l Live with Talat – 1 February 08 | Pakistan Politics
{ 15 comments... read them below or add one }

• sherisha said:

Same like other talk shows. We seem to miss out one most important factor that we are muslims and we can not minus Allah from the equation. In the past 60 years both civilian and military rulers proved to be dictators and gave nothing to this nation. This is only for one reason: we are as a nation “Allah ke Baghi” . The day, majority of population submit to Allah, He will award us what He awards to Whom He likes. …….. Peace , love of Allah and success in hereafter.

• pakismine said:

@sherisha

Can you tell me how do you tell one is not submitting to Allah?, and
    How can one submit to Allah?

Anyway, what a service to the country this guy Talat is doing! Very up-to-date, intellectual and informative person. And of course love Saeed uz zaman siddiqui as always.

• sherisha said:

By following commandments of Allah.

Daily 10 times on behalf of Allah it is recited “come to success”

simple! isn’t it!

Unfortunately, general trend is ” meeta meeta huphup,,,, karwa karwa thoo thoo”

• shameed51 said:

talat is best he is talking about real prblem of our system .but people of pakistan specillaly punjabi people who r in majority needs to be educate about democracy.they always played in hands of army.they dont understand democracy .i m not punjabi or sindi or other .i m just pakistani.but honestly want to analys.i m living in punjab since last 20 years so i love punjab.punjab have many good things.but people needs to be educate.they can play a better role for development and democracy for pakistan.we have to change our mindset.
    if pakistan want to survive in the world we have to adopt democracy as best system till now.

• Awais said:

come On.

These Bloody retired Generals were also the Part of the crimes of All the dictators.

why we foregt the past.

this General Hameed Gul {then ISI Chief} was the boss and Founder of IJI and all the Islamists which are blowing themselves up.
    And he still supports them against US.

• Tab'an Khamosh said:

I think this is a good debate. Let us hope this thread gets drowned in stupid flamewars regarding how fast we should hit our foreheads on the grounds and how far above our GiTTas our shalwars should be…

Aur birratharr, kuCH Islaami Aazaar-baNd kay baaray maeN bhi bataaiyaay… aur astaNjaa karnay kaa eHSann tareeQah kiyaa hai?

zara irshaad farmaaiyaay???? [pichkaari]

WHAT? wrong thread? WHY DOTH THOU PERSECUTETH ME SO???!!!

• Awais said:

Seven Mice and Musharraf

http://www.bbc.co.uk/blogs/urdu/2008/02/post_267.html

??? ???? ??? ????
    see this article IN BBC URDU.

• redux said:

@ sherisha

following your line of logic scandinavian countries should all be suffering from war, corruption, violence, au contraire they are some of the most peaceful countries in the world, or are you suggesting that they are all secretly muslim. Now I’m not saying we should all become kafir, but dude talk some sense.

• khizarkyz said:

here is the book referred to by the BBC & DAWN:
    http://infohost.nmt.edu/~shipman/reading/liddell/index.html

• nazia said:

For army generals
    most of boys who join army are usually those guys
    - who are not good in studies
    -who couldnt take admissons in other repectable and calibre professional colleges.
    -either sons of of army officers or have links with army selction commitee.
    -who belong to those areas where there are least choices of selection of profession for earning bread and butter.

• Tab'an Khamosh said:

In my opinion, this is just an attempt by the jurnails to fix the POUNDING that the army’s reputation has taken in recent years.

I should say that Pakistani’s have finally wised up to who the real culprit is and Army and especially these jurnails are now afraid of reprisals… I don’t really see any real change happening in these people’s mindeset.

I found it interesting that Hamid Gul (of all people) spoke of Revolution as one of the ways of changing/stopping the “vicious cycle” as Syed Talat put it. We can only imagine how a revolution brought on by Gul and ilk would look like.

Afghanistan circa mid 90′s anyone?

• Hameed Chaudhry said:

In my opinion, the coming general elections are use less for an ordinary persons of Pakistan if it held in February 2008 without immediate resignation of Pervez Musharraf which is the demand of large group, reinstatement of chief justice supreme court with other 60 honourable judges, reorganised election commision accepted to major political parties as well as honoured by public, get involve all political leaders and parties who bycott the election for some reasons or kept away from electrolic process by poor policies of Pervez Musharraf regime.

People want back in electrolic system the followings; Nawaz Sharif, Imran Khan, Qazi Hussain Ahmed, Shahbaz Sharif, Chaudhry Aitzaz Ahsan and other prominent leaders.

For bringing all the important changes in this country, if general elections could be extended for 60 days. ( Instead 18 Feb. 2008 …… 18 April 2008 )
    And in the mean time law and order condition could be improved by the administration as well as weather will also be much nicer than february. But it only can be done if we get rid of illegal President of Pakistan immedietly.

Mr. Justice (Retd.) Saeed-Uzaman Siddique and Mr. Javed Jabbar was brought good points infront of us, especially Tallat Hussain put very decent and important questions to all the participants but it was not answered accordingly. I personally like what Quaid-e-Azam Muhammad Ali Jinnah replied to an army officer very streight forwardly about not exceeding his limits.

If this time, some how a lesson should be served to Pervez Musharraf by the Supreme Court of Pakistan for violating the constitution and the oath he has taken as a army officer …….. this will be the last military intervention in the history of Pakistan. At this stage, we cant hang Ayub Khan, Yahya Khan, Zia-Ul-Haq but we can make Pervez Musharraf “NISHAN-E-IBRAT” for others after what he done with Chairperson PPP Benazir Bhutto Sahiba, Chief Justice Supreme Court Mr. Justice Iftikhar Muhammad Choudhry and other sixty honourable high court and supreme court judges put slanders remarks in the international press as well as spoken very disgraceful remarks for Pakistans National Hero’s Dr. Abdul Qadir Khan and Imran Khan and heart general people of Pakistan.

Pervez Musharraf should be shame of himself……… I am agreed, with General (Retd.) Moin-Uddin Haider that if this stage all the retired army general does not speak against Pervez Musharraf about his wrong doings, it is a possibility that people start taking revenge from other innocent army officer and their family members for supporting or obeying him from last eight years and crushing the will of general public.

Allah Hafiz aur Pakistan Zindabad.

• sleepingnation said:

I would request to all fellows that Please forgive Ex army generals when they r ready to apologize for what they did in the past.

Dair Aid Dursat Aid

If they are willing to join lawyer movement and Go Musharraf Go Movement then we should welcome them

Judges, Generals, Journalists and Politicians all made mistakes so now we should not go un necessarliy in the past event rather we should welcome all those who want to work for Independent Judiciary, restoration of sacked judges and kicj Musharraf out…

Reconciliation is necessary at this point…..

• shimatoree said:

All the talk all the time ! But the subject ought o have been the law and order situation in the Frontier province. The rampant kidnapping for ransom is what the people of Peshawer are worried about- not some abstract discussion about the relations between the Military and Politicians !
    I feel that Talat cannot or will not discuss the serious problems and those that must be held accountable for that because his owners have told him to stay away from criticising Musharraf regime for it’s doings. The elections will come- then what. Who will take on the kidnapping mafia. Who is going to get the Law and order back so that those with money will feel safe to invest in the country.

In such talk shows we ought to be discussing ways as to how the country can be brought back to normal and for lack of doing that- for whatever reasons I feel that Talat Hussain and others like him have failed . All the yearnings of the Civil Society and the Lawyers organisations will amount to nothing if some way to get law and order is not found very soon. If you have any doubts- Just look at Iraq and Afghanistan.
    And when people get fed up- then they will turn to anyone- including you guessed it the TLIBAN who will bring their own sets of rules.

• Fan of Talat sahab said:

I THINK THAT MUSH IS NOT AFFECTED BY ALL THESE DEBATES. BUT TALAT SIR N HIS PANELISTS WERE PRETTY GOOD AT THEIR DISCUSSION.ALAS! NO ONE CAN SUGGEST THTA HOW 2 GET RID OF SUCH A BLOODY DICTATOR
    ANYWAYS GOOD JOB BY TALAT SIR
    KEEP IT UP
    PRAY FOR BETTER PAKISTAN MINUS MUSH