A Sort of Orange Revolution

pervez_mush_beating_head.jpgAuthor: Dr Qaisar Rashid

Give us the tools and we will finish the job – Sir Winston Churchill (1874-1965)

People cast the votes and finished the job. February 18 has made its impact: the tables were turned on the powers that be. A phase spanning almost a decade is over; after having touched the pinnacle of the all-in-one arc, now the nadir of the same bow has arrived. The exit door is ahead.

Silence was the essence of this revolution. Silence was imposed on the judiciary, the lawyers, the media, and the civil society. All have now spoken in one voice: enough is enough. It is the will of the people that will prevail on the instruments of state coercion. One voice can be heard loud: March 9 was the damning day and November 3 was the black day. Two main opposition parties, PML-N and PPPP are one and together – adversity makes strange bedfellow. That is how democracy makes inroads. In a way, silence has backfired. The oppressive hands of the state are broken into pieces. Democracy has taken its revenge. Benazir Bhutto’s words come true.

Just a couple of days ago, the self-professed highest chair of the country ridiculed the opinion polls and warned the West through the daily The Independent of the UK not to underestimate the power of the PML-Q, an extension of the presidency. Now, overestimation in that edict has itself been evaporated leaving the reality existing underneath bear and exposed. Main pillars of the PML-Q, need not to name, are down and out. Never before has Pakistan witnessed such ouster. It was a loud anti-establishment voice reverberating round the country. Certainly, February 18 declared the decisions made on March 9 and November 3 null and void, perhaps, with immediate effect.

Quintessentially, it is a revolution. An appropriate caption should be bestowed on it, even if the names like Orange, Rose, Tulip, and Velvet Revolutions seem redundant or in oddity. Nevertheless, fervour was the same. The undercurrent zeal was similar: the true voice of the people should be heard, should be heard and should be heard. What otherwise is the ingredient of a revolution? Of course, it is people’s unanimous conclusion even if it seemed unpredictable to few.

After fall of the PML-Q, known as King’s Party, it is a logical turn of the 58-2b to go; it is the Article referred by Richard Baucher of the US that it could be used by the President of Pakistan to dissolve the next Parliament if the pre-November 3 judiciary were restored. Denying 58-2b to the president is like emasculating the king. Through 58-2b Pakistan would be back to the dark ages of 90s when parliaments used to be dissolved under one pretext or another. Unfortunately, the cushion of an independent judiciary has been removed. An independent judiciary could act as a bulwark against unfair dissolution. A subservient judiciary cannot serve the purpose; it would rather acquiesce in to the verdict of the presidency, the office that makes or mars it.

Through their unanimous vote, the people have made the President’s ‘scum of the earth’ the man worthy to be respected instead. The votes the PML-N has garnered are mostly in the name of restoration of the pre-November 3 judiciary. The deposed and detained Chief Justice of the country has attained a status unprecedented in the post-independence history of the country. He has been denied opportunity to defend his position. Any remark against him is not to diminish his stature but to raise it above the Himalayas. His struggle for the rule of law and constitutional supremacy has been recognized and acclaimed in the world as well.

The elections have proven that given the chance the people of Pakistan speak out their mind. Any person who asserts that democracy is not fit for the Pakistanis needs to read the history of Pakistan again. The then illiterate and backward Muslims of the Subcontinent rallied around Mohammad Ali Jinnah, the founder of Pakistan, and urged him to carve out a way to find a separate homeland. Jinnah selected the path of constitutionalism and democracy for his followers. Together they got Pakistan after just seven years of sincere effort. It is a pity if someone says that Pakistan is yet not ripe for a true form of democracy, a system of government guaranteeing fundamental rights of the citizens. That person himself is misfit in the system is what the implied message in the results of election 2008.

The president has himself acknowledged that his issuance of the National Reconciliation Ordinance was to divide the opposition and secure his own place in the comfort of the presidency. Under the force of offering a level playing field, the president had to allow Nawaz Sharif to come back, though Nawaz was disallowed to take part in the elections. The ‘Nawaz Factor’ has now routed out the PML-Q in Punjab. Hence, the PML-Q is very right in its ongoing effort to distance itself from the presidency. Nonetheless, damage has been done. The PML-Q has been left high and dry in the political arena. Even the intact local government system could not rescue it from biting the dust at the hands of the PML-N. Nor did loyalty to the presidency serve any purpose. The cost of slogans ‘the PML-Q would make the president elected several times’ is being paid by it. Further, had the PML-Q stalwarts taken a stance on the Red Mosque issue (to avert any raid), they might have been honoured today. They lost opportunity to be people’s leader. Instead, they remained loyal followers of the presidency. Now, crying over spilt milk can serve no purpose.

Above all, the president has said that he is ready to work with any party which constitutes government in the centre. It is an altogether a different point whether any party is ready to work with him or not. All the silent revolutions are in favour of ‘not.’

Please submit your articles or thoughts to “admin at pkpolitics dot com” for publishing.

105 Comments »

Good article. Our revolution is probably better than orange revolution because it stands for the values that are considered a luxury for a third world countries like Pakistan where even Atta/Gas/Electricity is in short supply.

We have taken a huge step towards right direction. Inshallah we will restore a judiciary that will give us rights and punish Atta hoarders too.

I would love to repeat the words of Son of Imam Khomeni of Iran: ‘Freedom is more important than bread!’

PS: Apology in advance to those who don’t understand the depth of this quote about freedom and will come to tell me to ’stop eating etc’

Bolta Pakistan and Parliament Gallery is coming shortly.

3. kingarthurII Says:
    February 23rd, 2008 at 3:10 am

This is a cogent article.

I draw from my post elsewhere in pkpolitics.com in slightly modified form:

Our Saviour referred to the Hon Chief Justice of Pakistan (deposed) as the “the scum of the earth – a third-rate man…” These are the outbursts of an increasingly cornered, if not isolated, group of petty tyrants that see the edifices of their illegitimate rule coming undone.

Democracy-bashers make all sorts of dire predictions and claim the moral high ground (which, of course, rings hollow). NS and AZ are relegated to ultimate infamy as are all politicians. Anyone who doesn’t wear a fancy, well ironed uniform decked with medals for (lost /futile?) wars and disastrous adventurism into freezing peaks, is a traitor.

The pressing issues are as follows:

Musharaf and his Q-boys have bequeathed on us the menace of extremism, exponentially increasing poverty, rampant inflation, a major water and energy crisis, a serious breakdown of law and order, the decimation of the education sector, the decimation of the health sector, the mutilation of the constitution of Pakistan, the brazen and arbitrary removal of the judiciary plus hosts of other major problems which we all know about too well.

Now the people of Pakistan have voted for the Dictator’s ouster, the end of his regime which has only brought pain and wanton mayhem. Should he not leave and give those that have been elected a fair chance? Should we condemn these victors in advance? Should we rubbish democracy for the sake of it - perhaps out of spite?

If they (the politicians) fail, if they only seek to please foreign powers rather than turning to their own people for guidance, then they will also enter quickly into the dustbin of history. Time will tell.

But for now democracy is our only chance. The self-serving doctrine of “Unity of Command” as espoused by the Saviour-General has failed us miserably and turned us into what most of the world considers a deeply troubled, if not failed, state. We gave the alternative form of government, an autocratic dictatorship, almost a decade to prove itself. It cannot now blame its failures on the political class or civil society.

The politicians must resist our elite class’ pathological predilection to be mentally subservient to foreign powers and must draw their strength from the people of Pakistan.

Meanwhile it would help if the much despised General would create the political space to let them try and heal the wounds he has inflicted on our hapless nation.

General Sahib said PML(Q) would sweep the elections. He belittled every poll in the world which declared him to be an obstacle to stability. He rubbished the BBC World Service poll, the IRI poll and others.

Now the people of Pakistan have essentially delivered by the ballot, a civilian form of a court martial. He should take heed and leave.

As should his cronies and goons. What more of an indictment does he want than the verdict of the people of Pakistan?

Democracy, however flawed, has its virtues and for a multi-ethnic federation there is no alternative that works, as we have seen recently.

A “revolution”, as stated above by Qaiser Rashid, started last year thanks to the media, the internet (including blogs such as pkpolitics), the legal fraternity and civil society in general. It is irreversible now.

@ Optimist

I understand what you wrote, BUT, the condition our country is in
    BREAD IS MORE IMPORTANT THAN FREEDOM.

@ prometheus

I already aplogised, Lols

The poor people are standing in lines for hours to buy a single loaf of bread and the President is:

“In some ways life has changed little for Pakistan’s president, Pervez Musharraf, since Monday’s election. The retired general still trots out for afternoon tennis, aides say, and enjoys a game of bridge a few times a week. In the evenings he pulls on a cigar and, although he can’t admit it, nurses a glass of whisky.”

God help us.

http://www.guardian.co.uk/world/2008/feb/23/pakistan

@Riddle 792
    That because he is still sitting on this

My father who lives in Lahore the other day just after the results sent me a text

HOW DO YOU SEE OUR SILENT REVOLUTION

So the title should not orange revolution but SILENT REVOLUTION - as that more apt title - because despite silencing everything - the silent majority gave its decision

PROMETHUS

Bread is not important than freedom otherwise Bhutto would not have said that we would eat grass but would definitely develop nuclear technology to defend our nation.

If for the sake of bread we forsake our freedom, our right to get speedy and honest justice and our right to speak we would always be in this forever - we are not animals - we are human beings - so dont treat us like Pervez Elahi treated us and now Q league is treating us that they lost because of atta etc.

It was not because of atta that they lost - they lost because they were a party to a conspirator who took away our freedom from us and imposed his own will on us and treated us as if we are a jahil nation when he told the European and Americans that we dont need their type of democracy because we are not ready for it. He forgot to mention that India who is like us and got independence with us had democracy from the beginning

So please dont treat us like animals and scum of the earth - as Musharraf said about Chief Justice - if he thinks that CJ is scum of the earth then imagine what does he think about us. He treats us even worse than that. Had it not been like that he wouldnt have murdered in broad daylight those innoncent girls in Jamia Hafsa and then said that I have crushed them.

One more thing - Americans are openly interfering in our affairs and are pressurizing Zardari to accept Musharraf. The Yankees dont have guts to interfere in India, China or Turkey - how dare they are interfering in a nation which is a nuclear nation - I believe that if Zardari shows his guts he should refused to be cowed down by this pressure and should join with NS and take the country out of this mess. Otherwise once he becomes part of establishment he would be worse than Shaukat Aziz and mid-way his goverment would be toppled and the lota judges would put a stamp of approval on that without any hestiation. So he should prefer to sit in opposition than fall in trap of establishment.

Nawaz will be isolated. Chattha and manzor vatto will make government in Punjab and PPP and MQM plus Q- League in center.

I hope things move in other directions and deposed CJ and other judges will make their way to court room, but seeing pakistan politics for so many years. The most likely hood is the one i explained above. No matter how emotional we get over this issue. The people who stand in elections and got elected are the old feudal faces, who prefer lawlessness then the rule of law.

they can slap any ordinary policemen on the road for stopping their tinted glassed vehicle. They have changed overnight with this “sort of Orange revolution” is a far fetched idea.

12. Hassaan Bin Haider Says:
    February 23rd, 2008 at 10:02 am

Let me start by commenting on the bread vs. freedom issue….”ignorance is a bliss”…the lay man of pakistan prefers bread over freedom because he does not know how we got freedom, what was our pre-1947 status in india…they dont know, that’why they dont care…so we should stress on awareness..i must say that it is the media that has become the primary source of awareness in Pakistan.

I believe that Pakistanis are responsible and patriotic nation, if someone tells them that their country needs help, they wont hesitate..the lawyers’ movement is a big example.

we always compare ourself with india in amount of awareness, but we forget that there are lots of minority groups in india, and they are in constant struggle to claim their due rights and for this they have to remain aware of everything that surrounds them….whereas in Pakistan nobody fights for their basic due rights, and so we take this thing for granted…anyways, i think my post has already become too large and philosphical…sorry abt that.

13. Hassaan Bin Haider Says:
    February 23rd, 2008 at 10:18 am

@Scorpion:

You are right about the fact that the old feudal faces have been elected again, but I would like to remind you that the leaders may be old but the nation is totally a new transformed nation…the last parliment had also the same old looters and fuedals in it, but you have seen how our nation treated them…so u should not worry about that.

the thing which i am worried about is …as we all know musharraf is on down hill since 9th March and has already become a history…but the problem is we are not making an exit strategy for him…we are sort of fire-fighting with all the issues that he is creating on his way…he is just like a stone which is thrown down from the top of the hill, so anyone who comes in his way will fall…instead of confronting him, we should show him an exit route…i agree that strong confrontation might be successful, but it will be too risky for our country’s economics and stability.

‘ The chessboard has been set & the battle is far from over ; one phase of
    uncertainity has ended, ( while ) another has just begun ‘ so writes Amjad
    Malik, for ICCSA.org. ( A, MUST- TO - READ article. )

Similarly,HOW TRUE, are the fears, that many of your contributors have
    expressed above; especially, comments by Kingarthur II & by Riddle.

I DO, understand, our ppl are CERTAINLY NOT, NAIVE, SIMPLE OR
    STUPID, so as, NOT TO understand what is happening in Pakistan &
    around.

But what I greatly fear, that with so many wise men sitting at the helm of
    affairs, & on the pedestals of power ; that they, WHAT I FEAR ,with all their
    efforts put together, will not be able to do any thing against the one, & the
    only, most, wily person, who is controlling everything in the country.

The other definitions of wily ( for those who may be interested to know, )
    are, ‘ skilled in deception,crafty, cunning, foxy, sly, tricky & whatnot.

Thus, whatever ‘ hulla baloo ‘ & agitation, our nation did so far to oust this
    one guy, I only FEAR, that it will go waste ; because as it is being
    openly expressed by EVERYONE & EVERYWHERE, that this guy will
    use article 58 -2 b to dismantle the new parliament & sit on his ‘ throne ‘
    for another untold number of years, with the backing of the army &
    his Godfather, the USA.

If that happens,could anybody suggest,what the nation-loving Pakistanis
    can do ?

@scorpion: I like your wishlist bro. You just keep praying real hard despite all the hard facts on the ground. Cuz it ain’t gonna happen. Good luck though.

Nothing is going to change except faces. The corruption will continue because corruption is the integral part of this man made system. You see JOR-TOR has already started I mean buying and selling. One other important point is that most of the people have lost there trust because they knew that they have a predetermined choice in front of them among which they have to choose. And all the options were of those who have already looted this country and its people and have delivered nothing, therefore the turn out is said to be 40% of less then 50% of the population and over 50% of the population were not even registered, So Overwhelming majority has not even participated in this election. This is what democracy is, Dictatorship of the Elites.

We need an Ideological change and only then our problems will be solved.

17. kingarthurII Says:
    February 23rd, 2008 at 12:49 pm

Dear SnrCtzn

Can you kindly give me the link for that article? I can’t find it.

Things have fundamentally changed in that there is more awareness than ever before, mainly due to the rapid dissemination of information through the electronic media, text messages, plethora of local and int’l radio stations, satellite dishes etc. One can’t rule out the use of heavy handed tactics but they are likely to be met with a great degree of scorn from the public which is increasingly well informed and can’t easily be taken for a ride by every tin pot knight in shining armour or ungainly politician.

The lawyers movement is also unlikely to just wither away.

Dictators draw their strength from illegitimate means. One would hope that the new dispensation that takes charge in the mighty power later this year will not recklessly prop the likes of General Sahib and his goon brigade. And of course one would hope that General Sahib has kindly left us to pursue our destiny by then anyway.

I am cautiously optimistic about Pakistan but one shouldn’t be irrationally exuberant in expecting overnight success. Insofar as the past is a predictor of the future, there are many obstacles ahead.

Yet there is hope and one must remain positive in order to live and not become dysfunctional as a nation.

Let’s see if our politicians can deliver.

@ Scorpion

Your hope and wishes seem two different things.

First guys like you were telling us ‘nothing will happen’. Now you see: it has happened.

FARCE of same feudal faces:

Many feudal lost and people like Javed Hashmi, Mian Asif of Sialkot and Saad Rafique won. Muslim Leauge N has MOSTLY become party of middle class (thanks to feudals running to Mush). Quality of next assembly will be impressive with such faces.

If a feudal is people friendly, he is million times better than a poor criminal and Bhatta Khore because he had better education and understands how to bring a sustainable change. Who was Bhutto? A feudal. No one could have a greater influence on the poor of Pakistan.

Even prophets came from Business/feudal families but they were people friendly. The one who was not rich (Hazrat Musa) lived in a palace and got royal training.

On the other hand, so called party of the poor has become even more glued to feudals and establishment/agencies. These so called poor were supporting Qenchi league (biggest feudals).

A friend of people feudal is far better than criminal racist goondas and Altaf (taxi driver turned Jagga tax collecter).

Americans always go with 2-3 game plans together. On front they are working to keep Musharaf in power, but in the back door, they must have done their home work to work with Zardari and Sharif minus Musharaf.

It is just a matter of time for Musharaf to go, he himself knows that his days are numbered, he must be debating to choose the name of the airline and name of destination, that is why it is taking some extra time!!

21. kingarthurII Says:
    February 23rd, 2008 at 1:05 pm

c hussain [on February 23rd, 2008 8:31 am]

Agree with your commentary above.

They dare to interfere because our ruling class has always been subservient to them not just economically but mentally. It’s a pathological condition. The usual excuse given by our elite in fancy drawing room conversations - and a very defeatist one - is that if we don’t do as dictated we will vanish from the map of the earth, but following all their dictates is also provinig quite lethal for us.

Lots of unsavoury things going on. Let’s hope the worst doesn’t happen. It’s a murky world of power and deception in Pakistan and our political class is unfortunately not incapable of letting us down.

Yet it’s too early to get depressed and lose hope. Let’s keep our fingers crossed! Maybe the victors might just rise to the occasion honourably, without obsequiously kowtowing to the mighty powers that be.

a little profile of the authors at pkpolitics wouldnt hurt

@kingarthurII
    Below is the link you are looking for:
    The Election Metaphor but it is by Bilal Khan and not Amjad Malik:
    “…So keep your fingers crossed – the chessboard has been set; the battle is far from over. One phase of uncertainty has ended, another has just begun. If the PML-N sticks to its commitment and mandate given by the people for the restoration of Judiciary – all roads leads to fierce battles. It is impossible to say who will survive and who will vanish in the process – but President Pervez Musharraf is certainly not on the loosing end as for now as many believe he is. Let us hope that in all the political battles that are yet to come – may the country live long.”

@SntCtzn
    Did I link to the right one?

@Optimist
    I don’t think you should make any comparison between the honorable prophets and politicians. Also note that NOT all prophets came from feudal/business background.

Many feudals might have run towards Mush, but NS is inviting many of them back. One can have fears about the future composition of PML-N i.e. a lot of backstabbing lota politicians.

Regarding the current situation I have my doubts. Both NS and AZ have very bad track record, which is not encouraging. I am afraid that NS and AZ are playing with the peoples sentiments and fear that they will grossly dissapoint us. Bear in mind this is NOT a hope, but a fear.

@ Saqib

I meant GOOD people vs BAD people.

Prophets/religious gods were the politicians of that time. Baba Guru Nanak and Mahatama Budh (Buddha) were the good rich politicians. If you know Hindu Mythology, Ram and all others were people friendly rich people.

On the other hand, there were evil people. These were mostly rich too.

If NS and AZ have bad track record (in your own words), their opponents have BAD Present Condition with an equally bad history.

I would support someone I have a hope. I will never support the ones I am sure about (Qenchi league/Mush). That is the difference between an optimist and Mush lovers whose only job is to spread pessimism and rumours.

@ nota.

I agree with your reference as given by you ; you are right & sorry I was wrong.

@ kingarthur II

Sorry, that before I could reply to your question, as above ; nota has already provided with the correct title of the article. I was probably trying, instead, to refer to an article, by Amjad Malik, ‘ 18th amendment in the offing ‘ given in the site, ICSSA. Org.

@Optimist
    Good people are to be found in all social groups, but relatively few people with feudal background (thats also what you mentioned).

I hope and feel that you want changes in Pakistan so that the whole nation can prosper, but I am saddened at this view:

“If NS and AZ have bad track record (in your own words), their opponents have BAD Present Condition with an equally bad history. ”

Don’t you think that NS and AZ have a bad record? Have they not played havoc with Pakistan on certain issues? Have they not been collaborating with politicians with evil designs (there are several scandals from their periods)?

I don’t think you are a MQM supporter, but the argument you have used is in line with MQM excuses i.e. “because the opponents are bad then we are bad too”. This will certainly not work and I don’t hope you preserve this opinion.

28. Meetha Sach Says:
    February 23rd, 2008 at 3:40 pm

Mush was all set to Massively rig the elections. No doubt about it. The pre-election rigging was already done and everything was in place. Can anybody explain what circumstances/factors/pressures rendered him impotent, to just lay back and eat dirt.

Meetha Sach:

Among other things (maybe Kiyani), I feel that he severely overestimated his (and Q’s) support.

Instead of every constituency needing 5000 votes, it turned out they needed 50,000.

@ Saqib

NS and AZ are angels when we compare them with corrupt generals. What is AZ’s corruption? Even allegations put them at 1.5 billion dollars. Right? Even this EXAGGERATED corruption was forgiven by Mush. Who is the bigger corrupt? The one who clears corruption charges!

How much Mush wrote off (forgave) loans? 90 Billion rupees (1.5 Billion Dollars). This is just one act and PROVEN - no allegations.

Now add Stock market, Atta and all other scandals. His robbery on 17 Crore people’s right to elect is big enough corruption to hang him. And the biggest corruption of all is breaking constitution twice (which is worth more than TRILLION dollar loss!!).

Shame on Mush lovers. Mush’s days are numbered and I hope his supporters leave us alone too.

NS/BB/AZ etc are our leaders. We could have rejected them on their performance if Mush hasn’t wasted our time. He interrupted political process (remember there is no short cut!) and now we are back to PPP and PML situation that was in 1988.

Indian army gave their democracy time even though their democracy was (and to some extent still is) revolving around on Family. It took Indian democracy 40 years and many political assasinations to get rid of a Dynasty.

Our generals never gave us even 10 years. 2-3 years for political leaders and 10 years for corrupt generals. Still Gen Mush has nothing positive on his credit.

Are you insinuating that I am a Mush lover? Think before you reply!

I don’t accept your weak argument! To some extent you are still using the same old rhetoric. “Because they did it then I can do it (if not big scale then on small scale).” This doesn’t work like that in a modern state!

I have the opinion that if AZ, BB, NS or anybody else does not have anything to hide then they should try their cases in an independant panel consisting of judges with integrity. This is possible in Pakistan. Either they get out clean or they must take the consequences. Apart from that are BB and AZ convicted in the Swiss courts?

My opinion is that they will NEVER do it since they have something to hide.

I’d say that these are ethnic based voting results. NS could not win a single seat in 2 provinces and has negligible presence in NWFP. It is also interesting to note people’s claim that northern Punjab voted for NS because of NS’s stand on judiciary. Logically then the rest of the country didn’t care enough for judiciary to vote for NS!! So, nope, NS was voted by ethnic factor just as MQM, ANP, and PPP (in Sindh) were voted. By denying this we give two much credit to our wanna be Amir ul Mominoon and the voters.
    That PPP managed to get votes all across the nation has to do with the ‘cult’ of a ‘Bhutto’ established since the late 60’s. But that is a dwindling vote bank: Even the epic tragedy of BB’s murder could not help her party regain the party’s erstwhile strength in Punjab; as Aitzaz Ahsan correctly concluded: There was not much of sympathy vote.

All of this would be fine except that Sindh’s three matchless leaders (counting L.Ali Khan) have been killed and so Sindh has lost competitive advantage in electoral politics. This cannot be discounted in the political milieu of Pakistan. Care must be taken not to impose upon the smaller provinces.

Finally, if NS was so ‘principled’ then he would not have betrayed his APDM partners and contested in the elections. Jamaat e Islami, the main loser, is not going to forget that for a while.

NS has the distinction of having his goons attack the Supreme Court while he was the PM. And NS has a personal vendetta against Musharraf. These two factors must be taken into account to build a context for NS’s new political stand.

2wise:

Great post, great analysis all around.

@2wise: If your claim (bogus btw) is true, then how do you explain the split between PML-N, PML-Q and PPP ? What ethnicities were siding with Q in opposition to N and what ethnicities gave second highest majority to PPP in Punjab? Here is a map of the elections result for everyone’s reference.

Even the sindh vote, is ethnic mainly in the MQM areas (and I won’t be too sure about that). MQM is facing a shrinking vote bank and they have tried to hide that this time around with “some extra padding”

Please forgive me for this transgression, but despite using words like ‘milieu’, your overall argument is rather weak. Some ethnic based? yes. All of Pakistan? No sirree bob!

Yes, at first look it seems like that this is ethnic voting (apart from PPPP vote bank), but I think this trend will change pretty much when the elections are free and without any interference from unwanted groups. Then you will surely see that instead of ethnicity the votes will be cast overwhelmingly based on issues. In reality most of the issues of common man are the same in the whole of Pakistan and that is why we will see another trend in future elections free of terrorism, gun culture etc. and full of freedom of expression.

Looking at ZARDARI and NAWAZ shaking hands and being all smiles in front of the media reminds me of the popular saying, ”Keep your Friends Close and Your Enemies Even Closer!”

Remember what happened the last time we had a fully compliant President (R Tarrar) and a majority leader (Nawaz Sharif)? The Army moved in, Musharraf came to power and nota single soul protested (they distributed sweets instead on the ouster of the then dictator & Amir ul Momineen wannabe Nawaz Sharif). Has anything changed between now and then? I do not think so! These folks cannot even spell coalition let alone make and sustain it to form a Government in Pakistan.

@SnrCtzn
    “I was probably trying, instead, to refer to an article, by Amjad Malik, ‘18th amendment in the offing ‘”

Here’s a direct link to the said article. Certainly worth reading!
    “…Now this is for Parliament and public to answer why we need these judges back but the way they have been treated in 2007 justice is not seen to be done if they are not reinstated. How can we achieve this is very simple. On 3rd November 2007 Chief of Army Staff without holding any power in the Constitution declared emergency and offered the selected judges an oath of loyalty. Almost 70 judges refused to bear allegiance to the outgoing military general despite the fact that few had sworn loyalty earlier in 2000 for the same man. On the same day 7 members bench of the Supreme Court declared that proclamation illegal and barred the remaining judiciary to take any such oath of loyalty. Had it been army no corpse commander would have taken a step forward to be the next army chief when the head is removed unlawfully but unfortunately this was our judiciary and General Musharraf got lucky with the aid and assistance of his legal hawks they managed and found a few ready to violate that order as well as agreed to accept that offer. …”

Some Mush lovers posting and then agreeing with each other (or maybe one person agreeing with himself with different names).

40. kingarthurII Says:
    February 23rd, 2008 at 5:34 pm

Nota, SnrCtzn - thanks much

I just read this on Dawn, latest news

CNN / Amin Fahim….

Question: There were a couple of issues that appear, at least to some, to be tumbling blocks. One of them is how to handle President Musharraf. As Prime Minister, will you move forward to impeach him and have a government without him? Amin Fahim: I think there’s no need at the moment but the parliament is sovereign. Once we go to the parliament, the parliament will look at every issue. We should not rock the boat at this time. We must have civil transition of power from the military to civilians.

In thename of Pakistan’s National Reconciliation, and moving forward shall we agree on :
    1. Nawaz Sharif and Asif Zardari to work with Musharaf. If they impeach him, it will be blocked in Senate where Musharaf’s party still has majority.
    How long we will keep fighting and don’t work on real issues ?
    2. Request ex-Chief Justice Iftikhar to accept retirement and on his recommendation Musharaf to announce new CJ. IT CANNOT be anyone of Justices who took oath under PCO since Musharaf’s coup. It includes ex-Chief Justice Iftikhar, Bhagwandas etc. You cannot have both ways! Once you endorsed a PCO you cannot change your mind and STAND for something.
    3. New COAS is doing great. He told his command to stay AWAY from politics otherwise face MUSIC. This is evident from fair elections which show ISI was NOT involved.
    So, Musharaf, Nawaz Sharif and Asif Zardari should not ASK him to arbitrate. Resolve differences in smoke filled rooms but for God’s sake don’t ask new COAS!!!!!
    4. To handle extremists, build coalition with FATA tribe Jirga leaders. They are VOICE of their people, no matter how conservative they are!
    It should be noted that FATA acceded to Pakistan in 1947 on EXPRESS and Sovereign guarantee that Pakistan will let them live autonomously and FATA tribes will be Sovereign in their own region. So legally if Pakistan Army attacks them on whatever pretext (right or wrong) it is not adhering to Sovereign guarantee and FATA tribes are NOT bound to follow Pakistan Constitution and Pakistan Army presences can be considered as invasions/ aggression.
    5. For God’s sake, Educated Elite should step away from emails, blogs, web sites, Coffee tables and go do something practically!!!!!!
    It is easy to press SEND button but real change will happen when educated elite will be part of solution, in whatever capacity it is, including YOU, ME and everybody else!!!

Some food for thought for Anti-Zardari MQM supporters:

Your Biggers Peer called AZ and told him that in the past people made him (altaf Don) and PPP fight (Altaf must be very innocent to follow those ‘people’!!).

He told Zardari that his struggle/sacrifices and jail term were for democracy and these were unprecedented in the history of Pakistan.

He also repeated BB is a Shaheed and offered unconditional support to PPP.

NOW WILL MQM SUPPORTERS STOP BASHING ZARDARI AND PPP.

Some E-Munafaqeen were telling us nothing will happen and Qenchi league will win.

They were wrong. Now they want us to believe that again nothing will happen.

Why these people try to spread pessimism when there is hope? Only Iblees (Satan) is permanently pessimist. Even the word Iblees means pessimist in Arabic. Iblees wants to spread his pessimism by bringing the most unlikely of scenarios.

A good person should never lose hope even if the odds are 72- 1000s (Karbila odds). How can we think NOTHING WILL HAPPEN when the odds are other way round and a dictator is doomed…..

@Optimist

LOL!!! Good one.

MQM is led by an idiot and fascist; I, too, used to support MQM once. I still cannot forgive them for stabbing BB in 1988 during the No Confidence Motion.
    I also think they did bogus voting in recent elections to inflate their numbers. But it is a political reality and must be accomodated. Otherwise, they have been arming to teeth and can turn Karachi to another battleground for years. Something Pakistan can ill-afford.
    So I second what @Optimist says above.

@ NOT2wise

1-There is no need for impeachment of musharraf, impeachment is applicable for a LEGAL president. Fate of validity of Musharraf’s election is yet to be decided and of course by REAL judges of supreme court.
    2- Who told you that PMLQ still have majority in senate?
    I can name a few senators of PMLQ who left party even before elections, like Ch zafar iqbal ( becos his father ch abdul Ghafor joined PPP), same is for mr. Queshi of muzaffar garh who joined PMLN,
    Niloferbakhtiar is also going to join ANP or PMLN in next few days. any many others are ready to join PPP and PMLN after humiliation of PMLQ in elections.

And ye i agreew ith you that how long we will keep fighting, lets focus on the real issues and the REAL ISSUE is to decide who will rule pakistan, People of Pakistan or Fauji janta ? so lets resolve this issue forever.

47. kingarthurII Says:
    February 23rd, 2008 at 5:52 pm

2wise

Let’s hope you’re proven wrong as a lot depends on these gentlemen.

You have to bear in mind that people in the course of life change, and often major hardships, exile, deaths, assassinations etc can hugely alter their vision.

They may surprise us with their maturity; then again they may not. Too early to say.

I think Tab’an Khamosh has a valid argument and his facts seem quite right.

I don’t believe a vote in senate is needed for impeachment. A 2/3rd majority in the lower house is all that is required.

But the Illegal squatter of the Army House (Mush) does have 58(b) which he can easily use to dismiss the parliament and impose emergency.

The first act of the new parliament should be to amend the constitution to repeal 58(b). After that is done Mush will be a lame duck waiting to be taken out and my guess is he will run away like the coward he is.

@2wise
    Good points all but regarding point 2, though certainly valid, will be hard to sell especially in the light of the current situation. I think the deposed justices certainly have taken the turn for the better and don’t forget you are giving the PPP and PML(N) leadership a third chance and have all dealt with Mushy on several occasions. So they are hardly in a position to blame the justices for taking oath under the first PCO…

combined National Assembly and Senate should have 2/3rd majority for impeachment. Better option is a simple majority vote in the parliament stating Nov. 3 action was illegal. The Chief Justice get’s restored and then takes on the legal ramifications of not following his orders of Nov. 3rd afternoon declaring the emergency null and void and then deciding the on going cases of COAS’s ability to run for Presidency. All this just requires 172 votes (50.01%) of NA.

te best option is executive order otherwise u’ll be accepting the 3 nov step legitimate.

We must NOT bow down to ANY pressure regarding kicking out Mush and reinstatement of the judiciary. If PPPP and/or PML-N do that then they will only be pushing the problems ahead of them. In this case they might be stranded with accumulated and even bigger challenges after 6-12 months. My opinion is to get rid of these generals and establishment once and for all. Let them do their duty instead of interfering in civilian matters. This is vital for the existence of Pakistan. The country cannot take any more setbacks. We need to stand upto the challenge of declining welfare, declining jusitice, high prices, shortage of energy (electricity and gas) and Yankees at our borders, internal warfare (NWFP) etc. The challenges are many and grave so we have to take the bull by the horns, NOW!!!!!!!!!!!

53. comment-top

u have no other choice other than restoring judiciary. every amendment/act passed by the parliament will ultimately need the president’s consent. even if he signs, judiciary is his. it will struck it down.
    executive order is the only solution (read brute force) as u’ll have to do the same thing to the present judiciary as mush done in case of the prev on nov 3. since executive authority rests with the PM & all officials will be of his own choice & also army will most likely not intervene.
    yeh ghee seedhi ungli se nahi niklay ga.

54. comment-top

& this can be done by a PM who has the guts to lock horns with the establishment.

55. comment-top

@pkelections
    “Better option is a simple majority vote in the parliament stating Nov. 3 action was illegal.”

Certainly don’t agree. Simple Administrative order is all that’s needed. And I am taking the cue from AA saying anything else is legitimizing the PCO.

AA made a very strong speech at Lahore today. Any plans of posting that here? Would appreciate it a great deal!

56. comment-top

it looks like PPP and AZ are both not sincere with either the restoration of judges or getting rid of Mush

Amin Fahim has said ‘No immediate need for Musharraf’s impeachment’
    http://www.thenews.com.pk/updates.asp?id=38311

57. comment-top

Okay, I looked up the constitution. Apparently 2/3rd majority in the combined parliament is needed. However this assumes that the President was elected legally. Hence the only solution for Mush appears to be that he needs to be arrested.

http://mwcnews.net/content/view/20422/42

“… if Musharraf does not voluntarily vacate the Presidency, Pakistan’s newly-elected Parliament is authorized to pass an Emergency Bill to capture him, charge him with treason, and prosecute him under Article 6(1) of the Constitution, under which: “Any person who abrogates or attempts or conspires to abrogate, subverts or attempts or conspires to subvert the Constitution by use of force or show of force or by other unconstitutional means shall be guilty of high treason.”

Check out the link. It seems like the only viable solution.

58. comment-top

@Malek
    Did you see A Victory For Lawyers’ Movement? (PPP’s Latif Khosa was fighting against Aitzaz Ahsan and for the cause of the PCO judges like Bhoon)

59. comment-top

@unsupak
    “… if Musharraf does not voluntarily vacate the Presidency, Pakistan’s newly-elected Parliament is authorized to pass an Emergency Bill to capture him…”

Maybe that is why he is staying in the Army House and not the Presidency…:)

60. comment-top

nota:

They are both PPP, so what’s your point? I don’t think the way to solve this problem is by taking little potshots at the parties every chance you get.

61. comment-top

@unsupak: you are right, this is a viable solution unless after restoration of judges he quits or dissolves the assembly. Richard Boucher has already stated that Assembly dissolution is a power that the president has per the constituion. So in order to stop him from doing that the restoration of judges is more critical at this stage as the petition against dissolution will also go to the supreme court and if Mush’s judges are in there they will rule against it. I hope PPP leaders understand this that it is in their best personal interest also to have the legal judges in there else all their hue and cry will be ruined under “doctrine of necessity”

62. comment-top

good to see having some real solid discussion on this topic today. Keep it coming folks, Pakistan needs us and hopefully the big leaders are listening as the same is being said on TV these days (until they get taken off air) Is aaj back on in Pakistan or no?

63. comment-top

@2wise
    —————————————————————————————-
    That PPP managed to get votes all across the nation has to do with the ‘cult’ of a ‘Bhutto’ established since the late 60’s. But that is a dwindling vote bank: Even the epic tragedy of BB’s murder could not help her party regain the party’s erstwhile strength in Punjab; as Aitzaz Ahsan correctly concluded: There was not much of sympathy vote.
    —————————————————————————————–

- labelling loyalty of PPP voters to democracy as ‘cultism’ is maligning them

- PPP secured over 01 crore vote in election 2008, in comparison to 60 odd lakh of PMLN and 70 odd lakh of PMLQ. Comparing it with votes casted to PPP in the previous elections there is a clear increase of around 20 lakh.

- Central and north Punjab overwhelmingly voted for PMLN because there was another sympathy wave at work in favour of local boy Mian Nawaz Sharif a protest against his exile. So yes there was little sympathy factor for PPP.

-And as regards the restoration of Justice Ifetkhar chaudhry there should be a negotiated settlement, he along with his colleages should be restored. But he should resign gracefully, rising above the self as previously suggested by Asma Jehangir. Any of his colleague say Justice Ramday or any one else may replace him.

-And Musharraf should be forced to go if he does not leaves honourably. And that should be done as soon as possible , within first two months of formation of new govt. Otherwise he will not hesitate to use 58 2B.

64. comment-top

I resent this website for this comment:

The then illiterate and backward Muslims of the Subcontinent rallied around Mohammad Ali Jinnah, the founder of Pakistan, and urged him to carve out a way to find a separate homeland. Jinnah selected the path of constitutionalism and democracy for his followers

There is no need to refer to muslim immigrants from India as illiterate and backward. You should take a look around at the native tribes of pakistan and realize that THEY are the true definition of ignorant and jahil.

65. comment-top

@pkelections
    You really think Mush can, right now, just dissolve the parliament, have it endorsed by the PCO judges, and that will be the end of it and everyone else will just go home?

66. comment-top

You have two different ideas put forward regarding the restoration of judiciary.

One side says that only an executive order is needed.

The other side insists that you need 2/3 majority, and ratification by the senate.

Both sides are making legal and viable arguments.

Which argument do you guys agree with, and how do you think it’s possible to bring the other side over to your side legally?

67. comment-top

nota:

You are right, he cannot do that right now. It’s also wrong to assume that he is powerless. There are still a lot of people under house arrest, and the media is still being easily taken off air, and websites being banned.

This is why I think you have to tread carefully. It’s well and good to want a long march and shout loud calls for restoration - that is needed to play it’s part. Raza Rabbani and a PML (N) leader just have an interview where they said that if they disclose all their methods and planning it would make it easier to sabotage.

68. comment-top

have = gave

69. Other Pakistan Says:
    February 23rd, 2008 at 7:50 pm

PK Politics Friends,

Excellent post by Dr.Saab, I am very confident that we will change the course of history and that an ‘other’ Pakistan is being born thanks to the lawyers movement and our supermen judges. By the way did you see the message to the nation from the great Justice (Retd) Tariq Mahmood, its below:

http://www.otherpakistan.org/today2.html

Feimanallah

Wasim

70. CJ Musharraf Says:
    February 23rd, 2008 at 8:09 pm

One of the best and funniest interview of Sheikh Rasheed!

See more videos on vidPK.com

71. comment-top

@ CJ Musharraf

I agree that interview is funny but all his analysis never proved right.

If he knew everything then he shouldn’t have contested the elections. He was saying that he could even become PM and that he will lead Q league. All his predictions are wrong.

As far him being honest, I call it Besharmi. If you accept that so many things were wrong, you should resign. If you don’t, you are just Beghairat. He is not only a Lota but a Besharam one.

72. comment-top

One interesting thing to note here, PPP is always considered to be anti-establishment party and Nawaz Sharif is pro establishment. But in this election, things have changed, PMLN has grabbed the anti establishment vote and PPP failed to grab that vote, if this was not the death of Benazir, PPP might have taken less number of seats.

The other thing that helped Nawaz Sharif, is the boycott of Jamaat Islami, if there would be Jamaat and Imran participating the elections, Nawaz Sharif would have captured only half the current seats and PPP would have gotten lot more seats that the current total.

73. comment-top

Not to be over-optimistic but rumors are flying about through some high level sources that Mush is indeed quitting http://www.pkelections.com

74. comment-top

@GM

Senate is inundated by Musharraf loyalists. Besides Q league there is a sizeable number of goons from Mutthida e Majlis e Hammal, Dysfunctional league, Altaf Don and Aftab Derh pao. So one cannot expect any support there.

75. comment-top

@sic5770

Do you consider the votes casted to PPP in Seraiki belt and the centre Punjab, Sind, Baluchistan and NWFP as pro establishment votes and that the only anti establishment votes were those PPP failed to win in urban central punjab and the ‘Iodine deficiency belt’ of pothohar and hazara.

I agree with your second observation.

76. comment-top

commoner:

lol @ iodine deficiency belt

77. comment-top

@ optimist
    I agree with your comments .Sh.Rashid was in pensive mood .Before going to pole he used to say, ” If i am elected —– and this is my last try –
    A defeated person , not attending calls means, that he felt his defeat very badly. Still he not out of that deadly blow.

78. comment-top

@commoner: Whoever supported Musharraf, is most likely a turncoat. I don’t think Mush has a real following. (maybe just in JI and MQM but that is it). Even Q is not really loyal to Mush.

The only reason people were with Mushie was the fear of the Army and recent actions of the army have not left Musharraf feeling protected.

I still have a feeling that the americans have thrown him to “the dogs”… but still pay lip service to him. I think the real deal was between Kiyaani and BB, Mush found out and eliminated BB, hoping the Elections would deliver, but Kiyaani torpedoed those too..

So, now, we still have the American blessed group being advanced (AZ and AK).. Just my pet conspiracy theory right now.

79. comment-top

“Do you consider the votes casted to PPP in Seraiki belt and the centre Punjab, Sind, Baluchistan and NWFP as pro establishment votes and that the only anti establishment votes were those PPP failed to win in urban central punjab and the ‘Iodine deficiency belt’ of pothohar and hazara.”

Commoner,

Most of the people of these areas which you have mentioned cast their votes based on braadris, vaderas, and personalities. I am specifically talking about the Urban areas of the Punjab, where PMLN grab their votes based on raising their voices against establishment and anti US.

80. comment-top

@pkelections: nice one bro… why u put pkpolitics videos on ur site? Hopefully you got pkadmin permission and you are sharing your ad revenue with pkpolitics.com ?? since you’re getting hits riding his popularity???

It would only be fair.

81. comment-top

@sic5770

Most of the voters of urban areas of punjab also vote on the basis of biradari, personalities and moneyed class. This time you can add the ’sympathy wave’ in favour of Mian sahib also.

Anti establishment may be but anti US no way. Do you consider Saudi Badashah Salamat anti US, I consider him Khadim e Harmain e Sharifain e Amrikain.

82. comment-top

@Taban: please see clearly i give credit to pkpolitics for any video i use. Also admin has not restricted sharing of his videos from what i can see. I perfectly understand the intellectual property rights but thanks for the reminder.

83. comment-top

read “o Amrikain” please

84. comment-top

@pkelections: It’s none of my business but the admin here puts in a lot of time in here and the least you could have done is asked him since you are a user on his site as well.. this way you just look like you are freeloading off of his hard work.

Just my opinion. You can also spend hours a day and convert tv programs to flv format. Again, none of my business but I’m shocked to see you are using it.. and I hope you got permission because even if there are no IP issues, it is still polite for you to ask before you use someone’s work on ur site. I used to run a site and a lot of people stole my content, i had to shut it down. It really pisses me off when I see people doing this. Sorry for the rant.