Navigation - link to other main sections from here

Skip Navigation

Filed Under Capital Talk  
February 29, 2008

Capital Talk - 29 February 2008

Shery Rehman, Syed Tahir Hussain, Mujeeb-ur-Rehman Shami and Nazir Zaji discuss PPP MQM relations and candidates for various positions with Hamid Mir in Capital Talk.

Comments

47 Responses to “Capital Talk - 29 February 2008”

1. natural resources on February 29th, 2008 11:14 pm

when PPP has majority then why is so fuss about that MQM also join in Gov.If MQM was with PML Q and Mush then why they should be let to join the new Gov.
    Those who have majority they should form Gov.

2. patriotpaki on February 29th, 2008 11:19 pm

I feel ashamed listening to MQM leaders statements. Their language very obviously shows their mentality

3. sic5770 on February 29th, 2008 11:22 pm

Why there are so many meetings with so many people everyday? So far they have not agreed on the PM slot despite there is no issue with the number of seats in the national assembly and PLMN has given the free hand to PPP to make the govt in Islamabad.

4. asqu on February 29th, 2008 11:59 pm

MQM and Jamat-i-islami are the only political parties in Pakistan that follow the democratic pathway internally . They hold elections and they have a system through which leadership can grow. The main stream parties like PML-N and PPPP should in the wider benefit of nation follow the good examples else where in the world like Labour party and conservative parties in UK .
    In my opinion Aitazaz Ahsan is the best man to lead PPPP and possibly Makhdoom Javeed Hashmi or Ahsan Iqbal to lead PML-N.
    Why the leader ship is to be confined among the family.
    I believe if the political process is allowed to flourish in Pakistan , in few years we will see things getting better . Now with the revolution in media it is very difficult for the corrupt regimn to go unnoticed.
    Please - feel free to comment .

5. AMagsi on March 1st, 2008 12:21 am

@asqu

As far as PPP is concern well let me tell u something its the party workers who wont accept anyone else but bhutto as their leader .

6. Shahzad on March 1st, 2008 12:56 am

@Asqu
    I do not agree to the saying that leadership in MQM is elected by vote of member. Altaf Hussain is their chief for ever, have you ever heard about him contesting election for the chairmanship of MQM. Actually I do not consider MQM a political party. How those people can be political party who do every thing on gum point.

7. shahidsiddique on March 1st, 2008 1:22 am

Dear All,

I am really dissappointed to see the kind of language used on this forum.
    According to EC, MQM bagged 2.5 million votes in this election. I think we should give proper respect to MQM as representative of the people, thats what we should learn from our past experience. Thanks!

8. Tab'an Khamosh on March 1st, 2008 1:22 am

@asqu: even more ironic then, that they are always seen arrayed against the democratic forces in the nation and in shameless “bay-zameer” alliance with the military. Yes, there are excuses they give themselves, but you know.. even prostitutes think they are not doing anything wrong.. they also have excuses.

sorry to burst your democratic bubble my friend.

9. Tab'an Khamosh on March 1st, 2008 1:35 am

Would everyone accuse me of being 6ay if I asked for a link to that potentially 6ay poem?

I’m juss sayin…

10. Fahim23 on March 1st, 2008 1:38 am

The very descent which is rear guy from MQM!

11. Shahzad on March 1st, 2008 1:52 am

@Shahid Siddique
    I would certainly respect the mandate of vote if it has won by fair means. 2

12. Shahzad on March 1st, 2008 1:52 am

@Shahid Siddique

13. sic5770 on March 1st, 2008 2:45 am

“I am really dissappointed to see the kind of language used on this forum.
    According to EC, MQM bagged 2.5 million votes in this election. I think we should give proper respect to MQM as representative of the people, thats what we should learn from our past experience. Thanks!”

@Shahid Siddique,

Majority of the people on this forum knows the difference between the votes of 2.5 million people vs the 2.5 million jaali thaapay by MQM workers. People on this forum don’t belong to Laloo keth or Gari bazar of Hyderabad, we believe on listening live speeches of leaders not on big fat ass phone speeches.

14. rashbash987 on March 1st, 2008 3:23 am

asqu@do you really think that javed hashmi or ahsan iqbal have guts to differ with NS,or are they really sincere with the country,no my friend,they are not,okay javed hashmi has been in jail and he has suffered alot but he should have been left NS,
    you are right that political process should flourish but who is trying to sabotage it,its mr NS,but ah people think that he is sincere with this country,sincere people never run away,they stay in the country and give there life like Benazir
    whats your take on it

15. Tab'an Khamosh on March 1st, 2008 3:34 am

@admin: rashbash and asqu are trolling. Please take note.

16. Riddle 792 on March 1st, 2008 3:50 am

QUICK QUESTION:

why in this program every 1 including hamid mire, mujeeb shami, sheeri rehman and nazir naji are PRAISING MQM and Altaf as he is some kind of ANGEL living among the other devils (establishment)

why is such a hypocracy, i remember people praising GEO day n nite when they took a stand against musharaf govt…??

17. Tab'an Khamosh on March 1st, 2008 3:57 am

@Riddle 792: totally agree. that was absolutely sickening. These people should have the courage.. but you know this man is wicked and violent. Only Imran Khan has the guts to openly take on these goons!

18. adeel ayub on March 1st, 2008 3:59 am

@rashbash987
    If i’m not mistaken Javed hashmi spent 4 yrs in adiala jail on charges of Treason against gen. musharraf ( this doesnt include pre- judement arrest). So he is loyal to his leader.
    As per ur saying about people running off, NS had no choice, his own people decieted him,.THese chaudharies ,sheikhs, nakais, jatois they all backed Mush to penalize NS by hanging.
    And 4 ur kind info, BB only stepped into this country once she got amnesty. NS and SS never got amnesty. Even today on 01/03/08 SS is attending a trial in terrorism court.

19. qabil50 on March 1st, 2008 4:11 am

Why Altaf Husain is leadin MQM party from London, rather than returning to Pakistan? He is Lota-ay-Azam of Mush and i believe he should not have any difficulty returninig to Pakistan, Unless he might have comitted a crime of high treason in the past.

Can some one shed some light in this matter. I applogise for being ignorant and very naieve in this matter.

20. adeel ayub on March 1st, 2008 4:20 am

10 worst dictators of the world!
    http://www.parade.com/dictators/2008/index.jsp

21. rashbash987 on March 1st, 2008 8:54 am

@adeel Ayub,people betrayed NS,agreed but there are loads of people in the history who had been betrayed by here own people,but they have chosen to sacrify rather then running away,starting from Hazrat Imam Hussain,and almost all the islamic history is full of sacrifice,there have always been people like mir jaffer,mir sadiq,in rent past z.a.bhutto decided not to run,
    and BB entered the death arena by amnesty while NS ran to saudi palace by amnesty,
    “jis dhaj say koi maqtal may gaya woh shaan salamat rehti hai”

you take please

22. Saqib on March 1st, 2008 9:05 am

@rashbash987

It was NOT only NS who was a refuge.
    Where did BB find refuge?

23. asqu on March 1st, 2008 9:31 am

Please let me clear I am not an MQM supporter. I am against their way of politics . Similarly I am against Jamat-i -Islami . Previously I have supported PPPP but I have supported PML-N in this election because of their stand.
    I have voted for IMRAN KHAN if he had contested. I know the current lot of politicians are not ideal .But my point is shouldn’t the political parties show some democratic attitude among themselves and have elections for their own leadership.
    I know people may disagree but I just wanted to know other people’s view point . After all we all are Pakistani’s and I believe the aim of every pakistani is to see a prosper Pakistan.
    Please comment.

24. rashbash987 on March 1st, 2008 9:35 am

@saqib

did BB leave by making any deal

how many people in the history of the world signed there own death warrant,chose to die for people like you and me,

25. asqu on March 1st, 2008 9:39 am

I am against the way MQM and Jamat do the politics but not against the parties as such.After all people vote for them???

26. commoner on March 1st, 2008 10:37 am

PPP is doing the right by engaging all the political forces in the country. After forming the govt they should not hesitate to establish a working relationship with PMLQ as the opposition as well. Its time to grow up and move forward collectively. Fascists and lotas will be rendered redundant by the sieve of time.

27. forgotten_sindhi on March 1st, 2008 10:56 am

@ commoner
    I completely agree with you. But this process is going to be very complicated because all parties have different mentality. And I hope all parties cooperate with PPP. But if God dont, things dont work … everyone will blame PPP. Thats my biggest fear. But no doubt PPP is full of intelligent and educated people and I am sure they will manage it.

28. khudakayliye on March 1st, 2008 11:33 am

Who will Question and who will answer the massacre of 12th May.PPP will justify the killing by MQM on 12th May by joining them.

29. fahad_gul on March 1st, 2008 3:43 pm

MQM should not be include in government.Is PPP blind what the MQM done in karachi.For the best result in democracy i say to take them out from government becoz MQM is the right hand of MUSHRAF.If PPP include MQM , we will think that PPP is not against musharaf and american policies.

30. adeel ayub on March 1st, 2008 4:14 pm

@rashbash987
    So u r trying to find Imam hussain (RA) in these people well mate Imam hussain (RA) gave his precious life 4 the sake of Islam and Allah not 4 power or people of Arabian peninsula.
    U talked bout ZAB refusing to run, well thats coz he never believed he could B hanged untill the very last day.( see following)
    http://www.chowk.com/articles/9370
    And if just giving life is the sole criterion 4 some one to be true and worthy than all these suicide bombers should B asked to run our Govt. headed By Aiman alzawahari and baitullah mahsood.(they R not running away and R prepared to give their life).

31. adeel ayub on March 1st, 2008 4:17 pm

@rashbash987
    “jis dhaj say koi maqtal may gaya woh shaan salamat rehti hai”
    Well so what do U think of Maulana Abdur-Rasheed Ghazi.!!!!!!!

32. fasih_ul_yahya on March 1st, 2008 7:03 pm

i am not an MQM supporter , yet i agree they did great work in karachi this time, mustafa kamal is a good mayor! 2ndly people who vote for mqm vote for there constituency leaders not altaf jahil wel thats what all my mqm friends say! 3rdly i believe if mqm is denied continously by PML N like they did b4! it wil only create more seperations in the state and fuel another breakup of our nation! plz if u r truly pakistani forget this punjabi muhajir sindhi baluchi talk and accept ur self as a pakistani or our nation wil be the most divided nation on earth! this is not a speech in favour of any one or any party but pakistan. i reali feel i am alone in my ideas so if anyone would like to affirm this as the way forward or deny it plz do so with constructive arguments. thank u

33. 27122007 on March 1st, 2008 7:30 pm

@most of u
    y r u so ignorant? will u ever try 2 understand ideology of pppp? do u know y pppp is largest party of Pakistan? let me tell u. pppp can do anything for Pakistan. i mean it anything.
    ZAB died pppp said ok we will work for democracy
    both sons of ZAB died pppp said OK no problem we will work for democracy
    BB died pppp said ok no problem we will work for democracy
    164people died on 18october pppp said ok no problem we will work for democracy
    on 12 may so many people died pppp said we will work for democracy.

everyone will agree that pppp and pmln also did many mistakes in past, but now they r working together for democracy. now most people don’t care what these 2 parties did in past.

in same way if mqm can come back on right path then what is problem?????????

y cant we give a chance 2 mqm??????????????? as we have given to pppp and pmln?????

34. 27122007 on March 1st, 2008 7:40 pm

i would repeat my question. y cant we try and y we shouldn’t try to bring voters and supporters of mqm in proper political and democratic process.

35. Fahim23 on March 1st, 2008 10:59 pm

@27122007

I agree with you that MQM must be transformed from a terrorist party into a political party. The real descent representatives of Karachi and hyderabad must emerge and be supported.

But, do you think Altaf will let this happen so easily?

36. 27122007 on March 1st, 2008 11:47 pm

@Fahim23
    of course he wont. that doesn’t mean that we shouldn’t do anything about that or use military or something like that against Pakistani people(mqm supporters). if we do sth like that then what will be diff in new govt and mush govt?

1st thing we need to know is y ppl support mqm?

their r 2 kinds of voters in mqm(my view) 1 ethnic voters, 2people who like development work done by mqm. (rigging factor)

as in Islamabad there will be be govt of pppp pmln anp(hopefully) we can make sure mqm doesn’t rig next elections.

we don’t need 2 worry about 2nd kind of voters(who vote for development work)

we need 2 worry about 1st kind of voters(ethnic vote). whatever we do (except any peaceful strategy) we cant convert that ethnic vote in(issue based vote).
    what should be that peaceful strategy? i would leave that for visitors of this site to answer.

37. Fahim23 on March 2nd, 2008 12:05 am

There is a peaceful way to end the MQM terrorism. And I am sure as the time will pass, the different communities will naturally assimilate and there wont be ethnic issue anymore.

Living in hyderabad I geel, that this assimilation has already been started in Hyderabad.

But at the same time, we cannot let loose MQM to dominate people and continue their terrorist tactics in the name of Peace!

We must stop them and bring them to justice. Yesterday after so many years again a dead body of a nine year old PPP worker’s son in parcel is found near korangi.

38. Tab'an Khamosh on March 2nd, 2008 12:33 am

@fahim23 :

Yesterday after so many years again a dead body of a nine year old PPP worker’s son in parcel is found near korangi.

organizations like MqM perpetuate themselves by creating and maintaining a “persecution complex” in their rank and file member. In absence of real outer threats they must manufacture deadly events to keep the persecution/victim complex going.

Israel (I tend to find a lot of similarities between MqM and Zionism) does the same thing. If the Palestinians stop attacking them, Israel will goad them into firing their useless rockets in someone’s field and in “retaliation” they kill a dozen civilians and cry all over the world as to what victims they are etc.

Even though the power relationships cannot be translated one to one, but still MqM seems to be taking the same path. Even if PPP has a coalition with them, they will continue low grade murders so that there are retaliatory murders and this way the persecution complex and the fires of racist hatred can be kept burning in the hardcore member’s minds.

just a theory.

39. 27122007 on March 2nd, 2008 12:34 am

OMG. so sad news.
    yeah u r right, we cannot let loose MQM to dominate people and continue their terrorist tactics in the name of Peace.
    We must stop them and bring them to justice.

40. rashbash987 on March 2nd, 2008 1:16 am

@adeel ayub,well here comes the same old version of looking at matters with closed mind,i am not comparing imam with any of the other people,it was just an example quoted for you to understad that if people die for a cause they are different from the people who die without it,and motives are always obvious before martyrdem,whatever one say or think or preach,we cannot judge people being personel or biased,

the article by col rafi only shows that how bhutto lived his last 323 days,ofcourse a person is week when he is about to die or being executed,dont you think that he could have pleaded mercy for his life,in the whole book there is not a single word about bhutto asking for amnesty,
    about NS well as soon he got in jail he started looking for people who can negotiate with mush and in the end he succeded,these things are well documented and probably in 20 years time will be open for general public,

he left his people and supporters in a bad state,if he can run once,then he can run always,he ran away by a deal and came back wih deal,well i dont count him as a leader and dont want to waste my time on a right wing person who supports an anti islamic system(capitalism),i thik he doesnt have any vision and he is the leader of low visionary people,

we can indulge into any discussion for the sake of it but truly one should think deep and with maturity,

about mr ghazi,well mullahs have there own version of anti quran islam which they are trying to impose by force and if anyone who wants to support mr ghazi’s version of islam,let him be,have you heard his last conversation with tariq azeem in which he was asking for amnesty for himself,still if someone thinks that he gave his life for islam,let him be,

people in our age have been brain washed by the media,whoever can speak the best lie he is the best anchor,whoever can hide truth he can be good politician,

your take please

41. Fahim23 on March 2nd, 2008 2:43 am

@Tab’an

I hold the same view about similarities between MQM and Zionism. Personally, interacting with urdu-speaking people, I found that MQM plays victim tactics exactly in same way as Zionists are doing in Palestine. As the common jews now believes the land of Palestine belongs to them smilarly MQM claim that Karachi and hyderabad is ONLY theirs.

42. sic5770 on March 2nd, 2008 2:59 am

“I hold the same view about similarities between MQM and Zionism”

Not to forget MQM’s main ” Sector Commander” Musharaf has been killing directly the innocent people in Wazirsitan and indirectly with suicide bombing just like Israel is killing innocent Palestinians for years, no matter he had so many secret meetings with Israelis.

43. adeel ayub on March 2nd, 2008 3:18 am

@rashbash987
    i guess its turning into arguement rather than a discussion.
    So my final take:
    U have UR ideas & i have mine. Lets C who’s right
    Let Time B the Best Judge.

44. adeel ayub on March 2nd, 2008 3:24 am

By just getting 2 NA seats in Hyderabad this idiot AH thinks he has swept the whole urban sindh. I bet he is on marijuana!

45. econfused on March 2nd, 2008 3:28 am

@fasih_ul_yahya

lol “i am not an MQM supporter lol , yet i LOL agree LOL they did great work in karachi” lol

46. fasih_ul_yahya on March 2nd, 2008 10:53 am

@econfused
    i am actuly pro imran bhai

47. Tab'an Khamosh on March 2nd, 2008 1:03 pm

lol jiye pakistan lol