Navigation - link to other main sections from here

Skip Navigation

Filed Under Live with Talat  
February 29, 2008

Live With Talat - 29 February 2008

Is restoration of judiciary really a complex legal matter or is it being made a political football? Talat Hussain calls top legal minds, retired Justice Khalilur Rahman, Justice Tariq Mahmood, Justice Saeedu Zaman Siddiqi, Justice Mamoon Qazi, Justice Sajjad Ali Shah, Justice Wajih Uddin and Justice Khawaja Muhammad Sharif to get the answers.

Comments

35 Responses to “Live With Talat - 29 February 2008”

1. admin pkpolitics on March 1st, 2008 2:43 am

New Poll Added:

Who should be the next President?

2. inam on March 1st, 2008 2:45 am

shame on you mushraf , all are against you but tum ki kisi ………….kay bachay hoo qasam say ….lanat thumaray pay mushraf

3. Tab'an Khamosh on March 1st, 2008 2:48 am

Unfortunately, this time a line was crossed. Some blood has to be drawn:

1. Mush should be arrested
    2. All actions post nov 2 are in contempt of court andtherefore NULL & VOID.
    3. Culprits in civil & mlitary bureaucracy should be punished for treason.
    4. Triple ONE brigade top brass should be arrested, court martialed and punished for committing treason against the Republic.

If this not done we will keeping having these things. The main problem is that non of these people EVER get punished! We should punish these forking judges too.

we’ve had it with these monkeys.

4. Tab'an Khamosh on March 1st, 2008 2:59 am

Justice Wajeehuddin’s got Cojones! Bravo!

5. shimatoree on March 1st, 2008 3:33 am

The French Revolution was condemned by the British Aristocracy as barbaric and inhumane on their use of the Guillotine . This is at the same time when the British in India and what is now Pakistan were killing people by tying them to the mouth of cannons.
    What Musharraf has done to the people of Pakistan in general and the Pushtoons in perticular requires that he and those that cooperated with him should be given proper just treatment. It requires COURAGE in political leaders to do the right thing. Zardari is trying to run away and hide behind so that he does not have to do the right thing. They say that they do not have 2/3 majority. Well Zardari is Supposed to be a leader- make your own 2/3 majority where the people come out and ask that the culprits be punishhed in a timely and appropriate manner. Everyone is talking consensus and ” MUFAHMUT” . While Musharraf and his supporters are free to indulge in their intrigues.

We need to introduce Guillotine in Pakistan.-invented by a Neurosurgeon in France by the name of Dr. Guillotine as a humane method of death penalty

6. Tab'an Khamosh on March 1st, 2008 3:37 am

@shimatoree: I’m with ya bro! Mush & company should be punished as a reminder to teh “establishment” that there are limits and if they cross those too many times, “the beast” will draw some blood.

7. mypkpoliticsaccount on March 1st, 2008 4:14 am

@Tab’an Khamosh

It would be much better not to use language that is inappropriate. Anyways, not only Justice Wajeehuddin but Justice Saeed Uz Zaman Siddiqui, Justice Khwaja Sharif, Juctice Mamoon …. all are courageous….. including all the sacked judges….

Musharaf is not calling session of parliament is due to the reason he has lost his mind … no wonder he’s not appearing on tv much these days …. where is his FISTING that he used to do :) in front of the parliamentarian ???

8. adeel ayub on March 1st, 2008 4:18 am

10 worst dictators of the world!
    http://www.parade.com/dictators/2008/index.jsp

9. Tab'an Khamosh on March 1st, 2008 4:42 am

@mypkpolitcsaccount: I find your patronizing and condescending attitude (unwarranted mind you) offensive and inappropriate.

P.S. It is subjective.

10. Tab'an Khamosh on March 1st, 2008 4:43 am

Also: “FISTING” is the most inappropriated word I’ve heard on PKPolitics so far, BAR NONE!

P.S. Point proven. Again. Advantage: Moi! ;-)

11. Farrukhpk on March 1st, 2008 5:38 am

I was very dissapinted with Talats criticsm Imran Khan, here is a video of talat telling PTI that the decision to boycott was right. Also Tariq Mehmoods statement about lawyer movement being hijaked by APDM was rediculious, APDM has sacrificed, because they could have easily been a force in parliament, with 10-15 seats.

http://www.insaf.pk/Forum/tabid/53/forumid/12/tpage/1/view/topic/postid/18558/Default.aspx#18659

12. qabil50 on March 1st, 2008 5:45 am

As a citizen of Pakistan, I humbly, would like to like to salute and pay my deep respect to-

1. Justice Khalilurehaman

2. Justice Tariq Mahmood

3. Justice SaaduZaman
    4. Justice Mamoon Qazi
    5. Justice Wajihuddin
    6. Justice Khawaja Mohammad Sharif

I only hope to Almighty Allah, that all the judges of the judiciary are honest and god fearing like the judges mention above.

In my opinion Musharraf is criminal and he be apprehended along with his legal advisors, AG Qayum and Pirzada and they be brought to justice. They have done a great damage to our country. Ch. Shujaat and Pervaiz ilahi should also be included.

I respectfully disagree with Justice Sharif that this criminal be given Muafi. No, not him.

Mush is unconstitutional and irrelevant at this stage of the game. He knows his fate and wants to leave, but his criminal team keeps him. Soon after the new parliament is in place, he is finished

13. pakismine on March 1st, 2008 6:56 am

what the hell was Sajjad Ali Shah talking? He has confirmed that he’s a shameless, immoral and irrational person… was babbling..

14. ahakimnaz on March 1st, 2008 7:58 am

There is absolutely no need to go soft on Dakoo Musharraf. He showed no mercy and went on masacre of men, women and children of Pakistan
    and even public celebrations of these acts. This man is a “wehsi janwar”
    and should receive proper treatment of our law for a Qatil.

Thank you Altaf Hussain Sahib for providing the nation the legal situation with clarity obtained from the highly respected members of our judiciary and all our political leaders are required to do is to follow and enforce the law, and no favours.

15. BABU FROM USA on March 1st, 2008 8:28 am

Just pray for all the good people of pakistan. mr. mush will do anything to keep in power(target killings). All the good people should support each other and Restore the judiciary of pre nov,03,2007.
    Well done again Talat.
    Looks like USA is done with mush and soon he will be getting a crate of WATER MELONS INSTEAD OF MANGOES.

16. muqqafa on March 1st, 2008 8:41 am

Nother classic…
    once again, I will request the admin to consider craeting a section of ‘classics’ on thsi website. Thsi programme can easily qualify for such a section.

muqqafa

17. commoner on March 1st, 2008 8:46 am

@adeel ayub

Six Muslims, three Confucian/Buddhist-mongoloids, one Christian African.

Where is Husni mubarak, Moamar Qadafi, Abdelaziz Bouteflika, and Vladamir Putin.

18. muqqafa on March 1st, 2008 8:53 am

In light of this programme, it can be said that anyone who gives any apology for not being able to restore judges immediately is simply doing so for his/her ulterior motives. There seems to be no legal barrier.
    Even if the desire is to make the institution of judiciary, this has nothing to do with delaying the matter of restoring judges. The simple and straight forward point is that Nov. 3 actiosn were illegal. This has been accepted by Musharraf himself. Given this illegality, justice demands that we restore the situation back to Nov. 2. Once this is done, any more steps necessary for the independence of judicairy can be taken.
    Further, the argument that the SC has given protection to Nov 3 actions, suffers from circularity. The very SC that gave protection is itself illegal given that the Nov, 3 actions that created this SC is itself illegal.

muqqafa

19. commoner on March 1st, 2008 9:15 am

@shimatoree

The Guillotine model of justice may satisfy our vindictive egos but in the long run it is counter productive. Violence only begets violence. French political history has been wavered since the revolution. Compare it with the steady, evolutionary model of the british. The french have vacillated between the authoritarianism of Napolean, Napoleon III and de Gaulle on the one end and the unstable democracies on the other. Presently while they are running the fifth republique and they are thinking about the sixth, encore!

20. muqqafa on March 1st, 2008 9:15 am
  21. fasih_ul_yahya on March 1st, 2008 9:29 am

admin whats up with jawab deyh? is iftikhar ahmed under house arrest now? lol plz try and find his interviews fanks 2 much love ur efforts man

22. c hussain on March 1st, 2008 9:47 am

If you really want that this takeovers by military is finished once for all - try SHARIFUDDIN PIRZADA under Article 6 and hang him in front fo parliament - that would deter all the Mir Jafars of the future.

23. forgotten_sindhi on March 1st, 2008 10:46 am

I am a strong supporter of PPP but I think Musharraf should only be removed if a neutral president (non party) is appointed. Same all governors of 4 provinces. In this way no party will have absolute power and things will work in check-balance way.

This is how it works in all countries and this should be practiced in pakistan as well.

No Mush, No aitzaz, No mqm governor in sindh, …. 100 % neutral, who should be there to watch everything not to govern.

AND if they are throwing Mush to bring their own president - than Mush will be fine (my opinion).

Please dont come up with the idea that I am Munafiq, just because I want to see pakistan as a perfect country.

24. fahad_gul on March 1st, 2008 3:37 pm

Musharaf should be remove. Q ke ose supreme court ko hisab dina parega of LAL MASJID,WAZIRISTAN,SWAT and for EMERGENCY.

25. taimurdar on March 1st, 2008 6:25 pm

@forgotten_sindhi
    hey man, Imran Khan is the best choice then. He stood with his principles, and never negotiated with any party!

26. mypkpoliticsaccount on March 1st, 2008 6:41 pm

@Tab’an Khamosh: No arrogance from my side … I appologize if my comments projected patronizing and condescension attitude.

I fear Allah and He dislikes arrogance more than anything else. Shetaan is Shetaan because of his arrogance…

27. shimatoree on March 1st, 2008 6:55 pm

@chussain

Your comment on Sahrif ud din pirzada is right on the money. Not only him, but Dogar, Abassi, Khokhar and Malik Qayum also ought to be punished.

28. Fan of Talat sahab on March 1st, 2008 7:02 pm

Well again a master piece by Talat sir.anywayz my take is that now PPP n all parties shud b clear abt their stance on judiciary like PML(N).coz its crystal clear that only a simple resolution can restore judges. so they shud now show their commitment. n dont make “Heelay bahany” abt their stance on judiciary.

29. Tab'an Khamosh on March 1st, 2008 7:08 pm

@mypkpoliticsaccount: no worries bro. BTW, look up “fisting” I think that was funny, and I’m sure inadvertant.. cheers

30. Hameed Chaudhry on March 1st, 2008 11:31 pm

“Restoration of Judiciary” is very nicely discussed by Talat Hussain Sahib on February 29, 2008 program with very high profile retired honourable judges. Every individual explained, how the newly elected parliament can deal with this illegal act of Pervez Musharraf.

One thing is crystal clear, Pervez Musharraf is un-acceptable to people of Pakistan thats what people have showed in this general election. The newly elected MNA’s and MPA’s were elected by the anti musharraf votes. This new development in the politics, is a healthy sign for democracy and restoration of judiciary.

As far as I understand from the interviews from Mr.Justice (Retd.) Khalil Ur Rehman, Tariq Mahmood, Saeed-Uz-Zaman Siddiqui, Mamoon Qazi, Syed Sajjad Hussain Shah, Wajih-Uddin, Khawaja Muhammad Sharif.

Pervez Musharraf was a government servant of BPS-22 and drawing the sallary of Chief of Army Staff from the Government of Pakistan like other hundred of thousand government employees. He was working under the command and control of elected Prime Minister of Pakistan who have the mendate of people of Pakistan. He illegally used his official power and assistance of other corrupt army corp. commanders to topple the government by violating the constitution. ( First Crime )

Later on, it is a sequence of irregularities and using his executive powers illegally to violate the country’s law in his hands and misuse it for the prolonging of his ruling tenure. He enjoyed the preveledges of four in one and keep the whole country and federal and provincial governments under his total command as a CEO, President of Pakistan, Chief of the Army Staff and Chairman Joint Chief Services. It took eight long years to redused his powers from 4 posts to 1 illegal captured executive post after political pressure from the civil siciety and media trail.

I personally feel, that Pervez Musharraf should not be allowed and granted exit by the newly elected members of three leading political parties PPP, PML(N) and ANP. He is a criminal, violater of constitution several times, he ordered to crush innocent political workers and involved them in baseless legal cases. He directed to army personals to crush his apponents and political and religious leaders in Balouchistan Province and NWFP Province. He plan and executed through his commando operations mind to keep away the two major parties leadership in forcefull exile by foreign pressure and influence and in the mean time make all kind of sistamatic lootings by his political team headed by foreign imported Prime Minister Shaukat Aziz.

When the several hundred serious complaint start coming to the notice of Chief Justice Supreme Court Mr.Justice Iftikhar Muhammad Chaudhry, has no option left behind to ask from the senior government officials to provide the details ……… so that was not acceptable to those currupt government officials as well as leaders of PML(Q).

At that stage, few more evil minded legal pundits joined in the shape of Sharif-Uddin Pirzada, Abdul Qayyum, S.M.Zaffar, Sher Afghan Niazi, Wasi Zaffar, Ahmed Raza Kassuri and supported this illegal President of Pakistan Pervez Musharraf. Backed up by Chaudhry’s, Sheikh Rasheed, Azeem Tariq, Mahmood Khan Durrani and others.

I think, next week PPP is going to nominate his Prime Minister’s candidate which should be either Makhdoom Amin Fahim or Yousef Raza Gillani. If the Prime Minister choose from Punjab then Makhdoom Amin Fahim will become next President of Pakistan. But if Makhdoom Amin Fahim become Prime Minister then Chaudhry Aitzaz Ahsan is a good choice for President of Pakistan for PPP and PML(N).

In the end, as honourable judges said elected members of parliament dont need to have 2 / 3 majority for sending Pervez Musharraf out of power. Only simple majority is fine to send him to jail directly from Aiwan-e-Sadr with all kind of criminal charges. It is only the will which is required to do a noble job for which people of Pakistan is waiting with the help of PPP, PML(N), ANP, Reserved Lady Seats, FATA, Independents, Forward Block of PML(Q) and others.

Talat Hussain Sahib, people appreciate your dedication and devotion in the field of covering legal and political issues very effectively. Thanks

Pakistan Zindabad ……………….. Pervez Musharraf Murdabad.

31. iftikhar179 on March 2nd, 2008 4:42 am

shame on mush and his pupit judges of mush

32. ninetykman on March 3rd, 2008 8:43 pm

All Top legal eagles are unanimous. Mush and all his cronies in a lot of trouble.

Now I hope that PPP and PML(N) all other people who love their country and finally deliver on the mandate that the people have given them.

33. ninetykman on March 3rd, 2008 8:44 pm

Thanks Talat for letting the people informed.

Now there is no way but to restore the CJ and the judges.

34. ozzee on March 13th, 2008 6:01 pm

gr8 justice khalil , weldone

35. ozzee on March 13th, 2008 6:22 pm

saeed ul zaman even greater

welllllllldonnnnee