Protest at Downing Street

jemima.jpg

Monday January 28th 2008
Time: 11.30 am

Join Jemima Khan, Imran Khan, Asma Jehangir, PTI, PMLN, PPP and others at Demonstration outside Downing Street.

To:
- Restore Judiciary and The Constitution
- Release All Political Prisoners
- Free The Media
- Hold Free and Fair Elections

Nearest Tube: Westminister Station

43 Comments »

Is it possible to NOT do the “Go Musharraf Go” bit AT ALL ??

I am saying this because of the audience and in the West this is taken as a POSITIVE thing when cheering up sports figures and teams.. “Go Yankees Go” .. “Go Leafs Go” etc.. so Fox News and CNN etc can use this to actually twist the meaning of the “processions” with some creative cut and paste.

So I would suggest the slogans are different at least on the placards

- Resign Mushsharraf Resign
    - Free 62 Jailed Judges
    - Free Political Prisoners
    - Stop Amending of Constitution by ONE PERSON
    - Musharraf Kutta Hai Hai (Just for fun)
    - Musharraf: YOU ARE NOT 2/3 of Parliament
    - End Military Rule in Pakistan
    - Support Rrepresentative Democracy in Pakistan
    - 2nd Pakistan Movement Zinda Bad

[...] Source: Pakistan Politics [...]

I dont think any one confuses the “Go Musharraf Go ” with a positive slogan. It has taken on a branding. And most of the world knows what its intent is. Its also called Go Musharaff Go campaign of the lawyers movement. I think people know what it means.

@taban

Seriously I also though sometime ago that go musharraf go was a positive slogan.

Its like Lead the way GO!GO!GO!.

It must be confusing for any westener who passes by people shouting
    GO Musharraf GO.

Theyll be like OOboy this man is truly reveared :) what a loved personality.

Yes!!!! Hope many peole will show up!!!!

Good luck for this nice cause!!!!

Many fellow americans also think that Go M Go was a positve cheerup/Buck up.

@Omer Khan,

Its not only Americans, Musharraf himself thinks the same :)

GO MUSHARRAF GO

People can think what they think. It is obvious from placards etc. The people we are targeting are Musharraf’s gods (western powers), not a Romanian passerby who doesn’t give a damn about Pakistan.

Musharraf is meeting Gordon Brown tomorrow. It will be a golden opportunity!! Bring your whole family to show Musharraf’s supporters that his days are numbered.

Please bring as many people as you can and show our target audience (western powers) that we want peace and democracy in Pakistan. We do not support Lame dictator Mush.

@ econfused :D rofl

How about this PLacard, I bet Musharraf would think that people are cheering his long held ideals. The libertarians and anti war protesters in the US carried his for Mush’s exalted Lord Bush in DC:

* WAR IS PEACE
    * FREEDOM IS SLAVERY
    * IGNORANCE IS STRENGTH

Every Pakistan loving and justice loving should join this rally regardless of affiliation to any party (except bandit parties=PML-Q, MQM, JUI-Fazool). I will urge everyone in and around London to mobilise family, friends and other people they know to come and demonstratet against the bloody dictator. We want him out of office rather sooner than later!

I wish I were in London on Monday and was able to join my fellow Pakistanis. But unfortunately I am far away and will not be able to be part of this important event. I would like to express my thanks and gratitude to those who have put their time and effort to arrange it. I would like to apeal to all the distingushed and wonderful patriotc Pakistanis, who are residing in britan and around the contageous Eurapean countries to make full effort to join the crowd of many proud Pakistanis. My apeal goes Brits and Londonites to show their solidarity and be a part of this protest. We the proud Pakistanis will be honored to have any one who will join us. Yes indeed it’s a noble deed for a noble cause. It’s for our future and for our children. Pakistan is in turmoil and is crying out for help.

I have been personally asked this question: Why are they saying Go Mush Go!

and I have to go into this somewhat tiresome explanation that it is about him leaving power rather than cheering him up…

So, I am still of the opinion that if you have go 1 second of some red-neck’s attention on a CNN/FAUX NEWS slanted pro Mush broadcast, at least don’t help them by giving ambiguous messages.

In Pakistan, everyone knows what this means, In England you’d be lucky if anyone GAVE TWO SH*TS about how he’s raping the constitution, so if you want to turn public opinion against him, then use something that when flashed on a 1 minute “report” won’t leave any ambiguities in the viewers minds.

I say this because right in front of the Anti Mussharraf rally is probablly going to be a Muhajir rally and they will do slogans in his favor (remember 2 hour meeting with bhayya?)

2nd order of business will be to start a fight or provoke the anti mussharraf protest so both protests are banned from the place. Mushie would love that!

Just My Rs.2

Suggested slogans for placards and banners:-

*TO JAIL TO JAIL
    ALL THE GENERALS
    WHO SOLD OUT THE NATION

*TO JAIL TO JAIL
    THE PCO JUDGES
    WHO SOLD OUT THEIR SOULS

*TO JAIL TO JAIL
    ALL THE PIMPS OF TYRANNY

These are some slogans for the placards and banners. Please use them on Feb. 28. 08 in Musharraf’s honour.

Pay attention to GM, call up your friends and families in UK. Join the protest tomorrow. Couple of hours of your life can make a difference.

@ tabankhamosh: very apt rupees.

@GM : I agree with you completely, Unfortunatlely I’m not in the UK, otherwise I would get there for sure… we need more of overseas pakistani’s involved in grassroots work in favor of democratic forces all year long so at occasions like this we have people ready and willing to come to these protests.

I’m thinking perhaps all overseas Pakistani’s should stage protests against this “head of state” who incited one section of overseas Pakistani’s to beat up a journalist! This is the kind of Haraamzadgi that our nation, inside or outside of Pakistan should never allow these Jurnails to get away with.

Can some one put web cam at todays protest. It would be fun.

I would request all fellow drawing room activists to please come and join this protest. DONT LEAVE IT TO OTHERS. make sure abt ur own and ur family’s participation.

There are abt one million pakistanis in UK but in the protest here in London, number of participants had been very disappointing.

Its really shameful, hamari ghairat kab jaagay gi??????? so this time please do participate in the protest and make it sucessful

We can understand, its v difficult to participate in protests in Pakistan becos u might have fear of arrest, getting beaten up or tear gas etc. BUT in Lonodn, there is no such fear , even then people can easily find refuge in lame excuses.

Please wake up. STOP correcting others only and make sure of ur participation in the protest positively.

PMLQ and MQM are also having demonstration in support of musharraf, outside downing street (about the same time).

Now it is a TEST for all Pakistani in London (Test of their Ghairat and Himmat and their loyality to Pakistan).

I wud request again to all pakistanis in london and in the surrounding areas to come for this protest agains the dictator musharraf.

Please make this protest successful, not only with ur presence but also with presence of ur families.

I hope u people will take this challenge and take this as YOUR RESPONSIBILITY.

@ GM

Few of Q League supporters are known criminals and involved in Credit Card Fraud. They may provoke protesters. We need to watch that too.

Many of these Badmash elements were present when Musharraf urged the audience to hit those people who are challenging him (he said this when Dawn’s M Ziaudin asked him a question that he didn’t like!!)

“PMLQ and MQM are also having demonstration in support of musharraf, outside downing street (about the same time).”

I suspected as much… Keep an eye on Both Q incarnations as they will try to start some naaray baazi against Anti Mush crowd.

I would suggest people with wide angle high resolution cameras taking picture of their crowd and then submitting these pictures to Scottland Yard.. Just in case some criminal elements are there carrying placards for Mushie.

Also, Beware of people with really weird signs for example: “Kick Musharraf out, We want Islamic System” . These Khilafa people will innoculate british people to your cause in 2 SECONDS.

My feeling is that the western intelligence agencies are siding with their lick-spittle tin-pot dictator, so just keep that in mind.

Wish and pray God for the success of protest, against Dictator,who is ruling the people of left over PAKISTAN against their will . He has already ruined the country.

admin, can you cover todays event live as Geo and Aaj would not be doing it. that would great.

I am going there with at least 5 people. Gotta go to sleep. have to wake up a bit earlier to meet my friends.

@ taban.Khamosh
    we will be vigilant. and we are aware of what can these people do. Luckily most of these Q league people are very careful because of their dodgy activities. Most of them are on asylum or have cases on them. their database is already with the police. They don’t do these acts openly, especially with police presence and cameras. Another good thing is that the police will not allow them to stand on the same side of the road or very close.

@ kinnare
    From my experience in the past, I am sure that admin will have both video and pictorial coverage.

@taban.khamosh

please dont worry about ” khilafah people” they have better alternative for you then Elitocracy and hypocracy I mean democracy.

‘ While Rome was BURNING , Nero (Caeser ) the Roman Emperor was PLAYING his FIDDLE.’ That’s what HISTORY, written by westerners, SAYS.
    What will future HISTORY say, written by these these VERY GOONS, about EMPEROR Musharaf ?

Playing a cards-game of ‘ bridge ‘ with his erstwhile friend Brig Niaz (R) in
    London ; WHILE PAKISTAN WAS BURNING ? And then GOING-OUT to ENJOY a SUMPTUOUS DINNER with another erstwhile friend, Shaukat Aziz, to a Lebanese restaurant, serving Arabian Seafood, & with attractive Egyptian Belle Dancers, in attendance, or at attention ? ( Latest News, of this morning, of TODAY? )

I think these HOT News MAY have NOT, SO FAR, reached the desks of Musaraf’s dear-friends, i.e; the people on duty, at the desks of PAKISTAN POLITICS, this EARLY MORNING ; otherwise they MAY have given such HOT news, as ‘ Announcement / Featured Article ‘ which they normally do, for any other minutest political lapse, of our political ‘ jokers.’

But you never know, & the GOOD ADMIN, of PK Politics MAY also NOT be aware, that a MOLE may be working in their out-fit , & who may be having a soft-corner for either his friend Mush, or for a friend-of-his -friend ? YOU may Never Know; or the wise guys of Pk Politics MAY NEVER COME TO KNOW !

Or for that matter, the Boss / Staff at their desk MAY be asleep, at these odd hours of this morning, or such news may have ESCAPED their INTEREST?
    YOU NEVER KNOW ?

@Admin : Any Comments, Please ?

I request all you guys please come to protest and make it your first priority. We are in Pakistan and doing our best in this era of brutality but you guys in London there is not such fears. Please be there. We are looking for a beg show. Inshallah.

looking for a big show. sorry for mistake

@SnrCtz,

I saw that news but have been busy with some videos (including Dhandlee Part II). Most of the stuff you see on front page is submitted by visitors via email.

Please write a small paragraph of your own with links to external sources, and optionally include any picture and I will post it here. My email is “admin at pkpolitics dot com”.

As a matter of fact I already posted this news (at 3:35 AM) with a different angle. But, I still like your style.

Lord Nazir to raise issue of Musharraf inciting violence by asking people to hit the reporter who asked questions he didnt like

http://www.bbc.co.uk/urdu/pakistan/story/2008/01/080128_mush_nazir_as.shtml

Musharraf has brought disgrace to the country in the worst manner. Military Attache in London has said that Musharraf has been ordering wine of 1905 - very expensive wines and enjoying drinking parties at Rochester Hotel where he is staying at Pakistan goverment expense because this is a private visit and daily the bill is upto crores of ruppees for his stay and his entrouage.

He was hardly able to get five minute audience with Brown and even Sarkozy was not happy to give him time because he had reached France unannonced with prior appointment

President Musharraf is true disgrace to Pakistan and he needs to be removed.

@c hussain: Can you please collect all that news under Mushies Extra curriculr activites and post to pkpolitics weekly news thread??

Meanwhile, it looks like in this trip, Zionist JEWS were all over him like FLIES ON A PIECE OF SH*T !!!

Mushie met murderer of countless Palestinians “by chance” in his hotel:
    http://www.jpost.com/servlet/Satellite?cid=1201465090942&pagename=JPost/JPArticle/ShowFull

http://afp.google.com/article/ALeqM5hSQH_b6Kml1DViCdFFXUHYXJC7zg

At Davos, the only disgraced personality who bothered to sit with him at panel was war criminal Henry Kissinger (who committed heinous crimes against Pakistani demcoracy)

NOT A SINGLE EUROPEAN LEADER botherd to meet or show their face with him on media (except of course SARKOZY — hint hint)

deep jis kaa maHallaat hi maeN jalaay
    chaNd logooN ki KhushiyooN ko lay kar chalay
    voh jo sa’ay maeN har masleHat kay palay
    aisay dastoor ko, subh-e bay noor ko
    maiN naheeN maantaa, maiN naheeN jaantaa!

tum nay looTaa hai Sad’YooN hamaara sukooN
    ab na ham par chalay gaa tumhaaraa fusooN
    chaarah gar dard-maNdooN kay bantay ho kiyooN?
    tum naheeN chaarah gar, koi’ee maanay magar
    maiN naheeN maantaa, maiN naheeN jaantaa!

(~Jalib)

35. Faarigh Jazbati Says:
    January 28th, 2008 at 1:20 pm

@ADMIN and other Guys/Gals

Could you please post the pictures of todays protest on this website. I would really appreciate that.

Jovial ruler of beggar land.
    Come and see whole nation has turned into beggars’ state.Long lines on flour, CNG gas, and in front of utility stores and Mussarf is enjoying his trips.What can we accept from a brutal and coldblooded dictaor.Our ex PM is poor blind who had never seen any poor in our beggar land and our great mussarf is problem blind who cant see any kind of problem in his burning state.it is true for him
    Rome is burning while nero is playing flute.
    He is really curse of God for weak and corrupt nation.

[...] Talat - 23 January 08While Pakistan was BurningShahbaz, Niaz, Pervez; Yet Another Triangle on Pol…Protest at Downing StreetPakistan Elections will Neither Be Free Nor Fair:…Musharraf Insults JournalistMusharraf Talks [...]

it was an awsome display of ppl from different parties

i was there in a PTI camp and as soon as he arrived there were chaunting slogans from imran khan,jemima khan and asma jehangir

very soon i will put couple of pics up here

how many from this forum has come there,plz put your pictures up here

It was a very successful demonstration. Two parties were prominent PPP & PTI. Muslim league N had many supporters too. There were a few JI and Baloch nationals. Harmony among the workers was exemplary.

There was a strong PPP presence as well but I am sorry that they don’t have strong leader at the moment. They were pictures of BB saying that she is still ‘Zinda’. While others were moving with their leaders (IK, Lord Nazir, Asma Jehangir), PPP workers were stuck in the same place and were very vocal against Mush. There was not a single PPP leader that could move them.

Imran Khan and Jemima (who came separately with 15 minutes pause) also moved the crowd. I think PTI supporters still give her respects as if she is a Pakistani and wife of Imran Khan. That respect must have made her feel closer to Pakistani people. It is a positive thing.

Anyways it was an impressive crowd with more than thousand people (maybe 1500 to 2000).

Surprisingly Q league could only get a handful of supporters. They were less than 50 till 12 pm and may have become 80 at the most. Some of them all of us recognised. They were Pakistan embassy staff!!! They begged our Stewards to join them as a protestors and get 50 pounds.

Mush keep saying that only a handful people come out against him and rest is with him. If that is true then majority should have been in his camp, not ours.

yeah gud one

n especially when mush came there were chaunting slogans

i am just waiting for my usb than i will put some pics from PTI camp coz i was in that camp

As for Mr Imran Khan and his statements.. I must say he has disappointed many young people. We had looked up to him in the hope that he would be the saviour.. the first thing he did once he got elected was to join ranks with the maulvis, then secondly he starts defending BB and NS in the interest of Democracy, the same people that he had said we had come into politics to fight against.. so that the people could have a third choice.. Doesn

42. Amir Hameed Says:
    January 29th, 2008 at 12:43 am

@majagama
    Exactly when did IK support BB? and did he not part ways with NS once the latter decided to participate in polls? Wasn’t he the biggest critic of Mush in the pre-media-gag era? So, I am not sure what you are complaining about.

43. pakistani2008 Says:
    January 29th, 2008 at 8:37 am
    comment-top comment-bottom