l Live with Talat – 6 February 08 | Pakistan Politics
{ 42 comments... read them below or add one }

• Aosaf said:

Is this the program which led to the clousure of of AAJ channel for a day last wednesday???

• kinnare said:

@admin, some reason it is not loading. would you check, please.

• Aosaf said:

@kinnare

It is working fine for me.

If you want I can give you the direct link to download in mp4 format.

• Tab'an Khamosh said:

works fine for me too.. thanks for posting.

I can’t believe Mushie and his posse of idiots shutdown this program. Hadd ho gai hai!

• Kheshgi said:

It is amazing that they are talking about PPP keeping the Federation together, did they forgot the role of Bhutto and PPP in the East Pakistan tragedy by refusing to accept the will of the majority?

• Democracy said:

yes it was after this program or rather during the program when Aaj was taken off air for 12 hours.

• kinnare said:

@Kheshgi. It was not Bhutto who refuse to accept the will of Majority it was Pakistan Army who refuse the will of majority. Bhutto was just and ordinary politician of W.Pakistan. Pakistan Army with their partner Bhiari (Now a days MQM) raped and blunder E. Pakistan.

• PkPdewanah said:

My predictions:

• Most of the rigging fallout will be on Nwaz League
    • PPP will be in bed with Mush and Mitti Pao
    • Some of the Judges will be restored
    • Sever economic crisis will surface
    • Security measures will contain suicide bombers to poor area
  • engrzia said:

@Aosaf
    Dear I am interested to download program in mp4 format.

• Fahim23 said:

That was great show! Thanks for uploading.

• QAZI said:

Probably Govt: under the orders of Dictator , imposed restrictions on the appearance of Shahid Masoud ,Hamid Mir , Kashif Abassi,Nusrat Javeed and Mushtaq , therefore AAJ was closed for 12 hours as punishment for showing Nusrat Javeed in this program . I think as people are allergic from Dictator and do not want to see his face and call him Madman /Kuta . Similarly Kuta too is allergic from Nusrat Javeed .

• Patriotic_Pakistani said:

I don’t think Nusrat said anything which can cause hevoc in the govt ranks. I don’t think this could be the cause of closing down AAJ Tv. As far as I know ‘ Live with Talat ‘ isn’t LIVE anymore so they wd have known therez nothing against Mush.

• Kharal said:

@Patriotic_Pakistani

I wonder you are looking for a logic as why regime decided to take the channel off-air. Pakistan is ruled be a king and kings do not need a logic for their actions. If they don’t like a person… that is it. The life is made hell for him/her. You have countless people in that category e.g. CJ, Aitzaz.

Kings need slaves in front of them and opposition is out of question. This can be very evident from this monster’s every word and action.

• shameed51 said:

this programe is about reallity,reallity about bb and her party.she is not only recognize in pakistan but whole world.and east pakistan crises were made by dictatorship we have to understand history not should use the language of establishment.punjabi brothers must understand this.oterwise punjab hi rahay ga baki finish

• umar said:

@ Shameed51

First of all dont think that I m being Offensive, secondly I m not Punjabi But just a Pakistani. All Pakistan is mine as it is all your’s. I strongly Belelive Pakistan is not a part of Punjab but Punjab is a part of Pakistan, same like Sindh, Balochistan, NWFP. Now about your comments then you have to agree with this fact that in 1970-71 elections Awami League of Sheikh Mujeeb was the winner and Mr Bhutto should accept the result. let me clear another thing that I m very much pro Mr. Bhutto but not to Miss Bhutto. for me he was a great leader and i consider him the only leader of Pakistan after Mr. Jinnah. But some how he was responsible for this division. We should accept the truth though it is hard to accept.

Umar

• Tab'an Khamosh said:

@umar & Kheshgi: Please recount _your_ version of events in which PPP and Bhutto are the culprits and NOT the goddamned criminals of the naPak Army, Jamaa’t Ghair Islaami and the poor old victims of Hijrat the “bihari’s” who are not trying to break Pakistan again (very small percentage)

NO BS! Put down points.. what makes you think it was Bhutto only…

• BrightStar said:

It is very disspaointing to see such people talking in favor of inheriting party leadership. Don’t they have other capable people? Do they feel that a Bhutto MUST be a leader even if it requires a name change? Don’t this party have any democratic structure within their own party? There are many questions, but unfortunately no logical answers :-(

• nebu said:

I think this was shut down because Nusrat Javed is one of the banned comperes who is NOT allowed to appear on TV at all alongwith Hamid Mir, Dr. Shahid Masood, Kashif Hashmi and the rest.

• BrightStar said:

What a bad analysis from Javed N. He is talking in favor of inheritence of party leadership. No doubt he must be a BIG supporter of PPP.

• shameed51 said:

about 1971 crises we have to see more than election and on one so called slogan ider um uder tum.nations do not break in one year or on one slogan it is a continuous proceess which can make and break coutries.but we shortly should understand that main problem of our country is dictatorship.if we want to survive as a pakistani we must understand otherwise finihed.we must appreciate politician who gave lives for democracy.

• Kheshgi said:

Bhutto had a role in the breakup of the Pakistan along with Army Generals (Ayub and Yahya). Please go back to records and listen to his speech where he warned that anyone from West Pakistan going to the first session of the new elected assembly in Dacca risk loosing his legs. If he had accepted the will of the majority, the breakup could have been avoided. Bhutto was head of the PPP, so blame needs to be shared by the party.

Bhutto was always power hungry and so are his next generations. They feel that that they own Pakistan, a very typical Feudal mentality (Fatima Bhutto maybe an exception based on what I have read about her views). Overall, PPP is a party run by Feudal lords since the inception and it has always got majority votes in recent times from those controlled by the feudal class in the rural areas.

• BrightStar said:

@Kheshgi
    I don’t believe Fatima Bhutto is better in feudal terms. Right now she is marginalised and for tactical reasons she speaks against inheritance of the crown, because it did not land on her own head. She is running the little Peoples Party (don’t remember the name) with her mother, Ghinwa which has an alliance with “The mother of all terrorist outfits” MQM. How can that be if she is so democratic?? Double standards?

• Kheshgi said:

BrightStar – You maybe right about Fatima Bhutto. I just read one article where she was against the idea of passing the party leadership based on the family name. I don’t know much about Ghinwa Bhutto and her party, PPP (SB), so I cannot comment on her alliances.

As far as alliance with MQM, every major political party had aliiances with MQM includig PPP and PML. So I guess by your definition, none of those parties are democratic and have double standards.

• Saqib said:

@Kheshgi

It’s not difficult to figure out what FM wants. She is just unhappy because she is not leading the party as the “rightful” leader.

You can make your own assesment the mentioned parties (PML and PPP). Do they ever have elctions in their own parties? Look at the structure and you will quickly spot that they are not democratic themselves. How can we expect them to promote democracy, independant judiciary, free and fair elections. They are power hungry and are waiting for yet another chance make more confusion in Pakistan. Anyhow I prefer them instead of the army, which MUST be confined to its orignal role.

• sam said:

Thoroughly enjoyed watching the programme and I hate to complain but the last 15 minutes there was no sound. Was there a problem with the download or was it my computer ? Just couldn’t find one good reason why Aaj needed to be shut down .Because of their paranoia I am afraid they might ban Live with Talat next! what a shame!

• Tab'an Khamosh said:

@Saqib: I would tend to agree with you re: Fatima Bhutto but to the extent that she’s a Bhutto and lust for power and and a subconscious desire for it are in her blood, but to say she is knowingly doing it, I dunno bro. I think she has had a tough life and she has gone through different expreiences and circumstances than her more privileged cousins, so I wouldn’t be surprised if she were to refuse PPP (Z) leadership even if she was offered (fat chance of that, but hypothetically speaking).

I think she has a hankering for power and a desire to make a difference (which she prolly gets from her gramps) but I think she wants to go it alone. I think she has a tough and possibly disillusioning road ahead, but I do appreciate her “madness” and anti-establishment rebellious attitude in this regard.

• Optimist said:

@ Kheshgi

Bhutto never said that would break the legs of MNAs (I have read his speeches/books. Your statement proves that writing comments in English does not equal to mastery of language. This is a claim made by all those who have poor command of English.

It was MQM’s founder (Army generals) who are responsible for the break up of Pakistan. Founders of MQM also created Al-Badar and supported Mullahs to attack Bengalis.

What Bhutto actually said:

‘Those who attend Dhaka session of Assembly without a prior agreement between the two parties will not have legs to stand on’

In English language ‘not have a leg to stand on’ means ‘do not have credibility’ (in the eyes of others). Now please stop breaking the leg of English!!

• Kheshgi said:

Optimist – Please stop making a fool out of yourself by keep on defending Bhutto and his role in the breakup of Pakistan. I am amazed and not too sure how your pulled MQM into 1971 tragedy but seems like all your arguments focus around your hatred of MQM.

A friendly advice, blind hatred is not good for your health. :-)

• Fahim23 said:

@Kheshgi

There is a report called “Hamood-ur-rehman Commission” …read and find me the name of ZA Bhuto in it!

It is totally unfair and ignorance from you part that you are singling out Bhutto for this desaster that was committed by the Pakistan’s army who has been ruining us.

The role of JI is much more heneous then any other party when they were blaming Sheikh Mujeeb-ur-rehman and whole bangali nation as indian agents. Razakars, Al-Badr and Al-Shams (political wings of JI in then east pakistan) were actually massacring the bangali intellectuals, engineers and doctors. But I have never heard in Pakistan blaming JI for breaking up Pakistan. But very easiliy the misquoted words of Bhutto are taken as the sole reason of breaking Pakistan.

The creation of Bangladesh is the disaster committed by West Pakistan, Bhutto too have some part like all of us. But he is made the escape goat by Establishment (Army) which has always been anti-bhutto. And the role of Bhutto as sole evil character in creating Bangladesh is merely Exaggerated hate-full notion.

Also please do act on what you advice to others.

regards

• tawan said:

oay musharaf na zulam karo makeenoon per….waisay bhi tum nay buhut dukh diya hai quam ko….hun agla gear lao….nain tay quam toe kara degi….

• Kheshgi said:

Fahim23 – I mentioned in my posting that Bhutto along with General Ayub and Yahya have a major role in the breakup of Pakistan. It’s not only Bhutto’s words but his actions, i.e. his refusal to accept the will of the majority which contributed to 1971 tragedy. I agree with you that JI must have a role, they have always sided with Army whether it is in East Pakistan, Aftghanistan, or Kashmir.

As far as my advice, trust me I don’t have blind hatred towards anyone. I admire the fact that BB was the first one to give press freedom in Pakistan when she came to power in 1988 but collectively I believe PPP has done more damage to Pakistan than good .

This my opinon and you have every right to disagree. Ultimately, we all want what ever is in the best interest of Pakistan.

• Awais said:

My predictions.

PPP will emerge as the largest Party of Pakistan {as in 2002 elections} inspite of the rigging of General Musharraf.

PPP will form Govt with the help of ANP, Small parties /- PMLn and few ‘Patriots’ from PMLq.

Musharraf has already been elected as the president and ppp will never Vote for him as its has never voted for any dictator.

• Awais said:

@@@@BrightStar
    It is very disspaointing to see such people talking in favor of inheriting party leadership. Don’t they have other capable people? Do they feel that a Bhutto MUST be a leader even if it requires a name change? @@@@@

come on Make some sense.
    its not inheritances of leadership. Its what the Party and members of PPP like.
    PPP and its members are free to elect its leadership.

Being Bhuttos is not a criteria. Everyone who is Leader in Pakistan people Party {Even Makhdoom amin fahim, Nisar Khoroo, Raza Rabbani} all are Bhuttos.
    In Sindh Bhutto doesn’t mean a Clan , its means a leader {a true Leader} of the people of Pakistan who they look up to, who gives them hope.
    thats why Mumtaz bhutto is not a Bhutto , Ghanwa bhutto Fatima Bhutto , Murataza Bhutto are not the Bhuttos in the eyes of the People of Sindh [and Pakistan} thats why inspite of being from Bhutto clan they cannt win a Single Seat from Sindh, While Zardari inspite being non Bhutto {as Race} is leader of the Largest Polical Party of Pakistan.

understand Bhutto doesn’t mean a Clan in PPP.

• Adonis said:

Jamaat-i-Islami can be accused of many things including colluding with military to undemine democratic governments but it can certainly not be blamed for separation of East Pakistan.

In addition to Muslim League, JI was the only party that had a significant presence in East Pakistan. At the height of indian sponsored insurgency when Mukti Bahini, the militia of awami league trained and armed by india, was massacring inncent non-bengalis and bengali supportesr of United Pakistan, tehre was no jone to protect them.

Army action had not started yet and army was in barracks. Police force had become non-existant. At that time, Al-Badr and Al-Shams were created to safeguard the lives of Pakistanis both bengalis and non-bengalis. These organizations were overwhelmingly manned by bengali workers of JI. Later on, during military action, they supported the army and fought Mukti Bahini.

These were the true patriots who risked their own lives whil etrying to save Pakistan.

Besides, if JI had been involved in killing of innocent bengalis then it could never have got such support as it presently has in bangladesh. It still gets more votes and seats in bangladesh than it gets in Pakistan.

• Kheshgi said:

Adonis – Good analysis on JI re: East Pakistan. As far as the last part of your message, they suffered the most in Pakistan due to rise of MQM in urban Sind. Karachi used to be strong base for them and now they are struggling to find a same level of support as it used to exist in pre-MQM era. I belive the poor leadership of Qazi has also contributed to the current status of JI.

• Fahim23 said:

Al-Badr and Al-Shams were created to “Safeguard the lives” but they end up raping and murdering people!

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Al-Badr_(East_Pakistan)

May be it is an exaggeration but it is said upto 200,000 to 400,000 women were “raped”! http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/1971_Bangladesh_atrocities

I at least cannot dare to call someone a ‘true patriot’ who is widely accused of organizing mass murders and rapes.

Being so called “Islamic Party” even today they operate with “Goon and Don” styles in Karachi and lahore. I don’t understand from where they learn Islam.

The point i was trying to make is that, the Bangladesh was created as an outcome of Military Dictatorship and lavishness and incompetance of Pakistan Army. If any political party that is directly involved in this breakup of country is JI not PPP. But never in my life I have heard anyone in Pakistan holding responsible for the creation of Bagladesh to JI! Sara nazla humesha Bhutto aur PPP per girta hay!

• Saqib said:

@Awais

Regardles of what you say. It is a fact that PPP is considered as a party created by a Bhutto, for the Bhuttos and MUST be run by a Bhutto. Names matters and obviously not politics.

Off course you cannot “take” any Bhutto as a leader. Your “democracy” is crippled to choose from certian Butto clan members whom you think have leadership credentials. You don’t have the capability to look beyond that. You see….THIS IS SAD that you REFUSE to use your common sense. If you had been using that then you would have shown that you are a true democratic party by having elections within the party and by NOT appointing anyone as a life time president/leader of the party. In other words PPP has dictatorial tendencies withing their own party. How can we expect them to promote democracy in PAK? By the way they are not alone in this hypocricy. Many other parties are just like that as well. :-)

• Adonis said:

Wikipedia can hardly be called an authentic source. Anybody including you and me can write anything on wikipedia. Even many bangladeshis now accept that the figures for rapes and killings generally quoted by awami leaguers are massively exaggerated. I have been in Bangladesh myself and can say without any doubt that there is no general ill-feeling in bangladesh against Pakistanis. In fact if they despise someone it is the indians, their so called liberators.

In any case, if Jamaat had committed those crimes it could never had such a vote bank in bangladesh.

JI does have its share of goons in karachi and lahore. I for one have never liked its policies. But one has to be fair while criticizing someone.

The reason that JI was never blamed for creation of bangladesh is pure and simple; it could not be blamed for it.

It had only five seats in the assembly elected as a result of 1970 elections. Awami League and PPP were the two main parties. Based on simple numbers, Awami League should have formed the government. It was PPP that opposed Awami League’s right to govern. It was PPP which opposed the holding of inaugural session of the assembly in Dhaka and refused to attend it. When teh army action started, it was Mr. Bhutto who said ‘ Thanks God Pakistan has been saved ‘.

Army rightfully gets most of the blame for separation of East Pakistan but Bhutto Sahib was a part of that military regime for 9 years. In fact he was one of the most active member of the regime and the second most publicly recognized face of teh regime after Ayub Khan. So if PPP gets some blame for creation of bangladesh, it is not without any basis.

@ Fahim23

You dont like Junejo’s association with Zia regime but why Bhutto’s association with Ayub regime does not bother you?

• gv said:

@Adonis

re: wikipedia; scroll to the bottom of the article and read the footnotes and source material

• Saqib said:

@Tab’an Khamosh

I am just making my assessment about FM’s real intentions with regard to the setup she is involved in right now. No Pakistan lover can have an alliance with a fascist party like MQM and PML-Q. That is exactly whatis the case between MQM and her mother’s party. I am against many other established parties as well, but that is a different level of discontent. Somehow they can be tolerated and influenced into some good actions for the betterment of Pakistan. In the case of MQM and PML-Q I just don’t have ANY hope of good actions. I see these parties as a threat to Pakistan’s existence. I see FM’s party linked to MQM it tells me that we should be VERY careful. IS FM a wolf in the disguise of a lamb? If it is true then we are in real trouble. The cocktail of FM (PPP) and MQM could turn out as true disaster for Pakistan and maybe lead us to some stage where there is no way back other than dismemberment Pakistan (God forbid that). I am aware of that she has not big support right now, but one never knows in PAK lota politics that someone gets an “idea” and wants to use the famous Bhutto name to score some cheap points/votes. So, my brother – in this case I would say that let the doubt go against her. We cannot gamble with our beloved Pakistan…never, inshallah!

• Fahim23 said:

@Adonis

Wow, Wikipedia too is not a reliable sources, How can you believe on books (so called History books) which are written by one person only and most of them just try to portray oneself as savior and accuse their personal enemies of everything that has happent on this earth from the days of Adam!

If you would have been aware of how wikipedia works, you would have not doubted its authenticity! Anyways, I don’t want to engage with you in this endless debate.

I can tell you number of quotes from books about the attrocities of Pak Army and its islamic extremists wings such as Razakars, Al-Badr and Al-Shams, which I’m sure you have courage to deny all those blatantly. So, it is useless. I don’t know from which part you are, but come in Sindh, Balochistan or NWFP, you will rarely hear anyone speaking ill for Pakistan, but DOES THAT MEAN THEY ARE NOT BEING SUPPRESSED. THEIR RIGHTS ARE NOT BEING CLEARLY VIOLATED??? We should know as Pakistanis, how the wealth of this country that is generated from smaller provinces is spent only in one part of the country which enjoy everthing good in Pakistan including Army, Establishment and Beaurocracy and rest only suffers or sacrifice.

About Junejo, I think it was you whom I told you that more I learnt about him, I couldn’t help but to appreciate his role in Zia’s Dictatorship. But even then if we try to analyze we cannot blame Bhutto much because, the dictatorship was the first time experience, and neither it was too brutal, and pakistan’s economy was progressing. Beside, Bhutto’s role in Ayub’s cabinet was remarkable, his foreign policy has been proved to be great impetus on the Kashmir Cause, Pak-China relations, Pak-Iran-Turkey economic pact and many other. When Bhutto saw ayub getting out of hands, he resigned from His cabinet.

But in the times of Junejo, Zia was a proven hypocrite, his main victims were Sindhis themselves, the MRD was started in Sindh and there are many martyrs of democracy in Sakrand and Khairpur form Sindh in Zia’s time. Most of the Sindhi intellectuals, politicians and professors were prisoned without any charge and still carry the stamps of Whipers given as gifts from Zia, on their backs. Junejo had better idea, what Dictatorship can do then Bhutto. But still, whoever side with Ayub (including Bhutto) in his dictatorship must be blamed.

Your argument that “if Jamaat had committed those crimes it could never had such a vote bank in bangladesh”…please excuse me but i can only term it as silly. I’m sure as a learned person you are aware of MQM’s role in Karachi. But how many seats it wins even today?

1971 elections were the tipping point of Bangladesh but it is not created merely due to 1971 elections, it has a long history of denial, dominations and exploitations committed by west pakistanis (mostly punjab) and JI has always played a B-team of Pakistan’s Army. Their actions in Bangladesh (even before the elections) are much more stronger then the words of Bhutto during the election period.

It is only anti-bhutto establishent and its allies in pakistan who has blamed Bhutto much more then his real crimes, as I said earlier he is made an escape goat. Sheikh Mujeeb-u-rehman himself attended the first Islamic conference on the invitation of Bhutto. The real culprits (Mullah and Military) are still ruining this country and no one even points fingers to them.

Apologies for too long message.

• Fahim23 said:

The reason that Pakistan Army and its B-teams are never blamed of anything is too very simple- They are dominating and ruling us!