Today’s Topic: Law and Order Situation in Pakistan
- Why do we have bad law and order situation in Pakistan?
- Who are the criminals involved in land grabbing, robberies and other street crimes?
- Why are they not arrested and produced in court for justice?
- How do you compare current law and order situation with pre-Musharraf times?
- What are the short and long term solutions?
Please share your views with everyone below …
February 1st, 2008 at 1:53 am
Is jinn ki jaan do totooN maeN baNd hai:
1. Breakdown of the education system
2. Breakdown of a basic feedback mechanism (a.k.a Democracy)
This is IT. There is none other. I defy you to produce me a third point .. etcetera. etcetera.
February 1st, 2008 at 2:06 am
Law and order situation is deteriorating in Pakistan. Equality of everyone in front of Law is the main solution. When individuals put themselves ahead of institutions, they set a bad example.
Mush claimed that CJ wanted to remove him from presidency. For a second, lets believe Musharraf (famously known as Mush Kutta). Is he (an individual) so important that he broke down any institution he liked just because they wanted to remove him?
These kinds of criminal acts by beghairat Generals set a bad example. Those who act upon their orders then do illegal things to their own benefis as well and this results in a chain of action that deteriorate law and order situation.
February 1st, 2008 at 3:18 am
The issue is not the generals, it is the support they get. where is mush getting all the support from ,apart from US? He is getting a lot of support from the urdu speaking community and chaudries. Every urdu speaking I meet has only praises for mush and they say that pakistan was a mistake and this mistake is being rectified by Mush. I was extremely disappointed as many urdu speaking people literally abuse Quaid-e- Azam for creating pakistan. It is very important to understand that why some people support mush. who are they? Mush no doubt qualifies to be the biggest SOB of all time, but what about those people like the well connected urdu speaking community who are providing unstinting support to Mush; they are the real criminals trying to emasculate pakistan.
February 1st, 2008 at 4:11 am
The pre Musharraf era was most calm…. we never heard of suicide bombing specially in the election campains….The gap between the rich and poor, the show of power by the elite…. Musharraf is no doubtly working on the agenda of destabilizing pakistan. He and all the generals in the past are responsible for the all time low Pakistan has hit. These generals are arrogant, selfish, self centered and obssessed with power. They niether yesterday nor today and I have doubts that in future will ever be ashamed of what they did to the people of Pakistan. We demand that he along with all the generals be tried in the court of law. Islam says to cut the hands of the thieves so that do not repeat in future so same goes for the generals…. open public speedy trial with capital punishment will not stop the corruption but atleast the fear of public trial/punishment will slow the process.
Government announced the compensation for Dec 27th mishap but what about those killed by MQM on May 12?????
We do not mind the delay in justice to the people of Pakistan iff the courts hear these cases of making Pakistan weaker. People of Pakistan has been denied the Justice in the past but for a greater cause they will wait as they have been for the past so many years. We can wait if the results are fast and fair.
Its time now for the people to rule and the integrity of Pakistan lies in Democracy in true sense.
Law minister of Punjab and Nawaz Khokar are the biggest supporters of Land Mafia, Chaudries of Gujrat are famouse of this…… and they have been doing so by the blessings of the higher ups and the higher ups are blessed with the consent of Army/ esteblishment. We have to take concrete steps not for us but for the future of our children as we owe this to them.
February 1st, 2008 at 4:14 am
What law and order?
bane hai.n ahl-e-hawas muddaii bhii, mu.nsif bhii
kise wakiil kare.n, kis se mu.nsifii chaahe.n
February 1st, 2008 at 4:38 am
Another way to look at the law part of this issue in a culture where the common saying goes:
Oâ jee waakeel dee ki zaroorat ay
Judgege ey kar lainday aaN
âWhy to hire a lawyer when you can buy a judgeâ
Off course this does not leave the Generals off the hook.
February 1st, 2008 at 5:18 am
Salam Everyone!
It was/always is interesting to read the feedback on the prevailing issues in pakistan on the discussion section on this website. However one of the root causes of the Law and Order situation in Pakistan and the biggest hurdle we face in establishing the Rule of Law and Democracy in this country is Feudalism!
Ever since the creation of Pakistan we have been under the influence and control of the Waderaas and they still wield that unflinching influence today… Take a look at the other countries of the world, most importantly our neighbor India, they abolished Feudalism since their inception while we were made to live on false promises by Ayub Khan and Zulfiqar Bhutto about land reforms.
Apart from the main cities, the major bulk of the Pakistani people living in rural have been denied the right to a fair living, justice, education and fair wages because of the Landlords of the areas, and that’s what has kept us from advancing. While the big wigs in the area do what they please without any fear of Law, and their influence is not limited to their particular areas, infact the big cities are also in their grip.
And the Landlords have intermarried their sons and daughters to Bureaucrats, Army officers and Lawyers so the cancer has spread in most parts of the society. It is an intricate web of interconnections between all these people that makes it so difficult for the Rule of Law to propagate. Everytime some of these people commit a crime, they get away by making a few phone calls to MNAs, MPAs, Generals, Secretraries and IG’s and DIG’s and that’s the end of the story then…
So we have to hit at the helm of the corruption, break down this almost impervious power structure, then only do we have a hope!
February 1st, 2008 at 5:44 am
- Why do we have bad law and order situation in Pakistan?
—> absense of Rule of Law
- Who are the criminals involved in land grabbing, robberies and other street crimes?
—> People know as “Munafiqs”
—> absense of Rule of Law
—> Pre-Mush was better if not ideal…. Nawaz Sharif’s courage should be appreciated since the decision taken lead us to higher level of self confidence in our defense. West should also appreciate that decision since it brought greater stability by changing way people of Pakistan and India think in terms of responsibilities as a nucllear states. Kargil incident was a misadventure, and if possible, people of Pakistan has right to know how and why it happened through judicial inquiry. and again it is possible only if there is Rule of Law.
Short term solution would be
- Stop military operation against our own people.
- Convince West why its unneccessary
- Immediately work on creating more jobs (whichever way best suits)
- Immediately review our education system (should focus on creation of value added work force)
- Create special link between education sector and industries
- To have immediate scrutiny of policemen/armymen/rangers/judges/politicians in terms of their financial assets, qualifications and whatever necessary. Should be proper mechanism in place for checks and balances on police itself first. Start new hire only on merit rather connections or political references.
Long term solution would be
— why not get opinion vote from each Pakistani on this and resolve it.
- Have referendom on the issue of implementation of Sharia — after all we all call ourself muslims
- Provide quality education to all at no or low cost
- Promote R&D in agriculture, IT, electronics, medicine etc
- Improve railways, roads, highways
- create Dams and educate people how it will bring prosperity … also there is a need to address all the concerns regarding such issues in best of our abilities.
- Whatever help we get from foreign companies, should never be without transfer of technology even if we have to pay more for that.
–
I wrote all this in a hurry so the list can be considered pre-mature. But so far whatever replies I have read, those are in my views not constructive in approach. We should work hard of Rule of Law and let the law determine the fate for all the criminals rather using names of people without any credible proof.
February 1st, 2008 at 5:53 am
@mypkpoliticsaccount
The reason of mentioning the names of Law minister punjab Raja basharat and Nawaz khokar was because I am a direct effectee.
February 1st, 2008 at 5:58 am
@chonjy
I read your response after I submitted mine—- I agree to your analysis and at the same time believe that if we are successful in restoration of judiciary through lawyers movement and backing of all the political forces that support this then it will be very clear that we are moving in the right direction which ultimately demolish the feudal mindset.
********MESSAGE TO ALL PATRIOT PAKISTANIS*******
Support restoration of judiciary in whatever way possible and don’t ever give up on it…..
February 1st, 2008 at 6:07 am
@busybee
I applogise if whatever I said offended you in any way. I may not have the feelings that anyone directly effected gets but do have feeling in indirect sense. Still I don’t see anything changing without Rule of Law. Its your right to write the names of culprits, but will it effect them? if not then its worthless and if it will effect them then please continue what you are doing.
February 1st, 2008 at 7:02 am
at Zenith
why don’t you just blame mqm for holding that situation in karachi. why do you have to racially pick whoever is a urdu speaker. if you don’t see no movements or supports from karachi, its because the people are being hostile by mqm. there were so many students wanted to record protests at universities during emergency but because of the mqm they just couldn’t. mqm takes votes just like chaudaries and their pocket relations with villagers. urdu is the national language, they are people who migrated and gave sacrifices just to reach Pakistan, if after several years, agency made mqm for some divisions that still doesn’t mean that mqm mafia owns karachi or the language itself.
apart from that,
.the law an order situation is worst because the the first world wanted to remain first world.
.feudals in parliaments.
.army thinks they are not accountable and they can capture judiciary anytime.
.lack of religious study; they were the people who made rules and rights.
February 1st, 2008 at 7:21 am
@ junaid
Do u think i like to accuse urdu speaking people? The fact is that almost everyone from the urdu speaking community ,particular in karachi, is against the very existence of pakistan. What do these guyz want? If the urdu speaking community wanted they could have curtailed MQM’s power, but the fact is that Urdu speaking community has always supported MqM. Urdu speaking people are not even like by the local sindhis, whether one likes it or not the fact remains that they are hand in glove with the forces working aganist pak. People are very much against these people. they are not pakistani.
February 1st, 2008 at 8:44 am
at Zenith
quote - The fact is that almost everyone from the urdu speaking community ,particular in karachi, is against the very existence of pakistan. What do these guyz want? /quote
how do u say that everyone from karachi is against the existence? just because some illiterate wannabes said something infront of you? if thats not the case then please do assure me the details you are relying on.
quote -If the urdu speaking community wanted they could have curtailed MQMâs power, but the fact is that Urdu speaking community has always supported MqM quote/
let me know any other community you think who have had struggled and even accomplished to throw a party created by agency. even, whenever there is a hearing of 12th October case at sindh court, mqm tends to cover the whole court with people having guns. i remember that worst condition when the cheif justice of pakistan couldnt mange to do a bar meeting at karachi on 12th, ..what community you are talking about..yeh tau bhattay hazaron mai laitay thay ya hain…jis mulk mai 4 hazar kai cell phone per banda mardiya jaye ..wahan kon sa minority base independent community revolution..
quote - Urdu speaking people are not even like by the local sindhis, whether one likes it or not the fact remains that they are hand in glove with the forces working aganist pak /quote-
if for some reason you wanted to possess some personal grudges against any particular race then that doesn’t mean that everyone thinks identical. imagine they have spend 60 years in sindh not in anyother place with that majority. and for your information karachi is the multi cultural place. urdu speakers are working against Pakistan? remember quid e azam, liaqat ali khan and the list goes on…sorry brother, i think you can blame a particular organization or a party but i am more than sure that you cannot abuse or blame a whole generation. you can continue bash any race but i cannot continue because i don’t racially distribute anyone from karachi to khyber. they are all same to me.
February 1st, 2008 at 9:01 am
Friends, Bhaino, Bhaiyo
How is heaven’s name can there be law and order in a country where the Chief Justice of the Supreme Court and numerous other judges, lawyers and members of civil society are hounded by a mad canine ruling (absolutely) over the benighted Islamic Republic. We can indulge in all the enlightened discussions we may, but unless the dog is sent to the shed, humanity, law and order, justice, basic freedoms can never emerge as constants. Never have things been as bad as they are now.
Kiyani WAKE UP.
February 1st, 2008 at 9:09 am
@mypkpoliticsaccount
I fully agree with you that we need justice. I know my writing their names will have no effect and even after ppl write so much about Mush. will have no effect till US bless us but it is a catharsis for us that one day it might happen. Allah listens and that is my faith. You have not hurt the feelings . Thanks for understanding
February 1st, 2008 at 9:46 am
Since Pakistan came into being, the law and order is bad in pakistan. I wonder why every body is blaming Musharraf for every thing.
We have lot of example in history of Pakistan that law and order was never sincere.
I wonder why we are blaming Musharraf for every problem.Why not Quaid Azam? Quaid azam was just an politician like every body is/was. People like Abdul kalam azad and many other muslims leaders were against division of pakistan, 151 million muslim are living in India, more than Pakistan. They never wish to come to Pakistan why????are they not muslim like us. ???????
My dear friends……The game of politics is very bad……..Politics made by people…anyone who are in politics are bad people……they dont care about population,men,women,children, love,peace,country…….they just want achievement….any achievement which satisfied them….by hook or by crook…politicians wants what they want.
My questions is who brought Mussharaf????How Mussaraf came into power?What was the reasons Mussaraf was promoted as a General? and why Mushraf was promoted when there were many other senior officers were there. Why NS promoted Musharaf? why Bhutto promoted Zia? What is the motive behind them? Why this planning of promotion misfired them? Why this politicians wants their own generals? for their own sake.
Let me tell you guys….who ever would be in place of Mushraf..he/she would have done the same thing under pressure of USA.what mushraf is doing now.
No blame game, bad time and good time comes, wait what GOD wants.
Every thing is in the hand of GOD.
We can complaint, it is our right.
God bless us all and God bless Pakistan.
February 1st, 2008 at 10:04 am
Everyone requested to share their views on the question only and please refrain from engaging with other members.
All irrelevant comments will be deleted to keep discussion focused.
February 1st, 2008 at 11:13 am
we will never have law and order till we have criminals like
chaudary meer jafir ilahi
chaudary meer sadiq husain
February 1st, 2008 at 11:15 am
A Society in Turmoil
http://www.majagama.com/2008/02/01/a-society-in-turmoil/
February 1st, 2008 at 12:40 pm
â??????? ?? ????? ??? ??????â
http://www.bbc.co.uk/urdu/pakistan/story/2008/02/080201_hrw_report_pak_rh.shtml
February 1st, 2008 at 2:43 pm
Miangee, It is a all divide and rule formula, until the time, you are fighting between yourself (Shia to Suni, Awam to Police, FATA to Army, etc.,), you donât think what the FâŠ. Musharaf, Asif, Nawaz, pervaiz, Shujat are doing and all these Mother FâŠâŠ.ers are very happy.
The actual thing that need to be concentrated is; Country is being âBRAIN DRAINEDâ, 20 million highly educated have left and remaining 20 million are looking for the opportunity and finally our of 100 million, 50 are good for nothing, loves routine jobs, are not educated, can’t think about tomorrow, can’t understand what are the leaders upto, or even if they understand, should they be worried about feeding there family or what Musharaf and Musharaf, Asif, Nawaz, pervaiz, Shujat are doing.
Miangee RELAX, Now as the Rape is evident, you might as well relax and enjoy it.
February 1st, 2008 at 3:39 pm
I would like to talk about in the long term planning.
Apart from reforms in health and education sectors, in the long run we should work on a interest (Riba/Sood in Urdu) free economic model. When I say the “model”, means the mathematics of economy. We should think of beyond the housing and car financing schemes, I mean the economy of a corporate or a country. I know this is not an easy job but resaerch at MS/PhD level should be initiated and experimented bit by bit. I hope we will start getting the results in next 20-30 years.
Interest free economy will reduce the gap between a rich and a poor. Interest free economy is a one of the pillars of social justice. People will be happy so the law and order would prevail.
Might be for some people I am not talking sense, but while having full faith on the Holy Quran, Interest free economy is the only solution to the present day chaos in this world.
February 1st, 2008 at 5:36 pm
Whomever has stated above that “all urdu speaking people from Karachi are against the very existance of Pakistan” is totally misquided and living in some other planet. It is a fact that the MQM has forcefully taken over the city of Karachi and is a well organized Mafia but I would like to ask how many from Gujrat have stood up against the Chaudharies? Was army able to eradicate this menace in its operation in the 80s and 90s?
I know that this is off the topic but I could not resist it after reading the above post from one participant and I believe that it is absurd and should not have even been allowed to appear here.
February 1st, 2008 at 6:15 pm
I agree with Amir Hameed. I am from Punjab and have lived with people from Karachi for many years in London.
They are not different from other Pakistanis. Some of them are intelligent, some innocent, some clever, some believe in conspiracy theories. All of them against the USA and Israel. All of them pro Pakistan. They are just like everyone else.
Urdu speaking people from Karachi mostly vote for MQM but understand that these people are corrupt/murderers etc. They used to vote Mullahs who never did anything for them. Local Sindhi people don’t like Urdu language (unlike Punjab where everyone prefers Urdu as a national language) which made them feel insecure and vote a different party (like Jamat Islami). Even now when MQM boycotts elections, JI wins - not PPP or PML N.
MQM has held the city hostage and stopped people from judging them independently. People live in a state of elected ‘dictatorship’ and they don’t get the choice to judge MQM objectively.
Right or wrong, people of Karachi feel insecure. MQM (and before JI) exploited that feeling. We should all work together to reassure them that they are not different from us.
February 1st, 2008 at 7:31 pm
@ junaid & Amir hameed
I donot wish to expand this debate as you have very cunningly turned it into a notion of an oppressed urdu speaking community. Dont spew out lies and plz dont try to gain the sympathies of everyone by presenting this community as repressed and downtrodden. It is a failed tactic. Why do these people consider themselves outsiders? why can’t we leave in harmony with each other? the fact is that something in their minds have sadly turned them aganist pakistan. I see numerous anti punjab and pakistan comments posted here but no one reacts. Law and order was the worst in 80’s and 90’s in karachi because of whom? Jaan chor do pakistan kee. can’t we shun our differences and live as a nation? Whenever sincere efforts have been made to bridge the gap these people have impeded its progress. When these people meet us abroad they say that pak was a blunder and most of them have the same feeling because in pak they can never say this so blatantly and they have enormous sympathy and regard for Mush. I hope and pray that alimghty Allah gives pakistan the strength to evade every calamity and gives the sense to identify conspirers.
February 1st, 2008 at 7:58 pm
Last year a Punjab police officer told me this…. ( I have family terms with him)
-Most of the time crimes don’t get reported by victim due to the fear of getting dragged into court-khachari chukker etc.
- On many occasions Police SHO refuses to register case due to numbers issue. Every month a crime report is generated and send out to higher ups in the establishment. Higher percentage means police officers including SHO, DSP, SP, IG etc would be held accountable for not controlling the crime. Higher percentage may reflect bad when time comes for promotion. This report even goes to CM and then to PM. So police intentionally discourage to report the crime.
Point is yes street crime has sky rocketted during Mush’s time. He had the golden opportunity to revamp the Police institution and train them according to the best world standards but unfortunately our police is busy ‘protecting’ judges, lawyers, ransacking TV channels etc. Ayub, Zia and Mush have destroyed the institutions specially dept. of police.
February 1st, 2008 at 8:07 pm
Why do we have bad law and order situation in Pakistan?
This situation has been created by military junta, if person sitting on the top is illegal and does not want make people feel bad about his illegality then lawlessness has to be prevalent. So, he is not doing any think bad, it is every where. If you consider previous military rules, they invented these kind of crimes like HATORA GROUP, QABZA GROUP…. So, it ease pressure on the illegal rulers. They want to keep people awake in the night and day and not to think about group ruling on the top.
Direct and indirect fouji top brass.
They are promoted and not arrested, they have been created by certain level of expense and effort. exactly like TALABANS.
Well, question becomes more relavent if we say FOUJI time and quasi-civil time. If you study fouji era and quesi cvil era, you see remarkable diff. So, there is a group in GHQ which plans all bomb blasts and killings, expension and dissemination of KHOUF O HIRAS, ATA issue, Cement issue, CHINI issues. Also this group gets paid from Pakistan tax money to design and architect MQM, QOMI ITEHAD, SARAIKI, POTOHARI, ALZILFQAR movements, SPIAH A SAHABA, SPIAH A MUHAMMAD, TALABANS like monsters and many more. Their current projects are keep pakistani QUOM in KHOUF O HIRAS and running after ATA and CHINI. Also, they have external assignment to promoting anti IRAN propaganda in IRAN area next to Balochistan. They coined MEK (Mujahidan a Khalik) and TUD party in Quetta in last one year.
Solution is pure and simple democracy guided by the voters not by stupid and anti pakistan generals. Killing top 500 establishment guys can make big difference.
February 1st, 2008 at 9:29 pm
@zenith
First of all, I am not Urdu speaking. I am from Punjab but I lived in Karachi for over 20 years and that is how I know about Karachi. I am not sure whether you have ever been to Karachi or not but it does not matter to me.
Secondly, no one has tried to turn this debate into any direction to get sympathies from anyone. Unfortunately, this is only your interpretation. Once again, your state of mind is at a level where you believe that the people of Karachi are against Pakistan. You definitely need some help here.
February 1st, 2008 at 9:54 pm
@ Amir Hameed
Have I said anything about ur back ground? I am criticizing the mentality and thinking that has been insinuated in their minds. Talk to these people specially abroad and ask them what do they think of pakistan, u will definitely get something negative from them directed at the creation of pakistan. I donot wish to carry this on, but u cannot deny that these people do not like pakistan and punjab in particular. why do they still call themselves muhajirs? They are not muhajirs, many generations were born here in pak. they distance themselves from the rest of pakistan. Look at the propaganda these guyz carry out against people who have some affiliations with punjab in particular. every leader in punjab is treated as an enemy by them( NS and IK in particular) with the exception of chaudries. All they know is to slander against the so called punjabi establishment ( another creation of their vacuous minds) and at the same time supporting mush. as far as Karachi is concerned its a national city and not a city of a particular community which is being claimed. Change in thinking is needed. i donot wish to comment anymore on this topic for now as it makes me extremely sad to even think of these people who constitute the most propagandist section of pakistan under the tutelage of mush.
February 1st, 2008 at 10:55 pm
@zenith,
I still do not understand what “these people” are that you have been referring to in your comments? Are you referring to the MQM goons or the ordinary citizens of Karachi? If it is the latter then you are misguided. The people of Karachi were used to be referred to as “Urdu speaking” until the time when MQM came into existance in the early 80s. And who was the founder of MQM: Zia and the agencies. So MQM was formed by the Punjabi establisment, wasn’t it?
February 1st, 2008 at 11:04 pm
Law and order situation is extremely bad at this stage , even though it was not good in the past . Every Govt; has misused The Law enforcing Agencies (Police,Intelligence, Scouts,F.C,Army etc )through corrupt Administration to achieve their own goals . In big cities , every Locality /Mohallah or sector has their own private security arrangements (Chowkidars,Gunmen or private agencies) on day and night basis ,While in villages it is in the hands / control of Land lords, Chaudries,Sardars,Nawabs ,sectarian religious leaders,MNAs ,MPA , Senators, Gadi nasheens and Ghundas/Rascals } .Police gets salary and also get a meager amount of money or little chai- Pani from those waderas for working on their behalf .This police is also engaged in lotting the public at almost all the check post in Broad day light and at night in Darkness . Those ,who are protecting criminals and robbers are well known to the corrupt Police. But if they put their hand on to them ,they will be deprived of their own lives and no one will even bother about their poor families .,I can not go in to further details as it is useless to talk about or put in black and white as the out come is always an increase in their salaries .The Law and order is in the hands of a Dictator,Lawyers are in Jail or under House arrest ,True Judiciary is under detention or House arrest . For the time being Nation should or must go for the restoration of chief Justice / Judges of Supreme court , release of Lawyers from jail and Restoration of Democracy . To maintain, Law and Order situation , in the country with a predominant( 99%) Muslims civilization is not very difficult but for that society has to remove the hurdles as mention above from the path of Govt; (run by the people of remaining burning Pakistan ).A true Muslim has no lust for Power and money .He has to be educated in accordance with Islamic Teaching .
February 1st, 2008 at 11:53 pm
@ amir hameed
Even though I said i would not comment but i could not just ignore this word, ” Punjabi Establishment. ” yes zia did commit a blunder, but what the current brutal, treacherous , vile and shamelessly immoral Urdu Speaking Esablishment spear headed by Musharraf, soomro, Hameed dougar ( CJ) and earlier shuakat aziz and many more top generals, seems to be doing? This mentality of blaming punjab for everything is the problem in the urdu speaking people of karachi and surrounding areas. Even though the urdu speakers have total authority they still blame everything on punjab. I wish islamabad was not in punjab. This musharraf an urdu speaker has caused irreparable damage to pakistan and still u blame punjab. again , THESE PEOPLE are the bane of pakistan.
February 2nd, 2008 at 4:15 am
@Zenith,
First, the SOB (Mush) does not have any support from the common people of Karachi; he has support from MQM and not just the Choudharies but also the Q-league, majority of which is from Punjab. Second, you are trying to tell these “make believe” stories to everyone that every Urdu speaking person from Karachi is against the idiology of Pakistan and Quaid, which is absurd. If there are anti-Punjab sentiments prevailing among all the other provinces then there is a reason for that. And yes, ALL the other provinces have resentments against Punjab and not because of the people who live in Punjab but because of the policies of establishment that is primarily from Punjab. But that resentment does not translate to anti-pakistan feelings. The hatered against the urdu speaking was quite obvious from your posts. I wonder why you did not mention the resentments of Balochs or the Pashtoons or the Sindhis against the Punjabi establishment and only picked the Urdu speaking? What is your true agenda here?
February 2nd, 2008 at 5:51 am
Have we ever thought why the Pakistan Army is not succeeding in Tribal Areas and Swat and Taliban are getting stronger and stronger each day. Its not because that Taliban are brave or are fighting hard or whatever - but because a common Pakistani soldier is finding it very very hard to decide and fight against his conscience that he is fighting a war for Americans and Musharraf against his own brethern.
Musharraf has appointed the officers of his own choice who are majority womaniers and drinkers like him - FAMOUS ENLIGHTENED MODERATION but what about the soldiers - he cannot change them - thats why Kiyani is saying that this year would be a year of common soldier - he knows they are the ones who are on the front and fighting but this war is not a winnable war at all
The generals in Pak army right from Corps Commanders to the major and captian should realise that the time is coming fast that the soliders would turn on their own officers who are considered as corrupt and then it would be very difficult to control. So before that situation arises they should do one thing if they want to save themselves - DUMP MUSHARRAF.
In today’s paper Kiyani is seen with Musharraf seeing another missile experiment which is also a joke - everytime they bring in a same old missle with a new name and give us a range - who has seen the range - its another way to make fool of people of Pakistan and give them an illusion of security - when there is so much unrest within the country and within the people what is the use of this missile - would they fire it against India or America - they would never dare to because the current handpicked officers of Musharraf have no morals and are bunch of cowards drunkards and womanisers = who can kill a 80 year old man in caves, or kill thousandsof innoncent girls in Lal Masjid with phosophorus bombs or throw bombs on tribal areas in the name of terror but are not ready to fight outside - becuase they are nothing but cowards,
February 2nd, 2008 at 7:29 am
poverty, illiteracy, poor judicial system, secular media channels promoting vulgarity and promoting borrowing culture through adds of housing loans, car loans and business loans, poor and directionless education system divided into many layers, corrupt law enforcement agencies, corrupt, traitor, agent, puppet rulers who has no respect for the law and above all absence of an ideology which can keep the people united are the reasons of the backwardness and the absence of law & order in our society.
If you want to find the most corrupt people in the world and in different countries you can find them easily; they are the people in the parliaments. They are the product of this corrupt capitalist system.
The world is facing an ideological vacuum which can only be filled by Islam.
February 2nd, 2008 at 8:03 am
@ Amir hameed
What sort of agenda are u talking about? The reason for dissent amongst the smaller provinces is that their leaders have always conducted politics on provicialism. Today the dissent is far greater than before and who is holding the office? A bunch of urdu speakers. why dont u accept that mush’s urdu speaking regime is the worst, what does it have to do with punjab? pakistan’s dismemberment was orchestrated under whom? answer -ZA bhutto. As far as this urdu speaking imbroglio is concerned my only question to them is that why dont they mingle with the rest of pakistan? Why do they still call themselves mohajirs? The fact is that it is their vile mentality that is appalling. If my intention was to just make slanderous remarks against them, I would not comment again and again to justify myself. Once again I say that they should mingle with the rest of pakistan, unlike these urdu speakers who consider themselves an alien creation. When our religion, customs, color and creed are the same, whats the discord then? But, again mohajirs, as they call themselves, never think that way. In reply to ur question that what mohajirs have to do with dissent prevalent in the smaller provinces, i have already answered that Mush is responsible, who is u know who. THESE PEOPLE try their level best to create pretentious or rather ostentatious issues. Why were these people silent on the massacre of LAL MASJID? Look at the propaganda they do against NS, IK and every person who is related to punjab. though NS is not perfect but this sort of slander is contemptible.
February 2nd, 2008 at 10:34 am
Reference observation of admin of Pk.politics, of 01 Feb 08, intend to agree that we all should REFRAIN from engaging with other members, & TRY to stick to the topic.
The comments of nearly all members as above SEEM to be CORRECT & NEAR TO TRUTH. I wonder if our people at the helm of the country’s affairs also read what ALL Pakistanis think of them, ALIKE?
Will somebody please CONFIRM the following story, told by an Urdu-speaking friend from Karachi :
1.Some months ago, a sumptuous dinner was arranged by MQM in London for Urdu-speaking Pakistanis residing in U.K & for their visiting kith & kin. The chief guest & host was played by nobody than the erstwhile MQM Chief residing permanently in London.
2.Expensive MQM memorabilia,was distributed among the guests on that occasion gifted away & handed over in person to each guest, by the MQM Chief himself ; & such handing-over of gifts duly photographed for RECORD purposes. At the end of the dinner,each guest was REQUESTED to pen-down names, type of business, contact numbers/ addresses , or / &, any other information details that they wished to give about their spouses, about their children & schooling, etc.
3.Once those guests, who happily departed for Pakistan, especially for Karachi,
then MQM ‘ thugs ‘ approached them through various means, i.e; by phone calls, personal visits or through ‘ pressure groups’ & were asked to willingly
‘CO-OPERATE ‘ & do the following : -
. . . To become permanent members of MQM.
. . . .To regularly make financial contributions to the party.
. . . To bring more members to the fold of theMQM party.
. . . To ‘ OBEY ‘ all the ‘ Commands ‘ of the MQM Chief, as & when received from London, & passed-on through the MQM-party office-bearers sitting in Karachi.
4.These ‘ guests ‘ were ALSO WARNED that in case they do not ‘ OBLIGE ‘ then their children & other family members will come to ‘ SERIOUS ‘ harm, not EXCLUDING HARM to their BUSINESSES,etc.
Any truth ?
February 2nd, 2008 at 12:39 pm
‘Revivalist’ is back with his extremist Hizb ut Tahrir agenda.
February 2nd, 2008 at 2:27 pm
@SnrCtzn
What do u do about amother in law who spreads baseless lies and accusations like this ( story that you explained in detail ).
sorry but I really think that this is the best ever propoganda Forum against Musharraf , Altaf Hussain and against People of Karachi.
February 2nd, 2008 at 3:45 pm
I would like to quote from Faiz Ahmed Faiz:
” For new-style law and order are in use,
Good men learn, ‘Stones locked up and dogs turned loose.’
Villians are judges and usurpers both-
Who is our advocate, where shall we seek jutice”
February 2nd, 2008 at 7:02 pm
@ optimist
why are u associating islam’s managemen system with extremism? Revivalist described that Islam should be our constitution, whats wrong with that. I do not endorse talibanic approach, but plz dont relate everything in islam to xtremism. If we study islam’s entire management system, we will realize that it is the best.
February 2nd, 2008 at 10:58 pm
@ zenith
maybe you don’t know him. he is Hizub Tahrir extremist. He has been coming up with website links that say we should not be sad about BB’s death because she was this and that… His people want to bring a Khilafah where they will have a dictator and name him Khalifah. I have exposed him in the past.
February 3rd, 2008 at 3:05 am
@Zenith
Are you suggesting that if the leaders of Balochistan demand that the revenue from the natural resources and reserves that are part of that province be shared and spend on that province then they are conducting politics in the name of provincialism? I donât think so. This is a very legitimate demand. The reservations in small provinces against Punjab did not grow stronger overnight; they had been brewing up for a long time.
This [present] regime that you are terming as âbunch of Urdu speakingâ has a stong support from the Army, the agencies and the corrupt establishment, the majority of them is from Punjab. It has got nothing to do with being Urdu speaking but everything to do with the fact the one currupt supports the other to stay in power. You have mentioned that Z A Bhutto was responsible for the disintegration of Pakistan, but he was not Urdu speaking, was he? So why bash the Urdu speaking only? You have also suggested that the urdu speaking call themselves âMohajirsâ which is totally not true. The term Mohajir was coined by MQM, which was an illicit child of Zia and establishment. You have complained that the urdu speaking do not mingle with the rest of Pakistan. These people do not have their families scattered all over Pakistan. Their families are settled in Karachi so they have very little reason to travel to other provinces and I do not see anything wrong with that. I have hardly seen any Baloch or Pashtoons settled in Lahore or other parts of Punjab?
When my parents and their families migrated from the Indian Punjab after partition and decided to settle in all over Punjab (Lahore, Sargodha, Gugranwala, etc.) instead of NWFP or Balochistan then that was because it made more sense to them to settle in areas where the language was more familiar to them. This is why the Urdu speaking settle in either Karachi or Hyderabad because they do not understand Sindhi, Punjabi, or other languages.
The people of civil society from Karachi have raised their voices against the autocratic rule of the SOB(Mush) and his government. There are several retired judges, practicing lawyers, etc have stood side by side with the justice movement. You have suggested that no one from Karachi spoke at the masscare of Lal Masjid? Tell me, how many rallies did you see in Punjab or other provinces?
MQM was responsible for the the propaganda against IK and it has got nothing to do with the common people of Karachi. As for support for NS, I am a Punjabi and I do not support him; why, because personally I believe that he is not a leader.
February 3rd, 2008 at 4:09 am
@ optimist
Itâs really fun to read your posts; can anybody tell me what is so extreme in my post?
I advised you to see a good psychiatrist please you are suffering from khilafah-phobia.
As I said earlier to you that neither you nor your masters can expose Islam even masters of your masters tried it but they failed miserably, I mean Abu-Jahil and Co. If you are so confident about your 2nd hand out dated, borrowed and copied views then come up with something worth reading, right.
Islam is the most modern Ideology in the world and would remain modern till the Day of Judgment.
Anyways thanks Zenith for clarifying the point to OPTIMIST.
Note: KHILAFAH IS NOW ONLY A MATTER OF TIME.
February 3rd, 2008 at 4:16 am
Almost total break down of law and order, currently prevails in practically every community of Pakistan. No one is safe except thosw who are breaking the laws, such as mafia goups, qabza groups, thieves, and rapist. This lawless situation in the country is at worst in the 60 years history of Pakistan. Innocent citizens are murderd senslessly at hand of thes criminals without any accountabilty. Other heinous crime, such as ‘Gang Rapes and Armed Rbberis,’ are being comitted against innocent people with impunity. Most of these criminals are pakistanis and are, unfortunately, busy comitting serious crimes against their own brothers, for many reasons. There can be many factors that turn these individulas into a criminals. For example, povert, lack of education, domestic violence and family break down. These things happen in any society of any country in the world. We alwasys havv had crimes in pakistan since it” creation, but not to the level we are currently witnessing. I will try to outline the main reason for the explosion of these brutal crimes.
1.’ Mr Mush,’ is number one ciminal, who is responsible for the current collapse of law and order. This man has stampede ‘THE CONSTITUTION’ of Pakistan, has attcked the judiciary, and has imprisoned the honoable judges. This self proclaimed, De’ Facto preident has amended the constitution to save his preidency. Other criminals at the top of the helm are, AG Qayum, Pirzada and other advisers of Mush’s legal team. I would call illegal team. So, ladies and gentleman, you be the judge. If the leader can break the law with out any accountability then there will potentials for the break down of the law and order in the country.
February 3rd, 2008 at 5:09 am
Continuation
2. Corrupted police and other law agencies are responsible for many crimes, such as rape, during interrogation in side the police station.
3. Insufficient and ineffective court systems.
4. Personal use of police forces and paramilitar forces by Mush and his mafia, to brutalize and to victemize the innocents, and thus not available to protect the citizens. Fair share of police and paramilitary forces have been utilized by Mush and his ruling junta for their self protection, and thus police not available to protect the citizens.
How can we improveprevailing failde law and order
1. Obviously, bringing Mush and all his acomplces to justice, in accordance with the law and giving the appropriate punishment to the fullest
2.Restoration of Independent judiciary of honest and honarable judges. Some overhauling of the judiciary system is needed. Dishonest judges and lawyers need to be expelled from the courts and be barred from the pracice of law. In order to regain the trust of the public, court system needs to be put in order. Special criminal courts to be established for the prosecution of these criminals and thugs. Sever punishments, including death for murderers and rapists, Gang rapists in particular. I strongly advocate hanging those convicted criminals out in the public.
3. Electing democratic government of honest politicians. Corrupted politiciand to be barred form running for elections.
4. Alliviation of poverty
5. Improving education, including education in pakistan politics
6. Revamping the entire police department. Severe and swift punishments for the corrupted officials. Elimation of nepotism.
7. Neighbourhood watch gruop at the local level
February 3rd, 2008 at 5:17 am
And many more
February 3rd, 2008 at 5:18 pm
@ amir hameed
u blame punjab and punjabis becaus this is the only argument u can come cme up with. As regards the dissent in balochistan, why did it get stronger even though many balochs were part of the government many times. Why dont the sardars of balochistan, when forming a coalition with any majority party in the the parliament in the past, realized that they were supporting corrupt people. the problem emanates from within them. they are several ways to get their legitimate demands fullfilled even in this corrupt system. Tell me how many sardars have supported the independance of judciary in the past?
now, who is at the helm of affairs at this time. Under whose guidance these military operations are being caried out? Zia’s era no matter how ruthless it was it proved to be reatively peaceful for baluchistan, as the armed rebellion that was triggered during ZA Bhtto’s era, died down because the army was called back by
Zia and it did soothe people’s anger there and I dont need to tell u where zia was from. I never give Zia’s example as he was not good overall, but in reply to ur question this was important.
Now How much of a part do the Urdu speakers play in this. There are the one’s who are continuously engaged in fanning hatred between the provinces. U said that the word mohajir was coined by Zia, so are u trying to suggest that mohaijis are so dumb that whatever some uneducated punjabi told them to do they would follow , with all heart and soul? This mentality that punjab is a mighty and prosperous province is promoted more by the urdu speaking community. Why dont they tell that majority of punjabis are still living in absolute poverty; there are places where people sell their own kidneys, there children to run their homes. Islamabad doesnot represent punjab. Should i also say that everything bad that happened when karachi was the capital was because of urdu speakers?
Now, Isn’t it strange that many non-punjabis have enjoyed massive support from the people of punjab, but has any punjabi leader been accepted by the people of other small provinces in a way that punjabis not only accepted but supported leaders from their provinces? whenever people need to conduct national politics they move to punjab; go to for instance sindh, and u will realize how many leaders conduct politics by insinuating anti-punjab sentiments.
Now again ur beloved Urdu speaking community. Mingling doesn’t mean to settle in other provinces it means to take people into confidence and conflate their feelings into one voice, promote national integrity and make them realize the common perils being faced. THESE PEOPLE never promote anything of the sort, Why MQM is not a national party and why is it receiving support from the urdru speaking community?If u say that MQM people have high-jacked or something like that, we dont buy that story? If it were to be true, How come we never hear any voices against MQM from the so called most educated people currently residing in their guestland pakistan? U will notice that in every forum, the voices of harmony and unificatiion come from punjabis, no punjabi says, JIYE PUNJAB, unlike others. Urdu speakers have played the most important role in urging people to vote against punjab. Whenever things seem to settle down they jump in and raise issues that can cause great disharmony, for instance contruction of water reservoirs issues etc. There job should be to keep everyone satisfied instead they only promote anti-punjab sentiments.
As far as this Nawaz issue is concerned, do u think that he represents the entire province of punjab? No one represents the entire punjab., I am not his fan, but i admire his national politics that he showed in the prevailing situations.
Lastly, I dont no where u lived or lived in punjab, but the fact is that many sindhis, treacherous urdu speakers, Balochis and pathans live in the very heart of punjab that is lahore and may i also tell u that in most punjabi homes urdu is spoken and this is the only province where urdu is spoken by such a largenumber of people. Many people from other provinces are very influential as well. many students come to punjab and study they never receive hostilities from punjab. some of My class mates were urdu speakers and from other provinces, but i openly express my grief to them about the hatred for punjab and they do accept it that it is sadly a part of their psychology. I would reiterate that i am not against the people, but their flagitious mentality and their trait of gaining synpathies for no reason, a trait that many generously display.
February 3rd, 2008 at 10:05 pm
@Zenith,
Actually I do blame the Punjabi establishment for playing dirty politics but not Punjab and there is a big difference between these two entities. Money and resource distribution is controlled by the Federal government and not the provincial governments. Majority of seats in the Federal government are from Punjab so that answered your question about why the Sardars support the coalition because in this corrupt system, it does not matter.
You have asked how many Sardars have stood for the independence of the Judiciary in the past; I ask you the same question about the Punjabi leaders? and please do not mention NS as he is simply trying to cash on the lawyers movement which was supported by every one from all over the country and not just from Punjab. It was in NS’s era when the SC was attacked, wasn’t it?
—
I would reiterate that i am not against the people, but their flagitious mentality and their trait of gaining synpathies for no reason, a trait that many generously display.
—
Actually you are against the people of Karachi and you have proved it over and over in all your posts here. You are against ALL the people of Karachi and you have been spewing venum against them in every post. In fact, you were the one who started lamenting the urdu speaking people in this forum. I can take a pretty good guess that you have never been to Karachi or may be just went there for sight seeing only and that is the only contact you might have had with that city. You may have met some people from Karachi who shared your thoughts and you have made yourself believe that this is how all the people of Karachi are. I know and have met some really sick people from Punjab but because I know Punjab very well, therefore, I do not base my opinion on that. Like MQM does not represent the people of Karachi, the Punjabi establishment does not represent the people of Punjab. You may start your pro Punjabi establishment argument again but the fact will remain unchanged.
The reason politicians put more emphasis on Punjab is because Punjab has a bigger share of National Assembly seats. If any other province had the same size and seats, it would have had the same importance as Punjab.
Urdu is frequently spoken in Punjab not just because it is the national language but also because its dialect is very similar to Punjabi. But if you go to villages, it is not spoken very commonly there. I am not sure where you were going with this argument?
What you forgot to mention about Zia was that it was his tenure where the Islamic extremism came into existance and started spreading its roots. What we are seeing now is the same monster getting out of control and as you said that you did not need to tell me where Zia was from!
—
Now How much of a part do the Urdu speakers play in this. There are the oneâs who are continuously engaged in fanning hatred between the provinces. U said that the word mohajir was coined by Zia, so are u trying to suggest that mohaijis are so dumb that whatever some uneducated punjabi told them to do they would follow , with all heart and soul?
—
You need to read my post again. I did not state that Zia coined the term Mohajir; his illicit child, the MQM coined the term Mohajir. Prior to that Karachites were called Urdu Speaking. And for your information, they are the most educated community in Pakistan and no one can dispute it. Just because you do not accept that MQM does not represent the people of Karachi does not mean that it does. So, get over it and remember that “MQM was created by Zia and the establishment to counter PPP”. Didn’t NS raised the salogan of “Jaag Punjabi Jaag” in the 90s? what was that?
—-
Urdu speakers have played the most important role in urging people to vote against punjab.
—-
Where did you get this from?
I live in the US but my house is in Lahore and I have hardly seen any Balochs or Pathans around there.
February 4th, 2008 at 12:33 am
I refrain myself to participate in any discussing forum, but I have to write this time. A few participants have started to blame different nations for the situation in Pakistan. I guess that most of the participants are young. Their comments about Karachi and Punjab remind me the story of a group of blind people and elephant. Each of them just touched and felt one part of the elephant and believed it to be the whole.
As far as Law and Order situation is concerned, it is a few centuries old issue in the sub-continent. Main reason was always, unequal distribution of wealth and power, which promoted rule of might. It is not an invention of Pakistan, it is a heritage, which we never tried to leave. Trying to blame a particular nation or group in Pakistan for this is a terrible mistake.
There are not many countries in the world, which are multinational, multi ethnic and multicultural. Pakistan (and India) are among those few multinational countries. Such countries have a certain percent of people who are ânationalistâ and have a tendency of following âseparatistâ political leaders. You can find such people in every country and every community also in Europe. They are usually in minority every where. So is also in Pakistan.
My parents came to Karachi in 1947 and we managed to get a very small flat near Pakistan Chowk. All of the neighborhood was inhabited by immigrants from India. They were from every part of India. I remember that, in our street, there were not more than 6 families from Urdu/Hindi speaking provinces of India, mostly were from East Punjab, Gujarat (mainly from Bombay), Rajhistan, Maharashtra (Marhathi speakers), Kerala, and other south Indian provinces. Soon, labours from every where from with in Pakistan start coming to Karachi to seek jobs and soon there were a lot of Balochi and Pathans in our neighborhood. Of course,, every one was speaking Urdu, even those few local Sindhis and Makranis, who have been living there for centuries. In short, this conception that all Karachi people are âUrdu speakersâ and all Urdu speakers are pro MQM is totally wrong. Majority of them do not support MQM because most of its victims were prominent âmuhajirsâ. On the other hand, if you look at the list of candidates, you will find that there is no one from other political option in most of the constituencies in Karachi. In some part of Karachi no one dare to stand against MQM. Life is too precious to lose for politics. People live in fear and feel unsecured because of terrorizing Law and Order situation in Karachi. So, stop blaming Karachities, and try to understand them. They are just like other Pakistanis in other big cities of Pakistan: Lahore, Pindi, Peshawar, Hyderabad or Quetta.
Those of us, who are living abroad have no right to spread hatred among Pakistani nations. We must promote unity and understanding. Please, donât judge every one on the basis of a few selfish political leaders. Almighty Allah has given every nation equal percentage of good and bad, fools and wise people. Judge individuals and not nations. A poor in Punjab is as miserable as a poor and underprivileged in any other part of Pakistan. So, unless we stop blaming whole community, we are not going to make Pakistan any better.
Second, a humble request to everyone. India is not a good example to compare Pakistan with. Those, who think that India is an ideal country to compare with and that things are any better there, please, visit India and go to Muslim majority areas, visit kuchi abaadies of low cast Hindus, and talk to any common poor, peasant or house servant without telling them, that you are from Pakistan. If it is not possible, at least watch Indian news channels, such as Indian CNN, IBN7 etc. Visit more regularly http://www.ibnlive.com. You will soon find out that, a poor of India is more miserable than in Pakistan.
Better compare Pakistan to some better Asian country, or at least with Indonesia, Iran, Turkey; though not ideal but having better Law and Order situation than India. Even better we must try individually to be law abiding and honest person ourself, and stop hating others. Individual makes nation. We need to improve ourselves first than others. If we hate others, other will hate us. Extend your hand to the person, you hate and you will soon find in him a different person.
Third, Politicians, looters, murderers, landlord, waderas, chaudharies, dictators, do not have any religion, do not belong to any nation, do not represent mind set of common people. They are selfish people, all of them are more hostile and cruel to their own people than to any others. So using term âTHESE PEOPLEâ for ordinary people is not justified.
And by the way, dear Mr. Amir Hamid, I have visited Lahore many times and have met all kind of nations, including Balochis, Pathans, Urdu speakers, Gujratis, just to name few, having jobs, business, shops or driving taxi there. Lahore is just like any other big city, a multiethnic, multinational city. May be you have not noticed them.
February 4th, 2008 at 2:24 am
@ amir hameed
1. What is the Punjabi establishment? the well connected people from punjab who form a coalition and rule the rest of the country will be an expected answer. The establishment u are so enthusiastically blaming has many urdu speakers as well. Just because it is in punjab doesn’t mean that one can term it a pure punjabi establishment. Punjab has always had more seats because of its population and during Mr. Urdu speakers rule the punjab assembly seats were increased. The reason is that when u get punjab u get pakistan. Punjabis can be conned into anything , so they are playing in the hands of an establishment that is spearheaded by people from karachi, as the rate of illiteracy is alarmingly low , but has been claimed otherwise.
2. When one says that system is corrupt and faulty, one tries to change it and not become part of it , as is the case with Urdu speakers and all those who claim that punjab is unjust. Punjabis are not entirely represented by the likes of what one sees today. If your urdu speakers believed that the so called punjabi establishment is unjust and unfair, why dont they reach out to the people of punjab? why dont they make an effort for the total revampment of the system? Than let them see how punjab accepts them, infact follows them. The fact is that they strengthen this very system which they thrive in. Top businessmen are from karachi and play a substantial role in running the economy, and the urdu speaking bureaucrats provide relentless support to Musharraf, so one cannot only blame punjab for this impasse. You are not even ready to accept that Musharraf is responsible for the inconceivable disaster which pakistan’s heading to, as he in ur opnion is a flawless, innocent, guileless, artless and naive urdu speaker.
3. I have the audacity to accept that zia was a punjabi and was a flagrant liar, unlike u have never accepted that Urdu speakers ,lead by musharraf are somewhat responsible for this precarious situation which pakistan is facing.
4. Why would i spout hatred against these people.? I consider them fellow pakistanis, but they donot. Infact u are the one constantly trying to present them as an artless and oppressed community by casting aspertions on punjabis. Ur hatred for punjabis is very much ostensible and apparent. I have always talked of harmony, but u have ignored it and the fact that only punjabis talk of unity. When u say the punjabi establishment, it implies that people of punjab are involved and all urdu speakers sadly, share the same view. I talked of harmony and amity , but u were busy in slandering against punjab.
5. Iam not an avid fan of NS. U said this as u wanted to prove that I support him. I support everyone who is democratic and is willing to extricate pakistan, as an imperfect democracy is far better than dictatorship. NS isn’t perfect and so are ur Urdu speakers.
6. Plz dont say that no pathans, balochs etc dont live in lahore or punjab to someone in lahore, they will laugh at u. My neighbours were from peshawar. I donot want to get personal with u, even though i felt that u were, when u descibed my level of thinking etc. I might be younger than u, as i have recently done my highschool from pak, but i would expect u to stop being too obstinate and accept that urdu speakers , a vast number of them have illfeelings towards to punjab.
7 . Karachi is pakistan’s city , so its my city too, but the way things are going i would have to get a visa to travel there and all thanks to THESE PEOPLE.
February 4th, 2008 at 2:54 am
@ Revivalist
We all know who needs a psychiatrist. Those Mullahs who get flared up just because someone has done a sin by laughing (remember only smiling is allowed, laughing is a sin!). A woman going to school scares Mullahs. A woman talking to a man scares Mullahs. A picture of a woman scares Mullahs. Television scares Mullahs. A woman without a scarf scares Mullahs. A doctor curing a female patient scares Mullahs. Only thing that doesn’t scare Mullah is homo se#uality.
Mullahs have discussions whether watching TV is allowed in Islam. They also have discussions if a woman is allowed driving.
My advice to conservative Mullahs: Go invent something (like TV or Car) before giving us your wisdom whether it is Haram or Halal.
Din -e- Kafir Fikr o Tadbir o Jihad
Din -e- Mullah Fi Sabeel Ullah Fisaad.
February 4th, 2008 at 4:09 am
@Ravi,
Very well put. I normally do not engage myself in ethnic discussions but having a Punjabi background and because I was brought up in Karachi, I know both cultures and people very well. Even if I did not know Karachities, I would still have stepped in because I find it repelling when people start to judge others on false grounds. But because you have summarise it so well, I would stop arguing on this topic anymore.
February 4th, 2008 at 7:45 am
@optimist
I have written a rebut to all what you have said about Mullah, Islam about HT but unfortuatly it was removed by the admin. I would ask the admin for the reason to kindly tell me why?
February 5th, 2008 at 12:17 am
presumably because everybody else on this forum harbours a secret desire that: all religio-babble spouting sociopaths who wish to shove their unwelcome and fairly warped interpretation of religion down the throats of 160 million happy go lucky people - should be locked up forever in a padded cell!!! (and thats the humane solution mind you!!)
p.s to ADMIN: i think its a bit unfair to limit the interaction of the visitors to your site. as long as they remain within the bounds of decency. I think all conversation/repertoire should be encouraged even if every now and then it does veer off course.
February 8th, 2008 at 4:15 pm
@ZENITH
you are way off base by thinking that all urdu speakers are against the creation of pakistan.
that is the most absurd thing i have ever heard. I am from a family of “urdu” speakers that can trace back to Quaid E Azams cabinet. You are totally wrong when you say that urdu speakers do not support the country of pakistan.
I wish you would direct your attention to the people who were chanting anti pakistan slogans after BB’s murder. After looking at that, I have to say that it is the SINDHIS that are against the creation of pakistan. They see themselves as SINDHIS first and pakistanis second. They believe that the creation of pakistan has stripped away their culture and language.
Next time you should do some research before you drop blanket statements.
October 6th, 2008 at 12:30 pm
Asalamalaikum
I am living in karachi. since 1988, after mqm emerge into politics of sindh. We see street crime and other crime is raising. Mqm really own karachi and their mayor is doing great job. I own karachi is good idea that people can understand their responsibilties. Now I would like to tell mustafa bhai and ishrat ul ibaad bhai that we people of karachi feel insecure because of street crime , kidnapping of ransom. I never see mqm played in role to curb street crime. When matter of any national interest , we see lakhs of people gather on one call of Altaf bhai. But as supporter of mqm , I would like to share that we all people payed 1000 to 5000 per building to mqm on Eid. What is this, mqm is really unaware. mqm ever published phone number where one can complain , mqm have ever asked media to telecast this kind of news. why we all are harrased like this by our own people. why is this with people of karachi. we are already pissed off and worried with street crime. why nobody is listending. where is justice , where is respected sherry rehman, rehman malik. is karachi is not city of nawaz sharif, qazi hussain ahmed and other so called big political role. They like to play role in punjab only. Why nawaz sharif if away with people of karachi. where is so called pasban and shabab e milli. where is ngo’s and human right organization. We do not want signal free corridor , we wants security. we wants justice. I also disappointing to see role of MQM. Can anyone come forward and play any role. Is there any person who has heart for people of karachi.