with crooks who always mince and doubt words.
January 14th, 2008 at 5:55 pm
1)I am sorry , Mr. Democrat Pakistani, if I gave the worth of a Jernail’s private house, on the plus-side,built by GHQ for him, located in a ‘Jernail-pura’. But I will re-check the market price, once again & try to give the current figures.
2) Once, did’nt we used to hear, ‘ Zinda Haathi lakh ka; aur mara hua,Haathi, sava lakh ka’?
3) The OVER-ALL WORTH of a ‘ Mara Hua Haathi ‘, these days, is DECIDEDLY, in millions & biilions of Pak Rupees !; Allah keun jhoot khelwaay? Ask any of your friend, who is a ‘ DEALER ‘ of dead-animals !