Message from Justice Wajihuddin

wajihuddin.jpg

Honorable Justice Wajihuddin Ahmad has requested the public to share their suggestions for any peaceful steps/tactics/ways that could help make the movement for restoration of rule of law more effective.

Creative and innovative yet rational and practical ideas, focusing to spread the message to masses, giving the movement some momentum, getting maximum people of all colours of community involved, keeping in view the hurdles on the way, will be really appreciated.

Please post your suggestions here as comments. These will be compiled and sent to HJWA for consideration in their meetings with other leaders of the movement.

In a statement to Pakistan Politics, Justice Wajihuddin Ahmed, has disclosed that it has been communicated to him indirectly that the leadership of the lawyers movement for the restoration of the judiciary and rule of law, is likely to become the next target for elimination, by the same anti-state, anti-democracy elements that were responsible for Benazir Bhutto’s assassination.

He appeals to all Pakistanis to join him in his prayers for the safety of members of the lawyer community, and the future of Pakistan.

39 Comments »

1. Faarigh Jazbati Says:
    January 15th, 2008 at 12:15 pm

My sugesstion is that every person in Pakistan should wear a black band on their arms.

Right arm black band for protest against the suppression if judiaciary and media

Left arm black band for protesting against all the other government policies

e.g. law and order, Killing of Bugti, assasination of Benazir, humiliation of all citizens, terrorising its own people, usurping the rights of people, dictatorship, foreign policy, policy towards india vis a vie kashmir, afghan policy, killing of innocent people in tribal areas and swat, involving army into polics, creating lota league, election rigging, creating MMA, LFO, 17th ammendment, PCO, Ecomic policies, Selling of national assets like PTCL/Ufone, Stock exchange scandal, steel mill scandal, sugar scandal, Aata scandal, list is endless and i can go on for days

They should wear it till judiciartyis restored, PEMRA ordinance and cyber ordinance is taken back and freedom of media is ensured and and the current Hukmaran Tola is tried for their CRIMES AGAINST THE PEOPLE OF PAKISTAN.

There is no practical solution, except to never loose hope. While the lawyers and civil society movement is here to say in a diluted form. We do need some kind of symbol for the movement till it comes to its logical end.

Arm band is very visible, and I suggest we also start flying the FLAG UPSIDE DOWN, I don’t know what our constitution/laws say about this. In US it is generally call for help and is a symbol for distress.

Small banners / Flags in szie of 1.5×3 feet with message of

“RESTORE THE PRE NOV 3, 08 JUDICIARY
    GO MUSH GO”

with some pictures.

These banners be made and distributed to all over Pakistan. Then use these during protests.

Lawyer movement leaders should contact all major parties and bring them on board for the idea stated above i.e. Every houshold should place a black banner on their home stating “Remove army from civlian affairs, Restore Geninune Judiciary & Media” or something to that effect.

This may also help in gauging the support accross the country.

My 2 cents.

My suggession is that people who they can afford should fly black flags on their houses, factories, shops snd other business and if possible on their vehicles to show the govt that we support the restoration of pre 3rd November 2007 position of Judiciary and Media.

Further to this as suggested by Faarigh Jazbati that every person in Pakistan should wear a black band on their arms and Left arm black band for protesting against all the other government policies.

We as a nation have given our blood and soul to this army. Look at any cantonment; it is so modern and different to its surrounding city. The salaries, pensions and plots at retirement are paid for. They have separate hospitals called CMH. The list of privileges that we provide as a nation to our army in spite of poverty is enormous and endless.

In the 60 year history of Pakistan, the Army generals ruled 30 years and only 3 i.e. Ayub, Zia and Musharaf. These generals had unadulterated and absolute power.
    Innumerable (probably 12 or 14) politicians ruled 30 years as well with disability and limitations due to obstructive agencies, army, ISI and sometimes opposition.
    How is it that we always end up blaming the politicians and no one ever openly blames the Generals, ISI or government agencies. The irony is that the children of these dictators are V VIP’s even after these dictators are gone, their entire families are royalties.

You may ommit this if you find it unsuitable (The only thing is that the dictators including musharaf have nurtured these sharks i.e. mullahs, mqm and Q league and used them as B-team and leave these snakes as problems for Pakistan. The reason I say that is this axis of evil has always alingned themselves with dictators.)

Ever since musharaf came to power, he has been defaming the state in the capacity of its head, in Pakistan and abroad. Selling to the whole world that Pakistanis are terrorists just to prolong his rule.
    Imposition of emergency/martail law by him was a no confidence in his own governance as he is the head of state.

Zia gave us Klasinkov, heroin and poppy generals in the army.
    Musharaf has given us suicide bombings, anarchy and is personally responsible for destroying the judiciary, media and the hopes of an entire nation.
    The performance of these generals started with the murder of Liaqat Ali Khan, Fatima Jinnah, Bhuttos. Victimistaion of Nawaz Sharif, Judiciary, Media, A Q Khan, Civil society and the list is endless.

Isn’t this enough to teach us a lesson and put the foot down, as a nation to reject every person and party that aligns with these dictators, make the army realize that it needs to protect the borders and not just cantonments?

With all due respect, I think more than just symbolic protest like wearing black ribbons needs to be done:

IMO, here are some suggestions for at home and abroad:

Home Front:
    =========

1. PSYCHOLOGICAL PRESSURE :: Aside from wearing black ribbons, every citizen (who can afford) send a post card to the GHQ and Presidential Palace (address should be provided) with a simple message: “I as a citizen of Pakistan demand free judiciary and democracy — signed”

1a. FINANCIAL SUPPORT FOR LAWYERS MOVEMENT :: Those who can, as a symbol of the support should have this card NOTARIZED etc by the striking lawyers/judges and pay a nominal fee, so that some money goes into the coffers of the lawyers or the movement. Imagine a million postcards with “NO To Dictatorship” showing up on Mushies front door! hahaha

2. EDUCATION OF COMMON PPL :: Small 1 to 2 page pamphlets in PDF format should be disseminated on the internet and also even smaller ones that can be sent via SMS from phone to phone. People need to be educated, and not in legal terms, in simple terms (I don’t know how much of this is already organized by the movement) ie; how does a screwed up system directly contribute to the misery of ordinary Pakistani’s

3. COMMUNICATION OF THE HAPPENINGS TO THE WORLD:: Everytime police beat lawyers, pictures taken and disseminated via FLICKR, and various other news blogs.

3a. FAULT TOLERANT COMMUNICATIONS :: The Judicial and Democratic movement should have its own blog(s) which should be hosted outside of the control of the thugs. there should be multiple blogs all mirrored and the text updates should be updateable through multiple channels so if one or two are closed, the others can get the news out (etc.)

Overseas Pakistanis:
    ================

Overseas Pakistani’s, if organized, have IMMENSE powers, they don’t realize this.
    and that is a shame.

0. NETWORKING :: Judiciary movement, somehow through PKUNITED.COM or something like soc.culture.pakistan and other forums should coordinate the overseas, sympathetic Pakistanis who are supportive of the Democratic an Judicial Independence movement.

1. CONTROL OF FOREIGN EXCHANGE :: Through coordination reached via forums in step 0, the flow of foreign exchange can be controlled via appeals to Pakistani’s abroad.

1a. PRESSURE ON PAK CONSULATES :: Pakistani’s or groups thereof, should write to local Pak consulates making it clear that if democratic reforms are not enacted, the supply of foreign exchange will be temporarily halted (this can cause serious problems for Jurnails with the balance of payments if somehow coordinated)

2. PRESSURE THRU WESTERN PARLIMENTARIANS : Overseas Pakistanis should make an appointment (in a group if possible) and speak to their local representative. Explain the situation and ask them to write a letter of protest to the officer of the President and the GHQ for meddling into the civilian affairs and inturrupting the democratic process.

3. PRESSURE ON BUSINESSES :: especially those who are selling all these repression equipment to the Pakistani Thug Administration that they use to beat up and terrorize their own citizens.

4. RAISE AWARENESS and SHAME THE WESTERN PUBLIC :: by writing oped pieces in which the bias of CNN, BBC and CBC, ABC is shown. Like it or not, the western media, despite it’s claims to the contrary, is a fully participating and functioning arm of the exploitation machine. If the British secret services want unrest in some 3rd world country, BBC would be right there supporting the effort — (read “All the Shah’s men” if you don’t believe this and it is true of others as well)

Make sure the co-workers and local newspapers have information in them regarding how this “pro-western” general is actually ruining the party for everyone by creating an even bigger monster in Pakistan thru repression.

Hope these are not too off topic. Just some ideas to get the conversation started.

The time has come for all political parties to mature in Pakistan. Symbolically this has to start by throwing away their ridiculous party flags adopt the flag of Pakistan. It is time for all people to fly the flag of the country instead of some party. This is what is done by all patriotic and mature countries now. I have lived in the US for the past 27 years and to this day do not know what is the flag of the Republican or the Democratic Party. Our “so called” leaders are not even ashamed to use their party flags in rallies outside Pakistan. No outsider can tell what they are demonstrating about.

I beg you to please use your influence to start this national movement. Do not limit this movement to the lawers but for the entire civil and political society. To the politicians also. Make a call to all the leaders to show their partriotism to the country. This is the time.

I have tried to get this message to every political leader in Pakistan, but I guess old habits are hard to change. From IK, NS to PPP, they simply do not understand.

There is no need for a black flag or a white flag. Simply the flag of Pakistan. Every lawer demonstrating should have the flag of Pakistan in their hands. I am sure that no law enforcement agency will stop them or attack them. Imagine how it will look, attacking people who are carrying the flag of Pakistan.

I am ashamed that I go all over Karachi and you will be hard pressed to find any Pakistan Flag, all other types of rags are visible except the one that should be.

Faisal

1. Lawyers should organize a panel of people willing to commit “contempt of court”. These people should, one at a time, publicly (preferrably IN COURT) insult the lota judges by calling them turncoats and lowlifes and pathetic frauds. They should then be invited to initiate contempt proceedings. Maximum tamasha should be arranged and people should be read to go to jail for calling hameed lota a lota.

2. Print millions of posters of the honorable chief justice and put them everywhere. Arrange to have everyone wear a badge of the chief justice (or other non-lota honorable judges). The judiciary issue is THE KEY. NO ONE else has real credibility. Nawaz sharif is meeting brigadiers and ambassadors of stupid arabia. mullahs are army’s B team. Only the honorable judges have credibility. Their name has to be on top of every demand.

3. Propose a consensus candidate for acting president (justic Wajih?). Momentum has to be built with an alternative to the poodle Kiyani. Just saying “neutral government” wont cut it. Have a name in place.

4. Publicly offer arrests one at time in a prominent public place. Be prepared to be beaten.

5. Read Mahatma Gandhi’s bio.

Omar

A coordinated stop to what ever you are doing for 5 minutes at a particular time on a set day. Like if you are driving, stop your cars on the road.
    If you are at work, come stand outside the office.

While doing so, if anyone can mange a black band around their mouth!!

For coordination, we can put up a message on this site and then send it out via email/sms/word of mouth etc

I was watching video of Ata crisis on BBC udrdu. Look at the anger people have but they have no option but to wait for Ata all day.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/urdu/

How can poor people protest for judiciary when they are being humiliated outside Utility Stores for Ata all day?

12. Masood Ahmad Says:
    January 16th, 2008 at 1:33 am

Two suggestions from me

1- This is especially for people in Pakistan, on all the currency notes they use to buy anything, at some corner of each put a small slogan “GO MUSHARRAF GO” or the same in URDU “Musharraf jaan chorr do”

2- On all the posts, including letters, post-cards, parcels, write the same as i suggested in about currency notes.

Suggestion for Overseas Pakistanis/Lawyers etc.

If we weaken Musharraf, that means we strengthen Judiciary.

I think Pakistanis settled in Europe should file a case against Musharraf in International Court of Justice for Crimes against humanity. Just take one example of massacre on 12th of May 2007. Possible grounds:

1. Musharraf’s Ally party was involved in that. Government took no action.

2. Government has appointed PCO judges with the help of that party so that killers are not brought to justice.

3. Musharraf’s Interview with BBC Urdu confirms that MQM had to take action. When he was asked would he take action against MQM if they are found to be involved in bloodshed, Musharraf said no and also added ‘MQM couldn’t allow anyone to have a rally in ITS city’.

May 12 is just one example of taking Musharraf to International Court of Justice. I am sure that this would be a valid against Musharraf because there is no free judiciary to decide this case and also because Government is a party to it.

Musharraf is coming on 21st of January in London. If someone gives an application to ICJ before that, he might get arrested (that is why Israeli Prime Ministers often avoid London because it is possible to even get arrest warrants against them because there is a prima facie i.e. apparently case against them).

I must stress that Overseas Pakistanis can do this better because those in Pakistan have fear for their lives.

As far Altaf Hussain case, his link has to be proven (that he was behind May 12), whereas for those in Pakistan (Musharraf, Governor Sindh), it is obvious that they were there and were in charge of everything.

First of all, I would like to thank Justice wajeehuddin and the lawyers community for their many sacrifices and their selfless services to the nation. you have been on the fore front to restore the indpendent judiciary and rule of law. You have suffered a lot.The whole nation is indebted to you for your sacrifices.

We the are ready to join and work with you until our objectives ar met.Tme has come to rise up and liberate our country from the grip of tyrants. I realize that we are facing a brutal regimeto and a formidable enemy, Inshaallah we shall be the victors. Current regime has terrorized the entire nation. Now one is safe in pakstan today. Those who try to oppose the current govermnet are at even great er risk for prosecution Pakistan is a lawles country these days. Many secret agencies, both external and internal, are roaming around freely in the country. These ante state agencies are in full force to kill innocent Pakistanis and to destabilize the country. These anti state or pro govt agencies are carrying out their evil deeds with impunity and with out any accountabilty. Ther is no security in Pakistan. I am very much concern about the safety and security of those who will join the mass movement. we have no choice left but to rise up and to come out in the streets. Pakistan is in turmoil and is crying out loud for help.

We have to work on the security issues before we embark on a peaceful march. I sincerly believe, that we can bring the police force on our side, once they have understood the real benifits of indepentent judiciary.

Follwing are my suggestions:

1. We must give a name to this peaceful revolution, like GREEN REVOLUTION, OR
    MARCH FOR THE RESTORATION OF JUDICIAY,
    2. Plans for safety and security of all the participents. All the workers and the participents to be educated and made aware of the dangers.
    3. Negotiating with the local police to join with revolutionaries or stay on the side line.
    4. Inviting all the opposition party.
    5. Approaching all the PCO judges and pro govt lawyers to join the green revolution. We have to convince them that they be better of with revolutionaries, because It is inevtable that the current govt will fall soon.
    6. Constituting small groups of revolutionaries to work locally in the communities, and will go door to door to inform and educate individual citizen.
    7. Partial shutting down the governent.
    8. Last but not the least. Financial support. Every one have to donate money to make the green revolution a success.

Can some influential put a case of War crimes against Musharraf but I believe that every one loves life ….. but if cases against him what he has done against humanity should be in light including the Q league/MQM the awareness about this should be brought to common peoples knowledge. I know with the ordinance and government machinary it will be tough. Shujat and Azab e Illahi are selling their property and are ready to take off. They should be stopped too. This information should go beyond internet as common people do not have access to it. Site should be made available about this and every concerned pakistani should print that and distribute it in their respective localities.

SITUATION ANALYSIS:
    ——————————-
    1. Musharraf Regiem, support for continuing brutal dictatorship in Pakistan is by following for these reasons

a) US & UK: To use Musharraf as easy Instrument for acquiring resources for NATO Forces i.e. To use NA-PAK ARMY personals as ‘Kraye Ke Fouji’ against resitance movement continuing in Afghanistan. To Guarde NATO supply line accross Pakistan. So they are alligned with US Instrument (Musharaf).

b) ARMY & Establishment: Top command of ARMY & Establishment earning $$$ by lending NA-PAK Army personals to NATO as ‘Kraye-Ke-Fouji’ and they could not avoid these $$$ coming in their accounts for these services. They can even sake Nukes & AQ Khan for earning these $$$ as most them have already send their families abroad. So they are alligned with US Instrument (Musharaf).

c) MQM & Q League [Moral Corrupts]: They are enjoying full Ghunda Gardi, Support of Govt. Agencies, Hoarding of Comodities (Gandum, Sugar, Ghee etc.), Mess-up of stocks and financial corruptions in Mussharraf Regiem. They are prostitutes and any dictator can use them by allowing them their ‘Khuli Loot Maar’. So they are alligned with Establishment. (US Instrument Musharaf).

PUBLIC OPENION:
    ————————–
    1. People of Pakistan have opinion that this nexus above cannot easily be destroyed unless some Anti-Biotic is used for this regiem. Lwayer Movement, Civil Society Movement, Student Movement and “The Historical Move of Judges against Dictators (’Dallaal’) of Pakistan” (This movement is actually the Pride of Pakistan)” have same objectives i.e ‘Democratic Rule of Merit and Constitution in Pakistan’ but have varied route/forums with eact other. Following are some suggestions as requested by Mr. Jastice Wajihuddin.

FUNDS AVAILABILITY:
    a) All above Movements should hold press conference in small and large cities to focus and consolidate their entities, and annouce the names, mobile-No of coordinators for these cities in press release in all papers/media channels.
    b) They should announce for people of pakistan a Phone-No on which by SMS they could pay Rs/- 50,100 etc.

DRIVING POLITICAL MOVEMENT:
    c) All the above movements should saperately meet political leadership and guide them how to drive their political workers force against the regeim (the political drive plan as given under). They should start town/city level corner meetings and consolidate their strength on small town/cities level. This will be great contribution of every Political Force for this nobel cause. Be aware and filterout establishments tolla for penetration.

SURGERY:
    The Illness we have developed in Pakistan just not erradicate with chit-chat and pecefull protest like arm bands or post cards. We are facing actually Greedy Ghundas… By then they should have understand the warnning of Pakistan People. Otherwise step-on as below.

a) on certain cut of time. All movements join together and demand the public to stop paying Utility Bills, Taxes, Forigne Remittences to this regeim.

d) Some time after step (a) All coridors, supplies for Islamad, Garison cities/ cantonments, Police Lines, Police Stations should be seized by blocking of Highways, Rails, Roads and powers centers by activating town/city level units of these movements.

I think lawyers should sustain the notion of boycotting new Pco base courts and before the election they should organize indoor protests. moreover, they could also start new wave of protests in universities with students.

Where are the names involved in following

a) List of Wheat Hoarding Scandal

b) List of Sugar Scandal Culprits (prepared by NAB)

c) List of Stock Scandal (ex-SECP Chairman statement)

d) List of Financial Consultants of Steel Mills Scandal and their link with Shaoukat Aziz Team.

e) List of 92 Billion Loan Waivers(Q League politicians) of last 6 Years

f) List of people sold to U.S by our brave Musharraf

g) List of people killed by bombardment in Pakistan

where are all these list. Can our journalist find their names and publish for memorization by Pakistani People.

I strongly encourage this Black arm Band idea,
    I think first of all we should make a standard of this black band which must be very low in cost…maximum of 5-10 rupees having at least two main slogans may be in written form or in printed form.First one very simple GO MUSH. GO and second one Restore Chief Justice.
    Secondly we should spread this band all over the Pakistan, in all big and small towns, rural areas and interiors.
    I am deadly sure that it need only to have an initial step and then I know my nation, they will spread it by themselves and ofcourse this whole movement should be headed by Justice Wajeeh.
    Print media should highlight this Arm band movement by printing at least one photo daily in news papers.
    Rest leave on Allah Subhanhu wa tuala!!!!
    Allah ham per rehm kerey!!!

21. defaultuser Says:
    January 16th, 2008 at 4:08 pm

Pervaiz BUSHarraf is coming to London after 20th.
    Guys,
    Be prepared for protest.

As a student of human behavior, I have been studying the personality of the dictator of Pakistan. In my analysis his personality traits are that of a cynic of paranoid authoritarian charlatan. According to S. E. Finer, it is extremely difficult to deal with such a person who is supported by people “armed with lethal weapons, nurtured in arrogance, and pricked on pride, ambition, self-interest and revenge”, and also by the persons whom he described as “the today’s pimps of tyranny”.

I am unable to suggest anything off hand. A peaceful movement like “Orange Revolution of Georgia” comes to my mind.

CORRIGENDUM; Please read “Orange Revolution of Ukraine” instead of “Georgia”. Sorry for the mistake.

What I beleive is the lawyers movement is the Only movement which can save

Our Mother land.If nation doesnt stand this time,its gona be all too late for the

life of Our Country……

Respectable Justice Wajeeh and the lawyers community are struggling alot to change the status quo in Pakistan.If there, any democratic govt is in place and the lawyers community protested with the same rigour and by the support of the same public sentiment,I think the govt will not last even for 24 hours.But that is not the case in Pakistan.So how to deal such an autocratic govt?Passive Agression is the right answer,even the Imperial Govt of Great Britian cannot ignore the passive agression tactics played by Gandhi.I think the great names of the day in Pakistan like Justice Wajeeh and other lawyers should show more will to do something outstanding.
    They should camp outside the President House and declare that they are on fasting(it should not be hunger strike,mind it).They will keep their fast untill their damands of restoration of democracy are fulfilled.Aitzaz Hussain can also do the same in his house.Political leadres should join them and the human activists will certainly follow the suit.
    Once they started the Maran Bharat,the electronic and press media will report them on daily basis and the falling health of the persons on fasting will become a major weapon.Even international media will not ignore that.I believe that Justice Wajeeh have such a will to sacrifice his life for such a noble cause.I believe that civil society is ready to pay the heaviest price for a liberal,democratic and progressive Pakistan.I believe that situation will result into the fulfillment of the noble cause.

26. Fawad Ahmed Says:
    January 17th, 2008 at 12:32 pm

I think now the time has come for actions. Simple symbolic protests does not have any effect because these people have no shame. They are like pigs, I am sorry to say that but it is true. If they had some level of ethics, musharraf would have resigned very early. So in my suggestion,

1. People should be educated to boycott all the army people whether they are soldiers or officers socially. I know some of us have them as our uncle, auntis, friends, cousins but this has to be done to show them that even families will be effected by what is happening. If people now worry about families, Allah maaf karey, a time will come when many of our family members will be killed either by civil war or by some outside force, we must educate people that our future is with this country without it we are nothing. My feet shivers thinking of that day. Therefore social boycott is necessary.

2. I request all Pakistanis (overseas and resident) to take out their money from Askari Commercial Bank and deposit in some other private bank so that the financial base of many army controlled industries is effected.

3. We should try in every capacity possible not to buy fauji products and by other alternatives. These people are now taking away bread from the mouth of people. They have no fear of Allah.

4. Next is the civil disobedience. We should also project this as much as possible. I want to request the media organizations of Pakistan to establish there broadcasting capacity in free countries and give maximum coverage to this struggle.

The people of Pakistan are muslim from the mind but not from the heart. The true spirit of islam is fighting the enemy from the front. People should do this rather than doing bomb blasts here and there.

May Allah protect our people and our country

27. Munda Pakistani Says:
    January 17th, 2008 at 3:16 pm

Salam Justice Sahab,

I think you should try to convince traders (tajir), transporters and workers (mazdoor) to join your struggle. A strike by these groups paralyses scociety. It cannot be ignored the way the lawyers are being ignored. If they were to stand up for the cause, Musharraf’s pack of cards would tumble very soon IMO. You should hold meetings with their unions and see if they are up for it.

Second, overseas Pakistanis are very motivated and want to support you in this struggle. If their’s anything we can do to help, say the word.

28. Amir Hameed Says:
    January 17th, 2008 at 9:29 pm

@jm71
    You are so ignorant that it is not even funny. All parties in the APDM had boycotted the presidential elections, PPP had abstained from voting. Only the pro-government parties, PML-Q, MQM and JUI-F had voted. Even then he got two votes! Doesn’t that tell you something?

When leadership lack imagination and leadership skills they start asking others for suggestions. Justice sahib, please use your own brain. An would you please tell where is the lawyer’s movement?

It means that the real leader was Aitzaz. Since he has been arrested….we don’t hear anything about the lawyer’s movement.

@ amir Hameed

I think we should plan a move against Musharraf in International Court of Justice (ICJ).

31. Amir Hameed Says:
    January 18th, 2008 at 12:27 am

@Optimist
    I am of the opinion that the Pakistani people should decide his fate. No one else will come and do it for us. We have seen it and experienced it. He has been behaving like a god but he is no god. He is like a desease and a plaque that has been descended upon us for we have been an ungrateful nation for a long time.

May Allah save this movement, every peace loving Pakistani and our beloved homeland.

The movement should draft a charter of demands, outlining the long term plan with an objective for a positive, sustainable and long lasting change in the system. Establishment of a Judiciary that is committed to the cause of providing free, fair and rapid justice and strong enough to make big ones respect and obey the Law.

My apologies for disagreeing with the slogans of “go Musharraf go”, “restore Justice Iftikhar” or bringing in some particular political party. The movement must must must not be restricted to throwing out or bringing in some personalities.

The movement should continue till the entire objective and all points outlined in the plan are achieved, no matter if some one goes, some one comes, some one dies or someone got killed. Every member of civil society must continue to struggle and keep the flame alive until we succeed.

The poor citizen of Pakistan has been giving the sacrifices, even sacrificing their lives since 60 years or even earlier and they appear in the news just as numbers 13, 50, 100 or 200. Will there be a time when we will realize the pain their families and their loved ones had been going through. For most of them, the martyr was the only bread winner for the family, the only savior of honor and respect of family dearest and valued more than everything in this world. Do we even remember their numbers now? Why their sacrifices are valued like this? Each and every one of them was also a dignified member of the civil society, like us, like the professional, leaders and Elite of the society today. The best way to respect their sacrifices is to stand united…

The only suggestion that I have for the charter and plan is that it must be our own totally home grown clean from all contaminations from outside.

For the practical aspect, I think the best way to motivate and convert people to our side is “personal contact”. The leaders of movement should update all the supporters regarding the facts (solid facts like the arguments in court of justice) and guide them to spread the word in simple, precise and effective words.

May a slogan for every week with three or four line message to spread

So everyone who thinks that this movement is the only chance for Pakistan to survive must spread these facts and arguments. While talking with neighbors, colleagues, at office at home, at market or at parks or even purchasing stuff right on the street from street hawker.

For overseas Pakistanis, they should talk with their managers and their colleagues during tea breaks and all others know to them, since people here in the western world does not know what kind of dirty politics these western governments are playing in that part of the world.

One more thing the movement should cover all aspects related to the well being of Pakistan and bring out the facts behind the issues affecting Pakistan. In today’s world everything must be dealt collectively. Education, Finance, Open Markets, Globalization, International Justice, Terrorism, Humanity, Poverty Alleviation, Nuclear Arms, Self Respect, Dignity, Sovereignty and Self Defense.

The movement must give a vision to this poor Pakistani Nation……

honurable wajih din
    CJP has become irritant for ruling mafia.Now mussarf is not a single entity but he is becoming a symbol of strong ruling mafia.We are badly in need of sincere political leadership from grass roots level but main tragedy of this country is that our army mafia is a big hurdle in doing so.No doubt they nurture, corrupt politicians and -ve characters of scoiety so that our society will not stand on principles.Each time period we have to face different crisis and result is always the same and that is downfall of Pakistani real society .We as a civil society members keep on writing to top brass including general kiyani to end this mess that is total army production.That is all done to secure US interests
    Poor skills of mussarf like generals again showed that those boys still join army whom get no place in other honourable educational institutions of Pakistan.

From the circumstances, I gather, Musharraf will soon be on the run. He should not get away. Our movement now should be that he and his collaboraters be brought to book. They have destroyed all the Institutions of Pakistan. They have sold out the nation. The movement of the lawyers and civil society has alreay shaken the foundations of the dictatorship, it is about to fall down. Our people are not fools. They can’t be deceived anymore. Give them some guidence. Let the lawyers with the civil society become the vanguard.

35. bechari-awam Says:
    January 18th, 2008 at 9:07 pm

I second Fawad Ahmed’s suggestion of boycotting all goods made by Fauji foundation and no dealing with askari commercial bank. I will even suggest pakistanis to sell their houses in defence housing societies and pledge not to buy plots in DHA until army pledges not to occupy pakistan again,

One can not imagine in 1968 that Pakistan will lose its one wing in 1971 . At that time Mrs. Fatima Jinnah contested election against a dictator and could not succeed due to the strong hold of that dictator in those days over the country .The polititions surrounding the,then dictator were of similar nature as are with the present dictator . Dictator failed to provide GOOD GOVERNANCE to the remaining country in the past nine years.The well wishers of the Dictator can be counted on finger with in 2 minutes . My response to the message of Honourable, Respectable Justice Wajihuddin is that he must gear up the Lawyers boycott struggle against present Dictator till victory .Raising of fund is the very first step . How long we are going to aford to see the dead bodies of the soldiers,Policemen, common men ,Politicians and their workers,innocent peoples of Trible belt . Every one right from top to bottom is issuing orders and gets their salaries while the net out put is a head of the unknown person, whose blood is sent for DNA test . Thats all . So please continue your strugle for the restoration of JUDITCIARY AAZADI OF AAJ/ MEDIA and DEMOCRACEY in the left over country . Already 90 percent of the people of country are with you sir .The country has suffered in 1971 in the past and once again it is on the path to —– . One man show must end now . How long a man will rule the country against the wishes of people of Pakistan? He is crushing the Honourable Judges and there is no one to ask him , What the hell he is doing ? On his orders or to please him , the water supply to the judges houses has been diconnected . This all is
    Good Governess!

Slogans for banners and placards:
    BRING TO BOOK
    ALL THE GENERALS WHO SOLD OUT THE NATION

Few humble suggestions for the movement of Lawyers:

- Lawyers could be a sign of unity of the Pakistan since they belong to all parts of the Pakistan
    - They are educated and well aware of the national and international situation and above all they know the legal aspects so they can judge what will be the legal consequences if they utter or do something. This helps in doing things knowingly and confidently.
    - They have good understanding and involvement in politics, so they can deal with politics quite well which is not that easy for common man.
    - Lawyers belong to all classes and all parts of the country and this extremely helps in knowing the ground realities, psychology of the people and what problems do exist. This is key for the good actions.
    - What can they do? Lawyers need to discuss and take into confidence the common man but also they need to have some groups and dedicated people who work for the unity, understanding and closeness of the people of Pakistan. This is really a great network so it should have a think tank type group which represents the lawyers from all parts of the country (and outside country too) and people belonging to all religions, sects, ethnicities and races. I don’t see any such network with such a variety, education and discipline in Pakistan. No doubt no all are equal and there always bad guys but still this network of lawyers has huge potential.
    - There should not be unnecessary and blind conflicts with Army, it will weaken both fighting forces and this will weaken Pakistan as a result. There are good people in PK Army, so one need to work with good ones and need to rectify intelligently the not good ones. There is always fear of conflict if there are no places to understand each other. I think people of good reputation from retired lawyers/judges and retired Army personals should communicate to understand not only each other but also ground realities and necessary steps. Here I don’t mean that PAK Army should not be fairly criticised rather I mean that they should be given due status, respect and understanding. In short Army is necessary against internal/external physical threats while Fair Judiciary is necessary against cancer of Corruption.
    - It is true that currently the security situation in Pakistan is not that good but still one has to work. If our faith, intentions and actions are pure then we must not be afraid; life and death is not in the hands of any human being. Here I don’t mean that we must put ourselves in unnecessary difficulties but due/necessary actions should be taken. It is true that Lawyers can’t do magic and no one can do it but everyone has to fulfil his/her responsibility to improve things step by step. Even if others are not fulfilling their tasks we should move forward positively and do our work. There will be a time INSHALLAH when others will start joining us.
    - There should be good analysis and self accountability. Room for the positive corrections should be kept open. There should be respect and care for both pro and opposite voices otherwise one closes the doors for the improvements. Every Lawyer should improve and collective Lawyer community should also be improved consistently.
    - Please don’t tell lies or do cheating with people even for a good cause. If one is fighting for the RIGHT then he/she must not tell lies or cheat others to bring them along. Fight for the RIGHT can’t be fought WRONGLY. Just share with others your mission openly and sincerely and let them think and decide themselves. This way people will work more consistently and convincingly.
    - Do consider the background and current situation of the people before expecting from them. Our people do want to have a positive change but they have been cheated so many times that they are very shy and afraid of joining movements. In addition to that they are facing very harsh economic, social, political, judicial, religious, educational… problems so they are not able to act with full strength. So take people along with intelligence and understanding. I think people have started to trust lawyers so this trust must be built stronger and fairer.
    - Young people should be educated about the current situation and should be requested to join but only after they understand things and are willing to work. They can bring strong effect since their (mental and physical) energies are high and also they don’t have all those burdens which older people do have; young people are a bit freer. Kindly, do keep in mind that young people should be handled with great care, intelligence, friendship, openness and patience.
    - Look for all those groups of the society which are able to contribute positively.
    - Lawyers should help each other in this difficult time in different aspects of life. Be patient and plan well and keeping in mind all the factors, any extreme is not good. Please keep things as simple and steady as possible in all conditions. Fight in such a way that length of the fight does not destroy this movement!
    - Ideal situations don’t come automatically, one need to fight for it. If we want to have good tomorrow then we need to work today for that otherwise tomorrow will be similar to today. We should not think that why should we work if others are not working, it is very much possible that others are thinking in the same way and no one is able to act as result. So we should start from ourselves, everyone should think that he/she can do and he/she have to do.
    - Our nation needs a sincere leadership and also self confidence. I don’t know why our people look for external help, we are capable enough by the blessings of Allah. Anyone who can do this job will contribute hugely to the future of Pakistan. Lawyers could do that!
    - At the end it is fight between GOOD and Bad, between RIGHT and WRONG, so while planning for the future highest goal of life should also be kept in consideration!
    - Faith on Allah almighty, actions according to His guidance and sincere prayers are key to success. We need to look into ourselves to find why we have this situation?; problems are always from human beings so we are making somewhere some mistakes otherwise system of Allah is clear that if one works good then he/she gets good.
    - And Allah knows best.

These are just my personal views and open to agreement or to disagreement. May Allah almighty forgive us and help and guide us. Aamin.

Could someone suggest to the LAWYERS and Civil Society to March to the residences of Chief Justice and Aitzaz with International Media.

When police stops them, this will be embarrassment for Musharraf. We should do what we can to discredit him.