Discuss: Respect as Pakistani

passport1.jpgAs a Pakistani outside Pakistan, are you respected today more than from Pre 12th October 1999?

- What makes you feel the difference?
- Are your foreign colleagues more concerned about Pakistan than before?
- Are you treated better at Airports and Immigration Counters?
- Being a Pakistani or of Pakistani origin made any impact on your employment or factors like background checks?

Please share your views below.

82 Comments »

To be honest, we have been ashamed of being a Pakistani after 1971 and again especially in the 80s. Till the 80s, we didn’t need visa for Europe/US etc but asylum from Zia’s atrocities made us suspicious.

Zia’s military regime sowed these seeds. It was Pakistani generals who first made us fodder of the US policy and introduced drugs and weapons.

Musharraf really made the matter worse. He is following Zia and again has made us fodder of the US. As a result, consequences are deadly despite the fact that Zia was following US sponsored Islam and Mush is following US pushed Secularism.

My colleagues used to talk about visiting Pakistan and were learning a few words of Urdu language. During last few years, they have stopped mentioning that. Now they talk about India as an exotic place. We can see that our bosses and colleagues are getting suspicious of Pakistanis. Where I work, we had 50 per cent Asian Employees (most of them Pakistanis). Now it is down to 20%. Every time a Pakistani leaves, they are replaced with someone else. I think employers are scared of us. Mush’s policies have painted us as terrorists.

After all such a bad publicity, I do not blame anyone else apart from our own Establishment, generals and dictators.

I don’t think any western employer is wrong when they do not give us jobs especially at airports etc. If I was not a Pakistani, I would have done the same.

3. Patriotic_Pakistani Says:
    February 10th, 2008 at 4:21 am

I would say wenever people ask us as to where r u from and V reply ‘Pakistan’ then they don,t say anything else except Ok.
    Years before they wud ask us about the culture and traditions etc. I must say I feel the difference after they know my country.

Boy you guys are a happy optimistic bunch arent you

5. Jamshed Khan Says:
    February 10th, 2008 at 5:56 am

The enemy of Pakistan is from within and not outside. ISI and a few Generals has hijacked Pakistan and the serve their outside masters more than their country. Zia set the path of destruction and Musharraf is going to materialize his dream. Even his mother will be ashame of him. Can you imagine Ijazul Haq, Shikeh Rashid and Choudrys of Gujrat , who will kiss even Laloo Parsad Ass for ministership are at the helm of Pakistan.Chodry Wajajat once said Musharraf has divine guidance. He said the same Phrase for the greatest Satan of all times, Gen Ziaul Haq. Pakistanis are waiting for Allah;

not at all. Pakistan is seen as a twin of afghanistan, and for many other reasons pakistan is mot looked upon as it should be. Sadly, many pakistanis abroad bad mouth pakistan and are more or less inspired by the indian ideology about pakistan; pakistanis especially from the south, but since this retarded general took over, pakistan’s image has taken a noose dive, even after so much conspiracies and intrigues, I consider pakistan’s existence no less than a miracle, may be God has good plans for it after all; after all i should have the freedom to be optimistic to think this much.

correct. pakistan has tainted its reputation and the inherent bias in the western media has added fuel to fire. i still am a proud pakistani living abroad. what saddens me is when i have to always talk about my country in the context of terrorism and lawlessness. The best we can ellicit from the “goras” when mentioning pakistan is a queery level indifference. That is sad indeed. our counterparts in India have made a much better name for themselves in the west purely by virtue of films and etc. I wonder where the pakistani govt. is when it comes to projecting a soft image of pakistan?

As to putting matters into context, according to international surveys the Americans are still the most hated people in the world. I dont know how much of a bearing that has on the average american, but certainly the US govt. through its policies has nt left americans holding a high head either.

we are trapped by the way the western media chooses to define pakistan, really not define i should say “malign” pakistan. There is almost a calculated effort to not mention Pakistan save for concerns regarding nuclear proliferation and terrorism.

No, two-Pakistanis seem to hold, a different opinion on this this topic, EXCEPT
    that, the ‘ worst ever ‘ treatment at international airports, is RESERVED for
    ONLY & ONLY, PAKISTANI !. There is a saying, that the TASTE of a PUDDING,
    is in EATING, ( or in tasting it. )

Whatever treatment was meted-out recently, to Pakistanis, Ch. Wajahat & friends, at London Airport, & to Abdul Sattar Eidhi at New York Airport, was ENOUGH OF TASTING of the PUDDING !

Take my word, if ANY of the ‘ GORA MASTERS ‘ from U.K, USA, or from any
    other ‘ GORA ‘ country,is EVER, SUBJECTED to STRIP-SEARCH(TAKING-OFF
    THEIR CLOTHES, ) HANDCUFFED & sent to a LOCAL PRISON for 24 Hours,
    & then DEPORTED BACK, to HIS / HER COUNTRY OF ORIGIN, then,NOBODY,
    ‘ KOI MAI KA LAL’ from those countries, WILL NEVER,EVER, AGAIN, MISTREAT
    US Pakistanis TILL another 50 years, or TILL THEIR CHILDREN or
    GRAND-CHILDREN GROW-UP, to SERVE at those airports.

IT’S, WE in PAKISTAN, i.e ; THOSE with SLAVISH MENTALITIES,are the
    ACTUAL ONES, who are, to be BLAMED ; whether these GUYS are sitting in their COZY,COMFORTABLE & SAFE SEATS, either in the President’s House ; the Foreign Office, or at the IMMIGRATION / ASF ( Airport Security Force ) /
    CUSTOMS COUNTERS, at our AIRPORTS.

Our NATIONAL POLICY, SHOULD BE, ‘ TIT FOR TAT ‘ & NEVER AGAIN ONE
    WOULD HEAR SUCH A COMPLAINT, by our Pakistanis.

Lastly, DID, U,READ, the NEWS,about the, ‘HIGH & MIGHTY’ who,accompanied
    Musharaf to London recently, WERE MISTREATED at the London AIRPORT,
    in the SAME MANNER, by their ‘ GORA MASTERS ‘ EXCEPT, MUSHARAF
    himself, his WIFE, & his personal SECRETARY, Maj; Gen; Rashid Quershi
    (Retarded.

Those who were amongst the ‘ MOST-MISTREATED ‘ where reported in the
    press, a Care-Taker Ministers, serving & (RETARDED ) JURNAILS, & the security staff in the President’s ENTOURAGE ?

WHAT A SHAME for AL:L THESE PAKISTANI GUYS. REALLY A SHAME !

Any COMMENTS, please ?

Jitna Musharraf nay khud Pakistan ko badnam kiya hai western world mein - no one has gone ever to that extent

1. He has portrayed us that we are a nation of extremists and we dont deserve democracy, human rights or rule of law
    2. We only respect danda from army and psychopaths like him
    3, Our women wish to be raped so that they can get asylum in USA and Canada (the famous case of Mukhtaran Mai)
    4. All political parties except MQM and Q league are corrupt and do not deserve any respect
    5. The biggest corrupt of all is Ifkithar Chaudhry

But the saddest thing is that UK , France and USA goverments are behind him because they dont give a damn to Pakistani nation - they only need the job to be done and they want Afghanistan to be settled so that they can concentrate on Iran

Above all - we as a nation are losing on morals and we are afraid to say right as right and wrong as wrong and most ahead of these are Mullahs as represented by Maulana Fazl ur Rehman.

The best example of how shabbily we are being treated is the latest Scotland Yard report on Benazir assassination which is nothing but a pack of lies

Guys they say there was an 9 inch escape route and not a sunroof on the car. If you have seen BB on that day - she looked physically heavy because she was wearing a bullet proof jacket on that day - do you think she would have managed to come out of a 9 inch wide hole like that - whom are they trying to make a fool of.

And how are they sure there was only one person -

They are not Gods and they were brought in by Musharraf only after they had already assured him of the results and that was to quieten the people and they had to do this job before elections so that this issue is buried once for all.

I have a sun roof in my car - I cannot go out of it - how could she - so obviously it was bigger so that she could come out and she was standing out and waving at the crowd - so lets say that it was the blast that killed her then how come she didnt sustain any injury below the head because obviously the whole of the body must have moved the opposite way by the impact of the blast.

This theory is a totally nonsense theory.

Unfortunately Pakistan and Pakistanis has very little respect as a nation, but it is my impression that we are also recognised as intelligent individuals. We have proved that when we work under a dicplined society with rule of law then we can work fine and make positive results. The same people act quite differently when they are back in Pakistan, where the establishment has screwed up the whole system. Pakistanis are used to grab whatever is possible because if you follow the rules then you might end up as a “looser” i.e. a person with very little possesions.

Unless we stop the decline of rule of law then we are doomed as a nation….God forbid that. We have still time to go in the right direction, but this time is running out and that too in a fast speed. We need to have fair and free elections. The Military and other ghundas (especially MQM and PML-Q and to some extent PML-N and PPP) need to be brought to justice for their crimes against the Pakistani nation.

Before we ask about being respected (or not) as a “Pakistani”

We have to ask an even more fundamental and critical question:

What/Who is a Pakistani? What is a Pakistani Identity?

Ask Edhi how he feels.

Ask any ordinary person how he feels.

Sadly, India is being recognised with China and International powers. Pakistan is being recognised with Afghanistan and Iraq.

Before 2000, both countries were considered equal. Now the World says: no comparison at all.

If we believe in the justice of God then whatever is happeneing with Pakistan and Pakistanis it is absolutely justified. Pakistan is merely a crowd of white and dollar worshipping hypocrites. If we tell our children that we should be proud to be Pakistanis, the next question would be “proud of what?”. What were our ancestors achievements?
    Without being emotional, beginning from Liaqat Ali Khan, can we name one single leader who was sincere with this crowd who called themselves as Pakistanis. It is over 60 years of hard work that has brought us down to the bottom of the list.
    My friends it takes generations for nations to establish trust and command respect. Unfortunately, right now we stand nowhere, rightnow we are at the freefall stage. Only God knows when this freefall ends and something begins in the positive direction. But one thing is for certain, it would not happen in our lifetime at least.

14. true_blue_pakistani Says:
    February 10th, 2008 at 2:32 pm

In the west, people are not going to give a dam about your nationality if you develop your credbility and trust with the people around you. Don’t blame all pakistanis for the actions of some idiots. If you want to earn respect from others then first you should respect yourself.Only then would others give you any importance. I am not at all disillusioned. I believe good will always overcome evvil no matter how hard it is.

@ true_blue_pakistani

Credibility as a country is important as well. No one thinks that a US citizen will overstay his visa and work illegally because the USA provides opportunities. Everyone knew that we are not very rich but Musharraf’s government has made us terrorism suspects as well.

They have credibility and we have to develop that because our country is proving us other way round.

You didn’t mention the credibility Abdul Sattar Edhi had developed. It was his country that let him down. He has done what no ordinary person can ever achieve.

Well said Optimist, National credibility has a significant impact on individual credibility. Here we have to struggle and show that YES, I am a Pakistani BUT I am NOT the ONE……… what you guys are thinking about.

What a shame……….Such a hard working, peaceful and intellegent community abroad are facing credibility issues due to their corrupt Dictators at home.

I remember the day when Musharaf said to a gathering in NY that our women intentionally arrange their RAPE so they can get visa for western countries. Those days I could show my face in the university.

Ali

17. Moon_of_14th Says:
    February 10th, 2008 at 3:41 pm

Dear Brothers & Sis, its time to save Pakistan, else we’ve lost it already.
    If we still keep blaming each other, so we can’t do anything to save Pakistan.
    For God sake, plz stop suicide attacks, it is against Islam to kill the Muslims.

Thanks and Jazaak-Allah

Since Nov 3 lots of people show respect for the way civil society has stood up to dictatorship, particularly the lawyers’ movement. People are more curious about our country now that the myth has been broken that Pakistan is Musharraf who is good and the rest of Pakistan which is bad. The lawyers’ movement and the images flashed around the world have changed perceptions for the better. Pakistan’s media has helped tremendously and they themselves have gained a lot of respect internationally.

Musharraf and his henchmen have spent the last nine years defaming and debasing Pakistan, proving to the western world that pakistanis are dangerous, illiterate fanatics who are coming to get them. And only Musharraf can save the west from 160 million evil Pakis. That myth has been broken. All credit and kudos to civil society, lawyers, media, students and those standing up to dictatorship, beatings and intimidation.

We, the overseas Pakistanis are ambassadors of Pakistan. Pakistan’s civil society is counting on us to carry their message of democracy and peace far and wide. Lets not disappoint them.

9/11 and 7/7 bombong introduced pakistan to the commen people in west,although after Afghan war and our weak registration polices made Pakistan a market where any one can get identity card and passport, later people traveled on these documents arrested carring drugs and declared them as Pakistanis.
    Security agencies failure and lack of central citizen registration polices along with poor economic growth and feeling of insecurity played a vital role,although new computerised Id cards and passport will help pakistani people to prove their identity, but it will take some time.
    My personal experience is that west became more aware and a bit scared of Pakistanis.

@true_blue_Pakistani
    Nations always earn respect as well as well as disrespect by the action of only a few and never by the entire population.

@Optimist
    There are more mexicans who overstay with visas and come to U.S. illegally but have they attained the same disrespectful status as Pakistanis have? No, not atall. Then why Pakistanis? The answer is (to put it very briefly) simple, we are such idiots that if and when we do wrong, we do in the name of our religion and also brag about it.
    On a personal note, when I was a teenage student in U.S. I found jews to be much trustworthy then my own true muslim Pakistanis.
    This is how character of a nation or a society or a religion takes shape.
    Today, I have more trust in jews promise with handshake than a Pakistani muslim who promises with ‘allah ki kasam’.
    In Pakistan, wherever you go you have to face bribery, extortion and nepotism. These are the things what people around the world associate us with and rightfully so.

It is a country for a few and by a few. I dont blame the poor, who dont see any trustworthy leader who whom they can sacrifice their livlihoods to stand, so I dont blame a poor man for selling his vote for Rs. 500 under the current inflationary circumstances.
    Like I said earlier, if we have any faith in God, Pakistan is rightfully getting what it deserves. It deserved a tyrant like Musharraf, it deserved a vagabond Shaukat and it deserves a low life Shujaat.
    Despite everything, we still refuse to learn and continue doing the same and wait for Allah to change our circumstances.

Generally ,we are recognised /considered and identified as Indians by masses and not as a Pakistani Holder of. Green Passport reflects ,either as a terrorist or as an unwanted element .

22. Jamshed Khan Says:
    February 10th, 2008 at 6:47 pm

Just to set the record straight, and every Pakistani is crystal Clear about the fact that the 2002 Elections in NWFP and Baluchistan were rigged by ISI in the favor of MMA (Mullah Military Alliance). Qazi of Jamiat and Mulana of JUI are paid men of ISI and have always worked for Military junta. The prblems in NWFP and Baluchistan are the blessing of Allah for ISI and military Generals because that’s exactly what they want. One more thing, if Atal Bihari Wajapi comes to pakistsan and takes the rein, Q-Lagues will kiss his ASS five time a day. If we have to survive as a nation we have to acknowledge this harsh FACT, accept it and starts working to resolve it , otherwise we are doomed to vanish….

We are not ashamed as Pakistanis, those people should be ashamed who have been dictating the rule since all these years and those countries in the west supporting them who have been carrying the flag of democracy.

Jasmine Rafique
    http://pkfocus.blogspot.com

And yes one more thing… I think Musharraf should hang his boots and call it a day, he may call himself a civilian president but amazingly he still have his office in GHQ.

Go Musharraf Go!!!

Jasmine Rafique

25. mypkpoliticsaccount Says:
    February 10th, 2008 at 8:08 pm

Respect and being Pakistani doesn’t go side by side anywhere in the world. West and Pakistanis should be equally blamed for this. Some of pakistanis portray themselves as beggers, liars and thieves in their day to day dealings. This needs to be changed … 180 degree turn right away…. Our respect depends on Allah’s mercy and that would come with repentance and taking positive approach towards our way of life. When I say ‘our’, it includes country’s leadership as well.

West has kept immigrants in this state by their policies, including not providing fair job opportunities. It seems that they need immigrants for most of their labour intensive work and that too unfortunately through recruiters. West, which promotes just and transparent system for other countries, itself promotes preference system on the basis of race and color. Most of immigrants with high level of education are doing odd jobs for their livelihood just because preference goes to their own people. Recruiters are big time looters and unfortunately they are the only gateway for immigrants to get a decent job. Which is frustrating to most of immigrants especially Pakistanis.

Personally, I think leaders like Nawaz Sharif and Imran Khan can lead the nation out of this situation and can fight intellectually for nations self-respect which would give a confidence boost to our nation. On the other hand pakistani people need to change the way they think and way they deal with others. Education should be promoted at every level. More competition we have better will be our future. This doesn’t mean people should stop helping others. My prayer is that Allah shows all pakistanis way to achieve ULTIMATE goal (Jannat).

Before 1999, we were known as poor immigrants. Everyone knew that we are not very rich but Musharraf’s government has made us terrorism suspects as well.

Abdul Sattar Edhi had everything. It was his country that let him down. He has done what no ordinary person can ever achieve. It was image of the country, developed as a result of dictators, that is letting us down.

@ Jamshed Khan I agree with you. Army and it’s intelligence agencies are responsible for the mess we are in. Army will do anything to keep Pakistan as national security state - blasts, killings, riots. This way they can justify their heavy pay checks. If we have to fix problems in Pakistan we have to get rid of this corrupt military bureaucracy.

As for the main question, I would say we are in far worst condition at the moment. I recently visited Pakistan and when I was making plans everyone here (in US) was surprised and asked “Are you sure you want to such a dangerous place?” I lived most of my life in Pakistan and have been visiting it regularly since I moved, but never in my life I felt so insecure in my own country. Funny thing is bomb explodes, people die only when it suits the government! Most of the so-called Army targeted blasts headlines read: blast near army convey or check post x number of civilians dead!! Take a guess!!!

28. Other Pakistan Says:
    February 10th, 2008 at 8:26 pm

Answers for all questions put are that today Pakistanis the world over and me included are tainted like never before.The recent treatment handed out to the great Edhi saab is just one example.

Without doubt the Mush of ‘Pakistan First’ (itself a lie!)is to blame for he has created a climate the world over where Pakistanis are last. But fear not for he will be out very soon, the clock is ticking , tick …. tick … tick

Wasim
    http://www.otherpakistan.org/archive.html

Well, there is change in the attitude and it is natural. Pakistan is almost daily in the news of West:-), it is not presented in positive sense though. However what i have learnt from this expereince is that we are getting more alert and we have started to think about problems and solutions more seriously.

No one must be happy at what has been happening in our far and near history but i feel what is happening was bound to happen since our nation never really developed and got independent and alert. These shocks have tought us many lessons and we must learn from them positively and quickly. I have noticed that Pakistani abroad are now more serious and determined about country. Problems must make us stronger and wiser and not disappointed, i feel.

One thing i really don’t like by my country fellows and that is disappointment, it really hurts when someone of us says nothing good can happen with Pakistan now, why not?. We are not first nor the last people who are in difficult situation, almost all nations have been experiencing such situations at some stage of their existence. There were many wars and bloodshed in Europe but they learnt and went forward positively.

So disappointment and unnecessary hue and cry is no solution to any problem. INSHALLAH, Pakistan will have a good future. We have to stay stronger,planned, active, brave and patient in all conditions, that is what is our responssibility.

May Allah help and guide us.

my opinion.

The fact is that Europeans do not have much respect for foreign workers, no matter from where they are. They look at them as intruders and blame them for all of their social problems. So, when they are served with any additional negative propaganda, they use it for justifying their attitude towards foreigners. They may be friendly and kind with visiting foreigners, but not to those, who get settled in their beloved country in big numbers and enjoy what they (or their ancestors) have earned as the result of their hundreds of years struggles.

Generally they give a damn about, what is going on in the “third world”, which, in any way, they regard as third rate, uncivilized and underdeveloped nations. Of course there are exceptions. Those who personally know you, treat you differently, and may treat you as friend or colleague. In that case, you are respected as an individual and what your State is doing does not effect on their feelings for you.

What our internal situation is really damaging, is the trust of business community and tourists. Since the invasion of Soviet Union in Afghanistan, people have been considering Pakistan as an unsafe place for doing business with or for visiting. Every now and then, some disturbing events have been happening either in the region or in Pakistan itself. Sad part is that our embassies have never been active in promoting Pakistan in the world, not only in West but also in Middle East. Even in Arab countries, you can still find peoples who consider Pakistan as part of India. Contrary to this Indian embassies have always been very active in their public relation, spending their efforts, time and dollars.

I proud to be a Pakistani. I feel so proud by representing my country among my friends, co-workers, and my seniors.

There are always ups & down for each country. There are many differences between a pakistani and a foreigner. However, my identitiy is my culture, traditions and acts.

Abroad, people might have some concerns but when you explain them the real story, they do believe and understand the problem we are going through. This problem is not just because of our leaders but also from many leaders from other countries.
    Many people care about your personal attitude and behavior rather than assuming anything on the behalf of your country.
    I guess we should work on and improve our attitude towards local people anywhere outside of Pakistan. Things will be fins Inshallah.

32. true_blue_pakistani Says:
    February 10th, 2008 at 11:46 pm

whatever happened to Abdul sattar edhi was indeed very unjust. But he has dual citizenzhip. there are many pakistani who have had good experiences of living in the west so you can’t use edhi’s example to declare this is what happens to everybody who’s a pakistani.

I think problem of Edhi is being blown out of proportion. Edhi was being suspected for his residency status due to his green card. It was a simple immigration related case.

To earn respect from others, you have to have respect for yourself.

Now, we need to ask ourselves this question: Do we act and behave, in our daily lives as a nation and/or citizens (do we even know what that means?) who respect themselves?

And respect for oneself doesn’t mean singing Pakistan Zindabad all the time. I mean.. when we see something wrong, do we fix it? Do we treat public property as _our_ property? Do we steal just because no one is watching? Do we have a sense of a social contract (Islamic or non-islamic)

Looking at our daily lives as a nation, we see that we have NO respect for ourselves. This is why our Jurnails treat us like shit, our Feudals (Urban or Rural) treat us like shit, and we just take it. Then we go around treating other Pakistani’s as shit. Praying five times a day, calling every one a “brother” or “bhai” and at the same time stabbing them in the back. Being criminally silent when we see the excess of one against the other.

So this national attitude permeates our selves and our psych and now other nations have figured out that what Pakistan has is “Vulture Culture”. Most are not vultures, but if they don’t act like vultures, they won’t get to eat, and what is the “dead body” ? Well, the motherland itself of course! Yes, the one we CROW about all friggin day long.

So there you have it, we don’t act and behave honourably, and other nations have figured out that most of us are either vultures or hyenas . We like to think of ourselves as “iqbaal kay shaaheens” but we will dive from 10,000 feet if we saw a little piece of “murdaar” somewhere (just in case).

So, NO, others don’t respect us because WE don’t respect ourselves. The thoughts, actions, and deeds of those with self respect and honour are different from those without, and others recognize it instinctively. This is why they treat us like shit, and first of all we have NO CLUE that we are being treated like shit, and even if we figure out, we are too stupid and illiterate to properly formulate a response. So we watch ourselves being abused and take it for granted because we have been conditioned for it since early childhood. Like the inhabitants of stalinist/maoist regimes were.

So, this is the makeup of our society: we have the vultures, the hyenas, the forced-to-be-vultures, the sheep, and the cop-out artist religious fetishist. For the Islamic cop-out fetishists, everything is Allah kaa Azaab, if only you grew your beard a couple inches longer, and blamed yourself for not being extremist enough, every thing would turn out just honky-dori! They do a good job of either keeping the sheep in check for the vultures and hyenas, or turning the sheep into some bizzarre suicidal nuts for whatever purposes.

So, start respecting yourselves, and everyone else will respect you. It is a psychological thing. Some countries benefited from the events, we not only sacrificed the most, but got treated like shit and abused the most (because we deserve it you see. Allah kaa azaab hai bhai…)

Our attitude towards Pakistani citizens is dreadful. It is right that we need to respect our citizens.

Imran Khan was interrogated at US airports for hours just because he was a Pakistani Passport holder.

Just holding a Pakistani passport has become a crime in recent years, mainly thanks to Musharraf.

A very good article on attitude of Mush’s allies (Qenchi league). They have not learnt anything from their sons’ experiences.

Read what they said in press conference in London. They asked British Government to stop asking Pakistan to respect human rights instead of agreeing to change their attitude after bad experience:

http://jang.com.pk/jang/feb2008-daily/11-02-2008/col11.htm

Pakistani people have the biggest wealth ……” IMAN”.

Even the wealthest person in this world can not be compared with a poorest Pakistani.

Plz respect this wealth, before too late!

The Loss of Respect has nothing to do with “Pre 12th October 1999″ as it was just a continuation of the statu quo.

The turning point was 911 in particular & initally drug-trafficking by Afghanis on Paki Passports also damaged the Paki people living abroad.

As a Pakistani outside Pakistan, are you respected today more than from Pre 12th October 1999?
    Sorry to say but green passport was subjected to the most disrespect before Oct 12, 1999. Later it has become an embarrassment to carry a green passport. And the cause is our govenment. If you do not believe me than see why was Chaudry detained at UK airport…

- What makes you feel the difference?
    We as Pakistani are subjected to more harrassment inside and outside the country… if not then why evry one who has a little chance applies for the immigration???

- Are your foreign colleagues more concerned about Pakistan than before?
    Well yes they are concerned but they have interaction with a limited group of Pakistani people. Asked the opressed what they feel..

- Are you treated better at Airports and Immigration Counters?
    Well have to carry the passport in the purse and produce at the counter so no one sees it. Being Pakistani and Muslim do make the forigners give us a second look.

- Being a Pakistani or of Pakistani origin made any impact on your employment or factors like background checks?
    Yes….. every one thinks that we are TALIBANs or related to them…..
    Thanks to Mush for our treatment like a piece of garbage for the forigners. They feel it is there right to take us aside and have a long question answer session…..
    GEENAY DO MUSHARRAF

40. khawerchaudry Says:
    February 11th, 2008 at 1:11 pm

Dear All, I do agree that we are in trouble due to our establishment, Generals and corrupt politicians due to which we cant say proudly to other nations that “We are Pakistani”. But same time if you just take a minute to think that not only our TOP’s but we our self as individuals did so many wrog things that other nationalities now look on every Pakistani as suspect.
    In middle east especially prisons are full of Pakistanis, illegal stay, murder, frauds, theft, rape and drug smuggling are common charges, all these things also play part.
    We should not blame only Army, politicians and establishment but we too have to change our attitude, behaviour and sicerety for the employers and for the law of living country so that we can gain back our position of early 80’s or 70’s when every one was demanding Pakistani manpower.

I think before we expect respect from outsiders we need to respect eachother inside Pakistan. Unfortunately due to intentional propoganda from our political leaders a rift is being created between Panjabis and Sindhis or among other provinces.

Altaf Hussain of MQM does’t let go a single incident pass by where he doesn’t try to hurt the federation. Just a few weeks back he wrote a letter to Sindhis ’sobbing’ the death of Mohterma BB. Now all of sudden he is asking questions to federation why Mohajirs are not given jobs in Pak army and police. He is out ther to hurt pakistan.
    http://www.jang.com.pk/jang/feb2008-daily/11-02-2008/main2.htm

WTF? what about the two martial law administrators? Were they not muhajirs and not supported BY muhajir organizations (JI & MQM) to the hilt?

that is just dis-ingenuous.. I didn’t expect it from Altaf Hussain… bahut buraa kiya.. aisay naheeN kehna chaahi’yay thaa!

you see he is already talking about the breakup.. he thinks he’ll get to have Sindh.. HE”S FRIGGIN DREAMING MAN!

Recent survey about Republican Institute Washington: 81% Pakistanis want Mush to resign.

Well I’ve always been respected and welcome with a smile from the people. By the way I am a Common-Man like many others :)
    I think appearance also matters, if you are educated it looks from your faces. please dont get me wrong that others aren’t educated. But it’s my opinion.

Jasmine Rafique

And yes,,, I haven’t been the part of that survey who wants MUSH to resign and I also want him to resign so I think it makes it more than 81% i guess :)

Jasmine Rafique

Will Mush listen?
    Resigning for Mush means to leave country and exile. He has too many enemies in Pakistan.

48. malikshabbir@gmail.com Says:
    February 11th, 2008 at 8:43 pm

yaar i feel very upset and very pasimistic after reading these reviews…
    well in my 2years experience in uk i believe most of the prejodice is in my/our minds yes there r many people who do undermine us/me as pakistani but “asi fir ke karey” what do a poet say “kya badnaam na hongay tu kya nam na hoga”…
    Also “If u can’t be famous be infamous”
    so mari jan kay totoo take a chill pill and get Dheeth like me..
    cause i can’t do anything against Mush and the generals…
    So demagh ko thanda rakh ker or jabat ko side pay rakh kay socho and try to participate ur part or dosroon say tawaqa mat lagaoo…kayoon kay every country has its own interests and its there right…
    Also let us see what is our behaviour with our Afghani brothers in pak..
    do we give them same rights as we give to our own citizan…

I love jamhoriyat because it gives me/us rights and is only the way for pakistan…and we can only gain peace by itshelp..Inshallah things will be absolutly fine…and i am optimistic..lets not lose hope..

Allah Please take care of my pakistan and my countrymen and specially Women

Cheers

49. malikshabbir@gmail.com Says:
    February 11th, 2008 at 8:46 pm

@Jasmine
    Well I’ve always been respected and welcome with a smile from the people. By the way I am a Common-Man like many others

u look more like a women to me by name…Please clearify…

Regards to All my Hardwoking overseas pakistani and u
    Cheers Khush rahoo

50. Ultra_Nationalist Says:
    February 11th, 2008 at 9:57 pm

Please read this!!!!!!!

I was in my university to get Letters of Recommendation from my profs and I heard a professor of Political Science taking to some students about Pakistan. This professor who was one time an Ambassodor to USSR in the 19970-80s knows inside out about Pakistan. He said that and I quote ” Pakistan is America’s Boogie Boy”. An asian student asked what does that mean. Prof said ‘Something like a TART”. I went home and looked up for the meaning. Tart means Prostitute.

Pakistan is West’s Prostitute. They come to us when they need to get something done pay us some money and zip their pants and go back. He is sooo right.

musharraf doesnt feel humiliated enough to leave the stage yet… he needs more rotten tomatoes thrown at him… but he will go or he will be thrown out soon; we just need to get up and kick him where it really hurts.. he has brought nothing but disgrace to Pakistanis living abroad.. This shameless traitor with an american leech around his neck and heartless killer of innocent Pakistanis deserves the worst treatment ever given by gestapo or kgb to the double agents…

and Mr @malikshabbir”@gmail.com”
    u should be ashamed of urself… u dont seem to have any self respect at all… if u r impotent enough not to do anything good, then u r at the wrong place… u should take a “chill pill” and go into a rem sleep… and plz dont ask others to follow suit

——

May Allah protect our country from enemies both “foreign” and domestic. Amen

Since 9/11, I have travelled once abroad, to Pakistan, and before boarding the plane, I was asked by a Pakistani security man - after looking at my passport - to come out of the boarding line. Aparently, he did that because in my then current passport, there was no Visa stamped. I showed him my expired passports and he appologize and let me board the plane without any further inconvenience. Upon my return to the US, I had no hassle at the immigration after showing my Green passport.

I have travelled a few times within US, since 9/11, and I would say that I was asked to step out of the boarding line - for a random search - about 15 - 20% and that has nothingn to do with the Green passport. This pattern was more common about a few years ago than now.

The way I see it is that we, as embassadors of Pakistan, need to educate people and show them the other side of the story which their media does not show. I have found BBC coverage much superior than any US new channel. I frequently forward articles from our newspapers or even from NY Times or Washington Post which depict the true pictue of the country and circumstances to my US colleagues here. I try and take every opportunity to tell my US colleagues how misleading their media is and how it never tells the whole story. I believe that this is something that we can keep doing and something that the SOB(Mush) can not control.

53. malikshabbir@gmail.com Says:
    February 11th, 2008 at 11:56 pm

@Human

yaar lovely…Maaza aagaya …what a demonstration of democrazy..

buddy honestly speaking u havent read my view correctly, do u want me to be upset, get depressed like u and many other guys…
    ok i am.. be happy..

mark my words
    YOU CAN’T BEAT UR ENIMIES BY GETTING EMOSTIONAL LETS BE RATIONAL..

i am very anti mush and very impressed by imran khan..

54. comment-top

@Ultra_Nationalist: That pretty much describes the “friendship” Pakistan has had with America and the west in general. We can thank our jurnails for this not to mention the douchbag feudals and the enablers (the religious parties).

55. farhanarif7 Says:
    February 12th, 2008 at 2:22 am

Pakistan is my country, my identity, my origins. it will never change. Realistically speaking, many of us might have been “Randomly selected” for a security check every time we enter an airport, like I have more than 80 percent of the times I travel in/ out of Aussieland. My workplace is the same, it used to be a place with a rich culture and beautiful high mountains, now it is where all the suicide bombers are, and the Taliban’s backyard. Still, it is our own duty to clean up our houses when they get dirty, isnt it? When my mother gets sick, do i move to another city, or do I run around from hospital to hospital carrying her in my arms if required, to find the best possible doctors and treatment for her? Pakistan is (hopefully) dear to us like our mothers. We will all do what we can, for as long as we live to achieve the great heights it is destined for. I am proud of my mother even if she is sick. I am proud of my Pakistan, and responsible to fix its problems.

farhan

56. hassanshahab Says:
    February 12th, 2008 at 2:59 am

To be honest i am waiting for a day when Pakistani’s will be declared refugees so that i can call whole of my family & extended family overseas.

57. comment-top

some of the acitivity of MQM in Karachi.

Last night too 60/70-armed workers of MQM surrounded the Pak Colony residence of Sathi Ishaq PPP candidate from NA 247 and his younger brother Shabbir Qureshi PPP candidate from PS 92. Both the PPP candidates were out on the campaign but their old father was brought out, was threatened and abused in the most filthy language. When the people of the locality rushed to the spot a ready excuse was made that MQM banners and posters had been torn. People told the MQM militants that if that had really happened they should go to the Election authorities with their complaint. They had no business surrounding the residence of the PPP candidates. Vastly outnumbered they militants went away using foul and filthy language. The real facts as reported again and again in Dhandli Namas are that MQM has been tearing up PPP flags, banners and posters not only in this constituency but in other areas too.

Shahid Kinnare

58. comment-top

whoever wrote this article That “Respect as a Pakistani before 1999″. Well, I believe that Pakistanis were not respected since it was known that this country has fundamental roots of Islam. Now why is that is a different debate.
    If the author is trying to pretend that since the army coup of 1999 and since Musharraf came into power, the respect of a Pakistani has decreased then it is not the case. People abroad recognized Musharraf as a big leader, not just an army personnel. What do you think your uneducated ministers before 1999 were able to even speak a single sentence in front of a world community. Nobody even knew that where the Pakistan was on the Map. Pakistanis are disrespected because of the the continuous support of extremism in Pakistan. Now if it is right or wrong, thats a different issue but in my opinion, more people get to know Pakistan after Musharraf came into Power. Here the write is trying to misguise the readers that maybe Pakistanis got disrespected due to Musharraf government which is not the case at all. Do your own research and go out and ask people and get your answer. Don’t believe in these Media personnel who must be on somebody payroll and writing these kind of false articles. Thanks.

59. comment-top

Millions of people in the west don’t even know that Pakistan is a separate country than Afghanistan. They think that Afghanistan is somehow connected with Pakistan. I don’t know why our government even chose to support afghans at any point. There were never our friends and they will not be our friends ever. They didn’t even support the creation of Pakistan. They didn’t recognized us in UN. And we became their big brohters and tried to solve their internal matters and in the end, we are in a big mess in the form of suicide bombings and civil war inside the country. Anyways, It is better to say that you are from Hawaii then to say that you are from Pakistan.

60. comment-top

I think that since we think about China as a good friend of Pakistan, we should give Pakistan as a gift to China republic for few years and let them build Pakistan. This is the only way you can get rid of these crook politicians, criminal army and generals and unfaithful beaurocracy including the lawyers and judges. There is a need of a big change in Pakistan and I believe that at present, no figure in Pakistan including Mullahs can bring prosperity to Pakistan. I don’t how to initiate this movement but somebody gotta privatize Pakistan.

61. comment-top

If you have so much venom against Pakistan why dont you leave Pakistan and stay outside for ever. Pakistan will be a much better place without the likes of you.

62. comment-top

@ hassanshahab

your hopes are very mean. you want Pakistan to get a refugee status just to get visa for you and your family? how pathetic.

I have a suggestion for you. get your parents insured and then get them killed. this way you will get a lot of money as well. This suggestion is only for people like you.

63. comment-top

What each & every Pakistani, has said above, SEEMS TO HAVE COME DEEP DOWN FROM THEIR HEARTS. Everybody SOUNDS BADLY HURT, regarding, WHAT is happening IN, or TO, this country.

I tend to FULLY AGREE with what ‘ Prometheus ‘ ( the Greek mythological TITAN )
    & Ta’ban Khamosh, as well as, what others have said above.

NOTHING could be MORE NEARER TO TRUTH !

64. ajnabi larki from canada Says:
    February 12th, 2008 at 10:29 am

ahaaaaaaaaaa , jaldd hee main canadian passport lay loon gee. buss Allaah rehamm karay apna.

65. comment-top

I am Pakistani and will die inshallah as a Pakistani, too. I am proud of my country no matter what if it is passing through a hard time.

I don’t ever shy to tell any of my new collegue in West that I am a Pakistani. I respect them and they do to me.

66. malikshabbir@gmail.com Says:
    February 12th, 2008 at 4:57 pm

@Optimist for @ hassanshahab

Dear in democrazy everybody has right to express…let my friend @ hassanshahab decide for himself.. u don’t need to be angry on him, i personaly don’t agree with him but i have learned tolerence from democrazy..so we are free to express arent we?…
    i love democrasy because it brings tolerence..it against impossing things on others…

Love democrasy Love Freedom..

67. malikshabbir@gmail.com Says:
    February 12th, 2008 at 8:00 pm

@zeeshan673

Man ur really funny…what worth laughing commint…
    tumps up

68. comment-top

Never felt sorry for being a Pakistani. Yes, but i do feel disappoited when i see the dire state of Pakistan. I never shy away telling my fellows that i am a Pakistani. I always say, Pakistan is a wonderful, beautiful country but in hands of very wrong people.

69. comftably.numb Says:
    February 12th, 2008 at 11:02 pm

Ocotber 12th 1999????? what an entirely stupid set of questions aimed at making pakistan seem worse after mush came to power … NO ONE KNEW WHERE PAKISTAN WAS UNTIL September 11th…. since then its been bad at airports for all …. mush had nothing to do with it …. in fact it the image of pakistan has gotten better because of our support for amreeka …. absolutely useless forum

70. comment-top

lol……I envy people like “comftably.numb” who live in their own world and have little idea of the other world.

71. comment-top

@ comflably.numb

spellings in your user name are wrong. make it comFORTABLY.DUMB.

72. comment-top

@ malik.mubashir

malik sahib you find many people funny and you know a lot about democracy. we don’t find you funny. It is my democratic right as well to discuss and criticise others. Don’t preach us democracy. You should practice democracy yourself. if you are not happy (you seem happy with ‘funny’ & ‘maza aa gaya comments’), then there are many things you can do. To start with, you can Stick to your G.mail account and receive funny emails.

73. comment-top

salaam bros…who said we have bad image in west and goras hated us hey guys
    no one hate us we have not the same respect as before but believe me I am living in germany for 4 years and i never face any problem or hate from any german in the university or anywhere BUT I swear to Allah I face hatred and discrimination as a “Karachi Wala” und as a “Urdu Speaking” from our own Pakistani brothers in germany and all over. I can’t understand that why we all as a Pakistani hate each other….in my opinion we have to change ourselves first as a true pakistani and then blame goras…I know western media talk only shit about pakistan and believe me guys gora knows that. first our people have to change thierselves and learn from jews how they live and like each other …..
    I laugh when I hear from “Non Karachi Wala” comment on Karachi Wala…
    I am a Pakistani I love Pakistan and I love all Pakistanis…..
    Allah save our beautiful country ….Insha Allah.

74. comment-top

@Sucha_Pakistani

Here is suggestion from a Punjabi to a Karachi brother :-)

If you want respect then you must create the environment. I suggest you change your name asap. You must know that “paki” is derogatory towards Pakistan. It is better if you use Sucha_Pakistani as your nickname.

75. proud pakistani Says:
    February 13th, 2008 at 8:40 pm

thants for suggy lol…….and please which environment r u talking about I think u didn’t get my point bro.

76. comment-top

Anybody else notice a rash of new MQM supporter logins recently? Seems like an email went out or something… I have no problem but I have YET to see a single guy openly support MQM… It’s like going to heera-mandi.. no-one wants to admit it ..

BTW, the Urdu translation for United Province (UP) is “Soobah MuttaHiddah”

No connection, just an observation.

77. proud pakistani Says:
    February 13th, 2008 at 8:51 pm

@Saqib Bhai

r u talking about that environment that recently created by Taban khamosh????
    I am Sorry

78. comment-top

@Proud pakistani

Please raise the level of debate. No need to get personal. If you want to have succes then you have to use decent language and logic in your arguments. Otherwise it is waste of time.

79. comment-top

I live in Montreal Canada. I can not complain about the treatment we receive, on the contrary I would say that people show sympathy for our families and friends back home. Very often the first question asked whenever Pakistan is in the news is “How is your family back home?.

I been living here for the past 35 years. I can not claim that I have never heard any thing negative about Pakistan or I have never been discriminated against. Life in general is full of inconviniencies. It is not much different for many others. However we have more freedom of religion here than non muslims do in Pakistan.

I explain to my Canadian co-workers , Pakistan’s history, misfortunes we had experinced at the leadership level since the murder of Liaqat Ali Khan etc etc. The question of Islam and Fundametalism get asked. I explain to the best of my ability both Pakistan and Islam. I do get very good feedback in terms of talking points from this web site and various programs.

I think it is time we go into high gear defending Pakistan. Each one of us overseas Pakistani will have to become Ambassador of Pakistan and defend mother land to the best of our abiity.
    Salaam to all brothers and sisters
    Haroon

80. comment-top

Pakistan-India-China,,, this is the Recipe for the next super power…. They have to fine tune their relations and forget their problems. Future has a lot to offer and it will definitely heal whatever we 3 have faced in the past.

Cheers to India-Pakistan-China future relations….

Jasmine Rafique
    http://pkFocus.blogspot.com

81. comment-top

We dont respect our own Provincial Brothers, who will respect us??? We are divided into Provinces and then we call we are Pakistanis when we are insulted by foreigners.

82. comment-top

Jasmine Brother,

When did you realize that your countrymen did not respect you. While you were in Karachi or after you moved to Islamabad? By the way, why are you on the Net so late at night. Are you working for an IT shop?

P.S. You forgot to include your blog address in your last comment.