Musharraf Offers NRO Renewal to Zardari

Musharraf Civilian

Malik Qayyum has offered the renewal of National Reconciliation Ordinance (NRO) to Asif Ali Zardari on condition of support to Musharraf in future. The NRO ordinance is supposed to expire on 5th February unless President Musharraf renews it.

Asif Ali Zardari, has told Malik Qayyum in Dubai that he will consult PPP leaders before making any decision on this issue.

Link to Jang Article

55 Comments »

Do PPP even have a choice? PPP has to accept and live with it. Ordinance is set to expire on 5th of February and Musharraf has the upper hand. We know what Zardari will decide.

Same old trick to trap Zardari which was used against BB. If PPP wants to be bitten twice from same hole then they deserve it.

3. Amir Hameed Says:
    January 21st, 2008 at 7:36 pm

Based on Zardari’s past history, it is much easier to trap him than it was to BB. This is where PPP needs people to AA to provide their input.

we all know what zardari will decide. even though i disliked benazir and her politics, she was smart, and we could have hoped that she would backstab musharraf, and make things hard for him. i cant believe that pakistani people are going to vote for a party which has MR 10 PERCENT as its head. lets just hope nawaz sharif comes to power, hes the only one who would never side with musharraf, and his party consists of people who actually care about what the people want. if zardari and amin faheem come to power, we are doomed. the existence of pakistan itself will be at risk.

So establishment has started its games. Again threating PPP. I know Zardari and PPP would not accepte the deal,but I think the way news has been planted is to give zaradari bad name. Because even if Zaradir do not accept the offer and establishment unilaterlly proclaimed it on 5th of Feb impression would be that PPP had reached a deal just like they build the impression aginst BB.

Shahid Kinnare
    Memphis TN

impressive……you scratch my back and i scratch yours. I hope Pakistan would enter the list of developed countries soon

Traffic, be very carfull of what you say after the murder of BB your saying Amin Fahim or PPP would break up Pakistan is in very bad taste. Trust me if you would have been in front of me I would have personally trash you. So please do your politcis but do not bad mouth others. May Allah give humility.

Regards.

Shahid Kinnare
    Memphis TN

901-370-5779

8. universal007 Says:
    January 21st, 2008 at 8:53 pm

What Zardari will do or what he can do it all depends on us.We should not vote them to make them powerfull and to bring them in a position where they can bargain with Musharraf.i am really sorry to see the level of pakistani nation who blindly they follow,i am sure still 90% of members of peoples party would be happy to see the Bilawal as their leader,who is only 19yr,who doesnt have any sort of experience or interest.As far as Zardari is concerned right from the first day he never used a single word of criticizm where he criticized direcetly Musharraf.
    So choice is up to the people,lets hope towards Nawaz Sharif,and vote Nawaz league and i am sure it is the only hope in current scenerio

Oh!!! This mentally retarted crook, Ag Qayum is still alive and very active behand the scene to carry out Mush’s agenda. Well I thaught that he was retired and had diappeared from the political scene. Likewise, perhaps Pirzada is also active and is working behind the scene, for Mush. Of course at the expence tax payer’s money.
    I have noticed that a few days back, both Zardari and AG flew to Dubai perhaps to meat each other and discuss the priposal and counter proposal. Or was it a coincidence??? I feel Zardari is follwing the foot prints of BB and he is already in deal with Mush. Fox this is my guess only and I may be proven wrong later on. But this is a serious matter and I hope that mr Zardari will be smart enough to not to fall into this trapp. This could be very dangerous for him and PPP. Mush and his team are very cunning and Mush will take out many rabbits from his hat untill he will be forced out.

zardary may have many choices. The best choice is to break away from Mush, Join with NS and garnish 2/3 majority, and thow these rascles and thugs out.

I encourage All patriotic Pakistanis to strengthen the hands of NS, in order to acieve the desired goals. NS might have comitted a few minor mistakes in the Past but I don’t see any problem with him any more. He is sincere and his manifesto is very favorable for all Pakistanis and for strong and stable Pakistan. It is not the time to talk about the past, rather we must rise to the occasion and work for the future and better Pakistan.

Their were many muslim leader who start their career at the age of 19 or less. So age does not make difference if you do not want to vote please done. Can you give me incidance where BB critized General Musharraf or give me incideance where ZAB citized General Zia.

Our beloved president once againg calls the entire nation a terrorist and portrays himself as Jesus Christ (Messiah)

“No chance at all of our nuclear assets falling into the wrong hands”: President Musharraf BRUSSELS, Belgium, Jan 21 (AP): President Pervez Musharraf opened a European tour Monday by offering assurances that his government is committed to democracy and playing its full role in the global fight against terrorism. Before meeting with senior European Union and NATO officials, Musharraf said his country, while plagued by terrorism and extremism, will have ”fair, transparent and peaceful elections” on February 18. Musharraf, who will meet with several European leaders during his eight-day visit, said it was important for the west to understand that it has a reliable ally in Pakistan. Speaking to reporters, he said he expects from EU leaders understanding for his country’s predicament and stressed that, in return, they can expect Pakistan to stay the course on democracy and the rule of law. He acknowledged that 2007 had been an extremely ”turbulent” year for Pakistan but underlined that the country’s nuclear arms remained safely in the hands of the military establishment. ”There is no chance at all of our nuclear assets falling into the wrong hands,” he said. Musharraf will meet with French President Nicolas Sarkozy, British Prime Minister Gordon Brown and other European leaders. He will also visit the World Economic Forum in Davos, Switzerland. (First Posted @ 15:25 PST, Updated @ 15:50 PST)

The problem with Bilawal is not that he is too young, but that he was elected in a feudal non democratic manner and the corrupt CEC rubberstamped the dubious decision.

The problem with the decision is not that he is young, many young people are very smart and I’m sure Bilawal is a smart young man and he could acquire the necessary experience, but the problem is that it sets the wrong precedent and perpetuates politics of heredity rather than politics based on merit.

In any case, I hope Zardari makes the right decision. I think most people under-estimate Zardari. He is going to surprise a lot of people… I am not a Zardari fan and would like to see the looted wealth recuperated, but I have a feeling he is going to sideswipe Musharraf. (and when we get Mushie out of office he and all his cronies should face the music in a restored Supreme Court)

Long Live the 2nd Republic!

The answers is in the following lines. Please read these with utmost diligent.

IN CONGRESS, JULY 4, 1776
    The unanimous Declaration of the thirteen united States of America

“We hold these truths to be self-evident, that all men are created equal, that they are endowed by their Creator with certain unalienable Rights, that among these are Life, Liberty and the pursuit of Happiness. — That to secure these rights, Governments are instituted among Men, deriving their just powers from the consent of the governed, — That whenever any Form of Government becomes destructive of these ends, it is the Right of the People to alter or to abolish it, and to institute new Government, laying its foundation on such principles and organizing its powers in such form, as to them shall seem most likely to effect their Safety and Happiness.”

14. amajid.malik Says:
    January 21st, 2008 at 10:50 pm

Some funny highlights of Musharraf’S visit to Brussels:

**** Many were invited to dinner with president but didn’t get even water to drink. Only the usual babbling of Mush was there to listen.

**** Mobiles were collected at reception of the hotel and a token number was given due to security concersn. 44 Moibles were lost at reception as many picked more than one mobile after the address of Mr. Musharraf.

Some said they drank too much and were not in senses to pic only there own mobile and later on retured the mobiles to actual owners. May be it was difficult to hear Musharraf’s stupid arguments while in senses [Smile]

**** Geo representative got a good bashing from PPP president of Belgium for not giving him coverage but to other PPP representatives and to PTI.

**** PTI supporters waved flags near the Mush car to teach him a lesson on saying PTI a Tanga party. Mr. Mush wouldn’t have anticipated this treatment.

I think, Zardari is more sensible, clever, and a sharp political minded person .As he did not follow the BB’s will in true sprit .Otherwise he would have accepted the position as Chairman of the PPP, as per will of Shaheedah BB .Very sensibly he has left the NRO issue to be decided after consultation with party. PPP has already decided to take part in the coming elections. NRO renewal means establishing the supremacy/authority of the President General (Rtd.) Musharaf is playing his own role as controversial President, being in hot water. Let‘s wait for the responses of Shebaz Sharif, Ahtizaz Ahsan and others, who are being in contact by the representatives of the so called PRESIDENT . Dictator knows he has given task to Army, has engaged the corrupt politicians in NRO’s renewal (elections, which are not going to be held, for which the grounds are being paved), People of Pakistan to run after AATA .Thus by doing so, he will enjoy the same status as earlier. Contrary to this, he should get lesson from his predecessors (Ayub, Yahya and Zia) or at least from History. One thing is crystal clear to me that Zardari’s character is intangible and will never bow down in front of any dictator .His party may decide to do so .My analyses are based upon his rigid attitude in 8 year of Jail/imprisonment, brutal murder of her beloved wife, more over he is a SINDHEE and true Pakistani. As a Pakistani my wish and concern is for the restoration and supremacy of Judiciary and restoration of Democracy in country

16. amajid.malik Says:
    January 21st, 2008 at 11:48 pm

A paragraph from Imtiaz alam’s column:

The fact of the matter is that at the fag end of his military rule, the retired general faces a most serious dilemma of his so-called civilian phase: if he holds free and fair election, the PPP and other opposition parties may sweep the polls and clip his wings or simply impeach him; and if he does rig the election, he will be facing an unprecedented backlash that may turn out to be the last straw on the camel’s back. Finding hard to find a pretext to postpone the elections, he is negotiating behind the scene the prospects of a national government for three years with his adversaries, including, the PML-N and the PPP.

A very good Article on Shaukat Aziz in Nawaiwaqt

Udan Tashtari

http://nawaiwaqt.com.pk/urdu/daily/jan-2008/11/columns1.php

PPP is not going to waste any time in taking this opportunity.

Riddle, would you like to bet with me USD 100.00 Call me @ 901-370-5779. US. or post your #.

This is a replay of propaganda against PPP by establishment. NRO was a trap to discredit BB and PPP. Zardari will be a fool if gets into this trap again.

The aggressive posture b Zardari against Mush is clearly visible. His letter to Condi Rice is full of Mush bashing. I din’t think cases against PPP any power in them. If these cases could not convict BB and Zardari in last 12 years then how can they be decided before February 18.

Mush is clever and cruel and has no respect for any rule of law. Any action against Zardari will raise his status in this land of pious and pure.

Yes this is a third class propaganda against the PPP. This is what this government did. If there was any real deal, why it was ONLY used to do propaganda against BB.

Mush only wanst to stick to his power and is only good for propaganda and time buying tactics.

PPP should be careful. Whoever negotiates with this government, gets murdered (Bugti, Lal Masjid etc). After cheating, shameless people like Chaudhry Shujaat come on front.

According to reports, General Kiyani has asked Army people not to meet politicians and this includeds Musharraf (according to the BBC).

I think Kiyani is taking his time (as all Generals do first) and he wants army house back from Musharraf. I don’t think that Kiyani is a good ‘boy’ but I think army will be careful this time because of the image problem it is facing. That is why Kiyani has asked generals to resign from civil posts.

23. Mera Pakistan Says:
    January 22nd, 2008 at 2:52 am

NRO has been offered to Mr.10% and I am sure, he will gladly accept it. He did the first right thing by showing the fake will and cunningly changing the name of his son to Bilawal Bhutto Zardari and he will sure be taking further similar steps to keep his claws on PPP.

I have a peon named Shrafat Ali, he always wanted to become the PM of Pakistan. As I know that some Pakistani people are so naive that they only believe in names and baradari system, Today I gave him an advise and asked him to change his name to Shrafat Bhutto Ali, that will help him to win the PM seat, if not, then atleast he will be able to get the Chairperson seat of PPP for LIFE for sure. :)
    May Allah saves us from the curse of Zardaris aka Bhuttos now.

Support for Mr. Musharraf within the army, which is considered Pakistan’s most important institution and is under growing pressure from the insurgency, is hard to gauge accurately, said two Western diplomats who spoke on the condition of anonymity. The successor Mr. Musharraf has chosen to lead the army, Gen. Ashfaq Parvez Kayani, is not expected to abandon him in the short term, the diplomats said.

This paragraph is from ny times and you can easily see wts the motive in this para,it is just a face saving tactics from gen.kiyani just to get the support back from ppl,they will do every thing to support musharaf but behind the scenes:to support this statement you can easily see that cj iftikhar is still under custody of ISI

so who ever hopes gen.kiyani will be different than we have to see after feb 18th,nothing is goin to happen before that

catch me if things change before that date

Changes after BB in Political landscapes.

After BB’s departure, the political dynamics have some what changed. Some parties are going in fast forward, and some are making u-turns or some are driving slow in low gears. Thos who were going fast forward before BB’s death have slowed down due to changes in political dynamics. They realized in this new political landscape they may not have the clear majority they thought they did before her death. As a matter of facts recent statement by Q-league shows they are rushing to save as many of their own candidates from crossing to the other side. But on the other hand those who were lurking on few numbers but making big claims, now seems to have clear majority. The Q-league was sure of majority before BB’s death. They knew by hook or crook they would still be the ruling majority. That’s what BB was afraid and crying about in her campaign.

Ch. Shujaat recently stated that main task for his party is to stem out the exodus of PML-Q candidates from joining PPP. Both brothers scrambled to delay the election so they can buy some time and stop this exodus of their candidates. For that matter I would say every other party is worried over PPP sweeping the next election. The concern is PPP may get the majority seats in sympathy votes. The majority, even PPP couldn’t imagine while BB was alive. There is a reason for that, if we look across Pakistan’s major political parties in the past 30 years of political history, we see every other party is identified with its region. PML-N and PML-Q are heavy in Punjab, ANP in frontier, MQM Karachi and muhajir parts of Sindh. JUI mostly from frontier & religious sectors, (JI) thinned out across Pakistan mostly in the religious sectors and the rest are splinter groups from various parties. But none represent the cross section of the entire country as PPP. Even PML(N) could not root itself across country while they were in Govt. for 2-terms. Imagine a party getting majority votes from across country, not only that party forms a central Govt., but it may also have heavy stakes in every province to help form a coalition provincial Govt. Now that the dimensions have changed, US is probably knocking on Zardari’s door, while back door communications are still working with Nawaz or anyone else to look for the civilian liberal leader from a so called extremist nation.

In any case, it boils down to who benefits the most out of BB’s death, the king maker Zardari. Finally after years of confinement, being under constant shadow of BB, Zardari must have had a sigh of relief from all this and now walking chin-up. As they say every dog has his day. Now that BB is gone, the lights and camera would certainly be focused at him, as long as he agrees 100% to become much needed puzzle piece in the US game plan under the shadow of Pak Army. Makhdoom Amin Faheem who has been the most loyal BB party worker has said after Zardari’s first press conference that Zardari will be the king maker for Bilawal and most probably will clean out the BB supporters from the party ranks and replace them with his own cronies. To this, I would say he is not a king maker, rather he sees himself a “KING” waiting to be crowned soon. He has not only gained the ownership of all the wealth, but also leadership of PPP, that was never to be gone outside the Bhutto clan. Now he is fully loaded.

But to his demise, there is sudden twist and turn to his clean path to power dome. Recent news item in Pakistan media about PPP complaint that intelligence is using the information gathered from BB’s death investigation against the PPP candidates to join or support Q league. At the same time Zardari’s statement that it will support Q-league is also a surprise to everyone, specially the party members who knew BB would never settle with Q-league. Now that Mushrraf has just offered him the NRO (National Re-Conciliation Order) which would expire on 5th Feb, the same offered to BB. Since he has many cases pending against him, if he declines this offer, he has been told the cases against him will be re-opened.

Latest BBC Urdu reported how this Monster in making is behaving these days in No-Dero the old BB’s house. He has a line of guest waiting in the hall way to meet him. At his discretion, he takes some to close door meeting and some right in the hall way. One peculiar thing BBC reported is that the guests are given instructions to “please stand up” in respect for him, every time he passes through the hall way. This exercise of “please stand up” continues all day, whenever Zardari finds spare time he takes walk in the hall way to make sure no one disrespects him. they say he is training Pakistanis to respect him before he becomes our next “KING” !!! keep on day-dreaming.

One of the guests sitting in the hallway happened to be a desperate poor man looking for help.

In his daily exercise of hall walk, Zardari comes to this old man sitting in hallway

Zardari: Saeen baba cha haal ha, cha khape, sub theek tu hai baba

Old man: saeen wadera, ghar mein aata nahi hai, roti nahi do mahina ho gaya.

Zardari: saeen baba fakir na ker, aata bhi milega, roti bhi milegi, bus dua kero baba mein jaldi se prime minister ban jaoon, sub kuch milega.

Old man: saeen wadera, aap tu jub aoo ge jub aoo ge, mujhe tu abhi roti chahye

Zardari: sabar kero baba, sabar kero, bahar jakar intezaar kero, sabar kero saen,

he turns to his aid and asked him who let this man in. Do you not see I am so busy with important people here and you are letting in these beggars.

Aid: sir, he is very desperate man

Zardari: I am a desperate man too, I have to re-negotiate all my 10% deals that I left off 10 years ago. Don’t you see how desperate this situation is, I have to recover last 10 years losses. This time I don’t want to miss a single deal in Pakistan.

The best of the deals offered so far to Zardari is the NRO(National Reconciliation Ordinance) from Musharaf on Monday Jan 21/2008. Wipes out the charge sheet, so he can start all over again.

It seems the piece of pie will remain in the hands of present regime, but new faces would be added in the cronies list. For example, After Chaudhry Brothers were added to alliance with Military Govt. back in 2002 as civilians cohurts , they also had many splinters from PPP joining the ruling junta. Then came Muslim League splinter Pir Pagara group and then joined the infamous MQM to compliment the suit, as done in the bridge game. This time it may be enhanced with another power goon of the Sindh, Zardari to join the ruling party to rule the country for next 5, 10 or 15 years. America will be more than content with Pakistan as long as this war on terror continues and the power dome in Pakistan is full of the type they want. Poor Nawaz Sharif, the crystal ball is fogy about him this time. All I can hear is Musharraf telling Nawaz: “Guddu bete zid mat kero, tum ko maaloom hai shoor machane waloon ka hai”

26. Meetha Sach Says:
    January 22nd, 2008 at 4:30 am

Mush is like a trapped and dying Octopus who wants to entangle and trap his adverseries to save himself. I think all Pak politicians should steer clear of his tentacles, even if for the only reason that they will then embrace the hate of the nation who are hell bent to rid Mush under all circumstances.

some people are unable to find get the idea that comment space is to give your PERSONAL opinion with free mind. We will always see 1000 words essays, and that kind of gives a feeling that it is a paid effort. Who has the time to go through a dissertation?

I am sorry if it went too long. Its just thoughts after thoughts that you feel blab it out. I will be careful next time

I am sorry if it went too long. Its just thoughts after thoughts that you feel blab it out. I will be careful next time ……

this NRO sounds like some lotta certificate. sign it and work under establishment ka pakistan, else leave the dreams of hakomat.

@econfused

you are right pal that jaltarang essay was so long that i had to left it in the middle instead he could express that all with just 2 or 3 lines by saying that ppp will win the sympathy vote its as simple as that

Jultarang, I believe gist of your dissertation is that Asif Zardari is here to make millions AGAIN. I have to ask if you can do some research and find out on any given year look at the budget. You will find major portion of budget is used for debt servicing. A lion share is than given to our Paak Fauj and Strategic defense things.

Now what ever is left (Not a whole lot), allegedly that is used for development projects. Now out of those development projects Zardar takes at 10%.

Now it really bothers me, why we never talk about the money which disappears in Paak Fauj?

Why all the stories are against Politicians, do you want us to believe generals are angels?

every country has an army but pakistan army has a country

Mr. 10% does not make money from the PAk budget. He makes money from various investors businesses that require licenses and support to conduct business. Pakistan is a place where you can not just invest millions and do your business a s you do in western societies. Here you have to have goons support and share it with them. Its simply like mafia (army & establishment acts like it). Budget is peanuts. These guys are leaches they hord on necessity items

Very funny jultarang, you think that Pakistan had much money in services sector back then :) Just feeding on wrong information. Go back and do a research on which things he was known for 10%.

and No budget is not Peanuts, you may be saying that cuz you might have never looked at the numbers .

I think you need to re-alighn your understanding. Take an example of MQM, why babar ghauri sitting on the port ministry. he knows everything that come in and leaves country carry millions of rupees worth of goods. it is hard earned money from those businesses who are serving the country. We enjoy shopping every day because of these businesses. just try to understand do not just argue for the sake of argument

are you telling ppl that babar ghauri was basically a saviour of that port ministery,if thats the case than you must be a mqm supporter otherwise every one knows wts mqm is like

if not than watch the interview of kashif abbasi

atleast he is the one anchor right now on whom every one believes that he dont lie

jultarang,

I don’t like to look at any example set by Mafia. I would doubt the Mafi even if it is writing tickets to heaven (I heard they do write those).

Keep blaming 10%, as you sure don’t want to discuss other 90%.

@econfused

gud one mate

even though i am not a ppp supporter but i do believe BB was a shrewd politician and she wud had given a realy tough fight to mush as compare to zardari

I think you need to get your english right. You complained about blaming politicians so I gave you an example of politician and political party who is making millions off of ministries they have. Not saving those ministries but they steal money from business by extortion

are you talking about ppp or mqm or both

Yes, you are right, I should work on my English, before I can ask Math questions :)

econfused leave this topic,

wt do u think about the picture after feb 18 election which i am very doubtful goin to happen

just read a column in express today by javaid chaudary as he has said its not co-incidence that zardari and qayum met in dubai and shahbaz sharif and brig.niaz had met in isb and mush is comin to london as well

I think you pea brains probably got a long way to go. need to see thing in broader aspects. just dont get locked with one mind set.

should we be supporting another coup for a little while just to get rid of musharaf and to restore the pre-3rd nov judiciary or its just like living in a dreamland or its too dangerous to have another coup

53.8% ppl from all over the world thinks that gen.kiyani’s order to restrict officers to indulge in politics is just a loop statement(source BBC Urdu)

ZARDARI CAN SAY. WE WILL SEE IT AFTER EXPIRY AND ELECTION.

WHAT WILL HAPPEN TO MQM CASES, Q(LEAGUE) CASE, WILL THEY RE-ACTIVATED AS ACTUALLY Q(LEAGUE) AND MQM WERE THE REAL OBJECTIVES FOR THIS ILLEAGAL ORDINANCE

48. bechari-awam Says:
    January 22nd, 2008 at 9:04 pm

@ISEE
    I usually don’t take seriously what you have to say but man this time you are absolutely right. Its not just PPP, its all other looters like terrorist MQM, Lota league etc. This threat in for each and every one of them to become a “bunday da puttar” or else …..

49. Amir Hameed Says:
    January 22nd, 2008 at 9:12 pm

The entire country is being destroyed to accommodate just one FKNG person. May be we, as a nation, are too resilient to let it happen easily and that is why it is taking too long for him to get to the finish line.

I always respected benazir bhutoo, even on the background of vast corruption charges and convection by Swiss court.

But I refuse to call her a martyr or a hero, because when she died she was in serious power share agreement with a dictator who, raped democracy, killed judiciary and closed the mouth of media. She actually helped the general gaining the presidential seat.

I secretly wish she had died fighting for justice, fighting with a dictator, fighting for freedom of speech and fighting for the people of Pakistan.

51. Mera Pakistan Says:
    January 23rd, 2008 at 3:03 am

We agree! Zardari benefits without doubt! Zardari not only holds onto the whole wealth but also the reigns of PPP. He nominated Amin Fahim for PM post, but himself is aspiring to become President! There are news that they divorced long ago. Benzair herself admitted that she send Musharraf a letter after 18 oct which she named few people against her….why would she prefer Musharraf over her own husband? She TRUSTED Msuharraf over Zardari!

52. Mera Pakistan Says:
    January 23rd, 2008 at 3:11 am

This is a para taken from from an email floating on the internt which was sent by Benazir’s closed friend settled in NY.

Following are the Kartoots of ZarGali oh i meant Zardari, i guess same thing.

“He started cheating on her within three to four years after his marriage. He was caught red handed with ****** *******’s daughter and that is where their friendship ended. Everybody in Pakistan knew that how badly she was treated by him. Everyone knows that he is a womanizer and an unsavoury character. BB held on to him for personal reasons, since she truly loved him and thought that he would change. When she used to go to New York, she used to stay at her friends house because AZ had three live-in girl friends and BB knew it thus did not visited his apartment.”

53. Mera Pakistan Says:
    January 23rd, 2008 at 3:15 am

End of Bhutto-Zardari affair

Daily Times Monitor

ISLAMABAD: The Bhutto-Zardari marriage is over, according to an article in the Indian magazine Outlook by Mariana Babar, a Pakistani female journalist friendly with Benazir Bhutto.

According to Ms Babar, “a little over two years from that heady, emotional November, as we settle into 2007, a chill seems to have seeped into the romantic saga that the Benazir-Zardari matrimony has always been for this country. The fizz has gone out of the love story, Benazir and Zardari don’t live together, their marriage is an empty shell, a partnership of pretences, a form they must maintain because Pakistan, like much of South Asia, can’t accept a woman politician divorced from her husband. You could say it’s a separation that’s still dressed as marriage.

“For months now, the souring of the Benazir-Zardari saga has been the staple of whispers in PPP circles. The buzz attained credibility in November last year when an English daily led its front page with the bruising header: ‘Benazir desperately trying to save her marriage’. The PPP didn’t issue any denials. Last year too, in a money-laundering case filed by the earlier Nawaz Sharif government, Benazir told a Swiss court that she wasn’t associated with offshore companies being investigated for their links to Zardari. The statement was perceived as an attempt on her part to distance herself from her husband.

“A prominent Pakistani close to both Zardari and Benazir, who too now lives abroad, says: ‘The marriage is over. Both have decided to get on with life and live in countries of their own choosing. There has even been a distribution of assets; that’s why her statement last year to the Swiss court.’ But this doesn’t mean Benazir will legally formalise the split—and it isn’t only because of the political factor. As a lady friend of Benazir’s told Outlook, ‘Benazir is too conservative to go in for a divorce. Once, till late in the night, she kept advising me against seeking divorce.’

“There are, however, incontrovertible signs of their marriage being on the rocks if not totally kaput. For one, Benazir lives in Dubai, Zardari in a New York apartment with his dogs. His friends there invite sneers from the extremely class-conscious Pakistanis. As a former foreign secretary told this correspondent, ‘We were having dinner at this posh restaurant and in walked Asif with a group of men who would never be seen in polite company.’ Influential expat Pakistanis say Benazir did not stay with her husband when she visited the Big Apple last September, choosing instead to reside with a friend there. The PPP explained it saying she needed a larger space for party work,” writes Babar.

Outlook has also printed an article by Benazir Bhutto titled: “Asif and I” in which Benazir writes: “In the end, personal life is sacrificed on the altar of political commitment. This is because the public is the political family. To succeed and reach the top, most families, irrespective of gender, whether in politics or other professions, have to go the extra mile, consequently sacrificing personal interests to the larger cause.”

http://www.dailytimes.com.pk/default.asp?page=2007128story_28-1-2007_pg1_8

you can see the PHITKAAR on Zardari’s face in the pic. lol

54. comment-top

ZARDARI LOVE THIS IDEA, NRO

55. comment-top

No matter what Zardari or other Politician did,they are much better than these corrupt generals because if system in place they will face election after four years and there is no election for corrupt army…….