Special Interview of Aitzaz Ahsan
Aitzaz Ahsan gives a blasting interview for the first time after martial law of 3rd November 2007.
Part 1:
Part 2:
![]() |
Email This Post |
Pakistan Politics |
Aitzaz Ahsan gives a blasting interview for the first time after martial law of 3rd November 2007.
Part 1:
Part 2:
![]() |
Email This Post |
First few minutes of interview have been missed, they will be added later tonight.
Now question is in everybody’s mind what will AA do if PPP refuses to restore CJ Chaudhary?
I hope he’ll not be sold to Zardari’s tactics and keep the lawyer movement alive. Do we have a word on Ali Kurd, Tariq Mahmood and Munir Malik? Why they are still quiet?
Amazing interview. I watched it twice.Throughout my life, I never support ed PPP’s ideology but I have to say that this man is doing great contribution for the people of Pakistan. He is a sincere, intellegent and visionary leader. We dont have a lot in our political lot like him. I wish him all the best and hope that Pakistani nation in general and PPP in particular will not disappoint him.
Ali
I don’t really get his defence of the ‘coronation’ but I think he tried to make it clear what his constraints are…
A very good interview. Pure truth from a hero. He is absolutely right that BB is no doubt great and her tomb is holy for people of this country.
Some Mush lovers and democracy/judiciary haters come here and start ‘demanding’ from AA as if they have been his biggest supporters.
Aitzaz Ahsan is doing all he can. What else can we expect from him?
@ aahmad
brother these lawyers are in strict house arrest outside Lahore. I spoke with Kurd just before he got arrested. I posted his mobile number here but I can’t get through to him now.
Whenever AA is free and he is doing something, Mush lovers and enemies of judiciary come here and say things like: ‘AA gave list of Sikhs to Rajiv’. Before some Mush lovers raise this question, I would like to clear this.
I asked Aitazaz Ahsan in 1997 about that Sikh lists. He asked me instead: ‘Army/ISI rule this country. Do you think I would have been alive or a free man if I had done that?’ He said if someone else had done that, even then they couldn’t have taken such a step without Army’s approval.
He also told me that Sheikh Rashid started that rumour. AA sued him for defamation (2 Crore damages). Lota Sheikh lost the case and applogised in Lahore High Court. After that, Lota Sheikh only repeats that in private meetings, never in a public meeting. Lota never gave AA 2 crore as damages and claimed to be poor (AA wanted to give that to Edhi for charity work).
If anyone wants to repeat that allegation, remember that High Court has given judgment in favour of AA when he was in opposition. And these statements are defamatory by law.
I really like this guy. What a role model for young progressive Pakistanis for a change!
AA is great leader and we hope he will act like a bridge b/w PPP and PML N for the restoration of judges and democracy in Pakistan
Already listening to the second part! Brilliant Brilliant man and Brilliant interview. Wow!
@TK,
You are not supposed to listen until I put it on site.
Great interview, I hope he gets to play an important role in the affairs of our country. Just compare his thought process and presentation to those of our (un)worthy president and his cronies! and decide for yourself who should be running the country and who should be behind the bars!
Part 2 coming shortly.
great interview from a great guy
we need him in Assembly
I have seen v few interviews comparable to this one. AA is an example of a man who is balanced, loyal to his roots, party and at the same time has his own distinct voice and entity. Fabulous! Look at his poem, its a masterpiece just like Faiz Ahmed Faiz used 2 write wenever he was jailed ( offcourse Faiz was a proper shair so no comparison to be fair to AA ) .
@ Tab’an Khamosh U r rite he is a role model for young and progressive pakistanis for a change.
and hey guys .. this Sohail Waraich is cute. People make fun of him but he is knowledgeable and I like his way of asking straight-forward direct questions with a funny smile on his face.
@admin: I got the feed hooked into iTunes …so it shows up before it gets posted on the site..
BTW, great interview!! dil Khush kar ditta ee administratraa!
THANKS!
This is the best interview I’ve listened to so far on Pak media, an instant classic and Sohail Warraich didn’t inturrupt that wonderful train of thought that AA seems to maintain and build on so effortlessly.
I feel like a total AA groupie right now! we are fortunate to have people like AA in our midst.
@Everyone, Part 2 added.
@TK, Now I know why I am not getting any ad revenue …
Tab’an:
I totally know what you mean about the groupie thing.
Thanks for putting this up admin. Even though I watched it on GEO twice there are some moments where you can’t get sick of watching - example the newsweek retraction story.
I think he should again become minister for law and Interior……
busybee and some other people on this site:
I think what you people don’t realize is that you don’t have to be a minister or even the prime minister to be effective. If AA really wanted to be PM that bad he would have been one.
It’s more than enough that he is in the top leadership of his party. In fact, we need him out of the muddy political scene for the time being because he is the number 1 constitional and legal authority right now.
Reinstate the judges, and let them judge everyone - including Musharraf, Zardari (the cases Musharraf removed against the bhuttos must be brought back), and Nawaz Sharif (any agreements he may or may not have had must be judged by an independent judiciary)
Aitzaz Ahsan has fought for both NS and BB, lets see if he can bring up the valid cases against them and truly establish an ‘independent judiciary’.
admin,
are you going to post any more stuff tonight ?
Yeah, only if you can complete my statistics assignment.
I have got 2 Talat programs and Zardari’s press conference recorded that I will upload tomorrow evening.
“I have got 2 Talat programs and Zardari’s press conference recorded that I will upload tomorrow evening.
Admin”
You are doing a great job admin! Giving us exactly what we most want to see. They should make you a TV producer.
my pleasure, for community service I will do your statistics assignment.
These are election statistics or your college work?
what a great human being
What a chrismatic personality. He truely speaks from his heart. Combine it with sincerety, intellect and courage. Mr. Aitzaz Ahsan is someone I beleive most Pakistani’s would like to see in position of State Authority. I think people like him could make the real difference. He gives hope to the bruised and battered middle class of Pakistan and lifts their spirits.
People like AItzaz Ahsan, Justice Iftikhar Ch., and recently Nawaz/Shahbaz Sharif are finally winning the hearts and minds of the people.
The most brilliant and humble person.
it all sounds nice.. the fact is his own party doesnt practice a single photon of democracy!
Bilawal.. zardari.. the sharifs..
is this really the ‘change’ people were looking for??
Brilliant….although I never supported PPP / BB but its totally impossible to disagree with this man.
btw, what will happen if zardari doesn’t go for restoration of judiciary. AA and PPP part ways or what?
I respect him and his views but i am not agree with that Balawal should be next chairman of ppp. and he also talk about the postmartom of other people than bibi. I think he has no right to say that becaue other people are also dear to someone.
A Sincere and an intellegent man. A very good interview. His son used to work with me in Marriott Hotel, Islamabad.
Mr AA, never wish to be a Prime Minister, he never wish to be a Chief justice, He passed CSS but never wanted to be a government servent.
He is like Imran Khan, who does not want to be a PM, Not even a minister and not even to be a Chief executive or chairman of pakistan cricket team.
If these type of people are only critics than what is their role to develop the country?
Imran Khan got the chance to be a PM.( during Zia and also Mush) He should accept it and change the political enviorment, same with AA he should avail it and change the Pakistan situation.
But they are egoist people who just do the blame game.
Whenever I go back to Pakistan and sit in a taxi from airport to my house is Islamabad, the taxi driver talks all the way from Pindi to Islamabad about the politics .These taxi drivers knows politics very good, they have very good analysis about the situation of pakistan politics and also they have very good solution to make Pakistan better, but alas…they are just taxi drivers and cannot avail the opportuinities to be a minister or PM.
My request to them IK and AA, grab the seat of PM and change the situation of Pakistan, otherwise it will be too late for Pakistan and for Pakistanis to be a good state.
God gave Chance to IK and AA to be a PM without any hindrance, but IK and AA dont want to be .
I dont know what they want?
God bless pakistan.
he is tremendously energetic and he is etremely friendly.
I have two points to make which are bothering the people
1 - Post mortem is the legal requirement in case a person is killed like the case of Benazir martyrdom. Post mortem of all who were killed was the responsibility of the Government. But as Fauji Sarkar had something to hide, they did not fulfill this legal and constitutional requirement.
2 - PPP thinks that only Bilawal figure can keep the party united. So, it the right of PPP leadership to appoint him.
@kurkosmici
If Imran had accepted Musharaf’s offer he would have finished long time ago. I should say same for AA, People would have treated them same as they have treated PML q.
@Pakistani2008
“I respect him and his views but i am not agree with that Balawal should be next chairman of ppp. and he also talk about the postmartom of other people than bibi. I think he has no right to say that becaue other people are also dear to someone”
I am very much happy with the critical sense that you got. tell, you we Pakistani nation have destroyed our country mainly because
1- either we don’t believe in our leaders
2- we believe too much in them and blindly.
With every charismatic word that comes out of the mouth of a fantastic personality like IK or AA we just stay “immune” to let ourself even think opposite to that.
Its very dangerous. And until we don’t open our eyes and look critically and KEEP looking so (even after the time when our leader have proven them to be fair and sincere enough) we cant make progress.
And yes that true that other people who died along with BB are also as respectable as she. But AA is also a human and he can also make mistakes like he did. On Bilawal Bhutto case, however i second him.
My only problem with Atizaz is why did he not stand up 10 year earlier?
and other like him?
interesting disscussion here.
http://tazakino.com/article.php/20080203205123761
@Pakistani 2008
Why it is a fear that IK would have finished long time ago if hired as a PM and same with AA.
Then how they can prove their talk without being work. ????
Every thing comes by step by step. To show their ability they must take the Position first and show their ability by doing practically for the sake of the country.
Talk, talk, talk, talk and when some body offer them seat, they dont want.
what is this????????
Todal this guy is a champion for peace but how can people of Hyderabad can forget his brutal orders of Pucca Qila operation during the first tenure of BB as prime minister when he was Interior Minister. On his order, Eagle Squad (then a special unit of police) killed hundreds of innocent people and raped dozens of young urdu speaking girls in just few hours during a curfew. He is a killer of hundreds of innocent people of Pucca Qila.
i think today AA is again put under house arrest until the formation of new government . the establishment is rocked by just one interview
imgaine AA along with other 60 judges in judicial bus ……..i think establishment have no other choice but to restore the judges
@ pakistani 2008
Dont compare PMLq with educated people like IK and AA. Musharaf is not working alone, he takes advices from stupid PML q and work on it, and you saw the result.
If IK and AA were part of PML q, Mushraf would have taken advices from them and act on them and Pakistan would be in a strong position.
Vice versa.
!!! ———Wah Chuadry Sahib dil khos kar dia——–!!!
duniya ki tarikh gawah hay adal bina jamhur na ho ga
adal howa to mulk hamara kabhi bhi chikna choor na ho ga
adal bina kamzor adare adal bina kamzor akhayaian
adal bina be bas shehri adal bina har simt duhaian
duniya ki tarikh main socho kab koi munsif kaid howa hay
amir ki bas apni ana se adal yahan napaid howa hay
great guy….a few more of AAs in Pakistan and we can become GREAT NATION
however - its time for AA to convince his party PPP on restoration of judiciary (or part ways?)
His recounting of Musharraf’s surreal meeting with his daughter is not only hilarious but also shows the paranoid schizophrenic state of mind that mushie’s in these days…
Mush sounds like a total kook!
Benazir’s Assassination Investigation and United Nation, Why?
Can anyone educate me, why Peoples Party including genius Aetzaz Hasan and the leader Zaradari ask for an investigation from the United Nation, even after winning the election? Is their own government to be (in few days) is not sovereign and is not capable of conducting an independent investigation?
United Nation investigation is usually conducted when more than one countries or an hostile government is involved in the conspiracy.
@ Ashraf
If you can have US technology, you beg International community, you can ask for loans. You can say that we are not educated enough to have same human rights/democracy because we are inferior to the West. Then why not ask International investigation?
@ashraf: at the risk of going off topic. How do we know there aren’t any countries involved before doing the investigation? the whole point of investigation is to find out what happened? If we were to find out that another country was involved, that would indeed be a Gargantuan discovery!!!
Mushie and his UK&US masters (who were probably complicit) are saying out of hand that the reason they don’t want a UN investigation is because no other countries are involved. How do _THEY_ know with such certainty? Did they _know_ that an outside country was involved in Hariri case? NO, they just accused Syria and went right ahead… They are doing the same thing, but in the other direction. And we are taking their word for it.
This is why I think Aitezaz Ahsan is still supporting the UN investigation.
P.S. I’m becoming more firm in my conviction that Pervez Musharraf. should face the music under article 6 of the constitution for undermining the Republic and committing High Treason.
I am dissapointed regarding the inheritance issue (coronation of the new head of PPPP). Maybe this point is the only weak part of the interview. Otherwise he was as good as he can get. All in all a man with a vision for Pakistan, who DESERVES respect! One could wish that he was leading PPPP!!!!!!!
Optimally Khamosh Sahiban,
I think my thought processes are in line with yours. This is not going to be off topic as it is directly related to the content of Barrister Aezaz Hasan’s interview. My thoughts are that PPP’s government should go for their own investigation. If the investigation points to another country, then UN’s help should be sought.
Also, if the dictator tries to “Mush” this investigation then either kick him out with or only then ask the UN. Otherwise asking UN’s help is mindless when you are controlling the government machinery.
After watching AA and Sohail W.- I am filled with pride and jubilation that YES- Pakistan has people like those two.
The kind, gentle, non-confrontational style of interview by Sohail can only be described as almost SUBLIME !
AA is a poet and an artist and a very genuine person. Pakistan is lucky to have people like him. Nawaz Shareef has great judgement when choosing lawyers and so does the great CJP Iftikhar.
I would like to express my gratitude to Admn for providing us the opportunity to watch this and would like to suggest that this interview be kep for a very long time so that we can use it as inspiration in our times of despondency and pessimism.
Aitzaz Ahsan is a great visionary.
Here is a clip of a speech given by Ali Ahsan (Aitzaz’s son, who is also a lawyer in New York.
http://www.diversityinc.com/public/2740.cfm
@ashraf: I see your point and agree that it would be applicable and valid in ideal circumstances where the investigative institutions were unbiased. But I hope you can see why AA and AZ are going for a UN investigation. That would use the internal machinery of Pakistani police etc, but the theory (the “theory” IMO) is that a UN setup will be the most un-biased that you can get.
Also, just cuz PPP is in power doesn’t mean the underlying administrative machinery doesn’t have an agenda of its own anymore. This is not like getting the steering wheel of a car. It is more like getting the joystick of a fly-by-wire aircraft and there might be multiple points of “compromise & failure” along the way from the joy-stick to the control surfaces.
That is where the farangi has those who are willing to sell their mother for a few sheckles.
Getting Scotland Yard to investigate BB was like Fidel were to ask the FBI to investigate the death of Che FRIGGIN Guevarra ! This is exactly why the US & UK are against it. They are involved in this sh!t as far as I’m concerned.
NOTE: BB wasn’t an angel, and AZ is definitely not one.. but I’m just saying… let the UN
PPS. I vaguely resent the insinuation of your title line. Optimist and I may agree mostly, but to imply we are the same seems a bit distasteful.
And please na’ooz billah, Mushi is not even equal to the dust under the feet of Fidel Castro (in my opinion of course) And I don’t mean to compare Z with him either. I was just trying to make a poing. Zor Che vs. FBI par. Theek hai?
- a great person, a great leader the whole nation can be proud of
- its time for AA to convince his party PPP on restoration of judiciary (or part ways?)
- he commented about not right to carry out post mortem of BB now as this will be disresect but its ok to dig the graves of other youngsters who died of bullets wounds. this was very irresponsible and childish of AA to say…..did he think of the mothers of those dead of what they would think?
@ admin pk politics.
I think U MAY be aware, that transferring data from pk politics to the computer
is taking un-necessary delay these days. Is it so because of too much traffic
( or too many people trying to send their contributions at the same time?)
Can U please help to try & rectify the problem?
I’m not supporter of PPP but AA is one of the guys in Pakistan I have lots of respect. He is a true leader who is aware of the current issues and has vision to resolve them.
I was pretty sure he would be the one to lead PP after BB’s death but I guess they wanted to keep the PP a Bhutto dynasty.
I would like for him to not to do “INTQAMI SIASAT” and be the next president of Pakistan.
Great interview!!!!!
what a interview, one of the best i have ever seen.
why is this guy not the leader of ppp?
you make me proud to be pakistani, thank you.
LATEST SITUATION. A few points are forwarded here below, for comments
from your worthy contributors ; -
Agreed , all said & done ; that, without any doubt, Aitezaz Ahsan is a very
capable man. But, the sages, the grey haired, & many other men of
wisdom, have expressed their reservations & doubts, that Mush WILL
EVER LEAVE his Islamabad ‘ PALACE, ‘ or, WILL EVER LET all his political
opponents, to ‘ FRY ‘ him, like a, ‘ seekh kabab’ for his many acts of
commission & omission, which he committed all these years.
They also say, that he MAY, ( please remember, the word, MAY ) MAY-NOT,
let the parliament be FORMED AT ALL, or to come into EXISTENCE. And if,
AT ALL such a parliament is formed, then it’s life will last for a few weeks
or a few months, BECAUSE, Mush,( they further say,) WILL COME INTO
ACTION, & DISSOLVE IT ; & WILL BRING DOWN, CRASHING, the ALL
THE EFFORTS of the nation, IN ONE GO.
Then, ( they also say,) Mush will SIT on the ‘ THRONE ‘ for another 05 to
10 years, with his ‘ Q ‘ league running the ‘ SHOW ‘ as care-takers,
because he will go in TV / Radio, & DECLARE, that the nation has
NOT-YET ATTAINED THE REQUIRED LEVEL OF MATURITY, TO SELECT
A LOYAL & WISE LEADER ( meaning , like himself. )
Mush, will further,’ announce, that TILL THAT MOMENT ARRIVES, & TILL
ANOTHER 10 years OR MORE, THERE WILL BE NO FURTHER
ELECTIONS.
SO WHAT CAN YOU OR ME, ( they say,) or for that matter anybody else,
CAN DO TO EVICT Mush ? FOR another 10 years or more, WE ALL WILL
BE DOING THE SAME ; WHAT ALL, ( WE ALL,) HAVE TRIED, TO DO,
FOR LAST SO MANY YEARS !
In a NUT-SHELL,( they say, ) this guy, is TOO CLEVER, like a FOX, for all
his opponents, put-together, AS MUSH WILL OUT-WIT THEM ALL !
Any comments, please ?
Watched a movie “THE LAST KING OF SCOTLAND” about Ugandan dictator Idi Amin. Reminded me of Musharraf….
A good movie. A must watch.
I have been pleasantly surprised to watch this interview by Suhail Waraich who is otherwise quite a bugger. But he conducted this interview very well. Needless to say Aitezaz was as Aitezaz is - superb!
As for “The Last KIng of Scotland”, Eidi Ameen was a symbol of hatred for western nations because he promoted black nationalism and hired white men as his servants. He was an eccentric with many flaws but any impartial accpunt of his rule tells us that he was no devil as portrayed by western media. The west was so annoyed with him that they funded Milton Ebutae to launch a rebellion and depose Eidi Ameen.
Brilliant. Absolutely brilliant.
This must be watched widely. I salute AA and Geo for this excellent interview.
Some time ago there was a suggestion taht you create a place in this site where you put classics. I support taht suggestion and would request you to put thsi interview in that section.
muqqafa
[...] special thanks to pkpolitics [...]
Boys i have been shouting Az is az because of PP
Cheers!
@ ADMIN
Aaj TV aired Aitezaz Ahsen’s interview, would Admin try to get this for others to watch. Thank you.
Independent TV station off air in Pakistan
http://www.gulfnews.com/world/Pakistan/10192100.html
i was shocked to see that my factual discussion with “peace” about the brutal activities of Aitzaz Ahsan during his tenure as Interior Minister has been deleted by you. In my opinion, the aim of this website is mainly working for freedom of speech but it shows that u guys are not willing to hear the comments against ur “HEREOS”.
Videos Shows