Elections results have been announced.
Are you satisfied with the results? What will happen now? Which parties will make coalition? What will happen to PMLQ? Where does MQM stand? What is the future of Musharraf? How would be the judiciary restored?
February 19th, 2008 at 1:42 pm
well i guess results would have been much better if “midnight factor” could be avoided which gave 40 seats to pmlq,interestingly always by a very small margin over opponents. but anyway its a good result overall and we should appreciate election commision to arrange a relatively fairer elections. where ever rigging was done it was because of the local gunda gardi like mqm in karachi and few seats in Jhang by pmlq etc but doesnt seem to be arranged by central govt.
February 19th, 2008 at 1:44 pm
The best scenario…..PPP and PML-N join hands, remove musharraf, make aitzaz ahsan the president, restore all judges and put and end to the brutalities of the previous govt in the form of white uniform police.
The worst scenario… PPP or PML -N join hand with PML-Q, let mush be there, let judges be removed, and they get support for the premiership from Q.
Anything in between falls in between the two scenarios.
February 19th, 2008 at 1:46 pm
We are heading towards politicization. Politics is a contact sport (i.e. you have to shove and push to reach the goal). The real test start now, it is a continuous process of maturity. Many will stumble, make mistake and may show impatience.
February 19th, 2008 at 1:47 pm
Now, Musharaf, Chaudries, Sheeday, Meeday and Lanti should run from the patli (narrow) gali, but they will not, because Musharaf will find a latest/unique/good new excuse not to accept these results and Kitchen cabinet should come back,
But please don’t forget that Zardari, Nawaz and other winning people are also LOOTAY, that might be a new Kitchen Cabinet for Musharaf the Zaleel, Musharaff the Kutaa & Musharraf the …………. (I leave it to your imagination)
February 19th, 2008 at 1:47 pm
as far as future is concerned I think this is the time when we should move forward by forgetting the bitterness in the past.
ppp and pmln should made coalition because that would be really good for the country.I think it was really a positive outcome of this election that two major parties were more accomodative and tolerant to each other.
As Far as PM is concerned My vote will be for Aitezaz Ahsan although I am not a great supporter of pppp but i guess they have come out as a national party while pmln was only restricted to punjab and only winning 5 seats in nwfp and none in balochistan and sindh.
Punjab should be pmln chief minister.Question is who should be it when shahbaz shareef is out? I guess he will become CM after by elections anyway but they will have to look for somebody in the meanwhile
February 19th, 2008 at 1:49 pm
Oh… well m just looking farward to some goood decisions taking by the Elected Govt… but still m noT satisfied with the current results.. everyone is discussiing (PML q) Leadership. but no one is happy for pppp ….. B coz as in the past we can see that a Currpt GoVt pppp…. now the thing is that wat pppp really do for the state as a part of Govt.. and wat they decide for mushrif as Well…….. Hope for best… Thats it..
Election r fair but pppp is not fair to the state i guess
February 19th, 2008 at 1:50 pm
Sindh is clear cut pppp but i wish they could leave mqm to sit on opposition benches which they have never done in the past.
NWFP will be ANP PMLN and coalition with indipendent candidates and possibly pppp as well
Balochistan it would be a mixture of everything but pmlq leading the way
February 19th, 2008 at 1:52 pm
as far as pmlq is concerned I am sure many people will defect from it and it would be reduced to a small untolerable people only i guess
February 19th, 2008 at 1:54 pm
unfortunately mqm will still be in bargaining position specially if judiciary is to be restored, they will be needed( i dont know that if they can support that anyway) but personally speaking i wish they should be in the opposition now
February 19th, 2008 at 1:57 pm
One thing is claer that whoever forms the next govt will have to face the greatest challenge in form of the price hike of Oil and Electricity which has now become necessary because the caretakers and the last govt were reluctant to do in the last days. Then there will an unprecedented price hike…This will be the real test. I’m sure it will be an easy job to sit in opposition during the next govt. but vice versa is not going to be easy.
February 19th, 2008 at 1:58 pm
What now?
i understand that NS has already offered Zardari of his full support for forming the govt if:
- Judges are restored
- Aitezaz is made PM
- Mush is removed
Z has asked for some time to consider/discuss the option? i smell something here…this is typical BB/PPP style ‘we need to consider’ when underhand they are dealing with Mush at the same time?
at the same time NS has offered Q MNAs to come back to their parent party
February 19th, 2008 at 1:59 pm
In Centre PPP and PMLN should form the goverment with PPP leading, in Punjab PMLN and PPP should form goverment with PMLN leading, In Sindh PPP should form goverment with support of ANP and in NWFP ANP should form goverment with support of PPP and PMLN. In Balochistan give Musharraf and Chaudhries their own dose by making those 17 PML Q lotas and join either PPP or PMLN and they form goverment there.
Also PMLN should recognise the role of APDM and all those seats on which three or two people have won and are going to go for by election - PMLN should support and bring Imran Khan, Aitizaz Ahsan, Qazi Hussain Ahmed and Mahmood Khan Achakzai - that would be greatness of Nawaz Sharif.
MQM governer should be immediately removed and also all the district and local goverments should be immediately dissolved and party based local goverment elections should be held so that the voter has a choice to choose their party. It would also strengthen political parties at their grassroots and would cut at the factor of biradari and lotasim. One more thing - law and order thing should be taken away from local goverment and shoudl be responsiblity of provincial goverment. That would disarm the MQM in Karachi from ghunda gardi. District goverment should be responsible for health, education, sanitation, roads in districts etc. Nothing more.
There is no doubt that Jhang - massive rigging was done - around 20 seats by Q league were stolen in the darkness of the night.
February 19th, 2008 at 2:01 pm
I think pppp will sit together with MQM, ANP, PMLQ ind. PMLN will be in opposition because of their stance on judiciary. I don
February 19th, 2008 at 2:02 pm
I believe Musharraf caretaker goverment should immediately release all teh judges and lawyers under arrest as they have no further mandate now and Musharraf has no right to keep them under arrest because head of goverment would be PPP and PMLN and not Musharraf.
February 19th, 2008 at 2:03 pm
i dont agree that NS should try to get Qazi, IK to come via by-elections. they had boycotted the elections and should stick to their stance of boycott. i am bitter about their boycotting because if JI and IK were contesting then APDM would have come out much stronger in the current scenario
February 19th, 2008 at 2:06 pm
well Javed hashmi of pmln won three seats i guess so he will leave two seats for nawaz shareef and shahbaz shareef ( one from lahore and other could be rawalpindi seat).Hamza shahbaz might come in provincial assembly rather than na 119 and Aitezaz might get a chance from there or rawalpindi. PMLN would want that because of two reasons one is that he is more acceptable to them as compared to zardari and secondarily he is lawyers activist and if he is PM then it will be his job to make sure everything he needs to do for it(even if ppp isnt interested in restoration later on, nobody would be able to blame them.in other words if doesnt happen then it would be a failure of lawyers rather than failure of ppp and pmln)
February 19th, 2008 at 2:07 pm
I think this time we are looking at a government of PPPP and defects from PMLQ, MQM, ANP and a large population of Independents while PMLN sitting in opposition. Not a revolutionary scenario at all but lets antway hope for the best.
Love Live Pakistan
February 19th, 2008 at 2:08 pm
Leave Qazi alone. JI has always worked in favor of tyrants and oppressors, sometimes through commission and sometimes through omission (like this time). JI & MQM & the Establishment are the 3 faces of the same organism.
February 19th, 2008 at 2:10 pm
@sherkhanpakistani
If that happens what u r predicting then it would be very bad for the country but could be very good for pmln in the long run. if that happens then i can assure u that ppp government wont be able to last long and they would suffer in next elections in the same way as pmlq is suffering. pmln should not have any problem in forming govt at punjab and they can antagonise them from there quite well so i guess ppp should not make that mistake.
February 19th, 2008 at 2:12 pm
i understand AA has already started his moves (in his own way) that judicial bus will start from 9 March if judges are not restored……
who will keep AA and all other lawyers in custody and stop them now because i believe Police has stopped taking orders from Qabristan League….PMLN and PP together will never keep AA under house arrest….and when the sher of pakistan AA is freed ….there is no stopping from judges from restoration…no doubt PMLN and Civil society is with them
February 19th, 2008 at 2:13 pm
I think PPP will make government. PML N will keep pressure on it to follow ‘Charter of Democracy’. PPP will be free to act on that this time because only a loser can talk to Mush now!!!
Politicians are our chosen people. We have the right to reject or accept them. MUSH’s A$$ LICKING LOVERS should stop insulting our leaders by calling them corrupt. We don’t need a dictator loving losers to tell us anything.
February 19th, 2008 at 2:15 pm
please welcome me back , I was so disappointed after the death of BB that I thought there is no more hope. But I am glad and extremely happy , the people have spoken their will , it is the last “Fist” of unarmed bloody civilians on the face of napak establishment (read army if you like). But let us not forget our enemy is not human and everything humane is alien to them. I was just smiling when I heard on PTV (btw it is nice to watch PTV since last night , I would even request admin to upload some programs from PTV especially the one with huamyoon gohar) , that shameless dictator accepts the people verdict. Remember he is the same person who said after the SC verdict on 20th July that he accepts the verdict but then arrived 3rd November. So we must be prepared for anything in future. History shows that establishment has never accepted people will, they can allow the people to express their will but they will never accept it. One of the mad general in 1971 , went so far as to butcher hundreds of thousands of people but did not accept the people will. So let’s keep our struggle up and fingers crossed.
But let’s enjoy the victory. Congratulations..
February 19th, 2008 at 2:17 pm
I really hope and keeping my fingers crossed that PPPP and PML N join hands and form govt. but i am not sure until PPPP gives its stance on judiciary as it looks NS is not going to backdown which is great but i doubt about PPPP. Also i really want PPPP to not to join MQM with it in Sindh as they can easily form govt there without bhatta khors and it made me laugh when i heard tafu gunda saying for the national interest MQM can talk with PPPP and PML N.I wanted to tell him that this time if PPPP and PML N join hands together then we pakistani ppl dont want or need the services of ur terrorrist organization and i dont know why he has not understood this simple fact by now.In NWFP ANP , PPPP and PML N will orm the govt and in punjab PML N and PPPP will form govt.
PM will be from PPPP CM in punjab will be from PML N CM in sindh will be from PPPP CM in NWFP should be from ANP.
I dont know much about Amin Fahim but he does not appear to have strong personality i guess Aitazaz would have been a good choice.Any ways i hope this time PPPP and PML N will not mess the brilliant oppertunity they have got.
February 19th, 2008 at 2:19 pm
guys pmln one more seat so telly increased to 67 now
February 19th, 2008 at 2:20 pm
@Malek,
I agree in the hindsight the decision of IK seems immature. He should have realized that with so much pressure from inside and outside , it will be almost impossible for the mad general to blatantly rig the elections. The mad general did whatever he could do to rig the elections but after everything they managed to get 38 seats after midnight.
February 19th, 2008 at 2:21 pm
other seat goes to mma so now 261 results are out
February 19th, 2008 at 2:23 pm
@dr_abrar
Agree with your point about A. Ahsan but think, would he would be ready to take this burden? because he knows as well that a failure will not only detrimental to PPP but to the whole lawyers community as well as his personal heroic gesture will be crippled!!
btw that could be best if happens! but also you know in PPP their big crocodiles with their mouth open to have a big bit on power!!
Restoring the judges is not going to be the easy decision for any party because of the pressure from US ( Who is the behind their removal), unless US has realized by now that there is no point of going against the public pressure in Pakistan.
It would also be intreseting to see if Zardari would shake hand with his wife’s murderers ( Muaharaf and Q league) or to join Nawaz Sharif to form the Govt in centre and Punjab.
It would also be intreseting to see what Kiyani and US would do to Muaharaf, my gut feeling is, his days are numbered and he will be given a safe exit.
No matter who would come to power, MQM would be in alliance with the ruling party ( after all they want all the contracts and buisness to keep their buisness empire running), they will not sit in the opposition.
What about Ahtazaz Ahsan as a PM and Ameen Fahim as a president, Mian Nawaz or Shebaz as Punjab CM? ( Merey saadgee degh, kaya chahtaa hoon!!)
It is time to bring Altaf Hussain home and give him the dose of his own medicine. No one should sit with MQM this time at any cost. I believe that PML-N will not but I am not so sure about PPP.
February 19th, 2008 at 2:24 pm
I noticed most of the ppl are saying that judiciary can be restored even if lagislation has to be made I am not sure about it if somebody can clearify it or me as i think in national assembly PPPP PMLN ANP Azad all can join and get 2/3 majority but what about senate> In senate there are 56 ppl from PML Q as compared to 44 ppl from other so how can that lagislation can be passed through senate and with out that it cannot be approved so kindly if somebody knows can he explain this scenerio.
February 19th, 2008 at 2:27 pm
@peja,
Congrats and welcome back. We all missed you.
February 19th, 2008 at 2:30 pm
@patriot
well if u speak about constitution then musharaf needs to get his actions approved from parliment and if he cant then by simple constitution order it can be reverted
secondly if they can bring the vote of no confidence against him and can remove them which they can do with such majority then there is no binding factor
February 19th, 2008 at 2:30 pm
guys while talking about MQM we always forget one thing and that is that they are a ground reality when you talk about Karachi and urban Sindh. Though they deserve a lesson to be taught to them but i think this is not a right time to do that ( we got other important issues and we cant afford additional confrontation…..reason for Hitler defeat). 2ndly I guess in connection of Kala Bagh Dame MQM would be having a comparatively flexible stance ( as compared to mainstream sindhi nationalist…. most of them got elected on PPP ticket). So its not very bad to get them into government.
Plus i think they will only allow Karachi to be peaceful when they in government and we need peace over their as well.
( by the way I hate taffu as a human being).
February 19th, 2008 at 2:33 pm
as far as q league is concerned most of them would surely defect to either pmln or ppp and that seems to be the plan as well. NS in todays press conference gaive an indication that he is able to forgive people and they can comeback to pmln now.I m not sure whether he should take them back or not but if the cause is to get the votes to restore judiciary and remove mush then it might be a good move
February 19th, 2008 at 2:38 pm
@Patriot
Good point …. I have no answer. However, I hope NS will able to break PLMQ. They used to be good in that. If that happened then senaters might also switch sides…? Lets hope for the best.
February 19th, 2008 at 2:42 pm
Well Done PPP………..
I am so proud to be associated with it…….
we should get rid of all PCO judges……………..and that includes the CJ IFTIKHAR lot as well………………………
This CJ made a bench to diregard the NRO …..the case made illegally by nawaz sharif givernment and later nawaz accepted those were wrong……
Zardari served 11 years in prsiona dn no case was proven and yet this CJ Iftikhar made a bench to stop the NRO.
And all my anti PPP friends in pkploitics , dont ask ppp to restore the judges …it was not in our manifesto and we didnt get vote for on issue….it is PMLN manifesto so ask them for this.
February 19th, 2008 at 2:46 pm
I read an article on NY Times today. It tells some thimng about ‘Whats Next’. Below are last few paragarphs from the article.
” Mr. Zardari sounded more accommodating tones about Mr. Musharraf.
Analysts said it was possible that Mr. Zadari would even seek to form a coalition with Mr. Musharraf
February 19th, 2008 at 2:53 pm
I have a feeling PPP will sit with MQM in Sindh and MQM will not do that without being accepted in coalition in the Center. I think PPP doesn’t need them in Sindh, but they will paralyze Sindh through sheer terrorist activities if PPP doesn’t acquiesce.
So, it might turn out that the rural Wadera (Zardari) will make a deal with the Urban Wadera (Altaf) and all the common people will still be exploited (Muhajir or Sindhi or others), we’re all beasts of burdun. Hopefully we will at least get 10% of the development funds and see some improvement in the sh!t lined streets.
So if Zardari doesn’t make a deal with MQM, center will have to do a major operation in Karachi because that showdown is looming now despite Mushie being in power. I don’t think even Pakistan Army is happy with the display of firepower by MQM who seems to have the best militia after the army (for a war of “independence” I’m sure) … Other parties had weapons too, but MQM clearly won the battles on the street on May 12th 2007. This shows professional training in urban warfare tactics. This should worry Pakistan Army. Because without a proper port, all of _their_ money sucking ventures will go to hell in a hand basket. (Not to mention the problem of housing the Navy)
The US/UK/India want to break Karachi off like Singapore to use as naval base (counter Gawador) and Altaf Bhai is already being called Father of the Nation.
February 19th, 2008 at 2:55 pm
Mutahida became MOHAJIR again
WHAT YOU SOW, SO SHALL YOU REAP
Tribute to the Victims of 12th of May. We will never forget you. Independent judiciary will give you justice, Inshallah.
February 19th, 2008 at 2:58 pm
Mr. Listen,
Care to explain, how did Mr. Zaradari has $1.5 bilion dollars in Swiss bank account?
In terms of Zardari in the jail for 11 years and still not found guilty, do you think these people are so stupid when they commit the crimes, they leave the proofs all over and it is much easier for the people to convict them guilty? In Pakistan, a common man can seve the jail for 5 years for stealing 500 rupees and these people can steal billions of dollars and nobody can find any proof.
My friend, I have no problem when innocent people from Sindh or Punjab express these feelings, but when educated people like you have these sentiments, it made me believe our current situation in Pakistan is because of you people, who are educated but still have blind faith on these corrupt leaders.
February 19th, 2008 at 2:59 pm
well zardari refused to talk about restoration of judiciary in his press conference.does this point wowards anything?
February 19th, 2008 at 3:00 pm
Good points Mr. C Hussain…and I actually want to extend your recommendation( for Karachi and sindh) to all over Pakistan including Lahore.
All the districts and local governments should be dissolved and all the people who had charges of corruption and Ishtahari Mujrims (including Altaf, Ishrat ul Ibad from karachi, as well as Shabaz Ghunda, and Nawaz Bhagora) to be treated equally without any regianal bias..
Further more I also agree and emphasize on grass root level politics to be reconditioned in punjab and lahore (where it is needed even more badly as compared to karachi) where family based politics,bardari ism,cast etc are prominat on top of Badmaashi of Pehelwanns (equivalent of Bhai geeri in Karachi)
I mean dont get me wrong you guy from lahore especially…you always seems to be very hostile and biased against Karachi people whether it was Quaide Azam, or Fatima Jinnah, Liaqat Ali khan and now MQM .You confescate all the resourses of Pakistan illegally and that is one of the reason why Karachi public vote to MQM to make their point of being getting unfair treatment in Pakistan.
February 19th, 2008 at 3:09 pm
The first steps are :
Restore the constitution, Roll back Nov 3. changes
Remove the media restriction.
Restore the Judiciary
Free all Judges
Free all innocent men and women held by agencies without trial.
Impeach Musharraf under article 6.
NS has clearly stated his stance. Now its upto PPP. If PPP did not support the Judges and the lawyers then Aitizaz Ahsan will be marching soon.
February 19th, 2008 at 3:13 pm
guys guys come on can we not forget the past for some time i dont know why some ppl are still criticising NS and Zardari. give them a chance may be they have learn some lesson and if not try them vote out in next election as we have seen that ppl can do this inspite of what ever state rigging is done so why cannt we give them a chance and why are we still thinking negative.
I still believe they are the lesser evil anyways so plz stop criticising
February 19th, 2008 at 3:14 pm
@Tab’an Khamosh
IMO, the best way to deal with MQM, in the long run, is to get Altaf Hussain, either via extradition or some other way. With him running the party, operation in Karachi will meet the same fate as it did in the late 80s and early 90s and only common people will suffer.
February 19th, 2008 at 3:14 pm
I see alot of people are getting over ambitious and now saying ‘fairy tales’ … lets face the reality and live with it …. accept the results of the elections and let the democracy to get roots …. well we will never have ‘Non Corrupt’ leader but we can have strong democarcy ….
Look at india , they have alot of currupt leaders, may be more then ours but in the passage of time their democartic institutions have become very strong and these institutions take out the non deserving people … so be hope full and hope for the best …
one thing …credit do goes to Mush for this relativly free and fair elections …
peace
February 19th, 2008 at 3:20 pm
I heard Ch rotti shotti kha ker jana saying again and again to NS that restored the judiciary now if u can.I think he is backing on that may be a legislation is needed for this becoz PML Q has 56 senators as compared to 44 of others for atleast two more years (senate duration six years) so in senate the bill cannot be passed. From his confidence this is the only reason i can imagine.has anybody has think of it.
I am not sure why PPPP leadership is avoiding judiciary issue GEO reported zardari was avoiding this question can anybody throw light on this
February 19th, 2008 at 3:31 pm
Hmmmm…………Right here we go!
Not as bad as we all thought these elections would be. BUt definitely some of the seats in south punjab have been stolen from N league. The future scenario is not hard to guess for someone having understanding of party politics. But it is a omplicated scenario
PPPP will be major player. Mr Z would make allies with pro-mush, libreals,nationalists i.e ANP,PMLQ and MQM and independents. I dont think they can break candidtes fom PML-N this time. Reasons for this alliance is very obvious. PPPP has got a pro-mush, pro-american agenda and they give a damn to isues like judiciary,press etc etc. In fact, Mr Z would like a a quiet media and judiciary to making sure that NRO becomes effective and he gets away with previous charges of corruption mostly against himself. So their best option is to make allies with above mentioned parties and in that way form government in all provinces as well as in the centre. Obviously N league is not a soft pill and they would be a tough opposition to deal with in center and punjab. Even if they make governments by dodging N league and people of pakistan, it surely is not going to last long if they dont do what people of pakistan want and that too in a short period of time.
Mr Zardari and PPPP!!!!! Judiciary, Violence, national sovereignty, Media all these issues do matter to people of Pakistan. They are not a herd of sheep but real human beings with some self-respect and dignity. If you are Party of People of Pakistan, then listen to people of pakistan.
Or else face the wrath!
February 19th, 2008 at 3:33 pm
Patriot:
Because Zardari nows if Pre-November judiciary is restored, then cases against him will be reopened!!
I think for all of our dreams to be true, BALL is in Zardari’s Court!
if (ANP PML(N) PPP INDEPENDENTS) = OUR DREAMS UNITY RACKING MUSHARRAF
February 19th, 2008 at 3:36 pm
BBC reporting that PPP is ready to form govt. with PML(N).
Can someone confirm ?
February 19th, 2008 at 3:36 pm
Breaking news on BBC News
http://newsvote.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/world/south_asia/7253280.stm
‘The party of Pakistan’s late former PM Benazir Bhutto that won the most seats in Monday’s election is ready to form a coalition with the rival PML-N party.
If finalised, an alliance of Ms Bhutto’s Pakistan People’s Party (PPP) and the PML-N would have more than half the seats in a new parliament.
Both opposition parties fared strongly in the elections that saw the defeat of President Pervez Musharraf’s allies.
The president has never looked more vulnerable, a BBC correspondent says. ‘
February 19th, 2008 at 3:45 pm
Politicians are our chosen people. We have the right to reject or accept them. MUSH
February 19th, 2008 at 3:47 pm
@ Malek,
Thats what I asked too, but the media in Pakistan is not yet reporting.
I think PPP dont have a choice but to agree with NS about the Issue of Judiciary. Plus Aitizaz Ahsan is still there who will no sit idle until the Judiciary is restored.
I hope and pray that PPP and PML(N) join forces to make a better Pakistan. Inshallah.
February 19th, 2008 at 3:49 pm
U.S. strikes within Pakistan
February 19th, 2008 at 3:52 pm
I think the elections were not completely free and fair. regarding the coalition govt. its very difficult to say which parties will form it. the two most likely scenarios are unlikely to some extent
PPPP PML(N). as nawaz vowed to restore the deposed judges and if he is commited to it then PPPP cant move with PML(N) as in supreme court a case is pending against PPPP main leadership in the form of NRO.
PPPP PML(Q). both parties leadership blame each other in assassination of their beloved like asif zardari blamed PML(Q) for the assasination of Benazir and on the other hand PML (Q) leadership think PPPP is responsible for assasination of Zahoor Elahi.
there is one other possibility which we cannot rule out but its the most unlikely one. PML(N) and PML(Q). i can give reasons y it is unlikely but i think my message is too long for the readers. if anyone requests for it i wud like to write this reason as well.
February 19th, 2008 at 3:57 pm
my message not posted dear admin
February 19th, 2008 at 3:59 pm
“Its is rout, Musharraf have not choice but to resign”.
Mard-e-Haq Aitizaz Ahsan on BBC.
GO MUSHARRAF GO.
February 19th, 2008 at 3:59 pm
What next on pkpolitics.com. Only two issues have some interests to pkpolitics
February 19th, 2008 at 4:01 pm
@peja
well come back and many congratulations! infact i have been off more or less since then as well.
however you are only welcome back (and me) on the condition that we never give up again…no matter how tough it gets! the people of pakistan have proved this…. the pakistani voters are more mature and sensible than a voter in any part of the world
long live Pakistanies… a very proud and honoured nation
February 19th, 2008 at 4:05 pm
Nawaz calls President Musharraf to step down
LAHORE: Muslim League-N leader Nawaz Sharif Tuesday called President Musharraf to step down from office.
He said the decision about eligibility of President Musharraf should be taken from the same court that was hearing the case.
Addressing press briefing in Lahore Nawaz said the freedom of judiciary and democracy are the foremost targets of his agenda. He said he was talking with all parties for formation of the government.
The PML-N leader said after restoration of the judiciary it would be decided whether Musharraf
February 19th, 2008 at 4:14 pm
NS will try and get at least a few people from PML-Q to close the gap between PML-N and PPP on the NA seats. Currently, there is a 20 or 21 seats difference which gives PPP a bit more commanding position over PML-N but if NS can make a few PML-Q people join him then it will serve two purposes a) Further weaken PML-Q and b) close the gap b/w PML-N and PPP on the NA seats.
February 19th, 2008 at 4:18 pm
Zardari asks for Musharraf’s Resignation:
GO MUSHARRAF GO.
February 19th, 2008 at 4:26 pm
Restoration of Judiciary & impeachment of Mush is for which people voted Now let see that the new parliament ratify peoples vote or same old politics?
February 19th, 2008 at 4:27 pm
@ ninetykman
it may not be that easy though….. we know PPP history. Z has not uttered a word against Mush since BB’s death….furthermore Q league may be further broken to join PPP and MQM are already in Mush’s pockets…
just while i was to type more i read your above mail….i am so glad i was thinking wrong!
February 19th, 2008 at 4:33 pm
If Z is sincere in above comments an ideal situation will be that NS and Z march towards Real CJPs house along with all their MNA’s, MPA’s, Lawyers and general public…..and clear way for CJP to take his seat at the SC. This will be restoration of judiciary by public vote……. CJP can then reconstitute the bench and take on from there……..Court No1: Case 1; Mush’s actions of Nov 3….no doubt Malik Qayyumm can represent Mush at a fee!
February 19th, 2008 at 4:37 pm
I dont see PMLN and PPP being successful in forming Govt for a long time cz of following reasons:
PMLN will want CJP restore and Zardari would not want independent judiciary as it can come and hunt him down. I feel the same for NS and SS as they have done corruption since 80’s but may be a compromise will made on Judiciary’s part.
PPP will never ever want DR. AQ Khan to be president cz it will against their master’s will (BUSH). West has kept away from NS as compare to PPP.
PMLN and PPP are basically AntiEach and mangoes and apples cant be kept together for long (more than 6 months)
Imagine PMLN’s jialays and PPP jialays patiently working together: ” Difficult”
If PMLN wanted more and nothing worked out , it can get ugly between Punjab and Federal but may be not as bad as from 88’s.
Dont forget that US will still put pressure on Zardari to form govt with MMQ, PMLQ, JUIF, ANP and others. According to the result it may become possible.
No doubt PPP and PMLN
February 19th, 2008 at 4:39 pm
There are many sincere PPP leaders like Aitizaz Ahsan who will continue to remind to Zaradari that without an Independent Judiciary there can never be true democracy.
The Ball is in Zardari’s court.
February 19th, 2008 at 4:40 pm
Dont forget that US will still put pressure on Zardari to form govt with MMQ, PMLQ, JUIF, ANP and others. According to the result it may become possible.
No doubt PPP and PMLN two big paries, in the future they will be against each other for sure as the basic norm of a two party democracy.
Mush is not leaving soon. He is a “Army Damagh” and I think he will manipulate the situation as much possible.
But again I may be wrong cz I want to see PMLN and PPP to atleast make Dr. AQ Khan president and CJP restore. Because both of these are non-political personalities and both have suffered just because of their good work for Pakistan, especially AQK. But honestly I done know…….
February 19th, 2008 at 4:42 pm
@ Riddle 792
US also wanted Q leauge to win. US also wanted to win in Vietnam.
Before some people were telling us Nothing will happen. Now you can see what has happened.
Wait for some time. Judges will be restored. If not, we will NEVER go back to Q league. We will punish these leaders and choose someone else. First, we should give them a chance to form government.
February 19th, 2008 at 4:46 pm
@Malek,
thank you, yes agree with you about not loosing hope.
It is interesting to watch PTV today, it also gives an idea what is going to unfold in coming days. PTV was supposed to do a 72 hour coverage of the elections , however they abruptly closed their election coverage even though EC had not announced the complete results. Interestingly the so-called discussion panel kept discussing victory of MQM (BTW can anybody shed some light on karachiite common sense .. excuse me if someone from karachi is annoyed) , PTV is also repeatedly sermonizing winning parties to restrain by the actors. And most amazingly the khabarnama showed 2 minutes segment of plight of Kashmiri people and “agression” of Indian forces , for the last 8 years I thought PTV was showing Indian TV, but all of a sudden they have again become Pakistani.
So in a nutshell , establishment is ready for the next round of battle , they have started using the same old weapons , and I see a more violent struggle in the coming days. Mad general has already announced that he is not going to resign.
February 19th, 2008 at 4:46 pm
Thank you too.
February 19th, 2008 at 4:47 pm
NS says
Restoration of judges and judges decided musharrafs fate.
Media freedom
Zardari says
UN tribunal to investigate BB murder case
I think both should sit together and make important decisions which should include:
Replacement of Musharraf by Aitzaz Ahsan as President since he is liked by the major parties and is hero of the people of Pakistan
PP should nominate their PM (I think they have right to do so since they r the majority party)
BB investigation by UN
Punjab CM from PML N
Sindh CM from PPP. MQM also be given representation in govt (They will otherwise create nuisance)
End to PEMRA and independance of Media
Independence of Judiciary (pre Nov 3)
PPP n PML-N should form govt in the center.
ANP should be included in the govt.
AND OFCOURSE GOOD GOVERNANCE with focus of poverty, inflation, load shedding, availability of basic facilities to common men, jobs on merit, education for all.
Special attention to curb terrorism n suicide bombings which is a gift from musharraf.
February 19th, 2008 at 4:51 pm
Breaking NEWS: ARY reporting that there may be some consideration going on to release CJ .
February 19th, 2008 at 4:55 pm
2 New Videos Added:
Aitzaz Ahsan Talks on ARY after Elections
Nawaz Sharif Press Conference after Elections
February 19th, 2008 at 4:58 pm
@Optimist:
no US didnt want q league to win. they have changed their strategy.
http://afp.google.com/article/ALeqM5hLLNCWqjKQys3euGONkkvNP_9lSQ
also check this hamid mir in jang in continuation to wat i m saying:
http://www.jang.net/jm/2-18-2008/page1.asp#;
February 19th, 2008 at 5:03 pm
geo reporting LOL
NS ready to take Q league members back in PMLN.
LOL…… this is what pakistani politics are. Just bunch of thugs….:)
February 19th, 2008 at 5:04 pm
the first day back and peja brings the best news out….i have been told there is something going on at CJP front……its the bureaucracy that do not want to (dare to) hold him, police deployed at CJP house will be under PMLN and PPP who know their new masters….and Kiyani has stayed away from CJP issue in the past…..
AND may be the Jackal Retarded General is seeing his end
February 19th, 2008 at 5:18 pm
Hurra
Zardari has also demanded Resignation of Musharraf!! in an interview to BBC but i dont see this news anywhere else as yet!!! I am afraid something unusual may not happen as all the doors are closing for Mush
February 19th, 2008 at 5:20 pm
WHAT NEXT?
PEOPLE HAVE SPOKEN.
1. Formation of coalition government between PML-N, PPP and others like minded parties who will work like servants and not a kings, for the welfare of people and for better Pakistan.
2. Imediate restoration of the independent judiciary with reinstatement of all deposed judges, and restoration of law and orders in the country.
3.Impeachment of Mr Mush.
Mr Mush has to be apprehended before he flee the country. He has to be tried for treason, but he deserve a due process given under our constitution before his conviction. I don’t have to remind you about his numerous illegal and criminal actions taken against Pakistan and It’s Awam. Remember, he hijacked the democratic government, just like the one we got today,duely elected and mandated by the peoplr of Pakistan back in october of 1999. That was a crime of treason and on that crime alone, Mr Mush must be braught yo justice swiftly and be punished to the fullest under the criminal laws. We have to be the nation of laws, if we wish to flourish and progress. This will send a clear message to be future general who might decide to embark on adventure like mush.
4. All political parties must unite and reconcile to work for the welfare of the peoples. We need to avoid confrontation and build up tolerance. New ly formed govrnment must be allowed to finish their term and should be given a chance to fullfil their promises made to peoples. We the people will make them accountable, should they fail to perform their job, which is in the best interest of Pakistan. Of course We the people have a voting power to remove the corrupted politician any time we wish. For sure we don’t need the help of criminal general to that. We must give a chance for democracy to evolve and emerge.
On a final not, I want to congratulate to the winners and I solute to Pakistani Awam for selecting your leaders and putting your trust in them, and I hope these elected members will work responsibly for us and will not disappoint us. I sincerely believe that Pakistan is set on a right path, yet we have a monumental task ahead of us. United, we can clear all the hurdles. Let us pledge to make Pakistan a prosperous, respectable and formidable country in the world. I am very optimistic and excited. Yippeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee
February 19th, 2008 at 5:21 pm
Govt. considering to release Judges. This was demanded by the visiting US senetors, and tumbling Mush is considering that.
February 19th, 2008 at 5:27 pm
Feeling sort of sympathetic for Musharraf! though he & his regime has been barbaric for Pakistani nation but should not we change the custom that Pakistani nation always hangs or kills its leader ( regardless of their credibility or deed). I mean i see the rope narrowing around Mushi but i think the best punishment can be that he should be exiled with his family for ever should be deprived of Pakistnai nationality….more than this i think will not be gracefull!
February 19th, 2008 at 5:29 pm
@Pejamistri wrote “I was so disappointed after the death of BB that I thought there is no more hope.”
Her death was tragic and one shall never be happy about even an enemy’s death, but to lay so much hope in one person with solid feudal background is mind bogling. She had many of the charisteristics of a feudal….dictatorship within the party, Chosen as a lifetime leader of the party, no democratic structure in her party and a lot of corruption cases against. If she wanted to clear herself and Mr. 10 % then she should have demanded a free judiciary in Pakistan to ensure a fair trial. That she didn’t. The conclusion can only be that she had something to hide. Also remember the corruption cases in Europe. In switzerland she lost the case.
It is also dissapoting that you think the ones who take a principled stand are immature and those who lie are the mature politicians. If we want to excel as a nation we must have a vision for Pakistan. Unfortunately the two big parties only have shortsighted “solutions” and hunger for power.
February 19th, 2008 at 5:32 pm
Zardari’s last biyaan was key.
Joe Biden was here.
The fix was in!
The king is dead! Long live the King!
February 19th, 2008 at 5:34 pm
@dictated_democracy
do u really think that it would be so easy to get rid of him? I dont think so.In my opinion he is better politician then any of other politicians,he will try his level best to somehoe split pmln and ppp and to survive as a result. he is very shrewed and cunning person i dont believe that he can give up so easily. It will be a hrd battle
February 19th, 2008 at 5:39 pm
Its a pity that musharaf was such a good leader but because of these chauderies and bad crow now he has reached at a stage t hat he is no more accptable by any Pakistani.I had very high hopes from him especially when he went to AGRA meeting with Vajpayi. He could have been an asset to the country but alas establishment has spoiled one another leader to a non-reversible stage.
@Saqib
Well said. The real test for NS will now start; his past is also filled with corruption. I do not have any trust in Zardari as he is by nature a corrupt person. Lets see where we go from here. If NS helps restore the judiciary then he will gain respect of the masses. Judiciary is the key here; once it is restored and made independent then it will deal with corruption via the proper process.
Pakistani Shehri’yooN ki azmat aur taddabbur ko saat salaam!
February 19th, 2008 at 5:40 pm
Plz dont advocate the act of joining of Elected members of Q league to PML(N). It is sad Nawaz shaiaf again opened the chapter which is black and deplorable, This falls in the class of horse trading, if Pakistani politics has to do the same unfair means to increase the numbers, where we are heading???
If he need the MNAs etc, he should talk the resignation and then give the ticket s of PML-N and sent back to people. This is the right way. Otherwise we have learned nothing in past 8 years.
February 19th, 2008 at 5:40 pm
@dr_abrar
I don’t think it is his shrewdness which is the issue. Many ordinary people can look through him now. The days are over where he could fool the people with his prof. lies. It is rather the forces behind him which he (maybe still) command. Without these forces he is Mr. Nothing.
February 19th, 2008 at 5:42 pm
@dr_abrar: I disagree with you on almost every count re: Musharraf. But I am too tired to argue right now. Thanks for the results though!
February 19th, 2008 at 5:46 pm
I also heard NS urging the remaining lota’s (turn coats) from PML-Q to join hands with him. This is utterly dissapointing that this man can keep on back tracking from his previous stands…..Does he have any firm stand? It is even more dissapointing that poeple see this as mature politics. I have seriious doubts about restoration of the judiciary. NS doesn’t have the calibre to deliver
And PPP will NOT deliver on this issue.
February 19th, 2008 at 5:48 pm
@dr_abrar
in fact Mush has already given in by changing his stance by almost 180 degree that “new parliment will decide the destiny of Judiciary” so in fact he has really felt now that he is weak. What I am very much afraid of, is that as kiyani is after all his man of confidence so an other Martial law may not emerge (though its very unlikely but Mush is an injured cobra right now). So i think that PPP and PMLn should tight the rope around him but slowely not in abrupt fashion. Mush must have some parallel options (though those will be devastating for Pakistan…for example starting some problem with India on borders and making an excuse) so he should not be allowed to use any of them. I mean until a stable and functioning new government is their, both PMLn and PPP should show a moderate attitude toward him to really catch him after ward.
OTHERWISE Mush has no logical, suitable safe and acceptable (to all) solution for him to stay anymore in power and even to escape in a respectable fashion especially after Zardari demand that ” Mush should go”
February 19th, 2008 at 5:49 pm
@dr_abrar
If he was that good then at least he should have recognised the chaudries and MQM as an enemy of the state, but he did not want to, because he himself has a corrupted brain.
February 19th, 2008 at 5:49 pm
@dr-abrar
i also dont agree with you on Mush. to me the basic fact is he came to power illigitimately and for his personal vandetta…. and hence was never honest and sincere…..his military record is full of such examples
anyway enough of Mush…he will going soon (inshallah)…but as you say will need a hard and strong final push!
February 19th, 2008 at 5:50 pm
@ Shaz
I agree with Shaz no excuse to invite LOTAS of PML Q and horse trading.
February 19th, 2008 at 5:51 pm
@dictated_democracy
Exactly, Our leaders should be aware of this possibility that Mush engineers a new conflict to divert attention.
February 19th, 2008 at 5:53 pm
@Saqib
I believe that he said that because a) he wants to reduce the margin b/w his seats and PPP and b) to further weaken the Choudharies. I agree that he is backtracking on what he had said before that no one (from Q) would be taken back at any cost. Unortunately, this is how politics are.
February 19th, 2008 at 6:00 pm
If u look closely to the language of PPP from the last 15 hours than it is becoming clear that:
They are also looking for people from PMLQ to join them along with MQM.
NS is also looking for people from PMLQ.
If PMLQ members join with PPP in Federal than by using PMLQ and independent they can make give in Punjab also.
Sind = MQM, PPP , no doubt, u can not leave MQM out and make GOVT in sindh.
PPP asking for Mush’s resignng but saying that they can look into possibiity of working with him.
PPP wants CJP released but says restoration in not possible because of legal issues.
NS will get a kick in his ass if he compromises on his two big issues, CJP and AQK.
PPP does not and i repear DOES NOT want to do a U TURN on AQK issue as u may recall BB’s standing and America’s choice here.
I see PPP making govt without PMLN and may be even in Punjab.
@Amir Hameed
Yuo are right that politics is made this way, but NS is clearly underestimating the Pakistanis. They will remember his words/promises and he is going to pay for that next time if he backtracks, inshallah. His opportunistic nature doesn’t allow him to see that far. That is what is wrong with him and many other politicians, who thinks that long time planning is IMMATURE politics.
I think PPP was very much aware of this possibility from Mush’s side thats why they have slowly came out of the blanket ( though all of we were declaring PPP as to be having unclear stance on Judiciary and working with Mush). Perhaps they were waiting fro a right time to show eyes to Mush ( and if my analysis is right that actually PPP is more anti-mush than PMLn….which right now is almost a hypothesis) and i think this was not the right time to tel this publically by Zardair that ” Mush should resign” though they should have finalized it with PMLn in drawing room. Now Mush got time to think for a way out (instead of waiting for PPP to back him).
The other side of the picture is very unfortunate if that is true. Might be zardari has givin the statement to get a better bargaining position with Mush ( to make him as a weakest president but to save him as a president).
Lets hope the 2nd does not happen
February 19th, 2008 at 6:01 pm
I agree with Amir. NS is playing good. He knows that to reduce number os seat of Qleague would be better for him. In my area (Narowal), where tariq aness succeeded as independant candidate and his brother from q league , both had support from N league under hand. You will see that soon only pervaiz elahi will be the only oppostion member from Q league.
February 19th, 2008 at 6:01 pm
@dr_abrar:
What a leader???
He has given us so many things I agreee. But few of them are
Failed PMs (SA) and Ch Shujaat
Destroyed Judiciary
Attacked Media
Played with constitution for his benefit
Projected Pakistanis as terrorists (only Mush can save the world)
Suiside bombers
Lota Poiliticians like Chaudries
Lost Image of Pakistan as Failed Nation
An Islamic extremist country with BOMB (only Mush can save the world)
MQM and the list goes on and on and on
February 19th, 2008 at 6:02 pm
@Riddle
In other words lota business is flurishing. What more can be expected from “mature” politicians
February 19th, 2008 at 6:03 pm
i dont see any harm in NS taking on elected Q members (excluding vocal opponents of NS in hard times) if it helps restoring Judiciary and other objectives on which PPP is showing reluctance….
NS never said that he will not take back those Q leaguers…he had said he will never take back staunch Mush supporters and those who aggresively opposed him while he was in SA
Zardari vows no coalition with Musharraf allies
The News: Updated at: 2255 PST, Tuesday, February 19, 2008
February 19th, 2008 at 6:04 pm
There are some good people in Q, Like haqqani. Politics is the name of compromise.
As long as NS addresses the Judiciary, economy and the missing persons issues, no one will care if a few Q leaguers will join PML(N).
Plus N league also needs more seats to counter PPP in the future.