Navigation - link to other main sections from here

Skip Navigation

Filed Under News  
January 30, 2008

Ex-Generals to Meet Tomorrow - Musharraf Invited

Retired Pakistan Army Generals have called for a conference to discuss the current situation in country. General (R) Musharraf has also been invited as an ex-General to feed everyone with his expert opinion.

The conference will be headed by Air Chief Marshall (R) Asghar Khan and attended by top retired Military Generals, including Gen (R) Wahid Kakar, Gen (R) Ali Kuli Khan, Gen (R) Ahsan-ul-Haq, Gen (R) Mohammad Yousuf.

The conference will be held on 31st January in Islamabad.

Link to Jang News Article

Comments

34 Responses to “Ex-Generals to Meet Tomorrow - Musharraf Invited”

1. Rebel_B on January 30th, 2008 3:01 am

Ha ha, they are just returning his compliments. He called them paper tigers, I guess because they are retired. Now, they are making it clear to him that he is retarded (sorry retired) too.

2. kinnare on January 30th, 2008 3:07 am

Gen Mussarraf and his junta has been saying that result would be hung parlaiment because that would their victory. Hung parlaiment mean that Lotas would switch and General Musharraf would have a PM of his liking of his master CIA and General Bush would support him.

What we have to decide is are we going to accept this result because PPP would be theartend to shut up. Are we going to accept the result or going to do some thing about it.

I suggest let plan for sit in at GHQ starting feb 19th 2008.

3. taban.khamosh on January 30th, 2008 3:14 am

All is not well in the land of the Jurnails! Chishti is accusing Mushie of complicity in terrorism. He should know, he been there!

http://jang.com.pk/jang/jan2008-daily/30-01-2008/topst/main20.gif

This open hostility means something is going to give, and quite possibly real soon. They’re going to play with Mushie before they make him their b*tch. Get ready for Epic Pwnage!

4. yk on January 30th, 2008 3:20 am

HahahahaHahahaha! They’ve made a check mate! An offer he cant accept! An offer he cant refuse! Its brilliant! Seems they have more sense of political pr manovering then all of mush’s horses and all his slaves put together! They deserve applause! A standing ovation! True soldiers! A soldier should be soldier! Not a hostage taker! As is mush! Mush take the hint and just retire and expire!

5. econfused on January 30th, 2008 3:55 am

He will apply for the membership after leaving the illegaly occupied office. At that time will he also come up with a second edition of “In the Line of Fire - Kya Khoya Kya Paya” by Hamyun Gohar.

6. peterpan773 on January 30th, 2008 4:02 am

Shouldnt they be apologising first, asking the whole nation to forgive them for their past sins. Raping the country, lootong, misruling,. Also promise to return wealth they have looted.Also all the land ,plots,they have grabbed.

7. Optimist on January 30th, 2008 4:30 am

@ peterpan773

Most of these people are the ones who have not looted.

Majority of the looters need not apologise because they are still in the process of looting. Do you think the retired Generals who are governors/ministers/advisers etc and with Mush need to do nothing while those who are with the civil society need to apologise?

8. Omer Khan on January 30th, 2008 4:34 am

Generals??? why the in the fudge are GENERALS meeting to discuss Pakistan’s problems? This is Hilarious. Gallows humor. Please just assassinate musharraf. The fudge doesn’t want to leave. The most hated, unpopular self imposed turd Pakistani people have yet seen. The worst…bar none.

9. SnrCtzn on January 30th, 2008 5:06 am

Pakistanis say, had it been ANY OTHER person THAN Mush, then,they MAY - MAY - MAY- have believed, that he MAY LIKELY, either, meet those ‘ Good-for- Nothing ‘
    J E R N A I LS, that he has called them so publicly, & WHOM, he said, he ‘ KICKED THEM OUT. ‘

What do you think, these ‘ paper-tigers ‘ as somebody has correctly termed them above, are likely to do? Just LICK his feet ? Either, these JERNAILS are so naive,
    ( simple & stupid ) or are, very clever, to whom, this guy Mush, is likely to hear.

All these JERNAILS, will NOT be worth their salt , please, REMEMBER & MARK MY WORDS, if they do not OFFER him an EXIT or an ESCAPE ROUTE, A KNOWELDGE, which they learnt in their 30/40 years of service; to offer such a proposal to an escaping/ retreating, enemy.

But, why would they offer him such a proposition/ escape plan? SIMPLY, because
    in the NAME of ‘ WAR against TERRORISM / PAKISTAN FIRST / WAR against EXTREMISTS / MILITANTS’ etc; he killed / murdered / massacred, hundreds of Pakistanis.

Thus, these JERNAILS, MAY THINK, that he has accumulated so much of BLOOD on his hands,

10. SnrCtzn on January 30th, 2008 5:25 am

SORRY, ( for my incomplete text as above.) . . . . Now,continued as.. . .’ which they learnt in their 30/40 years of military service.

This guy, Mush they MAY think, ‘ has BLOOD of thousands of Pakistanis on his hands.’ They MAY also think, he massacred them, for his war on terrorism, against
    militants, (religious) extremists, etc.

But again mark, my words, if AT ALL he meets them, he may give them a hearing, BUT he will, NEVER, NEVER, leave, the President’s House, given to him, by the Yankees CIA / by Bush / or by his POODLE, Blair ( B- liar. ) TRY YOUR LUCK,
    ‘ retarded ‘ JERNAILS !

11. QAZI on January 30th, 2008 5:50 am

It is yet to be decided that the so called’ DICTATOR ‘ was retired from service on 15th Nov,2007 or was removed from the post by Nawaz sharif in 1999 . To me ,it looks like, being a civilian, he has handed over a wooden stick to General Kayani only,while doing so, spent lot of money in making the arrangements for that cermoney. I do not see any fun in that too.He has spent lot of money on his recent useless tour,the out come of that tour is NIL .He does not have the courage to face the retired ,senior officers of the Pakistan forces .His status as a president is also controvercial till the restoration of C.Justice/supreme court i.e rule of law .I wel-come the initiative to hold a conference to discuss the internal and external situation of the country .Let me recall that we have a HOUSE OF SENATE, do they have a role to play in these circumstances ,at this stage or not . How the Nation is going bear/afford this foolish ,unneccessary expenditure ? This burden may please be put on the shoulders of PMLQ, ” Allah Mohafiz Hoo Is Pakistan Ka “.

12. EasyGo on January 30th, 2008 6:58 am

@taban “All is not well in the land of the Jurnails! Chishti is accusing Mushie of complicity in terrorism. ”

May be Mushi is to be used as scape goat for all the evils, so that other hidden hands could be given good name.

Anyway GENERALS Vs GENERALS would be a good match and may expose them. For so long they have kept the match between POLITICIAN Vs POLITICIAN, PUBLIC Vs PUBLIC.

13. pakistanpal on January 30th, 2008 7:54 am

Despite President Pervez Musharraf’s reservations on restoring democracy in its pristine form and his refusal to reinstate the Supreme Court judges led by Chief Justice Iftikhar Mohammad Chaudhry who had held his ascendency to another term in office as the President constitutionally invalid, business circles still support him as a consequence of the economic progress made, claims Wamiq Zuberi, Chief Editor of The Business Recorder and Chairman of independent television channel Aaj TV. “By and large, big business has not turned against him”, albeit they are obviously perturbed by the way things are going, he is quoted by the Herald Tribune (Pacific) as having said.

In similar vein, despite “support for Musharraf within the army, considered Pakistan’s under growing pressure from the insurgency (being) difficult to gauge accurately, General Ashfaq Kayani, is not expected to abandon Musharraf in the short term” the newspaper quoted two diplomats in Islamabad as having said. In regard to the recurrent complaint of the army distancing itself from politics, they noted that “Kayani took steps last week to distance the military from politics by issuing a directive that army officers were no longer permitted to contact politician (and that) Kayani was also likely to recall army officers who had been posted to top slots in government departments”.

With the army working on distancing itself from the political arena, surely it is now incumbent on civil society, particularly as represented in the media, to reciprocate this significant gesture by bridging the divides engineered by external forces hostile to the idea of Pakistan being acknowledged an important entity in the comity of nations.

14. Afnan on January 30th, 2008 7:58 am

Musharraf was retired on 12th October 1999. He has been in voilation of constitution since then and must be tried openly in a court. He must be punished for all his sins so that a precedent should be set for future army men.

15. busybee on January 30th, 2008 8:12 am

Why these Generals after retirement become so concerned about the democracy. While in power they also never helped in strengthening the democratic process both in BB and in NS cases. They never worked for the strengthening of any of the institutions of pakistan. We after spending all of the budget on the non productive defence of Pakistan should have spend it on health and education. They remembered the democracy and how bad this Mush is after Mush has spend 8 years. Why did not they come forward before?

16. busybee on January 30th, 2008 8:14 am

By the way their GHAIRAT woke up after the sound sleep of 8 years. Only when their junior called them “useless” but they were not touched when Mush raped the whole nation!!!!

17. jaslam on January 30th, 2008 9:35 am

Thats true, These Retired Journails should apologise the whole nation about the sins they commited in the past Martial Laws, then should pass a resolution that no any officer in army should obey the unconstitutional orders during his service. Also suggest the army to stop all the businesses immediately and never use to interfere in civil departments. This is the only way that these X-Men can even serve the Nation single time before death!!!

18. leo on January 30th, 2008 10:29 am

Come to think of it JURNAILS Vs JURNAIL is much better than JURNAILS Vs the rest of us…………..but RETIRED Jurnails are really just paper tigers now………would have been different if it were serving JURNAILS Vs this Retarded JURNAIL called MUSHI…………..but they are all usesless…serving or retired………………….!!

19. taban.khamosh on January 30th, 2008 10:36 am

@Omar Khan: Exactly!! this is PRECISELY the problem with Pakistan, bloody jurnails meeting to “discuss amn-o-aammaa ki soorat-e-haal” when they have no business interfering.. (but being retired, I can see some veneer of legitimacy on it.. but one cannot forget how deep their roots lie even after “retirement”)

I think they are all wolves.. (90% at least.. ) and they are upset they have been collectively slighted..

I would just like to see a little civil war amongst the jurnails for a change

20. Scorpion on January 30th, 2008 11:00 am

Yesterday this idiot retired Jurnail gave a call to another stooge ch. wajahat and ask him about the incident at heathrow. He must have appologised him about his inability to do anything at that point of time.

Another stooge ch. Elahi is running a campaign restricted to Punjab only, and he wants to become PM of Pakistan, what a bloody joke. and the elder monkey is in UK to file a suit against Immigration of UK.

21. leo on January 30th, 2008 11:27 am

taban………the way these Jurnails are going……….a civil war is not too far fetched….perhaps that may be the only hope to sort out the issues……i don’t wish it, but looking at history…….very few nations have sorted out fundamental power equations wihtout a civil war…………..consider the english civil war, the american civil war, the process of russian revolution, the spanish civil war, the austrian civil war of the 1920’s/30’s…………the maoist revolution in china……..the only common denomnator is that all these countries have been able to make progress only after and i repeat “after” the power has actually gone away from a select class and to the people………….!!!

22. Afnan on January 30th, 2008 11:48 am

@ Scorpion
    Elahi is not even running campaign in whole Punjab. Only in Gujrat and some other areas where government servants are called to show strength because no one from public can hear the bakwas he does in his jalsas.

23. busybee on January 30th, 2008 12:14 pm

Listening to the general at Jawab Deh….. the general is all planing that India will attack from here and so on….. well my dear countrymen India has done it… it has conquered Pakistan. You do not believe me then Look around your self. Look at the generals who invite the bollywood starts and like Shatroo look at the culture of Pakistan our Islamic culture can be seen no where. our dresses our language a small example is that how many percentage watches Zee tv verses PTV?…. The point I want to make is that all the money so far which these high up generals has spent on the arms and ammunition iff was spent on the character building, our institutions, our education, our social infrastructure this would not have happened. This General is trying to look and proove his innocence. All the serious alligations he says that he does not know…come on he being incharge did not know who was middle man in deal with Israel??? These generals are the biggest traitors of this country. They deviated from the line what Quaid said that” Army will remain in Barracks”
    What about the general who met recently with Israeli defence minister? He should also have the same fate as Mujib ur Rehman!!!???

24. Optimist on January 30th, 2008 12:35 pm

Lets Suppose Business Community supports Musharraf.

Even I would support Musharraf if I were corrupt and Musharraf had allowed me to make a lot of money and let me get away with defaulted loan. I would even more support him if he I had murdered 43 people and Mush had allowed me to remain free and even become Governor of Sindh.

Now you know why Q league and mutihada Qatil movement support Mush!!

25. c hussain on January 30th, 2008 12:39 pm

guys like peter pan and senior citizen (i dont know how senior are you)

May I say one thing to you - that even if these generals are paper tigers or whatever - remember one thing - as they say - a dead elephant is also worth a million -

So any effort from anywhere whether they supported Musharraf or not or what they did in past - to bring Musharraf to senses - IS HIGHLY WELCOME.

No judging of the past - in this national cause anyone can contribute - we should be uniting the nation to get out of this quagmire rather than going in their past like what AFTAB IQBAL did when he described as them as Bilal Ganj of Army.

After all wasnt BB negogiating with Musharraf and now Zardari is also negogiating with Musharraf and giving statements like that if he has two third majority he is ready to work with Musharraf

So if we dont go after these munafiqs then at least we should support those are opposing them. The military generals are at that stage of life - age and otherwise - i dont think they need any wordly benefits and have realised that things have gone too far and something has to be done - better late than never unlike these third rate politicians like Zardari, Pervez Elahi etc who dont want to lose Musharraf and are ready to work with thim provided they are also thrown a bone in front of them.

As Imran very rightly said - there is light at the end of tunnel and in long term we can see things getting better - just that in this phase we have to remain steadfast.

One thing I can assure you that if Musharraf doesnt get out fast from Pakistan his end is not only near but is going to be very dreadful Inshallah - when his own base is alienating him - dont take these retired military generals as paper tigers. Dont make that mistake.

26. c hussain on January 30th, 2008 12:43 pm

busybee

The way things are going on - I am very afraid to say that - that day is not far off when people would welcome Indian army against Musharraf just like Bangladeshis did in 1971 - it is another matter that Indian army would also be thrown out once Musharraf is gone - but the way Musharraf is testing the patience of this country and people - anything can happen.

I disagree that India has occupied Pakistan or would like to do so - had they wanted they would done to Nepal or Bangladesh - but yes one thing is sure that our army has occupied Pakistan many times - for that case I believe Pervez
    Musharraf should given the title of Field Marshal like Ayub Khan.

27. OmerKhan on January 30th, 2008 12:48 pm

@optimist well business community by character is not patriotic, so they will support anyone who is in their interest.

@taban.khamosh, well I see some familiar names of some generals in there. Truth be told many of the army oficers who helped musharaf in his coup were later on sacked and replaced by him. So of course many of these exees I am sure do have grudge against his betrayal. and I agree with you, let these generals duke it out, go knows we need respite from them.

28. aahmad100 on January 30th, 2008 3:13 pm

Dr. Shareen Mizari has said it all…

But coming back to the one US success — of moving the centre of gravity of the war on terror into Pakistan. After all, was it not a deliberate policy to allow Al-Qaeda and the fighting Taliban an escape route from the south into Pakistani territory rather than moving in from the north and south right at the start of the war in Afghanistan post-9/11? There is also the increasing strategic partnership between the US and India that has allowed India new space on Pakistan’s western borders…. the Pakistan military cannot fight without the support of the nation as a whole, as well as political and economic inputs from the state. http://thenews.jang.com.pk/daily_detail.asp?id=93628

29. kingarthurII on January 30th, 2008 6:02 pm

Shireen Mazari….grrooosss she looks like a guy…
    don’t believe the he-woman
    general go away - go away — go away…..

salaa general jaan choro…we don’t like you at all.

TO those who attended the rally and denounced this scoundrel…

BRAVO!!!

30. SnrCtzn on January 30th, 2008 8:04 pm

@ c hussain

1. Plz , FIRST, let me know, HOW OLD are U, EXACTLY?

2 Next., plz allow me to inform you, that I am 65 YEARS OLD. AND PLZ REMEMBER THIS, when U NEXT happen to read my comments, i.e; from a Snr Ctzn.

3. By choosing, this name, for these columns, was, NOT AT ALL, MEANT, to impress a ‘ GUY ‘ like U, or anybody else, with my knowledge ; BUT it was, ONLY
    & ONLY, MEANT to indicate that I just happened an AGED PERSON.

4.The ONLY ADVANTAGE, of being a Snr Ctzn was, thus, of only, EXPERIENCE of a LIFETIME of OBSERVATIONS of VARIOUS WORLD-WIDE EVENTS, which MANY visitors to these columns, MAY NOT be having, due to, because, MAYBE, belonging to a younger age-group, than mine.

5. Plz, ALSO REMEMBER, ( I cannot speak for the other visitor to this site, whom U have refered-to as PeterPan, ) YES, PLZ DO REMEMBER, THAT I TAKE A STRONG EXCEPTION, or OBJECT, to somebody, TRYING to be FRANK with me, without knowing me. I hope U understand, NOW, that have OFFENDED me by using the word ‘ guy ‘ against me.

6. I would like to POLITELY REQUEST U here in these columns, to plz, 1st look into an English dictionary, BEFORE U VENTURE to make a statement against anybody, whom U do no know personally.

7. I only HOPE, that U know the dictionary meaning of the word ‘ GUY ‘ that U used against me? WHO-EVER U ARE, & for Ur kind information, the following are the various meanings, oy the ENGLISH word ‘ GUY ‘ : -
    —– ‘ an INFORMAL term used for a youth or man ‘
    —– ‘ a person of grotesque appearance’ Thereby meaning,an abnormal / hideous person ; a ludicrously ( so as to arouse laughter) ODD person.

8. NOW, I only HOPE, U know, how SENIOR I am?

31. MIRROR on January 31st, 2008 8:19 am

taban khamosh dear, i hope u are not gonna beleive general (faiz) chishti, dont forget his role in zia’s martial law. according my knowledge he is just another thug of pakistan’s military elite.

32. nazia on January 31st, 2008 2:38 pm

I am really surprised by the national spirits of our honourable general that seems to grow only when they start recieving pensions.As long as they are in service their targets always focuss on lucrative benfits,excursions trips in the name of important meetings,taking control of maximum rersources of Pakistan in the control of army and left over for bloody civilians.They all come from under developed areas but always opt foriegn migration and different business empires for their next generations.
    The most horrible character of Hamid gul is in front of our society who was in pioneers of setting talibanisation culture in our mountains.They worked with drug lords and religious tycoons to produce extremist breed of talibans from the poor civic culture of our mountains and afghan camps without apprehending its consequences.Result is in front of us i.e spreading of fire arms in lower classes subsequently increased terrorism ,street crimes and cross border smuggling.
    Another funny character is Aslam beig who is popular for Mehran bank scam and no one has courage to call him for justice and sooner after his retirement he announced his own political party who was once soley responsible fore political turmoil in the state.
    Gen kiyani is kindly requested to change the training courses of army as differnt examples clearly show that the national spirit of our senoir army officers only appear after retirment but please believe us our weak nation needs this quality when they are in uniform other wise we accept the terms of paper lions for them as quoted by our president who was also a ex general but his national spirit is still not oozing out from his conscience. guess why not?

33. nota on February 3rd, 2008 7:38 am

An apology that was not an apology. Generals refused to apologize to the nation…
    Ma’fi Na Sahi

34. busybee on February 9th, 2008 9:02 am

Who is responsible fot the FALL of DACCA it was a very interesting clipping
    1971 and BBC
    http://www.bbc.co.uk/urdu/multimedia/