YouTube Banned in Pakistan

ARY OneWorld is reporting that YouTube has been banned in Pakistan.

NEW YORK (AP) — Most of the world’s Internet users lost access to YouTube for several hours Sunday after an attempt by Pakistan’s government to block access domestically affected other countries.

The outage highlighted yet another of the Internet’s vulnerabilities, coming less than a month after broken fiber-optic cables in the Mediterranean took Egypt off line and caused communications problems from the Middle East to India.

Pakistan Causes Worldwide YouTube Outage

50 Comments »

1. Londonistan Says:
    February 22nd, 2008 at 4:44 pm
    comment-top comment-bottom

Brothers! join hands , make a coalition( no matter how small it is) and decide that from now on we shall:
    1. Do what ever Prophet ask us to do and refrain what he forbade. It is not only our Destiny but also a revenge from those who try to test our “Iman”.
    2. Make a personal boycott of such sites and try to persude others.

We can live without them and their media.

A day is about to come when we will (InsaALLAH) drink water form the hands of our Prophet(PBUH).

Just talked to a friend over MSN, she confirmed it: (names have been removeD)

A says:
    is youtube banned in pakistan?

A says:
    try going to http://www.youtube.com

A says:
    tell me if it loads

A says:
    ??

F says:
    nopes its not

F says:
    kiyoon… y is it banned

A says:
    DUDE
    A says:
    youtube is banned in pakistan
    A says:
    is that true
    n says:
    n says:
    no
    A says:
    go to youtube.com
    A says:
    tell me it it loads
    A says:
    ??
    n says:
    wait
    n says:
    its takin a while
    A says:
    LOL

IDIOTS!

Aaj TV has been taken off the cable and satellite 5 minutes after Bolta Pakistan returned to the air. How is this happening if a new government is about to take power? Why is it powerless to stop these thuggish actions of Musharraf and his goons? Is this what Pakistan voted for?

Army House aur GHQ kaa gaerao kia jaai’ay..

I have a feeling this has something to do with the videos aired on GEO today (also on some blogs).

It happened very fast. The videos were aired less than 2-3 hours ago.

Pkpolitics taken down in 3…..2……..1…..

ppp has lost it’s mind if they think they can co-exist with Mush, the sooner they kick this loser out the better (for their health and everbody elses).
    Zardari is talking with Altaf Hussain while PPP workers (I’m not sure but I think one of the was a polling agent) are being gunned down in Baldia Town, Karachi. I don’t know what PPP is thinking.

Musharraf is asking for humiliation…..He will have it his way, inshallah!

Now people MUST make a strong protest by appearing in massive demonstration against him. That is ´maybe the only thing that can stop this hustler.

I’m in Karachi and Youtube is loading fine, atleast for now.

All MQM rigging videos have been removed from YouTube.

YouTube should be back to normal shortly in Pakistan.

No it is not loading in Islamabad…. from tomorow Mush will pass the ordinance that Newspapers are also banned. If you have to read hen read The Musharraf Times. Very soon you will not be allowed to breathe also. I think Admin you should also start to pack up:) by the way there was a site by Shaheen Sehbai by the name of South Asia Tribune. As it was banned in pakistan there was another link from which you can access south asia tribune. Can some one guide me on that??

I think SA tribune was closed down a while ago.

All MQM rigging videos have been removed from YouTube.

——————-

How were they removed?

@econfused
    Yes before it closed down it was banned in Pakistan but the access was available from some other link some annonomyser…. I was wondering if any one knows that link.

It says they were removed by the user. Most probably PTA checked ISP records and found the IP address and home address of user who uploaded it.

They probably went to his place and forced him to login to his account and remove it.

19. khanonthenet Says:
    February 22nd, 2008 at 6:29 pm

Youtube can be accessed through http://vtunnel.com/

Secondly, the videos (at least one of them) can still be accessed via Google Videos:

http://video.google.com/videosearch?q=mqm election rigging&sitesearch=

20. comment-top comment-bottom

Someone just killed 20 year old son of PPP worker. Can it be related?

http://jang.com.pk/jang/feb2008-daily/22-02-2008/update.htm#70

Aaj tv back on air in Karachi, atleast I’ve got it on my cable, I don’t know about other cable networks.

23. nicefellow1 Says:
    February 22nd, 2008 at 6:52 pm

it is really sad news that youtube has banned

but a good news is here

and write the http://www.youtube.com in the below box and click begin browsing
    thats it

Njoy

Bolta Pakistan just ended, as Aaj came back on air. BURN IN HELL MUSHARRAF.

http://video.google.com/videoplay?docid=6975747496013021264

this is one of the videos because of which youtube is banned in pakistan

Hi Admin,

It seems that YouTube has been banned in Pakistan because of some Election Rigging videos being posted there. Would it be possible for you to archive these Election Videos here as I know that a lot of International / Pakistani Visitors come here on frequent basis.

wqqas
    Even the video you mentioned is not available.

To be honest, I am happy if youtube is banned. This website has completely got out of control.

I hate youtube because of offensive remarks people put. For example, there are many videos that insult Imran Khan and accuse him of many ridiculous things. I reported those videos to youtube and told them that these were ’serious unproven criminal allegations and thus against the law’ but they never took any action.

Same is with Muhammad Cartoons and many other irresponsible videos. Some of them are ‘fun videos’ by uneducated white boys burning Holy Quran or Shooting it many times with bullets. Comments under these videos are quite disturbing and hate spreading.

We should find other ways to expose criminal elements of MQM. As far youtube, I would be happy if more countries ban it too. I am deeply hurt by the comments people put on it. You put one decent comment and 100 dogs attack you from all directions.

@Optimist
    hey man, those Imran Khan videos are uploaded by MQM loyalists…nevermind them! I think all the JUNK videos should be cleaned everyday by youtube people. Just avoid the videos that are junk, that’s what I do!

Is this really 21st century? This is similar to those days when Kings ordered to cut someones head off cuz they didn’t obey them!! Musharraf man, you will be thrashed soon.

I have seen SAME videos that were removed. Now MQM guys have uploaded them with the caption ‘PPP is rigging elections’

It is about time that we exposed those IMMORAL Aunties to show the real face of MQM.

31. CJ Musharraf Says:
    February 23rd, 2008 at 2:11 am

Bad news. PPP in talks with Q League.

http://thenews.com.pk/top_story_detail.asp?Id=13140

32. temporarynick Says:
    February 23rd, 2008 at 3:41 am

As per PTA, youtube is banned because of an abusive movie about islam and Quran made by dutch politician Geert Wilders. He is the same person who constantly demands banning Quran from Netherland.
    I do not believe that the conspiracy theory of youtube banning because of mqm videos is correct. (My personal view).

PTA notification
    http://www.teeth.com.pk/blog/wp-content/plugins/wp-downloadMonitor/download.php?id=4

you dont like a video than dont watch it you idiot. Only little kuttis do censorship.

pkadmin,

I have NA-250 rigging video on HD. Let me know if you want it.

MQM backed election official-Bajis in NA-250 Karachi. The woman is placing her female co-worker’s thumb on multiple ballots and writing fictitious ID numbers saying “kis ney check karna hai”

First she counts the people waiting which is seven … then says “saat chor kar aagey laga do”.

@nebu,

Please send it. You can encode in windows media or any other compressed format and upload to rapidshare.com, and send me link when it is done.

If that is not possible, you can mail me on DVD.

36. yasirhsheikh Says:
    February 24th, 2008 at 12:47 am

I uploaded two videos for you guys:
    http://rapidshare.com/files/94397256/MQM-baji-rigging.flv.html
    http://rapidshare.com/files/94397257/MQM-rigging.flv.html

I hope it works fine. However, you can also download Veoh downloader from http://www.Veoh.tv and can actually download videos from various networks directly onto your computer.

37. yasirhsheikh Says:
    February 24th, 2008 at 12:49 am

For to mention that you need an FLV player to play the videos. You can download a free lightweight FLV player from here: http://www.applian.com/flvplayer/

@ All Bro & sis,

On February 13th 2008, at least seventeen Danish newspapers vowed to defend freedom of expression and reprinted a cartoon of Prophet Mohammed. The conservative broadsheet Berlingske Tidende wrote in an editorial: “Freedom of expression gives you the right to think, to speak and to draw what you like… no matter how many terrorist plots there are…” It is evident that the Danish media did not learn anything from the outcry of Muslims that accompanied the newspaper Jyllands-Posten decision to publish the original cartoons in 2005. Denmark is the not the only western country that insists on vilification of Islam.
    The Dutch government has refused to take action against Dutch Member of Parliament Geert Wilders who has recently made a derogatory movie about the Quran. The government has defended Wilders’s actions by citing freedom of expression. A year earlier, the Dutch government banned the Burqah. In Britain under the guise of freedom and tolerance, the Shariah debate has been used by the media and government ministers to denigrate Islam and set a new price for Muslim loyalty to the State.
    France and Germany have imposed a ban on the wearing of hijabs. European security forces routinely harass, arrest and torture Muslims for simply being Muslims. Writers and journalists are free to insult Islam and their right to do so is passionately defended by politicians. Take Oriana Fallaci, the Italian war correspondent wrote a book entitled ‘’Anger and Pride’ in which she described Muslims as ‘vile creatures who urinate in baptisteries’ and ‘multiply like rats’. To the horror of Muslims, Italy’s Defence Minister, Antonio Martino, praised Fallaci for having the courage to write the book.
    In Muslims eyes, America— the leading state of the West— is notorious for the humiliation and torture of Muslims in Abu Ghraib and Guantanamo, responsible for the destruction and defilement of Iraq’s mosques, the debaser of Muslim women and the slayer of tens of thousands of innocent Muslims. Testimonies from human rights organisations, journalists, lawyers, US officials, former prisoners, rape victims, tell the true horror of America’s war on Islam. In this war, western ideals of ‘religious freedom’ and ‘freedom of expression’ have given way to religious intolerance and anti-Muslim demagoguery

@Revivalist: Please stop straying Muslim brothers and sisters from the true path.

Dear brothers and sisters: Before you do anything rash, think about just one thing:

What Would Muhammad Do?

Remember the cruelties inflicted on Muhammad by the People of Taif. If he wanted he could have asked Jibraeel to Destroy that city, but remember what he did? Follow him, not the agents of the west who want you to destroy yourselves by fighting 1 million small irrelevant fights.

Don’t be fooled by fools whose actions only strengthen the hands of the enemies of Islam.

Youtube is banned because it had MQM rigging videos.Now same videos have been uploaded with a different caption as PPP rigging.Shame on these MQM assholes.If youtube was banned becoz of prophets cartoons then all Islamic countries should ban them why only Pakistan….Lanut Lanut Lanut….MQM per Lanut….

41. comment-top comment-bottom

Youtube is banned because it had MQM rigging videos.Now same videos have been uploaded with a different caption as PPP rigging.Shame on these MQM supporters.If youtube was banned becoz of prophets cartoons then all Islamic countries should ban them why only Pakistan….Lanut Lanut Lanut….MQM per Lanut….

And geo only showed thedhaaNdlee done in Liyari so ppl of Pakistan think it is the pipplas who did it.. GEO will never have the cojones to show it even if someone sent them the video. They are too scared of terrorist threat from MQM.

Geo is the most phutoo channel in pakistan. They live on CIA money and government has proofs thats why they would not go against it.

youtube is banned in Pakistan because of videos of elections 2008 in pakistan . in which some people capture videos with mobile phones. that videos shows how peaceful fair and free Pakistan elections were. second reason of youtube ban is Aitzaz Ahsan poem Kal Aaj Aur Kal. in Ayub Khan rule Habib Jalib was arrested in Zia Faiz Ahmad Faiz and in Musharraf Aitzaz Ahsan is playing same role.

last time when Denmark news paper published cartoons in newspaper where were our Government authorities at that time. i personally seen those cartoons on youtube last year. but y at that time government dont put ban on youtube. i personally seen those cartoons on youtube. and comments on those cartoons were also very bad. we people of Pakistan are very innocent our Rulers are making us fool from last 60 years. those cartoons are not only published on youtube but also on many websites u can search from google. government must ban all sites.

@TAban khamosh

Allah (swt) knows best who astray people are and straying other people. Why you only choose specific incidents from the life of Muhammad (Saw) why don’t you talk about the letters he (saw) sent to the kings of that time, why don’t you talk about the Gazwa Badar, Khyber, khandaq, Uhad etc because you want Muslim to adopt your version of Islam designed by neo-cons for you. Islam came to liberate the humanity from worshiping man (dictatorship) or collection of men (parliament) to the worship of Allah (swt) and those who stands in the way of this light for there personal gains removing those individuals by force for the betterment of the whole humanity is called Jihad and this is the duty of Islamic state to carry the massage of Islam. Unlike secularism Islam does not believe in colonialism and neo-colonialism rather Islam give equal right to all its citizens and does not act like a leech as the west has been doing for the last 100 years. There we saw people and nations accepting Islam and are Muslims till today. On contrary if you see secularism people are feed up and want to get rid off it because it has brought all sorts of evils with itself and brought the world on the verge of destruction. So don’t behave the way Quraish of Makah behaved when our beloved Prophet (saw) and his noble Sahaba were carrying the massage of Islam there. They used the same propaganda style there and asked people not to listen to there massage.

48. comment-top comment-bottom

[...] Blogs that are reporting:iFaqeerTeethMaestroZahir Kidvai’s blogPkPoliticsTechPediaNaiTaziPakistan LatestPakistaniatRohan Pinto BlogMuziq.NETAdnan’s Crazy Blog [...]