Asma Sherazi is back and this is her first episode of Parliament Gallery since the martial law of 3rd November 2008. The guests are Asif Ali Zardari, Makhdhoom Shah Qureshi and Mustansar Javed.
[audio:http://pkpolitics.com/audio/parliament-gallery/Parliament-Gallery-22-February-08.mp3]
Download Audio MP3 Here
February 23rd, 2008 at 5:29 am
Welcome Back Asma,
Great show, the only dilemma is that we STILL do not know which way the boat is sailing. Also read Justice (R) Tariq Mehmood’s strong statemant in Jang against AA and IK meeting. I just hope that US does not hi-jack our 1st real democracy initiative. Only time will tell .
February 23rd, 2008 at 8:19 am
Zaradari has chickenout the critcle questions like restoration of judges etc. Seems some under the table deal
February 23rd, 2008 at 12:29 pm
What was that “machi” thing? He was talking about an ‘english proverb’ and then started talking about ‘machi’ … Zardari sahab distract ho gai aur ‘machi pakaRna shuru kar diya’
I laughed so hard. That was not fair to him.
February 23rd, 2008 at 1:15 pm
@taban
I think he was trying to make the point about who controls the budget for the courts. If you look at previous news, current PCO judges are given plots, increased allowances and other benefits after the 3rd. If you missed the news I can dig that out for you.
So that was more like carrot to the judges.
I also very well believe that you know the proverb
February 23rd, 2008 at 1:45 pm
@econfused: I got the point bro (and I think it was opposite to how I understand it from you). I thought he was talking about restoring current judiciary vs. the change in system. He seems to support “systemic” (not systematic) changes all the while being non-committal on the restoreation of Nov3 usurped judges.
I could be wrong.
February 23rd, 2008 at 1:47 pm
first time i have heard PPP position on the restoration of the judiciary. Shah Mahood should be the one to to speak on their behalf..
February 23rd, 2008 at 1:58 pm
Welcome back Asma!
February 23rd, 2008 at 2:15 pm
Well, If PML-N joined forces with PPP without a solid strategy for reinstatement of judges, then NS can goodbye to his popularity. I think PPP is staying vague to play carrot and stick games with establishment.
February 23rd, 2008 at 2:32 pm
@econfused: I agree with you. Zardari will surprise a lot of people.
February 23rd, 2008 at 4:11 pm
We must keep in mind two factors-
1. Aristocracy of Intellect - No matter what anyone thought of BB- she was very intelligent person. I doubt if you can put Zardari at the same level. Combine him with the likes of Amin Fahim-( no personality) and you can understand one cannot expect any decisions that require courage of conviction. Zardari’s past is prologue. Amin Fahim has not shown anything except ” dog” like loyalty to BB.
These guys will continue to watch which way the wind blows and will try to benefit from that.
Simply stated they lack the intellect and the character required for a political leader in the present situation.
2. When you get mediocre people- you get mediocre solutions. Just look at Musharraf. He was very ordinary with no imagination no creativity, surrounded by YES men. He had grandiose opinion of himself and probably still does but in 9 years what a mess he has created. BB lost her life to bring her party to power but a party headed by Moronic Geniuses. Zardari is no smarter than Musharraf and the people around him are the same type YES men- just look at Amin Fahim .
Can you imagine Amin Fahim taking ANY stand on ANYTHING.
The thing that baffles me- PPP has Aitazaz and they select Amin Fahim ! Oh ! I for got Zardari saving the party so that the teenager Bilawel can inherit the party and they have to keep no bodies in the leadership situation- sort of fill in the blanks.
What these guys are forgetting is that Pakistan is moving at a very fast pace and Bilawel might not have a PARTY to inherit - and he probably will not as TIME and TIDE wait for no one.
February 23rd, 2008 at 4:22 pm
@shiamtoree,
I wont be able to agree with you, as far mediocrity is concerned, I am glad that what democracy has to offer and I will be happy to live with it. Aitezaz himself said that he would recommend a PM from Sindh. So if you put Aitezaz at such a higher place, then may be you should try to get his message also.
Do not make point about Bilawal either, as his time is not here yet. As for party is concerned, establishment and pro-military forces has been break the party since its inceptions. Geniuses like you have been predicting the breakup since its inception, but TIME and AGAIN “illiterate” awam has voted for the party. Even though I am not a PPP voter, but I am glad it won the elections.
I am a mediocre, and I don’t have a problem with it.
February 23rd, 2008 at 4:41 pm
@shimatoree:
Unfortunately, I disagree with the term “Aristocracy of Intellect”. First of all intellect (think wisdom, not mere knowledge): To me she just seems like another run of the mill politician who wasn’t able to muster the courage to stand up to the establishment the first two times around and this time she made an open deal with the imperialist forces. And secondly, any aristocracy she had was not necessarily due to her extra-ordinary intellect, it was more hereditary (IMO)
Regarding mediocrity, and Musharraf, I couldn’t agree more. But it is not just rebelliousness that one needs in a leader. I think sometimes you need someone who isn’t too full of him/her self but still has a spine. This remains to be seen re: Amin Fahim. He has been leading the party caucus . Aitezaz Ahsan, IMO, is a misfit in PPP. He is more of a rabble rouser, and though I personally agree with his tactics, I don’t think many party discipline criteria would take kindly to it (despite the fact that the executive structures are mainly undemocratic in most Pakistani parties)
Just the last press conference Aitezaz Ahsan did with IK, he got heck from both sides. I think PPP is not happy with it, and neither are the lawyers (see Justice Tariq Mehmood’s response).
In the current env, I think keeping the pressure on PPP/PML is the right strategy, because AA, more than anyone, knows how much pressure AZ and NS are under and he doesn’t want them to falter along the way. Although I like Asif Zardari’s “machi” strategy, I would like him to restore the Nov 3 judges as the “first machi” as well, and then he can change the system all he wants. Win Win!
I wouldn’t let appearances fool me because Gen. Zulmat (mardood) thought that Junejo would roll over and play dead, but Junejo surprised everyone and gave Zulmat a run for his money.
February 23rd, 2008 at 5:05 pm
@democracy
I dont know why do you think Shah Mehmood Quraishee should speak on behalf of PPPP—
they are still playing with words. Issue is not to go to the past and restore all those judges who refused to take oath under PCO in the past 30 years. This is a deliberate effort to complicate this issue.
Important thing is that pakistani people for the first time observed that courts were giving the decisions independently. Let alone the decisions pertaining to the governance or specifically pervaiz musharraf. There were lot of other issues which were being dealt with in a just manner. people want them back.
Secondly, 60 judges have refused to be the part of the devils practice. If judiciary will not be restored, in the future no judge will ever think going against the will of the emperor of the time.
Politicians will also keep one thing in mind that if they will go against the wishes of the people, they will lose the best opportunity to convince the people about the blessings of democracy. and I really praise PML (N) for clearly telling the group of american senators that if judges can issue orders to release a prisoner from Gontanamo bay, why a judge in Pakistan is not allowed to order the state to come up with charges against the people who are put behind the bars for no reason.
regards
February 23rd, 2008 at 5:27 pm
Because he is the only one who makes half sense at this point! the rest are rather mealy mouthed and have no idea how to explain their pretzel like positions on Musharraf and the judiciary. Regardless of who speaks for them, they need to stop being so vague and get on with the mandate which the people gave them votes for! Today’s Gallup poll should be a wake up call to them.
February 23rd, 2008 at 5:28 pm
Dear Admin, any idea about Kashif Abbasi’s show? Can you post it if its available from yesterday.
February 23rd, 2008 at 5:40 pm
I don’t know about u, but I like the “Machi Doctrine” I am going to write a blog entry about it and try to make it as popular on google as possible by mentioning it every where.
So regarding the “machi doctrine” which is in clear contrast with the “Bush doctrine” (With us or against us).. or the Mush Doctrine (I’m with you, please don’t kill me) I just have to say this.
“Aap Khudaa kay liyay unhaeN maaf karaeN aur unhaeN baKHsh daeN”
February 23rd, 2008 at 7:45 pm
@ Tab’an Khamosh and @econfused-
The issue of aristocracy of the intellect was brought into the picture simply as a comparison of the dead leader and those that have replaced her to take over the party(PPP) . Let us prestend that BB was NOT dead. I am certain that the policy would be made by BB and not either Amin Fahim or Zardari-( even though he might have been un-official advisor)- I am certain of that because that is how BB did function. Oh yes she gave the appearence of being a ” democratic” consensus person saying that this committee or that committee would decide this or that BUT SHE called the shots- let there be no doubts about that.
I happen to have very close friends who worked with her both in her political actions(PPP) and her 2 times prime minister ships . She was bright and perceptive and thoughtful person. Yes she made mistakes but let us not forget what she had been through before she became prime minister .
I have not claimed to be a genius-( @ econfused)- just that BB was very smart and in relative terms she was a genius as compared with the present lot.
It is true that ” AWAM ” has voted for-( For BB )- and by extrapolation for PPP but even the awam are becoming better informed and expect something . Now that the personality CULT of BB is no more- those that are running the party must produce the goods - namely show some decision making capabilties in the short term- like restoring the judiciary and freeing the media and naming the prime minsiter, foriegn minister and the defence minister . What the awam wants is decisiveness both in words and in actions . As much as PPP HAS won the election as a majority party- the awam has not forgotten what Mr. Zardari did last time when his wife was prime minister. He has to prove himself. The onus of responsibility is on HIM. Smooth talk and sin doctorship is not going to pass this time. Just because they will delay the and delay will not make the problem go away
And very soon the economic issues will come. How will he deal with the problem of oil prices which Musharraf has kept artificialy low by subsidising . The price of food items which will rise a lot.
He can deal with them if he established credibility-( which he lacks at this time) and he can do that simply by freeing the judges and the media NOW.
As to Amin Fahim- most people in the Frontier don’t even know who he is and I don’t think they are missing much
February 23rd, 2008 at 8:03 pm
Regarding Justice Tariq Mahmoods outburst we must wait and see whether it is a lonely incident or it is a common stand by the lawyers movement aginst AA and Ik’s mutual press conference. I don’t believe it is a common stand and until further it must stand as Tariq Mahmood’s (TM) own word. I think TM has made a fault in critisizing this move by IK and AA at this crucial stage as it could seen as a plan to hamper the movement.
February 23rd, 2008 at 9:25 pm
yaar mujhay Sh. Rashid peh baRaa tars Aayaa. aek to becharaa GAY hai, doosraa donooN seeToN par haar gayaa… ooper say Geo kehtaa hai dubai’e bhaaG gayaa!
watch his interview I posted the link in news & views.
February 23rd, 2008 at 10:17 pm
I just have one question for Asma Shiraazi:
when Zardaari sahab said, “Angrezi kaa aek maQoolah hai keh …. ‘machi kisi ko aap mat daeN…’ “”"
how did you stop yourself from howling because every time I here this, I cannot control my laughter.. it is just too funny!!! (at marker 6:02 btw)
February 24th, 2008 at 2:15 am
If People’s party does not restore the judges, it must consider its end.
Nothing like 9th March happened before when a gun-wielding General asked the Chief Justice of Pakistan to resign.
I see no sign of them doing it.

March 10th, 2008 at 4:34 pm
well ZARDARI has grown up literaly indeed, shud appriciate his style as a wise man,
ppp and NOON need some of the cheeky minds.
guuuuuud luuuuuk
cheers pakistani