A Very Skeptical View

vote.jpegAuthor: Jahez Bakhail

The power of scientific theories comes from their resistance to falsification. Each new experiment is actually an attempt to falsify an existing theory and a good theory is the one that survives this attack. This is a useful method to test, at least occasionally, social processes as well. Today, there is jubilation in Pakistan. I want to subject this jubilation to a bout of skepticism and see it can survive it. Thus, below I am writing an understanding of the current political process from a very skeptical perspective with an invitation to subject it to critical view from the members of this forum. I have written it not because I believe in it but because I want to believe in the hopeful mood that we have today. Only by standing the attack of a skeptic that a view gains strength.

Let us see the largest picture, the geo-political context. The only superpower in the world would like Pakistan to support its twin goals of supporting it in its ‘War on Terror’ and implementing. In this context, it would like to have a contact person with which it can deal easily. At the same time, for the sake of its own public opinion it needs to ensure that this ‘contact person’ is not seen a dictator; rather as far as possible the person should have democratic veneer. Thus, its ultimate interest is its own interests and not people’s wishes. This supposition is the cornerstone of this skeptical view.

As late as March 08, 2007, things were going smoothly for President General Musharraf – the contact person – and the US – the only superpower. The democratic veneer was provided by the PML (Q) and other supporters.

Come March 09 and things began to change. First, the Chief Justice of Pakistan defied the orders of the COAS and the President. Then this personal defiance suddenly received massive public support. People suddenly became interested in the track record of the CJ which led to his suspension. Consequently, everyone began to talk about the missing persons, steel mills and many other isuses. In the minds of many these two issues meant that the Musharraf regime is nothing but a tool for the ‘war on terror’ and neo-liberalism. In the following months the rule of the General was on the defensive. The restoration of the CJ on July 20th was a major setback. It became obvious to the superpower and its contact person that the script as it was being played was no longer saleable and a new drama needed to be enacted to both satisfy the new found awakening of the masses and the superpower’s goals.

It was decided in the inner most recesses of power that the best strategy would be to change the democratic veneer. Instead of PML (Q), a new face was required for this. PML (N) was hardly an option as a replacement given that its was from NS that Musharraf had taken power. Following the old insight that enemy of your enemy is your friend, PPP was approached. A new game plan was created. In fact, there were two plans were pursued. One involved a deal between Musharraf and PPP. The other sought to give PML (Q) an impression that the links with PPP are nothing but a drama. This double crossing was needed because while PPP would be a future supporter, there were hurdles such as President’s re-election which could not be overcome without PML(Q)’s support.

In line with the first plan, BB came to Pakistan. In line with the second she was subjected to attack and an apparent rift was created between BB and Musharraf. While the decision to have PPP in power was made, many within the establishment within Pakistan were unhappy with a PPP that had BB at its head. She was no Shaukat Aziz. The best way forward seen by these elements was to have the democratic veneer of PPP but without BB. Thus BB was killed at the end of December.

A key challenge in the plan was getting rid of the PML (Q). Many within PML(Q) had sensed the future and that is why they tried to persuade Musharraf to extend the term of the parliament. This was not to be. Ending the term was the first step in getting rid of PML(Q). Next was the task to tarnish PML(Q) enough that it did not get majority. For this many tactics were applied. It was suggested that PML (Q) might be involved in killing BB. An artificial shortage of essential items was created as soon as PML (Q) left power. It should be noted that this shortage ended soon after the election. Post-election interviews with people are indicating that the issue that hit the PML(Q) most was that of shortages and the resulting price-hike. The whole thing was manufactured for political purposes. The engineered unpopularity of PML(Q) also affected Musharraf’s perception but this was a small temporary price to pay. It was expected that with the holding of seemingly free elections, this damage could be restored at least enough to let Musharraf sail through this period.

A great feature of all these maneuvering was that election rigging was not required. This was essential because if there was one indicator for the US public with regard to democracy it is the quality of elections. By ending the need for massive poll day rigging this was taken care of. No need for rigging because the expected result of the free elections and the establishment’s desired results coincided.

In all this, there emerged a complication. The lawyers and the media did not budge. Emergency, use of force and manipulation nothing was able to take the steam out of these civil society forces. The determination of the lawyers and media men and women was one of the only two genuine things in the midst of all the rest of the staged performance. The other genuine matter was NS’s stance. Based either on a real change of heart or an animosity to Musharraf, NS took a stand that united his party with the lawyers’ stand.

The results of the election were as expected but not completely. The ideal result for Musharraf and his US masters would have been a clear majority for PPP with second spot (at a distance) for PML(Q) and the third for PML(N). This way an opposition party of choice would have won, making any allegation of massive rigging impotent. This would have led PPP to form the government on its own with some support from smaller parties but without the two PMLs. The deal enacted between Musharraf and BB will be carried out. With PML(N) out of the picture, judiciary’s restoration would have become a rhetorical matter only.

In reality, PML (N) came way ahead of PML(Q). This is the only reality which no one was able to foresee and control and it has complicated the plans that would have suited the superpower. This complication has kept the issue of judiciary alive. Note that apart from PML(N) and APDM, no other stakeholder wanted the restoration of judiciary; Musharraf clearly not, US definitely not and PPP surely not. But the election results have given the issue an unexpected weight. The whealing and dealing that we are witnessing for the last one week, involving foreign governments as well, is actually on this one issue. PPP and Musharraf can go together but a restored judiciary and Musharraf cannot.

This was the skeptical view on events so far. It has implications for the future. Thus according to this view the new government will be a coalition of PPP and PML(N) but with the issue of restoration of judiciary postponed for as long as possible. PML(N), knowing well that it alone cannot restore judiciary, will back PPP in the hope of its support. PPP will play the game of legal complications to prolong the matter for as long as possible. The question simply is how long PML(N) will continue to hope.

The essence of this view is that elections were a farce – a bigger farce than even the massive rigging in 2002 elections – for they were designed to get rid of PML(Q) and get PPP in as the new partners in the international game. The vote was given to PPP by people thinking of it as opposition but soon they will realize that they were made to vote an ally of Musharraf. PML(Q) therefore is the only causality. Even this change was made necessary because of the unexpected determination shown by the lawyers’ movement. The net result will be that we will be back to 2002 but with a new veneer of democracy. The greatest loss with be the loss of trust in democracy. The greatest gain will be of the extremists and separatists. Not the power of Gujrat or of the Pakistanis but that of superpower won, yet again.

46 Comments »

Article started with scientific theories but in the end presented a a conspiracy theory. The perception of Super power’s think tank can change things in 160 million people seems easy, but it oes not work that way.

Ground realities were very different in 2002, and lot of things has changed since March 9, 2007. Regardless how any one says or think, it is a different Pakistan. CJ wether defied to save his job or he got faith that day. I fully believe history has changed its course on that day.

As the super power is concerned, they never had permanent friends and enemies, it has permanent interests. In the long run it will become a win for people of Pakistan. PPP might stick with Musharraf for another few weeks till the formation of government and transfer of power is complete. After that Musharraf can say goodbye.

If this does not happen, then PPP can say goodbye to its popularity and PML-N will be back as a winner. .

I think the author does not give enough credit to the prevalent awareness in the Pakistani civil society. I for one am hopeful that this is a permanent change and this was actually a defeat for the US interests (at least for now).

A Zardari victory is no good if it can’t be used to further the agenda. And what threw the monkey-wrench (my apologies to all monkeys reading my comment) in there was the NS commitment to the Judiciary issue. So the deciding factor is not US of A but the political awareness of the Pakistani People.

Long Live the Democratic Forces of Pakistan!

A lot has changed since 2002:

Musharaf is not the army chief.

Kiayani has separating the army and agencies from the politics.

Media is not the same as 2002.

PMLN has 67 seats in National assembly and over 100 in Punjab.

There was no active lawyer or civil society in the country.

4. Meetha Sach Says:
    February 25th, 2008 at 3:42 am

If Bush admin considers Mush such a great president that against all odds and justice needs to be upheld then its best if the people of Pakistan can gift Mush to USA (free of course…with thanks). USA can grant him immediate citizenship, and then Mush can join the US Presidential race (with Rigging of course). There is still time when we can oblige US for all the “FAVOURS” they have done to the Pakistani People.

Writer is overestimating the planning ability of superpower. It was suggested that a picture perfect plan was made in Langley; but there are so many instances in the history of agency when screwed up big time. It was in the best interest of Superpower to stabilize Pakistan and support Institutional building. Lets accepts existance of conspiracy theory then it will actually work towards best interest of Pakistan.

6. imranalichaudhry Says:
    February 25th, 2008 at 3:49 am

I think this is a beautiful analysis. The author does mention the role of the civil society and also the miscalculation of the US and the President/military. It is a lesson for the likes of PML Q who have been used as condoms and then discarded. Lesson for zardari and ameen fahim too, they will also be used and then made condoms if they do not heed the civil society’s call for restoration of the judiciary.
    Now let us look at the miscalculations which, as usual with our idiots in ISi and MI, have been enormous, thankfully for the good of Pakistan this time.
    The restoration of the judiciary will be decided by the chief minister of punjab-reason is simple, if the lawyers are not incarcerated and women like Imran Khan’s sisters beaten(hats off to him and his family), there will be a wave of humanity when the bus moves after the PPP dithers. Who will restrain Pakistan’s civil society now. In the past few days, our imbecile establishment is trying its best to cobble together a bastard coalition, (bastard here is used in the meaning of irregular, dubious, inferior), which isolated PML N. The superpower’s idiotic diplomats have been putting pressure to do that. Till now Zardari has resisted that pressure. I agree with the author that the PPP will try to delay the happening, but when the masses will begin to gather, they will have to give in.
    In the meantime, the imbeciles in Pakistan are using all sorts of pressures on the judges and their families to force a deal which excludes the most honourable CJ Iftikhar Chaudhry and a few more and restore the rest of the judiciary. Let us hope the civil society does not give up, i am sure Nawaz Sharif wont, he has the look of a statesman these days.
    So the US and the utterly imbecile stupids in rawalpindi have again miscalculated the resilience of the civil society and the Punjab chief ministership factor. Thank God people like Wattoo sahib and the PML Q are also not willing to become condoms in their hands. Till now, it appears that the imbeciles and their superpower backers will lose. However, the depth of depravity our rawalpindi walas can do to knows no outer limits. Only time will tell.
    A very good article jahez, i am sure that is not your real name, but very well written and articulated.
    Imranalichaudhry, imranalichaudhry@gmail.com

One thing is clear, in US plans, a stable Pakistan is not got for the ( bogus) war of terror. This is like if you would go to watch an action movie and villain is killed in first 30 minutes.

US might would make a U turn on his planning but this has to be his last option in the game plan.

I am amazed at the need to hold on to conspiracy theories. I am not even going to address the massive logical loopholes in your article. Let’s accept things for what they are.

@Meetha Sach
    “If Bush admin considers Mush such a great president that against all odds and justice needs to be upheld then its best if the people of Pakistan can gift Mush to USA (free of course…with thanks)”
    Maybe Biden should have taken Mushy along with him…
    Musharraf deserves graceful exit: Biden
    “President Musharraf deserves a graceful exit,” chairman of the Senate Foreign Relations Committee told ABC News. In the same interview, he also noted that the Pakistani constitution offers the option of a graceful exit to the president.
    ……
    “Probably” it would be a good idea for Mr Musharraf to prepare for an exit strategy, said Mr Biden when asked to comment on the president’s political future.

“I firmly believe if they (opposition parties) do not focus on old grudges — and there’s plenty in Pakistan — and give him a graceful way to move, that will be exactly what the Telegraph of London reported, apparently,” Mr Biden said in reference to a report in the newspaper that said Mr Musharraf had “already started discussing the exit strategy for himself”. President Musharraf, through his spokesman Maj Gen Rashid Qureshi, has, however, said that he has no such plan….

Maj Gen Rashid Querishi has been an enabler since the illegal and treasonous 1999 overthrow of the democratic government . He should be against the wall with his benefactor AFAIAC … but this is Pakistan.. both these crooks are going to get “safe exit” instead of what they really deserve, an ounce of lead in the head.

11. Meetha Sach Says:
    February 25th, 2008 at 4:10 am

@Nota

I think we should sell Mush to the highest bidder and compensate the “Missing Persons” with Sale proceeds. Any Bidders folks?

@Meetha Sach,

I would not take him even if I get money with him.

Lets open up a bid on ebay and see what offers do we get.

13. Meetha Sach Says:
    February 25th, 2008 at 4:24 am

@Rasheed

Greaaaat Idea….I wish I knew how to setup an auction.

Nice article…. very close to my own perception about all the recent evil plots and political scenario

Indeed , Super powers are very powerfull. They have lots of resources and tacts to intimidate and manipulate our politicians. But they are not GOD. A lot of things can go against their plans/expections and surprize them as well.

Ali

Seems like people love conspiracy theory.

If USA is so powerful, why it has not been able to get rid of Castro in Cuba, a country only 90 miles from american shores? Not that USA has not tried. It has tried everything from plaaning coups, funding dissidents to supporting invasions, but all in vain. Simlarly, Venezuela, Bolivia and Brazil all in South America have governments that are no friends of USA but USA has not been able to do anything about them.

Seems like inferiority complex as regards to americans has become emgraved in our collective psychy. That is why we tend to believe in this cabal about the all powerful america and its shenanigans, conveniently forgetting the all too numerous bunglings by americans in which they ended up with eggon their face.

Thanks for this article, good job

100% Agreed

nice article, and most of it is probably true with regards to the planning by the superpower and the general. but we should not forget that there is a bigger superpower sitting up there. Allah says in the Quran that they plot and plan and Allah also plans and Allah is the best of planners. so they must have planned their plots, but things dont always go according to their plans. if they did Musharraf wouldnt have been as humiliated and vulnerable as he is today. lets start counting his days, for hes not going to leave power alive, yeh mardood mar ke hi jaan choray ga.

a thought provoking piece, I must say.
    I think, the spirit of the article is very interesting. The author is not suggesting this view because he believes in it but because he does not want to believe it but finds it hard to dismiss it also at-least thsi is how he comes across in the first para.
    People in this forum have responded in emotional rather than intellectual manner. They have tried to dismiss it by calling it conspiracy theory. How can the US interference be dismissed as conspiracy theory? The involvement is so obvious. It is better that we acknowledge and face it rather than dismiss it at our own cost.
    Then some people are saying yes US wants it but it will not work. Why? because there are examples where the US plans have not worked, Castro and Vanzevela, for example. First, the US has also succeeded in many places. So the examples are perhaps even. Second, I am afraid it is just a wishful thinking that equates the likes of Zardari and NS to Castro. None of these are even close to be a Castro. In Vanezvela too Chavez was removed by the US and he was re-instated only after huge public rousing on the streets. So far Pkaistanis have not shown this ability to come on the street. What is the evidence that we will come on the street? Now that the atta and gas is back, even thsi raeson to motivate people to come on the street has gone. Peopel are highly unlikely to come on the street.
    God is the greatest superpower but he helps people when they help themselves.
    Further, some points do need serious thought. Why was that atta etc weent misisng before election and is now back immediately after election?

There is, however, one flaw in the whole argument which gives me a reason to dismiss the sceptical view and carry on hoping. The author at-least acknowledges that the lawyers’ movement was genuine and not part of the US manipulation. I think, he had no choice but to accept it as real otherwise his whole sceptical view would have become a fantasy rather than a plausible view. But if the lawyers’ movement can be genuine why should that genuineness not be attributed to political parties as well? After all the alwyers too have shown a change of heart in the last one year, why cant taht be hoped from the parties? In fact, as far as I know, the PPP-NS link is despite US pressure which was to get PPP to work with PML(Q). So there are some evidence that there si genuineness.

But I think the main point of the article is that we must not become complecant thinking that now that the vote is there everything will follow. The enemy has lost a battle not war and we have won a battle not war. To take things forward in the right direction we must keep up the pressure and be aware of the posisble dangers ahead. I think, thsi is the main aim of the article and it does a good job.

muqqafa

The article is touching some the main issues, but I think it fails to name other core/crucial isuues, which where instrumental in the coming downfall of Mush and his gansters.

The first is the awareness in the middle class about important issues as free and independant judiciary and the second is that the Pakistani people has become addicted to good and informative debate programs, which again has caused huge awareness among the masses. The last point is the army’s the rigging factor. I don’t think the initial plan was NOT to rig. There was certainly a plan but for many causes the army/ISI against all odds opted to stay away this time. Maybe Kayani could see the end of days for Mush and decided not to support a sinking ship. If Kayani had a little bit senses then he could also see that he also would have dirt all over the body and the rest of the army by supporting an isolated Mush. The army could not afford that as it is already is digesting a huge and embarassing opinion in the public eye.

AZ has given an interview to a foreign newspaper saying that since his party hasnt got 2/3rd majority he ‘will have a working relationship with Pres Mush’
    http://www.thenews.com.pk/updates.asp?id=38434

is he really saying that all along he had an underhand deal with Mush and he was playing games with other parties/PMLN and the people of Pakistan while negotiating a better ‘package’ with Mush

AZ is extremely untrustworthy?

Zardari wants working relationship with President

Updated at: 1550 PST, Monday, February 25, 2008

ISLAMABAD: Pakistan People’s Party (PPP) Co-Chairman, Asif Ali Zardari has said that he would wish to have ties based on working relationship with the President, as PPP on the ground didn’t possess two-third majority in both the Houses.

In an interview with a US newspaper, he said that in such a backdrop, PPP’s main objective would be to work for steer clear the journey towards democracy. Pakistan was confronted with myriad of critical challenges and his party desires uniting Pakistan for facing this grave situation, he said. He said that PPP wanted democracy taking roots, which required unity, not confrontation.

When quizzed on PM nomination, he said that the name of the candidate would be announced, when the party would be invited to form the government. As regards war against terrorism, he said that his government would cooperate with the US. He said that Pakistan was fighting its own war against terrorism, not that of the US. He made it clear that his government would not talk with the extremists, however it would approach the citizens of the tribal areas and would try win them over by introducing democratic and political reforms.

To a question on his own candidature for the PM slot, he said that the guidance to the government and the party was more imperative. Asif Zardari expressed the hope that if his party decides, then he could contest by-election from Shaheed Mohtarma Benazir Bhutto’s constituency.

http://www.thenews.com.pk/updates.asp?id=38434

My pet conspiracy theory has been that Zardari is easier to control than Benazir who was a bit of a megalomaniac and could have pulled a Nawaz Sharif (a la the 90’s) if she was elected the 3rd time etc.

Zardari is more controllable and he has put forward an even more pliable PM… Gaaah!!! I hate it when the reactionaries win.

AZ is playing games with the sentiments of the concious part of the Pakistanis. I really don’t trust this man. If he is allowed to do it his way then we may say bye-bye to lawyers movement and resinstatement of the judiciary. AZ doesn’t have the calibre to deliver according to peoples wish and unfortunately he is flanked by group of yes men. It could be nice if someone like AA could assist these puppets. With this scenario I can easily see NS get out of “troubled waters” by saying that he wanted to reinstate the judiciary, but couldn’t because of PPPP resistance.

I have only faith in IK and AA’s stance and I really wish their 9.th march - long march will be a huge success, inshallah.

If AZ joins hands with Musharraf - this would be his biggest mistake and it would be end of Peoples Party as it would create a big rift in the party. ~The goverment would not survive for more than a year and after that no one would trust Zardari again and he would become like Altaf Hussain - controlling only a part of Sindh and play Sindh card.

I believe NS is playing a statesmanship role and this would pay him dividends in future.

There is more than likely chance that barring the Chaudries - rest of the PMLQ would merge with PMLN and if Zardari joins with Musharraf then there is no harm in PMLN to accept PMLQ renegages also -

As for this guy revivalist - I just want to ask you a question. How would you elect a Khalifah - Just tell me this thing and then we would talk about later on. Plus one more thing for this guy - How would you elect successor of Khalifah.

I would like to inform you that when Hazrat Usman embraced Shahadat teh people who killed him didnt even allow his funeral and burial in Janat ul Baqih and he had to be buried temporily in a Jewish graveyard in darkness of night because they wanted him to cut to pieces. This is what Muslims in those days did to the third Caliph of Islam. Why did this happen? Only one reason - there was no proper mechanism set for succession.

I fully agree with Saqib - only AA, IK are to be trusted. Imran Khan is right - Zardari would bring the party down with him if he develops working relationship with Musharraf.

@c hussain
    If you look at how PML-N had succes against PML-Q then I really wonder why you are so eager to have all the lota politicians back. Isn’t it better to groom honest and reliable people against these lota politicians. There is probaly a lot of time to do that. Why do you focus on the same well tried, non-trustworthy lota polticians? Don’t you think they can stab PML-N in the back again at another turning point?

things are not that good as far as centre is concerned so the only choice 4 PML-N is to get into stronger position in the prleys. For that it desperately neds punjab govt.

A few quotes from Dr. Moeed Pirzada:

South Asia had traditions of women gossiping across shared ‘mohalla’ walls; men spreading rumours at street corners and then that endless drawing room ‘bethaks’. But once again our Pakistani conspiracy brigades make me feel proud. In an age of Internet, they have made the art truly global.

In Pakistani collective consciousness, not a leaf dares tremble without the permission of either the Army or America. Together they share Allah’s sovereignty from the edges of the Arabian Sea to the mountain passes across Khyber, and beyond. Sometimes there are doubts as to who is closer to God Almighty, but such disputes are usually settled quickly.

It reminds me of a poem we used to read in our school Urdu books, “Rab ka shukar ada kar bahi, jis nay humari gai banai” (praise be to Allah who made our cow). The poem goes on to thank God for making cow whose milk can be drunk and whose flesh can be eaten and so on. Looks so benign on the face of it, but so powerful in terms of influencing minds.
    For a long time, I, like many children around me, used to think that God created horse for riding, dog for loyalty, chicken for eggs, goat for meat and so on.
    I grew up to realise that horses might have existed before men found it convenient to ride them - but many have not. Even today I come across and I hear and read many adults who essentially think of the world in such simplistic terms: interconnected; controlled and run by a single source of intelligence.
    And from this mindset, it becomes difficult to understand that things can happen at random, can have momentums of their own or alternative explanations might exist.

@Commoner
    Nothing happens randomly. All things are interconnected and the Almighty Allah has given every thing its special task to be fulfilled. What you have quoted looks like the evolution theory i.e. that all of suuden we had some kind of seed to all life on earth. And all these random factors “caused” humans. That is ridiclolous…Where did this seed come from?

On “Treachery” of Political Parties (especially Asif Zardari et. al)

I think the Lawyers/Judiciary movement needs to step back and recover from the post-election euphoria and set their own independent course. After all, most of the parties, at least officially, sat the whole 2007 democracy/justice fracas out while lawyers, students and housewives were getting laaThi-charged. Well, I think they’re fully charged now and should start electrocuting the pro-establishment forces.

We shouldn’t have held too many hight hopes from the mainstreams parties who we clearly saw cavorting with the establishment forces. If BB was alive, she would have made up some excuse to go with friggin Peja Tarmeemi , despite the popular sentiment to the contrary.

So, let us not waste too much time on crying about the parties deceiving us yet again and get ready for battles ahead. After all, most parties in Pakistan, including those claiming to be middle-class anti-feudal terrorist types, are stlll feudal (rural or urban) in their basic makeup and their interests and the interests of the Pakistani civil society at large are diametrically opposed.

I highly doubt it that Zardari would shake hand with Musharaf. This could be just a floating idea from the PPP and Musharaf camp to throw this kind of news to see the reaction of people, media, opposition as well as their own party people ( especially Punjab group).

If Zardari would shake hand with Musharaf, this would not only his political death but this is a death of PPP. The other thing to keep in mind, candidates from Punjab would never allow this to happen unless there are different ground realities which most of us are not aware ( especially the pressure from US ,Saudia Arabia and other Westeren blocks).

One more thing, if Zardari is going to work with Musharaf, he has to take Nawaz Sharif into the confidence ( internally). Lets say, if Zaradri goes to make a deal with Musharaf ( without Nawaz’s approval), this would be the best news for Nawaz Sharif for the long run.

Imran warns parties against ‘cheating’ electorate

Exerpt:

“The political parties would err in thinking that they could support Musharraf and cast aside the restoration of the deposed judges,” the Pakistan Tehrik-i-Insaf chief told protesters gathered in front of the Zaman Park residence of the detained Supreme Court Bar Association president Atizaz Ahsan. “Let me assure you the independence of the judiciary is closely linked to a bright future and prosperity (of the country)”

Source: http://www.dawn.com/2008/02/25/nat7.htm

@Saqib
    Please read the text in the political context only as we are communicating on a political forum.

And though professionally qualified to comment I will desist from taking a plunge into discussing the Evolutionary theory. For now I suggest you to watch this and ENJOY!.

A journey of man, agenetic odyssey

http://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=journey of man&search_type=

34. comment-top comment-bottom

Zardari hopes for working relationship with Mr. Musharraf.

http://www.jang.com.pk/jang/feb2008-daily/25-02-2008/update.htm#28

No more Comments !

Love live Pakistan.
    Laeeq.

Cases Hatwao .. Khud ko bachao ?? Is this politics all about ? Is this why they are getting mandate from people of pakistan ? working relationship ? now they need 2/3 majority to do something against Mr Mush ? why don’t they include PML(N) ANP Indep to gain 2/3 majority ? need it in senate as well ? cant get it ? resign from seats do not form govt. .. we do not need govt .. we need change .. we do not need puppets like musharraf .. I dont know what supporters of PPP will say here but I’m not supporter of any party simply because of this .. now wait another five years .. Ahhhhhhhh ! Working relationship.. good going Mr. Zardari … you’ve saved 100 Billion .. Well done!

@Saqib: some meditation on “Kun, Fayakoon” will be in order. IMO.

Zardari changes statement by the hour….. now he says

http://www.thenews.com.pk/updates.asp?id=38465
    Zardari says PPP with N-League over judiciary freedom: Pakistan People’s Party (PPP) Co-Chairman Asif Ali Zardari said his party supports PML-N over the freedom of judiciary and president’s powers in parliamentary system.

Asif Zardari said PML-N, JUI and MQM all ensured their support to PPP for the formation of the government, adding PPP sides with PML-N over the freedom of judiciary’

I am unable to understand what game he is playing? He got a mandate from people and on top unconditional support from PMLN on the condition of restoration of judiciary and removal of Mush. AZ has started playing games he changes statemnts by the hour depending on who is giving the interview to? Dhobi Ka Kutta na ghar ka na ghaat ka?

Who knows what AZ is up to? May be he is just trying to cross the first hurdle………convening of maiden session of the national assembly, followed by oath of the members, elections of speaker, deputy speaker and finally the PM. If the session is not convened, how will the govt. be formed? How will the parliament undo the abuse of the constitution and restore the judiciary?
    Secondly, nobody, including the president that 2/3 majority of the PPP-PML(N)-ANP combine in the senate is just a month away. The elections on half of the seats has to ake place before March 31, 2008. Most of the retiring senators belong to the Q league. With thumping majorities in all the legislatures, the ruling coalition will wrest the control of the senate and also take a 2/3 majority. Today’s papers reported that 8 PML-Q senators have already crossed over to PML-N. The Musharraf team knows this and that is why we hear and read of his imminenet exit.

The PML-N, in any case, is going to demonstrate its strength to the rulers by showing an absolute majority in the punjab assembly during its parliamentary party meeting on Feb 26. This is aimed at deterring the adventure seekers of Musharraf regime from tampering in the Punjab assembly.

Coming back to AZ, I don’t doubt his intentions. I am positive that he is trying to get the assembly into motion. Don’t you people know that the 1970 assembly was not convened for more than 18 months and finally East Pakistan was dismembered. In 2002, the assembly was not convened for 40 days so that necessary strength could be mustered to prop up a PML-Q government.

I think AZ is so desprate to form the gov. and he does not want to say any thing which can cause any trouble. thats why he and his party is not saying any thing what NS is saying. and another thing he is trying to do some thing for his son too he want NS to do some thing which will benefit his son in future like he is now saying that in first session of NA we will pass the Res. to demand UN to investigate BN murder and also we will say sorry to the peoples of pakistan for hanging the late ZB, now this is taking piss. he is not ready to answer straight about the judges and asking such these things . i think NS should stick up for what he is demanding for and if AZ is not wishing to do what the peoples of pakistan demanding then NS must pull out his support to AZ.

It is evident / crystal clear that a man who took over unlawfully and remained in Dictating position for 9 years will surrender powers to peoples representatives is next to impossible .He is a big liar .Untrustworthy, Loyal to non ,Usurper, Played rather is playing with the sentiments of the Nation ,Extended his illegal rule of law .——–
    Now PPP ,ANP and MQM are going to provide protection cover to legalize his illegal actions and another 5 years term as president . Will the Nation tolerate this ? The way one snatched power will have to loose the power in a similar manner .

The memories of the people of Pakistan are short . AZ must be remembered for what he did when his wife was prime minister and NOT for what he says either now or before. AZ was number 2 on the international list of Top Heroine smugglers-( US DEA)- Number one was Ayub Afridi .The same man who spent the people’s money to buy a whole herd of Polo Ponies from Argentina and had them brought over from there on airplanes paid for by the Govt of his wife. He built a POLO field in the Prime Minster’s house with the people’s money. All such money could have been spent on the PEOPLE which are supposed to be big deal to the leaders of PPP . It is true that Musharraf has turned out to be a scoundral but what caused the PPP leadership not to put in place programs to help their PEOPLE . Does ANYONE stop Amin Fahim from treating his Kisaans in a fair and humane manner rather than in a Wadera like manner ?

Now there are educated people saying they do not doubt his intentions ? Well, Musharraf might have the last laugh after all if AZ continues his shenanighans

West Pakistanis should recall the way as how Yahyah handed over power to Z.A.Butto in 1971 after fall of Dhaka /East Pakistan. Do you think this man deserves relaxation who has shed the blood of thousands of Pakistanis.

44. Munsif Sindhi Says:
    February 26th, 2008 at 2:05 am

Dear All,

Muttahida Qaumi Movement party is included in the list of foreign terrorist organisations, furnished by a US research institute that exclusively works on terrorism.These are ot my words but International News paper.Here follows a link and Not only we Pakistani believe the same for this organisation,similarly International community has realised so!!

Kindly TAKE YOUR SOME TIME and must visit this link here:

http://www.thepeninsulaqatar.com/Display_news.asp?section=world_news&month=june2007&file=world_news2007060521530.xml

@c-Hussain

I don’t know why you guys don’t understand simple things and why you have just stuck in the election of the caliph. Islam is a system and khilafah is the ruling system in Islam having a detail structure which you can see in khilafah.com. However the method to elect a caliph is a detail issue and therefore I will post here a link of a website, open it and read it your self. I hope that after reading this your question of electing the caliph will resolve.

The story you narrated in wrong could you please mention the name of the book in which you read this tale.

http://www.khilafah.com/kcom/the-khilafah/issues.html (This is a link where you will get answers to many of your questions regarding khilafah)

http://www.khilafah.com/kcom/the-khilafah/issues/the-method-to-appoint-a-khaleefah.html (specific ling about the method)

@commoner

wondering if you could shed some light on evo-devo or links on the emergent theory…