Share and Discuss latest Pakistani Political News and Views here. Please also feel free to share links to any interesting videos, columns, articles from any other newspapers or blogs.
When is a terrorist not a terrorist: When he happens to be a Jew! Imagine how the story would have been written had the culprit been a Muslim.
Another series of hate-crimes, another HOAX! Once again a suspect is caught doing terrorist acts against synagogues but once he is caught and found to be — of course — Jewish, his acts turn into just “vandalism”. How nice! The culprit is no terrorist but someone with “bad judgment” who must have been full of “rage”; He cannot be that bad because he practically led police to catch him; question asked is is he a “real” Jew, and even if he is, then all he needs to do is see a Rabbi — that will fix him. No Guantanamo for him, all he had was “a sizable weapons collection, including pipe bombs and a sawed-off shotgun”
Also note how nicely NYT avoids using ann form of the word “Terror”
BTW, I think one needs to differentiate between Jews per se and the ideology driven Zionists because personally, I don’t think All Jews are out to get us.
The continued success of the Zionist movement should be something to study for Muslims in general. Especially that fact that it doesn’t take large numbers and/or rocket scientists to pull off incredible shit like stealing the most prized piece of real estate from a super power and then harrass the neighbourhood for centuries.. it just takes method and organization and a detailed and patient study of the opponent (easy to say I know)
Oh how the Ottoman beast was felled and hacked to pieces. With the help of the victims themselves. I believe this principle is called ‘leverage’ ?
Wanted you to know about the following Imran Khan event in New York. It would be great if pkpolitics would cover this similar to the Kashmala Tariq event which was held at the same place:
Asia Society, cordially invites you to
Pakistan’s Political Future: An Alternative Perspective
A Conversation with Imran Khan
Please join us for a unique opportunity to interact with Mr. Imran Khan, a former cricket legend from Pakistan and now a vociferous political opponent of President Musharraf. Mr. Khan is Chairman of the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf Party (Movement for Justice). He will share his insights about the rapidly evolving political scene in Pakistan and offer practical solutions to break the ongoing political impasse to facilitate the transition to democratic governance. The Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf party is boycotting the upcoming legislative election scheduled for February 18th and Mr. Khan has called for the resignation of President Musharraf. The discussion will be moderated by Kiran Khalid, Freelance Broadcast Journalist and documentary filmmaker of “We Are Not Free” about media censorship in Pakistan.
Friday, January 25, 2008
8:00 - 8:30 AM Breakfast and Registration
8:30 - 9:30 AM Program
Asia Society
725 Park Avenue at 70th Street, New York City
Musharraf is a treacherous criminal and a disgrace to the Nation of Pakistan. He and his cronies should be tried for their crimes against the People of Pakistan.
CAPITAL TALK is coming back with new host.
It is starting today at 8:05 pm PST on Geo News.
According to Ad of Capital Talk which published in Daily Jang today that due to busy schedule of Hamid Mir a new host Mohd. Maalik will handle this talk show.
It seems Hamid Mir has not accepted conditions.
what you people think about it?
issey kehtey hain “so jotay aur so piyaaz”
Agar yehi kuch karna tha to pehley hi kar laitey. Inn say to accha aaj tv raha jo Talat ko on-air rakhnay mein kamyab raha although it was much smaller TV network
………….The campaign was resumed in District Loralai, Balochistan where central leaders of various parties included in the APDM addressed the protest rally.
Mahmood Khan Achakzai of the Pukhtoonkhwa Milli Awami Party and the APDM convenor; Liaqat Baloch of the Jamaat-e-Islami; Dr Abdul Hai of the National Party; Jahanzeb Jamaldini of the Balochistan National Party, and Admiral (r) Javed Iqbal of the Tehrik-e-Insaf urged the people not to participate in the general election………….
@taban.khamosh
NYT does require you to register for access most of their content but try this link: Another series of hate-crimes, another HOAX!. It should give you access to the first page of the article.
Of course one must differentiate between Jews and Zionists but in the present context there was no need as these were Jew-on-Jew crime and Zionism did not come into play. I personally have come across hundreds of such incidents over the last few years and believe me EACH ONE OF THEM turned out to be a hoax. In each case the anti-Jew act(s) were done by some other Jew and when caught the perpetrator was only described as mentally unbalanced. Just Google “vandalism swastika mentally” and scroll through the results and you will see what I mean. On the other hand, muslims playing with paintballs get convicted as terrorists.
“Hizb ut Tahrir Britain organises demonstration to Musharraf’s London visit
HTB National Events” Monday, 21 January 2008
Hizb ut Tahrir Britain announces a demonstration in opposition to Musharraf’s visit to London on Saturday 26th January 2008 at the Pakistan High Commission in London.
While Pakistan descends into turmoil under Musharraf’s dictatorial rule, Britain and Europe entertain the ruler who has silenced political opposition in his country through proscription and intimidation, has suspended the rule of law by the dismissal of the office of the Chief of Justice and whose government is shrouded in suspicion of a conspiratorial cover up of the assassination of the main opposition leader Benazir Bhutto.
While the leaders of Britain and Europe pontificate over the democratisation of Pakistan as a saviour for its beleagured people, the lives of ordinary Pakistanis becomes more unbearable with each passing day as the country slides towards anarchy and sectarian conflict.
The people of Pakistan do not need or want Musharraf’s democracy, or Bush’s democracy or Brown’s democracy, as past democratic governments have brought nothing except corruption, poverty and humiliation. The people of Pakistan desire unity under Islam and the return of the Khilafah which will end western interference in Pakistan and restore justice, the rule of Allah’s (swt) law and unity through Islamic brotherhood.
Hizb ut Tahrir Britain invites the Muslim community in Britain to attend this demonstration to condemn Musharraf’s treachery and British and European hyprocrisy. Make your voices heard across the world as you call for the return of the Khilafah!
A Crusader in King Abdullah’s Court
….. After blessing Israel Bush headed to the awaiting arms, lavish receptions, and extraordinarily expensive gifts from his aides, the Gulf oil rulers who oversee and safeguard America
I agree with you hundred percent - I have told this revivlist guy so many times that this Khalifat business is an outdated idea and no one would buy his idea - but he is admanant.
Whether its Khaliafat or Miliatary or any dictatorship - it is not acceptable to people of Pakistan. Why dont these Khailafat guys go to Saudi Arabia and preach them becuase they are custodians of Islam. They should leave us poor Pakistanists alone.
If you look back at Islamic history - right after Hazart Ali’s Shahadat there has been Khilafat which was nothing but a tyrannical and dynastical rule and we dont want that. Khailafat would bring in dictatorship and once a Khalifah would be in place he would become all in all and after he dies we would have to endure with his son and so on.
We want to get rid of Musharraf dicatorship and this guy wants us to support his outdated idea.
There is only solution to problems of Pakistan and that is RULE OF LAW which everyone respects - and it should TOP DOWN AND NOT VICE VERSA. The President first has to respect the law and then expect others to respect that law. SIMPLE AS THAT.
So revivalist go to some other place - there is no chance of such an outdated ideiology in Pakistan.
There is already a Consitution in Pakistan which has Islamic provisions - most important is that no law can be made against Quran and Sunnah. I think this provision is more than enough to protect Islam and we dont want Mullahs.
Just tell me one thing - one very simple question - HOW WOULD YOU APPOINT KHALIFAT if for sake of arguement all the people become lunatics and decide to accept this thing.
Who is going to determine who is going to be Khalifah. Just answer me this question.
Capital talk is going without Hamid Mir, Its is really shamefull that people who remained with GEO and fought day n night for their rights are outside, reason they stick to the truth. Where is Dr Shahid now a days, any news regarding them?
Plz open a new link to ask people to comment on this
@nota: What I meant was it is a Zionist on Jew crime, but when they get caught it is just “some jew” no one bothers to go into the history of why this particular jew has taken this task up. So I would say that the people who are doing these things are probably doing it to foment more hatred against guess who…? and they are so careless (if there are indeed hundreds of such cases) that they know nothing will happen to them in the hate crime department.. although if the perpetrator stays unknown, most probably Muslims (in today’s xenophobic environment) would get blamed for it in hushed tones.
Funny story, I heard that there was an old jewish synagogue that was burned to the ground in the NE US (NY state or Pensylvania?) but no major rag reported it because it belonged to a sect of Jews who are openly opposed to the state of Israel and its apartheid policies against the native population of Palestinian arabs, christians (and in some cases native jews).
“No HM on Capital Talk”
At this time there is a repeat telecast of “Capital Talk” and Hamid Mir is not in the program but there is some one who conducts a talk show on PTV. I haven’t heard the first part of the program so I don’t know what excuse they put. GEO waaloan sharam say doob maro.
@Revivalist: I would like to hear briefly what you have to say about c hussain’s question? How does your system propose the selection/election of a leader? (and please no platitudes.. just the meat of your proposed system would be great)
Also what does your Khilafah movement have to say about the criminals giving away the oil wealth of “Muslim Ummah” (by your account) for less than the price of that shitty french dishwater (don’t believe me? compare the price of 1L of gasoline with 1L of Perrier in a neighbourhood of your choosing, which I’m sure is in some Western country because fighting for democracy under the thumb of actual tyrants is for losers right?)
@mian: maybe pakistan should start generating some atta and ghee as well..
But I’m sure a lot of pakistanis are interested in sitting around and licking this symbol of their progress. Coming soon to a Waziristan village near you, the New! The Lethal! The SEXY! JF17 !! Ujj-ee Vekho!
“I’m not interested in being a symbol for anyone,” she said emphatically. “And I’m not interested in perpetuating a really ineffectual form of politics simply because of my name.”
She added, “I have never believed in dynastic politics, or the politics of birthright. … I think that’s dangerous to the cause of democracy in Pakistan, and ultimately doesn’t serve the people.”
P.S. aaand she’s totally cute! — Be still my heart!
All Parties Democratic Movement (APDM) has demanded of the government to lift ban imposed under section 144 Cr.Pc on holding of public meetings and procession. President of Pakistan Tehrik-e-Insaaf, Punjab, and Convenor of APDM, Ahsan Rasheed stated this at a press conference here Wednesday………………………….
*JOIN ASMA JEHANGIR, IMRAN KHAN, JEMIMA KHAN, PTI, PML-N, PPP, OTHERS ATDEMO OUTSIDE DOWNING STREET *** *GO MUSHARRAF GO DEMO* TO *RESTORE JUDICIARY AND THE CONSTITUTION* *RELEASE ALL POLITICAL PRISONERS* *FREE THE MEDIA* *HOLD FREE AND FAIR ELECTIONS* *ON****Date: Monday January 28th 2008**Time: 11.30 AM**Location: 10 Downing Street, London, SW1A 2AA**Tube: Westminister Station*
A massive protest is being planned against Musharraf in UK. All concerned,students, lawyers, civil societies, political party workers, etc. areinvited to come to this protest. If you are in or around London on the 28th,please try to come. The plan is to bring people from all backgrounds holding the flags of their political parties or the flag of Pakistan in case youdon’t support any political party to represent the much united resistancemovement against Musharraf. Please circulate this widely.
Are some of the comments deleted from this site? What is your criteria for deleting some of the comments? Is anything about the army a no go zone? I had posted a few observations last night and i can no find them today? I will appreciate your feedback on the rationale behind deleting some of the posts……….
Imran, Asma Jehamgir to protest against Musharraf in London this weekend
London, Jan 24 : To register their protest against Pakistan President Pervez Musharraf’s “undemocratic” actions against the country’s media, judiciary and the civil society, cricketer-turned-politician Imran Khan and human rights activist Asma Jehangir will lead a demonstration against him at 10 Downing Street on Sunday, on the sidelines of his London visit…………………….
ISLAMABAD (Thomson Financial) - Pakistani riot police used tear gas and batons here on Thursday to disperse hundreds of protesters chanting slogans against President Pervez Musharraf, Agence France-Presse reporters witnessed.
Around 400 people, including lawyers, hardline Islamists and supporters of cricketer-turned-politician Imran Khan screamed ‘Death to Musharraf’ when police stopped them from visiting Pakistan’s former top judge.
US policy on Pak is disaster for both countries: Imran Khan
Imran Khan, former Pakistan cricket captain and leader of opposition party Tehreek-e-Insaaf, has criticised the Bush administration’s policy toward Pakistan and stated that it’s pandering to President Pervez Musharraf spells disaster for both countries.
During his visit to the Amnesty International USA headquarters in Washington DC, Khan said he would “try and convince politicians in Washington that the policy they have adopted is a disaster for Pakistan and it is a disaster for America.”
Khan is also slated to speak at the Center for Strategic and International Studies, a leading think tank, and at the National Press Club’s Morning Newsmaker series.
do you have any idea why some of our yesterdays discussions have disappeared from this log…..do you think they are deleted by Admin? I thought this was a uncensored place as long as what was said was within the bounds of decent expression……………! all comments are welcome……leo
I take exception to the word ‘ mullah’ either used either by one,’ optimist,’ as above., or by anybody else. It is degrading to address, our learned muslim prayer leaders as such. If U do not know how to adresss such people, U R plz refrain from mentioning them.
How many times have U said prayers behind such people, if at all U R a muslim? Either call them as ‘ Maulanas ‘ , or anything equally respectful, as it does not suit a true muslim, other than a non-muslim, to use such derogatory language.
@leo; I’m not sure, I think I can see the comments by you that I read but I am not sure about one of my own comments.. I think I left on in the Capital Talk thread.. hmm…
IT would be nice if the Admin just censored the comment but left the stub in there. At least I’m not keeping track of my comments, and I’m commenting on so many places I am losing track now..
Though I must protest against censorship of any kind without explanation of the “offence” to the so called “guilty parties”…
definitely mysterious…………i can’t see several of my comments in this news & views thread……………request ADMIN to please look into this for us and help with an explaination……………
Whatever is in ones capacity should be done & for rest we should always leave it to allah & hope for the best. Nobody knows which voice will bear fruit. So just raise the voice wherever & whenever its possible.
Watching Musharraf: His acts and utterngs reveal his mental condition. He seems to be incapable of holding any job of resposibility. Wonder he is president of Pakistan.
Musharaf (Could be!) to be charged for inciting violence in London
Addressing a gathering of 800 people in Hilton Hotel, Park Lane in London on the 25th of January, Pervaiz Musharaf incited violence by asking the Pakistani community to hit such people ( in urdu ”in logoon ko do teen tika dein”), he was referring to the senior Pakistani journalist M. Ziauddin, who asked him a grilling question at RUSI where Musharaf gave talk earlier in the day. It is quite likely that the recorded audio and the video of his address will be provided to the London Paddington police station to get him charged for inciting violence.
This is a good segment showing Benazir Bhutto through the years in her own word. She may have her shortcoming but damn she represented Pakistan with flying colors. She represented the true Pakistan.
i absolutely agree with you - the solutions to put us on a road to stability and progress are rather simple i.e. restore and ensure an independent judiciary, open and independent media, cut down the size of the (Na) Pak Army and invest the savings in education and police force….these steps will get us on a road to stability and progress…………and this will eventualy give the democratic power to the ordinary people of this country……….but…and there is big BUT here….the establishment and primarily the Army will not let this happen…it is not in their interest….they will not survive without keeping an enemy alive…..for about 55 years it was india and now it is the taliban………they create their enemies to keep the justificaion for a large army alive…what a shame…and very depressing indeed….our chowkidars and have taken over our house…………!!!!!!!!
From The Guardian: Welcoming a tyrant Pakistan’s President Musharraf is running a state terrorist regime, with the backing of both Britain and the US
“…Musharraf misleadingly justified emergency rule in the name of a crackdown on terrorism. In truth, instead of arresting terrorists, he seized thousands of peaceful opposition party officials and members. Since Benazir Bhutto’s assassination, tens of thousands more have been detained.
Gordon Brown refuses to meet the Zimbabwean dictator Robert Mugabe, but on Monday he will embrace Musharraf of Pakistan at 10 Downing Street. No surprise there. After all, Britain and the US are long-time allies and supporters of Musharraf’s dictatorship. Despite occasional mild admonishments, our government, in our name, supports him politically, diplomatically, economically and militarily; selling Musharraf the weapons he uses to suppress his own people. Since 2001, the US has bankrolled Musharraf to the tune of $10bn. US fighter planes are used to bomb and strafe pro-nationalist towns and villages in annexed and colonised Baluchistan. Without western aid to support this state terrorism, Musharraf’s regime would fall. …”
I want to ask, What happend to the Live with Talat and Capital Talk videos. I cant see any video links, where did they all go ???
ozrite,
All links (at least on the front page as of Jan 27, 2008 are working. There might be a temportary outage of underlying video providers. Let me know if the issue is resolved.
- Admin
You believe in democracy they way your master BUSH and MUSH believes in it. If you believe in it the try to learn about it as well, unfortunately you don
You believe in democracy they way your master BUSH and MUSH believes in it. If you believe in it the try to learn some thing about it as well, unfortunately you don
I think that the Bosses of admin at Pk Politics May NOT be aware, that they may be
having a MOLE within their staff, who may be DELETING comments of visitors to
this site. & thus bringing a BAD NAME to the admin.
“After protest A letter from HTB to Mush was handed over in pk high commission”"
“Peace be upon those who tread the path of guidance ”
You have come to Europe to seek legitimacy from your colonial masters for your rule in Pakistan, enjoying 5-star luxury hospitality paid for by Pakistan’s citizens, whilst they suffer at home from oppression, insecurity, record food prices and daily power cuts.
At yesterday’s address at the Royal United Services Institute in London you promised democracy and elections, boasted of a successful economy, talked of human rights and press freedoms, and pledged not to allow foreign troops to violate Pakistan’s sovereignty.
Yet back home you have cracked down on all opposition. The elections you offer promise a future where power will continue to be controlled by colonial powers, and authority within the country will remain in the hands of feudal landlords and rich industrialists.
People queue for hours to buy flour due to your neglect. There is daily load shedding because you neglected to add a single kilowatt of electricity to the national grid during your time in power. Instead, ownership of energy resources has been passed to private interests that have in turn burdened the public with rising costs of petrol, gas and electricity, and strangled Pakistan’s industrial and agricultural activity. Added to this, people are burdened by your oppressive General Sales Tax.
Your rhetoric about human rights and freedom of the press to please your western audience did not hide your media censorship and your unnecessary slaying of the elderly, women and children in Lal Masjid, only to make an example of them. More than any other leader in Pakistan’s trouble history, it is you who has surrendered sovereignty to a foreign power, giving logistical support to the US military and then allowing use of Pakistan’s land and airspace aiding their
Unrelated comments moved from “While Pakistan was Burbing” by admin
1. taban.khamosh on January 28th, 2008 2:22 pm
This IDIOT met Ehud Barak (one time Israeli general and murderer of innocent palestinians and then the israeli prime minister, now Minister of defence:
From Wikipedia:
Several people have now complained about the comments being deleted - i have experienced it myself - therefore please comment on this and try to explain why some of the comments are being deleted - a free and open expression is absolutely essential - i request other users to please comment and share their similar experiences - there should be some place where one express without the fear of being censored or censured………………………………………..
i wud request u to read the reply to such complaints.
In general, plzz no valid and comments without any rubbish language have been deleted.
Please AVOID posting comments irrelevant to the topic/subject.
For general topic debate, use Visitors views n News.
Also please do remember that visitors news n views thread is changed every week and u can continue the discussion in the next week thread.
Most common problem of peole having complaints abt deletions of comments had been that they were searching for their comments in other thread than where they actually posted their comment. Many people some time even got furious in some cases, even though it proved to be their mistake in the end.
One thing is for sure, no decent and relevant comments have been deleted.
I can understand deleting outright offensive posts but I think if a discussion is going on it won’t be as diagrammatically irrelevant to the topic as to cause its deletion. Deleting posts just because they seem slightly irrelevant is not a very productive way to moderate discussions in my opinion, least of which is lack of consistency in all threads.
In addition, people might just get disenchanted seeing their posts just vanishing.
Least amount of moderation and maximal encouragement to carry out a discussion I think is the best forum policy. Otherwise the “relevant” and “very pertinent” discussion might be reduced to itty bitty 1-4 liners.
Since, musharraf supporters have a very limited almost childish view of the world and eficient yet faulty bifurcation and logic, whereby they take value neutral words and titles and bastardize them to paint any and everything as “imminent danger” much like Neocons looking for scapegoats. Worss like “Jihad”, “Islam”, “Mullah”, “Mujahideen”, “dhimmi”, even Islam”, “Sharia” etc. Lets give them a taste of their medicine. Use these [placards in Musharraf Protests:
Say No to MULLLAH MUSHARRAF!
NO TO MUSHARRAF’S MULLAHCRACY!YES!YES!FREE JUDICIARY!!
According to Admin this site has over 20,000 registered members. If each member gives 5 Euros then it will be over 100,000 Euros and it will be a great help for the lawyers.
ch mubashhar ,son of ch tajammal ( who had been MNA form Gujrat) had intentions to join PMLN few months back. that time ch shujaat n co. tried their best and succeedded to hold them from joining PMLN…but …. temperoraily.
Then, ch mubashar filed nomination papers for NA-107 as independent candidate. At that time ch shujat n co. had made objections on their papers with allegations of corruption etc.
so things were not going smooth b/w 2 famiiles for quite some time and they were left with no option…..except to join some strong political party for their personal and political survival. INfact this shud have happend much earlier.
They have now withdrawn in favor of PMLN canididate form NA-107 and PMLN candidiate is in v strong position to win this seat.
I asked son of a former DSP Karachi about the power of MQM. He said that MQM wins 11 seats out of 19 with clear majority. He said rest of the seats are won by threatening other parties and their workers. He said only Mullahs fight with them and PPP and PML N try to avoid violence.
IF there are fair elections (MQM often boycott elections when establishment is not on their side), MQM will win fewer seats and the ones it wins will be with less margins. Their are many threatening acts with re-drawing constituencies to avoid some ethnic groups.
Recently, MQM has been throwing out the poor people who have lived in slums for more than 15 years with 2 hours notice (Dawn TV report). These people are often poor Sindhis or other communities like Pathans and Balochis and thus PPP voters. City Nazim refused to comment when Dawn approached him. This is so unfair and a human tragedy. AND this is from the party that talks about the poor. Same poor people who DON
Just some thoughts………………
Pervez Elahi said that neither MLN nor PPP leadership will be in the next assembly.I deduced this as it was a plan to keep these two forces out of the next assembly.One was killed and other was banned from contesting the election.
This was no big leader will be in the assembly to challenge Musharaf and pervez elahi.I do beleive there will be big horse trading as Pervez Elahi knows very well how to use these tactics in the assemly which they have done in the past.
NS knows very well all these as he has been part of these tactics.
No Imran Khan is distancing himself from the right wing to attract PPP vote bank plus washington support.
Pervez Elahi will be PM in the next assembly and no body outside the asssembly will be able to draw any crowd or protests except CJ.They will try their best to break PPP by propagating false elegations against Zardari like BB murder was a conspiracy done by her husband.Who cares what happens to Sindh if PPP breaks away?There is for sure that the nationalist will fill this vaccume created.
BB said once that 1985 elections produced non-political elite.
Remember 1985 election held as non-party basis.Then members were told to join PML when assemblies were formed.A biggest fraud was done to the public and PPP.Pervez Elahi and NS were also elected as non-party basis and then they joined PML headed by Mr.Jonejo.
MH
See how this devil opportunist , Madari Altaf is thinking, below is the link from his media wing Jang group , he talks about the desired maps of Pakistan by foriegn forces although in those maps sindh and punjab are shown as remaining Pakistan but notice his words and his hidden intentions he still sees the opportunnity to be the Quaid of Karachi or if possible of sindh by saying maps show sindh and karachi being part of punjab, and asks to strive to save sindh.
News:
Several high-profile retired generals, air marshals and admirals, who have asked President Musharraf to resign, have announced to seek an unqualified apology from the Pakistani nation for imposing martial laws in the past, abrogating the Constitution several times and not letting democracy flourish in the last 60 years.
———–
NS/Chaudaries etc. should also be included in this apology.
———-
nationhttp://www.thenews.com.pk/top_story_detail.asp?Id=12627
————
MH
If 5 or more people write to a British MP, she/he is obliged to raise that issue in Parliament. More people write to them, better pressure would be on Musharraf. If you would like to write online:
my cover letter (make sure to replace [[tags]] with real names) :
================
Honorable Sir/Madam, Member Parliament [[ Name of Constituency ]]
I write to you as a voting citizen of your constituency, to bring to your attention a matter of grave importance to the cause of democracy, justice, and indeed world peace. I write to bring to your attention the plight of the judiciary and the Cheif Justice of Pakistan who is currently illegally detained along with 60 other Supreme Court and High Court judges. Their crime being that they refused to serve under an illegal military dictatorship.
Dear [[Mr./Ms.]] [[Last Name]], I want to bring this injustice done against the People of Pakistan by an ILLEGAL usurper of democratic power, one Pervez Mushsharraf who claims to be
January 22nd, 2008 at 7:13 am
Link to Week 3 Views and News.
January 22nd, 2008 at 9:16 am
When is a terrorist not a terrorist: When he happens to be a Jew! Imagine how the story would have been written had the culprit been a Muslim.
Another series of hate-crimes, another HOAX! Once again a suspect is caught doing terrorist acts against synagogues but once he is caught and found to be — of course — Jewish, his acts turn into just “vandalism”. How nice! The culprit is no terrorist but someone with “bad judgment” who must have been full of “rage”; He cannot be that bad because he practically led police to catch him; question asked is is he a “real” Jew, and even if he is, then all he needs to do is see a Rabbi — that will fix him. No Guantanamo for him, all he had was “a sizable weapons collection, including pipe bombs and a sawed-off shotgun”
Also note how nicely NYT avoids using ann form of the word “Terror”
January 22nd, 2008 at 1:23 pm
Udan Tashtari: A must read on Corruption of Shaukat Aziz
http://nawaiwaqt.com.pk/urdu/daily/jan-2008/11/columns1.php
January 22nd, 2008 at 1:30 pm
@nota: the link is behind a passowrd.
BTW, I think one needs to differentiate between Jews per se and the ideology driven Zionists because personally, I don’t think All Jews are out to get us.
The continued success of the Zionist movement should be something to study for Muslims in general. Especially that fact that it doesn’t take large numbers and/or rocket scientists to pull off incredible shit like stealing the most prized piece of real estate from a super power and then harrass the neighbourhood for centuries.. it just takes method and organization and a detailed and patient study of the opponent (easy to say I know)
Oh how the Ottoman beast was felled and hacked to pieces. With the help of the victims themselves. I believe this principle is called ‘leverage’ ?
January 22nd, 2008 at 7:40 pm
Wanted you to know about the following Imran Khan event in New York. It would be great if pkpolitics would cover this similar to the Kashmala Tariq event which was held at the same place:
Asia Society, cordially invites you to
Pakistan’s Political Future: An Alternative Perspective
A Conversation with Imran Khan
Please join us for a unique opportunity to interact with Mr. Imran Khan, a former cricket legend from Pakistan and now a vociferous political opponent of President Musharraf. Mr. Khan is Chairman of the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf Party (Movement for Justice). He will share his insights about the rapidly evolving political scene in Pakistan and offer practical solutions to break the ongoing political impasse to facilitate the transition to democratic governance. The Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf party is boycotting the upcoming legislative election scheduled for February 18th and Mr. Khan has called for the resignation of President Musharraf. The discussion will be moderated by Kiran Khalid, Freelance Broadcast Journalist and documentary filmmaker of “We Are Not Free” about media censorship in Pakistan.
Friday, January 25, 2008
8:00 - 8:30 AM Breakfast and Registration
8:30 - 9:30 AM Program
Asia Society
725 Park Avenue at 70th Street, New York City
For more info visit Asia Society at https://tickets.asiasociety.org
January 22nd, 2008 at 8:41 pm
An article on the return of GEO and the compromises being extracted. Shame!
========================================================
Posted on Mon, Jan. 21, 2008
Pakistan’s leader eases grip on TV but bans some journalists
Tim Johnson | McClatchy Newspapers
last updated: January 21, 2008 04:23:02 PM
ISLAMABAD, Pakistan
January 23rd, 2008 at 12:36 am
Musharraf is a treacherous criminal and a disgrace to the Nation of Pakistan. He and his cronies should be tried for their crimes against the People of Pakistan.
January 23rd, 2008 at 1:28 am
CAPITAL TALK is coming back with new host.
It is starting today at 8:05 pm PST on Geo News.
According to Ad of Capital Talk which published in Daily Jang today that due to busy schedule of Hamid Mir a new host Mohd. Maalik will handle this talk show.
It seems Hamid Mir has not accepted conditions.
what you people think about it?
January 23rd, 2008 at 2:10 am
issey kehtey hain “so jotay aur so piyaaz”
Agar yehi kuch karna tha to pehley hi kar laitey. Inn say to accha aaj tv raha jo Talat ko on-air rakhnay mein kamyab raha although it was much smaller TV network
January 23rd, 2008 at 2:17 am
………….The campaign was resumed in District Loralai, Balochistan where central leaders of various parties included in the APDM addressed the protest rally.
Mahmood Khan Achakzai of the Pukhtoonkhwa Milli Awami Party and the APDM convenor; Liaqat Baloch of the Jamaat-e-Islami; Dr Abdul Hai of the National Party; Jahanzeb Jamaldini of the Balochistan National Party, and Admiral (r) Javed Iqbal of the Tehrik-e-Insaf urged the people not to participate in the general election………….
http://www.thepost.com.pk/MainNews.aspx?bdtl_id=9118&fb_id=2&catid=14
January 23rd, 2008 at 3:40 am
@taban.khamosh
NYT does require you to register for access most of their content but try this link:
Another series of hate-crimes, another HOAX!. It should give you access to the first page of the article.
Of course one must differentiate between Jews and Zionists but in the present context there was no need as these were Jew-on-Jew crime and Zionism did not come into play. I personally have come across hundreds of such incidents over the last few years and believe me EACH ONE OF THEM turned out to be a hoax. In each case the anti-Jew act(s) were done by some other Jew and when caught the perpetrator was only described as mentally unbalanced. Just Google “vandalism swastika mentally” and scroll through the results and you will see what I mean. On the other hand, muslims playing with paintballs get convicted as terrorists.
January 23rd, 2008 at 3:42 am
Oops! try this link for muslims playing with paintballs get convicted as terrorists
January 23rd, 2008 at 4:27 am
“Hizb ut Tahrir Britain organises demonstration to Musharraf’s London visit
HTB National Events” Monday, 21 January 2008
Hizb ut Tahrir Britain announces a demonstration in opposition to Musharraf’s visit to London on Saturday 26th January 2008 at the Pakistan High Commission in London.
While Pakistan descends into turmoil under Musharraf’s dictatorial rule, Britain and Europe entertain the ruler who has silenced political opposition in his country through proscription and intimidation, has suspended the rule of law by the dismissal of the office of the Chief of Justice and whose government is shrouded in suspicion of a conspiratorial cover up of the assassination of the main opposition leader Benazir Bhutto.
While the leaders of Britain and Europe pontificate over the democratisation of Pakistan as a saviour for its beleagured people, the lives of ordinary Pakistanis becomes more unbearable with each passing day as the country slides towards anarchy and sectarian conflict.
The people of Pakistan do not need or want Musharraf’s democracy, or Bush’s democracy or Brown’s democracy, as past democratic governments have brought nothing except corruption, poverty and humiliation. The people of Pakistan desire unity under Islam and the return of the Khilafah which will end western interference in Pakistan and restore justice, the rule of Allah’s (swt) law and unity through Islamic brotherhood.
Hizb ut Tahrir Britain invites the Muslim community in Britain to attend this demonstration to condemn Musharraf’s treachery and British and European hyprocrisy. Make your voices heard across the world as you call for the return of the Khilafah!
January 23rd, 2008 at 4:32 am
And here is a link to blog with links to some of the stories I was talking about above…
January 23rd, 2008 at 10:51 am
A Crusader in King Abdullah’s Court
….. After blessing Israel Bush headed to the awaiting arms, lavish receptions, and extraordinarily expensive gifts from his aides, the Gulf oil rulers who oversee and safeguard America
January 23rd, 2008 at 1:14 pm
@ revivalist
we are pro democracy and we don’t want to see General being replaced by Mullah. We want Aitzaz Ahsan and Justice Iftikhar.
Please spare us your Mullah agenda. You are back with the same propaganda.
Could you keep eyes on these people who want to exploit free speech to kill free speech forever with the help of Mullahs.
January 23rd, 2008 at 1:15 pm
GO MUSHARRAF GO DEMO
TO
RESTORE JUDICIARY AND THE CONSTITUTION
RELEASE ALL POLITICAL PRISONERS
FREE THE MEDIA
HOLD FREE AND FAIR ELECTIONS
ON
Date: Monday January 28th 2008
Time: 11.30 AM
Tube: Westminister Station
PLEASE CONTACT ON 07825 756750 ( b/w 4 to 6 pm GMT) FOR MORE DETAILS OR EMAIL: freepakistan@hotmail.co.uk
January 23rd, 2008 at 3:19 pm
http://www.bbc.co.uk/urdu/pakistan/story/2008/01/080123_elex_analysis_sq.shtml
A good satire on Musharraf’s insistence that elections would be fair and district and tehsil nazims would have no effect on teh elections -
January 23rd, 2008 at 3:25 pm
Optimist
I agree with you hundred percent - I have told this revivlist guy so many times that this Khalifat business is an outdated idea and no one would buy his idea - but he is admanant.
Whether its Khaliafat or Miliatary or any dictatorship - it is not acceptable to people of Pakistan. Why dont these Khailafat guys go to Saudi Arabia and preach them becuase they are custodians of Islam. They should leave us poor Pakistanists alone.
If you look back at Islamic history - right after Hazart Ali’s Shahadat there has been Khilafat which was nothing but a tyrannical and dynastical rule and we dont want that. Khailafat would bring in dictatorship and once a Khalifah would be in place he would become all in all and after he dies we would have to endure with his son and so on.
We want to get rid of Musharraf dicatorship and this guy wants us to support his outdated idea.
There is only solution to problems of Pakistan and that is RULE OF LAW which everyone respects - and it should TOP DOWN AND NOT VICE VERSA. The President first has to respect the law and then expect others to respect that law. SIMPLE AS THAT.
So revivalist go to some other place - there is no chance of such an outdated ideiology in Pakistan.
There is already a Consitution in Pakistan which has Islamic provisions - most important is that no law can be made against Quran and Sunnah. I think this provision is more than enough to protect Islam and we dont want Mullahs.
January 23rd, 2008 at 3:29 pm
REVIVALIST
Just tell me one thing - one very simple question - HOW WOULD YOU APPOINT KHALIFAT if for sake of arguement all the people become lunatics and decide to accept this thing.
Who is going to determine who is going to be Khalifah. Just answer me this question.
January 23rd, 2008 at 3:49 pm
Capital talk is going without Hamid Mir, Its is really shamefull that people who remained with GEO and fought day n night for their rights are outside, reason they stick to the truth. Where is Dr Shahid now a days, any news regarding them?
Plz open a new link to ask people to comment on this
January 23rd, 2008 at 4:07 pm
@Revivalist
Glad you kept your post under 10,000 letters. You complain that “While Pakistan descends into turmoil under Musharraf
January 23rd, 2008 at 4:12 pm
Kudos to The News for calling it like it is about the arrest and “revelations” made by the 15-year old suspect in BB case:
“Certainly, the whole thing seems rather too convenient, in fact tailor made, for the investigators,” The News, Pakistan’s biggest selling English language daily, said in an editorial on Tuesday.”
January 23rd, 2008 at 7:20 pm
Could someone suggest to the LAWYERS and Civil Society to March to the residences of Chief Justice and Aitzaz with International Media.
When police stops them, this will be embarrassment for Musharraf. We should do what we can to discredit him.
January 23rd, 2008 at 8:42 pm
congrtulations to all pakistanis,
pakistan is started to produce JF17 THUNDER planes,good achievment, thanks to china,
January 23rd, 2008 at 8:52 pm
@nota: What I meant was it is a Zionist on Jew crime, but when they get caught it is just “some jew” no one bothers to go into the history of why this particular jew has taken this task up. So I would say that the people who are doing these things are probably doing it to foment more hatred against guess who…? and they are so careless (if there are indeed hundreds of such cases) that they know nothing will happen to them in the hate crime department.. although if the perpetrator stays unknown, most probably Muslims (in today’s xenophobic environment) would get blamed for it in hushed tones.
Funny story, I heard that there was an old jewish synagogue that was burned to the ground in the NE US (NY state or Pensylvania?) but no major rag reported it because it belonged to a sect of Jews who are openly opposed to the state of Israel and its apartheid policies against the native population of Palestinian arabs, christians (and in some cases native jews).
January 23rd, 2008 at 8:54 pm
“No HM on Capital Talk”
At this time there is a repeat telecast of “Capital Talk” and Hamid Mir is not in the program but there is some one who conducts a talk show on PTV. I haven’t heard the first part of the program so I don’t know what excuse they put. GEO waaloan sharam say doob maro.
January 23rd, 2008 at 9:06 pm
@Revivalist: I would like to hear briefly what you have to say about c hussain’s question? How does your system propose the selection/election of a leader? (and please no platitudes.. just the meat of your proposed system would be great)
Also what does your Khilafah movement have to say about the criminals giving away the oil wealth of “Muslim Ummah” (by your account) for less than the price of that shitty french dishwater (don’t believe me? compare the price of 1L of gasoline with 1L of Perrier in a neighbourhood of your choosing, which I’m sure is in some Western country because fighting for democracy under the thumb of actual tyrants is for losers right?)
This whole “Khilafa” thing is misguided AFAIAC!
January 23rd, 2008 at 9:33 pm
@mian
“congrtulations to all pakistanis,
pakistan is started to produce JF17 THUNDER planes,good achievment, thanks to china,”
now people can eat a JF17 thunder in lieu of a roti, certainly a great achievement!!
January 23rd, 2008 at 9:33 pm
@mian: maybe pakistan should start generating some atta and ghee as well..
But I’m sure a lot of pakistanis are interested in sitting around and licking this symbol of their progress. Coming soon to a Waziristan village near you, the New! The Lethal! The SEXY! JF17 !! Ujj-ee Vekho!
Congratulations indeed Mian Ji
January 23rd, 2008 at 9:36 pm
Fatima Bhutto says NO to dynastic politics :
http://edition.cnn.com/2008/WORLD/asiapcf/01/22/bhutto.niece/index.html?iref=mpstoryview
“I’m not interested in being a symbol for anyone,” she said emphatically. “And I’m not interested in perpetuating a really ineffectual form of politics simply because of my name.”
She added, “I have never believed in dynastic politics, or the politics of birthright. … I think that’s dangerous to the cause of democracy in Pakistan, and ultimately doesn’t serve the people.”
P.S. aaand she’s totally cute! — Be still my heart!
January 23rd, 2008 at 10:12 pm
APDM holds rally against government at Zhob
http://www.thefrontierpost.com/News.aspx?ncat=ts&nid=1312
January 23rd, 2008 at 10:26 pm
All Parties Democratic Movement (APDM) has demanded of the government to lift ban imposed under section 144 Cr.Pc on holding of public meetings and procession. President of Pakistan Tehrik-e-Insaaf, Punjab, and Convenor of APDM, Ahsan Rasheed stated this at a press conference here Wednesday………………………….
http://www.thefrontierpost.com/News.aspx?ncat=ln&nid=447
January 23rd, 2008 at 10:36 pm
LAWYERS AND CIVIL SOCIETY SHOULD START PUSHING TOWARDS CHIEF JUSTICE AND AITZAZ’S RESIDENCE DURING THESE DAYS.
This will create international awareness of their cause while Musharraf is telling them that everything is fine in Pakistan!!!!!
January 23rd, 2008 at 11:14 pm
http://news.yahoo.com/s/ap/20080123/ap_on_re_as/pakistan
Source: Yahoo News
January 23rd, 2008 at 11:20 pm
http://biz.yahoo.com/ft/080123/fto012320080250141613.html?.v=1
Source:Yahoo News
January 23rd, 2008 at 11:21 pm
http://www.ummat.com.pk/report_ummat/23012008-misc_reports/report-23012008a.html
An interview with PTI President Sindh Muhammad Zubai Khan talking about Altaf case progress too.
January 24th, 2008 at 12:13 am
Capital Talk will be telecast today by temporary Host Mr. Malik and Hamid Mir will be back soon - Say The Jang.
Source: The Jang newspaper.
http://www.jang.com.pk/jang/jan2008-daily/24-01-2008/main.htm
January 24th, 2008 at 2:04 am
@Admin:
Could you please provide a link or some direction as to how a donation can be made to the Lawers Fund?
January 24th, 2008 at 8:12 am
for the army optimiss:
http://www.dawn.com/2008/01/24/nat2.htm
January 24th, 2008 at 8:15 am
*JOIN ASMA JEHANGIR, IMRAN KHAN, JEMIMA KHAN, PTI, PML-N, PPP, OTHERS ATDEMO OUTSIDE DOWNING STREET *** *GO MUSHARRAF GO DEMO* TO *RESTORE JUDICIARY AND THE CONSTITUTION* *RELEASE ALL POLITICAL PRISONERS* *FREE THE MEDIA* *HOLD FREE AND FAIR ELECTIONS* *ON****Date: Monday January 28th 2008**Time: 11.30 AM**Location: 10 Downing Street, London, SW1A 2AA**Tube: Westminister Station*
A massive protest is being planned against Musharraf in UK. All concerned,students, lawyers, civil societies, political party workers, etc. areinvited to come to this protest. If you are in or around London on the 28th,please try to come. The plan is to bring people from all backgrounds holding the flags of their political parties or the flag of Pakistan in case youdon’t support any political party to represent the much united resistancemovement against Musharraf. Please circulate this widely.
As with any protest, numbers matter!
January 24th, 2008 at 9:26 am
@Pakistan
Your post does go to show that there is no scarcity of shameless idiots.
January 24th, 2008 at 12:03 pm
@ Admin:
Are some of the comments deleted from this site? What is your criteria for deleting some of the comments? Is anything about the army a no go zone? I had posted a few observations last night and i can no find them today? I will appreciate your feedback on the rationale behind deleting some of the posts……….
January 24th, 2008 at 12:09 pm
@ Pakistan
CHIEF, DO YOU WORK FOR THE ISI OR ARE YOU TOTALLY CLUELESS…………………!!!!!!!!!
January 24th, 2008 at 12:42 pm
The Method to Appoint a Khaleefah
http://www.khilafah.com/kcom/the-khilafah/issues/the-method-to-appoint-a-khaleefah.html
January 24th, 2008 at 12:44 pm
Foreign nations steal wealth as Ummah looks on!
http://www.khilafah.com/kcom/analysis/central/s-asia/foreign-nations-steal-wealth-as-ummah-looks-on.html
January 24th, 2008 at 1:36 pm
@ Pakistan
Javed Iqbal, the GEO news reader, is a close friend and ghrain. Must I shoot him?
January 24th, 2008 at 1:49 pm
@Pakistan: You ask,
January 24th, 2008 at 2:09 pm
admin
Could you please include Javed Chauderies Talak Show?
It its in your pipeline or not?
January 24th, 2008 at 2:51 pm
chaudhry wajahat has been deported from UK????????
January 24th, 2008 at 3:02 pm
Chaoudhary’s of Gujrat? Real badmash….
Share this story!
Chaudhrys have brought Indian fugitives in Gujrat for rigging: PPP
Thursday, January 24, 2008
By Asim Yasin
ISLAMABAD: Pakistan People
January 24th, 2008 at 3:16 pm
Imran, Asma Jehamgir to protest against Musharraf in London this weekend
London, Jan 24 : To register their protest against Pakistan President Pervez Musharraf’s “undemocratic” actions against the country’s media, judiciary and the civil society, cricketer-turned-politician Imran Khan and human rights activist Asma Jehangir will lead a demonstration against him at 10 Downing Street on Sunday, on the sidelines of his London visit…………………….
http://story.malaysiasun.com/index.php/ct/9/cid/303b19022816233b/id/321138/cs/1/
January 24th, 2008 at 3:24 pm
Pakistan police tear-gas anti-Musharraf protest - witnesses
ISLAMABAD (Thomson Financial) - Pakistani riot police used tear gas and batons here on Thursday to disperse hundreds of protesters chanting slogans against President Pervez Musharraf, Agence France-Presse reporters witnessed.
Around 400 people, including lawyers, hardline Islamists and supporters of cricketer-turned-politician Imran Khan screamed ‘Death to Musharraf’ when police stopped them from visiting Pakistan’s former top judge.
http://www.hemscott.com/news/latest-news/item.do?newsId=57266947518779
January 24th, 2008 at 3:29 pm
US policy on Pak is disaster for both countries: Imran Khan
Imran Khan, former Pakistan cricket captain and leader of opposition party Tehreek-e-Insaaf, has criticised the Bush administration’s policy toward Pakistan and stated that it’s pandering to President Pervez Musharraf spells disaster for both countries.
During his visit to the Amnesty International USA headquarters in Washington DC, Khan said he would “try and convince politicians in Washington that the policy they have adopted is a disaster for Pakistan and it is a disaster for America.”
Khan is also slated to speak at the Center for Strategic and International Studies, a leading think tank, and at the National Press Club’s Morning Newsmaker series.
http://www.rediff.com/news/2008/jan/24pakpoll.htm
January 24th, 2008 at 6:40 pm
@/tabankhamosh
do you have any idea why some of our yesterdays discussions have disappeared from this log…..do you think they are deleted by Admin? I thought this was a uncensored place as long as what was said was within the bounds of decent expression……………! all comments are welcome……leo
January 24th, 2008 at 6:47 pm
http://www.bbc.co.uk/urdu/meta/dps/2008/01/bb/080124_isbprotest_16×9_bb.asx
Police Lathi Charge on Lawyers and PTI Workers in Islamabd
January 24th, 2008 at 6:59 pm
I take exception to the word ‘ mullah’ either used either by one,’ optimist,’ as above., or by anybody else. It is degrading to address, our learned muslim prayer leaders as such. If U do not know how to adresss such people, U R plz refrain from mentioning them.
How many times have U said prayers behind such people, if at all U R a muslim? Either call them as ‘ Maulanas ‘ , or anything equally respectful, as it does not suit a true muslim, other than a non-muslim, to use such derogatory language.
January 25th, 2008 at 12:02 am
PLEASE DO NOT MISS THE FOLLOWING….
—————————————————————–
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fJuNgBkloFE
January 25th, 2008 at 1:04 am
US willing to send troops to Pakistan - Says Gates
Source: Yahoo news.
http://news.yahoo.com/s/ap/20080124/ap_on_go_ca_st_pe/us_pakistan_military
January 25th, 2008 at 4:01 am
Case of one greedy and arrogant criminal supporting another?
Musharraf Must Be Supported says Conrad Black
Oh, and here’s a pic of two war criminals
January 25th, 2008 at 8:35 am
@leo; I’m not sure, I think I can see the comments by you that I read but I am not sure about one of my own comments.. I think I left on in the Capital Talk thread.. hmm…
IT would be nice if the Admin just censored the comment but left the stub in there. At least I’m not keeping track of my comments, and I’m commenting on so many places I am losing track now..
Though I must protest against censorship of any kind without explanation of the “offence” to the so called “guilty parties”…
January 25th, 2008 at 3:26 pm
definitely mysterious…………i can’t see several of my comments in this news & views thread……………request ADMIN to please look into this for us and help with an explaination……………
January 25th, 2008 at 3:39 pm
[Pak] Government Blasts Musharraf Critics
http://www.majagama.com/2008/01/25/government-blasts-musharraf-critics/
January 25th, 2008 at 4:03 pm
http://www.cnn.com/video/#/video/world/2008/01/24/intv.pakistan.elections.khan.cnn
IK with CNN: U.S Military Stay Out, Restore Judiciary
January 25th, 2008 at 4:45 pm
@Asif
Well, the Neocons/AEI are certainly not listening…
Pakistan
January 25th, 2008 at 6:30 pm
nota
Whatever is in ones capacity should be done & for rest we should always leave it to allah & hope for the best. Nobody knows which voice will bear fruit. So just raise the voice wherever & whenever its possible.
January 26th, 2008 at 12:39 am
Pakistan Imports Food from Ethiopia
Shame for us….
http://jang.com.pk/jang/jan2008-daily/25-01-2008/col13.htm
January 26th, 2008 at 3:04 pm
Watching Musharraf: His acts and utterngs reveal his mental condition. He seems to be incapable of holding any job of resposibility. Wonder he is president of Pakistan.
January 26th, 2008 at 4:23 pm
hi guys
When I watch live geo tv, it doesnot work properly. Is it same with you all
January 26th, 2008 at 4:26 pm
@frrana
as far as iDesitv is concerned, yes. but the geotv own streaming is smooth
January 26th, 2008 at 4:33 pm
Geo is launching its own version of “bolta pakistan” by the name of “left right” with tazad fame sohail warhaich and anjum rashid.
January 26th, 2008 at 11:14 pm
Every one Please pass this letter to usa newspapers
Dear sir/Madam!
Re: Reality in Pakistan
January 27th, 2008 at 2:07 am
Musharaf (Could be!) to be charged for inciting violence in London
Addressing a gathering of 800 people in Hilton Hotel, Park Lane in London on the 25th of January, Pervaiz Musharaf incited violence by asking the Pakistani community to hit such people ( in urdu ”in logoon ko do teen tika dein”), he was referring to the senior Pakistani journalist M. Ziauddin, who asked him a grilling question at RUSI where Musharaf gave talk earlier in the day. It is quite likely that the recorded audio and the video of his address will be provided to the London Paddington police station to get him charged for inciting violence.
January 27th, 2008 at 4:29 am
This is a good segment showing Benazir Bhutto through the years in her own word. She may have her shortcoming but damn she represented Pakistan with flying colors. She represented the true Pakistan.
http://video.google.com/videoplay?docid=-2196139798714371942&hl=en
January 27th, 2008 at 7:16 am
@universal007
i absolutely agree with you - the solutions to put us on a road to stability and progress are rather simple i.e. restore and ensure an independent judiciary, open and independent media, cut down the size of the (Na) Pak Army and invest the savings in education and police force….these steps will get us on a road to stability and progress…………and this will eventualy give the democratic power to the ordinary people of this country……….but…and there is big BUT here….the establishment and primarily the Army will not let this happen…it is not in their interest….they will not survive without keeping an enemy alive…..for about 55 years it was india and now it is the taliban………they create their enemies to keep the justificaion for a large army alive…what a shame…and very depressing indeed….our chowkidars and have taken over our house…………!!!!!!!!
January 27th, 2008 at 7:48 am
From The Guardian:
Welcoming a tyrant
Pakistan’s President Musharraf is running a state terrorist regime, with the backing of both Britain and the US
“…Musharraf misleadingly justified emergency rule in the name of a crackdown on terrorism. In truth, instead of arresting terrorists, he seized thousands of peaceful opposition party officials and members. Since Benazir Bhutto’s assassination, tens of thousands more have been detained.
Gordon Brown refuses to meet the Zimbabwean dictator Robert Mugabe, but on Monday he will embrace Musharraf of Pakistan at 10 Downing Street. No surprise there. After all, Britain and the US are long-time allies and supporters of Musharraf’s dictatorship. Despite occasional mild admonishments, our government, in our name, supports him politically, diplomatically, economically and militarily; selling Musharraf the weapons he uses to suppress his own people. Since 2001, the US has bankrolled Musharraf to the tune of $10bn. US fighter planes are used to bomb and strafe pro-nationalist towns and villages in annexed and colonised Baluchistan. Without western aid to support this state terrorism, Musharraf’s regime would fall. …”
January 27th, 2008 at 8:22 am
I want to ask, What happend to the Live with Talat and Capital Talk videos. I cant see any video links, where did they all go ???
January 28th, 2008 at 4:19 am
@optimist, C-Hussain and taban.khamosh
You believe in democracy they way your master BUSH and MUSH believes in it. If you believe in it the try to learn about it as well, unfortunately you don
January 28th, 2008 at 4:31 am
You believe in democracy they way your master BUSH and MUSH believes in it. If you believe in it the try to learn some thing about it as well, unfortunately you don
January 28th, 2008 at 5:45 am
I think that the Bosses of admin at Pk Politics May NOT be aware, that they may be
having a MOLE within their staff, who may be DELETING comments of visitors to
this site. & thus bringing a BAD NAME to the admin.
Plz CORRECT me, anybody, if I am wrong
@Admin is also INVITED to plz COMMENT.
January 28th, 2008 at 6:53 am
“After protest A letter from HTB to Mush was handed over in pk high commission”"
“Peace be upon those who tread the path of guidance ”
You have come to Europe to seek legitimacy from your colonial masters for your rule in Pakistan, enjoying 5-star luxury hospitality paid for by Pakistan’s citizens, whilst they suffer at home from oppression, insecurity, record food prices and daily power cuts.
At yesterday’s address at the Royal United Services Institute in London you promised democracy and elections, boasted of a successful economy, talked of human rights and press freedoms, and pledged not to allow foreign troops to violate Pakistan’s sovereignty.
Yet back home you have cracked down on all opposition. The elections you offer promise a future where power will continue to be controlled by colonial powers, and authority within the country will remain in the hands of feudal landlords and rich industrialists.
People queue for hours to buy flour due to your neglect. There is daily load shedding because you neglected to add a single kilowatt of electricity to the national grid during your time in power. Instead, ownership of energy resources has been passed to private interests that have in turn burdened the public with rising costs of petrol, gas and electricity, and strangled Pakistan’s industrial and agricultural activity. Added to this, people are burdened by your oppressive General Sales Tax.
Your rhetoric about human rights and freedom of the press to please your western audience did not hide your media censorship and your unnecessary slaying of the elderly, women and children in Lal Masjid, only to make an example of them. More than any other leader in Pakistan’s trouble history, it is you who has surrendered sovereignty to a foreign power, giving logistical support to the US military and then allowing use of Pakistan’s land and airspace aiding their
January 28th, 2008 at 3:12 pm
http://express.com.pk/epaper/Article.aspx?newsID=1100340500&Date=20080128&Issue= NP_LHE
January 28th, 2008 at 4:39 pm
Teachers caught red handed while stamping postal ballots:
http://daily.urdupoint.com/Live-News.php?news_id=55858&featured=1&cat_id=2
January 28th, 2008 at 6:01 pm
Unrelated comments moved from “While Pakistan was Burbing” by admin
1. taban.khamosh on January 28th, 2008 2:22 pm
This IDIOT met Ehud Barak (one time Israeli general and murderer of innocent palestinians and then the israeli prime minister, now Minister of defence:
From Wikipedia:
January 28th, 2008 at 7:56 pm
@Admn
Several people have now complained about the comments being deleted - i have experienced it myself - therefore please comment on this and try to explain why some of the comments are being deleted - a free and open expression is absolutely essential - i request other users to please comment and share their similar experiences - there should be some place where one express without the fear of being censored or censured………………………………………..
January 28th, 2008 at 8:17 pm
@ leo
i wud request u to read the reply to such complaints.
In general, plzz no valid and comments without any rubbish language have been deleted.
Please AVOID posting comments irrelevant to the topic/subject.
For general topic debate, use Visitors views n News.
Also please do remember that visitors news n views thread is changed every week and u can continue the discussion in the next week thread.
Most common problem of peole having complaints abt deletions of comments had been that they were searching for their comments in other thread than where they actually posted their comment. Many people some time even got furious in some cases, even though it proved to be their mistake in the end.
One thing is for sure, no decent and relevant comments have been deleted.
January 28th, 2008 at 10:33 pm
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CJYPa79cPu4&eurl=http://moveforjustice.org/Forum/tabid/53/forumid/12/tpage/1/view/topic/postid/22589/Default.aspx#22589
January 28th, 2008 at 10:40 pm
I can understand deleting outright offensive posts but I think if a discussion is going on it won’t be as diagrammatically irrelevant to the topic as to cause its deletion. Deleting posts just because they seem slightly irrelevant is not a very productive way to moderate discussions in my opinion, least of which is lack of consistency in all threads.
In addition, people might just get disenchanted seeing their posts just vanishing.
Least amount of moderation and maximal encouragement to carry out a discussion I think is the best forum policy. Otherwise the “relevant” and “very pertinent” discussion might be reduced to itty bitty 1-4 liners.
Just my suggestion.
January 28th, 2008 at 11:26 pm
Tribute to a leader by aitzaz ahsan
http://dailytimes.com.pk/default.asp?page=20081\29\story_29-1-2008_pg3_4
January 29th, 2008 at 12:49 am
Since, musharraf supporters have a very limited almost childish view of the world and eficient yet faulty bifurcation and logic, whereby they take value neutral words and titles and bastardize them to paint any and everything as “imminent danger” much like Neocons looking for scapegoats. Worss like “Jihad”, “Islam”, “Mullah”, “Mujahideen”, “dhimmi”, even Islam”, “Sharia” etc. Lets give them a taste of their medicine. Use these [placards in Musharraf Protests:
Say No to MULLLAH MUSHARRAF!
NO TO MUSHARRAF’S MULLAHCRACY!YES!YES!FREE JUDICIARY!!
CHARGE ALL Q-LEAGUE AND MQM MULLAHS WITH TREASON!
January 29th, 2008 at 12:15 pm
Fund raising for lawyers
http://www.bbc.co.uk/urdu/pakistan/story/2008/01/080128_lawyers_fund_sen.shtml
Plz create a seperate link where pkpolitics community can make the pledges and we as a whole can contribute to that fund.
January 29th, 2008 at 1:43 pm
Legal Relief Fund for Layers
at Admin:
Could you please contact the trust managing the Legal Relief Fund (see below)
and provide us the details about bank account etc.
http://www.bbc.co.uk/urdu/pakistan/story/2008/01/080128_lawyers_fund_sen.shtml
Currently there are Rs.1,100,000 in this account.
According to Admin this site has over 20,000 registered members. If each member gives 5 Euros then it will be over 100,000 Euros and it will be a great help for the lawyers.
January 29th, 2008 at 1:56 pm
Here are the contact details of Justice(R) Nasir Aslam Zahid:
JUSTICE( R) NASIR ASLAM ZAHID
B. 123, 27TH ST. OFF KHY-E-RAHAT,
PH-VI, DHA
Karachi
021-5854889
January 29th, 2008 at 8:23 pm
Ch mubasshar hussain, a cousin of chaudhries, join PML-N. Will anybody throw some light? I myself see it with a jaundiced eye.
January 29th, 2008 at 8:43 pm
@ khizarkyz
ch mubashhar ,son of ch tajammal ( who had been MNA form Gujrat) had intentions to join PMLN few months back. that time ch shujaat n co. tried their best and succeedded to hold them from joining PMLN…but …. temperoraily.
Then, ch mubashar filed nomination papers for NA-107 as independent candidate. At that time ch shujat n co. had made objections on their papers with allegations of corruption etc.
so things were not going smooth b/w 2 famiiles for quite some time and they were left with no option…..except to join some strong political party for their personal and political survival. INfact this shud have happend much earlier.
They have now withdrawn in favor of PMLN canididate form NA-107 and PMLN candidiate is in v strong position to win this seat.
January 30th, 2008 at 12:42 am
I asked son of a former DSP Karachi about the power of MQM. He said that MQM wins 11 seats out of 19 with clear majority. He said rest of the seats are won by threatening other parties and their workers. He said only Mullahs fight with them and PPP and PML N try to avoid violence.
IF there are fair elections (MQM often boycott elections when establishment is not on their side), MQM will win fewer seats and the ones it wins will be with less margins. Their are many threatening acts with re-drawing constituencies to avoid some ethnic groups.
Recently, MQM has been throwing out the poor people who have lived in slums for more than 15 years with 2 hours notice (Dawn TV report). These people are often poor Sindhis or other communities like Pathans and Balochis and thus PPP voters. City Nazim refused to comment when Dawn approached him. This is so unfair and a human tragedy. AND this is from the party that talks about the poor. Same poor people who DON
January 30th, 2008 at 1:31 am
Just some thoughts………………
Pervez Elahi said that neither MLN nor PPP leadership will be in the next assembly.I deduced this as it was a plan to keep these two forces out of the next assembly.One was killed and other was banned from contesting the election.
This was no big leader will be in the assembly to challenge Musharaf and pervez elahi.I do beleive there will be big horse trading as Pervez Elahi knows very well how to use these tactics in the assemly which they have done in the past.
NS knows very well all these as he has been part of these tactics.
No Imran Khan is distancing himself from the right wing to attract PPP vote bank plus washington support.
Pervez Elahi will be PM in the next assembly and no body outside the asssembly will be able to draw any crowd or protests except CJ.They will try their best to break PPP by propagating false elegations against Zardari like BB murder was a conspiracy done by her husband.Who cares what happens to Sindh if PPP breaks away?There is for sure that the nationalist will fill this vaccume created.
BB said once that 1985 elections produced non-political elite.
Remember 1985 election held as non-party basis.Then members were told to join PML when assemblies were formed.A biggest fraud was done to the public and PPP.Pervez Elahi and NS were also elected as non-party basis and then they joined PML headed by Mr.Jonejo.
MH
January 30th, 2008 at 2:15 am
I am sorry some corrections are needed in my previous post.
January 30th, 2008 at 2:24 am
http://www.khabrain.com/naiaakhbar/29-01-08/htmls/n9.htm
January 30th, 2008 at 4:36 am
Aiy vatan kay kameenay jarnailo
saaray raQbay tumhaaray li
January 30th, 2008 at 2:05 pm
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ar0X1ECNIQY
Imran Khan on Voice of America
January 30th, 2008 at 4:49 pm
See how this devil opportunist , Madari Altaf is thinking, below is the link from his media wing Jang group , he talks about the desired maps of Pakistan by foriegn forces although in those maps sindh and punjab are shown as remaining Pakistan but notice his words and his hidden intentions he still sees the opportunnity to be the Quaid of Karachi or if possible of sindh by saying maps show sindh and karachi being part of punjab, and asks to strive to save sindh.
http://jang.com.pk/jang/jan2008-daily/30-01-2008/update.htm#52
January 30th, 2008 at 5:56 pm
I command you General of genral fools…go away. TO the barracks where you must rake and clean the latrines….
January 31st, 2008 at 12:11 am
News:
Several high-profile retired generals, air marshals and admirals, who have asked President Musharraf to resign, have announced to seek an unqualified apology from the Pakistani nation for imposing martial laws in the past, abrogating the Constitution several times and not letting democracy flourish in the last 60 years.
———–
NS/Chaudaries etc. should also be included in this apology.
———-
nationhttp://www.thenews.com.pk/top_story_detail.asp?Id=12627
————
MH
January 31st, 2008 at 2:06 am
If 5 or more people write to a British MP, she/he is obliged to raise that issue in Parliament. More people write to them, better pressure would be on Musharraf. If you would like to write online:
http://www.writetothem.com/
PS: Make sure that you attach them the copy of this letter. Even if a couple of MPs take a stand, the government will have to take this seriously.
January 31st, 2008 at 2:07 am
Write to the US Senators (From anywhere in the world)
http://www.senate.gov/general/contact_information/senators_cfm.cfm
Please try to attach copy of Chief Justice’s letter.
January 31st, 2008 at 2:31 pm
my cover letter (make sure to replace [[tags]] with real names) :
================
Honorable Sir/Madam, Member Parliament [[ Name of Constituency ]]
I write to you as a voting citizen of your constituency, to bring to your attention a matter of grave importance to the cause of democracy, justice, and indeed world peace. I write to bring to your attention the plight of the judiciary and the Cheif Justice of Pakistan who is currently illegally detained along with 60 other Supreme Court and High Court judges. Their crime being that they refused to serve under an illegal military dictatorship.
Dear [[Mr./Ms.]] [[Last Name]], I want to bring this injustice done against the People of Pakistan by an ILLEGAL usurper of democratic power, one Pervez Mushsharraf who claims to be