Parliament Gallery - 27 February 08

Asma Sherazi interviews Nawaz Sharif and gets his views about recent political developments.

63 Comments »

1. mypkpoliticsaccount Says:
    February 28th, 2008 at 3:29 am

Excellent interview Asma!!

Salute to Mian Muhammad Nawaz Sharif ! Who can be more firm and clear on issues than this. I respect PPP and ANP on their eagerness on resolving issues like ‘Rule of Law’ and ‘Restoration of Judiciary’ hand in hand with PML-N.

My Suggestion to PPP, ANP and PML-N for Presidency is Imran Khan! He is well educated, well organised, can speak clearly on issues and has good knowledge of international politics. This doesn’t mean that there is no one else of better calibre, but this suggestion is based on my own analysis on Pakistan’s politics specifically post march 9, 2007 situations. He can represent Pakistan in most appropriate way as well as support governments effort on resolving issues like rollback of constitution to pre 12 Oct 1999 state.

Imran Khan is a good choice for presidency, but these people would always bring in someone who is a servile flatterer that is IF Musharraf leaves, which is possible, but seems too premature.

Welcome back Asma

I am happy that our leaders are fighting US pressure and giving Mush a hard time.

Sadly, our generals have turned Pakistan into a US province. This trend peaked when anti-US politician Bhutto was hanged by Gen Zia.

Mush took this to an extreme by allowing US to take whoever they liked, just for money (100s of millions as third class book of Mush claims). With this situation, I am surprised that NS is taking such a bold step. May God protect him from the claws of Bush/Mush alliance.

Lovely interview on the recent political developments by Asma Sherazi . Well done .To a question , Mr. Nawaz Sharif replied that .kaedoo is left with only one option——resign ? If it is so ,” Hip hip hurrah “.
    I think chief justice (Retired) wajihuddin,Aitezaz Ahsan or Nawaz Sharif could be considered for the post of president .

Admin :
    Do you have any knowledge / idea about Dr.Shahid Masood /Meray Mutabiq? Every one is back except him. Wish and pray for his safe return.

the most suitable candidate for president would be a former judge who never took PCO oath.e.g. F.G Ibrahim, wajeeduddin, saeed siddiqui, nasir aslam zahid, khalilur Rehman (not ramday) & why not tarar?

@QAZI

plz check here:

Geo to telecast

yaar NS kaa gala khusk karvaa diyaa…

baRa hero hai bhai.. AaNkheN naSheeli kar kay boltay haiN:

“..mmmhmmm.. pleasure…”

hahaha :) :)

9. khudakayliye Says:
    February 28th, 2008 at 1:23 pm

thu jaa kar phir geela kar day.ye konsi bari baath hai.

A very good interview by Asma Sherazi. Maybe she listened to my advice about speaking Urdu to reach a bigger part of the public.

I am no PML-N supporter, but one has to be honest. NS looks more and more mature day by day. He is saying the right things.
    Dil khush kar ditta e NS…..hoon dimaagh noun we khush kar dai.

I hope NS can stand by his words. If he can do that I will feel that he has learned from past mistakes otherwise it is business as usual.

He hinted that maybe the next President could come from APDM. He said it could be a comitted man who is even more comitted towards a free judiciary than himself and others. The obvious choice is Imran Khan. Let us wait and see what they propose when they get rid of Mush=Kaedo.

Kitna khush ho raha hay NS :D! lolzz

I am much worried about Nawaz Sharif now, he may not be harmed severely through a big conspiracy. With his firm standing with the comitments, he is the most vulnerable to a big harm by any big conspiracy. May ALLAH protect him and bless him with the sincerety and strength to provide services to the people of Paksitan.

hahaha…..Baat ker hi lee….”Dil toot jata hay…jazbaat tood jatay hen”
    yar ye charen bazi to nahin ker reha tha!

Inshallh Mush and his lovers will be (and even now are) real losers.

Overall very good and clear interview …

i think parliament should be supreme. parliament should have all the powers. president must be ceremonial like in India. if that happens then it wont make any diff whether president is A, B OR C

@Shahzad: I’m thinking the same thing and hoping Zardari, Asfandyar and Nawaz Sharif have adequate security. Hopefully they do now. I heard Shahbaz already has upgrade detail because of his parliamentary-leader status.

@Saqib: I was thinking the same thing. IK or Aitezaz Ahsan would be great choices. But AA might not get it because PPP is getting PM anyways. I would totally support IK but his naivete scares me frankly. He is too decent to engage in the kind of realpolitik that our presidents have to engage in because they usually represent the interests of the “establishment”.

18. ajnabi larki from canada Says:
    February 28th, 2008 at 2:22 pm

main to kehtee hoon kay nawaz sharif buhat arrogant ho gya hay.
    bongiyaan maree hain iss nay siraff.

19. ajnabi larki from canada Says:
    February 28th, 2008 at 2:25 pm

it is v common that few friends living collectively and using same computer, naturally they will use same system to register and post their comments. i request you to take into account this issue before punishing any1.
    :(

@27122007
    I would also like to have ceremonial President. No powers only a pair of scissors and ribbon cutting abilities are needed.

@Tab’an Khamosh
    I agree about AA. He is surely a man of great integrity and has the ability to make sacrifices for a just cause. Just like you I don’t think he will be considered since PPPP is going to have the PM seat.

I don’t think IK is naive. He just has to make certain sacrifices to put maximum pressure on Mush and other anti democrats. His reason to be on the same side with JI is only a few APDM related issues, where the main issue is the restoration of judiciary. You know that I am not fond of JI either and have a lot of mistrust about them. I would even say that I wouldn’t be surprised if they turned out to be Trojan horses once again. They have a long history of betrayal in the name of what they consider “Islam”. It is NOT the Islam I know. Apart from that I don’t think that it is PTI’s decision alone to have JI in APDM. There are also other minor parties whose voice must be heard when agreeing on the making of a get together of many (small) parties.

@Saqib: trojan horses, establishment’s B team and Bhatta Khore in the sacred name of Islam!

“Islami” Jamiat Talaba in Punjab University has banned the sale of Pepsi/Coke and are forcing canteen owners to sell a low quality shakkar-cola which is being supplied by a “mard-e momin” Jamati’a friend of theirs.

Now, someone tell me how is it different from the corruption that Fazlu and Mush (and even BB and NS according to som) engaged in?? and that the JI ppl were _against_ supposedly?

AFAIAC they are bhatta khore extortionists like MQM batta khores (I’m not saying supporters but the supposed org members who extract “chanda” through intimidation)

MQM, JI and IJT have the same DNA, IK should oppose 3 out of 3 … it really bothers me for some reason.. I dunno why.

@admin: yeah ajnabi “larki” is right…. I heard Pakistani’s in Canada live 10/12 ppl to a 2 bedroom apartment and share rent.. half the ppl work in the day and half work in the night time ..

back home they tell everyone.. We’re making millions.. and make life difficult for honest pakistani’s with white collar jobs living in Canada whose relatives ask them.. why aren’t YOU making millions? guddo and taTTu are making millions in canada.

all these taxi drivers lying about their status.. “fake it till u make it” eh? eh?

not that there is anything wrong with being a taxi driver in chicago..

or anywhere else for that matter..

I mean.. don’t get me wrong..

Allah taala Asma Shirazee ko khush rakhhe hamaisha aur sihat o tandrusti ki daulat se mala maal karey, aameen. Iss intihayee intelligent aur khoobsoorat bachee ke interviw karne ke andaz dekh kar dil bahut khush hota hai aur aisa lagta hai keh ab aise logon ke hathon mein Pakistan ka mustaqbil darakhshanda hai

also I admire nawaz Sharif’s political skill, his firm stand in the current situation and his sincerity to ensure Pakistan achieves a solid beginning towards true democracy and Rule of Law. In this way by remaining close to the feelings of Pakistani people and translating their wishes into reality I am sure he will mature into a very good leader of PAKISTAN.

gOOD LUCK gOD BLESS pAKISTAN

25. ajnabi larki from canada Says:
    February 28th, 2008 at 3:42 pm

daikhoo daikhoo , kahin say dhuwaan uthh rhaa hay
    ISLAMI JAMIAT-I-TALABA ZINDABAAD
    ZINDA HAY JAMIATT ZINDA HAY
    HAIDAERR KE TALWAR JAMIATT , SHAJRAY SAYA DAAR JAMIATT

I just had perception that JI and religious parties will have honorable and descent men. But more I learnt about the political history of JI, especially their involvement in East Bangladesh, constant millitary and mullah nexus, the indoctrination of their own people towards extremisim, the goon and don style student politics in Karachi and Lahore, and lotacracy have compelled me to abhor them.

saqib you said NS getting mature yes i agree with you i can see in this interview i think if you compare him with AZ, because i think AZ in his press confrence or interview looked very calm and mature, in my opinion NS got impressed by his style and copying him. what do you think ?

28. dictated_democracy Says:
    February 28th, 2008 at 5:45 pm

@PMLn everyone

SOS plz
    I just saw one news here
    http://daily.urdupoint.com/todayNewsLive.php?news_id=58502&featured=1&cat_id=2
    which says that ” PPP and ANP have agreed to change the name of NWFP and the new name will be “PakhtoonKhuwah”.
    This deeply sadden me as I basically belong to Hazara division which has majority of the people speaking Hindko (and not pashto) and interestingly this is the same area where PMLn has always swept the elections including this time top from Manshera down to Harripur!!!!
    In principle I am someone who always stand and speak against ethnicity and division BUT when it comes to changing the name of the province now I felt what it really is!!! ( I am a PhD student in Europe, have a reasonable knowledge and understanding of Pakistan politics and even I…… (so called broad minded) feel a lot of pain for this very standing of PPP along with ANP (which has a limited nationalist agenda) So I want to get your attention that how a man in the street of hazara division ( and there ll not be too many educated people) would react to this news that the name of their province is going to be changed!!! As including me majority does not speak Pashto.
    So what would be the reaction of you people talking about

@Master1

I don’t think he is copying AZ. He has his own style and just grown elder and by time man normally becomes more mature and get used to give statements which a more deliberate. At least I hope it is the case with NS. Apart from that I don’t think AZ is something one should copy. He has a very unfortunate past and need to proove a point or two. I hope he will come out clean.

@dictated_democracy

The name should maybe be decided on geographics and not be related to any ethnicity.

F.ex. Kohistan…..It also sounds good. Just my personal view.

31. dictated_democracy Says:
    February 28th, 2008 at 6:05 pm

@saqib
    I agree with your idea and in fact their are a number of ways to name the province other than ethnicity based but unfortunately ANP has not changed its stance and standing on this point since quit many years and thats the pity. Actually this is the basis, all their politics revolves around and uneducated, pashto speaking brothers and sister are “trapped” which is not only unfortunate but detrimental in the long run.

@dictated_democracy

I THINK PPPP want 2 have referendum about name of NWFP. and it is not being changed, NWFP didn’t have any name bf. it will be first name of NWFP. but again if ANP has got more supporters in NWFP then referendum might not be proper solution of Ur problem, bc ANP supporters will vote for

for ajnabi “larki”:

bauti da’vay daar jamiat
    chmcha-e sarkar jamiaat
    amreeki aala-e kaar jamiat
    jurnailooN ki yaar jamiat

GhaaSib bad kirdar jamiat
    rishwat bhattay khwaar jamiat
    ilm-o-hunar peh baar jamiat
    sir ik vote ki maar jamiat

TK urf Anokha “laaDalaa”

sir = sirf (in last line)

@ Ajnabi Larki

I thought you were joking when you mentioned ‘Mein to Kahti hoon’ etc.

But if you support Jamiat and you represent what they offer, I think you were talking really serious stuff. That is the height of intellectualism I have seen from Jamiat supporters. None of them has ever achieved anything more than going to Canada/America.

I think Asma Shirazi should wear a shuttle-cock burQa.. this hijaab is too skimpy…

37. dictated_democracy Says:
    February 28th, 2008 at 7:12 pm

@27122007

“majority is authority” is no longer existential when it comes to feelings of people. I mean in such cases even minority is sometimes more important to listen to.
    Let me put the facts straight that NWFP is a name which is based on the geographical location of this piece of land. Well, well it might not be decent but its not controversial. Changing it to something like ” Abaseen” etc is most welcomed but the name “Pakhtoonkhuwan” has a clear cut ethnic upbringing which would create further division and new endless problems in this part of the country.

Most other provinces are based on dominant ethnic population, but I can see the point raised by Saqib and Dictated Democracy that this might be unfair to other ethnicities.

I think Abaseen would be good a name.. I’d vote for Abaseen :)
    @dictated_democracy: BTW, do u see a difference between Hindko and Seraiki ? I always thought they were the same. Also, I have seen various ethnically different people speak seraiki.. Being a Hindko speaker yourself, Would you have any examples of where you see hindko words etc being different from Saraikee ??

I say this because so far I have only MQM ppl refer to Saraiki’s as “hindko” .. maybe I’m wrong and Hindko is really a separate cultural identity. ??

@ Fasal
    Thank you very much for providing information about Dr. Shahid’s return .

40. dictated_democracy Says:
    February 28th, 2008 at 7:49 pm

@Ta’an Khamosh

Though its disputed issue that whether the name Punjab is ethnic based or panj-aab based but if even it is not ethnic based still you see the tension between punjabi speaking people and siraiki speaking people ( they are demanding a separate province and i remember during my M.Sc at QAU islamabad Punjabi speaking and Siraiki speaking students were extreme rivals). So the argument that name will go after the name of major ethnicity is not correct, it will just be denial of the very existance of the minor ethnic group. ESPECIALLY when they are not so minor.

and thank you for crossing fingers on “Abaseen” but i want to reiterate that even anything else would also be fine unless it does not dipict a particular ethnicity. After all even if the names before 1947 were language based, they were not correct and not super-model to follow.

Well, Hindko speaking people are not Siraiki. Although there are many superimposing words, some idioms, expression which cross in Hinkdo, Punjabi and even Siraiki ( you can say evolution effect) but otherwise Hindko is a different language more closer to Punjabi, Potohari. And people are quite considerably different in attitude, socialization and temper not only from the dominent ethnicity but Siraiki as well.

41. DontTakeItEasy Says:
    February 28th, 2008 at 8:05 pm

Ofcourse, the names of other provinces are not super-models, but on national level such names set precedents.

And besides PakhtoonKhwah is not primarily based on language, I guess the root words represents the Pakhtoon tribes which are widely settled across the whole province; just like Balochistan represents the Baloch tribes settled there.

Unlike these two examples, the other two provinces (Punjab and Sindh) do not represent tribes, rather these names are associated more closely with the local languages/dialects.

So unless we remove the already existing precedents, it will be unfair to ask the NWFP majority (Pakhtoons/Pashtoons) to prove bigger patriots than we are.

And if ANP represents the majority of NWFP people, or wins the referendum for the change of name, it will only be fair to accept the results. We should now learn to accept opinions of people, that are different from our opinions.

excellent interview by asma shirazi. she didnt interrupt him anywhere, and nawaz is the best leader that Pakistan has got. you can call him whatever you want to, but he speaks the mind of the majority of Pakistanis. him and his party members like chaudhry nisar, khwaja asif, zafarulhaq etc. represent the views of the average Pakistani. the average pakistani hates america and their war OF terror, they hate their stooges like musharraf, they want justice and good governance and prosperity. inshallah come next elections and we will give Nawaz the 2/3rd majority again. Pakistan will be a respected nation in the world, taking orders from no-one. enough of this dalali of pakistan by the traitor mush.

43. dictated_democracy Says:
    February 28th, 2008 at 8:46 pm

@DontTakeItEasy
    I respect your democratic approach but answer is their in my previous comment

I think there should’nt be any problem in naming NWFP as pakhtunkhwa. what the hell is NWFP? they havent even had a proper name for so long. they deserve to have whatever name they want. the overwhelming majority of the province is pakhtun and so the province should be named after them. if the other provinces can have names based on the ethnic majority then so should the pakhtuns.

@ TK

“I think Asma Shirazi should wear a shuttle-cock burQa.. this hijaab is too skimpy

Dear Admin, can we have more of Kashif Abbasi’s programs if available. Thank you.

46. dictated_democracy Says:
    February 28th, 2008 at 9:19 pm

@Traffic

I would not argue with you but you really got a “bruttle” style. Can you reconsider what you have said “what the hell is NAWFP” ???????????????????
    NWFP is a province of Pakistan, an integral part of your homeland and not a hell. But it means you can also afford saying sometimes “what the hell is Pakistan”……………very disappointing———

@dictated_democracy

well i don’t see any diff bw

well, if you’re gonna do it, do it properly. that’s all I’m saying. why flirt with islaam and bay-pardgi, Dankay ki choT peh karaeN.. yeh kia aadha hijaab aur aadha parda.

and NO I don’t want ANY one to wear a shuttlecock burqa they are hideous.

I’d rather she not put that half-hijab on anyways.. what’s the point? its like growing a beard on half your face. I mean.. I don’t get a V-Cut shirt with the neck showing but the hair half covered and half showing.

she can do whatever she wants.. I’ll comment on it.. because she’s a public figure and I’m not doing it viciously. I’m just commenting on her style. I’d rather see her without this half-hijab. Actually I’d like to.

Sorry, don’t mean to piss off any gushing, fawning fans of Asma Shirazi, she’s a good interviewer and I don’t agree with her stance on this half-hijab. I would still think of her as a baa-haya and decent and modest person even without it.

I’m just saying.

Majority of people in NWFP speak Pushto while the population living in cities like Peshawar,Kohat,D.I.Khan,Bunno,Hazarah speak HINDKO .Britishers named this area as North west Frontier in 1901 .Generally Pukhtoons are spread not only in NWFP but they are in Jalalabad to Kandahar in Afghanistan and in Blouchistan .In District Hazara,Hindko speaking people are in majority .But majority of Hazara people convesate in both languages .In my opinion NWFP defines a boundry only,which it self is controvertial with Afghanistan . Since Pukhtoons are inhabitants of this area thus there is no harm in linking this area with pukhtoons . Hazara has its own identity as a district. .

@ TK

I can assure you I’m not a gushing, fawning Asma Shirazi fan but even i found that comment about her hijab to be rather mean spirited and belittling (and quite surprising coming from you), It was insensitive and worst of all there was no point to it , do you really think you have any right to question or define the parameters of parda for her (or anyone)?

51. dictated_democracy Says:
    February 28th, 2008 at 10:50 pm

I dont say that the name NWFP should not be changed at all of course as i said earlier it can be changed but while doing so why not lets get the minority on board as well especially when its very much possible???? its not something division of resources that if one fraction gets more other has to loose…..its just matter of getting complete consensus and if ANP makes SENSIBLE moves and can give room to entertain parallel possibilities (some name that is also acceptable for people of hazara) in this connection then 100% consent is possible. But making “PakhtoonKhuwah” is obviously counter-productive.
    @QAZI
    dear Hazara is not a district but a division constituting 5 districts.
    @admin sorry for hijacking the discussion but it was important

This was more a debate by NS than a fairly conducted interview by Asma. NS has a very good stand on Judges issues but unfortunately he is so obsessed with Musharraf that he cannt see the problems beyond him.

53. comment-top

@Mudassar,

Why not? Entire nation is obsessed with Musharraf. Check every single newspaper and column in Pakistan. Talk with any lawyer, human rights activist or civil society.

Majority of people in Pakistan blame all crisis on their daily life Musharraf.

54. comment-top

@redux:
    Well, that hijab is too skimpy. I don’t have the right to define it for her, but I have every right to comment on it. Sorry that’s the way I feel. My point is, either do it properly, or don’t do it.

there is no need for anyone to do it. (again imo). But if you are going to make a point, then yeah, I think I have an expectation that it should be done properly whether or not I approve.

My intention wasn’t mean, I was actually trying to be funny, but obviously it didn’t work. I won’t be a sore comedian and claim that my “comedy” is just above everyone’s head.

In any case, I don’t think me explanation of the reasoning is mean spirited. I think she’s a good comentator but seriously, she didn’t take a job on PTV because she won’t take the hijab off.. all the hijab wearing folks I know NEVER show their hair and FOR SURE never show their necklines…

I’m sorry, this is not a hijab. And I DON’T want her to wear one, but if she’s going to do on principle, then she should do it properly and in _my_ opinion (which very likely may be wrong for most ppl) this is not proper hijab.

This is like giving opinion on Sohan Halwa. You don’t put Squash in sohan halwa.. if you do, don’t call it sohan halwa. Do I have the right to stop some halwai from making it that way? Absolutely NOT! Do I have a right to express an opinion on it? Absolutely.

55. comment-top

I shouldn’t be having this discussion because I made a stupid comment that I thought was funny at the time..

come to think of it.. it would be kind of funny.. shuttlecock burqa.. just as a protest art piece.. you know.. just for the heck of it..

oh well

56. ajnabi larki from canada Says:
    February 29th, 2008 at 2:18 am

actually baat ye hay na kay , some ppl couldnt enjoy absolute freedom during their studies because of jamiatt in their institution. So they have their own grievances. As far as jamiat is concerned, it was there and it will be there, inshAllah, no one can uproot it. Jamiat is the most organised, disciplined and perhaps the only platform for students.
    ye doosray barsatee maindakkk MSF and PSF , aatay jaatay rehtay hain.
    daikhoo daikhoo kahin say jallnay kee boo aa rhee hay
    :))

57. comment-top

ab maiN nay kuch kaha to brother redux koRaa lay ker meri dhunnaie kar deNgay.

Ham chup rahay, ham haNs diyay….

“sirf ik vote ki maar Jam’iat” LOL

58. comment-top

@ TK

ill say it again. she can choose whatever she wants to wear, thats none of your business. if you think that this halfhijab is not hijab then thats your opinion. it doesnt matter what you think, its what she thinks that matters. and who are you to ask her to take off that hijab? what a woman wears is her business, not anyone else’s. you seem to hate the taleban, but you are extremist like them(a liberal one), who told you to decide what a hijab is and whats not? this is not turkey where you can force women to take their hijabs off, nor do we want to make it like turkey. i think your comment was very cheap and in bad taste.

59. comment-top

@ TK

ok i just read your reply to redux. i get your point, you can express your opinion as long as you dont start demanding lol. i personally also feel that this is not proper hijab, but i have no right to tell someone what to wear. if she thinks that its good enough for her, then i respect that. thats all im saying. its her life, she gets to decide how to live it, no-one else’s business.

60. comment-top

I just want to comment on some fellows’ suggestion of IK as president. Although, I like him a lot but i think for presidency Mehmood Khan Achakzai is the most suitable person as he is currently heading APDM, he belongs to Baluchistan and has a clear political background. I think it is time for us to give some room to our baluch brothers. I hope other fellows will also agree.

61. comment-top

this girl ASMA was acting CHALAK during interview .but she is cute thou
    Ns was in good mood ….i think ch wajhhat should be president just “kidding ” heheheh

62. comment-top

asma was doing good…. she has her own style…..i respect ladies with such an approach……………i hate ladies who try to be ultra mod like Mrs husain haqqani….those ladies are in inferiority complex…….such ladies are not proud of being pakistanis. … such ladies who are attracted by western culture should remain in west……..live there and don’t bother pakis…………….we need to have the people who have been in our society and know our problems……….

63. comment-top

I personally like nawaz sharif as a human being…..and i like his ideas too….but since our political system is such that politicians have to be corrupt and hypocrite………..so he has to do all that………….all our leaders including generals are corrupt………….but we have to find what is our best choice…………….we can’t have an ideal………..its not that we don’t have talented people in our country……….but those people can’t come up………….its really unfortunate……………